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I. MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS' 
MEASURE OF USE TAX INCREASED 
TO $130 

Wisconsin licensed motor vehicle dealers are per-
mitted to report use tax on a certain dollar amount 
per plate per month for the use of motor vehicles 
assigned to certain employees and dealership own-
ers. 

Effective January 1, 2007, the amount subject to 
use tax is increased from $125 to $130 per plate 
per month. (Note: The use tax per plate per month 
is not $130. Rather, $130 is multiplied by the use 
tax rate (5%, 5.1%, 5.5%, or 5.6%) to arrive at the 
use tax due per plate per month.) 

The reason for the increase to $130 per plate is that 
sec 77.53(1m)(a), Wis. Stats. (2003-04), requires 
that the Department of Revenue annually adjust the 
amount subject to use tax to reflect the annual per-
centage change in the U.S. Consumer Price Index 

for All Urban Consumers, U.S. City Average, as 
determined by the U.S. Department of Labor for 
the 12 month period ending June 30. The percent-
age change for the period July 2005 to June 2006 
was 4.32% ($125 x 1.0432 = $130 rounded to the 
nearest whole dollar). 

II. NEW TAX LAWS 

The Wisconsin Legislature has enacted two 
changes to the Wisconsin sales and use tax laws. 
These provisions are contained in 2005 Wisconsin 
Acts 441 and 479. 

A. Definition of “Person” Expanded to In-
clude Unincorporated Cooperative 
Associations (2005 Act 441, amend secs. 
77.51(10) and 77.53(17r)(f), effective 
May 26, 2006.) 

The definition of “person” in sec. 77.51(10), 
Wis. Stats. (2003-04), is expanded to include 
any unincorporated cooperative association. 

Section 77.53(17r)(f), Wis. Stats. (2003-04), 
is amended to provide that use tax does not 
apply to an aircraft purchased in another state 
if the owner or lessee is an unincorporated 
cooperative association that does not have 
real property or other tangible personal prop-
erty (except aircraft and such property as 
hangars, accessories, attachments, fuel, and 
parts required for operation of aircraft) in this 
state at the time the aircraft is registered in 
this state, and if certain other requirements 
under sec. 77.53(17r), Wis. Stats. (2003-04), 
are met. 

B. Sales and Use Tax Exemption Created for 
“Internet Equipment Used in the Broad-
band Market” if Certified by Department 
of Commerce (2005 Act 479, create 
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sec. 77.51(6m) and 77.54(48), effective 
July 1, 2007.) 

Note: Income and franchise tax credits for 
certain Internet equipment used in the broad-
band market were also created in 2005 Act 
479. See page 10 of Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 
#148 (July 2006), which can be accessed at 
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/148art.pdf 

Subject to the nonstatutory provisions identi-
fied below, a sales and use tax exemption is 
created for the gross receipts from the sale of 
and the storage, use, or other consumption of 
Internet equipment used in the broadband 
market, if the purchaser certifies to the De-
partment of Commerce, in the manner 
prescribed by the Department of Commerce, 
that the purchaser will, within 24 months af-
ter the effective date of this exemption 
(July 1, 2007), make an investment that is 
reasonably calculated to increase broadband 
Internet availability in Wisconsin. 

“Internet equipment used in the broadband 
market” is defined to mean equipment that is 
capable of transmitting data packets or Inter-
net signals at speeds of at least 200 kilobits 
per second in either direction. 

Every person who is required to make an in-
vestment that qualifies for this exemption 
and is reasonably calculated to increase 
broadband Internet availability in Wisconsin, 
shall, within 60 days after the end of the year 
in which the investment is made, file a report 
with the Department of Commerce that pro-
vides a detailed description of the 
investment, including the amount invested. 
The Department of Commerce shall provide 
copies of the report to the Department of 
Administration, the Department of Revenue, 
and the Public Service Commission. 

Nonstatutory Provisions 
Not later than December 31, 2006, the De-
partment of Commerce shall implement a 
program for certifying businesses as eligible 
for the tax credits and exemptions under 
secs. 71.07(5e), 71.28(5e), 71.47(5e), and 
77.54(48), Wis. Stats. 

If the Department of Commerce certifies a 
business as eligible for the credits and ex-
emptions under secs. 71.07(5e), 71.28(5e), 
71.47(5e), and 77.54(48), Wis. Stats., the 
Department of Commerce shall determine the 
maximum amount of credits and exemptions 
that the business may claim, subject to cer-
tain requirements. The amount of the tax 
credits allocated to each business for each 
year in which the business may claim credits 
shall equal the amount of the exemptions al-
located to the business. The Department of 
Commerce may not allocate tax credits and 
exemptions to a business unless the alloca-
tion of tax credits and exemptions to the 
business is likely to increase the availability 
of broadband Internet service in areas of this 
state that are not served by a broadband 
Internet service provider or are served by not 
more than one broadband Internet service 
provider, as determined by the Department of 
Commerce. The total amount of exemptions 
from the taxes imposed under subchapter III 
of Chapter 77 of the statutes and tax credits 
allocated to all eligible businesses may not 
exceed $7,500,000. The Department of 
Commerce shall complete the certifications 
and determinations under this paragraph and 
the preceding paragraph no later than July 1, 
2007. 

Note: For additional information, see pages 
14 - 16 of Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #148 (July 
2006), which can be accessed at 
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/148art.pdf 

III. REMINDER - PREMIER RESORT 
AREA TAX BECOMES EFFECTIVE IN 
THE CITY OF EAGLE RIVER  ON 
OCTOBER 1, 2006 

Beginning October 1, 2006, the 0.5% premier re-
sort area tax will be in effect in the City of Eagle 
River. 

Please see Sales and Use Tax Report 2-06 (June 
2006) for additional information. 

http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/148art.pdf
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/148art.pdf
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IV. TELEFILE TAXPAYERS: PAYMENT 
BY DIRECT WITHDRAWAL NOW 
AVAILABLE 

Effective July 3, 2006, the Department of Revenue 
(DOR) has added another payment option for per-
sons filing sales and use tax returns using TeleFile. 
TeleFile determines if an amount is due and pro-
vides the taxpayer an option to pay the balance due 
by direct withdrawal from the taxpayer’s bank ac-
count. This direct debit payment option is only 
available during the call in which the return is be-
ing filed. 

To use a direct withdrawal, the taxpayer will be 
required to: 

• Provide DOR with its bank account informa-
tion, and  

• Authorize DOR to make an electronic with-
drawal from its account.  

The bank information will not be retained in 
DOR’s database. A taxpayer will need to enter 
bank information every time it uses the direct debit 
option.  

If a return is filed before the due date, the taxpayer 
may choose to “warehouse” the payment, which 
means that the payment will not be initiated until 
the due date of the return. If the warehouse option 
is not selected, the direct withdrawal will be proc-
essed the next business day. The taxpayer can pay 
the total amount due or make a partial payment. 

TeleFile also allows a taxpayer to file more than 
one return during a call. 

Please note that persons filing sales and use tax re-
turns using TeleFile may continue to pay the 
amount due using a credit card, Electronic Funds 
Transfer, or paper check or money order.  

V. TRUCK OWNER-OPERATORS:  DOES 
THE COMMON OR CONTRACT 
CARRIER EXEMPTION APPLY? 

Wisconsin provides an exemption from Wisconsin 
sales and use taxes for motor trucks that are sold to 
common or contract carriers who use the motor 
trucks exclusively in common or contract carriage.  
For the common carrier exemption to apply, the 

truck must be sold or leased directly to a common 
or contract carrier.  Wisconsin does not allow a 
pass-through of a common or contract carriage des-
ignation to another person for purposes of this 
exemption. 

Owner-Operator Leases Truck to Another Party 
A buyer that is an owner-operator is entitled to pur-
chase a motor truck without paying sales or use tax 
if the owner-operator will make no use of the truck 
other than leasing it to another party.  When pur-
chasing or leasing the truck, the owner-operator 
should provide the dealer with an exemption cer-
tificate (Form S-211, Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax 
Exemption Certificate) claiming resale. 
 
This assumes that the other party (e.g., a trucking 
company) provides control and direction over the 
owner-operator’s actions.  For example, if the 
trucking company directs the owner-operator as to 
what to pick up, when and where to make the pick 
ups, and when and where to make the deliveries, 
the trucking company is considered to be leasing 
the truck with a driver from the owner-operator. 

The owner-operator’s charge to the trucking com-
pany for the lease of the truck is not subject to 
Wisconsin sales or use tax, provided (1) the truck-
ing company is a common or contract carrier that 
uses the truck exclusively in common or contract 
carriage, and (2) the trucking company provides 
the owner-operator with a properly completed ex-
emption certificate claiming the common or 
contract carrier exemption. 

Owner-Operator Provides Transportation Service 
If a driver is provided by the owner-operator with 
the truck and the Public Service Commission and 
the Department of Transportation's Division of 
Motor Vehicles consider the arrangement a trans-
portation service under statute or under rules 
adopted by either or both of those state agencies 
(rather than a lease of the truck to the trucking 
company), the charge by the owner-operator to the 
trucking company is not subject to sales or use tax.  
The owner-operator is providing a nontaxable 
transportation service. 

An “owner-operator” that uses its truck exclusively 
in common or contract carriage may purchase its 
truck without tax by providing the dealer with an 



4 

exemption certificate claiming the common and 
contract carrier exemption.  

VI. DISASTER RELIEF PAYMENTS: 
WISCONSIN SALES AND USE TAX 
TREATMENT 

The Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) and the American Red Cross (ARC) have 
provided relief to disaster victims by distributing 
funds to those in need. Funds have been distributed 
to disaster victims using various methods includ-
ing: (1) making electronic transfers directly into a 
disaster victim’s bank account; (2) issuing U.S. 
Treasury checks to a disaster victim; (3) issuing 
FEMA debit cards to a disaster victim; 
(4) providing the disaster victim with an ARC Dis-
bursing Order (ARCDO); and (5) providing the 
disaster victim with a Client Assistance Card 
(CAC).  

Purchases made by disaster victims with funds 
from the following are subject to Wisconsin sales 
or use tax in the same manner as any other pur-
chase made by that individual: 

• FEMA funds that have been electronically 
transferred into the victim’s bank account or 
received by the victim in the form of U. S. 
Treasury Checks. 

• FEMA issued debit cards set up in the victim’s 
name. 

Purchases made using the following are exempt 
from Wisconsin sales or use tax: 

• American Red Cross Disbursing Order (AR-
CDO) voucher that the ARC provides to a 
disaster victim for a specific vendor that is 
good up to a specific dollar amount. 

• American Red Cross Client Assistance Cards 
(CACs) that the ARC issues to some victims, 
provided the invoice for the purchase is made 
out in the name of ARC. 

The retailer should keep a copy of the ARDCO or 
CAC and receipt and indicate ARC’s Certificate of 
Exempt Status (CES) number on the receipt to 
prove that the sale qualifies for exemption from 
Wisconsin sales and use tax. 

For additional information, please see pages 20-21 
of Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #145 (November 2005), 
which can be accessed at 
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/145art.pdf. 

VII. FILING SALES AND USE TAX 
RETURNS ELECTRONICALLY 

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) has 
several different ways for you to electronically file 
your Wisconsin sales and use tax returns. Filing 
and paying your taxes electronically makes the fil-
ing process easier for you! The electronic system 
provides confirmation receipts for your returns and 
payments, checks your math, and ensures that your 
returns have all the required information. These 
returns are less likely to be adjusted, which reduces 
interest charges and speeds up processing. 

Electronic Filing Options Available for Sales and 
Use Tax Return Filing 

1. Sales TeleFile 
2. Sales Internet Process 
3. File Transmission 

Electronic Payments 

DOR accepts Electronic Funds Transfer for most 
types of tax payments. It is easy to use and you are 
issued an acknowledgement that your payment has 
been received, which is a service that cannot be 
provided for checks and money orders.  

Questions About Electronic Filing? 

Information about each of the electronic filing op-
tions and electronic payments listed above can be 
found: 

• In the March 2006 issue of the Sales and Use 
Tax Report, which can be accessed at 
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/sales/06-1.pdf. 

• Under the “Business” or “E-Services” sections 
of the DOR web site at www.dor.state.wi.us. 

You may also write to the Wisconsin Department 
of Revenue, Technical Assistance Unit at Mail 
Stop 5-77, P.O. Box 8949, Madison, WI  53708-
8949; call (608) 266-2776; or e-mail 
sales10@dor.state.wi.us.  

http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/145art.pdf
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/sales/06-1.pdf
mailto:sales10@dor.state.wi.us

