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A.

Individual and Fiduciary Income Taxes

I.

Internal Revenue Code Reference Updated for
1994 for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts
(1993 Act 437, repeal sec. 71.01(6)(a), amend
sec. 71.01(6)(h) and (7r) and create sec.
71.01(6)(i), effective for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 1994.)

For taxable years that begin on or after January
1, 1994, “Internal Revenue Code” for individ-
uals, estates, and trusts {except nuclear decom-
missioning trust or reserve funds) means the
federal Internal Revenue Code as amended to
December 31, 1993, with the exceptions indi-
cated below. The Internal Revenue Code applies
for Wisconsin purposes at the same time as for
federal purposes.

The following provisions of federal Public Law
103-66, although enacted before the December
31, 1993 date prescribed by Wisconsin law, do
not apply for Wisconsin purposes:

a. Section 13215 of Public Law 103-66 relating
to the taxation of up to 85% of social securi-
ty benefits.

b. Section 13113 of Public Law 103-66 relating
to the exclusion for 50% of the gain from the
sale or exchange of qualified small business
stock held for more than five years.

For property placed in service in taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1994, individ-
uals and fiduciaries may compute depreciation or
amortization under either the federal Internal
Revenue Code in effect for the taxable year for
which the return is filed or the federal Internal
Revenue Code as amended to December 31,
1993, at the taxpayer’s option.

Federal Laws Enacted During 1993 Apply
Simultaneously for Wisconsin Purposes (1993
Act 437, amend sec. 71.01(6)(d), (e), (D), (g),
and (h), effective for taxable years beginning
after December 31, 1988 and before January 1,
1994.)

Except as indicated below, the federal Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 (Public Law
103-66), which was enacted on August 10, 1993,
applies for Wisconsin income tax purposes at the
same time as for federal purposes. For example,

the increase from $10,000 to $17,500 in the
amount of property that can be expensed under
section 179 applies for both federal and Wiscon-
sin purposes to taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 1993,

The following six provisions of federal Public
Law 103-66 do not apply for Wisconsin:

a. The extension for the period July 1, 1992,
through December 31, 1993, of section 127
of the Internal Revenue Code relating to the
exclusion from gross income for up to
$5,250 of educational assistance benefits
furnished by an employer under an educa-
tional assistance program.

b. The extension for the period July 1, 1992,
through December 31, 1993, of section
162(L) of the Internal Revenue Code relating
to the deduction for 25% of the amounts paid
for health insurance costs by self-employed
individuals.

¢. The repeal of the tax preference (for alter-
native minimum tax purposes) for contribu-
tions of tangible personal property made after
June 30, 1992, and contributions of other
property made after December 31, 1992.

d. The 50% exclusion of gain realized on the
disposition of qualified small business stock
issued after August 10, 1993, and the treat-
ment of the exclusion as a tax preference for
alternative minimum tax purposes.

e. The exclusion for certain income realized
from the discharge of qualified real property
indebtedness occurring after December 31,
1992,

f. The increase in exemption amounts for alter-
native minimum tax purposes for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1993,

. Addition Modification Created for Certain

Moving Expenses (1993 Act 437, create sec.
71.05(6)(a)18, effective for expenses incurred on
or after January 1, 1994.)

For federal tax purposes, moving expenses in-
curred on or after January 1, 1994, are allowed
as a deduction when computing federal adjusted
gross income.
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Certain moving expenses are not allowed as a
deduction for Wisconsin tax purposes. The fol-
lowing moving expenses must be added back to
federal adjusted gross income when computing
Wisconsin taxable income:

® Moving expenses that result in the taxpayer
changing his or her domicile from Wisconsin
to another state.

* Moving expenses incurred by a nonresident of
Wisconsin, unless such move is to Wisconsin
and the taxpayer changes his or her domicile
to Wisconsin as a result of the move.

. Definition of Gross Income Clarified (1993 Act

204, amend sec. 71.03(1), effective for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1994.)

The definition of “gross income”, as that term
relates to income from the sale of property, is
clarified by deleting the phrase “gains derived
from dealings in property.”

As a result of this change, “gross income™ from
the sale of property is defined as the gross
selling price without reduction for the cost of the
asset sold, expenses of sale, or any other
amounts.

. Fiduciaries May Not Deduct Real Estate Taxes

Paid by a Cooperative Housing Corporation
{1993 Act 204, amend sec. 71.05(6)(a)13, effec-
tive for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1994))

Fiduciaries use federal taxable income as the
starting point to determine their Wisconsin
taxable income. This provision requires any
deduction reflected in federal taxable income for
a fiduciary’s tenant-stockholder share of real
estate taxes paid or incurred by a cooperative
housing corporation to be added back to income
for Wisconsin purposes.

. Tenant-Stockholder’s Share of Real Estate

Taxes Not Allowed for Itemized Deduction
Credit (1993 Act 204, amend sec. 71.07(5)(a)2,
effective for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1994.)

An individual who is a tenant-stockholder of a
cooperative housing corporation may not use his

or her share of the real estate taxes the corpora-
tion paid or incurred on the property in the com-
putation of the itemized deduction credit.

. Interest Income From Local Exposition Dis-

trict Bonds Exempted From Tax (1993 Act
263, create sec. 71.05(1)(e), effective April 26,
1994 )

Interest income received on bonds issued by a
local exposition district under Subchapter II of
Chapter 229, Wis. Stats., is exempt from Wis-
consin income tax.

. Treatment of Partnership Agreements

Clarified (1993 Act 204, amend sec.
71.04(3)(c)(intro.), effective April 21, 1994))

This amendment clarifies that for purposes of
determining the situs of partnership income of
partners, a partner shall disregard all provisions
in partnership agreements that do any of the
following:

a. Characterize the consideration for payments
to the partner as services or the use of capi-
tal.

b. Allocate to a partner, as income from or gain
from sources outside Wisconsin, a greater
proportion of the partner’s distributive share
of partnership income or gain than the ratio
of partnership income or gain from sources
outside Wisconsin to partnership income or
gain from all sources.

¢. Allocate to a partner a greater proportion of
a partnership item of loss or deduction from
sources in Wisconsin than the partner’s
proportionate share of total partnership loss
or deduction.

d. Determine a partner’s distributive share of an
item of partnership income, gain, loss, or
deduction for federal income tax purposes if
the principal purpose of that determination is
to avoid or evade the tax under Chapter 71,
Wis. Stats.
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9. Estimated Tax Provisions Amended (1993 Act
204, amend sec. 71.09(13)(a)2 and repeal and
recreate sec, 71.09(1)(am), effective for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1994.)

a. For estimated tax purposes, “return” is de-
fined as a return that would show the tax
properly due.

Under prior law, “return” was defined sever-
al ways, depending on whether the return
was timely filed, the percentage of the actual
tax due that was paid with the return that was
filed, and on how much underpayment inter-
est was due.

The prior law definition of “return” did not
provide for refunding underpayment interest
previously paid if a taxpayer’s income was
reduced as a result of an amended return or
credit adjustment. The department was also
limited as to when it could assess additional
underpayment interest if a taxpayer’s income
was increased as a result of an amended
return or audit adjustment. The new defini-
tion of “return” will permit refunds or as-
sessments of underpayment interest based on
the taxpayer’s correct tax liability, regardless
of whether the correct tax liability is deter-
mined on the original return, an amended
return, or by audit adjustments.

b. The safe-harbor rule for avoiding underpay-
ment interest by making estimated tax pay-
ments based on the tax shown on the return
for the preceding year is clarified for married
persons as follows:

(1) If a husband and wife who filed separate
returns for the preceding taxable year
file a joint return, the tax shown on the
return for the preceding year is the sum
of the taxes shown on the separate re-
turns of the husband and wife.

(2) If a husband and wife who filed a joint
return for the preceding taxable year file
separate returns, the tax shown on the
return for the preceding year is the
husband’s or wife’s proportion of that
tax based on what their respective tax
liabilities for that year would have been
had they filed separately.

10. State Historic Rehabilitation Credit Revised
(1993 Act 471, repeal sec. 71.07(91)(j)1; renum-
ber sec. 71.07(9r)(k) to 71.07(9r)(k)(intro.) and
amend as renumbered; amend sec. 71.07(9r)(a)
and (b) 2 and 3.a; and create sec. 71.07(9r)(k)1
to 5, effective taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1994.)

The state historic rehabilitation credit is modified
as follows:

a. The state historic rehabilitation credit may be
credited against taxes otherwise due under
sec. 71.02, Wis. Stats. Under prior law, the
statutory reference was to Chapter 71.

b. The cost of preservation or rehabilitation of
historic property includes architectural fees
and costs incurred in preparing nomination
forms for listing in the National Register of
Historic Places in Wisconsin or the State
Register of Historic Places, if the nomination
is made within 5 years prior to submission of
a preservation or rehabilitation plan.

¢. “Historic property” includes outbuildings that
contribute to the significance of the historic
property. An outbuilding of an otherwise
eligible property must be certified by the
State Historic Preservation Officer as contrib-
uting to the historic significance of the prop-
erty.

d. The property may qualify for the credit if it
is determined by the State Historical Society
to be eligible for listing on the National
Register of Historic Places in Wisconsin or
the State Register of Historic Places.

e. If, within 5 years after the date on which the
preservation or rehabilitation work is com-
pleted, the person either sells or conveys the
property by deed or Iand contract or the State
Historical Society certifies to the Department
of Revenue that the historical property has
been altered to the extent it does not comply
with the standards, the person shall add a
percentage of the credit to his or her tax
liability.

The applicable percentages are:

* 100% if the sale, conveyance or noncom-
pliance occurs during the first year after
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the date on which the preservation or
rehabilitation is completed.

® 80% if the sale, conveyance or noncom-
pliance occurs during the 2nd year after
the date on which the preservation or
rehabilitation is completed.

¢ 60% if the sale, conveyance or noncom-
pliance occurs during the 3rd year after
the date on which the preservation or
rehabilitation is completed.

* 40% if the sale, conveyance or noncom-
pliance occurs during the 4th year after the
date on which the preservation or rehabili-
tation is completed.

¢ 20% if the sale, conveyance or noncom-
pliance occurs during the 5th year after the
date on which the preservation or rehabili-
tation is completed.

B. Corporation Franchise or Income Taxes

1.

Internal Revenue Code References Updated
for 1994 for Corporations, Tax-Option (S)
Corporations, Insurance Companies, Non-
profit Organizations, Regulated Investment
Companies, Real Estate Investment Trusts,
and Real Estate Mortgage Investment Con-
duits (1993 Act 437, repeal secs. 71.22(4)(a),
71.26(2)(b)1, 71.34(1g)(a), and 71.42(2)(a),
amend secs. 71.22(4)(h) and (4m)(f),
71.26(2)(b)8 and (3)(y), 71.34(1g)(h),
71.365(1m), 71.42(2)(g), and 71.45(2)(a)}13, and
create secs. 71.22(4)(i) and (4m)(g),
71.26(2)(b)9, 71.34(1g)(i), and 71.42(2)(h),
effective for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1994).

For taxable years that begin on or after January
1, 1994, “Internal Revenue Code” for corpora-
tions, tax-option (S) corporations, insurance
companies, nonprofit organizations, regulated
investment companies (RICs), real estate invest-
ment trusts (REITs), and real estate mortgage
investment conduits (REMICs) means the federal
Internal Revenue Code as amended to December
31, 1993, with the exceptions indicated below.
The Internal Revenue Code applies for Wiscon-
sin purposes at the same time as for federal
purposes.

a. For corporations (except nonprofit organiza-
tions, RICs, REITs, and REMICs), tax-
option (S) corporations, and insurance com-
panies, for property placed in service in
taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1994, depreciation or amortization may be
computed under either the federal Internal
Revenue Code in effect for the taxable year
for which the return is filed or the federal
Internal Revenue Code as amended to De-
cember 31, 1993, at the taxpayer’s option.

b. For corporations (except nonprofit organiza-
tions, RICs, REITs, and REMICs), the Inter-
nal Revenue Code is modified by sec.
71.26(3), Wis. Stats.

¢. For tax-option (S) corporations, IRC sec.
1366(f), relating to the reduction in
passthroughs for taxes at the S-corporation
level, is modified by substituting the built-in
gains tax under sec. 71.35, Wis. Stats., for
the taxes under IRC secs. 1374 and 1375.

d. For insurance companies, the Internal Reve-
nue Code excludes IRC sec. 847, relating to
an additional deduction for insurers required
to discount unpaid losses.

e. For RICs, REITs, and REMICs, property
depreciated for taxable yéars 1983 to 1986
under the Internal Revenue Code as amended
to December 31, 1980, must continue to be
depreciated under the Internal Revenue Code
as amended to December 31, 1980. Additions
or subtractions must be made to reflect dif-
ferences between the depreciation or adjusted
basis for federal and Wisconsin tax purposes
of property disposed of during the taxable
year.

. Federal Laws Enacted During 1993 Apply

Simultaneously for Wisconsin Purposes (1993
Act 437, amend secs. 71.22(4)(d), (e), (), (g),
and (h) and (4m)(b), (c), (d), (e), and (f),
71.26(2)(b)4, 5, 6, 7, and 8, 71.34(1g)d), (e),
), (), and (h), and 71.42(2)(c), (), (&), (f),
and (g), effective for taxable years beginning
after December 31, 1988, and before January 1,
1994).

Except as indicated below, the federal Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 (Public Law
103-66) applies for Wisconsin franchise and
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income tax purposes at the same time as for
federal purposes. For example, the increase in
the section 179 expense deduction for small
businesses applies for both federal and Wisconsin
purposes for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1993,

Section 13150 of Public Law 103-66, relating to
the exclusion from gross income of tax-option
(S) corporations for income from discharge of
qualified real property business indebtedness,
does not apply for taxable years beginning after
December 31, 1992, and before January 1, 1994.

. Disallowance of State Tax Deduction Clarified

(1993 Act 437, amend secs. 71.26(3)(g),
71.34(1)(ag), and 71.45(2)(a)5, effective May
10, 1994).

This provision clarifies that corporations {except
nonprofit organizations, RICs, REITs, and
REMICs), tax-option (8) corporations, and insur-
ance companies may not claim a deduction for
state value-added taxes, single business taxes, or
taxes on or measured by all or a portion of net
income, gross income, gross receipts, or capital
stock.

. Corporations Having a Federal Extension

Allowed an Extra 30 Days to File Wisconsin
Tax Returns (1993 Act 199, amend secs.
71.24(7) and 71.44(3), effective for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1993).

If a corporation receives a federal extension of
time to file its federal income tax return, this
automatically extends the time for filing the
corresponding Wisconsin return to 30 days after
the federal due date, provided a copy of the
federal extension is filed with the Wisconsin
return. For example, if a corporation has a
federal extension until September 15, its Wis-
consin franchise or income tax return is due on
October 15.

. Definition of “Return” Modified for Estimated

Tax Purposes (1993 Act 204, repeal and recre-
ate sec. 71.29(1)(a), effective for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1994).

For purposes of determining whether the correct
amount of estimated tax has been paid, “return”
means a return that would show the tax properly
due.

Under prior law, “return” was defined several
ways, depending on whether the return was filed
timely or late, on what percentage of the actual
tax due was paid with the return that was filed,
and on how much underpayment interest was due -
on the return filed.

. Urban Transit Company Tax Extended (1993

Act 246, amend sec. 71.38, effective for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1995).

The special tax under sec. 71.39, Wis. Stats.,
has been extended to urban transit companies
operating entirely within towns. Under sec.
71.39, corporations receiving 50% or more of
their gross income from the urban mass trans-
portation of passengers, as defined in sec. 71.38,
are subject to a 50% income tax in lieu of the
regular corporation franchise or income tax.

. Income of Local Exposition Districts Exempted

From Tax (1993 Act 263, create sec.
71.26(1)(bm), effective April 26, 1994).

The income of a local exposition district created
under Subchapter II of Chapter 229, Wis. Stats.,
is exempt from Wisconsin franchise and income
taxation, See Part F on page 19 for more infor-
mation about local exposition districts.

. Interest Income From Local Exposition Dis-

trict Bonds Exempted From Tax (1993 Act
263, create secs. 71.26(1)(h) and 71.45(1s),
effective April 26, 1994).

Interest income received on bonds issued by a
local exposition district under Subchapter II of
Chapter 229, Wis. Stats., is exempt from Wis-
consin franchise and income taxes.

. Development Opportunity Zones Created

(1993 Act 232, renumber and amend sec.
71.28(4)(am) and create sec. 71.28(1di)(1),
(Ldjp(@), (tdL)(®), (1ds)(i), and (4)@am)2, effec-
tive April 23, 1994).

Development opportunity zones are created in
the cities of Beloit and West Allis. Corporations
(except insurance companies) conducting eco-
nomic activities in a development opportunity
zone may qualify for the development zone
investment, jobs, location, research, and sales
tax credits.
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C. Sales and Use Taxes

1. Buyer May File Claim for Refund of Sales and
Use Taxes (1993 Act 437, amend secs. 77.59(2),
(5) and (6)(intro.), and 77.60(1)(a) and renumber
sec. 77.59(4)(intro.) to 77.59(4)(a) and sec.
77.59(4)(a) to 77.59(4)(b) and amend sec.
77.59(4)(a) as renumbered, effective for claims
for refund filed on or after September 1, 1994.)

a. Conditions for Buyer to File Claim for Re
fund :

A buyer may file a claim for refund of sales
and use tax paid to a seller under any of the
following 4 conditions:

(1) Seller has ceased operating business

If the buyer also paid sales or use tax in
error to sellers who have not ceased
business, only the seller may file a claim
for refund with the Department of Reve-
nue for such tax, unless the buyer meets
one of the other conditions described in

(2), (3), or (4).
(2) Buyer is being field audited

If the buyer being field audited paid
sales or use tax to sellers in error per-
taining (1) to periods being field audited
and (2) to any periods not included in
the field audit but still open to adjust-
ment, the buyer may file with the De-
partment of Revenue a claim for refund
which includes both periods — those
periods included and not included in the
field audit. However, the claim relating
to the period being field audited must be
filed by the buyer with the Department
of Revenue prior to the Department of
Revenue’s issuance of a notice of deter-
mination regarding the field audit.

(3) Periods covered in the claim for refund
are within the statute of limitations for
buyer, but are closed to seller

If the buyer also paid sales or use tax to
sellers in error which pertains to a peri-
od which is within the statute of limita-
tions for both the buyer and seller, only

the seller may file a claim for refund
with the Department of Revenue for such
tax, unless the buyer meets one of the
other conditions described in (1), (2), or
(4). )

(4) The claim for refund totals $50 or more
of tax

The $50 or more of tax means that the
total tax relating to all transactions con-
tained in the claim for refund filed with
the Department of Revenue is $50 or
more.

Note: The requirement in Condition (4) that
the total tax must be $50 or more does not
apply to Conditions (1), (2), and (3) above.

. Other Provisions Relating to Buyer Claims

for Refund

(1) Statute of limitations for buyer filing a
claim for refund

Four Years: A buyer has 4 years from
the unextended due date of the buyer’s
franchise or income tax return to file a
claim for refund (or if exempt, within 4
years of the 15th day of the 4th month
of the year following the close of the
buyer’s calendar or fiscal year). (See
exception below.)

Example: Buyer erroneously paid $100
of sales tax to seller in January, 1994.
Buyer files its corporate franchise tax
return on a calendar year basis. Since
the $100 of sales tax was paid in the
1994 calendar year, buyer has 4 years
from March 15, 1995 (the unextended
due date of the 1994 return) to file a
claim for refund for the $100.

Exception: 1f the time for issuing an
audit determination is extended by agree-
ment between the taxpayer (buyer) and
the Department of Revenue, the buyer
may, during the extended time period,
file a claim for refund of sales and use
taxes erroneously paid to a seller during
the period being audited.
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Example: A buyer is field audited for
the years 1989-1992. The 1989 year is
open to adjustment until March 15, 1994
(4 years from the unextended due date of
the 1989 return). The buyer and the
department agree in writing to extend to
June 1, 1994, the time period in which
the department may make a field audit
determination. The buyer discovers that
it paid sales or use tax in error to a
seller in 1989. The buyer has until June
1, 1994 (the extended date for making
an audit determination) to file a claim
for refund with the Department of Reve-
nue of the tax paid in error in 1989,

Rate of interest and date for computing
interest on buyer claims for refund

Interest on refunds will be computed at
9% per annum, from the last day of the
month following the month in which the
tax was paid by the buyer to the seller,
to the date the refund is paid.

Example: If a buyer paid $50 tax to the
seller in January, 1994, interest at 9%
per annum will be computed from Feb-
ruary 28, 1994 to the date the refund is
paid.

Buyer and seller may not both obtain
refunds of tax

Refunds will not be allowed to both the
buyer and seller for the tax on the same
transaction. If refund claims for the
same transaction are filed by both the
seller and buyer, the Department of
Revenue may pay either claim.

Offsetting buyer’s refund against any
debts subject to attachment

If the refund is to be paid to a buyer, the
department may set off amounts in the
manner in which it sets off income tax
and franchise tax refunds under sec.
71.93, and may set off amounts for child
support or maintenance, or both, in the
manner in which it sets off income taxes
under secs. 46,255 and 71.93(3), (6) and

(7).

&)

(©)

M

Buyer overpayments discovered in audits

If the Department of Revenue audits a
buyer and the buyer erroneously over-
paid tax to a seller during the audit
period, the buyer may file a claim for
refund for the tax paid in error. The
auditor will include this overpayment in
the audit determination.

Example: Sales tax of $1,000 was incor-
rectly paid in 1994 by a buyer to a seller
on custom software. A field audit of the
buyer is being conducted for 1994-1997.
The audit adjustments result in additional
tax of $2,500 for each of the 4 years
(exclusive of $1,000 overpayment to
seller). The buyer’s claim for refund of
$1,000 tax incorrectly paid to the seller
in 1994 will reduce the additional tax
due from the buyer for 1994 from
$2,500 to $1,500 (82,500 - $1,000).

Field audit determination made prior to
buyer’s claim for refund

If a sales or use tax field audit determi-
nation has been issued to the buyer
covering the period in which the buyer
erroneously paid sales or use tax to a
seller, the buyer may not file a claim for
refund for such period after the date of
the audit determination, for sales or use
tax erroneously paid to the seller.

Example: A buyer is field audited for
sales and use tax for years 1994-1997
and an audit determination for $1,000
was received by the buyer on June 10,
1998. Buyer erroneously paid sales tax
of $200 to a seller in 1995, however,
this overpayment was not addressed in
the audit determination of June 10,
1998. The buyer may not file a claim for
refund for the $200 with the Department
of Revenue.

Office audit determination made prior to
buyer’s claim for refund

If a sales or use tax office audit determi-
nation has been issued to the buyer
covering a period in which the buyer
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erroneously paid sales or use tax to a
seller, the buyer may still file a claim
for refund for sales or use tax errone-
ously paid to the seller for such period,
provided the transaction on which the
refund of sales or use tax is being
claimed was not adjusted in the office
audit determination.

Example: An office audit determination
covering the January, 1994 monthly
sales and use tax return was received by
a buyer on July 1, 1994 for failing to
report use tax of $50 on a desk pur-
chased from an Ohio retailer. Buyer
erroneously paid sales tax of $100 to a
seller in January 1994 on the purchase of
a manufacturing machine. The buyer
may file a claim for refund of the $100
of tax paid to the seller, provided the
claim is filed within 4 years of the unex-
tended due date of the buyer’s Wisconsin
income or franchise tax return, because
this item was not adjusted in the office
audit determination.

(8) Form to use for filing a claim for refund

A claim for refund by a buyer must be
filed on a form prescribed by the De-
partment of Revenue and shall be signed
by the buyer.

The Department of Revenue also has
authority to require the seller’s signature
on the prescribed form, unless the De-
partment of Revenue waives this require-
ment.

2. Seller Required to Return Refunded Tax and

Interest to Buyer (1993 Act 437, create sec.
77.59(4)(c), effective for claims for refund filed
on or after September 1, 1994.)

If a seller files a claim for refund for sales or use
tax and receives a refund of tax that the seller
has collected from buyers, the seller shall return
the tax and related interest to the buyers from
whom the tax was collected.

The seller shall return to the Department of
Revenue any part of a refund that the seller does
not return to a buyer. Penalties may apply to the

seller if the seller does not return the tax and
interest as required by sec. 77.59(4)(c), Wis.
Stats.

. Penalties for Filing Incorrect Claims for

Refund of Sales or Use Tax (1993 Act 437,
create sec. 77.60(12), effective for claims for
refund filed on or after September 1, 1994.)

Negligence Penalty: A person who negligently
files an incorrect and excessive claim for a
refund of sales or use tax under sec. 77.59, Wis,
Stats., is subject to a penalty of 25% of the
difference between the amount claimed and the
amount that should have been claimed,

Fraud Penaity: A person who fraudulently files
an incorrect claim for a refund of sales or use
tax under sec. 77.59, Wis. Stats., is subject to a
penalty of 100% of the difference between the
amount claimed and the amount that should have
been claimed.

Note: “Person,” as used in sec. 77.60(12), Wis.
Stats., includes a buyer or a seller who files an
incorrect claim for refund.

. Direct Pay Allowed for Eligible Businesses

(1993 Act 437, create sec. 77.52(17m), effective
for taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1995.)

a. Whar Is Direct Pay?

Under the direct pay method, a purchaser
who has a direct pay permit may purchase
tangible personal property or taxable services
without sales or use tax, even though no
exemption applies. The Department of Reve-
nue may promulgate a rule which specifies
the types of tangible personal property or
services which do not qualify for purchase
without tax using a direct pay permit.

Furnishing Seller With Evidence of Direct
Pay Purchases

When making a purchase without sales or use
tax under the direct pay method, the holder
of the direct pay permit must furnish the
seller with either:

(1) a copy of the direct pay permit, or
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b.

(2) a statement that the buyer holds a direct
pay permit, the permit number, and the
date the permit was issued.

Purchaser’s Payment of Use Tax on Taxable
Property or Services

The holder of a direct pay permit is liable for
use tax when it stores, uses, or consumes the
property or service in a taxable manner and
must report use tax on the purchase price of
the property or service on its sales and use
tax return.

Requirements for Obtaining a Direct Pay
Permit.

The Department of Revenue will issue a
direct pay permit to an applicant, at the
beginning of the applicant’s taxable year, if
the following seven requirements are ful-
filled:

(1) because of the nature of the applicant’s
business, issuing the permit will signifi-
cantly reduce the work of administering
the sales and use taxes;

(2) the applicant’s accounting system will
clearly indicate the amount of tax the
applicant owes;

(3) the applicant makes enough taxable
purchases to justify the expense of regu-
lar audits by the Department of Revenue;

(4) the applicant is not liable under ch. 71,
72, 76, 77, 78, or 139, Wis. Stats., for
delinquent taxes (including costs, penal-
ties, surcharges, and interest) of $400 or
more if any part of the tax is delinquent
for at least 5 months;

(5) it is in the state’s best interests to issue
the permit;

(6) the applicant purchases enough tangible
personal property under circumstances
that make it difficult to determine wheth-
er the property will be subject to sales or
use tax; and

(7) the applicant holds a seller’s permit
under sec. 77.52(7), Wis. Stats., or a
use tax registration certificate under sec.
77.53(9), Wis. Stats.

c. How to Apply for a Direct Pay Permit.

A person may apply for a direct pay permit
by submitting to the Department of Revenue
a completed form prescribed by the depart-
ment and $5.

d. Direct Pay Permit Revocable and Not Trans-
Jferable or Assignable.

A holder of a direct pay permit may not
transfer or assign it. The Department of
Revenue may revoke a direct pay permit if
the holder misuses it or the Department of
Revenue determines that revocation is in the
state’s best interests.

e. Recordkeeping Reguirements for Holder of
Direct Pay Permit

A holder of a direct pay permit is required to
keep a record of all retailers from whom it
made a purchase for which it used a direct
pay permit.

5. Exemption for Meals, Food, or Beverages Sold

by Community-Based Residential Facilities
(1993 Act 332, amend sec. 77.54(20)(c)4, effec-
tive June 1, 1994 )

Sales of meals, food, food products, or beverag-
es by a community-based residential facility,
which are served at the community-based resi-
dential facility, are exempt from Wisconsin sales
or use tax. _

A “community-based residential facility” is
defined in sec. 50.01(1g), Wis. Stats. (1991-92),
as a place where 3 or more unrelated adults
reside in which care, treatment, or services
above the level of room and board, but not
including nursing care, are provided to persons
residing in the facility as a primary function of
the facility, with certain exceptions.
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6. Real Property Definition for Property Tax

Doesn’t Apply for Sales and Use Tax (1993
Act 308, amend sec. 70.03, effective April 29,
1994.)

Section 70.03, Wis. Stats., prior to being
amended, defined the terms “real property,”
“real estate,” and “land” when used in chs. 70,
71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, and 79 of the
Wisconsin Statutes.

The amendment to sec. 70.03, Wis. Stats.,
deletes the reference to ch. 77. Chapter 77 of the
Wisconsin Statutes relates to sales and use taxes.

. Limit Seller’s Liability When Department Is
Unable to Collect From Purchaser (1993
Act 308, amend sec., 77.52(15), effective April
29, 1994.)

If a person purchases tangible personal property
without Wisconsin sales or use tax by giving the
seller a resale certificate, and the purchaser
subsequently uses the property in a taxable
manner, the seller may be held liable for the tax
owed by the purchaser if:

a. The Department of Revenue is unable to
collect the use tax from the purchaser, and

b. The seller provided incorrect information
about the transaction to the department (2.g.,
seller misinformed the department as to
whether it had a resale certificate on file for
the purchaser).

Previously, the department was authorized to
collect the tax from the seller if just condition a.
above was met. Condition b. was added as a
result of the amendment to sec. 77.52(15), Wis.
Stats.

Example: Seller B sells to Purchaser A tangible
personal property, which Purchaser A will resell.
Purchaser A gives Seller B a resale certificate,
therefore, no Wisconsin sales-or use tax is
charged to Purchaser A. Seller B accepts the
resale certificate in good faith.

Purchaser A is audited by the Department of
Revenue. The department determines that some
of the tangible personal property purchased by

Purchaser A from Seller B was used by Pur-
chaser A in a taxable manner.

When the department contacts Seller B about the
sales to Purchaser A, Seller B informs the de-
partment, verbally or in writing, that it does not
have a resale certificate on file for Purchaser A.
As a result of the information from Seller B, the
department concludes the audit without assessing
Purchaser A for the tangible personal property
used in a taxable manner.

Upon subsequent audit of Seller B, the depart-
ment learns that 1) Seller B did in fact have a
resale certificate on file for Purchaser A and 2)
the information given previously by Seller B to
the department was incorrect.

The department is prohibited from collecting the
use tax due from Purchaser A because of the
statute of limitations. However, because both
conditions in a. and b. above were met, the
department may assess Seller B for sales tax on
the sale of the tangible personal property to
Purchaser A that was purchased without tax with
a resale certificate and used in a taxable manner.

. $10 Fee Waived if Late Filing Because of

Death (1993 Act 408, amend sec.
77.60(2)(intro.), effective for notices mailed on
or after May 6, 1994.)

The $10 late filing fee will not be imposed on a
sales and use tax return that is filed late because
of the death of the person required to file the re-
turn.

. Allow Assessments in the Alternative (1993 Act

308, create sec. 77.59(9m), effective April 29,
1994.)

If the department determines that Wisconsin sales
or use tax is owing and that the liability may be
owed by more than one person, the department
may assess the entire amount to each person,
specifying that it is assessing in the alternative.
Also, if the department determines that a liability
exists and it may be sales tax or it may be use
tax, the department may make an assessment for
both sales and use taxes, specifying that it is
assessing in the alternative.

Example 1. The department audits an antique
dealer and determines that sales of antiques made
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10.

on behalf of the dealer at an antique mall were
subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. Neither the
dealer nor the mall charged sales or use tax on
these sales. The antique dealer believes that the
antique mall was the retailer of the antiques and
is liable for sales tax. The department believes
the antique dealer was the retailer liable for sales
tax.

The department may assess both the antique
dealer and antique mall, specifying an assessment
in the alternative. Once a final determination is
made as to who is the retailer responsible for the
tax, one of the assessments will be cancelled.

Example 2: The department audits a contractor.
The contractor installed equipment that was
affixed to real estate. The department believes
the equipment is still tangible personal property
after installation. The contractor believes the
equipment becomes real property after installa-
tion. The contractor did not pay Wisconsin sales
or use tax on its purchase of the equipment.

The department may make an assessment in the
alternative for 1) sales tax on the sale and instal-
lation of the equipment, and 2) use tax on the
purchase of the equipment installed. Once a final
determination is made as to whether the equip-
ment is tangible personal property or real proper-
ty after it is installed, one of the assessments will
be cancelled.

Require Payment of All Tax Delinquencies for
Seller’s Permit Renewal (1993 Act 308, amend
sec. 77.52(10)(c), effective July 1, 1994.)

If a person’s seller’s permit has not been re-
newed because of delinquent tax liabilities, the
permit will be renewed after payment of the
following:

a. Delinquent amounts due under chs. 72, 76,
77, 718, and 139, Wis. Stats., and

b. Delinquent amounts due under ch. 71, Wis,
Stats., that relate to the trade or business for
which the seller’s permit was issued.

Previously, only delinquent sales and use taxes,
including related costs, penalties, and interest,
had to be paid for a seller’s permit to be re-
newed.

11.

12,

13.

Include Fees and Surcharges in Amount Used
to Determine if Seller’s Permit Renewed (1993
Act 308, amend sec. 77.52(10)(b), effective July
1, 1994.)

Seller’s permits are automatically renewed on the
day the permit expires, unless all the following
conditions are met:

a. The permittee has a delinquent liability in
respect to any tax, fee, or surcharge under
ch. 71, 72, 76, 77, 78, or 139, Wis. Stats.,
including costs, penalties, and interest there-
on.

b. The delinquent liability is $400 or more.

c. Any part of the liability is delinquent for 5
months or longer.

Previously, under a. above, fees and surcharges
(e.g., temporary recycling surcharge) were not
included in determining whether a delinquency
was $400 or more.

Exempt Sales to Local Exposition Districts
(1993 Act 263, create sec. 77.54(9a)(g), effec-
tive April 26, 1994.)

A sales and use tax exemption is provided for
sales of tangible personal property and taxable
services to a local exposition district under
subch. II of ch. 229, Wis. Stats.

Exempt Charges Imposed by a Local Exposi-
tion District for Copies of Records (1993 Act
263, amend sec. 19.32(1), effective April 26,
1994.)

Section 77.54(32), Wis. Stats., provides a sales
and use tax exemption for charges, including
search charges, imposed by an “authority”
defined in sec. 19.32(1), Wis. Stats., for copies
of a record under sec. 19.35(1), Wis. Stats.

The definition of *authority” in sec. 19.32(1) is
amended to include a local exposition district
under subch. II of ch. 229, Wis. Stats.
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14. Waste Treatment Facility Exemption for Local

Exposition District (1993 Act 263, amend sec.
40.02(28), effective April 26, 1994.)

Section 77.54(26), Wis. Stats., provides a sales
and use tax exemption for tangible personal
property which becomes a component part of a
waste treatment facility of the State of Wisconsin
or any agency thereof, or any political subdivi-
sion of the State of Wisconsin or agency thereof,
as provided in sec. 40.02(28), Wis. Stats.

The amendment to sec. 40.02(28), Wis. Stats.,
adds a local exposition district under subch. II of
ch. 229, Wis, Stats., to those entities included in
sec. 40.02(28), Wis. Stats. As a result, tangible
personal property becoming a component part of
a waste treatment facility of a local exposition
district will qualify for exemption from Wis-
consin sales or use tax.

D. Farmland Preservation Credit

1. Credit Increased From 95% to 100% for

Farmland Covered by Town Exclusive Agri-
cultural Use Zoning (1993 Act 246, amend
sec. 71.60(1)(c)6, effective for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1994.)

For farmland located in an area zoned for exclu-
sive agricultural use under a certified town
ordinance, and in a county that has adopted a
certified agricultural preservation plan, the
farmiand preservation credit is 100% of the
credit calculated by using the statutory formula.

Under prior law, the level of credit for such
farmland was only 95% of the formula amount.

. Credit Increased From 70% to 80% for Farm-

land Subject to an Agreement {1993 Act 420,
amend sec. 71.60(1){(c)4 and 5, effective for
taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
1994.)

For farmland subject to a farmland preservation
agreement oOr a transition area agreement, which
is in an area that is not zoned for exclusive
agricultural use under a certified county, city, or
village ordinance, or which is in a county that
has not adopted a certified agricultural preserva-
tion plan, the farmland preservation credit is
80% of the credit calculated by using the statuto-
ry formula.

Under prior law, the level of credit for such
farmland was only 70% of the formula amount.

E. Excise Taxes

1. Adopt Income Tax Provisions for Claims for

Refund of Certain Excise Taxes (1993 Act 205,
amend secs. 78.68(10), 139.092, and 139.365,
effective for refund claims received on or after
April 21, 1994.)

Section 71.75(7) relating to the time within
which the Department of Revenue must act on a
claim for refund or credit in the income tax law,
also applies for purposes of the motor vehicle
fuel tax, alternate fuels tax, general aviation fuel
tax, beverage taxes, and cigarette taxes.

The Department of Revenue must act on any
claim for refund within one year after receipt of
the claim. Failure to act within that time shall
have the effect of allowing the claim unless the
taxpayer, prior to the expiration of the one-year
period, has consented in writing to an extension
of the one-year time period.

. Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax — Various Provisions

Needed to Correct and/or Implement Changes
Included in 1993 Act 16 (1993 Act 437)

a. Interest Imposition Changed (Amend secs.
78.68(1) and (2)(a), effective June 1, 1994.)

Interest on motor vehicle fuel taxes which are
not timely paid will be imposed from the date
taxes are due. Prior to this change, interest
was to be computed from the due date of the
motor vehicle fuel tax report, rather than
from the due date for payment of the tax.

b. Motor Fuel Exemption Annual Report Elim-
inated (Repeal sec. 78.12(3m) and amend
sec. 78.01(2)(e), effective June 1, 1994.)

Persons who make tax-free purchases of
gasoline for nonhighway use in mobile ma-
chinery and equipient are no longer required
to file annual reports with the department
itemizing tax-free gasoline purchases and
describing fuel usage. Gasoline can still be
purchased tax-free by such persons via an
exemption certificate (MF-209) prescribed by
the department.
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. Definition of Motor Fuel Corrected for

Retailers’ Refund (Amend secs. 78.20(1m),
(2), (3), (4) and (5), effective June 1, 1994.)

The obsolete term “motor fuel” which ap-
peared in sec. 78.20 is changed to “gaso-
line.” 1993 Act 16 repealed the definition of
motor fuel which applied to gasoline only,
and replaced it with “motor vehicle fuel”
which includes all gasoline and diesel fuel.
Therefore, sec. 78.20 has been revised to
allow the retailers’ refund for gasoline only.

In addition, the exception relating to motor
fuel wholesalers which appeared in sec.
78.20(1m) is deleted because licenses are no
longer issued to such wholesalers.

. Create Penalty for Misuse of Dyed Diesel

Fuel (Create sec. 78.155, effective June 1,
1994.)

A penalty is imposed on (1) any person who
sells dyed diesel fuel to a buyer who the
person knows (or has reason to know) will
use the dyed fuel in a taxable manner, and
(2) any person who uses dyed diesel fuel in
a taxable manner. The penalty is the greater
of $1,000 or twice the applicable tax on such
diesel fuel. A $1,000 penalty is also imposed
on retailers who do not conspicuously label
fuel pumps or other delivery facilities that
dispense dyed diesel fuel.

. Penalty Added for Late Filing of Reports by

Transporters (Create sec. 78.78(3), effective
June 1, 1994.) '

A $10 late-filing fee is imposed upon trans-
porters who do not timely file the required
monthly report. A report is considered timely
filed when it is mailed in a properly ad-
dressed envelope with first class postage and
is officially postmarked on or before the due
date, and received by the department within
five days after the due date.

Include Alternate Fuel in Formula for Com-
puting the Annual Fuel Tax Rate Adjustment
(Amend sec. 78.015(3), effective June 1,
1994.)

1993 Act 16, which changed the terms of
“motor fuel” and “special fuel” to “motor

vehicle fuel” and “alternate fuel,” inadver-
tently omitted alternate fuel gallons from the
annual recomputation formula. This change
corrects the omission,

g. Refund Assignment Reference Corrected
(Amend sec. 78.75(2), effective June 1,
1994.)

Section 78.75(2) states in part that “the right
of any person to a refund under this chapter
shall not be assignable...” This provision
conflicts with sec. 78.01(2r) which permits a
refund claim to be assigned. Therefore, the
word “chapter” in sec. 78.75(2) is changed
to “section.”

h. Refund Allowed to Wholesale Distributors
for Unrecovered Taxes (Amend sec.
78.01(2s), effective June 1, 1994.)

Wholesale distributors may file a refund
claim with the Department of Revenue to
recover motor vehicle fuel taxes owed them
by another wholesale distributor or retail
dealer from whom they are unable to collect
payment.

3. Bed and Breakfast Establishments Exempt

From Alcohol Beverage Licensing (1993 Act
226, create sec. 125.06(12), effective April 23,
1994.)

No alcohol beverage license or permit is required
for bed and breakfast establishments (as defined
under sec. 50.50(1)) which provide complimenta-
ry glasses of wine to customers.

. Increase Penalties for Sale of Alcohol Bever-

ages to Underage Persons (1993 Act 472,
amend sec. 125.07(1)(b)1 and 2 and create sec.
125.07(1)(b)5, effective May 13, 1994.)

The penalties for persons who commit two or
more offenses are increased by providing for
fines and/or allowing for imposition of jail
sentences. In addition, the penalties increase
based on the number of previous violations.
Previous violations are redefined to include
violations committed within 30 months of the
current violation, an expansion from the 12-
month period under prior law.
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5.

Applicants for Retail Alcohol Beverage Li-
censes Required to Complete Responsible
Beverage Server Training (1993 Act 259,
amend secs. 125.04(5)(c) and (d)3(intro.),
125.045(3), 125.17(6)(a)(intro.), 125.19(2),
125.275(2), 125.28(2), 125.30(3), 125.52(3),
125.54(2), 125.58(2), 125.60(2), 125.61(2),
125.62(2), and 125.63(2), and create sec.
125.04(5)(a)5, effective for applications filed on
or after November 1, 1994))

Applicants for retail alcohol beverage licenses
are required to complete a responsible beverage
server training course that conforms to curricu-
lum guidelines specified by the Board of Voca-
tional, Technical, and Adult Education or a
comparable training course approved by the
Department of Revenue or the Educational
Approval Board. This requirement does not
apply if the applicant held, within the past two
years, a retail alcohol beverage llcense/permlt or
a manager’s or operator’s license.

Prohibit Wholesale and Retail Fermented Malt
Beverage Ownership Interests (1993 Act 378,
rentmber sec. 125.25(2) to 125.25(2)(a) and sec.
125.275(2) to 125.275(2)(a), renumber sec.
125.26(2) to 125.26(2)(a) and amend as renum-
bered, repeal and recreate sec. 125.28(2), and
create secs. 125.25(2)(b), 125.26(2)(b)2,
125.275(2)(b) and 125.29(4), effective May 35,
1994.)

No person may simultaneously hold or have an
ownership interest in both a wholesaler’s license
and any of the following licenses or permits: (1)
a Class “A™ license; (2) a Class “B” license; (3)
a Class “B” permit; or (4) an industrial permit.
(Exception: A brewer may hold a Class “B”
license and a wholesaler’s license at the same
time.) Persons who, as of May 5, 1994, hold or
have ownership interests in both wholesale and
Class “A”, Class “B” or industrial licenses or
permits are not subject to this restriction.

Prohibit Sale of Individual Cigarettes (1993
Act 312, amend sec. 134.66(4)(a)!l and create
sec. 134.66(1)(hm) and (2)(e), effective April
29, 1994.)

Cigarette retailers are prohibited from selling
cigarettes in a form other than a package or
container on which a stamp is affixed under sec.

139.32(1). Violators may be subject to penalties
of up to $500, and suspension of cigarette and
tobacco product licenses or permits.

Amusement Device Permit Eliminated (1993
Act 308, repeal sec. 125.20, effectlve April 29,
1994.)

The requirement that certain persons obtain a
permit from the Department of Revenue before
setting up coin-operated cigarette machines,
jukeboxes or amusement devices on premises
licensed for alcohol beverages is repealed.

F. Local Exposition District Taxes

1.

Creation of Local Exposition District (1993
Act 263, create subch. II of ch. 229, effective
April 26, 1994).

Creation and Dissolution

Creation Omne or more sponsoring municipalities
may create a local exposition district for various
purposes, including acquiring, constructing,
equipping, maintaining, improving, operating,
and managing an exposition center and exposi-
tion center facilities.

Dissolution Subject to providing for the payment
of its bonds, including interest on the bonds, and
the performance of its other contractual obliga-
tions, a district may be dissolved by the joint
action of the district’s board of directors and
sponsoring municipality.

Jurisdiction

A local exposition district’s jurisdiction is the
sponsoring municipality’s geographical area,
except that, if the sponsoring municipality is a
st class city, the district’s jurisdiction is that
city and each city and village that is wholly or
partly contained within the most populous county
in which that city is located. No territory may be
included within the jurisdiction of more than one
district.

Authority to Impose Taxes

A local exposition district has authority to im-
pose a room tax under sec. 66.75(1m)(a), Wis.
Stats., a food and beverage tax under sec. 77.98,
Wis. Stats., and a rental car tax under sec.
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77.99, Wis. Stats. These taxes are called local
exposition district taxes.

To impose these taxes, the district must adopt a
resolution. A certified copy of the resolution to
impose the local exposition district taxes must be
delivered to the Secretary of Revenue at least
120 days before its effective date.

Note: As of May 13, 1994 (the date this
Bulletin was sent to the printer), no district
had adopted a resolution to impose the local
exposition district taxes. If a district adopts
such a resolution, the Department of Revenue
will attempt to notify retailers through various
means, including the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin
and Sales and Use Tax Report.

See Parts F.3. through F.9. on pages 20 to 24
for more information regarding the local exposi-
tion district taxes.

Authorize Department of Revenue to Adminis-
ter and Distribute Local Exposition District
Taxes (1993 Act 263, create secs. 20.566(1)(gg),
20.835(4)(gg), 66.75(1m)(c)1 and 3, 77.982(1)
and (3) and 77.991(1) and (3), effective April
26, 1994).

The Department of Revenue is responsible for
administering the local exposition district taxes.
The Department of Revenue has authority to
conduct audits, make assessments, issue refunds,
impose interest and penalties, etc. See Part F.9.
on page 24 for more information.

Ninety-seven percent of the taxes collected by
the Department of Revenue from the three local
exposition district taxes will be distributed to the
local exposition district no later than the end of
the month following the end of the calendar
quarter in which the amounts were collected. The
taxes distributed shall be increased or decreased
to reflect subsequent refunds, audit adjustments,
and all other adjustments.

The remaining 3% will be retained by the De-
partment of Revenue to cover the cost of admin-
istering the taxes.

A district that receives a report from the Depart-
ment of Revenue detailing the distribution of
taxes collected is subject to the duties of confi-

dentiality to which the Department of Revenue is
subject to under sec. 77.61(5), Wis. Stats.

. Room Tax (1993 Wisconsin Act 263, create sec.

66.75(1e) and (1m)(b); renumber sec. 66.75(1)
to sec. 66.75(1m)(a) and amend sec.
66.75(Im}a) as renumbered; and amend sec.
66.75(2) and (3)).

Effective Date of Room Tax

The effective date of the room tax is determined
by the local exposition district in an enabling
resolution. A certified copy of the resolution
must be delivered to the Secretary of Revenue at
least 120 days prior to the effective date of the
room tax.

Imposition of Basic Room Tax

The basic room tax may be imposed on the
privilege of furnishing, at retail, rooms or lodg-
ing to transients by hotelkeepers, motel opera-
tors, and other persons furnishing accommoda-
tions that are available to the public, irrespective
of whether membership is required for use of the
accommaodations.

“Transient” means any person residing for a
continuous period of less than one month in a
hotel, motel, or other furnished accommodations
available to the public. Hotel and motel are
defined in sec. 77.52(2)(a)1, Wis. Stats.

The basic room tax may not exceed 3%. How-
gver, a majority of the authorized members of
the local exposition district board may vote that,
if the balance in a special debt service reserve
fund of the district is less than the requirement
under sec. 229.50(5), Wis. Stats., the basic room
tax imposed by the district is 3% of the total
room charges beginning on the next January 1,
April 1, July 1, or October 1 after the payment.

Imposition of Additional Room Tax

If the district’s only sponsoring municipality is a
Ist class city, the district may adopt a resolution
to impose an additional room tax. The additional
tax is equal to the percentage of room tax im-
posed by the sponsoring municipality on the date
on which the sponsoring municipality agreed to

- stop imposing and collecting its own room tax as

a means of creating the local exposition district.
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The additional room tax imposed applies only
within the borders of the sponsoring munictpality
and may be used for any lawful purpose of the
district.

If a district stops imposing and collecting a room
tax, the district’s sponsoring municipality may
impose and collect a room tax on the date on
which the district stops imposing and collecting
its room tax.

Exemptions From Room Tax

The following are exempt from both the basic
room tax and the additional room tax:

a. Sales for resale
b. Sales to the federal government

¢. Sales to persons listed in sec. 77.54(9a),
Wis. Stats. This includes:

(1) Wisconsin or any agency thereof

(2) Any county, city, village, town, or
school district in Wisconsin

(3) A county-city hospital established under
sec. 66.47, Wis. Stats.

(4) A sewerage commission organized under
sec. 144.07(4), Wis. Stats., or a metro-
politan sewerage district organized under
secs. 66.20 to 66.26 or 66,88 to 66.918,
Wis, Stats.

(5) Any other unit of Wisconsin government
or any agency or instrumentality of one
or more units of Wisconsin government

(6) Any corporation, community chest fund,
foundation, or association organized and
operated exclusively for religious, chari-
table, scientific, or educational purposes,
or for the prevention of cruelty to chil-
dren or animals, except hospital service
insurance corporations under sec.
613.80(2), Wis. Stats., no part of the net
income of which inures to the benefit of
any private stockholder, shareholder,
member, or corporation

(7) A local exposition district under subch.
II of ch. 229, Wis. Stats.

Exchange of Information

As a means of enforcing the collection of any
room tax imposed by a district, the district may
exchange audit and other information with the
Department of Revenue. The district shall pro-
vide by resolution for the confidentiality of
information obtained from the Department of
Revenue, but shall provide exceptions for per-
sons using the information in the discharge of
duties imposed by law or of the duties of their
office or by order of a court.

The district may provide for the publishing of
statistics classified so as not to disclose the
identity of particular returns.

The district shall provide that persons violating
the resolution for confidentiality may be required
to forfeit not less than $100 nor more than $500.

Enforcement of Room Tax by Local Exposition
District

A local exposition district may do any of the
following with respect to its room tax:

a. Whenever the district has probable cause to
believe that the correct amount of room tax
has not been assessed or that the tax return is
not correct, inspect and audit the financial
records of any person subject to the room tax
to determine whether or not the correct
amount of room tax is assessed and whether
Or not any room tax return is correct.

b. Enact a schedule of forfeitures, not to exceed
5% of the room tax, to be imposed on any
person subject to the room tax who fails to
comply with a request to inspect and audit
the person’s financial records.

¢. Determine the room tax according to its best
judgement if any person required to make a
return fails, neglects, or refuses to do so for
the amount, in the manner and form and
within the time prescribed by the district.

d. Require each person who is subject to the
room tax to pay an amount of taxes that the
district determines to be due under ¢. above,
plus interest at the rate of 1% per month on
the unpaid balance. No refund or modifica-
tion of the payment determined may be
granted until the person files a correct room
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tax return and permits the district to inspect
and audit his or her financial records pertain-
ing to the furnishing of accommodations.

e. Enact a schedule of forfeitures, not to exceed
25% of the room tax due for the previous
year or $5,000, whichever is less, to be
imposed for failure to pay the room tax.

Also see Parts F.6. through F.9. on pages 24 to
26 for other provisions, including sales and use
tax provisions of ch. 77, Wis. Stats., that apply
to the local exposition district taxes.

. Food and Beverage Tax (1993 Act 263, create

secs. 77.98, 77.981, and 77.982(2)).

Effective Date of Food and Beverage Tax

The effective date of the food and beverage tax
is determined by the local exposition district in
an enabling resolution. A certified copy of the
resolution must be delivered to the Secretary of
Revenue at least 120 days prior to the effective
date of the food and beverage tax.

Imposition

A local exposition district tax of 0.25% may be
imposed upon gross receipts from the retail sale
of products that are subject to tax under sec.
77.54(20)(c)1 to 3, Wis. Stats. The tax applies to
sales made in the district’s jurisdiction, which is
discussed in Part F.1 on page 19.

Sales subject to the food and beverage tax in-
clude:

a. Sales of meals, food, food products, and
beverages sold by any person, organization,
or establishment for direct consumption on
the premises.

b. Sales by any person, organization, or estab-
lishment of the following items for off-pre-
mises consumption:

(1) Meals and sandwiches, whether heated
or not

(2) Heated food and heated beverages

(3) Soda fountain items such as sundaes,
milk shakes, malts, ice cream cones, and
sodas

(4) Candy, chewing gum, lozenges, pop-
corn, and confections

Gross receipts subject to the food and beverage
tax include cover, minimum, entertainment,
service or other charges made to patrons or
customers.

Note: According to sec. 77.981, Wis. Stats., the
district, by a vote of a majority of the authorized
members of its board of directors, may impose
the tax at the rate of 0.5% of the gross receipts.
A majority of the authorized members of the
district’s board of directors may vote that, if the
balance in a special debt service reserve fund of
the district is less than the requirement under
sec. 229.50(5), Wis. Stats., the tax rate is 0.5%.
The 0.5% rate shall be effective on the next
January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1, and
this tax is irrepealable it any bonds issued by the
district and secured by the special debt service
reserve fund are outstanding.

Exemprions From Food and Beverage Tax

The following sates of food products and bever-
ages are exempt from the food and beverage tax:

a. Sales for resale

b. Meals, food, food products, or beverages
furnished in accordance with any contract or
agreement by a public or private institution
of higher education (sec. 77.54(20)(¢c)5, Wis.
Stats.)

¢. Meals, food, food products and beverages
sold by hospitals, sanatoriums, nursing
homes, retirement homes, or day care centers
registered under ch. 48, Wis. Stats., and
served at a hospital, sanatorium, nursing
home, retirement home, or day care center
(sec. 77.54(20)(c)4, Wis. Stats.)

d. Meals, food, food products, or beverages
sold to the elderly or handicapped by persons
providing “mobile meals on wheels” (sec.
77.54(20)(c)4, Wis. Stats.)

e. Sales that Wisconsin is prohibited from
taxing under the constitution or laws of the
United States or the constitution of Wisconsin
(sec. 77.54(1), Wis. Stats.)
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f. Sales by any public or private elementary or
secondary schools exempt from Wisconsin
income or franchise taxes under ch, 71, Wis,
Stats., including school districts (sec.
77.54(4), Wis, Stats.)

g. Occasional sales as defined in sec. 77.51(9),
Wis, Stats. (sec. 77.54(7)(a), Wis. Stats.)

h. Occasional sales by a neighborhood associa-
tion, church, civic group, garden club, social
club, or similar nonprofit organization not
involving “entertainment,” if the organization
is not engaged in a trade or business and is
not required to have a seller’s permit (sec.
77.54(7m), Wis. Stats.)

i. Sales of tickets or admissions to public and
private elementary and secondary school
activities, where the entire net proceeds
therefrom are expended for educational,
religious, or charitable purposes (sec.
77.54(9), Wis. Stats.)

j. Sales to persons under sec. 77.54(9a), Wis.
Stats. For a list of these persons, see Part
F.3., Exemptions From Room Tax, Item c
on page 21.

Situs

For purposes of imposing the food and beverage
tax, all retail sales of food and beverages are
completed at the time when, and place where,
the seller or the seller’s agent transfers posses-
sion to the buyer or the buyer’s agent. When
determining situs, a common carrier or the U.S.
Postal Service is the agent of the seller, regard-
less of any f.o.b. point and regardless of the
method by which freight or postage is paid.

Also see Parts F.6. through F.9. on pages 24 to
26 for other provisions, including sales and use
tax provisions of ch. 77, Wis. Stats., that apply
to the local exposition district taxes.

Rental Car Tax (1993 Act 263, create sec.
77.99).

Effective Date of Rental Car Tax

The effective date of the rental car tax is deter-
mined by the local exposition district in an

enabling resolution. A certified copy of the
resolution must be delivered to the Secretary of
Revenue at least 120 days prior to the effective
date of the rental car tax.

Imposition
A local exposition district tax of 3% may be

imposed on the gross receipts received by a
lessor or renter from the rental, for 30 days or

~ less, of Type 1 automobiles without drivers

within the district’s jurisdiction. The renter shall
collect the rental car tax from the person to
whom the passenger car is rented.

A “Type 1 automobile” is defined in sec.
340.01(4)(a), Wis. Stats., as a motor vehicle
designed and used primarily for carrying persons
but which does not come within the definition of
motor bus, motorcycle, moped, or motor bicy-
cle.

Note: A majority of the district’s authorized
board of directors may vote to increase the tax
rate to 4% if the state makes a payment to
restore the district’s special debt service reserve
fund under sec. 229.50(7), Wis. Stats,

Exemptions From Rental Car Tax

The following are exempt from the rental car
tax:

a. Rerentals

b. Rentals of service or repair replacement
vehicles

¢. Rentals that Wisconsin is prohibited from
taxing under the constitution or laws of the
United States or the constitution of Wisconsin
(sec. 77.54(1), Wis. Stats.)

d. Rentals by any public or private elementary
or secondary schools exempt from Wisconsin
income or franchise taxes under ch. 71, Wis.
Stats., including school districts (sec.
77.54(4), Wis. Stats.)

e. Occasional sales as defined in sec. 77.51(9),
Wis. Stats. (sec. 77.54(7)(a), Wis. Stats.)
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f. Occasional sales by a neighborhood associa-
tion, church, civic group, garden club, social
club, or similar nonprofit organization not
involving “entertainment,” if the organization
is not engaged in a trade or business and is
not required to have a seller’s permit (sec.
77.54(7m), Wis. Stats.)

g. Sales of tickets or admissions to public and
private elementary and secondary school
activities, where the entire net proceeds
therefrom are expended for educational,
religious, or charitable purposes (sec.
77.54(9), Wis. Stats.)

h. Sales to persons under sec. 77.54(9a), Wis.
Stats. For a list of these persons, see Part
F.3., Exemptions From Room Tax, Item c
on page 21.

Situs

Rentals of Less Than One Month For purposes
of imposing the rental car tax, the lease or rental
of a Type 1 automobile is considered to take
place at the location where the automobile comes
into the lessee’s possession. Therefore, if a
lessee takes possession of the automobile in a
local exposition district, the lease or rental is
subject to the local rental car tax for-that district,

Rentals of One Month or More (but not more
than 30 days) For purposes of imposing the
rental car tax, the lease or rental of a Type 1
automobile is considered to take place at the
location where the automobile will be customari-
ly kept. Therefore, if a lessee will customarily
keep the automobile in a local exposition district,
the lease or rental is subject to the local rental
car tax for that district.

Also see Parts F.6. through F.9. on pages 24 to
26 for other provisions, including sales and use
tax provisions of ch. 77, Wis. Stats., that apply
to the local exposition district taxes.

. Refunds of Local Exposition District Taxes

(1993 Act 263, create secs. 66.75(1m)(c)3,
77.982(3), and 77.991(3), effective April 26,
1994).

Refunds of the local exposition district taxes will
be paid at the rate of 9% per year.

7. Registering to Collect Local Exposition District

Taxes (1993 Act 263, create secs.
66.75(1m){(c)5, 77.982(4), and 77.991(4)).

Persons who are subject to the local exposition
district taxes shall register with the Department
of Revenue. A person who fails to register,
including any person authorized to act on behalf
of a corporation, partnership, or other person
who is required to register, is guilty of a misde-
meanor.

. Discontinuation of Local Exposition District

Taxes (1993 Act 263, create secs.
66.75(1lm)(c)4, 77.983, and 77.992).

Retailers and the Department of Revenue may
not collect the local exposition district taxes for
any district:

a. After the calendar quarter during which all
bonds issued by the district under subch. II
of ch. 229, Wis. Stats., during the first 60
months after April 26, 1994, and any debt
issued to fund or refund those bonds are
retired, or

b. For more than 2 years if bonds have not been
issued during that time.

However, the Department of Revenue may
collect from retailers taxes that accrued before
that calendar quarter, or before the end of that 2-
year period, and interest and penalties that relate
to those taxes.

If taxes are collected and no bonds are issued,
the district may use the revenue for any lawful

purpose.

. Certain Sales and Use Tax Provisions Apply

for Local Exposition District Taxes (1993 Act
263, create secs. 66.75(1m)(c)2, 77.982(2), and
77.991(2)).

The chart on pages 25 and 26 shows the various
Wisconsin Statutes that apply to some or all of
the local exposition district taxes. After the
statutory citation is a brief description of the
provision. The chart indicates whether the Wis-
consin statute applies (ves) or does not apply
(no) to the particular local exposition district tax.
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Does Statute Apply?

Wisconsin Statute Relating to Room | Food/ | Rental
Tax Bev. Car
Tax Tax
77.51(4)(a) Definition of gross receipts no yes yes
77.51{4)(b)1, 2, and 4 | Amounts not included in gross receipts no ves ves
77.51{4)(c)1 10 3 Amounts included in gross receipts no yes yes
77.511(4)(d) Use of accrual method for reporting gross receipts no ves yes
77.51(14)(a) Sale at retail includes sale at an auction no yes ves
77.51(14)(b) Sale at retail includes sales by social clubs and fraternal no yes yes
organizations to their members or others
77.51(14)ic) Sale at retail includes transfer of property where seller ves yes yes
retains the title as security for the payment of the price
77.51(14){d) Sale at retail includes drop shipments no yes yes
77.51(14){f) Sale at retail includes furnishing, preparing, or serving of ves yes yes
food, meals, confections, or drinks for consideration.
77.51(14)1)) Sale at retail includes leases ves yes ves
77.51(14)k) Sale at retail includes sale to a purchaser of property no yes yes
used or consumed by some other person that was trans-
ferred without valuable consideration
77.51(14g} Transactions which are not sales ves no no
77.52(3) Collecting tax from consumer or user yes yes no
77.52{4) Retailer cannot advertise that it will assume or absorb yes no yes
tax
77.52{6) Liability for sales tax on worthless accounts yes ves yes
77.52{13) Burden of proof on seller if no exemption certificate no yes yes
taken in good faith
77.52{14) Effect and content of exemption certificates no yes yes
77.52(18) Successor's liability yes yes yes
77.52(19) Authorizing department to promulgate rules regarding no yes no
temporary sales and sales from a mobile location
77.58(1) to {b) Filing returns, due dates, and payment of tax due yes ves yves
77.58(7) Extension of time to file ves ves ves
77.59 Authority to audit, statute of limitations for making de- ves yes ves
terminations of tax liability and filing claims for refund,
offsets of refunds against tax due, appeals, and authority
to issue estimated assessments
77.60 Interest and penalties and officer liability yes ves yes
77.61(2) Authority to require security in connection with holding a yes yes yes
permit
77.61(5) Confidentiality of sales and use tax information yes yes yes
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Does Statute Apply?
Wisconsin Statute Relating to Room | Food/ | Rental
Tax Bev. Car
Tax Tax
77.61(8) Refunds of less than $2 ves yes yes
77.61(9) Keeping adequate records yes yes yes
77.61(12) Testifying and producing records yes yes yes
77.61(13}) Staving proceedings for assessments or collection of yes yes yes
taxes
77.61(14) Timely service of documents and payments yves yes yes
77.62 Collection of delinquent taxes yes yes yes
77.72(1) Situs for property in general no yes ves
77.72{2)a) Situs for leased or rented moving property no no yes
77.73 Jurisdiction to tax no yes yes
G. Other 3. Service of Assessment Via Publication (1993
Act 205, amend sec. 71.74(11), effective April
1. Claim for Refund or Credit Required to be 21, 1994.)

Filed on Form Prescribed by Department
(1993 Act 205, amend sec. 71.75(6), effective
for claims for refund or credit filed on or after
November I, 1994.)

A claim for refund or credit of income taxes,
franchise taxes or surtaxes must be filed with the
Department of Revenue in the manner, and on a
form, prescribed or approved by the department.

Retention of Machine Readable Records (1993
Act 205, amend secs. 71.80(9) and 77.61(4)(a),
see effective dates below.)

For taxable years beginning on or after Janu-
ary 1, 1994, the Department of Revenue may
require any person who keeps records in
machine-readable form for federal income tax
purposes to keep those records in the same form
for Wisconsin income and franchise tax purpos-
es.

Effective April 21, 1994, the department may
also require sales and use tax records to be kept
in machine-readable form.

If the taxpayer is a corporation and the Depart-
ment of Revenue is unable to notify the taxpayer
personally or by mail of additional assessment,
the department may serve the notice of additional
assessment by publication in the official state
newspaper.

Under prior law, notice was required to be
served by publication in a local newspaper.

. Notice Requirements Modified for Continuous

Levies (1993 Act 205, amend sec. 71.91(6)(f)1,
effective for a levy served on or after day after
April 21, 1994.)

In the case of a continuous levy on commissions,
wages, or salaries, the Department of Revenue
may mail the notice of seizure to the taxpayer’s
last known address.

Under prior law, notice regarding seizure was
required to be personally served on the taxpayer.
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5. Refund Setoff Provisions Expanded (1993

Act 437, renumber sec. 71.93(1)(a) to
71.93(1)(a)(intro.) and amend as renumbered,
amend sec. 71.93(2) and create sec.
71.93(1)(a)3, effective May 10, 1994.)

The Wisconsin Department of Health and Social
Services may certify certain public assistance
overpayments to the Department of Revenue for
setoff against state tax refunds, even though such
overpayments have not been reduced to a judg-
ment. Previously, only amounts which had been
reduced to a judgment by a court could be
certified for setoff.

This change applies to the following types of
public assistance overpayments:

a. General relief overpayments.

b. Overpayments arising from an overissuance
of food coupons under the food stamp pro-
gram.

¢. Overpayments of aid to families with depen-
dent children.

d. Incorrect medical assistance payments.

. Department Permitted to Enter Into Contracts

to Collect Delinquent Taxes (1993 Act 205,
amend secs. 20.566(1)(hm), 25.40(1){(b), and
73.03(28), effective April 21, 1994.)

The Department of Revenue is permitted to enter
into contracts to collect delinquent Wisconsin

taxes owed by residents and nonresidents. Under
prior law, the department could enter into con-
tracts only to collect delinquent taxes from
nonresidents.

. Affidavit Requirement Modified Upon Trans-

fer of Decedent’s Property (1993 Act 205,
amend sec. 867.03(2), effective for transfers

because of deaths occurring on or after January
1, 1992.)

When property of decedents is transferred by
affidavit, a copy of the affidavit is no longer
required to be sent to the Department of Reve-
nue.

. Enroliment Cards and Medicare Assignment

Information (1993 Act 205, amend secs.
16.009(2)(k) and (m), 16.009(2)(n)1 as affected
by 1993 Act 16, and 71.55(10)(b)1.b. and (c)2,
effective April 21, 1994.)

The Department of Revenue is required to issue
enroliment cards and information about voluntary
acceptance of Medicare assignment to persons
age 65 or older who are eligible for homestead
credit. Because the maximum income limitation
for homestead credit is increased periodically,
the cross-references to the homestead credit law
are changed to a general statute provision so that
the cross-references will not need to be changed
every time the maximum income limitation for
homestead credit is increased.
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