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A. Individual and Fiduciary Income Taxes

1

Internal Revenue Code Reference Updated
for 1998 for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts
(1997 Act 237, amend sec. 71.01(6)(m) and
(7r), effective for taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 1998.)

For taxable years that begin on or after January

1, 1998, “Internal Revenue Code” for individu-
als, estates, and trusts (except nuclear
decommissioning trust or reserve funds) means
the federal Internal Revenue Code as amended
to December 31, 1997, with the exceptions in-
dicated below. The Internal Revenue Code
applies for Wisconsin purposes at the same time
as for federal purposes.

e Section 1311 of federal Public Law 104-188
relating to the elimination of earnings and
profits from pre-1983 S corporation years
from an S corporation’s accumulated earn-
ings and profits does not apply for
Wisconsin.

» Section 13113 of federal Public Law 103-66
relating to the exclusion for 50% of the gain
from the sale or exchange of qualified small
business stock held for more than five years
does not apply for Wisconsin.

e For property placed in service in taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1998,
individuals and fiduciaries may compute de-
preciation or amortization under either the
federal Internal Revenue Code in effect for
the taxable year for which the return is filed
or the federal Internal Revenue Code as
amended to December 31, 1997, at the tax-
payer’s option.

As a result of the passage of 1997 Wisconsin
Act 237, a number of new federal provisions
that take effect for the 1998 taxable year also
apply for Wisconsin purposes at the same time.
Some examples of these new provisions are:

1. The treatment of Roth IRAs (including the
feature allowing income from certain 1998
rollovers to be included in taxable income
ratably over four years).

2. The deduction for interest on education
loans.

3. The treatment of education IRAs.

Income Tax Rates Reduced (1997 Act 237,
amend sec. 71.06(1m)(a) through (c) and
(2)(c)1. through 3. and (d)1. through 3., effec-
tive for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1998.)

 The tax rates for single persons, heads of
households, and fiduciaries, except fiduciaries
of nuclear decommissioning trust or reserve
funds, are as follows:

a. On all taxable income from $0 to $7,500,
4.77%.

b. On all taxable income exceeding $7,500
but not exceeding $15,000, 6.37%.

c. On all taxable income exceeding $15,000,
6.77%.

» The tax rates for married persons filing jointly
are as follows:

a. On all taxable income from $0 to $10,000,
4.77%.

b. On all taxable income exceeding $10,000
but not exceeding $20,000, 6.37%.

c. On all taxable income exceeding $20,000,
6.77%.

* The tax rates for married persons filing sepa-
rately are as follows:

a. On all taxable income from $0 to $5,000,
4.77%.

b. On all taxable income exceeding $5,000
but not exceeding $10,000, 6.37%.

c. On all taxable income exceeding $10,000,
6.77%.

Subtraction Allowed for Tuition for Higher
Education (1997 Act 237, create sec.
71.05(6)(b)28, effective for taxable years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 1998.)

What is Allowed

A subtraction from federal adjusted gross in-
come is allowed for the amount paid during the
taxable year for tuition expenses for a student
(either the claimant or the claimant’s child who
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is claimed as a dependent) to attend any univer-
sity, college, technical college or a school
approved under sec. 39.51, Wis. Stats., by the
Educational Approval Board, that is located in
Wisconsin, or to attend a public vocationa
school or public ingtitution of higher education
in Minnesota under the Minnesota-Wisconsin
reciprocity agreement.

The maximum subtraction is $3,000 per student
per year.

Phase-Out of Qubtraction

If the claimant is single or files as head of
household, the subtraction is reduced if the
claimant’s federal adjusted gross income is
more than $50,000. No subtraction is allowed if
federal adjusted gross income is more than
$60,000.

If the claimant is married and filing jointly, the
subtraction is reduced if the claimant’s and his
or her spouse’s federal adjusted gross income is
more than $80,000. No subtraction is allowed if
federal adjusted gross income is more than
$100,000.

If the claimant is married and filing separately,
the subtraction is reduced if the claimant’s fed-
eral adjusted gross income is more than
$40,000. No subtraction is allowed if federal
adjusted gross income is more than $50,000 .

Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents

For an individual who is a nonresident or part-
year resident of Wisconsin, the amount of the
subtraction is multiplied by a fraction the nu-
merator of which is the individual's wages,
salary, tips, unearned income and net earnings
from a trade or business that are taxable by
Wisconsin and the denominator of which is the
individual’'s total wages, salary, tips, unearned
income and net earnings from a trade or busi-
ness.

For married persons filing separately, “wages,

salary, tips, unearned income and net earnings
from a trade or business” means the separate
wages, salary, tips, unearned income and net
earnings from a trade or business of each
spouse, and for married persons filing jointly, it

means the total wages, salary, tips, unearned in-

come and net earnings from a trade or business
of both spouses. The subtraction is further lim-
ited to the individual's aggregate wages, salary,
tips, unearned income and net earnings from a
trade or business that are taxable by Wisconsin.

Sandard Deduction for Dependents M odi-
fied (1997 Act 237, amend sec. 71.05(22)(f)3
and create sec. 71.05(22)(f)4, effective for tax-
able years beginning on or after January 1,
1998.)

The Wisconsin standard deduction for individu-
als who can be claimed as a dependent by
another taxpayer is modified.

The standard deduction is the greater of —

» $500 adjusted for inflation (this translates
into a $700 standard deduction for 1998 after
the inflation adjustment), or

« The dependent’s earned income plus $250.

Exception If earned income plus $250 is more
than the standard deduction allowable based on
the person’s filing status (for example, $5,200
for single persons with Wisconsin adjusted
gross income of less than $7,500), the standard
deduction may not be more than that allowed
based on the filing status.

For 1999 and future tax years, the $250 amount
will be adjusted for inflation in the same man-
ner as for federal tax purposes.

Example: Mary, age 17, has $400 of interest
income and $1,500 of earned income in 1998.
Mary is single and eligible to be claimed by her
parents as a dependent. Her standard deduction
for 1998 is $1,750 (the greater of $700, or
$1,500 earned income plus $250, but not more
than $5,200).

Manufacturer's Sales Tax Credit: Offsets
Against Alternative Minimum Tax Permitted

(1997 Act 237, renumber sec. 71.10(4)(de) to
sec. 71.10(4)(gb) and amend secs. 71.07(3s)(b)
and 71.08(1)(intro.), effective for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1998.)

For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1998, 1997 Act 27 (which was enacted Octo-
ber 13, 1997) provides that individuas,
including partners, LLC members, and tax-
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option (S) corporation shareholders, may be eli-
gible to claim the manufacturer’'s sales tax
credit for fuel and electricity used in manufac-
turing tangible personal property in Wisconsin.
Act 237 modifies the provisions of Act 27 to
permit individuals to offset the credit against the
Wisconsin alternative minimum tax under sec.
71.08, Wis. Stats., as well as the regular Wis-
consin income tax under sec. 71.02, Wis. Stats.
The credit may be offset only against the
amount of tax imposed upon income from the
business operations in which the fuel or elec-
tricity is consumed.

Surplus to be Used to Increase School Prop-

erty Tax Credit (1997 Act 237, renumber sec.
71.07(9)(b) to 71.07(9)(b)1 and amend as re-
numbered and create sec. 71.07(9)(b)2 and
appropriation change, effective June 17, 1998.)

The Department of Revenue shall propose a
method to use a portion of any projected budget
surplus as of June 30, 1998, to increase the
school property tax credit. Any increase in the
credit shall apply only to taxable years which

begin after December 31, 1997 and before
January 1, 1999.

Nonresident Taxed on Winnings From a Na-

tive American Casino or Bingo Hall (1997
Act 237, amend secs. 71.02(1) and 71.04(1)(a),
effective for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1998.)

Income of nonresident individuals, estates, and
trusts from winnings from a casino or bingo hall
located in Wisconsin and operated by a Native
American tribe or band is taxable by Wisconsin.

[llinois-Wisconsin Reciprocity Sudy and
Payments Authorized (1997 Act 63, renumber

sec. 71.78(4)(h) to 71.78(4)(h)1 and create secs.

20.566(3)(go), 20.855(4)(cm), (cn), and (co),
71.10(7e), and 71.78(4)(h)2, effective for tax-
able years beginning on or after January 1,
1998.)

For purposes of income tax reciprocity with the

State of Illinois, whenever the income taxes on
residents of one state which would have been
paid to the second state without reciprocity ex-
ceed the income taxes on residents of the
second state which would have been paid to the
first state without reciprocity, the state with the

net revenue loss shall receive from the other
state the amount of the loss.

The data used for computing the loss to either
state shall be determined by both states on or
before December 1 of the year following the
close of the previous calendar year. If an
agreement cannot be reached as to the amount
of the loss, the Secretary of Revenue of Wis-
consin and the Director of Taxation of lllinois
shall each appoint a member of a Board of Ar-
bitration, and these members shall appoint a
third member of the board.

The Board of Arbitration may administer oaths,
take testimony, subpoena withesses and require
their attendance, require the production of
books, papers and documents and hold hearings
as necessary. A member of the board or a con-
sultant under a joint contract with the States of
lllinois and Wisconsin is authorized to examine
Wisconsin income tax returns. The board shall
then make a final determination as to the
amount to be paid the other state.

For taxable years beginning in 1998, the maxi-
mum amount that may be paid to lllinois is

$5,500,000. For taxable years beginning in
1999, the maximum amount that may be paid to
lllinois is $8,250,000.

Penalty Related to Tax-Free Sale of Certain
Business Assets or Assets Used in Farming
Revised (1997 Act 237, amend sec. 71.83
(2)(d)2, effective June 17, 1998.)

Capital gain on the sale or disposition of busi-
ness assets or on assets used in farming may be
excluded from Wisconsin taxable income if the
assets have been held more than one year and
the assets are disposed of to persons who are
related to the seller or transferor by blood, mar-
riage, or adoption within the 3rd degree of
kinship. This exclusion was created by 1997
Act 27, effective for taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 1998. The exclusion applies
only to the portion of the capital gain which is
not subject to the 60% exclusion for capital gain
on assets held more than one year.

If the related person who purchases or other-
wise receives the assets on which the gain is
excluded sells or otherwise disposes of the as-
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10.

sets within two years, the person is subject to a
penalty.

Act 237, which is effective June 17, 1998, pro-
vides that the penalty is equal to the amount of
income tax that would have been imposed on
the capital gains of the seller or transferor if the
exclusion for gain on the sale or disposition of
assets to a related person did not apply to the
transaction, multiplied by a fraction, the de-
nominator of which is 24 and the numerator of
which is the difference between 24 and the
number of months between the date on which
the person who is liable for the penalty pur-
chased or otherwise received the assets and the
month in which the person sdls or otherwise
disposes of the assets.

Computation of Income of Electing Small
Business Trusts Clarified (1997 Act 237,
amend sec. 71.125(2), effective June 17, 1998.)

For taxable years that begin on or after January
1, 1997, electing small business trusts (ESBTS)
may be S corporation shareholders. The portion
of an ESBT that consists of stock of one or
more S corporations is treated as a separate
trust. The separate trust is subject to Wisconsin
income tax at the highest rate under sec.
71.06(1) or (1m), Wis. Stats., as applicable.

The amendment clarifies that the net income for
that portion of an ESBT treated as a separate
trust is computed under IRC sec. 641, as modi-
fied by sec. 71.05(6) to (12), (19), and (20),
Wis. Stats.

Federal Treatment of Funeral Trusts Applies
(1997 Act 237, create sec. 71.17(6), effective for
taxable years ending after August 5, 1997.)

For federal income tax purposes, if the trustee
makes an election, a pre-need funera trust is
not treated as a grantor trust and the tax on the
annua earnings of the trust is payable by the
trustee. The trust rates apply by treating each
beneficiary’s trust as a separate trust.

If a qualified funeral trust makes the election
under IRC sec. 685 for federal income tax pur-
poses, that election applies for Wisconsin
income tax purposes. Each trust computes its
own tax using the rates under sec. 71.06(1) and
(Im), Wis. Stats.

12. Installment Payments of Estate Taxes (1997

1

Act 291, amend sec. 72.23, effective June 30,
1998.)

If an estate fails to make an installment payment
of tax or interest under sec. 72.225, Wis. Stats.
(1995-96), when it is due, the entire remaining
balance of tax and interest due shall be paid
upon notice by the Department of Revenue

B. Corporation Franchise or Income

Internal Revenue Code References Updated

for 1998 for Corporations, Tax-Option (S
Corporations, Insurance Companies, Non-
profit Organizations, Regulated |nvestment
Companies, Real Estate Mortgage | nvestment
Conduits, Real Estate |nvestment Trusts, and
Financial Asset Securitization Investment
Trusts (1997 Act 237, amend secs. 71.22(4)(m)
and (4m)(k), 71.26(2)(b)13. and (3)(y),
71.34(1g)(m), 71.365(1m), 71.42(2)(L), and
71.45(2)(a)13., effective for taxable years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 1998.)

For taxable years that begin on or after January
1, 1998, “Internal Revenue Code” for corpora-
tions, tax-option (S) corporations, insurance
companies, nonprofit organizations, regulated
investment companies (RICs), real estate mort-
gage investment conduits (REMICs), real estate
investment trusts (REITs), and financial asset
securitization investment trusts (FASITS) means
the federal Internal Revenue Code as amended
to December 31, 1997, with the exceptions in-
dicated below. The Internal Revenue Code
applies for Wisconsin purposes at the same time
as for federal purposes.

a. For corporations (except nonprofit organi-
zations, RICs, REMICs, REITs, and
FASITs), tax-option (S) corporations, and
insurance companies, for property placed in
service in taxable years beginning on or af-
ter January 1, 1998, depreciation or
amortization may be computed under either
the federal Internal Revenue Code in effect
for the taxable year for which the return is
filed or the federal Internal Revenue Code
as amended to December 31, 1997, at the
taxpayer’s option.

b. For corporations (except nonprofit organi-
zations, RICs, REMICs, and REITs), the
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Internal Revenue Code is modified by sec. the credit may be used by the corporation’s
71.26(3), Wis. Stats. shareholders on a prorated basis.

c. The Internal Revenue Code excludes sec-
tion 1311 of Public Law 104-188, relating
to the eimination of earnings and profits
from pre-1983 S corporation years from an
S corporation’s accumulated earnings and
profits.

If a tax-option (S) corporation is liable for tax

for a taxable year that begins on or after January
1, 1998, the corporation may offset the manu-
facturer’s sales tax credit against the tax due.
The corporation may pass through to its share-
holders any remaining credit computed for a
d. For tax-option (S) corporations, IRC sec. taxable year that begins on or after January 1,

1366(f), relating to the reduction in pass-
throughs for taxes at the S-corporation
level, is modified by substituting the built-

in gains tax under sec. 71.35, Wis. Stats.,
for the taxes under IRC secs. 1374 and
1375.

e. For insurance companies, the Internal
Revenue Code excludes IRC sec. 847, re-
lating to an additional deduction for
insurers required to discount unpaid losses.

f. For RICs, REMICs, REITs, and FASITs,
property depreciated for taxable years 1983
to 1986 under the Internal Revenue Code as
amended to December 31, 1980, must con-
tinue to be depreciated under the Internal
Revenue Code as amended to December 31,
1980. Additions or subtractions must be
made to reflect differences between the de-
preciation or adjusted basis for federal and
Wisconsin tax purposes of property dis-
posed of during the taxable year.

Manufacturer's Sales Tax Credit: Tax-Option
Corporation Shareholders Prohibited From
Claiming Certain Pre-1998 Credits (1997 Act
237, repeal sec. 71.34(1)(j)) and amend secs.
71.07(3s)(c)5., 71.28(3)(c)5., and 71.47(3)(c)5.
and 1997 Act 299, amend secs. 71.07(3s)(c)4.,
71.28(3)(c)4., and 71.47(3)(c)4. and create non-
statutory provision, effective for credits computed
for taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
1998.)

A tax-option (S) corporation may not pass
through to its shareholders unused manufac-
turer's sales tax credits computed for taxable
years beginning before January 1, 1998.

If a regular (C) corporation has an unused
manufacturer’s sales tax credit from a taxable
year that begins on or after January 1, 1998, and
becomes a tax-option (S) corporation before the
credit carried over is used, the unused portion of

1998.

Alternative Allocation of Corporation’s In-
come Allowed (1997 Act 299, amend sec.
71.22(11) and create sec. 71.25(14) and non-
statutory provision, effective for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1998.)

Upon request by a corporation on or before
January 1, 2000, the Department of Revenue
may authorize a corporation or a subsidiary
thereof to use or continue to use a different
method of apportioning its Wisconsin income,
and may specify the method of apportionment
that the corporation or subsidiary may use. This
provision is to be used exclusively in the event
of a corporate restructuring that would result in
an unfair representation of the degree of busi-
ness activity in Wisconsin. In no instance may
the dternative method proposed under the new
corporate structure result in less franchise or in-
come tax revenue to the state than the current
corporate structure is liable for, given the same
overall level of sales, payroll, and property.

Before the department grants permission to any
corporation to use an aternative method of al-
location, the department must promulgate rules
that specify in more detail the circumstances in
which that authority may be granted and the
kinds of alternative methods that the department
may authorize.

At least 14 days before giving final approval to
an aternative method of apportionment, the de-
partment must submit the proposed method to
the cochairpersons of the Joint Committee for
Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR), to-
gether with a description of and the reasons for
the proposed method. If, within 14 days after
receipt of the proposed alternative method, the
cochairpersons of the JCRAR do not notify the
department that the proposed alternative must
be promulgated as an administrative rule in or-



Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 109 — June 1998 9

der to be used, the department may give fina
approval to the proposed alternative method. If
the cochairpersons of JCRAR notify the de-
partment within 14 days after receipt of the
proposed aternative method that the proposed
aternative must be promulgated as an adminis-
trative rule, the proposed alternative may not be
used until it is promulgated as an administrative
rule.

Income of Joint Local Water Authorities Ex-
empted from Tax (1997 Act 184, amend sec.
71.26(2)(b), effective May 12, 1998.)

The income of ajoint local water authority cre-
ated under sec. 66.0735, Wis. Stats,, is exempt
from Wisconsin income and franchise taxes.

C. Salesand Use Taxes

1.

Define “Meal” and “Sandwich” (1997 Act
237, create sec. 77.54(20)(bg), effective August
1,1997.)

Sales of meals and sandwiches continue to be
subject to Wisconsin sales or usetax. However,
“meal” and “sandwich” were previously not de-
fined in the sales and use tax law. This
provision, which is effective August 1, 1997,
defines “meal” and “sandwich” as follows:

a. “Meal” includes, but is not limited to, a di-
versified selection of food, food products,
or beverages that are customarily consumed
as a breakfast, lunch, or dinner, that may
not easily be consumed without an article of
tableware, and that may not conveniently be
consumed while standing or walking.

“Meal” does not include any of the follow-
ing:

Frozen items that are sold to a con-
sumer.

. ltems that are customarily heated or
cooked after the retail sale and before
they are consumed.

- A diversified selection of food, food
products, and beverages that is pack-
aged together by a person other than the
retailer before the sale to the consumer.

This definition of “meal” clarifies that
canned soups, frozen TV dinners, and fro-
zen pizzas manufactured by many different
parties and sold by grocery and other retalil
stores for off-premises consumption are not
subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. This
definition also reverses the sales and use tax
treatment of prepackaged combinations of
food as provided in a tax release published
in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 106 (January
1998), titled “Prepackaged Combinations of
Food, Food Products, and Beverages Con-
stitute Meals.”

b. “Sandwich” means food that consists of a
filling, such as meat, cheese, or a savory
mixture, that is placed on a slice, or be-
tween two slices, of bread or something that
takes the place of bread, such as a roll,
croissant, or bagel.

“Sandwich” includes, but is not limited to,
burritos, tacos, enchiladas, chimichangas,
pita sandwiches, gyros, and pocket sand-
wiches.

“Sandwich” does not include hors
d'oeuvres, canapes, egg rolls, cookies,
cakes, pies, and similar desserts and pas-
tries, and food that is sold frozen.

Provide Exemption for Certain Food Com-
binations (1997 Act 237, amend sec.
77.51(4)(a)(intro.) and (15)(a)(intro.) and create
secs. 77.51.(4)(cm) and (15)(cm) and
77.54(20m), effective August 1, 1997.)

If a combination of food, food products, and
beverages are packaged together with other
goods by a person other than a retailer before
sale to the final consumer, and 50% or more of
the sales price of the package is attributable to
goods that are exempt from Wisconsin sales or
use tax, the total selling price of the combined
package is exempt from Wisconsin sales or use
tax. If less than 50% of the sales price is attrib-
utable to goods that are exempt from Wisconsin
sales or use tax, that portion of the selling price
attributable to the taxable items is subject to
Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Example 1: A grocery store sells to a consumer
a package that contains crackers, meat, cheese,
candy, and a fruit drink that is not a fruit juice.
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The grocery store purchased the package from
Company A. Of the grocery store’'s $2 selling
price, $1.50 is attributable to the meat, cheese,
and crackers (exempt items) and $0.50 is attrib-
utable to the candy and fruit drink (taxable
items). Since 50% or more of the selling price
of the package is attributable to food that is ex-
empt from Wisconsin sales or use tax, the entire
$2 selling price is exempt from Wisconsin sales
or use tax.

Example 2: A grocery store sells to a consumer
a package that contains a sandwich, pretzels,
cookies, and a fruit drink that is not a fruit juice.
The grocery store purchased the package from
Company A. Of the grocery store’s $2 selling
price, $1.50 is attributable to the sandwich and
fruit drink (taxable items) and $0.50 is attribut-
able to the pretzels and cookies (exempt items).
Since less than 50% of the selling price of the
package is attributable to food that is exempt
from Wisconsin sales or use tax, $1.50 of the $2
selling price attributable to taxable items is
subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Sales of Prepaid Telephone Calling Cards
and Authorization Numbers Taxable (1997
Act 237, amend sec. 77.52(2)(a)5 and create
sec. 77.52(3m), effective August 1, 1998.)

The sale of rights to purchase telecommunica-
tions services, including purchasing reauthori-

zation numbers, by paying in advance and using
an access number and authorization code (e.g.,
prepaid telephone calling cards or prepaid

authorization numbers) is subject to Wisconsin

sales or use tax.

The situs of the sale of the rights to purchase
telecommunications services is as follows:

» If the sale takes place at a retailer’s place of
business, the situs of the sale is that place of
business.

« If the sale does not take place at a retailer’s
place of business and an item that will im-
plement the right to purchase telecommu-
nications services (e.g., calling card) is
shipped, the situs of the sale is the cus-
tomer’s shipping address.

» If the sale does not take place at a retailer’s
place of business and no item that will im-

plement the right to purchase telecommu-
nications services is shipped, the situs of the
sale is the customer’s billing address.

Under prior law, the sale of a prepaid telephone
calling card or authorization number was not
taxable.

Exempt Sales of Admissions to County Fairs
(1997 Act 237, amend sec. 77.52(2)(a)2, effec-
tive August 1, 1998.)

Sales of admissions to county fairs are exempt
from Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Exempt Sales to Joint Local Water Authori-
ties (1997 Act 184, create sec. 77.54(9a)(em),
effective May 12, 1998.)

A sales and use tax exemption is provided for
sales of tangible personal property and taxable
services to any joint local water authority cre-

ated under sec. 66.0735, Wis. Stats.

Define “One Month” for Purposes of Lodg-
ing and Rentals of Mobile Homegq1997 Act
291, amend secs. 77.52(2)(a)1. and 77.54(36),
effective June 30, 1998.)

Under prior law, secs. 77.52(2)(a)1 and
77.54(36), Wis. Stats., provided an exemption
for the furnishing of accommodations to the
public for a period of one month or more and
the rental, for a period of one month or more, of
a mobile home, as defined in s. 66.058(1)(d),
Wis. Stats., that is used as aresidence.

The amendments to secs. 77.52(2)(a)1 and
77.54(36), Wis. Sats.,, in 1997 Act 291 ex-
pressly define “one month” to mean a calendar
month or 30 days, whichever is less, counting
the first day of the rental, but not counting the
last day of the rental for purposes of secs.
77.52(2)(a)1. and 77.54(36), Wis. Stats.

Revise Who |Is a Responsible Person (1997
Act 237, amend sec. 77.60(9), effective June 17,
1998.)

A person required to collect, account for, or pay
sales or use taxes, who willfully fails to collect,

account for, or pay those taxes to the Depart-
ment of Revenue, is personally liable for such
taxes, including interest and penalties, if that
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person’s principal
amounts to the department. Under prior law,
only a person who was required pay, and
who willfully failed to pay, sales and use taxes
when due to the Department of Revenue could
be held personally liable for those taxes, in-
cluding interest and penalties, if that person’s
principal was unable to pay such amounts to the
department.

1

is unable to pay suchD. Rental VehicleFee

Rentals of Certain Vehicles Not Subject to
Fee (1997 Act 237, amend sec. 77.995, effec-
tive August 1, 1998.)

Motor trucks, road tractors, truck tractors,
semitrailers, trailers, and motor buses are not
subject to the rental vehicle fee.

This change reverses the Wisconsin Tax ApE. Adult Entertainment Tax

peals Commission decision in the casé&iank

A. Calarco vs. Wisconsin Department of Reve-

nue (Docket #96-S-550, March 12, 1998). The
Commission held that a person who resigned at
the end of a month, but prior to the due date for
payment of sales taxes for that month, could not
be a responsible person under sec. 77.60(9),
Wis. Stats., for the unpaid taxes for that month.

Tn

Revise Exemption Certificate Requirements
for Sales of Commodities (1997 Act 237,
amend secs. 77.52(13) and 77.53(10), effective
June 17, 1998.)

In 1997 Wisconsin Act 27, the law regarding

exemption certificates was changed to provide
that exemption certificates were not required for
sales of certain commodities that are resold.
The amendments to secs 77.52(13) and
77.53(10), Wis. Stats., by 1997 Wisconsin Act
237, provide that:

1.

1

Adult Entertainment Tax Repealed (1997
Act 237, repeal subch. XIIl of ch. 77, effective
June 17, 1998.)

The adult entertainment tax that was to take ef-
fect April 1, 1998, but was postponed, is
repealed.

. Withholding Tax

Late Filing Fee Created (1997 Act 237, amend
sec. 71.83(3), effective for amounts due on and
after January 1, 1999.)

Any person required to file a withholding report
and deposit withheld taxes who fails to do so by
the required due date, will be subject to a $30
late filing penalty, unless the person so required
dies or the failure is due to a reasonable cause
and not due to neglect.

« The commodities are consigned for “sale,”G- Farmland Preservation Credit

rather than “resale.”

» The commodities must be deliverable on a
contract for future delivery subject to rules
of a regulated commodities market.

« The exemption certificate requirements ap-
ply to sales tax, in addition to use tax.

Change Obsolete References to “Special
Fuel” and “Motor Fuel” (1997 Act 291,
amend sec. 77.54(11), effective June 30, 1998.)

Obsolete references to “special fuel” have been
changed to “alternate fuel” and references to
“motor fuel” have been replaced with references
to “motor vehicle fuel.”

Requirement to Include Zoning Certificate
With Farmland Preservation Credit Claim

M odified (1997 Act 137, amend sec.
71.59(1)(b)3, effective for taxable years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 1999.)

If a farmland preservation credit claimant has

included a zoning certificate with a previous

year’s claim, and the claimant determines that
conditions relating to the previous certificate

have not changed and are still applicable at the
time a farmland preservation credit claim is

filed for a subsequent year, the claimant may
certify this fact on the claim for the subsequent
year, and is not required to include a zoning
certificate with that claim. The department

may, however, require the claimant to submit a
zoning certificate if it determines that one is

needed to process the claim.
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H. Excise Taxes

1

Off-Road Exemption for Gasoline (1997 Act
237, create sec. 78.01(2)(e), and reped and recre-
ate sec. 78.73(1)(dm), effective duly 1, 1998.)

Effective July 1, 1998, persons who consume
gasoline for off-road purposes may purchase
gasoline tax-free by executing an exemption
certificate  (Department of Revenue form
MF-209) with their suppliers. 1997 Act 237
reinstates the exemption for gasoline when it is
delivered directly into the purchaser’s bulk stor-
age tank in an amount not less than 100 gallons.

(Note: The exemption for clear diesel fuel is
not reinstated. Fuel suppliers and vendors must
continue to sell clear diesel fuel tax-included,
and off-road users must file claims with the de-
partment for refunds of the fuel tax relating to
off-road usage. To avoid filing refund claims
on off-road usage of diesel fuel, the department
encourages off-road users to buy dyed diesel
fuel because it can be purchased tax-exempt.)

Conflicting Language In Off-Road Motor
Vehicle Fuel Refund Provisons Corrected
(1997 Act 291, amend sec. 78.75(1m)(a)3, ef-
fective June 30, 1998.)

The statutory requirements for motor vehicle
fuel refund forms are changed to conform to the
exemptions available from that tax.

Tax Rate on Cider (1997 Act 136, amend sec.
139.03(2n) and create sec. 139.01(2m), effective
July 1, 1998.)

Cider is defined as an alcoholic beverage ob-
tained from the fermentation of the juice of

apples containing not less than 0.5% nor more
than 7.0% alcohol by volume; it is taxed at 1.71
cents per liter.

Underage Persons on Alcohol Beverage Li-
censed Premisss (1997 Act 98, create
sec.125.07(3)(a)3m and 1997 Act 100, amend
sec. 125.07(3)(a)3, effective April 28, 1998.)

Underage persons unaccompanied by parents,
guardians or spouses of legal drinking age may
be on alcohol beverage licensed premises that:

7.

(&) have an indoor volleyball court that meas-
ures at least 9 meters by 18 meters in area.
(Note: This exception does not authorize
the underage persons to loiter in any room
that is primarily used for the
sale/consumption of alcohol beverages.)

(b) have 12 or more bhilliard tables that are not
designed for coin operation and that are 8 feet
or longer in length.

Brewery Personnd at Tasting Events (1997 Act
132, create sec. 125.33(2)(p), effective May 2,
1998.)

Brewers may have not more than three indi-
viduals at a beer tasting event lasting two days
or less at which taste samples of beer brewed by
at least five different brewers are offered for
consumption by persons who either pay for the
taste samples or pay a charge for admission to
the event. No Class “B” licensee or permittee
may allow more than one beer tasting event on
the premises within one year.

Cigarette/Tobacco Products License Fees and
Sales Redrictions (1997 Act 214, repeal sec.
134.66(2)(c) and 134.66(2)(cm)2 and 3; renum-
ber and amend sec. 134.66(2)(cm)1; amend secs.
134.65(2)(a), 134.65(2)(b), 134.66(2)(a) and
134.66(4)(a)1; and create sec. 134.66(2)(am) and
134.66(2)(cm)1m, effective May 13, 1998.)

Municipalities may charge a fee of not less than
$5 nor more than $100 per year for a retail ciga-
rette/tobacco products license; no industry
member may provide cigarettes or tobacco
products for nominal or no consideration to per-
sons under the age of 18; cigarettes/tobacco
products may not be sold from vending ma-

chines except in a place where no person
younger than age 18 is permitted. If a written

agreement was in effect on May 13, 1998 re-
quiring placement of the vending machine in a
location prohibited by Act 214, the vending ma-

chine operator shall remove the machine on or
before the date the agreement expires or would
be extended or renewed, whichever occurs first.

Primary Source for Fermented Malt Bever-
ages (1997 Act 166, amend sec. 125.30(1), and
create secs. 125.12(2)(ag)7 and 125.33(11), ef-
fective May 6, 1998.)
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Beer wholesalers who also hold retail licenses
may only sell beer to other retailers if the
wholesaler has a franchise agreement with the
brewer of that brand of beer. All shipments of
fermented malt beverages to a wholesaler of
fermented malt beverages in this state shall be
unloaded in and distributed from the whole-
saler’'s warehouse in this state.

Temporary “Class B” Wine Licenses (1997
Act 259, amend sec. 125.51(10), effective June
20, 1998.)

Temporary “Class B” licenses authorizing the

sale of wine may be issued to bona fide clubs,
fair associations, churches, lodges, societies,
and veterans’ posts for a $10 license fee. Not
more than two such licenses may be issued to
any one organization in any 12-month period.

Disposal Alternatives for Seized Alcohol and
Cigarettes (1997 Act 291, amend secs.
125.14(2)(e) and 139.40(2), effective June 30,
1998.)

The Department of Revenue is authorized to

furnish seized cigarettes and alcohol beverages
to law enforcement agencies for use in criminal

investigations.

Other

1

Tax Amnesty Established (1997 Act 237, create
a nonstatutory provision, effective from June 15,
1998 to August 14, 1998.)

The Department of Revenue is directed to es-
tablish a tax amnesty program applicable to all
taxes administered under chapters 71, 72, 78,
and 139 and subchapter Il of chapter 77 of the
statutes. This includes income, franchise, with-
holding, estate, Wisconsin state sales and use,
fuel, beverage, cigarette, tobacco products, and
controlled substances taxes. It does not include
temporary recycling surcharge and local option
taxes (e.g., county sales and use, premier resort,
and local exposition district taxes).

The amnesty program is to be in effect from

June 15, 1998, to August 14, 1998. Further de-
tails concerning the amnesty program can be
found in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin issue number

108, dated June 1998, or through the Internet at:
www.taxamnesty.org.

2.

Federalize Due Dates for Informational Re-
turns (1997 Act 291, amend secs. 71.65(2)(b),
71.70(1) and (2), and 71.72 and repeal and rec-
reate secs. 71.65(5) and 71.73(2), effective
January 1, 1999.)

The due date and extension of time provisions
for filing Wisconsin informational returns with
the Department of Revenue relating to rents,
royalties and payments of nonwage remunera-
tion for services are changed to conform to the
due date and extension provisions under federal
law. Act 291 also requires persons filing such
informational returns to furnish the recipient of
the payments being reported with a copy of the
informational return by January 31 of the year
in which the informational return is required to
be filed with the Department of Revenue.

The new due date and extension of time to file
provisions are as follows:

Typeof  Typeof Extension
Payment  Payer DueDate Available
Nonwage All February 28 60 days
of following
year
Rentor Noncor- February 28 60 days
royalties porate of following
year
Rentor Corpo- March 15 of 60 days
royalties  ration following
year

Occupational License Revocation Program
Expanded (1997 Act 237, repeal and recreate
secs. 71.78(4)(o) and 77.61(5)(b)10, repeal secs.
71.91(8)(title) and 73.03(28g), renumber sec.
71.91(8) to 73.0301(5)(a), create secs. 73.0301,
73.0302 and 73.09(6m) and (7m), and amend
secs. 73.03(50), 73.09(7)(e), 77.62(1)(intro.),
78.70(1)(intro.),  139.03(2x)(c) and  (4),
139.315(3), and 139.39(6), effective January 1,
1999.) Note: In addition to those sections listed,
numerous other sections of the statutes in Chap-
ters administered by other Wisconsin agencies are
also affected by the occupational licensing denial
and revocation provisions. A complete listing of
affected sections can be found in Section 9456 of
1997 Act 237.
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Current Program

When a person applies to the Department of
Regulation and Licensing (DORL) to renew a
credential to practice a profession or occupation
that was initially issued by DORL or an at-
tached examining board or affiliated
credentialing board, before renewing the cre-
dential, DORL must request the Department of
Revenue (DOR) to certify whether the person is
liable for delinquent taxes. If DOR certifies
that the person is liable for delinquent taxes,
DORL must deny the application for credential
renewa and notify the person that the person
has 30 days to request a hearing before DOR to
review the certification. A hearing is limited to
questions of mistaken identity and payment of
the delinquent taxes. If DOR affirms its certifi-
cation after a hearing, DOR must notify DORL,
which must affirm its denial of the application.
A person may seek judicial review of DORL's
affirmation of its denial in the circuit court for
Dane County.

Changes Which Go Into Effect 1/1/99

Expanded provisions cover certain licenses,
credentials, permits, approvals, registrations and
certifications (licenses) that are issued by the
following licensing and credentialing boards
and departments: DORL; an examining board or
affiliated credentialing board in DORL,; the De-
partment of Administration; the Board of
Commissioners of Public Lands; the Depart-
ment of Commerce; the Ethics Board; the
Department of Financial Institutions; the De-
partment of Health and Family Services; the
Department of Natural Resources; the Depart-
ment of Public Instruction; the Department of
Workforce Development; the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance; the Department of
Transportation; and the Wisconsin Supreme
Court, if the court agrees. The provisions also
cover business tax registration certificates, and
property assessor certifications and recertifica-
tions made by DOR. For a license granted by a
board in DORL, DORL, rather than the board,
carries out the duties of a licensing department
that are described below.

Each licensing department and the Supreme
Court may require a person who applies for a li-
cense, for renewal or continuation of a license
or for certification or recertification as a prop-

erty assessor to provide his or her social
security number or, if applicable, its federal
employer identification number. A licensing
department must request DOR to certify
whether an applicant for a license, or license re-
newal or continuation, is liable for delinquent
taxes. In addition, each licensing department
(except a board that is attached to DORL) must
enter into a memorandum of understanding with
DOR that requires the licensing department to
request that DOR certify whether a person who
holds a license is liable for delinquent taxes.
(DORL is required to make such a request on
behalf of a board that is attached to DORL.) If
DOR certifies a liability for delinquent taxes,
the licensing department must revoke the li-
cense or deny the application for the license or
license renewal or continuation. The Depart-
ment of Transportation is also authorized to
suspend licenses in lieu of revoking them. In
addition, DOR may deny an application for
property assessor certification or recertification
or revoke such a certification if DOR deter-
mines that the applicant or holder of the
certification is liable for delinquent taxes.

A person whose application is denied or whose
license or property assessor certification is re-
voked for tax delinquency has 30 days to
request a hearing before DOR to review the
certification of tax delinquency or, for a prop-
erty assessor, determination of liability for
delinquent taxes. A hearing is limited to ques-
tions of mistaken identity and prior payment of
delinquent taxes. After conducting a hearing, if
DOR determines that a person is not liable for
delinquent taxes, the licensing department or,
for a property assessor, DOR, must grant the
application or reinstate the license or property
assessor certification, unless there are other
grounds for denying the application or revoking
the license or property assessor certification. If
DOR affirms its certification of tax delinquency
after a hearing, DOR must provide notice of its
affirmation to the licensing department, which,
upon receiving the notice, must affirm its denial
or revocation. For a property assessor, DOR
must notify the applicant or certification holder
that it has affirmed its determination of liability.
A person may seek judicial review in Dane
County Circuit Court of a licensing depart-
ment’s affirmation of its denial or revocation or,
for a property assessor, DOR'’s affirmation of its
determination.
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In addition, a licensing agency is prohibited
from issuing a license to a person whose appli-
cation was previously denied or whose license
was previously revoked for tax delinquency
unless the person submits a nondelinguency
certificate issued by DOR that states that the
person is not liable for delinquent taxes.

(Note: A complete listing of the licenses, etc.
which are affected by these denial, revocation,
or suspension provisions can be found in secs.
73.0301(1)(d), 73.0302(1), and 73.09(7m)(a), as
created by 1997 Act 237.)

Child Support Enforcement Provisons Ex-
panded (1997 Act 191, create secs. 49.857,
73.03(50m), and 77.61(5)(b)11 and amend sec.
73.03(50), effective May 1, 1998.) Note: In
addition to those sections listed, 1997 Act 191
aso affects numerous other sections of the stat-
utes in Chapters administered by other
Wisconsin agencies.

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce De-
velopment (DWD) is required to establish a
system, in accordance with federal law, under
which licensing agencies are required to restrict,
limit, suspend, withhold, deny, refuse to grant or
issue or refuse to renew or revalidate a license
in atimely manner upon certification by and in
cooperation with DWD, if the individual hold-
ing or applying for the license is delinquent in
making court-ordered payments of support or
fails to comply, after appropriate notice, with a
subpoena or warrant issued by DWD or county
child support agency. The Business Tax Regis-
tration certificate issued by the Department of
Revenue (DOR), is included among the “li-
censes” affected by Act 191.

DOR is required to enter into a memorandum of
understanding with DWD regarding the suspen-
sion of Business Tax Registration certificates
for failure to pay child support or comply with a

subpoena or warrant issued by DWD or a
county child support agency. In addition, DOR
must require that persons applying for or re-
newing Business Tax Registration certificates
provide their social security number.

DWD and county child support agencies under
sec. 59.53(5), Wis. Stats., are authorized to ob-
tain information from Wisconsin state and
county sales and use tax, premier resort area tax

and rental vehicle fee returns, if the request is
made under sec. 49.22(2m), Wis. Stats., as af-
fected by 1997 Act 191.

Refund Offset Agreements With IRS Author-
ized (1997 Act 237, create sec. 73.03(52),
effective June 17, 1998.)

The department is given authority to enter into
agreements with the Internal Revenue Service
that provide for offsetting Wisconsin tax re-

funds against federal tax obligations and
offsetting federal tax refunds against state tax
obligations, if the agreements provide that set-
offs under secs. 71.93 (setoffs for other state
agencies) and 71.935 (setoffs for municipalities
and counties) occur before the setoffs under
those agreements.

Payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (1997
Act 237, amend sec. 71.92(2), effective June 17,
1998.)

The department is authorized to require taxpay-
ers who make installment payments of

delinquent income or franchise taxes, costs,
penalties and interest to make such installment
payments by electronic funds transfer.

Provision Allowing Setoff of Paymentsto Ven-
dors Modified (1997 Act 237, amend sec.
73.12(1)(b), effective June 17, 1998.)

If a vendor providing goods or services to the
State of Wisconsin under subch. IV or V of
Chapter 16 or Chapter 84,Wis. Stats., owes de-
linquent tax, the Department of Revenue may
request that the Department of Administration
set off amounts payable to the vendor against
the delinquent tax, if the value of the vendor’s
contract is $500 or more. Under prior law, the
value of the vendor’s contract must have been at
least $3,000 before the set off provision could
be used.

Uncollectible Taxes (1997 Act 237, renumber
sec. 73.03(27)(intro.) to 73.03(27) and amend as
renumbered, and repeal sec. 73.03(27)(a) to (e),
effective June 17, 1998.)

Income, franchise, sales, use, withholding, mo-
tor fuel, gift, beverage and cigarette tax, and
recycling surcharge liabilities, may be written
off from the records of the department when



16 Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 109 — June 1998
determined by the Secretary of Revenue to be Section 71.77(7)(a) provides that if a taxpayer
uncollectible.  Under prior law, uncollectible reports less that 75% of the net income properly
amounts were permitted to be written off only assessable on a return and the resulting unre-
when certain additional conditions were met ported tax exceeds $100 ($200 in the case of a
(for example, in some cases the amount must joint return), a six-year statute of limitations ap-
have been delinquent for at least 10 years). plies for purposes of correcting such return.
The amendment to sec. 71.77(7)(a) in 1997 Act
Uncollectible taxes written off under sec. 291 clarifies that the six-year statute of limita-
73.03(27) remain legal obligations. tions applies to al taxpayers, not just to
individuals.
9. Satisfaction of Tax Warrant (1997 Act 237,
amend 71.91(5)(f), effective December 1, 1998.) 12. Felony Penalties Increased (1997 Act 283,
amend  secs. 71.83(2)(b), 125.075(2),
When the department issues a satisfaction of a 125.085(3)(8)2, 125.105(2)(b), 125.66(3),
tax warrant, the taxpayer may request that the 125.68(12)(b) and (c), 139.44(1), (1m), (2) and
department indicate the amount that was paid to (8)(c), and 139.95(2) and (3), effective for of-
satisfy the warrant. fenses committed on or after December 31,
1999.) Note: In addition to those sections
10. Venue for Criminal Cases (1997 Act 291, listed, 1997 Act 283 also amended numerous
create sec. 71.80(6m), effective for criminal other sections of the statutes in Chapters ad-
chargesfiled on or after June 30, 1998.) ministered by other Wisconsin agencies.
A proceeding for a criminal violation under Various felony penalties relating to income,
Chapter 71 of the Wisconsin Statutes may be franchise, cigarette and controlled substance
brought in the Circuit Court for Dane County or taxes, and alcoholic beverages are increased as
for the county in which the defendant resides or shown in Table 1 below.
islocated when charged with the violation.
11. Clarify that Six-Year Statute of Limitations
Applies to All Taxpayers (1997 Act 291,
amend sec. 71.77(7)(a), effective June 30,
1998.)
TABLE 1- FELONY PENALTIESINCREASED
Maximum I mprisonment Maximum I mprisonment
Statute Under Prior Law Under New Law
71.83(2)(b)1 2 years 3years
71.83(2)(b)2 5 years 7 years and 6 months
71.83(2)(b)3 3years 4 years and 6 months
71.83(2)(b)4 5 years 7 years and 6 months
125.075(2) 5years 7 years and 6 months
125.085(3)(a)2 2 years 3years
125.105(2)(b) 5years 7 years and 6 months
125.66(3) 10 years 15 years
125.68(12)(b) 10 years 15 years
125.68(12)(c) 10 years 15 years
139.44(1) 10 years 15 years
139.44(1m) 10 years 15 years
139.44(2) 1 year 2 years
139.44(8)(c) 2 years 3years
139.95(2) 5years 7 years and 6 months
139.95(3) 10 years 15 years
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