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I. NEW TAX LAW – EXEMPTION 
CREATED FOR HEALTH INSURANCE 
RISK-SHARING PLAN AUTHORITY 
(2005 Act 74, amend sec. 77.54(9a)(a), effec-
tive January 7, 2006). 

The gross receipts from sales to, and the storage, 
use, or other consumption of tangible personal 
property and taxable services by the Health Insur-
ance Risk-Sharing Plan Authority are exempt from 
Wisconsin sales and use tax. 

II. FLORENCE COUNTY ADOPTS 
COUNTY TAX 

Beginning July 1, 2006, the 0.5% county tax will 
be in effect in Florence County. 

Information about which sales and purchases are 
subject to county sales or use tax and transitional 
provisions that apply to Florence County sellers 
can be found in Wisconsin Publication 201, Wis-
consin Sales and Use Tax Information. 

Important: Sellers who are not located in any of 
the 59 counties that have adopted the county tax 
may still be subject to the county tax if they deliver 
property into any of these counties with their own 

vehicles or are in some other way “engaged in 
business” in any of the 59 counties.  

Following is a list of the 59 counties that have 
adopted the county tax and the effective date of 
each county’s tax. 

County 
Effective 

Date County 
Effective

Date 
Adams 1/1/94 Marathon 4/1/87 
Ashland 4/1/88 Marinette 10/1/01 
Barron 4/1/86 Marquette 4/1/89 
Bayfield 4/1/91 Milwaukee* 4/1/91 
Buffalo 4/1/87 Monroe 4/1/90 
Burnett 4/1/89 Oconto 7/1/94 
Chippewa 4/1/91 Oneida 4/1/87 
Columbia 4/1/89 Ozaukee* 4/1/91 
Crawford 4/1/91 Pepin 4/1/91 
Dane 4/1/91 Pierce 4/1/88 
Dodge 4/1/94 Polk 4/1/88 
Door 4/1/88 Portage 4/1/89 
Douglas 4/1/91 Price 1/1/93 
Dunn 4/1/86 Richland 4/1/89 
Eau Claire 1/1/99 Rusk 4/1/87 
Florence 7/1/06 St. Croix 4/1/87 
Forest 4/1/95 Sauk 4/1/92 
Grant 4/1/02 Sawyer 4/1/87 
Green 1/1/03 Shawano 4/1/90 
Green Lake 7/1/99 Taylor 7/1/99
Iowa 4/1/87 Trempealeau 10/1/95 
Iron 4/1/91 Vernon 1/1/97
Jackson 4/1/87 Vilas 4/1/88 
Jefferson 4/1/91 Walworth 4/1/87 
Juneau 4/1/92 Washburn 4/1/91 
Kenosha 4/1/91 Washington* 1/1/99 
La Crosse 4/1/90 Waupaca 4/1/89 
Lafayette 4/1/01 Waushara 4/1/90 
Langlade 4/1/88 Wood 1/1/04 
Lincoln 4/1/87   
    

* County also has a 0.1% baseball stadium tax. 
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Counties that have not adopted the county tax are: 

Counties Without County Tax 
Brown** Outagamie 

Calumet  Racine* 
Clark Rock 
Fond du Lac Sheboygan 
Kewaunee Waukesha* 
Manitowoc Winnebago 
Menominee  
  
* County has a 0.1% baseball stadium tax 
** County has a 0.5% football stadium tax 

III. REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY 
FEE TO BE IMPOSED IN KENOSHA,  
RACINE, AND MILWAUKEE 
COUNTIES – EFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 2006 

Beginning June 1, 2006, the regional transit au-
thority created by Kenosha, Racine, and Milwau-
kee counties will impose a $2 fee for each transac-
tion in the region on the rental of Type 1 automo-
biles, as defined in sec. 340.01(4)(a), Wis. Stats., 
by establishments primarily engaged in the short-
term rental of vehicles without drivers, for a period 
of 30 days or less. 

This fee is to be collected from the person to whom 
the passenger car is rented and the retailer that col-
lects this fee is required to separately state the fee 
on the receipt that the retailer provides to the rental 
customer. However, the following exemptions 
from the regional transit authority fee apply: 

a. Rerentals 

b. Rentals as a service or repair replace-
ment vehicle 

c. Rentals which are prohibited from being 
taxed under the constitution or laws of 
the United States or under the constitu-
tion of the State of Wisconsin 
(sec. 77.54(1), Wis. Stats.) 

d. Rentals by any public or private ele-
mentary or secondary school exempt 
from Wisconsin income or franchise 
taxes, including school districts 
(sec. 77.54(4), Wis. Stats.) 

e. Rentals that qualify as occasional sales, 
as defined in sec. 77.51(9), Wis. Stats. 
(sec. 77.54(7)(a), Wis. Stats.) 

f. Rentals by a neighborhood association, 
church, civic group, garden club, social 
club, or similar nonprofit organization if 
the organization is not engaged in a 
trade or business and is not required to 
have a seller’s permit (sec. 77.54(7m), 
Wis. Stats.) 

g. Sales of tickets or admissions to public 
and private elementary school activities, 
where the entire net proceeds therefrom 
are expended for educational, religious 
or charitable purposes (sec. 77.54(9), 
Wis. Stats.) 

h. Rentals to the following organizations 
under sec. 77.54(9a), Wis. Stats.: 

1. Wisconsin or any agency thereof 

2. The University of Wisconsin Hospi-
tals and Clinics Authority 

3. The Health Insurance Risk-Sharing 
Plan Authority 

4. The Fox River Navigational System 
Authority 

5. Any county, city, village, town, or 
school district in Wisconsin 

6. A county-city hospital established 
under sec. 66.0927, Wis. Stats. 

7. A sewerage commission organized 
under sec. 281.43(4), Wis. Stats. 

8. A metropolitan sewerage district or-
ganized under secs. 200.01 to 
200.15 or 200.21 to 200.65, Wis. 
Stats. 

9. Any other unit of government in this 
state or any agency or instrumental-
ity of one or more units of govern-
ment in this state 

10. Any joint local water authority cre-
ated under sec. 66.0823, Wis. Stats. 
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11. Any corporation, community chest 
fund, foundation, or association or-
ganized and operated exclusively 
for religious, charitable, scientific, 
or educational purposes, or for the 
prevention of cruelty to children or 
animals, except hospital service in-
surance corporations under 
sec. 613.80(2), Wis. Stats., no part 
of the net income of which inures to 
the benefit of any private stock-
holder, shareholder, member, or 
corporation 

12. A local exposition district under 
subch. II of ch. 229, Wis. Stats. 

13. A local cultural arts district under 
subch. V of ch. 229, Wis. Stats. 

(Note: Exemptions other than those listed 
above, that apply for Wisconsin sales and 
use tax purposes, do not apply for purposes 
of the regional transit authority fee.) 

For additional information about the Regional 
Transit Authority Fee, please see Wisconsin Tax 
Bulletin #144 (September 2005), available at 
www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/144law.pdf. 

IV. DON’T FORGET USE TAX 

Failure to report use tax is the most common error 
on sales and use tax returns. Make sure use tax is 
correctly reported on your sales and use tax return 
(Form ST-12). 

The 5% use tax is imposed on the purchase price of 
tangible personal property or taxable services that 
are to be used, stored, or consumed within Wiscon-
sin, upon which a sales tax is not imposed. 

Common examples involving use tax include: 

• Property purchased or used in Wisconsin that is 
purchased from an out-of-state seller who did 
not charge Wisconsin sales or use tax. 

Example: A Wisconsin company orders office 
supplies from an out-of-state seller via the 
Internet. The out-of-state seller does not charge 
Wisconsin sales or use tax on its sale and ships 
the office supplies to the buyer’s Wisconsin lo-

cation. The Wisconsin company is liable for 
Wisconsin use tax on its purchase price of these 
office supplies, including any charge for ship-
ping and handling. 

• Building materials are purchased by a nonresi-
dent contractor from a seller located in a state 
other than Wisconsin, and the seller either does 
not charge sales tax or charges a tax at a rate 
less than 5%. The nonresident contractor uses 
the materials in real property construction in 
Wisconsin. 

Example: A contractor located in Illinois pur-
chases building materials in another state and 
pays that state’s 3% sales tax on the materials. 
The contractor uses the materials in construct-
ing a building in Wisconsin. The contractor 
owes the 5% Wisconsin use tax on the purchase 
price of the materials used in Wisconsin. The 
contractor is allowed a credit for the sales tax 
paid to the other state. 

• Property is purchased for resale (to sell to oth-
ers) or for a nontaxable use, and then is used by 
the purchaser in a taxable manner. No sales tax 
is paid when the property is purchased. 

Example: A furniture store buys desks to resell 
to customers. The furniture store gives the 
seller an exemption certificate claiming resale, 
therefore, no sales tax is charged on the sale of 
the desks to the furniture store. A desk is then 
taken from the furniture store’s inventory and 
used by the store bookkeeper. The store owes 
use tax on its purchase price of the desk. 

For additional information about Wisconsin use 
tax, please see Publication 201, Wisconsin Sales 
and Use Tax Information, and Publication 214, 
Businesses: Do You Owe Use Tax? These publica-
tions can be accessed on the department’s web site 
at www.dor.state.wi.us/html/pubs.html.  

V. FILING SALES AND USE TAX 
RETURNS ELECTRONICALLY 

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) has 
several different ways for you to electronically file 
your Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Returns. Filing 
and paying your taxes electronically makes the fil-
ing process easier for you! The electronic system 
provides confirmation receipts for your returns and 

http://www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/wtb/144law.pdf
http://www.dor.state.wi.us/html/pubs.html
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payments, checks your math, and ensures that re-
turns have all the required information. These re-
turns are less likely to be adjusted, which reduces 
interest charges and speeds up processing. 

Electronic Filing and Payment Options Available 
for Sales and Use Tax Return Filing 

Sales TeleFile 

You can file your Wisconsin sales and use tax re-
turn with any touch-tone telephone. This program 
accepts four payment types: Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT), credit card, check, or money order. 
To use TeleFile, obtain a Sales TeleFile worksheet 
and payment voucher under the “Business” section 
of the DOR web site. When you have completed 
the worksheet, call (608) 261-5340 in Madison or 
(414) 227-3895 in Milwaukee to actually file your 
return.  

Sales Internet Process 

Sales Internet Process (SIP) is a free, Internet-
based electronic filing application for sales and use 
tax. It performs calculations, provides a history of 
all your electronically filed returns, issues a receipt, 
and allows you to make your tax payment by EFT, 
check, or money order. To use SIP you will need to 
apply for and obtain a logon ID and password 
when you begin filing your tax returns at 
www.salestax.dor.state.wi.us. 

File Transmission 

This program is a service for taxpayers using ap-
proved private vendors’ software or who have the 
technical expertise to create a file in XML format. 
File transmission places return data into a file for-
mat that can be directly processed into the DOR 
system. Using secure transmission over the Internet 
you can submit an EFT payment within the same 
file. You will receive an e-mail acknowledgement 
to confirm receipt of a successful file transmission. 
Information about file transmission can be found in 
the “Business” section of the DOR web site. 

Electronic Payments 

Please note that paying by Electronic Funds Trans-
fer requires a separate registration. DOR accepts 
EFT for most types of tax payments. It is easy to 
use and you are issued an acknowledgement that 

your payment was received, which is a service that 
cannot be provided for checks and money orders.  

EFT also enables you to “warehouse” your pay-
ment in advance until the actual due date. An EFT 
online registration form is provided on the DOR 
web site in the “Business” section. Complete the 
form and register by telephone at (608) 264-9918. 
Payments can be made either online or by tele-
phone. 

Questions? 

• More information on all of the above services 
can be found under the “Business” or 
“E-Services” sections of the DOR web site at 
www.dor.state.wi.us. 

• Contact us at: 

Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
Technical Assistance Unit 

Mail Stop 5-77 
P.O. Box 8949 

Madison, WI  53708-8949 
(608) 266-2776 

sales10@dor.state.wi.us 

VI. QUESTION AND ANSWER 

 A tavern makes arrangements for a band to 
perform at the tavern. On the night of the per-
formance, the tavern charges a $5.00 cover 

charge. All proceeds from the cover charge will 
be given to the band as payment for its per-
formance. Is the cover charge taxable? If so, 
who is responsible for reporting and remitting 
the sales tax? 

Yes, the cover charge is taxable. Sales tax is 
imposed on the sale of admissions to amuse-
ment, athletic, entertainment, or recreational 

events or places. Since the tavern is the seller 
of the admission (cover charge) the tavern is li-
able for sales tax on its gross receipts from the 
admissions, regardless of whether the proceeds 
are given to the band. 

Note: The tavern’s payment to the band is not 
subject to sales or use tax. 

Q

A

http://www.salestax.dor.state.wi.us/
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