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taxpayer did not provide drivers for 
the trucks as required by the rule is a 
reasonable interpretation-----<:ertainly 
not inconsistent with the language or 
clearly erroneous. 

B. The Commission's determination 
that Gensler does not sanction the 
"primary business" test as controlling 
in deciding all questions of "exclu­
sive use" is reasonable. 

The taxpayer has not appealed this deci­
sion. 

D 

TAX RELEASES 

I "Tax Releases" are designed to provide answers to the specific 
tax questions covered, based on the facts indicated. However, the 
answer may not apply to all questions of a similar nature. In 
situations where the facts vary from those given herein, it is 
recommended that advice be sought from the Department. Unless 
otherwise indicated, Tax Releases apply for all periods open to 
adjustment. All references to section numbers are to the Wiscon­
sin Statutes unless otherwise noted.) 

The following Tax Releases are included: 

Individual Income Taxes 

1. Gross Income and Income Tax Return Filing Requirements 
(p. 13) 

Corporation Franchise or Income Taxes 

I. Treatment of Capital Losses by Corporations for 1987 
(p. 14) 

Sales/Use Taxes 

I. Taxable Lease vs. Nontaxable Service: Parent/Subsidiary 
Transactions (p. 14) 

County Sales/Use Taxes 

I. County Tax - Motor Vehicle Purchased Before Tax Was in 
Effect (p. 15) 

Homestead Credit 

I. Homestead Credit: Property Taxes on Property Used for 
Business Purposes (p. 15) 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES 

1. Gross Income and Income Tax Return Filing Require­
ments 

Statutes: Section 71.10(2)(a) and (d), 1985 Wis. Stats. 

Backgronn¢ Wisconsin income tax return filing requirements as 
provided ins. 71. 10(2)(a)5, Wis. Stats., are based on filing status, 
age as of December 31, and gross income (or total gross income 
of husband and wife). Section 71.10(2)(d), Wis. Stats., defines 
gross income as "all income from whatever source derived and 
whatever form realized, whether in money, property, or services, 
which is not exempt from Wisconsin income tax." 

Question 1: A full-year Wisconsin resident who is single and 
under age 65 operates a Wisconsin farm. This individual derives 
gross receipts of $60,000, but also incurs expenses of $59,000, for 
net farm income of $1,000 in 1987. Is this individual required to 
file a 1987 Wisconsin tax return? 

Answer 1: Yes. Section 7 l.10(2)(a)5a, Wis. Stats., provides that 
a full-year Wisconsin resident who is single and under age 65 must 
file a Wisconsin tax return ifhe or she has Wisconsin gross income 
of $5,200 or more. Section 71.10(2)(d), Wis Stats., provides that 
gross income from a business or farm consists of the total gross 
receipts without reduction for cost of goods sold, expenses, or any 
other amounts. Since this individual derived gross farm receipts 
of $60,000, he is required to file a 1987 Wisconsin tax return. 

Question 2: A nonresident of Wisconsin who is single and under 
age 65 sells Wisconsin real estate held for investment purposes on 
land contract in 1987. The selling price was $50,000 and the 
selling expenses and basis totalled $40,000. The individual re­
ceived installment payments totalling $5,000 in 1987. Is this 
individual required to file a 1987 Wisconsin tax return and pay the 
tax due thereon? 

Answer 2: Yes. Section 71.10(2)(a)5b, Wis. Stats., provides that 
a nonresident must file a Wisconsin tax return if he or she has 
Wisconsin gross income of $2,000 or more. Section 71.10(2)(d), 
Wis. Stats., provides that gross income from the sale of property 
consists of the gross selling price without reduction for the cost of 
the property, expenses of sale, or any other amounts. Since this 
individual received total installment payments of $5,000 in 1987, 
he is required to file a 1987 Wisconsin tax return and pay any tax 
owing on that return. 

Question 3: Nonresidents of Wisconsin who are married and 
under age 65 own Wisconsin rental property. They derive gross 
rental income of $6,000 and incur rental expenses of $7,000, for 
a net rental loss of $1,000. Is this married couple required to file 
a 1987 Wisconsin tax return? 
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Answer 3: Yes. Section 71.10(2)(a)5b, Wis. Stats., provides that 
a nonresident must file a Wisconsin tax return if the combined 
gross income of the person and his or her spouse is $2,000 or more. 
Section 71.10(2)(d), Wis. Stats., provides that gross income from 
rental property consists of gross rental amounts received without 
reduction for expenses or any other amounts. Since this married 
couple derived gross rental income of$6,000, they arc required to 
file a 1987 Wisconsin tax return. 

0 

CORPORATION FRANCHISE OR INCOME TAXES 

I. Treatment of Capital Losses by Corporations for 1987 

Statutes: Section 7 I.02(2)(bg), 1987 Wis. Stats. 

Background: Beginning with the 1987 taxable year, corporations 
will compute net income under the Internal Revenue Code, with 
certain exceptions. Section 1212 of the !RC states that if a 
corporation has a net capital loss, the loss cannot be deducted in 
the current taxable year. The loss must be carried to other taxable 
years and deducted from capital gains that occur in those years. 
The net capital loss is first carried back three years, unless the loss 
is attributable to a foreign expropriation capital loss or the carry­
back of such loss increases or produces a net operating loss. If the 
loss is not completely used up, it is carried forward to future 
taxable years, for up to five years. 

Question ) : Can a corporation carry back a net capital loss 
incurred in the 1987 taxable year to a prior taxable year for 
Wisconsin tax purposes? 

Answer I: No. In order to claim a capital loss carryback, a prior 
year's return must be amended. Internal Revenue Code section 
1212, which allows a capital loss carryback, first applies for 
Wisconsin for taxable year 1987. Therefore, I 987 taxable year net 
capital losses cannot be carried back to a prior year because the 
newly adopted Internal Revenue Code provisions do not apply to 
years prior to 1987. Instead, a net capital loss incurred in taxable 
year 1987 may only be carried forward for up to five years. 

Example: In 1987 a corporation has a net capital loss of $5,000. In 
1984 the corporation had a net capital gain of $9,000. For federal 
tax purposes, the corporation carries the $5,000 net capital loss for 
1987 back and subtracts it from the $9,000 net capital gain for 
1984. Thus, the corporation will report $4,000 of net capital gain 
on its amended 1984 federal return. 

For Wisconsin tax purposes, thecorporationcannot carry back the 
loss. Instead, the corporation will carry forward the $5,000 net 
capital loss to 1988 and succeeding taxable years. 

Question 2: Will a corporation ever be able to use the carryback 
provision under IRC section 1212? 

Answer 2: Yes, but taxable year 1987 is the earliest taxable year 
to which losses can be carried back. 

Example: In 1988, a corporation has a net capital loss of$!0,000. 
The corporation had net capital gains of $2,000 in 1985, $10,000 
in 1986, and $7,000 in 1987. For federal tax purposes, the 
corporation carries the $10,000 net capital loss for 1988 back and 
offsets the $2,000 net capital gain for 1985 and $8,000 of the 
$10,000 net capital gain for 1986. 

For Wisconsin tax purposes, the corporation carries $7,000 of the 
$10,000 net capital loss for 1988 back and offsets the $7,000 net 
capital gain for 1987. The corporation will carry forward the 
remaining $3,000 of 1988 net capital loss to 1989 and succeeding 
years. 

0 

SALES/USE TAXES 

I. Taxable Lease vs. Nontaxable Service: Parent/Subsidi­
ary Transactions 

Slalu!e: Sections 77.51(7) and (14), 77.52(1), and 77.54(5)(b), 
1985 Wis. Stats. 

Wis Adm Code: Section Tax 11.29(4), July 1977 Register 

Example 1: A parent company (Company A) organized a wholly 
owned subsidiary (Company B) as a licensed common carrier. 
The subsidiary maintained its separateness from its parent. The 
subsidiary, Company B, purchased trucks from parent Company 
A. Company B has noemployes and is notregisteredforwithhold­
ing tax. Company B contracted with Company A for the use of 
Company A employes; that is, it used employes of Company A to 
drive the trucks of Company Band reimbursed Company A for the 
wages, salary and fringe benefits Company A paid such em­
ployes. Company B sets its own transportation rates competitive 
with other carriers and bills its customers, including Company A. 
Company B delivers Company A's finished product and picks up 
raw material for Company A, but it also provides transportation 
for third parties. Less than 10% of Company B's revenues are 
generated from hauling freight for parties other than Company A. 

Question: Are the gross receipts received by Company B for 
transporting products of Company A considered (a) a lease or 
rental of trucks from Company B to Company A which is taxable 
under s. 77.52(1), 1985 Wis. Stats., or (b) a nontaxable transpor­
tation service? 
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~ Company B is providing a nontaxable transportation 
service. Even though Company Buses drivers who are employes 
of parent Company A, for which it reimburses Company A, 
Company B is still considered to be providing the drivers under 
Section Tax ll.29(4)(c). 

Example 2: Company C is authorized by the Transportation 
Commission to operate as a contract carrier. Company C hauls 
feed exclusively for Company D. Company C is a wholly-owned 
subsidiary of Company D. Company C has its own trucks. 
Company D pays Company C a reasonable fee for hauling 
Company D's feed. Company C leases drivers from Company D 
for which it pays Company D a reasonable fee. When drivers are 
not being paid by Company C, employes of Company D could not 
use the trucks in any way. The trucks could only be driven by those 
directed to do so and paid to do so by Company C. 

Question I: Were the charges made by Company C to Company 
D for hauling Company D's feed (a) a taxable lease orrental under 
s. 77.52(1), 1985 Wis. Stats., or (b) a nontaxable transportation 
service. 

Answer 1: The charges are considered payment for a nontaxable 
transportation service. That fact that Company C leased drivers 
from Company D does not make it a rental of trucks under Section 
Tax 11.29(4). 

Question 2: Were the trucks purchased by Company C exempt 
under the common or contract carrier exemption ins. 77.54(5)(b), 
1985 Wis. Stats? 

Answer 2: Yes, because Company C operates exclusively as a 
contract carrier. 

□ 

COUNTY SALES/USE TAXES 

I. County Tax - Motor Vehicle Purchased Before Tax was 
in Effect: 

Stat11tcs: Section 77.51(14r), 1985 Wis. Stats. 

Facts and Question: The Oneida County sales and use tax went 

into effect on April I, 1987. An Oneida County resident purchased 
a motor vehicle in Illinois on March 28, 1987, brought the car to 
Oneida County that same day, and registered the car with the 
Department of Transportation on April 9, 1987, after the tax was 
in effect. Is this transaction subject to the Oneida County tax? 

~: No, the car was purchased prior to April 1, 1987, when 
the Oneida County tax went into effect. If a motor vehicle is 
purchased in Wisconsin or out-of-state on or after April 1, 1987, 

the Oneida County tax applies to that purchase if the vehicle is to 
be customarily kept in that county. 

□ 

HOMESTEAD CREDIT 

1. Homestead Credit: Property Taxes on Property Used for 
Business Purposes 

Statutes: Section 71.09(7)(a)7, 1987 Wis. Stats. 

Background: Section 71.09(7)(a)7, 1987 Wis. Stats., provides that 
the property taxes accrued on multipurpose buildings shall be 
prorated to reflect only that part of the multipurpose building 
occupied by the household as a principal residence plus a similar 
percentage of the land surrounding it. When a portion of a property 
is used exclusively for business purposes, property taxes used in· 
computing homestead credit may not include the portion of the 
property taxes that reflects business use. Therefore, if the property 
is used exclusively for business purposes for which a deduction is 
allowed or allowable for income tax purposes, the relating prop­
erty taxes may not be used for homestead credit purposes. 

Question I: A person's 1987 property taxes on his or her principal 
residence are $1,200. The person uses one room of a five-room 
home as an office. For income tax purposes, assume the person is 
not allowed an office in the home deduction because he or she does 
not use the office exclusively for business purposes. What portion 
of the 1987 property taxes may the person use in computing his or 
her 1987 homestead credit? 

Answer I: $1,200. The entire home still serves primarily as a 
principal residence. The business use is incidental to the residen­
tial use of the property. Therefore, 100% of the property taxes may 
be used in computing the homestead credit 

Question 2: Assume the same facts as in Question 1 except thatthe 
office is used exclusively for business. The expenses of maintain­
ing the office are allowed as a deduction for income tax purposes. 
In computing the deduction, the business portion was determined 
under one method allowed by the IRS which is to base the portion 
on the ratio of one room to total of five rooms. May 100% of the 
1987 property taxes be used in computing a 1987 homestead 
credit? 

Answer 2: No. The entire home no longer serves primarily as a 
principal residence because one room is used exclusively for 
business. Therefore, only 80% of the 1987 property taxes may be 
used in computing a 1987 homestead credit (four rooms not used 
for business purposes divided by five rooms). 

Questions 3: The 1987 property taxes on a person's principal 
residence are $1,000. One room of his or her ten-room residence 
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is used exclusively for business purposes. Although an income tax 
deduction would be allowed for the business use, this person 
elects not to claim the deduction. May 100% of the property taxes 
be used in computing 1987 homestead credit? 

Answer 3: No. Because the one room is used exclusively for 
business, the portion of the property taxes relating to that one 

room may not be used in computing homestead credit. It docs not 
matter that an income tax deduction was not claimed for expenses 
relating to that room, as long as the person would have been 
qualified to claim a deduction. 

□ 
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