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Nonresident Military Compensation No
Longer Considered When Completing
Form 1NPR
The federal Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (Public
Law 108-189) was signed by the President on
December 19, 2003. One of the provisions of this new
law states that “A tax jurisdiction may not use the
military compensation of a nonresident servicemember
to increase the tax liability imposed on other income
earned by the nonresident servicemember or spouse
subject to tax by the jurisdiction.”

This provision will affect the computation of tax on
Form 1NPR for a nonresident servicemember.

Form 1NPR has two columns, column A for reporting
federal income and column B for reporting Wisconsin
income. When completing line 1 of Form 1NPR (wages,
salaries, tips, etc.), the amount of wages to report in the
federal column should not include military
compensation received while the servicemember was
not a resident of Wisconsin. The servicemember should
write “nonresident servicemember” and the amount of
military compensation received while not a Wisconsin
resident in the space to the left of line 1. Any taxable
military compensation received while the
servicemember was a resident of Wisconsin continues to
be reported in column B of Form 1NPR.

(continued on page 3)

Information or Inquiries?
This issue of the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin includes a
comprehensive listing of addresses and telephone
numbers to use if you wish to contact the Department of
Revenue about any of the taxes administered by the
Processing and Customer Services Division, and the
Income, Sales, and Excise Tax Division.

The listing appears on pages 34 to 37 of this Bulletin. It
is arranged alphabetically, by the type of tax or credit
involved.     �

New Tax Laws
Since the last issue of the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin, the
Wisconsin Legislature has enacted changes to the
Wisconsin tax laws. On pages 38 through 48 of this
Bulletin is a supplement containing brief descriptions of
the individual and fiduciary income tax, corporation
franchise or income tax, sales and use tax, and alcohol
beverage regulation provisions.     �

Rice Lake Office Closed
The Department of Revenue has closed its Rice Lake
branch office, effective the end of April 2004. Customer
services for persons in this location are being provided
from the Eau Claire district and Hayward branch offices.

The Department of Revenue remains committed to
providing the best possible service to its customers in
the Rice Lake area, as well as statewide. Customers in
that location may contact the Eau Claire district office
(telephone 715-836-2811), the Hayward branch office
(telephone 715-634-8478), or the Madison headquarters
office (telephone 608-266-2772). Assistance and
information are also available 24 hours a day, 7 days a
week on the department’s Internet web site,
www.dor.state.wi.us.     �

Suggestions for Tax Practitioners -
Mailing Addresses and Direct Deposit
Information
With the increase in the number of electronically filed
returns received this year, the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue (“DOR”) has been encountering a significantly
larger volume of direct deposit rejects from banks and
undeliverable refund checks from the Post Office. A
majority of the returns that have generated the rejects
and returned checks were prepared by tax practitioners.

When a direct deposit reject occurs, the refund must be
issued via a paper check instead. This adds
approximately one month to the time it takes to receive
a refund. Undeliverable refund checks are held until
DOR is contacted with correct address information.
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The following suggestions are offered by DOR to tax
practitioners, so they may better serve their customers:

� Verify the customer’s current mailing address.

� When a customer elects a direct deposit of their
refund, verify the accuracy of their bank routing
number and account number. A check is the best
document to use to verify the routing number, as
this information is not always correct on a deposit
slip.

Following the above steps will help customers receive
their refunds timely, and in the manner they have
elected.     �

2004 Estimated Income Tax
Requirements for Individuals, Estates,
and Trusts
Individuals and fiduciaries that expect to owe $200 or
more of income tax (including recycling surcharge) with
their 2004 Wisconsin income tax return are required to
pay 2004 Wisconsin estimated tax. There are exceptions
for certain estates and trusts, as explained below. A
2004 Form 1-ES, Wisconsin Estimated Tax Voucher, is
filed with each estimated tax payment. (Note: Only
individuals and fiduciaries making estimated income tax
payments may file a Form 1-ES.)

For calendar year taxpayers, the first estimated income
tax payment was due on April 15, 2004. Installment
payments are also due on June 15, 2004, September 15,
2004, and January 17, 2005 (January 16 is a Sunday).
For fiscal year taxpayers, installment payments are due
on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th months of the
fiscal year and the 1st month of the following fiscal
year. (Note: If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday,
or legal holiday, use the next business day.)

Estates and grantor trusts that are funded on account of a
decedent’s death are only required to make estimated

tax payments for taxable years that end two or more
years after the decedent’s death. For example, an
individual died on March 28, 2003. A grantor trust that
was funded on account of the individual’s death is not
required to make estimated tax payments for any taxable
year ending before March 28, 2005. The first year that
the trust is required to make estimated payments is
2005.

A trust that is subject to tax on unrelated business
income is generally required to pay 2004 Wisconsin
estimated income tax if it expects to owe $500 or more
(including recycling surcharge) on a 2004 Wisconsin
franchise or income tax return (Form 4T). A 2004
Form 4-ES, Wisconsin Corporation Estimated Tax
Voucher, is filed with each estimated tax payment.
Installment payments for such trusts are due on the 15th
day of the 3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th months of the taxable
year.

If a taxpayer does not make the estimated tax payments
when required or underpays any installment, interest
may be assessed.     �
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Nonresident Military Compensation No Longer
Considered When Completing Form 1NPR
(Continued from page 1)

The form instructions should be followed for the
remainder of the form. For example, when adding the
federal column, nonresident military compensation will
not be included in the total federal income on line 30 of
the 2003 Form 1NPR. This federal income from line 30
is then used to compute the ratio of Wisconsin income
to federal income on line 31, complete line 32, and
determine the standard deduction amount to enter on
line 33c.

This revised computation of tax for nonresident
servicemembers is available for all years open to
adjustment. Amended returns must generally be filed
within four years of the original due date of the return.

To file an amended Form 1NPR, servicemembers must
complete another Form 1NPR for the same year as
shown on the original return. Complete instructions for
filing an amended Form 1NPR are included in the
Form 1NPR instructions for each year. The Form 1NPR
and instructions for 2003 and prior years are available
on the Department of Revenue’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us. They are also available by
contacting the department at (608) 266-1961 or
forms@dor.state.wi.us.

Questions concerning the taxation of nonresident
servicemembers may be directed to the department at
(608) 266-2772 or income@dor.state.wi.us.     �

Farmers Receive $40 Million in
Farmland Credits
Direct benefits of approximately $40.0 million were
distributed to Wisconsin farmers in 2003, primarily for
the 2002 tax year, through the farmland preservation
credit program and the farmland tax relief credit
program. This is approximately a $9.9 million increase
over the amount of direct benefits that were distributed
through these programs during 2002.

The farmland preservation credit and farmland tax relief
credit are paid as a reduction in Wisconsin income tax,
or as a cash refund if the credits exceed income tax due.
The total combined amount of the farmland preservation
credit and farmland tax relief credit may not exceed
95% of the farm property taxes.

Farmland Tax Relief Credit Program

It is not necessary for the farmland to be subject to
agricultural zoning or a farmland preservation
agreement to receive farmland tax relief credit. This
program provides direct benefits to any qualifying
farmland owner with 35 or more acres of farmland.
About 55,900 farmers, including about 840
corporations, claimed farmland tax relief credits totaling
$23.6 million in 2003, for an average credit of $422.

The credit is computed as a percentage of up to $10,000
of property taxes on farmland (exclusive of
improvements), up to a maximum credit of $1,500. The
Department of Revenue calculates the percentage each
year, based on the amount appropriated for the program.

The credit for 2002 claims equaled 30% of the first
$10,000 of property taxes on farmland, but limited to a
maximum credit of $1,500. For the 2003 tax year
(credits claimed in 2004), the credit is equal to 16% of
the first $10,000 of property taxes, but limited to a
maximum credit of $1,500.

Farmland Preservation Credit Program

About 20,500 farmers, including about 350
corporations, claimed farmland preservation credits
totaling $16.4 million in 2003. The credit averaged $801
per claimant. About 37% of farm owners with 35 or
more acres claimed the credit, which equaled about 23%
of claimants’ average property tax bills.

The goals of the farmland preservation credit program
are twofold –

� To preserve Wisconsin farmland by means of local
land use planning and soil conservation practices.

� To provide property tax relief to farmland owners.

To qualify for the credit, farmland must be 35 acres or
more and must either be zoned for exclusive agricultural
use, or be subject to a farmland preservation agreement
between the farmland owner and the state. In addition,
participants must comply with soil and water
conservation standards set by the state Land
Conservation Board.     �

mailto:forms@dor.state.wi.us
mailto:income@dor.state.wi.us
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Reduce Processing Delays - Use
Preferred W-2 Forms
To provide fast and accurate income tax processing, the
Department of Revenue uses scanner technology to
capture wage statement (Form W-2) information. The
department is requesting that employers NOT use
carbon copied W-2 forms, including NCR. Carbon and
NCR copied W-2 forms do not scan well, and this
often necessitates additional time-consuming steps. This
can result in delays in processing refunds for tax
returns with those forms.

The preferred format for a Form W-2 is the Internal
Revenue Service (“IRS”) approved format, which can
be viewed on the IRS web page,
www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html. The IRS format
W-2 form is 8.5 by 5.5 inches and can easily be imaged
by production scanners. All information on the
Form W-2 should be printed as large as possible within
each space allotment and should not be printed over
preprinted information on the form. Always complete
the form using black ink.

If you have questions regarding the use or preparation of
preferred W-2 forms, you may call the department at
(608) 261-7681.     �

Index of Reference Material Available
Are you looking for an easy way to
locate reference material to research a
Wisconsin tax question? The

Wisconsin Topical and Court Case Index may be just
what you need.

This two-part index will help you find reference
material relating to income, franchise, withholding,
sales/use, estate, and excise taxes.

The “Topical Index” portion lists by tax type,
alphabetically by subject, references to Wisconsin
statutes, administrative rules, tax releases, private letter
rulings, Wisconsin tax publications, Sales and Use Tax

Reports, Attorney General opinions, and Wisconsin Tax
Bulletin articles.

The “Court Case Index” lists by tax type, alphabetically
by issue, decisions of the Wisconsin Tax Appeals
Commission, Circuit Court, Court of Appeals, and
Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Wisconsin Topical and Court Case Index is
available by subscription for $18 per year, plus sales tax.
This includes a volume published in January and an
addendum published in June. To order your copy,
complete the order blank on page 53 of this Bulletin.
The Index is also on the department’s Internet web site
at www.dor.state.wi.us. Just click on “Publications.”  �

Collecting Sales Tax at Temporary
Events
Spring is here, and so are flea markets and craft fairs.
Again this year, representatives from the Department of
Revenue will be attending selected events across the
state, to determine if vendors are appropriately
registered for and collecting Wisconsin sales tax.

Vendors who make taxable sales of $1,000 or more in a
year are required to hold a Wisconsin seller’s permit.
They need to charge sales tax at a rate ranging from 5%
to 5.6%, depending on the county in which the sale
takes place.

For those vendors who do not have a seller’s permit or
who have a delinquent account with the Department of
Revenue, department representatives will be meeting
them at the registration table, to get them registered
and/or to collect their delinquent account.

Operators (organizers) of these temporary events are
required by law to report to the Wisconsin Department
of Revenue the name, address, and seller’s permit
number of each vendor selling merchandise at an event.
A social security number or federal employer
identification number is required if the vendor does not
have a seller's permit number.

New for this year is a page on the department’s web site,
www.dor.state.wi.us, devoted to temporary events. Click
on “Business” and then “Temporary Events.” The page
has links to forms, publications, and tax returns, as well
as an e-mail address for any questions that an operator
or vendor may have.

Questions about the responsibilities of operators or
vendors at temporary events may also be referred to the
department’s Temporary Events Coordinator, Tom
Beyer, at (608) 266-7183 or tbeyer@dor.state.wi.us.   �

http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html
mailto:tbeyer@dor.state.wi.us
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Tax Publications Available
Listed below are 74 publications that are available, free
of charge, from the Department of Revenue. Copies are
available at any department office, or by mail, e-mail,
fax, or the Internet.

By Mail

Write to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Forms
Request Office, Mail Stop 1-151, P.O. Box 8949,
Madison, WI 53708-8949; call (608) 266-1961; or fax a
request to (608) 264-7776.

By E-Mail

You may e-mail your request to forms@dor.state.wi.us.

Via Your Fax Machine

Use the department’s Fax-A-Form system by calling
(608) 261-6229 from a fax telephone and entering the
retrieval code “10” plus the publication number.

Via the Internet

Access the department’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us, and click on “Publications” and
then “Tax Publications.”

Note: The numbers of some publications may be
followed by an asterisk (*). These are publications that
are new or have been revised since the last issue of the
Wisconsin Tax Bulletin.

Income and Franchise Taxes

102 Wisconsin Tax Treatment of Tax-Option (S)
Corporations and Their Shareholders (12/03)

103 Reporting Capital Gains and Losses for Wiscon-
sin by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts (11/03)

104 Wisconsin Taxation of Military Personnel (10/03)

106 Wisconsin Tax Information for Retirees (11/03)

109 Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2003
(11/03)

112 Wisconsin Estimated Tax and Estimated
Surcharge for Individual, Estates, Trusts,
Corporations, Partnerships (11/02)

113 Federal and Wisconsin Income Tax Reporting
Under the Marital Property Act (10/03)

116 Income Tax Payments are Due Throughout the
Year (11/02)

119 Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) (12/02)

120 Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates,
and Trusts (11/03)

121 Reciprocity (11/03)

122 Tax Information for Part-Year Residents and
Nonresidents of Wisconsin for 2003 (11/03)

123 Business Tax Credits for 2003 (12/03)

125 Credit for Tax Paid to Another State (11/03)

126 How Your Retirement Benefits Are Taxed
(11/03)

600 Wisconsin Taxation of Lottery Winnings (12/03)

601 Wisconsin Taxation of Pari-Mutuel Wager Win-
nings (1/02)

Sales and Use Taxes

200 Electrical Contractors – How Do Wisconsin Sales
and Use Taxes Affect Your Business? (11/02)

201 Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Information (11/02)

202 Sales and Use Tax Information for Motor Vehicle
Sales, Leases, and Repairs (11/00)

203 Sales and Use Tax Information for Manufacturers
(7/00)

204 Sales and Use Tax Information for Colleges, Uni-
versities and Technical Colleges (3/01)

205 Use Tax Information for Individuals (4/03)

206 Sales Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations
(6/00)

207 Sales and Use Tax Information for Contractors
(10/00)

210 Sales and Use Tax Treatment of Landscaping
(11/03)

211 Cemetery Monument Dealers – How Do Wiscon-
sin Sales and Use Taxes Affect You? (6/00)

212 Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax on Imported
Goods? (4/03)

213 Travelers: Don’t Forget About Use Tax (4/03)

214 Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax? (4/03)

216 Filing Claims for Refund of Sales or Use Tax
(2/03)

mailto:forms@dor.state.wi.us
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217 Auctioneers – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (1/00)

219 Hotels, Motels, and Other Lodging Providers –
How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use Taxes Affect
Your Operations? (2/03)

220 Grocers – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (10/01)

221 Farm Suppliers and Farmers – How Do Wisconsin
Sales and Use Taxes Affect Sales to Farmers?
(3/02)

222 Motor Vehicle Fuel Users: Do You Owe Use
Tax? (3/00)

223 Bakeries – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (1/03)

224 Veterinarians – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Business? (6/99)

225 Barber and Beauty Shops – How Do Wisconsin
Sales and Use Taxes Affect Your Operations?
(12/02)

226* Golf Courses – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (4/04)

227 E-file Sales Tax returns with S.I.P. (3/01)

229 Brackets for Collecting Wisconsin Sales or Use
Tax on Retail Sales (11/01)

230 Sales and Use Tax Information for Sellers of
Antiques, Crafts, and Artwork (12/02)

Excise Tax

AB-103 Alcohol Beverage Tax Information (3/03)

MF-106* Alternate Fuel Tax Information (4/04)

MF-107* Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Information (4/04)

MF-108* General Aviation Fuel Tax Information (4/04)

302 Wisconsin Alcohol Beverage and Tobacco Laws
for Retailers (4/03)

Other Taxes and Credits

127 Wisconsin Homestead Credit Situations and
Solutions (11/03)

400 Wisconsin’s Recycling Surcharge (12/03)

403 Premier Resort Area Tax (2/03)

410 Local Exposition Taxes (2/03)

503 Wisconsin Farmland Preservation Credit (11/03)

508 Wisconsin Tax Requirements Relating to
Nonresident Entertainers (2/03)

W-166* Wisconsin Employer’s Withholding Tax
Guide (2/04)

Audits and Appeals

501* Field Audit of Wisconsin Tax Returns (2/04)

505 Taxpayers’ Appeal Rights of Office Audit
Adjustments (2/02)

506 Taxpayers’ Appeal Rights of Field Audit
Adjustments (10/03)

507 How to Appeal to the Tax Appeals Commission
(6/03)

515 Non-Statistical Sampling (1/01)

Other Topics

111 How to Get a Private Letter Ruling From the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue (2/01)

114 Your Wisconsin Taxpayer Bill of Rights (10/01)

115 2004 Handbook for Federal/State Electronic Fil-
ing (11/03)

117 Guide to Wisconsin Information Returns (11/03)

124 Petition for Compromise of Delinquent Taxes
(11/03)

130 Fax A Form (12/03)

140 A Tax Practitioner’s Guide to Electronic Filing
(6/03)

401 Extensions of Time to File (12/03)

405 Wisconsin Taxation of Native Americans (12/01)

500 Tax Guide for Wisconsin Political Organizations
and Candidates (12/03)

502 Directory of Wisconsin Tax Publications (11/03)

504 Directory for Wisconsin Department of Revenue
(5/03)

509 Filing Wage Statements and Information Returns
on Magnetic Media or by Electronic Transmission
(11/03)

700 Speakers Bureau presenting . . . (6/00)     �
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Filing Wisconsin Fiduciary Income Tax
Returns (Form 2) - Estates and Trusts
(Note: The fiduciary income tax return filing
requirements for estates are discussed in the article titled
“Filing Wisconsin Tax Returns for a Deceased
Taxpayer,” on page 9 of this Bulletin. Refer to the
section in that article titled “Fiduciary Income Tax
Return(s).”)

� A Wisconsin “resident” trust must file a Wisconsin
fiduciary return if it has (a) any taxable income for
the taxable year, or (b) gross income of $600 or
more, regardless of the taxable income.

Gross income means all income, before deducting
expenses, reportable to Wisconsin which is received
in the form of money, property, or services. It does
not include items which are exempt from Wisconsin
tax.

Example: A resident trust has $400 of interest
income. It makes no distributions and therefore only
has an exemption of $100, which would result in
taxable income of $300. The trust is required to file
a Wisconsin fiduciary return, because it has taxable
income.

� A “nonresident” trust must file a Wisconsin
fiduciary return if it has (a) any Wisconsin taxable
income for the year, or (b) gross income from
Wisconsin sources of $600 or more, regardless of
the taxable income.

Wisconsin source income includes income or gain from:

a. Real or tangible personal property located in
Wisconsin.

b. A business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on within Wisconsin, including a corporation taxed
under Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code.

c. Personal or professional services performed in
Wisconsin either as an individual or as a member of
a partnership or limited liability company.

d. Income received from the Wisconsin State Lottery
or a multijurisdictional lottery if the winning lottery
ticket or lottery share was purchased from a
Wisconsin retailer.

Resident Trust

A trust created by a decedent’s will (testamentary trust)
is resident at the domicile of the decedent at the time of
the decedent’s death, unless transferred by a court
having jurisdiction to another court’s jurisdiction.

Inter vivos trusts that are made irrevocable and were
administered in Wisconsin before October 29, 1999,
shall be considered resident at the place where the trust
is being administered.

The following inter vivos trusts that become irrevocable
on or after October 29, 1999, or that became irrevocable
before October 29, 1999, and are first administered in
Wisconsin on or after October 29, 1999, are resident of
Wisconsin:

1. Trusts, or portions of trusts, the assets of which
consist of property placed in the trust by a person
who is a resident of Wisconsin at the time that the
property was placed in the trust if, at the time that
the assets were placed in the trust, the trust was
irrevocable.

2. Trusts, or portions of trusts, the assets of which
consist of property placed in the trust by a person
who is a resident of Wisconsin at the time that the
trust became irrevocable if, at the time that the
property was placed in the trust, the trust was
revocable.

A trust is revocable if the person whose property
constitutes the trust may revest title to the property in
that person.

A trust is irrevocable if the power to revest title does not
exist.

Examples:

Law prior to October 29, 1999:

a. John Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on October 22, 1999, in Wisconsin
that is to be administered in Wisconsin. The trust
will be taxable to Wisconsin.

b. Jack Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on October 22, 1999, in Florida
that is to be administered in Florida. The trust will
not be taxable to Wisconsin.
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c. Mary Doe, a resident of Florida, set up an
irrevocable trust on October 22, 1999, in Wisconsin
that is to be administered in Wisconsin. The trust
will be taxable to Wisconsin.

d. James Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, set up a
grantor (revocable) trust in Arkansas that is to be
administered in Arkansas. The trust became
irrevocable at his death on October 22, 1999. James
was a Wisconsin resident at death. This trust will
not be subject to Wisconsin income tax.

e. Susan Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, has an
irrevocable trust that is administered in Florida. On
October 22, 1999, she made an irrevocable gift to
the trust of her company stock. The earnings on the
stock, if taxable at the trust level, would not be
taxable to Wisconsin.

f. Martha Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust administered in Wisconsin in 1997.
Martha moved to Florida on October 22, 1999,
established Florida residency, and moved her trust
to Florida. The trust would no longer be taxable to
Wisconsin, as the trust would now be administered
in Florida.

Law change effective on October 29, 1999:

a. John Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on December 15, 2003, in
Wisconsin that is to be administered in Wisconsin.
The trust will be taxable to Wisconsin.

b. Jack Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on December 15, 2003, in Florida
that is to be administered in Florida. The trust will
be taxable to Wisconsin. The trust will continue to
be taxable to Wisconsin even if Jack Doe changes
his domicile to another state.

c. Mary Doe, a resident of Florida, set up an
irrevocable trust on December 15, 2003, in
Wisconsin to be administered in Wisconsin. The
trust would not be taxable to Wisconsin since Mary
Doe was not a Wisconsin resident at the time the
trust became irrevocable.

d. James Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, set up a
grantor (revocable trust) in Arkansas that is
administered in Arkansas. The trust became
irrevocable on James’s death on December 15,
2003, and James was a Wisconsin resident at the

time of death. The trust would be taxable to
Wisconsin.

e. Susan Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, has an
irrevocable trust that is administered in Florida. On
December 15, 2003, she made an irrevocable gift to
the trust of $2 million of her company stock. The
value of the assets in the trust are $1.5 million
before the gift, and $3.5 million after. All income
from the $2 million that was placed in the trust on
December 15, 2003, will be taxable to Wisconsin.
The assets put into the trust prior to October 29,
1999, will not be taxable to Wisconsin.

f. Martha Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust in Wisconsin on December 15,
1999. In March 2003, Martha moved to Florida and
became a Florida resident. The trust would remain
taxable to Wisconsin since Martha Doe was a
resident of Wisconsin at the time the trust became
irrevocable.

This law change provides that any and all trusts funded
by a Wisconsin resident, that became irrevocable on or
after October 29, 1999, and contributions to such trusts
by a Wisconsin resident, are subject to Wisconsin
income tax. It exempts from Wisconsin income tax all
trusts that became irrevocable on or after October 29,
1999, and are funded by a nonresident, even if
administered in Wisconsin.

Qualified Funeral Trust (QFT)

For taxable years beginning after August 5, 1997, if a
qualified funeral trust (QFT) makes the election under
sec. 685 of the Internal Revenue Code for federal
income tax purposes, that election also applies for
Wisconsin income tax purposes. A QFT must treat each
beneficiary’s interest as a separate trust. A copy of the
federal Form 1041-QFT must be attached to the Form 2.

Electing Small Business Trust (ESBT)

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997,
electing small business trusts (ESBTs) may be S
corporation shareholders. The portion of an ESBT that
consists of stock of one or more S corporations is treated
as a separate trust. The separate trust is subject to
Wisconsin income tax at the highest rate under
sec. 71.06(1), (1m), (1n), or (1p), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).
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Closing Certificates

A trust may request a Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries
from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue on the
Form 2 that is filed for the year prior to the final year.
Section 71.13(2), Wis. Stats., provides that the
department may issue a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries to an “Executor, administrator, personal
representative or trustee applying to a court having
jurisdiction” in order to obtain the court’s approval for
final distribution and discharge of the fiduciary. The
department will issue the Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries only in cases where the court has required it
to close a proceeding.

The following information should be attached to the
certificate request:

� Payment of any tax due.

� A copy of the trust instrument and any amendments.

� Copies of the annual court accountings for the last
three years. If annual accountings have not been
filed with the court, verification that the court
requires the certificate to close a proceeding.

� A detailed statement of why the trust is closing.

� A completed Schedule E, lines 1 through 8 and the
Summary of Assets, lines 1 through 8 on page 4 of
Form 2.

The certificate request should be mailed to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 5-144
P.O. Box 8904
Madison, WI 53708-8904

The receipt of the Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries
will not relieve the fiduciary from the responsibility of
filing the final fiduciary return.     �

Filing Wisconsin Tax Returns for a
Deceased Taxpayer
More than one type of Wisconsin tax return may be
required for a deceased taxpayer, such as:

� Individual income tax return

� Fiduciary income tax return(s)

� Estate tax return

� Inheritance tax return (for deaths prior to January 1,
1992).

Individual Income Tax Return

A personal representative or petitioner must file an
individual income tax return, Form 1, 1A, 1NPR, or
WI-Z, for a decedent from the beginning of the year to
the date of death. The due date of the individual return is
April 15th of the year following death.

The filing requirements for tax years beginning in 2003
are as follows:

a. Single person - gross income of $9,000 or more.

b. Married persons filing jointly - gross income of
$18,000 or more.

c. Married person filing separately - gross income of
$9,000 or more (each spouse).

d. Head of household:

(1) Under age 65 - gross income of $10,760 or
more.

(2) Age 65 or over - gross income of $11,010 or
more.

e. Part-year resident or nonresident - gross Wisconsin
income of $2,000 or more.

When a surviving heir files a return claiming a refund
on behalf of a person who died and the refund is larger
than $100, a completed Form I-804, Claim for Dece-
dent’s Wisconsin Income Tax Refund, should be
attached to the front of the return. If a refund of $100 or
less is being claimed, a note should be attached to the
front of the tax return, listing the survivor’s name, ad-
dress, social security number, and relationship to the
person who died, and the note should be signed.

The person who files the return should write “deceased”
after the decedent’s name in the name and address area
at the top of the return.

If the taxpayer did not have to file a return but paid
estimated tax or had tax withheld, a return must be filed
to get a refund.

If a taxpayer’s spouse died during 2003 and the taxpayer
did not remarry in 2003, a joint return may be filed. A
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joint return for 2003 may also be filed if a taxpayer’s
spouse died in 2004 before filing a 2003 return. A joint
return should show the deceased spouse’s 2003 income
before death and the surviving spouse’s income for all
of 2003. “Filing as surviving spouse” should be written
in the area where the return is signed. If someone else is
the personal representative, he or she must also sign.

If a refund is being claimed as a surviving spouse filing
a joint return with the deceased and the above
instructions are followed, a Form I-804 is not required.

Fiduciary Income Tax Return(s)

Resident Estate

Every personal representative or special administrator of
an estate of a Wisconsin decedent must file a Wisconsin
Fiduciary Income Tax Return, Form 2, if the gross in-
come of the estate is $600 or more. Gross income means
all income, before deducting expenses, reportable to
Wisconsin that is received in the form of money, prop-
erty, or services. It does not include items that are
exempt from Wisconsin tax.

The decedent is considered a resident of the state in
which the decedent was domiciled at the time of death.

Nonresident Estate

A nonresident estate must file a Wisconsin fiduciary
return, Form 2, if it has gross income (as described in
“Resident Estate” above) of $600 or more from
Wisconsin sources, and a federal fiduciary return is
required to be filed with the Internal Revenue Service.
Income from sources within Wisconsin includes income
or gain from:

a. Real or tangible personal property located within the
state.

b. A business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on within the state, including a corporation taxed
under Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code.

c. Personal or professional services performed within
the state as an individual or a member of a partner-
ship or limited liability company.

d. Income received from the Wisconsin State Lottery
or a multijurisdictional lottery if the winning lottery
ticket or lottery share was purchased from a
Wisconsin retailer.

The first fiduciary income tax return filed by a personal
representative or petitioner of an estate covers the period
from the date of death of the decedent to the end of the
first year selected by the fiduciary. The taxable year
cannot be longer than 12 months, must end on the last
day of a month, and must coincide with the year selected
for filing the federal return. The return is due on the
15th day of the 4th month after the close of the taxable
year.

Closing Certificates

An estate may request a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue
on the Form 2 that is filed for the year prior to the final
year. Section 71.13(2), Wis. Stats., provides that the
department may issue a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries to an “Executor, administrator, personal
representative or trustee applying to a court having
jurisdiction” in order to obtain the court’s approval for
final distribution and discharge of the fiduciary. The
department will issue the Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries only in cases where the court has required it
to close a proceeding.

Copies of the inventory and will, including any codicils,
should be attached with the request. If these documents
were previously submitted with a Wisconsin Estate Tax
Return, it is not necessary to submit them again. A
completed Schedule D, lines 1 through 10 and the
Summary of Assets and Deductions, lines 1 through 20
on page 3 of Form 2 should also be provided with the
request.

The receipt of the Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries
will not relieve the fiduciary from the responsibility of
filing the final fiduciary return.

NEW: If the gross estate, plus adjusted taxable gifts and
specific exemption, exceeds $675,000 or if the estate
files a federal estate tax return, Form 706, a Wisconsin
Estate Tax Return, Form W706, must be filed. The
W706 must be filed whether or not estate tax is due. The
Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries will not be issued
until the W706 is filed.

Note: If an estate does not have enough income to re-
quire filing and needs a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries, or if the estate will be filing only one
fiduciary return when the estate is closed and needs the
closing certificate before filing the return, the following
procedures should be used.

a. Complete the top third of the Form 2, page 1.
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b. Insert the appropriate statement in line 1:

(1) “Gross income is less than $600 and no 1041
is required,” or

(2) “A first and final return will be filed upon
closing the estate.”

c. Complete the appropriate “Information Required”
section of Schedule D, on page 3 of Form 2.

d. Sign and date the Form 2.

e. Attach copies of the inventory and will.

f. Mail the certificate request to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 5-144
P.O. Box 8904
Madison, WI 53708-8904

Estate Tax Return

A tax is imposed upon any transfer of property to any
distributee in either of the following cases: (a) when the
transfer is from a person who dies while a resident of
Wisconsin at death; or (b) when the transfer is of prop-
erty within the jurisdiction of Wisconsin, and the
decedent was not a resident of Wisconsin at death.

Wisconsin Estate Tax Basis

1/1/92 to 9/30/02 For deaths occurring from January 1,
1992, through September 30, 2002, the Wisconsin estate
tax is a tax based on the federal credit for state death
taxes. This tax is imposed upon both resident and
nonresident decedents.

10/1/02 to 12/31/07 For deaths occurring from
October 1, 2002, through December 31, 2007, the
Wisconsin estate tax will be based on the federal credit
for state death taxes and the federal estate tax as
computed under the federal estate tax law in effect on
December 31, 2000.

After 12/31/07 For deaths occurring after December 31,
2007, the Wisconsin estate tax will again be based on
the federal credit for state death taxes, and the federal
estate tax is to be computed under the federal estate tax
law in effect on the date of the decedent’s death. Under
current federal estate tax law, there is no state death tax
credit for deaths occurring in 2008 or 2009, and there is
no federal estate tax for deaths occurring in 2010. See

the note in the next section regarding deaths occurring in
2011 and thereafter.

Wisconsin Estate Tax Filing Requirements

The Wisconsin estate tax filing requirements for deaths
occurring on or after January 1, 1992, are as follows:

              Period           . Filing Requirement*

1992 to 1997 $   600,000

1998 $   625,000

1999 $   650,000

2000 and 2001 $   675,000

1/1/02 to 9/30/02 $1,000,000

10/1/02 to 12/31/07 $   675,000

2008 through 2010 NO WISCONSIN ESTATE
TAX FOR 2008-2010

2011 and after $   675,000**

*Note: The filing requirement is based on the gross
estate, plus adjusted taxable gifts and specific
exemption.

**Note: The federal estate tax changes are “sunsetted.”
In the absence of further changes, the federal estate tax
as it existed prior to the 2001 federal law changes will
be restored in 2011, and unless there are changes to
Wisconsin law, the Wisconsin estate tax will also be
restored in 2011.

Since the Wisconsin estate tax for deaths occurring from
October 1, 2002, through December 31, 2007, is based
on the federal estate tax law in effect on December 31,
2000, the filing requirements for filing a Wisconsin
Estate Tax Return, Form W706, differ from the federal
filing requirements for those years. For example, the
federal filing requirement is $1,500,000 in 2004 and
2005 and goes up in later years. Therefore, there may be
a Wisconsin filing requirement for those years, even
though no federal estate tax return is required.

Wisconsin Estate Tax Forms

The Wisconsin Estate Tax Return, Form W706, should
be filed by the person responsible for filing the federal
estate tax return (personal representative, special ad-
ministrator, trustee, distributee, or other person signing
the federal Form 706). A Tax Computation Schedule,
Schedule TC, should accompany the Form W706.
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The Form W706 is due nine months after the date of
death or when the federal estate tax return is required to
be filed, as extended, whichever is later. For federal es-
tate tax returns filed after July 25, 2001, the Internal
Revenue Service (“IRS”) provides an automatic six-
month extension of time to file the return. A request for
a federal extension must be made on federal Form 4768
and filed with the IRS on or before the due date of the
return. Wisconsin will accept the federal extension; a
copy of the approved Form 4768 must be filed with the
Wisconsin Form W706. If no federal estate tax return is
required, a Wisconsin-only extension may be requested
using Wisconsin Form W4768, Application for
Extension of Time to File a Wisconsin Estate Tax Return
(W706).

Regardless of when the tax return is filed, the tax is due
nine months after date of death. There is no provision
for extending the time to pay the Wisconsin tax (even
though a federal extension is available for paying the
federal tax). If the tax is not paid within nine months of
the decedent’s death, interest is imposed at 1% per
month from the date of death. If an advance payment
of Wisconsin estate tax is to be made (before the estate
tax return is filed), the payment should be submitted
with a completed Wisconsin Form 401T, Report of Es-
tate or Inheritance Tax Payment.

If the return is filed after the due date, as extended, there
is a penalty equal to 5% of the tax. The minimum pen-
alty is $25 and the maximum penalty is $500.

Examples:

1. Decedent A died April 15, 2003. An extension of
time to file the federal estate tax return was obtained
from the IRS. The Wisconsin estate tax return and
payment of the tax were submitted on January 31,
2004, which was within the extension period. Tax of

$1,200 was due. The total amount due is $1,314,
computed as follows:

Tax $1,200
Interest      114  (1% x 9 1/2 months)
Total $1,314

2. Decedent B died April 15, 2003, and did not obtain
an extension to file from the IRS or from the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue. The Wisconsin
estate tax return was filed January 31, 2004, and
showed no tax due. This estate owes the minimum
penalty of $25.

Copies of Form W706, instructions, Schedule TC,
Form W4768, and Form 401T, as well as earlier
versions of the forms, are available by accessing the
department’s web site, www.dor.state.wi.us. Click on
“Forms,” then scroll to and click on “Estate, Inheritance
and Gift Tax.”

Certificate Determining Estate Tax

Upon receipt of the Wisconsin estate tax return and after
review for correctness, the Department of Revenue will
issue a Certificate Determining Estate Tax. If the IRS
increases or decreases the federal estate tax, the person
entitled to the refund or liable for the additional tax is
required to notify the department within 30 days.

Inheritance Tax Return

There is no Wisconsin inheritance tax for decedents
dying on or after January 1, 1992. If death occurred
prior to January 1, 1992, you may obtain information
and the appropriate forms by calling (608) 266-2772, or
by accessing the department’s web site,
www.dor.state.wi.us. Click on “Forms,” then scroll to
and click on “Estate, Inheritance and Gift Tax.”     �

Reminder: Personal Representative
Fees Taxable to the Recipient
Every year, the Department of Revenue discovers many
instances in which the personal representative (executor
or administrator) of an estate does not report on their
individual income tax return the fees that they receive
for the performance of their duties.

All personal representatives must include in their gross
income fees paid to them from an estate. If paid to a
professional executor or administrator, self-employment
tax also applies to such fees. For a nonprofessional
executor or administrator (a person serving in such

capacity in an isolated instance, such as a friend or
relative of the decedent), self-employment tax only
applies if a trade or business is included in the estate’s
assets, the executor actively participates in the business,
and the fees are related to operation of the business.

For more information on the taxability of personal
representative fees, please contact the department at
(608) 266-2772 or via e-mail at
income@dor.state.wi.us.     �

mailto:income@dor.state.wi.us
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Take Advantage of Wisconsin’s
Voluntary Disclosure Program
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue encourages
businesses and individuals who are not in compliance
with Wisconsin tax laws to voluntarily come forward.
Taxpayers may remain anonymous throughout the
voluntary disclosure process. Voluntary disclosure
applies to all types of taxes administered by the
Department of Revenue’s Income, Sales, and Excise
Tax Division.

Benefits of Voluntary Disclosure

� Written agreement to restrict the statute of
limitations.

� Waiver of penalties.
� Possible reduction in number of periods for which

returns must be filed.
� Elimination of the risk of being discovered under

audit.

Taxpayer Qualifications

To be considered for voluntary disclosure treatment, a
taxpayer must meet certain conditions and enter into a
written agreement with the department. The following
conditions must be met for a taxpayer to qualify for
voluntary disclosure treatment:

� No tax returns filed for the period in question.
� No registration for the type of tax involved during

the period in question.
� No contact by the department within the last 6 years

regarding a registration/filing requirement or an
assessment/audit assignment.

How to Apply

A taxpayer or the taxpayer’s representative may request
voluntary disclosure treatment by submitting a written
request to the department for consideration. The request
must include the following information:

� Description of Wisconsin activities for the years
involved.

� List of property owned or leased in Wisconsin.
� Taxable year-end.
� Date taxable activities began in Wisconsin.
� Whether the tax involved has been collected or

withheld, and if so, for what periods.
� Prior contacts by the Department of Revenue.

� Other types of tax returns currently being filed with
the department.

� Whether the taxpayer is registered with the
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
(formerly the Secretary of State) to transact business
in Wisconsin.

Note: If applying for voluntary disclosure for more than
one tax type, each tax type must be specified in the
written request. For example, a request for voluntary
disclosure for income tax does not cover sales tax.

Taxpayer Responsibilities

� File all returns for the periods agreed upon (usually
4 prior years) within ninety days.

� Pay all tax, late filing fees, and interest according to
the agreement.

� File the current and any subsequent returns in a
timely manner according to the agreement.

� Make books and records available to the
department.

Department Rights

All voluntary disclosure agreements include provisions
reserving the department’s right to:

� Audit factual representations made as part of the
agreement.

� Audit the taxpayer and any returns filed.
� Void the agreement if factual misrepresentations

have been made by the taxpayer and assess
additional tax, penalties, and interest, as appropriate.

� Void the agreement if the taxpayer fails to comply
with any of its terms.

Confidential Inquiries About Voluntary Disclosure

Information regarding Wisconsin’s Voluntary
Disclosure Program can be found on the department’s
web site at www.dor.state.wi.us. If you prefer, you may
submit any questions you may have by phone at
(608) 266-3969, by e-mail at wivoldis@dor.state.wi.us,
or by letter. Send written requests to the following
address:

Voluntary Disclosure Program
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8906
Madison WI 53708-8906 �

mailto:wivoldis@dor.state.wi.us
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Woman Sentenced for Theft and Fraud
Terri L. Messer of Columbus, Wisconsin, was sentenced
in March 2004 to two years in prison on one count of
felony theft and two counts of filing a fraudulent income
tax return. She previously plead no contest to these
charges and was found guilty in October 2003. Dane
County Circuit Court Judge Gerald Nichol also imposed
an additional thirteen years of extended supervision on
Messer, upon completing her prison sentence.

According to the original criminal complaint, Messer
was an employee in the finance department of the Sun
Prairie, Wisconsin-based Wisconsin Conference of the
United Methodist Church, an organization that governs
almost 500 United Methodist churches in Wisconsin.
Because of her position with the organization, she had
access to four of their bank accounts. Between
November 1999 and March 2002, she embezzled money
from the organization by writing out unauthorized

checks to herself and her credit card and phone
companies. She evaded approximately $9,000 in income
taxes for 1999 to 2001, based on unreported
embezzlement income of $136,429.

Messer’s scheme ended after she and her ex-husband
separated in late 1999 or early 2000. She purchased a
car, paid off debts on some of her children’s cars,
bought a big-screen television, and continued to make
house payments, despite making only about $30,000 per
year. She admitted writing three checks for a total of
about $12,000 and paid the money back. An audit by the
Methodist Church Conference uncovered many more
checks.

Judge Nichol also ordered Messer to repay the money
she had not returned. The Department of Revenue has
asked the Dane County District Attorney’s Office to
request the judge to also order restitution for the state
income tax evaded.     �

Computing a Corporation’s Wisconsin
Deductions Due to Differences Between
Wisconsin and Federal Law
Although the Wisconsin corporate franchise and income
tax is based on the Internal Revenue Code, several
provisions of federal law do not apply for Wisconsin
purposes. Federal provisions that do not apply for
Wisconsin include the following:

� The 30% additional depreciation deduction for
qualified property acquired after September 10,
2001.

� The 50% additional depreciation deduction for 50%
bonus property acquired after May 5, 2003.

� The increase in the section 179 expense deduction
from $25,000 to $100,000.

� The increase in the section 179 investment
limitation from $200,000 to $400,000.

� The availability of the section 179 expense
deduction for certain computer software.

Some effects of these differences are illustrated below.

Section 179 expense deduction

Facts: As a result of claiming the federal 30% and 50%
bonus depreciation, Corporation A’s federal income is
zero. For Wisconsin purposes, Corporation A must
make a modification to its federal income to add back

the federal bonus depreciation and to subtract the
depreciation allowable under the Internal Revenue Code
as amended to December 31, 2000. Corporation A
determines that its Wisconsin income is $200,000.
Corporation A has a section 179 expense deduction
carryover that it cannot use on its federal return.

Question: May Corporation A elect to use its section
179 expense deduction carryover to offset the additional
income that it is reporting for Wisconsin?

Answer: No. The depreciation difference is a
modification to federal taxable income required by
section 71.26(3)(y), Wis. Stats. Wisconsin law does not
provide a modification to recompute the section 179
expense deduction in this situation. Therefore,
Corporation A’s Wisconsin section 179 expense
deduction is limited to the amount allowable in
computing its federal taxable income. If a corporation
does not claim a section 179 expense deduction for
federal purposes, it cannot elect to claim a section 179
expense deduction for Wisconsin.

Charitable contribution deduction

Facts: Since Wisconsin does not allow the deduction for
the federal 30% or 50% bonus depreciation, Corporation
B's Wisconsin income is $500,000 higher than its
federal income. Corporation B's federal deduction for
charitable contributions is limited to 10% of its federal
net income before the deduction for contributions.
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Question: May Corporation B recompute its deduction
for charitable contributions on its Wisconsin return?

Answer: No. The depreciation difference is a
modification to federal taxable income required by
section 71.26(3)(y), Wis. Stats. Wisconsin law does not
provide a modification to recompute the deduction for
charitable contributions in this situation. Therefore,
Corporation B's Wisconsin deduction for charitable
contributions is limited to the amount allowable in
computing its federal taxable income.

MACRS depreciation deduction

Facts: Corporation C places two assets in service in
2003. One is a $61,000 asset placed in service on
October 15, 2003, and the other is a $2,500 asset placed
in service on June 30, 2003. Corporation C's taxable
income before its section 179 expense deduction is
$63,000. All but $500 is claimed as a section 179
expense deduction for federal purposes due to the
taxable income limitation. For federal income tax
purposes, the half-year convention is used to compute
the allowable MACRS deduction. For Wisconsin
purposes, only $25,000 is allowed as a section 179
expense deduction. Corporation C must depreciate the
remaining $36,000 of the October 15 asset and all
$2,500 of the June 30 asset for Wisconsin tax purposes.

Question: For Wisconsin purposes, is Corporation C
required to use the mid-quarter convention, rather than

the half-year convention, to compute its allowable
MACRS deduction?

Answer: Yes. Corporation C is required to use the mid-
quarter convention to compute its allowable MACRS
deduction for Wisconsin purposes. Section 71.26(3)(y),
Wis. Stats., provides that a corporation shall compute
amortization and depreciation under the federal Internal
Revenue Code as amended to December 31, 2000.

Under the Internal Revenue Code, the half-year
convention is used for all MACRS property except that
to which the mid-month or mid-quarter convention
applies. If the mid-quarter test is met, the mid-quarter
convention generally applies to all MACRS property to
which the half-year convention would otherwise apply.
The mid-quarter test is met if, during any taxable year,
the aggregate bases of MACRS property placed in
service during the last three months of the taxable year
exceed 40% of the aggregate bases of MACRS property
placed in service during the taxable year. Nonresidential
real property and residential rental property are not
taken into account for purposes of the mid-quarter test.

Since the basis of MACRS property placed in service in
October exceeds 40% of the aggregate bases of MACRS
property placed in service during the taxable year,
Corporation C must deduct the remaining $36,000 basis
of the October 15 asset and all $2,500 of the June 30
asset using the MACRS mid-quarter convention.     �

Sales and Use Tax Report Mailed
The March 2004 Sales and Use Tax Report (1-04) was
sent in late March and early April to all persons
registered for Wisconsin sales and use tax purposes. The
Sales and Use Tax Report contains summaries of the
recent sales and use tax law changes in addition to other
pertinent sales and use tax information. Topics covered
in the March 2004 Report include:

� filing sales and use tax returns electronically;

� expansion of the use of Electronic Funds Transfer
(EFT);

� new tax laws; and

� sales and installations of compact satellite dish
systems.

A copy of the Report appears on pages 49 to 52 of this
Bulletin. It is also available on the Department of
Revenue’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/sales/04-1.pdf.     �

Wisconsin Tax Bulletin
Annual Index Available
Once each year the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin

includes an index of materials that have
appeared in past Bulletins. The index will help you
locate reference materials including articles, court case
summaries, tax releases, and private letter rulings, to
research questions about Wisconsin taxes.

The latest Wisconsin Tax Bulletin index available
appears in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 137 (January 2004),
pages 39 to 72. It includes information for issues 1 to
136 (through October 2003).     �

http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/sales/04-1.pdf
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Hiring a Speaker? You May Be Required
To Withhold Wisconsin Taxes
If your organization will be hiring a public speaker for
an upcoming meeting, conference, or other event, they
should be aware that they may be considered the
speaker’s “employer” for purposes of withholding
Wisconsin taxes.

An “employer” is any Wisconsin resident person or firm
that contracts for the services of a “nonresident
entertainer.” In the absence of such resident contracting
person or firm, the employer is the last resident person
or firm to have receipt, custody, or control of the
proceeds of the event. If there is neither a resident
contracting person or firm, nor a resident with control of
the proceeds, the employer is any nonresident person or
firm who contracts for or has control of the proceeds of
the event.

A “nonresident entertainer” is a nonresident person who
furnishes amusement, entertainment or public speaking
services, or performs in one or more sporting events,
and includes a foreign corporation (one not organized
under the laws of Wisconsin) not regularly engaged in
business in Wisconsin which derives income from any
of these activities or from these services performed by a
nonresident person.

Wisconsin law requires nonresident entertainers to file a
surety bond or cash deposit if the total contract price for
a performance in Wisconsin exceeds $3,200. This bond
or deposit must be filed to guarantee payment of income
or franchise taxes, sales and use taxes, and any penalties
and interest. The surety bond or cash deposit, along with
a Form WT-11 (this is the application and receipt for the
surety bond or cash deposit), must be filed with the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue at least seven days
before the performance.

If the nonresident entertainer does not file the required
bond or deposit, and the total contract price for a
Wisconsin performance exceeds $3,200, the employer is
required to withhold payment from the entertainer in an
amount for which a bond or deposit should have been
filed. If the employer fails to withhold the required
amount, they will be held liable for the amount that
should have been withheld.

Additional information is available in Publication 508,
Wisconsin Tax Requirements Relating to Nonresident
Entertainers. See the article titled “Tax Publications
Available” on page 5 of this Bulletin, for methods of
obtaining Publication 508. Additional information is
also available by contacting the department by any of
the methods listed below.

Using U.S. Postal Service:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Nonresident Entertainer Program
Mail Stop 5-144
P.O. Box 8906
Madison, WI 53708-8906

Using another service:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Nonresident Entertainer Program
Mail Stop 5-144
2135 Rimrock Road
Madison, WI 53713

By telephone: (608) 266-3645

By fax: (608) 267-0834 (write “Attention Nonresident
Entertainer Program” at the top of the cover page of the
faxed document)

By e-mail: income@dor.state.wi.us (enter “Nonresident
Entertainer Program” on the subject line)     �

To File or Not to File - Corporation Tax
Returns
The Department of Revenue (“DOR”) sends corporation
tax forms and instructions to corporations annually, to
help the corporations comply with their filing
requirements. Sometimes corporations that are no longer
in business, or have never done business after
incorporation, receive these tax forms as well. This is
because the corporation has not filed a proper return
with DOR.

If a corporation dissolves, the corporation must contact
the Department of Financial Institutions (“DFI”) and file
an Articles of Dissolution form. Many corporations
believe that by contacting DFI to dissolve, DOR records
will also be updated to reflect the dissolution, and no
further action is required. DFI does notify the
Department of Revenue of the dissolution; however, the
corporation is required to file a tax return with the
Department of Revenue as well. Until this is done, DOR
will continue to send the corporation tax forms.

mailto:income@dor.state.wi.us
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Following are various circumstances a corporation may
be in, and the proper filing action.

Circumstance Filing Requirement

Activity in Wisconsin
and elsewhere

File the appropriate
corporation tax form (4, 5,
5S, 4I, or 4T).

Activity in Wisconsin
but not elsewhere

File the appropriate
corporation tax form (4, 5,
5S, 4I, or 4T).

No activity in
Wisconsin, but
activity elsewhere

File the appropriate
corporation tax form (4, 5,
5S, 4I, or 4T), and indicate
no activity by entering zeros
or “none.”

No activity in
Wisconsin or
elsewhere, but may
become active in
Wisconsin later.

File Form 4H, Wisconsin
Corporation Declaration of
Inactivity.

No activity now in
Wisconsin or
elsewhere, and will
not become active in
Wisconsin later. *

File the appropriate
corporation tax form (4, 5,
5S, 4I, or 4T), and check
“Final return” in  Box E (or
Box H of Form 4T).

*This applies whether the corporation had no activity
during the year, or it had some activity but is now out of
business.

Questions regarding incorporation or dissolution
may be directed to:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
Division of Corporate and Consumer Services
Corporate Section
P.O. Box 7846
Madison, WI 53707

Phone (608) 261-7577

Fax (608) 267-6813

Questions regarding corporation tax filing
requirements may be directed to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Corporation Review & Adjustment Unit
Mail Stop 3-14
P.O. Box 8908
Madison, WI 53708-8908

Phone (608) 266-0800

Fax (608) 264-6884

Email: corptax@dor.state.wi.us

All corporation tax forms and instructions may be found
on the Department of Revenue’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us.     �

New Internet Page for Delinquent Tax
Help
The Department of Revenue (“DOR”) Compliance
Section has launched a new web page,
www.dor.state.wi.us/html/delhelp, to assist taxpayers in
resolving their past due tax accounts. The site provides
useful information regarding the delinquent tax process,
the ability to submit on-line installment agreement
requests, and answers to frequently asked questions.
Some of the topics covered include:

� bank levies;

� tax liens;

� collection agencies;

� informal hearings;

� wage certifications;

� divorce decrees; and

� credit card payments.

There are also links to frequently used forms, which
may be filled in on-line, printed, and mailed or faxed to
DOR.

For any additional questions you may have after visiting
the web page, please contact the Central Collection
Section  at (608) 266-7879 or
delnqtax@dor.state.wi.us.     �

http://www.dor.state.wi.us/html/delhelp.html
mailto:delnqtax@dor.state.wi.us
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Question and Answer
Caution: The answers in this article reflect
interpretations by the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue, of laws enacted by the Wisconsin Legislature
as of the date of this Bulletin. Laws enacted after that
date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may
change the interpretations.

(Sales and Use Tax)

 I was charged tax on my purchase of a magazine at
 the grocery store. I liked the magazine and ordered

an annual subscription, but I was not charged tax on the
subscription of the same magazine. Is my purchase of
the magazine subscription subject to tax?

 No. Sales of magazines that are sold by subscription
 and regularly issued at average intervals not

exceeding 3 months are exempt from Wisconsin sales
and use tax. However, magazines that are not sold by
subscription (for example, sold at the newsstand or
grocery store) are taxable.

 Is there a list of Wisconsin cities or zip codes by
 county that can be used to determine the proper rate

to apply for sales tax purposes?

 The Department of Revenue currently has no list
 available for distribution that accurately gives the

county for a particular municipality or zip code. This is
because many municipalities and 5-digit zip codes cross
county boundaries.

To accurately determine the county in which a sale takes
place, a seller should ask the customer for the name of
the county where the sale takes place. If that is not
possible, there is a U.S Postal Service web site
(http://www.usps.gov/ncsc/lookups/lookup_zip+4.html)
that allows you to enter a street address, city, and state
and it will give you the 9-digit zip code and county for
that street address. Note that the department cannot
attest to the accuracy of the data on that web site.     �

Administrative Rules in Process
Listed below are administrative rules that are currently
in the rule promulgation process. The rules are shown at
their stage in the process as of April 1, 2004 and at each
step where action occurred during the period from
January 2, 2004, through April 1, 2004.

The listing includes rule numbers and names, and
whether a rule is amended (A), repealed and recreated
(R&R), or a new rule (NR).

To order up-to-date administrative rules of the
Department of Revenue, you can use the order blank on

page 53 of this Bulletin to order the Tax section of the
Wisconsin Administrative Code.

Sent to Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse

2.49 Apportionment of net business incomes of
interstate finance companies – R&R

2.495 Apportionment of net business incomes of
interstate brokers-dealers, investment advisers,
investment companies, and underwriters –
NR     �

Q

A

Q

A
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R e p o r t  o n  L i t i g a t i o n

Summarized below are recent significant Wisconsin Tax
Appeals Commission (WTAC) and Wisconsin Court de-
cisions. The last paragraph of each decision indicates
whether the case has been appealed to a higher Court.

The following decisions are included:

Individual Income Taxes
Assessments - authority of Internal Revenue Service
determinations over

Assessments - correctness
Assessments - interest imposed on
Assessments - timeliness
Assessments - validity of defense to

La Verne I. Iverson ...........................................................19

Sales and Use Tax
Aircraft - taxable use

G & G Trucking, Inc.. .......................................................21

Exemptions - manufacturing machinery and equipment
Wissota Sand and Gravel Company..................................22

Exemptions - printed advertising materials
Plaza Publications, Inc.. ...................................................23

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

Assessments – authority of Internal
Revenue Service determinations over;

Assessments – correctness; Assessments –
interest imposed on; Assessments – timeli-
ness; Assessments – validity of defense to.
La Verne I. Iverson vs. Wisconsin Department of Reve-
nue (Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission,
November 12, 2003). The issues in this case are:

A. Whether the department’s assessment was made in a
timely manner.

B. Whether the department’s alleged motivation to
generate revenues to cover the state’s budget deficit
is a valid defense to the assessment.

C. Whether the department properly assessed interest at
a rate of 12%.

D. Whether the department is bound by a previous In-
ternal Revenue Service determination concerning
some of the same issues as in the assessment.

E. Whether the department properly disallowed capital
gain treatment on Termination Payments received
by the taxpayer.

F. Whether the department properly assessed the tax-
payer for unreported gambling winnings.

G. Whether the department properly disallowed the
deduction for health insurance premiums claimed by
the taxpayer.

H. Whether the department properly included in the
taxpayer’s income the face value of a promissory
note portion of a settlement distribution.

From October 16, 1965 until November 1, 1967, the
taxpayer was a salaried employee of one of the State
Farm insurance companies, with the title of Trainee
Agent. From November 1, 1967, until his retirement on
October 31, 1995, he was an independent insurance
agent for several affiliated State Farm insurance compa-
nies. At no time prior to or during his service for State
Farm, either as an employee or an independent insur-
ance agent, did the taxpayer purchase from State Farm
an agency or policies then or previously in effect.

As of the date the taxpayer became an independent in-
surance agent for State Farm, he entered into a State
Farm Agent’s Agreement (“Initial Agent’s Agreement”).
The Initial Agent’s Agreement provided that the tax-
payer would be an independent contractor and
responsible for most of his own expenses. It also pro-
vided that the agreement between State Farm and the
taxpayer could be terminated by State Farm at will, sim-
ply by providing notice to the taxpayer. Upon
termination of the Agreement, either by the taxpayer or
State Farm, the Agreement provided for Termination
Payments to be paid to the taxpayer based upon a for-
mula. Under the formula, the taxpayer was entitled to
Termination Payments based on various percentages of
premiums collected or commissions that would have
been due had the Agreement not been terminated.

Prior to his retirement in 1995, the taxpayer entered into
at least one subsequent Agent’s Agreement (“Subse-



20 Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 138 – April 2004

quent Agent’s Agreement”) that superceded all prior
agreements between himself and State Farm. The Sub-
sequent Agent’s Agreement does not materially differ
from the Initial Agent’s Agreement in any respect perti-
nent to this matter. When he retired, the taxpayer did not
execute any separate agreement with State Farm with
respect to or obtain any valuation of the value of his
agency, any of its assets, or the Termination Payments.
The taxpayer received Termination Payments based on
the Subsequent Agent’s Agreement in the following
amounts: $17,370.57 in 1997, $16,594.04 in 1998,
$14,836.18 in 1999, and $15,536.76 in 2000.

When he filed his Wisconsin income tax returns for the
years 1997 through 2000, the taxpayer characterized the
Termination Payments he received as capital gain in-
come and excluded 60% of the payments from
Wisconsin taxable income. In each of these years, on his
federal Schedule D, he reported a zero basis in the Ter-
mination Payments. On each of these same schedules,
he did not include a sales price for the Termination
Payments, but instead inserted a notation referring to
agency premium renewal service compensation.

On April 5, 1998, the taxpayer was playing dollar slot
machines at a casino in Marquette, Iowa, when he hit
the jackpot, winning $1,350. The casino withheld
$67.50 in Iowa state income tax and issued a federal
Form W-2G reflecting the amount of the gross winnings
and the tax withheld. The taxpayer did not report the
winnings on his 1998 Wisconsin income tax return, and
filed no 1998 Iowa income tax return.

The taxpayer and his ex-wife were plaintiffs in a class
action suit against certain corporations venued in the
U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida.
In December of 1998, they received a settlement distri-
bution consisting of a check in the amount of $1,511.68
and a promissory note in the amount of $2,318.21. The
law firm transmitting the settlement distribution advised
them that “under most circumstances the distribution
represents income that you must report on your tax re-
turn.” The law firm also filed a 1099-MISC that listed
$3,829.89 as other income paid to the taxpayer and his
ex-wife.

On his 1998 Wisconsin income tax return, the taxpayer
reported $1,511.68 of the settlement proceeds as a long-
term capital gain, excluding 60% of this amount from
Wisconsin taxable income. He did not report any portion
of the promissory note on his 1998 Wisconsin income
tax return.

On his 1998 through 2000 Wisconsin income tax re-
turns, the taxpayer claimed a deduction for self-
employed health insurance premiums in the amounts of
$1,164.35, $1,762.63, and $1,934.85, respectively.
During these years, he was not self-employed and did
not file a federal Schedule SE.

Under the date of February 18, 2002, the department
issued an income tax assessment against the taxpayer
consisting of additional tax of $3,445.38 plus 12% inter-
est of $1,262.61, for the years 1997 through 2000. The
department’s assessment included the following ele-
ments:

1. Disallowance of capital gains treatment of the Ter-
mination Payments for all four years.

2. Inclusion of gambling winnings in income for 1998.

3. Disallowance of capital gains treatment of the set-
tlement proceeds for 1998.

4. Inclusion of the amount of the promissory note in
income for 1998.

5. Disallowance of the deduction for self-employed
health insurance premiums for 1998, 1999 and
2000.

The taxpayer filed a timely petition for redetermination
with the department, the department denied it, and the
taxpayer filed a timely petition for review with the
Commission.

The arguments raised by the taxpayer were as follows:

� The department took too long to issue the assess-
ment.

� The department targeted him because of the state’s
ongoing budget crunch.

� The 12% interest rate is excessive.

� With respect to a number of issues, the Internal
Revenue Service has accepted his position.

� When he retired, he sold to State Farm his right to
continue to receive “service fee compensation,” i.e.,
compensation on policies he sold or maintained.
Therefore, the Termination Payments he received
should be allowed capital gain treatment.

� The department should contact the State of Iowa to
retrieve the amount withheld from his gambling
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winnings, and he actually lost more money gam-
bling than he won.

� It is unfair for the department to disallow his deduc-
tions for health insurance premiums, when
employers may pay health insurance premiums for
their employees without tax consequence to those
employees.

� The cash portion of the settlement distribution he
received should be treated as capital gain, and he
should not have to realize any income upon receipt
of the note until he is actually paid on the note.

The commission concluded as follows:

A. The assessment was issued in a timely manner,
within the statute of limitations. The department was
completely within its authority to issue the assess-
ment when it did. If the taxpayer believes that
assessments should be issued in a timelier manner,
his only recourse is to the legislature.

B. The department’s alleged motivation to generate
revenues to cover the state’s budget deficit is not a
valid defense to the assessment.

C. The department is required by law to impose interest
on assessments at the specified rates. Sec. 71.82(1)
Wis. Stats. (2001-2002) sets the rate at 12%. Com-
plaints about the statutorily mandated interest rate
are better directed to the legislature.

D. The record contains no substantiation of any issues
raised by the Internal Revenue Service, or the reso-
lution of any such issues. But even if the taxpayer
had offered such substantiation, it would be immate-
rial. The definition of “federal taxable income” and
“federal adjusted gross income” allows that such

amounts may be determined by the department or on
appeal from the department (Sec. 71.01(4) Wis.
Stats. (2001-2002)). Therefore, neither the depart-
ment nor the Commission is bound by any
determination of the Internal Revenue Service.

E. The Termination Payments are not entitled to capital
gain treatment. The record indicates that the tax-
payer never owned the right to service fee
compensation, and nothing in the Agent’s Agree-
ments indicates that State Farm is buying the
taxpayer’s right to service fee compensation with
Termination Payments.

F. The taxpayer is liable for Wisconsin income tax on
his gambling winnings, and he has failed to sub-
stantiate any potentially offsetting gambling losses.
It is the taxpayer’s, not the department’s, obligation
to claim a refund from the State of Iowa, if he is in-
deed entitled to a refund.

G. The taxpayer is not entitled to a deduction for health
insurance premiums because he is not self-
employed. Fair or not, it is the law.

H. The taxpayer is liable for the face value of the
promissory note portion of his settlement distribu-
tion. The taxpayer offered no substantiation that the
claim the settlement is based on involved replace-
ment of capital destroyed or lost, so capital gain
treatment is not allowed. Also, the taxpayer offered
no evidence that the maker of the note is other than
responsible or solvent or that the fair market value
of the note is anything other than its face value.
Thus, the value of the note is included in the tax-
payer’s income in the year that it is received.

The taxpayer has not appealed this decision.     �

SALES AND USE TAXES

Aircraft - taxable use. G & G Trucking, Inc.
vs. Wisconsin Department of Revenue

(Wisconsin Supreme Court, February 24, 2004). The
issue in this case is whether the taxpayer made taxable
use of aircraft purchased for the purpose of lease or
rental.

On November 10, 2003, the taxpayer appealed to the
Wisconsin Supreme Court a Court of Appeals decision

that held the taxpayer’s use of aircraft was subject to
Wisconsin sales or use tax. On February 24, 2004, the
Supreme Court denied the petition for review. There-
fore, the Court of Appeals decision is final.

See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 137 (January 2004), page 28,
Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 132 (October 2002), page 25,
and Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 129 (April 2002), page 23,
for summaries of the Court of Appeals, Circuit Court,
and Commission decisions.     �
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Exemptions - manufacturing machinery
and equipment.  Wissota Sand and Gravel

Company vs. Wisconsin Department of Revenue (Wis-
consin Tax Appeals Commission, January 24, 2004).
The issues in this case are:

A. Whether the taxpayer’s activity of picking up mate-
rial (bank run) which has fallen from the face of its
quarry and conveying it to its primary crusher is part
of the taxpayer’s manufacturing operation.

B. Whether the taxpayer’s purchases of wheel loaders,
skid steers, an excavator and light towers for use in
its quarry operations qualify for the exemption for
manufacturing machinery and equipment.

C. Whether the taxpayer was negligent under
sec. 77.60(3), Wis. Stats., for failure to report use
tax on the purchases of taxable tangible personal
property on which no sales or use tax was charged at
the time of purchase.

The taxpayer is a Wisconsin corporation engaged in the
business of selling sand and gravel. The taxpayer oper-
ates three quarries at which it crushed, sorted, and
washed aggregate products into approximately ten prod-
ucts.

The taxpayer separates rock from quarry walls by first
removing overburden (topsoil) from on top of the rock,
then allowing the forces of nature to cause the rock ma-
terial (bank run) to slough off and fall to the ground.

During the period under review, the taxpayer purchased
two 988F wheel loaders, both of which were used exclu-
sively to lift the bank run from the quarry face and carry
the bank run to and deposit it in the primary crusher.
There are no intermediate steps or storage of bank run
between the lifting of the bank run from the base of the
face and its deposit into the primary crusher. The pri-
mary crusher reduces the size of the largest rocks in the
bank run to no larger than three inches in diameter. Once
the bank run has gone through the primary crusher, it is
called breaker run, and includes sand and rocks up to
three inches in diameter. The breaker run moves by con-
veyor through a series of additional crushers, screens
and washers to produce different sizes of sand and
gravel which are deposited in drying piles. The taxpayer
purchased two skid steer loaders which are used to pick
up breaker run that has fallen off conveyors, and replace
it back onto the conveyors to be crushed. The taxpayer
purchased a 980F II wheel loader which is used to move
the sand and gravel from the drying piles to large stor-
age piles where it is ready to be sold to customers.

Water that was used to wash the sand and gravel is
pumped to a series of settling ponds where minute parti-
cles of sand, called fines, settle to the bottom of the
ponds. About once per month, the taxpayer removes the
fines from the four upstream settling ponds using a
322BL hydraulic excavator, a device specifically de-
signed for this purpose when purchased by the taxpayer.
The 322BL hydraulic excavator has a small bucket at
the end of a 65-foot boom. The 322BL hydraulic exca-
vator deposits the fines into a dump truck that transports
the fines to a stockpile, where they dry. Once dry, the
resulting product is called silt or bedding sand, and is
moved to a storage pile where it is ready to be sold.

From time to time, the taxpayer operated one of its
plants at night. In order to operate during evening hours,
the taxpayer used two light towers, each powered with a
self-contained diesel generator. Light towers illuminated
the primary crusher and head pulley that drives the con-
veyor so that the taxpayer’s employees could monitor
the effective and safe operation of this equipment.

The Commission concluded as follows:

A. The taxpayer’s activity of picking up material (bank
run) which has fallen from the face of its quarry and
conveying it to its primary crusher is part of the tax-
payer’s manufacturing operation.

B. The taxpayer’s purchases of two 988F and one 980F
II wheel loaders, two skid steers, and 322BL hy-
draulic excavator for use in its quarry operations
qualify for the exemption for manufacturing ma-
chinery and equipment. The two 988F wheel loaders
were used to convey raw material from plant in-
ventory to the primary crusher. The two skid steers
were used entirely within the scope of manufactur-
ing. The 980F II wheel loader is used to convey to
the point of first storage. The 322BL hydraulic ex-
cavator was used within the scope of manufacturing
because it removed fines from the settling ponds so
they could be moved to a drying area.

The taxpayer’s purchase of light towers for use in its
quarry operations do not qualify for the exemption
for manufacturing machinery and equipment.

C. The taxpayer was negligent under sec. 77.60(3),
Wis. Stats., for failure to report use tax on the pur-
chases of taxable tangible personal property on
which no sales or use tax was charged at the time of
purchase.

The department has appealed this decision to the Cir-
cuit Court.     �
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Exemptions - printed advertising
materials.  Plaza Publications, Inc. vs.

Wisconsin Department of Revenue (Circuit Court for
Dane County, September 22, 2003). This is a judicial
review of a Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission deci-
sion dated January 31, 2003. See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin
134 (April 2003), page 25, for a summary of the Com-
mission’s decision. The issue in this case is whether
purchases of printed advertising materials by Plaza Pub-
lications, Inc. (Plaza) during the years 1996 through
1999 (the period under review), that were shipped to
locations to Plaza’s customer for later shipment outside
Wisconsin, qualify for the exemption in sec. 77.54(25),
Wis. Stats., for printed advertising materials in Wiscon-
sin.

Plaza is a Wisconsin corporation engaged in the publi-
cation of printed advertising materials. Plaza’s primary
business is the publication of tourism-related publica-
tions for which Plaza sells advertising. A major client
was the Greater Milwaukee Convention and Visitor’s
Bureau (GMCVB), for which Plaza published the Mil-
waukee Visitor’s Guide and the 1994 Greater Milwaukee
Meeting Planner’s Guide. Plaza was not paid by
GMCVB, but kept revenues it generated from the sales
of advertising in the publications.

Plaza had a Wisconsin seller’s permit, but did not report
any sales during the period under review, and had the
seller’s permit inactivated in December 1997. Plaza pur-
chased taxable printed advertising materials or printing

services from the printer during the period under review,
paying no sales tax to the printer, and providing the
printer with a continuous exemption certificate stating
“Our publications are always given away free. Never
sold.” The printed advertising materials were delivered
by contract carrier, at Plaza’s direction, to two locations
in Wisconsin designated by GMCVB. None of the pub-
lications were sold by Plaza. GMCVB gave away and
did not sell the publications.

The department contended the exemption in
sec. 77.54(25), Wis. Stats., did not apply because the
printed advertising materials were not transported out-
side the state “by the purchaser.”

The Court found the Commission’s conclusion that
Plaza’s purchases of printed advertising materials during
the years 1996 through 1999, were shipped outside Wis-
consin, was not supported by the record. There was no
evidence showing that either of the two locations desig-
nated by GMCVB was outside Wisconsin. The
Commission had no evidence from which to find that
Plaza or its agent in fact transported the materials out-
side of Wisconsin. Therefore, the decision of the
Commission finding the materials qualify for the ex-
emption in sec. 77.54(25), Wis. Stats., is reversed.

The taxpayer has not appealed this decision.
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T a x  R e l e a s e s

“Tax Releases” are designed to provide answers to the
specific tax questions covered, based on the facts indi-
cated. In situations where the facts vary from those in a
tax release, the answers may not apply. Unless other-
wise indicated, tax releases apply for all periods open to
adjustment, and all references to section numbers are to
the Wisconsin Statutes. (Caution: Tax releases reflect
interpretations by the Wisconsin Department of Reve-
nue, of laws enacted by the Wisconsin Legislature as of
the date published in this Bulletin. Laws enacted after
that date, new administrative rules, and court decisions
may change the interpretations in a tax release.)
The following tax releases are included:

Corporation Franchise and Income Taxes
1. Carryforwards of Wisconsin Tax Credits...................24

Sales and Use Taxes
2. Sales and Installations of Compact Satellite Dish

Systems....................................................................30

CORPORATION FRANCHISE AND
INCOME TAXES

  Carryforwards of Wisconsin Tax Credits

Statutes: Sections 71.28, 71.30(3), 71.47, 71.49(1),
71.75, and 71.77, Wis. Stats. (2001-02)

Wis. Adm. Code: Section Tax 2.11, Wis. Adm. Code
(February 1990 Register)

Note: This tax release incorporates and updates the in-
formation from the tax release titled “Adjustment to
Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Credit Carryover” published
in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 78 (July 1992), page 14.

Background: Wisconsin has a variety of nonrefundable
tax credits, described below, that may be available to
corporations and insurance companies. If a credit is not
entirely offset against Wisconsin franchise or income
taxes due for the current taxable year, the law generally
provides that the balance may be carried forward for
15 years. None of the nonrefundable credits may be off-
set against the recycling surcharge.

The nonrefundable tax credits are listed in the order in
which they must be claimed, as provided in
secs. 71.30(3) and 71.49(1), Wis. Stats. (2001-02):

� Manufacturer’s sales tax credit equals the amount
of Wisconsin state, county, and baseball and football
stadium sales and use taxes paid on fuel and elec-
tricity used in manufacturing tangible personal
property in Wisconsin. The carryforward period for
credits computed prior to the 1980 taxable year was
5 years. [Sections 71.28(3) and 71.47(3), Wis. Stats.
(2001-02).]

� Research expense credit provides an incentive for
increasing qualified research activities in Wisconsin
for the 1984 taxable year and thereafter. [Sec-
tions 71.28(4) and 71.47(4), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Development zones additional research credit
provides an incentive for increasing qualified re-
search activities in a development zone for the 1988
taxable year through taxable years beginning before
January 1, 1998. [Sections 71.28(4)(am) and
71.47(4)(am), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Research facilities credit is available for 5% of the
qualified expenditures to construct and equip new
research facilities or expand existing research facili-
ties in Wisconsin for the 1984 taxable year and
thereafter. [Sections 71.28(5) and 71.47(5), Wis.
Stats. (2001-02).]

� Community development finance credit is avail-
able on or after July 1, 1982, to corporations that
contribute to the Wisconsin Housing and Economic
Development Authority and, in the same year, pur-
chase stock in the Wisconsin Community
Development Finance Company. The 15-year carry-
forward period for unused credits applies beginning
with credits available in the 1984 taxable year.
[Sections 71.28(1) and 71.47(1), Wis. Stats. (2001-
02).]

� Development zones jobs credit encourages the
hiring of certain persons to work in a business in a
development zone for the 1988 taxable year through
taxable years beginning before January 1, 1998. The
jobs credit was refundable for taxable years begin-

1



Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 138 – April 2004 25

ning before January 1, 1997. [Sections 71.28(1dj)
and 71.47(1dj), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Development zones sales tax credit equals the
amount of Wisconsin state, county, and stadium
sales and use taxes paid for eligible property used in
a development zone for the 1988 taxable year
through taxable years beginning before January 1,
1998. The sales tax credit was refundable for tax-
able years beginning before January 1, 1997.
[Sections 71.28(1ds) and 71.47(1ds), Wis. Stats.
(2001-02).]

� Development zones investment credit encourages
the purchase of certain kinds of depreciable, tangi-
ble personal property for use in a business in a
development zone for the 1988 taxable year through
taxable years beginning before January 1, 1998, and
for use in a business in certain development oppor-
tunity zones for taxable years beginning after
January 1, 2000. [Sections 71.28(1di) and
71.47(1di), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Development zones location credit encourages
investment in real property located in a development
zone for the 1988 taxable year through taxable years
beginning before January 1, 1998. [Sections
71.28(1dL) and 71.47(1dL), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Development zones capital investment credit pro-
vides an incentive to purchase tangible personal
property or to acquire, construct, rehabilitate, re-
model, or repair real property located in certain
development opportunity zones for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2002, and in the ag-
ricultural development zone for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2003. [Sections
71.28(1dm) and 71.47(1dm), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Development zones day care credit encourages the
provision of employment-related day care benefits
to qualifying individuals employed in a develop-
ment zone for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1995, and before January 1, 1998. [Sec-
tions 71.28(1dd) and 71.47(1dd), Wis. Stats. (2001-
02).]

� Development zones environmental remediation
credit encourages the clean-up of environmental
pollution in a development zone for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1995, and before
January 1, 1998. [Sections 71.28(1de) and
71.47(1de), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Development zones credit provides an incentive to
clean up environmental pollution and to create or
retain jobs in a development zone for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1998. [Sections
71.28(1dx) and 71.47(1dx), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).]

� Technology zones credit promotes investment in
high-technology businesses in a technology zone for
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2002.
[Sections 71.28(3g) and 71.47(3g), Wis. Stats.
(2001-02).]

� Supplement to federal historic rehabilitation
credit equals 5% of the qualifying costs to rehabili-
tate certified historic structures located in Wisconsin
and used for business purposes if the work begins
after December 31, 1988, and the rehabilitated
property is placed in service after June 30, 1989.
[Sections 71.28(6) and 71.47(6), Wis. Stats. (2001-
02).]

Although the carryforward period generally is 15 years
for each of the tax credits listed above, the statutory lan-
guage concerning the carryforward of unused credits
differs.

Carrryforward Provisions

Section 71.28(3), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), relating to the
manufacturer’s sales tax credit, provides in part:

(b) The tax imposed upon or measured by corpora-
tion Wisconsin net income under s. 71.23(1) or (2)
shall be reduced by an amount equal to the sales
and use tax under ch. 77 paid by the corporation in
such taxable year on fuel and electricity consumed
in manufacturing tangible personal property in this
state. …

(c) 1. If the credit computed under par. (b) is not en-
tirely offset against Wisconsin income or franchise
taxes otherwise due, the unused balance shall be
carried forward and credited against Wisconsin in-
come or franchise taxes otherwise due for the
following 15 taxable years to the extent not offset
by these taxes otherwise due in all intervening
years between the year in which the expense was
incurred and the year in which the carry-forward
credit is claimed.

[Emphasis added.]

Prior to the enactment of 1987 Wisconsin Act 27, which
became effective August 1, 1987, the manufacturer’s
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sales tax credit language was found in sec. 71.043, Wis.
Stats., which provided in part:

(3) If any corporation in any year is entitled to a
credit under this section, such credit, to the extent
not offset by the tax liability of the same year may
be offset against the tax liability of the subsequent
year, and if not completely offset by the tax liability
of such year, the remainder of such credit may be
offset against the tax liability of the following year.
A credit under sub. (2) may be carried forward and
offset against tax liability in the next succeeding 15
years. [Emphasis added.]

Section 71.28(4), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), relating to the
research expense credit, provides in part:

(a) Credit. Any corporation may credit against taxes
otherwise due under this chapter an amount equal to
5% of the amount obtained …

(f) Carry-over. If a credit computed under this sub-
section is not entirely offset against Wisconsin
income or franchise taxes otherwise due, the unused
balance may be carried forward and credited
against Wisconsin income or franchise taxes other-
wise due for the following 15 taxable years to the
extent not offset by these taxes otherwise due in all
intervening years between the year in which the ex-
pense was incurred and the year in which the carry-
forward credit is claimed.

(h) Timely claim. No credit may be allowed under
this subsection unless it is claimed within the period
specified in s. 71.75(2).

[Emphasis added.]

Carryforward provisions similar to the research expense
credit language in sec. 71.28(4)(f) apply to the rest of
the tax credits listed above.

Refund and Assessment Provisions

Under sec. 71.75(2), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), with limited
exceptions, refunds may be made if the claim is filed
within 4 years of the unextended date on which the tax
return was due. The Department of Revenue has 4 years
from the date a franchise or income tax return is filed
within which to issue a notice of assessment of a tax or
an assessment to recover all or part of any tax credit,
pursuant to sec. 71.77(2), Wis. Stats. (2001-02). Under
certain circumstances, the statute of limitations for is-
suing a notice of assessment may be extended, as

provided in sec. 71.77(7), Wis. Stats. (2001-02). For
purposes of assessments and refunds, a return filed on or
before the last day prescribed by law for the filing of the
return shall be considered as filed on such last day. A
return filed after the last day prescribed by law shall be
considered as filed on the date that the return is received
by the Department of Revenue. See sec. 71.77(8), Wis.
Stats. (2001-02).

Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Credit Issues

Facts and Question 1: Corporation A computes a
$25,000 manufacturer’s sales tax credit on its 2002 Wis-
consin franchise or income tax return based on the sales
and use taxes it paid during 2002 on fuel and electricity
used in manufacturing tangible personal property. Cor-
poration A’s gross franchise tax liability for 2002 is
$1,000. Corporation A does not have any manufacturer’s
sales tax credit carryforward from prior years.

Does Corporation A have to offset $1,000 of the manu-
facturer’s sales tax credit against its 2002 franchise tax
due, or may the corporation choose to carry forward the
entire $25,000 credit to future years?

Answer 1: Corporation A is required to use its 2002
manufacturer’s sales tax credit on its 2002 Wisconsin
return to the extent that it has Wisconsin franchise or
income tax liability for 2002. As a result, $1,000 is used
to reduce Corporation A’s 2002 franchise tax liability to
zero, and $24,000 is carried forward to future years.

Section 71.28(3)(b), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides that
the franchise or income tax “shall be reduced” by the
manufacturer’s sales tax credit. In statutes, the word
“shall” denotes a mandatory or absolute duty or direc-
tive. Thus, the Legislature’s use of the word “shall” for
the manufacturer’s sales tax credit makes it clear that
taxpayers cannot choose when to claim the credit.

Facts and Question 2: Corporation B computes a
$50,000 manufacturer’s sales tax credit on its 2002 Wis-
consin franchise or income tax return based on the sales
and use taxes it paid during 2002 on fuel and electricity
used in manufacturing tangible personal property. Cor-
poration B’s 2002 gross franchise tax liability is $5,000.
The corporation must offset $5,000 of the credit against
its 2002 gross tax, and it has $45,000 of unused credit to
carry forward to 2003. Corporation B does not qualify to
compute a manufacturer’s sales tax credit for 2003.
Corporation B’s 2003 gross franchise tax liability is
$500.
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Does Corporation B have to claim $500 of the credit
carryforward against its 2003 tax due, or may the corpo-
ration choose to carry forward the $45,000 of unused
credit to future years?

Answer 2: Corporation B is required to claim the 2002
manufacturer’s sales tax credit carryforward on its 2003
Wisconsin return to the extent that it has Wisconsin
franchise or income tax liability for 2003. As a result,
$500 is used to reduce Corporation B’s 2003 franchise
tax liability to zero, and $44,500 is carried forward to
future years.

Section 71.28(3)(c)1, Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides
that the unused balance “shall be carried forward and
credited” against Wisconsin income or franchise taxes
otherwise due for the following 15 taxable years “to the
extent not offset by these taxes otherwise due in all in-
tervening years” between the year in which the expense
was incurred and the year in which the credit carryfor-
ward is claimed.

Facts and Question 3: Corporation C computes a
$30,000 manufacturer’s sales tax credit on its 2002 Wis-
consin franchise or income tax return based on the sales
and use taxes it paid during 2002 on fuel and electricity
used in manufacturing tangible personal property. Cor-
poration C’s 2002 gross franchise tax liability is
$20,000. In addition, Corporation C has a $5,000 manu-
facturer’s sales tax credit carryforward from 1987 that
will expire if it cannot be claimed on the corporation’s
2002 return.

May Corporation C choose to use the 1987 credit carry-
forward before claiming its 2002 manufacturer’s sales
tax credit?

Answer 3: No, Corporation C cannot choose to use its
1987 credit carryforward first. On its 2002 return, the
corporation must use its entire 2002 manufacturer’s
sales tax credit before it may claim any credit carried
forward from prior years. As a result, the corporation
must offset $20,000 of its 2002 credit against its 2002
gross tax, and it has an unused 2002 credit of $10,000 to
carry forward to 2003. The $5,000 unused credit carry-
forward from 1987 is lost.

Section Tax 2.11(3)(b), Wis. Adm. Code, states: “The
sales tax credit shall first be offset against the income or
franchise tax liability computed for the tax year before
an unused credit from a prior year may be applied.”
[Emphasis added.]

Facts and Question 4: Corporation D timely filed its
1998 Wisconsin franchise or income tax return and paid
Wisconsin franchise tax of $30,000. After the statute of
limitations had expired, Corporation D determines that it
would have been eligible for a 1998 manufacturer’s
sales tax credit of $47,000.

May Corporation D claim any portion of the unused
1998 manufacturer’s sales tax credit in open years?

Answer 4: No, Corporation D cannot go back to a
closed year and compute a manufacturer’s sales tax
credit where one had not previously been claimed.
Therefore, Corporation D does not have any unused
manufacturer’s sales tax credit from 1998 to carry for-
ward to open years.

Facts and Question 5: On July 1, 2003, Corporation E
files a late Wisconsin franchise or income tax return for
the 1996 calendar year. The return reports gross fran-
chise tax of $15,000 and a manufacturer’s sales tax
credit of $20,000.

May Corporation E carry forward the $5,000 of unused
1996 manufacturer’s sales tax credit to receive a refund
of taxes paid for future years?

Answer 5: No, since Corporation E filed its Wisconsin
return after the statute of limitations for claiming a re-
fund had expired, it cannot carry forward the $5,000 of
unused manufacturer’s sales tax credit shown on its
1996 return.

Facts and Question 6: Corporation F filed a timely
1997 Wisconsin franchise or income tax return. On that
return the corporation computed a manufacturer’s sales
tax credit of $12,000 based on the sales and use tax it
paid on fuel and electricity used in manufacturing in
1997. Corporation F offset $4,000 of the credit against
its 1997 Wisconsin franchise tax liability and carried the
$8,000 balance forward to 1998.

Corporation F filed a timely 1998 Wisconsin franchise
or income tax return reporting $25,000 of gross tax li-
ability. The corporation computed a manufacturer’s
sales tax credit of $15,000 based on the sales and use tax
it paid on fuel and electricity used in manufacturing in
1998. Corporation F paid net tax of $2,000 after offset-
ting its 1998 manufacturer’s sales tax credit of $15,000
and its 1997 credit carryforward of $8,000. After the
statute of limitations for 1997 and 1998 had expired,
Corporation F determines that it had understated its
1997 manufacturer’s sales tax credit by $6,500.
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May Corporation F carry forward the additional $6,500
of unused 1997 manufacturer’s sales tax credit to re-
ceive a refund of taxes paid for future years?

Answer 6: Corporation F may carry forward the addi-
tional $6,500 of unused 1997 manufacturer’s sales tax
credit. Since Corporation F had claimed a manufac-
turer’s sales tax credit on its timely filed 1997 return, the
corporation can correct the amount of credit that it had
originally claimed. Of the additional $6,500 of credit,
$2,000 must be used to offset Corporation F’s $2,000 of
net tax liability for 1998. Since 1998 is not open under
the statute of limitations, Corporation F may not receive
a refund for 1998. The $4,500 balance may be carried
forward to offset Wisconsin franchise tax liability for
1999 and succeeding years during the remainder of the
15-year carryforward period.

Facts and Question 7: Corporation G claimed a
$50,000 manufacturer’s sales tax credit on its calendar-
year 1998 Wisconsin franchise or income tax return. Its
gross tax was $40,000, resulting in $10,000 of unused
credit. Corporation G carried forward the unused credit
to offset its tax liability on its 1999 Wisconsin return.
The Department of Revenue conducts an audit of Cor-
poration G’s 1998 and 1999 Wisconsin franchise or
income tax returns. At the time of the audit, the 1999
return is open to assessment by the department. How-
ever, the 1998 return is closed to assessment under
sec. 71.77(2), Wis. Stats. (2001-02). The department
determines that Corporation G underreported its income
on its 1998 return and made an error in computing its
1998 manufacturer’s sales tax credit.

May the department adjust both Corporation G’s 1998
income and its manufacturer’s sales tax credit?

Answer 7: The department may adjust both Corporation
G’s reported 1998 income and its manufacturer’s sales
tax credit; however, the department cannot issue an as-
sessment for 1998. The statute of limitations relates only
to assessments and does not prevent income or a credit
from being recomputed in order to determine the correct
amount of credit to carry forward to future years. The
department determines that Corporation G’s adjusted
gross franchise tax liability for 1998 is $48,000, and its
manufacturer’s sales tax credit is $47,500. As a result,
Corporation G does not have an unused manufacturer’s
sales tax credit to carry forward to 1999. The depart-
ment can issue an assessment to Corporation G for the
$10,000 of manufacturer’s sales tax credit carryforward
claimed on its 1999 return.

Other Tax Credits

Facts and Question 8: Corporation H computes a
$15,000 research expense credit on its 2002 Wisconsin
franchise or income tax return based on its qualified re-
search expenses incurred during 2002. Corporation H’s
gross franchise tax liability for 2002 is $500. Corpora-
tion H does not have any research expense credit
carryforward from prior years.

Does Corporation H have to offset $500 of the research
credit against its 2002 franchise tax due, or may the cor-
poration choose to carry forward the entire $15,000
credit to future years?

Answer 8: Corporation H may choose whether or not to
claim up to $500 of its 2002 research expense tax credit
on its 2002 Wisconsin return. If the corporation does not
claim any of the credit on its 2002 return, it may use the
entire $15,000 of 2002 credit in future years within the
15-year carryforward period.

Section 71.28(4)(a), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides that
a corporation “may” credit against taxes otherwise due
under chapter 71 the research expense credit. In statutes,
the word “may” denotes an optional or permissive
privilege, right, or grant of discretionary authority. Thus,
the Legislature’s use of the word “may” for the research
expense credit indicates that taxpayers have the option
to choose whether to claim the credit for the current tax-
able year or carry it forward to a future year during the
15-year carryforward period when it will be more bene-
ficial.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above, other than the manufacturer’s sales tax
credit.

Facts and Question 9: Corporation I computes a
$30,000 research expense credit on its 2002 Wisconsin
franchise or income tax return based on its qualified re-
search expenses incurred during 2002. Corporation I’s
2002 gross franchise tax liability is $5,000. The corpo-
ration does not have any research expense credit
carryforward from prior years. Corporation I chooses to
offset $5,000 of the credit against its 2002 gross tax, and
it has $25,000 of unused research credit to carry forward
to 2003. Corporation I does not qualify to compute a
research expense credit for 2003. Corporation I’s 2003
gross franchise tax liability is $300.

Does Corporation I have to claim $300 of the research
expense credit carryforward against its 2003 tax due, or
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may the corporation choose to carry forward the
$25,000 of unused credit to future years?

Answer 9: Corporation I may choose whether or not to
claim up to $300 of its 2002 research expense tax credit
on its 2003 Wisconsin return. If the corporation does not
claim any of the credit on its 2003 return, it may claim
the $25,000 of unused 2002 research credit in future
years during the remainder of the 15-year carryforward
period.

Section 71.28(4)(f), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides that
the unused balance “may be carried forward and cred-
ited” against Wisconsin income or franchise taxes
otherwise due for the following 15 years “to the extent
not offset by these taxes otherwise due in all intervening
years” between the year in which the expense was in-
curred and the year in which the carryforward credit is
claimed.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above, other than the manufacturer’s sales tax
credit.

Facts and Question 10: Corporation J computes a
$40,000 research facilities credit on its 2002 Wisconsin
franchise or income tax return based on its 2002 expen-
ditures to construct and equip new facilities in
Wisconsin used for qualified research. Corporation J’s
2002 gross franchise tax liability is $20,000. In addition,
Corporation J has a $5,000 research facilities credit car-
ryforward from 1987 that will expire if it cannot be
claimed on the corporation’s 2002 return.

May Corporation J choose to use the 1987 credit carry-
forward before claiming its 2002 research facilities
credit?

Answer 10: Yes, Corporation J may choose to use its
1987 credit carryforward first.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above, other than the manufacturer’s sales tax
credit.

Facts and Question 11: Corporation K timely filed its
1998 Wisconsin franchise or income tax return and paid
Wisconsin franchise tax of $30,000. After the statute of
limitations had expired, Corporation K determines that it
would have been eligible for a 1998 research expense
credit of $47,000.

May Corporation K claim any portion of the unused
1998 research expense credit in open years?

Answer 11: No, Corporation K cannot go back to a
closed year and compute a research expense credit
where one had not previously been claimed. Therefore,
Corporation K does not have any unused research ex-
pense credit from 1998 to carry forward to years that are
open under the statute of limitations.

Section 71.28(4)(h), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides that
no credit may be allowed unless it is claimed within the
period specified in sec. 71.75(2), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).
Section 71.75(2) generally provides that a claim for re-
fund must be filed within 4 years of the unextended due
date of the return.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above.

Facts and Question 12: On July 1, 2003, Corporation L
files a late Wisconsin franchise or income tax return for
the 1996 calendar year. The return reports gross fran-
chise tax of $18,000 and a research facilities credit of
$27,000.

May Corporation L carry forward the $9,000 of unused
1996 research facilities credit to receive a refund of
taxes paid for future years?

Answer 12: No, since Corporation L filed its Wisconsin
return after the statute of limitations for claiming a re-
fund had expired, it cannot carry forward the $9,000 of
unused research facilities credit shown on its 1996 re-
turn.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above.

Facts and Question 13: Corporation M filed a timely
1998 Wisconsin franchise or income tax return. On that
return the corporation computed a research expense
credit of $19,000 based on its qualified research ex-
penses incurred in 1998. Corporation M offset $8,000 of
the credit against its 1998 Wisconsin franchise tax li-
ability and carried the balance forward to future years.
After the statute of limitations for 1998 had expired,
Corporation M determines that it had understated its
1998 research expense credit by $5,000.

May Corporation M carry forward the additional $5,000
of unused 1998 research expense credit to receive a re-
fund of taxes paid for future years?

Answer 13: No, Corporation M cannot go back to a
closed year and increase its research expense credit.
Therefore, Corporation M does not have an additional
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$5,000 of research expense credit to carry forward to
years that are open under the statute of limitations.

Section 71.28(4)(h), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides that
no credit may be allowed unless it is claimed within the
period specified in sec. 71.75(2), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).
Section 71.75(2) generally provides that a claim for re-
fund must be filed within 4 years of the unextended due
date of the return.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above, other than the manufacturer’s sales tax
credit.

Facts and Question 14: Corporation N claimed a
$55,000 research expense credit on its calendar-year
1998 Wisconsin franchise or income tax return. Its gross
tax was $44,000, resulting in $11,000 of unused credit.
Corporation N carried forward the unused credit to off-
set its tax liability on its 1999 Wisconsin return. The
Department of Revenue conducts an audit of Corpora-
tion N’s 1998 and 1999 Wisconsin franchise or income
tax returns. At the time of the audit, the 1999 return is
open to assessment by the department. However, the
1998 return is closed to assessment under sec. 71.77(2),
Wis. Stats. (2001-02). The department determines that
Corporation N underreported its income on its 1998 re-
turn and made an error in computing its 1998 research
expense credit.

May the department adjust both Corporation N’s 1998
income and its research expense credit?

Answer 14: The department may adjust both Corpora-
tion N’s reported 1998 income and its research expense
credit; however, the department cannot issue an assess-
ment for 1998. The statute of limitations relates only to
assessments and does not prevent income or a credit
from being recomputed in order to determine the correct
amount of credit to carry forward to future years. The
department determines that Corporation N’s adjusted
gross franchise tax liability for 1998 is $49,000, and its
research expense credit is $48,000. As a result, Corpo-
ration N does not have an unused research expense
credit to carry forward to 1999. The department can is-
sue an assessment to Corporation N for the $11,000 of
research expense credit carryforward claimed on its
1999 return.

Note: This treatment applies to the rest of the tax credits
listed above.      �

SALES AND USE TAXES
Sales and Installations of Compact
Satellite Dish Systems

Note: This tax release only applies to the compact satel-
lite dish systems described below. The tax treatment of
satellite dish systems, which consist of a satellite dish
that is permanently affixed to a substantial concrete
foundation and can be 8 to 10 feet in diameter, may be
different.

Statutes: Sections 77.51(4) and 77.52(1) and (2)(a)10,
Wis. Stats. (2001-02)

Wis. Adm. Code: Section Tax 11.68(7)(a)2 (June 1999
Register)

Background: Section 77.52(1), Wis. Stats. (2001-02),
imposes a Wisconsin sales tax on the gross receipts from
the sale of tangible personal property at retail in Wis-
consin.

Section 77.52(2)(a)10, Wis. Stats. (2001-02), imposes a
Wisconsin sales tax on the repair, service, alteration,
fitting, cleaning, painting, coating, towing, inspection,
and maintenance of all items of tangible personal prop-
erty, which includes installation, with certain exceptions.

Section 77.51(4)(a), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), defines gross
receipts, in part, to mean total amount of the sale, lease
or rental price, as the case may be, from sales at retail of
tangible personal property, or taxable services, valued in
money, whether received in money or otherwise. Gross
receipts include the price received for labor or services
used in installing or applying tangible personal property
sold, except the price received for installing or applying
property which, when installed or applied, will consti-
tute an addition or capital improvement of real property
and provided such amount is separately set forth from
the amount received for the tangible personal property.

Section 77.51(4)(b)1, Wis. Stats. (2001-02), provides
that gross receipts subject to sales tax do not include
cash or term discounts allowed and taken on sales. For
the discount to reduce a retailer’s gross receipts, the re-
tailer must provide the discount (i.e., the retailer may
not be reimbursed by a third party for the discount al-
lowed or taken on a sale).

Facts and Question 1: Company A sells and installs
satellite dish systems that are used by customers to re-
ceive satellite television services from Company B. The
satellite dish system consists of a satellite dish (18-20

2
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inch diameter), wiring, one or more receivers, and one
or more remote controls. The satellite dish is affixed to a
roof, wall, or railing of a building with a simple mount-
ing bracket and screws. A wire is connected to the dish
and routed into the building where it connects to a re-
ceiver that is located on a shelf or cabinet near a
television set. It is likely that if a customer were to
move, the satellite dish would be uninstalled and taken
by the customer to a new location.

Is the sale and installation of the satellite dish system
subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax?

Answer 1: Yes. The satellite dish system is tangible per-
sonal property when installed. The sale of tangible
personal property is subject to Wisconsin sales tax under
sec. 77.52(1), Wis. Stats. (2001-02), unless an exemp-
tion applies (e.g., sale to a Wisconsin governmental
unit). The gross receipts from the installation of the sat-
ellite dish system are subject to Wisconsin sales tax
under sec. 77.51(4)(c)4 and 77.52(2)(a)10, Wis. Stats.,
unless an exemption applies.

Note: Although sec. Tax 11.68(7)(a)2, Wis. Adm. Code
(June 1999 Register), provides, in part, that satellite
dishes installed in apartment buildings, convalescent
homes or other residential buildings are real property
when installed, the rule was referring to satellite dishes
that were 8 to 10 feet in diameter and installed by per-
manently affixing the dish to a substantial concrete
foundation. Section Tax 11.68(7)(a), Wis. Adm. Code, is
currently in the process of being amended to reflect the
different character of current satellite dish systems.

Facts and Question 2: Assume the same facts as in
Facts and Question 1. Additional facts are as follows:

� Company A enters into an agreement with Company
B, a satellite television service provider, to act as a
sales agent for Company B.

� If Company A signs up a customer for satellite tele-
vision service with Company B, Company B will
pay Company A a $300 commission.

� In order to attract customers for Company B’s serv-
ice and receive the $300 commissions, Company A
offers a satellite dish system and installation for a
price of $99.

� Company B does not set the price at which Com-
pany A must sell the satellite dish system and
installation.

� The $300 commission is not dependent on Company
A’s sale of the satellite dish system or installation.

� Company A purchases the satellite dish system from
Company C for $149.

What is the sales and use tax treatment of these transac-
tions?

Answer 2: Company A’s sale of the satellite dish system
and installation to the customer is subject to Wisconsin
sales tax. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales
tax are $99. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales
tax from the sale of the satellite dish system and instal-
lation do not include the $300 commission paid by
Company B to Company A. Company A may purchase
the satellite dish system from Company C without tax
because it is for resale. Company A should provide
Company C with a properly completed exemption cer-
tificate claiming resale.

Facts and Question 3: Assume the same facts as Facts
and Question 2, except that Company A provides the
satellite dish system to the customer for free and charges
$49 for installation because the customer chooses not to
self-install the dish system.

What is the sales and use tax treatment of these transac-
tions?

Answer 3: Company A’s sale to the customer of the sat-
ellite dish system installation is subject to Wisconsin
sales tax. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales
tax are $49. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales
tax from the installation of the satellite dish system do
not include the $300 commission paid by Company B to
Company A. Company A is subject to Wisconsin sales
or use tax on its $149 purchase of the satellite dish sys-
tem it provided to the customer without charge (i.e., did
not resell).

Facts and Question 4: Assume the same facts as Facts
and Question 1. Additional facts are as follows:

� Company A enters into an agreement with Company
B, a satellite television service provider, to act as a
sales agent for Company B.

� If Company A signs up a customer for satellite tele-
vision service with Company B, Company B will
pay Company A a $100 commission. The $100
commission is not dependent on Company A’s sale
of the satellite dish system or installation.
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� In order to attract customers, Company B offers a
promotion that requires Company A to sell a satel-
lite dish system and installation at a price of $99,
which is well below what Company A would charge
for the system and installation without the promo-
tion.

� Because of the reduced promotion price Company A
must charge its customer, Company B pays Com-
pany A $150.

� Company A purchased the satellite dish system from
Company C for $149.

What is the sales and use tax treatment of these transac-
tions?

Answer 4: Company A’s sale of the satellite dish system
and installation to the customer is subject to Wisconsin
sales tax. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales
tax are $249. Company A’s gross receipts subject to
sales tax from the sale and installation of the satellite
dish system and installation include the amount paid by
the customer ($99) plus the $150 payment by Company
B to Company A for reimbursement of the discounted
price Company B required Company A give to its cus-
tomer. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales tax
from the sale and installation of satellite dish system and
installation do not include the $100 commission paid by
Company B to Company A. Company A may purchase
the satellite dish system from Company C without tax
because it is for resale. Company A should provide
Company C with a properly completed exemption cer-
tificate claiming resale.

Facts and Question 5: Assume the same satellite dish
system as described in Facts and Question 1. Additional
facts are as follows:

� Company A enters into an agreement with Company
B, a satellite television service provider, to act as a
sales agent for Company B.

� If Company A signs up a customer for satellite tele-
vision service with Company B, Company B will
pay Company A a $100 commission. The $100
commission is not dependent on Company A’s sale
of the satellite dish system or installation.

� In order to attract customers, Company B offers a
promotion that requires Company A to provide a
satellite dish system without charge to the customer.
Under that same promotion, Company A must fur-

nish installation at a price of $49, which is collected
from the customer.

� Company B pays Company A (1) $200 for the sat-
ellite dish system it required Company A to furnish
to the customer at no charge, and (2) $50 for the re-
duced installation price Company B required
Company A to charge the customer.

� Company A purchased the satellite dish system from
Company C for $149.

What is the sales and use tax treatment of these transac-
tions?

Answer 5: Company A’s sale of the satellite dish system
and installation to the customer is subject to Wisconsin
sales tax. Company A’s gross receipts subject to sales
tax are $299. Company A’s gross receipts subject to
sales tax from the sale and installation of the satellite
dish system include the amount paid by the customer
($49) plus the $250 payment by Company B to Com-
pany A for the satellite dish system and reimbursement
of the installation discount that Company B required
Company A to give its customer. Gross receipts subject
to sales tax from the sale and installation of the satellite
dish system do not include the $100 commission paid by
Company B to Company A. Company A may purchase
the satellite dish system from Company C without tax
because it is for resale. Company A should provide
Company C with a properly completed exemption cer-
tificate claiming resale.

Facts and Question 6: Assume the same facts as Facts
and Question 5. The customer discontinues service with
Company B during the first year of the service contract.
As a result of discontinuing service, the agreements
between the parties require that:

� Company A return to Company B $150 of the $250
satellite dish system and installation reimbursement
made by Company B and the $100 commission.

� The customer pay Company A $100, in addition to
the original $49 the customer paid when it pur-
chased the equipment and installation, in order to
retain the satellite dish system.

What is the sales and use tax treatment of these transac-
tions?

Answer 6: For the period in which the money is re-
turned to Company B, Company A may claim a
deduction on line 4 of its sales and use tax return (Form
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ST-12) for $150 of the $250 reimbursement it previously
reported tax on when selling the satellite dish system
and installation, provided the tax on that amount is re-
turned to the customer. Also, the additional $100
payment by the customer to Company A for the satellite
dish system is subject to Wisconsin sales tax.      �
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The Wisconsin Legislature has enacted a number of changes to the Wiscon-
sin tax laws. Following is an index and brief descriptions of the major
individual and fiduciary income tax, corporation franchise or income tax,
sales/use tax, alcohol beverage regulation, dry cleaning facility license and
fee, estate tax, and other provisions. These provisions are contained in 2003
Acts 119, 128, 135, 176, 177, 183, 245, 246, 250, 255, 258, 267, 288, 289,
303 and 312.

The description for each provision indicates the sections of the statutes af-
fected and the effective date of the new provision.

New Tax Laws

Effective Date Page
A. Individual and Fiduciary Income Taxes

1. Subtraction for Costs Related to Organ Donation  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2004

40

2. Dairy Investment Credit Created  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1,
2004, and before January
1, 2010

40

3. Donations to Breast Cancer Research Program  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2004

41

4. Subtraction Created for Certain Military Pay Received by
Members of the Reserves

 Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2004

42

5. Angel Investment Credit Created  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2005

42

6. Early Stage Seed Investment Credit Created  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2005

43

7. Carryover Period for Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Credit Increased  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 1998

43

8. Subtraction for College Savings Expanded  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2004

43

B. Corporation Franchise or Income Taxes
1. Dairy Investment Credit Created  Taxable years beginning

on or after January 1,
2004, and before January
1, 2010

43

2. Early Stage Seed Investment Credit Created  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2005

43

3. Carryover Period for Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Credit Increased  Taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 1988

44

C. Sales and Use Taxes
1. Exempt Clay Pigeons and Live Game Birds Sold to Hunting

Preserves
 Sales on or after January
1, 2003

45



Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 138 – April 2004 39

D. Alcohol Beverage Regulation
1. Multiple Advertising by Retail Alcohol Franchisees  February 21, 2004 45
2. Provisional Operators’ Licenses  April 28, 2004 45
3. Unaccompanied Underage Persons on Alcohol Beverage Licensed

Premises
 April 28, 2004 45

4. Transferring Wholesale/Class “A” Beer Licenses to Premises in
Another Municipality Within the Same County

 April 28, 2004 45

5. Termination of Distribution Rights  May 5, 2004 45
E. Dry Cleaning Facility License and Fee

1. Dry Cleaning Facility License Separate from Dry Cleaning
License Fee

 May 7, 2004 46

2. Security Deposit May Be Required  May 7, 2004 46
3. Dry Cleaning Facility License May Be Revoked  May 7, 2004 46
4. Clarify Definition of “Gross Receipts”  May 7, 2004 46
5. Create Definition of “Launder”  May 7, 2004 46
6. Revise Penalties  May 7, 2004 46
7. Clarify Delinquent Date for Assessments  May 7, 2004 47
8. Clarify Collection Remedies for Delinquent Fees  May 7, 2004 47

F. Estate Taxes
1. Imposition of the Wisconsin Estate Tax on Nonresident Decedent’s

Intangible Personal Property Changed
 Deaths occurring on or
after January 1, 2005

47

G.   Other
1. Definition of Debt for Purposes of Setoffs for Municipalities and

Counties Expanded
 April 21, 2004 47

2. Changes to Tax Warrants and Liens on Property  May 5, 2004 48



40 Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 138 – April 2004

A. Individual and Fiduciary Income Taxes

1. Subtraction for Costs Related to Organ
Donation (2003 Act 119, create sec.
71.05(10)(i), effective for taxable years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 2004.)

When computing Wisconsin adjusted gross in-
come, an individual may subtract up to
$10,000 from federal adjusted gross income if
he or she (or his or her dependent who is
claimed under sec. 151(c), IRC), while living,
donates one or more of his or her human or-
gans to another human being for human organ
transplantation.

"Human organ" means all or part of a liver,
pancreas, kidney, intestine, lung, or bone mar-
row. It does not mean human whole blood,
blood plasma, a blood product or a blood de-
rivative or human semen. "Human organ
transplantation" means the medical procedure
by which transfer of a human organ is made
from the body of a person to the body of an-
other person.

The subtraction may be claimed for only the
following unreimbursed expenses that are in-
curred by the individual and related to the
individual's organ donation:

� Travel expenses.

� Lodging expenses.

� Lost wages.

The subtraction may be claimed only once and
in the taxable year in which the human organ
transplantation occurs. Part-year residents or
nonresidents of Wisconsin may not claim the
subtraction.

2. Dairy Investment Credit Created (2003 Act
135, amend secs. 71.05(6)(a)15.,
71.08(1)(intro.), 71.21(4), 71.26(2)(a),
71.34(1)(g), 71.45(2)(a)10., and 77.92(4) and
create secs. 71.07(3n), 71.10(4)(gbm),
71.28(3n), 71.30(3)(bm), 71.47(3n), and
71.49(1)(bm), effective for taxable years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 2004, and
before January 1, 2010.)

The dairy investment credit is equal to 10% of
the amount the claimant paid in the taxable
year for dairy farm modernization or expan-
sion related to the operation of the claimant's
dairy farm.

"Dairy farm modernization or expansion"
means the construction, the improvement, or
the acquisition of buildings or facilities, or the
acquisition of equipment, for dairy animal
housing, confinement, animal feeding, milk
production, or waste management, including
the following, if used exclusively related to
dairy animals:

a. Freestall barns.

b.  Fences.

c. Watering facilities.

d. Feed storage and handling equipment.

e. Milking parlors.

f.  Robotic equipment.

g. Scales.

h. Milk storage and cooling facilities.

i. Bulk tanks.

             j. Manure pumping and storage facilities.

             k. Digesters.

             L. Equipment used to produce energy.

"Dairy animals" includes heifers raised as re-
placement dairy animals. "Dairy farm"
includes a facility used to raise heifers as re-
placement dairy animals.

No credit may be allowed for any amount that
the claimant paid for expenses that the claim-
ant also claimed as a deduction for trade or
business expenses under sec.162 of the Inter-
nal Revenue Code.

The aggregate amount of credits that a claim-
ant may claim is $50,000. The credit must be
claimed within four years of the unextended
due date of the tax return.
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Partnerships, limited liability companies, and
tax-option corporations may not claim the
credit, but the eligibility for, and the amount
of, the credit are based on their payment of
expenses. A partnership, limited liability com-
pany, or tax-option corporation shall compute
the amount of credit that each of its partners,
members, or shareholders may claim and shall
provide that information to each of them.
Partners, members of limited liability compa-
nies, and shareholders of tax-option
corporations may claim the credit in propor-
tion to their ownership interest.

The amount of the computed credit must be
included in the claimant's income except that
credits computed by a partnership and passed
through to partners shall be added to the part-
nership's income, and credits computed by a
tax-option corporation and passed through to
shareholders shall be added to the tax-option
corporation's income.

If a computed credit is not entirely offset
against Wisconsin income or franchise taxes
otherwise due, the unused balance may be car-
ried forward and credited against Wisconsin
income or franchise taxes otherwise due for
the following 15 taxable years to the extent
not offset by taxes otherwise due in all inter-
vening years between the year in which the
expense was incurred and the year in which
the carry-forward is claimed.

In the case of a change in ownership or busi-
ness of a corporation, sec. 383 of the Internal
Revenue Code applies to the carry-over of un-
used credits.

The Department of Revenue has full power to
administer the credit and may take any action,
conduct any proceeding and proceed as it is
authorized in respect to income and franchise
taxes. The income and franchise tax provisions
relating to assessments, refunds, appeals, col-
lection, interest, and penalties apply to the
credit.

For purposes of the recycling surcharge, the
definition of "net business income," with re-
spect to a partnership, is expanded to include
the dairy investment credit.

3. Donations to Breast Cancer Research Pro-
gram (2003 Act 176, create sec. 71.10(5f),
effective for taxable years beginning on or af-
ter January 1, 2004.)

Every individual filing an income tax return
who has a tax liability or is entitled to a tax re-
fund may designate on the return any amount
of additional payment or any amount of a re-
fund due that individual for the breast cancer
research program. "Breast cancer research
program" means the program under sec.
255.055, Wis. Stats., that provides moneys for
breast cancer research to the Medical College
of Milwaukee, Inc., and the University of
Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center and
the payment of administrative expenses.

If the individual owes any tax, the individual
shall remit in full the tax due and the amount
designated on the return for the breast cancer
research program when the individual files a
tax return. If an individual who owes taxes
fails to remit an amount equal to or in excess
of the total actual tax due (after any error cor-
rection) and the amount designated on the
return as a breast cancer research program do-
nation, the department will reduce the amount
designated to reflect the amount remitted in
excess of the actual tax due (after any error
correction). If the amount remitted with the
return does not exceed the tax due (after any
error correction), the designation is void.

If the individual still has a refund after apply-
ing the refund to any delinquency owing the
department and to any offset (pursuant to secs.
71.75(9) and 71.80(3), Wis. Stats.), the de-
partment will deduct the amount designated on
the return as a breast cancer research program
donation from the amount of the refund. If an
individual is owed a refund that does not equal
or exceed the amount designated on the return
as a breast cancer research donation (after any
error correction and deduction for a delin-
quency or offset), the department will reduce
the designation for the breast cancer research
program to reflect the actual amount of refund
(after any error correction and deduction for a
delinquency or offset).

If an individual places any conditions on a
designation for the breast cancer research pro-
gram donation, the designation is void.



42 Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 138 – April 2004

If a designation for the breast cancer research
program is void, the department shall disre-
gard the designation and determine amounts
due, owed, refunded, and received without re-
gard to the void designation.

A place must be provided on the individual in-
come tax return for designations to the breast
cancer research program.

Amounts designation for breast cancer re-
search program donations are not subject to
refund unless the taxpayer submits informa-
tion to the satisfaction of the department
within 18 months after the date on which taxes
are due or the date on which the return is filed,
whichever is later, that the amount designated
is clearly in error.

4. Subtraction Created for Certain Military
Pay Received by Members of the Reserves
(2003 Act 183, create secs. 71.05(6)(b)34 and
71.07(6m)(c)4, effective for taxable years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 2004.)

A person who is a member of a reserve com-
ponent of the U.S. armed forces may subtract
from federal adjusted gross income when
computing Wisconsin taxable income, any
amount of basic, special, and incentive pay in-
come or compensation that is:

� Received from the federal government,

� Received after being called into active
federal service or into special state service
authorized by the federal Department of
Defense, and

� Paid to the person for a period of time
during which the person is on active duty.

A person who claims this subtraction may not
claim the armed forces member credit.

5. Angel Investment Credit Created (2003 Act
255, amend secs. 71.05(6)(a)15 and
71.08(1)(intro.) and create secs. 71.07(5d),
71.10(4)(gx), 560.205, and nonstatutory provi-
sions, effective for taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2005.)

An individual may claim the angel investment
credit against income tax, including the alter-

native minimum tax, due in each taxable year
for two years, beginning with the taxable year
in which the individual's initial investment is
made. The credit is equal to 12.5% of the indi-
vidual's bona fide angel investment made
directly in a qualified new business venture,
subject to certain limitations. The amount of
credit computed must be added to the claim-
ant's income. Unused credits may be carried
forward for 15 taxable years.

A "bona fide angel investment" means a pur-
chase of an equity interest, or any other
expenditure, as determined under an adminis-
trative rule to be promulgated by the
Department of Revenue, that is made by an
individual, or a network of individuals, who
reviews new businesses or proposed new
businesses for potential investment of the in-
dividual's money.

A "qualified new business venture" means a
business that is certified by the Department of
Commerce. A business may be certified as
provided under rules to be promulgated by the
Department of Commerce or if it satisfies all
of the following conditions:

� It has its headquarters in Wisconsin.

� At least 51% of the employees employed
by the business are employed in Wiscon-
sin.

� It is engaged in, or has committed to en-
gage in, manufacturing, agriculture, or
processing or assembling products and
conducting research and development or
developing a new product or business pro-
cess.

� It is not engaged in real estate develop-
ment, insurance, banking, lending,
lobbying, political consulting, professional
services provided by attorneys, account-
ants, business consultants, physicians, or
health care consultants, wholesale or retail
trade, leisure, hospitality, transportation,
or construction.

� It has less than 100 employees.

� It has been in operation in Wisconsin for
not more than 7 consecutive years.
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� It has not received more than $1,000,000
in investments that have qualified for an-
gel investment tax credits.

The following limitations apply to the angel
investment credit:

� The maximum amount of angel invest-
ment credits that may be claimed is
$30,000,000.

� The aggregate amount of tax credits that
may be claimed for investments in certi-
fied businesses is $3,000,000 per taxable
year.

� The maximum amount of an individual
claimant's investment that may be used as
the basis for a tax credit is $500,000 for
each investment made directly in a certi-
fied business.

� A claimant who is a nonresident or part-
year resident of Wisconsin and who is sin-
gle or a married person filing a separate
return must multiply the credit by a frac-
tion, the numerator of which is the
individual's Wisconsin adjusted gross in-
come and the denominator of which is the
individual's federal adjusted gross income.

� A claimant who is married and files a joint
return, if either the claimant or the claim-
ant's spouse or both are nonresidents or
part-year residents of Wisconsin, must
multiply the credit by a fraction, the nu-
merator of which is the couple's joint
Wisconsin adjusted gross income and the
denominator of which is the couple's joint
federal adjusted gross income.

If an investment for which the claimant claims
the angel investment credit is held by the
claimant for less than one year, the claimant
shall pay to the Department of Revenue the
amount of credit that the claimant received
related to the investment.

No credit may be allowed for a taxable year
unless it is claimed within four years of the
unextended due date of the tax return for that
taxable year.

6. Early Stage Seed Investment Credit Cre-
ated (2003 Act 255, amend secs.
71.05(6)(a)15 and 71.08(1)(intro.) and create
secs. 71.07(5b), 71.10(4)(gwb), 560.205, and
nonstatutory provisions, effective for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.)

See Item B.2.

7. Carryover Period for Manufacturer's Sales
Tax Credit Increased (2003 Act 267, amend
sec. 71.07(3s)(c)1, effective for credits com-
puted for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1998.)

The carryover period for unused manufac-
turer's sales tax credit is increased from 15 to
20 years.

8. Subtraction for College Savings Expanded
(2003 Act 289, amend sec.
71.05(6)(b)32.(intro.) and 33.(intro.), effective
for taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2004.)

The subtraction for up to $3,000 of the amount
paid into a Wisconsin college savings account
or college tuition and expenses program is ex-
panded to include amounts paid if the
beneficiary of the account is the claimant's
great-grandchild, niece, or nephew. Under
prior law, the subtraction was available only if
the beneficiary of the account was the claim-
ant, the claimant's child who was claimed as a
dependent for federal income tax purposes, or
the claimant's grandchild.

B. Corporation Franchise or Income Taxes

1. Dairy Investment Credit Created (2003 Act
135, amend secs. 71.21(4), 71.26(2)(a),
71.34(1)(g), 71.45(2)(a)10., and 77.92(4) and
create secs. 71.28(3n), 71.30(3)(bm),
71.47(3n), and 71.49(1)(bm), effective for tax-
able years beginning on or after January 1,
2004, and before January 1, 2010.)

See Item A.2.

2. Early Stage Seed Investment Credit Cre-
ated (2003 Act 255, amend secs. 71.21(4),
71.26(2)(a), 71.34(1)(g), 71.45(2)(a)10, and
77.92(4) and create secs. 71.28(5b),
71.30(3)(eop), 71.47(5b), 71.49(1)(eop),
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560.205, and nonstatutory provisions, effec-
tive for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2005.)

A taxpayer may claim the early stage seed in-
vestment credit against franchise or income
tax, including the alternative minimum tax,
due. The credit is equal to 25% of the claim-
ant's initial investment paid in the taxable year
to a fund manager that the fund manager in-
vests in a business certified by the Department
of Commerce, subject to certain limitations.
The amount of credit computed must be added
to the claimant's income. Unused credits may
be carried forward for 15 taxable years.

A fund manager is an investment fund man-
ager certified by the Department of
Commerce. In determining whether to certify
an investment fund manager, the Department
of Commerce shall consider the manager's ex-
perience in managing venture capital funds,
the past performance of investment funds
managed by the applicant, the expected level
of investment in the investment fund to be
managed by the applicant, and any other rele-
vant factors. The Department of Commerce
may certify only investment fund managers
that commit to consider placing investments in
certified businesses.

A business may be certified as provided under
rules to be promulgated by the Department of
Commerce or if it satisfies all of the following
conditions:

� It has its headquarters in Wisconsin.

� At least 51% of the employees employed
by the business are employed in Wiscon-
sin.

� It is engaged in, or has committed to en-
gage in, manufacturing, agriculture, or
processing or assembling products and
conducting research and development or
developing a new product or business pro-
cess.

� It is not engaged in real estate develop-
ment, insurance, banking, lending,
lobbying, political consulting, professional
services provided by attorneys, account-
ants, business consultants, physicians, or

health care consultants, wholesale or retail
trade, leisure, hospitality, transportation,
or construction.

� It has less than 100 employees.

� It has been in operation in Wisconsin for
not more than 7 consecutive years.

� It has not received more than $1,000,000
in investments that have qualified for an-
gel investment tax credits.

The following limitations apply to the early
stage seed investment credit:

� The maximum amount of early stage seed
investment credits that may be claimed for
all taxable years combined is $35,000,000.

� The aggregate amount of tax credits that
may be claimed for investments paid to
certified fund managers is $3,500,000 per
taxable year.

Partnerships, limited liability companies, and
tax-option (S) corporations may not claim the
credit, but the eligibility for, and the amount
of, the credit are based on their payments. The
entity must compute the amount of credit that
each of its partners, members, or shareholders
may claim and provide that information to
each of them. Partners, members of limited li-
ability companies, and shareholders of tax-
option (S) corporations may claim the credit in
proportion to their ownership interest or as
specially allocated in their organizational
documents.

No credit may be allowed for a taxable year
unless it is claimed within four years of the
unextended due date of the tax return for that
taxable year.

3. Carryover Period for Manufacturer's Sales
Tax Credit Increased (2003 Act 267, amend
secs. 71.28(3)(c)1 and 71.47(3)(c)1, effective
for credits computed by corporations, other
than tax-option (S) corporations, for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1988.)

The carryover period for unused manufac-
turer's sales tax credit is increased from 15 to
20 years.
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C. Sales and Use Taxes

1. Exempt Clay Pigeons and Live Game Birds
Sold to Hunting Preserves (2003 Act 128,
create sec. 77.54(47), effective for sales made
on or after January 1, 2003.)

The sale of and the storage, use, or other con-
sumption of clay pigeons and live game birds
sold to bird hunting preserves that are licensed
under sec. 169.19, Wis. Stats., are exempt
from Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Prior to January 1, 2003, the department had
administratively provided that sales of game
birds to shooting preserves were not taxable if
the shooting preserves:

� provided the birds to their customers as
part of access to a recreational facility, and

� had seller's permits for the collection and
reporting of sales tax on their receipts
from charges made for access to a recrea-
tional facility for hunting.

D. Alcohol Beverage Regulation

1. Multiple Advertising by Retail Alcohol
Franchisees (2003 Act 124, amend sec.
125.51(7), effective February 21, 2004.)

Holders of retail liquor licenses or permits that
are franchisees as defined in sec. 553.03(5),
Wis. Stats., may advertise separately or to-
gether, in the name of the franchisor, as
defined in sec. 553.03(6), Wis. Stats.

2. Provisional Operators’ Licenses (2003 Act
245, renumber and amend 125.17(5)(a) and
125.17(5)(d); to amend 125.17(5)(e); and to
create 125.17(5)(a)2. And 125.17(5)(d)2., ef-
fective April 28, 2004.)

A municipal governing body that issues op-
erators’ licenses shall issue a provisional
operator’s license to a person who, at the time
of application for an operator’s license and
payment of the fee, files a certified copy of a
valid operator’s license issued by another mu-
nicipality. The provisional operator’s license
may be revoked by the official who issued the
license if the official determines that the op-
erator’s license issued by another municipality

is not valid or upon denial of the person’s ap-
plication for an operator’s license.

3. Unaccompanied Underage Persons on Al-
cohol Beverage Licensed Premises (2003
Act 246, create 125.07(3)(a)3r, effective April
28, 2004.)

Underage persons unaccompanied by parent,
guardian, or spouse of legal drinking age may
enter or be on any premises operating under an
alcohol beverage license that also is a pri-
vately-owned business that exists to provide
recreational fishing opportunities to the public
for a fee and that is registered under
s.95.60(3m) if the sale of alcohol beverages
accounts for less than 30 percent of the busi-
ness’s gross receipts.

4. Transferring Wholesale/Class “A” Beer Li-
censes to Premises in Another Municipality
Within the Same County (2003 Act 250,
amend 125.04(12)(a), 125.25(2)(b)3,
125.25(3), 125.28(2)(c )2, 125.28(3); create
125.(2)(b)4, effective April 28, 2004.)

A person who holds a Class “A” license and a
wholesale beer license, both of which licenses
were issued before May 5, 1994, may transfer
the licenses together to another premises in a
different municipality within the same county;
the transfers shall be received and the validity
of the transferred licenses recognized by the
receiving municipality upon approval of the
transfer by the receiving municipality and
payment to the receiving municipality of an
additional fee of $10 for each transferred li-
cense.

5. Termination of Distribution Rights (2003
Act 303, create 125.33(10), effective May 5,
2004).

A successor beer wholesaler shall compensate
a terminated beer wholesaler for the fair mar-
ket value of the terminated wholesaler’s
distribution rights to any discontinued brand
of fermented malt beverages assumed by the
successor wholesaler for the same territory,
less any amount paid to the terminated whole-
saler by the brewer of the discontinued brand.
The statute also provides exceptions to this re-
quirement.
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E. Dry Cleaning Facility License and Fee

1. Dry Cleaning Facility License Separate
from Dry Cleaning License Fee (2003 Act
312, renumber sec. 77.9961(1) to
77.9961(1)(a) and amend as renumbered,
amend sec. 77.9961(title), (2) and (3), and cre-
ate sec. 77.9961(1)(c) and (1m), effective May
7, 2004.)

The department will issue a dry cleaning fa-
cility license to each person who submits an
application.  The dry cleaning facility license
does not have an expiration date.

Under prior law, the department issued a dry
cleaning facility license, valid for only one
year, to a person who paid the January 25 and
three previous dry cleaning license fee in-
stallments and submitted a renewal form to the
department.

Note: Persons who presently hold a dry
cleaning facility license are not required to ap-
ply for a new license.

2. Security Deposit May Be Required (2003
Act 312, create sec. 77.9961(1)(b), effective
May 7, 2004.)

The department may require a security deposit
before or after issuing a dry cleaning facility
license, under the same conditions as the secu-
rity deposit requirement for a seller's permit
under sec. 77.61(2), Wis. Stats.

3. Dry Cleaning Facility License May Be Re-
voked (2003 Act 312, create sec.
77.9961(1)(e), effective May 7, 2004.)

The department may revoke a dry cleaning fa-
cility license if the person fails to comply with
laws or rules related to the dry cleaning li-
cense fee, is delinquent with respect to any
taxes, or fails to timely file any returns when
requested by the department.

4. Clarify Definition of "Gross Receipts"
(2003 Act 312, create sec. 77.996(6), effective
for license fee installments due after May 7,
2004.)

For purposes of determining the 1.8% dry
cleaning license fee, "gross receipts" has the

same meaning as gross receipts for sales and
use tax purposes under sec. 77.51(4), Wis.
Stats, with the following exception.  "Gross
receipts" does not include the dry cleaning li-
cense fee that is passed on to customers.
Under prior law, "gross receipts" was unde-
fined, although administratively the definition
in the sales and use tax law was used.

Example:  Dry Cleaner A charges $10.00 plus
the dry cleaning license fee and Wisconsin
state and county sales tax to dry clean a suit.
Dry Cleaner A is liable for the 1.8% dry
cleaning license fee on the $10.00 because it is
part of Dry Cleaner A's gross receipts from
dry cleaning.  Dry Cleaner A chooses to sepa-
rately state the 1.8% license fee on its invoice.
Assuming that Dry Cleaner A furnishes its dry
cleaning services in a county that imposes the
1/2% county sales tax, Dry Cleaner A would
charge its customer as follows:

Dry cleaning charge $10.00
License fee ($10.00 X 1.8%)       .18
Subtotal $10.18
Sales tax ($10.18 X 5.5%)       .56
Total charge to customer $10.74

5. Create Definition of "Launder" (2003 Act
312, create sec. 77.996(7), effective May 7,
2004.)

For purposes of determining if a process is dry
cleaning or a laundry service, "launder" means
to use water and detergent as the main process
for cleaning apparel or household fabrics. Un-
der prior law, "launder" was undefined.

6. Revise Penalties (2003 Act 312, repeal sec.
77.9961(4), amend sec. 77.9964(2), and create
sec. 77.9961(1)(d), effective May 7, 2004.)

Any person who operates a dry cleaning facil-
ity without holding a valid dry cleaning
facility license is subject to the same penalty
as a seller operating without a valid seller's
permit under sec. 77.52(12), Wis. Stats., and
may be guilty of a misdemeanor.  The penalty
under prior law was $5 per day for each day
the person operated without a license.

Also under prior law, failure to pay the dry
cleaning license fee by the installment due
date resulted in a penalty of $5 per day for
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each day the installment was late, in addition
to a late filing fee, interest and negligence
penalty.  This $5 per day penalty has been re-
pealed.  However, the late filing fee, interest,
and negligence penalty remain in effect as
follows:

For corporations, the late filing fee is $30. For
businesses other than corporations, the late
filing fee is as follows:

� $2 when the license fee for the quarter is
less than $10.

� $3 when the license fee for the quarter is
$10 or more, but less than $20.

� $5 when the license fee for the quarter is
$20 or more.

� $30 when the return is 60 or more days
late regardless of the amount of the license
fee.

The total dry cleaning license fee due with a
late-filed return is subject to interest at 1.5%
per month until paid.  If the return is filed late
due to negligence, the license fee due on the
return is also subject to a negligence penalty
of 5% for each month or fraction of month the
return is late, up to 25%.

7. Clarify Delinquent Date for Assessments
(2003 Act 312, amend sec. 77.9964(2), effec-
tive May 7, 2004.)

An assessment by the department of dry
cleaning facility license fees becomes delin-
quent when not paid on or before the due date
stated on a notice provided to the dry cleaner
in writing under sec. 71.74(10) to (12), Wis.
Stats.

Although prior law provided for assessments
under sec. 71.74, Wis. Stats., it was not clearly
stated when the assessments became delin-
quent.

8. Clarify Collection Remedies for Delinquent
Fees (2003 Act 312, amend sec. 77.9964(2),
effective May 7, 2004.)

The department may use the same remedies
for the collection of delinquent dry cleaning

license fees that are available for the collection
of delinquent income taxes under sec. 71.91
and 71.92, Wis. Stats.

Although prior law provided for collection
remedies under sec. 71.91, Wis. Stats., it was
not clearly stated that all of the remedies were
available under sec. 71.91 and 71.92, Wis.
Stats.

F. Estate Taxes

1. Imposition of the Wisconsin Estate Tax on
Nonresident Decedent’s Intangible Personal
Property Changed (2003 Act 258, amend
sec. 72.11(2), effective for deaths occurring on
or after January 1, 2005.)

The intangible personal property of nonresi-
dent decedents under the jurisdiction of the
state of Wisconsin will not be subject to the
imposition of the Wisconsin estate tax if:

� The decedent’s residence (state, territory
or district) does not tax the intangible
property of Wisconsin residents under its
jurisdiction, or

� The decedent’s residence (state, territory
or district) does not impose a tax on the
transfer of property at death.

G. Other

1. Definition of Debt for Purposes of Setoffs
for Municipalities and Counties Expanded
(2003 Act 177, amend sec. 71.935(1)(a), ef-
fective April 21, 2004.)

Under prior law, “debt” for purposes of setoffs
for municipalities and counties was defined as
“a parking citation of at least $20 that is un-
paid and for which there has been no court
appearance by the date specified in the citation
or, if no date is specified, that is unpaid for at
least 28 days and an unpaid fine, fee, restitu-
tion or forfeiture of at least $20.”

Act 177 expands the definition of “debt” to in-
clude any other debt that is at least $20, except
debt related to property taxes, if the debt has
been reduced to a judgement or the munici-
pality or county to which the debt is owed has
provided the debtor reasonable notice and an
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opportunity to be heard with regards to the
debt.

2. Changes to Tax Warrants and Liens on
Property (2003 Act 288, amend sec. 71.91(4),
and create sec. 71.91(5)(dm), effective May 5,
2004.)

Liens related to warrants filed on or after May
5, 2004 shall remain in effect for 20 years after
the filing date of the warrant. Previously, liens
related to warrants filed after July 31, 1981
remained in effect until the assessment was
satisfied.

The Department of Revenue may renew a lien
that expires after 20 years. To be renewed, a
new warrant must be filed no earlier than 180
days prior to the date the lien expires and no
later than the date the lien expires.  There is no
limit to the number of times a lien may be re-
newed.  If a renewal warrant is filed, the
priority of the lien relates back to the original
warrant filing date, and remains in effect for a
period of 20 years beginning on the expiration
date of the immediate preceding lien. No fee
may be charged by a Clerk of Circuit Court for
the filing of a renewal tax warrant.

The lien of a tax warrant filed prior to May 5,
2004 continues to be valid on an indefinite ba-
sis until it is satisfied.
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