Wisconsin. The photographer's place of business is in a nontaxable county. The calendar publisher is located in a taxable county. The photographer delivers the photographs to the calendar publisher. The publisher decides not to use any of the photographs and returns them to the photographer. The photographer bills the publisher \$500 for the photographer's services furnished.

Is the \$500 charge subject to the county sales tax?

Answer 3: Yes. This service is considered furnished at the place where the publisher takes possession of the photographs for approval. Because the publisher took possession of the photographs in a taxable county, gross receipts from furnishing the photographic service are subject to the county sales tax.

FACTS AND QUESTION 4: Assume the same facts as in Facts and Question 3 except that the publisher reviews the photographs at the photographer's place of business.

Is the \$500 charge subject to the county sales tax?

Answer 4: No. Because the publisher took possession of the photographs for approval in a nontaxable county, gross receipts from furnishing the photographic service are not subject to the county sales tax.

# **PRIVATE LETTER RULINGS**

"Private letter rulings" are written statements issued to a taxpayer by the department that interpret Wisconsin tax laws to the taxpayer's specific set of facts. Any taxpayer may rely upon the ruling to the same extent as the requestor, provided the facts are the same as those set forth in the ruling.

The number assigned to each ruling is interpreted as follows: The "W" is for "Wisconsin," the first two digits are the year the ruling becomes available for publication (80 days after the ruling is issued to the taxpayer), the next two digits are the week of the year, and the last three digits are the number in the series of rulings in that year. The date following the 7-digit number is the date the ruling was mailed to the requestor.

Certain information contained in the ruling that could identify the taxpayer requesting the ruling has been deleted. Wisconsin Publication 111, "How to get a Private Letter Ruling From the Wisconsin Department of Revenue," contains additional information about private letter rulings.

The following ruling is included:

# W9106001, November 15, 1990

TYPE TAX: Sales/Use

STATUTES: Sections 77.51(20) and 77.52(1) and (2)(a)2 and 9, Wis. Stats. (1987-88)

Issue: Mobile home lot rental

This letter responds to your request for a private letter ruling regarding the rental of mobile home lots for Wisconsin sales and use tax purposes.

# FACTS

You own a mobile home. You rent a lot on which your mobile home is affixed in a mobile home park. The mobile home is permanently affixed to the land and is connected to utilities. The rental of the lot includes water and sewer services. No other services or facilities are provided (i.e., electricity, garbage removal, clubhouse, pier, raft, pool, laundry room, picnic tables, playground, or other improvements).

## **RULING REQUEST**

You ask whether the rental of the mobile home lot is subject to Wisconsin sales tax.

#### RULING

The gross receipts from the rental of mobile home lots, which are not part of a campground facility that offers others services or facilities, are not subject to Wisconsin sales tax.

### Analysis

Section 77.52(1), Wis. Stats. (1987-88), provides that a sales tax shall be imposed on the gross receipts from the lease or rental of tangible personal property at retail in Wisconsin. Section 77.51(20), Wis. Stats. (1987-88), defines "tangible personal property" to mean all tangible personal property of every kind and description. Land is commonly known to be real property.

Section 77.52(2)(a)2, Wis. Stats. (1987-88), imposes a sales tax on the sale of admissions to amusement, athletic, entertainment or recreational events or places (such as a campground).

Section 77.52(2)(a)9, Wis. Stats. (1987-88), provides that parking or providing storage space for motor vehicles is subject to sales tax. Motor vehicle is defined in sec. Tax 11.83(1), Wis. Adm. Code, as a self-propelled vehicle designed for and capable of transporting persons or property on a highway.

Because the rental of the lot in question is the rental of real property, rather than tangible personal property, sec 77.52(1), Wis. Stats. (1987-88), does not apply. Because the fee paid to the mobile home park owner is for rent only and not for recreational services or facilities, sec. 77.52(2)(a)2, Wis. Stats. (1987-88), does not apply. Because the mobile home in question is not a motor vehicle, as defined in sec. Tax 11.83(1), Wis. Adm. Code, sec. 77.52(2)(a)9, Wis. Stats. (1987-88), does not apply. Therefore, the rental of your mobile home lot is not subject to Wisconsin sales tax.