Office of the Secretary

The Secretary of Revenue is appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation of the State Senate. As the agency head, the Secretary is responsible for administering state and local taxes in a fair, efficient and equitable manner while advocating sound tax and fiscal policies and providing property tax relief.

Secretary Rick Chandler

Secretary Richard G. Chandler | Bio

Deputy Secretary

Vacant | Bio

Assistant Deputy Secretary

Michael Wagner | Bio

Offices of Legislative and Public Affairs

Assists the Secretary and other department officials to communicate effectively with legislators, the media and other agency customers.

Legislative Advisor: Nicole Kuehl
Telephone: (608) 266-6466

Communications Director: Patty Mayers
Telephone: (608) 266-2300

Office of the Secretary
2135 Rimrock Road, P.O. Box 8933 Mail Stop 624-A
Madison, WI 53708-8933
Telephone: (608) 266-6466
FAX: (608) 266-5718

Office of General Counsel

Provides legal counsel to the Secretary of Revenue and other agency officials, litigates tax cases, reviews proposed administrative rules and tax legislation and works with other state agencies on legal matters.

Chief Legal Counsel: Dana J. Erlandsen
Telephone: (608) 267-8970

Office of General Counsel
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
2135 Rimrock Road, P.O. Box 8907 Mail Stop 6-173
Madison, WI 53708-8907
Telephone: (608) 267-8970
FAX: (608) 266-9949