
TAX REPORT 
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT of REVENUE 

MANUFACTURED HOUSING 
(Including Mobile Homes) 

A. Factory-Built Homes 
The person in charge of and responsible for setting a factory-built 
home or mobile home on a foundation is a contractor-consumer 
engaged in a construction activity. Such person must pay the 
tax to his or her suppliers on all purchases of materials used in 
constructing the home. Examples of factory-built homes include 
panelized unit homes, sectional homes and modular homes in­
stalled on a permanent foundation. The person setting such 
home on a foundation is responsible for the tax whether the 
factory-built home is either partially or wholly manufactured off 
the site on which the housing is attached to the realty. 

If a person manufactures factory-built homes (either in or out­
side Wisconsin) and then installs the home on a foundation in 
Wisconsin, the manufacturer's sales and use tax liability will be 
satisfied by the payment of the tax measured by the cost of 
materials in the home. l.f the home sells for $25,000 and the cost 
of materials is $12,000, the tax is 4% of $12,000. 

If this same home is sold by a manufacturer to a local contractor 
for $18,000 and the local contractor installs the home on a 
foundation, the tax liability is 4% of the material costs cf 
$18,000. The sale by the manufacturer to the local contractor is 
generally subject to the tax. However, when the manufacturer 
accepts in good faith a properly completed Resale Certificate 
from a local contractor, the local contractor is responsible for 
reporting the tax on the contractor's material costs at the time 
the materials are committed to the construct[°on job. The con­
tractor's subsequent mark up on the home and the labor charges 
for erecting a home or placing it on a foundation are not subject 
to the 4% sales tax. 

B. Mobile Homes 
Mobile homes receive the same sales tax treatment as other 
factory-built homes if the seller of a mobile home permanently 
affixes the mobile home to land owned by the purchaser so that 
it becomes a realty improvement. To be considered permanently 
affixed to the land,.a mobile home must be on a foundation and 
connected to utilities. A mobile home is on a foundation when it 
is off wheels and setting on cement blocks, a cement foundation 
or other building materials. 

However, if a mobile home sold by a retailer is installed in a 
mobile home park or other place where the land is owned by 
someone other than the mobile home's purchaser, the mobile 
home remains personal property. The gross receipts of the retailer 
from this type of sale and installation of mcbile homes are 
subject to the sales tax. The rental of such a mobile home is also 
taxable. 

There is no statute allowiiig a person who installs a mobile home 
on land owned by the purchaser to charge sales tax to the pur­
chaser. The sale of the mobile home to the contractor-installer is 

a taxable sale. The sales tax paid merely increases the installer's 
cost of the home and related building materials. To compensate 
for such tax, the contractor-installer may increase the price of 
the installed mobile home in an amount sufficient to recover this 
additional cost. 

Gross receipts of a person, who is not a retail seller, from the sales 
of mobile homes which are personal property are taxable if the 
mobile home is less than 45 feet long. Such sales have been tax­
able since August 1, 1977. Sales of mobile homes 45 feet or 
more in length, by such non-retailers are exempt from the tax. 

C. Consignment Sales 
A mobile home dealer may attempt to sell a mobile home owned 
by another person (the principal). The dealer is the retailer re­
sponsible for reporting sales tax on the transaction if the dealer 
makes the sale without disclosing to the purchaser the identity of 
the principal. If the principal is disclosed to the purchaser on the 
invoice or in the sales contract, the principal is the seller of the 
mobile home; the tax on this transaction is required to be paid at 
the time the mobile home is registered by the purchaser with the 
Department of Transportation. 

Consignment sales of other types of tangible personal property 
(e.g. boats, aircraft and motor vehicles) receive the same tax treat• 
ment as the consignment sales of mobile homes described above. 

LINEN AND CLOTHING SUPPLIERS 

The gross receipts of lessors from leasing or renting clothing (e.g. 
diapers and uniforms), towels, linens or similar items to indus­
trial, commercial or household users, under agreements which 
provide for furnishing items and cleaning the items when they be­
come soiled, are subject to the sales tax. However, the items fur­
nished to customers under such agreements may be purchased by 
the lessor without paying sales or use tax. 

Linen or clothing lessors are the consumers of solvents, soaps, 
detergents, spotting compounds, water repellents, disinfectants, 
fabric softeners, starch, dyes, mat compounds, fire repellent com­
pounds and marking tags which they use to perform their ser­
vices. The tax applies to the gross receipts on the sale of these 
items to such purchasers. The tax also applies to gross receipts 
from sales, leases or rentals of machinery and equipment to per­
sons who lease or rent linens, towels and clothing to industrial, 
commercial or household users. 

EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS 

Sales of tangible personal property or taxable services made to an 
organization organized and operated exclusively for religious, 
charitable, scientific or educational purposes, or for the preven­
tion of cruelty to children or animals, are exempt from the sales 
and use tax if the organization has a Certificate of Exempt Status 
Number issued by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. The 
Certificate of Exempt Status Number, if granted, applies to pur­
chases only. It does not apply to sales by those organizations. To 



obtain such certificate, a qualifying group may write to: 

Wisconsin Depar.:tm:ent of R·evenue 
Compliance Bureau 
P .0. Box 8902 
Madison, WI 53708 

NEW ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

The March 1978 "Tax Report" provided readers of this publica­
tion with a list of sales and use tax administrative rules that were 
in effect at that time. Since that list was published, the following 
new rules have been adopted by the department: 

Number 

11.04 

11.10 
11.11 

11.12 

11.13 
11.14 
11.15 

11.16 
11.17 

11.18 
11.55 

11.57 
11.68 
11.85 
11.86 

11.87 

11.93 
11.96 
11.97 
11.98 

Effective 
Date 

2-1-79 

8-1-78 
4-1-79 

4-1-78 

4-1-78 
12-1-78 
12-1-78 

12-1-78 
6-1-78 

12-1-78 
6-1-78 

2-1-79 
12-1-78 
1-1-79 
12-1-78 

4-1-78 

1-1-79 
2-1-79 
8-1-78 
3-1-79 

Name 

Constructing Buildings for Exempt 
Entities 

Occasional Sales 
Waste Treatment Facilities (Indus­

trial or Governmental) 
Farming, Agriculture, Horticulture 

and Floriculture 
Sale of a Business or Business Assets 
Exemption Certificates 
Containers and Other Packaging and 

Shipping Materials 
Common or Contract Carriers 
Hospitals, Clinics and Medical Profes­

sions 
Dentists and Their Suppliers 
Agents, Consignees, Lienors and 

Brokers 
Public Utilities 
Construction Contractors 
Boats, Vessels and Barges 
Utility Transmission and Distribution 

Lines 
Meals, Food, Food Products and 

Beverages 
Annual Filing of Sales Tax Returns 
Interest Rates 
"Engaged in Business" in Wisconsin 
Interest Rate Reduction for Delin-

quent Sales and Use Tax 

Administrative rules of the Department of Revenue which are 
part of the Wisconsin Administrative Code are available on a sub­
scription basis. The charge for the booklet containing rules cur­
rently in effect is $3.12, and the annual calendar year subscrip­
tion service to keep the booklet up to date is an additional $3.12. 
The rule booklet and a subscription to the rules may be obtained 
by sending a request and the appropriate sum of money to: 

Department of Administration 
Document Sales Section 
202 South Thornton Avenue 
Madison, WI 53702 

If you desire a copy of only one or two of the rules listed above, 
write to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Technical Ser­
vices Staff, Po,t Office Box 8910, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 


