Wisconsin Department of Revenue

SALES AND USE

TAX REPORT

I. EAU CLAIRE AND WASHINGTON
COUNTIES ADOPT COUNTY TAX

Beginning January 1, 1999, the 0.5% county tax
will be in effect in Eau Claire and Washington
Counties. More information about the county tax
will be provided in the December issue of the Sales
and Use Tax Report.

II. MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS’
MEASURE OF USE TAX
INCREASED TO $104

Wisconsin licensed motor vehicle dealers are
permitted to report use tax on a certain dollar amount
per plate per month for the use of motor vehicles
assigned to certain employes and dealership owners.

Effective January 1, 1999, the amount subject to
use tax is increased from $102 to $104 per plate per
month. (Note: The use tax per plate per month is
not $104. Rather, $104 is multiplied by the use tax
rate (5%, 5.1%, 5.5%, or 5.6%) to arrive at the use
tax due per plate per month.)

The Department of Revenue, by law, annually adjusts
the amount subject to use tax to reflect the annual
percentage change in the U.S. Consumer Price Index
for All Urban Customers, U.S. City Average, as
determined by the U.S. Department of Labor for the
12 month period ending June 30. The percentage
change for the period July 1997 to June 1998 was
1.8% ($102 X 1.018 = $104 rounded to the nearest
whole dollar).

III. APPLICATION OF $10 LATE
FILING FEE

A sales and use tax return that is not timely filed is
subject to a $10 late filing fee, unless the return was
filed late because of one of the following:

September 1998

A. Reasonable cause and not because of neglect
(effective for returns filed for periods beginning
on or after January 1, 1999).

B. Death of the person required to file (effective
for notices mailed on or after May 6, 1994).

C. The Department of Revenue failed to issue a
seller’s permit or use tax registration certificate
within 30 days of the receipt of an application
for the permit or certificate accompanied by the
business tax registration fee and security, if
required (effective May 10, 1980).

If a person files its sales and use tax return late, the
person may receive a notice from the Department of
Revenue showing imposition of the $10 late filing
fee. If the return was filed late for any of the three
reasons stated above, an appeal may be filed with
the department within 60 days of the person’s
receipt of the notice imposing the $10 late filing fee.

IV. WHEN DOES COUNTY USE TAX
APPLY?

A county use tax of 0.5% is imposed upon every
person storing, using, or consuming personal
property or services in a county with a county tax,
with the following three exceptions:

[. No county use tax will be imposed if {(a) a
receipt indicates county sales tax has been paid,
or (b} county use tax has been paid as described
in the *“Contractors” and “Motor Vehicles,
Boats, Etc.” parts that follow.

2. No county use tax will be imposed if the buyer
purchased property in a sale consummated in a
Wisconsin county that does not have a county
tax and the property is later brought by the



buyer into a county with a tax. {(see exceptions
for “Contractors” and “Motor Vehicles, Boats,
Etc.” that follow).

Example: Company A, located in
Milwaukee County, purchases a computer in
Waukesha County (i.e., Company A takes
possession of the computer in Waukesha
County). Company A brings the computer to
Milwaukee County where it is used.
Company A is not subject to Milwaukee
County use tax on its purchase of the
computer because the sale was consummated
in Waukesha County, which does not have a
county tax.

3. If the buyer has paid a similar local tax in
another state on the purchase of the same
property or services, that tax may be credited
against the county use tax.

Example: Company B, located in a county
with a county tax, purchases an office
machine for $10,000 from an Chio seller
who has not charged the 5% Wisconsin use
tax of $500 or the 0.5% county use tax of
$50. Any Ohio sales tax paid by Company B
to the seller may be credited against the $500
Wisconsin use tax. If a county sales tax of an
Ohio county was also paid by Company B,
that tax may be credited against the $50
Wisconsin county use tax.

Contractors: County use tax is imposed on tangible
personal property that is used in constructing,
altering, repairing, or improving real property and
that becomes a component part of real property in
any of the counties with a county tax. However,
there will be no county use tax if the contractor paid
county sales tax in Wisconsin. A similar local sales
tax paid in another state is allowed as a credit in
computing the Wisconsin county use tax.

Example: Company B is hired to build a retail
store in Milwaukee County. Company B
purchases (takes possession of) building materials
for constructing the retail store in a county that
does not have the county tax. Company B is
subject to county use tax on its purchase of
building materials it uses in real property
construction in Milwaukee County.

Motor Vehicles, Boats, Etc.: County use tax is
imposed upon every motor vehicle, boat,

snowmobile, mobile home 45 feet or less in length,
trailer, semitrailer, all-terrain vehicle, or aircraft, if
(a) that property must be registered or titled with the
State of Wisconsin, and (b) that property is to be
customarily kept in a county with a county tax.

Example: “A” buys a car for $5,000 from “B”,
who is not a motor vehicle dealer. “A” is a
resident of Dane County and will keep the car at
his residence. “A”™ must file an Application for
Title/Registration (Form MV-1) with the
Department of Transportation and include with
this form the 5% state use tax of $250 and the
0.5% Dane County use tax of $25.

Example: “A” (the resident of Dane County)
buys a car for 85,000 from “C,” who is a motor
vehicle dealer in a county which does not have
the county tax. “C” must remit the 5% state sales
tax of $250 and the county use tax of $25 to the
Department of Revenue.

V.  WISCONSIN/MINNESOTA
SALES TAX SEMINARS

The Wisconsin and Minnesota Departments of
Revenue will again present a series of joint sales and
use tax seminars this fall. The seminars will include
information on differences between the two states’
laws as they apply to general businesses. (Note:
Seminars for contractors will likely be scheduled in
the spring of 1999.)

You are invited to attend any of these seminars, free
of charge. All three seminars are from 9:00 a.m. to
12:30 p.m. To register or for more information, call
the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 1-800-888-
6231.
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October 6, 1998 ~ Duluth, MN
Minnesota Department of Revenue Office
2711 West Superior Street

H K Kk %k ok ok ok ok ok sk sk ok ok ok ok % ok ok

QOctober 13, 1998 -~ Hudson, WI
Hudson House
1616 Crestview Drive
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October 20, 1998 - Winona, MN
St. Mary’s University
700 Terrace Heights Drive
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