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CAUTION 

The information in this publication reflects the positions 
of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue of laws enacted 
by the Wisconsin Legislature and in effect as of June 1, 
2012. Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new ad-
ministrative rules, and court decisions may change the 
interpretations in this publication. The examples and lists 
are not all-inclusive. They merely set forth common ex-
amples. 

I. SALES OF MANUFACTURED HOMES 

A. Definitions 

1. "Manufactured home" means a structure that 
is designed to be used as a dwelling with or 
without a permanent foundation and that is cer-
tified by the federal Department of Housing and 
Urban Development as complying with the 
standards established under 42 USC 5401 to 
5425. 

Under the standards in 42 USC 5402(6), 
"manufactured home" means a structure, 
transportable in one or more sections, which, in 
the traveling mode, is eight body feet or more 
in width or forty body feet or more in length, 
or, when erected on site, is three hundred twen-
ty or more square feet, and which is built on a 
permanent chassis and designed to be used as a 
dwelling with or without a permanent founda-
tion when connected to the required utilities, 
and includes the plumbing, heating, air-
conditioning, and electrical systems contained 
therein; except that such term shall include any 
structure which meets all the requirements of 
this paragraph except the size requirements and 
with respect to which the manufacturer volun-
tarily files a certification required by the 
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development 
and complies with the standards established un-
der this chapter; and except that such term shall 
not include any self-propelled recreational ve-
hicle. 

2. "New manufactured home" means a "manu-
factured home" that has never been occupied, 
used, or sold for personal or business use. 

3. "Used manufactured home" means a "manu-
factured home" that has previously been 
occupied, used, or sold for personal or business 
use. 

B. Realty Improvement vs. Personal Property 

1. Realty Improvement 

A manufactured home is a realty improvement 
if it is permanently affixed to land owned by the 
owner of the manufactured home. It is perma-
nently affixed to the land if it sits on a 
foundation (off the wheels and sitting on some 
other support) and is connected to utilities. 

2. Personal Property 

a. A manufactured home not permanently af-
fixed to real estate is personal property. 

b. A manufactured home is personal property 
even if it is affixed to the land if it is locat-
ed in a manufactured home community, a 
mobile home park, or other place where the 
land on which the manufactured home is 
located is not owned by the manufactured 
home owner. 

C. New Manufactured Homes 

Note: It is assumed that the manufactured homes 
discussed in Part I.C. meet the definition of "new 
manufactured home" in Part I.A.2. 

1. Home Sold as Realty Improvement 

a. Realty Improvement in Wisconsin – The 
seller/installer pays sales or use tax on 65% 
of purchase price of home, without a deduc-
tion for any trade-in. No tax is owed on the 
sale of the home by the seller/installer to 
the customer. The seller/installer should in-
clude any tax paid on its purchase of the 
home in its selling price to the customer. 

Example. Dealer buys a manufactured 
home for $70,000 and sells the home to 
Customer for $80,000 (labor and materials). 
Dealer permanently affixes the home to 
land owned by Customer in Wisconsin (i.e., 
it is a realty improvement). Dealer owes 

http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/usc/42%20USC%205401
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/usc/42%20USC%205425
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state sales or use tax of $2,275 ($70,000 x 
65% = $45,500 x 5% = $2,275). Dealer’s 
$80,000 sale of the home to Customer is a 
nontaxable sale of a realty improvement. 
The $2,275 tax owed by Dealer is included 
in the $80,000 charge to Customer.  

b. Realty Improvement Outside Wisconsin – 
The sale of the home to the seller/installer 
is exempt from Wisconsin sales and use 
tax. No Wisconsin tax is owed on the sale 
of the home by the seller/installer to the 
customer. Tax may be imposed by the state 
where the home is installed. 

Example. Dealer buys a manufactured 
home for $70,000 and sells the home to 
Customer for $80,000 (labor and materials). 
Dealer permanently affixes the home to 
land owned by Customer in Minnesota. 
Dealer's purchase of the home is exempt 
from Wisconsin sales and use taxes. Deal-
er's $80,000 sale of the home to Customer 
is a realty improvement that does not take 
place in Wisconsin. (Note: Dealer should 
contact the Minnesota Department of Rev-
enue to determine if any sales or use tax is 
owed to Minnesota.) 

Note: Prior to September 1, 2011, the sale 
of a manufactured home to a dealer in Wis-
consin who used the manufactured home in 
a real property construction activity was 
subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax, re-
gardless of whether the real property 
construction activity occurred in or outside 
Wisconsin. For additional information, in-
cluding transitional provisions and 
examples, see the article titled "Sales and 
Use Tax Exemption Created for Manufac-
tured and Modular Homes Used in Real 
Property Construction Activity Outside 
Wisconsin Effective September 1, 2011" on 
the Department of Revenue's web site. 

2. Home Sold as Personal Property 

a. The seller/installer may purchase the home 
without tax for resale. 

b. The seller/installer owes tax on 65% of its 
selling price of the home to the customer, 
without a deduction for any trade-in. 

Example. Dealer buys a manufactured 
home for $70,000, without sales or use tax 
using a resale certificate. Dealer sells the 
manufactured home to Customer for 
$80,000 (labor and materials). Dealer plac-
es the home in a manufactured home 
community in Wisconsin where Customer 
does not own the land (i.e., it is not a realty 
improvement). 

Dealer owes Wisconsin state sales tax of 
$2,600 ($80,000 x 65% = $52,000 x 5% = 
$2,600) on the sale of the home to Custom-
er. Dealer may collect the tax from 
Customer by separately stating the $2,600 
sales tax on the invoice given to Customer. 

3. Which Items are Included in the Selling Price 
that is Taxed at 65%? 

For a sale of an item to be taxed at 65% of the 
selling price, both of the following two condi-
tions must be met: 

a. The item must be part of the manufactured 
home structure, such as plumbing, heating, 
electrical systems, appliances, or equipment 
carrying a manufacturer’s warranty, and 

b. The item must be sold as part of the manu-
factured home in the same transaction 
which is taxed at 65% of the selling price. 

Example 1. Dealer buys a manufactured 
home for $72,000 which it sells to Custom-
er for $84,000 as a realty improvement in 
Wisconsin. For an additional $2,800 Manu-
facturer will include a central air 
conditioning unit. The central air condition-
ing unit carries a manufacturer’s warranty. 

Dealer owes Wisconsin state sales or use 
tax of $2,431 ($74,800 x 65% = $48,620 x 
5% = $2,431). The purchase price paid by 
Dealer ($74,800, including the central air 
conditioning unit) is taxed at 65% of the 
selling price. Dealer may collect the tax 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
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from Customer by separately stating the 
$2,431 sales tax on the invoice given to 
Customer. 

Example 2. Same as Example 1, except 
that the manufactured home, as purchased 
by Dealer, does not include a central air 
conditioning unit. Dealer buys a central air 
conditioning unit from a person other than 
the home manufacturer for $2,800 (without 
installation) and installs it in the home. 

Dealer owes $2,340 of Wisconsin state 
sales or use tax on its purchase of the home 
($72,000 x 65% = $46,800 x 5% = $2,340) 
and $140 of Wisconsin state sales or use tax 
on the central air conditioning unit 
($2,800 x 5% = $140). The central air con-
ditioning unit is not taxed at 65% of the 
selling price because it was not purchased 
as part of the manufactured home. 

Example 3. Dealer buys a manufactured 
home for $76,000, without sales or use tax 
using a resale certificate. Included in the 
home, as purchased by Dealer, is a central 
air conditioning unit. The central air condi-
tioning unit carries a manufacturer’s 
warranty. Dealer sells the manufactured 
home to Customer for $86,000, including 
the central air conditioning unit. Dealer 
places the home in a manufactured home 
community in Wisconsin where Customer 
does not own the land (i.e., it is not a realty 
improvement). 

Dealer owes Wisconsin sales tax of $2,795 
($86,000 x 65% = $55,900 x 5% = $2,795) 
on the sale of the home to Customer. Dealer 
may collect the tax from Customer by sepa-
rately stating the $2,795 sales tax on the 
invoice given to Customer. 

Example 4. Same as Example 3, except 
that the manufactured home, as purchased 
by Dealer, does not include a central air 
conditioning unit. Dealer buys a central air 
conditioning unit from a person other than 
the home manufacturer for $2,500 (without 
installation) and installs it in the home. 
Dealer’s $86,000 selling price of the home 

to Customer includes the central air condi-
tioning unit. 

Dealer owes Wisconsin sales tax of $2,795 
on the sale of the home to Customer 
($86,000 x 65% = $55,900 x 5% = $2,795). 
Dealer may collect the tax from Customer 
by separately stating the $2,795 sales tax on 
the invoice given to Customer. 

c. Examples of other items that are taxed at 
65% of the selling price, if they meet the 
conditions in a. and b. above, are skirting, 
refrigerators, furnaces, air conditioners, 
washers, and dryers. 

4. Foundations 

The foundation is a real property improvement, 
regardless of where it is constructed, and the 
dealer or other contractor who installs the foun-
dation must pay sales or use tax on its 
purchases of the concrete and other materials it 
uses for the foundation.  The sales or use tax on 
these purchases of foundation materials is cal-
culated on the total purchase price of the 
materials (these purchases are not eligible to be 
taxed at 65% of the price). 

The dealer's charge to its customer for the 
foundation is not taxable. 

Note:  If the dealer makes a single combined 
charge for a manufactured home sold as per-
sonal property and a foundation, the dealer 
should make a reasonable allocation of the sell-
ing price between the home and the foundation.  
The amount of the dealer's sales price allocated 
to the home is taxable at 65%.  The amount of 
the dealer's sales price allocated to the founda-
tion is not taxable. 

5. Other Items Installed by Dealer 

The tax treatment of carports, decks, garages, 
ramps, and steps is explained in the tables in 
Part II on pages 8 and 9. 
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6. Dealer Mistakenly Charges Sales Tax on Realty 
Improvement 

Dealers must determine whether their sales of 
homes are realty improvements or sales of per-
sonal property. If a dealer mistakenly charges 
sales tax on a realty improvement, the customer 
is eligible for a refund of the tax paid to the 
dealer in error and the dealer owes sales or use 
tax on its purchase price of the home. The deal-
er may deduct the amount of sales or use tax it 
owes on the purchase price of the home from 
the refund it gives to its customer. 

Example. Manufacturer sells a manufac-
tured home to Dealer for $76,000. Dealer 
does not pay sales or use tax to Manufac-
turer on the purchase of the home. 

For $86,000, Dealer sells and installs the 
home on land owned by Customer in Wis-
consin (i.e., realty improvement). Dealer 
mistakenly charges Customer sales tax of 
$2,795 on 65% of the selling price. 
($86,000 x 65% = $55,900 x 5% = $2,795) 

Dealer later realizes it charged and paid the 
$2,795 of sales tax in error and files an 
amended sales and use tax return 
(Form ST-12) with the Wisconsin Depart-
ment of Revenue. The Wisconsin 
Department of Revenue issues a refund of 
$325, plus interest, to Dealer, which is the 
$2,795 of sales tax paid in error by Dealer 
to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, 
less $2,470 ($76,000 purchase price x 
65% = $49,400 x 5% = $2,470) of use tax 
owed by Dealer on its purchase of the 
home. 

Dealer must return $325, plus the interest, 
to Customer. 

Note: The customer of the manufactured 
home may file a claim for refund with the 
Wisconsin Department of Revenue for the 
tax paid to Dealer in error if Dealer does 
not refund the tax to the customer. Addi-
tional information regarding claims for 
refund is provided in Publication 216, Fil-

ing Claims for Refund of Sales and Use 
Tax. 

7. Freight 

A manufacturer’s freight charge is subject to 
Wisconsin sales or use tax if property sold by 
the manufacturer is subject to sales or use tax. 
The following examples illustrate the applica-
tion of the state sales or use tax to freight 
charges. 

Example 1. A manufacturer invoices a 
manufactured home dealer for a new manu-
factured home which the dealer will sell as 
a realty improvement in Wisconsin. The in-
voice from the manufacturer to the dealer 
states the following charges: 

$70,000 manufactured home 
$  2,000 freight 
$72,000 total charge 

The Wisconsin state sales or use tax is cal-
culated as follows: 

$72,000 x 65% = $46,800 x 5% = $2,340 

Example 2. A manufacturer invoices a 
manufactured home dealer for a new manu-
factured home which the manufactured 
home dealer will resell as tangible personal 
property. The manufactured home dealer 
provides the manufacturer with a fully 
completed exemption certificate claiming 
resale. The invoice from the manufacturer 
states the following: 

$70,000 manufactured home 
$  2,000 freight 
$72,000 total charge 

The $72,000 charged by the manufacturer 
to the manufactured home dealer is not sub-
ject to Wisconsin sales or use tax, because 
the manufactured home is resold by the 
manufactured home dealer. 

The manufactured home dealer sells the 
manufactured home to its customer for 
$82,000. The sales tax owed by the manu-

http://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb216.pdf
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb216.pdf
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb216.pdf
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factured home dealer is calculated as fol-
lows: 

$82,000 x 65% = $53,300 x 5% =$2,665 

8. County and Stadium Taxes 

If a manufactured home is subject to the 5% 
Wisconsin state sales or use tax, a county or 
stadium tax may also apply. 

Dealer Sells Home as Personal Property 

Sales of manufactured homes as tangible per-
sonal property are subject to the 0.5% county 
sales tax (and/or the 0.1% baseball stadium 
sales tax or the 0.5% football stadium sales and 
use tax) if the sale takes place in a taxable 
county (and/or in a county where the 0.1% or 
0.5% stadium tax applies). The sale takes place 
at the location where the customer receives pos-
session of the home. 

If the home is sold as tangible personal property 
and the sale takes place in a nontaxable county 
(customer receives possession of the home in a 
county where neither county nor stadium taxes 
apply), no county or stadium taxes apply to the 
sale of the home. 

Dealer Receives and Stores Home in Taxable 
County and Uses Home in Real Property Con-
struction in Wisconsin 

If a dealer (1) receives or stores a manufactured 
home in a taxable county (and/or in a county 
where the 0.1% baseball stadium sales and use 
tax or the 0.5% football stadium sales and use 
tax applies), and (2) permanently affixes the 
home to real property on the customer's land in 
Wisconsin, the dealer owes the county and/or 
stadium tax for the county in which it received 
the home from the seller or stored the home, 
based on the dealer's purchase price of the 
home. If the total county and stadium tax rate 
for the county where the home was permanently 
affixed to the land is higher than the total coun-
ty and stadium tax rate for the county where the 
home was received or stored, the dealer owes 
the difference for the county and/or stadium 
district where the home was affixed. 

Example 1: Dealer buys a manufactured 
home, giving its vendor a resale certificate, 
and receives and stores the home in 
Fond du Lac County (taxable county). 
Dealer permanently affixes the home on 
Customer’s land in Winnebago County 
(nontaxable county). 

Dealer owes 5.5% (5% state and 0.5% 
Fond du Lac County) tax on 65% of its 
purchase price of the home, since it first re-
ceived or stored the home in Fond du Lac 
County. 

Example 2: Dealer buys a manufactured 
home for $70,000, giving its vendor a re-
sale certificate, and receives and stores the 
home in Dodge County. The total state and 
county tax rate is 5.5% in Dodge County. 
Dealer permanently affixes the home on 
Customer’s land in Milwaukee County. The 
total state, county, and stadium tax rate is 
5.6% in Milwaukee County. 

The use tax owed by Dealer is computed as 
follows: 

• Wisconsin state use tax: $2,275 
($70,000 purchase price x 65% = 
$45,500 x 5% = $2,275). Dealer should 
report $45,500 of taxable purchases on 
its Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Re-
turn (Form ST-12). 

• Dodge County use tax: $227.50 
($70,000 purchase price x 65% = 
$45,500 x 0.5% = $227.50). Dealer 
should report $45,500 of taxable pur-
chases on its Wisconsin Sales and Use 
Tax Return (Form ST-12), for Dodge 
County. 

• Additional use tax due because Dealer 
affixed the home to land in Milwaukee 
County, which has a total tax rate of 
5.6%: $45.50 ($70,000 purchase price x 
65% = $45,500 x 0.1% = $45.50). 

The additional tax due ($45.50) is di-
vided between the amount owed to 
Milwaukee County and the amount 
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owed to the baseball stadium tax dis-
trict, as follows: Total county and 
baseball stadium tax rate in Milwaukee 
County: 0.6%. Of this rate, 5/6 is for 
Milwaukee County tax, and 1/6 is for 
the baseball stadium tax. 

The use tax owed to Milwaukee County 
is $37.92 ($45.50 x 5/6 = $37.92.) 
Dealer should report $7,584 of taxable 
purchases on its Wisconsin Sales and 
Use Tax Return (Form ST-12), for 
Milwaukee County. 

The use tax owed to the baseball stadi-
um district is $7.58 ($45.50 x 1/6 = 
$7.58). Dealer should report $7,580 of 
taxable purchases on its Wisconsin 
Sales and Use Tax Return 
(Form ST-12), for the baseball stadium 
district. 

Dealer Receives and Stores Home in Nontaxa-
ble County and Uses Home in Real Property 
Construction in Wisconsin 

If a dealer (1) receives and stores a manufac-
tured home in a nontaxable county (a county 
where neither county nor stadium taxes apply), 
and (2) permanently affixes the home to real 
property on the customer's land in a nontaxable 
county in Wisconsin, the dealer does not owe 
county or stadium sales or use tax on its pur-
chase of the home. 

Dealer Receives and Stores Home in Nontaxa-
ble County and Uses Home in Real Property 
Construction in Taxable County 

If a dealer (1) receives or stores a manufactured 
home in a nontaxable county (a county where 
neither county nor stadium taxes apply), and 
(2) permanently affixes the home to real proper-
ty on the customer's land in a taxable county in 
Wisconsin (and/or in a county where the 0.1% 
baseball stadium sales and use tax or the 0.5% 
football stadium sales and use tax applies), the 
dealer owes the 0.5% county sales or use tax 
(and/or the 0.1% or 0.5% stadium sales or use 
tax) on its purchase price of the manufactured 

home. Note: The home is taxed at 65% of the 
dealer's purchase price of the home. 

Example: Dealer buys a manufactured 
home in Sheboygan County (nontaxable 
county), giving its vendor a fully completed 
exemption certificate claiming resale. Deal-
er’s business is located in Sheboygan 
County. 

Dealer permanently affixes the home on 
Customer’s land in Milwaukee County 
(Milwaukee County has adopted both the 
0.5% county tax and 0.1 % stadium tax). 

Dealer owes 5.6% (5% state, 0.5% Mil-
waukee County, and 0.1 stadium tax) tax on 
65% of its purchase price of the home. 

Dealer Receives Home at Job Site in Taxable 
County and Uses in Real Property Construction  

If the manufacturer delivers a manufactured 
home directly to the job site in a taxable county 
(and/or in a county where the 0.1% or 0.5% 
stadium tax applies), where the dealer receives 
possession of the home and permanently affixes 
the home on a customer's Wisconsin land, the 
dealer owes county and/or stadium sales or use 
tax on its purchase of the home. 

Dealer Receives Home at Job Site in Nontaxa-
ble County and Uses in Real Property 
Construction  

If the manufacturer delivers a manufactured 
home directly to the job site in a nontaxable 
county (a county where neither the 0.5% county 
tax nor the 0.1% or 0.5% stadium tax applies), 
where the dealer receives possession of the 
home and permanently affixes the home on a 
customer's land, the dealer does not owe county 
or stadium sales or use taxes on its purchase of 
the home. 
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Dealer Receives and Stores Home in Wisconsin 
(Taxable or Nontaxable County) and Uses 
Home in Real Property Construction Outside 
Wisconsin 

If a dealer (1) receives and stores a manufac-
tured home in Wisconsin, and (2) permanently 
affixes the home to real property on the cus-
tomer's land outside Wisconsin, the dealer does 
not owe Wisconsin county or stadium sales or 
use taxes on its purchase of the home. 

Dealer Receives Home Outside Wisconsin and 
Uses Home in Real Property Construction in 
Wisconsin 

If a dealer buys a manufactured home outside 
Wisconsin and permanently affixes the home to 
the customer's land in a nontaxable county in 
Wisconsin, the dealer owes no county or stadi-
um sales or use tax on its purchase of the home. 

If a dealer buys a manufactured home outside 
Wisconsin and permanently affixes the home to 
the customer's land in a taxable county in Wis-
consin, the dealer owes the 0.5% county sales 
or use tax (and/or the 0.1% or 0.5% stadium 
sales or use tax) on 65% of its purchase price of 
the modular home. 

D. Used Manufactured Homes 

Note: It is assumed that the manufactured homes 
discussed in Part I.D. meet the definition of "used 
manufactured home" in Part I.A.3 

1. Home Sold as Realty Improvement 

a. No Wisconsin tax on seller/installer’s pur-
chase of home. 

b. No tax on sale of home to customer. 

2. Home Sold as Personal Property 

a. No Wisconsin tax on seller/installer’s pur-
chase of home. 

b. No tax on sale of home to customer. 
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II. CARPORTS, DECKS, GARAGES, RAMPS, AND STEPS 

Table 1 – Carports, Decks, Garages, Ramps, and Steps; Home Sold as Personal Property: 

• Dealers Sells Home as Personal Property. 

• Dealer Installs Item (or Contracts with Third-Party Installer) and Charges Buyer for Installed Item. 

Note: It is assumed that the homes discussed in this chart meet the definition of "manufactured home" in Part I.A. 

Item Tax Treatment:  
Dealer's Purchase of 
Item. (Dealer purchases 
item in separate trans-
action from dealer's 
purchase of home.) 

Tax Treatment:  
Dealer's Sale of Item. 
(Dealer sells item in 
same transaction as 
dealer's sale of home.) 

Carport – Attached to Home (Open sides, attached 
to home on one side, posts on other side. Posts set in 
concrete.) 

Nontaxable (purchase for 
resale) 

Tax owed on total sales 
price 

Carport – Not Attached to Home (Open sides, posts 
set in concrete.) 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials1 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Deck – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials1 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Garage – Attached to Home (Garage also attached 
to concrete foundation.) 

Nontaxable (purchase for 
resale) 

Tax owed on total sales 
price 

Garage – Not Attached to Home (Garage attached to 
concrete foundation.) 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials1 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Ramp – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. Dealer Buys Materials and Builds 
Ramp. 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials1 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Ramp – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. Dealer Buys Pre-Built Ramp. 

No tax owed on purchase 
of ramp (exempt as "mo-
bility-enhancing 
equipment") 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Steps – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials1 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

 
1 If dealer purchases installed carport, deck, garage, ramp, or steps from another party (subcontractor), the dealer's purchase is nontaxable as the 

purchase of a real property improvement. 
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Table 2 – Carports, Decks, Garages, Ramps, and Steps; Home Sold as Realty Improvement: 

• Dealers Sells Home as Realty Improvement. 

• Dealer Installs Item (or Contracts with Third-Party Installer) and Charges Buyer for Installed Item. 

Note: It is assumed that the homes discussed in this chart meet the definition of "manufactured home" in Part I.A. 

Item Tax Treatment:  
Dealer's Purchase of 
Item. (Dealer purchases 
item in separate trans-
action from dealer's 
purchase of home.) 

Tax Treatment:  
Dealer's Sale of Item. 
(Dealer sells item in 
same transaction as 
dealer's sale of home.) 

Carport – Attached to Home (Open sides, attached 
to home on one side, posts on other side. Posts set in 
concrete.) 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Carport – Not Attached to Home (Open sides, posts 
set in concrete.) 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Deck – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Garage – Attached to Home (Garage also attached 
to concrete foundation.) 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Garage – Not Attached to Home (Garage attached to 
concrete foundation.) 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Ramp – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. Dealer Buys Materials and Builds 
Ramp. 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Ramp – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. Dealer Buys Pre-Built Ramp. 

No tax owed on purchase 
of ramp (exempt as "mo-
bility-enhancing 
equipment") 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

Steps – Not Attached to Home. Attached to Con-
crete Foundation. 

Tax owed on total pur-
chase price of materials2 

Nontaxable (real property 
improvement) 

 

 
2 If dealer purchases installed carport, deck, garage, ramp, or steps from another party (subcontractor), the dealer's purchase is nontaxable as the 

purchase of a real property improvement. 
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III. SALES OF USED MOBILE HOMES 

Note: It is assumed that the mobile homes discussed in 
Part III. meet the definition of "mobile home" in 
Part III.A., below. 

A. Definition 

"Mobile home" means a vehicle manufactured or 
assembled before June 15, 1976, designed to be 
towed as a single unit or in sections upon a highway 
by a motor vehicle and equipped and used, or in-
tended to be used, primarily for human habitation, 
with walls of rigid uncollapsible construction, 
which has an overall length in excess of 45 feet. 
"Mobile home" includes the mobile home structure, 
its plumbing, heating, air conditioning and electrical 
systems, and all appliances and all other equipment 
carrying a manufacturer’s warranty. 

B. Sales of Used Mobile Homes as Real Property 
Improvements 

1. No Wisconsin tax on seller/installer’s purchase 
of home. 

2. No Wisconsin tax on sale of home to customer. 

C. Sales of Used Mobile Homes as Personal 
Property 

1. No Wisconsin tax on seller/installer’s purchase 
of home. 

2. No Wisconsin tax on sale of home to customer. 

IV. CHART: LEASES AND RENTALS 
OF MANUFACTURED AND 
MOBILE HOMES 

Note: It is assumed that the homes discussed in this 
chart meet the definition of "manufactured home" in 
Part I.A. or the definition of "mobile home" in 
Part III.A. 

 Personal 
Property 

(New & Used 
Manufactured 

and Mobile 
Homes) 

Realty  
Improvement 

(New & Used 
Manufactured 

and Mobile 
Homes) 

Lease or rental 
for continuous 
period of less 
than one month 

Taxable Taxable3 

Lease or rental 
for continuous 
period of one 
month or longer 

Nontaxable Nontaxable 

Note: Leases and rentals of mobile homes are not taxed 
at 65% of the price. They are taxed at 100% of the rent-
al amount. 

 
3 Assumes manufactured or mobile home is available to the public 

for lease or rental. Does not include manufactured and mobile 
homes leased or rented by (furnished by) a hospital, sanatorium, 
or nursing home, or by a nonprofit organization that is organized 
and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, or educational 
purposes. 
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V. REPAIRS TO MANUFACTURED AND MOBILE HOMES 

Note: It is assumed that the home is used as a residence and not for a commercial purpose and the home meets the 
definition of "manufactured home" in Part I.A. or the definition of "mobile home" in Part III.A. "Tax" means Wiscon-
sin tax. 

Activity Manufactured Home or Mobile Home Conventional House On 
Owned Land Home Permanently  

Affixed to Owner's 
Land4 

Home Not  
Permanently Affixed to 

Owner's Land4 

Installation or complete 
replacement of item 
permanently affixed to 
home/house 

R P R 

No tax on charge for labor 
and materials 

Exempt on charge for la-
bor. Tax on charge for 
materials 

No tax on charge for labor 
and materials 

Tax on purchase of mate-
rials by contractor 

No tax on purchase of ma-
terials by contractor - 
purchase for resale 

Tax on purchases of mate-
rials by contractor 

Repair of items perma-
nently affixed to 
home/house listed in 
sec. 77.52(2)(ag), Wis. 
Stats., (2009-10)5 

P P P 

Exempt on charge for la-
bor. Tax on charge for 
materials. 

Exempt on charge for la-
bor. Tax on charge for 
materials. 

Tax on charge for labor 
and materials 

No tax on purchase of ma-
terials by contractor – 
purchase for resale 

No tax on purchase of ma-
terials by contractor – 
purchase for resale 

No tax on purchase of ma-
terials by contractor – 
purchase for resale 

Repair of items perma-
nently affixed to 
home/house not listed in 
sec. 77.52(2)(ag), Wis. 
Stats., (2009-10)5 

R P R 

No tax on charge for labor 
and materials 

Exempt on charge for la-
bor. Tax on charge for 
materials 

No tax on charge for labor 
and materials 

Tax on purchases of mate-
rials by contractor 

No tax on purchase of ma-
terials by contractor – 
purchase for resale 

Tax on purchases of mate-
rials by contractor 

R – Means the activity is a realty improvement. 

P – Means the activity is a service to tangible personal property. 

 

 
4 Home is permanently affixed to the land if it sits on a foundation (off the wheels and on some other support) and is connected to utilities. 
5 For a list of items that are listed in sec. 77.52(2)(ag), Wis. Stats., as retaining their character as tangible personal property for purposes of 

repair, service, etc., see Part III.A. of Publication 207, Sales and Use Tax Information for Contractors. 

http://docs.legis.wi.gov/statutes/statutes/77/III/52/2/ag
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/statutes/statutes/77/III/52/2/ag
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/statutes/statutes/77/III/52/2/ag
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/statutes/statutes/77/III/52/2/ag
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb207.pdf
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VI. SALES OF MODULAR HOMES 

A. Definitions 

As used in this section: 

1. “Modular home” means any structure or com-
ponent thereof which is intended for use as a 
dwelling and: 

a. Is of closed construction and fabricated or 
assembled on-site or off-site in manufactur-
ing facilities for installation, connection, or 
assembly and installation, at the building 
site; or 

b. Is a building of open construction which is 
made or assembled in manufacturing facili-
ties away from the building site for 
installation, connection, or assembly and 
installation, on the building site and for 
which certification is sought by the manu-
facturer. 

“Modular home” does not mean any manu-
factured home under sec. 101.91, Wis. 
Stats., or any building of open construction 
which is not subject to b., above. 

2. “Closed construction” means any building, 
building component, assembly, or system man-
ufactured in such a manner that it cannot be 
inspected before installation at the building site 
without disassembly, damage, or destruction. 

3. “Open construction” means any building, build-
ing component, assembly, or system 
manufactured in such a manner that it can be 
readily inspected at the building site without 
disassembly, damage, or destruction. 

B. Real Property Improvements 

Sales tax does not apply to the charge for the sale 
and permanent installation of a modular home. 
Note: It does not matter whether the buyer of the 
home also owns the land upon which the home is 
installed. 

The seller/installer of a modular home must pay 
Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase price of a 

home that is installed in Wisconsin. The sale of a 
modular home to the seller/installer is exempt from 
sales and use tax if the home is used in real property 
construction activities outside Wisconsin. 

See Part C. on pages 14 and 15 for information on 
computing the amount subject to tax. 

Note: Prior to September 1, 2011, the sale of a 
modular home to a dealer in Wisconsin who used 
the modular home in a real property construction 
activity was subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax, 
regardless of whether the real property construction 
activity occurred in or outside Wisconsin. For addi-
tional information, including transitional provisions 
and examples, see the article titled "Sales and Use 
Tax Exemption Created for Manufactured and 
Modular Homes Used in Real Property Construc-
tion Activity Outside Wisconsin Effective 
September 1, 2011" on the Department of Reve-
nue's web site. 

Example 1: Manufactured in Wisconsin, Dealer 
Affixes, Wisconsin Site - Modular Home Manufac-
turer enters into a contract with Dealer to 
manufacture a modular home for a site in Wiscon-
sin. Modular Home Manufacturer delivers the 
modular home in Wisconsin to Dealer. Dealer, who 
has entered into a contract with Customer for the 
sale and installation of the modular home, affixes 
the modular home in Wisconsin for Customer. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are not subject to Wiscon-
sin sales or use tax. The materials are for resale. 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Dealer is subject to 
Wisconsin sales or use tax. Modular Home 
Manufacturer is selling tangible personal prop-
erty in Wisconsin to Dealer. Dealer is the 
consumer of the modular home it uses in real 
property construction activities in Wisconsin 
(i.e., affixing the modular home at the prede-
termined site). 

• The sale of the modular home by Dealer to Cus-
tomer is not subject to Wisconsin sales or use 
tax. Dealer is selling a real property improve-
ment to Customer. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2011/news-2011-110726.aspx
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Example 2: Manufactured in Wisconsin, Dealer 
Affixes, Manufacturer Delivers to Illinois Site - 
Modular Home Manufacturer enters into a contract 
with Dealer to manufacture a modular home for a 
site in Illinois. Modular Home Manufacturer deliv-
ers the modular home to Dealer in Illinois. Dealer, 
who has entered into a contract with Customer for 
the sale and installation of the modular home, affix-
es the modular home in Illinois for Customer. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are not subject to Wiscon-
sin sales or use taxes. The materials are for 
resale. 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Dealer is not subject to 
Wisconsin sales or use tax. The sale of tangible 
personal property does not take place in Wis-
consin. (Note: Modular Home Manufacturer 
should contact the Illinois Department of Reve-
nue to determine if any sales or use tax is owed 
to Illinois.) 

• The sale of the modular home by Dealer to Cus-
tomer is not subject to Wisconsin sales or use 
tax. Dealer is selling a real property improve-
ment that takes place outside Wisconsin. 

Example 3: Manufactured in Wisconsin, Dealer 
Affixes, Dealer Delivers to Illinois Site - Modular 
Home Manufacturer enters into a contract with 
Dealer to manufacture a modular home for a site in 
Illinois. Dealer picks up the modular home at the 
Modular Home Manufacturer's Wisconsin location. 
Dealer delivers the modular home to the job site in 
Illinois. Dealer, who has entered into a contract 
with Customer for the sale and installation of the 
modular home, affixes the modular home in Illinois 
for Customer. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are not subject to Wiscon-
sin sales or use taxes. The materials are for 
resale. 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Dealer is exempt from 
Wisconsin sales and use taxes because Dealer 
will use the modular home in real property con-
struction activities outside Wisconsin. 

• The sale of the modular home by Dealer to Cus-
tomer is not subject to Wisconsin sales or use 
tax. Dealer is selling a real property improve-
ment to Customer outside Wisconsin. (Note: 
Dealer should contact the Illinois Department 
of Revenue to determine if any sales or use tax 
is owed to Illinois.) 

Example 4: Manufactured in Wisconsin, Manu-
facturer Affixes, Wisconsin Site - Modular Home 
Manufacturer enters into a contract with Customer 
to manufacture and install a modular home for a site 
in Wisconsin. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are subject to Wisconsin 
sales or use tax. Modular Home Manufacturer 
is the consumer of materials it uses in real 
property construction activities in Wisconsin 
(i.e., affixing the modular home at the site in 
Wisconsin). 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Customer is not subject 
to Wisconsin sales or use tax. Modular Home 
Manufacturer is selling a real property im-
provement to Customer. 

Example 5: Manufactured in Wisconsin, Manu-
facturer Affixes, Illinois Site - Modular Home 
Manufacturer enters into a contract with Customer 
to manufacture and install a modular home for a site 
in Illinois. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are subject to Wisconsin 
sales or use tax. Modular Home Manufacturer 
is the consumer of materials it stores or uses in 
Wisconsin and uses in real property construc-
tion activities in Illinois (i.e. affixing the 
modular home at the predetermined site). 
(Note: The sales and use tax exemption for 
modular homes that are used in real property 
construction activities outside Wisconsin does 
not apply. The materials, as purchased by Mod-
ular Home Manufacturer, do not meet the 
definition of "modular home" in sec. 101.71(6), 
Wis. Stats.) 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Customer is not subject 
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to Wisconsin sales or use tax. Modular Home 
Manufacturer is selling a real property im-
provement that does not take place in 
Wisconsin. (Note: Modular Home Manufactur-
er should contact the Illinois Department of 
Revenue to determine if any sales or use tax is 
owed to Illinois.) 

Example 6: Manufactured in Indiana, Manufac-
turer Affixes, Wisconsin Site - Modular Home 
Manufacturer enters into a contract with Customer 
to manufacture and install a modular home. Materi-
als are delivered by Vendors to Modular Home 
Manufacturer in Indiana. Modular Home Manufac-
turer manufactures the modular home in Indiana. 

• Modular Home Manufacturer is subject to Wis-
consin use tax on its purchase of materials. 
Modular Home Manufacturer is the consumer 
of materials it uses in real property construction 
activities in Wisconsin (i.e., affixing the modu-
lar home at the site). Note: Credit would be 
allowed, up to the amount of Wisconsin state 
and local use taxes, for Indiana state and local 
sales or use taxes properly paid by Modular 
Home Manufacturer on its purchase of the ma-
terials. 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Customer is not subject 
to Wisconsin sales or use tax. Modular Home 
Manufacturer is selling a real property im-
provement to Customer. 

Example 7: Manufactured in Indiana, Dealer Re-
ceives Home in Wisconsin, Dealer Affixes, 
Wisconsin Site - Modular Home Manufacturer en-
ters into a contract with Dealer to manufacture a 
modular home for a site in Wisconsin. Materials are 
delivered by Vendors to Modular Home Manufac-
turer in Indiana. Modular Home Manufacturer 
manufactures the modular home in Indiana. Modu-
lar Home Manufacturer delivers the modular home 
in Wisconsin to Dealer. Dealer, who has entered in-
to a contract with Customer for the sale and 
installation of the modular home, affixes the modu-
lar home in Wisconsin for Customer. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are not subject to Wiscon-
sin use tax. The materials are for resale. 

• The sale of the modular home by Modular 
Home Manufacturer to Dealer is subject to 
Wisconsin sales or use tax. Modular Home 
Manufacturer is selling tangible personal prop-
erty in Wisconsin to Dealer. Dealer is the 
consumer of the modular home it uses in real 
property construction activities (i.e., affixing 
the modular home). 

• The sale of the modular home by Dealer to Cus-
tomer is not subject to Wisconsin sales or use 
tax. Dealer is selling a real property improve-
ment to Customer. 

Example 8: Manufactured in Indiana, Dealer 
Picks Up Home in Indiana, Dealer Affixes, Wis-
consin Site - Modular Home Manufacturer enters 
into a contract with Dealer to manufacture a modu-
lar home for a site in Wisconsin. Materials are 
delivered by Vendors to Modular Home Manufac-
turer in Indiana. Modular Home Manufacturer 
manufactures the modular home in Indiana. Dealer 
takes possession of the home in Indiana and trans-
ports it to the site in Wisconsin. Dealer, who has 
entered into a contract with Customer for the sale 
and installation of the modular home, affixes the 
modular home in Wisconsin for Customer. 

• Sales of materials by Vendors to Modular 
Home Manufacturer are not subject to Wiscon-
sin use tax. The materials are for resale. 

• Dealer's purchase of the home is subject to 
Wisconsin use tax. Dealer may take a credit, 
against the Wisconsin use tax owed, for any In-
diana sales or use tax that it properly paid on its 
purchase of the home. Dealer is purchasing tan-
gible personal property (modular home) and 
using it in real property construction activities 
(i.e., affixing the modular home at the site in 
Wisconsin). 

• The sale of the modular home by Dealer to Cus-
tomer is not subject to Wisconsin sales or use 
tax. Dealer is selling a real property improve-
ment to Customer. 

C. Computing Amount Subject to Tax 

The sales or purchase price from the sale of a 
“modular home,” as defined in Part VI.A. on 
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page 12, that is tangible personal property when 
sold, may be reduced by one of the following: 

Option A: 35% of the sales price. 

Option B: An amount equal to the sales price minus 
the cost of the materials that become an ingredient 
or component part of the modular home. 

No credit is allowed for trade-ins under Option A or 
Option B in computing the sales price or purchase 
price subject to tax. 

Once a retailer chooses Option A or Option B for 
the first modular home sold under this provision, 
the retailer must continue to use that option for all 
sales of modular homes, that are tangible personal 
property when sold, until such time as the Depart-
ment of Revenue approves in writing the use of the 
other option.  

Example: Modular Home Manufacturer sells a 
modular home in Wisconsin to Dealer. Dealer will 
affix the modular home to real property in Wiscon-
sin for Customer under a contract between Dealer 
and Customer. Additional facts are as follows: 

• $75,000 is the cost of materials purchased by 
Modular Home Manufacturer that become an 
ingredient or component part of the modular 
home. 

• $110,000 is the selling price of the modular 
home by Modular Home Manufacturer to Deal-
er. 

The amount subject to sales tax on the sale of the 
modular home to Dealer is one of the following: 

Option A: $71,500 [$110,000 selling price – 
(35% x $110,000 selling price)]. 

Option B: $75,000 [$110,000 selling price – 
($110,000 selling price - $75,000 cost of materi-
als)]. 

If Modular Home Manufacturer chooses Option A 
for computing the sales price for its first sale of a 
modular home, it must use Option A for computing 
the sales price for all future sales of modular homes, 

until the Department of Revenue approves in writ-
ing the use of Option B. 

D. County and Stadium Taxes 

If a modular home is subject to the 5% Wisconsin 
state sales or use tax, a county of stadium sales or 
use tax may also apply. 

Dealer Receives and Stores Home in Taxable Coun-
ty and Uses Home in Real Property Construction in 
Wisconsin 

If a dealer (1) recevies and stores a modular home 
in a taxable county (and/or in a county where the 
0.1% baseball stadium sales and use tax or the 0.5% 
football stadium sales and use tax applies), and 
(2) permanently affixes the home to real property in 
Wisconsin, the dealer owes the county and/or stadi-
um tax for the county in which it received and 
stored the home, based on the dealer's purchase 
price6 of the home. If the total county and stadium 
tax rate for the county where the home was affixed 
to the land is higher than the total county and stadi-
um tax rate for the county where the home was 
stored, the dealer owes the difference for the county 
and/or stadium district where the home was affixed. 

Example 1: Dealer G receives a modular home 
and stores the home in Fond du Lac County 
(taxable county). Dealer G permanently affixes 
the home to land in Winnebago County (non-
taxable county). 

Dealer G owes 5.5% (5% state and 0.5% 
Fond du Lac County) tax on its purchase price6 
of the home, since it first received and stored 
the home in Fond du Lac County. 

Dealer Receives or Stores Home in Nontaxable 
County and Uses Home in Real Property Construc-
tion in Nontaxable County 

If a dealer (1) receives and stores a modular home 
in a nontaxable county (a county where neither 
county nor stadium taxes apply), and 
(2) permanently affixes the home to land in a non-
taxable county in Wisconsin, the dealer does not 

 
6  Purchase price may be reduced as explained in Part VI.C. 
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owe county or stadium sales or use tax on its pur-
chase of the home. 

Dealer Receives or Stores Home in Nontaxable 
County and Uses Home in Real Property Construc-
tion in Taxable County  

If a dealer (1) receives and stores a modular home 
in a nontaxable county (a county where neither 
county nor stadium taxes apply), and 
(2) permanently affixes the home to land in a taxa-
ble county in Wisconsin (and/or in a county where 
the 0.1% baseball stadium sales and use tax or the 
0.5% football stadium sales and use tax applies), the 
dealer owes the 0.5% county sales or use tax 
(and/or the 0.1% or 0.5% stadium sales or use tax) 
on its purchase price7 of the modular home. 

Example: Dealer buys a modular home in She-
boygan County (nontaxable county), and does 
not pay sales tax to the vendor of the home. 
Dealer’s business is located in Sheboygan 
County. 

Dealer permanently affixes the home on land in 
Milwaukee County (Milwaukee County has 
adopted both the 0.5% county tax and 0.1% 
stadium tax). 

Dealer owes 5.6% (5% state, 0.5% Milwaukee 
County, and 0.1 stadium tax) tax on 65% of its 
purchase price7 of the home. 

Dealer Receives Home at Job Site in Taxable Coun-
ty 

If the manufacturer delivers a modular home direct-
ly to the job site in a taxable county (and/or in a 
county where the 0.1% or 0.5% stadium tax ap-
plies), where the dealer receives possession of the 
home and permanently affixes the home to the land, 
the dealer owes county and/or stadium sales or use 
tax on its purchase of the home. 

Dealer Receives Home at Job Site in Nontaxable 
County 

If the manufacturer delivers a modular home direct-
ly to the job site in a nontaxable county (a county 

 
7  Purchase price may be reduced as explained in Part VI.C. 

where neither the 0.5% county tax nor the 0.1% or 
0.5% stadium tax applies), where the dealer re-
ceives possession of the home and permanently 
affixes the home to the land, the dealer does not 
owe county or stadium sales or use taxes on its pur-
chase of the home. 

Dealer Receives and Stores Home in Wisconsin 
(Taxable or Nontaxable County) and Uses Home in 
Real Property Construction Outside Wisconsin 

If a dealer (1) receives and stores a modular home 
in Wisconsin, and (2) permanently affixes the home 
to land outside Wisconsin, the dealer does not owe 
Wisconsin county or stadium sales or use taxes on 
its purchase of the home. 

Dealer Receives Home Outside Wisconsin and Uses 
Home in Real Property Construction in Wisconsin 
Nontaxable County 

If a dealer buys a modular home outside Wisconsin 
and permanently affixes the home to land in a non-
taxable county in Wisconsin, the dealer owes no 
county or stadium sales or use tax on its purchase of 
the home. 

Dealer Receives Home Outside Wisconsin and Uses 
Home in Real Property Construction in Wisconsin 
Taxable County 

If a dealer buys a modular home outside Wisconsin 
and permanently affixes the home to land in a taxa-
ble county in Wisconsin, the dealer owes the 0.5% 
county use tax (and/or the 0.1% or 0.5% stadium 
use tax) on its purchase price7 of the modular home. 
A credit is allowed, against the county and/or stadi-
um use tax, for local taxes properly paid in the other 
state. 
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VII. TAX RATE CHART 

The following chart lists the total sales and use tax rate for each county. The effective date of the county or stadium 
tax is shown below the tax rate for those counties in which the county or stadium tax applies. 

COUNTY COUNTY 
CODE 

STATE 
TAX 

RATE 

COUNTY TAX 
RATE & 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

STADIUM TAX 
RATE & 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

TOTAL 

Adams  1 5% 0.50% 1/1/94  5.50% 
Ashland 2 5% 0.50% 4/1/88  5.50% 
Barron 3 5% 0.50% 4/1/86  5.50% 
Bayfield 4 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Brown 5 5%  0.50% 11/1/00 5.50% 
Buffalo 6 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Burnett 7 5% 0.50% 4/1/89  5.50% 
Calumet 8 5%   5% 
Chippewa  9 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Clark 10 5% 0.50% 1/1/09  5.50% 
Columbia 11 5% 0.50% 4/1/89  5.50% 
Crawford 12 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Dane 13 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Dodge 14 5% 0.50% 4/1/94  5.50% 
Door 15 5% 0.50% 4/1/88  5.50% 
Douglas 16 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Dunn 17 5% 0.50% 4/1/86  5.50% 
Eau Claire 18 5% 0.50% 1/1/99  5.50% 
Florence 19 5% 0.50% 7/1/06  5.50% 
Fond du Lac 20 5% 0.50% 4/1/10  5.50% 
Forest 21 5% 0.50% 4/1/95  5.50% 
Grant 22 5% 0.50% 4/1/02  5.50% 
Green 23 5% 0.50% 1/1/03  5.50% 
Green Lake 24 5% 0.50% 7/1/99  5.50% 
Iowa 25 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Iron 26 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Jackson 27 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Jefferson 28 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Juneau 29 5% 0.50% 4/1/92  5.50% 
Kenosha 30 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Kewanee 31 5%   5% 
La Crosse 32 5% 0.50% 4/1/90  5.50% 
Lafayette 33 5% 0.50% 4/1/01  5.50% 
Langlade 34 5% 0.50% 4/1/88  5.50% 
Lincoln 35 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Manitowoc 36 5%   5% 
Marathon 37 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Marinette 38 5% 0.50% 10/1/01  5.50% 
Marquette 39 5% 0.50% 4/1/89  5.50% 
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COUNTY COUNTY 
CODE 

STATE 
TAX 

RATE 

COUNTY TAX 
RATE & 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

STADIUM TAX 
RATE & 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

TOTAL 

Menominee 72 5%   5% 
Milwaukee 40 5% 0.50% 4/1/91 0.10% 1/1/96 5.60% 
Monroe 41 5% 0.50% 4/1/90  5.50% 
Oconto 42 5% 0.50% 7/1/94  5.50% 
Oneida 43 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Outagamie 44 5%   5% 
Ozaukee 45 5% 0.50% 4/1/91 0.10% 1/1/96 5.60% 
Pepin 46 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Pierce 47 5% 0.50% 4/1/88  5.50% 
Polk 48 5% 0.50% 4/1/88  5.50% 
Portage 49 5% 0.50% 4/1/89  5.50% 
Price 50 5% 0.50% 1/1/93  5.50% 
Racine 51 5%  0.10% 1/1/96 5.10% 
Richland 52 5% 0.50% 4/1/89  5.50% 
Rock 53 5% 0.50% 4/1/07  5.50% 
Rusk 54 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
St. Croix 55 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Sauk 56 5% 0.50% 4/1/92  5.50% 
Sawyer 57 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Shawano 58 5% 0.50% 4/1/90  5.50% 
Sheboygan 59 5%   5% 
Taylor 60 5% 0.50% 7/1/99  5.50% 
Trempealeau 61 5% 0.50% 10/1/95  5.50% 
Vernon 62 5% 0.50% 1/1/97  5.50% 
Vilas 63 5% 0.50% 4/1/88  5.50% 
Walworth 64 5% 0.50% 4/1/87  5.50% 
Washburn 65 5% 0.50% 4/1/91  5.50% 
Washington 66 5% 0.50% 1/1/99 0.10% 1/1/96 5.60% 
Waukesha 67 5%  0.10% 1/1/96 5.10% 
Waupaca 68 5% 0.50% 4/1/89  5.50% 
Waushara 69 5% 0.50% 4/1/90  5.50% 
Winnebago 70 5%   5% 
Wood 71 5% 0.50% 1/1/04  5.50% 

 

VIII. QUESTIONS 

A. Department of Revenue Web site: 
www.revenue.wi.gov 

B. General Sales and Use Tax Information 

Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
Mail Stop 5-77 
P.O. Box 8949 
Madison, WI 53708-8949 
608-266-2776 (telephone) 
608-267-1030 (fax) 
DORSalesandUse@revenue.wi.gov (e-mail) 

mailto:DORSalesandUse@revenue.wi.gov

	Item
	Item

