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IMPORTANT  

• Make one payment for each report filed. Do not make a single payment for multiple reports. 

• If you enter payment information with the holder report submitted via My Tax Account, your payment will be 
processed. It may take 24-48 hours for the funds to be withdrawn from your account. DO NOT initiate 
another ACH debit payment as both payments will be processed resulting in an overpayment on your 
account.  

1. IMPORTANT INFORMATION – 2021 WISCONSIN ACT 87 

2021 Wis. Act 87 became effective November 7, 2021. The Act conforms Wisconsin's unclaimed property laws in ch. 
177 to many of the provisions in the Revised Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 2016. The full text of the Act can 
be found here: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2021/related/acts/87. Chapter 177 of the Wisconsin Statutes can 
be found here: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177. Listed below are some of the major 
provisions affecting holder reporting. 

Definitions 

The Act provides for additional defined terms, including loyalty cards, gift cards, and stored-value cards. The 
definition of property has also been expanded to make clear that these types of cards are not included in property 
(sec. 177.01, Wis. Stats.).   

Dormancy Period Changes 

• Money orders and similar instruments decreased from 7 years to 5 years (sec. 177.0210(2), Wis. Stats.) 

• Amounts owed by an insurance company on a life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity contract that 
has matured or terminated decreased from 5 years to 3 years (sec. 177.0210(7), Wis. Stats.) 

• Tax-deferred retirement accounts decreased from 5 years to 3 years (sec. 177.0202, Wis. Stats.)  

Exempt Property 

• Payments, credits, and other transactions of record between two businesses (sec. 177.015(2)(b), Wis. Stats.)  

• Gift cards, stored-value cards, loyalty cards (sec. 177.01(13b)(c), Wis. Stats.)  

Holder Interest and Penalties  

• Interest on failure to timely pay or deliver property has been repealed 

• Late filed reports are subject to a $150 penalty (sec. 177.1204(1)(a), Wis. Stats.)  

• Late payments are subject to a penalty equal to 15% of the value of the property (sec. 177.1204(2)(a), Wis. 
Stats.) 

• Additional penalties may be imposed for $100 each day past the due date of a written request by the 
department to file a report or pay or delivery property (secs. 177.1204(1)(b) and (2)(b), Wis. Stats.)   

Holder Notices to Apparent Owners 

• Required to be sent by 1st class mail to the apparent owner's last-known address for all properties $50 or more 
(sec. 177.0501(1), Wis. Stats.)  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2021/related/acts/87
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/i/01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/ii/0201/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/ii/0201/7
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/ii/0202
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/i/015/2/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/i/01/13b/c
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1204/1/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1204/2/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1204/1/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1204/2/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/v/0501/1
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• Additional notice may be sent via email if the apparent owner has consented to receive email delivery from the 
holder; however, the notice must also be sent via 1st class mail to the owner's last-known address (sec. 
177.0501(2), Wis. Stats.)   

• Holder notices must do all of the following (sec. 177.0502, Wis. Stats.): 

o Contain a heading that reads substantially like: "Notice. The State of Wisconsin requires us to notify you 
that your property may be transferred to the custody of the state's unclaimed property administrator if you 
do not contact us before [the date that is 30 days after the date of the notice]" 

o Identify the nature and value of the property, unless the property does not have a fixed value 

o State that the property will be turned over to the administrator 

o State that after the property is turned over to the administrator an apparent owner that seeks return of the 
property shall file a claim with the administrator 

o State that the property may be sold by the administrator 

o Provide instructions that the apparent owner shall follow to prevent the holder from reporting and paying 
or delivering the property to the administrator 

Holder Reporting Obligations   

• Holders are required to provide the name, last-known address, social security number or taxpayer 
identification number, and date of birth of the property owner, if such information is known or readily 
available (sec. 177.0402, Wis. Stats.)  

• Holders are required to provide written notice to DOR thirty days before delivering any hazardous or 
dangerous items found in safe deposit box contents, such as guns, chemicals, or explosives (sec. 177.0308, 
Wis. Stats.) 

• Holders may aggregate items only if they are valued less than $5 and the apparent owner is unknown (sec. 
177.0402(2), Wis. Stats.) Reports with aggregate or unknown property that include information about the 
property owner will be invalidated and a new report will need to be submitted.  

• The administrator at reasonable times and upon reasonable notice, may examine records to determine 
compliance with law (sec. 177.1002(1), Wis. Stats.) 

• The administrator may issue a non-filer notice. An assessment may be issued for property not reported or 
delivered (sec. 177.1002(2), Wis. Stats.) 

Delinquent Balances  

• DOR is authorized to take collection action on balances not paid in full 60 days after the Notice of Amount 
Due was issued (sec. 177.1201(1), Wis. Stats.)  

• DOR will also assess a collection fee of 6.5 percent of the amount due or a minimum of $35 (sec. 177.1201(1), 
Wis. Stats.)  

• Delinquent balances are also subject to collection actions, including offsetting tax refunds, levying bank 
accounts, and filing tax liens (sec. 177.1201(1), Wis. Stats.) 

Other Holder Changes 

• Required to retain records for 10 years (sec. 177.0404, Wis. Stats.)  

• Holder reimbursements are subject to set off against holder's debts of state agencies or municipalities (sec. 
177.0605(12), Wis. Stats.)  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/v/0501/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/v/0502
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/iv/0402
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/iii/0308
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/iv/0402/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/x/1002/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/x/1002/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1201/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1201/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xii/1201/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/iv/0404
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/vi/0605/12
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• DOR shall provide allowance or denial notice within 120 days to a holder who files a claim for reimbursement 
if the holder paid the money or property in error, after paying or delivering property to DOR it paid the money 
or delivered property to a person believed was entitled to the apparent owner. If DOR does not act on a claim 
during the 120-day period, the claim is deemed denied (sec. 177.0605(10), Wis. Stats.). 

• Holder reimbursements that are denied may be appealed by filing a petition for judicial review in circuit court 
(sec. 177.0605(11), Wis. Stats.) 

• Holders have assessment appeal rights similar to those for taxpayers (sec. 177.1103, Wis. Stats.)   

2. OVERVIEW OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY 

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) is the administrator of Wisconsin's unclaimed property program. 
Holders of unclaimed property are required to report and remit the property to the department, who acts as the 
custodian for the property. The program works to reunite citizens with lost property.  

A. What Is Unclaimed Property? 

Unclaimed property is generally any financial asset that belongs to an individual, business, or governmental 
entity that hasn't had owner activity for the dormancy period applicable to the property type and the holder is 
unable to contact the owner.  

B. Who Must Report Unclaimed Property? 

Wisconsin law requires holders to review their financial records each year to determine whether they hold any 
property that has had no owner activity for the required dormancy period for the property type. See Appendix 
1 for a list of property codes and dormancy periods. Any holder of unclaimed property is required to report and 
remit the unclaimed property to the department.  

Financial institutions, utility companies, and life insurance companies, with a physical presence in Wisconsin, 
must file a holder report even if no unclaimed property is reported (known as a negative report). Do not submit 
a negative report if no physical presence in Wisconsin. 

Municipalities should report uncashed payroll checks to DOR following one year of dormancy. However, all 
other unclaimed property held by municipalities should follow the laws provided in sec. 59.66, Wis. Stats. 

Funeral Trusts and Burial CDs are not to be turned over if the beneficiary is living. These items should only be 
reported after the named beneficiary has died, and no heir has come forward or been located.  

Insurers are required to compare, at least semi-annually, the records of its life insurance policies, annuity 
contracts, or retained asset accounts with the federal social security administration's death master file (2017 
Wis. Act 192). 

C. Reporting and Remitting Unclaimed Property to DOR 

Holder reports and remittance of payment and securities are due by November 1 following the close of each 
fiscal year July 1 through June 30. The report details the items that became unclaimed during the fiscal period. 
Penalties may be assessed for holder reports and payments that are late or for failure to file, pay, or deliver.  

Safe deposit box contents are to be delivered to DOR by December 1. Note: The property (i.e., contents of the 
box) is required to be included in the report due by November 1.  

Note: When the regular due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the business 
day immediately following the weekend or legal holiday. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/vi/0605/10
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/vi/0605/11
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/177/xi/1103
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/192
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/192
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D. Extension of Time to File  

Holders may request up to a 60-day extension to file their annual report and remit unclaimed property by 
submitting a request through My Tax Account during September and October, prior to the November 1 due 
date. See Note in Part 2.C. above if November 1 falls on a weekend or legal holiday. 

E. Holder Appeal Rights 

(1) Holder reimbursements that are denied may be appealed by filing a petition for judicial review in circuit 
court. Appeals must be served and filed no later than 90 days after the decision or no later than 180 days 
after the filing of the claim if DOR has failed to act on it. 

(2) Holder assessments may be appealed, including estimated amounts due and late filing fees. The appeal 
provisions for taxpayers and DOR also apply to holders. The Notice of Amount Due sent to the holder will 
contain instructions on how to appeal the assessment.  

3. UNCLAIMED PROPERTY REPORTING PROCESS 

   

 

  

A. Step 1: Identify Abandoned Properties  

Holders must perform an annual review of finances to determine if they hold properties that are considered 
abandoned. Property is considered abandoned if there has been no activity on the property within its dormancy 
period. A complete list of property types, property codes, and dormancy periods can be found in Appendix 1.  

Using Appendix 1 as a reference, identify the properties that have reached their dormancy period so you can 
provide the required notice to the apparent owner (see Step 2 below). Here is a sample of properties with their 
dormancy period and reporting due dates.  

SAMPLE PROPERTY TYPES – IMPORTANT DATES AND DEADLINES 

Property Type Dormancy 
Period 

Date of Check or Last 
Contact 

Completes 
Dormancy Period Report and Remit Due 

Unclaimed Wages 1 Year 7/1/21 - 6/30/22 7/1/22 - 6/30/23 11/1/23 
Matured Policy Benefits 3 Years 7/1/19 - 6/30/20 7/1/22 - 6/30/23 11/1/23 
Dormant Account 5 Years 7/1/17 - 6/30/18 7/1/22 - 6/30/23 11/1/23 
Uncashed Traveler's 

 
15 Years 7/1/07 - 6/30/08 7/1/22 - 6/30/23 11/1/23 

 

B. Step 2: Attempt to Locate the Owners  

You must make a good faith effort to locate the owners of the properties identified in Step 1 (known as due 
diligence). A notification letter must be sent to owners of properties valued at $50 or more unless the owner's 
last known address is recorded as invalid. Letters must be sent between July 1 and September 1. You are 

Step 1: 
Identify 

Properties 

Step 2:  
Attempt to 

Locate  
Owners 

Step 3:  
Prepare 
and File 
Report 

Step 4: 
Submit payment, 
securities, or safe  

deposit box contents 
 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/ucp-135.pdf
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/UCPSearch/_/#3
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required to keep a copy of the letter for 10 years and provide the letter upon request by the department. The 
letter must do the following: 

• Contain a heading that reads substantially like: "Notice. The State of Wisconsin requires us to notify you 
that your property may be transferred to the custody of the state's unclaimed property administrator if you 
do not contact us before [the date that is 30 days after the date of the notice]" 

• Identify the nature and value of the property, unless the property does not have a fixed value 

• State that the property will be turned over to the administrator 

• State that after the property is turned over to the administrator an apparent owner that seeks return of the 
property shall file a claim with the administrator 

• State that the property may be sold by the administrator 

• Provide instructions that the apparent owner shall follow to prevent the holder from reporting and paying 
or delivering the property to the administrator 

A sample owner notification letter is shown in Appendix 3. Do not include the department's contact 
information on due diligence letters as we will not be able to assist until the property has been reported and 
paid to us.  

Note: UPExchange products and Holder Reporting System (HRS) software will automatically generate this letter 
and it can be customized to meet your needs. 

C. Step 3: Prepare and File Your Report 

(1) Reporting and filing  

If the owner does not respond to the due diligence letter and owner activity does not occur, the property 
must be reported and remitted to the department. Additionally, if no due diligence letter was sent because 
the property is valued under $50, and no owner activity has occurred, the property must also be remitted 
to the department. All holder reports must be filed electronically. The electronic filing option for your 
holder report is based on how you prepare your report. The following table shows the preparation and 
report filing options.  

Note: All filing options are secured methods of transmitting data. 

Preparation Method 
 
 

Filing Option 

UPExchange 

1. Holders may file report online via UPExchange software. No further 
action is needed. 

2. Holders may also choose the "Manual Submission" option. If "Manual 
Submission" is used, holders must go to My Tax Account and attach a 
standard NAUPA Report file (option 1). You must convert the file into 
.TXT format. You will not be able to upload an HDE file. 

HRS Pro 
Holders must go to My Tax Account and attach a standard NAUPA Report 
file (option 1). You must convert the file into .TXT format. You will not be 
able to upload an HDE file. 

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
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My Tax Account 

Holders have two free options for filing their report via My Tax Account:  

1. Attach a standard NAUPA Report file. To attach the file, use the Add 
button on the left side of the screen. You must convert the file into 
.TXT format. You will not be able to upload an HDE file. 

2. Manually enter and file a holder report or file a negative report. 

(2) Important reporting information 

• Reports filed late will be assessed a $150 penalty. 

• Payments made after the due date will be assessed a penalty equal to 15% of the value of the property. 

• Stock or Safekeeping delivered late will be assessed a penalty equal to 15% of the value of the property. 

• DOR may assess a penalty of $100 per day past the due date of a written request to file a report.  

• Make sure the report contact information is correct. The address you use will be the address where 
correspondence will be sent. This includes important notices from the Department of Revenue. 

• DOR will take collection action for balances not paid within 60 days of a Notice of Amount Due and may 
also assess a collection fee. See Part 2.E. for information on holder appeal rights. 

• Provide complete and accurate owner information. You are required to include the owner’s full name, 
last known address (even if the Post Office has retuned mail as undeliverable), SSN or tax identification 
number, and date of birth, if known or readily available. Use caution to enter confidential information, 
such as SSNs, tax identification numbers, date of births, and account numbers, in the correct fields in 
the report, as this information is used to automatically reunite the rightful owner with their property.  

Note: Holder reports that do not comply with reporting requirements may be rejected.  

• Use All Other Owners (OT) as the ownership type for all property unless the owner is unknown.  

• Only use aggregate for properties valued under $5 and if the owner is unknown.  

• File. Pay. Done! Save yourself some time! DO NOT send us a paper copy of your report or a copy of 
your report on CD/other electronic storage media. We do not require a notarized affidavit after your 
electronic filing. All this information is destroyed without being reviewed.   

• Do not submit negative reports if there is no physical presence in the State of Wisconsin. 
• Refer to Appendix 1 and 2 for the correct codes and relationship types to use when filing your report. 

• Important: Reports filed using My Tax Account will have the option to print and save a PDF copy of the 
report. If you wish to print a copy of the report at a later date, you will need to go to 
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta, under the unclaimed property tab select "resume saved holder 
report", enter your email address and your confirmation code, then under "I want to" click "print 
submission". 

• Save the confirmation page after you file your report. You will need the confirmation number if you 
require assistance from us. 

• Multiple entity holder reports must be uploaded here: 
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/FileTransfer/application?PASS_types=32 

Note: It is very important to report complete and accurate information. The department may advertise properties 
within three days after a report has been filed, and the department's matching program may automatically pay 
the rightful owners shortly after the report is filed. If you notice an error in the report:  

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/FileTransfer/application?PASS_types=32
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• Within three days of filing, contact the department at (608) 264-4594 or by email at 
DORWIHolderReports@wisconsin.gov to discuss your options if the report contains:  

o Properties that should not have been reported,  

o Errors regarding the owner information (name, address, date of birth, ID number, etc.) for any of 
the properties, or  

o Errors regarding the dollar amount or security shares reported.  

• If property was not included that should have been reported, file a new holder report with new 
properties only. Do not submit a report with properties that were already reported. 

• Contact the department for assistance with other errors not listed for guidance at (608) 264-4594 or by 
email at DORWIHolderReports@wisconsin.gov.  

(3) Securities reporting 

The following types of abandoned securities must be reported (this list is not all inclusive): 

• Common Stock • Bonds/Debentures 

• Stock Warrants • Partnership Units 

• Preferred Stock • Dividend Reinvestment Plans (DRPs) 

• Mutual Funds • Any other security-type property that has been abandoned 

Do not report nontransferable, delisted, worthless, restricted or expired securities. If the shares become 
transferable, file a holder report and transfer the shares at that time. 

In order to provide general guidance on how to determine if a security should be reported or remitted, 
please exclude any delisted securities as well as securities that do not clear two cents based on current 
bid/ask and close information available on Bloomberg or trade on the bottom tier of the OTC and have 
no bid/ask activity. 

Do not report fractional shares of common stock. The fractional shares must be liquidated prior to 
reporting and reported as cash-in-lieu of fractional shares.  

ALL SHARES MUST BE REMITED BY NOVEMBER 1. Shares received after November 1 will be subject to a 
fee equal to 15% of the value of the shares.  

See Part 4.D.(2) for instructions on submitting securities.  

(4) Reciprocal reporting 

Properties with a last known address in California must be reported directly to California.  

As a courtesy to Wisconsin businesses, the department has a policy of forwarding unclaimed property 
reported to the department for citizens of other states. Wisconsin has reciprocal agreements with most 
states. 

If you are a business incorporated in Wisconsin, you can report to Wisconsin incidental amounts (less than 
ten (10) items) of unclaimed property owned by those with addresses in the states without a formal 
reciprocal agreement. The department will forward the names and property of out-of-state owners to the 
appropriate states. Make sure to abide by each state’s dormancy periods and property codes when 

mailto:DORWIHolderReports@wisconsin.gov
mailto:DORWIHolderReports@wisconsin.gov
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preparing your reports. Contact the other states at the numbers in the table in Appendix 4 for additional 
information. Do not report any properties for California.  

D. Step 4: Submit Payment, Securities, and Safe Deposit Box Contents 

Once you have filed your report, you are ready to complete the process by submitting payment, securities, and 
safe deposit box contents. Follow the submission instructions below for the different types of property. 
Payments and delivery of property are due by November 1. DOR may assess a late payment penalty equal to 
15% of the value of the property. Additional penalties of $100 per day may be assessed if you fail to pay or 
deliver property by the due date of a written request. See Part 2.E. for additional information on holder appeal 
rights. 

Important submission information:  

• If you entered payment information with the holder report submitted online via My Tax Account, your 
payment will be submitted. If you initiate another ACH Debit payment, both payments will be processed 
in our system resulting in an overpayment on your account. 

• The department will withdraw the funds on the date requested in your ACH Debit payment request. This 
might take a few days to show up in your account.  

• Do not make a single payment for multiple reports. Make one payment for each report filed. 

• You must be registered with DOR as a holder of unclaimed property before you may make an ACH Debit 
payment. If you have not previously filed a holder report with the department, you will need to wait three 
business days after filing your first report before initiating your ACH Debit payment for your report. 

• Transfer securities at the same time you file the holder report. Follow the instructions in (2) below closely 
to ensure proper delivery. 

• Liquidate virtual currency within 30 days of reporting and delivering to DOR to be considered delivering in 
good faith. 

(1) Submitting payment  

Use one of the following options for submitting payment for unclaimed property to the department:  

(a) Making payment when filing report via My Tax Account 

When filing your report online, you will be given the option to enter your payment information prior to 
submitting the report or you can submit payment separately. 

To submit payment along with your report, chose the direct debit tab and check the box to enter 
payment information. See screen shot below: 
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(b) Submitting payment via ACH debit separately from report 

To submit payment separately from the report, follow these instructions. This payment method can be 
used by any holder, even if you used UPExchange or HRS Pro to prepare report. 

1. Go to https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/UCPHolderPayment  

2. The Account Type and Payment Type are preset. Click "Next" 

3. Enter the Report Year as the Tax Year 

4. Enter your FEIN (or SSN, if applicable)  

5. Enter your Legal Name  

6. Enter your phone number (optional), click "Next"  

7. Click the hyperlink "Fill out your payment information here"  

8. Our debit block ID is X000020500 

9. Enter your payment information, and click "Submit" when complete 

10. Save your confirmation number  

(2) Submitting securities 

When reporting securities, your report is not complete until you have transferred the ownership of the 
properties to DOR. Holders must also submit securities directly to the department's securities custodian, 
Avenu Insight & Analytics, ("Avenu"), at the same time the securities are reported.  
Follow the instructions below for each type of security.  

Security Type Nominee Name Tax ID# Instructions 
DTC Eligible Securities Cheddar & Co. 90-0086085 Stocks All DTC (Depository Trust Company) eligible 

securities must be delivered via a Deliver Order 
(DO) as a book-entry movement to DTC participant 
901 for credit to account 822478, Agent Bank 26500 
or via DRS (Direct Registration System) or via DWAC 
(Deposit/Withdrawal at Custodian). 
 
Advance email notice REQUIRED. Notify custodian 
two (2) business days prior to transfer at 

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/UCPHolderPayment
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UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com with an excel 
list of the securities, including CUSIP numbers, 
number of shares, issue names, and the delivering 
party's DTC participant number. Transfers not 
preapproved will be reversed. 
 
Cheddar & Co. (Agent Bank #26500) 
DTC Participant #901 
Account #822478 

Non DTC  
Eligible Securities 

Cheddar & Co. 90-0086085 If stock cannot be delivered via DTC/DRS/DWAC, 
only then may stock be registered in Book Entry 
Shares/Direct Registration Shares (DRS). Mail all 
interested party statements to the address below at 
the time of transfer and a copy is emailed to 
UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com.  
Cheddar & Co. 
c/o Avenu Insights & Analytics 
Attn. Custody Department 
100 Hancock St., 10th Floor  
Quincy, MA 02171 
Tax ID# 90-0086085 

Open End Mutual 
Funds 

TBD TBD Accounts held for the State of Wisconsin must be 
opened in advance. Avenu will provide the account 
numbers for all mutual funds to be transferred  
into the state's account. To obtain account 
numbers, contact Avenu five (5) business days prior 
to attempting delivery at 
UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com. Send 
interested party statements to:  
 
Avenu Insights & Analytics 
c/o Custody Department 
100 Hancock St., 10th Floor 
Quincy, MA 02171 

Closed End Mutual 
Funds 

Cheddar & Co. 90-0086085 Advance notice REQUIRED. Notify custodian two (2) 
business days prior to transfer at 
UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com.  
Deliver full shares via DTC instructions above, sell 
fractional shares and close the account. The 
account should register as indicated below:  
Cheddar & Co. 
Avenu Insights & Analytics 
100 Hancock St., 10th Floor 
Quincy, MA 02171 
Tax ID# 90-0086085 

Physical Stock  
Certificates 

Hare & Co. 13-6062916 Send all securities DTC or DWAC as provided above. 
Physical certificates are only accepted when they 
cannot be sent DTC, DWAC, or DRS per above 
instructions. Notify custodian two (2) business days 
prior to transfer at 

mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
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UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com. Register and 
deliver certificates to this address: 
Hare & Co/Acct# 822478 
FEIN# 13-6062916 
The Depository Trust Company 
570 Washington Blvd. – 5th Floor 
Jersey City, NJ 07310 
Attn: BNY Mellon/Branch Deposit 
Department/Acct #822478 – State of Wisconsin 

Foreign Securities 
 

N/A N/A Contact custodian at 
UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com to obtain 
delivery instructions.  

Federal Reserve  
Securities 

N/A N/A Notify custodian two (2) business days prior to 
transfer at UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com and 
deliver to: 
 
Federal Reserve Bank of Boston 
ABA #0210-0001-8 
Bank of NYC/Cust (822478) 

Stock Dividend  
Payments 

Cheddar & Co. N/A Once shares are reported on a holder report and 
delivered to the department's custodian, all future 
payments should be sent to the address below. 
Provide a statement that includes the type of 
transaction, account #822478, CUSIP, security 
name, number of shares, and amount of 
dividend/share. 
Avenu, Inc. 
100 Hancock St., 10th Floor 
Quincy, MA 02171 

Mutual Fund Dividend 
Payments 

Mac & Co. N/A Once shares are reported on a holder report and 
delivered to the department's custodian, all future 
payments should be sent to the address below. 
Provide a statement that includes the type of 
transaction, account #822478, CUSIP, security 
name, number of shares, and amount of 
dividend/share. 
Mac & Co. 822478 
Attn: Mutual Fund Operations 
500 Grant St., Room 151-1010 
Pittsburg, PA 15258 

 

(3) Submitting safe deposit box contents 

Abandoned safe deposit box contents are reported on your annual unclaimed property report due by 
November 1 of each year, and the contents of abandoned safe deposit boxes must be delivered to the 
department by December 1.   

• You are required to provide written notice to DOR 30 days before delivery if there are any hazardous or 
dangerous items found in safe deposit boxes, such as guns, chemicals, or explosives that will be 
delivered. 

mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
mailto:UPCH.Custody@AvenuInsights.com
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• Form UCP-120 must be completed for each box reported. Follow the instructions on the form for 
submitting the safe deposit box contents.  

• Do not report empty boxes since there are no contents to be delivered. 

• The contents can be delivered using any method that is most convenient for the holder including in-
person delivery or any mail/package delivery service. 

• Contents sent via US Mail should be sent to:  

Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Unclaimed Property Unit 
P.O. Box 8982 
Madison, WI 53708-8982 

• Contents sent via all other mail services should be sent to:  

Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Unclaimed Property Unit 
2135 Rimrock Road 
Madison, WI 53713 

4. STAY CURRENT WITH UNCLAIMED PROPERTY REPORTING INFORMATION 

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue provides information, via email, to persons who are responsible for reporting 
and remitting unclaimed property. Subscribe to this service by visiting: revenue.wi.gov/pages/html/lists.aspx. 

5. CONTACT THE UNCLAIMED PROPERTY UNIT 

Phone:  (608) 264-4594  

Fax: (608) 261-6799 

Email:  DORUnclaimedProperty@wisconsin.gov 

  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/ucp-120.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx
mailto:DORUnclaimedProperty@wisconsin.gov
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APPENDIX 1 
WISCONSIN PROPERTY CODES WITH DORMANCY PERIODS (IN YEARS) 

PROPERTY   PROPERTY  
 

CODE 
 

TYPE 
DORMANCY 

PERIOD 
  

CODE 
 
TYPE 

DORMANCY 
PERIOD 

AC01 
AC02 
AC03 

CHECKING ACCOUNTS/DDA 
SAVINGS ACCOUNTS 
MATURED CERTIFICATES OF DEP 

5 
5 
5 

 MI06 
MI07 
MI08 

BONUSES 
DELAY RENTALS 
SHUT-IN ROYALTIES 

5 
5 
5 

AC04 
AC05 
AC06 

CHRISTMAS CLUB ACCOUNTS 
MONEY ON DEP TO SECURE FUND 
SECURITY DEPOSITS 

5 
5 
5 

 MI09 
*MI99 
MS01 

MINIMUM ROYALTIES 
AGGREGATE MINERAL INTEREST 
WAGES 

5 
5 
1 

AC07 
AC08 
AC09 

UNIDENTIFIED DEPOSITS 
SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS 
WI DOC ACCT 

5 
5 
1 

 MS02 
MS03 
MS04 

COMMISSIONS 
WORKER'S COMP BENEFITS 
PAYMENT FOR GOODS & SVCS 

1 
5 
5 

AC10 
*AC99 
CK01 

WIS DWD ACCT/CHILD SUPPORT 
AGGRGATE ACCOUNT BALANCES 
CASHIER'S CHECKS/GARNISHMENTS 

1 
5 
5 

 MS05 
MS06 
MS07 

CUSTOMER OVERPAYMENTS 
UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES 
UNREFUNDED OVERCHARGES 

5 
5 
5 

CK02  
CK03 
CK04 

CERTFIED CHECKS 
REGISTERED CHECKS 
TREASURER'S CHECKS 

5 
5 
5 

 MS08 
MS09 
MS10 

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE 
CREDIT BALS & ACCTS RCVBL 
DISCOUNTS DUE 

5 
5 
5 

CK05 
CK06 
CK07 

DRAFTS 
WARRANTS 
MONEY ORDERS 

5 
5 
5 

 MS11 
MS13 
MS14 

REFUNDS DUE 
UNCLAIMED LOAN COLLATERAL 
PENSN/PROFIT SHR/IRA/KEOGH 

5 
5 
5 

CK08 
CK09 
CK10 

TRAVELER'S CHECKS 
FOREIGN EXCHANGE CHECKS 
EXPENSE CHECKS 

15 
5 
5 

 MS15 
MS16 
MS17 

DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATN PROP 
MISC OUTSTANDING CHECKS 
OTHER MISC INTANGIBLE PROP 

1 
5 
5 

CK11 
CK12 
CK13 

PENSION CHECKS 
CREDIT CHECKS OR MEMOS 
VENDOR CHECKS 

5 
5 
5 

 MS18 
*MS99 
SC01 

SUSPENSE LIABILITIES 
AGGREGATE MISC PROPERTY 
DIVIDENDS 

5 
5 
3 

CK14 
CK15 
CK16 

CHECKS WRITTEN OFF TO INCOME 
OTHER OUTSTANDING OFFICAIL CHKS 
CD INTEREST CHECKS 

5 
5 
5 

 SC02 
SC03 
SC04 

INTEREST ON BONDS 
PRINCIPAL PAYMENTS 
EQUITY PAYMENTS 

3 
3 
3 

*CK99 
CS01 
CS02 

AGGREGATE UNCASHED CHECKS 
EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS-CASH 
EDUCTNL SAVINGS ACCTS-MUTUAL FUNDS 

5 
5 
5 

 SC05 
SC06 
SC07 

PROFITS 
CASH EXCHANGE 
BEARER BOND INT/MATURE PRIN 

3 
3 
1 

CS03 
CT01 
CT02 

EDUCTNL SAVINGS ACCTS-SECURITIES 
ESCROW FUNDS 
CONDEMNATION AWARDS 

5 
5 
1 

 SC08 
SC09 
SC10 

SHARED OF STOCK (RET BY PO) 
CASH FOR FRACTIONAL SHARES 
UNEXCH STOCK OF SUCCESSR CO 

3 
3 
3 

CT03 
CT04 
CT05 

MISSING HEIRS' FUNDS/ESTATES 
SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS 
OTHER COURT DEPOSITS 

5 
5 
1 

 SC11 
SC12 
SC13 

ANY OTHER CERT OF OWNERSHIP 
UNDERLY SHARES/OUTSTAND CER 
FUNDS LIQUID/REDEMPTN STOCK 

3 
3 
3 

*CT99 
HS01 
HS02 

AGGREGATE COURT DEPOSITS 
HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT 
HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT INVESTMENT 

1 
3 
3 

 SC14 
SC15 
SC16 

DEBENTURES/BONDS/COUPONS 
GOVERNMENT SECURITIES 
MUTUAL FUND SHARES 

3 
1 
3 

IN01 
IN02 
IN03 

INDIV POLICY BENIF/CLM PMTS 
GROUP POLICY BENEF/CLM PMTS 
PROCEEDS DUE BENEFICIARIES 

3 
3 
3 

 SC17 
SC18 
SC19 

WARRANTS (RIGHTS) 
MAT PRINCIP ON REGIS BONDS 
DIVIDEND REINVESTMENT PLN 

3 
3 
3 

IN04 
IN05 
IN06 

MAT POLICY,ENDOWMENT,ANNUITY 
PREM REFND ON INDIVID POLIC 
UNIDENTITIED REMITTANCES 

3 
3 
3 

 SC20 
SC30 

*SC99 

CREDIT BALANCES 
DEMUTUALIZATION STOCK PROCEEDS 
AGGREGATE SECURITIES PLN 

3 
3 
3 

IN07 
IN08 
IN30 

OTHER AMTS DUE UNDER POLICY 
AGENT CREDIT BALANCES 
DEMUTUALIZATION CASH PROCEEDS 

3 
3 
3 

 SD01 
SD02 
SD03 

SAFE DEPOSIT BOX 
SAFEKEEPING ITEMS 
OTHER TANGIBLE PROPERTY 

5 
5 
5 

IN77 
*IN99 
IR01 

LIMITING AGE 
AGGREGATE INSURANCE PROP 
TRADITIONAL IRA – CASH 

3 
3 
3 

 SD04 
TR01 
TR02 

UNCLAIMED LOAN COLLATERAL 
PAYING AGENT ACCOUNTS 
UNDELIVERED/UNCASHED DIVID 

5 
5 
5 

IR02 
IR03 
IR05 

TRADITIONAL IRA – MUTUAL FUNDS 
TRADITIONAL IRA – SECURITIES 
ROTH IRA – CASH 

3 
3 
3 

 TR03 
TR04 
TR05 

FUNDS HELD IN FIDUCIARY 
ESCROW ACCOUNTS 
TRUST VOUCHERS 

5 
5 
5 

IR06 
IR07 
MI01 

ROTH IRA – MUTUAL FUNDS 
ROTH IRA – SECURITIES 
NET REVENUE INTEREST 

3 
3 
5 

 *TR99 
UT01 
UT02 

AGGREGATE TRUST PROPERTY 
UTILITY DEPOSIT 
MEMBERSHIP FEES 

5 
1 
5 

MI02 
MI03 
MI04 

ROYALTIES 
OVERRIDING ROYALTIES 
PRODUCTION PAYMENTS 

5 
5 
5 

 UT03 
UT04 

*UT99 

REFUNDS OR REBATES 
CAPITAL CREDIT DISTRIB 
AGGREGATE UTILITY PROPERTY 

1 
5 
5 

MI05 WORKING/ROYALTY INTEREST 5  ZZZZ PROPERTIES NOT IDENTIFIED 5 
*Property codes for unknown owners only  
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APPENDIX 2 
WISCONSIN OWNER TYPE AND RELATIONSHIP CODES 

 
OWNER TYPE 

CODE DESCRIPTION WHEN TO USE 
AG Aggregate Use only if the property is aggregated and less than $5. See definition of aggregate in Part 3(c)(2). of this 

publication. 
OT All Other Owners Most common property type. The owner name(s) is known and the property is not aggregated. 

UN Unknown Owner Use only if the owner is unknown. If you enter a name in the name field, use OT as the owner type. 

RELATIONSHIP CODES 

CODE DESCRIPTION DEFINITION 
AD Administrator The person appointed by the court to handle the estate of someone who died without a will, with a will 

with no nominated executor, or the executor named in the will has died, has been removed from the case, 
or does not desire to serve.  

AF Attorney For A person who is authorized to act for another (the agent's principal) through employment, by contract or 
apparent authority. This person is not the owner of the funds, the owner of the funds should also be 
listed. 

AG Agent For A person who has been qualified by a state or federal court to provide legal services, including appearing 
in court, and is authorized to act for another. This person is not the owner of the funds, the owner of the 
funds should also be listed. 

AN (And) Unspecified Joint Unspecified joint relationship including 'AND'. Property belongs equally to all owners.  

BF Beneficiary Any person or entity (like a charity) who is to receive assets or profits from an estate, a trust, an insurance 
policy or any instrument in which there is distribution. The insured person should also be listed. 

CF Custodian A person with whom some article is left, usually pursuant to a contract (called a "contract of bailment"), 
who is responsible for the safe return of the article to the owner when the contract is fulfilled. Custodians 
are not owners of the funds. When a custodian is listed, the owner of the funds should also be listed. 

CN Conservator A guardian and protector appointed by a judge to protect and manage the financial affairs and/or the 
person's daily life due to physical or mental limitations or old age. This person is not the owner of the 
funds, the owner of the funds should also be listed. 

ES Estate All the possessions of one who has died and are subject to probate (administration supervised by the 
court) and distribution to heirs and beneficiaries, all the possessions which a guardian manages for a ward 
(young person requiring protection and administration of affairs), or assets a conservator manages for a 
conservatee (a person whose physical or mental lack of competence requires administration of his/her 
affairs).  

EX Executor or Executrix The person appointed to administer the estate of a person who has died leaving a will which nominates 
that person. This person is not the owner of the funds, the owner of the funds should also be listed. 

FB For Benefit of A person who is entitled to property that is held by another person (typically a custodian or trustee). FB is 
typically used in trustee, self-directed, inherited, education and transferred accounts.  

GR Guardian A person who has been appointed by a judge to take care of a minor child (called a "ward") or 
incompetent adult personally and/or manage that person's affairs. This person is not the owner of the 
funds, the owner of the funds should also be listed. 

HE Heir Anyone who receives property of a deceased person either by will or under the laws of descent and 
distribution. (Explanation: a devisee under a will is also an "heir", even though unrelated to the decedent.)  

IN Insured The person or entity who will be compensated for loss by an insurer under the terms of a contract called 
an insurance policy.  

JE Tenants in Entireties Joint ownership of property or securities by a husband and wife where, upon the death of one, the 
property goes to the survivor.  

JS Joint Tenant w/Survivor 
Rights 

A type of account which is owned by at least two people, where all tenants have an equal right to the 
account's assets and are afforded survivorship rights in the event of the death of another account holder. 
In this type of account, a surviving member will inherit the total value of the other member's share of 
account assets upon the death of that other member. All members of the account are afforded the power 
to conduct investment transactions within the account as well.  

JT Joint Tenants An account held in joint tenancy presumes a right of survivorship, but this presumption can be overcome 
by evidence that the account was really the property of only one, and the joint tenancy was for 
convenience. Right of Survivorship is not specifically stated.  

OR (Or) Unspecified Joint Unspecified joint relationship including 'OR'. Either owner can claim all the funds. 

OT Other Relationship Relationship other than specified in this list. Additional details should be submitted with the property.  
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RELATIONSHIP CODES 
CODE DESCRIPTION DEFINITION 
PA Payee The one named on a check or promissory note to receive payment. Include Remitter name if known. 

PD Payable on Death Account is payable on death to an alternate owner. Upon the original owner's death, the beneficiary must 
supply identification and a copy of the original owner's death certificate. The original owner should also 
be listed. 

PO Power of Attorney A written document signed by a person giving another person the power to act for the signer in 
designated circumstances and with respect to designated property. Explanation: There are both general 
powers of attorney which give the authorized party broad discretion and special powers of attorney that 
are limited in scope. This person is not the owner of the funds, the owner of the funds should also be 
listed. 

RE Remitter Used primarily on official checks. The Remitter is the person who purchased the official check. This 
relationship is separate from the Holder who turns the property over to the state. Include Payee name if 
known. 

SO Sole Owner Sole Owner is used when there is only a single owner for the property, and that person has all rights to the 
ownership of the property.  

TE Trustee A person or entity who holds the assets (corpus) of a trustee for the benefit of the beneficiaries and 
manages the trust and its assets under the terms of the trust stated in the Declaration of Trust which 
created it. This person is not the owner of the funds, the Trust should also be listed. Claimant will need to 
provide a copy of the Trust. 

UG Uniform Gift Minors Act Property that is gifted to a Minor under the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act – (UGMA). This act allows minors 
to own property such as securities. Regardless of whether the minor has reached the age of majority, use 
relationship code UG. The custodian on the account must be coded as CU.  

UN Unknown The owner's relationship to the property is not known.  

UT Uniform Transfer to 
Minors Act 

Property that is gifted to a minor under the Uniform Transfer to Minors Act – (UTMA). This act allows a 
minor to receive gifts such as money, patents, royalties, real estate and fine art, without the aid of a 
guardian or trustee. The gift giver or an appointed custodian manages the minor’s account until the minor 
is of age (usually 18 or 21).  
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APPENDIX 3 

SAMPLE DUE DILIGENCE LETTER 
DATE, 20XX 

OWNER NAME 
OWNER ADDRESS 
CITY, STATE ZIP 
 
RE:  (DESCRIBE PROPERTY) 
  
NOTICE: The State of Wisconsin requires us to notify you that your property may be transferred to the custody of 
the state's unclaimed property administrator if you do not contact us before [insert date 30 days after notice, but 
before the report due date] 

Our records indicate you appear to be the owner of the funds or property listed below. No transaction or other 
activity has been noted for a significant amount of time.  
 
INSERT:  Full description of funds or property held, such as check or account number, date of the item or last 
transaction date, dollar amount or estimated value, etc. Include any additional information which would assist the 
owner in identifying the property.  
 
If we do not hear from you by DATE, 20XX, the law requires us to remit these funds or property to the Wisconsin 
Department of Revenue – Unclaimed Property Unit by November 1st. After the property is remitted to the 
department, the funds or property may be sold by the department. Additionally, you will have to file a claim from 
the Wisconsin Department of Revenue to receive your property.  
 
If you have an interest in the funds or property, and wish to prevent the funds or property from being reported as 
unclaimed property to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, please sign this notice and return it to: 
 
  Holder Name 
  Mailing address 
  City, State Zip 
  Phone Number 
  Fax Number 
 
 
Please sign below to acknowledge ownership of the above listed funds or property. 
 
____________________________    ______________________________ 
Signature       Joint Owner Signature 
 
____________________________    ______________________________ 
Print Name      Print Joint Owner Name 
 
____________________________    ______________________________ 
Street Address      Daytime Phone Number 
 
____________________________    ______________________________ 
City, State, Zip      Print Email Address 
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APPENDIX 4 
OTHER STATE CONTACTS FOR RECIPROCAL REPORTING 

You may report up to ten properties per state, except for California, if most of your report is for Wisconsin 
properties. California does not have reciprocity with Wisconsin so properties with a California address must be 
reported to California directly.   

 

 

State Phone Number  State Phone Number 
Alabama 888-844-8400  Montana 866-859-2254 

Alaska 907-465-3726  Nebraska 402-471-8497 
Arizona 602-716-6036  Nevada 702-486-2025 

Arkansas 501-682-6000  New Hampshire 603-271-2619 
California 916-464-0641  New Jersey 609-984-5214 
Colorado 800-825-2111  New Mexico 505-827-0767 

Connecticut 800-618-3404  New York 800-221-9311 
Delaware 302-577-8220  North Carolina 919-508-1000 

District of Columbia 202-442-8181  North Dakota 701-328-2800 
Florida 850-413-5522  Ohio 877-644-6823 
Georgia 404-968-0490  Oklahoma 405-521-4275 
Hawaii 808-974-4000  Oregon 503-378-3999 
Idaho 800-972-7660    Pennsylvania 800-379-3999 
Illinois 217-524-0023  Rhode Island 401-222-6505 
Indiana 866-462-5246  South Carolina 803-737-4771 

Iowa 515-281-7546  South Dakota 605-773-3379 
Kansas 785-296-3171  Tennessee 615-253-5362 

Kentucky 800-465-4722  Texas 800-321-2274 
Louisiana 225-219-9400  Utah 801-320-5360 

Maine 207-624-7470  Vermont 802-828-2407 
Maryland 800-782-7383  Virginia 804-225-2547 

Massachusetts 617-367-0400  Washington 360-705-6706 
Michigan 517-636-5320  West Virginia 304-340-1574 

Minnesota 651-296-2568  Wisconsin 608-264-4594 
Mississippi 601-359-3600  Wyoming 307-777-5590 

Missouri 573-751-0123  
  

Applicable Laws and Rules 

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws enacted as of August 16, 2023: ch. 177, 
Wis. Stats. 

Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the 
interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this date, that is contrary to the information in this 
document is superseded by this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/prefaces/toc
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