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This special issue of the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin contains information which will 
assist taxpayers in determining whether the 1978 special property tax/rent credit 
and separate check which Wisconsin residents received during 1979 must be reported 
as income on the 1979 Wisconsin return. It also contains information about the 
new 1979 property tax/rent credit, including a number of questions and answers 
pertaining to this new credit. 

ERRORS ON 1979 RETURNS FILED 

A review of 1979 Wisconsin returns filed with the Department, indicates problems 
are ar1s1ng in two particular areas. On both the long form (Form 1) and short 
form (Form lA) a number of errors are occurring in the personal exemption credit 
area (lines 9a through 9e). Special care should be taken to enter the dollar 
amounts in the proper spaces and to check the appropriate boxes to indicate the 
ages of the taxpayer and spouse. 

Taxpayers are reminded that taxes are no longer deductible as an itemized deduction 
for Wisconsin purposes. Persons claiming itemized deductions for Wisconsin must 
complete lines 63, 64 and 65 on page 2 of Form l to arrive at Wisconsin itemized 
deductions. On line 63 there is a reference to line 16, which is line 16 of 
federal Schedule A. Some persons are incorrectly interpreting this to be line 16 
of Form 1. 

After itemized deductions are computed for Wisconsin, on line 65 of Form 1, a 
person should determine which deduction is larger - Wisconsin itemized deductions 
or the standard deduction/low-income allowance. For 1979 the standard deduction 
is $2300 for single persons and $3400 for married persons. 
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TAX TREATMENT OF 1978 SPECIAL PROPERTY TAX/RENT CREDIT ANO SEPARATE CHECK 

A. What is the 1978 Property Tax/Rent Credit? 

The Wisconsin law relating to the 1978 prooerty tax/rent credit provided 
that homeowners could claim a refundable credit of 10% of their property 
taxes accrued for 1978, with ii mi nim11m crPdit of $40 and a maximum of 
$100. Renters could claim a credit of $40. The credit was claimed on a 
1978 Form l or lA, Schedule Hor Schedule PC. The l;ist day for filing a 
claim was December 31, 1979. 

Persons who claimed the credit automatically received a separate check 
equal to the amount of the initial credit. The majority of persons 
received this check in 1979, however, those Persons who filed for the 
initial credit in late 1979 could receive the chPck in 1980. 

B. What is the Tax Treatment of the Credit and Separate Check Received by 
Taxpayers in 1979? 

The determination of whether the credit and check are income on a 1979 
Hisconsin return is made under the provisions of the federal Internal 
Revenue CodP. In accordance with an opinion the ISI&E Division received 
from the IRS, the \\Ii scons in tax treatment of the credit and check received 
in 1979 is as follows: 

l. Rent Credit and Separate Check Received in 1979: Not rePortable as 
income on a 1979 Wisconsin return. 

2. Property Tax Credit and Separate Check Received in 1979: 

a. If 1978 property taxes accrued were paid in total in 1979, the 
credit and check are not reportable as income on a 1979 Wisconsin 
return. (If these taxes are claimed as an itemized deduction on 
a 1979 federal return, the amount deducted must be reduced by the 
property tax credit and separate check received in 1979.) 

b. If 1978 property taxes accrued were paid in total in 1978 and the 
,Jisconsin standard deduction or low-income allowance was claimed 
on a 1978 Wisconsin return (or the person itemized deductions but 
did not claim a deduction fnr s1,ch prooerty taxes paid in 1978), 

c. 

d. 

the credit and check are rot rpoortable as income on a 1979 Wisconsin 
return. 

If 1978 property taxes accrued were aaid in total in 1978 and such 
taxes were claimed as an itemized de uction on the person's 1978 
Wisconsin return, the credit and check are reportable as income on 
a 1979 ~lisconsin return, but only to the extent of any "tax benefit" 
(see Part C for computing the tax benefit}. 

If 1978 property taxes accrued were paid partl~ in 1978 and the 
remaining part in 1979, the amount paid in 191 is treated the same 
as in 2b or 2c abovP, whichever is applicable. The amount paid in 
1979 is treated as in 2a. 

Examole: Taxpayer's 1978 property taxes accrued were $1200. Tax­
payer paid $900 of such taxes in 1978 and the remainino balance of 
$300 in 1979. Taxp~ver claimed the $100 prooertv tax credit on a 
1978 Wi~consin return filed in 197Q <1nd rPceived a seoarate r.heck 
for $100 in July, 1979. 
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If the taxpayer claimed the Wisconsin standard deduction or low­
income allowance on the 1978 Wisconsin return (or claimed itemized 
deductions but did not claim a deduction for the $900 property taxes 
paid in 1978), the $100 credit and $100 check are not reportable as 
income on the 1979 Wisconsin return. 

If the taxpayer claimed an itemized deduction on the 1978 
Wisconsin return for the property taxes of $900 paid in 1978, 
$150 of the credit and check must be reported as income on the 
1979 Hi scons in return, assuming a tax benefit was received for 
the total $900 deducted on the 1978 return. The $150 is com­
puted as follows: 
$900 taxes aid in 1978 X $200 (credit and check) = $150 

tota 9 taxes accrued 
The remaining $50 ($200 less $150) is not reportable as income on 
the 1979 return, regardless of whether the taxpayer itemizes 
deductions or claimed the standard deduction/low-income allowance 
on the 1979 Wisconsin return. (On a 1979 federal return, a tax­
payer itemizing deductions must reduce his deduction for property 
taxes by $50. ) 

3. Both a Renter and Homeowner: If a person paid both rent in 1978 and 
also had 1978 property taxes accrued and claimed a $40 credit (regard­
less of whether the $40 was entered on the rent credit or property 
tax credit line on the form), the $40 credit and $40 check are not 
reportable as income on a 1979 Wisconsin return. 

If a person was both a renter and homeowner in 1978 and claimed more 
than $40 as a credit, the person is treated as having claimed a credit 
equal to 10% of 1978 property taxes accrued and is treated the same as 
a person in 2a, b, c, or d, whichever is applicable. 

C. How to Determine if a Tax Benefit was Realized From Claiming Property and/or 
Income Taxes as an Itemized Deduction. 

1. Basis for Computing Tax Benefit 

The Internal Revenue Code is the basis for determining whether any portion 
of a refund of taxes previously claimed as an itemized deduction for 
Wisconsin must be included in Wisconsin income. 

Section 111 of the Internal Revenue Code provides that recoveries 
(refunds) of taxes which were previously claimed as an itemized deduction 
may be excluded from federal adjusted gross income to the extent a tax­
payer detenr.ines a "recovery exclusion". If the amount of tax recovered 
exceeds the "recovery exclusion" determined, the excess amount must be 
included in income. This procedure is commonly known as the "tax benefit" 
rule. 

Revenue Ruling 79-15 issued by the IRS sets forth the method used to 
determine if any amount of "recovery exclusion" is available with 
respect to refunds of taxes received in tax years 1978 and thereafter. 
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2. Computation Required When Taxpayer Received a Refund of Wisconsin 
Income Tax in 1979, But Did Not Claim a 1978 Deduction for 1978 
Property Taxes Accrued. 

IRS Revenue Ruling 79-15 uses an example similar to the following to 
i 11 ustrate the cal cul at ions required to determine the "recovery 
exclusion". 

Example: C and D filed a joint federal income tax return for 1978. 
Their adjusted gross income was $30,000, state income tax deduction 
was $3,000, and other itemized deductions were $2,500. No deduction 
was claimed on the 1978 return for 1978 property taxes accrued. In 
1979, C received a refund of $900 of state income taxes for an over­
payment on his 1978 Wisconsin return. 

Tax Table Income 
for 1978 

Tax Table Income 
for 1978 without 

deduction for 
state income tax 

Adjusted gross income ................. . 
Itemized deductions .................... $5,500 
Zero bracket amount .................... ( 3,200) 
Excess itemized deductions ............ . 
Tax Table Income ...................... . 
State income tax deduction for 1978 ... . 
Tax Table Inr,nme for 1978 with-

out deduction for state income tax .. . 
Tax Table Income fn~ 1978 ............. . 

Tax benefit ( amount of state in-
come tax deduction that resulted 
in a redur.tinn nf 1978 tax) ......... . 

Recovery exclusion (portior, of refund 
not reportable as inrnni<>) ........... . 

Taxable portion of refund (total 
refond less $700) ................... . 

$30,000 $30,000 

( 2,300) 

$27,700 

$ 2,500 
( 3,200) 

$30,000 
( 27,700) 

0) 

$30,000 

$ 3,000 

2,300) 

$ 700 

$ 200 

In this example, C may exclude $700 of the $900 state income tax refund 
received in 1979; the remaining $200 is includible in C's gross income 
for 1979. 

An easier method of determining the "recovery exclusion" for refunds of 
1978 income tax received in 1979 is as follows: Compare line 41 (total 
itemized deductions aftP.r reduction by the zero bracket amount) of 1978 
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federal Schedule A with the amount of tax included on line 11 (state 
and local income taxes)of the 1978 Schedule A -

- if line 41 is equal to or larger than the tax on line 11, the 
recovery exclusion is "0" and the total refund of 1978 income 
tax is r~portable as income; 

- if 1 i ne 41 is sma 11 er than 1 i ne 11 , subtract 1 i ne 41 from 1 i ne 11 , 
and the difference represents the "recovery exclusion"-

Using this easier method and assuming the same facts as in the 
above example, line 41 on the taxpayer's 1978 Schedule A was 
$2,300 ($5,500 total deduction, less $3,200 zero bracket amount)_ 
The taxes on line 11 were $3,000_ Comparing lines 41 ($2,300) 
and 11 ($3,000) of Schedule A indicates that line 11 is the 
larger amount_ Line 41 ($2,300) is then subtracted from line 11 
($3,000) and a "recovery exclusion" of $700 is determined-

3_ Computation Required lihen Taxpayer Claimed a 1978 Deduction for 1978 
Property Taxes Accrued, But Did Not Receive a Refund of Wisconsin 
Income Tax in l979_ 

The computation in IRS Revenue Ruling 79-15 is also used in this situation_ 

Example: C and D filed a joint federal tax return for 1978_ For 1978 
their adjusted gross income was $25,000, 1978 property.taxes accrued of 
$1300 were paid and deducted in 1978, and other itemized deductions 
were $3,700_ No refund of liisconsin income taxes was received in 1979-
C claimed a 1978 Wi~consin Property Tax Credit of $100 on a 1978 Form l 
and received in July, 1979 a separate check for $100_ 

Tax Table Income 
for 1978 

Adjusted gross income----------- $25,000 
Itemized deductions- - - - --- -- -- -- $5,000 
Zero bracket amount-------------( 3,200) 
Excess itemized deductions------
Tax Table Income--------···----­
Deduction for 1978 property taxes 
Tax Table Income for 1978 with-

out deduction for property taxes 
Tax Table Income for 1978-------
Tax benefit (amount of 1978 property 

tax deduction that resulted in 
a reduct ion of 1978 tax) -- -- --

Recovery exclusion (portion of 
1978 property tax credit and 
check not reportable as income) 

Taxable portion of 1978 credit and 
check ($200 less recovery ex-
clusion) -- - - - - -- -- - . --....... . 

( 1,800) 
$23,200 

Tax Table Income 
for 1978 without 
deduction for 1978 

property taxes 

$ 3,700 
( 3,200) 

$24,500 
($23,200) 

( 

$25,000 

500) 
$24,500 
$1,300 

$ 1 ,300 

-0-
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In this example, the entire amount of 1978 Property Tax Credit of 
$100 and separate check of $100 received in 1979 is includible in C's 
gross income for 1979. 

If the easier method of determining the recovery exclusion which is 
explained on page 4 is used, C would compare line 41 of 1978 federal 
Schedule A with the amount of 1978 property taxes included on line 12 
of Schedule A. Line 41 {$1,800T,s total 1978 itemized deductions 
after reduction by the zero bracket amount ($5,000 - $3,200 = $1,800}. 
In this example the amount of 1978 property tax on line 12 of Schedule A 
is $1,300. 

Comparing lines 41 ($1,800) and 12 ($1,300) indicates that line 41 is 
larger. Therefore the recovery exclusion is zero and the total $200 
is reportable as income on the 1979 Wisconsin return. 

Computation Reduired When TaxKayer Received a Refund of Wisconsin Income 
Tax in 1979 an Claimed a 197 Deduction for 1978 Property Taxes Accrued. 

The computation in IRS Revenue Ruling 79-15 is also used in this situation. 

Example: C and D filed a joint federal tax return for 1978. For 1978 
their adjusted gross income was $30,000, state income tax deduction was 
$3,000, 1978 property taxes accrued of $1,000 were paid and deducted in 
1978, and other itemized deductions were $1,500. In 1979 C received 
cash refunds of $1,100 ($900 of state income taxes and $200 of property 
tax rebates). 

Adjusted gross income-------­
Itemized deductions---------­
Zero bracket amount---------­
Excess itemized deducti ans --­
Tax Table Income-------------

State income tax and property 
tax deduction for 1978----­

Tax Table Income for 1978 
without deduction for state 
income tax or property tax­

Tax Table income for 1978---­
Tax benefit (amount of state 

income tax and property tax 
deductions that resulted in 
a reduction of 1978 tax)---

Recovery exclusion-----------

Tax Table Income 
for 1978 

$5,500 
( 3,200) 

$30,000 

( 2,300) 
$27,700 

$30,000 
( 27,700) 

Tax Table Income 
for 1978 without 

deduction for 
state income tax 
or propertb tax 

$3 ,ODO 
$1,500 

( 3,200} 
( 0) 
$30,000 

$4,000 

( 2,300) 
$1,700 

In this example, the entire amount of the refunds may be excluded from 
C's gross incnme for 1979. 
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If the easier method of detennining the recovery exclusion which is 
explained on page 4 is used when there has been a recovery of both 
Wisconsin income taxes and 1978 property taxes, line 41 of 1978 fed­
eral Schedule A must be compared to the SIJTI of line 11 and the amount 
of 1978 property taxes included on line 12. Using the facts in the 
above example, line 41 on C's 1978 Schedule A would be $2,300 ($5,500 
total deduction less $3,200 zero bracket amount). The sum of Wisconsin 
income taxes on line 11 and 1978 property taxes on line 12 would be 
$4,000 ($3,000 + $1,000 = $4,000). Comparing line 41 ($2,300) to the 
total of the taxes ($4,000) indicates that the taxes are larger amount. 
By subtracting line 41 ($2,300) from the total of the taxes ($4,000), 
a "recovery exclusion" of $1,700 is determined. 

D. CAUTION: Refund Check Received in 1979 Is Not Always a Refund of Hisconsin 
Income Taxes 

For persons who claimed the 1978 property tax/rent credit, homestead credit, 
fannland preservation credit or alternative energy credit on their 1978 
Wisconsin Fonn 1 and received a check in 1979 for the amount of "Overpayment 
To Be Refunded" asshown on 1 ine 21 of their 1978 Fonn 1, the total amount 
of the check is not a refund of l4isconsin income taxes. Rather, the portion 
of the check (if any) received in 1979 which is a refund of Wisconsin income 
taxes is detennined as follows: 

1. Check received in 1979 (amount per line 21 of 1978 Fonn 1) XXX 
Less: Credits claimed on 1978 Fonn 1 for: 

2. Rent Credit ( 1 i ne 11 ) ( X) 
3. Property Tax Credit (line 12) (X) 
4. Fann land Preservation Credit (1 ine 16a) (X) 
5. Alternative Energy Credit (line 16b) (X) 
6. Homestead Credit (line 17) (X) 
7. Total Credits (XX) 
8. Amount of check that represents a refund of 

Wisconsin income taxes (line 1 less line 7) (X) 

Example: 

Check received in 1979 (from line 21 of 1978 Form 1) 
Less: Rent Credit 

Property Credit 
Fannland Preservation Credit 
Alternative Energy Credit 
Homestead Credit 
Total of Credits 

Amount of check representing a refund of Wisconsin 
Income Taxes 

Example 
1 

$500 

($100) 

($250) 
($350) 

$150 

Example 
2 

$500 
($ 40) 

($400) 
($360) 

($800) 

-0-
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WlSCONS'N'S NEW 1979 PROPERTY TAX/RENT CREDIT 

A new property tax rent credit may be claimed on 1979 Wisconsin income tax 
returns. Renters may claim a credit based on rent paid in 1979 for living 
quarter~ ·;sed as their primary residence. The credit for property owners 
is based on property taxes paid in 1979 for their home and other property 
not used in a business. 

A. WHO MAY CLAIM THE 1979 PROPERTY TAX/RENT CREDIT? 

To qualify for the credit, a person must meet the following conditions: 

Must have paid rent in 1979 for living quarters used as the person's 
primary residence or must have paid property taxes in 1979 on the 
person's home and other property not used in a business, and 

u. Must have been a legal resident of Wisconsin for at least 15 days 
during any month in 1979. (Caution: Persons who were residents of 
Wisconsin for all of 1979 will qualify for the credit. Persons who 
were residents of Wisconsin for only part of 1979 will qualify if 
they were a resident for at least 15 days during any month of 1979. 
Nonresidents, i.e., persons who were not residents of Wisconsin during 
any part of 1979, will not qualify for the credit. Corporations, 
partnerships, trusts, estates and fiduciaries also do not qualify.) 

B. WHAT FORM IS USED TO CLAIM THE CREDIT? 

The property tax/rent credit may only be claimed on a person's 1979 
Wisconsin income tax return, Fonn l or Form lA. The property tax credit 
is claimed on line 11 and the rent credit on line 10 of a 1979 Fenn l or 
lA. This credit may not be claimed on any other fonn. 

The credit reduces a person's Wisconsin income tax. If the credit is 
larger than the tax due, the excess is not refundable. 

A 1979 Wisconsin income tax return must be filed with the Department of 
Revenue by April 15, 1980. If a person forgets to claim the 1979 property 
tax/rent credit on his or her 1979 Wisconsin return (or claims the wrong 
amount of credit), an amended return, 1979 Fonn lX, may be filed on or 
hefore April 15, 1984 to claim thi~ credit. 

r;i:.NTERS-HOW TO DETERMINE THE RENT CREDIT 

,e f:):-mula for computing the rent credit is: 25% (or 20% if landlord 
1urnishes heat) x rent paid in 1979 for living quarters x 12% = rent 
credit. To simplify the computation of the rent credit, the instructions 
~or Wisconsin Fenn l and lA contain a table which may be used to detennine 
the rent credit. For example, a person who paid rent in 1979 totalling 
$2,550 (and the landlord furnished the heat) would find a rent credit of 
$61 in the table. (If the renter paid the heat rather than the landlord, 
the credit would be $77.) 
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"Rent paid in 1979 for living quarters" is the rent a person paid in 1979 
for living quarters which were used as his or her primary residence. The 
primary residence does not have to be located in Wisconsin. For purposes 
of the rent credit, a person can only have one primary residence at a 
time. For example, if a person pays rent for two apartments in May, 
1979, only the rent paid for the apartment the person occupied as 
his or her primary residence may be used in computing the rent credit. 
"Rent paid 1n 1979 for living quarters" does not include amounts paid for 
domestic, food, medical or other services unrelated to use of the dwelling 
as housing. It also does not include amounts paid for housing that is 
exempt from property taxes, unless the exempt housing is owned and operated 
by a Wisconsin public housing authority which makes payments in lieu of 
real estate taxes to the municipality in which the property is located. 

If a person shared living quarters with one or more persons (other than a 
person's spouse or dependents), "rent paid in 1979 for living quarters" in­
cludes only the portion of the total rent which that person actually paid in 
1979. For example, three persons rented an apartment for $300 per month, 
paying total rent of $3,600 in 1979. If each person paid $1,200 of such rent, 
each would claim a credit based on $1,200 of rent. If one person wrote a check 
for $300 to the landlord each month and then received $100 cash or other kind 
of payment from each of the other two persons as their contribution to the rent, 
each person is considered to have paid rent of $100 for each month. 

If one person paid the total rent of $3,600, with no reinilursement from 
the other two persons, that person who paid the rent would claim a rent 
credit based on $3,600 rent paid in 1979. The other two persons did not 
pay any rent and therefore cannot claim the rent credit. 

D. PROPERTY OWNERS-HOW TO DETERMINE PROPERTY TAX CREDIT 

The property tax credit is computed as follows: Property taxes paid in 
1979 on a person's home and other property not used in a business x 12% = 
property tax credit. The instructions for Form l and lA contain a table 
which makes it easy to determine the credit. 

"Property taxes paid in 1979" includes the total amount of property taxes 
a person paid in 1979 on property not used for business purposes. It may 
include taxes on a person's home, cottage, land, or other property, pro­
vided such property is not used for business purposes. Such taxes paid 
in 1979 are not limited to 1979 taxes, but may include taxe-s for any year, 
i IJCl udiflg delinquent taxes. The property does not have to be located in 
l-J1scons1n. 

If property taxes are deductible as a trade or business expense for federal 
tax purposes (under section 162 of federal Internal Revenue Code), such 
taxes may not be included in computing the credit (for example, taxes on 
a farm or rental property). "Property taxes paid in 1979" also does not 
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<r~lurle anv charaes for soecial assessments, delinquent interest and 
: : \""i ccs included on a prooerty tax bi 11 . 

'• a oersrm ownpd a mnhile home in 1979, "property taxes paid in 1979" 
'",clurles parking ppr•,nt fees paid to a municipality and any personal 
orooerty taxes paid on the mobile home in 1979. 

If a person owns property with another person (other than his or her 
spouse), each person's "property taxes paid in 1979" is based upon his 
or her ownership interest in the property. For example, if two brothers 
jointly own a house and each paid property taxes of $1,000 on the house 
in 1979, each would claim a property tax credit based on $7000 of property 
taxes. 

if Property was sold in 1979, the seller's "property taxes paid in 1979" 
are the property taxes set forth in the closing agreement pertaining to 
the sale. (Example: If the closing agreement indicated $500 of property 
taxes were allocated to the seller, the seller is considered to have 
pairl $500 in 1979.) If the closing agreement does not specify a proration 
o• property taxes, the 1979 taxes must be divided between the buyer and 
seller on the basis of the number of months each of them owned the 
property during 1979. The amount allocable to the seller is considered 
to have been paid during 1979. 

Example: The property tax on a home for 1979 is $1,200 and the home was 
sold on July 1, 1979. The seller's taxes are not set forth in the closing 
agreement. The seller is considered to have paid $600 in 1979. 

$l 200 x 6 (months own seller = $600 ' l tota mont 

If a person purchased property in 1979, and paid the 1979 property taxes 
in 1979, the buyer's "property taxes paid in 1979" are the total property 
taxes paid in 1979 on such property less the taxes allocated to the seller 
in the closing agreement. 

Example: Buyer purchased a house on April 1, 1979 and paid the total 
1979 taxes of $1,000 in December 1979. The closing agreement allocated 
$250 of taxes to the seller. The buyer's "proPerty taxes paid in 1979" 
~rn $750 ($1,000 less $250). 

•he h11ypr only paid $600 of the $1,000 to the city treasurer in 1979. 
,.,,_y~r's "propertv taxes paid in 1979" are $450 computed as follows: 

$750 bu er's share of 1979 taxes 
I .u,i(J (total 1979 taxes x $600 (taxes paid in 1979) = $450 

T· •he closino aqrPPm~nt does not specify a proration of property taxes, 
c,.- 197,i taxes must be divided between the buyer and the seller on the 
has,, of the number of months each of them owned the property during 1979. 

E,;ampl e: 
taxes of 
buyer is 

Buyer purchased a home on July 1, 1979 and paid the total 1979 
$1,000 in 1979. For computing the property tax credit, the 
considered to have paid taxes of $500 in 1979. 
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$ 6 ~months owned by buyer) = $500 1 ,OOO x 12 tota 1 months) 

If the buyer paid only $400 of the $1,000 in 1979, the buyer's "taxes 
paid in 1979" (for computing the credit) would be $200. 

6 fmonths owned by buyer) $400 (taxes paid in 1979) = $200 
12 total months) x 

E. MARRIED PERSONS-HOW TO COMPUTE CREDIT 

Husband and wife may compute their property tax or rent credit using the 
total amount of rent paid in 1979 and property taxes paid in 1979. After 
computing this credit, it may be divided between them in any manner they 
choose. 

Example: Husband and wife jointly own a home and paid $2,000 of taxes 
on such home in 1979. Wife solely owned a cottage and paid $500 of taxes 
on the cottage in 1979. The property tax credit is $300 computed as 
follows: $2,500 ($2,000 + $500 paid in 1979) x 12% = $300 {property tax 
credit). The $300 credit may be divided between husband and wife in any 
manner they choose on their 1979 return. 

F, PART-YEAR RESIDENTS-HOW TO COMPUTE CREDIT 

Part-year residents must reduce their rent paid in 1979 or property taxes 
paid in 1979 by 1/12 for each month they were not a resident of Wisconsin. 
Fifteen days or more of any month is considered a full month_. 

Example: A person moved from Illinois to Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin 
resident on May 13, 1979. In 1979, the person paid taxes of $1,000 on 
an Illinois home and $500 of taxes on a Wisconsin home. The portion of 
the taxes which may be used to determine the property credit is $1,000. 

8 ~months a Wisconsin resident) x $l 500 = $1 000 
12 total months) ' ' 

(Note: Since the person was a resident of Wisconsin for more than 15 
days in May, 1979, the person is considered a Wisconsin resident for 
all of May. The person was a Wisconsin resident for 8 months (May -
December).) 

G. QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT THE 1979 PROPERTY TAX/RENT CREDIT 

1. Q. Can a person file for both homestead credit for 1979 and the property 
tax/rent credit? 

A. Yes. A person can file for homestead credit for 1979 and still claim 
the property tax/rent credit on a 1979 Form 1 or lA. 
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2. Q. Are the property taxes and rent which are used to detennine the 1979 
property tax/rent credit different than the property tax and rent amounts 
used to compute a credit under the Homestead credit program? 

A. Yes, in certain instances. The following is a comparison of the rent and 
taxes which may be used to determine a 1979 Homestead credit and the 
property tax/rent credit. 

May taxes on property located outside of 
Wisconsin be used? 

Must property taxes be paid before credit 
is claimed? 

In determining a 1979 credit, may taxes 
or rent for other years (e.g., 1978) which 
are paid in 1979 be used? 

Is there a limit of the amount of property 
taxes or rent used to detennine a credit? 

When an individual's home is part of a 
larger property (e.g., a farm) used 
partly for business, may the taxes on 
the entire property be used? 

Is rent reduced by the value of utilities, 
furniture, furnishings and appliances 
provided as part of the rent? 

1979 
Homestead 

Credit 

1979 
Property 
Tax/Rent 

Credit 

No Yes 

No Y~ 

No Y~ 

Yes No 

Yes No 
(Subject to a 
120 acre limit) 

Yes No 

3. Q. Can a claim for this credit be filed on behalf of a deceased person? 

A. Yes. A person does not have to be living at the time a claim for this 
credit is filed on Fann 1 or lA. A person may file a claim for the 
credit on behalf of the deceased person, but the credit may only be 
claimed on the decedent's Wisconsin Fann 1 or lA. Only those property 
taxes paid by the decedent while he or she was living in 1979 may be 
considered in computing the property tax credit. If the decedent rented 
in 1979, include only the rent paid in 1979 for the period the decedent 
occupied his or her living quarters. 

4. Q. If a person lives part of 1979 in tax-exempt housing (i.e., not subject 
to property taxes), can the person still claim a credit? 

A. Yes, if during 1979 the person pays any of the following: 
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a) property taxes for nonbusiness property 
b) rent for living quarters which are subject 

to real estate taxes 
c) rent to a tax-exempt housing authority which makes payments in 

lieu of taxes under s. 66.40(22) of the Wisconsin Statutes 

5. Q. Must a person occupy the property for which rent or property tax was 
paid? 

A. Renters must occupy the living quarters used as their primary 
residence. However, a person is considered to be occupying his or her 
living quarters even though he or she is temporarily absent from the 
living quarters. 

Property owners are not required to occupy the property on which the 
property tax credit is based. For example, a person does not have to 
occupy the land, cottage, or home that he or she owns and paid property 
taxes on in 1979. 

6. Q. Would a person ever have to subtract an amount from rent paid to compute 
the rent credit? 

A. Yes. The rent paid in 1979 for a person's living quarters must be 
reduced if the rent includes domestic, food, medical or other services 
unrelated to the use of the rented quarters as housing. For example, 
ff a person's rent includes maid services, nursing care or food, the 
value of those services would have to be subtracted from the rent before 
computing the rent credit. 

7. Q. A person paid $200 per month rent in 1979 ($2,400 total rent paid in 1979) 
for living quarters which included furniture, parking, use of a swimming 
pool and tennis courts. The landlord paid the heat and electricity bills 
to the utility company. What is the rent paid in 1979? 

A. The "rent paid in 1979 for living quarters" for this person is $2,400. 
The rent does not have to be reduced for the furniture, parking, and use 
of swimming pool and tennis courts. The rent credit is $59. If the renter 
had paid the heat instead of the landlord, the rent credit would be $74. 

8. Q. A person rented an apartment and paid 13 months rent in 1979, $200 per 
month for January through December, 1979 and a late payment for December, 
1978. In this situation, may the 13 months rent paid in 1979 be used 
fn computing the rent credit? 

A. Yes. All rent paid in 1979 for living quarters used as the person's 
primary residence may be included in computing the rent credit. Rent paid 
in 1979 of $2,600 ($200 x 13 payments) would be used to compute the 
rent credit. 
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9. Q. A person rented an apartment from January through April, 1979 and paid 
$200 per month for four months in 1979 but only lived there through March 
31, 1979. On April 1, 1979 the person rented and moved into another apart­
ment and paid rent of $300 per month in 1979 for April through December, 
1979. The person paid rent for 13 months in 1979 ($200 x 4 months = 
$800, $300 x 9 months= $2,700). May the person use the total 13 months 
rent paid in 1979 of $3,500 in comouting the rent credit? 

A. No, only the rent paid in 1979 for the apartment the person occupied as 
his or her primary residence may be used to compute the credit. In 
this example, the rent paid in 1979 would be $3,300. 

Rent (Jan.-March) 
Rent (April-Dec.) 

$200 X 3 
$300 X 9 

Total Rent Paid in 1979 

= $ 600 
= 2,700 

$3,300 

(Note: The rent paid of $200 for April, 1979 may not be used in 
computing the credit because that apartment was not occupied as 
the person's primary residence in April, 1979.) 

10. Q. If a person paid rent for living quarters in Wisconsin and, in addition, 
paid property taxes on an out-of-state cottage, can the person claim a 
credit for both the rent and property taxes paid? 

A. Yes. The property does not have to be located in Wisconsin. For 
example, if a person rented an apartment in Wisconsin and owned a 
cottage in Minnesota, the person would be eligible for both the rent 
and property tax credit. , 

11. Q. A person paid rent for an apartment which was used as the person's 
primary residence for all of 1979. During two months of the summer, 
this person also paid rent for a cottage on a lake in northern Wisconsin. 
May the person use the rent paid for the apartment and the cottaQe to 
determine the rent credit? 

A. No. The person may use only the rent paid on his or her primary 
residence (the apartment). The rent paid for the cottage may 
not be used in computing the rent credit. 

12. Q. During the period January through April 1979, a person paid rent of 
$150 per month for an apartment in which heat was paid for by the 
landlord. During the rest of 1979 this person paid rent of $200 per 
month for an apartment in which he or she (renter) paid for the heat. 
How does the person compute the rent credit? 

A. A separate credit for each apartment must be determined and then the 
two credits combined to compute the total rent credit. Based on rent 
paid of $600 ($150 x 4) for the apartment with heat paid by the landlord, 
a rent credit of $16 would be determined by using the appropriate column 
(column 1) of the rent credit table included in the instructions for 
Form 1 and lA. Based on rent paid of $1,600 ($200 x 8) for the aoartment 
which the renter paid the heat, a credit of $50 would be determined by 
using the appropriate column (column 2) of the table. The two credits 
would then be added together and a total rent credit of $66 ($16 olus 
$50) entered on line 10 of the Wisconsin income tax return. 
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Both boxes which appear on line 10 of the Wisconsin income tax return 
should be checked. The renter should indicate next to each box the 
amount of rent paid for the apartment for which he or she paid the heat 
($1,600) and the amount of rent paid for the apartment for which the 
landlord paid the heat ($600). 

13. Q. May a person claim property taxes as an itemized deduction and disregard 
the property tax credit? 

A. No. Taxes may no longer be claimed as an itemized deduction on the 
Wisconsin income tax return, regardless of whether or not the property 
tax credit is claimed. 

14. Q. A person paid his or her 1978 property taxes of $1,000 in 1979, and 
received the 1978 special 10% property tax/rent credit of $100, as well 
as the rebate check of $100 in 1979. Must this $200 be subtracted 
from the taxes paid in determining the property tax/rent credit on the 
person's 1979 return? 

A. No. The 1979 credit may be based on the full $1,000 of property taxes 
paid during 1979. The person should not reduce his or her taxes of 
$1,000 by either the 1978 special property tax credit of $100 or the 
rebate of $100. 

15. Q. A person's 1979 property tax bill is $1,000. The person pays $500 of 
the taxes in Decerrber, 1979 and the remaining $500 in February, 1980. 
What amount of the property tax bill is used in computing the credit? 

A. Since the 1979 credit must be based on property taxes paid in 1979, the 
person would use the $500 of taxes paid in December, 1979 in computing 
the credit. 

16. Q. What amount is used for computing the property tax credit if a tax bill 
shows total taxes of $1,500, less a "state tax credit" of $225, plus an 
additional charge for a special assessment or $200 for street repair? 
The net amount due is $1,475 (1,500 less $225 plus $200). 

A. Taxes of $1,275 would be used in computing the credit. This is the 
amount of net general taxes ($1,500) less the state tax credit ($225). 
Special assessment charges may not be included as taxes paid for computing 
the credit. 

17. Q. A person owns three parcels of real estate: a home, a rental unit, and a 
summer cottage. In computing the property tax credit, may the person 
use property taxes paid in 1979 of $1,500 on the home, $2,800 on the 
rental unit, and $700 on the cottage? 

A. In computing the credit, a person may use all property taxes, except 
those taxes which are includible as a trade or business expense. There­
fore, the taxes of $2,800 paid on the rental unit could not be used. 
If the cottage was rented out for part of the year, the prorated taxes 
for the cottage for that part of the year would also have to be excluded. 
For example, if the cottage was rented out for June, July and August, 
$175 of the taxes could not be used ($700 x ¼ = $175), leaving a balance 
of $525. The total taxes paid in 1979 for computing the property tax 
credit is $2,025 ($1,500 + $525). 
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If a person owns property with another person (other than his or her 
spouse), how are "property taxes paid in 1979" determined? 

A. Each person's "property taxes paid in 1979" is based upon his or her 
ownership interest in the property. For example, if two brothers jointly 
own a house (each owns 50% of house) and each paid property taxes of 
$1,000 on the house in 1979, each would claim a property tax credit 
based on $1,000 of property taxes. If the one brother had paid the 
total property tax bill of $2,000, he would base his credit on only 
$1,000 of property taxes which reflects his ownership percentage of 
50%. Since the other brother paid no property taxes, he is not eligible 
for the credit. 

If one brother wrote a check in 1979 for $2,000 to the city treasurer for 
the property taxes, and he received $1,000 in 1979 from his brother for 
that brother's one-half share of the property taxes, each brother is 
considered to have paid $1,000 for property taxes in 1979. 

19. Q. Can a husband and wife have two separate principal residences and both 
claim the property tax or rent credit? For example, assume one spouse 
lives in a house in the city and pays the property taxes of $1,000 in 
1979 on her principal residence where she lives, and the husband pays 
rent for his principal residence in a nursing home? 

A. The property tax credit would be computed for the taxes on the house. 
The rent credit would be computed for rent paid to the nursing home. 
The total of both of these credits may be split between husband and 
wife in any manner they choose. 

20. Q. If a husband and wife marry in 1979, how do they compute their credit? 

A. They can add the rent or property taxes paid while they were single to 
the rent or property taxes paid after their marriage to comoute their 
credit. For example, husband and wife were married on September 1, 1979. 
For January through August of 1979, the wife paid rent of $200 per month 
and the husband paid rent of $150 per month. For September through 
December 1979, they paid rent of $250 per month for one aoartment. Their 
total rent paid in 1979 for computing the rent credit is $3,800. 

Wife (Jan.-Aug.) 
Husband (Jan.-Aug.) 
Husband and wife (Sept.-Dec.) 

Total Rent Paid in 1979 

$200 X 8 = $1,600 
$150 X 8 = 1,200 
$250 X 4 = 1,000 

$3,800 

21. Q. May a person who was a resident of Wisconsin for only part of 1979 claim 
the property tax/rent credit? 

A. Yes, a person is eligible for a prorated credit if he or she was a resident of 
Wisconsin for at least 15 days in any month during 1979. For example, 
if a person became a resident of Wisconsin on December 17, 1979, the 
person would be eligible for the credit (December 17 through December 31 
is 15 days). If the person became a Wisconsin resident on December 18, 
1979, he or she would not be eligible (less than 15 days). 
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22. Q. How do part-year residents of Wisconsin deten11ine this credit? 

A. Part-year residents must reduce their property taxes or rent by 1/12 
for each month they were not residents of Wisconsin. In this calcu­
lation, fifteen (15) days or more of any month is considered a full 
month. For example, a person is a resident of Wisconsin from February 17 
to December 31, 1979. Total property taxes paid during 1979 are $1,000, 
including $200 paid on property in Illinois and $800 paid on Wisconsin 
property. The $1,000 of taxes paid in 1979 must be reduced by 2/12 
(2 months not a Wisconsin resident). 

$1,000 X 2/12 = $167 

$1,000 less $167 = $833 (Property Taxes Paid in 1979) 

Based on $833 of taxes paid in 1979, the property tax credit is $101. 

23. Q. How does a person living in a mobile home compute the credit? 

A. Owners of mobile homes can claim both a rent credit based on rent paid 
for the space their mobile home occupies, and a property tax credit 
based on monthly parking pen11it fees (which constitute property tax 
paid) paid to the municipality or personal property taxes paid on the 
mobile home in 1979. For example, a person paid $60 per month in 1979 
for space rental and $25 per month for parking pen11it fees. The person 
can base his or her rent credit on space rental of $720 ($60 x 12) and 
base the property tax credit on parking pen11it fees of $300 ($25 x 12). 
Using the tables provided in the Wisconsin Form 1 or lA instructions, 
the rent credit is $23 (if the owner of the mobile home paid for the 
heat) and the property tax credit is $38. 
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