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. CURRENT WITHHOLDING TAX RATES TO
APPLY FOR 1996

The current withholding tax rates will continue for 1996.
Those rates are found in the department's current
issue of the “Wisconsin Employer's Withholding Tax
Guide" (W-166) for payroll periods beginning on or
after May 1, 1988. If changes in the tax laws result in
new withholding tax rates, the department will mail
notification to all registered employers.

. EMPLOYER REGISTRATION CHANGES

Effective January 1, 19986, the way employers register
with the Department of Revenue changes. Recent law
changes provide for an initial business registration fee
of $20 and a subsequent renewal fee every two years
of $10. If your business entity currently holds an active
Wisconsin Employer Identification Number (WEIN)
issued by this department, there is no need for you to
do anything at this time.

At this time, you do not have to do anything to renew
other tax type registrations you may have with the
department. However, if you do have other tax type
registrations with the department, you may receive
additional information about those types of registra-
tions, if they are subject to renewal. Beginning in 1998,
the department will establish a single renewal date for
all registrations that you have.

M. MAILING DATE FOR COUPON BOOKLETS

Employers depositing Wisconsin withheld taxes on a
semimonthly, monthly, or quarterly basis will be mailed
a 1996 coupon booklet during January 1996. Booklets
for semimonthly filers should be delivered by January
26. Booklets for monthly and quarterly filers should be
delivered by February 9. If these dates have passed
and you have not received your coupon booklet, please

call us at (608) 267-1025 or (608) 266-2776. Please
retain your 1995 coupon booklet until you receive your
1996 booklet.

IV. NEW ADDRESS FOR MAILING WT-6s

Please mail your WT-6 coupons to: Wisconsin Depart-
ment of Revenue, Box 93931, Milwaukee WI 53293-
0931.

This address is on all the 1996 coupons. Please notify
all perscens responsible for filing your WT-6 reports.

V. ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue is offering
electronic funds transfer (EFT) as a payment option for
state withholding tax.

Electronic funds transfer is a process to report and pay
your withholding tax payments electronically instead of
preducing a check and mailing it with a deposit report.
For more information, “Electronic Funds Transfer for
Employer Withholding Tax Program Guide™ and “Appli-
cation for Electronic Funds Transfer Authorization”
(Form A-103) are available by writing to: Revenue
Accounting - EFT Unit, Wisconsin Department of Rev-
enue, PO BOX 8903, Madison, W1 53708-8903; or cal!
the Wisconsin EFT help line at (608) 264-9918.

VI. MAGNETIC MEDIA REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

Wage statements and information returns are required
to be filed on magnetic media with the Department of
Revenue (DOR) if the number of any one type of wage
statement or information return required to be filed with
Wisconsin is 250 or more.




Vil. DID YOU KNOW?

* If you do not have a WT-6 to submit along with
your payment, be sure toinclude your Real Name,
Wisconsin Employer ID#, your Federal Employer
ID# and the period covered by the payment.

= Withholding liability is based on when wages are
paid to employes, not when wages are earned.
Use the date the employe is paid to identify the
correct reporting period.

*  Employers are required to file Forms WT-6 or
WT-7 even when their liability for a particular
period is zero.

*  Filing a Form WT-7 does not relieve you of the
responsibility of filing a deposit report (Form
WT-6) unless you have been assigned an annual
filing frequency.

*  The due date for the Employer's Annuat Recon-
ciliation of Wisconsin Income Tax Withheld From
Wages (Form WT-7) is January 31. The federal
due date is different.

¢ Line 7 on the WT-7 should be completed only if
requesting a refund.

+  Make sure to include copies of any 1099s along
with your WT-7 and W2s.

e  WT-7 payments or refund requests should be
mailed to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8981
Madison W 53708-8981

VII. NEED MORE INFORMATION?

The “Wisconsin Employer's Withholding Tax Guide”
(W-166) contains the tax rates and information about
deducting, reporting, depositing, and reconciling Wis-
consin withholding taxes. Publication 509 contains
information about requirements for filing wage state-
ments and information returns on magnetic media.

Copies of these publications may be obtained by
contacting any DOR office or calling (608) 266-1961.

Wisconsin withholding tax law generally conforms with
the federal Internal Revenue Code. A copy of the
federal “Employer’s Tax Guide”-Circular E (Publication
15), as well as other federal forms and publications,
may be obtained at your local IRS office or call 1-800-

829-3676.

WHERE TO DIRECT QUESTIONS

General Withholding Questions

Magnetic Media Only
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(608) 266-2776

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
FO Box 8302

Madison WI 53708-8902

(608) 267-3327

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8903

Madison W1 53708-8903

(608) 266-1612

MAILING ADDRESS FOR REPORTING FORMS
(WT-6, WT-7, Magnetic Media):

Deposit Reports
(Form WT-6)

Annual Reconciliation
in halance
(Form WT-7 and W-2's)

Annual Reconciliation
amount due or overpayment
(Form WT-7 and W-2's)

Magnetic Media and Annual
Reconciliation
(Form WT-7 and W-2's)

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Box 93831
Milwaukee WL 53203-0931

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8920
Madison WI 53708-8920

Wisconsin Department of Revenuge
PO Box 8961
Madison, W1 53708-8981

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
4638 University Avenue

PO Box 8903

Madison Wi 53708-8303



