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2002 Income Tax Instructions
Contain an Error
The instructions for certain 2002 Wisconsin income tax
forms contain an error with respect to the farmland tax
relief credit. The Forms 1 and 1NPR instructions for
individuals and the Form 2 instructions for fiduciaries
incorrectly state that the maximum farmland tax relief
credit is $3,000.

The 2002 instructions for the farmland tax relief credit
should indicate that the maximum credit that may be
claimed for 2002 is $1,500. Although the rate used to
compute the credit for 2002 is 30%, and the first
$10,000 of property taxes on qualifying farmland is
recognized, the Wisconsin Statutes limit the maximum
credit to $1,500.

Corrected versions of the affected instructions, and a
practitioner “News” article calling attention to the error,
were placed on the Department of Revenue’s web site
on January 22, 2003. In addition, an e-mail notice
regarding the error was sent to those practitioners who
subscribe to the department’s Tax Practitioner
E-Mailing list called “dornews.” The department also
sent a letter to persons who claimed the farmland tax
relief credit on their 2001 return and appeared likely to
be affected by the error in the 2002 instructions.

Any 2002 tax returns that are filed claiming a farmland
tax relief credit that exceeds the $1,500 maximum
allowable will be adjusted to reduce the credit to the
proper amount allowable.     �

States Move Forward to Adopt
Streamlined Legislation
A critical mass of states that approved the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax Agreement on November 12, 2002,
are moving forward to draft, introduce, and enact the
legislation necessary to comply with the simplifications
and uniformity provided in the Agreement.

As of the middle of April, seven states – Arkansas,
Kentucky, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, West
Virginia, and Wyoming – have adopted all provisions.
Another 14 states have introduced legislation to come
into compliance with all or most of the Agreement.
These states include: Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Maine,
Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada,
North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, and
Washington.

Wisconsin is expected to introduce legislation later this
year. Another 10 states are drafting the legislation,
including: Alabama, Iowa, Louisiana, Michigan, New
Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South
Carolina, and Tennessee.     �

Information or Inquiries?
This issue of the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin includes a
comprehensive listing of addresses and telephone
numbers to use if you wish to contact the Department of
Revenue about any of the taxes administered by the
Processing and Customer Services Division, and the
Income, Sales, and Excise Tax Division.

The listing appears on pages 31 to 34 of this Bulletin. It
is arranged alphabetically, by the type of tax or credit
involved.     �

Wisconsin Wins Taxpayer Service
Award
Note: Information in this article was obtained from the
March 31, 2003, issue of “TaxExPRESS,” the Federation of
Tax Administrators’ weekly electronic newsletter.

COOL AWARD WINNERS. This year there are two
cool ideas that have been officially judged as the best of
the bunch – winners of FTA’s annual awards for
taxpayer service and training. FTA awards are judged by
an independent panel. Both award winners have been
invited to accept their awards and to share the details of
their programs during the FTA annual meeting, June 15-
18 in Oklahoma City.
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TAXPAYER SERVICE: The Wisconsin Department of
Revenue won the 2003 Leon Rothenberg Award for
Taxpayer Service and Education, for its
“ReVITAlization Initiative,” a program that helps
taxpayers in poor, non-English-speaking and under-
served neighborhoods prepare their state and federal
income tax returns and file electronically at no charge.
Wisconsin redesigned its VITA program from top to
bottom, eliminating a series of temporary locations and
working in partnership with public service groups to set
up permanent sites in underserved neighborhoods. The
agency then re-equipped the offices and developed a
new training program, so that the VITA volunteers can
electronically file the returns. Judges were particularly
pleased with the fact that it was a “low-cost, high
creativity” program.

(The California Franchise Tax Board won the other
award, the Award for Training, for its internal training
program for employees who work with the state’s new
Integrated Nonfiler System.)     �

Reduce Processing Delays – Use
Preferred W-2 Forms
To provide fast and accurate income tax processing, the
Department of Revenue uses scanner technology to
capture wage statement (Form W-2) information. The
department is requesting that employers NOT use
carbon copied W-2 forms, including NCR. Carbon and
NCR copied W-2 forms do not scan well, and this
often necessitates additional time-consuming steps. This
can result in delays in processing refunds for tax
returns with those forms.

The preferred format for a Form W-2 is the Internal
Revenue Service (“IRS”) approved format, which can
be viewed on the IRS web site, at
www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html. The IRS format
W-2 form is 8.5 by 5.5 inches and can easily be imaged
by production scanners. All information on the
Form W-2 should be printed as large as possible within
each space allotment and should not be printed over
preprinted information on the form. Always complete
the form using black ink.

If you have questions regarding the use or preparation of
preferred W-2 forms, you may call the department
at (608) 261-6223.     �
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Use Correct County Tax Codes
When completing the Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax
return, Form ST-12, if county sales or use taxes are
reported, the two-digit county code and the first five
letters of the county name must be entered in Steps B
and F. In the case of St. Croix County, the correct five-
letter code is “STCRO.”

There are two exceptions to using the first five letters of
the county name:

� The five-letter code for Green Lake County is
“GLAKE.”

� For the counties with only four letters in their
names, enter just the four letters.

Since both Green and Green Lake counties now have a
county sales/use tax, it is important to enter the correct
codes for these two counties, so the county tax is not
credited to the wrong county. Use #23 and GREEN for
Green County, and #24 and GLAKE for Green Lake
County.     �

2003 Estimated Income Tax
Requirements for Individuals, Estates,
and Trusts
Individuals and fiduciaries that expect to owe $200 or
more of income tax (including recycling surcharge) with
their 2003 Wisconsin income tax return are required to
pay 2003 Wisconsin estimated tax. There are exceptions
for certain estates and trusts, as explained below. A
2003 Form 1-ES, Wisconsin Estimated Tax Voucher, is
filed with each estimated tax payment. (Note: Only
individuals and fiduciaries making estimated income tax
payments may file a Form 1-ES.)

For calendar year taxpayers, the first estimated income
tax payment was due on April 15, 2003. Installment
payments are also due on June 16, 2003 (June 15 is a
Sunday), September 15, 2003, and January 16, 2004.
For fiscal year taxpayers, installment payments are due
on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th months of the
fiscal year and the 1st month of the following fiscal
year.

Estates and grantor trusts that are funded on account of a
decedent’s death are only required to make estimated
tax payments for taxable years that end two or more
years after the decedent’s death. For example, an
individual died on March 28, 2002. A grantor trust that
was funded on account of the individual’s death is not
required to make estimated tax payments for any taxable
year ending before March 28, 2004.

A trust that is subject to tax on unrelated business
income is generally required to pay 2003 Wisconsin
estimated income tax if it expects to owe $500 or more
(including recycling surcharge) on a 2003 Wisconsin
franchise or income tax return (Form 4T). A 2003
Form 4-ES, Wisconsin Corporation Estimated Tax
Voucher, is filed with each estimated tax payment.
Installment payments for such trusts are due on the 15th
day of the 3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th months of the taxable
year.

If a taxpayer does not make the estimated tax payments
when required or underpays any installment, interest
may be assessed.     �

Integrated Tax System – Early Results
The first release of the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue’s Integrated Tax System (“ITS”) went online
November 30, 2002. ITS Release 1 includes:

� Business tax registration and financial handling of
new registrant fees.

� Returns processing of the sales and use tax return,
Form ST-12, and the consumer use tax return,
Form UT-5.

� Taxpayer accounting and revenue accounting of
these forms, and sales tax distribution to counties
and stadium districts.

� Revenue accounting for all tax systems within the
department.

On many accounts, it has been one of the smoothest
implementations of a major new system in Department
of Revenue (“DOR”) history. But implementing a
system on the size and scale of ITS has also presented
its share of challenges. The most persistent challenge
was obtaining stability in processing paper sales tax
returns that are scanned by DOR. Various software bugs
prevented DOR from processing these returns at the rate
it would like. The resultant backlog forced DOR to
estimate monthly sales tax distributions to counties and
stadium districts for several months and created a ripple
effect in other areas of DOR.
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Stepping back from this to look at the larger picture, the
transformation ITS is making at DOR in the way it
collects and administers taxes becomes clear. The
department is moving away from the technology of the
60s, toward the technology of the 21st century. DOR
has implemented a process that can be completed
electronically – paper-free from beginning to end.

By way of illustration, consider that customers using the
Sales Internet Process (“SIP”) and Electronic Funds
Transfer (“EFT”) to file returns and submit payments to
DOR can do so without touching a piece of paper.
Furthermore, working with the state’s depository bank,
DOR is able to process the payment and the return
without handling any paper. From beginning to end,

sales tax returns, payments, and accounting can now be
handled electronically.

The Department of Revenue has begun the groundwork
to integrate the individual income tax into ITS. One
related project, Wisconsin Free-File, was implemented
in January of this year. It enables individuals to file their
state individual income tax returns using the Internet.
Tens of thousands of Wisconsin residents have already
taken advantage of this convenient, free service offered
directly by the Department of Revenue through its web
site at www.dor.state.wi.us.     �

Waste Hauler May Qualify For Common
or Contract Carrier Exemption
In its Ruling and Order in the case of Freight Lime And
Sand Hauling, Inc. vs. Wisconsin Department of
Revenue (Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission,
November 20, 2002), the Commission held that a
contract motor carrier, that transported waste for hire,
could purchase trucks and related equipment exempt
from sales and use tax under sec. 77.54(5)(b), Wis.
Stats. See page 24 of this Bulletin for a summary of the
Commission’s Ruling and Order, including a description
of the contract carrier operation engaged in by Freight
Lime And Sand Hauling, Inc.

The Department of Revenue, in sec. Tax 11.16, Wis.
Adm. Code (June 1991 Register), and the Commission
in its prior decisions, had limited the exemption found in
sec. 77.54(5)(b) to contract carriers that transported
property that had value, taking the position that persons
hauling waste were not hauling “property” and,
therefore, did not fall within the definition of a contract
carrier hauling property for hire.

In Freight Lime And Sand Hauling, Inc., the
Commission concluded those previous holdings are to
be disregarded. Therefore, the Commission’s decision in
Superior Hazardous Waste Group, Inc. vs. Wisconsin
Department of Revenue (Wisconsin Tax Appeals
Commission, June 17, 1998), no longer applies. See
Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 111 (October 1998), page 18, for
a summary of the Commission’s decision in Superior
Hazardous Waste Group, Inc. There is no requirement
by sec. 77.54(5)(b) that the property hauled have value,
as long as it is property of others and is hauled for hire.
The Ruling and Order in Freight Lime And Sand
Hauling, Inc. applies to all periods open to adjustment.

Caution:  This Ruling and Order does not reverse prior
decisions by the Commission that held that waste
disposal companies do not qualify for the common or
contract carrier exemption. The Commission still states
the carrier must haul exclusively “for hire.”

In J. M. Disposal Service, Inc. vs. Wisconsin
Department of Revenue (Dane County Circuit Court,
December 10, 1970, CCH 200-622), the Court affirmed
the Commission in holding that the definition of
contract carrier does not include the operator of a
disposal service that is free to haul or use the waste it
transported as it wished, without regard to the supplier
of the waste. Similarly, in James W. Rieder vs.
Wisconsin Department of Revenue (Wisconsin Tax
Appeals Commission, October 15, 1970, CCH 200-
641), the Commission held that a truck and accessories
used to haul waste materials were not exempt because
the materials were hauled to a county dump, or sold to
customers for landfill or other purposes. There were no
restrictions as to how, when, and where to dispose of the
materials. In its Ruling and Order in Freight Lime And
Sand Hauling, Inc., the Commission states that “We
believe that the important distinction between a disposal
firm (which may dispose of waste as it sees fit, without
regard to the wishes of the waste generator) and a
contract carrier is that the latter is mandated to transport
property owned by another to a party or place of the
shipper’s choosing, and that a contract carrier does not
take title to the property. The value of the property is
immaterial.” Therefore, if a disposal service provider is
free to haul or use the material it collects as it wishes,
without regard to the supplier of the waste, the
Commission’s Ruling and Order in Freight Lime And
Sand Hauling, Inc. does not apply to the disposal
service provider’s purchase of trucks used to haul
waste.     �
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Collecting Sales Tax at Temporary
Events
Spring is here, and so are flea markets and craft fairs.
Again this year, representatives from the Department of
Revenue will be attending selected events across the
state, to determine if vendors are appropriately
registered for and collecting Wisconsin sales tax.

Vendors who make taxable sales of $1,000 or more in a
year are required to hold a Wisconsin seller’s permit.
They need to charge sales tax at a rate ranging from 5%
to 5.6%, depending on the county in which the sale
takes place.

For those vendors who do not have a seller’s permit or
who have a delinquent account with the Department of

Revenue, department representatives will be meeting
them at the registration table, to get them registered
and/or to collect their delinquent account.

Organizers of these temporary events are required by
law to report to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue
the name, address, and seller’s permit number of each
vendor selling merchandise at an event. A social
security number or federal employer identification
number is required if the vendor does not have a seller’s
permit number.

Questions about the responsibilities of operators or
vendors at temporary events can be referred to the de-
partment’s Temporary Events Coordinator, Tom Beyer,
at (608) 266-7183 or at tbeyer@dor.state.wi.us.     �

Delinquent Taxes May Be Offset Against
Unclaimed Property
The list of assets held by the Unclaimed Property
Program, which is administered by the Office of the
State Treasurer (“OST”), is now matched quarterly with
the Department of Revenue’s Delinquent Tax System
(“DTS”) records of delinquent taxpayers. The match is
on property that is identified by either a social security
number or federal identification number. When there is
a match, a levy will be served on OST, unless the
taxpayer is in bankruptcy, so that DTS can apply the
unclaimed property to the taxpayer’s delinquent tax
account.

Generally, unclaimed property is a financial asset that
has had no account activity by its owner for five years or
more, and the owner cannot be contacted by the asset’s

holder (for example, a bank, savings institution, credit
union, insurance company, or utility company).
Financial assets include savings accounts, checking
accounts, uncashed dividends, stocks, customer deposits
or overpayments, certificates of deposit, credit balances,
refunds, matured life insurance policies, and uncashed
death benefit checks.

Unclaimed property also includes utility deposits,
unclaimed wages, and property resulting from business
dissolutions that have had one year or more of
inactivity. Unclaimed property does not include real
estate.

Further information about the Unclaimed Property
Program is available at the State Treasurer’s web site, at
www.ost.state.wi.us/home/html/unclaim.html.     �

Taxability of Funeral Trust Interest
Individuals may create a pre-need funeral trust, also
referred to as a burial agreement, to prepay costs of
funeral and burial services and merchandise. Investment
earnings (for example, interest) that accrue from a pre-
need funeral trust are taxable. The earnings may be
includable in taxable income of the trust, or in taxable
income of the purchaser/grantor, depending on whether
the trustee has or has not made an election under sec.
685 of the federal Internal Revenue Code (“IRC”).

If the trustee of a pre-need funeral trust elects to have
the trust treated as a “qualified funeral trust” (“QFT”)
under IRC sec. 685, the trust is taxed on the investment
earnings generated by the trust. In that case, the earnings
are not includable in the purchaser/grantor’s taxable

income (or household income for homestead credit
purposes).

In all other cases (that is, when an IRC sec. 685 election
has not been made), the investment earnings from a pre-
need funeral trust are includable in taxable income of
the purchaser/grantor. The earnings are also includable
in the purchaser/grantor’s household income for
homestead credit purposes. This is true even if the trust
is irrevocable with respect to the purchaser’s inability to
revoke or amend the agreement with the funeral
provider or use the funds for some other purpose.

Two letter rulings issued by the Internal Revenue
Service, #9120024 dated February 20, 1991, and
#9140006 dated June 26, 1991, held that when a state’s

mailto:tbeyer@dor.state.wi.us
https://statetreasurer.wi.gov/Pages/UnclaimedProperty.aspx
https://statetreasurer.wi.gov/Pages/UnclaimedProperty.aspx
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laws require a decedent’s estate to pay for his or her
funeral (which is the case with Wisconsin), the
purchaser/grantor of a pre-need funeral trust in that state
is considered the owner if he or she has a reversionary
interest in the trust corpus and earnings. The fact that
funds from a pre-need funeral trust may be used only to
pay for the purchaser’s funeral results in the purchaser

having a reversionary interest, per IRC sec. 673(a). The
purchaser/grantor is then treated as the owner, even if he
or she does not have control over or access to the funds
in the trust, and as such, the earnings from the trust are
taxable to him or her, and not to the trust (except if an
IRC sec. 685 election has been made).     �

Refund Interception Program Continues
to Grow
Due to recent changes in technology, participation in the
Department of Revenue’s (“DOR’s”) refund
interception program for local governments has grown
tremendously. First authorized in 1995, this program
was initiated so that DOR could intercept state tax
refunds for debts owed to local governments.
Information was exchanged between DOR and
participating local governments via a standard telephone
modem, a system that, while functional, was not very
“user friendly.”

All that changed in January 2001, when DOR replaced
its modem system with an Internet-based application
that made data exchange considerably easier. Prior to
the implementation of the new application, only twenty
local governments were participating in DOR’s refund
interception program and had collected approximately
$1.9 million since the program’s inception. In the past

two years alone, however, the number of participating
agencies has grown to over 90, and collections
surpassed $3.2 million. Clearly, this change in
technology has resulted in tremendous growth in the
refund interception program, and new agencies are
enrolling at a steady pace.

County clerks of court can look forward to even more
technological advancements that will make participation
in the program even easier. Through a partnership with
Circuit Court Automation Programs (“CCAP”), an
interface is being constructed that will allow the clerks
to exchange program information with DOR, directly
from the financial management software they already
use to track court-assigned fines, fees, and forfeitures.

For more information about DOR’s refund interception
program, you may contact the Department of Revenue at
(608) 266-8517, or via e-mail at
trip@dor.state.wi.us.     �

Filing Wisconsin Fiduciary Income Tax
Returns (Form 2) for Trusts
(Note: The fiduciary income tax return filing
requirements for estates are discussed in the article titled
“Filing Wisconsin Tax Returns for a Deceased
Taxpayer,” on page 9 of this Bulletin. Refer to the
section in that article titled “Fiduciary Income Tax
Return(s).”)

� A Wisconsin “resident” trust must file a Wisconsin
fiduciary return if it has (a) any taxable income for
the taxable year, or (b) gross income of $600 or
more, regardless of the taxable income.

Gross income means all income, before deducting
expenses, reportable to Wisconsin that is received in
the form of money, property, or services. It does not
include items that are exempt from Wisconsin tax.

Example: A resident trust has $400 of interest
income. It makes no distributions and therefore only
has an exemption of $100, which would result in

taxable income of $300. The trust is required to file
a Wisconsin fiduciary return, because it has taxable
income.

� A “nonresident” trust must file a Wisconsin
fiduciary return if it has (a) any Wisconsin taxable
income for the year, or (b) gross income from
Wisconsin sources of $600 or more, regardless of
the taxable income.

Wisconsin source income includes income or gain
from:

a. Real or tangible personal property located in
Wisconsin.

b. A business, trade, profession, or occupation
carried on within Wisconsin, including a
corporation taxed under Subchapter S of the
Internal Revenue Code.

mailto:trip@dor.state.wi.us
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c. Personal or professional services performed in
Wisconsin either as an individual or as a
member of a partnership.

d. Income received from the Wisconsin State
Lottery or a multijurisdictional lottery if the
winning lottery ticket or lottery share was
purchased from a Wisconsin retailer.

Resident Trust

A trust created by a decedent’s will (testamentary trust)
is resident at the domicile of the decedent at the time of
the decedent’s death, unless transferred by a court
having jurisdiction, to another court’s jurisdiction.

Inter vivos trusts that are made irrevocable and were
administered in Wisconsin before October 29, 1999,
shall be considered resident at the place where the trust
is being administered.

The following inter vivos trusts that become irrevocable
on or after October 29, 1999, or that became irrevocable
before October 29, 1999, and are first administered in
Wisconsin on or after October 29, 1999, are resident of
Wisconsin:

1. Trusts, or portions of trusts, the assets of which
consist of property placed in the trust by a person
who is a resident of Wisconsin at the time that the
property was placed in the trust if, at the time that
the assets were placed in the trust, the trust was
irrevocable.

2. Trusts, or portions of trusts, the assets of which
consist of property placed in the trust by a person
who is a resident of Wisconsin at the time that the
trust became irrevocable if, at the time that the
property was placed in the trust, the trust was
revocable.

A trust is revocable if the person whose property
constitutes the trust may revest title to the property in
that person.

A trust is irrevocable if the power to revest title does not
exist.

Examples:

Law prior to October 29, 1999:

a. John Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on October 22, 1999, in Wisconsin

that is to be administered in Wisconsin. The trust
will be taxable to Wisconsin.

b. Jack Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on October 22, 1999, in Florida
that is to be administered in Florida. The trust will
not be taxable to Wisconsin.

c. Mary Doe, a resident of Florida, set up an
irrevocable trust on October 22, 1999, in Wisconsin
that is to be administered in Wisconsin. The trust
will be taxable to Wisconsin.

d. James Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, set up a
grantor (revocable) trust in Arkansas that is to be
administered in Arkansas. The trust became
irrevocable at his death on October 22, 1999. James
was a Wisconsin resident at death. This trust will
not be subject to Wisconsin income tax.

e. Susan Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, has an
irrevocable trust that is administered in Florida. On
October 22, 1999, she made an irrevocable gift to
the trust of her company stock. The earnings on the
stock, if taxable at the trust level, would not be
taxable to Wisconsin.

f. Martha Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust administered in Wisconsin in 1997.
Martha moved to Florida on October 22, 1999,
established Florida residency, and moved her trust
to Florida. The trust would no longer be taxable to
Wisconsin as the trust would now be administered
in Florida.

Law change effective on October 29, 1999:

a. John Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on December 15, 2002, in
Wisconsin that is to be administered in Wisconsin.
The trust will be taxable to Wisconsin.

b. Jack Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust on December 15, 2002, in Florida
that is to be administered in Florida. The trust will
be taxable to Wisconsin. The trust will continue to
be taxable to Wisconsin even if Jack Doe changes
his domicile to another state.

c. Mary Doe, a resident of Florida, set up an
irrevocable trust on December 15, 2002, in
Wisconsin to be administered in Wisconsin. The
trust would not be taxable to Wisconsin since Mary
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Doe was not a Wisconsin resident at the time the
trust became irrevocable.

d. James Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, set up a
grantor (revocable) trust in Arkansas that is
administered in Arkansas. The trust became
irrevocable on James’s death on December 15,
2002, and James was a Wisconsin resident at the
time of death. The trust would be taxable to
Wisconsin.

e. Susan Taxpayer, a resident of Wisconsin, has an
irrevocable trust that is administered in Florida. On
December 15, 2002, she made an irrevocable gift to
the trust of $2 million of her company stock. The
value of the assets in the trust is $1.5 million before
the gift, and $3.5 million after. All income from the
$2 million which was placed in the trust on
December 15, 2002, will be taxable to Wisconsin.
The assets put into the trust prior to October 29,
1999, will not be taxable to Wisconsin.

f. Martha Doe, a resident of Wisconsin, set up an
irrevocable trust in Wisconsin on December 15,
1999. In March 2002, Martha moved to Florida and
became a Florida resident. The trust would remain
taxable to Wisconsin since Martha Doe was a
resident of Wisconsin at the time the trust became
irrevocable.

This law change provides that any and all trusts funded
by a Wisconsin resident, that became irrevocable on or
after October 29, 1999, and contributions to such trusts
by a Wisconsin resident, are subject to Wisconsin
income tax. It exempts from Wisconsin income tax all
trusts that became irrevocable on or after October 29,
1999, and are funded by a nonresident, even if
administered in Wisconsin.

Qualified Funeral Trust (“QFT”)

For taxable years beginning after August 5, 1997, if a
qualified funeral trust (“QFT”) makes the election under
sec. 685 of the Internal Revenue Code for federal
income tax purposes, that election also applies for
Wisconsin income tax purposes. A QFT must treat each
beneficiary’s interest as a separate trust. A copy of the
federal Form 1041-QFT must be attached to the Form 2.

Electing Small Business Trust (“ESBT”)

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997,
electing small business trusts (“ESBTs”) may be

S corporation shareholders. The portion of an ESBT that
consists of stock of one or more S corporations is treated
as a separate trust. The separate trust is subject to
Wisconsin income tax at the highest rate under
sec. 71.06(1), (1m), (1n), or (1p), Wis. Stats. (2001-02).

Closing Certificates

A trust may request a Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries
from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue on the
Form 2 that is filed for the year prior to the final year.
Section 71.13(2), Wis. Stats., provides that the
department may issue a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries to an “Executor, administrator, personal
representative or trustee applying to a court having
jurisdiction” in order to obtain the court’s approval for
final distribution and discharge of the fiduciary. The
department will issue the Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries only in cases where the court has required it
to close a proceeding.

The Form 2 on which the closing certificate is requested
must include all of the following:

� Payment of any tax due.

� The trust instrument and any amendments.

� The annual court accountings, or the fiduciary
accounting of income for the last three years.

� A detailed statement of why the trust is closing.

� A completed Schedule D on page 3 of Form 2.

� A copy of the inventory of the assets in the trust.

In addition, before a closing certificate will be issued, all
fiduciary returns and all taxes due must be filed and paid
(except the final return and the tax on that return).

The certificate request should be mailed to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 5-144
P.O. Box 8904
Madison, WI 53708-8904

The receipt of the Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries
will not relieve the fiduciary from the responsibility of
filing the final fiduciary return.     �
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Filing Wisconsin Tax Returns for a
Deceased Taxpayer
More than one type of Wisconsin tax return may be
required for a deceased taxpayer, such as:

� Individual income tax return

� Fiduciary income tax return(s)

� Estate tax return

� Inheritance tax return (for deaths prior to January 1,
1992).

Individual Income Tax Return

A personal representative or petitioner must file an
individual income tax return, Form 1, 1A, 1NPR, or
WI-Z, for a decedent from the beginning of the year to
the date of death. The due date of the individual return is
April 15th of the year following death.

The filing requirements for tax years beginning in 2002
are as follows:

a. Single person - gross income of $9,000 or more.

b. Married persons filing jointly - gross income of
$18,000 or more.

c. Married person filing separately - gross income of
$9,000 or more (each spouse).

d. Head of household:

(1) Under age 65 - gross income of $10,580 or
more.

(2) Age 65 or over - gross income of $10,830 or
more.

e. Part-year resident or nonresident - gross Wisconsin
income of $2,000 or more.

When a surviving heir files a return claiming a refund
on behalf of a person who died and the refund is larger
than $100, a completed Form I-804, Claim for
Decedent’s Wisconsin Income Tax Refund, should be
attached to the front of the return. If a refund of $100 or
less is being claimed, a note should be attached to the
front of the tax return, listing the survivor’s name,
address, social security number, and relationship to the
person who died, and the note should be signed.

The person who files the return should write “deceased”
after the decedent’s name in the name and address area
at the top of the return.

If the taxpayer did not have to file a return but paid
estimated tax or had tax withheld, a return must be filed
to get a refund.

If a taxpayer’s spouse died during 2002 and the taxpayer
did not remarry in 2002, a joint return can be filed. A
joint return for 2002 can also be filed if a taxpayer’s
spouse died in 2003 before filing a 2002 return. A joint
return should show the deceased spouse’s 2002 income
before death and the surviving spouse’s income for all
of 2002. “Filing as surviving spouse” should be written
in the area where the return is signed. If someone else is
the personal representative, he or she must also sign.

If a refund is being claimed as a surviving spouse filing
a joint return with the deceased and the above
instructions are followed, a Form I-804 is not required.

Fiduciary Income Tax Return(s)

Resident Estate

Every personal representative or special administrator of
an estate of a Wisconsin decedent must file a Wisconsin
Fiduciary Income Tax Return, Form 2, if the gross
income of the estate is $600 or more. Gross income
means all income, before deducting expenses, reportable
to Wisconsin that is received in the form of money,
property, or services. It does not include items that are
exempt from Wisconsin tax.

The decedent is considered a resident of the state in
which the decedent was domiciled at the time of death.

Nonresident Estate

A nonresident estate must file a Wisconsin fiduciary
return, Form 2, if it has gross income (as described in
“Resident Estate” above) of $600 or more from
Wisconsin sources, and a federal fiduciary return is
required to be filed with the Internal Revenue Service.
Income from sources within Wisconsin includes income
or gain from:

a. Real or tangible personal property located within the
state.

b. A business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on within the state, including a corporation taxed
under Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code.

c. Personal or professional services performed within
the state as an individual or a member of a
partnership.



10 Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 134 – April 2003

d. Income received from the Wisconsin State Lottery
or a multijurisdictional lottery if the winning lottery
ticket or lottery share was purchased from a
Wisconsin retailer.

The first fiduciary income tax return filed by a personal
representative or petitioner of an estate covers the period
from the date of death of the decedent to the end of the
first year selected by the fiduciary. The taxable year
cannot be longer than 12 months, must end on the last
day of a month, and must coincide with the year selected
for filing the federal return. The return is due on the
15th day of the 4th month after the close of the taxable
year.

Closing Certificates

An estate may request a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue
on the Form 2 that is filed for the year prior to the final
year. Section 71.13(2), Wis. Stats., provides that the
department may issue a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries to an “Executor, administrator, personal
representative or trustee applying to a court having
jurisdiction” in order to obtain the court’s approval for
final distribution and discharge of the fiduciary. The
department will issue the Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries only in cases where the court has required it
to close a proceeding.

Copies of the inventory and will including any codicils
should be attached with the request. If these documents
were previously submitted with a Wisconsin Estate Tax
Return, it is not necessary to submit them again.

The receipt of the Closing Certificate for Fiduciaries
will not relieve the fiduciary from the responsibility of
filing the final fiduciary return.

Note: If an estate does not have enough income to
require filing and needs a Closing Certificate for
Fiduciaries, or if the estate will be filing only one
fiduciary return when the estate is closed and needs the
closing certificate before filing the return, the following
procedures should be used.

a. Complete the top third of the Form 2, page 1.

b. Insert the appropriate statement in line 1:

(1) “Gross income is less than $600 and no 1041 is
required,” or

(2) “A first and final return will be filed upon
closing the estate.”

c. Complete the appropriate “Information Required”
section of Schedule D, on page 3 of Form 2.

d. Sign and date the Form 2.

e. Attach copies of the inventory, will, and domiciliary
letters.

f. Mail the certificate request to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 5-144
P.O. Box 8904
Madison, WI 53708-8904

Estate Tax Return

A tax is imposed upon any transfer of property to any
distributee in either of the following cases: (a) when the
transfer is from a person who dies while a resident of
Wisconsin at death; or (b) when the transfer is of
property within the jurisdiction of Wisconsin, and the
decedent was not a resident of Wisconsin at death.

Wisconsin Estate Tax Basis

1/1/92 to 9/30/02 For deaths occurring from January 1,
1992, through September 30, 2002, the Wisconsin estate
tax is a tax based on the federal credit for state death
taxes. This tax is imposed upon both resident and
nonresident decedents.

10/1/02 to 12/31/07 For deaths occurring from
October 1, 2002, through December 31, 2007, the
Wisconsin estate tax will be based on the federal credit
for state death taxes and the federal estate tax as
computed under the federal estate tax law in effect on
December 31, 2000.

After 12/31/07 For deaths occurring after December 31,
2007, the Wisconsin estate tax will again be based on
the federal credit for state death taxes, and the federal
estate tax is to be computed under the federal estate tax
law in effect on the date of the decedent’s death. Under
current federal estate tax law, there is no state death tax
credit for deaths occurring in 2008 or 2009, and there is
no federal estate tax for deaths occurring in 2010. See
the note in the next section regarding deaths occurring in
2011 and thereafter.

Wisconsin Estate Tax Filimg Requirements

The Wisconsin estate tax filing requirements for deaths
occurring on or after January 1, 1992, are as follows:
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             Period            . Gross Estate

1992 to 1997 $   600,000

1998 $   625,000

1999 $   650,000

2000 and 2001 $   675,000

1/1/02 to 9/30/02 $1,000,000

10/1/02 to 12/31/07 $   675,000

2008 through 2010 NO WISCONSIN ESTATE
TAX FOR 2008-2010

2011 and after $   675,000*

*Note: The federal estate tax changes are “sunsetted.”
In the absence of further changes, the federal estate tax
as it existed prior to the 2001 federal law changes will
be restored in 2011, and unless there are changes to
Wisconsin law, the Wisconsin estate tax will also be
restored in 2011.

Since the Wisconsin estate tax for deaths occurring from
October 1, 2002, through December 31, 2007, will be
based on the federal estate tax law in effect on
December 31, 2000, the filing requirements for filing a
Wisconsin Estate Tax Return, Form W706, will differ
from the federal filing requirements for those years. For
example, the federal filing requirement is $1,000,000 in
2002 and 2003 and goes up in later years. Therefore,
there may be a Wisconsin filing requirement for those
years, even though no federal estate tax return will be
required.

Wisconsin Estate Tax Forms

The Wisconsin Estate Tax Return, Form W706, should
be filed by the person responsible for filing the federal
estate tax return (personal representative, special
administrator, trustee, distributee, or other person
signing the federal Form 706). A Tax Computation
Schedule, Schedule TC, should accompany the
Form W706.

The Form W706 is due nine months after the date of
death or when the federal estate tax return is required to
be filed, as extended, whichever is later. For federal
estate tax returns filed after July 25, 2001, the Internal
Revenue Service (“IRS”) provides an automatic six-
month extension of time to file the return. A request for
a federal extension must be made on federal Form 4768
and filed with the IRS on or before the due date of the
return. Wisconsin will accept the federal extension; a
copy of the approved Form 4768 must be filed with the

Wisconsin Form W706. If no federal estate tax return is
required, a Wisconsin-only extension can be requested
using using Wisconsin Form W4768, Application for
Extension of Time to File a Wisconsin Estate Tax Return
(W706).

Regardless of when the tax return is filed, the tax is due
nine months after date of death. There is no provision
for extending the time to pay the Wisconsin tax (even
though a federal extension is available for paying the
federal tax). If the tax is not paid within nine months of
the decedent’s death, interest is imposed at 1% per
month from the date of death. If an advance payment
of Wisconsin estate tax is to be made (before the estate
tax return is filed), the payment should be submitted
with a completed Wisconsin Form 401T, Report of
Estate or Inheritance Tax Payment.

If the return is filed after the due date, as extended, there
is a penalty equal to 5% of the tax. The minimum
penalty is $25 and the maximum penalty is $500.

Examples:

1. Decedent A died April 15, 2002. An extension of
time to file the federal estate tax return was obtained
from the IRS. The Wisconsin estate tax return and
payment of the tax were submitted on January 31,
2003, which was within the extension period. Tax of
$1,200 was due. The total amount due is $1,314,
computed as follows:

Tax $1,200
Interest      114  (1% x 9 1/2 months)
Total $1,314

2. Decedent B died April 15, 2002, and did not obtain
an extension to file from the IRS or from the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue. The Wisconsin
estate tax return was filed January 31, 2003, and
showed no tax due. This estate owes the minimum
penalty of $25.

Copies of Form W706, instructions, Schedule CT,
Form W4768, and Form 401T appear on pages 35 to 41
of this Bulletin. All of the forms on those pages, except
the Form 401T, are only for estates of decendents whose
date of death is on or after October 1, 2002. Those
forms, as well as earlier versions of the forms, are
available by accessing the department’s web site,
www.dor.state.wi.us. Click on “Forms,” then scroll to
“Estate, Inheritance and Gift Tax” and click on “Estate.”
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Certificate Determining Estate Tax

Upon receipt of the Wisconsin estate tax return and after
review for correctness, the Department of Revenue will
issue a Certificate Determining Estate Tax. If the IRS
increases or decreases the federal estate tax, the person
entitled to the refund or liable for the additional tax is
required to notify the Department within 30 days.

Inheritance Tax Return

There is no Wisconsin inheritance tax for decedents
dying on or after January 1, 1992. If death occurred
prior to January 1, 1992, you may obtain information
and the appropriate forms by calling (608) 266-2772, or
by accessing the department’s web site,
www.dor.state.wi.us. Click on “Forms,” then scroll to
“Estate, Inheritance and Gift Tax” and click on
“Inheritance.”     �

Index of Reference
Material Available
Are you looking for an easy way to

locate reference material to research a Wisconsin tax
question? The Wisconsin Topical and Court Case Index
may be just what you need.

This two-part index will help you find reference
material relating to income, franchise, withholding,
sales/use, estate, and excise taxes.

The “Topical Index” portion lists by tax type,
alphabetically by subject, references to Wisconsin
statutes, administrative rules, tax releases, private letter
rulings, Wisconsin tax publications, Sales and Use Tax

Reports, Attorney General opinions, and Wisconsin Tax
Bulletin articles.

The “Court Case Index” lists by tax type, alphabetically
by issue, decisions of the Wisconsin Tax Appeals
Commission, Circuit Court, Court of Appeals, and
Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Wisconsin Topical and Court Case Index is
available by subscription for $18 per year, plus sales tax.
This includes a volume published in January and an
addendum published in June. To order your copy,
complete the order blank on page 43 of this Bulletin.
The Index is also on the department’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us. Just click on “Publications.”     �

Take Advantage of the Speakers Bureau
Are you planning a meeting, workshop, conference, or
training program? The Department of Revenue’s
Speakers Bureau provides speakers who can provide
information to business, community, and educational
organizations.

Department representatives are available to speak on a
variety of topics that can be targeted to your group’s
particular areas of interest, including:

� New sales/use, income, and corporate tax laws.
� How sales tax affects contractors, manufacturers,

nonprofit organizations, or businesses in general.
� Homestead credit.

� Audit and appeal procedures.
� Common errors discovered in audits.
� Recordkeeping requirements.
� Tax delinquencies and petitions for compromise.
� Manufacturing property assessment.
� Electronic filing of individual income tax returns.

To arrange for a speaker, you may write to Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, Speakers Bureau, Mail Stop
5-77, P.O. Box 8949, Madison, WI 53708-8949; fax
your request to (608) 266-9829; call (608) 266-1911; or
fill out the online request form at the department’s web
site, www.dor.state.wi.us; click on “Training.”     �

Wisconsin Tax Bulletin
Annual Index Available
Once each year the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin

includes an index of materials that have
appeared in past Bulletins. The index will help you
locate reference materials including articles, court case

summaries, tax releases, and private letter rulings, to
research questions about Wisconsin taxes.

The latest Wisconsin Tax Bulletin index available
appears in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 133 (January 2003),
pages 48 to 80. It includes information for issues 1 to
132 (through October 2002).     �
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Tax Publications Available

Listed below are 69 publications that are available, free
of charge, from the Department of Revenue. Copies are
available at any department office, or by mail, e-mail,
fax, or the Internet.

By Mail

Write to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Forms
Request Office, Mail Stop 1-151, P.O. Box 8949,
Madison, WI 53708-8949; call (608) 266-1961; or fax a
request to (608) 261-6913.

By E-Mail

You may e-mail your request to forms@dor.state.wi.us.

Via Your Fax Machine

Use the department’s Fax-A-Form system by calling
(608) 261-6229 from a fax telephone and entering the
retrieval code “10” plus the publication number.

Via the Internet

Access the department’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us, and click on “Publications” and
then “Tax Publications.”

Note: The numbers of some publications may be
followed by an asterisk (*). These are publications that
are new or have been revised since the last issue of the
Wisconsin Tax Bulletin.

Income and Franchise Taxes

102 Wisconsin Tax Treatment of Tax-Option (S)
Corporations and Their Shareholders (12/02)

103 Reporting Capital Gains and Losses for Wiscon-
sin by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts (11/02)

104 Wisconsin Taxation of Military Personnel (10/02)

106 Wisconsin Tax Information for Retirees (11/02)

109 Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2002
(11/02)

112 Wisconsin Estimated Tax and Estimated
Surcharge for Individual, Estates, Trusts,
Corporations, Partnerships (11/02)

113 Federal and Wisconsin Income Tax Reporting
Under the Marital Property Act (10/02)

116 Income Tax Payments are Due Throughout the
Year (11/02)

119 Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) (12/02)

120 Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates,
and Trusts (11/02)

121 Reciprocity (12/01)

122 Tax Information for Part-Year Residents and
Nonresidents of Wisconsin for 2002 (11/02)

123 Business Tax Credits for 2002 (12/02)

125 Credit for Tax Paid to Another State (11/02)

126 How Your Retirement Benefits Are Taxed
(11/02)

600 Wisconsin Taxation of Lottery Winnings (1/02)

601 Wisconsin Taxation of Pari-Mutuel Wager Win-
nings (1/02)

Sales and Use Taxes

200 Electrical Contractors – How Do Wisconsin Sales
and Use Taxes Affect Your Business? (11/02)

201 Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Information (11/02)

202 Sales and Use Tax Information for Motor Vehicle
Sales, Leases, and Repairs (11/00)

203 Sales and Use Tax Information for Manufacturers
(7/00)

205 Use Tax Information for Individuals (8/01)

206 Sales Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations
(6/00)

207 Sales and Use Tax Information for Contractors
(10/00)

210 Sales and Use Tax Treatment of Landscaping
(4/01)

211 Cemetery Monument Dealers – How Do Wiscon-
sin Sales and Use Taxes Affect You? (6/00)

212 Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax on Imported
Goods? (8/01)

213 Travelers: Don’t Forget About Use Tax (8/01)

214 Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax? (8/01)

mailto:forms@dor.state.wi.us
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216* Filing Claims for Refund of Sales or Use Tax
(2/03)

217 Auctioneers – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (1/00)

219* Hotels, Motels, and Other Lodging Providers –
How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use Taxes Affect
Your Operations? (2/03)

220 Grocers – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (10/01)

221 Farm Suppliers and Farmers – How Do Wisconsin
Sales and Use Taxes Affect Sales to Farmers?
(3/02)

222 Motor Vehicle Fuel Users: Do You Owe Use
Tax? (3/00)

223 Bakeries – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (1/03)

224 Veterinarians – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Business? (6/99)

225 Barber and Beauty Shops – How Do Wisconsin
Sales and Use Taxes Affect Your Operations?
(12/02)

226 Golf Courses – How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use
Taxes Affect Your Operations? (3/00)

227 E-file Sales Tax returns with S.I.P. (3/01)

229 Brackets for Collecting Wisconsin Sales or Use
Tax on Retail Sales (11/01)

230 Sales and Use Tax Information for Sellers of
Antiques, Crafts, and Artwork (12/02)

Other Taxes and Credits

127 Wisconsin Homestead Credit Situations and
Solutions (11/02)

128 Wisconsin Farmland Preservation Credit
Situations and Solutions (12/01)

400 Wisconsin’s Recycling Surcharge (12/02)

403* Premier Resort Area Tax (2/03)

410* Local Exposition Taxes (2/03)

503 Wisconsin Farmland Preservation Credit (11/02)

508* Wisconsin Tax Requirements Relating to
Nonresident Entertainers (2/03)

W-166 Wisconsin Employer’s Withholding Tax
Guide (11/02)

Audits and Appeals

501 Field Audit of Wisconsin Tax Returns (3/02)

505 Taxpayers’ Appeal Rights of Office Audit
Adjustments (2/02)

506 Taxpayers’ Appeal Rights of Field Audit
Adjustments (9/99)

507 How to Appeal to the Tax Appeals Commission
(9/00)

515 Non-Statistical Sampling (1/01)

Other Topics

111 How to Get a Private Letter Ruling From the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue (2/01)

114 Your Wisconsin Taxpayer Bill of Rights (10/01)

115 2003 Handbook for Federal/State Electronic Fil-
ing (11/02)

117 Guide to Wisconsin Information Returns (11/02)

124* Petition for Compromise of Delinquent Taxes
(4/03)

130 Fax A Form (12/02)

140 A Tax Practitioner’s Guide to Electronic Filing
(6/00)

401 Extensions of Time to File (11/02)

405 Wisconsin Taxation of Native Americans (12/01)

500 Tax Guide for Wisconsin Political Organizations
and Candidates (11/02)

502 Directory of Wisconsin Tax Publications (1/02)

504 Directory for Wisconsin Department of Revenue
(2/00)

509 Filing Wage Statements and Information Returns
on Magnetic Media (2/01)

700 Speakers Bureau presenting . . . (6/00)     �
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Farmers Receive More Than
$30 Million in Farmland Credits
Direct benefits of approximately $30.3 million were
distributed to Wisconsin farmers in 2002, primarily for
the 2001 tax year, through the farmland preservation
credit program and the farmland tax relief credit
program. These credits are paid as a reduction in
Wisconsin income tax, or as a cash refund if the credits
exceed income tax due. The total amount of farmland
preservation credit and farmland tax relief credit may
not exceed 95% of the farm property taxes.

Farmland Tax Relief Credit Program

It is not necessary for the farmland to be subject to
agricultural zoning or a farmland preservation
agreement to receive farmland tax relief credit. This
program provides direct benefits to any qualifying
farmland owner with 35 or more acres of farmland.
About 56,400 farmers, including about 900
corporations, claimed farmland tax relief credits totaling
$13.7 million in 2002, for an average credit of $242.

The credit is computed as a percentage of up to $10,000
of property taxes on farmland (exclusive of
improvements), up to a maximum credit of $1,500. The
Department of Revenue calculates the percentage each
year, based on the amount appropriated for the program.
The credit for 2001 claims equaled 13% of the first

$10,000 of property taxes on farmland. For the 2002 tax
year (credits claimed in 2003), the credit is equal to 30%
of the first $10,000 of property taxes, but limited to a
maximum credit of $1,500. The credit rate is much
higher this year because use value assessment has
sharply reduced property taxes on farmland.

Farmland Preservation Credit Program

About 21,000 farmers, including about 375
corporations, claimed farmland preservation credits
totaling $16.6 million in 2002. The credit averaged $797
per claimant. About 37% of farm owners with 35 or
more acres claimed the credit, which equaled about 21%
of claimants’ average property tax bills.

The goals of the farmland preservation credit program
are twofold –

� To preserve Wisconsin farmland by means of local
land use planning and soil conservation practices.

� To provide property tax relief to farmland owners.

To qualify for the credit, farmland must be 35 acres or
more and must either be zoned for exclusive agricultural
use (about 80% of claims), or be subject to a farmland
preservation agreement between the farmland owner and
the state (about 20% of claims). In addition, participants
must comply with soil and water conservation standards
set by the state Land Conservation Board.      �

To File or Not to File – Corporation Tax
Returns
The Department of Revenue (“DOR”) sends corporation
tax forms and instructions to corporations annually, to
help the corporations comply with their filing
requirements. Sometimes corporations that are no longer
in business, or have never done business after
incorporation, receive these tax forms as well. This is
because the corporation has not filed a proper return
with DOR.

If a corporation dissolves, the corporation must contact
the Department of Financial Institutions (“DFI”) and file
an Articles of Dissolution form. Many corporations
believe that by contacting DFI to dissolve, DOR records
will also be updated to reflect the dissolution, and no
further action is required. DFI does notify the
Department of Revenue of the dissolution; however, the
corporation is required to file a tax return with the
Department of Revenue as well. Until this is done, DOR
will continue to send the corporation tax forms.

Following are various circumstances a corporation may
be in, and the proper filing action.

Circumstance Filing Requirement
Activity in Wisconsin
and elsewhere

File the appropriate corporation
tax form (4, 5, 5S, 4I, or 4T).

Activity in Wisconsin
but not elsewhere

File the appropriate corporation
tax form (4, 5, 5S, 4I, or 4T).

No activity in Wiscon-
sin, but activity
elsewhere

File the appropriate corporation
tax form (4, 5, 5S, 4I, or 4T),
and indicate no activity by en-
tering zeros or “none.”

No activity in Wisconsin
or elsewhere, but may
become active in Wis-
consin later.

File Form 4H, Wisconsin Cor-
poration Declaration of
Inactivity.

No activity now in Wis-
consin or elsewhere, and
will not become active in
Wisconsin later. *

File the appropriate corporation
tax form (4, 5, 5S, 4I, or 4T),
and check “Final return” in
Box E (or Box H of Form 4T).

*See next page
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*This applies whether the corporation had no activity
during the year, or it had some activity but is now out of
business.

Questions regarding incorporation or dissolution can
be directed to:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
Division of Corporate and Consumer Services
Corporate Section
P.O. Box 7846
Madison, WI 53707

Phone (608) 261-7577

Fax (608) 267-6813

Questions regarding corporation tax filing
requirements can be directed to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Corporation Review & Adjustment Unit
Mail Stop 3-14
P.O. Box 8908
Madison, WI 53708-8908

Phone (608) 266-0800

Fax (608) 264-6884

Email: corptax@dor.state.wi.us

All corporation tax forms and instructions can be found
on the Department of Revenue’s web site at
www.dor.state.wi.us.     �

Take Advantage of Wisconsin’s
Voluntary Disclosure Program
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue encourages
businesses and individuals who are not in compliance
with Wisconsin tax laws to voluntarily come forward.
Taxpayers may remain anonymous throughout the
voluntary disclosure process. Voluntary disclosure
applies to all types of taxes administered by the
Department of Revenue’s Income, Sales, and Excise
Tax Division and Processing and Customer Services
Division.

Benefits of Voluntary Disclosure

� Written agreement to restrict the statute of
limitations.

� Waiver of penalties.
� Possible reduction in number of periods for which

returns must be filed.
� Elimination of the risk of being discovered under

audit.

Taxpayer Qualifications

To be considered for voluntary disclosure treatment, a
taxpayer must meet certain conditions and enter into a
written agreement with the department. The following
conditions must be met for a taxpayer to qualify for
voluntary disclosure treatment:

� No returns of the tax type filed for the period in
question.

� No registration for the type of tax involved during
the period in question.

� No contact by the department within the last 6 years
regarding a registration/filing requirement or an
assessment/audit assignment.

How to Apply

A taxpayer or the taxpayer’s representative may request
voluntary disclosure treatment by submitting a written
request to the department for consideration. The request
must include the following information:

� Description of Wisconsin activities for the years
involved.

� List of property owned or leased in Wisconsin.

� Taxable year ending date.

� Date taxable activities began in Wisconsin.

� Whether the tax involved has been collected or
withheld, and if so, for what periods.

� Prior contacts by the Department of Revenue.

� Other types of tax returns currently being filed with
the department.

� Whether the taxpayer is registered with the
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
(formerly the Secretary of State) to transact business
in Wisconsin.

Taxpayer Responsibilities

� File all returns for the periods agreed upon within
ninety days.

� Pay all tax, late filing fees, and interest according to
the agreement.

mailto:corptax@dor.state.wi.us
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� Make books and records available to the
department.

Department Rights

All voluntary disclosure agreements include provisions
reserving the department’s right to:

� Audit factual representations made as part of the
agreement.

� Audit the taxpayer and any returns filed.
� Void the agreement if factual misrepresentations

have been made by the taxpayer, and assess
additional tax, penalties, and interest, as appropriate.

Confidential Inquiries About Voluntary Disclosure

Information regarding Wisconsin’s Voluntary Disclo-
sure Program can be found on the department’s Internet
web site at www.dor.state.wi.us. If you prefer, you may
submit any questions you may have, by phone at
(608) 266-3969, by e-mail at wivoldis@dor.state.wi.us,
or by letter. Send written requests to the following
address:

Voluntary Disclosure Program MS 6-40
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI 53708-8933.     �

Three Sentenced in Homestead Fraud
Ring
Three Milwaukee women have been sentenced in the
homestead credit fraud ring dubbed the “780 Club,”
which involved the filing of 500 false homestead credit
claims in 297 different names. Sentenced in Milwaukee
County Circuit Court were:

� Yvette Peterson, 31.
� Beatrice Sims, 47.
� Tracy D. Perkins, 32.

Peterson was sentenced in January 2003, by Judge
William Brash, for filing a false Wisconsin homestead
credit claim. The sentence called for 60 days in the
House of Corrections. Sims and Perkins were sentenced
in February 2003, by Judge Louis Butler, after both pled
guilty to filing a false tax document. Each one was fined
$500 and given the opportunity to serve 10 days in the
House of Corrections in lieu of paying the fine. All three
were referred to the Milwaukee County District
Attorneys Office after an investigation by the
Department of Revenue’s Fraud Unit.

Filing a false Wisconsin homestead credit claim is a
crime punishable by up to 7 ½ years imprisonment,
$10,000 in fines, or both, together with prosecution
costs. In addition, Wisconsin law provides for
substantial civil penalties on the civil tax liability, and
assessment and collection of the taxes, penalties, and
interest due follows a conviction for criminal violations.
All participants in the “780 Club” fraud scheme will be
billed for the money they received, as well as penalties
and interest.

In January 2003, Rachel A. Bonander, 32, of Eau Claire,
had 14 additional felony charges added to her other 15
charges, in which she is accused of embezzling nearly
$400,000 as a bookkeeper for three Chippewa Valley
automotive businesses. She now faces 15 counts of
theft, five counts of credit card fraud, and nine counts of
failing to pay sales taxes.

Bonander pled not guilty to the charges and now faces a
jury trial. At the time of the 14 additional charges, she
was serving an eight year prison term for violating terms
of her probation stemming from a 1998 theft case. Her
probation was revoked after she became the chief
suspect in the embezzlement investigation.

Shannon Jefferson, 28, formerly of Milwaukee, was
sentenced in January 2003, to nine months in
Milwaukee County Jail on each of two counts of failure
to file timely Wisconsin income tax returns.

In February, Darryl A. Welch, age 40 and Jefferson’s
former boyfriend, also formerly from Milwaukee, was
also sentenced. His sentence was for one year in
Wisconsin state prison for filing a false income tax
return, and for nine months in the House of Corrections
on each of two counts of failure to file timely tax
returns.

Jefferson and Welch were sentenced on the tax charges
by Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Victor
Manian. At the time of the sentencings, Jefferson was
incarcerated at the Robert E. Ellsworth Correctional
Center and Welch was incarcerated at the Dodge
Correctional Center.

mailto:wivoldis@dor.state.wi.us
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In 2002, Jefferson and Welch each pled guilty to
Medicaid Fraud. They ran a transportation service and
bilked $350,000 from the state by billing Medicaid
during two and a half years, for hundreds of trips that
were never provided. They were both convicted under
the racketeering law and sentenced by Milwaukee
County Circuit Court Judge Jeffrey Conen.

Jefferson was sentenced on the racketeering charge to
three years prison, followed by three years probation.
Welch was sentenced on the racketeering charge to five
years prison, followed by five years extended
supervision. Their sentences on the tax counts are to run
concurrent with each other and concurrent to the
racketeering charges.

Kathryn M. Richardson, 45, a former Greenfield Public
School teachers aide and Junior Miss pageant organizer,
was sentenced in March 2003, to seven years in State
Prison for theft and state income tax fraud. Milwaukee
County Circuit Court Judge Jean DiMotto also imposed
an additional five years of probation on Richardson,
upon completing her prison sentence.

Richardson was previously found guilty of theft of
$66,504, and for falsifying her 1996, 1997, and 1998
income tax returns after a five-day jury trial in
December 2002.

According to the original criminal complaint,
Richardson was the office manager for Dr. Deborah
Luetzow, who operated a family health practice in South
Milwaukee. As office manager, Richardson had control
of both the computerized check register and the doctor’s
business bank account. Between February 1996 and
April 1998, she embezzled money from the business by
writing out unauthorized checks to herself. She
concealed her theft by fraudulently coding amounts to a
medical supply expense account, or by giving herself
extra “salary” payments that she was not entitled to.

Richardson’s scheme ended in April 1998, when Dr.
Luetzow received a call from the Wisconsin Department
of Regulation and Licensing, informing her that her
Physician’s license had been revoked for failure to pay
delinquent state employee withholding taxes during
1997. After being forced to close for a week, Dr.
Luetzow hired a CPA to audit her business records. The
audit lead to subsequent investigations by the South
Milwaukee Police Department and the Wisconsin

Department of Revenue’s Fraud Unit, which ultimately
resulted in criminal charges filed against Richardson by
the Milwaukee County District Attorney’s Office in
April 2002.

During the trial Richardson attempted to convince jurors
that the money she had stolen was actually a
commission she earned for doing billing work for
Dr. Luetzow. She further told them that it was her
husband, Daniel, and not herself, who had miscoded the
entries into the check register as medical supply
expenses. Her husband did not testify in the trial and did
not appear at her sentencing.

Also in March, Terri L. Messer, 47, of Columbus,
Wisconsin, was charged with four counts of theft from a
business setting and three counts of filing a false income
tax return. Messer is a former employee in the finance
department of the Sun Prairie, Wisconsin-based
Wisconsin Conference of the United Methodist Church,
an organization that governs almost 500 United
Methodist churches in Wisconsin. She is accused of
embezzling more than $158,000.

According to a criminal complaint, she had access to
four bank accounts of the organization. Also according
to the complaint:

� Messer allegedly wrote 70 checks to herself and her
credit card and phone companies between
November 1999 and March 2002; eight of the
checks were for $4,000 or more.

� After she and her ex-husband separated in late 1999
or early 2000, she purchased a car, paid off debts on
some of her children’s cars, bought a big-screen
television, and continued to make house payments,
despite making only about $30,000 per year.

� Messer admitted writing three checks for a total of
about $12,000 and paid the money back. An audit
by the Methodist Church Conference uncovered
many more checks.

� The Department of Revenue alleges that Messer
evaded almost $9,000 in income taxes for 1999 to
2001, because of her alleged increased income.

If convicted, Messer could be sentenced to more than 68
years in prison and fined up to $70,000.     �
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Administrative Rules in Process
Listed below are administrative rules that are currently
in the rule promulgation process. The rules are shown at
their stage in the process as of April 1, 2003, and at each
step where action occurred during the period from
January 2, 2003, through April 1, 2003.

The listing includes rule numbers and names, and
whether a rule is amended (A), repealed and recreated
(R&R), or a new rule (NR).

To order up-to-date administrative rules of the
Department of Revenue, you can use the order blank on
page 43 of this Bulletin to order the Tax section of the
Wisconsin Administrative Code.

Rules Being Reviewed Following Publication of
Scope Statement

11.19 Printed material exemptions – A

11.33 Occasional sales – A

11.46 Summer camps – A

11.48 Landlords, hotels and motels – R&R

11.50 Auctions – A

11.57 Public utilities – A

11.65 Admissions – A

11.87 Meals, food, food products and beverages – A

Rules Sent to Legislative Committees

11.001 Forward and definitions – A

11.13 Direct pay – A

11.14 Exemption certificates – A

11.84 Aircraft – A      �
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