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WISCONSIN TAX UPDATE

Presented by
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Fall 2019

This presentation is an informal explanation and is not a guidance document as defined in
sec. 227.01(3m)(a), Wis. Stats.

Topics

* Income/franchise tax law changes, updates, and reminders
= Individual income tax
= Pass-through entities
= Corporations
® Withholding
= Sales and use tax
= Vapor products tax
* Power of Attorney form redesign
* Guidance document requirements
Filing tips, updates, and reminders
* Performance metrics

Income/Franchise

Law Changes — Income/Franchise

* Business Moving Expenses —2019 WI Act 7
= Effective for 2019

= Amount paid to move Wisconsin business out of Wisconsin, in whole or
in part, added back to income

= Disallowed business moving expenses include:
»Vehicle rentals
> Storage rentals
»Moving company expenses
»Employee wages
»Meals, lodging, and fuel, including employee reimbursements

»Mileage
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Law Changes — Income/Franchise

* Disallowed business moving expenses cont’d:
= Lease cancellation fees
= Loss on sale of property
= Brokerage commissions or fees
= Consulting fees and surveys
= Architecture, design, and remodeling expenses
= Legal services
= Utility fees

Law Changes — Income/Franchise

* Individual Income Tax Rate Decrease — 2019 WI Act 9
= Effective for 2019
= Second tax bracket rate decrease from 5.84% to 5.21%
»Single, HOH, and Fiduciaries
* Taxable income - $7,501-$15,000
> MFJ
* Taxable income - $10,001-$20,000
»MFS
* Taxable income - $5,001-$10,000

Law Changes — Income/Franchise

¢ Additional Individual Income Tax Rate Decrease —
2019 WI Act 10

= Rate reductions to first and second tax brackets

= Two rate reductions: 2019 and 2020. Rate in effect in 2020
will continue thereafter.

= Rate reductions based on additional estimated sales and use
tax revenue from out-of-state retailers and marketplace
providers as a result of U.S. Supreme Court decision in South
Dakota v. Wayfair Inc. and 2019 WI Act 10
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Law Changes — Income/Franchise

* Additional Income Tax Rate Decrease (cont.)

= Department determines rate reduction no later than
October 20 of 2019 and 2020

= Review by Legislative Audit Bureau by November 10 of 2019
and 2020

= No change to withholding tables
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Law Changes — Income/Franchise

* Tax-Exempt Bonds — 2019 WI Act 9
= Wisconsin Health and Education Facilities Authority
= |nterest on bonds and notes issued for $35 million or less
* WI Alternative Minimum Tax
= No longer applies for 2019 and later years (2017 WI Act 59)

= Multiple line changes to Form 1 and 1NPR to remove
references

IRC Reminder -
Depreciation/Amortization

* Wisconsin computes depreciation and amortization using IRC
in effect on January 1, 2014 (with certain exceptions)

* Wisconsin has not adopted federal bonus depreciation
provisions

IRC Reminder - Section 179 Expense

* Wisconsin follows federal changes to Section 179 expensing
= Section 179 expense limitation
»Increased in 2018 from $500,000 to $1,000,000
= Expense limit phase-out

»Increased in 2018 from $2 million to $2.5 million

IRC Reminder - FTCJA Provisions Not Adopted

® Business interest expense limitation
* Changes to meals and entertainment expense limitation
* Net operating loss deduction limited to 80% of taxable income

* 20% deduction for domestic qualified business income for
noncorporate taxpayers

* Limitation on business losses for noncorporate taxpayers
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Staudenmaier — Limitation on Itemized Deductions

* L. William Staudenmaier v. Wisconsin Department of
Revenue, WTAC No. 17-1-022 (issued January 22, 2019)

* Charitable contributions limited by department (IRC section
68)

* Taxpayer argument
= No limitation due to Colton case

= Computation of FAGI
»US government interest income
»Social security income
> State tax refunds

Staudenmaier — Limitation on Itemized Deductions

* Commission decision

= WI definition of "federal internal revenue code" includes IRC
section 68 limitation

= Taxpayer subject to federal limitation
= WTAC upheld department's assessment

= Taxpayer did not appeal the decision

Lawton — Research Credit Carry-Forward

® The C. A. Lawton Co. vs. Wisconsin Department of Revenue,
WTAC No. 17-1-234 (issued February 1, 2019)

® Issue

= When must the WI research credit be computed and reported to
the department for any unused amount to be carried forward?

* DOR's Position
= |n order for a research credit to be carried forward, the
underlying "claim therefor" must be filed within 4 years of the
unextended due date of the tax return for the tax year in which
the qualified research expense is incurred.

* WTAC - partial summary judgement — not concluded
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Example — DOR Position

® A corporation incurred research expenses during
calendar year 2010 and qualified for a WI research
credit.

* The unextended due date for the 2010 WI Form 4 is
March 15, 2011.

* The corporation must have filed its 2010 Form 4 and
reported the WI research credit by March 15, 2015 in
order for any unused credit to be carried forward.
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Deere & Co. — Dividends Received Deduction

® Deere & Company v. Department of Revenue, WTAC No. 18-1-
135, (issued August 21, 2019

* Taxpayer owned interest in foreign limited partnership

* Taxpayer elected to treat LP as a corporation for federal
income tax purposes

* Taxpayer received distributions from LP and claimed
dividends received deduction for federal and WI

* WTAC upheld taxpayer’s deduction
* DOR appealed the decision

Section Tax 2.82 — Nexus Rule

* "Usual or frequent" replaced with "regular"

* "Regular and regularly" defined as 15 or more days of
activity

* Calculation: 1 person for 15 days or 15 persons for 1
day, or any combination thereof

* Clarification that owning tangible property in Wisconsin
creates nexus

* Effective date: TBD "

Homestead Credit
Disability Qualification

Homestead Credit Disability Qualification

® Beginning with the 2017 tax year, a claimant, or in some
cases the claimant's spouse, must meet one of the
following qualifications to claim the homestead credit:

= Must be 62 or older by the end of the claim year
= Must be disabled

= Must have earned income
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Homestead Credit Disability Qualification

* Disability qualification

= "Disabled" means an individual who is unable to engage in any
substantial gainful employment by reason of a medically
determinable physical or mental impairment which has lasted or is
reasonably expected to last for a continuous period of not less than
12 months.

»Similar definition to that used for Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) and
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) qualifications.

Homestead Credit Disability Qualification

* Disability qualification (cont.)
= If the claimant is not disabled, but married to a disabled
spouse, the spouse must be part of the household

= Proof of disability is required each year and must be sent in
with Schedule H or H-EZ (submit Form W-RA, if electronically
filed)

Homestead Credit Disability Qualification

* Disability qualification (cont.)

= The Schedule H instructions list the acceptable forms of
proof

»Document from Social Security Administration

* Showing date SSA disability benefit began
»Statement from the Veteran's Administration

« Showing claimant receiving VA benefit due to 100% disability
»Statement from physician

« Stating date disability began
« Stating whether disability is temporary or permanent

Veterans and Surviving
Spouses Property Tax
Credit
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Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit
* Property taxes

= Based on when property taxes are paid to municipality, not
when accrued

= Payments for mobile home taxes are based on when paid to

Paid Accrued
municipality Tax Credit
School Property Tax Credit X
= Department may verify via county website for date of Homestead Credit (chedule H) X
payment to munlupa“ty Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property X
Tax Credit
" Farmland Preservation Credit (Schedule FC) X "

Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit

* Property taxes

= Various credits provide for different treatment

Property Taxes

Property Taxes

Individuals and Fiduciaries
2019 Form Changes

Form 1 & 1INPR

* Updated federal line references

* Added reference to the new federal Form 1040-SR
* Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) lines removed; no

longer applies

* Consolidated nonrefundable credits on one line
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Form 1 & 1INPR

* Added code 23 for business moving expense addback
online 4

* Added 2 new codes for lines 4 & 11 for the pass-
through entity level taxation items
= Code 57 is for tax-option (S) corporations

= Code 58 is for partnerships

Schedule M (Form 1NPR) - Additions to and Subtractions
from Income

* Line 1 removed; referenced federal AGI

* Additions are totaled and reported on Form 1NPR, line
15

* Subtractions are totaled and reported on Form 1NPR,
line 29, column B

Schedule CR, Other Credits

* Removed lines / references related to AMT

* Removed super research and development credit
carryforward line

* Removed reference to Schedule TC, Wisconsin
Technology Zone Credit

* Added total lines for column A

Form 2, Fiduciary Return

* Description changes

= "Number of Beneficiaries" is now "Schedules 2-K1 issued"

= "Number of Nonresident Beneficiaries" is now "Schedules 2-
K1 issued to nonresidents"

* Added a check box for when lower-tier, pass-through
entities make an election to pay tax
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Form 2, Fiduciary Return

* Line 6 expanded
= Line 6a: tax on income from line 5
= Line 6b: ESBT tax from line 21 of Schedule ESBT
= Line 6¢: gross tax

* Removed lines for changes to Schedule CR and AMT

New Schedule ESBT

* Computation of Wisconsin Taxable Income for Electing
Small Business Trusts

* Instructions for computations were previously in Form 2
instructions; developed schedule to make computations
and reporting clearer

Schedule ESBT

Schedule Computation of Wisconsin Taxable
ESBT Income For Electing Small

Business Trusts 2019

Enclove with you Wisconsin Form 2

Partl Computation of Wisconsin ESBT Income  FeserwESETAmoust  WisconsinESET Nonwacansin ES81

Pass-Through Entity Level
Tax (ELT) Election
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What is the ELT election?

It allows a tax-option (S) corporation or partnership to pay tax on items that would
otherwise be reported by the owner(s)

Tax-option (S) corporations
= Taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018

= Must have consent from shareholders who hold an aggregate of more than 50% of the
shares on the day of election

Partnerships
= Taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019

= Must have consent from partners who hold an aggregate of more than 50% of the
capital and profits on the day of election

What is the purpose of the election?

* To provide a federal tax benefit

= The Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act limits how much an individual can
deduct for state and local taxes (SALT)

= Practitioners and taxpayers are taking a position that these taxes are
deductible as business expenses if paid by an entity, and therefore
are not subject to the limitation for individuals

* The State of Wisconsin does NOT determine if SALT paid by a
pass-through entity are allowed as a deduction on the entity's
federal return

When must the election be made?

* The election must be made each year by the extended due
date of the entity's franchise or income tax return (Form 5S or
Form 3)

* If an entity wants to revoke an election, the revocation must be
made by the extended due date of the Form 5S or Form 3

How does an electing entity determine if
income is taxable to WI?

* |t is the intent of the law that electing entities shall pay
tax on items that would otherwise be taxed if the
election was not made

* Determine the situs of income as if election was not
made
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How are capital gains and losses treated?

* Long-term capital gain exclusion (30%/60% for farmers in WI)
= Allowed for partnerships
= Not allowed for tax-option (S) corporations

* Net capital loss — deduction limitations
= Partnerships are limited to $500

= Tax-option (S) corporations are limited to $3,000

Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States
* Other state taxes paid by an electing entity are available
as a TPOS credit only against the entity’s WI taxes due

* The owners may not use taxes paid by the electing
entity to compute a credit for TPOS

* Therefore, an electing entity should not report a credit
for TPOS on the owners' Schedules 5K-1 or 3K-1

Pass-Through Withholding

* An electing entity is exempt from withholding tax on
income that is otherwise reportable by nonresident
owners

= Entity can request to have pass-through withholding
payments applied to its entity-level tax, or

= Request a refund of overpayments by filing a Form PW-1
reflecting $0 withholding tax due

* The total withholding entered on Schedules 5K-1 and
3K-1 must equal the withholding tax on Form PW-1

Pass-Through Entity
2019 Form Changes
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Form 3, Partnership Return

* Added check box for partnership to make entity-level
tax election

* Added check box to indicate when lower-tier entities
make an election to pay tax

* Also added check boxes to Schedule 3K-1

Form 3, Partnership Return
* Added lines 1-11 on page 1 to reflect tax, payments,
interest, penalties, amount due, etc.

* Line 1 is entity-level tax computed on Schedule 3-ET;
this new schedule is very similar to Schedule 5S-ET

* Line 11 allows overpayment to be applied to 2020

1 COMMAS: NQ CENTS

rr oD o=

R
2
3
.
s
6
T
[
®

Amount due. I ine 4 is larger than line 8. enter amount owed

Gverpayment. If ine 8 is larger 1han e 4, enter amount overpald 10

"

Enter amount of ine 10 you want credied fo 203

Schedule 3-ET

JJ‘;_'ET! ) Entity-Level Tax Computation 2019

File with Wisconsin Form 3

ENTER NEGATIVE NUMBERS LIKE THIS: 11000 NOT LIKE THIS: (1000) NO COMMAS; NO CENTS

- ® ) @ -
Oawusve Shave e Rescents Morwitents  Ery-lwveiAduitrents  Totsl (coksmna bicsg)

Income:
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Forms 3-ES / 3-EPV Form 5S, Tax-Option (S) Corporation Return

® Form 3-ES is a voucher to make an estimated tax

* Added a check box to indicate when lower-tier entities
payment

make an election to pay tax

® Form 3-EPV is a voucher to make an electronic payment
with a return that has been filed (form will be available
soon)

= Change also made on Schedule 5-K1

* Removed columns (c) and (d) from lines 15a — 15f of
Schedule K, as AMT is no longer applicable

* Several changes to line text (also applies to Schedules
5S-ET and ET-0S)

Forms 1-CNP/1-CNS, Composite Nonresident
Income Tax Returns

* Must be electronically filed.

® Bar codes (used for scanning) removed and watermark Schedule HR-5
added to PDF form on website

* Removed lines 3 & 4 on Schedule 1 and column H on
Schedule 2 to reflect elimination of AMT
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Schedule HR-5

* Federal historic rehabilitation tax credit
= Claimed over 5-year period as a result of federal Tax Cuts

and Jobs Act
= Transitional rule for projects starting before June 20, 2018

= Sale of WI credit comes with greater risk

Schedule HR-5

* New Schedule HR-5
= Used to claim all 5 years for purposes of selling or

transferring the credit
= Submitted with Form HR-T to DOR Technical Services
= Attached in taxpayer’s account
= Notice of Certification given to seller

Corporate 2019 Form Changes

Forms 4 & 6
* Added check boxes related to income from real estate
mortgage investment conduit (REMIC)
= Form 4, line 15
= Form 6, page 1, line 11, and page 8, line 8

* Ensures that REMICs can’t use net business loss
carryforward to offset excess inclusion income
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Apportionment Schedules

¢ Ten different apportionment formulas/methods were
computed on Forms A-1 and A-2

® Form A-1 previously had 4 parts (4 pages)
= Part 1, Single Sales Apportionment, was most common

* Form A-2 previously had 6 parts (7 pages)

= Not very common; software companies didn’t want to
support

Apportionment Schedules

* Reasons for change:
= Returns were filed with taxpayer errors or missing info
= Processing returns was inefficient

= Law change effective for tax year 2019 adds a new
apportionment method for broadcasters

Apportionment Schedules

* Forms A-1 & A-2 are eliminated for tax year 2019

* Schedules A-01 through A-11 are created

* Each apportionment method is on its own schedule
= Many lines remain unchanged

® Schedules are numbered according to projected frequency of
use

* Software companies will be asked to support Schedules A-01
through A-06 for tax year 2019

Apportionment Schedules — NEW

V2018 V2019 [Description

AP A0

A parti ra2 bpportionment Percentage or InerstateFinancil nstitutions

A2, partiC Aoz heportionment Prcentage forInterstate Motor Carrers

A2, pPart1E a0a

ALpay a0s

A, partin A06

A2 pat1A A7

NEwfor 119 a08

A2 part 1D 209

A2 part 1 A

A2panis A Garrer
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Withholding Form Changes

Federal Form W-4

* The Internal Revenue Service is in the process of
redesigning Form W-4 for the year 2020

* DRAFT — https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-dft/fw4--dft.pdf

* The number of federal withholding allowances have
been removed from the DRAFT Form W-4

Federal Form W-4

*® Prior to these changes, an employee could use Form W-
4 for WI purposes if the employee's federal allowances
equaled his or her WI exemptions

® The redesigned Form W-4 cannot be used for WI
purposes

Wisconsin Form WT-4

* An employee will be required to provide Wisconsin
Form WT-4 to his or her employer, regardless of what is
claimed on the redesigned federal Form W-4

* The department has updated Form WT-4 to reflect
these changes
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Form PW-1, Pass-Through Withholding

* Background:

= A pass-through entity is required to withhold tax on WI
income allocable to a nonresident owner, unless an
exemption applies

= An owner of a pass-though entity can file Form PW-2 to
request an exemption

Form PW-1, Pass-Through Withholding

* Added Lines A-E on page 1 to reflect when a pass-
through entity has made an election to pay tax at the
entity level

me oW

* Bar codes removed; watermark added directing
taxpayer to "File Electronically"

Redesigned Form PW-2

® Form PW-2 is used by a nonresident owner to request DOR
approval for an exemption from withholding
* Form changes include:

= Allow nonresident owner to submit one Form PW-2 for multiple
pass-through entities
= Nonresident owner may submit Form PW-2 before estimated
payments are due for the year of the request
* Redesigned form is available at:
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/TaxForms2017through2019/20
19-FormPW-2.pdf Y

Sales and Use Tax
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Sales and Use Tax Update

¢ Tax Rate Changes
= 0.5% county tax begins in Outagamie County
= January 1, 2020
= 0.1% baseball stadium tax could end (AB73/SB67)

»in Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Washington, and Waukesha
counties, awaiting legislation

One-Time Sales Tax Reduction in Field Audit

* 2019 WI Act 10

* Effective with final determinations made on or after
October 1, 2019

* One-time reduction of additional sales tax (not use tax)
discovered during a field audit

* Reduction is 10% of state sales tax (not county or
stadium taxes)

One-Time Sales Tax Reduction in Field Audit

® 10% reduction only allowed for years in the audit period
in which the gross sales are less than $5 million

* Upon notice of field audit, the taxpayer must have filed
all returns required under Ch. 77, Wis. Stats., for the
entire audit period (includes local expo tax, premier
resort area tax, and state rental vehicle fee returns)

* Reduction not allowed in subsequent field audits

Marketplace Providers and Sellers

2019 Wis. Act 10 — Effective January 1, 2020

* Marketplace provider is required to collect and remit
tax on all sales of taxable products and services.

* Reverses the effect of the Orbitz decision.

= Marketplace providers that facilitate sales of lodging
services are required to collect and remit tax on the
entire amount charged to a purchaser.
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Marketplace Providers and Sellers

2019 Wis. Act 10 — Effective January 1, 2020 (cont.)

* Marketplace provider is:
= Required to notify sellers that it is collecting and remitting the tax.
= Required to maintain exemption certificates.

* Only the marketplace provider can be audited and held liable for
the tax, unless:

= The marketplace provider can demonstrate the error is due to
insufficient or incorrect information provided by the marketplace seller.

NOTE: For sales made prior to January 1, 2020, both the marketplace and
third-party seller may be liable on taxable sales.

Marketplace Provider Q & A

* Q: Does a marketplace provider file separate sales tax
returns for each marketplace seller?

* A: No. A marketplace provider reports its sales, and the
sales made on behalf of all of its marketplace sellers, on
its own sales tax return.

Marketplace Provider Q & A

* Q: If a marketplace provider charges additional fees for
facilitating a sale, what amount is subject to tax?

* A: A marketplace provider is required to collect and
remit Wisconsin sales and use tax on the entire amount
charged to a purchaser, including any amount charged
by the marketplace provider for facilitating the sale, as
provided in sec. 77.52(3m)(a), Wis. Stats.

Marketplace Provider Q & A

* Q: Can a marketplace provider request a waiver from
collecting and remitting tax?

* A: Yes, the department may grant a waiver to a marketplace
provider that facilitates sales on behalf of hotels, motels, or
restaurants that share the same brand name with the
marketplace provider. The application for waiver, Form S-
102, is available at reveue.wi.gov

Note: The department may grant waivers to other types of
marketplace providers, as provided in sec. 77.52(3m)(c), Wis.
Stats., if there is evidence that the marketplace seller will reliably
collect and remit the tax to the department.
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Marketplace Provider Q & A

* Q: Can a marketplace provider that is a remote seller
qualify for the small seller exception in sec.
77.51(13gm), Wis. Stats.?

* A: Yes. In determining if a marketplace provider
qualifies for the small seller exception, the annual gross
sales amount and number of transactions include sales
into Wisconsin made by the marketplace on its own
behalf or on behalf of other sellers.

Marketplace Seller Q & A

* Q: Is a marketplace seller required to register if all sales
are made through a marketplace provider?

* A: A marketplace seller is not required to register for
Wisconsin sales or use tax if all of the marketplace
seller's taxable sales in Wisconsin are facilitated by a
marketplace provider. However, the marketplace seller
is required to register for and collect Wisconsin sales or
use tax on its taxable sales in Wisconsin that are not
made through a marketplace provider.

Marketplace Seller Q & A

* Q: How does a marketplace seller report its sales if it
makes Wisconsin sales on its own and through a
marketplace provider?

Answer: The marketplace seller reports all of its sales,
including sales facilitated on its behalf by a marketplace
provider, on Line 1, "Total Sales," of the marketplace
seller's Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Return (Form ST-12).
The marketplace seller then takes a subtraction on Line 5,
"Other," for the sales amounts that are made through the
marketplace provider.

Marketplace Seller Q & A

* Q: If a marketplace provider is granted a waiver from
collecting and remitting the tax, is the marketplace
seller required to collect and remit?

* A: If a marketplace provider has been granted a waiver
from collecting and remitting Wisconsin sales or use tax
by the department, the marketplace seller is required to
collect and remit the tax on the entire sales price
charged to the purchaser for taxable sales made in
Wisconsin through that marketplace provider.
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Effect on Wisconsin Purchasers

* Q: What is the effect on Wisconsin purchasers?

* A: The law has not changed with regards to purchasers.
Purchasers owe use tax on the storage, use, or consumption
of taxable products and services in Wisconsin, unless they
can show an invoice from the seller with Wisconsin taxes
properly collected and paid. As a result of 2019 Wis. Act 10,
purchasers in Wisconsin may see an increased number of
invoices from marketplace providers showing charges for
Wisconsin sales and use tax.

Marketplace Providers and Sellers

See the department's website for resources for
marketplace providers and sellers, including additional
answers to common questions.

Wayfair Update

¢ |dentified the largest (top 1,000) retailers in the nation

¢ Verified whether they were already registered and in
compliance

* If not registered, sent letter informing them of filing
requirements and inquiring about their status under Wayfair

* Following up directly as needed

Wayfair & Alcohol Beverages

* Received records for shipments of alcohol beverages into
Wisconsin

¢ Verified whether out-of-state shippers held appropriate Excise
and Sales/Use tax permits

* If not, sent letters educating them on their obligation to hold
permits and register
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Painting and Staining Contractors

* Discovered that subcontractors were not charging sales
tax to a general contractor when hired to paint or stain
unattached trim and baseboards for a building

* Sent educational letter outlining the issues

® Published article in the April 2019 Wisconsin Tax
Bulletin to explain the tax treatment

* Sent a follow-up, self-audit letter in July

Wisconsin Court Cases

* Zimmer US, Inc.

= |ssue — Are tools used to insert a prosthetic device exempt from
sales and use tax under sec. 77.54(22b), Wis. Stats.?

= TAC stated the tools are physically and functionally separate
from the prosthetic device; are not accessories to the
prosthetic device

= The tools fall within the definition of durable medical
equipment, but are not used in a person's home. Therefore, the
tools are not exempt

= Taxpayer did not appeal the decision

Wisconsin Court Cases

* State Bar of Wisconsin
= |ssue - On-demand seminars

= Tax Appeal Commission ruled the sale of on-demand
seminars which accomplishes accrual of Supreme Court-
approved continuing legal education credits, legal
competence, and the ability to maintain good standing with
his or her law license, as the sale of a service, with the
digital good being incidental to the performance of the
service.

Vapor Products Tax
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Vapor Products Tax

* Effective October 1, 2019 (first return due November
15, 2019)

* Excise tax imposed on the sale of vapor products at the
rate of 5 cents per milliliter of the liquid or other
substance based on volume listed by manufacturer (sec.
139.75, Wis. Stats.)

* No inventory floor tax

Vapor Products Tax

* "Vapor product" is a noncombustible product that
produces vapor or aerosol for inhalation from the
application of a heating element, regardless of whether
the liquid or substance contains nicotine

* Equipment and devices not containing the liquid or
other substance are not subject to the tax

Vapor Products Tax

* Those required to pay the tax and hold a distributor permit
(Form CTP-129) include:

= Distributors that sell and ship untaxed vapor products to retailers
in WI

= Retailers that sell and ship untaxed vapor products to consumers
in WI

= Manufacturers that produce vapor products in WI for sale in WI

* Consumers who purchase untaxed vapor products are
required to pay the tax

Vapor Products Tax

* Tax is due when the untaxed vapor product is received
in WI

® Tobacco products distributor permit-holders do not
need to apply for another permit
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Vapor Products Tax

* Additional resources:
= DOR's vapor products Common Question web page
= Fact Sheet 3501, Vapor Products Tax
= Tobacco and Vapor Products Tax Forms and Instructions

* Contact DOR's Excise Tax Unit:
= Email: DORExciseTaxpayerAssistance @wisconsin.gov
= Phone: 608-266-6701

Power of Attorney Form Redesign

Power of Attorney Form Redesign

* Add and revoke representative

® Easy check box to grant full authority

® Electronic or stamped signature accepted

* Notices
= Automatically generated notices to taxpayer only
= Other notices and letter to taxpayer or POA

Power of Attorney Form Redesign

Part 1 - Taxpayer Information

TR 3 75 o DU e Tampayers et rame Grumear

E % E

EEEE Saire maEnE e
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Power of Attorney Form Redesign

Part 2 - Representative(s)

I an individuaks) name is provided, authority is limited to that individuals). If @ business name is provided without specifying
an individual, authority is granted to empioyees of the business

Check only one (see instructions)

[ Add - appoints a new or acditional representative: [0 Revoke - ends the representative named below
Teapn o
)
A G T T o Tecpene e
)
T W T ..
()
EEE Fan e
(R
Ed |- I:w;u- rvnnu

M revoking & representative, skip Part 3.and ign and date the form.

Power of Attorney Form Redesign

art 3 - Authority Granted

L1 1 grant full authority to the representative(s) - The representative(s) named above has full authority 1o perform any act with
respect to matters before the department that the taxpayer(s) can and may perform, including receiving confidential Wisconsin
tax information. Note: If granting full authority, do not check any boxes on the next page.

Power of Attorney Form Redesign

Part 3 - Authority Granted (continued)

[ 1 grant uemited autoriy 1o the represcatative(s) - (eheck only flsms below for which you are gransng suorty.) The
above hs act, that the taxpayer(s)

can and may perform, inchuding the autharity to receive confidential Wisconsin tax information

[ income or Franchise Tases [ Empioyer Wannoicing Taxes
] Sates and use Taxes [ Pass-Trvougn wimnoiding
Tases

[ xcine Taxes

[P [ ———

[ Otmer deserce baiow

Power of Attorney Form Redesign

Part 4 - Signature of Taxpayer(s)
| understand that the exscution of this Power of Attorney does not relieve me of personal responsibility for correctly and timely
reporting and paying taxes, or from the penalties, fees, or interest for failure to do 5o, all as provided for under Wisconsin tax
faw. | understand a photocopy. faxed copy, andior electronic copy of this form has the same authority as the signed onginal

If signed by a corporate officer, general partner. managing member, or fiduciary on behalf of the taxpayer, | certify that | have
the authonty to execute this Power of Attomey on behalf of the taxpayer

Sarate

Sgeatae

Note: All notices that are automatically generated by the department's computer system will be sent only to the taxpayer. If the
representative needs copies of these natices, the ropresentative must request a copy each time a notice s issued if 1t cannot be

accessed in My Tax Account as an approved third party.
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Guidance Documents

101

Guidance Documents — 2017 Act 369

* New Requirement
= All guidance documents created on or after March 21, 2019,
must go through the adoption process
= Adoption Process

» A guidance document must be submitted to the Legislative
Reference Bureau (LRB) to be published in their register for
presentation to the public for a 21-day comment period

102

Guidance Documents — 2017 Act 369

® Guidance documents issued by the department prior to
March 21, 2019, that do not go through the adoption
process are rescinded

* Guidance document examples:

= Common Questions
= Publications

= Wisconsin Tax Bulletins

Guidance Documents — 2017 Act 369

* Certification by Secretary of Revenue

= Every guidance document submitted for adoption must have
a statement from the Secretary that the document complies
with the law
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Guidance Documents — 2017 Act 369

* Citation Requirement

= Beginning August 30, 2019, state agencies are required to identify the
applicable federal or state law or administrative code provision that
supports any statement or interpretation of law that the agency
makes in any publication including forms, pamphlets, and other
informational materials

105

Filing Tips

106

Disregarded Entities

* Income/franchise tax - A single-owner entity that is disregarded as a
separate entity under IRC 7701 is a disregarded entity for Wisconsin
= The owner should submit Schedule DE with their income/franchise tax return

¢ Withholding tax — A single-owner entity that is disregarded as a
separate entity under IRC 7701 is not a disregarded entity for Wisconsin
(i.e., the entity is the employer)

Disregarded Entities

* Excise tax - A single-owner entity that is disregarded as a separate entity
for Wisconsin income/franchise tax purposes is a disregarded entity for
Wisconsin

¢ Sales/use tax - A single-owner entity that is disregarded as a separate
entity for Wisconsin income/franchise tax purposes is a disregarded
entity for Wisconsin

Sec. 77.61(19m)(a), Wis. Stats.
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Disregarded Entities

* Sales tax returns may be filed in one of two ways:

= The owner includes all of its disregarded entities'
information on owner's sales/use tax return, or

= The owner may elect to file separate sales/use tax returns
for each of its disregarded entities

109

Filing Tips — Individual Income Tax
* If documents requested by the department are
submitted online, allow up to 3 weeks for review

= As long as client has a confirmation number, we have the
documents

* File appeals online

* Taxpayers can print/view most letters online

Filing Tips — Individual Income Tax

Registered .:maa!ﬂu Unclaimed Property

i INCOME TAXES i DEBTORS

Pay Online Pay Non-Tax Debl
Submit Required Attachments (W-RA) Look Up Referred Debt
PrnUView Letter

Subma Adational Information

Appeal Bil or Notice

Submét ID Venication PIN

Take ID Verification Quiz

Submit ID Verification Documents

Filing Tips — Individual Income Tax

* Estimated and extension payments may be verified
online:
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Apps/TaxPaymentin
quiry.aspx

* If pass-through withholding is reported on Schedule 3K-
1 or 5K-1, report this as withholding on IIT return (not
as estimated payments)
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Filing Tips — Individual Income Tax

* Use correct payment type and period. If payment type or
period is incorrect, it can be corrected by submitting a
written request (email)

= Use 2020 Form 1-ES for 2020 estimated payments

= Use 2020 Form 1-ES for 2020 extension payments if paying by check, or
select "Extension payment" type if using My Tax Account

= Use 2020 Form EPV voucher for 2020 return payments

® Be sure vouchers provided to clients contain complete
information, including scanline

Filing Tips — Individual Income Tax
* Do not use partial Social Security numbers on returns,
schedules, or vouchers submitted to DOR

* Do not file Form 804, Claim for Decedent's Wisconsin
Income Tax Refund, until the refund check is received

Filing Tips — Individual Income Tax

* Form 1NPR filers completing Schedule U:

= |f no Wisconsin return was filed in prior year, do not
complete line 7 (prior year tax)

= Use value from line 4 on line 8

Filing Tips — Schedule OS

* Include complete copy of other state return
= .pdf copy of e-filed return is sufficient

= Cannot process without copy of other state's return
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Filing Tips — Credit Schedules

® Submit the proper credit schedule and/or Schedule CF
for EACH credit claimed on the CR

* If submitting supporting schedules, include name(s) of
credit schedule on supporting schedules

* Fill in amounts on credit schedules, do not write "See
statement"

® Attach credit verification forms or Schedules 2K-1, 3K-1,
or 5K-1 to support credit being claimed

17

Filing Tips — Corporate Franchise

® Form 6 returns must include all members and
designated agent

* Use correct year return for tax period. We will not
accept current year returns on prior year forms.

* Do not send checks without payment voucher or Form
Corp-ES

Filing Tips — Sales & Withholding

* Once an account is ceased, the filing requirement is
ceased as well

= Do not file "zero" returns for closed accounts
* If amending Form WT-7:

= Send corrected Forms W-2/1099 that have changed
withholding amounts

= Do not send Forms W-2/1099 if withholding did not change

119

My Tax Account Updates
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MTA

* Email confirmations

= MTA users can now choose to receive a confirmation email
after submitting returns and payments

* Automated username inactivation

= MTA will inactivate a username if it has not been accessed in
the past 18 months. User will need to call Customer Service
to re-activate

121

MTA

* Submit Information Returns in MTA

= Key in Form W-2/1099 information at any time during the
year in My Tax Account

= Log in to My Tax Account and select "Enter Form W-2/1099
Information"

122

MTA

MTA - Helpful Hints

® Submit all Forms WT-6 for 2019 prior to submitting Form
WT-7

* Request more frequent filing than required by statute by
selecting the appropriate link under "I Want To"

* May not request less frequent filing

* Remember to update profile information when there are
changes (i.e., cell provider, cell number, email address)

* DOR will annually ask you to review profile and update

124
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Unclaimed Property

125

Unclaimed Property

* Holder Reports

= Make sure business clients are reporting unclaimed property
if required

= Includes uncashed payroll checks, accounts payable checks,
loan collateral, deposits, credit balances, refunds, etc.

= Reports are due November 1st each year for prior fiscal year
(July 1 —June 30)

126

Unclaimed Property

* Holder Reports

= Provide complete and accurate owner information on holder
report

= Holder reports must be submitted electronically (My Tax
Account upload or third-party software)

= Once report and payment are submitted, there is no
additional work required

® See Publication 82, Holder Report Guide, for more
information

Unclaimed Property

* Holder Payments

= |f you pay online when submitting holder report, do not
submit a second standalone payment; will result in two
payments

= Add confirmation number or FEIN of holder if sending paper
check
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My Tax Account

* Unclaimed Property Reminder

= My Tax Account users will be presented with a prompt,

asking if they have unclaimed property to report .
g ey property forep Processing

= Plan is to roll out in spring 2020

= Only the first user to log in to business account is prompted

= First user could be third party

ore - Filing Season Openin
TY2018 Filing Statistics g P g

Tax Type Returns Filed | Efile Rate * The IRS has already announced the opening dates for
Corporation Franchise Tax (4, 4H, |44,832 80.6% Modernized eFiIe
5,6)
Fiduciary (2, 4T, Schedule CC) 63,783 68.2% = January 7, 2020, for Business Type Returns
Individual | 1,1A, INPR,  |3,160,478 86.9% .
Vr\],l_lzlslizexlzme (H-Ez & X-NOL) = January 21%, 2020, for Individual Income Tax Returns
E\a;ff)h“’”gh (ICNS/ICNP, 3,55, 190,693 89.6% * Most 2019 Wisconsin forms have been posted to our
Sales (ST-12) 894,786 94.7% website
Withholding (WT-6, WT-7) 338,326 94.2%
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E-File Mandates - 2019
* E-filing is required for Forms 1CNS, 1CNP, and PW-1 for
TY2019 (all available in My Tax Account)

* E-filing is also required for Form 6, Combined
Franchise/Income Tax Return (since form introduction
in 2014)

* DOR will reject paper filed returns for these form types

133

E-File Mandates - 2019

* Forms 3 & 55 must be filed electronically
= Letters are being sent to TY2018 paper filers
= Waivers will be considered for TY2019

134

E-File Mandates - 2019

® E-File Mandate for Sales (Form ST-12) & Withholding
(Forms WT-6 and WT-7) returns will be implemented
in 2020 for quarterly, monthly, semi-monthly, and early
monthly filers (everyone EXCEPT annual)
= Warning letters will be sent to impacted taxpayers

= Paper returns will be rejected after warning letters are
issued

= My Tax Account is a free filing option

E-File Updates
* Form 2 will no longer be available for filing through
Wisconsin eFile

* Software testing is now required for XML filing of
Forms W-2, 1099, WT-6 and WT-7

= Testing is not required for EFW2 uploads
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Software Vendor Update
* New message for software vendors
when their software hasn't been
approved OR isn't ready for release:

"We are working to get forms ready for filing
in Wisconsin. Please check again later."

* Messages provided were misleading for
tax year 2018

137

Required Forms - IIT Vendors

Form 1 Form INPR Standalone H

Form 1-£5 Y {Form 168 Y ( Homestead Notes
Property Tax Bill
Schedule AR Schedule AR Rent Certificate
Schedule BD Schedule 8D Schedule AR
Schedule CF Schedule CF BinaryAttachment
Schedule CR Schedule CR
Schedule €S Schedule €5
Schedule DC Schedule DC
Schedule DE Schedule DE
Schedule EC Schedule EC
Schedule ED Schedule ED
Schedule HR Schedule HR
Schedule JT Schedule JT
Schedule MA-A Schedule MA-A
Schedule MA-M Schedule MA-M
Schedule PS Schedule PS
Schedule R Schedule R
Schedule VC Schedule VC
Schedule WD Schedule WD
C J

138

Software Vendor Update
® Binary attachment requirement

= Vendors must support a standalone .pdf
attachment (binary attachment in this
context means .pdf)

= Primarily an issue for DIY software

139

Required Forms — Business Vendors

Form N
Schedules A-01, A-02, A-03, A-04, A-05, A-06, AR, BD, BC, DC, DE, EC, ED, HR, JT, MA-A, MA-M, R, and VC
Binary Attachment

Form3 Form 4 Form 55 Formé

Schedule 3ET Form C-EPV Y / Form C-EPV DY / Form CEPV DY
Schedule 3K-1 Form U FormU Form 68L
Schedule ET-05 Schedule CF Schedule 5K-1 Form 6CL
Schedule CR Schedule SS-ET Form 6CS
Schedule ET-05 Form 6Y
Form C-EPV
FormU
Schedule CF
J J X J

140
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Required Forms — Fiduciary Vendors

141

Form WT-11 Update

Form WT-11, Non-Resident Entertainer Withholding
Report, is available in My Tax Account

519 of 1,243 Forms WT-11 have been filed via My Tax
Account as of 9/18/2019

Taxpayers must file on DOR prescribed forms

E-file mandate likely in future

5S Election Update

* Law enacted 12/14/2018 allowing tax-option (S)
corporations to elect to be taxed at the entity level for
tax year 2018 and thereafter

* New 2018 forms posted in January 2019 and available
for filing/processing starting July 2019

* Asof 9/18/2019, 1,337 Form 5S returns have made the
election, out of 82,781 filed

Withholding Update

"Missing Information Returns" letter updated to provide
better information on what is missing or incomplete

Current process automatically sends letter when counts
reported on Form WT-7 do not match Forms W-2 or 1099
submitted

$10 penalty per information return is assessed if Forms W-2
or 1099 not received
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Withholding Update Information Returns — 2018 vs 2019
* DOR is required to hold returns for individual income 2018 2019
taxpayers until March 15t if their employer hasn't submitted — —
. January only 5.88 million 6.21 million
either the Form WT-7 or Forms W-2
February only 0.61 million .60 million
January — 7.08 million 7.38 million
September
eFile Rate 94.5% 96.5%

* In 2018, e-file threshold changed from 50 to 10 and changed due
date to January 31 for ALL Forms W-2 & 1099.

Information Returns

* Intuit (QuickBooks)
= Desktop product (and partner product Tax 1099)

» E-filed Forms 1099 contain Wisconsin Taxpayer ID

> Printed Forms 1099 contain Wisconsin Taxpayer ID Pe rforma nce Metrics
= Online product

» E-filed Forms 1099 contain Wisconsin Taxpayer ID

» Printed Forms 1099 do not contain Wisconsin Taxpayer ID

» May be subject to penalty if mailing more than ten printed Forms 1099

» Online users may request reimbursement of penalty from Intuit
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DOR Initiatives

* Fraud Prevention - ID Verification

Fraud Prevention

* Bad Refunds Stopped - Historical

FY19 FY18 FY17 FY16 Detenon | Processing | [%SSHE | camed | Homestead | iol0r
Returns Evaluated 3,087,501 | 3,075,709 | 3,058,791 | 3,061,766 With Analytics] F2497OC! | "Tops |IncomeCredit]  Credit | iatives
Quizzes Required 2,591 5,088 8,674 31,259 FY19 | <g595,686  $5970,625  $6,020,804 $20,436,036 $14,358,603 $55,381,754
PINs Required 49,919 75,053 47,453 12,055 Frig $7,052,669| 13 5,628,995  $17, 6| $14,862,551 $51,356,674)
ID Docs Required 7,725 9,518 8,251 14,566
FY17 $9,300,745|  $6,059,255  $8,044,070 $20,115,117| $16,046,799)|
[Total ID Verification Actions
Required 60,235 89,659 64,378 57,880 FY16 | $11,149,599 $8,092,817| $6,849,591 $19,946,592| $17,004,928 $63,043,527|
% of Returns Evaluated Requiring FY15 | $11,050,119 $7,335,531] $6,889,513 $16,682,990 $15,828,093 $57,786,246)
ID Verification 1.95% 2.92% 2.10% 1.89% FY14 | $3550,473  $4,904,089 $8,195222 $17,710,656 $15,299,425 $49,659,865
Refunds Denied for Failure to FY13 $3,434,613) $14,257,838| $12,480,794) $30,173,245|
erify ID 23,481] 19,202| 20298| 21,698 FY12 $1,702,300) $9,341,511) $14,694,458 _$25,738,269)
Refunds Reinstated on Appeal 2,495 2,302 2,754 8,112 0 i $3,324,200 13510220 $12,219984 $29,050,408 150
Performance Metrics Performance Metrics
FY19 - Post Audit Survey Results
Y Total Customer Call Center Contacts
Auditor was professional 93.92% Customer Service 358,893
Auditor was knowledgeable 89.23% :
g Tax Operations 30,585
| understood the notices | received 92.01%
The timeline and process were clearly 84.51% Audit 35,863
explained Compliance 294,276
Total 719,617
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Performance Metrics
FY18 - Call Centers

Bureau Inbound Answer| Average Hold
Rate H:MM:SS
Customer Service 97.49% 0:01:34
Tax Operations 99.32% 0:00:14
Audit 98.76% 0:00:13
Compliance 99.76% 0:00:17
Total 98.54% 0:00:55
Goal 97.80% 0:01:30

153

Performance Metrics

Call Center Surveys

Professional |Knowledgeable
Customer Service 98.88% 98.85%
Compliance 98.62% 99.15%
Tax Operations 98.91% 98.51%
Audit 98.61% 97.93%

154

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following
laws and regulations in effect as of October 1, 2019:

Chapters 71, 73, 77, 139, and 177, Wis. Stats.

DOR Resources

* Practitioner Assistance
= Email
dortaxpractitioners@wisconsin.gov
= Phone
608-261-5199

**Do Not Share This Information**
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DOR Resources
Speaker Contact Information

. Wendy Bailey Jennifer Chadwick

Quest|on5? Revenue Agent Supervisor Income Tax Specialist
608/261-8989 608/266-8253
wendym.bailey@wisconsin.gov jennifer.chadwick@wisconsin.gov
Andrea Northwood Van Warren
Income Tax Section Chief Revenue Agent Supervisor
608/266-3120 608/267-1347
andrea.northwood @wisconsin.gov vant.warren@wisconsin.gov

157 158

40



