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New Tax Laws 

Automated Sales Suppression Devices and Phantomware 

(2023 Wis. Act 73, create sec. 71.83(6), effective December 8, 2023)   

The Act provides that any person who creates, designs, manufactures, sells, purchases, leases, installs, 
updates, repairs, services, transfers, uses, or possesses in Wisconsin or accesses from Wisconsin 
phantomware or an automated sales suppression device, unless for a legitimate purpose, is guilty of a 
Class D felony.  

"Phantomware" means a programming option embedded in the operating system of an electronic cash 
register, or hardwired into an electronic cash register, that can be used to create a virtual 2nd electronic 
cash register or eliminate or manipulate transaction records that may or may not be preserved in digital 
formats to represent the true or manipulated record of transactions in the electronic cash register. 

"Automated sales suppression device" means a software program, including programs accessed through 
the Internet or by any other means, that falsifies the electronic records, including transaction data and 
transaction reports, of electronic cash registers and other point−of−sale systems. 

Confidentiality Provisions  

(2023 Wis. Act. 73, amend secs. 71.78(1), (4)(b), (5), and (6), 72.06, 77.61(5)(b)2., (c), and (d), 78.80(3), 
139.11(4)(a)(intro.), 139.38(6), and 139.82(6), and create secs. 71.78(1g) and (4)(v), and 77.61(5)(am) 
and (b)15., effective December 8, 2023) 

The Act clarifies that employees of the department of revenue may, in connection with the employee's 
official duties for an audit, collection, inspection, or investigation, disclose information derived from a tax 
return or claim to the extent necessary to obtain information for the enforcement of Wisconsin tax laws.   

In addition, the attorney general and department of justice employees may, in connection with their official 
duties, re-disclose information obtained from the department of revenue to a law enforcement investigator 
participating in a department of justice investigation of suspected criminal conduct. The information re-
disclosed to a law enforcement investigator shall be strictly limited for the purpose of obtaining information 
necessary for a department of justice investigation. Authorized re-disclosure does not include providing 
copies of returns and claims and related schedules, exhibits, writings or audit reports. 

Finally, a federal grand jury or grand jury of Wisconsin may examine and receive copies of any tax returns 
or claims on file with the department if the department receives a grand jury subpoena. 

Farmland Preservation – Tax Credit Rate Increase, Expansion of Tax Credit 
Eligibility, and Reduced Minimum Term for Farmland Preservation Agreements 

(2023 Wis. Act 42, amend secs. 71.613(2)(a), (b), and (c), and 91.62(1)(a), and create secs. 
71.613(1)(h)4., 71.613(2)(am), (bm), (cm), and (d), various effective dates) 

For taxable years beginning in 2023, the Act increases the farmland preservation tax credit rate that eligible 
landowners may receive for qualifying acres as follows: 

• Rate per acre increases from $10 to $12.50 for qualifying acres located in a farmland preservation 
zoning district and are subject to a farmland preservation agreement entered into after July 1, 2009 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/73
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/73
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/42.pdf
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• Rate per acre increases from $7.50 to $10 for qualifying acres located in a farmland preservation 
zoning district but are not subject to a farmland preservation agreement 

• Rate per acre increases from $5 to $10 for qualifying acres that are not located in a farmland 
preservation zoning district, but are subject to a farmland preservation agreement entered into after 
July 1, 2009 

For taxable years beginning in 2023, the Act expands eligibility of the farmland preservation tax credit, at 
a rate of $10 per acre, for qualifying acres located in a farmland preservation area and are covered by an 
agricultural conservation easement purchased under sec. 93.73, Wis. Stats. 

Effective December 8, 2023, the Act decreases the minimum term of a farmland preservation agreement 
from 15 years to 10 years. 

Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for Local Professional Baseball Park District 

(2023 Wis. Act 40, amend sec. 77.54(41), and create sec. 77.54(9a)(gm), effective December 7, 2023) 

The Act creates a sales and use tax exemption for sales of tangible personal property and taxable services 
sold to a local professional baseball park district under subch. III of ch. 229, Wis. Stats.  

The Act also expands the exemption in sec. 77.54(41), Wis. Stats., for building materials, supplies, and 
equipment for professional sports and entertainment home stadiums that are exempt from property taxes 
under sec. 70.11(36), Wis. Stats., to include such property acquired solely for or used solely in the 
improvement, repair, or maintenance of the stadiums. Previously, the exemption for building materials, 
supplies, and equipment only applied if it was acquired solely for or used solely in the construction, 
renovation, or development of the stadiums.  

Changes to Cigarette, Tobacco and Vapor Products Tax Related Criminal Penalties 

(2023 Wis. Act 73, amend secs.139.44(2), (8)(a), (8)(b), and (8)(c), and 946.82(4), and create sec. 
139.44(2m), (8)(am), and (8)(d), effective December 8, 2023) 

Cigarette, Tobacco or Vapor Products Tax Evasion 

The following penalties are applicable to any person who evades or attempts to evade, or who aids or 
abets the evasion or attempted evasion of a cigarette, tobacco or vapor products tax:  

Class A misdemeanor $2,500 or less in tax evaded 

Class I felony $2,501 to $5,000 in tax evaded 

Class H felony $5,001 to $10,000 in tax evaded 

Class G felony $10,001 to $100,000 in tax evaded 

Class F felony More than $100,000 in tax evaded 

Possession of Untaxed Cigarettes 

Possession of untaxed cigarettes carries the following penalties: 

Up to a $200 fine, or imprisoned for up to 
6 months, or both 

200 or less untaxed cigarettes  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/93/73
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/40.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/229/iii
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/77/iii/54/41
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/70/11/36
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/73.pdf
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Up to a $1,000 fine, or imprisoned for up 
to one year, or both 

More than 201 to 3,000 untaxed cigarettes 

Class I felony 3,001 to 5,000 untaxed cigarettes 

Class H felony 5,001 to 10,000 untaxed cigarettes 

Class F felony More than 10,000 untaxed cigarettes 

Excise Tax Evasion is Racketeering 

The Act amends the definition of racketeering in sec. 946.82(4), Wis. Stats., to include excise tax evasion. 

Alcohol Beverage Regulatory Changes  

(2023 Wis. Act 73, ch.125 Wis. Stats., effective May 1, 2024) 

Change in the Definition of Fermented Malt Beverages  

The Act amends the definition of fermented malt beverages under sec. 125.02(6), Wis. Stats., effective 
May 1, 2024, to conform with the federal definition of fermented malt beverages. The new definition allows 
products that do not contain barley malt and hops (e.g., uses only fermented sugar) that are recognized 
as beer by the U.S. Treasury under 27 CFR part 25 to be considered a fermented malt beverage for 
Wisconsin tax and regulatory purposes. As a result, any product that is a "fermented malt beverage" under 
the new definition will be subject to the fermented malt beverage tax imposed under sec. 139.02, Wis. 
Stats., starting May 1, 2024. 

Creation of Division of Alcohol Beverages 

The Act creates a Division of Alcohol Beverages in the Wisconsin Department of Revenue responsible for 
regulatory compliance, permitting, industry education, and outreach. The Division of Income, Sales and 
Excise Tax will continue to administer and enforce tax provisions under ch. 139, Wis. Stats., including tax 
return processing and auditing. 

New Alcohol Beverage Regulations 

Further, the Act creates new regulatory laws including:  

• Allows alcohol beverage producers to enter into production agreements (contract, alternating 
proprietorship, and licensing).  

• Allows alcohol beverage producers to obtain full-service retail privileges with increased production 
capacity.  

• Removes permit limits for liquor wholesalers, manufacturers, and rectifiers. 
 

The department is in the process of implementing the new Division of Alcohol Beverages. For more 
information as it becomes available, subscribe to the mailing list for alcohol beverage news.    

Electronic Vaping Devices Regulation 

(2023 Wis. Act 73, create secs. 134.65(1a) and 995.15, effective December 8, 2023)  

(2023 Wis. Act 73, renumber and amend sec. 134.65(1) and (1m), amend secs. 134.65(title), (1r), (4),(5m), 
(8), and 134.66(1)(g), and create sec. (1g), (1m)(a)1. And 2., (1m)(b), (2m), (3m), effective May 1, 2024) 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/946/vi/82/4
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/73.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/02/6
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.02
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/139
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/73.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/73.pdf
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Electronic Vaping Device Licensure and Definition Creation 
The Act creates definitions of "cigarette," "electronic vaping device," "tobacco products," and "vending 
machine" for purposes of licensing businesses that sell these products to consumers. The creation of these 
definitions does not have an impact on the tax treatment, imposition, or tax calculation of these products 
under ch. 139, Wis. Stats. 

Further, the Act requires businesses that sell any of the defined products to obtain a retail license issued 
by the municipality in which the business operates. Note: Prior law required sellers of cigarette and tobacco 
products to hold a municipal retail license. This Act requires sellers of electronic vaping devices to hold a 
municipal retail license starting March 6, 2024.   

The Act also prescribes qualifications for persons seeking a municipal license, creates record retention 
and inspection requirements for businesses, creates license reporting requirements for municipalities, and 
amends penalties associated with noncompliance of the law.  

Electronic Vaping Device Product Directory  

No later than July 1, 2025, and on an annual basis after, all manufacturers of electronic vaping devices 
must certify to the department that they will comply with Wisconsin law and that their product has either 
been approved by the U.S. FDA or remains under review. Only electronic vaping devices that are approved 
by the department and listed on the online registry may be sold in Wisconsin. The department must make 
the directory available online and penalties for noncompliance with this section will apply at the time the 
directory is published. 
 

General Updates and Reminders 

Continuous Recruitment for Auditors and Agents 

The department continuously recruits for Revenue Auditor 1 and Revenue Agent positions. This continuous 
recruitment allows job seekers to apply at any time during the application period. The department collects 
applications at least monthly and eligible candidates are interviewed. The starting dates for new employees 
occur several times per year.  

See what employees have to say about working at the department: DOR Video Center (wi.gov) 

Revenue Auditor 1  

Revenue Auditor 1 positions fill a variety of roles statewide and specialize in full-scope or limited-scope 
audits to determine the correct tax liability for taxpayers within a specific tax area: individual, fiduciary, 
pass-through (partnership, tax-option (S) corporation, estate, and trust), and corporate income or franchise 
taxes; alcohol beverage, cigarette, tobacco and vapor products, and motor fuel excise taxes; sales and 
use taxes; nexus; and income reconstruction. To learn more about specific auditor positions, review the 
Position Summaries on the department's website at DOR Auditor Opportunities (wi.gov). 

Starting salary is $57,054 per year at the time of this publication. Pay progressions of $3,120 per year after 
the first year and $3,120 per year after the second year are awarded in addition to progressions as audit 
experience grows. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/139
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/VideoCenter/videos-home.aspx?ytplID=audit
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Employment/auditors.aspx
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Revenue Agent 

Revenue Agent positions provide quality customer service by answering tax questions, resolving 
delinquent tax debt, and processing tax returns. These positions do not require a degree and provide 
individuals opportunity for growth and professional advancement at the department.  

Starting salary is $49,775 per year at the time of this publication. For individuals fluent in Spanish, bilingual 
positions pay an additional $2,080 - $4,160 per year. Pay progression of $2,496 per year after the first 
year is awarded in addition to progressions as agent experience grows. 

Working for the State 

The state offers a competitive benefits package that includes 3 weeks of annual vacation, sick leave, health 
and dental benefits, and participation in the Wisconsin Retirement System. Further, as an employee of the 
state, you may qualify for the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program. For more information on state 
benefits visit Benefits_at_a_Glance.pdf (wi.gov). 

Wisc.jobs 

All career opportunities at the department are listed on wisc.jobs, the official State of Wisconsin 
Government job site. Job seekers may search career opportunities either by agency (Dept. of Revenue) 
or by job category and can request email notification of future opportunities. For additional information 
about wisc.jobs, review Frequently Asked Questions. You may follow wisc.jobs on X (formerly known as 
twitter) @wisc.jobs. 

Business Annual Filing Requirements 

Active Wisconsin seller’s permit holders are required to file a Wisconsin sales and use tax return to report 
tax at least annually. The due date for annual filers is January 31. Even if you had no sales in 2023, a zero 
return must be filed. For fiscal filers, annual returns are due the last day of the month following the fiscal 
year end. 

If you are required to withhold Wisconsin tax from employee wages, you must file an annual reconciliation 
(Form WT-7) with matching wage statements (Forms W-2) and/or information returns (Forms 1099). The 
due date for these returns is January 31. Late filing of withholding reports may delay payee refund requests. 
Wisconsin law does not allow an income tax refund to be paid until after March 1, unless the withholding 
claimed on the income tax return matches the withholding reported by the employer. 

If your business is closed or inactive, please report it through My Tax Account, call (608) 266-2776, or 
email DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov. Inactivating your sales or withholding accounts may eliminate 
future requests to file from the department.  

Reporting Identity Theft and Breaches 

The Federal Trade Commission received 5.2 million reports of fraud in 2022. Of those reports, 22% (or 1.1 
million) were for identity theft. If your identity is stolen, it is important to notify the Wisconsin Department of 
Revenue.  

The department has a new form for reporting tax-related identity theft. Victims should mail their completed 
Identity Theft Declaration (Form ID-100) to the department's Office of Criminal Investigation. The 
department does not accept this form through email because it is not a secure way to transmit confidential 
information. 

https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/Central%20Benefits/Benefits_at_a_Glance.pdf
https://wisc.jobs/Pages/Welcome.aspx
https://wisc.jobs/Pages/FAQs.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/_/
mailto:DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/i-100f.pdf
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If your organization experienced a data compromise involving payroll or tax information, you should notify 
the department by emailing DORIDTheft@wisconsin.gov. Your email should include: 

• Organization's name 
• Federal employer identification number (FEIN) 
• Brief description of the breach incident 
• Contact information for the individual who will work with the department 

Do not include personally identifiable information (e.g., social security number, driver's license number, 
financial account number, etc.) for impacted employees or customers in your email.  

You can find contact information for other state taxing agencies on the Federation of Tax Administrators' 
website. 

See Identity Verification common questions on the department's website for more information.   

Income and Franchise Tax Updates and Reminders 

What's New This Tax Season? 

Below are some of the changes that may impact 2023 Wisconsin tax returns: 

1. Individuals, Estates, and Trusts 

• Wisconsin's free electronic filing: WisTax replaces Wisconsin e-file as the department's free 
software to file your Wisconsin individual income tax return and homestead credit claim for tax year 
2023. Wisconsin e-file was discontinued as of December 31, 2023. 

WisTax provides free electronic filing for eligible taxpayers to file Form 1, Income Tax Return, 
beginning with tax year 2023 and standalone Schedule H, Homestead Credit Claim, beginning with 
tax year 2022. 

Not all taxpayers qualify to use WisTax. See WisTax Common Questions for qualifications and 
more information. 

Taxpayers who do not qualify for free electronic filing using WisTax are encouraged to go to a tax 
professional or use third-party software. 

• Tax rates reduced: The tax rate for the first tax bracket is reduced from 3.54% to 3.50%. The tax 
rate for the second tax bracket is reduced from 4.65% to 4.40%. Rate reductions are built into the 
tax tables in the instructions for Forms 1 and 1NPR. 

• Capital loss limitation: The maximum deduction for a net capital loss is increased from $500 to 
$3,000 for most taxpayers. If you are married and file a separate return, the maximum deduction is 
$1,500. 

• Form 1NPR: Changes to Form 1NPR, Nonresident & Part-Year Resident Wisconsin Income Tax, 
and Schedule M, Additions to and Subtraction from Income, have been made in an effort to simplify 
and clarify reporting.  
See the instructions for Form 1NPR and Schedule M for more information. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelp.aspx?subject=doridtheft
https://taxadmin.org/report-a-data-breach-for-businesses/
https://taxadmin.org/report-a-data-breach-for-businesses/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-idverification.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/WisTax/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-WisTax.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/e-file-providers/authorized-irs-e-file-provider-locator-service-for-tax-professionals
https://www.irs.gov/e-file-providers/authorized-irs-e-file-provider-locator-service-for-tax-professionals
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/webased.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2023Individual.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2023Individual.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2023Individual.aspx
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• Internal Revenue Code update: For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2022, Wisconsin 
follows the federal Internal Revenue Code as amended to December 31, 2022, with certain 
exceptions, for income and franchise tax purposes. See Conformity with Internal Revenue Code 
and Exceptions section on page 10 of the 2023 Form 3 instructions for more details, or read 
explanations of common differences in the 2023 Schedule I instructions. Also see New Tax Law 
articles in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 223, page 2. 

• Schedule FC: Five-digit farmland preservation agreement number(s) are required on Schedule 
FC, Farmland Preservation Credit. See the article New Farmland Preservation Credit Filing 
Requirement for Schedule FC in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 223, page 9. 

• Farmland preservation credit: Increased credit rates and new credit eligibility for claims made 
using Schedule FC-A, Farmland Preservation Credit. See the article Farmland Preservation – Tax 
Credit Rate Increase, Expansion of Tax Credit Eligibility, and Reduced Minimum Term for Farmland 
Preservation Agreements earlier in this Tax Bulletin. 

• Tuition: The Wisconsin subtraction for tuition and fees is decreased from $6,976 to $6,974. 
• College savings account contributions: The Wisconsin subtraction for contributions to a college 

savings account is increased from $3,560 to $3,860 ($1,930 if married filing separately or a 
divorced parent). 

2. Businesses 

• Internal Revenue Code update: For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2022, Wisconsin 
follows the federal Internal Revenue Code as amended to December 31, 2022, with certain 
exceptions, for income and franchise tax purposes. See Conformity with Internal Revenue Code 
and Exceptions section on page 10 of the 2023 Form 3 instructions for more details, or read 
explanations of common differences in the 2023 Schedule I instructions. Also see New Tax Law 
articles in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 223, page 2. 

• Schedule FC: Five-digit farmland preservation agreement number(s) are required on Schedule 
FC, Farmland Preservation Credit. See the article New Farmland Preservation Credit Filing 
Requirement for Schedule FC in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 223, page 9. 

• Farmland preservation credit: Increased credit rates and new credit eligibility for claims made 
using Schedule FC-A, Farmland Preservation Credit. See the article Farmland Preservation – Tax 
Credit Rate Increase, Expansion of Tax Credit Eligibility, and Reduced Minimum Term for Farmland 
Preservation Agreements earlier in this Tax Bulletin. 

• Capital loss limitation: The maximum deduction for a net capital loss is increased from $500 to 
$3,000. 

• Financial institution commercial loan exemption: Income from a corporation or tax-option (S) 
corporation that is a financial institution, as defined in sec. 69.30(1)(b), Wis. Stats., including 
interest, fees, and penalties, is exempt from Wisconsin income and franchise tax under subchs.  
I and IV of ch. 71, Wis. Stats. 

To qualify for the exemption, the income must be derived from a commercial loan of five million 
dollars or less. The commercial loan proceeds must be provided to a person residing or located in 
Wisconsin and used primarily for a business or agricultural purpose. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/TaxForms2023/2023-Form3-Inst.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/TaxForms2023/2023-ScheduleI-Inst.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/223-10-23-WTB.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/223-10-23-WTB.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/TaxForms2023/2023-Form3-Inst.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/TaxForms2023/2023-ScheduleI-Inst.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/223-10-23-WTB.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/223-10-23-WTB.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/69/i/30/1/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/i
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/iv
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71
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Individual Income Tax Forms and Instructions 
The department encourages taxpayers to electronically file their individual income tax return. Benefits 
include:  

• Faster refunds using direct deposit 

• Accuracy – tax preparation software does the calculations 

• Provides a confirmation that tax returns have been filed 

• Secure transfer of personal information 

• If you owe, you can choose direct debit/withdrawal from your financial institution and choose the date 
you want to pay (up to April 15) without worrying about mailing a paper check by the due date 

Options for electronic filing: 

• Go to a tax practitioner or visit a Volunteer Income Tax Assistance or Tax Counseling for the Elderly 
site 

• Use third-party software 

• Use Wisconsin's free electronic filing system, WisTax. See WisTax Common Questions for 
qualifications and more information. 

• Use Wisconsin's free electronic filing through My Tax Account (requires registration with a username 
and password). See Using My Tax Account for Personal Use common questions for qualifications 
and more information. 

If filing on paper, view and print Wisconsin individual income tax forms and instructions from the  
department's 2023 Individual Income Tax Forms web page. 

Paper forms and instructions may also be available at your local library or contact the department at (608) 
266-2486 or DORFormsRequests@wisconsin.gov. 

Individual Income Tax Reminders 
Extensions 

Extensions available under federal law may be used for Wisconsin purposes, even if you do not need an 
extension to file your federal return or have already filed your federal return. To obtain a 6-month extension 
to file your Wisconsin individual income tax return, attach one of the following items to your Wisconsin 
return when you file it: 

• A copy of federal Form 4868 with only Part I completed 

• A statement indicating which federal extension provision you are using for Wisconsin 

If you plan to file your return using one of the federal 6-month extension provisions, you must file your 
Wisconsin return by October 15, 2024, for it to be considered timely. Returns filed after October 15, 2024, 
are assessed a $50 late filing fee. 

An extension of time to file is not an extension of time to pay. Interest accrues on any unpaid taxes starting 
April 15, 2024. Submit your payment as a 2023 estimated payment using one of the options listed on the 
Make a Payment page. 

Additional information about extensions is on page four of the Form 1 instructions.  

https://www.irs.gov/e-file-providers/authorized-irs-e-file-provider-locator-service-for-tax-professionals
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/pcs-vita.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/webased.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/WisTax/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-WisTax.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/_/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/mta-personal.aspx#MTA
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2023Individual.aspx
mailto:DORFormsRequests@wisconsin.gov
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/Pay.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/TaxForms2023/2023-Form1-Inst.pdf
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Adjustments 

If the department adjusts your tax return, a notice is mailed explaining the changes made. You must file 
an appeal within 60 days if you disagree with the changes, or the changes become final. For faster 
processing, submit appeals using the department's website and attach any relevant documents to show 
why you believe the changes are incorrect. Refer to your notice for additional options to submit your appeal. 

Processing Time 

Most individual income tax returns are processed within 12 weeks. The department is required to hold 
refunds from individual income tax returns until March 1 if the employers have not submitted their Forms 
W-2 to the department. The department may send a letter requesting additional information to process 
your return; timely response to such letters ensures your return will be processed efficiently and accurately. 
The department is not providing copies of 2023 Forms W-2 or 1099 until March 1 or later for taxpayers 
who request copies of their forms. See Requesting Copies of Tax Records common questions for more 
information. 

Amended returns filed between January 1 and May 31 may take additional time to process due to the high 
volume of original returns the department processes during this time. 

Get Ready for Tax Season 

Several resources are available on the department's website to help you get ready to file individual income 
tax returns.  

• Use the Form 1099-G lookup to view your Form 1099-G issued by the department (if any) reporting 
your state refund from last year. The lookup tool does not show Forms 1099-G issued for 
unemployment compensation. Contact the payer of your unemployment compensation for a copy of 
your Form 1099-G from unemployment. For Wisconsin unemployment, visit the Department of 
Workforce Development (DWD)'s website at https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uiben/1099.htm or call (608) 
266-2999.  

• Use the estimated payment lookup to view your estimated payments and overpayments carried over 
from last year's return. Payments are displayed as "pending" until the return is filed.  

• Review the list of Common Questions pages to find answers to your questions. Also view our 
publications, fact sheets, and tax form instructions. If you do not find the answers you need, contact 
us for assistance. 

• Where's My Refund provides real-time, accurate refund status information. Note: Statuses for 
amended returns and appeals are not available in Where's My Refund.  

Exclusion of Gain on Small Business Stock 

Section 1202 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) provides for a federal income exclusion on certain capital 
gains from the sale of qualified small business stock held for more than 5 years. 

• 50% exclusion for stock acquired after August 10, 1993, and on or before February 17, 2009 

• 75% exclusion for stock acquired after February 17, 2009, and on or before September 27, 2010 

• 100% exclusion for stock acquired after September 27, 2010 

The federal exclusions also apply for Wisconsin purposes for taxable years beginning after December 31, 
2018, according to 2023 Wis. Act 36. Prior Wisconsin law only authorized a 50% exclusion for gains from  

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/appeal
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-request.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/1099LookUp
https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uiben/1099.htm
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Apps/TaxPaymentInquiry.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/home-i.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/taxpubs.aspx#indiv
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/FactSheets.aspx#income
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2023Individual.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/home.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/RefundStatus/_/
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/36
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the sale of qualified small business stock acquired on or after January 1, 2014. As a result, taxpayers may 
amend their 2019-2022 Wisconsin tax returns (within the time prescribed by law) to claim the federal 
exclusions previously not authorized under Wisconsin law. 

Pass-Through Entities Requirement to File Schedules 2K-1, 3K-1, and 5K-1  
A pass-through entity (trust, estate, partnership, or tax-option (S) corporation) is required to provide a 
schedule to each owner (beneficiary, partner, shareholder, or member) whose share of income and other 
items from the entity affect the owner's Wisconsin tax liability. The pass-through entity must provide the 
schedule by the due date, including extensions, of its income or franchise tax return. 

Trusts and estates use Schedule 2K-1, Beneficiary's Share of Income, Deductions, etc., partnerships use 
Schedule 3K-1, Partner's Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc., and tax-option (S) corporations use 
Schedule 5K-1, Tax-Option (S) Corporation Shareholder’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. 

Caution: Failure to file the schedule by the due date may result in a $50 penalty for each violation as 
provided in sec. 71.83(1)(a)10., Wis. Stats. 

Wisconsin Requirements to Disclose Reportable Transactions  

Wisconsin defines "reportable" and "listed" transactions in the same manner as for federal purposes. 

A "reportable transaction" is one described in federal Treasury Regulation sec. 1.6011-4. For federal 
income tax purposes, reportable transactions are those that must be disclosed on federal Form 
8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement. 

A "listed transaction" means the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has identified the transaction as a tax 
avoidance transaction. The IRS has identified listed transactions in several notices and Internal Revenue 
Bulletins and maintains an updated list of these transactions on its website at www.irs.gov/corporations, in 
the section for "Abusive Tax Shelters." 

If you are, or were, required to file Form 8886 with the IRS for any taxable year beginning on or after 
January 1, 2001, you are required to submit a copy to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. The 
requirement also applies to transactions required to be disclosed to the IRS before January 1, 2001, but 
which affected Wisconsin tax liability for a later taxable year. 

Disclosure Statement May be Filed as Part of Wisconsin Return  

• If you file Form 8886 with your federal income tax return, include a copy of it with your timely 
electronically filed Wisconsin income or franchise tax return  

• If you were required to file Form 8886 separate from your federal income tax return, you must mail a 
copy of Form 8886 to the department within 60 days of the date required to file the form with the federal 
Department of the Treasury: 
Wisconsin Department of Revenue                                                                                                         
Tax Shelters Program 
PO Box 8906 
Madison, WI 53708-8906 

For more information, see the resources below: 

• Wisconsin Requirements to Disclose Reportable Transactions 

• Disclosure of Reportable Transactions – Taxpayer Requirements common questions 

• Disclosure of Reportable Transactions – Material Advisor Requirements common questions 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/xiii/83/1/a/10
https://www.irs.gov/corporations
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/2007/news-2007-071220a.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-transact.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-material.aspx
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Changes to Electronic Filing Method for Schedule CC, Request for a Closing 
Certificate for Fiduciaries 

Schedule CC is used to request a Closing Certificate required by a Wisconsin Probate Court to close an 
estate or trust. Prior to issuing the Closing Certificate, the department must verify that all income was 
reported from assets within the estate or trust, whether subject to probate or not, and that taxes have been 
paid on that income. 

Schedule CC may be submitted electronically through the department's My Tax Account (MTA) system. 
Taxpayers do not have to be a registered MTA user or pay a fee to submit a Schedule CC.  

The following electronic filing methods for Schedule CC are no longer available: 

• WI e-file (the department's prior electronic filing method) 

• Third-party software 

Caution: Do NOT file Schedule CC as an attachment to Wisconsin Form W-RA, Required Attachments 
for Electronic Filing, or Form 2, Wisconsin Fiduciary Income Tax for Estates and Trusts. Schedule CC must 
be filed separately. 

Tax Return Donations 

Wisconsin law allows taxpayers to make donations to certain organizations provided on the Wisconsin 
individual income tax return. The organizations for 2023 are the same as on the 2022 Wisconsin individual 
income tax return. 

Donations made by taxpayers on returns filed between July 2022 through June 2023 (primarily on 2022 
returns): 

Fund Donation 
Amount 

Use of Donations 

Endangered Resources Fund $265,757 Protect and manage native plant and animal species, 
natural communities, and other natural features 

Cancer Research Fund $142,441 Donations divided equally between the Medical College 
of Wisconsin, Inc., and University of Wisconsin Carbone 
Cancer Center for cancer research projects 

Veterans Trust Fund $88,626 Used by the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs 
for the benefit of veterans or their dependents 

Multiple Sclerosis Fund $57,907 Forwarded to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society for 
distribution to Wisconsin entities that operate health-
related programs for people in Wisconsin with multiple 
sclerosis 

Military Family Relief Fund $97,075 Used by the Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs to 
provide financial aid to eligible immediate family 
members of Wisconsin residents on active duty in the 
U.S. Armed Forces or National Guard 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/ClosingCertificate/
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Sales and Use Tax Updates and Reminders 

Reminder – Effective January 1, 2024, Milwaukee Sales and Use Tax Rate Changes 

The new rates first apply to taxable purchases and sales made on January 1, 2024. For more information, 
see Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 223 and Fact Sheet 2414, Milwaukee Sales and Use Taxes.  

All retailers registered to collect Wisconsin sales and use tax must also collect the Milwaukee County tax 
if making taxable sales to locations in Milwaukee County and the city of Milwaukee tax if making sales to 
locations in the city of Milwaukee, regardless of where the seller is located. 

Retailers may use our Wisconsin State and Local Sales Tax Rate Lookup tool to determine the tax rate 
applicable to a specific street address or a 9-digit zip code. Alternatively, retailers and software 
programmers may use our Wisconsin Rate and Boundary Database Files to program their software to 
determine the proper tax rate applicable to a specific street address or 9-digit zip code. 

In addition to the rate lookup and rate and boundary files, a list of 9-digit zip codes located in the city of 
Milwaukee is available to help determine if a transaction takes place in the city of Milwaukee and may be 
subject to the 2% city tax. See City of Milwaukee Sales and Use Taxes common questions, number 2. 

Note: A 5-digit zip code without a street address is insufficient to determine if a transaction takes place in 
the city of Milwaukee because 5-digit zip codes often cover multiple jurisdictions within and outside the city 
of Milwaukee (e.g., zip code 53209 covers the cities of Glendale, Brown Deer, and Milwaukee). 

Reporting Milwaukee County Tax for Transitional Provisions  

This article supplements the article titled, Transitional Provisions for New and Additional Milwaukee Sales 
and Use Taxes, published in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 223 (October 2023).  

Retailers 

Retailers that sell building materials to contractors and receive Form S-207-CT, Construction Contract 
Entered Into Before the Effective Date of a New or Additional County or City Tax, from the contractor must 
perform a special computation to report the amount of Milwaukee County sales subject to sales tax on 
their Wisconsin sales and use tax return. The sales and use tax return calculates 0.9% sales tax for 
Milwaukee County for periods starting after January 1, 2024, even if the retailer is only required to collect 
0.5% Milwaukee County sales tax on sales of building materials for such sales. 

Second Harvest/Feed 
America Fund 

$171,396 Donations divided as follows: 65% to Feeding America 
Eastern Wisconsin (located in Milwaukee); 20% to 
Second Harvest Foodbank of Southern Wisconsin 
(located in Madison); and 15% to Feed My People 
(located in Eau Claire). The food banks provide food to 
food pantries, meal programs, shelters, and soup 
kitchens throughout the state 

Red Cross Wisconsin 
Disaster Relief Fund 

$105,214 Used by the American Red Cross for Wisconsin 
disaster relief 

Special Olympics Wisconsin 
Fund 

$83,171  Forwarded to Special Olympics Wisconsin, Inc. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/223-10-23-WTB.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/2414milwaukee.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Apps/strb.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/SSTP/ratebound.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-mkesalestax.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/223-10-23-WTB.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/s-207ct.pdf
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The following example illustrates how to compute Milwaukee County taxable sales after 2023 on the sales 
and use tax return without the 0.4% additional Milwaukee County tax: 

Example: Supplier receives Form S-207-CT from its customer. Supplier sells $25,000 worth of building 
materials to customer. The $25,000 sales of materials to that customer are not subject to the 0.4% 
additional Milwaukee County tax and Supplier charges 0.5% Milwaukee County sales tax. To properly 
report the sale of the materials at the 0.5% Milwaukee County tax rate on its sales and use tax return, the 
following computation is needed: 

Sales subject to 0.5% Milwaukee County tax $25,000 
0.5% tax rate 0.005 
Milwaukee County tax ($25,000 x .005) $125 
  
Measure of Milwaukee County sales tax ($125 ÷ .009)* $13,888.89 
*$13,888.89 is the amount to report in My Tax Account (MTA) on Schedule CT for 
Milwaukee County sales subject to county tax, or on Form ST-12, Sales and Use Tax 
Return, Line 10a for Milwaukee County taxable sales after 2023  

Contractors 

Contractors that have paid the 0.9% Milwaukee County tax on purchases of building materials that qualify 
for the transitional provisions explained in the article mentioned above and also provided in sec. 77.77(3), 
Wis. Stats., can do one of the following to receive a refund of the 0.4% additional Milwaukee County tax: 

• Provide a completed Form S-207-CT to its supplier and request a refund of the additional 0.4% tax 
paid. 

• If the amount of tax is at least $50, file a claim for refund with the department. A buyer's claim for refund 
can be filed electronic using MTA or on paper by completing both Form S-220, Form BCR, Buyer's 
Claim for Refund of Wisconsin State, County and Stadium Sales Taxes, and Form S-220a, Schedule 
P, Attachment to Form BCR, Buyer's Claim for Refund of Wisconsin State, County and Stadium Sales 
Taxes. See Sales and Use Tax common questions, number 6, for additional information.  

Contractors May Owe County Use Tax  

Contractors engaged in real property construction activities owe county use tax on their purchase price of 
materials that become a component part of real property in a county that has adopted the county tax. 
However, the contractor is allowed a credit against the county use tax due if the contractor was required 
to pay a county sales or use tax in a county and the contractor then uses the materials in a real property 
construction activity in a different county that has also adopted the county sales and use tax.  

Example 1: Contractor purchases lumber in Waukesha County, a nontaxable county, and is charged 5% 
state sales tax. Contractor uses the lumber in a real property construction activity in Washington County, 
a taxable county. Contractor owes 0.5% Washington County use tax on the purchase price of the lumber. 

Example 2: Contractor purchases lumber in Dane County, a taxable county, and is charged 5.5% sales  

tax. Contractor uses the lumber in a real property construction activity in Jefferson County, a taxable 
county. Contractor paid the county sales tax in Dane County of 0.5% and is allowed a credit against the 
0.5% Jefferson County use tax due. Therefore, Contractor does not owe any Jefferson County use tax. 

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/Buyer/_/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/sales-home.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.77(3)
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/s-220.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/s-220a.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/pcs-sales.aspx#s6
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Milwaukee County sales and use tax rate is 0.9%, effective January 1, 2024, and is the only county that 
has adopted the county tax that does not have a rate of 0.5%. Therefore, contractors engaged in real 
property construction activities in Milwaukee County may have to remit the additional 0.4% Milwaukee 
County use tax on their purchase of materials used in the real property construction activity if they already 
paid another county's sales or use tax.  

Example 3: Contractor purchases lumber for $5,000 in Dane County, a taxable county, and is charged 
5.5% sales tax of $275. Contractor uses the lumber in a real property construction activity in Milwaukee 
County, a taxable county with a rate of 0.9%. Contractor paid the county sales tax in Dane County of 0.5% 
and is allowed a credit against the 0.9% Milwaukee County use tax due. Therefore, Contractor owes an 
additional 0.4% Milwaukee County use tax.  

To remit the additional 0.4% Milwaukee County use tax on the sales and use tax return (My Tax Account 
(MTA), Form ST-12, Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Return, or Form UT-5, Consumer Use Tax Return), a 
special computation is required. The facts from Example 3 above are used to determine the additional 
Milwaukee County use tax for the lumber as follows: 

Purchases subject to the additional 0.4% Milwaukee County tax $5,000 
0.4% tax rate 0.004 
Additional Milwaukee County use tax ($5,000 x .004) due $20 
  
Measure of Milwaukee County use tax ($20 ÷ .009)* $2,222.22 
*$2,222.22 is the amount to report in MTA on Schedule CT, for Milwaukee County 
purchases subject to county tax, on Form ST-12, Line 19a for Milwaukee County taxable 
purchases after 2023, or on Form UT-5, Line 3a for Purchases after 2023 subject to 
0.9% Milwaukee County use tax  

Sales Tax Treatment of Credit Card "Swipe" Fees 

A retailer may charge a "swipe" fee to a customer using certain credit cards for payment.  

A "swipe fee" is included in the sales price, as defined in sec. 77.51(15b), Wis. Stats. Therefore, if the 
product or service being sold is taxable and the retailer chooses to charge a "swipe" fee, sales or use tax 
applies to the total amount charged by the retailer for the product or service, which includes the amount 
charged for the "swipe" fee. 

Example: Individual purchases a new television for $599 at Retailer's store. Individual pays using a credit 
card. Retailer charges Individual a 3% "swipe" fee on the $599 selling price. Retailer's taxable receipts 
from the sale of the television are computed as follows: 

 Selling price of television      $599.00 
 "Swipe" fee charged by Retailer ($599.00 X .03)        17.97 
 Taxable receipts       $616.97 

If the credit card is used to pay for both taxable and nontaxable products or services, the retailer may 
allocate the "swipe" fee between the taxable and nontaxable purchases. In this case, the sales tax applies 
to the total amount charged for the taxable products or services, which includes the "swipe" fee charged 
on the taxable products or services. 

Example: Individual goes to Grocery Store and purchases exempt food items in the amount of $65 and 
taxable items in the amount of $28. Individual pays using credit card. Grocery Store charges Individual a 

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/_/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/sales-home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/su-050f.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.51(15b)
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3% "swipe" fee on the $93 ($65 + $28) total selling price. Grocery Store's taxable receipts are determined 
as follows: 

 Selling price of taxable items      $28.00 
 "Swipe" fee on taxable items charged by Retailer ($28.00 X .03)       .84 
 Taxable receipts       $28.84 
 

Report on Litigation 

Summarized below are recent significant Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission (The Commission) and 
Wisconsin Court decisions. 

Income Tax 

Shareholder Distributions or Loans from Tax-Option (S) Corporation 

Toccata Gaming International, LLC, (Petitioner) v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue (Wisconsin Tax 
Appeals Commission, October 25, 2023). 

At issue in this case is if the transfer of funds from a tax-option (S) corporation to a shareholder is 
considered a distribution or a loan. 

Facts 

• Toccata Gaming International, LLC, (Toccata) creates software for amusement machines and 
manufactures cabinets for its amusement machines. 

• For taxable years 2016 through 2019 (the audit years): 
o Toccata elected to be taxed as an S-corporation, and Todd Stimac (Stimac) was the sole owner 

and shareholder. 
o Toccata transferred funds to Stimac and characterized the transferred funds as loans (i.e., demand 

notes). At the end of each year, each loan was rolled over into a new loan as shown below: 

Date Amount 

December 31, 2016 $494,310 

December 31, 2017 $743,204 

December 31, 2018 $1,144,490 

December 31, 2019 $1,375,115 

o The loans were executed by Toccata and Stimac after Stimac incurred personal expenses that 
were unrelated to the business of Toccata and expenses related to Toccata that were non-
deductible. 

o None of the loans included a repayment schedule or provided a set maturity date, but Toccata 
contends that it maintained a memo account off its balance sheet for accrued interest on the loans. 

o Stimac made a series of 23 deposits to Toccata accounts with the total being $216,665.53, but 
Stimac did not make any repayment of the loans' principal or interest. 
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o Toccata never took any action to collect principal or interest from Stimac, and Toccata did not 
record or report interest income from any of the loans. 

o The only collateral offered by Stimac was Toccata stock, and Stimac lacked the liquid assets to 
repay the loans but held real property assets purportedly in excess of the loan amounts. 

o During 2017, 2018, and 2019, Stimac's reported adjusted gross income (AGI) was less than the 
loan amount. During 2016, Stimac' s reported AGI was several thousand dollars higher than the 
loan. 

o Stimac's ability to repay the loan was based on Toccata's income, and Toccata reported losses. 
o Stimac was only able to start making payments on the loans after the audit years, once Toccata 

began to recover. 

• On January 20, 2022, the department issued an audit notice for the years 2016 through 2019 and 
treated the transfer of funds from Toccata to Stimac as shareholder distributions. 

• Toccata appealed the department's audit notice. 

The Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission considered several federal tax court cases and focused on the 
following criteria from Kelly v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, T.C. Memo 2021-76 (2021) to determine 
whether the transfer of funds should be treated as distributions or loans: 

1. Whether the promise to repay is evidenced by a note or other instrument that evidences indebtedness. 
2. Whether interest was charged or paid. 
3. Whether a fixed schedule for repayment and a fixed maturity date were established. 
4. Whether collateral was given to secure payment. 
5. Whether repayments were made. 
6. What the source of any payments was. 
7. Whether the borrower had a reasonable prospect of repaying the loan and whether the lender had 

sufficient funds to advance the loan. 
8. Whether the parties conducted themselves as if the transaction was a loan. 

The Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission denied Toccata's appeal and concluded there is insufficient 
evidence to support Toccata's claim that the financial distributions at issue, from Toccata to its sole 
shareholder, were based on a bona fide debtor-creditor relationship. The department properly 
characterized those distributions as shareholder distributions. 

The taxpayer has not appealed this decision. 

Corporation Franchise and Income Tax  

Pre-2009 Net Business Loss – Not Shareable with a New Combined Group 

Lincare Holdings, Inc v. Department of Revenue (Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission, December 15, 
2023) 

The Commission resolved this case under summary judgment. In a combined group field audit of the 
petitioner, Lincare Holdings, Inc., the department disallowed the income offset from net business losses 
(NBLs) shared by two combined group members. Lincare had purchased both corporations from the same 
parent company in 2016. These two acquired corporations had accumulated pre-2009 NBLs, which the 
department did not allow to be shared with other members of the new Lincare combined group.  
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The issue to be resolved by the Commission was whether pre-2009 net business losses incurred by entities 
that were members of a combined reporting group beginning in 2009 can be shared with members of a 
new combined group when the incurring entities leave the former combined group and join a new combined 
group. 

The department argued that the statutory language of sec. 71.255(6)(bm)3., Wis. Stats., prohibits the 
sharing of pre-2009 NBLs by a corporation that leaves one combined group and joins another combined 
group. 

The petitioner argued that pre-2009 NBLs may be shared with a new combined group, on the following 
grounds: 1) sec. 71.26(4)(b), Wis. Stats., allows pre-2009 NBLs to be shared with all other members of its 
group, as long as it has already used its NBLs and any shareable NBLs to offset its own income. 

2) Lincare argued that sec. 71.255(6)(bm)3., Wis. Stats., upon which the Department relied, and the 
accompanying regulation sec. Tax 2.61(9)(e), Wis. Adm. Code, only apply to post-2008 NBLs. 

The commission found in favor of the Department. "The plain language of the statute is 'if the corporation 
may no longer be included in the combined group…, the corporation's pre-2009 net business loss 
carryforward shall be available only to that corporation.'" Likewise, the plain language of sec. Tax 
2.61(9)(e), Wis. Adm. Code, does not differentiate between pre-2009 and post-2008 NBL carryforwards. 
The Commission determined that the rule as written applies to both pre-2009 and post-2008 NBL 
carryforwards. That rule provides that a departing group member may not share that member's "remaining 
net business loss carryforward" with any other combined groups with two exceptions not relevant here. 

The Commission also held that "[Lincare's] argument ignores the addition of subsection (dm) to Wis. 
Admin. Code § Tax 2.61(9) in August of 2010 and fails. Taken to its logical conclusion, Petitioner's 
argument would result in the conclusion that Wis. Admin. Code § Tax 2.61(9)(e) cannot apply to any NBLs, 
since it was effective prior to any statutory section allowing sharing of losses within combined groups. 
Absurd results are to be avoided, and the Commission does not find the argument of Petitioner 
persuasive." 

The Commission concluded that Lincare is not entitled to use pre-2009 carried forward net business losses 
incurred by members of its combined group, which incurred those pre-2009 losses prior to joining the 
combined group, and previously belonged to a different combined reporting group, pursuant to sec. 71.255 
(6)(bm)2., Wis. Stats., and sec. Tax 2.61(9)(e), Wis. Adm. Code. Lincare did not meet its burden of proving 
that the Department's assessment was incorrect. 

Lincare has not timely appealed, and this decision is final. 

 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/iv/255/6/bm/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/iv/26/4/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/tax/2/61/9/e
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/iv/255/6/bm/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/iv/255/6/bm/2
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Applicable Laws and Rules 

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations enacted as 
of January 31, 2024: chs. 69, 71, 72, 77, 78, 91, 93, 125, 134, 139, 229, 946, and 995, Wis. Stats., and 
chs. Tax 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, and 11, Wis. Adm. Code. Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new 
administrative rules, and court decisions may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance 
issued prior to this date that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this 
document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.  

Public Comments 

The public may submit comments on guidance documents at any time.  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/prefaces/toc
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/tax
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/Proposed-Guidance.aspx
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