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What's New This Tax Season 
Discussed below are some changes, updates, and reminders which may affect the filing of your 2016 Wisconsin 
income tax return: 

Individuals: 

New tax laws for 2016: see Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 193. 

College savings accounts: The maximum amount of the subtraction has stayed the same for 2016 ($3,100 or 
$1,550 if married filing separate). 

Tuition and fees subtraction: The maximum amount of subtraction allowed per student for 2016 is $6,943. 
Each year the subtraction phase out limit is increased by a percentage change in the U.S consumer price index. 
For taxable year 2016, the subtraction is phased out for persons with federal adjusted gross income between: 

• $52,600 and $63,120 if filing single or head of household 
• $84,160 and $105,200 if married filing joint 
• $42,080 and $52,600 if married filing separate 

Standard deduction for married persons: The standard deduction for married persons has been increased for 
the 2016 tax year for the following filing statuses: 

• $19,010 for married filing joint  
• $9,030 for married filing separate 

Medical care insurance subtraction: Don't subtract the portion of the insurance premium: 

• equal to the federal premium tax credit allowed 
• paid by the employer-sponsored health insurance plan unless included in taxable wages 
• paid through the employer's fringe benefit cafeteria plan or flexible spending account 
• identified on Form W-2 in Box 12 with Code DD 
• paid through a health plan if the employer applies the value of unused sick leave to the cost of medical 

care insurance and there is no option to receive cash 
• if an election was made to pay with tax-free distributions from a retirement plan made directly to the 

insurance provider 

Note See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 194 for additional information. 

Schedule QI, Sale of Investment in a Qualified Wisconsin Business: For taxable years beginning after Decem-
ber 31, 2015, a claimant may exclude a portion of the long-term capital gain from the sale of an investment in a 
qualified Wisconsin business. A qualified Wisconsin business means a business that was certified by the Wis-
consin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) for years 2011-2013. For years 2014 and thereafter, the 
business must have registered with the Department of Revenue and be listed on our website. The business must 

Income/Franchise Tax 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/193.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/194.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Report/q.aspx
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have been a qualified Wisconsin business for the year of the investment and for at least 2 of the 4 subsequent 
years. 

The investment must be made after December 31, 2010 and held for at least five uninterrupted years. The exclu-
sion does not apply to any portion of the gain due to an amount of gain that was deferred at the time of the 
investment. Schedule QI should be used to claim the capital gain exclusion for 2016. For more information, see 
the Schedule QI instructions. 

Caution: The list of qualified Wisconsin businesses referred to above shows businesses that have provided in-
formation concerning property, payroll, and number of employees for purposes of registering as a qualified 
Wisconsin business. The list has not been reviewed for purposes of determining eligibility for the exclusion. 

Businesses: 

New tax laws for 2016: see Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 193 

Forms 3 and 5S, Schedules 3K-1 and 5K-1: These forms have returned to portrait orientation. 

Jobs tax credit and economic development credits: The Jobs Tax Credit (Schedule JT) and Economic Devel-
opment Credit (Schedule ED) may not be computed for taxable years beginning in 2016, unless subject to a 
contract with the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) before that date. These credits have 
been replaced by the business development credit. 

Schedule BD, Business Development Credit: A new credit this year, the business development credit, is being 
administered by the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC). The credit is effective for taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2015, and is based on wages, training costs, and personal property invest-
ment. In order to claim this credit, the person must first be certified by WEDC and then file Schedule BD. See 
Fact Sheet 1120 for more information. 

Manufacturing and agriculture credit: The percentage of the claimant's eligible qualified production activities 
income that is allowed to be claimed for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015 is 7.5 percent. Note 
The credit computed for the 2015 tax year must be included in income on your 2016 Wisconsin income tax 
return. 

Individuals and Businesses: 

Schedule CR, Other Credits: A column was added to the Schedule CR to differentiate between the amount of 
the credit available to be used for 2016 and the amount of credit actually used for 2016. Any nonrefundable 
credits carried forward from prior years or computed in the current year should be entered in column A of the 
schedule. The amount which is used to offset tax liability on your 2016 tax return should be entered in column B 
of the schedule. 

Schedule FC-A, Farmland Preservation Credit: Certificate of Compliance (CoC) number requirement on 
Schedule FC-A, see Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 195. 

New in My Tax Account – Information Returns 
What is changing? 

New for the 2016 period, My Tax Account allows you to enter Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-R (in addition to 
Form W-2) when you file the annual reconciliation (Form WT-7). 

What do you need to do? 

Forms W-2, 1099-R, and 1099-MISC must be filed with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue whether or not 
Wisconsin tax is withheld. If your business must file more than 50 W-2s or 1099s, they must be submitted electron-
ically. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleQI.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleQIf.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/193.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleBD.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/1120busdevcr.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleCR.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleFC-A.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/195.pdf
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The due date for filing 2016 wage statements and information returns is January 31, 2017. 

Differences in Wisconsin and Federal IRC Provisions 
For taxable years beginning in 2016, Wisconsin follows the federal Internal Revenue Code as amended to Decem-
ber 31, 2013, with certain exceptions. Federal laws enacted after December 31, 2013, do not apply for Wisconsin 
unless specifically adopted by the Wisconsin Legislature. This results in differences between how some items are 
treated for federal and Wisconsin tax purposes. 

Individuals must file Wisconsin Schedule I, Adjustments to Convert 2016 Federal Adjusted Gross Income and Item-
ized Deductions To The Amounts Allowable For Wisconsin, to adjust for these differences. Following is a partial list 
of some of the common provisions where the federal and Wisconsin treatment is different. 

• Deduction for tuition and fees 
• Special 50 per cent bonus depreciation 
• Discharge of indebtedness on principal residence 
• Certain mortgage insurance premiums treated as residence interest 
• Domestic production activities deduction 
• Qualified tuition programs 
• Charitable deductions for S corporation shareholders 
• Increase in the excludable amount of transit passes and commuter fringe benefits 
• Gain on the sale of certain small business stock 
• Expensing of film or television production costs 
• Recovery period for leasehold improvements and qualified restaurant and retail improvement property 
• Depreciation of race horses 
• IRA distribution transferred for charitable purposes 
• Enhanced charitable deduction for contributions of food inventory 
• Donation of conservation property 

A complete list of differences and the tax treatment can be found on Schedule I which is available on the depart-
ment's website at revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2016-TaxIndividual.aspx. 

New Requirement for Amending Form 2, Wisconsin Fiduciary Income Tax for 
Estates and Trusts 

If you are filing an amended fiduciary income tax return, you must enclose Schedule AR, Explanation of Amended 
Return, to explain why the amended return was necessary and what changes were made. In addition, place a 
checkmark in the designated area on Form 2 to identify it is an amended return, as shown below. 

 
                                                                            
 

Enclose Schedule AR and all supporting documentation with your amended Form 2. Do not enclose your original 
return and schedules. 

2016 Tax Practitioner Questions and Answers 
Every year, the Wisconsin Department of Revenue has tax update seminars with practitioners throughout the state. 
The 2016 tax practitioner questions and answers are posted on the department's website. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleI.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/2016-TaxIndividual.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleAR.pdf
https://wwwrevenue.wi.gov/Pages/TaxPro/news-2017-170131.aspx
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Access 2016 Form 1099-G Online 
Taxpayers have online access to their 2016 Form 1099-G. The majority of State of Wisconsin taxpayers have elected 
to receive an email that their 1099-G is available online. Those that have not agreed to receive electronic notifica-
tions continue to receive paper copies. All paper copies will be sent out before the end of January. 

Taxpayers are advised to access their 1099-G online, print a copy and give the form to their tax preparer with the 
rest of their tax documents as this information is required with their federal return. Taxpayers can access 1099-G 
information online for years 2013 through 2016. The taxpayer can go online and print a 1099-G copy at: 
Form 1099-G - Certain Government Payments. 

Please note that for security purposes the address is not printed on the online printable form, but is on the 1099-G 
that goes to the Internal Revenue Service. 

Avoid Return and Refund Delays, Verify Taxpayer Information 
When completing returns for your clients, confirm that the pre-populated information in your tax software is current.  
This will prevent mail or refund checks from being sent to an old address and returned back to the department. 
Verifying the taxpayer's information will also prevent return processing and refund delays due to information miss-
matching within the Wisconsin Department of Revenue's computer system. 

Individual Income Tax Return and Payment Due Dates for 2016 
The 2016 individual income tax returns are due April 18, 2017. However, a six-month extension for individual 
income tax returns is available under federal law and may be used for Wisconsin purposes. To obtain the six-month 
extension to file your Wisconsin income tax return, attach one of the following items to your 2016 Wisconsin return 
when it is filed: 

• A copy of federal Form 4868 with only Part I completed 
• A statement indicating which federal extension provision you are using for Wisconsin 

If you plan to file your return using the federal six-month extension provision, you must file your Wisconsin return 
by October 16, 2017. Returns filed after October 16, 2017, will be assessed a $50 late filing fee. 

Note: An extension of time to file your Wisconsin income tax return is not an extension of time to pay tax due on 
your return. Even if you have an extension, you will owe interest on any tax not paid by April 18, 2017. Interest is 
charged at a rate of 12% per year (1% per month) during the extension period and 18% per year (1.5% per month) 
after the extension period. If you expect to owe additional tax, you can avoid interest by paying the tax you will 
owe by April 18, 2017. You may submit this payment online as a 2016 estimated payment, by mail with a 2016 
Form 1-ES (Estimated Income Tax Voucher), or in person at any of our offices. 

You can find additional information about extensions on pages 4 and 5 of the Form 1 instructions. 

2016 Corporation and Partnership Tax Return and Estimated Tax Payment Due 
Dates 
The article on page 5 of Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 194 indicated that Wisconsin had not adopted the new federal due 
dates for corporation and partnership tax return and estimated tax payment due dates. The legislature has introduced 
Senate Bill 2 that will conform the corporation and partnership tax return due dates, and partially conform the 
estimated tax payment due dates, to the federal due dates. This is anticipated to be effective for taxable years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 2016. 

Additional information will be provided as soon as possible on the department's website and Listserv email notifi-
cation system if and when the bill is signed by the Governor and becomes law. To sign up to receive informational 
email messages from the department, click the following link: revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/Form1099G-home.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f4868.pdf?_ga=1.104034376.917996220.1477924110
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Individuals/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-Form1ES.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-Form1ES.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-address.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-Form1_inst.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/194.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx
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Trust Tax Return Due Dates for 2016 
Calendar year 2016 trust returns are due April 18, 2017. Fiscal year trust returns are due the 15th day of the 4th 
month after the close of the taxable year. 

Congress passed Public Law 114-41 which changes the extended due date of trust returns to 5 1/2 months, effective 
for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015. 

For trust returns, Wisconsin follows the same extended tax return due dates as the Internal Revenue Service.  This 
treatment is provided in sec. 71.13(1), Wis. Stats. (2015-16). 

Staying on Top of Scams and Fraud 
As the 2017 tax filing season is upon us, so are ongoing problems with tax fraud and tax scams. 

The most current information on fraud and tax scams is available online at: 

• https://www.irs.gov/ – Internal Revenue Service 
• https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Homepage.aspx - Wisconsin Division of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Pro-

tection 
Use the search box and enter "fraud" or "scams". 

 Identity Verification Program 
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) will continue its Identity Verification program for the 
upcoming filing season. This program keeps tax dollars out of the hands of identity thieves and in the 

pockets of Wisconsin taxpayers. If we select your return, the department will send you a letter asking you to do one 
of the following: 

• Take an identity quiz. The quiz consists of four multiple choice questions. You can take the quiz online or 
by calling our customer service representatives at (608) 266-2772. Your Wisconsin state tax refund 
amount is required to complete the quiz. 

• Enter your DOR issued Personal Identification Number (PIN). The department will mail you a PIN 
after we receive your Wisconsin income tax return or homestead credit claim. You can enter the PIN online 
or by calling our customer service representatives at (608) 266-2772. Your Wisconsin state tax refund 
amount is required to complete the PIN process. 

• Submit identity documents. Provide one document that has your full name and photograph and one doc-
ument that has your full name and complete address. You will receive a letter listing the types of acceptable 
documents which can be submitted online, by mail, or in person. Office locations and business hours are 
available on the department's website. 

Identity verification is the first step in processing your return. Some returns require additional steps which may take 
up to 12 weeks to complete. 

For more information on identify verification and what the department is doing to protect taxpayers, visit our web-
site at revenue.wi.gov and select the ID Verification button on the homepage. 

The Department of Revenue is No Longer Providing Copies of Federal Returns 
The Department of Revenue is no longer providing copies of federal income tax returns when Wisconsin income 
tax return copies are requested. Copies or transcripts of federal income tax returns should be requested from the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/II/13/1
https://www.irs.gov/
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Homepage.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-address.aspx
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc156.html
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Most federal returns received by the department cannot be printed in a useable format. A federal return viewer that 
previously enabled the department to print federal income tax returns is no longer supported by the IRS. 

Filing Schedule FC-A with a Certificate of Compliance Number from a Pass-
Through Entity 

In order to claim the farmland preservation credit using Schedule FC-A for taxable years beginning after Decem-
ber 31, 2015, you will need to provide the 7-digit Certificate of Compliance (CoC) number(s) located on the 
Certificate(s) of Compliance with Soil & Water Conservation Standards issued by the county where the farmland 
is located. 

If you are claiming the farmland preservation credit on farmland owned by a pass-through entity, you will need to 
request the CoC number from the pass-through entity in order to claim the credit on Schedule FC-A. 

Deducting Passive Activity Losses 
The department has received numerous questions relating to the deduction for passive activity losses. Some ques-
tions are: 

• How are passive activity losses affected by a Wisconsin Schedule I adjustment? 
• Does federal Form 8582, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, only need to be recomputed when there is a 

Schedule I adjustment? 
• Are the limited federal and Wisconsin passive activity losses the same when there is no Schedule I adjust-

ment? 
• How do you report passive activity losses on Form 1 or Form 1NPR? 

In order to clarify the treatment of passive activity losses, the department has developed Common Questions on this 
subject. Further information and examples can be found at https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/faqs/ise-pas-
sive.aspx. 

Earned Income Tax Credit Pre-Refund Review 

Each tax season, the Department of Revenue conducts a pre-refund review of selected returns where the Wisconsin 
Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) is claimed. The following questions and answers provide additional information 
about this process. 

Why Does the Department Conduct a Pre-Refund Review? 

The department conducts a pre-refund review of the Wisconsin EITC for several reasons: 

• To educate Wisconsin EITC filers about the eligibility criteria for the EITC.  

• To attain the department's goal of issuing Wisconsin EITC refunds as quickly and efficiently as possible 
while maintaining or improving voluntary compliance for the benefit of all taxpayers.  

• To correct invalid or incorrect claims filed, ensuring that the correct amount of Wisconsin EITC is issued 
to all claimants. (For the 2015 tax year, there were approximately 269,000 Wisconsin EITC claims filed. 
Credits of more than $17 million were claimed incorrectly.)  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleFC-A.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/faqs/ise-passive.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/faqs/ise-passive.aspx
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How are Returns Selected for Review? 

Based on more than 25 years of experience administering the EITC, the department selects only those returns on 
which errors may be likely. However, being selected for review does not necessarily mean that something is wrong 
with the credit claimed. The following are common errors that have required adjustment: 

Qualifying child 

1) Child did not live with you for more than 6 months of the year or child is not related to you through 
marriage (unless child has been placed with you through the courts or an authorized placement agency) 
– A qualifying child must meet the relationship, age, and residency test to qualify. 

2) More than one individual is claiming the same child – A qualifying child may not be claimed on more 
than one return. 

Residency 

1) Part-year residents and nonresidents are claiming the Wisconsin EITC – Only full-year Wisconsin resi-
dents are eligible. 

2) You became a permanent resident during 2016 – You are considered a part-year resident of Wisconsin 
and do not qualify for Wisconsin purposes. 

Filing status 

1) Filing as head of household or single when married – If you are married and do not qualify to file as 
head of household, you must file as married filing jointly or married filing separately. 

2) Filing as married filing separately – The EITC may not be claimed if you are filing as married filing 
separately. 

Earned income 

1) Improper earned income claimed –  

a) To be eligible for the EITC, you must have earned income. Income incorrectly reported as wages, 
such as pension/annuity income, cannot be used to figure the EITC. Exception If you are receiving 
disability retirement income and haven't reached the minimum retirement age, this income is consid-
ered earned income. 

b) In order to have income from self-employment, you must conduct a trade or business on a regular 
basis. Income from other sources that is not considered earned income must not be used for purposes 
of figuring the earned income credit. For more information, see federal Publication 525, Taxable and 
Nontaxable Income and federal Publication 535, Not-for-Profit Activities. 

c) You must be able to prove the amount of self-employment income and expenses claimed on your 
Wisconsin income tax return. 

2) Not deducting expenses related to self-employment income – If you are self-employed, you are required 
to report all income and deduct all expenses. 

Investment income 

1) Investment income is over $3,400 – Investment income may not be over $3,400. This includes income 
from interest, dividends, net capital gain, royalties, rental property, and other passive activities. 
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What Information May Be Requested During a Pre-Refund Review? Why Does the Department Need This In-
formation? 

Birth Certificates – This information establishes the relationship of the child to the claimant and verifies the bio-
logical mother and/or biological father of the child. Depending on your relationship to the child being claimed, the 
following birth certificates will be requested: 

• Son/daughter: Child's birth certificate 
• Niece/nephew: Child's, biological parent's, and your birth certificate 
• Grandchild: Child's and biological parent's birth certificate 

Note: Original birth certificates are required. State law prohibits you from making photocopies of original birth 
certificates or other vital records. If you do not wish to send original birth certificates in the mail, you may take 
them to one of our office locations. 

Social security card – The social security card is required to determine that the child has a valid social security 
number and is authorized to work in the United States. 

Biological parent information – Information such as the biological parents' names, last known addresses, social 
security numbers, and number of overnights the child spent in your home will be requested to verify where the child 
resided during the year. 

Court documents – These documents are used to aid in substantiating where the child resided for the year, when 
the child was placed by an authorized agency, and what dates the child lived with a related non-parent. Some ex-
amples of court documents requested are as follows: 

• Divorce decree or separation agreement 
• Physical placement court records 
• Kinship care papers 
• Foster care placement papers 
• Custody court records 

School/daycare records – The residency test requires that the child actually live with the claimant. School/daycare 
records establish the dates the child was enrolled and the home address of the child while enrolled. If the child is 
over age 19, a school transcript showing the above information as well as the number of credits/classes the child 
completed during the tax year verifies residency. 

Doctor records – If a child is not old enough to attend school and is not in daycare, a letter from your doctor 
indicating the date the child started receiving care and the person responsible for bringing the child to the doctor 
appointments will be requested.  

Lease/rental agreement, housing assistance agreement, and notarized landlord statement - These documents 
verify all of the residents of the household during the tax year. These documents also confirm the amount of rent 
paid during the tax year.  

Earned income documentation – Proof of your earned income may be requested, such as copies of wage state-
ments and documentation of your self-employment income and expenses (for example, receipts and copies of your 
bank statements).  

The above list is not meant to be all-inclusive. Unique situations may require the reviewer to ask for other verifica-
tion. 

All of the information requested is necessary to complete the pre-refund review of the EITC claimed. Providing 
only part of the information results in additional delays in issuing a refund, as another request for the missing 
information will be made. If no reply or insufficient documentation is received, this may result in an adjustment to 
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or denial of the EITC claimed. If you are unable to send in all the information requested by the deadline shown on 
the letter, you may call or write to request an extension. 

What You Need to Know to Claim the Manufacturing Credit 
In order to claim the manufacturing credit for income/franchise tax purposes, you must have qualified production 
activities income derived from the sale of tangible personal property that was produced on property assessed as 
manufacturing for property tax purposes under sec. 70.995, Wis. Stats. (2015-16). Property tax classifications are 
performed by the department's Manufacturing & Utility Bureau. For the income/franchise tax credit, you may be 
eligible to claim a credit in the year you are approved to be classified as manufacturing on the property tax assess-
ment roll. 

2016 Tax Returns 

In order to compute the manufacturing credit on your 2016 income/franchise tax return, an application must have 
been submitted by March 1, 2016 and approved by December 31, 2016. If you did not submit your application by 
March 1, 2016, you are not eligible to compute a manufacturing credit for 2016.  

2017 Tax Returns 

Make sure to submit your application by March 1, 2017 in order to be eligible to compute the manufacturing credit 
on your 2017 income/franchise tax return. Note Applications are only needed to seek determinations on new prop-
erty; do not submit an application for property that was classified as manufacturing on the prior year's assessment 
roll. 

You may submit an application to have your property assessed as manufacturing for 2017 using either of the fol-
lowing: 

• If you are a new business, complete Form PA-780 and send to the address listed on the bottom of the form, 
or 

• If you have been previously assessed as a manufacturer, you must annually file using Form PA-750 R, Form 
PA-750 P, and/or Form PA-750 L, available on our website in January of 2017. 

Understanding the Wisconsin Credit Hierarchy 
Wisconsin has a variety of nonrefundable and refundable tax credits that may be available to corporations, insurance 
companies, fiduciaries, and individuals. The credits must be claimed within 4 years of the unextended due date of 
the tax return. If a nonrefundable credit is not entirely offset against Wisconsin income or franchise taxes due for 
the current taxable year, the law generally provides that the balance may be carried forward for 15 years, unless 
otherwise noted in this article. If a carryforward is available, Schedule CF, Carryforward of Unused Credits, must 
be attached to the return to record the amount of credit used in a year and the amount that may be carried forward 
and offset against tax in a future year. None of the nonrefundable credits may be offset against the economic devel-
opment surcharge.  

Various options are available when determining the amount of credit to be used each year. Except for the manufac-
turing sales tax credit, which must be used as determined on Schedule MS, Wisconsin Manufacturer's Sales Tax 
Credit Carryforward Allowable, you may choose whether to use all, a portion, or none of a nonrefundable credit.  

For example, you have a $2,000 dairy and livestock farm investment credit carryforward and a $4,000 angel invest-
ment credit available for 2016. The amount of tax shown on the return is $2,000. You may choose to use (1) all of 
the $2,000 dairy and livestock farm investment credit carryforward and none of the angel investment credit or 
(2) none of the dairy and livestock farm investment credit carryforward and $2,000 of the angel investment credit. 

Refundable credits may be claimed after nonrefundable credits. However, if two or more nonrefundable credits are 
used, they must be applied against gross tax in the order listed below: 

 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/70/995
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/pa-780.xlsx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/manuf-home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleCF.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/2016-ScheduleMS.pdf
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Individuals and Fiduciaries 

1. Postsecondary education credit carryforward 15. Manufacturing sales tax credit carryforward 
(20-year carryforward period) 

2. Water consumption credit carryforward 16. Manufacturing investment credit 
3. Biodiesel fuel production credit carryforward 17. Dairy and livestock farm investment credit 

carryforward 
4. Health insurance risk-sharing plan 

assessments credit carryforward 
18. Ethanol and biodiesel fuel pump credit 

carryforward 
5. Veteran employment credit carryforward 19. Development opportunity zone investment 

credit carryforward 
6. Film production company investment credit 

carryforward 
20. Technology zone investment credit 

carryforward 
7. Community rehabilitation program credit 21. Development zones credit 
8. Research facilities credit carryforward 22. Capital investment credit 
9. Supplement to federal historic rehabilitation 

credit 
23. Economic development tax credit 

10. Manufacturing credit 24. Early stage seed investment credit 
11. Agriculture credit 25. Angel investment credit (individuals only) 
12. State historic rehabilitation credit (individuals 

only) 
26. Electronic medical records credit carryforward 

13. Research credit 27. Internet equipment credit carryforward 
14. Film production services credit carryforward  

Penalty for Failure to File a Complete or Correct Schedule 2K-1, 3K-1, or 5K-1 
Trusts, fiduciaries, partnerships, and tax-option (S) corporations are required to give Wisconsin Schedules 2K-1, 
3K-1 or 5K-1 to their beneficiaries, partners, or shareholders and to the department as part of the filing of the entity's 
tax return. If an entity fails to provide a schedule or provides an incomplete or incorrect schedule, the entity may be 
subject to a $50 penalty for each schedule. This penalty is in addition to any late filing fee that may be imposed for 

Corporate and Insurance Companies 
1. Manufacturing sales tax credit carryforward 

(20-year carryforward period) 
14. Ethanol and biodiesel fuel pump credit 

carryforward 
2. Manufacturing investment credit 15. Community development finance credit 

carryforward 
3. Dairy and livestock farm investment credit 

carryforward 
16. Development opportunity zone investment 

credit carryforward 
4. Community rehabilitation program credit 17. Development opportunity zone or agricultural 

or airport development zone capital invest-
ment credit 

5. Research expense credits 18. Development zones credit 
6. Postsecondary education credit carryforward 19. Economic development tax credit 
7. Water consumption credit carryforward 20. Technology zone credit 
8. Biodiesel fuel production credit carryforward 21. Early stage seed investment credit 
9. Research facilities credit carryforward 22. Supplement to federal historic rehabilitation 

tax credit 
10. Super research and development credit car-

ryforward (5-year carryforward period) 
23. Electronic medical records credit carryforward 

11. Health insurance risk sharing plan assess-
ments credit carryforward 

24. Film production investment credit 
carryforward 

12. Manufacturing and agriculture credit (not 
available to insurance companies) 

25. Film production services credit carryforward 

13. Veteran employment credit carryforward 26. Internet equipment credit carryforward 
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the entity's late-filed Wisconsin Form 2, 3, or 5S. However, the department shall waive the penalty if the person 
shows the department that a violation resulted from a reasonable cause and not from willful neglect. 

Examples of when the $50 penalty may apply: 

1) Trust has two beneficiaries, one is a Wisconsin resident and the other is a Florida resident. Trust files a 
timely Wisconsin Form 2 with two Schedules 2K-1 attached to the return. Trust received income from a 
partnership that consisted of $1,000 of ordinary business income and $100,000 of net rental real estate 
income, all of which was derived in Wisconsin. The trust has no expenses of its own and distributes the 
entire $101,000 to its beneficiaries. The Schedules 2K-1 report the $1,000 of ordinary business income, but 
do not report the $100,000 of net rental real estate income. Trust may be subject to a $100 penalty ($50 x 2 
violations) for issuing incomplete or incorrect Schedules 2K-1. 

2) Corporation is owned by three shareholders. Corporation timely files Wisconsin Form 5S and provides each 
of its shareholders with a Schedule 5K-1. However, Corporation does not provide timely Schedules 5K-1 
to the department. Corporation may be subject to a $150 penalty ($50 x 3 violations) for not timely filing 
Schedules 5K-1 with the department. 
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Withholding Tax Update Available 

The December 2016 Withholding Tax Update has been posted to the department's website. Articles include: 

• What's New 
• Current Withholding Tax Rates Continue for 2017 
• Reporting by Financial Institutions and Insurance Agencies 
• Wage and Information Return Reporting Requirements 
• Data Exchange Program 
• Filing Frequency Changes 
• Single-Member LLCs - Are You Registered Correctly? 
• Electronic Filing Reminder 
• Filing and Payment Options 
• Extensions 
• Amended Annual Reconciliation (WT-7) 
• Election Worker Exemption from Income Tax Withholding 
• W-2 Preparation Guidance for Employers 
• Tips or Gratuities Received From Customers 
• New Hire Reporting Requirement 
• Employees Claiming Exemption From Withholding 
• Withholding Lock-in Letters 
• Reciprocity Agreements 
• Retirement and Pension Payments Exempt from Income Tax Withholding 
• My Tax Account Webinars 
• Withholding Tax Electronic Mailing List 
• Where to Direct Questions 

  

Withholding Tax 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WithholdingTaxUpdate/16-1.pdf
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New Tax Rates for 2017 
The following local taxes have been adopted for 2017: 

• Effective January 1, 2017 – Sheboygan County Tax 
• Effective January 1, 2017 – City of Rhinelander Premier Resort Area Tax 
• Effective April 1, 2017 – Kewaunee County Tax 

See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 195 for more information. 

New Occasional Sale Standards for Nonprofit Organizations 
Beginning January 1, 2017, the standards for determining whether a nonprofit organization's sales qualify for the 
occasional sales exemption have changed. 

Standard 1 - A nonprofit organization's sales of normally taxable products and services are exempt from sales tax if 
either of the following applies: 

• The sales occur on 75 days or less for the year, or  
• If the receipts from such sales are $50,000 or less for the year.  

Under prior law, these amounts were 25 days and $25,000.  Note: Even if Standard 1 is met, the sales are still 
taxable at an admission event where "entertainment" is provided, unless Standard 2 is met. 

Standard 2 - A nonprofit organization's sales of normally taxable admissions to an event involving entertainment, 
including its event sales of normally taxable products and services, are exempt from sales tax if the payment for 
entertainment does not exceed $10,000. Under prior law, this amount was $500. 

"Entertainment," for the purposes of this exemption, means entertainment provided at an admission event by all 
persons or groups who are paid in the aggregate more than $10,000 per event by all persons for performing, or as 
reimbursement of expenses or for prize money. 

Regardless of whether the standards above are met, the occasional sale exemption does not apply: 

• To bingo receipts 
• If the nonprofit organization holds or is required to hold a seller's permit 

For additional information regarding this exemption, see: 

• Fact Sheet 2106, Occasional Sale Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations 
• Publication 206, Sales Tax Exemptions for Nonprofit Organizations` 

Snowplowing Services Are Not Taxable 
Snowplowing or sanding and salting roads, sidewalks, or parking lots are not services that are subject to sales tax. 
The service provider is the consumer of any property (e.g., salt, sand) used in providing such services and is liable 
for sales or use tax on its purchase of such property. 

Example 1: A person contracts with Company to have their driveway and parking lot plowed and sanded during the 
winter months. Company charges the person by the hour. No part of the charge by Company is subject to sales tax. 
Company must pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase of the sand used in providing the service. 

Sales/Use Tax 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/195.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/2106occsales.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb206.pdf
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Example 2: A person contracts with Company to have their driveway and parking lot plowed and salted during the 
winter months. Company charges the person based on the amount of salt used. No part of the charge by Company 
is subject to sales tax. Company must pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase of the salt used in providing 
the service. 

VW Court Settlement – Sales and Use Tax Treatment 
Volkswagen (VW) has reached settlements with federal and California regulators in which VW has agreed to pro-
vide cash payments to owners of certain VW and Audi diesel vehicles. The following tax treatment information will 
be helpful to owners affected by this settlement. 

Selling Car Back to VW – If an owner chooses the buyback option, the owner is selling his or her vehicle to the 
manufacturer. 

• The owner's sale of the vehicle to VW is not subject to sales tax.

• No refund of the tax paid on the original sale/purchase of the vehicle may be claimed by VW, the dealer, or
the owner.

• If an owner uses the money received from VW to purchase another vehicle from a dealer, no deduction
from the dealer's sales price is allowed for a trade-in allowance, because the vehicle is not traded in to the
dealer. In other words, the full purchase price of the new vehicle is subject to tax.

Keeping the Car and Receiving Cash and Emissions Modification – There are no sales tax implications to the 
owner, because no sale is taking place. 

Questions about the settlement compensation, should be directed to the attorneys who negotiated the agreement or 
to the Federal Trade Commission: 

• Class counsel can be reached at info@vwclasscounsel.com or 1-800-948-2181.

• The Federal Trade Commission's online resource is available at https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/
vw-owners-get-facts.

Proper Documentation Needed for Exempt Cash Sales 
In order for a seller to be relieved of its sales tax liability on a taxable sale, the seller must obtain a fully completed 
exemption certificate from the customer within 90 days of the sale. Therefore, the seller's records for sales of taxable 
products and services that are not taxed must include identifying customer information, along with a properly com-
pleted exemption certificate. This is true for cash sales, as well as noncash sales. A seller is not relieved of its sales 
tax liability on exempt cash sales that cannot be supported with customer information and a corresponding exemp-
tion certificate. 

Total Period Sales Must Be Reported on Your Sales Tax Return 
Line 1 of Form ST-12, Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Return, requires a taxpayer to enter the total amount of all sales 
made during the period, regardless of whether the sales are taxable or exempt. Nontaxable or exempt sales are 
removed on lines 2 through 5 of the sales tax return. 

During an audit, taxpayers are often requested to reconcile any differences in gross sales reported between 
their sales tax return and their income/franchise tax return.  Unreconciled differences may lead to audit adjustments. 

Make sure to report total sales on the sales tax return and reconcile any differences between the sales tax return and 
income/franchise tax return to avoid unnecessary delays or adjustments during an audit. 

mailto:info@vwclasscounsel.com
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/sales-home.aspx
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/vw-owners-get-facts
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/vw-owners-get-facts
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Statistical Sampling in Sales and Use Tax Audits 
Wisconsin law authorizes the Wisconsin Department of Revenue to determine a taxpayer's correct sales and use tax 
liability during an audit by sampling records or data. The use of sampling, instead of reviewing all records, saves 
time and resources for both the taxpayer and the department. Sampling means selecting representative items from 
a total population of items, examining those selected items, and drawing a conclusion about the entire population 
based on the examination of the selected items. A sample conducted by the department may be statistical or non-
statistical. This article provides information about statistical sampling. 

What is statistical sampling? 

In a statistical sample, the sample is randomly selected and probability theory is used to evaluate the sample results. 
This provides some benefits not associated with non-statistical sampling including: eliminating bias by ensuring 
that all items in a population have an equal chance to be selected for review and providing the ability to estimate 
the sample size and calculate the estimated amount of error (or uncertainty) associated with the sample. In addition, 
statistical sampling is approved and recommended by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants 
(AICPA). 

When is statistical sampling appropriate? 

The auditor and computer audit specialist (CAS) assigned to the audit will determine if a statistical sample is ap-
propriate considering:  sampling method used in a prior audit; volume of records; availability of records maintained 
in an electronic-readable format; and type of software used for recording sales and purchases. In most cases, if a 
prior audit included a statistical sample, the current audit will include a statistical sample. In all cases, the auditor 
and CAS will work with the taxpayer to determine the most efficient method to conduct the audit. 

Why use statistical sampling? 

In the past five years, the department's use of statistical sampling has more than doubled. This is due in part to 
increased use of electronic records and data by taxpayers. This has benefited both the taxpayer and the department 
since the use of statistical sampling is generally more accurate and efficient than non-statistical sampling methods. 

In an effort to become even more efficient, the department asked a nationally recognized sampling expert to review 
its statistical sampling program. The sampling expert determined the department has an excellent statistical sam-
pling program that uses sound and reliable statistical sampling techniques that produce accurate samples. This 
includes the use of stratified random sampling which produces smaller sample sizes than pure random sampling. 
While this is great news, the sampling expert recommended a few changes to improve overall efficiency. These 
changes have been implemented along with data analytics and sampling software into an improved statistical sam-
pling program. 

How will the department improve efficiency and maintain accuracy? 

With the implementation of the improved statistical sampling program, the department expects to reduce sample 
sizes while maintaining accuracy. This is possible by increasing the number of sampled strata in an audit and de-
creasing the minimum number of items selected in each stratum.  

Sample sizes can be further reduced by taking time at the beginning of the audit to verify data completeness and to 
analyze data that will be used to produce the sample. The auditor and CAS will work with the taxpayer to ensure 
the data used to produce the sample includes only items that are relevant in a sales and use tax audit. This process, 
which includes a thorough analysis of accounts, vendors, and customers, refines the sample population and is critical 
to producing the minimum necessary sample size while maintaining accuracy. 

The department will also request taxpayers to produce all source documents for items selected in a sample at one 
time. Source documents in electronic form are preferred. These combined changes will reduce the time it takes to 
complete an audit for both the taxpayer and the department. 
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Additional option to increase efficiency 

Generally, the larger the sample, the more precise the sample. If the taxpayer believes the sample is too large with 
the changes described above, the taxpayer may enter a binding agreement with the department for a sample selection 
outside of the department's standards. The agreement binds the taxpayer and the department to accept a less precise 
sample to reduce sample size and expedite the audit. Please contact the assigned CAS or your auditor for more 
information. 

For more information about statistical sampling, see Publication 516, Statistical Sampling. 

Common and Contract Carrier Exemption – LC, IC, and MC Numbers 
A motor truck, truck tractor, road tractor, bus, trailer, or semitrailer sold to a common or contract carrier is exempt 
from Wisconsin sales and use tax if the carrier uses the vehicle exclusively in common or contract carriage. (Sec-
tion 77.54(5)(b), Wis. Stats. (2015-16)) The exemption also applies to accessories, attachments, supplies, parts, and 
services for such vehicles and equipment. 

Under Department of Transportation rules, an LC, IC, or MC number issued by the appropriate federal or state 
agency is required to operate as a common or contract carrier. However, merely having an LC, IC, or MC number 
does not fulfill the requirements of the sales and use tax exemption. In order to qualify for the exemption, the vehicle 
or equipment must be used exclusively in common or contract carriage. For example, a truck that is used by a 
company to transport its own property is not used exclusively in common or contract carriage and does not qualify 
for exemption. 

Additional information about the common and contract carrier exemption is provided in the tax release titled "Com-
mon and Contract Carrier Exemption," which was published in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 186. 

New Sales and Use Tax Form; Contractor Statement of Building Materials 
Purchased 
A construction contractor may purchase building materials exempt from sales and use tax if the building materials: 

1) are used in fulfillment of real property construction activity, 
2) are transferred to a qualifying entity, and 
3) become part of a qualifying facility located in Wisconsin that is owned by the entity.  

Form S-227, Contractor Statement of Building Materials Purchased, was developed to help contractors document 
these purchases. 

A qualifying entity is a Wisconsin county, city, village, town, school district, county-city hospital, sewerage com-
mission, metropolitan sewerage district, joint local water authority, or qualifying nonprofit organization.  

A qualifying facility is an athletic park, athletic field, building, parking garage, parking lot, shelter, storm sewer, 
water supply system, sewerage and waste water treatment facility.  

Highways, streets and roads are not qualifying facilities, even if located within a facility. 

This exemption went into effect for contracts entered into on or after January 1, 2016. For more information, see 
Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 192, pages 19-21. 

Contractor Materials Used Outside Wisconsin Q&A 

Q If a contractor uses materials in a real property construction activity outside Wisconsin, does the contrac-
tor still owe Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase of materials? 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb516.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2015/statutes/statutes/77/III/54/5/b
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/186.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Form/sales-home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/192.pdf
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A Yes, if the materials were purchased, stored, used, or consumed in Wisconsin, the contractor is liable for Wis-
consin sales or use tax on its purchase price of the materials. A contractor is the consumer of all materials that are 
used in real property activities. The contractor is required to pay Wisconsin sales and use tax on its purchases of 
materials that are stored, used, or consumed in Wisconsin, even if the materials are used in real property construction 
activities outside of Wisconsin. 

Filing A Buyer's Claim for Refund of Sales Tax 
A buyer who overpaid sales tax to a seller may request a refund of the overpaid tax from the seller.  If the tax is 
greater than $50 (with certain exceptions), the buyer may file a claim for refund directly from the Department of 
Revenue (a) electronically using My Tax Account, or (b) by filing a Form S-220, Buyer’s Claim for Refund of Wis-
consin State, County, and Stadium Sales Taxes (also known as Form BCR), with Form S-220a, (also known as 
Schedule P). 

Helpful tips to expedite the processing of your claim: 

• Include a Schedule P for each seller to whom sales tax was paid in error. Each Schedule P should be properly 
completed, with the seller having completed and signed section 2 of the schedule, and the list of purchases 
on the reverse side is completed with all information. A spreadsheet may be used to list the purchases, but 
all of the requested information must be included for each purchase. 

• Legible copies of invoices or billing statements showing the amount of sales tax paid to the seller must be 
included, along with proof of your payment. 

• The correct seller identity must be provided, including the seller's correct business name and federal em-
ployer identification number (FEIN) or Wisconsin tax account number (WTN), if known. 

Additional information is available in the Common Questions for Sales and Use Tax, Answer 6. 

Tax Seminars - Wisconsin/Minnesota Sales and Use Tax Basics 
The Wisconsin and Minnesota Departments of Revenue will present a series of free sales and use tax seminars in 
March and April 2017. The seminars will provide an overview of Minnesota and Wisconsin sales and use tax laws 
for companies that do business in both states. They are designed for business owners, bookkeepers, purchasing 
agents and accountants who need a working knowledge of each state’s laws and how to meet their obligations. 
Topics covered will include: 

• Who needs to register for sales and use taxes in Minnesota, Wisconsin, or both states; 

• What cities, counties, and other jurisdictions in each state have local taxes; 

• What’s taxable in each state; 

• Exceptions to the general taxation rules and exemptions; and 

• How and when to use or accept an exemption certificate. 

Seminar dates, times, and locations, as well as registration information, is available on the Wisconsin Department 
of Revenue’s Sales and Use Tax Training web page. 

  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/s-220.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/s-220a.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/s-220a.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/faqs/pcs-sales.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/events.aspx
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Update to Publication 111 on Private Letter Ruling Requests 
Publication 111, How to Get a Private Letter Ruling From the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, was recently 
updated. A clarification was made to the list of general areas where the department ordinarily will not rule. These 
are areas in which a ruling will not be issued unless there are unique and compelling reasons that justify its issuance. 
The language used in the list has been changed to make clear that the department ordinarily will not rule on a request 
of any issue that is in the process of an audit. 

Do-It-Yourself, Claim Your Unclaimed Property Q&A 

Q Do I Need To Hire an Heir Finder or Locator to Claim My Unclaimed Property? 

A No. You can search for unclaimed property and also file a claim on the department's website at the Unclaimed 
Property page.  Please see the department's unclaimed property common questions page for additional information. 

Previously Mailed Letters Now Available Online 
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue has a new process through our website that will allow taxpayers, power of 
attorneys, and third-party preparers to print or view copies of most letters the department previously mailed to the 
taxpayer. 

What if you call customer service and discover you or your client does not have a letter we previously mailed? 

1. Request the letter ID from customer service. 

2. Go to our website, revenue.wi.gov, click on the "Individuals" tab, and under the "Online Services" section 
click "Print/View Letter". 

3. You will need to provide all of the following information: 

a. The first and last name of the taxpayer, 

b. The taxpayer's ID type and number (generally an SSN), and 

c. The letter ID provided by customer service. 

4. If all the required information matches with our system, you will be able to click on the letter ID link to 
print or view the letter. 

Other 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb111.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/UnclaimedProperty/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/UnclaimedProperty/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/home.aspx
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/
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R e p o r t  o n  L i t i g a t i o n  

 
Summarized below are recent significant Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission (WTAC) and Wisconsin Court 
decisions.  

The following decisions are included: 

Sales and Use Tax 

Officer Liability 
Richard Heckel and Robert Heckel II .................... 20 

Taxable services – processing tangible personal 
property 

Tetra Tech EC, Inc., and Lower Fox River 
Remediation LLC .................................................. 21 

 

SALES AND USE TAX 

 Officer Liability. Richard Heckel and Robert Heckel II vs. Wisconsin Department of Revenue (Wisconsin 
Tax Appeals Commission, November 4, 2016). 

The issue is whether Richard and Robert Heckel (the Heckels) are personally liable for sales tax collected by 
businesses they owned and operated, which were not remitted to the Department of Revenue. 

The Heckels owned 100% of the stock of three businesses. Although the businesses had been successful for nearly 
two decades, beginning in 2007, the Heckels fell into default shortly after expanding. The Heckels' loan relation-
ship with the bank was guided by a succession of forbearance agreements. Through these agreements, the bank 
provided very short-term loans designed to keep the businesses going. Rather than foreclosing, the bank extended 
credit weekly to keep the businesses in operation. The Heckels initially believed that the arrangement with the 
bank would ensure that timely payments would be made to the bank and for Wisconsin sales tax. 

In conjunction with the forbearance agreements, the bank required that all inflows be deposited into an account 
which the bank could sweep completely dry. This agreement allowed the bank to take all inflows, including the 
sales taxes collected on sales, to satisfy the bank's loan to the owners. The tax funds were comingled in the depos-
its to the cash collateral account, and the bank took all of it for its own. The bank required the Heckels to hire a 
consultant. Credible evidence showed that the bank and consultant were the primary decision-makers as to the 
approved lists of payables. In 2008, the Heckels questioned the exclusion of the taxes from the lists but did sign 
off on them. They (erroneously) believed they had no choice but to go along with what the Bank directed. Going 
against the Bank may have resulted in an earlier demise of the business, but the owners' duty was to pay the tax. 

The businesses closed as the bankruptcy progressed. In the bankruptcy, the department filed a notice of claim for 
its March - June sales tax due from the Heckels. Although the department filed a notice of claim for the March - 
June taxes, when the bankruptcy settled, the department was paid only for its post-petition taxes (July-October). 
The bankruptcy did not discharge these unpaid tax claims. Had the Heckels wanted to object to the bankruptcy 
settlement, they could have done so, but they did not file an objection with the court. 

In officer liability cases, the department must first show the presence of three elements for an officer to be held 
liable for unpaid sales tax: the individual must have authority to pay, he or she must have had a duty to pay, and 
there must have been an intentional breach of that duty. The trial focused primarily on the first element, authority 
to pay. If indeed the Heckels had authority to pay the taxes, then they had a duty to pay the taxes. The fact other 
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creditors were paid while taxes were owed to the department would be strong evidence of an intentional breach of 
that duty. The Heckels dispute the general assumption that business owners and executive officers have the au-
thority and duty to pay taxes. 

The Heckels point to their unsuccessful attempt to pay the sales taxes in July 2008 as evidence to negate the third 
prong, intentional breach of duty to pay the taxes. While they did attempt to make a payment in July 2008, the 
department did not actually get paid. After the bank swept the Heckels' account clean to put toward its own loans, 
the checks to the department bounced. 

The ill-fated timing of the sweep, however, does not negate the fact that, as of the date on which the checks were 
written, the sales taxes for the various periods were already delinquent. 

The Commission concluded that the Heckels had authority and duty to pay the sale tax, and that the Heckels 
breached that duty by making payments to creditors other than the department. The Commission ruled that the 
Heckels are responsible persons under the law and are liable for the payment of unpaid sales tax for the periods at 
issue. 

When a taxpayer collects sales taxes, that money is not theirs to use. It is to be held in trust until remitted to the 
state. The taxpayer cannot use that money to keep the business going or for any other noble purpose. Even if pay-
ing the taxes over to the department brings hardship and leaves little hope of paying other creditors, the taxpayer 
still has no legal alternative. From the outset, the Heckels should not have agreed to deposit the sales taxes into 
the cash collateral account which the Bank swept. That money was not theirs to bargain away. 

Taxable services – processing tangible personal property. Tetra Tech EC, Inc., and Lower Fox 
River Remediation LLC. vs. Wisconsin Department of Revenue (Court of Appeals, December 28, 2016). 

This is a judicial review of the Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission decision dated December 30, 2014, 
which was affirmed by the Brown County Circuit Court on August 20, 2015. See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 187,  
page 9, and Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 190, page 9, for summaries of the Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission and 
Brown County Circuit Court's decisions. 

The issue in this case is whether Stuyvesant Dredging, Inc.'s ("SDI") services of separating material dredged from 
the Fox River into separate components (i.e., sand, water, PCB-contaminated silt) performed for Tetra Tech EC, 
Inc. ("Tetra Tech") and Lower Fox River Remediation LLC ("LLC") is processing of tangible personal property 
and subject to Wisconsin sales tax. The taxpayers argued that this service could not be taxable as "processing," 
because the statute did not specifically use the word "separating." The taxpayers also argued that, by failing to 
include sec. 77.52(2)(a)11., Wis. Stats., in its notices of determination, the department violated the requirement in 
sec. 77.59(3), Wis. Stats., that the "determination of the tax liability of a person" "shall be in writing." 

The Court held that the Commission's interpretation of "processing" was reasonable and, therefore, the services 
provided by SDI are subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax. The Court stated that taxpayers could not avoid tax by 
claiming that the Legislature had to be more specific than "processing." The Court stated that if there was not 
room for interpretation any time a taxable service was described using words not explicitly found in 
sec. 77.52(2)(a), Wis. Stats., it would allow a taxpayer to avoid Wisconsin's sales and use tax and that would be 
equal to "tax avoidance by dictionary." 

The Court also agreed with the Commission that sec. 77.59(3), Wis. Stats., only requires the notice of determina-
tion to "be in writing" and to "specify whether the determination is an office audit determination or a field audit 
determination." It does not preclude the department from raising an alternative legal basis for taxation simply be-
cause it was not first asserted in the department's written notices. Additionally, the Court noted that a taxpayer is 
allowed to raise new issues before the Commission even after filing petitions, and forbidding the department to do 
the same would be inappropriate. 

The taxpayers have appealed this decision. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/187.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/190.pdf
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