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I. NEW LAWS

The following new sales and use tax, adult entertain-
ment tax, and rental vehicle fee laws have been enact-
ed. The effective date of each law is shown in paren-
theses.

A. Define “Meal” and “Sandwich” (effective August
1, 1997)

Sales of meals and sandwiches continue to be sub-
ject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. However,
“meal” and “sandwich” were previously not de-
fined in the sales and use tax law. This provision,
which is effective August 1, 1997, defines “meal”
and “sandwich” as follows:

1. “Meal” includes, but is not limited to, a diver-
sified selection of food, food products, or
beverages that are customarily consumed as a
breakfast, lunch, or dinner, that may not casily
be consumed without an article of tableware,
and that may not conveniently be consumed
while standing or walking.

“Meal” does not include any of the following:
¢ Frozen items that are sold to a consumer.
* TItems that are customarily heated or

cocked after the retail sale and before they
are consumed.

* A diversified selection of food, food prod-
ucts, and beverages that is packaged to-
gether by a person other than the retailer
before the sale to the consumer.

This definition of “meal” clarifies that canned
soups, frozen TV dinners, and frozen pizzas
manufactured by many different parties and
sold by grocery and other retail stores for off-
premises consumption are not subject to Wis-
consin sales or use tax. This definition also
reverses the sales and use tax treatment of
prepackaged combinations of food as provided
in a tax release published in Wisconsin Tax
Bulletin 106 (January 1998), titled “Prepack-
aged Combinations of Food, Food Products,
and Beverages Constitute Meals.”

2. “Sandwich” means food that consists of a
filling, such as meat, cheese, or a savory
mixture, that is placed on a slice, or between
two slices, of bread or something that takes the
place of bread, such as a roll, croissant, or
bagel,

“Sandwich” includes, but is not limited to,
burritos, tacos, enchiladas, chimichangas, pita
sandwiches, gyros, and pocket sandwiches.

“Sandwich” does not include hors d'oeuvres,
canapes, egg rolls, cookies, cakes, pies, and
similar desserts and pastries, and food that is
sold frozen.

B. Provide Exemption for Certain Food Combi-

nations (effective August 1, 1997)

If a combination of food, food products, and
beverages are packaged together with other goods
by a person other than a retailer before sale to the
final consumer, and 50% or more of the sales price
of the package is attributable to goods that are
exempt from Wisconsin sales or use tax, the total
selling price of the combined package is exempt
from Wisconsin sales or use tax. If less than 50%
of the sales price is attributable to goods that are
exempt from Wisconsin sales or use tax, that
portion of the selling price atiributable to the



taxable items is subject to Wisconsin sales or use
tax.

Example 1: A grocery store sells to a consumer a
package that contains crackers, meat, cheese,
candy, and a fruit drink that is not a fruit juice.
The grocery store purchased the package from
Company A. Of the grocery store’s $2 selling
price, $1.50 is attributable to the meat, cheese, and
crackers (exempt items) and $0.50 is attributable to
the candy and fruit drink (taxable items). Since
50% or more of the selling price of the package is
attributable to food that is exempt from Wisconsin
sales or use tax, the entire $2 selling price is
exempt from Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Example 2: A grocery store sells to a consumer a
package that contains a sandwich, pretzels, cookies,
and a fruit drink that is not a fruit juice. The
grocery store purchased the package from Compa-
ny A. Of the grocery store’s $2 selling price, $1.50
is attributable to the sandwich and fruit drink
(taxable items) and $0.50 is attributable to the
pretzels and cookies {(exempt items). Since less than
50% of the selling price of the package is attribut-
able to food that is exempt from Wisconsin sales or
use tax, $1.50 of the $2 selling price attributable to
taxable items is subject to Wisconsin sales or use
tax.

. Tax Sales of Prepaid Telephone Calling Cards
and Authorization Numbers (effective August 1,
1998)

The sale of rights to purchase telecommunications
services, including purchasing reauthorization num-
bers, by paying in advance and using an access
number and authorization code (e.g., prepaid tele-
phone calling cards or prepaid authorization num-
bers) is subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax,

The situs of the sale of the rights to purchase tele-
communications services is as follows:

* If the sale takes place at a retailer’s place of
business, the situs of the sale is that place of
business.

s If the sale does not take place at a retailer’s
place of business and an item that will im-
plement the right to purchase telecommunica-
tions services (e.g., calling card) is shipped,
the situs of the sale is the customer’s shipping
address.

e If the sale does not take place at a retailer’s
place of business and no item that will im-
plement the right to purchase telecommunica-

tions services is shipped, the situs of the sale is
the customer’s billing address.

Under prior law, the sale of a prepaid telephone
calling card or authorization number was not
taxable.

. Exempt Sales of Admissions to County Fairs

(effective August 1, 1998)

Sales of admissions to county fairs are exempt from
Wisconsin sales or use tax.

. Exempt Sales to Joint Local Water Authorities

(effective May 12, 1998)

A sales and use tax exemption is provided for sales
of tangible personal property and taxable services
to any joint local water authority created under sec.
66.0735, Wis. Stats.

Revise Who Is a Responsible Person (effective
June 17, 1998)

A person required to collect, account for, or pay
sales or use taxes, who willfully fails to collect,
account for, or pay those taxes to the Department
of Revenue, is personally liable for such taxes,
including interest and penalties, if that person’s
principal is unable to pay such amounts to the
department. Under prior law, only a person who
was required to pay, and who willfully failed to
pay, sales and use taxes when due to the Depart-
ment of Revenue could be held personally liable for
those taxes, including interest and penalties, if that
person’s principal was unable to pay such amounts
to the department.

This change reverses the Wisconsin Tax Appeals
Commission decision in the case of Frank A.
Calarco vs. Wisconsin Department of Revenue
{Docket #96-5-550, March 12, 1998). The Com-
mission held that a person who resigned at the end
of a month, but prior to the due date for payment
of sales taxes for that month, could not be a re-
sponsible person under sec. 77.60(9), Wis. Stats.,
for the unpaid taxes for that month.

. Revise Exemption Certificate Requirements for

Sales of Commodities (effective June 17, 1998)

In 1997 Wisconsin Act 27, the law regarding
exemption certificates was changed to provide that
exemption certificates were not required for sales
of certain commodities that are resold. The amend-
ment provides that;

* The commodities are consigned for “sale,”
rather than “resale.”



¢ The commodities must be deliverable on a
contract for future delivery subject to rules of
a regulated commeodities market.

¢ The exemption certificate requirements apply
to sales tax, in addition to use tax.

H. Rentals of Certain Vehicles Not Subject to
Rental Vehicle Fee (effective August [, 1998)

Motor trucks, road tractors, truck tractors, semi-
trailers, trailers, and motor buses are not subject to
the rental vehicle fee.

1. Adult Entertainment Tax Repealed (effective
June 17, 1998)

The adult entertainment tax that was to take effect
April 1, 1998, but was postponed, is repealed.

II. DO YOU OWE USE TAX?

If you were audited tomorrow, do you know what is the
most likely error? Use Tax!

Most businesses make purchases subject to use tax.
Perhaps you buy office equipment or supplies from out-
of-state sellers. Or, you own a retail business, buy
inventory for resale, and then occasionally use invento-
ry items in your business.

You are required to pay Wisconsin use tax on these
purchases if the seller did not charge you Wisconsin
sales tax. Failure to pay use tax may result in the
imposition of penalties and interest, in addition to the
tax.

III. PREMIER RESORT AREA TAX
AND RENTAL VEHICLE FEE
RETURNS MAILED

Returns for the premier resort area tax and rental
vehicle fee, that became effective April 1, 1998, were
mailed in late June to persons registered for the (1) pre-
mier resort area tax in Lake Delton and (2) the rental
vehicle fee.

If you are subject to the premier resort area tax in Lake
Delton or the rental vehicle fee and you did not receive
returns, please call (608) 266-2772 to request that
returns be mailed to you. Do net report the premier
resort area tax or rental vehicle fee on your sales and
use tax return (Form ST-12).

Note: Returns for the premier resort area tax that be-
comes effective July 1, 1998, in Wisconsin Dells will
be mailed in late September.

IV. SALES AND USE TAX
PUBLICATIONS AVAILABLE

Following is a list of sales and use tax publications
available from the Department of Revenue. The date
the publication was last revised appears in parentheses
after the title. Several publications have recently been
revised to reflect new laws, court decisions, and other
changes.

No. Title
200 Electrical Contractors (3/98)

201 Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Information (12/97)

202 Sales and Use Tax Information for Motor Vehicle
Sales, Leases,and Repairs (4/98)

203 Sales and Use Tax Information for Manufacturers
(12/94)

205 Use Tax Information for Individuals (2/97)

206 Sales Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations
(9/90)

207 Sales and Use Tax Information for Contractors
(3/98)

210 Sales and Use Tax Treatment of Landscaping
(5/94)

211 Cemetery Monument Dealers (3/97)

212 Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax on Imported
Goods? (2/97)

213 Travelers: Don't Forget About Use Tax (2/97)
214 Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax? (2/97)

216 Filing Claims for Refund of Sales or Use Tax
(9/95)

217 Auctioneers (3/96)

219 Hotels, Motels, and Other Lodging Providers
(6/96)

220 Grocers (8/96)

221 Farm Suppliers and Farmers (4/97)
222 Motor Vehicle Fuel Users (4/98)
223 Bakeries (2/98)

403 Premier Resort Area Tax (2/98)
410 Local Exposition Taxes (11/94)

Copies are available at any department office or by
mail, fax, or (in some cases) the Internet.



By Mail

Write to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Forms
Request Office, P.O. Box 8903, Madison, WI 33708-
8903, call {608) 266-1961; or fax a request to (608)
261-6239.

Via Fax

Use the department's Fax-A-Form system by calling
(608) 261-6229 from a fax tclephone and enter the
retrieval code "10" plus the publication number.

Via Internet

Access the department's World Wide Web site at
http://www.dor.state.wi.us, and click on “Forms and
Publications.”

V. NEW EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE
FOR RENTAL VEHICLE FEE

Rentals of service or replacement vehicles used while
a vehicle is being serviced or repaired are exempt from
the rental vehicle fee that became effective April 1,
1998.

Use Form RV-207, Certificate of Exemption for Rental
Vehicles, to claim the rental vehicle fee exemption for
service or replacement vehicles, Form RV-207 is
available from any Department of Revenue office.

Note: Form RV-207 may also be used to claim the
service or replacement vehicle exemption that applies
for the local exposition rental car tax in Milwaukee
County.

V1. WISCONSIN/MINNESOTA SALES
TAX SEMINARS

The Wisconsin and Minnesota Departments of Revenue
will again present a series of joint sales and use tax
seminars this fall. The seminars will include informa-
tion on differences between the two states’ laws as they
apply to general businesses. (Note: Seminars for
contractors will likely be scheduled in the spring of
1999.)

You are invited to attend any of the following seminars,
free of charge. All seminars are from 9:00 a.m. to
12:30 p.m. at the locations indicated. To register or for
more information, call the Minnesota Department of
Revenue at 1-800-888-6231.

QOctober 6, 1998 — Duluth, MN
Minnesota Department of Revenue Office
2711 West Superior Street

October 13, 1998 — Hudson, WI
Hudson House
1616 Crestview Drive

October 20, 1998 — Winona MN
St. Mary's University
700 Terrace Heights Drive

VII. ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS
SEMINARS OFFERED

Find out how 1999 electronic payment initiatives will
affect you and your business by attending one of the
free seminars offered by the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue and the Wisconsin Automated Clearing House
Association (WACHA).

Each two hour seminar will address the following:

¢ What is electronic funds transfer?

* Wisconsin’s new electronic tax payment system and
requirements

* National direct deposit campaign
* Hot topics in electronic payments

1998 Dates & Locations

Avgust 11 ... ... ... Appleton, WI
August 19 .. .. ... . Brookfield, WI
August26 .. ... .... Madison, WI
September 9 . ... .... Wausau, WI
October 15 .. ... ... Eau Claire, W1
October 29 ., . ... ... La Crosse, WI

Time: All seminars begin at 2:00 p.m. and end by 4:00
p.m.

To register for these free seminars, fax WACHA at
(414) 796-0272, or mail to WACHA, 16655 West
Bluemound Rd., Suite 370, Brookfield, WI 53005, the
following information:

¢ Company name

¢  Address

¢ Name(s) of person(s) attending

e Date and place of seminar you wish to attend
¢ Telephone and fax numbers

If you have questions about the seminar or registering,
call (414) 796-0252.



