For taxable years beginning in 2013, the maximum Wisconsin subtraction for the amount paid for tuition and mandatory student fees is increased from $6,543 to $6,943 (per student).
The tuition and fees must have been paid to attend classes in Wisconsin at a university, college, or technical college or other post-secondary school or classes in Minnesota at a public vocational school or institution of higher education under the Minnesota-Wisconsin tuition reciprocity agreement.
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 provides that the amounts at which the subtraction is phased out are to be adjusted annually for inflation. For taxable years beginning in 2013, the subtraction is phased out for persons with federal adjusted gross income between $50,850 and $61,020 if single or head of household; $81,350 and $101,690 if married filing a joint return; or $40,680 and $50,850 if married filing a separate return.
Complete information on the subtraction for tuition and mandatory student fees will be included in the instructions for the 2013 Form 1 (full-year residents) or Form 1NPR (part-year residents and nonresidents), which will be available in November of this year.
August 15, 2013