Late Filing Fee Information – M-Forms

Filing Penalty

State law (sec. 70.995(12)(c), Wis. Stats.), requires the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) to charge a filing penalty if an M-Form is not filed, filed late or not filed completely.

Properly and Timely Filed Returns

DOR considers a return properly and timely filed if it is received and/or postmarked by March 1, 2018, and the following requirements are met:

M-P Filing

- You completed Schedule A, P, S and Y-P
- You completed all other appropriate schedules
- You used current DOR forms to file (if paper filing)

M-R Filing

- You completed Schedule A, B and Y-R
- You completed all other appropriate schedules
- You used current DOR forms to file (if paper filing)

M-L Filing

- DOR does not consider your return properly or timely filed unless the return contains all the required data for each equipment location
- Lessors are required to file Schedule LL even though manufacturers are assessed and responsible for the property tax in the State of Wisconsin
- Lessees are also required to report leased property information on their personal property return (M-P Form)

Note

- E-filed M-Forms are electronically time-stamped when the preparer submits the return
- Paper-filed returns are <u>not</u> considered properly or timely filed unless they contain the completed cover page and all completed schedules (state-prescribed forms), and are postmarked by March 1, 2018

Late-filing fees

- 1-10 days late: \$25
- 11-30 days late: \$50 or 0.05% of the previous year's assessment (whichever is greater), but not more than \$250
- More than 30 days late: \$100 or 0.1% of the previous year's assessment (whichever is greater), but not more than \$750
- You must pay the late-filing penalty fee by the due date (30 days after you are billed). If you do not pay on or before the due date, you are considered delinquent.

Note: If DOR finds reasonable grounds for late filing, we may refund all or part of any penalty we assess. (sec. 70.995(12)(c), Wis. Stats.)