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NEW SEARCH FUNCTION FOR SALES AND USE TAX REPORTS

A new search function is now available on the Sales and Use Tax Report index page. Rather than
having to search the entire DOR website for the information you are looking for, this search
function allows you to quickly perform a search of just the Sales and Use Tax Reports (from
June 1999 and forward), using a word or phrase. <&

SALES AND USE TAX EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS

The Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board’s (SSTGB) Audit Committee has prepared a Power
Point presentation that explains how states that have conformed their laws to the requirements of
the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA) will administer the provisions relating
to sales and use tax exemption certificates received by sellers. The presentation explains the re-
quirements of obtaining exemption certificates, what information is required to be entered on the
exemption certificates, how incomplete exemption certificates will be handled, and what “good
faith” means and when it applies. The presentation is available on the Streamlined Sales and Use
Tax web page on the Department of Revenue’s web site. See the bullet titled “Sales and Use Tax
Exemption Certificate Requirements — January 2011 PowerPoint Presentation.” <«
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EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS FOR SELLERS OF PROPANE

If 100% of the propane sold to a customer in Wisconsin is for use in the person’s permanent
residence or for farm use, an exemption certificate is not required. However, the seller must
maintain adequate records to identify which sales are exempt.

What is residential use? What is not residential use? What does it mean to maintain adequate re-
cords? These questions are answered in the article titled “Do | Need a Wisconsin Sales and Use
Tax Exemption Certificate for Every Residential Customer to Sell Them Propane Without Wis-
consin Sales Tax?” This article on the Department of Revenue’s web site also includes helpful
examples. <&

REGISTRATION OF SNOWMOBILES AND ATVS IN WISCONSIN BY
NONRESIDENTS

A person who is not a resident of Wisconsin but who registers or titles or is required to register
or title his or her snowmaobile or ATV in Wisconsin, is required to pay the applicable Wisconsin
sales or use tax due on the purchase of the snowmobile or ATV at the time the snowmobile or
ATV is registered or titled in Wisconsin. This would include snowmobiles and ATVs that are
registered or titled in Wisconsin by non-residents for the purpose of obtaining a trail pass from
the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. However, if the person has already paid a sales
or use tax that was legally due and owing to another state, the sales or use tax paid to the other
state may be used to offset some or all of the sales or use tax due in Wisconsin.

Example 1: Nonresident A purchases an ATV in the state in which he lives from a pri-
vate party (as opposed to a dealer) for $5,000. Nonresident A did not pay any sales or use
tax on his purchase of the ATV since the state in which he lives does not impose tax on
the purchase price of an ATV when it is purchased from a private party. If Nonresident A
wants to ride the ATV on public trails in his home state, Nonresident A is required to pay
a flat $25 trail fee every 2 years. Nonresident A brings the ATV to Wisconsin to ride on
Wisconsin trails in Jackson County. In order to get the required trail pass in Wisconsin,
Nonresident A registers the ATV with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources.
At the time the ATV is registered in Wisconsin, Nonresident A is required to pay the ap-
plicable Wisconsin state and county use tax due ($5,000 x 5.5% = $275) on his purchase
of the ATV. The $25 trail fee that Nonresident A was required to pay to his home state
may not be used to reduce the $275 Wisconsin use tax due on Nonresident A’s purchase
of the ATV, since this was not a sales or use tax paid to the other state.

Example 2: Same as Example 1 except that the $25 fee that Nonresident A was required
to pay to his home state was a sales, use, or excise tax imposed on the use of the ATV in
his home state. In this example, the $25 may be used to reduce the $275 Wisconsin use
tax due and Nonresident A would only be required to pay the $250 difference between
the total Wisconsin use tax ($275) and the $25 use tax Nonresident A previously paid to
his home state.

Example 3: Same as Example 1 except that Nonresident A was required to pay 6.5%
sales tax to his home state at the time the ATV was registered in his home state. In this
example, since the sales tax Nonresident A was required to pay to his home state was
equal to or greater than the Wisconsin use tax due, no additional sales or use tax is due to
Wisconsin at the time Nonresident A registers the ATV in Wisconsin if Nonresident A
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provides proof (i.e., a copy of registration form and receipt from his home state showing
the 6.5% sales tax was paid), that the sales tax was paid to his home state. <&

V. DISCOUNT/MEMBERSHIP CARDS

The examples below explain the proper Wisconsin sales and use tax treatment of membership
fees charged by a retailer that a customer is required to pay before being allowed to purchase
products from the retailer. A summary of the examples is as follows:

A. Sales of Taxable Products

B. Sales of Nontaxable Products

C. Sales of Both Taxable and Nontaxable Products

D. Sales to Persons Providing a Continuous Exemption Certificate
E. Sales to Exempt Entities

A. Sales of Taxable Products

Membership fees charged by a retailer that allow the purchaser of the membership to purchase
taxable products from the retailer are subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Example 1: Retailer A requires that its customers purchase a membership for $30 to its
store before the customer is allowed to make purchases at the store. The membership is
good for one year from the date purchased. Retailer A only sells products that are subject
to Wisconsin sales or use tax. The $30 membership fee is subject to Wisconsin sales or
use tax.

B. Sales of Nontaxable Products

Membership fees charged by a retailer that only allow the purchaser of the membership to pur-
chase nontaxable products from the retailer are not subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax.

Example 2: Retailer B requires that its customers purchase a membership for $30 to its
store before the customer is allowed to make purchases at the store. The membership is
good for one year from the date purchased. Retailer B only sells products that are not
subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. The $30 membership fee is not subject to Wiscon-
sin sales or use tax.

C. Sales of Both Taxable and Nontaxable Products

Membership fees charged by a retailer to a customer that allow the customer to purchase both
taxable and nontaxable products from the retailer are subject to tax to the same extent the prod-
ucts being purchased are subject to tax. If the percentage of taxable products being purchased by
the customer is not known by the retailer at the time the membership is sold, the retailer may
charge Wisconsin sales or use tax on the entire membership fee. The retailer is liable for Wis-
consin sales or use tax on the entire membership fee, unless the retailer can document the amount
of its nontaxable sales to the customer.

Example 3: Retailer D requires that its customers purchase a membership for $30 to its
store before the customer is allowed to make purchases at the store. The membership is
good for one year from the date purchased. Retailer D sells both items that are subject to
Wisconsin sales or use tax and items that are not subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax.
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Retailer D does not know what percentage of a particular customer’s purchases will be
subject to tax at the time the membership is sold. Retailer D may charge Wisconsin sales
or use tax on the entire $30 membership fee.

D. Sales to Persons Providing a Continuous Exemption Certificate

A retailer is not liable for Wisconsin sales or use tax on its receipts from membership fees
charged to customers who provide the retailer with fully completed continuous exemption cer-
tificates (e.g., Form S-211, Form S-211-SST), claiming a valid exemption on all of their
purchases from the retailer.

Example 4: Retailer X requires that its customers purchase a membership for $30 to its
store before the customer is allowed to make purchases at the store. The membership is
good for one year from the date purchased. Customer Y resells all of the items it pur-
chases from Retailer X and provides Retailer X with a fully completed continuous
Form S-211, claiming resale, at the time Customer Y purchases the membership from Re-
tailer X. Since Customer Y has provided Retailer X with a fully completed continuous
exemption certificate for all its purchases from Retailer X, Retailer X is not required to
collect Wisconsin sales or use tax on the $30 membership fee.

E. Sales to Exempt Entities

A retailer is not liable for Wisconsin sales or use tax on its receipts from membership fees
charged to Wisconsin governmental units, federal governmental units, and certain nonprofit or-
ganizations that hold a Wisconsin Certificate of Exempt Status (CES) number. In order to claim
the exemption, a federal or Wisconsin governmental unit must provide the seller with one of the
following:

e A fully completed exemption certificate (e.g., Form S-211, Form S-211-SST).

e A completed purchase order or similar document clearly identifying the pur-
chaser.

e The CES number issued to the governmental unit to be recorded by the seller on
the invoice it keeps.

In order to claim the exemption, a nonprofit organization holding a Wisconsin CES number must
provide the seller with one of the following:

e A fully completed certificate (e.g., Form S-211, Form S-211-SST).
e The CES number issued to the nonprofit organization to be recorded by the
seller on the invoice it keeps.

Example 5: Retailer G requires that its customers purchase a membership for $30 to its
store before the customer is allowed to make purchases at the store. The membership is
good for one year from the date purchased. Nonprofit Organization H holds a Wisconsin
CES number and provides Retailer G with its CES number at the time Nonprofit Organi-
zation H purchases the membership from Retailer G. Since Nonprofit Organization H has
provided Retailer G with its CES number, Retailer G is not required to collect Wisconsin
sales or use tax on the $30 membership fee. Retailer G should record Nonprofit Organi-
zation H’s CES number on the copy of the invoice that it keeps for its records. <&
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VI. TAXTREATMENT OF ONLINE SEMINARS

The sale, license, lease, or rental of specified digital goods became taxable on October 1, 2009.
The article on the Department of Revenue’s web site titled “Tax Treatment of Online Seminars”
discusses how the tax on specified digital goods affects the tax treatment of online seminars. <

VIl. QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Q Is the service of removing snow and clearing ice dams from roofs subject to Wisconsin sales tax?

ANo. Service to a roof is not taxable, because it is a service to real property.

Q Are swimming pool cleaning and maintenance services subject to tax?

Yes, performing cleaning and other maintenance services to swimming pools is subject to Wiscon-
sin sales tax. These cleaning and maintenance services are taxable, regardless of whether the
swimming pool is an above-ground pool or an in-ground pool.

Certain types of property, including swimming pools, are deemed to retain their character as tangible
personal property for purposes of services to such property, regardless of the extent to which the prop-
erty is fastened to, connected with, or built into real property. See Part I11. of Publication 207, Sales Tax
Information for Contractors, for additional information. <&
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