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Wisconsin's General Fund Excise Taxes 

Introduction 

Wisconsin imposes excise taxes on cigarettes, tobacco products, vapor products, liquor, wine, 
and beer. While state law imposes excise taxes on the producers and distributors of these 
products, businesses generally pass the tax on to customers through higher prices. 

The state deposits revenues from these six excise taxes into the state's general fund. The state 
collects and deposits additional excise taxes into segregated funds. For example, the motor 
vehicle fuel and alternate fuel taxes partially fund the transportation fund. This paper only covers 
the general fund excise taxes. 

In FY21, excise taxes generated $677.89 million or 3.50% of the entire $19.3 billion of general-
purpose revenue (GPR) taxes collected for the fiscal year (Table 1 and Table 2).  The cigarette 
tax, totaling $509.79 million, provided 75.20% of general fund excise tax collections (see Chart 1).  
Liquor and wine taxes raised $64.59 million; the tobacco & vapor products tax raised $94.32 
million; and the beer tax $9.19 million in FY21. 

Table 1 
Wisconsin General Fund Excise Taxes 

Tax Type 
FY21 Tax Rates 

(prior to January 1, 2008 
increases) 

FY21 Excise Tax 
Revenues 

($ millions) % 
Cigarettes $2.52 per pack of 20 $509.79 75.20% 
Tobacco Products 71% of manufacturer's list price 

for tobacco, 100% of 
manufacturer's list price for 
moist snuff and the lesser of 
71% of manufacturer's list price 
or $0.50 per cigar $92.76 13.68% 

Vapor Products $0.05/mL of the liquid $1.56 0.23% 
Beer $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel 

($0.65/gallon) $9.19 1.36% 
Liquor and Wine 
Liquor 
Wine (includes 
cider containing 
more than 7% 
alcohol by volume) 
- up to 14% alcohol 
- 14% to 21% 
alcohol 
- over 21% alcohol 
 

 
$0.8586 per liter ($3.25/gallon) 
 
 
 
 
$0.06605 per liter 
($0.25/gallon) 
$0.1189 per liter ($0.45/gallon) 
$0.8586 per liter ($3.25/gallon) 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

$64.59      
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 9.53% 

Total Excise Tax 
Revenues 

  
$677.89 100.00% 

https://doris.revenue.wi.gov/PublishingImages/Logos/DOR_logo_Small.jpg
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Chart 1 
 

 
 

Table 2, below, shows excise tax collections for cigarettes, tobacco products, beer, liquor and 
wine for the last ten-year period, and the cumulative percent change between FY12 and FY21. 

Table 2 
Excise Tax Collection and Percent Change FY10 – FY19 

($ Million) 
 

              
FY Cigarette 

Tobacco 
And Vapor 
Products 

Liquor 
and 
Wine Beer Total 

Y/Y % 
Change 

FY12 587.75 65.52 47.04 9.24 709.55  
FY13 569.15 63.02 48.29 9.00 689.46 -2.83% 
FY14 573.04 67.70 48.99 8.97 698.69 -1.34% 
FY15 569.55 71.92 48.77 8.83 699.06   0.05% 
FY16 573.41 76.13 49.99 8.98 708.51   1.35% 
FY17 564.20 80.28 52.08 9.13 705.68  -0.40% 
FY18 538.90 80.20 51.97 8.91 679.98  -3.64% 
FY19 514.27 85.52 53.60 8.52 661.91  -2.66% 
FY20 523.56 92.68 54.78 8.49 679.51 2.66% 
FY21 509.79 94.32 64.59 9.19 677.89  -0.24% 

Cumulative 
% Change -13.26% 43.96% 37.31% -0.54% -4.46%   

 

Cigarettes
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Other Tobacco
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The highest growth in excise tax revenue between FY12 and FY21 was in tobacco products which 
increased by 43.96%, followed by liquor and wine tax revenues which increased by 37.31%.  
Cigarettes and beer tax revenues fell by 13.26% and 0.54% respectively between FY12 and 
FY21. However, cigarettes continue to be the largest excise tax generator.   

Between FY12 and FY21, total excise tax collections declined by an average of 4.46%. The year 
over year percentage change ranges from a low of -3.36% between FY17 and FY18 to a high of 
2.66% between FY19 and FY20. 

Cigarette Tax 

Cigarettes are taxed by the thousand, with the classes being set by weight: If 1,000 cigarettes 
weigh less than three pounds, they are Class A, and if 1,000 cigarettes weigh more than three 
pounds, they are class B. A rate of 252 mills per cigarette is imposed on class B cigarettes 
(cigarettes weighing more than 3 pounds per thousand). Almost no one makes Class B cigarettes 
anymore, therefore it will not be further discussed in this paper. 

Wisconsin first imposed the cigarette tax in 1939, as an emergency tax at a rate of $0.02 per 
pack. The tax increased to $0.03 per pack in 1949 and was made permanent that year. Table 3 
shows historical cigarette tax rates back to 1939. Wisconsin's cigarette tax is technically imposed 
on a per cigarette basis – currently at 126 mills (i.e., 126 tenths of a cent) per cigarette for class 
A cigarettes (cigarettes weighing less than 3 pounds per thousand). Given that the typical pack 
has 20 cigarettes, the current rate per pack is $2.52.  

2007 Wisconsin Act 20 increased the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack, from $0.77 to $1.77, 
effective January 1, 2008 and 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 provided for another increase of 75 cents 
per pack, from $1.77 to $2.52, effective September 1, 2009. 

Table 3 
Cigarette Tax Rate 

 
Effective Date 
Of Tax Rate 

Rate (Cents) 
Per Pack 

September 15, 1939 2 
July 20, 1949 3 
July 1, 1955 4 
July 1, 1957 5 
September 1, 1961 6 
August 15, 1963 8 
August 1, 1965 10 
September 1, 1969 14 
November 5, 1971 16 
August 1, 1981 20 
May 1, 1982 25 
September 1, 1987 30 
May 1, 1992 38 
September 1, 1995 44 
November 1, 1997 59 
October 10, 2001 77 
January 1, 2008 
September 1, 2009  

177 
252 

 
At the federal level, as a funding mechanism for the State Children's Health Insurance Program 
(SCHIP), the federal excise tax on cigarettes was increased from 39 cents per pack to $1.01 
($1.0066) per pack, effective April 1, 2009 (see Table 1, Attachment 1). 
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The cigarette tax in Wisconsin was an occupational tax until 1983 when it was converted to an 
excise tax so that it could be imposed on cigarette sales by Native Americans. Although cigarette 
sales by Native Americans are taxable, the state refunds 70% of the tax back to the tribes for 
sales made to non-Native Americans and to tribal members that reside off the reservation or trust 
lands. In addition, the state refunds 100% of the tax back to the tribes for sales made to tribal 
members that reside on reservations or trust lands. 

Cigarette tax collections are designated for the general fund. However, on two occasions, 
revenues from cigarette tax increases have been earmarked for specific programs. The additional 
revenue from the 1955 tax increase was used to fund a low-cost housing program for veterans, 
and the additional revenue from the 1961 tax increase was used to pay for improvements to the 
state park system. 

Tobacco Products Tax 

The tobacco products tax is imposed on the sale of cigars, chewing tobacco, smoking tobacco, 
and snuff. The tax was first imposed on October 1, 1981, at the rate of 20%. On December 1, 
1999, the tobacco products tax was changed from an occupational tax to an excise tax (1999 Wis. 
Act 9) and on October 1, 2001, the tax rate was raised to 25%. Wisconsin's tobacco product tax 
was significantly modified twice in recent years, as shown in Table 4 below. 

Table 4 
Recent Changes - Wisconsin Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Rates 

 
Tax Type  
 

Prior to January 1, 
2008 

January 1, 2008 to 
August 31, 2009 

September 1, 2009 
and thereafter  

Tobacco Products  
 

25% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors 

50% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors 

71% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors  

Moist Snuff  
 

25% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors 

$1.31 per ounce  
 

100% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors  

Cigars  
 

25% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors  

Lesser of 50% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors or 
$0.50 per cigar 

Lesser of 71% of 
manufacturer's 
established list price 
to distributors or 
$0.50 per cigar  

 

Beginning January 1, 2008, the taxation of moist snuff was converted from a price-based to a 
weight-based tax and the tax was set at $1.31 per ounce. Beginning September 1, 2009, however, 
2009 Wisconsin Act 28 (the 2009-11 budget bill) reversed the weight-based tax, and once again 
taxed moist snuff on a price basis equal to 100% of manufacturer's established list price to 
distributors. 

Vapor Products (E-Cigarettes) 

An excise tax on vapor products is created by 2019 Wis. Act 9. A vapor product is a 
noncombustible product that produces vapor or aerosol for inhalation from the application of a 
heating element, regardless of whether the liquid or other substance contains nicotine (sec. 
139.75(14), Wis. Stats.). Equipment and devices not containing the liquid or other substance are 
not subject to the tax. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.75(14)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.75(14)
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The tax is imposed on vapor products at the rate of 5 cents per milliliter of the liquid or other 
substance based on the volume listed by the manufacturer and at a proportionate rate for any 
other quantity or fractional part thereof (sec. 139.76(1m), Wis. Stats.). The tax applies to vapor 
products received by distributors in Wisconsin on or after October 1, 2019. 

Those required to pay the tax include: 

• Distributors that sell and ship untaxed vapor products to retailers in Wisconsin. 
• Retailers that sell and ship untaxed vapor products to consumers in Wisconsin. 
• Manufacturers that produce vapor products in Wisconsin for sale in Wisconsin. 
• Consumers who purchase vapor products from somebody who has not paid a vapor 

products excise tax on the product. These individuals must pay a use tax and file Form 
TT-104S, Wisconsin Combined Tobacco and Vapor Products Use Taxes Return. 

 

Tobacco products distributor permit-holders are already authorized vapor product distributors and 
need not apply for another permit. 

Those without a distributor permit, including manufacturers, distributors or sub jobbers of vapor 
products in Wisconsin, and Wisconsin retailers that purchase untaxed vapor products, must apply 
for a distributor permit using Form CTP-129, Cigarette-Tobacco/Vapor Products Permits 
Application.  

A retailer can verify whether its distributors are permit holders by going to 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Report/c.aspx#cig. Retailers who purchase all vapor products 
from permitted distributors are not required to hold a permit or report vapor products tax since 
they are purchasing taxed vapor products.  

Taxes on Distilled Spirits (Liquor) And Wine 

Wisconsin imposes an occupational tax on the sale of both distilled spirits [secs. 139.03(2m) and 
139.06(1) (a), Wis. Stats.] and wine [sec. 139.03(2n), Wis. Stats.]. 

The current tax rates are: $0.06605 per liter ($0.25 per gallon) for wine containing up to 14% 
alcohol, $0.1189 per liter ($0.45 per gallon) for wine containing 14% to 21% alcohol; and $0.8586 
per liter ($3.25 per gallon) for distilled spirits and wine containing over 21% alcohol. The tax was 
converted from rates per gallon to rates per liter in 1985. 

Table 5 shows the rate history for the wine tax, while Table 6 shows the rate history for the distilled 
spirit (liquor) tax. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.76(1m)
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/dorforms/ctp-129.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Report/c.aspx#cig
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.03(2m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.06(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.03(2n)
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Table 5 
Wine Tax Rates 

 
Fiscal Year of 
Rate  
Change 

Alcohol 
Content  
 

Tax 
Rate  
$/gallon  

1934 Up to 21%  
Over 21%  

0.25  
1.00  

1936 Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21%  

0.05  
0.10 
1.00   

1948 Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21% 

0.10  
0.20 
2.00   

1960 Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21% 

0.15  
0.30 
2.00   

1964 Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21% 

0.17  
0.34 
2.25   

1972 Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21% 

0.19  
0.39 
2.60   

1982 Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21% 

0.25  
0.45 
3.25   

1986 (1) Up to 14%  
14% to 21%  
Over 21% 

0.05  
0.10 
1.00   

Notes: (1) Up to 14% - $0.066 per liter, 14% to 21% - $0.119 per liter  
and Over 21 % - $0.859 per liter 

 

Wisconsin initially established its wine and liquor taxes following the end of Prohibition. The initial 
rates were $0.25 per gallon for wine containing up to 21% alcohol, $1.00 per gallon for wine 
containing over 21% alcohol, and $1.00 per gallon for distilled spirits. 

Table 6 
Distilled Spirits Tax Rates 

 
FY of Rate 
Change 

Tax Rate 

1934 $1.00 per gallon  
1948 $2.00 per gallon  
1964 $2.25 per gallon  
1972 $2.60 per gallon  
1982 $3.25 per gallon  
1986 $0.8586 per liter 

or  
$3.25 per gallon  

 

 

Liquor distributors remit the tax on a monthly basis, and the tax is based upon the distributor's tax 
liability for the previous month. In addition to the liquor tax, distributors pay DOR an administrative 
fee of $0.11 per gallon on liquor containing 0.5% or more alcohol by volume. 
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Tax on Fermented Malt Beverages 

Wisconsin imposes an occupational tax on the sale of fermented malt beverages (beer) at the 
rate of $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel [sec. 139.02(1), Wis. Stats.]. The tax was first imposed in 1933, 
at the end of Prohibition, at the rate of $1.00 per barrel. It was intended to be temporary but was 
made permanent in 1943. The only increase in the tax rate occurred on November 1, 1969 (by 
Chapter 185, Laws of 1969), when it was raised to its current rate of $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel 
(equivalent to about $0.065 per gallon). 

Excise Tax Comparisons with Other States 

Cigarette Taxes 

All 50 states and the District of Columbia impose cigarette taxes. In addition, eight states – 
Alabama, Alaska, Illinois, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Tennessee, and Virginia – permit at least 
one county or city to levy cigarette taxes.  

State cigarette tax rates range from a high of $4.50 in the District of Columbia (DC) to a low of 
$0.17 in Missouri. As of January 1, 2022, Wisconsin’s $2.52 rate was the 15th highest among the 
50 states. Wisconsin’s tax rate is higher than those in Michigan ($2.00), and Iowa ($1.36) but 
lower than those in Illinois ($2.98) and Minnesota ($3.04).  

As of January 1, 2021, the average cigarettes tax rate (including DC) is $1.78 per pack and the 
highest state-only cigarette tax rate (excluding DC's rate of $4.50 per pack) are New York and 
Connecticut at $4.35 per pack. Most states prohibit local governments from imposing cigarette 
taxes; however, the following exceptions apply:  

(a) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes: in Alabama, 1¢ 
to 25¢; Illinois, 10¢ to $4.18; Missouri, 4¢ to 7¢; New York City, $1.50; Tennessee, 1¢; 
and Virginia, 2¢ to 15¢. 

(b) Florida's rate includes a surcharge of $1 per pack. 

(c) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.05¢ in Tennessee. 

(d) Minnesota imposes an in-lieu cigarette sales tax determined annually by the Department. 
The current rate is 66.3¢ through December 31, 2022. 

(e) The District of Columbia imposes an in-lieu cigarette sales tax calculated every March 31. 
The current rate is 51¢. 

(Source: FTA) 

Tobacco Products & E-Cigarettes Taxes 

Unlike the cigarette tax, which is standardized on a per pack basis, the taxation of other tobacco 
products, which includes snuff, chewing tobacco, smoking tobacco, cigars, and vapor is diverse. 
It varies both between and within states depending on the type of tobacco product considered. 
Several states tax some tobacco products as a percentage of price and other products by unit or 
weight. 

Seven states, including Wisconsin, base the snuff tax on the price charged by the manufacturer. 
Twenty-one states (including the District of Columbia) base the tax on the wholesale price, while 
19 states, base the tax on weight (oz). 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.02(1)
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Seven states, including Wisconsin, base chewing, and smoking tobacco taxes on manufacturer’s 
price. Seventeen states (including the District of Columbia) base the tax on wholesale price, 
fifteen states, base the tax on weight (oz).  

Nine states, including Wisconsin, tax cigars based on the price charged by manufacturers, 35 
states (including the District of Columbia), base the tax on wholesale prices, three states, base 
the tax on 10 cigar packs, and two states (Georgia and Vermont) on a combination of wholesale 
and packs. 

(1) Alabama's cigar tax rate rises with the retail price; the rate on smoking tobacco and snuff 
depends on package weight.  

(2) The District of Columbia (DC) adjusts the tax rate annually, effective October 1st each 
year.  

(3) Florida's rate includes a 60% surtax.  
(4) In Hawaii, Iowa, Pennsylvania, Utah, and Washington little cigars are taxed as cigarettes. 

You may visit DOR Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes (wi.gov) to view our visualizations on cigarettes 
and other tobacco product taxes. 

Liquor Taxes  
 
Thirty-three states are classified as license states, where a licensed entity may sell liquor and 
impose excise taxes on liquor sales. The remaining 17 states are liquor monopoly states where 
the government maintains complete or partial control over the sale of liquor and generates 
revenue through taxes, fees, and profits from sales (Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, 
Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, 
Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming).  
 
As of January 1, 2019, tax rates ranged from $14.27 per gallon in Washington State which 
privatized liquor sales effective June 1, 2012 to $2.28 per gallon in Colorado. Both Minnesota 
(at $5.03 per gallon) and Illinois (at $8.55 per gallon) had tax rates higher than Wisconsin’s 
$3.25 per gallon. Iowa and Michigan are monopoly states (Table 9). 
 

Wine Taxes 

Forty-seven states impose an excise tax on the sale of wine. Three states - Pennsylvania, Utah, 
and Wyoming - have state wine monopolies. Table 10 shows the wine tax rates as of January 
2019. Ignoring special tax rates on sparkling wine and on wine with high or low alcohol content, 
Alaska had the highest tax rate ($2.50 per gallon) and California the lowest ($0.20 per gallon). 
Only California ($0.20), and Texas ($0.20) had tax rates on wine lower than Wisconsin’s $0.25 
per gallon rate. Wisconsin's neighbors all had higher wine tax rates - $1.75 per gallon in Iowa, 
$1.39 in Illinois, $0.51 in Michigan, and $0.30 in Minnesota. 

Beer Taxes  

All states impose a beer tax. Wyoming had the lowest tax, $0.02 per gallon, while Hawaii had the 
highest rate, $0.93 per gallon. Missouri, at $0.06 per gallon and Wisconsin at $0.065 had the next 
lowest tax rates after Wyoming. Rates in neighboring states were $0.231 per gallon in Illinois, 
$0.19 in Iowa, $0.20 in Michigan and $0.15 in Minnesota.  

You can check our data visualizations on alcohol beverages and a range of other Wisconsin Tax 
and economic data at: DOR Alcohol Beverages (wi.gov) and at: DOR Reports (wi.gov). 

 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/RA/CigaretteTobaccoTaxes.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/RA/AlcoholBeverage.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Report/Home.aspx
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Attachment 1 
State Cigarette Tax Rates & Rank 

 

State 

Cigarette 
Tax Per 
Pack 

National 
Rank 
(1=high) 

FY 2017 
Cigarette 
Pack Sales 
(millions) 

FY 2017 
Cigarette Tax 
Revenue 
(millions) 

Retail Price 
per Pack 

All State Average $1.81  n/a 12.3 billion $16.9 billion $6.30  
Alabama $0.68  41st 282.50 179.80 5.11 
Alaska $2.00  17th 24.40 48.50 8.89 
Arizona $2.00  17th 156.10 288.40 7.06 
Arkansas $1.15  35th 156.50 170.50 5.93 
California $2.87  11th 804.50 950.60 7.69 
Colorado $0.84  39th 191.00 158.90 5.45 
Connecticut $4.35  2nd 94.60 367.30 10.06 
Delaware $2.10  15th 69.10 108.60 6.13 
Washington, DC $4.50  1st 9.00 25.70 10.00 
Florida $1.34  31st 837.10 1098.90 5.95 
Georgia $0.37  49th 470.20 170.60 4.69 
Hawaii $3.20  6th 35.90 114.90 8.88 
Idaho $0.57  45th 65.60 36.20 5.29 
Illinois $2.98  10th 393.30 762.40 8.50 
Indiana $1.00  38th 406.20 397.90 5.50 
Iowa $1.36  30th 141.10 188.30 6.11 
Kansas $1.29  33rd 100.30 132.90 5.86 
Kentucky $1.10  36th 379.90 226.90 5.54 
Louisiana $1.08  37th 269.60 276.80 5.59 
Maine $2.00  17th 66.10 130.20 7.09 
Maryland $2.00  17th 175.60 346.90 6.80 
Massachusetts $3.51  5th 165.30 578.90 9.68 
Michigan $2.00  17th 441.00 868.80 6.51 
Minnesota $3.04  8th 156.50 556.80 8.94 
Mississippi $0.68  40th 177.50 115.10 5.02 
Missouri $0.17  51st 484.40 79.90 4.62 
Montana $1.70  25th 42.90 70.40 6.02 
Nebraska $0.64  42nd 82.80 52.00 5.31 
Nevada $1.80  23rd 106.70 191.50 6.33 
New Hampshire $1.78  24th 116.50 208.00 5.85 
New Jersey $2.70  12th 244.50 659.00 7.51 
New Mexico $2.00  17th 50.00 82.80 6.62 
New York $4.35  2nd 261.80 1133.90 10.47 
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Attachment 1 (Continue) 
State Cigarette Tax Rates & Rank 

 

State 

Cigarette 
Tax Per 
Pack 

National 
Rank 
(1=high) 

FY 2017 
Cigarette 
Pack Sales 
(millions) 

FY 2017 
Cigarette Tax 
Revenue 
(millions) 

Retail Price 
per Pack 

North Carolina $0.45  47th 553.40 248.70 4.74 
North Dakota $0.44  48th 49.40 21.70 4.74 
Ohio $1.60  27th 581.70 913.90 6.15 
Oklahoma $2.03  16th 237.40 242.30 6.41 
Oregon $1.33  32nd 156.80 206.30 5.65 
Pennsylvania $2.60  13th 518.10 1303.90 8.05 
Rhode Island $4.25  4th 36.10 133.60 9.66 
South Carolina $0.57  45th 275.30 149.70 4.91 
South Dakota $1.53  28th 36.00 54.50 6.33 
Tennessee $0.62  43rd 393.70 239.20 5.07 
Texas $1.41  29th 889.20 1195.80 6.20 
Utah $1.70  25th 56.20 91.60 6.85 
Vermont $3.08  7th 22.70 67.90 8.68 
Virginia $0.30  50th 511.30 151.50 4.98 
Washington $3.03  9th 124.20 377.90 8.27 
West Virginia $1.20  34th 150.60 173.50 5.81 
Wisconsin $2.52  14th 225.50 564.20 7.32 
Wyoming $0.60  44th 30.70 17.30 4.97 
Sources: tobaccofreekids.org 
State averages do not include U.S. territories. Taxed Pack Sales include all cigarette sales on which cigarette taxes 
were collected. The retail price per pack includes all federal and statewide excise and sales taxes but not any purely 
local taxes (except that NY City’s $1.50 per pack tax is factored into the overall NY State price per pack). AK, DE, MT, 
NH & OR have no state sales tax; OK has a state sales tax but does not apply it to cigarettes; MN & DC apply a per-
pack sales tax at the wholesale level; and AL, GA & MO do not apply their sales tax to the portion of retail cigarette 
prices that is the state’s cigarette excise tax. 
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Attachment 2 
Other State Tax Rates on Distilled Spirits 

(January 1, 2022) 
 
State 

Sales Tax 
Applies 

 
Other Taxes 

Alabama Yes  
Alaska n/a Under 21% - $2.50/gallon 
Arizona  Yes Under 5% - $0.50/gallon, under 21% -$1.00/gallon; $0.20/case; 

3% off; 14% on-premises retail taxes 
 

Arkansas Yes  
California Yes Over 50% - $6.60/gallon 
Colorado Yes  
Connecticut Yes Under 7% - $2.46/gallon 
Delaware n/a 25% or less - $3.00/gallon 
Florida Yes Under 17.259% - $2.25/gallon, over 55.780% - $9.53/gallon 
Georgia Yes $0.83/gallon local tax 
Hawaii Yes  
Idaho Yes  
Illinois Yes Under 20% - $1.39/gallon; $2.68/gallon in Chicago and 

$2.50/gallon in Cook County 
Indiana Yes Under 15% - $0.47/gallon 
Iowa Yes  
Kansas -- 8% off- and 10% on-premises retail tax 
Kentucky Yes Under 6% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case and 11% wholesale tax 
Louisiana Yes  
Maine Yes  
Maryland Yes 9% sales tax 
Massachusetts  under 15% - $1.10/gallon, over 50% alcohol - $4.05/proof gallon; 

0.57% on private club sales 
Michigan Yes  
Minnesota -- $0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 9% sales tax 
Mississippi Yes  
Missouri Yes  
Montana n/a  
Nebraska Yes   
Nevada Yes 5% to 14% - $0.70/gallon, 15% to 22% - $1.30/gallon 
New Hampshire n/a  
New Jersey Yes  
New Mexico Yes  
New York Yes Under 24% - $2.54/gal.; additional $1.00/gal. in New York City 
North Carolina Yes (1)  
North Dakota -- 7% state sales tax 
Ohio Yes  
Oklahoma Yes 13.5% on-premises 
Oregon n/a  
Pennsylvania Yes  
Rhode Island Yes  
South Carolina Yes $5.36/case and 9% surtax; additional 5% on-premises tax 
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South Dakota Yes Under 14% - $0.93/gallon; 2% wholesale tax 
Tennessee Yes 15% on-premises; under 7% - $1.10/gallon. 
Texas Yes 14.95% on-premises and $0.05/drink on airline sales 
Utah Yes  
Vermont No 10% on-premises sales tax 
Virginia Yes  
Washington (2) -- $9.24/gal. on-premises; 20.5% retail sales tax, 13.7% sales tax 

to on-premises 
West Virginia Yes  
Wisconsin Yes $0.03/gallon administrative fee 
Wyoming Yes  
Dist. of Columbia -- 9% off- and on-premises sales tax 

Source:  Compiled by FTA from state sources. 
Notes: n/a = not applicable. These 5 states do not have a general sales tax. 
(1) General sales tax applies to on-premises sales only. 
(2) Washington privatized liquor sales effective June 1, 2012. 

 
Attachment 3 

Other State Tax Rates on Wine 
(January 1, 2019) 

 
State 

Sales 
Tax 
Applies 

 
Other Taxes 

Alabama Yes $0.26/gallon local; over 16.5% - $9.16/gallon 
Alaska n/a  
Arizona  Yes Over 24% - $4.00/gallon 
Arkansas Yes Under 5% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case; 3% off- and 10% on-premises 
California Yes Sparkling wine - $0.30/gallon 
Colorado Yes  
Connecticut Yes Over 21% and sparkling wine - $1.80/gallon 
Delaware n/a  
Florida Yes Over 17.259% - $3.00/gallon, sparkling wine $3.50/gallon 
Georgia Yes Over 14% - $2.54/gallon; $0.83/gallon local tax 
Hawaii Yes Sparkling wine - $2.12/gallon, wine coolers - $0.85/gallon 
Idaho Yes  
Illinois Yes Over 20% - $8.55/gallon; ($0.36 - $0.89/gallon in Chicago; ($0.24 - 

$0.45)/gallon in Cook County 
Indiana Yes Over 21% - $2.68/gallon 
Iowa Yes Under 5% - $0.19/gallon 
Kansas -- Over 14% - $0.75/gallon; 8% off- and 11% on-premises 
Kentucky Yes 10.0% wholesale 
Louisiana Yes 14% to 24% - $1.32/gallon, over 24% and sparkling wine - $2.08/gallon 
Maine Yes Over 15.5% - sold through state stores, sparkling wine - $1.25/gallon; 

7% on-premises sales tax 
Maryland -- 9% sales tax 
Massachusetts  Sparkling wine - $0.70/gallon; 
Michigan Yes Over 16% - $0.76/gallon 
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Minnesota -- 14% to 21% - $0.95/gallon, under 24% and sparkling wine - 
$1.82/gallon; over 24% - $3.52/gallon; $0.01/bottle (except miniature) 
and 9% sales tax 

Mississippi Yes Sparkling wine and champagne - $1.00/gallon; 
Missouri Yes Includes additional charges 
Montana n/a Over 16% - sold through state stores 
Nebraska Yes  Over 14% - $1.35/gallon 
Nevada Yes 14% to 22% - $1.30/gallon, over 22% - $3.60/gallon 
New Hampshire n/a  
New Jersey Yes  
New Mexico Yes  
New York Yes  
North Carolina Yes  Over 17% - $1.11/gallon 
North Dakota -- Over 17% - $0.60/gallon; 7% sales tax 
Ohio Yes Over 14% to 21% - $1.00/gal., vermouth - $1.10/gal.; sparkling wine - 

$1.50/gal. 
Oklahoma Yes Sparkling wine - $2.08/gallon; 13.5% on-premises 
Oregon n/a Over 14% - $0.77/gallon 
Pennsylvania Yes  
Rhode Island Yes Sparkling wine - $0.75/gallon 
South Carolina Yes $0.18/gallon additional tax 
South Dakota Yes 14% to 20% - $1.45/gallon, over 21% and sparkling wine - 

$2.07/gallon; 2% wholesale tax 
Tennessee Yes 15% on-premises 
Texas Yes Over 14% - $0.408/gallon and sparkling wine - $0.516/gallon; 14.95% 

on-premises and $0.05/drink on airline sales 
Utah Yes  
Vermont Yes Over 16% - sold through state store, 10% on-premises sales tax 
Virginia Yes Under 4% - $0.2565/gallon and over 14% - sold through state stores 
Washington  Yes Over 14% - $1.75/gallon 
West Virginia Yes 5% local tax 
Wisconsin Yes Over 14% - $0.45/gallon 
Wyoming Yes  
Dist. of Columbia -- 9% off- and on-premises sales tax; over 14% - $0.40/gal.; Sparkling - 

$0.45/gal. 
Source:  Compiled by FTA from state sources. 

 
Attachment 4 

Other State Tax Rates on Beer 
(January 1, 2019) 

 
State 

 
Sales Tax 
Applies 

 
Other Taxes 

Alabama Yes $0.52/gallon local tax statewide 
Alaska n/a  
Arizona  Yes  
Arkansas Yes 3% off- 10% on-premises tax 
California Yes  
Colorado Yes  
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Connecticut Yes  
Delaware n/a  
Florida Yes  
Georgia Yes $0.53/gallon local tax 
Hawaii Yes $0.54/gallon draft beer 
Idaho Yes Over 4% - $0.45/gallon 
Illinois Yes $0.29/gallon in Chicago and $0.09/gallon in Cook County 
Indiana Yes  
Iowa Yes  
Kansas -- 8% off- and 10% on-premises 
Kentucky Yes 10.0% wholesale tax 
Louisiana Yes $0.048/gallon local tax 
Maine Yes 7% on-premises sales tax 
Maryland -- 9% sales tax 
Massachusetts  0.57% on private club sales 
Michigan Yes  
Minnesota -- Under 3.2% - $0.077/gallon, 9% sales tax 
Mississippi Yes  
Missouri Yes  
Montana n/a  
Nebraska Yes   
Nevada Yes  
New Hampshire n/a  
New Jersey Yes  
New Mexico Yes  
New York Yes Additional $0.12/gallon in New York City 
North Carolina Yes  7% state sales tax, bulk beer $0.08/gal. 
North Dakota --  
Ohio Yes  
Oklahoma Yes Under 3.2% - $0.36/gallon; 13.5% on-premises 
Oregon n/a  
Pennsylvania Yes  
Rhode Island Yes $0.04/case wholesale tax 
South Carolina Yes  
South Dakota Yes  
Tennessee Yes Excise Barrelage Tax and Wholesale Tax 
Texas Yes 14.95% on-premises and $0.05/drink on airline sales 
Utah Yes Over 3.2% - sold through state store 
Vermont Yes More than 6% alcohol - $0.55; 10% on-premises sales tax 
Virginia Yes  
Washington  Yes  
West Virginia Yes  
Wisconsin Yes  
Wyoming Yes  
Dist. of Columbia Yes 9% off- and on-premises sales tax 

Source:  Compiled by FTA from state sources. 
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