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I. COMPLETE USE TAX INFORMATION ON 
RETµRN 

If you make purchases of tangible personal property or 
taxable services without payment of Wisconsin sales tax, 
you may owe Wisconsin use tax. 

Common examples of items which are subject to Wisconsin 
use tax if a sales tax has not been paid are: 

- Office furniture and equipment 
- Office supplies 
- Cleaning supplies 
- Prizes or merchandise given away free 

In reporting Wisconsin use tax on your Wisconsin sales and 
use tax return (Form ST-12), make sure you: 

A._ Complete lines 17 through 20 by entering the purchase 
pnce of the items on which you are reporting use tax. Refer 
to the sales and use tax return instructions for lines 17 
through 20 for additional information. 

B. Complete lines 21 through 23 reporting your state and 
county use tax liability. 

C. Complete Schedule CT on the back of your return if you 
are reporting a county use tax liability. 

Failure to properly complete lines 17 through 20,and Sched­
ule CT if applicable, of your sales and use tax return when 
you have included. amounts on lines 21 through 23 may 
result i~ your return being sent back to you for proper 
completion. 

II, LOOKING FOR ANSWERS TO 
WISCONSIN TAX QUESTIONS? 

Consider subscribing to the following: 

Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 

The Wisconsin Tax Bulletin (WTB) provides you with up-to­
date information about Wisconsin sales, income, franchise, 
and other tax laws. It contains articles, summaries of court 
d~isioi:is, priv~te letter rulings, and question and answer 
discussions of important tax issues you may not find else­
where. 

The WTB, which costs $7 per year, is published quarterly by 
the ':"1sconsm Department of Revenue. In addition, you will 
receive an annual WfB special issue which explains new tax 
laws. 

Topical and Court Case Index 

T~e Topi~! and Court Case Index, which is published by the 
W1sconsm Department of Revenue, is a two-part index. 

The first part (a Topical Index) will help you find the 
particular Wisconsin Statute, administrative rule, Wisconsin 
Tax Bulletin tax release and private letter ruling, or Attorney 
General opinion that deals with your question. The second 
part (a Court Case Index) will help you find Wisconsin court 
decisions relating to your questions. 

The Topical and Court Case Index, which is published annu­
ally in December, sells for $14 (plus sales tax) per copy. That 
pnce mcludesan addendum of updated information which 
will be provided the following May. 

The Wisconsin Tax Bulletin and the Topical and Court Case 
Index can be purchased from: Wisconsin Department of 
Administration, Document Sales, P.O. Box 7840, Madison, 
WI 53707-7840 (telephone (608)266-3358) 

III. JUNEAU AND SAUK COUNTIES 
ADOPT COUNTY TAX 

Asof April 1, 1992, there will bea 1/2% county sales and use 
tax in 42 Wisconsin counties. Juneau and Sauk are the two 
new counties which have adopted the tax effective April 1 
1992. ' 

Listed below are the 42 counties and the effective date for 
each county's tax. (Note: The county code assigned by the 
department for each county is in parenthesis following the 
county _name. This code may be helpful for computer pro­
gramming purposes.) 

Effective Effective 
County Date County Date 

Ashland (02) 4/1/88 Marathon (37) 4/1/87 
Barron (03) 4/1/86 Marquette (39) 4/1/89 
Bayfield (04) 4/1/91 Milwaukee (40) 4/1/91 
Buffalo (06) 4/1/87 Monroe (41) 4/1/90 
Burnett (07) 4/1/89 Oneida (43) 4/1/87 
Chippewa (09) 4/1/91 Ozaukee (45) 4/1/91 
Columbia (11) 4/1/89 Pepin (46) 4/1 /91 
Crawford (12) 4/1/91 Pierce (47) 4/1/88 
Dane (13) 4/1 /91 Polk (48) 4/1/88 
Door (15) 4/1/88 Portage ( 49) 4/1/89 
Douglas (16) 4/1/91 Richland (52) 4/1/89 
Dunn (17) 4/1/86 Rusk (54) 4/1/87 
Iowa (25) 4/1/87 St. Croix (55) 4/1/87 
Iron (26) 4/1/91 Sauk (56) 4/1/92 
Jackson (27) 4/1/87 Sawyer (57) 4/1/87 
Jefferson (28) 4/1/91 Shawano (58) 4/1/90 
Juneau (29) 4/1/92 Vilas (63) 4/1/88 
Kenosha (30) 4/1/91 Walworth (64) 4/1/87 
La Crosse (32) 4/1/90 Washburn (65) 4/1/91 
Langlade (34) 4/1/88 Waupaca (68) 4/1/89 
Lincoln (35) 4/1/87 Waushara (69) 4/1 /90 



Refer to the December 1991 Tax Report which was sent to you 
in December 1991. It describes the types of property and 
services which are subject to county taxes and which retail­
ers are liable for county taxes. 

If you have any questions about the state or county sales or 
use tax, call or visit any Department of Revenue office or 
write to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 
8902, Madison, WI 53708-8902 (telephone (608)266-2776). 

IV. MANUFACTURER'S REBATES 

A manufacturer's cash rebate is not a reduction in the 
retailer's gross receipts or sales price for purposes of com­
puting Wisconsin sales or use tax. The rebate is included in 
gross receipts or sales price, even if the rebate is paid in cash 
or is used to reduce the selling price. 

Example 1: An automobile is sold for a sticker price of 
$18,000. The manufacturer offers a $1,500 rebate with the 
purchase of the automobile. The customer pays the automo­
bile dealer $18,000 and later receives $1,500 directly from 
the manufacturer. The automobile dealer must compute 
Wisconsin sales or use tax on total gross receipts of $18,000. 

Example 2: An automobile is sold for a sticker price of 
$18,000. The manufacturer offers a $1,500 rebate with the 
purchase of the automobile. The customer elects to apply 
the rebate against the purchase price of the automobile. The 
rebate is paid directly to the automobile dealer by the 
manufacturer. Therefore, the customer pays the automobile 
dealer $16,500 ($18,000 sticker price less $1,500 rebate) for 
the automobile. The automobile dealer must compute Wis­
consin sales or use tax on total gross receipts of $18,000. 

V. PRIZES AND OTHER FREE MERCHANDISE 

The sale of tangible personal property, such as a radio, 
compact disc, or an automobile, to a person that will give 
away the property as a gift or a contest prize is subject to 
Wisconsin sales or use tax. The person or organization liable 
for the tax is the person or organization who gives the 
property a way, not the person who receives the prize or gift. 

Anyone, except for those organizations described in 1 
through 6 below, purchasing tangible personal property to 
be given as a gift or prize should pay sales or use tax on the 
property at the time of purchase. If no sales or use tax was 
paid at the time of purchase, a use tax is due on the purchase 
price of the property. 

Organizations That Can Purchase Exempt 

1. The United States government or any of its agencies or 
instrumentalities. 

2. The State of Wisconsin or any of its agencies. 

3. Any Wisconsin county, city, village, town, or school 
district. 

4. Any unit of Wisconsin government or an agency or 
instrumentality of one or more units of Wisconsin gov­
ernment. 

5. A Wisconsin city-county hospital established by ordi­
nance of a Wisconsin county and Wisconsin city or cities. 

6. Any corporation, community chest fund, foundation, or 
association organized and operated exclusively for reli­
gious, charitable, scientific, or educational purposes, or 
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for the prevention of cruelty to children or animals 
(except hospital service insurance corporations under 
sec. 613.80(2), Wis. Stats.) no part of the net income of 
which inures to the benefit of any private stockholder, 
shareholder, member, or corporation. 

Exception: When a person purchases property for resale or 
for another exempt purpose under a valid exemption certifi­
cate but donates the property to any of the entities described 
in 1 through 6 above, the person or organization making the 
donation is not subject to Wisconsin use tax on its purchase 
of the property. 

Example: An automobile dealer purchases automobiles 
without Wisconsin sales or use tax from a manufacturer for 
resale. The dealer donates one of these automobiles to a 
church that will hold a raffle of the automobile. The dealer 
is not subject to Wisconsin use tax on its purchase price of 
the automobile because it donated the automobile to an 
exempt organization. The winner of the automobile is also 
not subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax on the automobile. 

VI. SALES TO GOVERNMENTAL UNITS 

Sales made directly to the following governmental units are 
not subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax: 

1. United States or any of its agencies or instrumentalities. 

2. State of Wisconsin or any of its agencies. 

3. Any Wisconsin county, city, village, town, or school 
district. 

4. Any unit of Wisconsin government or an agency or 
instrumentality of one or more units of Wisconsin govern­
ment. 

5. A Wisconsin city-county hospital established by ordi­
nance of a Wisconsin county and Wisconsin city or cities. 

NOTE: Sales to foreign countries, other states, or munici­
palities in other states or foreign countries are taxable. 

When making sales to any governmental unit described in 
1 through 5 above, you should receive a purchase order or 
similar document indicating the governmental unit as the 
purchaser. The billing or invoice must be in the name of the 
governmental unit. A copy of each of these documents 
should be kept as a record to show that the sale was exempt. 
It is not necessary that the governmental unit provide you 
with an exemption certificate in order to exempt the sale 
from Wisconsin sales or use tax. 

For information on sales of meals and lodging to employes 
of governmental units, refer to the tax release on this subject 
which appeared in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 58, page 21. 

VII. SPEAKERS BUREAU 

The department's Speakers Bureau provides speakers to 
professional organizations and community groups through­
out Wisconsin. If you would like a speaker to address your 
group, please call the Speakers Bureau at (608)266-8640. 

Subjects that may be discussed include updates on income, 
corporate, and sales tax and homestead credit laws, audit 
procedures, common taxpayer errors, how tax laws applyto 
exempt organizations, sales tax problems of contractors or 
manufacturers, etc. 


