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Other Filing Requirements
Even if your income is less than the amounts shown on the
table, you must file a return for 2000 if:

• You could be claimed as a dependent on someone
else’s return and either of the following applies:
(1) You had gross income of more than $700 which

included at least $251 of unearned income, or
(2) You had gross income (unearned income and

earned income combined) of more than –
$7,200 if single
$9,300 if head of household
$12,970 if married filing jointly
$6,160 if married filing separately

Unearned income includes taxable interest, dividends,
and taxable scholarship and fellowship grants not
reported on a W-2. Earned income includes wages,
tips, and taxable scholarship and fellowship grants re-
ported on a W-2.

• You owe a Wisconsin penalty on an Individual Retire-
ment Account (IRA), annuity, or other retirement plan or
on a medical savings account.

• Were domiciled* in another state
or country at any time during the
year OR

• Are married filing a joint return
and your spouse was domiciled*
in another state or country at any
time during the year.

* Your domicile is your true, fixed,
and permanent home to which,
whenever absent, you intend to
return. You can be physically
present or residing in one locality
but maintain your domicile in
another.
Your domicile, once established,
does not change unless all three
of the following circumstances
occur or exist:
(1) You intend to abandon your

old domici le and take
actions consistent with that
intent AND

(2) You intend to acquire a new
domicile and take actions
consistent with that intent
AND

(3) You are physically present in
the new domicile.

Which Form To File For 2000
You may file Form WI-Z
if you:

You may file Form 1A
if you:

You must file Form 1
if you:

You must file Form 1NPR
 if you:
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• File federal Form 1040EZ or file
your federal return using TeleFile
AND

• Were a Wisconsin resident all
year AND

• Did not have interest income
from state, municipal, or U.S.
bonds AND

• Did not receive unemployment
compensation AND

• Are not claiming any credits
other than Wisconsin tax with-
held from wages, renter’s and
homeowner’s school property
tax credit, the working families
tax credit, or the married couple
credit AND

• Are not c laiming Wisconsin
homestead credit.

• Were single all year or married
and file a joint return or file as
head of household AND

• Were a Wisconsin resident all
year AND

• Have income only from wages,
salaries, tips, taxable scholar-
ships and fellowships, interest,
d iv idends,  capi ta l  gain
distr ibutions, unemployment
compensation, social security,
pensions, annuities, and IRAs
AND

• Have no adjustments to income
(except IRA deductions and the
student loan interest deduction)
AND

• Are not claiming credit for item-
ized deductions, tax paid to
another state, historic rehabilita-
tion, or repayment of income
previously taxed AND

• Are not subject to a Wisconsin
penalty on an IRA or a qualified
retirement plan or on a medical
savings account.

Exception If you used federal
Form 4972, you must file Form 1.

• Were a Wisconsin resident all
year AND

• Were married and file a separate
return, or were divorced during
the year OR

• Have income which may not be
reported on Form WI-Z or 1A
(such as capital gain, rental,
farm, or business income) OR

• Claim adjustments to income
(such as for alimony paid, tuition
expense, or disability income ex-
clusion) OR

• Claim credit for itemized deduc-
tions, tax paid to another state,
historic preservation, or repay-
ment of income previously taxed
OR

• Are subject to a Wisconsin pen-
alty on an IRA or a qualified
retirement plan or on a medical
savings account OR

• Are subject to the alternative
minimum tax.

Who Must File
Refer to the table to see if you are required to file a return for
2000.

You must file if your
Age as of gross income* (or total gross
December 31, income of husband and wife)

Filing status 2000 during 2000 was:

Single Any age . . . . . . $9,000 or more

Married-filing Any age . . . . . . $18,000 or more
joint return

Married-filing Any age . . . . . . $9,000 or more (applies to
separate return each spouse individually)

Head of Under 65 . . . . . $9,900 or more
household 65 or older . . . . $10,100 or more

* Gross income means all income (before deducting expenses)
reportable to Wisconsin which is received in the form of money,
property, or services. It does not include items which are exempt
from Wisconsin tax (for example, the portion of social security
benefits which is not taxable on your Wisconsin return).
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• You were a nonresident or part-year resident of Wisconsin
for 2000 and your gross income (or the combined gross
income of you and your spouse) during 2000 was $2,000 or
more.

Who Should File
Even if you do not have to file, you should file to get a refund
if:

• You had Wisconsin income tax withheld from your wages.
• You paid estimated taxes for 2000.
• You can take the earned income credit.

Electronic Filing
Electronic filing is one of the fastest ways to receive federal
and state income tax refunds. Refunds deposited directly in a
financial institution account can be issued in as little as five
working days; checks in as little as seven working days. To
file your Wisconsin income tax return electronically, you
can . . .

• Use a tax professional.  Check your local telephone direc-
tory for the names of tax professionals who offer electronic
filing.

• Use your personal computer.  You may purchase off-the-
shelf tax preparation software for installation on your
computer, or you may connect to one of the web sites that
offer electronic filing. For more information, visit our web
site at www.dor.state.wi.us.

When filing electronically, you must file both your federal
and Wisconsin returns at the same time.

Although most Wisconsin returns can be filed electronically,
there are some which may not. Returns containing one or
more of the following items may not be filed electronically:

1. Homestead credit
2. Credit for tax paid to another state
3. Wisconsin Schedule DC, HR, or T

When to File/Extension of Time to File
Your return is due April 16, 2001. If you need an extension of
time to file your Wisconsin return, you do not need to do any-
thing until you actually file your Form 1. You can use any
federal extension provision for Wisconsin even though you
may be filing your federal return by April 16, 2001.

When you file your Form 1, attach either a copy of your
federal extension application or a statement indicating which
federal extension provision you want to use for Wisconsin
(for example, automatic 4-month extension).

Note Even though you may have an extension of time to file
your return, you will owe interest on any tax not paid by
April 16, 2001. Returns not filed by April 16, 2001, or during
an extension period, are subject to additional interest and

General Instructions

Eight Steps To Filing Your Return

� Get all of your records together  Make sure you
have all of your income and expense records,
including wage statements and interest and dividend
statements, so you can fill in your return correctly.

� Fill in your federal return  Before completing
Wisconsin Form 1, first fill in your federal return and
its supporting schedules. If you are not required to
file a federal return, list the sources and amounts of
your income and your deductions on a separate
attachment.

� Fill in your Wisconsin return  Follow the line
instructions as you fill in your return.

� Sign your Wisconsin return  A joint return must be
signed by both spouses.

� Check over your Wisconsin return  Check the
following items on your return carefully. Your Form 1
will be returned to you or its processing delayed for:

• missing wage statements,

• missing signature,

• missing copy of your federal return (a copy of your
federal  return must be attached to your Wisconsin
return),

• incomplete renter’s or homeowner’s information
(if school property tax credit claimed),

• incomplete schedules for the itemized deduction
and married couple credits (if credit claimed), or

• missing list of sources and amounts of income if
not required to file a federal return.

� Assemble your return  See page 27 for information
on assembling your return.

� Mail your return  If your Form 1 booklet has a mailing
label with your name on the front cover, remove the
label and place it in the name and address area of
Form 1. Check to see if the information on the label
is correct. If it isn’t, enter your corrections on the label.
Mail your return and all required attachments to the
appropriate address listed on page 27 under “Where
to File.”

����� Keep a copy of your return
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penalties. If you expect to owe additional tax, you can avoid
the 1% per month interest charge during the extension period
by paying the tax you will owe by April 16, 2001. Submit the
payment with a 2000 Wisconsin Form 1-ES. A copy of
Form 1-ES is available at any Department of Revenue office.

Farmers and fishers (individuals who earn at least two-thirds
of their gross income from farming or fishing) who do not
make payments of estimated income tax must file their 2000
Wisconsin income tax return and pay any tax due by March 1,
2001, to avoid paying interest for underpayment of estimated
tax.

Tax Help or Additional Forms
As you fill out your Form 1, if you find you need help or
additional forms, these are available at any of the following
Department of Revenue offices:

Madison – 2135 Rimrock Rd. (zip code 53702-0001)
income tax information (608)266-2772 or (608)266-2486
forms requests (608) 266-1961

Milwaukee– State Office Bldg., 819 N. 6th St., Rm. 408
(zip code 53203-1682)
income tax information (414) 227-4000
forms requests (414) 227-4440

Appleton – 265 W. Northland Ave. (zip code 54911-2091)
telephone (920) 832-2727

Eau Claire – State Office Bldg., 718 W. Clairemont Ave.
(zip code 54701-6190)
telephone (715) 836-2811

Other offices open on a limited schedule (generally Mon-
days) are: Baraboo, Beaver Dam, Elkhorn, Fond du Lac,
Grafton, Green Bay, Hayward, Hudson, Janesville, Kenosha,
LaCrosse, Lancaster, Manitowoc, Marinette, Marshfield,
Monroe, Oshkosh, Racine, Rhinelander, Rice Lake,
Shawano, Sheboygan, Superior, Tomah, Watertown,
Waukesha, Waupaca, Wausau, West Bend, and Wisconsin
Rapids.

FAX  To receive tax forms and publications by fax, call the
Department of Revenue's Fax-A-Form Document Retrieval
System at (608) 261-6229 from the telephone connected to
your fax machine.

Internet Address  www.dor.state.wi.us. You may obtain
forms, publications, and additional information from our
Internet web site.

People who are Deaf or Hard-of-Hearing  Phone help is
available for people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing and have
TTY equipment. Call (608) 267-1049 in Madison or (414)
227-4147 in Milwaukee. These numbers are to be used only
when calling with TTY equipment.

Questions About Refunds – Call (608) 266-8100 in
Madison or (414) 227-4907 in Milwaukee or Visit our
Internet Web Site
If you must contact the Department of Revenue about your
refund, please wait at least 10 weeks after filing your Form 1.
You may call the number indicated above or write to:  De-
partment of Revenue, PO Box 8903, Madison WI
53708-8903. When calling, be sure to have your social secu-
rity number and the dollar amount of your refund available.

If you call from a touch-tone telephone, an automated re-
sponse is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Operator assistance is available Monday through Friday from
7:45 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.

You may also obtain information about your refund through
our Internet web site at www.dor.state.wi.us.

Informational Publications Available
Following is a list of some of the department publications.
These publications provide detailed information relating to
specific areas of Wisconsin  tax law. They are available at any
department office.

Number and Title
102 Wisconsin Tax Treatment of Tax-Option (S) Corpora-

tion Shareholders
103 Reporting Capital Gains and Losses for Wisconsin
104 Wisconsin Taxation of Military Personnel
106 Wisconsin Tax Information for Retirees
109 Tax Information for Married Persons Filing Separate

Returns and Persons Divorced in 2000
111 How to Get a Private Letter Ruling From the Wiscon-

sin Department of Revenue
113 Federal and Wisconsin Income Tax Reporting Under

the Marital Property Act
114 Wisconsin Taxpayer Bill of Rights
117 Guide to Wisconsin Information Returns
120 Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates, and

Trusts
121 Reciprocity
122 Tax Information for Part-Year Residents and Non-

residents
125 Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
126 How Your Retirement Benefits Are Taxed
205 Do You Owe Wisconsin Use Tax?
400 Wisconsin’s Recycling Surcharge
503 Wisconsin Farmland Preservation Credit
600 Wisconsin Taxation of Lottery Winnings
601 Wisconsin Taxation of Pari-Mutuel Wager Winnings

General Instructions

Note NEW

address
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Before completing Form 1, first fill in your federal return and its
supporting attachments. If you are not required to file a federal
return, list the sources and amounts of your income and deduc-
tions on a separate attachment and include it with your Form 1.

Follow these line instructions to complete your Form 1. Prepare
one copy for your records and another copy to be filed with the
Department of Revenue.

Use blue or black ink to complete the copy of Form 1 that you
submit to the department. Do not use pencil or red ink.

					 Name and Address  If your  booklet has a mailing label with
your name on the front cover, remove the label and place it in the
name and address area of the tax return that you file. If your name
or address is wrong, correct the label by drawing a line through
the incorrect information and printing the correct information
clearly on the label. If you are married filing a joint return, check
that your spouse’s name is also on the label and that it is correct.
Do not use the label if your name is not on it.

If you did not receive a booklet with a label, print or type your
name and address in the spaces provided on Form 1. If you are
married filing a joint return, fill in your spouse’s name (even if
your spouse did not have any income).

					 Social Security Number  Fill in your social security number
in the space provided on Form 1. Also fill in your spouse’s social
security number if married filing a joint return.

Note  You must fill in your social security number even though you
may be using the mailing label from the cover of your tax booklet.

					 Quick Refund  To receive your refund check in as little as
two weeks, you must use an unaltered and current label. You
must also:

(1) have a Wisconsin address,

(2) not claim homestead credit,

(3) not owe delinquent taxes, delinquent child support, or have
debts to other state agencies, municipalities, or counties,

(4) fill in the amount of your refund (using dollars and cents)
from line 47 in the Quick Refund box,

(5) file by April 1, 2001, and

(6) mail your return to:  Quick Refund, PO Box 38, Madison WI
53787-0001.

Note  If you qualify for the earned income credit and request that
the department compute your credit (see line 40 instructions),
you may not claim a Quick Refund.

If you receive a Quick Refund and you have an error in compu-
tation, an additional refund or a billing, with interest if
appropriate, will be issued to you after processing of your tax
return is completed.

An alternative to using the Quick Refund procedure is to file
electronically. You may be able to get your refund even faster by
filing electronically. See page 4 for further information.

					 Filing Status  Check one of the boxes to indicate your filing
status for 2000. If more than one filing status applies to you,
choose the one that will give you the lowest tax.

Note  If you obtained a decree of divorce or separate maintenance
during 2000 or are married and will file a separate return (including
a married person filing as head of household), you should get
Publication 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2000, for information
on what income you must report.

Single  You are considered single if, on December 31, 2000:
• You were never married, or
• You were legally separated under a final decree of divorce or

separate maintenance, or
• You were widowed before January 1, 2000, and did not remarry

in 2000.

Married filing joint return  Most married couples will pay less tax
if they file a joint return.  You and your spouse may file a joint
return if:
• You were married as of December 31, 2000, or
• Your spouse died in 2000 and you did not remarry in 2000, or
• Your spouse died in 2001 before filing a 2000 return.

A husband and wife may file a joint return even if only one had
income or if they did not live together all year. However, both
spouses must sign the return, and both are responsible for any tax
due on the joint return. This means that if one spouse does not pay
the tax due, the other may have to.

A joint return cannot be filed if you and your spouse have different
tax years.

If you file a joint return, you cannot, after the due date of the return,
change your mind and file separate returns for that year.

Married filing separate return  In most instances if you file a
separate return, you will pay more state tax than if you file jointly.
Some reasons a higher tax may be determined on separate returns
are as follows:
• You cannot take the credit for a married couple when both

spouses are employed.
• If you lived with your spouse at any time in 2000:

a. A greater amount of any unemployment compensation you
received in 2000 may be taxable.

b. A greater amount of any social security benefits you
received in 2000 may be taxable.

• You will not qualify for the disability income exclusion.
• You will not qualify for the earned income credit.

Head of household  To use this filing status for Wisconsin
purposes, you must qualify to file your federal income tax return
using the head of household filing status. Use of this filing status
is generally restricted to unmarried individuals who paid over half
the cost of keeping up a home for a qualifying person such as a
child or parent. However, certain married persons who lived apart
from their spouses for the last 6 months of 2000 may also qualify.

Line Instructions
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If you are not required to file a federal return, contact any
Department of Revenue office to see if you qualify. If your federal
filing status is qualifying widow(er) with dependent child, use the
head of household filing status for Wisconsin.

					 State Election Campaign Fund  You may designate $1 to
this fund by checking the box. If you are married, your spouse
may also designate $1 to this fund. Checking the box will neither
change your tax nor reduce your refund.

					 Tax District  Check the proper box and fill in the name of the
Wisconsin city, village, or town and the county in which you lived
on December 31, 2000.

					 School District Number  Refer to page 38. Fill in the
number of the school district in which you were living on Decem-
ber 31, 2000.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars  You may round off cents to the
nearest dollar. You can drop amounts under 50¢ and increase
amounts from 50¢ to 99¢ to the next dollar. For example, $1.39
becomes $1 and $2.69 becomes $3.

					 Line 1 Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Fill in your federal adjusted gross income from:
• line 33 of your federal Form 1040,
• line 19 of federal Form 1040A,
• line 4 of federal Form 1040EZ, or
• line I of your federal TeleFile Tax Record.

Note  If your federal adjusted gross income from line 33 of your
federal Form 1040 is a loss, place a negative sign (–) in the box
immediately to the left of the loss amount. Do not use brackets
or parentheses.

Example ➙➙➙➙➙

Exception  The federal adjusted gross income that you must fill
in on line 1 of Form 1 may not always be the same as the amount
reported as adjusted gross income on your federal Form 1040.
Differences may occur because Wisconsin generally uses the
provisions of federal law as amended to December 31, 1999.

New federal laws enacted after December 31, 1999, may not be
used for Wisconsin.

CAUTION  At the time these instructions were released for
printing (November 15, 2000) no additional new federal income
tax laws had been enacted during 2000. If any additional federal
income tax provisions are enacted later this year, you can find a
list of those provisions that do not apply for Wisconsin in the
instructions for Wisconsin Schedule I.

Wisconsin law also provides that the following provision of
federal law does not apply for Wisconsin (even though this
provision was enacted into federal law prior to December 31,
1999):

• The exclusion for 50% of the gain from the sale or exchange of
qualified small business stock issued after August 10, 1993,
and held for more than five years.

If any provision of federal law which does not apply for Wiscon-
sin purposes affects your federal adjusted gross income, you must
complete Wisconsin Schedule I and attach it to your Form 1. The
amount you fill in on line 1 of Form 1 (and amounts filled in on
Schedule 1 on page 4 of Form 1) should be the revised amount
determined on Schedule I. Schedule I is available from any
department office.

To the extent Schedule I adjustments in a prior year affect income
or expense items in 2000 (for example, ACRS depreciation was
not allowed to be claimed on residential real property or certain
farm property placed in service during 1986), you must also make
adjustments on Schedule I for 2000.

You may also be required to complete Schedule I if you sold
assets during 2000, and the gain or loss from the sale is different
for Wisconsin and federal purposes due to Schedule I adjust-
ments made in a prior year. This would occur, for example, if
different rates of depreciation were allowed for Wisconsin and
federal purposes. See the instructions for Schedule I for more
information.

					 Line 2   State and Municipal Interest
Fill in the amount of interest you received from state and munici-
pal bonds. This will generally be the amount shown on line 8b of
your federal Form 1040 or 1040A or the amount identified as tax-
exempt interest on line 2 of Form 1040EZ. (If you were required
for federal purposes to allocate expenses to this income, reduce
the amount to be filled in by such expenses.)

Exception If you received interest income which is exempt for
state and federal tax purposes, do not include this interest income
on line 2. Interest income which is exempt for federal and Wis-
consin tax purposes includes interest from:

(1) public housing authority or community development author-
ity bonds issued by municipalities located in Wisconsin,

(2) Wisconsin Housing Finance Authority bonds,
(3) Wisconsin municipal redevelopment authority bonds,
(4) Wisconsin higher education bonds,
(5) Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority

bonds issued before January 29, 1987, except business
development revenue bonds, economic development
revenue bonds, and CHAP housing revenue bonds,

(6) public housing agency bonds issued before January 29,
1987, by agencies located outside Wisconsin where the
interest therefrom qualifies for exemption from federal
taxation for a reason other than or in addition to section 103
of the Internal Revenue Code,

(7) local exposition district bonds,
(8) Wisconsin professional baseball park district bonds,
(9) bonds issued by the Government of Puerto Rico, Guam, or

the Virgin Islands, and
(10) local cultural arts district bonds.

Interest from these sources is exempt from Wisconsin income tax
whether received by a direct owner of these securities or by a
shareholder in a mutual fund which invests in these securities.

, , .– 1 0 2 5 6 7

Line 1 instructions – continued

Line Instructions
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					 Line 3 Capital Gain / Loss Addition
If your federal adjusted gross income includes capital gains and/
or losses (see line 13, Form 1040), you must complete
Schedule WD.

Schedule WD (Part IV) determines whether any capital gain/loss
addition must be reported on line 3. For example, after completing
Schedule WD, you may be required to include an amount as an
addition to income on line 3 because Wisconsin law limits the
deduction for a net capital loss to $500.

Note If your only capital gain or loss is a capital gain distribution
from a mutual fund or real estate investment trust, do not com-
plete line 3. See the Exception in the instructions for line 10.

					 Line 4 Other Additions
Fill in on line 4 any of the additions described below that apply
to you. Describe each addition. If more space is needed, attach a
note to your Form 1.

Note  See Additions To or Subtractions From Income on page 16
for information on other items which may have to be included on
line 4.

(a) Farm Losses  An addition may be required if farm losses
were deducted on your federal tax return and you were not
actively engaged in the farming operations that produced
those losses.

To be “actively engaged in farming” with respect to a farm-
ing operation, you must make a significant contribution of:

• Capital, equipment, or land, or a combination of capital,
equipment, or land; and

• Active personal labor or active personal management, or a
combination of both.

Factors you must take into consideration in determining if
you contribute a significant amount of active personal labor
or active personal management include:

• The type of crops and livestock produced;

• The normal and customary farming practices of the area;
and

• The total amount of labor and management which is
necessary for such a farming operation in the area.

In order to be considered to be actively engaged in a farming
operation, you must have (1) a share of the profits or losses
from the farming operation which is commensurate with your
contributions to the operation, and (2) contributions to the
farming operation which are at risk.

Your combined net losses from farming operations in which
you are not actively engaged in farming are limited if your
nonfarm Wisconsin adjusted gross income is more than
$55,000 ($27,500 if married filing separately).

To figure your combined net losses from farming operations,
add together any losses you have from farming operations in
which you were not actively engaged (for example, these could
be losses from a farm partnership or tax-option (S) corpora-
tion). Do not reduce these losses by any net farm gains. If the
total of these losses is more than the maximum allowable
loss shown in the tables below, include the excess on line 4.

Example For 2000, a single taxpayer reports a loss of $25,000
on Schedule E from a farm partnership (the taxpayer is not
actively engaged in this farming operation), and a profit of
$5,000 from the rental of farmland. The taxpayer’s nonfarm
Wisconsin adjusted gross income is $60,000. Therefore, only
$20,000 of the $25,000 farm loss may be deducted for 2000.
The taxpayer must fill in $5,000 on line 4.

(b) Federal Net Operating Loss Carryover  Fill in any amount
deducted as a federal net operating loss carryover. (See the
instructions for line 11, part (h), for information about the
Wisconsin net operating loss carryforward.)

(c) Income (Lump-Sum Distributions) Reported on Federal
Form 4972   Income from a lump-sum distribution is taxable
to Wisconsin. If you reported a lump-sum distribution on
federal Form 4972, you must also include the distribution in
Wisconsin income. Fill in on line 4 the total of (1) the capital
gain part of the lump-sum distribution from line 6 of Form
4972 and (2) the taxable amount from line 10 of Form 4972.
You may reduce this amount by any federal estate tax on
line 18 of Form 4972.

Farm Loss Limits –
Single persons and married persons

filing joint return
Nonfarm Wisconsin

Adjusted Gross Income
But Not Maximum

More Than More Than Allowable Loss
$          0 . . . . $  55,000 . . . . . . . . . . Full Amount

55,000 . . . . . . 75,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . $20,000
75,000 . . . . . 100,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17,500

100,000 . . . . . 150,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15,000
150,000 . . . . . 200,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12,500
200,000 . . . . . 250,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10,000
250,000 . . . . . 300,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7,500
300,000 . . . . . 600,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5,000
600,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . No Loss

Farm Loss Limits –
Married persons filing separate returns

(including married filing as head of household)
Nonfarm Wisconsin

Adjusted Gross Income
But Not Maximum

More Than More Than Allowable Loss
$          0 . . . . $  27,500 . . . . . . . . . . Full Amount

27,500 . . . . . . 37,500 . . . . . . . . . . . . $10,000
37,500 . . . . . . 50,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8,750
50,000 . . . . . . 75,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7,500
75,000 . . . . . 100,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6,250

100,000 . . . . . 125,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5,000
125,000 . . . . . 150,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3,750
150,000 . . . . . 300,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2,500
300,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . No Loss

Line Instructions
Line 4 instructions – continued
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CAUTION  If the amount on line 10 of Form 4972 was
computed using the rules for multiple recipients of a lump-
sum distribution, include only your share of the taxable
amount on line 10 less your share of any federal estate tax
attributable to the lump-sum distribution on line 18.

Note  No portion of a lump-sum distribution may be reported
as a capital gain on Wisconsin Schedule WD.

(d) Farmland Preservation Credit and Farmland Tax Relief
Credit  The total amount of farmland preservation credit and
farmland tax relief credit you received during 2000 must be
reported as income. Fill in on line 4 any portion of your
farmland preservation credit and farmland tax relief credit
which was not included as income on your federal tax return.

(e) Development Zones Credit  Fill in the amount of your
development zones credit that you computed in Part I of
Wisconsin Schedule DC. The amount of your credit is income
and must be reported on your Wisconsin Form 1, even if you
cannot take the full credit this year and must carry part of it
forward. (Note Development zones credit that you receive
from a partnership or tax-option (S) corporation will be
accounted for when you make the adjustment described in
paragraph (a)(1) or (b) on page 16.) See page 28 for informa-
tion on where to claim the development zones credit.

(f) Excess Distribution From a Passive Foreign Investment
Company  Fill in the amount of excess distribution from a
passive foreign investment company which has not been
included in federal adjusted gross income (see federal
Form 8621).

(g) Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Credit  Fill in the amount of
manufacturer’s sales tax credit that you computed for 2000.
This is the amount from line 10 (line 11 for beneficiaries of an
estate or trust) of Schedule MS. The amount of your credit is
income and must be reported on your Wisconsin Form 1, even
if you cannot take the full credit this year and must carry part
of it forward.  (Note  Manufacturer’s sales tax credit that you
receive from a partnership or a tax-option (S) corporation will
be accounted for when you make the adjustment described in
paragraph (a)(1) or (b) on page 16.)

					 Line 6   State Income Tax Refund
Refunds of state and local income taxes are not taxable for
Wisconsin purposes. Fill in on line 6 the amount from federal
Form 1040, line 10.

					 Line 7 United States Government Interest
Fill in the amount of interest on United States bonds and interest
and dividends of certain United States government corporations
which you included on line 1 of Form 1. This income is not
taxable for Wisconsin purposes.

An ordinary dividend received from a mutual fund which invests
in U.S. government securities may be partially or completely
nontaxable for Wisconsin purposes. If information you received
from a mutual fund advises you that any portion of its ordinary
dividend is from investments in U.S. government securities, you
may include that portion of the ordinary dividend as U.S. govern-
ment interest on line 7.

CAUTION  Do not fill in on line 7, interest from Ginnie Mae
(Government National Mortgage Association) securities and
other similar securities which are “guaranteed” by the United
States government.  You must include interest from these securi-
ties in your Wisconsin taxable income.

					 Line 8 Unemployment Compensation
You may have a different amount of unemployment compensa-
tion taxable for Wisconsin and federal purposes. Complete the
worksheet below to see if you can subtract any portion of the
unemployment compensation which you included as income on
your federal tax return.

Line 4 instructions – continued Line 7 instructions – continued

					 Line 9 Social Security Adjustment
If line 7 of your federal Social Security Benefits Worksheet in the
Form 1040A or 1040 instructions is more than $34,000 ($44,000
if married filing jointly or $0 if your filing status is married filing
a separate return and you lived with your spouse at any time during
2000), complete the worksheet on page 10 to figure the difference
between the amount of social security taxable for Wisconsin and
federal purposes.

A. Married filing a joint return – write $18,000 on line 3 below.
B. Married not filing a joint return and lived with your spouse

at any time during the year – write -0- on line 3 below.
C. Married not filing a joint return and DID NOT live with your

spouse at any time during the year – write $12,000 on
line 3 below.

D. Single – write $12,000 on line 3 below.

Unemployment Compensation Worksheet
Check only one box.

1. Fill in unemployment compensation from
line 19 of federal Form 1040 (line 13 of
Form 1040A, line 3 of Form1040EZ, or
line D of your federal TeleFile Tax Record) . . . 1. ________________

2. Fill in your federal adjusted gross income
from line 33 of federal Form 1040 (line 19 of
Form 1040A, line 4 of Form 1040EZ, or line I
of your federal TeleFile Tax Record) . . . . . . . . 2. ________________

3. Fill in $18,000 if you checked box A; or
-0- if you checked box B; or
$12,000 if you checked box C or D . . 3. _______________

4. Fill in taxable social security benefits,
if any, from line 20b of federal Form 1040
(line 14b of Form 1040A) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4. _______________

5. Fill in taxable refunds, credits, or offsets,
if any, from line 10 of federal Form 1040 . . 5. _______________

6. Add lines 3, 4, and 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6. ________________
7. Subtract line 6 from line 2. If zero or less, fill in

-0- here and on line 9 of this worksheet and do
not complete line 8. Otherwise, go on to line 8 7. ________________

8. Fill in one-half of the amount on line 7 . . . . . . . 8. ________________
9. Fill in the smaller amount of line 1 or line 8. . . . 9. ________________

10. Subtract line 9 from line 1. Fill in this amount
on line 8 of Form 1 as your subtraction for
unemployment compensation.  If lines 1 and
9 are equal, fill in -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10. _______________



10 Line Instructions

Note  Lines 2 and 3 of the worksheet below refer to lines on the
federal Social Security Benefits Worksheets included in the
federal Form 1040 and Form 1040A instructions. If you use one
of the other federal worksheets (e.g., the worksheet for social
security recipients who contribute to an IRA), use the equivalent
lines on that worksheet. If you received a lump-sum payment of
social security benefits in 2000 that included benefits for prior
years and you used separate worksheets for each year to figure the
amount of social security taxable on your federal return, contact
any Department of Revenue office for information on how to
figure the nontaxable amount.

(a) Medical Care Insurance  If you paid medical care insurance
costs during 2000 while you were self-employed or an em-
ploye whose employer did not contribute toward the cost of
your medical care insurance, you may be able to subtract a
portion of the cost of your medical care insurance.

“Medical care insurance” means a medical care insurance
policy that covers you, your spouse, and dependents and
provides surgical, medical, hospital, major medical, or other
health service coverage. It does not include premiums for:
• Long-term care insurance,
• Life insurance policies,
• Policies providing payment for loss of earnings,
• Policies for loss of life, limb, sight, etc.,
• Policies that pay you a guaranteed amount each week for a

stated number of weeks if you are hospitalized for sickness
or injury, or

• The part of your car insurance premiums that provides
medical insurance coverage for all persons injured in or by
your car.

If you participate in your employer’s fringe benefit cafeteria
plan and agree to a voluntary salary reduction in return for a
medical care insurance benefit, you may not consider the
amount of your salary reduction an amount you paid for
medical care insurance.  In this situation, your employer is
considered to have paid for your medical care insurance.
Such programs may be known as, for example, flexible
spending accounts, employe reimbursement accounts, etc.

If you are self-employed, complete Worksheet 1. If you are an
employe whose employer did not contribute toward the cost
of your medical care insurance, complete Worksheet 2.

Wisconsin Social Security Benefits Worksheet
(Keep for your records)

1. Taxable social security benefits from
line 14b of federal Form 1040A
or line 20b of Form 1040 . . . . . . . . . 1. .

2. Amount from line 2 of your federal
Social Security Benefits Worksheet 2. .

3. Amount from line 9 of your federal
Social Security Benefits Worksheet 3. .

4. Fill in one-half of line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . 4. .
5. Compare line 2 and line 4.  Fill in

the smaller amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. .
6. Subtract line 5 from line 1.  Fill in

this amount on line 9 of Form 1 . . . . 6. .

					 Line 10 Capital Gain / Loss Subtraction
If your federal adjusted gross income includes capital gains and/
or losses (see line 13, Form 1040 or line 10, Form 1040A), you
must complete Schedule WD.

Schedule WD (Part IV) determines whether any capital gain/loss
subtraction must be reported on line 10. For example, after com-
pleting Schedule WD, you may be able to include an amount as a
subtraction from income on line 10 because you qualify for the
Wisconsin 60% capital gain exclusion.

EXCEPTION  If you reported a capital gain distribution
from a mutual fund or real estate investment trust on line 13 of
your federal Form 1040 or line 10 of Form 1040A and have no
additional capital gains or losses reportable to Wisconsin, you
may claim a capital gain exclusion on line 10. Fill in 60% of the
amount of the capital gain distribution on line 10. Do not com-
plete Wisconsin Schedule WD.

					 Line 11 Other Subtractions
Fill in on line 11 any of the subtractions described below that
apply to you. Describe each subtraction. If more space is needed,
attach a note to your Form 1.

Note  See Additions To or Subtractions From Income on page 16
for information on other items which may have to be included on
line 11.

Line 9 instructions – continued Line 11 instructions – continued

Worksheet 1 – Self-Employed Persons
1. Amount you paid for medical care

insurance in 2000 while you were
self-employed . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1. ___________

2. Self-employed health insurance
deduction from line 28 of federal
Form 1040* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2. ___________

3. Amount of medical care
insurance deducted on federal
Schedule C or F for your
employe spouse . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. ___________

4. Add lines 2 and 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4. ___________
5. Subtract line 4 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. ___________
6. Net earnings from a trade or business** . 6. ___________
7. Fill in the smaller of line 5 or 6 here and

on line 11 of Form 1.  This is your
subtraction for medical care insurance . . 7. ___________

  * Do not include any amounts deducted for long-term care
insurance.

** Net earnings from a trade or business means income from
self-employment, including ordinary income from a trade or
business as reported on Form 4797, line 18, and less the
deduction for one-half of self-employment tax. The total
earnings from a trade or business of both spouses are
included. Do not include losses from a trade or business.
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(c) Tuition Expenses  You may be able to claim a subtraction for
up to $3,000 (per student) of the amount you paid during 2000
for tuition for you, your spouse (if married filing a joint
return), and children whom you claim as dependents on your
federal income tax return.

The tuition must have been paid during 2000 to attend any of
the following:

• Classes in Wisconsin at a school which qualifies as a
university, college, or technical college. A “university,
college, or technical college” is any school which has a
curriculum leading to a diploma, degree, or occupational or
vocational objective.

• Classes in Wisconsin at other post-secondary (post-high
school) schools that have been approved by the Wisconsin
Educational Approval Board.

• Classes in Minnesota at a public vocational school or public
institution of higher education in Minnesota under the
Minnesota–Wisconsin tuition reciprocity agreement.

• Classes outside Wisconsin provided the tuition is paid to a
university, college, or technical collage located in Wisconsin.

The subtraction does not apply to tuition paid to pre-schools
or elementary or secondary schools (for example, grade
schools and high schools).

Line Instructions
Line 11 instructions – continued

Worksheet 2 – Employes

1. Amount you paid for medical care
insurance in 2000 while you were an
employe whose employer did not con-
tribute toward the cost of the insurance . 1. ___________

2. Fill in one-half of the amount on line 1 . . 2. ___________

3. Total wages, salaries, tips, and other
employe compensation of both spouses . 3. ___________

4. Fill in the smaller of line 2 or 3 here and
on line 11 of Form 1. This is your
subtraction for medical care insurance* . 4. ___________

* CAUTION  If you qualify for the subtraction both as a self-
employed person and as an employe and –
a. You were self-employed for the entire taxable year, your total

subtraction (line 7 of Worksheet 1 plus line 4 of Worksheet
2) cannot be more than the amount you filled in on line 5 of
Worksheet 1.

b. You were self-employed for only part of the taxable year, your
total subtraction (line 7 of Worksheet 1 plus line 4 of Worksheet
2) cannot be more than the total amount paid for medical care
insurance during the period in which you were self-employed
and in which you were an employe whose employer did not
contribute towards the cost of the insurance, less the amount
on line 4 of Worksheet 1.

Line 11 instructions – continued

Worksheet – Long-Term Care Insurance

1. Amount paid for long-term care
insurance in 2000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1. ___________

2. Portion of long-term care insurance
cost included as a self-employed
health insurance deduction on
line 28 of federal Form 1040 . . . 2. __________

3. Portion of long-term care
insurance cost deducted on
federal Schedule C or F for
your employe spouse . . . . . . . . . 3. __________

4. Add lines 2 and 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4. ___________
5. Subtract line 4 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. ___________
6. Fill in total taxable wages, taxable unearned

income (e.g., interest, dividends, capital
gains, pensions), and net earnings from a
trade or business* (include both spouse’s
income if married filing a joint return) . . . 6. ___________

7. Fill in the smaller of line 5 or 6.  This
is your subtraction for long-term care
insurance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7. ___________

* Net earnings from a trade or business is your income from self-
employment, including ordinary income from a trade or business
as reported on Form 4797, line 18, and less the deduction for
one-half of self-employment tax. Do not include losses from a
trade or business.

(b) Long-Term Care Insurance  If you paid long-term care
insurance costs during 2000, you may be able to subtract all
or a portion of the cost of a long-term care insurance policy
which covers you or your spouse.

“Long-term care insurance policy” means a disability insur-
ance policy or certificate advertised, marketed, offered, or
designed primarily to provide coverage for care that is
provided in your home or in an institutional or community-
based setting. The care must be convalescent or custodial care
or care for a chronic condition or terminal illness.

“Long-term  care insurance policy” does not include a medi-
care supplement policy or medicare replacement policy or a
continuing care contract. “Continuing care contract” means a
contract which provides nursing services, medical services,
or personal care services, in addition to food, shelter, and
laundry services, for the duration of a person’s life or for a
term in excess of one year, conditioned upon any of the
following payments:

• An entrance fee in excess of $10,000.

• Providing for the transfer of at least $10,000 (if the amount
is expressed in dollars) or 50% of the person’s estate (if the
amount is expressed as a percentage of the person’s estate)
to the service provider upon the person’s death.

If you paid long-term care insurance costs during 2000 for a
policy which covers you or your spouse, complete the follow-
ing worksheet to determine the amount of your subtraction.
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Tuition paid to a school which fits into one of the four
categories listed above may be subtracted regardless of the
type of course taken. For example, tuition paid for craft or
recreational courses at a technical college qualifies for the
subtraction.

Tuition paid to a school which does not fit into any of the four
categories listed above may not be claimed as a subtraction.
For example, the subtraction does not apply to a fee paid to a
retail craft store to attend a session on flower arranging.

Tuition paid for correspondence courses or courses received
via the Internet or other electronic transmission qualifies for
the subtraction as long as the courses are taken in Wisconsin,
and are presented by a school (located in or outside Wisconsin)
which qualifies as a university, college, or technical college,
or a school approved by the Wisconsin Educational Approval
Board.

CAUTION  The subtraction only applies to tuition. Amounts
paid as separate charges for other items such as books,
supplies, room and board, or other costs may not be sub-
tracted. You cannot claim a subtraction for tuition paid with
certain tax-free funds. For example, you cannot claim a
subtraction for tuition paid with tax-free scholarships or Pell
grants or for amounts paid or reimbursed to you by your
employer. You can subtract tuition paid from loans, gifts,
inheritances, and personal savings.

The subtraction is limited if your federal adjusted gross
income exceeds certain amounts. Your federal adjusted gross
income is the amount from line 33 of federal Form 1040,
line 19 of Form 1040A, line 4 of Form 1040EZ, or line I of
your TeleFile Tax Record.

Determine your tuition deduction as follows:

Single or Head of Household

• If your federal adjusted gross income is $50,000 or less, you
may subtract the amount paid for tuition during 2000, but
not more than $3,000 per student.* Fill in the amount of
your subtraction on line 11.

• If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $50,000
but less than $60,000, use the worksheet on this page to
figure the amount of your subtraction.

• If your federal adjusted gross income is $60,000 or more,
you may not subtract any amount for tuition expenses.

Married Filing Joint Return

• If your federal adjusted gross income is $80,000 or less, you
may subtract the amount paid for tuition during 2000, but
not more than $3,000 per student.* Fill in the amount of
your subtraction on line 11.

• If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $80,000
but less than $100,000, use the worksheet on this page to

figure the amount of your subtraction.

• If your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or more,
you may not subtract any amount for tuition expenses.

Married Filing Separate Return

• If your federal adjusted gross income is $40,000 or less, you
may subtract the amount paid for tuition during 2000, but
not more than $3,000 per student.* Fill in the amount of
your subtraction on line 11.

• If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $40,000
but less than $50,000, use the worksheet below to figure
the amount of your subtraction.

• If your federal adjusted gross income is $50,000 or more,
you may not subtract any amount for tuition expenses.

Line Instructions
Line 11 instructions – continuedLine 11 instructions – continued

* Your subtraction also cannot be more than your total tax-
able wages, salary, tips, unearned income, (e.g., interest,
dividends, capital gains, pensions) and net earnings from a
trade or business taxable by Wisconsin.

(d) Retirement Benefits  You may subtract any payments
received from the retirement systems listed on page 13, to the
extent you have included such payments as income on your
federal tax return, provided:

(1) You were retired from the system before January 1, 1964,
or

(2) You were a member of the system as of December 31,
1963, retiring at a later date and payments you receive are
from an account established before 1964, or

(3) You are receiving payments from the system as the
beneficiary of an individual who met either condition 1
or 2.

Tuition Expense Worksheet
CAUTION  Only certain taxpayers are required to complete
this worksheet. See the instructions for your filing status.

1. Amount paid for tuition in 2000. Do not
fill in more than $3,000 per student . . . . . 1. ___________

2. Fill in your federal adjusted gross
income from line 1 of Form 1 . . . 2. __________

3. Fill in $50,000 ($80,000 if married
filing joint return or $40,000 if
married filing separate return) . . 3. __________

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2 . . . . . 4. __________
5. Divide the amount on line 4

by 10,000 (20,000 if married
filing joint return).  Fill in
decimal amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. __________

6. Multiply line 1 by the decimal amount
on line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6. ___________

7. Subtract line 6 from line 1.  This is your
subtraction for tuition expense* . . . . . . . . 7. ___________
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The specific retirement systems are:

Local and state retirement systems – Milwaukee City
Employes, Milwaukee City Police Officers, Milwaukee Fire
Fighters, Milwaukee Public School Teachers, Milwaukee
County Employes, Milwaukee Sheriff, and Wisconsin State
Teachers retirement systems.

Federal retirement systems – United States government
civilian employe and military personnel retirement systems.
Examples of such retirement systems include the Civil
Service Retirement System, Federal Employees’ Retirement
System, and Retired Serviceman’s Family Protection Plan.

Note  Do not subtract the following:

• Payments received as a result of voluntary tax-sheltered
annuity deposits in any of the retirement systems listed
above.

• Payments received from one of the retirement systems
listed above if you first became a member after Decem-
ber 31, 1963, even though pre-1964 military service may
have been counted as creditable service in computing your
retirement benefit.

• Payments received from the federal Thrift Savings Plan.

CAUTION  Only retirement benefits based on qualified
membership (membership which began before January 1964,
as explained above) in one of the retirement systems listed
above may be subtracted. Any portion of your retirement
benefit based on membership in other retirement systems (or
based on employment which began after December 31, 1963)
is taxable and may not be subtracted from federal income.

Example 1  You were a member of the Wisconsin State
Teachers Retirement System as of December 31, 1963. You
left teaching after 1963 and withdrew the allowable amount
from your retirement account, completely closing the
account. Later you returned to teaching, and a new retirement
account was established for you. Retirement benefits from
this new account (established after 1963) do not qualify for
the exemption.

Example 2  You were employed as a teacher and were a
member of the Wisconsin State Teachers Retirement System
from 1960-1965. From 1966 until retirement, you were
employed by a state agency in a nonteaching capacity and
were a member of the Wisconsin Retirement System. You
receive an annuity from the Department of Employe Trust
Funds based on employment in both retirement systems. Only
the portion of the annuity attributable to the Wisconsin State
Teachers Retirement System may be subtracted. Use the
following formula to determine the exempt portion which
may be subtracted:

Years of
creditable service Annuity included Portion of annuity
in an exempt plan x in federal income = which may be

Total years of subtracted
creditable service

Note  If you received separate Forms 1099-R for the taxable
and exempt portions of your annuity, you may use the
Form 1099-R information instead of the above formula.

(e) Railroad Retirement Benefits, Railroad Unemployment
Insurance, and Sickness Benefits  Amounts received from
the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board are not taxable for Wis-
consin purposes. You may subtract such amounts to the extent
included in your federal adjusted gross income.

However, if you included tier 1 railroad retirement benefits
(RRB) as part of your taxable social security (SS), use the
following formula to determine the subtraction for your tier 1
RRB.

Tier 1 RRB Taxable Subtraction
Total tier 1 RRB x SS*  = for
and SS received RRB

* From line 20b of federal Form 1040 or line 14b of
Form 1040A.  However, if you computed a subtraction for
social security on the Social Security Benefits Worksheet for
line 9 on page 10, use the amount from line 5 of that
worksheet.

(f) Adoption Expenses  If you adopted a child for whom a final
order of adoption was entered by a Wisconsin court during
2000, you may subtract up to $5,000 of the amount you paid
for adoption fees, court costs, and legal fees relating to the
adoption. You may include amounts paid during 1998, 1999,
and 2000. Don't count amounts reimbursed under any adop-
tion assistance program. If you adopt more than one child
during the year, you may deduct up to $5,000 of adoption
expenses for each child.

(g) Recoveries of Federal Itemized Deductions  Fill in any
amount included as income on your federal tax return that is
a recovery of a federal itemized deduction for which you did
not receive a Wisconsin tax benefit.

Example  You claimed an itemized deduction on your 1999
federal tax return for a casualty loss of $2,000. You could not
claim the casualty loss for the itemized deduction credit on
your 1999 Wisconsin income tax return. During 2000 you
received a reimbursement of $1,000 from your insurance
company for part of the casualty loss. The $1,000 reimburse-
ment is included on your 2000 federal tax return as a recovery
of an amount previously claimed as an itemized deduction.
Because you did not claim the casualty loss for the itemized
deduction credit for Wisconsin for 1999, the $1,000 is not
taxable to Wisconsin for 2000. Fill in the $1,000 recovery on
line 11.

Line Instructions
Line 11 instructions – continued Line 11 instructions – continued
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(h) Wisconsin Net Operating Loss Carryforward  If you had
a net operating loss (NOL) in an earlier year to carry forward
to 2000, include the allowable amount on line 11. Attach a
statement showing how you figured the amount. Get Publica-
tion 120, Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates, and
Trusts, from any Department of Revenue office for more
details on computing the NOL and the allowable deduction.

(i) Amounts Not Taxable by Wisconsin  You may subtract any
amounts not taxable by Wisconsin (less related expenses
except those expenses which are used to calculate the Wis-
consin itemized deduction credit) which have been included
as income on your federal tax return or excluded from federal
deductions.

Example  Relocation assistance received by persons dis-
placed by condemnation, subject to the conditions set forth in
section 32.19 of the Wisconsin Statutes may be subtracted.
Fill in such amounts on line 11.

(j) Farm Loss Carryover  If you were subject to farm loss
limitations (see instructions for line 4, part (a) for a descrip-
tion) on your 1986 or subsequent year Wisconsin income tax
return, you may be able to claim a subtraction for all or a
portion of the farm loss disallowed in those years. Farm
losses disallowed as a deduction in 1986 or thereafter may be
carried forward for 15 years to the extent that the farm losses
are not offset against farm income of any year between the
loss year and the year for which the carryover is claimed. The
amount of carryover that can be subtracted is the lesser of (1)
the farm loss carryover or (2) the net profits and net gains
from the sale or exchange of capital or business assets in the
current year from the same farming business or portion of that
business to which the limits on deductible farm losses applied
in the loss year.

Example  You have a farm loss carryover from 1999 of
$30,000. For 2000 you report a net loss of $2,000 on
Schedule F and a net gain of $6,000 from the sale of farm
equipment on Form 4797. The gain and loss are from the
same farming business to which the limitation applied in the
loss year. You may subtract $6,000 as a farm loss carryover
on line 11.

(k) College Tuition and Expenses Program  You may subtract
any amount included in federal adjusted gross income due to
an increase in value of a tuition unit purchased under the
Wisconsin college tuition and expenses program (EdVest
Wisconsin).

(l) Disability Income Exclusion  If you are retired on perma-
nent and total disability and have included your disability
income on line 1 of Form 1, you may be able to subtract up to
$5,200 of your disability income.  You must meet ALL these
tests:

• You did not reach mandatory retirement age before Janu-
ary 1, 2000.

• You were under age 65 on December 31, 2000.

Line Instructions
Line 11 instructions – continued Line 11 instructions – continued

• You were permanently and totally disabled –
a. when you retired, or
b. on January 1, 1976, or January 1, 1977, if you retired

before January 1, 1977, on disability or under circum-
stances which entitled you to retire on disability.

• If you were married at the end of 2000, you must file a joint
return.

• You did not in any year prior to 1984 choose to treat your
disability income as a pension instead of taking the exclu-
sion.

Compute your exclusion on Wisconsin Schedule 2440W
(Disability Income Exclusion), which you can get from any
department office. Attach Schedule 2440W to your Form 1.

(m)Sale of Business Assets or Assets Used in Farming to a
Related Person  You may subtract the taxable portion of gain
you realize from the sale or disposition to a related person of
business assets or assets used in farming if the following
conditions apply:

• The related person is your child, grandchild, great grand-
child, parent, brother or sister, nephew or niece, grandparent,
great grandparent, or aunt or uncle. The person may be
related to you by blood, marriage, or adoption.

• The asset was held by you for more than 12 months.

• The gain is treated as capital gain for federal tax purposes.
Amounts treated as ordinary income do not qualify.

Gain on the sale or disposition of shares in a corporation or
trust qualifies only if:

• The number of shareholders or beneficiaries does not
exceed 15. Lineal ancestors and descendants and aunts,
uncles, and 1st cousins thereof count collectively as one
shareholder or beneficiary. This collective authorization
may not be used for more than one family in a single
corporation or trust.

• The corporation does not have more than two classes of
shares.

• All shareholders or beneficiaries, other than any estate, are
natural persons.

Farming “Farming” means the cultivation of land or the
raising or harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural com-
modity including the raising, shearing, feeding, caring for,
training, and management of animals. Trees (other than trees
bearing fruit or nuts) are not treated as an agricultural or
horticultural commodity. (Trees may qualify as a business
asset, see below.)

Business Assets  “Business assets” are assets used in an
activity carried on for a livelihood or in good faith to make a
profit. The facts and circumstances of each case determine
whether or not an activity is a business. Regularity of activities
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and transactions and the production of income are important
elements. You do not need to actually make a profit to be in a
business as long as you have a profit motive. You do need,
however, to make ongoing efforts to further the interests of
your business.

“Business assets” include assets used in the performance of
services by an individual as an employe and assets used in the
conduct of a trade or business by an individual who is self-
employed.

“Business assets” do not include investment and rental prop-
erty (for example, stocks, bonds, and residential rental
property) unless you are subject to federal self-employment
tax on the earnings from the activity. (Note  Rental property
which is a farm or farm equipment may qualify as an asset
“used in farming.”)

Computing the subtraction  You must first complete Wis-
consin Schedule WD. The amount of gain that may be
subtracted is determined after netting all capital gains and
losses on Schedule WD.

• If amounts reported in Parts I and II of Schedule WD consist
only of capital gains, your subtraction is equal to 40% of the
long-term gain on the sale of the asset to the related person.

• If the amount on line 15 or 16 of Schedule WD is a net loss,
you may not subtract any amount as gain on the sale of the
asset to the related person.

• If the amount on line 16 of Schedule WD is a net gain and
(1) the only gain reported on Schedule WD is from the sale
of the asset to the related person and (2) you show a loss on
line 14, column (f) of Schedule WD and/or on line 7 of
Schedule WD, your subtraction is equal to the amount on
line 19 of Schedule WD.

• If the amount on line 16 of Schedule WD is a net gain and
(1) the only long-term gain reported on Schedule WD is
from the sale of the asset to the related person, (2) you show
a loss on line 14, column (f) of Schedule WD, and (3) you
show a gain on line 7 of Schedule WD, your subtraction is
equal to the amount on line 19 of Schedule WD less the
amount on line 7 of Schedule WD.

• If the amount on line 16 of Schedule WD is a net gain and
(1) that net gain includes more than one long-term capital
gain and (2) you show a loss on line 14, column (f) of
Schedule WD and/or on line 7 of Schedule WD, complete
the worksheet on this page to compute your subtraction.

• If the amount on line 16 of Schedule WD is a net gain and
(1) that net gain includes more than one long-term capital
gain, (2) you show a loss on line 14, column (f) of
Schedule WD, and (3) you show a gain on line 7 of
Schedule WD, complete the worksheet on this page to
compute your subtraction.

(n) Settlements Due to Persecution  To the extent included in
your federal adjusted gross income, you may subtract any
settlement received or gain on assets recovered due to
persecution by Nazi Germany or any Axis regime during
1933 to 1945.

(o) Repayment of Income Previously Taxed  If you had to
repay during 2000, an amount that you included in your
Wisconsin income in an earlier year, you may be able to
subtract the amount repaid. A subtraction may be claimed
only for repayments that are allowed as a miscellaneous
itemized deduction on line 26 or 27 of your federal
Schedule A.

If you did not itemize deductions for federal tax purposes, use
the amounts that would be deductible if you had itemized
deductions. To determine the amounts to use, complete a
federal Schedule A. Write “Wisconsin” at the top of this
Schedule A and attach it to your Form 1.

CAUTION  Only amounts previously included in Wisconsin
income may be claimed as a subtraction.

If the amount repaid was over $3,000, you may either subtract
the repayment as described above or take a tax credit. See
Credit for Repayment of Income Previously Taxed in the
line 42 instructions.

(p) 1998 Roth IRA Conversion  If you were not a full-year
resident of Wisconsin for 1998 and during the period in which
you were not a Wisconsin resident you converted an IRA to
a Roth IRA, the conversion amount that is being reported
over a 4-year period is not taxable to Wisconsin. You may
subtract the 1998 Roth IRA conversion amount that is
included in your federal adjusted gross income. This subtrac-
tion does not apply if you were a Wisconsin resident at the
time of the conversion.

Line Instructions
Line 11 instructions – continued Line 11 instructions – continued

Worksheet for
Gain on Sale of Assets to Related Person

1. Amount from line 19 of Schedule WD . . . 1. ___________
2. Net short-term gain, if any, from line 7

of Schedule WD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2. ___________
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. ___________
4. Long-term gain on the sale of

asset to related person . . . . . . . 4. __________
5. Total long-term capital gain

from line 14, column (g) of
Schedule WD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. __________

6. Divide line 4 by line 5.  Fill in
decimal amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6. ___________

7. Multiply line 3 by line 6.  This is your
subtraction for gain on the sale of assets
to a related person . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7. ___________
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Additions To or Subtractions From Income

The following items may be either an addition to or a subtraction
from federal adjusted gross income, depending on your situation.
Fill in any additions that apply to you on line 4. Fill in any
subtractions that apply to you on line 11.

(a) Tax-Option (S) Corporation Adjustments  Fill in any of the
following adjustments that apply to you:

(1) If you were a shareholder of a tax-option (S) corporation
which is required to file a Wisconsin franchise or income
tax return, you will receive a Wisconsin Schedule 5K-1
from the S corporation informing you of any adjustments
to be made for Wisconsin tax purposes.

(2) If you are a shareholder of a federal S corporation that
elects not to be treated as a Wisconsin tax-option (S)
corporation, you must reverse all items of S corporation
income, loss, or deduction included on your federal
return and then add your pro rata share of any distribu-
tions made by the corporation of earnings and profits.
(CAUTION Do not reverse any item of S corporation
income or loss reported on federal Schedule D. These
items have already been removed from Wisconsin
income when you completed Wisconsin Schedule WD.)

(3) Instead of using tax-option (S) corporation items deduct-
ible on federal Schedule A to compute the Wisconsin
itemized deduction credit, you may elect to treat these
items as subtraction modifications. Your subtraction is
limited to the amount actually deductible for federal
purposes.

For more information, get Publication 102, Wisconsin Tax
Treatment of Tax-Option (S) Corporations and Their Share-
holders, which is available from any Department of Revenue
office.

(b) Your Share of Partnership, Trust, or Estate Adjustments
If you were a member of a partnership or you received income
from an estate or trust, you will receive a statement from the
partnership, trust, or estate notifying you of any additions or
subtractions which you should make on your return. Fill in the
amount of any such additions on line 4 and any subtractions
on line 11.

(c) Differences in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Assets
Additions or subtractions may be necessary if there is a
difference between the federal basis and the Wisconsin basis
of your property. Additions or subtractions are necessary if:

(1) You acquired property after December 31, 1964, which
may be depreciated or amortized (such as buildings and
leaseholds), and the federal basis is greater or less than
the Wisconsin basis.

(2) You sold (or otherwise disposed of) property which may
not be depreciated or amortized (such as land, stocks, and
bonds) in a taxable transaction, and your basis in the
assets was greater or less for federal purposes than for
Wisconsin.

Example  You sold stock which you acquired by inheritance
and your federal basis was greater than your Wisconsin basis.
You must make an adjustment for the difference in basis.

Compute the amount of any addition or subtraction due to a
difference in basis on Wisconsin Schedule T (Transitional
Adjustments), which you can get from any department office.
Attach a completed Schedule T to your Form 1.

(d) Differences in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Part-
nership Interest  An addition or subtraction may be necessary
if you sold your interest in a partnership and any increases or
decreases were made to the federal basis of your partnership
interest in taxable years prior to 1975, which resulted from
partnership business or property located outside Wisconsin.
(Prior to 1975, Wisconsin did not tax income from business
or property located outside Wisconsin.) Compute any addi-
tion or subtraction due to a difference in basis on Wisconsin
Schedule T.

(e) Differences in Federal and Wisconsin Reporting of
Marital Property (Community) Income  If you are married
filing a separate return or married filing as head of household
or if you obtained a decree of divorce or separate mainte-
nance during 2000, you may have to report a different amount
of income on your Wisconsin Form 1 than on your federal
Form 1040. Fill in on line 4 any additional amount which is
taxable to you rather than your spouse because of any differ-
ence in federal and state reporting of marital property
(community) income. Fill in on line 11 any amount which is
taxable to your spouse rather than to you because of any
difference in federal and state reporting of marital property
(community) income. For further information, get Publica-
tion 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2000, from any
Department of Revenue office.

					 Line 15 Standard Deduction

Most people can find their standard deduction by using the
Standard Deduction Table on page 30. Use the amount on line 13
to find the standard deduction for your filing status. But, do not
use the table if any one of the following applies:

• You (or your spouse if filing a joint return) can be claimed as
a dependent on another person’s (for example, parent’s)
income tax return. Use the Standard Deduction Worksheet for
Dependents on page 17 to figure your standard deduction.

• You are filing a short period income tax return or are filing
federal Form 4563 to claim an exclusion of income from
sources within U.S. possessions. You are not allowed any
amount of standard deduction. Fill in 0 on line 15.

Line Instructions
Line 11 instructions – continued Line 11 instructions – continued
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					 Line 19 Tax
Use the amount on line 18 to find your tax in the Tax Table on
pages 31-36. Find your income-level bracket and read across to
the column showing your filing status to find your tax. Be sure
you use the correct column in the Tax Table for your filing status.
Fill in your tax on line 19.

EXCEPTION  If the amount on line 18 is $100,000 or more, use
the Tax Rate Schedules on page 37 to compute your tax.

					 Line 20 Itemized Deduction Credit
If the total of certain federal itemized deductions exceeds your
Wisconsin standard deduction, you may claim the itemized
deduction credit.

Complete Schedule 1 on page 4 of Form 1 to see if you can claim
the credit. Schedule 1 lists the specific deductions to use from
federal Schedule A (see exceptions below).

If you did not itemize deductions for federal tax purposes, use the
amounts which would be deductible if you had itemized deduc-
tions. To determine the amounts to use, complete a federal
Schedule A. Write �Wisconsin� at the top of this Schedule A and
attach it to your Form 1.

EXCEPTIONS  Even though Schedule 1 has entry lines for
medical expenses, interest paid, and gifts to charity, not all of the
amounts of these items that are deducted on federal Schedule A
can be used for the itemized deduction credit. The following
describes the portion of these items that may not be used to
compute the itemized deduction credit.

� Medical expenses � the amount of medical care insurance and
long-term care insurance claimed as a subtraction on line 11.

� Interest � paid on a second home located outside Wisconsin.
� paid on a residence which is a boat.
� paid to purchase or hold U.S. Government securities.

� Contributions and interest allocated to you by a tax-option (S)
corporation, if you treated the amount as a subtraction on
line 11.

Line Instructions

					 Line 17 Deduction for Exemptions
You may claim a personal exemption of $600 for yourself and an
exemption of $600 for your spouse if you are filing a joint return
(see Exception below).

You may also claim an exemption of $600 for each person who
qualifies as your dependent for federal income tax purposes. Fill
in the number of dependents in the space provided on line 17b.
Do not count yourself or your spouse as dependents.

If you (or your spouse if married filing a joint return) were age 65
or older on December 31, 2000, you may claim an additional
exemption of $200. If married filing a joint return and both
spouses were age 65 or older on December 31, 2000, you may
claim an additional exemption of $200 for yourself and $200 for
your spouse. Check the box by line 17c if you (and/or your spouse
if filing a joint return) were age 65 or older on December 31,
2000.

EXCEPTION  A personal exemption is not allowed for a person
who can be claimed as a dependent on someone else�s return. If
you checked the box on line 15, fill in -0- on lines 1 and 2 of the
Exemption Worksheet in the next column. If you are married
filing a joint return and your spouse can be claimed as a
dependent, fill in -0- on lines 3 and 4 of the worksheet.

Use the following worksheet to determine the exemption amount
to fill in on line 17a.

Line 15 instructions � continued

 Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents

1. Earned income* included in line 13
of Form 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1. .

2. Addition amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2. 250.00
3. Add lines 1 and 2. If total is less

than $700, fill in $700 . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. .
4. Using the amount on line 13

of Form 1, fill in the standard
deduction for your filing status
from table, page 30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4. .

5. Fill in the SMALLER of line 3 or 4
here and on line 15 of Form 1 . . . . . 5. .

* Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, professional
fees, and any other compensation received for personal
services you performed. It does not include scholarship or
fellowship income that is not reported on a W-2.

Exemption Worksheet

1. Fill in $600 for yourself* . . . . . . . . . . 1. .
2. Fill in $200 if you were age 65

or older* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2. .
3. If a joint return, fill in $600 for your

spouse* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. .
4. Fill in $200 if married filing a joint

return and your spouse was age 65
or older* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4. .

5. Number of
dependents . . 5a. x $600 = . . 5b. .

6. Add lines 1 through 4 and 5b. Fill in
here and on line 17a of Form 1 . . . . 6. .

* See Exception in column on left.

Line 17 instructions � continued
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					 Line 21 Armed Forces Member Credit

The armed forces member credit is available to a member of the
U.S. armed forces on active duty who received military pay from
the federal government in 2000 for services performed while
stationed outside the United States.

The credit is equal to the amount of military pay for services
performed while stationed outside the United States up to a
maximum credit of $200. For a married couple filing a joint
return, if both spouses qualify for the credit, each may claim up to
$200.

Note Members of the National Guard ordered to active duty in the
U.S. armed forces are eligible to claim this credit provided they
were stationed outside the United States and received their military
pay from the federal government.

					 Line 22 Renter’s and Homeowner’s School
Property Tax Credit

You may claim a credit if you paid rent during 2000 for living
quarters used as your primary residence OR you paid property
taxes during 2000 on your home. You are eligible for a credit
whether or not you claim homestead credit on line 43.

Special Cases

If You Paid Both Property Taxes and Rent You may claim both
the renter’s credit and the homeowner’s credit. The total com-
bined credit claimed on lines 22a and 22b may not be more than
$300 ($150 if married filing a separate return or married filing as
head of household).

Married Persons Filing a Joint Return Figure your credit by
using the rent and property taxes paid by both spouses.

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns or Married Persons
Filing as Head of Household Each spouse may claim a credit.
Each of you may use only your own property taxes and rent to
figure the credit. The maximum credit allowable to each spouse is
$150.

Persons Who Jointly Own a Home or Share Rented Living
Quarters When two or more persons (other than husband and
wife) jointly own a home or share rented living quarters, each may
claim a credit. However, the property taxes and rent paid must be
divided among the owners or occupants. See the instructions for
lines 22a and 22b.

					 Line 22a How to Figure the Renter’s School
Property Tax Credit

Step 1 Rent Paid in 2000 Fill in on the appropriate line(s) the total
rent that you paid in 2000 for living quarters (1) where the heat was
included in the rent, and (2) where the heat was not included in the
rent. These living quarters must have been used as your principal
home. Do not include rent that you may claim as a business
expense. Do not include rent paid for housing that is exempt from
property taxes. (Property owned by a public housing authority is
considered tax-exempt unless that authority makes payments in
place of property taxes to the city or town in which it is located.
If you live in public housing, you may wish to ask your manager
about this.)

If the rent you paid included food, housekeeping, medical, or
other services, reduce the amount filled in for rent paid in 2000 by
the value of these items. If you shared living quarters with one or
more persons (other than your spouse or dependents), fill in only
the portion of the rent which you paid in 2000. For example, if you
and two other persons rented an apartment and paid a total rent of
$3,000 in 2000, and you each paid $1,000 of the rent, each could
claim a credit based on $1,000 of rent.

Step 2 Refer to the Renter’s School Property Tax Credit Table on
page 19 to figure your credit. If heat was included in your rent, use
Column 1 of the table. If heat was not included, use Column 2. Fill
in your credit on line 22a.

Exception If you paid both rent where heat was included and rent
where heat was not included, complete the worksheet below.

Line Instructions

Renter’s Worksheet
(Complete only if Exception described above applies)

1. Credit for rent with heat included
(from Column 1 of Table on page 19) . . . 1. ___________

2. Credit for rent where heat not included
(from Column 2 of Table on page 19) . . . 2. ___________

3. Add lines 1 and 2.  Fill in on line 22a of
Form 1* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. ___________

* Do not fill in more than $300 ($150 if married filing a separate
return or married filing as head of household).



19Line Instructions
Line 22a instructions – continued

7,000 7,100 169 212
7,100 7,200 172 215
7,200 7,300 174 218
7,300 7,400 176 221
7,400 7,500 179 224

7,500 7,600 181 227
7,600 7,700 184 230
7,700 7,800 186 233
7,800 7,900 188 236
7,900 8,000 191 239
8,000 8,100 193 242

8,100 8,200 196 245
8,200 8,300 198 248
8,300 8,400 200 251
8,400 8,500 203 254

8,500 8,600 205 257
8,600 8,700 208 260
8,700 8,800 210 263
8,800 8,900 212 266
8,900 9,000 215 269

9,000 9,100 217 272
9,100 9,200 220 275
9,200 9,300 222 278
9,300 9,400 224 281
9,400 9,500 227 284

9,500 9,600 229 287
9,600 9,700 232 290
9,700 9,800 234 293
9,800 9,900 236 296
9,900 10,000 239 299

10,000 10,100 241 300
10,100 10,200 244 300
10,200 10,300 246 300
10,300 10,400 248 300
10,400 10,500 251 300

1 100 1 2
100 200 4 5
200 300 6 8
300 400 8 11
400 500 11 14

500 600 13 17
600 700 16 20
700 800 18 23
800 900 20 26
900 1,000 23 29

1,000 1,100 25 32
1,100 1,200 28 35
1,200 1,300 30 38
1,300 1,400 32 41
1,400 1,500 35 44

1,500 1,600 37 47
1,600 1,700 40 50
1,700 1,800 42 53
1,800 1,900 44 56
1,900 2,000 47 59

2,000 2,100 49 62
2,100 2,200 52 65
2,200 2,300 54 68
2,300 2,400 56 71
2,400 2,500 59 74

2,500 2,600 61 77
2,600 2,700 64 80
2,700 2,800 66 83
2,800 2,900 68 86
2,900 3,000 71 89

3,000 3,100 73 92
3,100 3,200 76 95
3,200 3,300 78 98
3,300 3,400 80 101
3,400 3,500 83 104

$ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $

*Caution  The credit allowed certain persons may be less than the amount indicated. See “Special Cases” on page 18.

Renter’s School Property Tax Credit Table*
If Rent Your Line 22a
Paid is: Credit is:

Col. 1 Col. 2
Heat Heat

But In- Not In-
At Less cluded cluded

Least Than in Rent in Rent

If Rent Your Line 22a
Paid is: Credit is:

Col. 1 Col. 2
Heat Heat

But In- Not In-
At Less cluded cluded

Least Than in Rent in Rent

If Rent Your Line 22a
Paid is: Credit is:

Col. 1 Col. 2
Heat Heat

But In- Not In-
At Less cluded cluded

Least Than in Rent in Rent

If Rent Your Line 22a
Paid is: Credit is:

Col. 1 Col. 2
Heat Heat

But In- Not In-
At Less cluded cluded

Least Than in Rent in Rent
3,500 3,600 85 107
3,600 3,700 88 110
3,700 3,800 90 113
3,800 3,900 92 116
3,900 4,000 95 119

4,000 4,100 97 122
4,100 4,200 100 125
4,200 4,300 102 128
4,300 4,400 104 131
4,400 4,500 107 134

4,500 4,600 109 137
4,600 4,700 112 140
4,700 4,800 114 143
4,800 4,900 116 146
4,900 5,000 119 149

5,000 5,100 121 152
5,100 5,200 124 155
5,200 5,300 126 158
5,300 5,400 128 161
5,400 5,500 131 164

5,500 5,600 133 167
5,600 5,700 136 170
5,700 5,800 138 173
5,800 5,900 140 176
5,900 6,000 143 179

6,000 6,100 145 182
6,100 6,200 148 185
6,200 6,300 150 188
6,300 6,400 152 191
6,400 6,500 155 194

6,500 6,600 157 197
6,600 6,700 160 200
6,700 6,800 162 203
6,800 6,900 164 206
6,900 7,000 167 209

10,500 10,600 253 300
10,600 10,700 256 300
10,700 10,800 258 300
10,800 10,900 260 300
10,900 11,000 263 300

11,000 11,100 265 300
11,100 11,200 268 300
11,200 11,300 270 300
11,300 11,400 272 300
11,400 11,500 275 300

11,500 11,600 277 300
11,600 11,700 280 300
11,700 11,800 282 300
11,800 11,900 284 300
11,900 12,000 287 300

12,000 12,100 289 300
12,100 12,200 292 300
12,200 12,300 294 300
12,300 12,400 296 300
12,400 12,500 299 300

12,500 or more 300 300

					 Line 22b How to Figure the Homeowner’s School
Property Tax Credit

Step 1 Property Taxes Paid on Home in 2000 Fill in the property
taxes you paid in 2000 on your home. Don’t include the following:

• Charges for special assessments, delinquent interest, or services
that may be included on your tax bill (like trash removal,
recycling fee, or a water bill).

• Property taxes that you can claim as a business expense (for
example, farm taxes or rental property taxes).

• Property taxes paid on nonbusiness property (such as a cottage
or vacant land) other than your home.

• Property taxes paid in any year other than 2000.

The property taxes for your home to be filled in are further limited
as follows:

a. If you bought or sold your home during 2000, the property
taxes of the seller and buyer are the taxes set forth for each in
the closing agreement made at the sale or purchase of the
home. If the closing agreement does not divide the taxes
between the seller and buyer, divide the property taxes between
the seller and the buyer on the basis of the number of months
each one owned the home.

b. If you owned a mobile home during 2000, property taxes
include the parking permit fees paid to your municipality and/
or the personal property taxes paid on your mobile home.
(Payments for space rental should be filled in as rent on
line 22a.)

c. If you, or you and your spouse, owned a home jointly with one
or more other persons, you may only use that portion of the
property taxes that reflects your percentage of ownership. For
example, if you and another person (other than your spouse)
jointly owned a home on which taxes of $1,500 were paid,
each of you would claim a credit based on $750 of taxes.
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CAUTION  Property taxes paid during 2000 must be reduced
by any amounts received as a refund of such taxes. For example,
a taxpayer claimed farmland preservation credit (which is con-
sidered a refund of property taxes) on his or her 1999 Wisconsin
return. The taxpayer received a farmland preservation credit in
2000 of $600 that was based on 1999 property taxes accrued of
$6,000. The 1999 property taxes were paid in 2000 and 10% of
such taxes were allocable to the personal residence and 90% to
the farm property. Thus, for tax purposes, property taxes paid on
the entire property during 2000 are $5,400 ($6,000 less $600
farmland preservation credit). Of this amount, $540 (10% of
$5,400) is used to compute the 2000 school property tax credit.

Step 2 Use the Homeowner’s School Property Tax Credit Table
below to figure your credit. Fill in the amount of your credit on
line 22b.

CAUTION  If you are also claiming the renter’s credit on
line 22a, the total of  your renter’s and homeowner’s credits can’t
be more than $300 ($150 if married filing a separate return or
married filing as head of household).

Line Instructions
Line 22b instructions – continued

1 25 2
25 50 5
50 75 8
75 100 11

100 125 14

125 150 17
150 175 20
175 200 23
200 225 26
225 250 29

250 275 32
275 300 35
300 325 38
325 350 41
350 375 44

375 400 47
400 425 50
425 450 53
450 475 56
475 500 59

500 525 62
525 550 65
550 575 68
575 600 71
600 625 74

625 650 77
650 675 80
675 700 83
700 725 86
725 750 89

750 775 92
775 800 95
800 825 98
825 850 101
850 875 104

*Caution The credit allowed certain persons may be less than the
amount indicated. See “Special Cases” on page 18.

Homeowner's School Property Tax Credit Table*
If Property Taxes
are:

But Line 22b
At Less Credit

Least Than is

$ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $

If Property Taxes
are:

But Line 22b
At Less Credit

Least Than is

If Property Taxes
are:

But Line 22b
At Less Credit

Least Than is

875 900 107
900 925 110
925 950 113
950 975 116
975 1,000 119

1,000 1,025 122
1,025 1,050 125
1,050 1,075 128
1,075 1,100 131
1,100 1,125 134

1,125 1,150 137
1,150 1,175 140
1,175 1,200 143
1,200 1,225 146
1,225 1,250 149

1,250 1,275 152
1,275 1,300 155
1,300 1,325 158
1,325 1,350 161
1,350 1,375 164

1,375 1,400 167
1,400 1,425 170
1,425 1,450 173
1,450 1,475 176
1,475 1,500 179

1,500 1,525 182
1,525 1,550 185
1,550 1,575 188
1,575 1,600 191
1,600 1,625 194

1,625 1,650 197
1,650 1,675 200
1,675 1,700 203
1,700 1,725 206
1,725 1,750 209

1,750 1,775 212
1,775 1,800 215
1,800 1,825 218
1,825 1,850 221
1,850 1,875 224

1,875 1,900 227
1,900 1,925 230
1,925 1,950 233
1,950 1,975 236
1,975 2,000 239

2,000 2,025 242
2,025 2,050 245
2,050 2,075 248
2,075 2,100 251
2,100 2,125 254

2,125 2,150 257
2,150 2,175 260
2,175 2,200 263
2,200 2,225 266
2,225 2,250 269

2,250 2,275 272
2,275 2,300 275
2,300 2,325 278
2,325 2,350 281
2,350 2,375 284

2,375 2,400 287
2,400 2,425 290
2,425 2,450 293
2,450 2,475 296
2,475 2,500 299

2,500 or more 300

					 Line 23 Working Families Tax Credit

If your income is less than the amount indicated below for your
filing status, you may claim the working families tax credit.

Exception You may not claim the working families tax credit if
you may be claimed as a dependent on another person’s (for
example, your parent’s) income tax return.

Single, Head of Household, or Married Filing Separate Return

• If the amount on line 13 of Form 1 is $9,000 or less, your
working families tax credit is equal to your tax. Fill in the
amount from line 19 of Form 1 on line 23.

• If the amount on line 13 of Form 1 is more than $9,000 but less
than $10,000, use the worksheet below to compute your working
families tax credit.

• If the amount on line 13 of Form 1 is $10,000 or more, fill in 0
on line 23. You do not qualify for the working families tax
credit.

Married Filing Joint Return

• If the amount on line 13 of Form 1 is $18,000 or less, your
working families tax credit is equal to your tax. Fill in the
amount from line 19 of Form 1 on line 23.

• If the amount on line 13 of Form 1 is more than $18,000 but less
than $19,000, use the worksheet below to compute your working
families tax credit.

• If the amount on line 13 of Form 1 is $19,000 or more, fill in 0
on line 23. You do not qualify for the working families tax
credit.

Working Families Tax Credit Worksheet
Do not complete this worksheet if:
• Line 13 of your Form 1 is $9,000 or less ($18,000 or less if

married filing a joint return).
• Line 13 of your Form 1 is $10,000 or more ($19,000 or more

if married filing a joint return).
• You may be claimed as a dependent on another person’s

return.

1. Amount from line 19 of Form 1 . . . . . . . . 1. ___________
2. Total credits from lines 20 through 22

of Form 1 plus any historic rehabilitation
credit which will be included on line 24 . . 2. ___________

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If the result
is zero or less, stop here. You do not
qualify for the credit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. ___________

4. Fill in $10,000 ($19,000 if
married filing a joint return) . . . . 4. __________

5. Fill in amount from line 13 of
Form 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. __________

6. Subtract line 5 from line 4 . . . . . 6. __________
7. Divide line 6 by one thousand (1,000).

Fill in decimal amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7. ___________
8. Multiply line 3 by line 7.  This is your

working families tax credit.  Fill in this
amount on line 23 of Form 1 . . . . . . . . . . 8. ___________

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


