	aimant's social security number	Spouse's social	Spouse's social security number					Check below then fill in either the name of city village, or town, and the county in which you lived at the end of 2011.			
Cla	imant's legal last name	Legal first name	Legal first name M.I.					City	\/	illage <sub>I I</sub> Town	
Spr	ouse's legal last name	Spouse's legal fi	Spouse's legal first name			M.I.	City Village To City, village,				
	or town										
Cur	rrent home address (number and street)	ı			Apt. no		County of	•			
City	y or post office	S	tate	Zip code			Special		(Soo no	age 7 of the	
L							conditions			lle H instructions.)	
1 a	What was your age as of December	· 31, 2011? (If you	ı were un	nder 18, yo	u do not	qualify f	for homestead	credit for 201	1.) <b>1a</b>	Fill in age	
b	If you are married and your spouse	was age 65 or ov	er as of	f Decemb	er 31, 2	2011, cł	neck where ir	ndicated	1b	Check here	
2	Were you a legal resident of Wiscon	nsin from 1-1-11 t	hrough	12-31-11	? (If "N	o," you	do not qualif	y.)	2	YesNo	
3	Were you claimed or will you be clai										
	(If "Yes" and you were under age 62	on December 3	1, 2011,	you do n	ot quali	fy.)			3	Yes No	
		ers like this >									
_	Wisconsin income from line 12 of						· ·		4	•	
	If <b>not filing</b> a 2011 Wisconsin re							00	-		
		nterest									
	Other taxable income (list type ar								5b		
	Nontaxable income not include Unemployment compensation.								62		
	Social security, federal and state										
	Railroad retirement benefits					-					
	Pensions, annuities, and other r										
	Contributions to deferred compe	· ·									
	Contributions to IRA and SIMPL	· ·	-		-		•				
	Interest on United States bonds										
	Child support, maintenance pay Wisconsin Works (W2) payment						· ·				
	Add lines 4 through 6i	-		-			-				
	· ·										
	Fill in number of qualifying deperture Household income. Subtract line	•		•	-	•	· · · · ·		_		
	es and/or Rent   Before comple										
8	Homeowners – Net <b>2011</b> proper	0	•					,	8		
9	Renters-Rent from your rent ce	-				-			•		
_	Heat included (13b of rent certifica								= 9 h		
	Heat not included (13b of rent cer										
10	Add lines 8, 9b, and 9d (or enter										
Cred	dit Computation							- /			
11	Fill in the <b>smaller</b> of the amount	t on line 10 or \$	31,460						11		
12	Using the amount on line 7c, fill	in the appropri	ate am	ount fro	m <b>Tabl</b>	<b>e A</b> (p	age 17)		12		
13	Subtract line 12 from line 11 (if I	line 12 is more	than	line 11,	fill in 0	; no ci	redit is allow	able)	13		
14	Homestead credit – Using the ar	mount on line 1	3, fill in	the cre	dit fron	Table	e B (page 1	18)	14		
	penalties of law, I declare this homesto	and aradit alaim a	nd all at	toohmont	oro tru	0 00rro	ot and compl	oto to the he	ot of my k	rnowladge and halief	
ndor	Claimant's signature		se's signa		s are tru	e, corre	Date		time phone		
	<u> </u>							,	`		
ign ere								(	)		
ign	<b>*</b>						For D	epartment Us	e Only		

Madison WI 53786-0001





# Instructions for Schedule H-EZ

If you qualify for homestead credit (see page 4 of the Schedule H instructions), you may be able to use Schedule H-EZ to file your claim. See "Which Schedule to File" on page 4 to determine if Schedule H-EZ is right for you.

**Filling in Schedule H-EZ** Use black ink. Round off cents (drop amounts under  $50 \phi$  and increase amounts from  $50 \phi$  to  $99 \phi$  to the next dollar). Do not use commas or dollar signs when filling in amounts.

**Amending Schedule H-EZ** See "Amending Schedule H or H-EZ" on page 6 of the Schedule H instructions.

#### STEP 1: CLAIMANT INFORMATION

Print or type all information requested in the spaces provided. Include your social security number (and your spouse's, if applicable) and your tax district. Do not use an address label.

#### STEP 2: QUESTIONS

Complete lines 1 through 3. For more information on legal residency, see the instructions for line 2 of Schedule H.

#### STEP 3: HOUSEHOLD INCOME

**Note:** If your spouse died in 2011, see Part 5 on page 16 of the Schedule H instructions before you continue.

**Line 4 – Income from Tax Return** Fill in the income from your 2011 Wisconsin income tax return. For more information, including instructions for when you have already filed your return, see the instructions for line 7 of Schedule H.

Line 5 – Income - No Tax Return Fill in the amount of your (or the total of both spouses, if married) wages, interest, dividends, and other income taxable to Wisconsin on lines 5a and 5b. Attach a separate schedule if more space is needed. For more information, including an available subtraction for medical and long-term care insurance costs, see the instructions for line 8 of Schedule H.

Lines 6a through 6i – Nontaxable Income Fill in all non-taxable household income received in 2011 from any of the sources indicated. If you are married, combine the incomes of both spouses. Do not include amounts reported on line 4, 5a, or 5b. For more information, see the instructions for lines 9a through 9g, 9i, and 9j of Schedule H. **Note:** Include Medicare premium deductions in any amounts entered on lines 6b or 6c.

**Line 7b – Qualifying Dependents** Fill in the number of qualifying dependents. Multiply that amount by \$500. Fill in the result on line 7b. For information on who is considered a qualifying dependent, see the instructions for line 12b of Schedule H.

Line 7c – Total Household Income Is your household income less than your rent or property taxes? If yes, attach a note explaining how you paid your rent or property taxes and your other living expenses (food, utilities, clothing, etc.).

## STEP 4: TAXES AND/OR RENT

Homeowners – Fill in the net 2011 property taxes on your homestead on line 8. For more information, including a definition of "net property taxes," see the instructions for line 13 of Schedule H.

Renters – Complete lines 9a and 9b if heat was included in your rent and/or lines 9c and 9d if heat was **not** included. For more information, see the instructions for line 14 of Schedule H.

**Exception** Do any of the following apply to you? If yes, you may be required to reduce your net property taxes and/or rent or attach additional information to Schedule H-EZ.

- You owned/rented a mobile or manufactured home and/or the land on which it was located (see item 3 under Exceptions: Homeowners on page 12 of the Schedule H instructions and item 4 under Exceptions: Renters on page 13).
- There are names on the property tax bill other than yours or your spouse's and/or you owned your homestead with others in 2011 (see items 1 and 2 under Exceptions: Homeowners on page 12 of the Schedule H instructions).
- The property tax bill does not show any lottery and gaming credit (see item 5 under Exceptions: Homeowners on page 12 of the Schedule H instructions).
- You moved during 2011 (see item 2 under Exception: Homeowners and/or Renters on page 13 of the Schedule H instructions).
- You received a) any Wisconsin Works (W2) payments or b) county relief of \$400 or more for any month of 2011. Complete the Taxes/ Rent Reduction Schedule below.

	Taxes/Rent Reduction Sche	dule
1	Homeowners – fill in the net 2011 property taxes on your homestead	. 1
2	Renters – if heat was included, fill in 20% (.20), or if heat was not included, fill in 25% (.25), of rent from line 13a of the rent certificate(s)	. 2
3	Add line 1 and line 2; fill in the smaller of the total or \$1,460	. 3
4	Divide line 3 by 12	. 4
5	Number of months in 2011 for which you did <b>not</b> receive a) any Wisconsin Works (W2) payments or b) county relief payments of \$400 or more	. 5
6	Multiply line 4 by line 5. Fill in here and on line 10 (do not fill in line 8 or 9) of Schedule H-EZ	. 6

### STEP 5: CREDIT COMPUTATION

Lines 11 through 14 – Refer to Tables A and B on pages 17 and 18 of the Schedule H instructions to determine your homestead credit. If filing a Wisconsin income tax return, fill in the credit amount on line 32 of Form 1A or line 47 of Form 1. Do you want the department to compute your credit? If yes, do not complete these lines. The department will notify you of the amount of your credit.

## STEP 6: SIGNING AND FILING YOUR CLAIM

**Sign and Date Your Claim** You must sign and date your Schedule H-EZ. If married, your spouse must also sign. **Note:** A homestead credit claim may not be signed for or filed on behalf of a deceased person.

**How to Assemble** Before filing Schedule H-EZ, see "How to Assemble" on page 14 of the Schedule H instructions.