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Form 1 Instructions
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WI tfile is:
v" FREE: file your state tax return at no charge
v ACCURATE: it does the math for you
v" SECURE: safe and secure website

2017

o
e Visit revenue.wi.gov to file your Wisconsin
state tax return online for FREE.
o W Click on WI £file to get started!

REVENUE.WI.GOV

NEW IN 2017

Adoption Expenses — The $5,000 subtraction for adoption
expenses is expanded to apply to adoptions finalized in another
state or another country. See page 22.

Tuition and Fee Expenses — The subtraction for tuition and fees
is increased to $6,958 per student. The phase-out range is also
increased. See page 19.

Olympic, Paralympic, and Special Olympics Medals and Prize
Money — Certain persons are allowed a subtraction for the value of
medals and prize money received. See page 28.

Refund — The department may not issue a refund before March 1
unless both the individual and the individual’s employer have filed
all required returns and forms with the department for the taxable
year for which the refund was claimed. See page 6.

REMINDERS

IRS Adjustments — If the IRS adjusted any of your federal income
tax returns, you must notify the department within 90 days of any
adjustment that affects your Wisconsin income tax returns. See
page 8.

Credit Repayments — If you are required to repay a credit, you
must amend your Wisconsin return for the year in which you
originally claimed the credit to reduce the credit by your repayment.
See page 7.

revenue.wi.gov

FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT In compliance with federal law, you are hereby notified that the request for your social security number on the Wisconsin income tax return is made under the
authority of sec. 71.03(6)(a) of the Wisconsin Statutes. The disclosure of this number on your return is mandatory. It will be used for identification purposes throughout the processing,

filing and auditing of your return and the issuance of refund checks.

1-111

Tax Returns Are Due:

Tuesday
April 17, 2018

Need Help With Your Taxes?

You may be eligible for free
tax help. See page 2 for:

* who can get help

* how to find a location

» what to bring with you

Para Assistencia Gratuita
en Espaiiol
Ver pagina 2
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Servicio en Espaiiol

Para ayuda gratuita para la declaracién de sus impuestos y de el Crédito por Vivienda Familiar, llame al “211” para encontrar
un sitio de Asistencia de Voluntarios para Impuestos (Volunteer Income Tax Assistance también conocido como VITA) cerca de
usted. Muchos lugares ofrecen servicios en espafiol.

Pararespuestas alas preguntas sobre impuestos, por favor llame el Departamento de Impuestos al (608) 266-2486 para impuestos
individuales y al (608) 266-2776 para impuestos de negocios. Oprima el “2” para ayuda en espafiol.

Para mas informacion, visite revenue.wi.gov, en el vinculo (link) “En Espafiol” usted encontrara informacion sobre el Credito por
Ingreso de Trabajo, informacion del Crédito por Vivienda Familiar, y mucho mas — todo disponible en espafol.

Free tax preparation available (commonly referred to as VITA or TCE)

Need help filing your taxes?

Wisconsin residents can have their taxes prepared for free at any IRS sponsored Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) site or
at any AARP sponsored Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) site. These two programs have helped millions of individuals across
the country in preparing their taxes. Trained volunteers will fill out your tax return. Many sites will even e-file your return.

Who can use these services?
* Low to moderate income individuals * Individuals with disabilities * Elderly individuals

* Individuals who qualify for the homestead
credit or the earned income tax credit

What should you bring?

+ W-2 wage and tax statements » Information on other sources of income and any deductions
» Photo ID of taxpayer(s) » Social security cards of taxpayer(s) and dependents
 If you are claiming a homestead credit, bring a » Both spouses must be present to file a joint return

completed rent certificate or a copy of your 2017

property tax bill, a record of any Wisconsin Works (W2)

payments received in 2017, and a statement from your

physician or the Veteran’s Administration, or a document

from the Social Security Administration if disabled and under age 62.

VITA and TCE locations:
* In Wisconsin, call 1-800-906-9887  Visit revenue.wi.gov and search “VITA sites”
« Call the AARP at 1-888-227-7669 « Call “211” for local free tax sites


https://www.revenue.wi.gov
https://www.revenue.wi.gov

Which form to file

You may file Form WI-Z
if you:

You may file Form 1A
if you:

You must file Form 1
if you:

You must file Form 1NPR
if you:

* File federal Form
1040EZ AND

* Were a Wisconsin
resident all year AND

Were under age 65 on
December 31, 2017,
AND

Do not have W-2s that
include active duty
military pay received
as a member of the
National Guard or
Reserves AND

Did not have interest
income from state,
municipal, or U.S.
bonds AND

Did not receive
unemployment
compensation AND

Are not claiming any
credits other than
Wisconsin tax withheld
from wages, renter’s
and homeowner’s
school property tax
credit, or the married
couple credit AND

Are not claiming
Wisconsin homestead
credit.

» Were single all year or
married and file a joint
return or file as head of
household AND

Were a Wisconsin resident
all year AND

Have income only from
wages, salaries, tips,
taxable scholarships

and fellowships, interest,
dividends, capital

gain distributions,
unemployment
compensation, pensions,
annuities, and IRAs AND

Have no adjustments to
income (except deductions
for an IRA, medical care
insurance, or student loan
interest) AND

Are not claiming credit
for itemized deductions,
tax paid to another state,
historic rehabilitation,
venture capital, or
repayment of income
previously taxed AND

Are not subject to a
Wisconsin penalty on an
IRA, qualified retirement
plan, Coverdell education
plan, ABLE account, or
medical or health savings
account.

Exception If you used
federal Form 4972, you must
file Form 1.

* Were a Wisconsin
resident all year AND

Were married and file a
separate return, or were
divorced during the year
OR

Have income which may
not be reported on Form
WI-Z or 1A (such as

capital gain, rental, farm,
or business income) OR

Claim adjustments to
income (such as for
alimony paid, educator
expenses, tuition
expense, or disability
income exclusion) OR

Claim credit for itemized
deductions, tax paid to
another state, historic
rehabilitation, venture
capital, or repayment of
income previously taxed
OR

Are subject to a
Wisconsin penalty on an
IRA, qualified retirement
plan, Coverdell
education plan, ABLE
account, or medical or
health savings account
OR

Are subject to the
alternative minimum tax.

* Were domiciled* in
another state or country
at any time during the
year OR

Are married filing a joint
return and your spouse
was domiciled* in another
state or country at any
time during the year.

* Your domicile is your true,
fixed, and permanent
home to which, whenever
absent, you intend to
return. You can be
physically present or
residing in one locality but
maintain your domicile in
another.

Your domicile, once
established, does

not change unless all
three of the following
circumstances occur or
exist:

(1) You intend to abandon
your old domicile and
take actions consistent
with that intent AND

(2) You intend to acquire a
new domicile and take
actions consistent with
that intent AND

(3) You are physically

present in the new
domicile.

File online.

Pay online.

Direct deposit.

www.revenue.wi.gov
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Who must file

Refer to the table to see if you are required to file a return for 2017.

Age as of You must file if your gross income*
Filing status December 31, 2017 (or total gross income of a married couple) during 2017 was:
Single Under 65 $11,080 or more
65 or older $11,330 or more
Married-filing joint Both spouses under 65 $20,610 or more
return One spouse 65 or older $20,860 or more
Both spouses 65 or older $21,110 or more
Married-filing separate Under 65 $9,830 or more
return 65 or older $10,080 or more (applies to each spouse individually — must use Form 1)
Head of household Under 65 $14,100 or more
65 or older $14,350 or more

* Gross income means all income (before deducting expenses) reportable to Wisconsin. The income may be received in the form
of money, property, or services. It does not include items that are exempt from Wisconsin tax. For example, it does not include
social security benefits or U.S. government interest.

Age

#,
O |f your birthday falls on January 1, 2018, you are considered to be a year older as of December 31, 2017. Example: If you
were born on January 1, 1953, you are considered to be age 65 as of December 31, 2017.

Other Filing Requirements

You may have to file a return even if your income is less than the amounts shown on the table. You must file a return for 2017 if:
* You could be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return and either of the following applies:
(1) Your gross income was more than $1,050 and it included at least $351 of unearned income, or
(2) Your gross income (total unearned income and earned income) was more than —
$10,380 if single,
$13,400 if head of household,
$19,210 if married filing jointly, or
$9,130 if married filing separately.

Unearned income includes taxable interest, dividends, capital gain distributions, and taxable scholarship and fellowship
grants that were not reported to you on a W-2. Earned income includes wages, tips, self-employment income, and
scholarship and fellowship grants that were reported to you on a W-2.

* You owe a penalty on an IRA, retirement plan, Coverdell education savings account (excess contribution), ABLE account, health
savings account, or Archer medical savings account.

» You were a nonresident or part-year resident of Wisconsin for 2017 and your gross income was $2,000 or more. If you were
married, you must file a return if the combined gross income of you and your spouse was $2,000 or more. (You must file
Form 1NPR.) A return does not have to be filed by a nonresident of Wisconsin if all income is exempt from tax as disaster relief
work performed during a state of emergency declared by the Governor. For further information, see Publication 411, Disaster
Relief.

Who should file

Even if you do not have to file, you should file to get a refund if:

* You had Wisconsin income tax withheld from your wages.
* You paid estimated taxes for 2017.
* You claim the earned income credit or the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit.

How to get an extension of time to file
Your return is due April 17, 2018.

If you cannot file on time, you can get an extension. You can use any federal extension provision for Wisconsin, even if you are
filing your federal return by April 17.

How to get an extension You do not need to submit a request for an extension to us prior to the time you file your Wisconsin
return. When you file your Form 1 enclose either:

» a copy of your federal extension application (for example, Form 4868) or

 a statement indicating which federal extension provision you want to apply for Wisconsin (for example, the federal automatic
6-month extension provision).
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Note You will owe interest on any tax that you have not paid by April 17, 2018. This applies even though you may have an
extension of time to file. If you do not file your return by April 17, 2018, or during an extension period, you may have to pay
additional interest and penalties. If you expect to owe tax with your return, you can avoid the 1% per month interest charge during
the extension period by paying the tax by April 17, 2018. Submit the payment with a 2017 Wisconsin Form 1-ES. You can get
this form from our website at revenue.wi.gov or at any Department of Revenue office. Use Form 1-ES to make an extension
payment even if you will be filing your return electronically — do not use Form EPV. (Exception: You will not be charged interest
during an extension period if (1) you served in support of Operation Freedom’s Sentinel in the United States, (2) you qualify for a
federal extension because of service in a combat zone or contingency operation, or (3) you qualify for a federal extension due to
a federally-declared disaster. See Special Conditions below.)

If you were a farmer or fisher and you did not make estimated tax payments, you must file your return and pay any tax due by
March 1, 2018, to avoid paying interest for underpayment of estimated tax. Farmers and fishers are individuals who earn at least
two-thirds of their gross income (gross income of both spouses if married filing a joint return) from farming or fishing.

Special Conditions A “Special Conditions” section is located to the right of the Filing Status section on page 1 of Form 1. If you
have an extension of time to file due to service in support of Operation Freedom’s Sentinel in the United States, fill in “01” in the
Special Conditions box. If you qualify for an extension because of service in a combat zone or contingency operation, fill in “02”
in the box. If you qualify for an extension because of a federally-declared disaster, fill in “03” in the box and indicate the specific
disaster on the line provided.

Filing your return

® Preparing to file

» Get all of your records together — Make sure that you have all of your income and expense records, including wage, interest,
and dividend statements.

» Decide if you will electronically file (e-file) or paper file your return — If you e-file, follow the instructions included in your software.
If you paper file, continue with the steps listed below.

» Complete your federal return — Before starting your Wisconsin Form 1, complete your federal return and its supporting schedules.
If you are not required to file a federal return, list the sources and amounts of your income and your deductions on a separate
sheet.

» Complete your Wisconsin return — Follow the line instructions as you fill in your return. Sign your completed return. A joint
return must be signed by both spouses.

» Check and assemble your return — Check your return for any errors or missing documents. See page 6 for information on how
to assemble your return.

* Make a copy of your return for your records.
* Mail your return and all required documents. See page 6 for the address.

m Electronic filing (E-filing)
Electronic filing is the fastest way to get your federal and state income tax refunds. We can deposit your Wisconsin refund directly
into a financial institution account.

You may pay by electronic funds transfer if you file electronically. File early and schedule payment as late as April 17. Go to revenue.
wi.gov/Pages/FAQs/pcs-e-fag.aspx for more information.

There are several options to file your Wisconsin income tax return electronically:
* Wisconsin e-file — Available for free on the Department of Revenue website at revenue.wi.gov.

+ A tax professional — Visit our website at revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/city-home.aspx for information on finding a tax
professional.

» Tax preparation software — Purchase off-the-shelf tax preparation software to install on your computer, or connect
to one of the private vendor websites that offer electronic filing. For more information, visit our website at
revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/offshelf.aspx or revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/webased.aspx.

m Paper filing
Electronic filing (e-filing) is the fastest way to receive your refund. However, if you paper file, there are several things you can do
to ensure you receive your refund faster.

Important information:

« Send original copies.

* Use black ink.

» Clearly write your name and address using capital letters. Do not use mailing labels.

» Commas and dollar signs can be misread when scanned. Do not use them.

* Round amounts to whole dollars. Do not add cents in front of the preprinted zeros on entry lines.
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» To indicate a negative number, use a negative sign (for example, -8300 not (8300)).

« Printyour numberscleary. Q1 234567 89 Donotuse: @147
« If you make a mistake, erase or start over. Do not cross out entries.

* Put entries on the lines. Do not write in the margins, above or below the lines.

* Lines where no entry is required should be left blank. Do not fill in zeros.

+ Do not draw vertical lines in entry fields. They can be read as a “I” when scanned.

» Do not staple your return. Stapling will delay the processing of your return and any refund.

m Assembling your return

Begin by putting the four pages of Form 1 in numerical order. Then, attach, using a paper clip, the following in the order listed.
e Do not attach a Form W-RA if you are filing your return on paper. Form W-RA is used only when submitting information for

an electronically-filed return.

1. Payment — If you owe an amount with your return, paper clip your payment to the front of Form 1, unless you are paying by
credit card or online.

2. Wisconsin Schedules — Copies of appropriate Wisconsin schedules and supporting documents, such as Schedule H or H-EZ
(homestead credit), Schedule FC or FC-A (farmland preservation credit), or Schedule CR. If you are reporting income and
expenses of a disregarded entity, attach Schedule DE, Disregarded Entity Schedule.

3. Amended return — Enclose Schedule AR, Explanation of Amended Return, with your amended return and all supporting
forms and schedules for items changed. (Don’t send a copy of your original return.)

4. W-2s or 1099s — The appropriate copy of each of your withholding statements (Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, 1099-R, and
1099-MISC).

5. Federal Return — A complete copy of your federal return (Form 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ) and its supporting schedules and
forms (such as federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement.)

6. Extension Form or Statement — A copy of your federal extension application form or required statement if you are filing under
an extension of time to file.

7. Divorce Decree —

* Persons divorced after June 20, 1996, who compute a refund If your divorce decree apportions any tax liability owed to the
department to your former spouse, enclose a copy of the decree with your Form 1. Fill in “04” in the Special Conditions box
on page 1 of Form 1. This will prevent your refund from being applied against such tax liability.

» Persons divorced who file a joint return — If your divorce decree apportions any refund to you or your former spouse, or
between you and your former spouse, the department will issue the refund to the person(s) to whom the refund is awarded
under the terms of the divorce. Enclose a copy of the portion of your divorce decree that relates to the tax refund with your
Form 1. Fill in “04” in the Special Conditions box on page 1 of Form 1.

8. Injured Spouse — If you are filing federal Form 8379, Injured Spouse Allocation, enclose a copy with your Form 1. Fill in “05”
in the Special Conditions box on page 1 of Form 1.

CAUTION Be sure to file all four pages of Form 1. Send the original of your return. Do not send a photocopy.

® Where to File
Mail your return (an original return or amended return) to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at:

(if tax is due) (if refund or no tax due) (if homestead credit claimed)
PO Box 268 PO Box 59 PO Box 34

Madison WI Madison WI Madison WI
53790-0001 53785-0001 53786-0001

Envelopes without enough postage will be returned to you by the post office. Your envelope may need additional postage if it
contains more than five pages or is oversized (for example, it is over %4” thick). Also, include your complete return address.

Private Delivery Services You can use certain private delivery services approved by the IRS to meet the timely filing rule. The
approved private delivery services are listed in the instructions for your federal tax form. Items must be delivered to Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, 2135 Rimrock Rd., Madison WI 53713. Private delivery services cannot deliver items to PO boxes. The
private delivery service can tell you how to get written proof of the mailing date.

Questions about refunds

Call: (608) 266-8100 in Madison, Visit our Website at: revenue.wi.gov
(414) 227-4907 in Milwaukee, or
A 1-866-WIS-RFND (1-866-947-7363) toll-free within the U.S. or Canada
o
te If you need to contact us about your refund, please wait at least 12 weeks after filing your Form 1. Refund information may not
be available until that time. The department may not issue a refund before March 1 unless both the individual and the individual’s
employer have filed all required returns and forms with the department for the taxable year for which the refund was claimed.
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You may call one of the numbers indicated on page 6 or write to: Department of Revenue, Mail Stop 5-77, PO Box 8949, Madison
WI 53708-8949. If you call, you will need your social security number and the dollar amount of your refund.

An automated response is available when you call one of the numbers listed above. If you need to speak with a person, assistance
is available Monday through Friday from 7:45 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. by calling (608) 266-2486 in Madison (long-distance charges, if
applicable, will apply).

You may also get information on your refund using our secure website at revenue.wi.gov.

Amending your return

File an amended return only after you file your original return. Generally, a claim for refund must be filed within 4 years after the
unextended due date of your original return (for example, April 15, 2022, for 2017 calendar-year returns). However, a claim for
refund to recover all or part of any tax paid as a result of an office or field audit may be filed within 4 years after the date assessed.
This applies only if you paid the tax and did not file a petition for redetermination (written appeal).

If you filed an amended return with the Internal Revenue Service or another state, you generally must also file an amended Wis-
consin return within 90 days. You must file an amended Wisconsin return if the changes affect your Wisconsin income, any credit,
or tax payable. You should also file an amended Wisconsin return to claim a refund or pay any additional tax due even though you
are not amending your federal or other state return.

7
Ote If your original return was filed on Form 1, you would file an amended return using Form 1 and checking the amended return

space at the top of page 1. Exception: If you incurred a net operating loss (NOL) on your 2017 Form 1 and elect to carry the NOL
back to 2015 and 2016, you must file Form X-NOL for the appropriate year to amend your return and claim a refund.

Be sure to enclose Schedule AR with your amended return to explain all changes and the reason for the change.

Check the space on Form 1 to indicate your filing status on the amended return. If you are changing from separate returns to a
joint return, both of you must sign the amended return. If there is any tax due, it must be paid in full. You cannot change from joint
to separate returns after the due date for filing your original return has passed.

If you are changing your filing status, the amount to fill in on line 1 of Form 1 as federal adjusted gross income must be based
on the same filing status used for Wisconsin. For example, you and your spouse both originally filed Form 1 as married filing a
separate return. You are amending to change your filing status to married filing a joint return. The amount to fill in on line 1 must
be taken from a federal return based on a married filing joint status. If you did not file a joint federal return, you should prepare a
pro forma federal return using a married filing joint return status. The federal adjusted gross income and other amounts from this
pro forma return are then used to complete the amended return. Follow the Form 1 instructions to complete your amended return.

—> If you are changing an amount on any line of Form 1, fill in the corrected amount on that line. If you are not changing an
amount on a line, fill in the amount from your 2017 return as originally filed or as you later amended it. If your latest filed return was
changed or audited by the department, use the corrected figures from the adjustment notice.

o

{7
€ Credit Repayments

If you are required to repay a Wisconsin credit, you must amend your Wisconsin return for the year in which you originally claimed
the credit to reduce the amount of your credit by your repayment. See below for examples of credits which you may have to repay.

e State historic rehabilitation credit You may have to repay all or part of the state historic rehabilitation credit if you disposed of
the property within 5 years after the date on which the preservation or rehabilitation work was complete or the Wisconsin Historical
Society determines that you have not complied with all of the requirements. Visit any Department of Revenue office or contact the
department’s Customer Service Bureau at (608) 266-2486 for information on determining the amount to be repaid.

e Angel investment credit or early stage seed investment credit If an investment for which you claimed the angel investment
credit or early stage seed investment credit in a prior year was held for less than three years, you must repay the amount of the
credit that you received related to the investment. This does not apply if the investment becomes worthless, as determined by
WEDC, during the 3-year period or if you kept the investment for at least 12 months and a bona fide liquidity event, as determined
by WEDC, occurs during the 3-year period.

e Supplement to federal historic rehabilitation credit Were you required to repay to the Internal Revenue Service a portion of
the federal historic rehabilitation credit? If yes and you claimed the same qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the Wisconsin
credit, you must repay to the department a proportionate amount of the Wisconsin credit. Visit any Department of Revenue office
or contact the department’s Customer Service Bureau at (608) 266-2486 for information on determining the amount to be repaid.
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Penalties for Not Filing Returns or Filing Incorrect Returns

If you do not file an income tax return which you are required to file, or if you file an incorrect return due to negligence
or fraud, penalties and interest may be assessed against you. The interest rate on delinquent taxes is 18% per year.
Civil penalties can be as much as 100% of the amount of tax not reported on the return. Criminal penalties for failing
to file or filing a false return include a fine up to $10,000 and imprisonment.

Fraudulent or Reckless Credit Claims

Fraudulent or reckless claims for any refundable credit, including, but not limited to, the earned income credit,
homestead credit, or the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit, are subject to filing limitations. If you
file a “fraudulent claim,” you will not be allowed to take any refundable credit for 10 years. “Fraudulent claim” means
a claim that is false or excessive and filed with fraudulent intent. If you file a “reckless claim,” you will not be allowed
to take any refundable credit for 2 years. “Reckless claim” means a claim that was improper, due to reckless or
intentional disregard of income tax law or department rules and regulations. You may also have to pay penalties.

Internal Revenue Service Adjustments

A
e Did the Internal Revenue Service adjust any of your federal income tax returns? If yes, you may have to notify the

Department of Revenue of such adjustments. You must notify the department if the adjustments affect your Wisconsin
income, any credit, or tax payable.

The department must be notified within 90 days after the adjustments are final. You must submit a copy of the final
federal audit report by either:
(1) Including it with an amended return that reflects the federal adjustments, or

(2) Mailing the copy to: Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Audit Bureau
PO Box 8906
Madison WI 53708-8906

Estimated Tax Payments Required for Next Year
If your 2018 Wisconsin income tax return will show a tax balance due to the department of $500 or more, you must
either:
* Make estimated tax payments for 2018 in installments beginning April 17, 2018, using Wisconsin Form 1-ES, or
* Increase the amount of income tax withheld from your 2018 pay.

For example, you may have a tax balance due with your return if you have income from which Wisconsin tax is not
withheld. If you do not make required installment payments, you may be charged interest.

For more information, contact the department’'s Customer Service Bureau at (608) 266-2486 or visit any Department
of Revenue office.

If you must file Form 1-ES for 2018 and do not receive a form in the mail, go to our website at revenue.wi.gov to obtain
a personalized copy of Form 1-ES or contact any Department of Revenue office.

Armed Forces Personnel

If you were a Wisconsin resident on the date you entered military service, you are considered a Wisconsin resident
during your entire military career unless you take action to change your legal residency.

Homestead Credit

The Wisconsin homestead credit program provides direct relief to homeowners and renters. You may qualify if you
were:
— At least 18 years old on December 31, 2017.
If you were under age 62, and not disabled, you must have earned income to qualify.
— A legal resident of Wisconsin for all of 2017.
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— Not claimed as a dependent on anyone’s 2017 federal tax return (unless you were 62 or older on December 31, 2017).

— Not living in tax-exempt public housing for all of 2017. (Note: Some exceptions apply to this rule and are explained
in the instructions for the homestead credit schedule.)

— Not living in a nursing home and receiving medical assistance (Title XIX) when you file for homestead credit.

— Had total household income, including wages, interest, social security, and income from certain other sources, below
$24,680 in 2017.

If you (or your spouse if married) claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit or farmland preservation
credit, you are not eligible for homestead credit.

For more information about homestead credit, contact our Homestead Unit in Madison at (608) 266-8641 or any
department office. See page 10 for information on obtaining Schedule H or H-EZ, which you must complete to apply
for the credit. Schedules H and H-EZ are also available at many libraries.

Farmland Preservation Credit

The farmland preservation credit program provides an income tax credit to Wisconsin residents who own farmland
in Wisconsin. If you claim homestead credit or the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit, you are not
eligible for farmland preservation credit. For more information about farmland preservation credit, contact our Farmland
Preservation Unitin Madison at (608) 266-2442 or visit any department office. See page 10 for information on obtaining
Schedule FC or FC-A, which you must complete to apply for the credit.

Death of a Taxpayer

A return for a taxpayer who died in 2017 should be filed on the same form which would have been used if he or she
had lived. Include only the taxpayer’s income up to the date of his or her death.

If there is no estate to probate, a surviving heir may file Form 1 for the person who died. If there is an estate, the
personal representative for the estate must file the return. The person filing the Form 1 should sign it and indicate his
or her relationship to the person who died (for example, “surviving heir” or “personal representative”).

Be sure to fill in the surviving heir’s or personal representative’s mailing address in the address area of Form 1. If the
taxpayer did not have to file a return but paid estimated tax or had tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund.

Noze If you filed a return on behalf of a decedent and were issued a refund, but you are not able to cash the refund

check, complete Form 804, Claim for Decedent’s Wisconsin Income Tax Refund. Mail the completed form and refund
check to the address shown on Form 804. Do not mail Form 804 with the original return.

If your spouse died during 2017 and you did not remarry in 2017, you can file a joint return. You can also file a joint
return if your spouse died in 2018 before filing a 2017 return. A joint return should show your spouse’s 2017 income
before death and your income for all of 2017. Write “Filing as surviving spouse” in the area where you sign the return.
If someone else is the personal representative, he or she must also sign.

If the return for the decedent is filed as single, head of household, or married filing separate, fill in “06” in the Special
Conditions box and indicate the date of death on the line provided. If a joint return is being filed, fill in “06” in the box if
it is the primary taxpayer (person listed first on the tax form) who is deceased and the date of death. If it is the spouse
who is deceased, fill in “07” in the box and the date of death. If both spouses are deceased, fill in “08” in the box and
both dates of death.

If your spouse died before 2017 and you have not remarried, you must file as single or, if qualified, as head of house-
hold.For more information about the final income tax return to be filed for a deceased person, visit any Department
of Revenue office or call the department’s Customer Service Bureau at (608) 266-2486.

Requesting Copies of Your Returns

The Department of Revenue will provide copies of your Wisconsin returns for prior years. Persons requesting copies
should complete Form P-521, Request for Copies of Tax Returns or Forms W-2. Include all required information and
fee with Form P-521. Form P-521 is available from the department’s website at revenue.wi.gov.


https://www.revenue.wi.gov
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Tax Help and Additional Forms

You can get tax help, forms, or publications at any of the following Department of Revenue offices:
(Note: Mail completed returns to the address shown on the return.)

Customer assistance: Milwaukee —
phone: (608) 266-2486 State Office Bldg., 819 N. 6th St., Rm. 408
email: DORIncome@wisconsin.gov (zip code 53203-1606)
Forms requests: Appleton —
phone: (608) 266-1961 265 W. Northland Ave.
website: revenue.wi.gov (zip code 54911-2016)
Madison — Eau Claire —
2135 Rimrock Rd. State Office Bldg., 718 W. Clairemont Ave.
Mail Stop 5-77 (zip code 54701-4558)
PO Box 8949
(zip code 53708-8949) Other offices open on a limited schedule
are Green Bay and Wausau.

Internet Address
Our website, revenue.wi.gov, has many resources to help you with your tax needs.
» Complete electronic forms and submit them for free
* Download forms, schedules, instructions, and publications
* View answers to common questions
* Email us comments or request help
* File your return electronically

TTY Equipment — Telephone help is available using TTY equipment. Call the Wisconsin Telecommunications Relay
System at 711.

Publications Available

The following is a list of some of our publications. These publications give detailed information on specific areas of
Wisconsin tax law. You can get these publications from any department office or from our website.

Number and Title

102 Wisconsin Tax Treatment of Tax-Option (S) Corporations and Their Shareholders
103 Reporting Capital Gains and Losses for Wisconsin

106 Wisconsin Tax Information for Retirees

109 Tax Information for Married Persons Filing Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2017
111 How to Get a Private Letter Ruling From the Wisconsin Department of Revenue
113 Federal and Wisconsin Income Tax Reporting Under the Marital Property Act
117 Guide to Wisconsin Wage Statements and Information Returns

120 Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts

121 Reciprocity

122 Tax Information for Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

125 Credit for Tax Paid to Another State

126 How Your Retirement Benefits Are Taxed

127 Wisconsin Homestead Credit Situations and Solutions

401 Extensions of Time to File

405 Wisconsin Taxation Related to Native Americans

503 Wisconsin Farmland Preservation Credit

600 Wisconsin Taxation of Lottery Winnings

601 Wisconsin Taxation of Pari-Mutuel Wager Winnings


https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelp.aspx?subject=dorincome
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov
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Before completing Form 1, first fill in your federal return and its supporting attachments. If you are not required to file a federal
return, list the sources and amounts of your income and deductions on a separate sheet and include it with your Form 1.

Follow these instructions to complete Form 1. Prepare one copy for your records and another to be filed with the department.

N
%% Use black ink to complete the copy of Form 1 that you submit to the department. Do not use pencil or red ink.

® Amended Return If you already filed your original return and this is an amended return, place a check mark where
indicated at the top of Form 1. For more information, see Amending your return on page 7 of these instructions. Be sure
to enclose a copy of Schedule AR with your amended return.

m Period Covered File your 2017 return for calendar year 2017 and fiscal years that begin in 2017. For a fiscal year, a
52-53 week period, or a short-period return, fill in the taxable year beginning and ending dates in the taxable year space
at the top of the form. If your return is for a fiscal year, a 52-53 week period, or a short-period, also fill in “11” in the Special
Conditions box located to the right of the Filing Status section on page 1 of Form 1.

m Name and Address Print or type your legal name and address. Include your apartment number, if any. If you are
married filing a joint return, fill in your spouse’s legal name (even if your spouse did not have any income). If you filed a
joint return for 2016 and you are filing a joint return for 2017 with the same spouse, be sure to enter your names and social
security numbers in the same order as on your 2016 return.

Fill in your PO Box number only if your post office does not deliver mail to your home.

m Social Security Number Fill in your social security number. You must also fill in your spouse’s social security number
if you are married filing a joint return or married filing a separate return (including married filing as head of household).

m Filing Status Check the appropriate space to indicate your filing status. More than one filing status may apply to you.
If it does, choose the one that will give you the lowest tax.

—> If you became divorced during 2017 or are married and will file a separate return (including a married person filing
as head of household), you should get Publication 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing Separate Returns and
Persons Divorced in 2017, for information on what income you must report.

Single You may check “single” if any of the following was true on December 31, 2017:

* You were never married.

* You were legally separated under a final decree of divorce or separate maintenance.

* You were widowed before January 1, 2017, and did not remarry in 2017.

Married filing joint return Most married couples will pay less tax if they file a joint return. You may check “married filing
joint return” if any of the following is true:

* You were married as of December 31, 2017.

* Your spouse died in 2017 and you did not remarry in 2017.

* You were married at the end of 2017, and your spouse died in 2018 before filing a 2017 return.

A married couple may file a joint return even if only one had income or if they did not live together all year. However, both

spouses must sign the return. If you file a joint return, you may not, after the due date for filing that return, amend it to file
as married filing separately. A joint return cannot be filed if you and your spouse have different tax years.

If you file a joint return, both you and your spouse are responsible for any tax due on the return. This means that if one
spouse does not pay the tax due, the other may have to.

Married filing separate return If you file separate returns, you will usually pay more state tax than if you file a joint return.
Your tax may be higher on separate returns because:
* You cannot take the married couple credit.

* If you lived with your spouse at any time in 2017, a greater amount of any unemployment compensation that you received
may be taxable.

* You will not qualify for the disability income exclusion.
* You will not qualify for the earned income credit.
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Head of household If you qualify to file your federal return as head of household, you may also file as head of household
for Wisconsin. Unmarried individuals who paid over half the cost of keeping up a home for a qualifying person (such as a
child) can use this filing status. Certain married persons who lived apart from their spouse for the last 6 months of 2017 who
paid over half the cost of keeping up a home that was the main home of their child, stepchild, or foster child for more than
half of 2017 may be able to use this status.

Ao
‘e If you are married and qualify to file as head of household, be sure to check both “head of household” filing status and

“‘married” on the same line next to the arrow. Also fill in your spouse’s name and social security number in the spaces
provided.

If you do not have to file a federal return, contact any Department of Revenue office to see if you qualify. If you file your
federal return as a qualifying widow(er), you may file your Wisconsin return as head of household.

m Tax District Check either city, village, or town and fill in the name of the Wisconsin city, village, or town in which you
lived on December 31, 2017. Also fill in the name of the county in which you lived.

m School District Number See the list of school district numbers on page 57. Fill in the number of the school district in
which you lived on December 31, 2017.
4/%’
m Special Conditions Below is a list of the special condition codes that you may need to enter in the special conditions
box on Form 1. Be sure to read the instruction on the page listed for each code before using it. Using the wrong code or not
using a code when appropriate could result in an incorrect tax computation or a delay in processing your return.

cgie Extension — Operation Freedom’s Sentinel (page 5) c(‘,’%e Spouse deceased if joint return (page 9)
Code . Code

02 | Extension — Combat zone (page 5) 08 | Both taxpayers deceased (page 9)

Code ) . Code| _. .

03 | Extension — Federally declared disaster (page 5) 11 | Fiscal filer (page 11)

Cod Cod

6’4e Divorce decree (page 6) 1°(;e Schedule RT attached (page 26)

cﬁ? Injured spouse (page 6) %’3‘* Multiple special conditions

CSE';‘* Single decedent or primary taxpayer if joint return (page 9)

If more than one special condition applies, only fill in “99” in the Special Conditions box and list the separate code numbers
on the line next to the box, in addition to any other information required on the line.

m Rounding Off to Whole Dollars The form has preprinted zeros in the place used to enter cents. All amounts filled in
the form should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Drop amounts under 50¢ and increase amounts from 50¢ to 99¢ to the
next whole dollar. For example, $129.39 becomes $129 and $236.50 becomes $237.

Round off all amounts. But if you have to add two or more amounts to figure the amount to fill in on a line, include cents
when adding and only round off the total. If completing the form by hand, DO NOT USE COMMAS when filling in amounts.

Line 1 Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Fill in your federal adjusted gross income from:
* line 37 of your federal Form 1040,
* line 21 of your federal Form 1040A, or
* line 4 of your federal Form 1040EZ.

Exception

The federal adjusted gross income that you fill in on line 1 may not be the same as the amount reported as adjusted gross
income on your federal Form 1040. Differences may occur because Wisconsin uses the provisions of federal law amended
to December 31, 2016, with certain exceptions. Laws enacted after December 31, 2016, may not be used for Wisconsin
unless adopted by the Legislature.
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Line 1 Federal Adjusted Gross Income — continued
A comprehensive list of provisions of federal law that may not be used for Wisconsin for 2017 can be found in the instructions
for Wisconsin Schedule I. Following is a partial list of the items that may affect the largest number of taxpayers.

» Bonus depreciation « Domestic production activities deduction

If any provision of federal law which does not apply for Wisconsin purposes affects your federal adjusted gross income,
you must complete Wisconsin Schedule | and enclose it with your Form 1. The amount you fill in on line 1 of Form 1 (and
amounts filled in on Schedule 1 on page 4 of Form 1) should be the revised amount determined on Schedule |, line 5 (or
in Part Il of Schedule 1.)

If Schedule | adjustments in a year prior to 2016 (other than for depreciation, amortization, or sec. 179 expense) affect
income or expense items in 2017, you must also make adjustments on Schedule | for 2017. If an adjustment was made to
depreciation, amortization, or sec. 179 expense on your 2016 Schedule |, you must also make an adjustment on Schedule |
for 2017. For example, you had to make an adjustment on Schedule | because Wisconsin did not allow bonus depreciation.
You must continue to make an adjustment on Schedule | each year until the depreciable asset is fully depreciated or you
sell or otherwise dispose of the asset.

You may also be required to complete Schedule | if you sold assets during 2017, and the gain or loss from the sale is different
for Wisconsin and federal purposes due to Schedule | adjustments made in a prior year. (Note: The basis of a depreciated
or amortized asset owned on December 31, 2013, or on the last day of your tax year beginning in 2013, is the same for
federal and Wisconsin purposes and no further Schedule | adjustment is required.) See the instructions for Difference in
Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Depreciated and Amortized Assets on page 27 for more information.

Line 2 State and Municipal Interest

Fill in the amount of interest you received from state and municipal bonds. This will generally be the amount shown as tax-
exempt interest on line 8b of your federal Form 1040 or 1040A or the amount identified as tax-exempt interest in the space
to the left of line 2 of Form 1040EZ. (If you were required for federal purposes to allocate expenses to this income, reduce
the amount to be filled in by such expenses.)

Exception If you received interest income which is exempt for state and federal tax purposes, do not include this interest
income on line 2. Interest income which is exempt for federal and Wisconsin tax purposes includes interest from:

(1) public housing authority or community development authority bonds issued by municipalities located in Wisconsin,
(2) Wisconsin Housing Finance Authority bonds,

(3) Wisconsin municipal redevelopment authority bonds,

(4)

4) Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority bonds issued on or after December 11, 2003, to fund
multifamily affordable housing or elderly housing projects,

(5) Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority bonds issued before January 29, 1987, except business
development revenue bonds, economic development revenue bonds, and CHAP housing revenue bonds,

(6) public housing agency bonds issued before January 29, 1987, by agencies located outside Wisconsin where the interest
therefrom qualifies for exemption from federal taxation for a reason other than or in addition to section 103 of the IRC,

(7) local exposition district bonds,
(8) Wisconsin professional baseball park district bonds,

(9) bonds issued by the Government of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands, or the Northern Mariana Islands, or, for
bonds issued after October 16, 2004, the Government of American Samoa,

(10
(1
(12
(13

local cultural arts district bonds,
Wisconsin professional football stadium bonds,

Wisconsin Aerospace Authority bonds,

—_— ~— ~ =

bonds issued on or after October 27, 2007, by the Wisconsin Health and Education Facilities Authority to fund acquisition
of information technology hardware or software,

(14) certain conduit revenue bonds issued by a commission created under sec. 66.0304, Wis. Stats. A listing of the conduit
revenue bonds issued and the tax-exempt status is available on the department’s website at: revenue.wi.gov/Pages/
FAQS/pcs-conduit.aspx,



https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/pcs-conduit.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/pcs-conduit.aspx
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Line 2 State and Municipal Interest — continued

(15) Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority bonds or notes if the bonds or notes are issued to provide
loans to a public affairs network under sec. 234.75, Wis. Stats.,

(16) The Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority if the bonds or notes are issued for the benefit of a person
who is eligible to receive the proceeds of bonds or notes from another entity for the same purpose for which the bonds
or notes are issued under sec. 231.03(6), Wis. Stats., and the interest income received from the other bonds or notes
is exempt from Wisconsin taxation, and

(17) a sponsoring municipality borrowing to assist a local exposition district created under subch. Il of ch. 229.

Interest from these sources is exempt from Wisconsin income tax whether received by a direct owner of these securities
or by a shareholder in a mutual fund which invests in these securities.

Line 3 Capital Gain / Loss Addition

If your federal adjusted gross income includes capital gains and/or losses (see line 13, Form 1040), you must complete
Schedule WD.

Schedule WD determines whether any capital gain/loss addition must be reported on line 3. For example, after completing
Schedule WD, you may be required to include an amount as an addition to income on line 3 because Wisconsin law limits
the deduction for a net capital loss to $500.

—> If the only amount reported on line 13 of Form 1040 (line 10 of Form 1040A) is a capital gain distribution from a mutual
fund or real estate investment trust and you have no Wisconsin capital loss carryover, do not complete line 3. See line 10
instructions.

Line 4 Other Additions

Ote Fill in the code number and amount of any of the additions described below that apply to you. The code number is printed
to the left of the various additions. For example, if you are making an addition for a federal net operating loss carryover,
you would fill in the number 02 in the code number space , and fill in the amount of your federal net operating loss
carryover on the line next to the code number space. Also, fill in the total of all your additions on line 4.

Line 4 of Form 1 has space to fill in five additions to income. If you have more than five additions, fill in the code numbers and
amounts for four of the additions. List the code numbers and amounts of all remaining additions on a separate schedule. In
the fifth entry space by line 4, fill in code number 99 and the total amount of the remaining additions. Enclose the schedule
listing the remaining additions with your Form 1.

—> See Additions To or Subtractions From Income on page 28 for information on other items which may have to be
included on line 4.

code| Distributions from Edvest and Tomorrow’s Scholar College Savings Account If you received a distribution

01} from an Edvest or Tomorrow’s Scholar college savings account and the entire distribution was not used for qualified
higher education expenses, you may have to include all or a portion of the distribution in income. If you rolled over
an amount from an Edvest or Tomorrow’s Scholar college savings plan into another state’s plan, you may also have
to include all or a portion of the amount rolled over in Wisconsin income.

If you received a distribution within 365 days of contributing an amount to an account, you may have to include the
amount previously subtracted inincome. Complete Schedule CS to determine the amount you must include in income.
Enclose Schedule CS with Form 1.

code| Federal Net Operating Loss Carryover Fill in any amount deducted as a federal net operating loss carryover.
02 (See the instructions for line 11, Code 10, for information about the Wisconsin net operating loss carryforward.)

Code| Income (Lump-Sum Distributions) Reported on Federal Form 4972 Income from a lump-sum distribution is taxable

03] to Wisconsin. If you reported a lump-sum distribution on federal Form 4972, you must also include the distribution in
Wisconsin income. Fill in the total of (1) the capital gain part of the lump-sum distribution from line 6 of Form 4972 and
(2) the taxable amount from line 10 of Form 4972. You may reduce this amount by any federal estate tax on line 18
of Form 4972.

—> No portion of a lump-sum distribution may be reported as a capital gain on Wisconsin Schedule WD.
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Line 4 Other Additions — continued

Code
04

Code
05

Code
06

Code
07

Farmland Preservation Credit The total amount of farmland preservation credit from Schedule FC that you received
during 2017 must be reported as income. Fill in as an addition any portion of your farmland preservation credit which
was not included as income on your federal tax return.

Excess Distribution From a Passive Foreign Investment Company Fill in the excess distribution from a passive
foreign investment company that was not included in federal adjusted gross income (see federal Form 8621 or 8621-A).

Expenses Paid to Related Entities Fill in the amount deducted or excluded from your federal income for interest,
rental expenses, intangible expenses, and management fees paid, accrued, or incurred to a related entity (person or
business entity). You must make this addition even though you may be eligible for a deduction for these expenses. If you
are eligible for a deduction, you may then make a subtraction for the amount that qualifies (see Code 21 on page 26).

Amounts Not Deductible for Wisconsin Fill in any amount deducted in computing your federal adjusted gross
income that is not allowed as a deduction for Wisconsin. Enclose an explanation of the additions you are including
using Code 07.

Example You deducted a passive activity loss on your federal return for losses incurred when you were a resident of
another state. The passive activity losses were not allocable to Wisconsin. The passive activity losses are not deductible
for Wisconsin and must be included on line 4.

08 — 19 Addition for Computed Credits If you claimed any of the credits listed below, you must include on line 4 the

/Vote

Code
08

Code
09

Code
10

Code
11

Code
12

Code
13

Code
14

Code
20

amount of your credit computed for 2017. The amount of your credit is income and must be reported on Form 1. This
is true even if you cannot take the full credit this year and must carry part of it forward or if the credit is refundable.
(Note: Do not include on line 4 any credits passed through to you from a partnership, limited liability company, or
tax-option corporation. These will be accounted for when you make the adjustments described in Codes 51 and 52
on pages 28 and 29.)

List each credit and the appropriate code number separately on line 4. Include the following credits computed for 2017:

Development Zone Credit °1°§e Community Rehabilitation Program Credit

Technology Zone Credit c;ge Research Credit

Enterprise Zone Jobs Credit c;g,e Manufacturing and Agriculture Credit (Exception
The amount of manufacturing and/or agriculture credit

Manufacturing Investment Credit computed for 2076 must be added to income on your
2017 Wisconsin income tax return. This is the amount

Economic Development Tax Credit from line 16 of your 20716 Schedule MA-A or MA-M.)

Jobs Tax Credit °1°§e Business Development Credit

Capital Investment Credit °1°Se Electronics and Information Technology Manufacturing
Zone Credit

Difference in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Depreciated or Amortized Assets Starting with the first taxable
year beginning in 2014, adjustments are to be made over a 5-year period for the difference between the Wisconsin
adjusted basis and the federal adjusted basis of assets owned on the last day of the taxable year beginning in 2013.
The assets must have been depreciated or amortized for both Wisconsin and federal tax purposes. As a result of these
adjustments, the Wisconsin adjusted basis and the federal adjusted basis of these assets is deemed to be equal on
the first day of the taxable year beginning in 2014.

If you determined for 2014 that the combined federal adjusted basis of all depreciated and amortized assets was greater
than the combined Wisconsin adjusted basis of the assets, you were required to add 20 percent of the difference to
2014, 2015, and 2016 Wisconsin income. The 20 percent added to Wisconsin income for 2014, 2015, and 2016 must
also be added to income for 2017 (and for tax year 2018).

If the total federal adjusted basis of the assets was less than the total Wisconsin adjusted basis, see the instructions
for line 11, Code 31, Difference in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Depreciated or Amortized Assets, for the subtraction
to be claimed to adjust for this difference.
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Line 4 Other Additions — continued

c2°9|e ABLE Accounts The owner (beneficiary) of a qualified ABLE account must include in income any amount withdrawn

from a qualified ABLE account for any reason other than the payment of qualified disability expenses for the account
beneficiary. Also, upon termination of an account, an addition to income is provided for any amount in the account
that is returned to an account owner’s estate.

Line 6 State Income Tax Refund

Refunds of state and local income taxes are not taxable for Wisconsin. Fill in the amount of taxable refunds, credits, or
offsets of state and local income taxes from federal Form 1040, line 10.

Line 7 United States Government Interest

Fill in the amount of interest on U.S. bonds and interest and dividends of certain U.S. government corporations that is in-
cluded on line 1 of Form 1. This income is not taxable.

A mutual fund may invest in U.S. government securities. If it does, a portion or all of its ordinary dividend may not be
taxable by Wisconsin. If a mutual fund advised you that all or a portion of its ordinary dividend is from investments in U.S.
government securities, include that portion on line 7.

CAUTION Do notfillin online 7, interest from Ginnie Mae (Government National Mortgage Association) securities and other
similar securities which are “guaranteed” by the United States government. You must include interest from these securities
in your Wisconsin taxable income.

Line 8 Unemployment Compensation

You may have a different amount of unemployment compensation taxable for Wisconsin and federal purposes. Complete
the worksheet below to see if you can subtract any portion of the unemployment compensation which you included as
income on your federal tax return.

Unemployment Compensation Worksheet
Check only one box.
D A. Married filing a joint return — write $18,000 on line 3 below.
D B. Married not filing a joint return and lived with your spouse at any time during the year — write -0- on line 3 below.
D C. Married not filing a joint return and DID NOT live with your spouse at any time during the year — write $12,000 on line 3 below.
|| D. Single — write $12,000 on line 3 below.

1. Fill in unemployment compensation from line 19 of federal Form 1040

(line 13 of Form 1040A or line 3 of Form 1040EZ) . . . . . .. .. .. 1.
2. Fill in your federal adjusted gross income fromline 1 of Form 1 .......... ... . ... . ......... 2.
3. Fillin -

« $18,000 if you checked box A; or
* -0- if you checked box B; or

* $12,000 if youchecked box CorD ........ ... .. ... i 3.
4. Fill in taxable social security benefits, if any, from line 20b of federal Form 1040

(line 14b of Form 1040A) . . . .. . 4.
5. Fill in taxable refunds, credits, or offsets, if any, from line 10 of federal Form 1040 5.
6. Add liNes 3, 4, and 5 . .. .. .. e 6.
7. Subtract line 6 from line 2. If zero or less, fill in -0- here and on line 9 of this

worksheet and do not complete line 8. Otherwise, goontoline8................. ... ....... 7.
8. Fillin one-half of the amounton line 7 . . .. ... .. . .. . . . . . . . . e 8.
9. Fillin the smalleramountofline 1orline 8. ... ... ... .. . . . . . . . .. 9.

10. Subtract line 9 from line 1. Fill in this amount on line 8 of Form 1 as your
subtraction for unemployment compensation. If lines 1 and 9 are equal, fillin-0- . ... ......... 10.
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Line 9 Social Security Adjustment

Social security benefits are not taxable for Wisconsin. You may subtract any social security benefits that were taxable on
your federal Form 1040 or 1040A. Fill in on line 9 the amount from line 20b of federal Form 1040 or line 14b of Form 1040A.

Line 10 Capital Gain / Loss Subtraction

If your federal adjusted gross income includes capital gains and/or losses (see line 13, Form 1040 or line 10, Form 1040A),
you must complete Schedule WD. You must also complete Schedule WD if your federal adjusted gross income does not
include capital gains and/or losses, but you have a capital loss carryover for Wisconsin tax purposes.

Schedule WD determines whether any capital gain/loss subtraction must be reported on line 10. For example, after completing
Schedule WD, you may be able to include an amount as a subtraction on line 10 because you qualify for the 30% long-term
capital gain exclusion (60% in the case of farm assets).

All amounts must be filled in on line 10 as positive numbers.

EXCEPTION If the only amount reported as a capital gain on line 13 of your federal Form 1040 or line 10 of Form 1040Ais a
capital gain distribution from a mutual fund or real estate investment trust and you have no Wisconsin capital loss carryover,
you may claim a long-term capital gain exclusion on line 10. Fill in 30% of the amount of the capital gain distribution on
line 10. Do not complete Wisconsin Schedule WD.

Line 11 Other Subtractions

Ote Fill in the code number and amount of any of the subtractions described below that apply to you. The code number is
printed to the left of the various subtractions. For example, if you are claiming a subtraction for tuition expenses, you would
fill in the number 03 in the code number space , and fill in the amount of your subtraction for tuition expenses on
the line next to the code number space. Also, fill in the total of all your subtractions on line 11.

Line 11 of Form 1 has space to fill in five subtractions from income. If you have more than five subtractions, fill in the code
numbers and amounts for four of the subtractions. List the code numbers and amounts of all remaining subtractions on a
separate schedule. In the fifth entry space by line 11, fillin code number 99 and the total amount of the remaining subtractions.
Enclose the schedule listing the remaining subtractions with your Form 1.

—> See Additions To or Subtractions From Income on page 28 for information on other items which may have to be
included on line 11.

Code
01| Medical Care Insurance You may be able to subtract all or a portion of the cost of your medical care insurance.

“Medical care insurance” means a medical care insurance policy that covers you, your spouse, and dependents and
provides surgical, medical, hospital, major medical, or other health service coverage (including dental insurance). If
you are receiving social security benefits, the amount paid for medical care insurance includes the amount deducted
from your monthly benefit for Medicare insurance (for example, Parts B and D). It does not include premiums for:

* Long-term care insurance,

« Life insurance policies,

 Policies providing payment for loss of earnings,
 Policies for loss of life, limb, sight, etc.,

» Policies that pay you a guaranteed amount each week for a stated number of weeks if you are hospitalized for
sickness or injury,

» The part of your car insurance premiums that provides medical insurance coverage for all persons injured in or by
your car, or

» Medical care insurance if you elected to pay these premiums with tax-free distributions from a retirement plan. In
4’%» this case, the premiums would have been paid directly to the insurance provider by the retirement plan.

CAUTION Do not include insurance premiums paid by an employer, including amounts paid by you through payroll
deductions, unless the premiums are included as wages in box 1 of your Form W-2. Premiums that are deducted pre-
tax are not included in box 1 of your Form W-2 and are not eligible for the subtraction.
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Medical Care Insurance — continued

/V°I‘e

N°I‘e

The amount of employer-provided medical insurance that is identified on your W-2 in Box 12 with Code DD cannot be
included in the subtraction for medical care insurance.

If you participate in your employer’s fringe benefit cafeteria plan and agree to a voluntary salary reduction in return
for a medical care insurance benefit, you may not consider the amount of your salary reduction an amount you paid
for medical care insurance. You cannot subtract premiums paid with money that has not been included in your gross
income. Such programs may be known as, for example, flexible spending accounts, employee reimbursementaccounts,
etc. Some employers may identify these amounts on your pay stubs as Internal Revenue Code sec. 125 or as a pre-tax
deduction.

When completing line 1 of Worksheet 1 or 2, if you purchased the insurance through an Exchange (Marketplace),
the amount you paid is the amount paid after your premium was reduced for any advance payment of the premium
assistance credit.

If you are self-employed, complete Worksheet 1. (Note: If you are self-employed and deducted 100% of your
medical care insurance cost on line 29 of your federal Form 1040 as a self-employed health insurance deduction, do
not complete Worksheet 1 or 2. No additional deduction is allowed.)

W N -

SN

~N O O

© 0o

** Net earnings from a trade or business means income from self-employment, including ordinary income from a trade or

Medical Care Insurance — Worksheet 1 — Self-Employed Persons

Amount you paid for medical care insurance in 2017 while you were self-employed. ... .......... 1.

Self-employed health insurance deduction from line 29 of federal Form 1040* 2.

Amount of medical care insurance deducted on federal Schedule C or F for

YOUr €MPIOYEE SPOUSE . . o o v ittt et e e e e et e e e e 3.

Amount of premium tax credit allowed on your 2017 federal return

(line 69 of Form 1040 or line 45 of Form 1040A) . ......... . ... ... .. .... 4.

Add lines 2, 3, and 4 . .. . ... 5.
Subtractline 5 from line 1. . . . ... 6.
Amount of advance premium tax credit you were required to repay

(line 46 of Form 1040 or line 29 of Form 1040A) . . . . . .ot 7.
Add lines 6 and 7 . .. .. .. 8.
Net earnings from a trade or business™™* . . ... ... ... 9.

Fill in the smaller of line 8 or 9 here and on line 11 of Form 1. This is your
subtraction for medical care insurance. . . ... .. .. 10.

Do not include any amounts deducted for long-term care insurance.

business as reported on Form 4797, line 18b, and less the deductible part of self-employment tax. The total earnings from
a trade or business of both spouses are included. Do not include losses from a trade or business. If the net earnings are
zero or less, fill in 0 (zero).

Complete Worksheet 2 if you are (1) an employee or (2) a person who had no employer and were not self-employed.

1.
2.

Amount you paid in 2017 for medical care insurance. . . ........... .. .. ... 1.

Amount of premium tax credit allowed on your 2017 federal return

(line 69 of Form 1040 or line 45 of Form 1040A) . . . . .ot 2.

Subtractline 2 from line 1 . . .. ... 3.
. Amount of advance premium tax credit you were required to repay

(line 46 of Form 1040 or line 29 of Form 1040A) . . . . ..ot 4.

Addline 3and liNne 4 .. .. 5.

. Fill in the amount from line 5 of Form 1 less the amounts on lines 6 - 10 and less all amounts

Medical Care Insurance — Worksheet 2 — Others

that will be included on line 11 without considering the subtraction for medical care insurance.
If zeroorless, fill iN 0 (ZEro) . . . . ..o 6.

Fill in the smaller of line 5 or 6. This is your subtraction for medical care insurance . ............. 7.
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Code
02| Long-Term Care Insurance |[f you paid long-term care insurance costs during 2017, you may be able to subtract all
or a portion of the cost of a long-term care insurance policy which covers you or your spouse.
“Long-term care insurance policy” means a disability insurance policy or certificate advertised, marketed, offered, or
designed primarily to provide coverage for care that is provided in your home or in an institutional or community-based
setting. The care must be convalescent or custodial care or care for a chronic condition or terminal iliness.
“Long-term care insurance policy” does not include a medicare supplement policy or medicare replacement policy
or a continuing care contract. “Continuing care contract” means a contract which provides nursing services, medical
services, or personal care services, in addition to food, shelter, and laundry services, for the duration of a person’s
life or for a term in excess of one year, conditioned upon any of the following payments:
» An entrance fee in excess of $10,000.
« Providing for the transfer of at least $10,000 (if the amount is expressed in dollars) or 50% of the person’s estate
(if the amount is expressed as a percentage of the person’s estate) to the service provider upon the person’s death.
Do not include premiums for long-term care insurance if you elected to pay those premiums with tax-free distributions
from a retirement plan. In this case, the premiums would have been made directly to the insurance provider by the
retirement plan.
If you paid long-term care insurance costs during 2017 for a policy which covers you or your spouse, complete the
worksheet below to determine your subtraction.
Worksheet — Long-Term Care Insurance
1. Amount you paid for long-term care insurance in 2017 . . ... . .. .. 1.
2. Portion of long-term care insurance cost included as a self-employed
health insurance deduction on line 29 of federal Form 1040 . .............. 2.
3. Portion of long-term care insurance cost deducted on federal
Schedule C or F for your employee spouse . . .. ... .. 3.
4., Add liNnes 2 and 3 . . ... 4.
5. Subtractline 4 from line 1 . .. ... 5.
6. Fill in the amount from line 5 of Form 1 less the amounts on lines 6 - 10 and less all amounts
that will be included on line 11 without considering the subtraction for long-term care insurance.
If zeroorless, fill iN 0 (ZEro) . . . . ..o 6.
7. Fill in the smaller of line 5 or 6. This is your subtraction for long-term care insurance ............ 7.
Code
03 | Tuition and Fee Expenses You may be able to claim a subtraction for up to $6,958 (per student) of the amount

you paid during 2017 for tuition and mandatory student fees for you, your spouse (if married filing a joint return), and
children whom you claim as dependents on your federal income tax return.

CAUTION If you claimed a tuition and fees deduction on your federal return, be sure you have completed Wisconsin
Schedule I. This amountis not allowed for Wisconsin purposes and must be added to your federal adjusted gross income.

The tuition and mandatory student fees must have been paid during 2017 to attend any of the following:

» Classes in Wisconsin at a school which qualifies as a university, college, or technical college. A “university, college,
or technical college” is any school which has a curriculum leading to a diploma, degree, or occupational or vocational
objective.

» Classes in Wisconsin at other post-secondary (post-high school) schools that have been approved by the Wisconsin
Educational Approval Board or the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

» Classes in Minnesota at a public vocational school or public institution of higher education in Minnesota under the
Minnesota—Wisconsin tuition reciprocity agreement.

» Classesoutside Wisconsin provided the tuitionis paid to a university, college, or technical college located in Wisconsin.
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Line 11 Other Subtractions — continued

Tuition and Fee Expenses — continued

The subtraction does not apply to tuition or fees paid to pre-schools, elementary, or secondary schools.

Tuition and mandatory student fees paid to a school which fits into one of the four categories listed on page 19 may
be subtracted regardless of the type of course taken. For example, tuition paid for craft or recreational courses at a
technical college qualifies for the subtraction.

Tuition and mandatory student fees paid to a school which does not fit into any of the four categories may not be
claimed as a subtraction. For example, the subtraction does not apply to a fee paid to a retail craft store to attend a
session on flower arranging.

Tuition and mandatory student fees paid for correspondence courses or courses received via the Internet or other
electronic transmission qualifies for the subtraction as long as the courses are taken in Wisconsin and are presented
by a school (located in or outside Wisconsin) which qualifies as a university, college, or technical college, or a school
approved by the Wisconsin Educational Approval Board or the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

CAUTION The subtraction only applies to tuition and mandatory student fees. Amounts paid as separate charges for
other items such as room and board, athletic tickets, or other costs may not be subtracted.

You cannot claim a subtraction for tuition and fees paid with certain tax-free funds. For example, you cannot claim a
subtraction for tuition paid with tax-free scholarships or Pell grants or for amounts paid or reimbursed to you by your
employer. You can subtract tuition and fees paid from loans, gifts, inheritances, and personal savings.

You cannot claim the subtraction if the source of the payment is an amount withdrawn from a Wisconsin state-sponsored
college savings program or college tuition and expenses program (for example, Edvest or Tomorrow’s Scholar). This
limitation applies only if the owner of the account or other person who contributed to the account previously claimed
a subtraction for contributions to these programs.

The subtraction is limited if your federal adjusted gross income exceeds certain amounts. Your federal adjusted gross
income is the amount on line 1 of Form 1.

Determine your tuition and mandatory student fees subtraction as follows:

Single or Head of Household

* Ifline 1 of Form 1is $53,160 or less, you may subtract the amount paid for tuition and mandatory student fees during
2017, but not more than $6,958 per student.* Fill in the amount of your subtraction on line 11.

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is more than $53,160 but less than $63,790, use the worksheet on page 21 to figure the amount
of your subtraction.

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is $63,790 or more, you may not subtract any amount for tuition and fee expenses.

Married Filing Joint Return

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is $85,050 or less, you may subtract the amount paid for tuition and mandatory student fees during
2017, but not more than $6,958 per student.* Fill in the amount of your subtraction on line 11.

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is more than $85,050 but less than $106,310, use the worksheet on page 21 to figure the amount
of your subtraction.

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is $106,310 or more, you may not subtract any amount for tuition and fee expenses.

Married Filing Separate Return

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is $42,530 or less, you may subtract the amount paid for tuition and mandatory student fees during
2017, but not more than $6,958 per student.* Fill in the amount of your subtraction on line 11.

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is more than $42,530 but less than $53,160, use the worksheet on page 21 to figure the amount
of your subtraction.

* Ifline 1 of Form 1 is $53,160 or more, you may not subtract any amount for tuition and fee expenses.
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Line 11 Other Subtractions — continued

Tuition and Fee Expenses — continued

w

4
5.
6

7.

1. Amount paid for tuition and mandatory student fees in 2017. Do not fill in more than $6,958 per student 1.

Fill in the amount from line 1Tof Form1 ...... ... .. ... ... . .. ... ..... 2.
Fill in $53,160 ($85,050 if married filing joint return or
$42,530 if married filing separatereturn) . . .. ........ ... .. L. 3.
. Subtractline 3 fromline2 . ... ... ... . . . . e 4.
Divide the amount on line 4 by 10,630 (21,260 if married filing joint return). Fill in decimal amount . . 5.
. Multiply line 1 by the decimal amountonline5 . ... ... ... . . . . . . 6.
Subtract line 6 from line 1. This is your subtraction for tuition and fee expense® . ............... 7.

* Your subtraction cannot be more than the amount on line 5 of Form 1 less the amounts on lines 6 - 10 and less all amounts
that will be included on line 11 without considering the subtraction for tuition expense.

Tuition Expense Worksheet
CAUTION Only certain taxpayers are required to complete this worksheet. See the instructions for your filing status.

Code
04 | Military and Uniformed Services Retirement Benefits You may subtract retirement payments received from:
(1) The U.S. military retirement system (including payments from the Retired Serviceman’s Family Protection Plan or the
Survivor Benefit Plan). These retirement benefits are paid from the Defense Finance and Accounting Service.
(2) The U.S. government that relate to service with the Coast Guard, the commissioned corps of the National Oceanic
and Atmospheric Administration, or the commissioned corps of the Public Health Service.
Your subtraction cannot be more than the amount of such retirement payments that you included in your federal income.
Code
05| Local and State Retirement Benefits You may subtract any payments received from the retirement systems listed

below provided:
(1) You were retired from the system before January 1, 1964, or

(2) You were a member of the system as of December 31, 1963, retiring at a later date and payments you receive are
from an account established before 1964, or

(3) You are receiving payments from the system as the beneficiary of an individual who met either condition 1 or 2.
Your subtraction cannot be more than the amount of such payments that you included in your federal income.
The specific retirement systems are:

Milwaukee City Employees, Milwaukee City Police Officers, Milwaukee Fire Fighters, Milwaukee Public School
Teachers, Milwaukee County Employees, Milwaukee Sheriff, and Wisconsin State Teachers retirement systems.

—> Do not subtract any of the following:

» Payments received as a result of voluntary tax-sheltered annuity deposits in any of the retirement systems listed
above.

» Payments received from one of the retirement systems listed above if you first became a member after December 31,
1963. This applies even though pre-1964 military service may have been counted as creditable service in computing
your retirement benefit.

CAUTION Your retirement benefits may be subtracted only if they are based on qualified membership in one of the
retirement systems listed above. Qualified membership is membership that began before January 1964 as explained
above. Any portion of your retirement benefit that is based on membership in other retirement systems (or based on
employment that began after December 31, 1963) is taxable and may not be subtracted.

Example 1 You were a member of the Wisconsin State Teachers Retirement System as of December 31, 1963. You
left teaching after 1963 and withdrew the allowable amount from your retirement account. This closed the account.
You later returned to teaching. A new retirement account was then established for you. Retirement benefits from this
new account (established after 1963) do not qualify for the exemption.
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Local and State Retirement Benefits — continued

Example 2 You were employed as a teacher from 1960-65. During that time you were a member of the Wisconsin
State Teachers Retirement System. From 1966 until retirement, you were employed by a state agency (not as a
teacher). You were then a member of the Wisconsin Retirement System. You receive an annuity from the Department
of Employee Trust Funds. The annuity is based on employment in both retirement systems. Only the portion of the
annuity that is due to the Wisconsin State Teachers Retirement System may be subtracted. You may use the following
formula to figure the exempt amount that may be subtracted:

Years of creditable service in an exempt plan X Annuity included _  Portion of annuity which
Total years of creditable service in federal income may be subtracted

—> You may have received separate Forms 1099-R for the taxable and exempt portions of your annuity. In this case,
you may use the Form 1099-R information instead of the above formula.

Code
06

Federal Retirement Benefits You may subtract payments received from a federal retirement system provided:
(1) You were retired from the system before January 1, 1964, or

(2) You were a member of the system as of December 31, 1963, retiring at a later date and payments you receive are
from an account established before 1964, or

(3) You are receiving payments from the system as the beneficiary of an individual who met either condition 1 or 2.

See “05 Local and State Retirement Benefits” on page 21 for further information. The limitations and examples that
apply to local and state retirement benefits also apply to federal retirement benefits.

A “federal retirement system” is a United States government civilian employee retirement system. Examples of such
retirement systems include the Civil Service Retirement System and the Federal Employees’ Retirement System.
These retirement benefits are paid from the U.S. Office of Personnel Management. Payments from the federal Thrift
Savings Plan do not qualify for the subtraction.

Code
07

Railroad Retirement Benefits, Railroad Unemployment Insurance, and Sickness Benefits Wisconsin does not
tax amounts received from the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board. You may subtract railroad retirement benefits included
on line 16b of your federal Form 1040 (line 12b of Form 1040A).

Code
08

Adoption Expenses Effective for taxable years beginning in 2017, if you adopted a child for whom a final order of adop-
tion was entered by a court in any state, or upon registration of a foreign adoption, during 2017, you may subtract up to
$5,000 of the amount you paid for adoption fees, court costs, and legal fees relating to the adoption. You may include
amounts paid during 2015, 2016, and 2017. Don’t count amounts reimbursed under any adoption assistance program. If
you adopt more than one child during the year, you may deduct up to $5,000 of adoption expenses for each child.

Code
09

Recoveries of Federal Itemized Deductions Fill in any amount included as income on your federal tax return that
is a recovery of a federal itemized deduction from a prior year for which you did not receive a Wisconsin tax benefit.

Example You claimed an itemized deduction on your 2016 federal tax return for a casualty loss of $2,000. You
could not claim the casualty loss for the itemized deduction credit on your 2016 Wisconsin income tax return. During
2017 you received a reimbursement of $1,000 from your insurance company for part of the casualty loss. The $1,000
reimbursement is included on your 2017 federal tax return as a recovery of an amount previously claimed as an
itemized deduction. Because you did not claim the casualty loss for the itemized deduction credit for Wisconsin for
2016, the $1,000 is not taxable to Wisconsin for 2017. Fill in the $1,000 recovery on line 11.

Code
10

/Vo,@

Wisconsin Net Operating Loss Carryforward If you had a net operating loss (NOL) in an earlier year to carry
forward to 2017, include the allowable amount on line 11. Enclose a statement showing how you figured the amount.
Get Publication 120, Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, for more details on computing the NOL
and the allowable deduction. See page 10 for information on how to get this publication.

A net operating loss carryforward may not be used unless the incurred loss was computed on a return that was filed
within 4 years of the unextended due date for that return.
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Code
11

Native Americans Certain income (for example, wages) earned by a Native American who both lives and works
on his or her tribal reservation is not subject to Wisconsin income tax and may be subtracted. See Publication 405,
Wisconsin Taxation Related to Native Americans, for more information.

Code
12

Amounts Not Taxable by Wisconsin You may subtract any amounts not taxable by Wisconsin (less related expenses
except those expenses which are used to calculate the Wisconsin itemized deduction credit) which have been included
as income on your federal tax return or excluded from federal deductions. Enclose an explanation of the subtractions
you are including using code 12.

Example Wisconsin doesn’t tax certain relocation assistance payments received by persons displaced by
condemnation, subject to the conditions in sec. 32.19 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

CAUTION

» Do not use this subtraction when using a different federal election for Wisconsin and federal tax purposes. Instead,
complete a pro forma federal return using the election chosen for Wisconsin or adjust using Schedule I. The
federal adjusted gross income from this pro forma federal return or from Schedule | is entered on line 1 of Form 1.
If completing a pro forma federal return, attach the pro forma federal return to your Wisconsin return instead of the
return sent to the IRS.

* Do not use this subtraction for wages which are taxable in another state as well as Wisconsin. Instead, include
these wages in Wisconsin income and see page 37 for how to claim a credit for net tax paid to another state.

Code
13

Farm Loss Carryover If you were not actively engaged in farming and were subject to farm loss limitations on your
2002-2013 Wisconsin income tax returns, you may be able to claim a subtraction for all or a portion of the farm loss
disallowed in those years. Farm losses disallowed as a deduction may be carried forward for 15 years to the extent
that the farm losses are not offset against farm income of any year between the loss year and the year for which the
carryover is claimed. The amount of carryover that can be subtracted is the lesser of (1) the farm loss carryover or
(2) the net profits and net gains from the sale or exchange of capital or business assets in the current year from the
same farming business or portion of that business to which the limits on deductible farm losses applied in the loss year.

Example You had a farm loss carryover from 2013 of $30,000. You claimed a subtraction for $9,000 of the carryover
on your 2014 through 2016 returns. For 2017 you report a net loss of $2,000 on Schedule F and a net gain of $6,000
from the sale of farm equipment on Form 4797. The gain and loss are from the same farming business to which the
limitation applied in the loss year. You may subtract $6,000 as a farm loss carryover on line 11.

Code
14

Contributions to an Edvest or Tomorrow’s Scholar College Savings Account You may be able to subtract the
amount you contributed to a Wisconsin state-sponsored college savings account (Edvest or Tomorrow’s Scholar) if
you are the owner of the account or were authorized by the owner of the account to make contributions to the account.

For amounts rolled over in 2017, from another state’s qualified sec. 529 plan to a Wisconsin account, the subtraction
applies to the amount of principal rolled over. It does not apply to any investment earnings in the account.

Complete Schedule CS, College Savings Accounts, to determine the amount of your subtraction. Enclose Schedule CS
with your Form 1.

Code
15

Distributions from Wisconsin State-Sponsored College Tuition Programs If you included earnings from a qualified
college tuition program in your federal adjusted gross income, you may subtract that amount if the earnings were from
a Wisconsin Edvest tuition unit account and you received a refund because the beneficiary completed the program
in which he or she was enrolled and had not used all of the tuition units purchased or the beneficiary was awarded a
scholarship, tuition waiver, or similar subsidy that could not be converted to cash.
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Code
16 | Disability Income Exclusion If you are retired on permanent and total disability and have included your disability
income on line 1 of Form 1, you may be able to subtract up to $5,200 of your disability income. You must meet ALL
these tests:
* You did not reach mandatory retirement age before January 1, 2017.
* You were under age 65 on December 31, 2017.
* You were permanently and totally disabled —
a. when you retired, or
b. on January 1, 1976, or January 1, 1977, if you retired before January 1, 1977, on disability or under circumstances
which entitled you to retire on disability.
« If you were married at the end of 2017, you must file a joint return.
* You did not in any year prior to 1984 choose to treat your disability income as a pension instead of taking the exclusion.
* Your federal adjusted gross income is less than $20,200 ($25,400 if married and both spouses are eligible).
Compute your exclusion on Wisconsin Schedule 2440W, Disability Income Exclusion. Enclose Schedule 2440W with
your Form 1. See page 10 for information on how to get this schedule.
Code
17 | Sale of Business Assets or Assets Used in Farming to a Related Person You may subtract the taxable portion

of gain you realize from the sale or disposition to a related person of business assets or assets used in farming if the
following conditions apply:

» Therelated person is your child, grandchild, great-grandchild, parent, brother or sister, nephew or niece, grandparent,
great-grandparent, or aunt or uncle. The person may be related to you by blood, marriage, or adoption.

* The asset was held by you for more than 12 months.

* The gain is treated as capital gain for federal tax purposes. Amounts treated as ordinary income do not qualify.

Gain on the sale or disposition of shares in a corporation or trust qualifies only if:

* The number of shareholders or beneficiaries does not exceed 15. Lineal ancestors and descendants and aunts,
uncles, and 1st cousins thereof count collectively as one shareholder or beneficiary. This collective authorization
may not be used for more than one family in a single corporation or trust.

» The corporation does not have more than two classes of shares.

» All shareholders or beneficiaries, other than any estate, are natural persons.

“Farming” means the cultivation of land or the raising or harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural commodity in-
cluding the raising, shearing, feeding, caring for, training, and management of animals. Trees (other than trees bearing
fruit or nuts) are not treated as an agricultural or horticultural commodity. (Trees may qualify as a business asset.)

“Business assets” are assets used in an activity carried on for a livelihood or in good faith to make a profit. The facts
and circumstances of each case determine whether or not an activity is a business. Regularity of activities and trans-
actions and the production of income are important elements. You do not need to actually make a profit to be in a
business as long as you have a profit motive. You do need, however, to make ongoing efforts to further the interests
of your business.

“Business assets” include assets used in the performance of services by an individual as an employee and assets
used in the conduct of a trade or business by an individual who is self-employed.

“Business assets” do not include investment and rental property (for example, stocks, bonds, and residential rental
property) unless you are subject to federal self-employment tax on the earnings from the activity. (Note: Rental property
which is a farm or farm equipment may qualify as an asset “used in farming.”)

Computing the subtraction You must first complete Wisconsin Schedule WD. The amount of gain that may be
subtracted is determined after netting all capital gains and losses on Schedule WD.

+ If amounts reported in Parts | and Il of Schedule WD consist only of capital gains, your subtraction is equal to 70%
of the long-term gain on the sale of a business asset to the related person, 40% of the long-term gain on the sale of
a farm asset to the related person, or 70% of the long-term gain on the sale of qualified shares in a corporation.*
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Sale of Business Assets or Assets Used in Farming to a Related Person — continued

« If the amount on line 17 or 18 of Schedule WD is a net loss, you may not subtract any amount as gain on the sale
of the asset to the related person.

* If the amount on line 18 of Schedule WD is a net gain and (1) the only gain reported on Schedule WD is from the sale
of the asset to the related person and (2) a loss is included in line 17 of Schedule WD and/or on line 8 of Schedule
WD, your subtraction is equal to the amount on line 27 of Schedule WD.

« If the amount on line 18 of Schedule WD is a net gain and (1) the only long-term gain reported on Schedule WD is
from the sale of the asset to the related person, (2) a loss is included in line 17 of Schedule WD, and (3) you show a
gain on line 8 of Schedule WD, your subtraction is equal to the amount on line 27 of Schedule WD less the amount
on line 8 of Schedule WD.

« If the amount on line 18 of Schedule WD is a net gain and (1) that net gain includes more than one long-term capital
gain and (2) a loss is included in line 17 of Schedule WD and/or on line 8 of Schedule WD, complete the worksheet
below to compute your subtraction.

« If the amount on line 18 of Schedule WD is a net gain and (1) that net gain includes more than one long-term capital
gain, (2) a loss is included in line 17 of Schedule WD, and (3) you show a gain on line 8 of Schedule WD, complete
the worksheet below to compute your subtraction.

o gk 0N~

Worksheet for Gain on Sale of Assets to Related Person

Amount from line 19 of Schedule WD . . ... .. 1.
Long-term capital gain on the sale of assets to related person .. ........... 2.
Total long-term capital gain included in line 17 of Schedule WD . ........... 3.
Divide line 2 by line 3. Carry decimalto fourplaces . ........... . . ... .. 4.
Multiply line 1 by ine 4 . . . . 5.

If the amount on line 2 is gain from the sale of an asset used in farming, multiply line 5 by .40 (40%)
and fill in result.* If the amount on line 2 is gain from the sale of a business asset or gain from the
sale of qualified shares in a corporation, multiply line 5 by .70 (70%) and fill in result.

This is your subtraction for gain on the sale of assets to arelated person ..................... 6.

* A sale of qualified shares of a corporation that is engaged in farming to a relative does not qualify for the

additional 30% exclusion for the sale of assets used in farming on Wisconsin Schedule WD. Thus the amount
that may be subtracted as gain on the sale of qualifying shares of stock in a corporation is 70% of the gain.

Code
18

Repayment of Income Previously Taxed If you had to repay during 2017, an amount that you included in your
Wisconsin income in an earlier year, you may be able to subtract the amount repaid. A subtraction may be claimed
only for repayments that are allowed as a miscellaneous itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A.

If you did not itemize deductions for federal tax purposes, use the amounts that would be deductible if you had itemized
deductions. To determine the amounts to use, complete a federal Schedule A. Write “Wisconsin” at the top of this
Schedule A and enclose it with your Form 1.

CAUTION Only amounts previously included in Wisconsin income may be claimed as a subtraction.

If the amount repaid was over $3,000, you may be able to subtract the repayment as described above or take a tax
credit. See the line 44 instructions.

Code
19

Human Organ Donation If you, your spouse, or a person who is claimed as a dependent on your federal income tax
return donates one or more of their human organs to another person for human organ transplantation, you may subtract
up to $10,000 of unreimbursed expenses related to the organ donation. “Human organ” means all or part of a liver,
pancreas, kidney, intestine, lung, or bone marrow. The subtraction may be claimed only in the taxable year in which
the transplantation occurs. The subtraction may be claimed only once. Up to $10,000 of the following unreimbursed
expenses may be claimed:

» Travel expenses * Lodging expenses * Lost wages



26 I Line Instructions |

Line 11 Other Subtractions — continued

Code
20

Reserve or National Guard Members If you were a member of the Reserves or National Guard and served on

active duty, you may subtract any military pay that is included on your W-2 and was:

* Received from the federal government,

* Received after being called into active federal service or into special state service authorized by the federal De-
partment of Defense, and

» Paid for the time during which you were on active duty.

CAUTION The subtraction only applies to Reserve or National Guard members called into active federal service
under 10 USC 12302(a) or 10 USC 12304 or special state service under 32 USC 502(f). It does not apply to pay that
members of the Reserves and National Guard receive for their weekend or two-week annual training. It also does not
apply to a person who is serving on active duty or full-time duty in the active guard reserve (AGR) program.

Code
21

Expenses Paid to Related Entities Were you required to make an addition modification for interest, rental expenses,
intangible expenses, or management fees paid to a related entity? If yes, see Schedule RT to find out if you qualify for
a subtraction. Although you must meet one of the conditions in Schedule RT, Part Il to qualify for a subtraction, you
do not need to enclose Schedule RT with your return unless your total expenses paid, accrued, or incurred to related
entities are $100,000 or more. If enclosing Schedule RT, also fill in “16” in the Special Conditions box on page 1 of
Form 1.

Code
22

Private School Tuition A subtraction may be claimed for tuition paid in the taxable year to send your dependent
child to a private school. The maximum subtraction is $4,000 for an elementary pupil and $10,000 for a secondary
pupil. Schedule PS must be included with your Wisconsin income tax return.

Code
23

Legislator’s Per Diem If you were a Wisconsin legislator, you may subtract the amount of per diem reimbursement
that is included as wages on your federal Form 1040. This generally applies to a legislator with a residence 50 miles
or less from the state capitol.

Code
24

ABLE Accounts A subtraction may be claimed for the amount contributed to a qualified ABLE (Achieving a Better
Life Experience) account during the year. The owner (beneficiary) of an ABLE account must be a disabled person.
Distributions from the account must be used to pay the qualified disability expenses of the disabled person. The total
maximum subtraction that may be claimed by all contributors to the account for 2017 is $14,000. The subtraction does
not apply to rollovers or transfers from another account.

Code
25

Interest, Rental Payments, Intangible Expenses, and Management Fees Reported as Income by a Related
Entity Did you report income from interest, rental payments, intangible expenses, or management fees made by a
related entity that was not able to claim a deduction for such payments? If yes, you may claim a subtraction for the
amount that the related entity was not able to deduct. This would be the amount the related entity claimed as an addition
for such expenses (see instructions for line 4, Code 06) less the amount allowed as a subtraction (see instructions
for line 11, Code 21).

Code
26

Retirement Income Exclusion You (and/or your spouse if married filing a joint return) may subtract up to $5,000 of
certain retirement income if:

* You (or your spouse if married filing a joint return) were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2017, and
* Your federal adjusted gross income (line 1 of Form 1) is less than $15,000 ($30,000 if married filing a joint return).
If married filing a separate return, the sum of both spouses’ federal adjusted gross incomes must be less than $30,000.

If you meet these qualifications, complete the Retirement Income Exclusion Worksheet on the next page to determine
the amount of your subtraction. Fill in the amount from line 6 of the worksheet on line 11 of Form 1 with code number 26.
If married filing a joint return, add the amounts in Col. A and Col. B and fill in the total on line 11 of Form 1.
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Line 11 Other Subtractions — continued

Retirement Income Exclusion — continued

Retirement Income Exclusion Worksheet
If married filing a joint return, (Keep for your records) (A) (B)
fill in each spouse’s information separately. Yourself Your Spouse
1. Taxable IRA distributions from line 15b of your federal Form 1040 or
line 11b of Form 1040A . . . ... . 1.
2. Taxable pension and annuity income from a qualified retirement plan
included in line 16b of federal Form 1040 or line 12b of Form 1040A ....... 2.
3. Addlines 1 and 2 ... ... 3.
4. Nontaxable retirement benefits (This is the total amount subtracted on
line 11 for retirement benefits using codes 04, 05, 06, and07) ............ 4.
5. Subtractline 4 fromline 3 .. ... .. ... .. .. 5.
6. Complete line 6 as follows. This is your subtraction for retirement income.
« If you were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2017, fill in on line 6,
Col (A), the smaller of line 5, Col. (A) or $5,000. Fill in 0 (zero) if you were
not age 65 or older.
« If married filing a joint return and your spouse was 65 years of age or older
on December 31, 2017, fill in on line 6, Col. (B), the smaller of line 5,
Col. (B) or $5,000. Fill in O (zero) if your spouse was not age 65 or older ... 6.
Code
27 | Sales of Certain Insurance Policies To the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, the original policy holder
or original certificate holder who has a catastrophic or life-threatening iliness or condition may fill in the amount of income
received from the sale of a life insurance policy or certificate, or the sale of the death benefit under a life insurance policy
or certificate, under a life settlement contract. “Catastrophic or life-threatening iliness or condition” includes AIDS and HIV
infection.
Code
28 | Child and Dependent Care Expenses Do you qualify for the federal credit for child and dependent care expenses for 20177
If yes, you may qualify to claim the Wisconsin subtraction for child and dependent care expenses. If married, you must file
a joint return unless (1) you lived apart from your spouse during the last six months of 2017, (2) the qualifying person lived in
your home more than half of 2017, and (3) you provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.
Your Wisconsin subtraction is equal to the amount on line 6 of federal Form 2441, but not more than $3,000 if you have one
qualifying person or $6,000 if more than one qualifying person. Enclose a copy of federal Form 2441 with your Wisconsin
income tax return.
Code
29 | Combat Zone Related Death If you are filing a return for an individual who was on active duty in the U.S. armed forces and
who died in 2017 while on active duty and the death occurred while he or she was serving in a combat zone or as a result of
wounds, disease, or injury incurred while serving in the combat zone, you may subtract all income received by the individual
during the year of death. Attach the certification made by the Department of Defense, DD Form 1300, Report of Casualty, to
the return. (Note: For persons who died in 2017 as a result of service in a combat zone, the income subtraction also applies
for 2016 if the service member did not previously file a 2016 income tax return.)
Code
30 | Physician or Psychiatrist Grant To the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, any amount received by a
physician or psychiatrist from the primary care and psychiatry shortage grant program under sec. 39.385, Wis. Stats., may
be subtracted.
Code
31

Difference in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Depreciated or Amortized Assets If you subtracted an amount on your
2014 Wisconsin tax return for the difference in federal and Wisconsin basis of assets as of the last day of your 2013 tax
year, use this code and enter the same 20 percent amount subtracted from Wisconsin income for 2014, 2015, and 2016 on
line 11. 2017 is the fourth year of the basis adjustment.

Starting with the first taxable year beginning in 2014 and for the next 4 taxable years, a subtraction is available for 20 percent
of the difference between the Wisconsin adjusted basis and the federal adjusted basis of assets owned on the last day of the
taxable year beginning in 2013. This is December 31, 2013, for persons who file their return on a calendar-year basis. The
assets must have been depreciated or amortized for both Wisconsin and federal tax purposes.

If you determined for 2014 that the combined Wisconsin adjusted basis of all depreciated and amortized assets was greater
than the combined federal adjusted basis of the assets on the last day of your 2013 tax year, you could subtract 20 percent
of the difference from your 2014, 2015, and 2016 Wisconsin income. This same 20 percent amount may be subtracted for
2017.
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Difference in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Depreciated or Amortized Assets — continued

As a result of this subtraction, your Wisconsin adjusted basis of all depreciated or amortized assets on the first day of your
taxable year beginning in 2014 (January 1, 2014, for calendar-year filers) is the same as the federal adjusted basis.

Note: If the total Wisconsin adjusted basis was less than the total federal adjusted basis, see the instructions for line 4,
Code 20, Difference in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Depreciated or Amortized Assets, for an addition required to adjust
for this difference.

cgg‘* Olympic, Paralympic, and Special Olympic medals and United States Olympic Committee and Special Olympic

Board of Directors prize money Persons who win medals at the Olympic and Paralympic Games generally exclude the
value of such medals and the amount of prize money received from the U.S. Olympic Committee from federal income. Because
the starting point for computing Wisconsin taxable income is federal adjusted gross income (FAGI), the amount that is excluded
from federal income is automatically excluded from Wisconsin income and no additional subtraction is allowed for Wisconsin.

There are two situations where a Wisconsin subtraction may be claimed for the value of medals and any prize money. In these
situations, the value of medals and any prize money would have been included in FAGI and a Wisconsin subtraction is allowed.

» Persons with FAGI over $1,000,000 ($500,000 if married filing a separate return) must include the value of medals and any
prize money in federal income. Such persons may claim the Wisconsin subtraction for the value of medals and any prize
money from the U.S. Olympic Committee.

» Persons who participate in the Special Olympics may claim a subtraction for the value of medals and any prize money received
from the Special Olympics Board of Directors.

Additions To or Subtractions From Income
The following items may be either an addition to or a subtraction from federal adjusted gross income, depending on your situation.
Fill in the code number and amount of any additions that apply to you on line 4. Fill in the code number and amount of any
subtractions that apply to you on line 11.
7
e If an adjustment listed on Schedule 2K-1, 3K-1, or 5K-1 is due to a difference between federal and Wisconsin law, such as
bonus depreciation, this amount should be adjusted on Wisconsin Schedule |I.

Code
51| Tax-Option (S) Corporation Adjustments Fill in any of the following adjustments that apply to you:

(1) If you were a shareholder of a tax-option (S) corporation which is required to file a Wisconsin franchise or income tax
return, you will receive a Wisconsin Schedule 5K-1 from the tax-option (S) corporation informing you of any adjustments
to be made for Wisconsin tax purposes.

(2) Ifyou are a shareholder of a federal S corporation that elects not to be treated as a Wisconsin tax-option (S) corporation,
you must reverse all items of S corporation income, loss, or deduction included on your federal return and then add
your pro rata share of any distributions made by the corporation of earnings and profits. (CAUTION Do not reverse any
item of S corporation income or loss reported on federal Schedule D. These items have already been removed from
Wisconsin income when you completed Wisconsin Schedule WD.)

(3) Instead of using tax-option (S) corporation items deductible on federal Schedule A to compute the Wisconsin itemized
deduction credit, you may elect to treat these items as subtraction modifications. Your subtraction is limited to the amount
actually deductible for federal purposes. This includes any limitation when federal itemized deductions are reduced due
to federal adjusted gross income limits.

% A copy of the Schedule 5K-1 is required when making an adjustment. Submit a copy of your Schedule 5K-1 by using one of
the following methods:

1. Attach as a PDF to your electronically filed return
2. Submit with Form W-RA

a. Electronically submitted on the department’s website at https:/tap.revenue.wi.gov/WRA/_/
b. Attached to Form W-RA and mailed to the address listed on the form

3. If you are filing a paper return, include a copy of Schedule 5K-1 with your return.

Note: If you are a shareholder of more than one tax-option (S) corporation and have adjustments from more than one entity,
list each entity adjustment separately. For example, if you have a $1,000 subtraction from tax-option (S) corporation A and
a $5,000 subtraction from tax-option (S) corporation B, enter two separate subtractions on line 11 with Code 51.

For more information, get Publication 102, Wisconsin Tax Treatment of Tax-Option (S) Corporations and Their Shareholders.
See page 10 for information on how to get this publication.

Code

52 | Your Share of Partnership, Limited Liability Company, Trust, or Estate Adjustments If you were a member of a
partnership or limited liability company (LLC) treated as a partnership, or you received income from an estate or trust, you
will receive a statement from the partnership, LLC, trust, or estate notifying you of any additions or subtractions which you
should make on your return. Fill in the amount of any such additions on line 4 and any subtractions on line 11.
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Line 11 (line 4) Additions to or Subtractions from Income — continued

Your Share of Partnership, Limited Liability Company, Trust, or Estate Adjustments — continued

A copy of the Schedule 2K-1 or 3K-1 is required when making an adjustment. Submit a copy of your Schedule 2K-1 or
3K-1 by using one of the following methods:

1. Attach as a PDF to your electronically filed return
2. Submit with Form W-RA

a. Electronically submitted on the department’s website at https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/WRA/ /
b. Attached to Form W-RA and mailed to the address listed on the form

3. If you are filing a paper return, include a copy of Schedule 2K-1 or 3K-1 with your return

Note: If you are a partner or member of more than one partnership or LLC treated as a partnership and have adjustments
from more than one entity, list each entity adjustment separately. For example, if you have a $1,000 addition from
partnership A and a $5,000 addition from partnership B, enter two separate additions on line 4 with Code 52.

Code
53

Differences in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Assets Additions or subtractions may be necessary if there is a dif-
ference between the federal basis and the Wisconsin basis of your property. Additions or subtractions are necessary if:

(1) You acquired property in a taxable year beginning after December 31, 2013, which may be depreciated or amortized
(such as buildings and leaseholds), and the federal basis was greater or less than the Wisconsin basis at the time
you acquired the property.

(2) You sold (or otherwise disposed of) property which may not be depreciated or amortized (such as land, stocks,
and bonds) in a taxable transaction, and your basis in the assets was greater or less for federal purposes than for
Wisconsin.

(3) You sold (or otherwise disposed of) property where the federal basis is greater than the Wisconsin basis due to
a previous gain on the sale of an asset being deferred because gain was invested in a “qualified new business
venture” or a “qualified Wisconsin business.” See Schedule T, Transitional Adjustments, and Schedule Ql, Sale
of Investment in a Qualified Wisconsin Business.

Compute the amount of any addition or subtraction due to a difference in basis on Wisconsin Schedule T. Enclose
the completed Schedule T with your Form 1.

Exception Do not use Code 53 for the following situations.

* |If the difference in basis is due to the difference in the federal and Wisconsin definition of the Internal Revenue
Code (for example, Wisconsin did not allow bonus depreciation for tax year 2016), use Schedule I to adjust for the
difference in depreciation for each year there is a difference in depreciation due to the difference in basis.

* |f the difference in basis is due to using a different federal election for Wisconsin, (for example, electing to claim
a different amount of sec. 179 expense), use Schedule I to adjust for the difference in depreciation as a result of
the difference in federal and Wisconsin basis, or submit a pro forma federal return based on the election chosen
for Wisconsin.

Code
54

Differences in Federal and Wisconsin Basis of Partnership Interest An addition or subtraction may be necessary
if you sold your interest in a partnership and any increases or decreases were made to the federal basis of your
partnership interest in taxable years prior to 1975, which resulted from partnership business or property located
outside Wisconsin. (Prior to 1975, Wisconsin did not tax income from business or property located outside Wisconsin.)
Compute any addition or subtraction due to a difference in basis on Wisconsin Schedule T.

Code
55

Differences in Federal and Wisconsin Reporting of Marital Property (Community) Income If you are married
filing a separate return or married filing as head of household or if you obtained a decree of divorce or separate
maintenance during 2017, you may have to report a different amount of income on your Wisconsin Form 1 than on your
federal Form 1040. Fill in on line 4 any additional amount which is taxable to you rather than your spouse because
of any difference in federal and state reporting of marital property (community) income. Fill in on line 11 any amount
which is taxable to your spouse rather than to you because of any difference in federal and state reporting of marital
property (community) income. For further information, get Publication 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2017. See page 10 for information on how to get this publication.

Line 15 Standard Deduction
Most people can find their standard deduction by using the Standard Deduction Table on page 55. Use the amount on line 14
to find the standard deduction for your filing status. Do not use the table if any one of the following applies:

* You (or your spouse if filing a joint return) can be claimed as a dependent on another person’s (for example, parent’s)
income tax return. Use the Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents to figure your standard deduction.

* You are filing a short period income tax return or are filing federal Form 4563 to claim an exclusion of income from sources
within U.S. possessions. You are not allowed any amount of standard deduction. Fill in O on line 15.
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Line 15 Standard Deduction — continued

Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents

1. Earned income® included inline 14 of FOrm 1 ... .. ... . i 1. .00
2. Addition amouNnt . . ... 2. 350.00
3. Addlines 1 and 2. If total is less than $1,050, fill in $1,050 ... ......... . . . .. . 3. .00
4. Using the amount on line 14 of Form 1, fill in the standard deduction for your filing status

fromtable, page 55 . . . ... 4. .00
5. Fillin the SMALLER of line 3or4 hereandonline150of Form1 ...... ... ... ... ... ... .. .... 5. .00

* Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, professional fees, and any other compensation received for services you
performed. It does not include scholarship or fellowship income that is not reported on a W-2.

Line 17 Exemptions

Complete lines 17a and 17b. Fill in the number of exemptions on the lines provided. Multiply that number by the amount
indicated ($700 or $250), and fill in the result on line a or b, as appropriate. Add lines a and b and fill in on line 17c.

Line 17a

If you filed:
— Federal Form 1040 or 1040A, your number of exemptions is found on line 6d of your federal return.
— Federal Form 1040EZ, your number of exemptions is:
0 — If you are single and you checked the “You” box on line 5 of your federal return, or if you are married filing jointly and
you checked both the “You” and “Spouse” boxes on your federal return.
1 — If you are single and did not check the “You” box on line 5 of your federal return, or if you are married filing jointly and
you checked only one box (either “You” or “Spouse”) on your federal return.
2 — If you are married filing jointly and did not check either box on line 5 of your federal return.

Line 17b

If you or your spouse were 65 or older on December 31, 2017, check the appropriate lines. Your number of exemptions is
equal to the number of lines checked.

You may claim the $250 exemption on line 17b for you and/or your spouse only if you and/or your spouse are 65 years of
age or older and are allowed the $700 exemption on line 17a.

Line 19 Tax

Use the amount on line 18 to find your tax in the Tax Table on pages 48-53. Find your income-level bracket and read across
to the column showing your filing status to find your tax. Be sure you use the correct column in the Tax Table for your filing
status. Fill in your tax on line 19.

EXCEPTION If line 18 is $100,000 or more, use the Tax Computation Worksheet on page 54 to compute your tax.

Line 20 Itemized Deduction Credit

If the total of certain federal itemized deductions exceeds your Wisconsin standard deduction, you may be able to claim the
itemized deduction credit.

Complete Schedule 1 on page 4 of Form 1 to see if you can claim the credit. Schedule 1 lists the specific deductions to use
from federal Schedule A (see EXCEPTIONS on the next page).

o,
€ When completing Schedule 1, if your federal itemized deductions were limited due to income level, use the allowable

deductions after the limitation is applied. See the worksheet on page 31 for computing the limited itemized deductions. If
you owe federal alternative minimum tax (line 45 of Form 1040), you do not have to limit your federal itemized deductions
when computing the Wisconsin itemized deduction credit.

If you did not itemize deductions for federal tax purposes, use the amounts which would be deductible if you had itemized
deductions. To determine the amounts to use, complete a federal Schedule A. Write “Wisconsin” at the top of this Sched-
ule A and enclose it with your Form 1.
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Line 20 Itemized Deduction Credit — continued

EXCEPTIONS Eventhough Schedule 1
has entry lines for medical expenses,

Worksheet for Limited Itemized Deductions

interest paid, gifts to charity, and (Note: If you are filing Wisconsin Schedule I, the federal limitation is based on

casualty losses, not all of the amounts
of these items that are deducted on

the federal adjusted gross income under the provisions of the Internal Revenue
Code that are in effect for Wisconsin.)

federal Schedule A can be used for the 1. Amount from line 3 of the federal ltemized
itemized deduction credit. The following Deductions Worksheet . .. ..... ... ... ............. 1.
describes the portion of these items that 2. Amount from line 9 of the federal ltemized
may not be used to compute the itemized Deductions Worksheet . . .............. ... ... ........ 2.
deduction credit. 3. Subtractline 2 fromline1 .......... . ... .. ... ....... 3.
4. Divide line 3 by line 1. Carry the decimal to 4 places ... ... 4.

* Medical expenses — the amount of y‘ o Y P

medical care insurance and long- Interest Expense Limitations

term care insurance claimed as a 5. Fill in the total of lines 10-12 of federal Schedule A, but do not

subtraction on line 11. If this applies
to you, complete the worksheet below
to figure the amount which you are
allowed, if any, for purposes of the
itemized deduction credit.

include interest paid to purchase a second home located
outside Wisconsin or a residence that is a boat* ........ 5.

6. Multiply line 5 by the decimal amountonline4 .......... 6.

7. Fill in the amount of investment interest from line 14 of
federal Schedule A, but do not include interest paid

to purchase or hold U.S. government securities™ .......... 7.
* Interest — paidtopurchaseasecond 8. Add lines 6 and 7. Fill in here and on line 2 of the
home located outside Wisconsin itemized deduction credit schedule .......... 8.
Wisconsin. * Do not include federal interest passed through from a tax-option (S)

. . corporation that was claimed as a subtraction from income.
— paid to purchase a resi-

dence which is a boat. Gifts to Charity Limitation
9. Amount from line 19 of federal Schedule A** Do not include
gifts to charity passed through from a tax-option (S) corpora-

— paid to purchase or

hold U.S. government tion that were claimed as a subtraction from income . . . . .. 9.
securities. 10. Multiply line 9 by the decimal on line 4. Fill in here and on
— mortgage insurance pre- line 3 of the Wisconsin itemized deduction credit schedule 10.
miums treated as interest. ** Use the amount of gifts to charity that would be allowed on Schedule A under
(Ifextended by Congress) the Internal Revenue Code in effect for Wisconsin. See Part Il of Wisconsin
Schedule L.

(continued on page 32)

Worksheet for Medical Care Insurance and Long-Term Care Insurance Allowable for the Itemized Deduction Credit

1.
2.
3.

5. Multiply line 4 by the decimalonline 3 .. ... ... . . 5.
. Long-term care (LTCI) included in line 1 of federal Schedule A.

. Multiply line 4 by the decimal amountonline 7 .. ... ... ... . . . . . . 8.
CAdAlines 5 and 8 . ... 9.
10.
1.
12.
13.
14.
15.

Amount of medical care insurance (MCI) included in line 1 of federal Schedule A.
If none, skiplines 1-5and gotoline 6 . ... ... ... . . .. .. . 1.

Total medical expenses from line 1 of federal Schedule A .. ........ .. ... ... .. ... ... ...... 2.

Divide the amount on line 1 by the amount on line 2.
Carry the decimal to 4 places. Thisisyour MClratio ................ 3.

Fill in the amount from line 4 of federal Schedule A ... ............... 4.

If none, skiplines7and8andgotoline9 ......................... 6.

Divide the amount on line 6 by the amount on line 2.
Carry the decimal to 4 places. ThisisyourLTClratio ................ 7.

Subtract line 9 from line 4. If zero or less, enterO (zero) . ............. 10.

MCI subtracted on line 11 of Form 1. If none, skiptoline13 ............................. 1.

Subtract line 11 from line 5. If zero or less, enter 0 (zero) ............. 12.

LTCI subtracted on line 11 of Form 1. If none, skiptoline15 .. ........ ... .. ... .. ......... 13.

Subtract line 13 from line 8. If zero or less, enter 0 (zero) ............. 14.

Add lines 10, 12 and 14. This is the amount that may be used as medical
expenses for the itemized deduction credit on line 1 of Schedule 1. ... ... 15.
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» Contributions and interest allocated to you by a tax-option (S) corporation if you treated the amount as a subtraction on
line 11.

» All casualty and theft losses except casualty losses that are directly related to a federally-declared disaster.

Line 21 Armed Forces Member Credit

The armed forces member credit is available to certain members of the U.S. armed forces. You may claim the credit if you
meet all of the following:

* You were on active duty, and
* You received military pay from the federal government in 2017, and

» The military pay was for services performed while stationed outside the United States.

—> You may not claim the armed forces member credit if you were on active duty as a member of the Reserves or National
Guard and you excluded certain military pay from your income. See Code 20 on page 26 of the instructions for information
on the exclusion.

The credit is equal to the amount of military pay you received for services performed while stationed outside the United
States, but not more than $300. If you are married filing a joint return and both spouses qualify for the credit, each may
claim up to $300.

Line 22 Renter’s and Homeowner’s School Property Tax Credit

You may claim a credit if you paid rent during 2017 for living quarters used as your primary residence OR you paid property
taxes during 2017 on your home. You are eligible for a credit whether or not you claim homestead credit on line 45.

You may not claim the school property tax credit if you or your spouse are claiming the veterans and surviving spouses
property tax credit.

Special Cases

If You Paid Both Property Taxes and Rent You may claim both the renter’s credit and the homeowner’s credit. The total
combined credit claimed on lines 22a and 22b may not be more than $300 ($150 if married filing a separate return or married
filing as head of household).

Married Persons Filing a Joint Return Figure your credit by using the rent and property taxes paid by both spouses.

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns or Married Persons Filing as Head of Household Each spouse may claim
a credit. Each of you may use only your own property taxes and rent to figure the credit. The maximum credit allowable to
each spouse is $150.

Persons Who Jointly Own a Home or Share Rented Living Quarters When two or more persons (other than a married
couple) jointly own a home or share rented living quarters, each may claim a credit. However, the property taxes and rent
paid must be divided among the owners or occupants. See the instructions for lines 22a and 22b.

Line 22a How to Figure the Renter’s School Property Tax Credit

Step 1 Rent Paid in 2017 Fill in on the appropriate line(s) the total rent that you paid in 2017 for living quarters (1) where
the heat was included in the rent, and (2) where the heat was not included in the rent. These living quarters must have
been used as your principal home. Do not include rent that you may claim as a business expense. Do not include rent paid
for housing that is exempt from property taxes, for example, rent for a university dorm, nonprofit senior housing, or public
housing. (Note: Property owned by a public housing authority is considered tax-exempt unless that authority makes pay-
ments in place of property taxes to the city or town in which it is located. If you live in public housing, you may wish to ask
your manager about this.)

If the rent you paid included food, housekeeping, medical, or other services, reduce the amount filled in for rent paid in 2017
by the value of these items. If you shared living quarters with one or more persons (other than your spouse or dependents),
fill in only the portion of the rent which you paid in 2017. For example, if you and two other persons rented an apartment and
paid a total rent of $6,000 in 2017, and you each paid $2,000 of the rent, each could claim a credit based on $2,000 of rent.



| Line Instructions I 33
Line 22a How to Figure the Renter’s School Property Tax Credit — continued

Step 2 Refer to the Renter’s School Property Tax Credit Table below to figure your credit. If heat was included in your rent,
use Column 1 of the table. If heat was not included, use Column 2. Fill in your credit on line 22a.

Exception If you paid both rent where heat was included and rent where heat was not included, complete the following
worksheet.

Renter’s Worksheet
(Complete only if Exception described above applies)

1. Credit for rent with heat included (from Column 1 of Table below) . ......... ... ... ... ....... 1.
2. Credit for rent with heat not included (from Column 2 of Table below) ................... .. ... 2.
3. Addlines 1and 2. Fillinonline22aof Form 1% ... ... .. .. . .. . . . . . . . . . . .. .. 3.

* Do not fill in more than $300 ($150 if married filing a separate return or married filing as head of household).

Renter’s School Property Tax Credit Table*

If Rent Your Line 22a | If Rent Your Line 22a | If Rent Your Line 22a | If Rent Your Line 22a
Paid is: Credit is: Paid is: Credit is: Paid is: Credit is: Paid is: Credit is:
Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 1 Col. 2
Heat Heat Heat Heat Heat Heat Heat Heat
But In- Not In- But In- Not In- But In- Not In- But In- Not In-
At Less cluded cluded At Less cluded cluded At Less cluded cluded At Less cluded cluded
Least Than inRent inRent| Least Than inRent inRent| Least Than inRent inRent| Least Than inRent in Rent
$ 1$ 100 $ 1 $ 2 [($3,500 $3,600 $ 85 $107 |$7,000 $ 7,100 $ 169 $ 212 ($10,500 $10,600 $ 253 $ 300
100 200 4 5 3,600 3,700 88 110 7,100 7,200 172 215 10,600 10,700 256 300
200 300 6 8 3,700 3,800 90 113 7,200 7,300 174 218 10,700 10,800 258 300
300 400 8 1 3,800 3,900 92 116 7,300 7,400 176 221 10,800 10,900 260 300
400 500 11 14 3,900 4,000 95 119 7,400 7,500 179 224 10,900 11,000 263 300
500 600 13 17 4,000 4,100 97 122 7,500 7,600 181 227 11,000 11,100 265 300
600 700 16 20 4,100 4,200 100 125 7,600 7,700 184 230 11,100 11,200 268 300
700 800 18 23 4,200 4,300 102 128 7,700 7,800 186 233 11,200 11,300 270 300
800 900 20 26 4,300 4,400 104 131 7,800 7,900 188 236 11,300 11,400 272 300
900 1,000 23 29 4,400 4,500 107 134 7,900 8,000 191 239 11,400 11,500 275 300
8,000 8,100 193 242
1,000 1,100 25 32 4,500 4,600 109 137 11,500 11,600 277 300
1,100 1,200 28 35 4,600 4,700 112 140 8,100 8,200 196 245 11,600 11,700 280 300
1,200 1,300 30 38 4,700 4,800 114 143 8,200 8,300 198 248 11,700 11,800 282 300
1,300 1,400 32 41 4,800 4,900 116 146 8,300 8,400 200 251 11,800 11,900 284 300
1,400 1,500 35 44 4,900 5,000 119 149 8,400 8,500 203 254 11,900 12,000 287 300
1,500 1,600 37 47 5,000 5,100 121 152 8,500 8,600 205 257 12,000 12,100 289 300
1,600 1,700 40 50 5,100 5,200 124 155 8,600 8,700 208 260 12,100 12,200 292 300
1,700 1,800 42 53 5,200 5,300 126 158 8,700 8,800 210 263 12,200 12,300 294 300
1,800 1,900 44 56 5,300 5,400 128 161 8,800 8,900 212 266 12,300 12,400 296 300
1,900 2,000 47 59 5,400 5,500 131 164 8,900 9,000 215 269 12,400 12,500 299 300
2,000 2,100 49 62 5,500 5,600 133 167 9,000 9,100 217 272 12,500 or more 300 300
2,100 2,200 52 65 5,600 5,700 136 170 9,100 9,200 220 275
2,200 2,300 54 68 5,700 5,800 138 173 9,200 9,300 222 278
2,300 2,400 56 71 5,800 5,900 140 176 9,300 9,400 224 281
2,400 2,500 59 74 5,900 6,000 143 179 9,400 9,500 227 284
2,500 2,600 61 77 6,000 6,100 145 182 9,500 9,600 229 287
2,600 2,700 64 80 6,100 6,200 148 185 9,600 9,700 232 290
2,700 2,800 66 83 6,200 6,300 150 188 9,700 9,800 234 293
2,800 2,900 68 86 6,300 6,400 152 191 9,800 9,900 236 296
2,900 3,000 71 89 6,400 6,500 155 194 9,900 10,000 239 299
3,000 3,100 73 92 6,500 6,600 157 197 10,000 10,100 241 300
3,100 3,200 76 95 6,600 6,700 160 200 10,1700 10,200 244 300
3,200 3,300 78 98 6,700 6,800 162 203 10,200 10,300 246 300
3,300 3,400 80 101 6,800 6,900 164 206 10,300 10,400 248 300
3,400 3,500 83 104 6,900 7,000 167 209 10,400 10,500 251 300

*Caution The credit allowed certain persons may be less than the amount indicated. See “Special Cases” on page 32.
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Line 22b How to Figure the Homeowner’s School Property Tax Credit

Step 1 Property Taxes Paid on Home in 2017 Fill in the amount of property taxes that you paid in 2017 on your home.
Do not include:

» Charges for special assessments, delinquent interest, or services that may be included on your tax bill (such as trash
removal, recycling fee, or a water bill).

» Property taxes that you can claim as a business expense (for example, farm taxes or rental property taxes).
* Property taxes paid on property that is not your primary residence (such as a cottage or vacant land).
» Property taxes that you paid in any year other than 2017.

Property taxes are further limited as follows:

a. If you bought or sold your home during 2017, the property taxes of the seller and buyer are the taxes set forth for each in
the closing agreement made at the sale or purchase. If the closing agreement does not divide the property taxes between
the seller and buyer, divide them on the basis of the number of months each owned the home.

b. If you owned a mobile home during 2017, property taxes include the municipal permit fees paid to your municipality
and/or the personal property taxes paid on your mobile home. (Payments for space rental for parking a mobile home or
manufactured home should be filled in as rent on line 22a.)

c. If you, or you and your spouse, owned a home jointly with one or more other persons, you may only use that portion of the
property taxes that reflects your percentage of ownership. For example, if you and another person (other than your spouse)
jointly owned a home on which taxes of $1,500 were paid, each of you would claim a credit based on $750 of taxes.

CAUTION Property taxes paid during 2017 must be reduced by any amounts received as a refund of such taxes. For example,
a taxpayer claimed farmland preservation credit on Schedule FC (which is considered a refund of property taxes) on his or
her 2016 Wisconsin return. The taxpayer received a farmland preservation credit in 2017 of $600 that was based on 2016
property taxes accrued of $6,000. The 2016 property taxes were paid in 2017 and 10% of such taxes were allocable to the
personal residence and 90% to the farm property. Thus, for tax purposes, property taxes paid on the entire property during
2017 are $5,400 ($6,000 less $600 farmland preservation credit). Of this amount, $540 (10% of $5,400) is used to compute
the 2017 school property tax credit.

Homeowner’s School Property Tax Credit Table*

If Property Taxes If Property Taxes If Property Taxes If Property Taxes If Property Taxes
are: are: are: are: are:
But Line 22b But Line 22b But Line 22b But Line 22b But Line 22b
At Less Credit At Less Credit At Less Credit At Less Credit At Less Credit
Least Than is| Least Than is| Least Than is| Least Than is| Least Than is
$ 1 $ 25 $ 2 |$ 500 $ 525 $ 62 [$1,000 $1,025 $ 122 [$1,500 $1,525 $ 182 [$2,000 $2,025 $242
25 50 5 525 550 65 1,025 1,050 125 1,525 1,550 185 2,025 2,050 245
50 75 8 550 575 68 1,050 1,075 128 1,550 1,575 188 2,050 2,075 248
75 100 11 575 600 71 1,075 1,100 131 1,575 1,600 191 2,075 2,100 251
100 125 14 600 625 74 1,100 1,125 134 1,600 1,625 194 2,100 2,125 254
125 150 17 625 650 77 1,125 1,150 137 1,625 1,650 197 2,125 2,150 257
150 175 20 650 675 80 1,150 1,175 140 1,650 1,675 200 2,150 2,175 260
175 200 23 675 700 83 1,175 1,200 143 1,675 1,700 203 2,175 2,200 263
200 225 26 700 725 86 1,200 1,225 146 1,700 1,725 206 2,200 2,225 266
225 250 29 725 750 89 1,225 1,250 149 1,725 1,750 209 2,225 2,250 269
250 275 32 750 775 92 1,250 1,275 152 1,750 1,775 212 2,250 2,275 272
275 300 35 775 800 95 1,275 1,300 155 1,775 1,800 215 2,275 2,300 275
300 325 38 800 825 98 1,300 1,325 158 1,800 1,825 218 2,300 2,325 278
325 350 41 825 850 101 1,325 1,350 161 1,825 1,850 221 2,325 2,350 281
350 375 44 850 875 104 1,350 1,375 164 1,850 1,875 224 2,350 2,375 284
375 400 47 875 900 107 1,375 1,400 167 1,875 1,900 227 2,375 2,400 287
400 425 50 900 925 110 1,400 1,425 170 1,900 1,925 230 2,400 2,425 290
425 450 53 925 950 113 1,425 1,450 173 1,925 1,950 233 2,425 2,450 293
450 475 56 950 975 116 1,450 1,475 176 1,950 1,975 236 2,450 2,475 296
475 500 59 975 1,000 119 1,475 1,500 179 1,975 2,000 239 2,475 2,500 299
2,500 or more 300

*Caution The credit allowed certain persons may be less than the amount indicated. See “Special Cases” on page 32.
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Line 22b How to Figure the Homeowner’s School Property Tax Credit — continued

Step 2 Use the Homeowner’s School Property Tax Credit Table on page 34 to figure your credit. Fill in the amount of your
credit on line 22b.

CAUTION If you are also claiming the renter’s credit on line 22a, the total of your renter’'s and homeowner’s credits can’t
be more than $300 ($150 if married filing a separate return or married filing as head of household).
Line 23 Working Families Tax Credit

If you are married filing a separate return, are under age 65, and your income on line 14 of Form 1 is less than $10,000,
you may claim the working families tax credit.

Working Families Tax Credit Worksheet
Exception You may not claim the working families tax

credit if you may be claimed as a dependent on another
person’s (for example, your parent’s) income tax return.

Do not complete this worksheet if:
« Line 14 of your Form 1 is $9,000 or less.
* Line 14 of your Form 1 is $10,000 or more.

+ Ifthe amount online 14 of Form 1 is $9,000 or less, your * You may be claimed as a dependent on another person’s return.
working families tax credit is equal to your tax. Fill in the
amount from line 19 of Form 1 on line 23. 1. Amount from line 19 of Form 1 ........... 1.

« |If the amount on line 14 of Form 1 is more than $9,000 2. Total credits from lines 20 through 22

of Form 1 plus the total of the first five

but less than $10,000, use the worksheet at right to orm § ) | !
credits listed in the line 24 instructions ... .2.

compute your working families tax credit.

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If the result
is zero or less, stop here. You do not
qualify forthe credit . .................. 3.

4. Fillin $10,000 . .. ............. 4.

 |f the amount on line 14 of Form 1 is $10,000 or more,
leave line 23 blank. You do not qualify for the credit.

Line 24 Certain Nonrefundable Credits

If you are claiming any of the credits listed below, you must
complete Schedule CR.

—> Enclose Schedule CR, along with the appropriate
schedule for the credit(s) you are claiming with Form 1.
Enclose Schedule CF for each credit for which you claim a
carryforward of unused credit. Fillin the amount from line 11

. Fill in amount from line 14 of

. Subtract line 5 fromline4....... 6.

. Divide line 6 by one thousand (1,000).
Fill in decimalamount. ... .............. 7.

. Multiply line 3 by line 7. This is your

working families tax credit. Fill in this

amountonline23of Form1............. 8.

of Schedule CR on line 24. See page 10 for information
on obtaining Schedule CR.

* Postsecondary Education Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF)
» Water Consumption Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF)

» Biodiesel Fuel Production Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF)

* Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan Assessments Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).
* Veteran Employment Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).

* Film Production Company Investment Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).

* Schedule CM - Community Rehabilitation Program Credit The community rehabilitation program credit is available
to persons who enter into a contract with a community rehabilitation program to have the program perform work for the
entity. Complete Schedule CM.

* Research Facilities Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).

Line 27 Alternative Minimum Tax

You may owe Wisconsin alternative minimum tax if you benefit from certain deductions, credits, and the special tax treatment
of some kinds of income. This tax is figured on Schedule MT. Use the worksheet on page 36 to see if you must complete
Schedule MT.

If line 10 of the worksheet is more than the amount on Form 1, line 26, fill in Schedule MT to see if you owe the alternative
minimum tax. If line 10 is equal to or less than the amount on Form 1, line 26, do not fill in Schedule MT.
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Line 27 Alternative Minimum Tax — continued

Include the following adjustments and preference

Worksheet To See If You Should Fill in Schedule MT
items on line 2 of the worksheet.

Caution If you are married filing separately and line 3 of this worksheet

Adjustment and Tax Preference Items is more than $249,450, you should fill in Schedule MT.

1. Accelerated depreciation. 1. Fill in the amount from Form 1, line 14 . . . . . 1,

2. Amortization of pollution control facilities or

depletion. 2. Fill'in the total of all adjustments and

preference items that apply toyou........ 2.
3. Addlines1and2..................... 3.

4. Fill in $84,500 ($42,250 if married filing
separately; $54,300 if single or head of
household) . ........ ... .. ... .. ... ... 4.

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. If zero or less,

3. Stock received by exercising an incentive stock
option and you did not dispose of the stock in
the same year.

4. Intangible drilling, circulation, research,
experimental, or mining costs.

5. Income or (loss) from tax shelter farm activities
or passive activities.

6. Income from long-term contracts not figured
using the percentage of completion method.

stop here; you don’t need to fill in
Schedule MT . ....................... 5.

Fill in $160,900 ($80,450 if married filing
separately; $120,700 if single or head of

household) . ........ ... .. ... .. ... ... 6.

7. Subtract line 6 from line 3. If zero or less, fill
in -0- hereandon line8andgotoline9... 7.

8. Multiply line 7 by 25% (.25) and fill in the result

7. Interest paid on a home mortgage not used to
buy, build, or substantially improve your home.

8. Investment interest expense reported on
Form 4952.

but do not fill in more than line 4 above. . . . 8.
9. Wisconsin net operating loss deduction. 9. Addlines5and 8 .. ......oooovrrii. 9.
10. Alternative minimum tax adjustments from 10. Multiply line 9 by 6.5% (.065) . ... ... ... 10.

an estate, trust, tax-option (S) corporation,
partnership, or a cooperative.

Line 29 Married Couple Credit

You can claim the married couple credit if:
* You are married filing a joint return, and
» Both you and your spouse have qualified earned income, and

* You do not file federal Form 2555 or Form 2555-EZ to claim an exclusion of foreign earned income or Form 4563 to claim
an exclusion of income from sources in U.S. possessions.

To figure the credit, fill in Schedule 2 on page 4 of Form 1. Figure earned income separately for yourself and your spouse
on lines 1 through 3 in Columns (A) and (B) of Schedule 2.

“Earned income” includes faxable wages, salaries, tips, scholarships or fellowships (only amounts reported on a W-2), other
employee compensation, disability income treated as wages, and net earnings from self-employment.

Example You are a member of the National Guard and were called to active duty. You claimed a subtraction on line 11 of
Form 1 for the amount of military pay you received for the time during which you were on active duty. Because this military
pay is not taxable to Wisconsin, it cannot be used when computing the married couple credit.

“Earned income” does not include other income such as interest, dividends, IRA distributions, deferred compensation (even
though it may be reported on a W-2), unemployment compensation, rental income, social security, pensions, annuities, or
income that is not taxable to Wisconsin. Do not consider marital property law, marital property agreements, or unilateral
statements in figuring each spouse’s earned income.

The credit is based on qualified earned income. You must figure qualified earned income separately for yourself and your
spouse. Figure it on lines 4 and 5 of Schedule 2 by subtracting the total of certain adjustments from earned income. These
adjustments (as reported as an adjustment to income on federal Form 1040) are:

* IRA deduction (line 32),

» Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans (line 28),

* Repayment of supplemental unemployment benefits (included in the total of line 36),

» Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials (line 24),

» Contributions to secs. 403(b) and 501(c)(18) pension plans (included in the total on line 36), and

» Disability income exclusion (from line 11 of Wisconsin Form 1).
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Line 30 Other Credits — Schedule CR

If you are claiming any of the credits listed below, you must complete Schedule CR.

—> Enclose Schedule CR, along with the appropriate schedule for the credit(s) you are claiming and any required
Department of Commerce (DOC) or Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) approval or certification, with
Form 1. Enclose Schedule CF for each credit for which you claim a carryforward of unused credit. Fill in the amount from
line 35 of Schedule CR on line 30. See page 10 for information on obtaining Schedule CR.

» Schedule HR-Supplementto Federal Historic Rehabilitation Credit The supplementto the federal historic rehabilitation
credit is available for rehabilitating certified historic structures used for business purposes. Complete Schedule HR.

* Schedule MA-A or MA-M — Manufacturing and Agriculture Credit The manufacturing and agriculture credit is based
on the production gross receipts of a business less certain expenses. Complete Schedule MA-A or MA-M.

» Schedule HR - State Historic Rehabilitation Credit An individual who has received certification or approval of a
project for rehabilitating a personal residence from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin may be eligible for the credit.
Complete Schedule HR.

» Schedule R — Research Credit The research credit is available for increasing research activities in Wisconsin. This
includes credits related to internal combustion engines and certain energy efficient products. Complete Schedule R.

* Film Production Services Credit Carryforward — Nonrefundable portion (Schedule CF)

» Schedule MS — Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Credit If you had $25,000 or less of unused manufacturer’s sales tax credit
from 1998 through 2005 and could not use the entire credit on your 2006-2016 returns, complete Schedule MS to determine
the amount of carryover credit you may claim for 2017.

» Schedule MI - Manufacturing Investment Credit Persons certified by the DOC who had more than $25,000 of unused
manufacturer’s sales tax credit carryover on January 1, 2006, may be able to claim the manufacturing investment credit.
Complete Schedule MI.

* Dairy and Livestock Farm Investment Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).
« Ethanol and Biodiesel Fuel Pump Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).

» Schedule DC - Development Zones Credit Special tax credits may be available to persons doing business in Wisconsin
development zones. If you qualify for the development zones credit, complete Wisconsin Schedule DC.

» Schedule DC - Capital Investment Credit The capital investment credit is available for businesses certified for tax
benefits in a development opportunity zone, agricultural development zone, or airport development zone. Complete Part I|
of Schedule DC.

* Opportunity Zone Investment Credit Carryforward

» Schedule TC - Technology Zone Credit The technology zone credit may be available for persons doing business in
Wisconsin technology zones. If you qualify for the technology zone credit, complete Wisconsin Schedule TC.

» Schedule ED — Economic Development Tax Credit The economic development tax credit may be claimed by persons
certified by the WEDC and authorized to claim the credit. See Schedule ED.

* Schedule VC (Part I) — Angel Investment Credit The angel investment credit is available to accredited investors
who make a bona fide angel investment in a qualified new business venture that is certified by the WEDC. Complete
Schedule VC.

» Schedule VC (Part Il) — Early Stage Seed Investment Credit The early stage seed investment credit is based on an
investment paid to a fund manager certified by the WEDC that the fund manager invests in a certified business. Complete
Schedule VC.

* Electronic Medical Records Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).
* Internet Equipment Credit Carryforward (Schedule CF).

Line 31 Credit for Net Tax Paid to Another State

If you paid tax both to Wisconsin and another state on the same income, you may be able to claim a credit for such tax. Read
the Schedule OS instructions to determine if you may claim the credit. If you qualify for the credit, complete Schedule OS.
Fill in the amount of your credit from Schedule OS on line 31. Be sure to enter in the brackets on line 31 the 2-letter postal
abbreviation for the other state to which you paid tax. If you paid tax to more than one other state, fill in the number “99” in
the brackets. See Schedule OS for other situations where additional code numbers may be required. Enclose Schedule OS
and copies of the other states’ returns.
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Line 31 Credit for Net Tax Paid to Another State — continued

CAUTION Credit cannot be claimed for taxes paid to lllinois, Indiana, Kentucky, or Michigan on earned income (such as
wages, salaries, tips, commissions, bonuses, etc.) you received from working in one of those states. Instead, file a return
with that state to get a refund of any tax withheld from your wages. Be sure to explain on that state’s return that you were a
Wisconsin resident when earning the wages in that state. See Publication 121, Reciprocity, for more information.

Line 34 Sales and Use Tax Due on Out-of-State Purchases

Did you make any taxable purchases from out-of-state firms in 2017 on which sales and use tax was not charged? If yes,
you must report Wisconsin sales and use tax on these purchases on line 34 if they were stored, used, or consumed in
Wisconsin. You must also report sales and use tax on taxable purchases from a retailer located in another country, regardless
of whether you were charged any tax for that country or any duty by the U.S. Customs Service.

Taxable purchases include furniture, carpet, clothing, computers, books, CDs, DVDs, video tapes, certain digital goods
(e.g., greeting cards, video games, music, and books, transferred electronically), artwork, antiques, jewelry, coins purchased
for more than face value, etc.

Example You purchased $300 of clothing through a catalog or over the Internet. No sales and use tax was charged. The
clothing was delivered in a county with a 5% tax rate. You are liable for $15 Wisconsin tax ($300 x 5% = $15) on this purchase.

Complete the worksheet below to determine whether you are liable for Wisconsin sales and use tax.
o
()
If you do not include an amount on line 34, place a checkmark in the space provided to certify that you do not owe any
sales or use tax. Only returns certified as “no use tax due” will be recognized as filing a sales/use tax return.

Worksheet for Computing Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax

1. Total purchases subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax (i.e., purchases on which no
sales and use tax was charged by theseller) .. ........ . ... ... ... . ... ... .... $

2. Sales and use taxrate (seeratechart) .. .......... ... X %

3. Amount of sales and use tax due for 2017 (line 1 multiplied by tax rate on line 2).
Round this amount to the nearest dollar and fill in on line 34 of Form1 ............ $

Sales and Use Tax Rate Chart
In all Wisconsin counties except those shown in a through d below, the tax rate was 5.5% for all of 2017.

a. If storage, use, or consumption in 2017 was in one of the following counties, the tax rate was 5.6%:
Milwaukee Ozaukee Washington

b. If storage, use, or consumption in 2017 was in one of the following counties, the tax rate was 5.1%:
Racine Waukesha
c. If storage, use, or consumption in 2017 was in the following county, the tax rate was 5% from January 1, 2017,

through March 31, 2017, and 5.5% thereafter:
Kewaunee

d. If storage, use, or consumption in 2017 was in one of the following counties, the tax rate was 5%:
Brown Manitowoc Outagamie
Calumet Menominee Winnebago

Line 35 Donations

You may designate amounts as a donation to one or more of the programs listed on lines 35a through 35h. Your donation will
either reduce your refund or be added to tax due. Add the amounts on lines 35a through 35h and fill in the total on line 35i.

Line 35a Endangered Resources Donation With your gift, the Endangered Resources Program works to protect and
manage native plant and animal species, natural communities, and other natural features. Gifts up to a predetermined
amount will be matched by state general purpose revenue. Fill in the amount you want to donate on line 35a.
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Line 35 Donations — continued

Line 35b Cancer Research Donation Your cancer research donation will be divided equally between the Medical College
of Wisconsin, Inc., and the University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center for cancer research projects. Fill in the amount
you want to donate on line 35b.

Line 35¢c Veterans Trust Fund Donation Your donation to the Veterans Trust Fund will be used by the Wisconsin Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs for the benefit of veterans or their dependents. Fill in the amount you want to donate on line 35c.

Line 35d Multiple Sclerosis Donation Donations will be forwarded to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society to be distributed
to entities located in Wisconsin that operate health-related programs for people in Wisconsin with multiple sclerosis. Fill in
the amount you want to donate on line 35d.

Line 35e Military Family Relief Fund The Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs will use donations to the military family
relief fund to provide financial aid to eligible members of the immediate family of members of the U.S. armed forces or of the
National Guard who are residents of Wisconsin serving on active duty. Fill in the amount you want to donate on line 35e.

Line 35f Second Harvest/Feeding America Your donation to the food banks supports efforts to feed the hungry and
will be divided as follows: 65% to Feeding America Eastern Wisconsin (located in Milwaukee); 20% to Second Harvest
Foodbank of Southern Wisconsin (located in Madison); and 15% to Feed My People (located in Eau Claire). The food banks
provide food to food pantries, meal programs, shelters, and soup kitchens throughout the state. Fill in the amount you want
to donate on line 35f.

Line 35g Red Cross Wisconsin Disaster Relief You may donate an amount to the American Red Cross for its Wisconsin
Disaster Relief Fund. Fill in the amount you want to donate on line 35g.

Line 35h Special Olympics Wisconsin You may donate an amount to Special Olympics Wisconsin, Inc. Fill in the amount
you want to donate on line 35h.

Amended return only — Fill in the amount of your donations from your original return. If you did not make a donation on
your original return, but now wish to, or if you want to increase your donation, fill in the new amount on the appropriate
line(s). If you want to decrease the amount of your donation, you may only fill in a smaller amount if you file an amended
return by October 15, 2019, or if your original return was filed after April 17, 2018, within 18 months of the date your return
was filed.

Line 36 Penalties on IRAs, Other Retirement Plans, MSAs, Etc.

The Wisconsin penalty on IRAs, retirement plans, medical savings accounts (MSAs), etc., is equal to 33% of the following
federal taxes:

» Tax on IRAs, other qualified retirement plans, etc., (line 59 of federal Form 1040). Do not include any amount from line 8
of federal Form 5329.

» Total tax due from lines 4, 17, 25, 33, 41, 49, 51, and 55 of federal Form 5329 (include only if the tax due on this form was
paid separately and is not included on line 59 of Form 1040).

» Tax on excess contributions (line 2 of federal Form 5330).

» Tax on prohibited transactions (lines 3a and 3b of federal Form 5330).

» Section 72(m)(5) excess benefits tax (included on line 62 of federal Form 1040).
» Tax on Archer MSA distributions (line 9b of federal Form 8853).

» Tax on health savings account distributions (line 17b of federal Form 8889).

If you were subject to any of the above federal taxes for 2017, fill in the total of such taxes in the space provided on line 36.
Multiply the amount filled in by .33 (33%) and fill in the result on line 36.

—> You are not subject to the penalty on payments from certain retirement plans if the payments are exempt from Wisconsin
tax. See the instructions for line 11, Codes 05, 06, and 26 for information on retirement payments that are exempt from
Wisconsin tax and to which the penalty does not apply.

If you were required to file federal Form 5329 or 5330, enclose a copy of your Form 5329 and/or 5330 with your Form 1.
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Line 37 Other Penalties

If you are subject to a penalty for selling business or farming assets purchased from a related person or inconsistent estate
basis reporting, fill in the amount of the penalty on line 37. See below for further information.

* Penalty for selling business assets (or assets used in farming) purchased from a related person Capital gain on the
sale or disposition of business or farming assets may be excluded from Wisconsin taxation if the assets were held more
than one year and are disposed of to certain related persons. The related person who purchases or otherwise receives
the assets on which the gain is excluded is subject to a penalty if he/she sells or disposes of the assets within two years.
The penalty does not apply in the case of an involuntary conversion (for example, assets are destroyed by fire or livestock
dies). Visit any Department of Revenue office or contact the department’s Customer Service Bureau at (608) 266-2486
for information on how to compute the penalty.

* Penalty for underpayment of taxes due to inconsistent estate basis reporting An inconsistent estate basis reporting
occurs if the property basis claimed on a Wisconsin tax return exceeds the property basis determined for federal estate
tax purposes. The penalty is equal to 20% of the portion of any underpayment of taxes due to the inconsistent estate
basis reporting.

Line 40 Wisconsin Tax Withheld

Add the Wisconsin income tax withheld shown on your withholding statements (Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, 1099-R, and
1099-MISC). Also, if any Wisconsin pass-through entity withholding tax was allocated to you from a tiered pass-through
entity of which you are a member, you may include that withholding. Fill in the total on line 40. Enclose readable copies of
your withholding statements with Form 1. (See Assembling Your Return on page 6.)

—> Wisconsin tax withheld is shown in Box 17 of Form W-2 or Box 12 of Form 1099-R, but only if Wisconsin is the state
identified in Box 15 of Form W-2 or Box 13 of Form 1099-R.

DO NOT:

+ claim credit for tax withheld for other states.

 claim amounts marked social security or Medicare tax withheld.

+ claim credit for federal tax withheld.

* include withholding statements from other tax years.

» write on or change or attempt to correct the amounts on your withholding statements.

It is your responsibility to ensure that your employer or other payer has provided withholding statements that:
1. Are clear and easy to read.

2. Show withholding was paid to Wisconsin.

If you do not have a withholding statement or need a corrected withholding statement, contact your employer or other payer.

Line 41 2017 Wisconsin Estimated Tax Payments and Amount Applied From 2016 Return

Fill in any payments you made on your estimated Wisconsin income tax (Form 1-ES) for 2017. Include any overpayment
from your 2016 return that you were allowed as credit to your 2017 Wisconsin estimated tax.

O,
% Check Your Estimated Tax Payments Before filling in line 41, check the amount of your estimated tax payments on
the department’s website at revenue.wi.gov/Pages/apps/taxpaymentinquiry.aspx. Processing of your return will be delayed
if there is a difference between the amount of estimated tax payments you claim and the amount the department has on
record.
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Line 41 2017 Wisconsin Estimated Tax Payments and Amount Applied from 2016 Return — continued

If you are married filing a joint return, fill in the total of:

* any separate estimated tax payments made by each spouse,

 any joint estimated tax payments, and

» any overpayments from your 2016 returns that you and your spouse were allowed as credit to 2017 Wisconsin estimated tax.
If you are filing a separate tax return, you may not claim any part of your spouse’s separate estimated tax payments or
credits. However, you and your spouse may split your joint estimated tax payments and credits between you as you choose

on your separate returns. If you cannot agree on how joint amounts are to be split between you, the department will split
them between you according to your respective income tax liabilities.

Follow the above instructions even if your spouse died during 2017.

Name Change If you changed your name because of marriage, divorce, etc., and you made estimated tax payments using
your former name, enclose a statement with Form 1. On the statement, explain all the payments you and your spouse made
for 2017 and the name(s) and social security number(s) under which you made them.

Line 42 Earned Income Credit

If you qualify for the federal earned income credit and you have at least one qualifying child, you also qualify for the Wis-
consin earned income credit. However, you must have been a legal resident of Wisconsin for the entire year.

If you recklessly or fraudulently claim a false credit, you may be ineligible to claim this credit or any refundable for up to
10 years and could also owe a penalty.

To claim the Wisconsin earned income credit, complete the following steps and fill in the required information in the spaces
provided on line 42.

Step 1 Fill in the number of children who meet the requirements of a “qualifying child” for purposes of the federal earned
income credit (see the instructions for earned income credit in your federal return for definition of a “qualifying child”).

Step 2 Fill in the federal earned income credit from line 66a of federal Form 1040 or line 42a of federal Form 1040A.

Step 3 Fill in the percentage rate which applies to you.

Number of qualifying Fill in this
children (see Step 1 above) percentage rate
1 4%
2 1%
3 or more 34%

Step 4 Multiply the amount of your federal credit (Step 2) by the percentage determined in Step 3. Fill in the result on line 42.
This is your Wisconsin earned income credit.

o
% Enclosures With Your Return You must enclose a copy of your completed federal Schedule EIC with Form 1. If you
used a paid preparer to complete your federal return, also enclose federal Form 8867. Failure to provide this information
may delay your refund.

—> If the IRS is computing your federal earned income credit and you want the department to compute your Wisconsin
earned income credit for you, fill in the number of your qualifying children in the space provided on line 42. Write “EIC”
in the space to the right of line 42. Complete your return through line 47 of Form 1. Enclose a copy of your federal return
(Form 1040A or Form 1040) with your Form 1.

Line 43 Farmland Preservation Credit

If you are claiming farmland preservation credit, include a completed Schedule FC or FC-A with your Form 1. Fill in on
line 43a of Form 1 the amount from line 17 of your Schedule FC. Fill in on line 43b of Form 1 the amount from line 13 of
Schedule FC-A.

Note: For a description of the farmland preservation credit program, see the Special Instructions on page 9. You cannot
claim farmland preservation credit if you (or your spouse, if married) claim the veterans and surviving spouses property
tax credit or homestead credit.
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Line 44 Repayment Credit

If you had to repay during 2017, an amount that you had included in income in an earlier year because at that time you
thought you had an unrestricted right to it, you may be able to claim a credit based on the amount repaid. To qualify for the
credit, the amount repaid must be over $3,000 and the amount repaid cannot have been subtracted in computing Wisconsin
adjusted gross income.

Use the following steps to compute your credit:

(1) Refigure your tax from the earlier year without including in income the amount you repaid in 2017.

(2) Subtract the tax in (1) from the tax shown on your return for the earlier year. The difference is your credit.

Fill in the amount of your credit on line 44 of Form 1. Enclose a statement showing how you computed your credit.

Line 45 Homestead Credit

If you are claiming homestead credit, attach Schedule H or H-EZ to your Form 1. Fill in on line 45 the amount from line 19
of your Schedule H or line 14 of Schedule H-EZ.

—> To see if you qualify for homestead credit, refer to the Special Instructions on page 8. You cannot claim homestead
credit if you (or your spouse, if married) claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit or farmland preservation
credit.

Line 46 Eligible Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit

Who May Claim the Credit An eligible unremarried surviving spouse or an eligible veteran may claim the veterans and
surviving spouses property tax credit. (Note: If you claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit, you or

your spouse may not claim the school property tax credit, homestead credit, or farmland preservation credit.)
7

%o |f you recklessly or fraudulently claim a false credit, you may be ineligible to claim this credit and any other refundable
credit for up to 10 years and could also owe a penalty.

An “eligible unremarried surviving spouse” means an unremarried surviving spouse of an individual who:

» Served on active duty in the U.S. armed forces or in forces incorporated as part of the U.S. armed forces or in the Na-
tional Guard or a reserve component of the U.S. armed forces,

* Was a resident of Wisconsin at the time of entry into active service or who had been a resident of Wisconsin for any
consecutive 5-year period after entry into that active duty service, and

» Met one of the following conditions:
1. Died while on active duty and while a resident of Wisconsin,

2. Was a resident of Wisconsin at the time of his or her death and had either a service-connected disability rating of
100% under 38 USC 1114 or 1134 or a 100% disability rating based on individual unemployability,

3. In the case of an individual who served in the National Guard or a reserve component, while a resident of Wisconsin
died in the line of duty while on active or inactive duty for training purposes, or

4. Was a resident of Wisconsin at the time of his or her death and following the individual’s death, his or her spouse
began to receive, and continues to receive, dependency and indemnity compensation, as defined in 38 USC 101(14).
The unremarried surviving spouse must be certified by the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs.
“Eligible veteran” means an individual who is certified by the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs as meeting all of
the following conditions:

» Served on active duty under honorable conditions in the U.S. armed forces or in forces incorporated in the U.S. armed
forces.

* Was a resident of Wisconsin at the time of entry into active service or who had been a resident of Wisconsin for any
consecutive 5-year period after entry into that active duty service.

* |s currently a resident of Wisconsin for purposes of receiving veterans benefits under ch. 45, Wis. Stats.

+ Hasaservice-connected disability rating of 100% under 38 USC 1114 or 1134 or a 100% disability rating based on individual
unemployability.
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Line 46 Eligible Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit — continued

Computing the (Fredit The ,CrEd't IS gqual to the Worksheet If Property Tax Bill Shows More Than 1 Acre of Land
property taxes paid by the claimant during the year

on the claimant’s principal dwelling in Wisconsin. 1. Assessed value of land (from tax bill) ... .1.
The credit is based on real and personal property 2 Number of acres of land . . . ... 2
taxes, exclusive of special assessments, delinquent L )

interest, and charges for service. Do not include 3. Divide line 1byline 2 ................ 3.
any property taxes that are properly includable as 4. Assessed value of principal dwelling . .. .. 4.
a trade or business expense. 5. Addline3andline4 ................. 5.
“Principal dwelling” means any dwelling and the land 6. Total assessed value of all land and
surrounding it that is reasonably necessary for use improvements (from tax bill) ........... 6.
of the dwelling as a primary dwelling, but not more 7. Divide line5byline6 ................ 7.
thanone acre. Itmayinclude a part of a multidwelling 8. Net property taxespaid ............... 8.
or multipurpose building and a part of the land upon 9. Multiply line 8 by line 7. This is the amount
which it is built that is used as the primary dwelling. of property tax allowed for the credit . . . . . 9.

Complete the worksheet at right if your principal
dwelling is located on more than one acre of land.

If the principal dwelling on which the taxes were paid is owned by two or more persons or entities as joint tenants or tenants
in common, use only that part of property taxes paid that reflects the ownership percentage of the claimant. (See Exceptions
below.)

Exceptions

* Married filing a joint return If property is owned by an eligible veteran and spouse as joint tenants, tenants in common,
or as marital property, the credit is based on 100% of property taxes paid on the principal dwelling (subject to the 1-acre
limitation).

* Married filing a separate return If property is owned by an eligible veteran and spouse as joint tenants, tenants in common,
or as marital property, each spouse may claim the credit based on their respective ownership interest in the eligible
veteran’s principal dwelling (subject to the 1-acre limitation).

If the principal dwelling is sold during the taxable year, the property taxes for the seller and buyer shall be the amount of
the tax prorated to each in the closing agreement pertaining to the sale. If not provided for in the closing agreement, the tax
shall be prorated between the seller and buyer in proportion to months of ownership.

If you owned and lived in a mobile home as your principal dwelling, “property taxes” includes monthly mobile home municipal
permit fees you paid to the municipality.

If you did not own your principal dwelling but were required to pay the property taxes as rent, you may claim the credit based
on the property taxes paid during the year if all of the following are met:

» The rental unit must be the principal dwelling of the eligible veteran or surviving spouse,
* The principal dwelling must be located in Wisconsin,

* The eligible veteran or surviving spouse is required to pay the property taxes under the rental agreement or other written
agreement entered into with the landlord, and

* The eligible veteran or surviving spouse must pay the property taxes directly to the municipality.

A copy of the agreement with the landlord and proof of payment to the municipality must be included with the Wisconsin
income tax return.

The credit must be claimed within 4 years of the unextended due date of the return.

Certification of Eligibility for the Credit If you did not claim the credit in a prior year, before claiming the credit for 2017
you must request certification from the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs (WDVA) indicating that you qualify for
the credit. Use Form WDVA 2097 (which you can find in WDVA Brochure B0106) to submit your request, along with a copy
of the veteran’s DD Form 214 and Veterans Administration disability award letter and, if applicable, the veteran’s death
certificate, a marriage certificate, and a completed copy of Form WDVA 0001 (if the veteran never previously submitted
one). The WDVA 0001 and the brochure are available from your county veterans service officer or on the Internet at
dva.wisconsin.gov. You may submit these forms and supporting documents to your county veterans service officer or
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Line 46 Eligible Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit — continued

mail them to: Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs, Attn: Veterans Property Tax Credit, 201 West Washington Ave.,
PO Box 7843, Madison WI 53707-7843. The WDVA will send you a certification of your eligibility.

—> You do not have to obtain certification from the WDVA for 2017 if you previously received certification for a prior year.
If you still qualify for the credit, you may claim the credit but do not have to enclose certification.

Enclosures Enclose a copy of your property tax bill, proof of payment made in 2017, and the certification, if required,
received from the WDVA with your return.

Line 47 Other Credits From Schedule CR

If you are claiming any of the credits listed below, you must complete Schedule CR. Enclose Schedule CR, along with
the appropriate schedule for the credit(s) you are claiming and any required approval or certification from the
Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC). Fill in the amount from line 40 of Schedule CR on line 47.

» Schedule EC - Enterprise zone jobs credit The enterprise zone jobs credit is available to persons doing business in
an enterprise zone. The WEDC must certify the business as eligible for the credit and determine the amount of credit.
See Schedule EC.

» Schedule JT — Jobs tax credit The credit is available based on wages paid to an eligible employee and costs incurred
to undertake training activities. The credit is available to taxpayers who are certified by the WEDC. See Schedule JT.

» Schedule BD - Business development credit The credit is available based on wages paid to an eligible employee,
training costs, and personal and real property investment. The credit is available to taxpayers who are certified by the
WEDC. See Schedule BD.

» Electronics and Information Technology Manufacturing Zone Credit The credit is based on payroll and capital ex-
penditures in the zone. The credit is available to taxpayers who are certified by the WEDC. See Schedule CR.

Line 48 Amounts Previously Paid

Amended return only — Complete this line only if this is an amended 2017 Form 1. Fill in the amount of tax you paid with
your original Form 1 plus any additional amounts paid after it was filed.

If you did not pay the full amount shown on your original Form 1, fill in only the portion that you actually paid. Also, include
any additional tax that may have resulted if your original return was changed or audited. This includes additional tax paid
with a previously filed 2017 amended return and additional tax paid as a result of a department adjustment to your return.
Do not include payments of interest or penalties.

Line 50 Amounts Previously Refunded

Amended return only — Complete this line only if this is an amended 2017 Form 1. Fill in the refund from your original 2017
return (not including the amount applied to your 2018 estimated tax). This is generally the amount from line 53 of Form 1.

If your refund was reduced because you owed underpayment interest or any penalties, fill in the amount of your refund
before the reduction for underpayment interest or penalties. If your 2017 return was adjusted by the department, fill in
the refund shown on the adjustment notice you received. If the adjustment notice shows a tax due rather than a refund,
complete line 48 instead of line 50.

Line 51 Subtraction

If line 50 is less than line 49, subtract line 50 from line 49 and fill in the result on line 51. If line 50 is more than line 49,
subtract line 49 from line 50 and fill in the result on line 51 as a negative number by placing a minus sign (=) in front of the
number.

Line 52 Amount You Overpaid

If line 39 is less than line 51, subtract line 39 from line 51. Fill in the result on line 52. If line 51 is a negative number, do not
complete line 52.

—> If you were required to make estimated tax payments and you did not make such payments timely, you may owe
what is called “underpayment interest.” You may owe underpayment interest even if you are due a refund. Read the line 56
instructions to see if you owe underpayment interest. If you owe underpayment interest and you show an overpayment on
line 52, reduce the amount on line 52 by the amount of underpayment interest on line 56.
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Line 53 Refund

Fill in on line 53 the amount from line 52 that you want refunded to you. The department may not issue a refund before March
1 unless both the individual and the individual’s employer have filed all required returns and forms with the department for
the taxable year for which the refund was claimed.

Note: If you are divorced, see item 7 on page 6. You may need to enclose a copy of your divorce decree with your return.

The amount on line 53 cannot be more than the amount on line 52 less the amount applied to your estimated tax on line 54.

Amended return only — We will figure interest and include it in your refund check. Interest is at a rate of 3% per year from
the due date of your 2017 return. However, interest is not allowed on (1) a refund issued within 90 days of the due date of
the return or within 90 days of the date the return was filed, whichever is later, (2) a refund due to an increase in homestead
credit, enterprise zone jobs credit, jobs tax credit, business development credit, and electronics and information technology
manufacturing zone credit, or (3) any portion of the refund that is applied to 2018 estimated tax.

Line 54 Amount Applied to 2018 Estimated Tax
Fill in on line 54 the amount, if any, of the overpayment on line 52 you want applied to your 2018 estimated tax.

If you are married filing a joint return, we will apply the amount on line 54 to your joint estimated tax. If you are married filing
a separate return, we will apply the amount on line 54 to your separate estimated tax.

Amended return only — Generally, the amount filled in on line 54 must be the same as the amount shown on line 54 of
your original Form 1 (or as adjusted by the department). However, if you file your amended return by January 15, 2019, you
may increase or decrease the amount to be applied to your 2018 estimated tax.

Line 55 Amount You Owe
If line 51 is less than line 39, complete line 55 to determine the amount you owe.

Amended return only — If the total of the amounts on line 39 and line 54 is greater than line 51, you owe additional tax.
Subtract line 51 from the total of lines 39 and 54. CAUTION If line 51 is a negative number because line 50 exceeds line 49,
treat the amount on line 51 as a positive number and add (rather than subtract) line 51 to lines 39 and 54. Interest on the
additional tax due is 12% per year from the due date of your 2017 return. Figure the interest on the additional tax you owe.
In the area below line 55, write in the amount of interest. Label it “interest charge.”

%’e If the amount you owe with your return is $500 or more or you made late estimated tax payments, you may also owe
what is called “underpayment interest.” This is an interest charge that applies when you have not prepaid enough of your tax
through withholding and/or estimated tax payments. Read the line 56 instructions to see if you owe underpayment interest.
If you do, include the underpayment interest from line 56 in the amount you fill in on line 55.

If you owe an amount with your return, you can pay online or by check, money order, or credit card. Do not include any
2018 estimated tax payment in your check, money order, or amount you charge. Instead, make the estimated tax payment
separately.

To pay online Go to the department’s website at https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/pay. This is a free service.

To pay by check or money order Make your check or money order payable to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. If
the name of the taxpayer does not match the printed name on the check, print the taxpayer’s name on the memo line of the
check. Paper clip it to the front of your Form 1.

If you e-filed your return and are paying by check or money order, enclose your payment with Form EPV. Mail Form EPV
and your payment to the address shown on Form EPV.

To pay by credit card You may use your MasterCard®, American Express® Card, Visa® Card, or Discover® Card. To
pay by credit card, call toll free or access by Internet the service provider listed on the next page and follow the instructions
of the provider. A convenience fee of 2.5% (with a minimum of $1) will be charged by the service provider based on the
amount you are paying. You will be told what the fee is during the transaction and you will have the option to either continue
or cancel the transaction. If you pay by credit card before paper filing your return, enter on page 1 of Form 1 in the
lower right corner the confirmation number you were given at the end of the transaction and the amount you charged (not
including the convenience fee).
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Line 55 Amount You Owe — continued

Official Payments Corporation
1-800-2PAY-TAX (1-800-272-9829)
1-866-621-4109 (Customer Service)
officialpayments.com

What if you cannot pay? If you cannot pay the full amount shown as due on your tax return when you file, you may ask to
make installment payments to the Department of Revenue. It is generally to your advantage to pay your liability in full rather
than in installments. Installment agreements with the department are subject to a $20 installment agreement fee. In addition,
bills not paid in full by the due date become liable for additional interest of 18% per year and a delinquent tax collection fee of
the greater of $35 or 6% percent of the unpaid amount. For more information concerning payments and to obtain Form A-771,
Request a Payment Plan, go to the Department of Revenue website at revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/a-771.pdf. To file an
installment agreement request electronically, go to revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/payplan.aspx.

Note: Failure to pay your Wisconsin income tax may result in certification of your unpaid liability to the Treasury Offset
Program. Federal law authorizes the U.S. Department of Treasury to reduce, or offset, any federal income tax refunds payable
to you by the IRS to satisfy unpaid state income tax debts. Any unpaid liability will remain eligible for this offset until paid.

Line 56 Underpayment Interest

You may owe underpayment interest if the amount of Wisconsin income tax withheld from your wages was less than your
tax liability, or if you had income that was not subject to withholding and you did not make timely estimated payments. In
general, in each quarter of the year, you should be paying enough tax through withholding payments and quarterly estimated
tax payments to cover the taxes you expect to owe for the tax year. For more information on making estimated tax payments,
see “Estimated Tax Payments Required for Next Year” on page 8.

Underpayment interest applies if:
 Line 55 is at least $500 and it is more than 10% of the tax shown on your return, or
* You did not pay enough estimated tax by any of the due dates. This is true even if you are due a refund.

The “tax shown on your return” is the amount on line 33 minus the amounts on lines 42 through 47.

Exceptions You will not owe underpayment interest if your 2016 tax return was for a tax year of 12 full months (or would
have been had you been required to file) AND either of the following applies.

1. You had no tax liability for 2016 and you were a Wisconsin resident for all of 2016, or

2. The amounts on lines 40 and 41 of your 2017 return are at least as much as the tax shown on your 2016 return. Your
estimated tax payments for 2017 must have been made on time and for the required amount. This does not apply if you
did not file a 2016 return.

The tax shown on your 2016 return is the amount on line 33 minus the amounts on lines 42 through 47.

o
S Fill in the exception code in the brackets to the left of line 56 if you are enclosing an application for a waiver, qualify for
an exception, or are using the annualized income installment method to compute underpayment interest. See Schedule U,
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fidiciaries, and its instructions for further information and the exception

codes.

Example Farmers and fishers are not subject to underpayment interest if two-thirds of their total gross income (gross income
of both spouses if married filing a joint return) is from farming or fishing and they file their return and pay any tax due by
March 1, 2018. Qualified farmers and fishers must fill in exception code “04” in the brackets to the left of line 56. Failure to
fill in the exception code may result in an assessment for underpayment interest.

Figuring Underpayment Interest

If the Exceptions above do not apply, see Schedule U to find out if you owe underpayment interest. If you do, you can use
the schedule to figure the amount. In certain situations, you may be able to lower your underpayment interest. For details,
see the instructions for Schedule U. Fill in the underpayment interest from Schedule U on line 56. Add the amount of the
underpayment interest to any tax due and fill in the total on line 55. If you are due a refund, subtract the underpayment interest
from the overpayment you show on line 52 and adjust lines 53 and 54 if necessary. Enclose Schedule U with your Form 1.
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Line 56 Underpayment Interest — continued

Amended return only — If you were subject to underpayment interest on your original return and you are now changing
the amount of such interest, enclose a corrected Schedule U with Form 1. Fill in the appropriate exception code in the
brackets on line 56 only if you are enclosing an application for a waiver, qualify for an exception, or are using the annualized
income installment method (Part IV of Schedule U) to compute underpayment interest. See Schedule U instructions for the
exception codes. Figure the difference between the amount of underpayment interest as reported on your original return
(or as assessed by the department) and the amount of underpayment interest shown on your corrected Schedule U. Fill in
the difference on line 56. If the amount of underpayment interest is reduced, put a minus sign (=) in front of the amount on
line 56.

If line 52 of Form 1 shows an overpayment and you are reducing the amount of underpayment interest, add the amount on
line 56 to the amount on line 52 of Form 1. Adjust lines 53 and 54 accordingly.

If line 55 of Form 1 shows an amount due and you are increasing the amount of underpayment interest, add the amount on
line 56 to the amount on line 55 of Form 1.

® Third Party Designee If you want to allow a tax preparer or tax preparation firm, family member, friend, or any other
person you choose to discuss your 2017 tax return with the Department of Revenue, check “Yes” in the “Third Party Designee”
area of your return. Also, fill in the designee’s name, phone number, and any five digits the designee chooses as his or her
personal identification number (PIN).

If you check “Yes,” you (and your spouse if filing a joint return) are authorizing the department to discuss with the designee
any questions that may arise during the processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

* Give the department any information missing from your return,
 Call the department for information about the processing of your return or the status of your refund or payment(s), and

* Respond to certain department notices about math errors, offsets, and return preparation.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability),
or otherwise represent you before the department. If you want to expand the designee’s authorization, you must submit
Form A-222 (Power of Attorney).

The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your 2018 tax
return. This is April 15, 2019, for most people.

® Sign and Date Your Return Sign and date your return at the bottom of page 3. Form 1 is not considered a valid return
unless you sign it. Your spouse must also sign if it is a joint return. Also fill in your daytime phone number. Keep a copy of
your dated return.
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2017 Tax Table for Form 1 Filers

Use this Tax Table if your taxable income is less than $100,000. If $100,000 or more, use the
Tax Computation Worksheet on page 54.

Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately
Example Mr. and Mrs. Smith are filing a joint return. Their taxable least than Your tax is —
income on line 18 of Form 1 is $28,653. First they find the $28,000 28,500 28,600 | 1487 1392 1588
heading in the table. Then they find the $28,600 — 28,700 income —>» 28,600 28,700 | 1,493 1,594
. ) . - 28,700 28,800 | 1,499 1,403 1,600
line. Next, they find the column for married fl.l|ng 10|nt!y and read dgwn 28800 28900 | 1506 1409 1607
the column. The amount shown where the income line and the filing 28,900 29,000 | 1512 1415 1,613
status column meet is $1,398. This is the tax amount they must write
on line 19 of their return.
If line 18 If line 18 If line 18

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing Head filing filing Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately At less household rately At less household rately
least than A least than A least than A
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
3,000 7,000
3,000 3,100 122 122 122 7,000 7,100 282 282 282
3,100 3,200 126 126 126 7,100 7,200 286 286 286
3,200 3,300 130 130 130 7,200 7,300 290 290 290
3,300 3,400 134 134 134 7,300 7,400 294 294 294
3,400 3,500 138 138 138 7,400 7,500 298 298 298
3,500 3,600 142 142 142 7,500 7,600 302 302 303
3,600 3,700 146 146 146 7,600 7,700 306 306 309
3,700 3,800 150 150 150 7,700 7,800 310 310 315
3,800 3,900 154 154 154 7,800 7,900 314 314 321
0 20 0 0 0 3,900 4,000 158 158 158 7,900 8,000 318 318 326
20 40 1 1 1
40 100 3 3 3 4,000 8,000
4,000 4,100 162 162 162 8,000 8,100 322 322 332
100 200 6 6 6 4,100 4,200 166 166 166 8,100 8,200 326 326 338
200 300 10 10 10 4,200 4,300 170 170 170 8,200 8,300 330 330 344
300 400 14 14 14 4,300 4,400 174 174 174 8,300 8,400 334 334 350
400 500 18 18 18 4,400 4,500 178 178 178 8,400 8,500 338 338 356
500 600 22 22 22 4,500 4,600 182 182 182 8,500 8,600 342 342 362
600 700 26 26 26 4,600 4,700 186 186 186 8,600 8,700 346 346 367
700 800 30 30 30 4,700 4,800 190 190 190 8,700 8,800 350 350 373
800 900 34 34 34 4,800 4,900 194 194 194 8,800 8,900 354 354 379
900 1,000 38 38 38 4,900 5,000 198 198 198 8,900 9,000 358 358 385
1,000 5,000 9,000
1,000 1,100 42 42 42 5,000 5,100 202 202 202 9,000 9,100 362 362 391
1,100 1,200 46 46 46 5,100 5,200 206 206 206 9,100 9,200 366 366 397
1,200 1,300 50 50 50 5,200 5,300 210 210 210 9,200 9,300 370 370 402
1,300 1,400 54 54 54 5,300 5,400 214 214 214 9,300 9,400 374 374 408
1,400 1,500 58 58 58 5,400 5,500 218 218 218 9,400 9,500 378 378 414
1,500 1,600 62 62 62 5,500 5,600 222 222 222 9,500 9,600 382 382 420
1,600 1,700 66 66 66 5,600 5,700 226 226 226 9,600 9,700 386 386 426
1,700 1,800 70 70 70 5,700 5,800 230 230 230 9,700 9,800 390 390 432
1,800 1,900 74 74 74 5,800 5,900 234 234 234 9,800 9,900 394 394 437
1,900 2,000 78 78 78 5,900 6,000 238 238 238 9,900 10,000 398 398 443
2,000 6,000 10,000
2,000 2,100 82 82 82 6,000 6,100 242 242 242 10,000 10,100 402 402 449
2,100 2,200 86 86 86 6,100 6,200 246 246 246 10,100 10,200 406 406 455
2,200 2,300 90 90 90 6,200 6,300 250 250 250 10,200 10,300 410 410 461
2,300 2,400 94 94 94 6,300 6,400 254 254 254 10,300 10,400 414 414 467
2,400 2,500 98 98 98 6,400 6,500 258 258 258 10,400 10,500 418 418 472
2,500 2,600 102 102 102 6,500 6,600 262 262 262 10,500 10,600 422 422 478
2,600 2,700 106 106 106 6,600 6,700 266 266 266 10,600 10,700 426 426 484
2,700 2,800 110 110 110 6,700 6,800 270 270 270 10,700 10,800 430 430 490
2,800 2,900 114 114 114 6,800 6,900 274 274 274 10,800 10,900 434 434 496
2,900 3,000 118 118 118 6,900 7,000 278 278 278 10,900 11,000 438 438 502
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(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

If line 18

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -
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(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing Head filing filing Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately At less household rately At less household rately
least than . least than . least than .
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —

11,000 17,000 23,000
11,000 11,100 442 442 508 17,000 17,100 789 720 867 23,000 23,100 1,142 1,070 1,243
11,100 11,200 446 446 513 17,100 17,200 795 726 873 23,100 23,200 1,148 1,076 1,249
11,200 11,300 450 450 519 17,200 17,300 801 732 879 23,200 23,300 1,155 1,082 1,256
11,300 11,400 456 454 525 17,300 17,400 807 738 886 23,300 23,400 1,161 1,088 1,262
11,400 11,500 462 458 531 17,400 17,500 812 743 892 23,400 23,500 1,167 1,094 1,268
11,500 11,600 468 462 537 17,500 17,600 818 749 898 23,500 23,600 1,173 1,100 1,274
11,600 11,700 474 466 543 17,600 17,700 824 755 904 23,600 23,700 1,180 1,106 1,281
11,700 11,800 480 470 548 17,700 17,800 830 761 911 23,700 23,800 1,186 1,111 1,287
11,800 11,900 485 474 554 17,800 17,900 836 767 917 23,800 23,900 1,192 1,117 1,293
11,900 12,000 491 478 560 17,900 18,000 842 773 923 23,900 24,000 1,198 1,123 1,299

12,000 18,000 24,000
12,000 12,100 497 482 566 18,000 18,100 847 778 930 24,000 24,100 1,205 1,129 1,306
12,100 12,200 503 486 572 18,100 18,200 853 784 936 24,100 24,200 1,211 1,135 1,312
12,200 12,300 509 490 578 18,200 18,300 859 790 942 24,200 24,300 1,217 1,141 1,318
12,300 12,400 515 494 583 18,300 18,400 865 796 948 24,300 24,400 1,223 1,146 1,325
12,400 12,500 520 498 589 18,400 18,500 871 802 955 24,400 24,500 1,230 1,152 1,331
12,500 12,600 526 502 595 18,500 18,600 877 808 961 24,500 24,600 1,236 1,158 1,337
12,600 12,700 532 506 601 18,600 18,700 883 814 967 24,600 24,700 1,242 1,164 1,343
12,700 12,800 538 510 607 18,700 18,800 888 819 973 24,700 24,800 1,249 1,170 1,350
12,800 12,900 544 514 613 18,800 18,900 894 825 980 24,800 24,900 1,255 1,176 1,356
12,900 13,000 550 518 618 18,900 19,000 900 831 986 24,900 25,000 1,261 1,181 1,362

13,000 19,000 25,000
13,000 13,100 555 522 624 19,000 19,100 906 837 992 25,000 25,100 1,267 1,187 1,368
13,100 13,200 561 526 630 19,100 19,200 912 843 998 25,100 25,200 1,274 1,193 1,375
13,200 13,300 567 530 636 19,200 19,300 918 849 1,005 25,200 25,300 1,280 1,199 1,381
13,300 13,400 573 534 642 19,300 19,400 923 854 1,011 25,300 25,400 1,286 1,205 1,387
13,400 13,500 579 538 648 19,400 19,500 929 860 1,017 25,400 25,500 1,292 1,211 1,393
13,500 13,600 585 542 654 19,500 19,600 935 866 1,024 25,500 25,600 1,299 1,216 1,400
13,600 13,700 591 546 659 19,600 19,700 941 872 1,030 25,600 25,700 1,305 1,222 1,406
13,700 13,800 596 550 665 19,700 19,800 947 878 1,036 25,700 25,800 1,311 1,228 1,412
13,800 13,900 602 554 671 19,800 19,900 953 884 1,042 25,800 25,900 1,318 1,234 1,419
13,900 14,000 608 558 677 19,900 20,000 958 889 1,049 25,900 26,000 1,324 1,240 1,425

14,000 20,000 26,000
14,000 14,100 614 562 683 20,000 20,100 964 895 1,055 26,000 26,100 1,330 1,246 1,431
14,100 14,200 620 566 689 20,100 20,200 970 901 1,061 26,100 26,200 1,336 1,252 1,437
14,200 14,300 626 570 694 20,200 20,300 976 907 1,067 26,200 26,300 1,343 1,257 1,444
14,300 14,400 631 574 700 20,300 20,400 982 913 1,074 26,300 26,400 1,349 1,263 1,450
14,400 14,500 637 578 706 20,400 20,500 988 919 1,080 26,400 26,500 1,355 1,269 1,456
14,500 14,600 643 582 712 20,500 20,600 993 924 1,086 26,500 26,600 1,361 1,275 1,462
14,600 14,700 649 586 718 20,600 20,700 999 930 1,093 26,600 26,700 1,368 1,281 1,469
14,700 14,800 655 590 724 20,700 20,800 1,005 936 1,099 26,700 26,800 1,374 1,287 1,475
14,800 14,900 661 594 729 20,800 20,900 1,011 942 1,105 26,800 26,900 1,380 1,292 1,481
14,900 15,000 666 598 735 20,900 21,000 1,017 948 1,111 26,900 27,000 1,387 1,298 1,488

15,000 21,000 27,000
15,000 15,100 672 603 741 21,000 21,100 1,023 954 1,118 27,000 27,100 1,393 1,304 1,494
15,100 15,200 678 609 748 21,1700 21,200 1,029 960 1,124 27,100 27,200 1,399 1,310 1,500
15,200 15,300 684 615 754 21,200 21,300 1,034 965 1,130 27,200 27,300 1,405 1,316 1,506
15,300 15,400 690 621 760 21,300 21,400 1,040 971 1,136 27,300 27,400 1,412 1,322 1,513
15,400 15,500 696 627 766 21,400 21,500 1,046 977 1,143 27,400 27,500 1,418 1,327 1,519
15,500 15,600 701 632 773 21,500 21,600 1,052 983 1,149 27,500 27,600 1,424 1,333 1,525
15,600 15,700 707 638 779 21,600 21,700 1,058 989 1,155 27,600 27,700 1,430 1,339 1,531
15,700 15,800 713 644 785 21,700 21,800 1,064 995 1,161 27,700 27,800 1,437 1,345 1,538
15,800 15,900 719 650 792 21,800 21,900 1,069 1,000 1,168 27,800 27,900 1,443 1,351 1,544
15,900 16,000 725 656 798 21,900 22,000 1,075 1,006 1,174 27,900 28,000 1,449 1,357 1,550

16,000 22,000 28,000
16,000 16,100 731 662 804 22,000 22,100 1,081 1,012 1,180 28,000 28,100 1,455 1,362 1,557
16,100 16,200 737 668 810 22,100 22,200 1,087 1,018 1,187 28,100 28,200 1,462 1,368 1,563
16,200 16,300 742 673 817 22,200 22,300 1,093 1,024 1,193 28,200 28,300 1,468 1,374 1,569
16,300 16,400 748 679 823 22,300 22,400 1,099 1,030 1,199 28,300 28,400 1,474 1,380 1,575
16,400 16,500 754 685 829 22,400 22,500 1,104 1,035 1,205 28,400 28,500 1,481 1,386 1,582
16,500 16,600 760 691 835 22,500 22,600 1,111 1,041 1,212 28,500 28,600 1,487 1,392 1,588
16,600 16,700 766 697 842 22,600 22,700 1,117 1,047 1,218 28,600 28,700 1,493 1,398 1,594
16,700 16,800 772 703 848 22,700 22,800 1,123 1,063 1,224 28,700 28,800 1,499 1,403 1,600
16,800 16,900 777 708 854 22,800 22,900 1,129 1,059 1,230 28,800 28,900 1,506 1,409 1,607
16,900 17,000 783 714 861 22,900 23,000 1,136 1,065 1,237 28,900 29,000 1,512 1,415 1,613
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Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing Head filing filing Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately At less household rately At less household rately
least than A least than A least than A
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —

29,000 35,000 41,000
29,000 29,100 1,518 1,421 1,619 35,000 35,100 1,894 1,793 1,995 | 41,000 41,100 2,271 2,169 2,372
29,100 29,200 1,524 1,427 1,625 35,100 35,200 1,901 1,799 2,002 | 41,100 41,200 2,277 2,176 2,378
29,200 29,300 1,531 1,433 1,632 35,200 35,300 1,907 1,806 2,008 | 41,200 41,300 2,283 2,182 2,384
29,300 29,400 1,637 1,438 1,638 35,300 35,400 1,913 1,812 2,014 | 41,300 41,400 2,289 2,188 2,390
29,400 29,500 1,543 1,444 1,644 35,400 35,500 1,919 1,818 2,020 | 41,400 41,500 2,296 2,194 2,397
29,500 29,600 1,650 1,450 1,651 35,500 35,600 1,926 1,825 2,027 | 41,500 41,600 2,302 2,201 2,403
29,600 29,700 1,556 1,456 1,657 35,600 35,700 1,932 1,831 2,033 | 41,600 41,700 2,308 2,207 2,409
29,700 29,800 1,562 1,462 1,663 35,700 35,800 1,938 1,837 2,039 | 41,700 41,800 2,314 2,213 2,415
29,800 29,900 1,568 1,468 1,669 35,800 35,900 1,945 1,843 2,046 | 41,800 41,900 2,321 2,220 2,422
29,900 30,000 1,575 1,473 1,676 35,900 36,000 1,951 1,850 2,052 | 41,900 42,000 2,327 2,226 2,428

30,000 36,000 42,000
30,000 30,100 1,581 1,480 1,682 36,000 36,100 1,957 1,856 2,058 | 42,000 42,100 2,333 2,232 2,434
30,1700 30,200 1,587 1,486 1,688 36,100 36,200 1,963 1,862 2,064 | 42,100 42,200 2,340 2,238 2,441
30,200 30,300 1,593 1,492 1,694 36,200 36,300 1,970 1,868 2,071 42,200 42,300 2,346 2,245 2,447
30,300 30,400 1,600 1,498 1,701 36,300 36,400 1,976 1,875 2,077 | 42,300 42,400 2,352 2,251 2,453
30,400 30,500 1,606 1,505 1,707 36,400 36,500 1,982 1,881 2,083 | 42,400 42,500 2,358 2,257 2,459
30,500 30,600 1,612 1,511 1,713 36,500 36,600 1,988 1,887 2,089 | 42,500 42,600 2,365 2,263 2,466
30,600 30,700 1,619 1,517 1,720 36,600 36,700 1,995 1,893 2,096 | 42,600 42,700 2,371 2,270 2,472
30,700 30,800 1,625 1,624 1,726 36,700 36,800 2,001 1,900 2,102 | 42,700 42,800 2,377 2,276 2,478
30,800 30,900 1,631 1,630 1,732 36,800 36,900 2,007 1,906 2,108 | 42,800 42,900 2,383 2,282 2,484
30,900 31,000 1,637 1,536 1,738 36,900 37,000 2,014 1,912 2,115 | 42,900 43,000 2,390 2,289 2,491

31,000 37,000 43,000
31,000 31,100 1,644 1,542 1,745 37,000 37,100 2,020 1,919 2,121 43,000 43,100 2,396 2,295 2,497
31,1700 31,200 1,650 1,549 1,751 37,100 37,200 2,026 1,925 2,127 | 43,100 43,200 2,402 2,301 2,503
31,200 31,300 1,656 1,655 1,757 37,200 37,300 2,032 1,931 2,133 | 43,200 43,300 2,409 2,307 2,510
31,300 31,400 1,662 1,561 1,763 37,300 37,400 2,039 1,937 2,140 | 43,300 43,400 2,415 2,314 2,516
31,400 31,500 1,669 1,667 1,770 37,400 37,500 2,045 1,944 2,146 | 43,400 43,500 2,421 2,320 2,522
31,500 31,600 1,675 1,574 1,776 37,500 37,600 2,051 1,950 2,152 | 43,500 43,600 2,427 2,326 2,528
31,600 31,700 1,681 1,680 1,782 37,600 37,700 2,057 1,956 2,158 | 43,600 43,700 2,434 2,332 2,535
31,700 31,800 1,687 1,686 1,788 37,700 37,800 2,064 1,962 2,165 | 43,700 43,800 2,440 2,339 2,541
31,800 31,900 1,694 1,593 1,795 37,800 37,900 2,070 1,969 2,171 43,800 43,900 2,446 2,345 2,547
31,900 32,000 1,700 1,699 1,801 37,900 38,000 2,076 1,975 2,177 | 43,900 44,000 2,452 2,351 2,553

32,000 38,000 44,000
32,000 32,100 1,706 1,605 1,807 38,000 38,100 2,082 1,981 2,184 | 44,000 44,100 2,459 2,357 2,560
32,100 32,200 1,713 1,611 1,814 38,100 38,200 2,089 1,988 2,190 | 44,100 44,200 2,465 2,364 2,566
32,200 32,300 1,719 1,618 1,820 38,200 38,300 2,095 1,994 2,196 | 44,200 44,300 2,471 2,370 2,572
32,300 32,400 1,725 1,624 1,826 38,300 38,400 2,101 2,000 2,202 | 44,300 44,400 2,477 2,376 2,579
32,400 32,500 1,731 1,630 1,832 38,400 38,500 2,108 2,006 2,209 | 44,400 44,500 2,484 2,383 2,585
32,500 32,600 1,738 1,636 1,839 38,500 38,600 2,114 2,013 2,215 | 44,500 44,600 2,490 2,389 2,591
32,600 32,700 1,744 1,643 1,845 38,600 38,700 2,120 2,019 2,221 44,600 44,700 2,496 2,395 2,597
32,700 32,800 1,750 1,649 1,851 38,700 38,800 2,126 2,025 2,227 | 44,700 44,800 2,503 2,401 2,604
32,800 32,900 1,756 1,655 1,857 38,800 38,900 2,133 2,031 2,234 | 44,800 44,900 2,509 2,408 2,610
32,900 33,000 1,763 1,662 1,864 38,900 39,000 2,139 2,038 2,240 | 44,900 45,000 2,515 2,414 2,616

33,000 39,000 45,000
33,000 33,100 1,769 1,668 1,870 39,000 39,100 2,145 2,044 2,246 | 45,000 45,100 2,521 2,420 2,622
33,100 33,200 1,775 1,674 1,876 39,1700 39,200 2,151 2,050 2,252 | 45,100 45,200 2,528 2,426 2,629
33,200 33,300 1,782 1,680 1,883 39,200 39,300 2,158 2,057 2,259 | 45,200 45,300 2,534 2,433 2,635
33,300 33,400 1,788 1,687 1,889 39,300 39,400 2,164 2,063 2,265 | 45,300 45,400 2,540 2,439 2,641
33,400 33,500 1,794 1,693 1,895 39,400 39,500 2,170 2,069 2,271 45,400 45,500 2,546 2,445 2,647
33,500 33,600 1,800 1,699 1,901 39,500 39,600 2,177 2,075 2,278 | 45,500 45,600 2,553 2,452 2,654
33,600 33,700 1,807 1,705 1,908 39,600 39,700 2,183 2,082 2,284 | 45,600 45,700 2,559 2,458 2,660
33,700 33,800 1,813 1,712 1,914 39,700 39,800 2,189 2,088 2,290 | 45,700 45,800 2,565 2,464 2,666
33,800 33,900 1,819 1,718 1,920 39,800 39,900 2,195 2,094 2,296 | 45,800 45,900 2,572 2,470 2,673
33,900 34,000 1,825 1,724 1,926 39,900 40,000 2,202 2,100 2,303 | 45,900 46,000 2,578 2,477 2,679

34,000 40,000 46,000
34,000 34,100 1,832 1,730 1,933 | 40,000 40,100 2,208 2,107 2,309 | 46,000 46,100 2,584 2,483 2,685
34,100 34,200 1,838 1,737 1,939 | 40,100 40,200 2,214 2,113 2,315 | 46,100 46,200 2,590 2,489 2,691
34,200 34,300 1,844 1,743 1,945 | 40,200 40,300 2,220 2,119 2,321 46,200 46,300 2,597 2,495 2,698
34,300 34,400 1,850 1,749 1,952 | 40,300 40,400 2,227 2,125 2,328 | 46,300 46,400 2,603 2,502 2,704
34,400 34,500 1,857 1,756 1,958 | 40,400 40,500 2,233 2,132 2,334 | 46,400 46,500 2,609 2,508 2,710
34,500 34,600 1,863 1,762 1,964 | 40,500 40,600 2,239 2,138 2,340 | 46,500 46,600 2,615 2,514 2,716
34,600 34,700 1,869 1,768 1,970 | 40,600 40,700 2,246 2,144 2,347 | 46,600 46,700 2,622 2,520 2,723
34,700 34,800 1,876 1,774 1,977 | 40,700 40,800 2,252 2,151 2,353 | 46,700 46,800 2,628 2,527 2,729
34,800 34,900 1,882 1,781 1,983 | 40,800 40,900 2,258 2,157 2,359 | 46,800 46,900 2,634 2,533 2,735
34,900 35,000 1,888 1,787 1,989 | 40,900 41,000 2,264 2,163 2,365 | 46,900 47,000 2,641 2,539 2,742
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Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing Head filing filing Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately At less household rately At less household rately
least than A least than A least than A
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
47,000 53,000 59,000
47,000 47,100 2,647 2,546 2,748 53,000 53,100 3,023 2,922 3,124 59,000 59,100 3,399 3,298 3,500
47,100 47,200 2,653 2,652 2,754 53,100 53,200 3,029 2,928 3,130 59,100 59,200 3,405 3,304 3,506
47,200 47,300 2,659 2,558 2,760 53,200 53,300 3,036 2,934 3,137 59,200 59,300 3,412 3,311 3,513
47,300 47,400 2,666 2,564 2,767 53,300 53,400 3,042 2,941 3,143 59,300 59,400 3,418 3,317 3,519
47,400 47,500 2,672 2,571 2,773 53,400 53,500 3,048 2,947 3,149 59,400 59,500 3,424 3,323 3,525
47,500 47,600 2,678 2,577 2,779 53,500 53,600 3,054 2,953 3,155 59,500 59,600 3,431 3,329 3,632
47,600 47,700 2,684 2,683 2,785 53,600 53,700 3,061 2,959 3,162 59,600 59,700 3,437 3,336 3,538
47,700 47,800 2,691 2,589 2,792 53,700 53,800 3,067 2,966 3,168 59,700 59,800 3,443 3,342 3,544
47,800 47,900 2,697 2,596 2,798 53,800 53,900 3,073 2,972 3,174 59,800 59,900 3,449 3,348 3,550
47,900 48,000 2,703 2,602 2,804 53,900 54,000 3,079 2,978 3,180 59,900 60,000 3,456 3,354 3,557
48,000 54,000 60,000
48,000 48,100 2,709 2,608 2,811 54,000 54,100 3,086 2,984 3,187 60,000 60,100 3,462 3,361 3,563
48,100 48,200 2,716 2,615 2,817 54,100 54,200 3,092 2,991 3,193 60,100 60,200 3,468 3,367 3,569
48,200 48,300 2,722 2,621 2,823 54,200 54,300 3,098 2,997 3,199 60,200 60,300 3,474 3,373 3,575
48,300 48,400 2,728 2,627 2,829 54,300 54,400 3,104 3,003 3,206 60,300 60,400 3,481 3,379 3,582
48,400 48,500 2,735 2,633 2,836 54,400 54,500 3,111 3,010 3,212 60,400 60,500 3,487 3,386 3,588
48,500 48,600 2,741 2,640 2,842 54,500 54,600 3,117 3,016 3,218 60,500 60,600 3,493 3,392 3,594
48,600 48,700 2,747 2,646 2,848 54,600 54,700 3,123 3,022 3,224 60,600 60,700 3,500 3,398 3,601
48,700 48,800 2,753 2,652 2,854 54,700 54,800 3,130 3,028 3,231 60,700 60,800 3,506 3,405 3,607
48,800 48,900 2,760 2,658 2,861 54,800 54,900 3,136 3,035 3,237 60,800 60,900 3,512 3,411 3,613
48,900 49,000 2,766 2,665 2,867 54,900 55,000 3,142 3,041 3,243 60,900 61,000 3,518 3,417 3,619
49,000 55,000 61,000
49,000 49,100 2,772 2,671 2,873 55,000 55,100 3,148 3,047 3,249 61,000 61,100 3,525 3,423 3,626
49,100 49,200 2,778 2,677 2,879 55,100 55,200 3,155 3,063 3,256 61,100 61,200 3,531 3,430 3,632
49,200 49,300 2,785 2,684 2,886 55,200 55,300 3,161 3,060 3,262 61,200 61,300 3,637 3,436 3,638
49,300 49,400 2,791 2,690 2,892 55,300 55,400 3,167 3,066 3,268 61,300 61,400 3,543 3,442 3,644
49,400 49,500 2,797 2,696 2,898 55,400 55,500 3,173 3,072 3,274 61,400 61,500 3,550 3,448 3,651
49,500 49,600 2,804 2,702 2,905 55,500 55,600 3,180 3,079 3,281 61,500 61,600 3,556 3,455 3,657
49,600 49,700 2,810 2,709 291 55,600 55,700 3,186 3,085 3,287 61,600 61,700 3,562 3,461 3,663
49,700 49,800 2,816 2,715 2,917 55,700 55,800 3,192 3,091 3,293 61,700 61,800 3,568 3,467 3,669
49,800 49,900 2,822 2,721 2,923 55,800 55,900 3,199 3,097 3,300 61,800 61,900 3,575 3,474 3,676
49,900 50,000 2,829 2,727 2,930 55,900 56,000 3,205 3,104 3,306 61,900 62,000 3,581 3,480 3,682
50,000 56,000 62,000
50,000 50,100 2,835 2,734 2,936 56,000 56,100 3,211 3,110 3,312 62,000 62,100 3,587 3,486 3,688
50,100 50,200 2,841 2,740 2,942 56,100 56,200 3,217 3,116 3,318 62,100 62,200 3,594 3,492 3,695
50,200 50,300 2,847 2,746 2,948 56,200 56,300 3,224 3,122 3,325 62,200 62,300 3,600 3,499 3,701
50,300 50,400 2,854 2,752 2,955 56,300 56,400 3,230 3,129 3,331 62,300 62,400 3,606 3,505 3,707
50,400 50,500 2,860 2,759 2,961 56,400 56,500 3,236 3,135 3,337 62,400 62,500 3,612 3,511 3,713
50,500 50,600 2,866 2,765 2,967 56,500 56,600 3,242 3,141 3,343 62,500 62,600 3,619 3,517 3,720
50,600 50,700 2,873 2,771 2,974 56,600 56,700 3,249 3,147 3,350 62,600 62,700 3,625 3,624 3,726
50,700 50,800 2,879 2,778 2,980 56,700 56,800 3,255 3,154 3,356 62,700 62,800 3,631 3,630 3,732
50,800 50,900 2,885 2,784 2,986 56,800 56,900 3,261 3,160 3,362 62,800 62,900 3,637 3,636 3,738
50,900 51,000 2,891 2,790 2,992 56,900 57,000 3,268 3,166 3,369 62,900 63,000 3,644 3,643 3,745
51,000 57,000 63,000
51,000 51,100 2,898 2,796 2,999 57,000 57,100 3,274 3,173 3,375 63,000 63,100 3,650 3,549 3,751
51,100 51,200 2,904 2,803 3,005 57,100 57,200 3,280 3,179 3,381 63,100 63,200 3,656 3,665 3,757
51,200 51,300 2,910 2,809 3,011 57,200 57,300 3,286 3,185 3,387 63,200 63,300 3,663 3,561 3,764
51,300 51,400 2,916 2,815 3,017 57,300 57,400 3,293 3,191 3,394 63,300 63,400 3,669 3,668 3,770
51,400 51,500 2,923 2,821 3,024 57,400 57,500 3,299 3,198 3,400 63,400 63,500 3,675 3,674 3,776
51,500 51,600 2,929 2,828 3,030 57,500 57,600 3,305 3,204 3,406 63,500 63,600 3,681 3,680 3,782
51,600 51,700 2,935 2,834 3,036 57,600 57,700 3,311 3,210 3,412 63,600 63,700 3,688 3,686 3,789
51,700 51,800 2,941 2,840 3,042 57,700 57,800 3,318 3,216 3,419 63,700 63,800 3,694 3,693 3,795
51,800 51,900 2,948 2,847 3,049 57,800 57,900 3,324 3,223 3,425 63,800 63,900 3,700 3,599 3,801
51,900 52,000 2,954 2,853 3,055 57,900 58,000 3,330 3,229 3,431 63,900 64,000 3,706 3,605 3,807
52,000 58,000 64,000
52,000 52,100 2,960 2,859 3,061 58,000 58,100 3,336 3,235 3,438 64,000 64,100 3,713 3,611 3,814
52,100 52,200 2,967 2,865 3,068 58,100 58,200 3,343 3,242 3,444 64,100 64,200 3,719 3,618 3,820
52,200 52,300 2,973 2,872 3,074 58,200 58,300 3,349 3,248 3,450 64,200 64,300 3,725 3,624 3,826
52,300 52,400 2,979 2,878 3,080 58,300 58,400 3,355 3,254 3,456 64,300 64,400 3,731 3,630 3,833
52,400 52,500 2,985 2,884 3,086 58,400 58,500 3,362 3,260 3,463 64,400 64,500 3,738 3,637 3,839
52,500 52,600 2,992 2,890 3,093 58,500 58,600 3,368 3,267 3,469 64,500 64,600 3,744 3,643 3,845
52,600 52,700 2,998 2,897 3,099 58,600 58,700 3,374 3,273 3,475 64,600 64,700 3,750 3,649 3,851
52,700 52,800 3,004 2,903 3,105 58,700 58,800 3,380 3,279 3,481 64,700 64,800 3,757 3,655 3,858
52,800 52,900 3,010 2,909 3,111 58,800 58,900 3,387 3,285 3,488 64,800 64,900 3,763 3,662 3,864
52,900 53,000 3,017 2,916 3,118 58,900 59,000 3,393 3,292 3,494 64,900 65,000 3,769 3,668 3,870

Continued on next page
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2017 Tax Table for Form 1 Filers — Continued

If line 18

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

If line 18

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

If line 18

(Taxable income) is —

And you are -

Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing Head filing filing Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately At less household rately At less household rately
least than . least than . least than .
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —

65,000 71,000 77,000
65,000 65,100 3,775 3,674 3,876 71,000 71,100 4,152 4,050 4,253 77,000 77,100 4,528 4,427 4,629
65,100 65,200 3,782 3,680 3,883 71,100 71,200 4,158 4,057 4,259 77,100 77,200 4,534 4,433 4,635
65,200 65,300 3,788 3,687 3,889 71,200 71,300 4,164 4,063 4,265 77,200 77,300 4,540 4,439 4,641
65,300 65,400 3,794 3,693 3,895 71,300 71,400 4,170 4,069 4,271 77,300 77,400 4,547 4,445 4,648
65,400 65,500 3,800 3,699 3,901 71,400 71,500 4177 4,075 4,278 77,400 77,500 4,553 4,452 4,654
65,500 65,600 3,807 3,706 3,908 71,500 71,600 4,183 4,082 4,284 77,500 77,600 4,559 4,458 4,660
65,600 65,700 3,813 3,712 3,914 71,600 71,700 4,189 4,088 4,290 77,600 77,700 4,565 4,464 4,666
65,700 65,800 3,819 3,718 3,920 71,700 71,800 4,195 4,094 4,296 77,700 77,800 4,572 4,470 4,673
65,800 65,900 3,826 3,724 3,927 71,800 71,900 4,202 4,101 4,303 77,800 77,900 4,578 4,477 4,679
65,900 66,000 3,832 3,731 3,933 71,900 72,000 4,208 4,107 4,309 77,900 78,000 4,584 4,483 4,685

66,000 72,000 78,000
66,000 66,100 3,838 3,737 3,939 72,000 72,100 4,214 4,113 4,315 78,000 78,100 4,590 4,489 4,692
66,100 66,200 3,844 3,743 3,945 72,100 72,200 4,221 4,119 4,322 78,100 78,200 4,597 4,496 4,698
66,200 66,300 3,851 3,749 3,952 72,200 72,300 4,227 4,126 4,328 78,200 78,300 4,603 4,502 4,704
66,300 66,400 3,857 3,756 3,958 72,300 72,400 4,233 4,132 4,334 78,300 78,400 4,609 4,508 4,710
66,400 66,500 3,863 3,762 3,964 72,400 72,500 4,239 4,138 4,340 78,400 78,500 4,616 4,514 4,717
66,500 66,600 3,869 3,768 3,970 72,500 72,600 4,246 4,144 4,347 78,500 78,600 4,622 4,521 4,723
66,600 66,700 3,876 3,774 3,977 72,600 72,700 4,252 4,151 4,353 78,600 78,700 4,628 4,527 4,729
66,700 66,800 3,882 3,781 3,983 72,700 72,800 4,258 4,157 4,359 78,700 78,800 4,634 4,533 4,735
66,800 66,900 3,888 3,787 3,989 72,800 72,900 4,264 4,163 4,365 78,800 78,900 4,641 4,539 4,742
66,900 67,000 3,895 3,793 3,996 72,900 73,000 4,271 4,170 4,372 78,900 79,000 4,647 4,546 4,748

67,000 73,000 79,000
67,000 67,100 3,901 3,800 4,002 73,000 73,100 4,277 4,176 4,378 79,000 79,100 4,653 4,552 4,754
67,100 67,200 3,907 3,806 4,008 73,100 73,200 4,283 4,182 4,384 79,100 79,200 4,659 4,558 4,760
67,200 67,300 3,913 3,812 4,014 73,200 73,300 4,290 4,188 4,391 79,200 79,300 4,666 4,565 4,767
67,300 67,400 3,920 3,818 4,021 73,300 73,400 4,296 4,195 4,397 79,300 79,400 4,672 4,571 4,773
67,400 67,500 3,926 3,825 4,027 73,400 73,500 4,302 4,201 4,403 79,400 79,500 4,678 4,577 4,779
67,500 67,600 3,932 3,831 4,033 73,500 73,600 4,308 4,207 4,409 79,500 79,600 4,685 4,583 4,786
67,600 67,700 3,938 3,837 4,039 73,600 73,700 4,315 4,213 4,416 79,600 79,700 4,691 4,590 4,792
67,700 67,800 3,945 3,843 4,046 73,700 73,800 4,321 4,220 4,422 79,700 79,800 4,697 4,596 4,798
67,800 67,900 3,951 3,850 4,052 73,800 73,900 4,327 4,226 4,428 79,800 79,900 4,703 4,602 4,804
67,900 68,000 3,957 3,856 4,058 73,900 74,000 4,333 4,232 4,434 79,900 80,000 4,710 4,608 4,811

68,000 74,000 80,000
68,000 68,100 3,963 3,862 4,065 74,000 74,100 4,340 4,238 4,441 80,000 80,100 4,716 4,615 4,817
68,100 68,200 3,970 3,869 4,071 74,100 74,200 4,346 4,245 4,447 80,100 80,200 4,722 4,621 4,823
68,200 68,300 3,976 3,875 4,077 74,200 74,300 4,352 4,251 4,453 80,200 80,300 4,728 4,627 4,829
68,300 68,400 3,982 3,881 4,083 74,300 74,400 4,358 4,257 4,460 80,300 80,400 4,735 4,633 4,836
68,400 68,500 3,989 3,887 4,090 74,400 74,500 4,365 4,264 4,466 80,400 80,500 4,741 4,640 4,842
68,500 68,600 3,995 3,894 4,096 74,500 74,600 4,371 4,270 4,472 80,500 80,600 4,747 4,646 4,848
68,600 68,700 4,001 3,900 4,102 74,600 74,700 4,377 4,276 4,478 80,600 80,700 4,754 4,652 4,855
68,700 68,800 4,007 3,906 4,108 74,700 74,800 4,384 4,282 4,485 80,700 80,800 4,760 4,659 4,861
68,800 68,900 4,014 3,912 4,115 74,800 74,900 4,390 4,289 4,491 80,800 80,900 4,766 4,665 4,867
68,900 69,000 4,020 3,919 4,121 74,900 75,000 4,396 4,295 4,497 80,900 81,000 4,772 4,671 4,873

69,000 75,000 81,000
69,000 69,100 4,026 3,925 4,127 75,000 75,100 4,402 4,301 4,503 81,000 81,100 4,779 4,677 4,880
69,100 69,200 4,032 3,931 4,133 75,100 75,200 4,409 4,307 4,510 81,100 81,200 4,785 4,684 4,886
69,200 69,300 4,039 3,938 4,140 75,200 75,300 4,415 4,314 4,516 81,200 81,300 4,791 4,690 4,892
69,300 69,400 4,045 3,944 4,146 75,300 75,400 4,421 4,320 4,522 81,300 81,400 4,797 4,696 4,898
69,400 69,500 4,051 3,950 4,152 75,400 75,500 4,427 4,326 4,528 81,400 81,500 4,804 4,702 4,905
69,500 69,600 4,058 3,956 4,159 75,500 75,600 4,434 4,333 4,535 81,500 81,600 4,810 4,709 4,911
69,600 69,700 4,064 3,963 4,165 75,600 75,700 4,440 4,339 4,541 81,600 81,700 4,816 4,715 4,917
69,700 69,800 4,070 3,969 4,171 75,700 75,800 4,446 4,345 4,547 81,700 81,800 4,822 4,721 4,923
69,800 69,900 4,076 3,975 4177 75,800 75,900 4,453 4,351 4,554 81,800 81,900 4,829 4,728 4,930
69,900 70,000 4,083 3,981 4,184 75,900 76,000 4,459 4,358 4,560 81,900 82,000 4,835 4,734 4,936

70,000 76,000 82,000
70,000 70,100 4,089 3,988 4,190 76,000 76,100 4,465 4,364 4,566 82,000 82,100 4,841 4,740 4,942
70,100 70,200 4,095 3,994 4,196 76,100 76,200 4,471 4,370 4,572 82,100 82,200 4,848 4,746 4,949
70,200 70,300 4,101 4,000 4,202 76,200 76,300 4,478 4,376 4,579 82,200 82,300 4,854 4,753 4,955
70,300 70,400 4,108 4,006 4,209 76,300 76,400 4,484 4,383 4,585 82,300 82,400 4,860 4,759 4,961
70,400 70,500 4,114 4,013 4,215 76,400 76,500 4,490 4,389 4,591 82,400 82,500 4,866 4,765 4,967
70,500 70,600 4,120 4,019 4,221 76,500 76,600 4,496 4,395 4,597 82,500 82,600 4,873 4,771 4,974
70,600 70,700 4,127 4,025 4,228 76,600 76,700 4,503 4,401 4,604 82,600 82,700 4,879 4,778 4,980
70,700 70,800 4,133 4,032 4,234 76,700 76,800 4,509 4,408 4,610 82,700 82,800 4,885 4,784 4,986
70,800 70,900 4,139 4,038 4,240 76,800 76,900 4,515 4,414 4,616 82,800 82,900 4,891 4,790 4,992
70,900 71,000 4,145 4,044 4,246 76,900 77,000 4,522 4,420 4,623 82,900 83,000 4,898 4,797 4,999

Continued on next page
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If line 18 If line 18 If line 18
(Taxable income) is — And you are — (Taxable income) is — And you are — (Taxable income) is — And you are —
Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married Single or | Married | Married
Head filing filing Head filing filing Head filing filing
But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa- But ofa jointly sepa-
At less household rately At less household rately At less household rately
least than . least than . least than .
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
83,000 89,000 95,000
83,000 83,100 4,904 4,803 5,005 | 89,000 89,100 5,280 5,179 5,381 95,000 95,100 5,656 5,555 5,757
83,100 83,200 4,910 4,809 5,011 89,100 89,200 5,286 5,185 5,387 95,100 95,200 5,663 5,561 5,764
83,200 83,300 4,917 4,815 5,018 | 89,200 89,300 5,293 5,192 5,394 | 95,200 95,300 5,669 5,568 5,770
83,300 83,400 4,923 4,822 5,024 | 89,300 89,400 5,299 5,198 5,400 | 95,300 95,400 5,675 5,574 5,776
83,400 83,500 4,929 4,828 5,030 89,400 89,500 5,305 5,204 5,406 95,400 95,500 5,681 5,580 5,782
83,500 83,600 4,935 4,834 5,036 | 89,500 89,600 5,312 5,210 5,413 | 95,500 95,600 5,688 5,587 5,789
83,600 83,700 4,942 4,840 5,043 89,600 89,700 5,318 5,217 5,419 95,600 95,700 5,694 5,593 5,795
83,700 83,800 4,948 4,847 5,049 | 89,700 89,800 5,324 5,223 5,425 | 95,700 95,800 5,700 5,599 5,801
83,800 83,900 4,954 4,853 5,055 | 89,800 89,900 5,330 5,229 5,431 95,800 95,900 5,707 5,605 5,808
83,900 84,000 4,960 4,859 5,061 89,900 90,000 5,337 5,235 5,438 95,900 96,000 5,713 5,612 5,814
84,000 90,000 96,000
84,000 84,100 4,967 4,865 5,068 90,000 90,100 5,343 5,242 5,444 96,000 96,100 5,719 5,618 5,820
84,100 84,200 4,973 4,872 5,074 | 90,100 90,200 5,349 5,248 5,450 | 96,100 96,200 5,725 5,624 5,826
84,200 84,300 4,979 4,878 5,080 | 90,200 90,300 5,355 5,254 5,456 | 96,200 96,300 5,732 5,630 5,833
84,300 84,400 4,985 4,884 5,087 90,300 90,400 5,362 5,260 5,463 96,300 96,400 5,738 5,637 5,839
84,400 84,500 4,992 4,891 5,093 | 90,400 90,500 5,368 5,267 5,469 | 96,400 96,500 5,744 5,643 5,845
84,500 84,600 4,998 4,897 5,099 90,500 90,600 5,374 5,273 5,475 96,500 96,600 5,750 5,649 5,851
84,600 84,700 5,004 4,903 5,105 | 90,600 90,700 5,381 5,279 5,482 | 96,600 96,700 5,757 5,655 5,858
84,700 84,800 5,011 4,909 5,112 | 90,700 90,800 5,387 5,286 5,488 | 96,700 96,800 5,763 5,662 5,864
84,800 84,900 5,017 4,916 5,118 90,800 90,900 5,393 5,292 5,494 96,800 96,900 5,769 5,668 5,870
84,900 85,000 5,023 4,922 5,124 | 90,900 91,000 5,399 5,298 5,500 | 96,900 97,000 5,776 5,674 5,877
85,000 91,000 97,000
85,000 85,100 5,029 4,928 5,130 | 91,000 91,100 5,406 5,304 5,507 | 97,000 97,100 5,782 5,681 5,883
85,100 85,200 5,036 4,934 5,137 | 91,100 91,200 5,412 5,311 5,513 | 97,100 97,200 5,788 5,687 5,889
85,200 85,300 5,042 4,941 5,143 91,200 91,300 5,418 5,317 5,519 97,200 97,300 5,794 5,693 5,895
85,300 85,400 5,048 4,947 5,149 | 91,300 91,400 5,424 5,323 5,525 | 97,300 97,400 5,801 5,699 5,902
85,400 85,500 5,054 4,953 5,155 | 91,400 91,500 5,431 5,329 5,532 | 97,400 97,500 5,807 5,706 5,908
85,500 85,600 5,061 4,960 5,162 | 91,500 91,600 5,437 5,336 5,538 | 97,500 97,600 5,813 5,712 5,914
85,600 85,700 5,067 4,966 5,168 | 91,600 91,700 5,443 5,342 5,544 | 97,600 97,700 5,819 5,718 5,920
85,700 85,800 5,073 4,972 5,174 91,700 91,800 5,449 5,348 5,550 97,700 97,800 5,826 5,724 5,927
85,800 85,900 5,080 4,978 5,181 91,800 91,900 5,456 5,355 5,557 | 97,800 97,900 5,832 5,731 5,933
85,900 86,000 5,086 4,985 5,187 | 91,900 92,000 5,462 5,361 5,563 | 97,900 98,000 5,838 5,737 5,939
86,000 92,000 98,000
86,000 86,100 5,092 4,991 5,193 | 92,000 92,100 5,468 5,367 5,569 | 98,000 98,100 5,844 5,743 5,946
86,100 86,200 5,098 4,997 5,199 92,100 92,200 5,475 5,373 5,576 98,100 98,200 5,851 5,750 5,952
86,200 86,300 5,105 5,003 5,206 | 92,200 92,300 5,481 5,380 5,582 | 98,200 98,300 5,857 5,756 5,958
86,300 86,400 5,111 5,010 5,212 | 92,300 92,400 5,487 5,386 5,588 | 98,300 98,400 5,863 5,762 5,964
86,400 86,500 5,117 5,016 5,218 92,400 92,500 5,493 5,392 5,594 98,400 98,500 5,870 5,768 5,971
86,500 86,600 5,123 5,022 5,224 | 92,500 92,600 5,500 5,398 5,601 98,500 98,600 5,876 5,775 5,977
86,600 86,700 5,130 5,028 5,231 92,600 92,700 5,506 5,405 5,607 98,600 98,700 5,882 5,781 5,983
86,700 86,800 5,136 5,035 5,237 | 92,700 92,800 5,512 5411 5,613 | 98,700 98,800 5,888 5,787 5,989
86,800 86,900 5,142 5,041 5,243 | 92,800 92,900 5,518 5,417 5,619 | 98,800 98,900 5,895 5,793 5,996
86,900 87,000 5,149 5,047 5,250 92,900 93,000 5,525 5,424 5,626 98,900 99,000 5,901 5,800 6,002
87,000 93,000 99,000
87,000 87,100 5,155 5,054 5,256 93,000 93,100 5,531 5,430 5,632 99,000 99,100 5,907 5,806 6,008
87,100 87,200 5,161 5,060 5,262 | 93,100 93,200 5,537 5,436 5,638 | 99,100 99,200 5,913 5,812 6,014
87,200 87,300 5,167 5,066 5,268 | 93,200 93,300 5,544 5,442 5,645 | 99,200 99,300 5,920 5,819 6,021
87,300 87,400 5,174 5,072 5,275 93,300 93,400 5,550 5,449 5,651 99,300 99,400 5,926 5,825 6,027
87,400 87,500 5,180 5,079 5,281 93,400 93,500 5,556 5,455 5,657 | 99,400 99,500 5,932 5,831 6,033
87,500 87,600 5,186 5,085 5,287 93,500 93,600 5,562 5,461 5,663 99,500 99,600 5,939 5,837 6,040
87,600 87,700 5,192 5,091 5,293 | 93,600 93,700 5,569 5,467 5,670 | 99,600 99,700 5,945 5,844 6,046
87,700 87,800 5,199 5,097 5,300 | 93,700 93,800 5,575 5,474 5,676 | 99,700 99,800 5,951 5,850 6,052
87,800 87,900 5,205 5,104 5,306 93,800 93,900 5,581 5,480 5,682 99,800 99,900 5,957 5,856 6,058
87,900 88,000 5,211 5,110 5,312 | 93,900 94,000 5,587 5,486 5,688 | 99,900 100,000 5,964 5,862 6,065
88,000 94,000
88,000 88,100 5,217 5,116 5,319 | 94,000 94,100 5,594 5,492 5,695 ‘
88,100 88,200 5,224 5,123 5,325 | 94,100 94,200 5,600 5,499 5,701
88,200 88,300 5,230 5,129 5,331 94,200 94,300 5,606 5,505 5,707 1 r over —
88,300 88,400 5,236 5,135 5,337 | 94,300 94,400 5,612 5,511 5,714 $ 00,000 or ove
88,400 88,500 5,243 5,141 5,344 | 94,400 94,500 5,619 5,518 5,720 use the
88,500 88,600 | 5249 5148 5,350 | 94,500 94,600 | 5,625 5524 5726 Tax Computation Worksheet
88,600 88,700 5,255 5,154 5,356 | 94,600 94,700 5,631 5,530 5,732 54
88,700 88,800 5261 5160 5,362 | 94,700 94,800 5638 5,536 5,739 on page
88,800 88,900 5,268 5,166 5,369 | 94,800 94,900 5,644 5,543 5,745
88,900 89,000 5,274 5,173 5,375 | 94,900 95,000 5,650 5,549 5,751




54 2017 Tax Computation Worksheet — Line 19

Caution Use the Tax Computation Worksheet to figure your tax if your taxable income is $100,000 or more.

Section A - Use if your filing status is Single or Head of household. Complete the row below that applies to you.

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e)
Taxable income. Fill in the Multiplication Multiply Subtraction | Subtract (d) from (c).
If line 18 is — amount amount (a) by (b) amount Fill in the result here
from line 18 and on Form 1,
line 19

At least $100,000 but o

less than $247,350 $ x6.27% (.0627) | $ $ 30325 | $

$247,350 or over $ X 7.65% (.0765) | $ $3,716.68 | $

Section B — Use if your filing status is Married filing jointly. Complete the row below that applies to you.

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e)
Taxable income. Fill in the Multiplication Multiply Subtraction | Subtract (d) from (c).
If line 18 is — amount amount (a) by (b) amount Fill in the result here
from line 18 and on Form 1,
line 19

At least $100,000 but o

less than $329,810 $ X 6.27% (.0627) | $ $ 40446 | $

$329,810 or over $ X 7.65% (.0765) | $ $4,955.84 | §

Section C - Use if your filing status is Married filing separately. Complete the row below that applies to you.

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e)
Taxable income. Fill in the Multiplication Multiply Subtraction | Subtract (d) from (c).
If line 18 is — amount amount (a) by (b) amount Fill in the result here
from line 18 and on Form 1,
line 19

At least $100,000 but o

less than $164,900 $ X 6.27% (.0627) | $ $ 20223 | $

$164,900 or over $ X 7.65% (.0765) | $ $2,477.85 | $




2017 Standard Deduction Table 95
Dependents or persons filing short-period returns or excluding income from U.S. Possessions, see page 29.
If your income If your income
(line 14 of Form 1) is — And you are — (line 14 of Form 1) is — And you are —
Married Married Head Married Married Head
Single filing filing of a Single filing filing of a
But jointly | separately | household But jointly | separately | household
At less At less
least than Your standard deduction is — least than Your standard deduction is —

0 10,250 10,380 19,210 9,130 13,400 39,500 40,000 7,405 15,618 3,295 7,819
10,250 10,500 10,380 19,210 9,105 13,400 40,000 40,500 7,345 15,519 3,197 7,706
10,500 11,000 10,380 19,210 9,031 13,400 40,500 41,000 7,285 15,421 3,098 7,593
11,000 11,500 10,380 19,210 8,932 13,400 41,000 41,500 7,225 15,322 2,999 7,481
11,500 12,000 10,380 19,210 8,833 13,400 41,500 42,000 7,165 15,223 2,900 7,368
12,000 12,500 10,380 19,210 8,734 13,400 42,000 42,500 7,105 15,124 2,801 7,256
12,500 13,000 10,380 19,210 8,636 13,400 42,500 43,000 7,045 15,025 2,702 7,143
13,000 13,500 10,380 19,210 8,537 13,400 43,000 43,500 6,985 14,926 2,603 7,031
13,500 14,000 10,380 19,210 8,438 13,400 43,500 44,000 6,925 14,827 2,504 6,925
14,000 14,500 10,380 19,210 8,339 13,400 44,000 44,500 6,865 14,728 2,405 6,865
14,500 15,000 10,380 19,210 8,240 13,400 44,500 45,000 6,805 14,629 2,307 6,805
15,000 15,500 10,345 19,210 8,141 18,283 45,000 45,500 6,745 14,531 2,208 6,745
15,500 16,000 10,285 19,210 8,042 13,222 45,500 46,000 6,685 14,432 2,109 6,685
16,000 16,500 10,225 19,210 7,943 13,110 46,000 46,500 6,625 14,333 2,010 6,625
16,500 17,000 10,165 19,210 7,844 12,997 46,500 47,000 6,565 14,234 1,911 6,565
17,000 17,500 10,105 19,210 7,746 12,884 47,000 47,500 6,505 14,135 1,812 6,505
17,500 18,000 10,045 19,210 7,647 12,772 47,500 48,000 6,445 14,036 1,713 6,445
18,000 18,500 9,985 19,210 7,548 12,659 48,000 48,500 6,385 13,937 1,614 6,385
18,500 19,000 9,925 19,210 7,449 12,547 48,500 49,000 6,325 13,838 1,515 6,325
19,000 19,500 9,865 19,210 7,350 12,434 49,000 49,500 6,265 13,739 1,417 6,265
19,500 20,000 9,805 19,210 7,251 12,322 49,500 50,000 6,205 13,641 1,318 6,205
20,000 20,500 9,745 19,210 7,152 12,209 50,000 50,500 6,145 13,542 1,219 6,145
20,500 21,000 9,685 19,210 7,053 12,096 50,500 51,000 6,085 13,443 1,120 6,085
21,000 21,500 9,625 19,210 6,954 11,984 51,000 51,500 6,025 13,344 1,021 6,025
21,500 22,000 9,565 19,178 6,856 11,871 51,500 52,000 5,965 13,245 922 5,965
22,000 22,500 9,505 19,079 6,757 11,759 52,000 52,500 5,905 13,146 823 5,905
22,500 23,000 9,445 18,981 6,658 11,646 52,500 53,000 5,845 13,047 724 5,845
23,000 23,500 9,385 18,882 6,559 11,534 53,000 53,500 5,785 12,948 625 5,785
23,500 24,000 9,325 18,783 6,460 11,421 53,500 54,000 5,725 12,849 527 5,725
24,000 24,500 9,265 18,684 6,361 11,308 54,000 54,500 5,665 12,751 428 5,665
24,500 25,000 9,205 18,585 6,262 11,196 54,500 55,000 5,605 12,652 329 5,605
25,000 25,500 9,145 18,486 6,163 11,083 55,000 55,500 5,545 12,553 230 5,545
25,500 26,000 9,085 18,387 6,064 10,971 55,500 56,000 5,485 12,454 131 5,485
26,000 26,500 9,025 18,288 5,966 10,858 56,000 56,500 5,425 12,355 32 5,425
26,500 27,000 8,965 18,189 5,867 10,745 56,500 57,000 5,365 12,256 0 5,365
27,000 27,500 8,905 18,091 5,768 10,633 57,000 57,500 5,305 12,157 0 5,305
27,500 28,000 8,845 17,992 5,669 10,520 57,500 58,000 5,245 12,058 0 5,245
28,000 28,500 8,785 17,893 5,570 10,408 58,000 58,500 5,185 11,959 0 5,185
28,500 29,000 8,725 17,794 5,471 10,295 58,500 59,000 5,125 11,860 0 5,125
29,000 29,500 8,665 17,695 5,372 10,183 59,000 59,500 5,065 11,762 0 5,065
29,500 30,000 8,605 17,596 5,273 10,070 59,500 60,000 5,005 11,663 0 5,005
30,000 30,500 8,545 17,497 5,174 9,957 60,000 60,500 4,945 11,564 0 4,945
30,500 31,000 8,485 17,398 5,076 9,845 60,500 61,000 4,885 11,465 0 4,885
31,000 31,500 8,425 17,299 4,977 9,732 61,000 61,500 4,825 11,366 0 4,825
31,500 32,000 8,365 17,201 4,878 9,620 61,500 62,000 4,765 11,267 0 4,765
32,000 32,500 8,305 17,102 4,779 9,507 62,000 62,500 4,705 11,168 0 4,705
32,500 33,000 8,245 17,003 4,680 9,395 62,500 63,000 4,645 11,069 0 4,645
33,000 33,500 8,185 16,904 4,581 9,282 63,000 63,500 4,585 10,970 0 4,585
33,500 34,000 8,125 16,805 4,482 9,169 63,500 64,000 4,525 10,872 0 4,525
34,000 34,500 8,065 16,706 4,383 9,057 64,000 64,500 4,465 10,773 0 4,465
34,500 35,000 8,005 16,607 4,284 8,944 64,500 65,000 4,405 10,674 0 4,405
35,000 35,500 7,945 16,508 4,186 8,832 65,000 65,500 4,345 10,575 0 4,345
35,500 36,000 7,885 16,409 4,087 8,719 65,500 66,000 4,285 10,476 0 4,285
36,000 36,500 7,825 16,311 3,988 8,607 66,000 66,500 4,225 10,377 0 4,225
36,500 37,000 7,765 16,212 3,889 8,494 66,500 67,000 4,165 10,278 0 4,165
37,000 37,500 7,705 16,113 3,790 8,381 67,000 67,500 4,105 10,179 0 4,105
37,500 38,000 7,645 16,014 3,691 8,269 67,500 68,000 4,045 10,080 0 4,045
38,000 38,500 7,585 15,915 3,592 8,156 68,000 68,500 3,985 9,982 0 3,985
38,500 39,000 7,525 15,816 3,493 8,044 68,500 69,000 3,925 9,883 0 3,925
39,000 39,500 7,465 15,717 3,394 7,931 69,000 69,500 3,865 9,784 0 3,865

Continued on next page
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2017 Standard Deduction Table

(continued from page 55)

If your income

(line 14 of Form 1) is —

And you are —

If your income

(line 14 of Form 1) is —

And you are —

Married Married Head Married Married Head
Single filing filing of a Single filing filing of a
But jointly | separately | household But jointly | separately | household
At less At less
least than Your standard deduction is — least than Your standard deduction is —
69,500 70,000 3,805 9,685 0 3,805 99,500 100,000 205 3,752 0 205
70,000 70,500 3,745 9,586 0 3,745 100,000 100,500 145 3,653 0 145
70,500 71,000 3,685 9,487 0 3,685 100,500 101,000 85 3,554 0 85
71,000 71,500 3,625 9,388 0 3,625 101,000 101,500 25 3,455 0 25
71,500 72,000 3,565 9,289 0 3,565 101,500 102,000 0 3,356 0 0
72,000 72,500 3,505 9,190 0 3,505 102,000 102,500 0 3,257 0 0
72,500 73,000 3,445 9,092 0 3,445 102,500 103,000 0 3,158 0 0
73,000 73,500 3,385 8,993 0 3,385 103,000 103,500 0 3,059 0 0
73,500 74,000 BES25! 8,894 0 BES25! 103,500 104,000 0 2,960 0 0
74,000 74,500 3,265 8,795 0 3,265 104,000 104,500 0 2,862 0 0
74,500 75,000 3,205 8,696 0 3,205 104,500 105,000 0 2,763 0 0
75,000 75,500 3,145 8,597 0 3,145 105,000 105,500 0 2,664 0 0
75,500 76,000 3,085 8,498 0 3,085 105,500 106,000 0 2,565 0 0
76,000 76,500 3,025 8,399 0 3,025 106,000 106,500 0 2,466 0 0
76,500 77,000 2,965 8,300 0 2,965 106,500 107,000 0 2,367 0 0
77,000 77,500 2,905 8,202 0 2,905 107,000 107,500 0 2,268 0 0
77,500 78,000 2,845 8,103 0 2,845 107,500 108,000 0 2,169 0 0
78,000 78,500 2,785 8,004 0 2,785 108,000 108,500 0 2,070 0 0
78,500 79,000 2,725 7,905 0 2,725 108,500 109,000 0 1,971 0 0
79,000 79,500 2,665 7,806 0 2,665 109,000 109,500 0 1,873 0 0
79,500 80,000 2,605 7,707 0 2,605 109,500 110,000 0 1,774 0 0
80,000 80,500 2,545 7,608 0 2,545 110,000 110,500 0 1,675 0 0
80,500 81,000 2,485 7,509 0 2,485 110,000 110,500 0 1,675 0 0
81,000 81,500 2,425 7,410 0 2,425 110,500 111,000 0 1,576 0 0
81,500 82,000 2,365 7,312 0 2,365 111,000 111,500 0 1,477 0 0
82,000 82,500 2,305 7,213 0 2,305 111,500 112,000 0 1,378 0 0
82,500 83,000 2,245 7,114 0 2,245 112,000 112,500 0 1,279 0 0
83,000 83,500 2,185 7,015 0 2,185 112,500 113,000 0 1,180 0 0
83,500 84,000 2,125 6,916 0 2,125 113,000 113,500 0 1,081 0 0
84,000 84,500 2,065 6,817 0 2,065 113,500 114,000 0 983 0 0
84,500 85,000 2,005 6,718 0 2,005 114,000 114,500 0 884 0 0
85,000 85,500 1,945 6,619 0 1,945 114,500 115,000 0 785 0 0
85,500 86,000 1,885 6,520 0 1,885 115,000 115,500 0 686 0 0
86,000 86,500 1,825 6,422 0 1,825 115,500 116,000 0 587 0 0
86,500 87,000 1,765 6,323 0 1,765 116,000 116,500 0 488 0 0
87,000 87,500 1,705 6,224 0 1,705 116,500 117,000 0 389 0 0
87,500 88,000 1,645 6,125 0 1,645 117,000 117,500 0 290 0 0
88,000 88,500 1,585 6,026 0 1,585 117,500 118,000 0 191 0 0
88,500 89,000 1,525 5,927 0 1,525 118,000 118,500 0 93 0 0
89,000 89,500 1,465 5,828 0 1,465 118,500 118,718 0 22 0 0
89,500 90,000 1,405 5,729 0 1,405 118,718 or over 0 0 0 0
90,000 90,500 1,345 5,630 0 1,345
90,500 91,000 1,285 5,532 0 1,285
91,000 91,500 1,225 5,433 0 1,225
91,500 92,000 1,165 5,334 0 1,165
92,000 92,500 1,105 53285 0 1,105
92,500 93,000 1,045 5,136 0 1,045
93,000 93,500 985 5,037 0 985
93,500 94,000 925 4,938 0 925
94,000 94,500 865 4,839 0 865
94,500 95,000 805 4,740 0 805
95,000 95,500 745 4,642 0 745
95,500 96,000 685 4,543 0 685
96,000 96,500 625 4,444 0 625
96,500 97,000 565 4,345 0 565
97,000 97,500 505 4,246 0 505
97,500 98,000 445 4,147 0 445
98,000 98,500 385 4,048 0 385
98,500 99,000 325 3,949 0 325
99,000 99,500 265 3,850 0 265




Wisconsin School District Number 57

Appearing below is an alphabetical listing of Wisconsin school districts.  the name of any specific school. Fill in only your school district’s number
Refer to this listing and find the number of the district in which you lived on the school district line in the name and address area of your return.
on December 31, 2017. Fill in this number in the name and address area For example:

of your return. Failure to include your school district number may delay 1

the processing of your return and any refund due. If you lived in the city of Milwaukee, you will fill in the number 3619

on the school district line.

Thelistingis divided into two sections. SECTION I lists all districts which 2. If you lived in the city of Hartford, you would refer to Section Il and
operate high schools. SECTION Il lists those districts which operate find the number 2443, which is the number for Jt. No. 1 Hartford
schools having only elementary grades. elementary district.

Your school district will generally be the name of the municipality  The following are other factors to be considered in determining your
where the public high school is located which any children at your school district number:

home would be entitled to attend. However, if such high school is a 1
“union high school,” refer to SECTION Il and find the number of your )
elementary district.

If you lived in one school district but worked in another, fill in the
district number where you lived.

2. If you were temporarily living away from your permanent home, fill
The listing has the names of the school districts only to help you find in the district number of your permanent home.
your district number. Don’t write in the name of your school district or

Note If you can’t identify your school district, contact your municipal clerk or local school for help.
SECTION I - School Districts Operating High Schools

School District No. School District School District No. School District No. School District No. School District No.
ABBOTSFORD ... ...0007 CLEAR LAKE . GREENFIELD .. MCFARLAND . .3381 PESHTIGO 4305 STEVENS POINT .. 5607
CLINTON GREEN LAKE .. MEDFORD .. PEWAUKEE .. 4312 STOCKBRIDGE . 5614
CLINTONV . . GREENWOOD MELLEN PHELPS ..... 4330 STOUGHTON . 5621
COCHRANE- GRESHAM MELROSE-M O .. PHILLIPS ... 4347 STRATFORD .. 5628

PITTSVILLE ..

HA 4368 STURGEON BA
MENOMINEE INDIAN ... 3434 PLATTEVILLE

HAMILTON . 4389 SUN PRAIRIE . 5656
ALMOND- HARTFORD UHS * MENOMONEE FALLS ..3437 PLUMCITY ... SUPERIOR ..
BANCROFT ...........0105 COLFAX...... HAYWARD ... 2478 MENOMONIE ............. PLYMOUTH SURING
ALTOONA . HIGHLAND 2527 MEQUON- PORTAGE ...
AMERY . HILBERT ... 2534 THIENSVILLE PORT EDWARDS THORP
ANTIGO HILLSBORO . 2541 MERCER .... PORT WASHINGTON- THREE LAKES 5733
APPLETON .. 0147 CRIVITZ .. HOLMEN .. MERRILL ... SAUKVILLE . TIGERTON ..
ARCADIA .. 0154 CUBACITY . . HORICON . MIDDLETON-CROSS POTOSI ........ TOMAH ...
ARGYLE ... 0161 CUDAHY ..... . HORTONVILLE AREA .. 2583 PLAINS .. POYNETTE .. TOMAHAWK
ARROWHEAD UHS * CUMBERLAND .. HOWARD-SUAMICO .... 2604 PRAIRIE DU CHIEN 4543 TOMORROW RIVER ....0126
ASHLAND ........... 0170 HOWARDS GROVE ..... PRAIRIE FARM ... 4557 TRI-COUNTY
ASHWAUBENON 0182 D C EVEREST ... HUDSON .. PRENTICE ... 4571 TURTLE LAKE
ATHENS ... 0196 DARLINGTON HURLEY ... MISHICOT PRESCOTT .. 4578 TWO RIVERS ...
AUBURNDALE DEERFIELD .. HUSTISFORD . MONDOV . PRINCETON .
AUGUSTA DE FOREST . MONONA GROVE .3675 PULASKI UNION GROVE UHS ... *
DELAVAN-DARIEN INDEPENDENCE ......... MONROE . 3682 UNITY L
DENMARK . IOLA-SCANDINAVIA .. MONTELLO .3689 RACINE
DE PERE IOWA-GRANT .. MONTICELLO .3696 RANDOLPH .. VALDERS ...
DE SOTO ... ITHACA MOSINEE ....... .3787 RANDOM LAKE VERONA ..
DODGELAND MOUNT HOREB .3794 REEDSBURG VIROQUA ...
DODGEVILLE JANESVILLE ... MUKWONAGO .. .3822 REEDSVILLE
BAYFIELD . DRUMMOND . JEFFERSON ... MUSKEGO-NOR! ...3857 RHINELANDE WABENO
BEAVER DA DURAND JOHNSON CREEK . RIB LAKE ...... WASHBURN
BEECHER-DUN JUDA NECEDAH .. . RICE LAKE WASHINGTO
PEMBINE ... EAST TROY ... NEENAH ... RICHLAND WATERFORD UH
BELLEVILLE EAU CLAIRE . KAUKAUNA . NEILLSVILLE .. RIO ........... WATERLOO ..
BELMONT EDGAR ....... KENOSHA . NEKOOSA ... .3906 RIPON ARE. WATERTOWN
BELOIT ..... EDGERTON KETTLE MORAINE NEW AUBURN .3920 RIVERDALE . WAUKESHA .
BELOIT TURNER ELCHO ....... KEWASKUM . NEW BERLIN . .3925 RIVERFALLS .. WAUNAKEE
BENTON ELEVA-STRUM . KEWAUNEE . NEW GLARUS .3934 RIVERRIDGE . WAUPACA
BERLIN ..... ELKHART LAKE- KICKAPOO NEW HOLSTEIN .3941 RIVERVALLEY ... WAUPUN .
BIG FOOT UHS GLENBEULAH . KIEL ....... NEW LISBON ... .3948 ROSENDALE- WAUSAU .
BIRCHWOOD . ELKHORN ... .1638 KIMBERLY NEW LONDON .. . 3955 BRANDON WAUSAUKEE .
BLACK HAWK .. ELK MOUND . .1645 KOHLER ... NEW RICHMOND . .3962 ROSHOLT .. WAUTOMA ..
BLACK RIVER FALLS 0476 ELLSWORTH ROYALL WAUWATOSA . 62
BLAIR-TAYLOR . ...0485 ELMBROOK .. LACROSSE ... WAUZEKA-STEUBEN .. 6251
BLOOMER ... 0497 ELMWOOD . LADYSMITH . .3 SAINT CROIX WEBSTER ... 6293
BONDUEL . 0602 EVANSVILLE . LAFARGE .... NORTH CRAWFORD ... 2016 CENTRAL ............... 2422 WESTALLIS 6300
BOSCOBEL AREA 0609 LAKE GENEVA- NORTH FOND DU LAC 3983  SAINT CROIX FALLS ...5019 WEST BEND .. 6307
BOWLER ........ 0623 FALL CREEK . GENOACITY UHS ... NORTHERN OZAUKEE 1945 SAINT FRANCIS .......... WEST SALEM
BOYCEVILLE 0637 FALLRIVER .. LAKE HOLCOMBE ....... NORTHLAND PINES .... 1526  SAUK PRAIRIE WESTBY .........
BRILLION ... 0658 FENNIMORE . LAKELAND UHS NORTHWOOD .............. 3654 SENECA ....... WEST DE PERE
BRODHEAD 0700 FLAMBEAU ... . LAKE MILLS ... NORWALK-ONTARIO- SEVASTOPOL . WESTFIELD
BROWN DEER FLORENCE CO .1855 LANCASTER WILTON . .3 SEYMOUR . WESTON .
BRUCE FOND DU LAC .. .1862 LAONA SHAWANO WEYAUWE
BURLINGT FORT ATKINSON . .1883 LENA ... 2961 OAK CREEK- SHEBOYGAN .. FREMONT
BUTTERNUT . FRANKLIN . 3129 FRANKLIN . SHEBOYGAN F, WHITEFISH BAY 6419
FREDERIC . 3150 OAKFIELD ...... . SHELL LAKE ... WHITEHALL ... 6426
CADOTT ..o 0870 FREEDOM 3171 OCONOMOWO! . SHIOCTON ... WHITE LAKE .. 6440
CAMBRIA-FRIESLAND 0882 3206 OCONTO ........... . SHOREWOOD WHITEWATER 6461
CAMBRIDGE . ..0896 GALESVILLE-ETTRICK- LUCK ..3213 OCONTO FALLS . SHULLSBURG WHITNALL ... 6470
CAMERON ... 0903 TREMPEALEAU ...... 2009 LUXEMBURG-CASCO 3220 OMRO ... SIREN ... WILD ROSE . 6475
CAMPBELLSPORT 0910 GERMANTOWN ... ONALASKA . SLINGER WILLIAMS BAY 6482
CASHTON GIBRALTAR ... MADISON . OOSTBURG SOLON SPRINGS WILMOT UHS . *
CASSVILLE . GILLETT . MANAWA .. OREGON .... SOMERSET WINNECONNE 6608
CEDARBURG . GILMAN .. . MANITOWOC OSCEOLA SOUTH MILWAUKEE ... 5439 WINTER 6615
CEDAR GROVE- GILMANTON . . MAPLE ............ OSHKOSH . SOUTH SHORE ........... 4522  WISCONSIN DELLS ..... 6678
BELGIUM ................. 1029 GLENWOOD CITY ....... 2198 MARATHON CITY OSSEO-FAIRCHILD ... 4186 SOUTHERN DOOR CO 5457 WISCONSIN HEIGHTS 0469
CENTRAL/WESTOSHA * GOODMAN- MARINETTE . . OWEN-WITHEE .......... 4207 SOUTHWESTERN WISCONSIN RAPIDS ... 6685
CHEQUAMEGON ......... 1071 ARMSTRONG .. MARION ... 3318 WISCONSIN ............ WITTENBERG-
CHETEK- GRAFTON ... MARKESAN .. 3325 PALMYRA-EAGLE .......4221 SPARTA ... BIRNAMWOOD ........ 6692
WEYERHAEUSER ... 1080 GRANTON .. MARSHALL .. 3332 PARDEEVILLE . SPENCER . WONEWOC UNION
CHILTON ............... 10 GRANTSBURG . MARSHFIELD .. 3339 PARKVIEW ... . SPOONER ... CE ....6713
CHIPPEWA FALLS GREEN BAY .. MAUSTON ... PECATONICA . SPRING VALLEY . WRIGHTSTOWN ...6734
CLAYTON GREENDALE . MAYVILLE ... PEPIN STANLEY-BOYD ..

*This is a “Union High School” district. Refer to Section Il of this listing and determine the number of your elementary school district.

SECTION Il - School Districts Operating Only Elementary Schools

BRIGHTON, #1 .. GLENDALE- LAKE COUNTRY ........ 3862 NORTH CAPE ... RICHMOND UNION GROVE, JT #1 ..5859
BRISTOL, #1 ... RIVERHILLS ......... 2184 LAKE GENEVA, JT #1 ..2885 NORTH LAKE ... SA WALWORTH, JT#1 ... 6022
DOVER, #1 HARTFORD, JT#1 ... 2443  LINN, JT #4 .. ....3087 NORTH LAKELA WASHINGTON-

ERIN .......... HARTLAND- LINN, JT #6 .. NORWAY, JT #7 . . SILVER LAKE JT CALDWELL .............. 6104
FONTANA, JT . LAKESIDE, JT #3 .....2460 MAPLE DALE- PARIS, JT#1 ... " STONE BANK . WATERFORD, JT #1 ....6113
FOX POINT, JT#2 .......1890 HERMAN-NEOSHO- INDIAN HILL ............. 1897 RANDALL, JT #1 . SWALLOW ....... WHEATLAND, JT #1 ... 6412
FRIESS LAKE .... 4843 RUBICON ................. 2525 MERTON COMMUNITY 3528 RAYMOND, #14 ... 4 TREVOR-WILMOT .. WOODRUFF, JT #1 ..
GENEVA, JT #4 . .2044 LAC DU MINOCQUA, JT#1 ... 3640 RICHFIELD, JT#1 ........ 4820 TWIN LAKES, #4 ... YORKVILLE, JT #2

GENOACITY, JT#2 ...... 2051 FLAMBEAU, #1 ........ 1848
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