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1. Sales Tax Rebate Created (1999 Wisconsin
Act 10, create sec. 77.64, effective Novem-
ber 19,1999.)

Definitions

The following definitions apply for purposes of
the sales tax rebate:

• “Nonresident” means an individual who was
not a resident of Wisconsin for any part of
1998.

• “Part-year resident” means an individual
who was a resident of Wisconsin for some
part of 1998.

• “Resident” means an individual who was a
full-year resident of Wisconsin in 1998.

Who is eligible for the sales tax rebate?

Except as provided below, individuals who were
full-year residents, part-year residents, or non-
residents of Wisconsin during 1998 are eligible
for the sales tax rebate.

The following are not eligible for the sales tax
rebate:

• An individual who was claimed as a depend-
ent on another individual’s 1998 federal
income tax return. (Exception: If the de-
pendent had 1998 Wisconsin adjusted gross
income of $5,000 or more and had a Wis-
consin income tax liability in 1998, he or she
is eligible for the rebate.)

• Individuals who were incarcerated in a state
or federal prison at any time during the 1998
taxable year. (Note: If married and only one
spouse was incarcerated, the spouse who was
not incarcerated is eligible for the rebate.)

• A nonresident of Wisconsin in 1998 who
was married to a full-year resident or part-
year resident of Wisconsin. Only the full-
year resident or part-year resident spouse is
eligible for the rebate.

What is the amount of the rebate?

Full-year residents and part-year residents of
Wisconsin in 1998 who filed a 1998 Wisconsin
income tax return or 1998 homestead credit
claim by October 15, 1999.

For individuals who were single, head of house-
hold, or married filing a separate return, the
sales tax rebate is determined as follows:

If Wisconsin Adjusted
Gross Income is:

The Sales Tax
Rebate is:

Less than $ 25,001 $184
$ 25,001 to 37,500 193

37,501 to 50,000 203
50,001 to 100,000 221

100,001 to 250,000 244
250,001 or more 267

For individuals who were married filing a joint
return or homestead credit claim, the sales tax
rebate is determined as follows:

If Wisconsin Adjusted
Gross Income is:

The Sales Tax
Rebate is:

Less than $ 25,001 $ 360
$ 25,001 to 50,000 368

50,001 to 75,000 385
75,001 to 100,000 405

100,001 to 200,000 442
200,001 to 500,000 487
500,001 or more 534

Note: If an individual filed a 1998 homestead
credit claim but did not file a 1998 Wisconsin
income tax return, the rebate is calculated as if
the individual’s Wisconsin adjusted gross in-
come is $25,000.

Full-year residents and part-year residents of
Wisconsin in 1998 who did not file a 1998 Wis-
consin income tax return or 1998 homestead
credit claim by October 15, 1999.

The amount of the sales tax rebate is $184 ($360
if married and a joint claim is filed).



Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 117 – November 1999 3

Nonresidents of Wisconsin for all of 1998.

For nonresident individuals (except nonresidents
married to a part-year resident or full-year resi-
dent of Wisconsin in 1998 whose rebate is
computed as explained above), the sales tax re-
bate is 30.4% of documented nonbusiness
consumer sales taxes paid to Wisconsin in 1998,
up to a maximum rebate of $267. To be eligible
for the rebate, the documented amount of non-
business consumer sales taxes paid to Wisconsin
must be at least $20.

Who Must File a Claim?

Full-year residents and part-year residents of
Wisconsin in 1998 who did not file a 1998 Wis-
consin income tax return or 1998 homestead
credit claim by October 15, 1999, are eligible to
receive a rebate only if the individual files a
claim with the Department of Revenue not later
than June 30, 2000. The claim shall be filed on a
form prepared by the department.

A nonresident of Wisconsin in 1998 is eligible
to receive a rebate if the individual files a claim
with the Department of Revenue not later than
December 20, 1999. The claim shall be filed on
a form prepared by the department. The form
shall require a nonresident to document his or
her nonbusiness consumer sales taxes paid to
Wisconsin in 1998. If a nonresident is married
and his or her spouse was also a nonresident of
Wisconsin in 1998, only a single, combined
claim may be filed.

Copies of the forms to be used to file a claim for
the sales tax rebate (Form STR for full-year and
party-year residents, and Form NSTR for non-
residents) appear on pages 5 to 8 of this issue.

Note: Full-year residents and part-year residents
of Wisconsin in 1998 who filed a 1998 Wiscon-
sin income tax return or homestead credit claim
by October 15, 1999 do not have to file a claim
for the sales tax rebate. They will automatically
be issued the sales tax rebate based on the in-
formation on their 1998 income tax return or
homestead credit claim.

Other Limitations and Conditions

The department may only consider adjustments
or amendments made to a 1998 Wisconsin in-
come tax return on or before October 15, 1999,
in its calculation of the rebate.

The department may offset the amount of the re-
bate against any liability owed to the
Department of Revenue or against debts owed to
other state agencies, municipalities, or counties
that have been certified to the department. With
regard to a married couple for whom an offset
must be made against a debt that is owed by
only one of the spouses, each spouse shall be
considered to have a 50% ownership interest in
the rebate.

After a rebate check has been issued but before
the check has been cashed, either joint claimant
may request a separate check for 50% of the
joint rebate.

If the department is unable to locate an individ-
ual or married couple who is eligible to receive a
rebate by December 31, 2000, or if an individual
or married couple who is issued a check does not
cash the check by December 31, 2000, the right
to the rebate lapses.

If an individual who was a full-year or part-year
resident in 1998, and who filed a 1998 Wiscon-
sin income tax return or 1998 homestead credit
claim before October 15, 1999, dies after he or
she filed the return or homestead credit claim,
the amount of the rebate for which the claimant
is eligible shall be paid to the claimant’s estate.

The department shall calculate the rebate for the
family only of an individual who has been, or
was incarcerated in a state or federal prison at
any time during 1998. The department may not
send any rebate checks to any state or federal
prison facility.

The department may enforce the rebate and may
take any action, conduct any proceeding, and
proceed as it is authorized in respect to taxes un-
der chapter 71 of the Wisconsin Statutes. The
income tax provisions in chapter 71 relating to
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assessments, refunds, appeals, collection, inter-
est, and penalties apply to the sales tax rebate.

2. School Property Tax/Rent Credit No Longer
Available (1999 Wisconsin Act 10, amend sec.
71.07(9)(b)1, repeal sec. 71.07(9)(b)3 and (g), as
created by 1999 Wisconsin Act 9, effective No-
vember 19, 1999, and create sec. 71.07(9)(b)4,
effective for taxable years beginning after De-
cember 31, 1998.)

The school property tax /rent credit is no longer
available for taxable years beginning after De-
cember 31, 1998.

Note: As a result of the elimination of the school
property tax/rent credit for tax year 1999, the
preliminary drafts of the Wisconsin income tax
forms that were printed in the October 1999
Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #115 are no longer valid.
See pages 9 to 11 of this issue for a revised copy
of Form 1 that reflects the removal of the lines
pertaining to the school property tax/rent credit.
The school property tax/rent credit line will also
be removed from the 1999 Forms 1A, WI-Z, and
1NPR.



Wisconsin
Department of Revenue

Application for Sales Tax Rebate
Complete this application only if you or your spouse were

a full-year or part-year resident of Wisconsin in 1998.

Before you fill out this application, read the instructions on the back to see if you are eligible.

S-104 (N. 11-99)

Mail Form STR no later than June 30, 2000, to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Sales Tax Rebate
PO Box 8937
Madison, WI  53708-8937

Form STR

Complete and return this application no later than June 30, 2000.  Applications postmarked after June 30,
2000 will not be accepted.

Under penalties of law, I declare that this application is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge or belief.
Your signature Spouse’s signature if a joint claim Date

1 Were you a full-year or part-year resident of Wisconsin during 1998?

Yes No If yes, indicate the dates you resided in Wisconsin and the address you lived at in
the spaces below:

I was a legal resident of Wisconsin from , 1998 to , 1998
and resided at , WI.

If no, do not complete this form.  Persons who were nonresidents of Wisconsin
during 1998 (except persons married to a full-year or part-year resident of
Wisconsin) must file Form NSTR to claim a sales tax rebate.

2 Did you file a 1998 Wisconsin income tax return or homestead credit claim by October 15, 1999?

Yes No If yes, do not complete this form.  Your sales tax rebate will be issued to you
automatically based on your 1998 return or homestead credit claim.

3 Were you claimed as a dependent on anyone else’s 1998 federal income tax return?

Yes No If yes, stop here.  You are not eligible for the sales tax rebate.

4 Fill in $184 ($360 if married filing a joint claim).  This is the amount of
your sales tax rebate. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

Your last name First name and middle initial Social security number

If married filing a joint claim, spouse’s last name First name and middle initial Social security number

Home address (number and street)

City or post office State Zip code



Instructions for Sales Tax Rebate

Who should file Form STR

If you were a full-year or part-year resident of Wisconsin
in 1998 and you did not file a 1998 Wisconsin income
tax return or a 1998 homestead credit claim by
October 15, 1999, you must fill out Form STR to claim
the rebate of Wisconsin sales tax paid in 1998.

Special Situations

If you were married as of December 31, 1998, and both
you and your spouse were either a full-year or part-year
resident of Wisconsin in 1998, you may choose to file
either one “joint” claim or two “separate” claims. If you
file a joint claim, fill in both spouses’ names and social
security numbers on Form STR. If you file a separate
claim, fill in only your own name and social security
number.

If you were married as of December 31, 1998, but your
spouse is now deceased, you may still file a joint claim.
Write “deceased” after your spouse’s name in the name
and address area at the top of Form STR.

A claim may be filed on behalf of a person who was a
full-year or part-year resident for 1998 but who died
after 1998. If there is no estate to probate, a surviving
heir may file Form STR for the person who died. If there
is an estate, the personal representative for the estate
must file the Form STR. The person filing Form STR
should sign it and indicate his or her relationship to the
person who died (for example, “surviving heir” or
“personal representative”).

Who should not file Form STR

Do not complete this form if:

• You were a full-year or part-year resident of Wisconsin
in 1998 and filed a 1998 Wisconsin income tax return
or 1998 homestead credit claim by October 15, 1999.
(You will be sent a rebate automatically if you are
eligible.)

• You were claimed as a dependent on anyone else’s
1998 federal income tax return. (You are eligible for
a rebate only if you filed a 1998 Wisconsin income
tax return, had an income of at least $5,000, and a net
tax liability of $1 or more. If you meet these
limitations, you will be sent a rebate automatically,
and should not file Form STR.)

• You were incarcerated in a state or federal prison at
any time during 1998. (You are not eligible to claim a
rebate. However, if you were married as of
December 31, 1998, your spouse may still be eligible
to file Form STR.)

• You were a nonresident of Wisconsin in 1998.
(Exception: If you were married as of December 31,
1998, to an individual who was a full-year or part-
year resident of Wisconsin in 1998, you may file a
joint claim on Form STR with your spouse.)

What is the sales tax rebate?

A law passed in November, 1999 allows a rebate of
Wisconsin state sales tax paid in 1998. For eligible
individuals who were full-year or part-year residents of
Wisconsin in 1998, but did not file a 1998 Wisconsin
income tax return or homestead credit claim, the rebate
amount is $184 ($360 if married filing a joint claim).

If you owe delinquent Wisconsin taxes or debts to other
state agencies, counties, or municipalities which have
been certified to the department, Wisconsin law requires
the Department of Revenue to apply your rebate to the
amount you owe. If you owe less than the amount of
your rebate, you will receive the difference.

Signature

You must sign Form STR. If you are married and filing
a joint claim, both spouses must sign. An unsigned
application is considered incomplete and your right to
claim a rebate will be denied.

When to file

Mail your application no later than June 30, 2000, to
the address shown at the bottom of Form STR.

Applications postmarked after June 30, 2000, will not
be accepted.

You can expect to receive your rebate check within
approximately 10 weeks. If your rebate check is not
cashed by December 31, 2000, your right to the rebate
lapses.

Questions?

If you have questions on how to complete this form,
call (608) 266-2772 or (608) 267-9420.

NOTE:  Beginning November 29, 1999, you may call
our toll-free number:  (877) 973-2283.

TTY users may call the department at (608) 267-1049
in Madison or (414) 227-4147 in Milwaukee. These
numbers are to be used only when calling with TTY
equipment.



Wisconsin
Department of Revenue

Application for Nonresident Sales Tax Rebate
Do NOT complete this application if you or your spouse

were a full-year or part-year resident of Wisconsin in 1998.

Before you fill out this application, read the instructions on the back to see if you are eligible.

Form NSTR

Complete and return this application no later than December 20, 1999.  Applications postmarked after
December 20 will not be accepted.

1a Were you claimed as a dependent on anyone else’s 1998 federal income tax return?

Yes No If yes, go on to question 1b.

If no, skip question 1b and go on to line 2.

1b Did you file a 1998 Wisconsin income tax return (Form 1NPR) which showed $5,000 or more on line 28 and $1
or more on line 49?

Yes No If you answered no to question 1b, stop here. You are not eligible for the sales tax
rebate.

If you answered yes to question 1b, go on to line 2.

2 Fill in the Wisconsin state sales tax (5% of the taxable purchase price) you paid
in 1998 on nonbusiness consumer purchases.  (You must attach your original
receipts showing Wisconsin state sales tax paid and the date of purchase.) . . . . . . . . . . 2

If line 2 is less than $20, stop here. You are not eligible for the sales tax rebate.

3 Multiply line 2 by .304 (30.4%) and fill in the result . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Fill in the lesser of the amount on line 3 or $267. This is the amount of your
sales tax rebate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

S-105 (N. 11-99)

Mail Form NSTR and the required attachments no later than December 20, 1999, to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Nonresident Sales Tax Rebate
PO Box 8937
Madison, WI  53708-8937

You must attach to this application your original receipts.

Your last name First name and middle initial Social security number

If married, spouse’s last name First name and middle initial Social security number

Home address (number and street)

City or post office State Zip code

Under penalties of law, I declare that this application is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge or belief.
Your signature Spouse’s signature Date



Who should file Form NSTR

If you were a nonresident of Wisconsin for all of 1998,
you must fill out Form NSTR to claim the rebate of
Wisconsin sales tax paid in 1998. However, see excep-
tions below.

Exceptions

Certain persons do not qualify for the sales tax rebate.
You do not qualify if:

• you paid less than $20 of Wisconsin state sales tax on
nonbusiness consumer purchases in 1998, or

• you were incarcerated in a state or federal prison at
any time during 1998, or

• you were claimed as a dependent on anyone else’s
1998 federal income tax return (unless you filed a
1998 Wisconsin income tax return [Form 1NPR] and
the amount on line 28 of your Form 1NPR was $5,000
or more and the amount on line 49 of your Form 1NPR
was $1 or more).

Do not complete this form if

• you were married and your spouse was a full-year or
part-year resident of Wisconsin (only your spouse is
eligible for the rebate), or

• you were a full-year or part-year resident of Wiscon-
sin in 1998. (If you filed a 1998 Wisconsin income
tax return, you will be sent a rebate automatically. If
you did not file a 1998 Wisconsin income tax return,
you must file Form STR to claim the rebate.)

What is the sales tax rebate?

A law passed in 1999 allows a rebate of Wisconsin state
sales tax paid in 1998. The rebate amount for a qualify-
ing nonresident is the lesser of 30.4% of the Wisconsin
state sales tax you paid on nonbusiness consumer pur-
chases in 1998 or $267.

The Wisconsin state sales tax rate is 5%. Wisconsin state
sales tax does not include any local taxes. For example,
it does not include county sales tax, stadium tax, pre-
mier resort area tax, or local exposition district taxes.

Required information

You must attach original receipts indicating that you
paid Wisconsin state sales tax on nonbusiness consumer
purchases. The receipts must clearly show the:

• name and location of the seller,

• date of the sale in 1998, and

Instructions for Nonresident Sales Tax Rebate

• amount of Wisconsin state sales tax paid on the pur-
chase. If a receipt shows more than the 5% state sales
tax rate, include only the 5% state sales tax.

Receipts will not be returned to you. Be sure to keep
copies for your records.

Line instructions

Line 2 From your attached receipts, fill in the total
amount of Wisconsin state sales tax you paid in 1998.

Do not include any county sales tax, stadium tax, pre-
mier resort area tax, or local exposition taxes paid.

Line 4 Fill in the amount from line 3 or $267, which-
ever is less. This is your sales tax rebate.

If you owe delinquent Wisconsin taxes or debts to other
state agencies, counties, or municipalities which have
been certified to the department, Wisconsin law requires
the Department of Revenue to apply your rebate to the
amount you owe. If you owe less than the amount of
your rebate, you will receive the difference.

Signature

You must sign Form NSTR. If you are married, your
spouse must also sign. An unsigned application is con-
sidered incomplete and your right to claim a rebate will
be denied.

When to file

Mail your application and attachments no later than
December 20, 1999, to the address shown at the bottom
of Form NSTR.

Applications postmarked after December 20 will not be
accepted.

You can expect to receive your rebate check within ap-
proximately 10 weeks. If your rebate check is not cashed
by December 31, 2000, your right to the rebate lapses.

Questions?

If you have questions on how to complete this form,
call (608) 266-2772 or (608) 267-9420.

TTY users may call the department at (608) 267-1049
in Madison or (414) 227-4147 in Milwaukee. These
numbers are to be used only when calling with TTY
equipment.



1 Federal adjusted gross income (see page 6) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2 State and municipal interest (see page 6) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Capital gain/loss addition (see page 6) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Other additions (list) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5 Add lines 1 through 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6 State tax refund (Form 1040, line 10) . . . . . . . . . . 6

7 United States government interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Unemployment compensation (see page 8) . . . . . 8

9 Social security adjustment (see page 9) . . . . . . . . 9

10 Capital gain/loss subtraction (see page 9) . . . . . . . 10

11 Other subtractions (list) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

12 Add lines 6 through 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12

13 Subtract line 12 from line 5. This is your Wisconsin income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

14 Tax. (See page 14)  Check if from Tax Table   or Special Tax Worksheet . . . 14

15 Dependent credit.  Fill in number of dependents

(do not count yourself or spouse) . . . . . . . . . . x  $50  = . . . 15

16 Senior citizen credit (Caution: see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16

17 Itemized deduction credit. Attach Schedule1,page3 . . 17

18 Working families tax credit

19 Add lines 15 through 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19

20 Subtract line 19 from line 14. If line 19 is larger than line 14, fill in -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
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1999

Check proper box and fill in name of city, village, or town, and
the county in which you lived at the end of 1999.

Quick Refund
Do you qualify?
(see page 5)

You must fill in spouse's social security number

You must fill in your social security number Your last name First name and middle initial

 If a joint return, spouse's last name First name and middle initial

 Home address (number and street)

 City or post office State Zip code

, .

Checking the box(es) will not change your tax or refund.

If you want $1 to go to the State Election Campaign Fund,
check box(es). You Your spouseSingle

Married filing joint return

Married filing separate return. Fill in spouse’s
full name and social security number

Head of household (with qualifying person)
Fill in qualifying person's name

Filing status  Check only one box

1 Wisconsin income tax
Form

School district
Fill in your school district number (see page 30)
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Complete form using BLUE or BLACK INK
For the year Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 1999, or
other tax year beginning , 1999  ending , .
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If line 13 is less than $10,000 ($19,000 if
married filing joint), see page 16 ......................................... 18}
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21 Amount from line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21

22 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule MT . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

23 Add lines 21 and 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23

24 Married couple credit. Attach Schedule 2 on page 3 . . . . . 24

25 Manufacturer's sales tax credit.  Attach Schedule MS . . . 25

26 Add lines 24 and 25 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26

27 Subtract line 26 from line 23. If line 26 is larger than line 23, fill in -0-.  This is your net tax . . . . 27

28 Sales and use tax due on out-of-state purchases (see page 17) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28

29 Endangered resources donation (decreases refund or increases amount owed) . . . . 29

30 Penalties on IRAs, other retirement
plans, MSAs, etc. (see page 18) . . . x  .33 = . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30

31 Add lines 27 through 30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31

32 Wisconsin tax withheld. Attach withholding statements . . . . 32

33 1999 estimated tax payments and amount applied
from 1998 return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33

34 Earned income credit. Qualifying children . . . 

Federal credit x % = . . . 34

35 Farmland preservation credit. Attach Schedule FC . . . . . . 35

36 Net income tax paid to another state (see page 19) . . . . . 36

37 Homestead credit. Attach Schedule H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37

38 Farmland tax relief credit.
Property taxes
on farmland . . x  .13  = . . . 38

39 Add lines 32 through 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39

40 If line 39 is larger than line 31, subtract line 31 from line 39.  This is the amount OVERPAID . . 40

41 Amount of line 40 you want REFUNDED TO YOU . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41

42 Amount of line 40 you want
APPLIED TO YOUR 2000 ESTIMATED TAX . . . . . . . . . . 42

43 If line 39 is smaller than line 31, subtract line 39 from line 31.  This is the
AMOUNT YOU OWE.  Paper clip payment to front of return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43

Mail your return to: Wisconsin Department of Revenue
If tax due .................................. P.O. Box 268, Madison, WI 53790-0001
If refund or no tax due ............. P.O. Box 59, Madison, WI 53785-0001
If quick refund claimed ............ P.O. Box 38, Madison, WI 53787-0001
If homestead credit claimed .... P.O. Box 34, Madison, WI 53786-0001

Form 1 (1999) Page 2

Attach copies of your withholding statements and your federal income tax return and schedules
to this return in the order listed on page 21.
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Under penalties of law, I declare that this return and all attachments are true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.
Your signature Spouse's signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date Daytime phone
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Sign here

, , .

For Department Use Only
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Name(s) shown on Form 1 Your social security number

Schedule 1 – Itemized Deduction Credit  (see page 15)

1 Medical and dental expenses from line 4, federal Schedule A. See instructions
for exceptions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2 Interest paid from line 14, federal Schedule A. Do not include interest paid on a
second home located outside Wisconsin or on a residence which is a boat. Also, do not
include interest paid to purchase or hold U.S. government securities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Gifts to charity from line 18, federal Schedule A. See instructions for exceptions . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Job expenses and miscellaneous deductions from line 26, federal Schedule A.
See instructions for exceptions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5 Other miscellaneous deductions from line 27, federal Schedule A. See instructions
for exceptions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6 Add lines 1 through 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6

7 Using Wisconsin income from line 13 on page 1, find your standard deduction from table
on page 29. (If Special Tax Worksheet on page 15 used, fill in the standard deduction
from line 6 of that worksheet.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Subtract line 7 from line 6. If line 7 is more than line 6, fill in -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8

9 Rate of credit is .05 (5%) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9  x .05

10 Multiply line 8 by line 9. Fill in here and on line 17 on page 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10

1 Taxable wages, salaries, tips, and other
employe compensation. Do NOT enter
interest, dividends, pensions, unemploy-
ment compensation, or other unearned
income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2 Net profit or loss from self-employment
from federal Schedules C, C-EZ, and F
(Form 1040), Schedule K-1 (Form 1065),
and any other taxable self-employment or
earned income (If a loss, put a negative
sign – in the box to the left of the loss
amount.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Combine lines 1 and 2. This is
earned income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Add amounts from your federal Form 1040,
lines 23 and 29, plus repayment of supple-
mental unemployment benefits, employe
expenses of qualified performing artists and
fee-basis state or local government officials,
and contributions to Section 501(c)(18)
pension plans included in line 32, and any
Wisconsin disability income exclusion. Fill in
the total of these adjustments that apply
to your or your spouse’s income . . . . . . . . 4

5 Subtract line 4 from line 3. This is qualified
earned income. If less than zero, fill in -0- . . 5

6 Compare the amounts in columns (A) and (B) of line 5. Fill in
the smaller amount here.  If more than $14,000, fill in $14,000 . . . . . . . . 6

7 Rate of credit is .025 (2.50%) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 x .025

8 Multiply line 6 by line 7. Fill in here and on line 24 on page 2. . . . . . . . . . 8

Schedule 2 – Married Couple Credit When Both Spouses Are Employed  (see page 17)
(When completing this schedule, be sure to fill in your income in column (A) and your spouse’s income in column (B))

(A)  YOURSELF (B)  SPOUSE

Form 1 (1999) Page 3
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Do not fill in
more than $350.

*I30199990* Submit this page with Form 1
if you claim either credit.
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