Wisconsin Tax Relief for Wisconsin Disaster Victims

​​​​The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) recently announced that they are granting victims of severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, flooding, and landslides in Wisconsin more time to file returns. Taxpayers who reside or have a business in the following Wisconsin counties are eligible for relief: Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, and Vernon. More information is available in IRS notice WI-2018-07.

Affected taxpayers that are granted an extension by the IRS are automatically granted a similar extension for filing their Wisconsin income or franchise tax return. Affected taxpayers may also request a 30-day extension of time to file and pay Wisconsin sales and use, withholding, or excise tax by submitting a written request to:

Registration Unit
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8902
Madison, WI 53708-8902

For additional information on extensions available for federally-declared disaster areas, see common questions on our website.

October 29, 2018