

# State of Wisconsin • DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

2135 RIMROCK ROAD • P.O. BOX 8933 • MADISON, WISCONSIN 53708-8933 • 608-266-6466 • FAX (608) 266-5718

Scott Walker Governor Richard G. Chandler Secretary of Revenue

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 20, 2018

CONTACT: Patty Mayers, Communications Director 608.266.2300 or DORCommunications@wisconsin.gov

# Don't Wait to Claim Your Wisconsin Child Sales Tax Rebate Deadline is July 2

With just less than two weeks remaining in the filing period, the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) is urging eligible claimants to file for their \$100 per child sales tax rebate. Claims must be filed by July 2, but DOR encourages those who are eligible not to wait until the last minute. DOR estimates that roughly 670,000 households, with 1.22 million children in total, are eligible to file a claim.

"Our message for people who are eligible to claim this rebate is to do it now," said Department of Revenue Secretary Richard Chandler. "It's easy to put this off and think you'll do it later. However, after July 2, we are unable to accept claims, so if you're eligible, don't wait."

# Have a dependent child/children? You're likely eligible for a \$100 (per child) sales tax rebate!

Sound fiscal management and a strong economy resulted in a state budget surplus of almost \$400 million for the State of Wisconsin. Recently, a law was passed to return some of that surplus to taxpayers in the form of a Child Sales Tax Rebate. If you're eligible, you can claim it between May 15 and July 2.

#### What is the Child Sales Tax Rebate?

It is a \$100 rebate for sales and use tax paid on purchases made for raising a dependent child in 2017.\* You may claim \$100 for each qualified child.

## Who can claim the Child Sales Tax Rebate?

If you have a qualified child, you're likely eligible. Each child's rebate may only be claimed by one individual.

## A qualified child must be:

- Under age 18 on December 31, 2017
- A dependent of the claimant for tax year 2017
- A Wisconsin resident on December 31, 2017
- A United States citizen

#### How do I claim my \$100 (per child) Child Sales Tax Rebate?

The fastest and most convenient way is to go to <a href="mailto:childtaxrebate.wi.gov">childtaxrebate.wi.gov</a> where you will find more details, frequently asked questions and information. You can apply for the Child Sales Tax Rebate online 24/7 from May 15 through July 2.

If you don't have internet access, you may file a claim by phone at (608) 266-KIDS (5437), Monday – Friday from 7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Please keep in mind that going online will be faster and more convenient.

# Page 2

\*Dependent is determined using guidance described in <u>IRS Publication 501</u>, regardless of whether the claimant files a 2017 federal income tax return.

###

