Regional Transit Authority Fee

All Regional Transit Authorities have been terminated or repealed.

  • The Southeastern Regional Transit Authority (SERTA) and the Dane County Regional Transit Authority are terminated. No taxes or fees were imposed by either authority. The Wisconsin Legislature had created the SERTA, effective July 1, 2009, to replace the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Transit Authority.

    The SERTA was comprised of Kenosha, Milwaukee, and Racine counties.

  • The authorization, provided in 2009 Wis. Act 28, to create the Chequamegon Bay Transit Authority and the Chippewa Valley Regional Transit Authority has been repealed.

  • The Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Transit Authority, comprised of Kenosha, Milwaukee and Racine counties, imposed a $2.00 per vehicle rental fee on the lease or rental of Type 1 automobiles in the region, for the period June 1 through June 30, 2009. The fee was collected from the person to whom the passenger car was rented by persons whose primary business was the rental or lease of vehicle without drivers for 30 days or less in the region.

    This fee terminated as of July 1, 2009. The Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Transit Authority itself terminated as of October 1, 2009.

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in effect as of February 19, 2020: Section 66.1039 Wis. Stats. (2009).

Laws enacted and in effect after February 19, 2020, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to February 19, 2020, that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.



MS 5-77
Customer Service Bureau
PO Box 8949
Madison, WI 53708-8949
Phone: (608) 266-2776
Fax: (608) 267-1030
Email additional questions to

Guidance Document Certification:

Guidance Document Number: 100193

February 19, 2020