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A. INTRODUCTION   

Wisconsin imposes excise taxes on cigarettes, tobacco products, liquor, wine, and beer. While state law 
imposes excise taxes on the producers and distributors of these products, businesses generally pass the 
tax on to customers through higher prices.  

 
The state deposits revenues from these five excise taxes in to the state's general fund. The state collects and 
deposits additional excise taxes into segregated funds. For example, the motor vehicle fuel and alternate fuel 
taxes partially fund the transportation fund. This paper only covers the general fund excise taxes. 

 
Table 1 

Wisconsin General Fund Excise Taxes FY16 

Tax Type 
Tax Rates (1)  as of January 1, 

2016 

FY16 Excise Tax 
Revenues  

($ 
millions) 

% 

Cigarettes $2.52 Per 20-Pack 573.41 80.93% 

Tobacco Products (2) 71% of manufacturer's established 
list price to distributors  

8.22 1.16% 

Moist Snuff (2) 100% of manufacturer's 
established list price to distributors 

52.78 7.45% 

Cigars (2) Lesser of 71% of manufacturer's 
established list price to distributors 
or $0.50 per cigar  

15.1 2.13% 

Beer $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel 
($0.065/gallon) 

9 1.27% 

Distilled Spirits $0.8586 per liter ($3.25/gallon) 46.02 6.50% 

Wine and Other Cider $0.171/liter ($0.065/gallon) 3.97 0.56% 

- up to 14% alcohol $0.06605 per liter ($0.25/gallon)     
- 14% to 21% alcohol $0.1189 per liter ($0.45/gallon)     
- over 21% alcohol $0.8586 per liter ($3.25/gallon)     

Total Excise Tax 
Revenues  

  
708.5 100.00% 

(1) Cigarette and tobacco products tax rates were increased on September 1, 2009. 

(2) Tobacco products, moist snuff, and cigars tax collections distribution from an internal 
DOR report. 

 
 

In FY16, excise taxes generated $708.51 million or 4.69% of the entire $15,097.5 billion of general purpose 
revenue (GPR) taxes collected for the fiscal year (Tables 1 and 2). The cigarette tax, totaling $573.4 million, 
provided 80.9% of general fund excise tax collections (see Chart 1). Liquor and wine taxes contributed $49.9 
million; tobacco products taxes (including moist snuff and cigars) raised $76.1 million; and the beer tax raised 
$9.0 million in FY16. In FY16, excise taxes were the fourth largest source of tax revenue for the state's general 
fund. Individual income, sales, and corporate income tax collections exceeded general fund excise tax 
collections. Wisconsin collected one other general fund excise tax during its history, a tax on oleomargarine, 
which was in place from 1931 through 1973. 



4 

 

Chart 1 

 
Table 2, below, shows annual excise tax collections for cigarettes, total non-cigarette tobacco products 
(including cigars, moist snuff, and other products), distilled spirits, wine and apple cider, and beer since 
FY00, and the cumulative percent change between FY00 and FY16.  

 
Table 2 

Excise Tax Collections And Percent Change FY00 - FY16 

($ Million) 

FY Cigarettes 
Tobacco 
Products 

Distilled 
Spirits 

Wine 
and 

Cider 
Beer 

Total 
Excise 

Tax 

Total 
Excise 
Tax as 
% GPR 

FY00 247.6 10.3 32.3 2.2 9.4 301.9 2.76% 

FY01 243.5 11.4 33.1 2.4 9.4 299.8 2.98% 

FY02 288.8 13.9 33.4 2.5 9.6 348.3 3.48% 

FY03 293.7 15.5 33.4 2.7 9.5 354.8 3.48% 

FY04 291.3 16.1 35.7 3.4 9.6 356.1 3.32% 

FY05 294.3 15.8 36.7 2.9 9.8 359.4 3.15% 

FY06 301.5 16.4 38.3 2.7 9.8 368.7 3.06% 

FY07 296.1 17.5 39.2 3.5 9.5 365.8 2.90% 

FY08 455.7 29.7 42.2 3 9.6 540.3 4.14% 

FY09 551.3 42.2 41 3.2 9.9 647.6 5.35% 

FY10 644.3 59.9 41 3.2 9.6 757.9 6.25% 

FY11 604.6 60.9 42.7 3 9.3 720.6 5.58% 

FY12 587.8 65.5 43.5 3.5 9.2 709.5 5.25% 

FY13 569.2 63 44.6 3.6 9 689.5 4.96% 

FY14 573 67.7 45.3 3.6 9 698.6 5.07% 

FY15 569.5 71.9 45 3.8 8.8 699.1 4.87% 

FY16 573.4 76.1 46 4 9 708.5 4.69% 

Cumulative 
% Change 

131.58% 638.83% 42.41% 81.82% -4.26% 134.68% NA 

Cigarettes 81%

Tobacco Products 1%

Moist Snuff 7%

Cigars 2%

Beer 1%

Distilled Spirits 7%

Wine and Apple Cider 1%

Distribution of Excise Tax Revenues
FY16
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The highest growth in excise tax revenue between FY00 and FY16 was in tobacco products which increased 
by 638.8% followed by cigarette tax revenues which increased by 131.6%. Tax rate increases during this 
period, discussed in the following sections, contributed heavily to the growth rates discussed above. 
Cigarettes, with tax collections of $573.4 million, continue to be the largest excise tax generator. 

 
As Table 2 shows, between FY00 and FY07, the contribution of excise taxes to total GPR tax collections was 
generally around 3 percent. Given tax rate increases in cigarette and tobacco products, however, the 
contribution of excise taxes to total general fund revenues increased to 5.35% in FY09 and to 6.25% in FY10, 
but decreased to 4.69% by FY16 as other general fund revenues grew after the 2008/09 recession. 

 
B. CIGARETTE TAX 
 

The cigarette tax is currently $2.52 per pack (as of September 1, 2009). The tax increased sharply in recent 
years. 
 
Wisconsin first imposed the cigarette tax in 1939, as an emergency tax at a rate of $0.02 per pack. The tax 
increased to $0.03 per pack in 1949 and was made permanent that year. As Table 3 shows, the tax rate was 
increased periodically until it reached $0.16 per pack in 1971. It then remained unchanged for another ten 
years, when it was increased to $0.20 on August 1, 1981. There were, subsequently, two more increases in 
the 1980s and three in the 1990s. The tax was then set at $0.77 for over six years (beginning in 2001). 
 
2007 Wisconsin Act 20 increased the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack, from $0.77 to $1.77, effective January 1, 
2008 and 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 provided for another increase of 75 cents per pack, from $1.77 to $2.52, 
effective September 1, 2009. 

Table 3 

Cigarette Tax Rates 

Effective Date of Tax Rate 
Rate Per 

Pack (Cents) 

September 15, 1939 2 

July 20, 1949 3 

July 1, 1955 4 

July 1, 1957 5 

September 1, 1961 6 

August 15, 1963 8 

August 1, 1965 10 

September 1, 1969 14 

November 5, 1971 16 

August 1, 1981 20 

May 1, 1982 25 

September 1, 1987 30 

May 1, 1992 38 

September 1, 1995 44 

November 1, 1997 59 

October 10, 2001 77 

January 1, 2008 177 

September 1, 2009 252 

 
Wisconsin's cigarette tax is technically imposed on a per cigarette basis – currently at 126 mills (i.e. 126 tenths 
of a cent) per cigarette for cigarettes weighing less than 3 pounds per thousand. Given that the typical pack 
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has 20 cigarettes, the current rate per pack is $2.52. A higher rate of 252 mills per cigarette is imposed on 
cigarettes weighing more than 3 pounds per thousand. 

 
At the federal level, as a funding mechanism for the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), the 
federal excise tax on cigarettes was increased from 39 cents per pack to $1.01 ($1.0066) per pack, effective 
April 1, 2009 (see Table 1, Attachment 1). 

 
The cigarette tax in Wisconsin was an occupational tax until 1983, when it was converted to an excise tax so 
that it could be imposed on cigarette sales by Native Americans. Although cigarette sales by Native Americans 
are taxable, the state refunds 70% of the tax back to the tribes for sales made to non-Native Americans and to 
tribal members that reside off the reservation or trust lands. In addition, the state refunds 100% of the tax back 
to the tribes for sales made to tribal members that reside on reservation or trust lands. 

 
The state deposits cigarette tax collections into the general fund. However, on two occasions, revenues from 
cigarette tax increases have been earmarked for specific programs. The additional revenue from the 1955 tax 
increase funded a low-cost housing program for veterans and the additional revenue from the 1961 tax 
increase paid for improvements to the state park system. 

C. TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 

Wisconsin's tobacco product tax was significantly modified twice in recent years. The tobacco products tax is 
imposed on the sale of cigars, chewing tobacco, smoking tobacco, and snuff. The tax was first imposed on 
October 1, 1981, at the rate of 20%. On December 1, 1999, the tobacco products tax was changed from an 
occupational tax to an excise tax (1999 Wis. Act 9) and on October 1, 2001, the tax rate was raised to 25%. 
Effective January 1, 2008, the tobacco products tax on all tobacco, other than moist snuff, was increased from 
25% of the manufacturer's list price to 50% of the list price, and then further increased to 71% of 
manufacturer's established list price by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 (Table 4). Beginning January 1, 2008, a cap of 
50 cents was also established as the maximum tax per cigar. 

Table 4 

Recent Changes - Wisconsin Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Rates 

Tax Type Prior to  January  1, 2008 
January  1 , 2008 to 

August 31, 2009 
September  1, 2009 and 

thereafter 
Tobacco Products 25% of manufacturer's 

established list price to 
distributors 

50% of manufacturer's 
established list price to 

distributors 

71 % of manufacturer's established 
list price to distributors 

Moist Snuff 25% of manufacturer's 
established list price to 

distributors 
$1.31 per ounce 

100% of manufacturer's 
established list price to distributors 

Cigars 
25% of manufacturer's 
established list price to 

distributors 

Lesser of 50% of 
manufacturer's established 
list price to distributors or 

$0.50 per cigar 

Lesser of 71% of manufacturer's 
established list price to distributors 

or $0.50 per cigar 

 
Beginning January 1, 2008, the taxation of moist snuff was converted from a price-based to a weight based 
tax and the tax was set at $1.31 per ounce. Beginning September 1, 2009, however, 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 
(the 2009-11 budget bill) reversed the weight based tax, and once again taxed moist snuff on an ad valorem, 
price-based tax, equal to 100% of manufacturer's established list price to distributors. 
 
At the federal level, as a funding mechanism for the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), 
several changes were made in the taxation of various types of tobacco products. These are listed in Table 2, 
Attachment 1. 
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D. TAXES ON DISTILLED LIQUOR AND WINE 

Wisconsin imposes an occupational tax on the sale of both distilled spirits [secs. 139.03(2m) and 139.06(1) 
(a), Wis. Stats.] and wine [sec. 139.03(2n), Wis. Stats.]. 
 
Current tax rates are: $0.06605 per liter ($0.25 per gallon) for wine containing up to 14% alcohol, $0.1189 per 
liter ($0.45 per gallon) for wine containing 14% to 21% alcohol; and $0.8586 per liter ($3.25 per gallon) for 
distilled spirits and wine containing over 21% alcohol. The tax was converted from rates per gallon to rates per 
liter in 1985. 
 
Table 5 shows the rate history for the wine tax, while Table 6 shows the rate history for the liquor tax. 

Table 5 

Wine Tax Rates 

Fiscal Year of Rate 

Change 

Alcohol Content Tax Rate 

$/gallon 

1934 Up to 21% $0.25 

 Over 21% 1.00 

1936 Up to 14% 0.05 

 14% to 21% 0.10 

 Over 21% 1.00 

1948 Up to 14% 0.10 

 14% to 21% 0.20 

 Over 21 % 2.00 

1960 Up to 14% 0.15 

 14% to 21% 0.30 

 Over 21% 2.00 

1964 Up to 14% 0.17 

 14% to 21% 0.34 

 Over 21% 2.25 

1972 Up to 14% 0.19 

 14% to 21% 0.39 

 Over 21 % 2.60 

1982 Up to 14% 0.25 

 14% to 21% 0.45 

 Over 21% 3.25 

1986 (1) Up to 14% 0.25 

 14% to 21% 0.45 

 Over 21 % $3.25 
 

Notes: (1) Up to 14% - $0.066 per liter, 14% to 21% - $0.119 per liter 

and Over 21 % - $0.859 per liter 

Wisconsin initially established its wine and liquor taxes following the end of Prohibition. The initial rates were 
$0.25 per gallon for wine containing up to 21% alcohol, $1.00 per gallon for wine containing over 21% 
alcohol, and $1.00 per gallon for distilled spirits. 
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Table 6 
Distilled Spirits Tax Rates 

Fiscal Year of 

Rate Change 
Tax Rate 

1934 $1.00 per gallon 

1948 $2.00 per gallon 

1964 $2.25 per gallon 

1972 $2.60 per gallon 

1982 $3.25 per gallon 

1986 $0.8586 per liter or  

$3.25 per gallon 

 
Liquor distributors remit the tax on a monthly basis, and the tax is based upon the distributor's tax liability for 
the previous month. In addition to the liquor tax, distributors pay DOR an administrative fee of $0.11 per 
gallon on liquor containing 0.5% or more alcohol by volume. 

E. TAX ON FERMENTED MALT BEVERAGES 

Wisconsin imposes an occupational tax on the sale of fermented malt beverages (beer) at the rate of $2.00 
per 31-gallon barrel [sec. 139.02(1), Wis. Stats.]. The tax was first imposed in 1933, at the end of 
Prohibition, at the rate of $1.00 per barrel. It was intended to be temporary, but was made permanent in 
1943. The only increase in the tax rate occurred on November 1, 1969 (by Chapter 185, Laws of 1969), 
when it was raised to its current rate of $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel (equivalent to about $0.06 per gallon). 

 
 

F. COMPARISONS WITH OTHER STATES  
  

1. Cigarette Taxes 
 

All 50 states and the District of Columbia impose cigarette taxes. In addition, eight states – Alabama, 
Alaska, Illinois, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Tennessee and Virginia – permit at least one county or city to 
levy cigarette taxes. 
 
Table 7 shows the state tax rates for a pack of 20 cigarettes as of January 1, 2016. State cigarette tax rates 
range from a high of $4.35 in New York to a low of $0.17 in Missouri. As January 1, 2016, Wisconsin’s $2.52 
rate was the 10th highest among the 50 states. On that date, Wisconsin’s tax rate was higher than those in 
Michigan ($2.00), Iowa ($1.36), and Illinois ($1.98). The cigarette tax rate in Minnesota is $3.00 and is the 
highest cigarette tax rate in the region.  
 
As of January 2016, the average state cigarette tax rate is $1.65 per pack (Table 1, Attachment 1) and the 
highest state-only cigarette tax rate is New York at $4.35 per pack. Presently, 30 states have cigarette tax 
rates of $1.00 per pack or higher; 15 states have cigarette tax rates of $2.00 per pack or higher; six states 
have cigarette tax rates of $3.00 per pack or higher; and only New York, as mentioned above, has a 
cigarette tax rate higher than $4.00 per pack. Most states prohibit local governments from imposing 
cigarette taxes. However, there are some exceptions.  According to the Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids 
more than 450 local jurisdictions nationwide have their own cigarette tax.  

 
 
 
 
 



9 

 

State Tax Rates on Cigarettes as of January 1, 2016 
(¢ per pack) 

 

 
Table 7 

State Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes 

(January 1, 2016) 

(¢ per pack) 

STATE 
TAX 

RATE 
RANK STATE 

TAX 
RATE 

RANK STATE TAX RATE RANK 

Alabama (a) 67.5 39 Louisiana 86 36 Ohio 160 23 

Alaska 200 12 Maine 200 12 Oklahoma 103 33 

Arizona 200 12 Maryland 200 12 Oregon 132 30 

Arkansas 115 32 Massachusetts 351 4 Pennsylvania 160 23 

California 87 35 Michigan 200 12 Rhode Island 375 2 

Colorado 84 37 Minnesota (e) 300 8 South Carolina 57 44 

Connecticut (b) 365 3 Mississippi 68 38 South Dakota 153 26 

Delaware 160 23 Missouri (a) 17 51 Tennessee (a) (d) 62 41 

Florida (c) 133.9 29 Montana 170 20 Texas 141 27 

Georgia 37 49 Nebraska 64 40 Utah 170 20 

Hawaii 320 5 Nevada 180 18 Vermont 308 6 

Idaho 57 44 New Hampshire 178 19 Virginia (a) 30 50 

Illinois (a) 198 17 New Jersey 270 9 Washington 302.5 7 

Indiana 99.5 34 New Mexico 166 22 West Virginia 55 46 

Iowa 136 28 New York (a) 435 1 Wisconsin 252 10 

Kansas 129 31 North Carolina 45 47 Wyoming 60 42 

Kentucky 60 42 North Dakota 44 48 U. S. Median 153   

Source: Compiled by FTA from state sources. 

(a)Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes: in Alabama, 1¢ to 25¢; Illinois, 10¢ to $4.18;  

Missouri, 4¢ to 7¢; New York City, $1.50; Tennessee, 1¢; and Virginia, 2¢ to 15¢. 

(b)Connecticut tax rate is scheduled to increase to $3.90 per pack on 7/1/16. 

(c)Florida's rate includes a surcharge of $1 per pack. 

(d)Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.05¢ in Tennessee. 

(e)In addition, Minnesota imposes an in lieu cigarette sales tax determined annually by the Department.  The current is 54.3 through 

December 31, 2016 
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Table 8 

Local Government Cigarette Tax Rates & Fees 
(January 2016) 

RANK CITY/COUNTY (PARTIAL LIST) 
TOTAL STATE + LOCAL TAX 

(PER PACK) 

1 Chicago ($1.18) plus Cook County ($3.00) plus Illinois ($1.98) $6.16 per pack 

2 New York City ($1.50 per pack) plus New York State ($4.35) $5.85 per pack 

3 
Evanston ($0.50) plus Cook County ($3.00) plus Illinois 
($1.98) 

$5.48 per pack 

4 Cicero ($0.16) plus Cook County ($3.00) plus Illinois ($1.98) $5.14 per pack 

5 Juneau ($3.00) plus Alaska ($2.00) $5.00 per pack 

6 Cities with no tax in Cook County ($3.00) plus Illinois ($1.98) $4.98 per pack 

7 Philadelphia ($2.00) plus Pennsylvania ($2.60) $4.60 per pack 

8 Sitka ($2.462) plus Alaska ($2.00) $4.462 per pack 

9 Anchorage ($2.39) plus Alaska ($2.00) $4.39 per pack 

10 New York state ($4.35) excluding New York City $4.35 per pack 

Source: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, July 14, 2016 

Note: The combined cigarette tax rates in the table do not include the federal cigarette tax of $1.01 per pack or 
any state or local sales taxes that apply to cigarettes. The table shows state cigarette tax rates in effect as of 
August 1, 2016 (PA effective 8/1/2016) 

 
 
As shown in Table 8, the highest combined state-local tax rate, as of January 2016, was $6.16 in Chicago, 
IL, with New York City second at $5.85 per pack. Other high state-local cigarette tax rates include Evanston 
and Cicero in Cook County, Illinois at $5.48 and $5.14 respectively; and Juneau, Alaska at $5.00 per pack.   
 
According to Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, the average retail price for a pack of cigarettes nationwide 
was roughly $6.24 as of Jan.1, 2016 (Table 1, Attachment 1) with considerable state-to-state variability due 
to different state tax rates, and manufacturer or retailer pricing and discounting practices. Additional 
cigarette data is shown in Table 1 of Attachment 1, at the end of this report.  This table shows cigarette tax 
rates, national rankings, date of the last tax increase, annual pack sales, cigarette tax revenues, and retail 
price per pack of cigarettes for each state. 
 

Table 9 

State 
Effective 
Date of 

Increase 

Amount of 
Increase 

Tax Rate After 
Increase 

Connecticut* 7/1/2016 25 cents $3.90 

Louisiana 4/1/2016 22 cents $1.08 

MinnesotaT 1/1/2016 10 cents $3.00 

Oregon * 1/1/2016 1 cent $1.32 

Pennsylvania 8/1/2016 $1.00 $2.60 

West Virginia 7/1/2016 65 cents $1.20 

 * Part of a multi-year series of cigarette tax increases all passed into law at the same time. 
 † Excise tax rate is adjusted for inflation each year as part of the law passed to increase the tobacco tax rates in 2013. 

 
 
Table 9 lists the states that enacted increases in cigarette tax rates in 2016. The highest increase of $1.00 
per pack was enacted by Pennsylvania. Increases of $1.00 per pack or more were adopted in two states 
since 2011.  
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2. Tobacco Products Taxes 

 
Table 10 summarizes non-cigarette tobacco products and E-Cigarette taxes, as of January 2016, in the 
states which impose a tax on tobacco products. Unlike the cigarette tax, which is standardized on a per 
pack basis, the taxation of other tobacco products, which includes snuff, chewing tobacco, smoking tobacco, 
and cigars, is diversified. It varies both between and within states depending on the type of tobacco product 
considered. A number of states tax some tobacco products as a percentage of price and other products by 
unit or volume.   
 
Nine states, including Wisconsin (after September 1, 2009), base the snuff tax on the price charged by the 
manufacturer. Nineteen states, however, base the tax on the wholesale price (Table 109). Wisconsin’s moist 
snuff tax of 100% of manufacturing price is the highest, while South Carolina’s 5.0% tax rate is the lowest. 
Tax rates based on wholesale price range from 6.6% in Tennessee to 210.0% in Massachusetts. 
 
Eleven states, including Wisconsin, base chewing and smoking tobacco taxes on manufacturer’s price. Utah 
charges the highest rate of 86% of manufacturing price and South Carolina charges the lowest tax rate of 
5.0%, while the Wisconsin rate is 71.0% of manufacturing price.  
 
Thirty states base chewing and smoking tobacco tax on wholesale price. The highest tax rate of 210.0% of 
wholesale price is in Massachusetts (for chewing tobacco) while the lowest rate of 6.6%, is in Tennessee. 
Florida does not tax cigars, but does tax all other tobacco products. Eleven states, including Wisconsin, tax 
cigars based on the price charged by manufacturers and 31 states base the tax on wholesale prices. 
Wisconsin's tax rate is 71.0% of manufactures price with a 50 cent cap per cigar. The highest tax rate based 
on the price charged by the manufacturer is 86.0% in Utah, and the lowest such tax is 5.0%, in South 
Carolina. The highest tax rate based on wholesale prices is 75.0% in Alaska, and the lowest, 6.6% of 
wholesale price, is in Tennessee. 

Table 10 

State Other Tobacco Product Tax   

(January 1, 2016) 

State Snuff Tax 
Chewing & Smoking 

Tobacco Tax 
Cigar Tax3 

E-Cigarette Tax 

Date tax 
OTP 

last changed 

Alabama 
1.0-1 2.0¢/oz 

Chewing: 1 .5 ¢/oz.; 
Smoking: 4-6¢/oz. 4.0-40.5¢/10 cigars 

  
5/18/2004 

Alaska 75% wholesale price 75% wholesale price 75% wholesale price   10/1/1997 

Arizona 22.35¢/oz. 22.35¢/oz. 22.05-218¢/10 cigars   12/8/2006 

Arkansas 68% mfr. price 68% mfr. price 
68% mfr. price, 50¢ 

cap 
  3/1/2009 

California4 
28.13% wholesale 

price 
28.13% wholesale price 

28.13% wholesale 
price; 

LC 

  
7/1/2015 

Colorado 40% mfr. price 40% mfr. price 40% mfr. price   1/1/2005 

Connecticut 
1 00¢/oz. 50% wholesale price 

50% wholesale price, 
50¢ cap; LC 

  
7/1/2011 

Delaware 54¢/oz. 15% wholesale price 15% wholesale price   6/30/2007 

DC 
67% wholesale price 67% wholesale price 

67% wholesale price 
(cigars<$2 only); LC 

67% wholesale 
price 

10/1/2015 

Florida 85% wholesale price 85% wholesale price None   7/1/2009 

Georgia 10% wholesale price 10% wholesale price 

2.5¢/10 cigars; 23% 
wholesale price 

  
7/1/2003 

Hawaii 70% wholesale price 70% wholesale price 
50% wholesale price; 

LC 
  9/30/2009 

Idaho 40% wholesale price 40% wholesale price 40% wholesale price   7/1/1994 
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Table 10 

State Other Tobacco Product Tax  (cont.) 

(January 1, 2016) 

State Snuff Tax2 
Chewing & Smoking 

Tobacco Tax  
Cigar Tax3 

E-Cigarette Tax 
Date tax 

OTP 
last changed 

Illinois 30¢/oz. 36% wholesale price 36% wholesale price; LC   7/1/2013 

Indiana 40¢/oz. (on 7/1/14) 24% wholesale price 24% wholesale price   7/1/2014 

Iowa 
1 19¢/oz. 50% wholesale price 

50% wholesale price, 
50¢ cap; LC 

  3/15/2007 

Kansas 10% wholesale price 10% wholesale price 10% wholesale price 20¢/mL 7/1/1972 

Kentucky 19¢/unit5 15% wholesale price 15% wholesale price   4/1/2009 

Louisiana 
20% mfr. price 

Chewing: 20% mfr. 
price; 

Smoking: 33% 8%-20% mfr. price 5¢/mL 
7/1/2000 

Maine 202¢/oz. (with min. 
tax) 

Chewing: 202¢/oz.; 
Smoking: 20% 20% wholesale price 

  
7/1/2009 

Maryland 30% wholesale price 30% wholesale price Non-premium: 70% w/s 
price; 

Premium: 15% w/s price 

  
7/1/2012 

Massachusetts 210% wholesale 
price 

Chewing: 210% w/s 
price; 

Smoking: 40% 40% wholesale price; LC 

  
7/31/2013 

Michigan 32% wholesale price 32% wholesale price 32% wholesale price   7/1/2004 

Minnesota 95% wholesale price 
(with min. tax 

95% wholesale price 95% wholesale price; 
$3.50 premium cigar 

cap; LC; 

95% wholesale 
price 7/1/2013 

Mississippi 15% mfr. price 15% mfr. price 15% mfr. price   6/1/2005 

Missouri 10% mfr. price 10% mfr. price 10% mfr. price   10/1/1993 

Montana 85¢/oz. 50% wholesale price 50% wholesale price; LC   1/1/2005 

Nebraska 44¢/oz. 20% wholesale price 20% wholesale price   10/1/2009 

Nevada 30% wholesale price 30% wholesale price 30% wholesale price     

New 
Hampshire 

65.03% wholesale 
price 65.03% wholesale price 

65.03% w/s price (not 
premium); LC 

  
8/1/2013 

New Jersey 75¢/oz. 30% wholesale price 30% wholesale price   7/15/2006 

New Mexico 25% mfr. price 25% mfr. price 25% mfr. price; LC     

New York 
200¢/oz. (with min. 

tax) 
75% wholesale price 75% wholesale price; LC   8/1/2010 

North Carolina 
12.8% wholesale 

price 
12.8% wholesale price 12.8% wholesale price 5¢/mL 9/1/2009 

North Dakota 
60¢/oz. 

Chewing: 16 ¢/oz; 
Smoking: 28% w/s price 28% wholesale price 

  
7/1/2001 

Ohio 
17% wholesale price 17% wholesale price 

LC: 37% w/s price; 
others: 17% w/s price 

  
2/1/1993 

Oklahoma 
60% mfr. price 

Chewing: 60% mfr. 
price; 

Smoking: 80% 3.6-120¢/10 cigars 

  
1/1/2005 

Oregon 
178¢/oz. (with min. 

tax) 65% wholesale price 

65% wholesale price, 
50¢ cap 

  
1/1/2010 

Pennsylvania 55¢/oz 55¢/oz LC 
40% wholesale 

price 
10/1/2016 

Rhode Island 
1 00¢/oz. 80% wholesale price 

80% wholesale price, 
50¢ cap; LC 

  
4/10/2009 

South Carolina 5% mfr. price 5% mfr. price 5% mfr. price     

South Dakota 35% wholesale price 35% wholesale price 35% wholesale price   1/1/2007 

Tennessee 
6.6% wholesale price 6.6% wholesale price 

6.6% wholesale price; 
LC 

  
7/15/2002 
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Table 10 
State Other Tobacco Product Tax  (cont.) 

(January 1, 2016) 

State Snuff Tax2 
Chewing & Smoking 

Tobacco Tax 
Cigar Tax3 

E-Cigarette Tax 

Date OTP tax 
last changed 

Texas 
122¢/oz. (with min. 

tax) 
122¢/oz. (with min. tax) 1-15¢/10 cigars   9/1/2013 

Utah 183¢/oz. 86% mfr. price 86% mfr. price; LC   7/1/2010 

Vermont 
257¢/oz. or 308 

¢/pack 
if less than 1 .2oz. 

92% wholesale price 

92% w/s price for <$2.17 
w/s price; $2 per cigar 
for >$2.17 to <$10; $4 
per cigar for ≥ $10; LC 

  

7/1/2015 

Virginia 18¢/oz. 

Chewing: 21 ¢-70¢/unit 
Other: 10% mfr. price 10% mfr. price 

  
1/1/2011 

Washington 
252.6 ¢ per 1 .2oz. 

min. 95% taxable sales price 
95% taxable sales price, 

75¢ cap; LC 
  5/1/2010 

West Virginia 
12% wholesale 

price 
12% wholesale price 12% wholesale price 7.5¢/mL 7/1/2016 

Wisconsin 100% mfr. price 71% mfr. price 71% mfr. price, 50 ¢ cap   9/1/2009 

Wyoming 
60¢/oz. (with min. 

tax) 
20% wholesale price 20% wholesale price   7/1/2009 

US Government 

9.4¢/oz. Chewing: 3.1¢/oz.; Pipe: 
17.7¢/oz.; 

RYO: $1.55/oz. 

LC; Large cigars: 
52.75% mfr. price, 

40.26 ¢ cap 

  
4/1/2009 

1 CDC, Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance (YRBS), 2015, http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/data/yrb s/pdf/2015/ss6506 updated.pdf. . 

2 Each state that has a separate “snuff” definition defines it differently, but it is usually defined as any powdered, finely cut, or ground tobacco that is 
not intended to be smoked. 

3 “LC” indicates that the state has specified that little cigars, however defined by the state, are taxed at the same rate as cigarettes. 

4 California’s other tobacco product tax is based on the state’s cigarette tax rate and changes every year.  

5 Moist snuff only. A unit is defined as a container less than 1 .5oz. Dry snuff is taxed at the same rate as chewing tobacco. 

 
 

3. Liquor, Wine and Beer Taxes 
 

Thirty-three states are classified as license states, where a licensed entity may sell liquor and impose excise 
taxes on liquor sales. The 17 remaining states are liquor monopoly states where the government maintains 
complete or partial control over the sale of liquor and generates revenue through taxes, fees, and profits 
from sales (Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, 
Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming. In addition, Montgomery 
County in Maryland is a monopoly county).  
 
As of January, 2016 tax rates ranged from $14.27 per gallon in Washington which privatized liquor sales 
effective June 1, 2012 to $1.92 per gallon in Kentucky. Both Minnesota (at $5.03 per gallon) and Illinois (at 
$8.55 per gallon) had tax rates higher than Wisconsin’s $3.25 per gallon. Iowa and Michigan are monopoly 
states (Table 11).  
 
Forty-six states impose an excise tax on the sale of wine. Four states - New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Utah 
and Wyoming - have state wine monopolies. Table 12 shows the wine tax rates as of January 2016. 
Ignoring special tax rates on sparkling wine and on wine with high or low alcohol content, Alaska had the 
highest tax rate ($2.50 per gallon) and Louisiana the lowest ($0.11 per gallon). Only Louisiana ($0.11), 
Texas ($0.20) and California ($0.20) had tax rates on wine lower than Wisconsin’s $0.25 per gallon rate. 
Wisconsin's neighbors all had higher wine tax rates - $1.75 per gallon in Iowa, $1.39 in Illinois, $0.51 in 
Michigan, and $0.30 in Minnesota. 
 
All states impose a beer tax.  Table 13 shows beer tax rates in effect on January 1, 2016. Wyoming had the 
lowest tax, $0.02 per gallon, while Hawaii had the highest rate, $0.93 per gallon. Missouri, at $0.06 per 
gallon and Wisconsin at $0.065 had the next lowest tax rates after Wyoming. Rates in neighboring states 

http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/data/yrb
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were $0.231 per gallon in Illinois, $0.19 in Iowa, $0.20 in Michigan and $0.15 in Minnesota. Other taxes on 
liquor, wine, and beer as of January 1, 2010, are shown in Attachment 1, Tables 3, 4, and 5, respectively. 
 

State Tax Rates on Distilled Spirits as of January 1, 2016 

 
Table 11 

State Tax Rates On Distilled Spirits 

(January 1, 2016) 

($ per gallon) 

State 
Tax   
Rate 

Rank State 
Tax    
Rate 

Rank State 
Tax 
Rate 

Rank 

Alabama (1) 34 Louisiana 2.50 28 Ohio (1) 43 

Alaska 12.80 2 Maine (1) 37 Oklahoma 5.56 8 

Arizona 3.00 22 Maryland 1.50 33 Oregon (1) 44 

Arkansas 2.50 25 Massachusetts 4.05 14 Pennsylvania (1) 45 

California 3.30 20 Michigan (1) 38 Rhode Island  5.40 11 

Colorado 2.28 30 Minnesota 5.03 12 South Carolina 2.72 23 

Connecticut 5.40 10 Mississippi (1) 39 South Dakota 3.93 15 

Delaware 3.75 17 Missouri 2.00 31 Tennessee 4.40 13 

Florida 6.50 4 Montana (1) 40 Texas 2.40 29 

Georgia 3.79 16 Nebraska 3.75 18 Utah (1) 46 

Hawaii 5.98 7 Nevada 3.60 19 Vermont (1) 47 

Idaho (1) 35 New Hampshire (1) 41 Virginia (1) 48 

Illinois 8.55 3 New Jersey 5.50 9 Washington 14.27 1 

Indiana 2.68 24 New Mexico 6.06 6 West Virginia (1) 49 

Iowa (1) 36 New York 6.44 5 Wisconsin 3.25 21 

Kansas 2.50 26 North Carolina (1) 42 Wyoming (1) 50 

Kentucky 1.92 32 North Dakota 2.50 27 U.S. Median 3.75   
Source: Compiled by FTA from state sources. 
(1) In 17 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits. Revenue in these states is generated from 
various taxes, fees, price mark-ups, and net liquor profits. 
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State Tax Rates on Wine as of January 1, 2016 
($ per gallon) 

 

 
 

Table 12 
State Tax Rates on Wine 

(January 1, 2016) 
($ per gallon) 

State 
Tax   
Rate 

Rank State 
Tax   
Rate 

Rank State 
Tax   
Rate 

Rank 

Alabama 1.70 5 Louisiana 0.11 46 Ohio 0.32 38 

Alaska 2.50 1 Maine 0.60 27 Oklahoma 0.72 24 

Arizona 0.84 21 Maryland 0.40 36 Oregon 0.67 26 

Arkansas 0.75 22 Massachusetts 0.55 28 Pennsylvania (1) 48 

California 0.20 45 Michigan 0.51 30 Rhode Island (2) 1.40 8 

Colorado 0.28 42 Minnesota 0.30 40 South Carolina 0.90 18 

Connecticut 0.72 23 Mississippi 0.35 37 South Dakota 0.93 17 

Delaware 0.97 15 Missouri 0.42 35 Tennessee 1.21 11 

Florida 2.25 2 Montana 1.06 12 Texas 0.20 44 

Georgia 1.51 6 Nebraska 0.95 16 Utah (1) 49 

Hawaii 1.38 10 Nevada 0.70 25 Vermont 0.55 29 

Idaho 0.45 34 New Hampshire (1) 47 Virginia 1.51 7 

Illinois 1.39 9 New Jersey 0.88 19 Washington 0.87 20 

Indiana 0.47 33 New Mexico 1.70 4 West Virginia 1.00 13 

Iowa 1.75 3 New York 0.30 41 Wisconsin 0.25 43 

Kansas 0.30 39 North Carolina 1.00 14 Wyoming (1) 50 

Kentucky 0.50 31 North Dakota 0.50 32 U.S. Median 0.72   
Source: Compiled by FTA from state sources. 
(1) All wine sales are through state stores. Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, fees, price mark-ups, and 
net profits. 
(2) Rhode Island tax rate is scheduled to decrease to $0.60 per gallon on July 1, 2015. 
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State Tax Rates on Beer as of January 1, 2016 
($ per gallon) 

 

 
Table 13 

State Tax Rates On Beer 
(January 1, 2015) 

($ per gallon) 

State 
Tax    
Rate 

Rank State Tax   Rate Rank State 
Tax   
Rate 

Rank 

Alabama $0.53  6 Louisiana 0.32 14 Ohio 0.18 29 

Alaska 1.07 2 Maine 0.35 12 Oklahoma 0.40 11 

Arizona 0.16 31 Maryland 0.09 43 Oregon 0.08 44 

Arkansas 0.23 22 Massachusetts 0.11 41 Pennsylvania 0.08 47 

California 0.20 25 Michigan 0.20 24 Rhode Island (1) 0.10 42 

Colorado 0.08 46 Minnesota 0.15 36 South Carolina 0.77 4 

Connecticut 0.24 21 Mississippi 0.4268 8 South Dakota 0.27 17 

Delaware 0.16 34 Missouri 0.06 49 Tennessee 1.29 1 

Florida 0.48 7 Montana 0.14 38 Texas 0.20 26 

Georgia 0.32 13 Nebraska 0.31 15 Utah 0.41 9 

Hawaii 0.93 3 Nevada 0.16 32 Vermont 0.265 18 

Idaho 0.15 35 New Hampshire 0.30 16 Virginia 0.26 20 

Illinois 0.231 23 New Jersey 0.12 39 Washington  0.26 19 

Indiana 0.115 40 New Mexico 0.41 10 West Virginia 0.18 30 

Iowa 0.19 27 New York 0.14 37 Wisconsin 0.065 48 

Kansas 0.18 28 North Carolina 0.6171 5 Wyoming 0.02 50 

Kentucky 0.08 45 North Dakota 0.16 33 U.S. Median $0.20  51 
Source: Compiled by FTA from state sources. 
(1) Rhode Island tax rate is scheduled to decrease to 10c per gallon [$3.00/bbl.] on July 1, 2015. 
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Attachment 1 Table 1 
State Cigarette Tax Rates & Rank, Date of Last Increase, Annual Pack Sales & Revenues,  and Retail 

Price per Pack 

 

State 

Cigarette 
Tax Per 

Pack 

National 
Rank 

(1 = high) 

Date of Last 
State Tax 
Increase 

FY2015 
Cigarette 

Pack 
Sales 

(millions) 

FY2015 
Cigarette 

Tax 
Revenue 
(millions) 

Retail Price 
Per Pack 
With All 
Taxes 

All State Avg/Total $1.65 NA NA 12.9 billion $16.2 billion $6.01 

Alabama $0.675 40th 10/1/2015 294.4 $116.4 $5.37 

Alaska $2.00 13th 7/1/2007 26.4 $52.3 $8.81 

Arizona $2.00 13th 12/8/2006 155.1 $293.2 $6.92 

Arkansas $1.15 33rd 3/1/2009 160.1 $174.5 $5.49 

California $0.87 37th 1/1/1999 867.1 $747.9 $5.53 

Colorado $0.84 38th 1/1/2005 194.2 $161.6 $5.26 

Connecticut $3.90 2nd 7/1/2016 103.0 $343.3 $8.91 

Delaware $1.60 24th 7/1/2009 65.6 $100.2 $5.50 

Washington, DC $2.50 12th 10/1/2009 10.4 $30.0 $7.31 

Florida $1.339 29th 7/1/2009 833.8 $1,091.4 $5.50 

Georgia $0.37 49th 7/1/2003 477.4 $173.2 $4.92 

Hawaii $3.20 5th 7/1/2011 38.0 $121.6 $8.99 

Idaho $0.57 45th 6/1/2003 66.7 $36.7 $5.23 

Illinois $1.98 18th 6/24/2012 430.8 $836.5 $7.56 

Indiana $0.995 36th 7/1/2007 413.7 $406.3 $5.56 

Iowa $1.36 28th 3/15/2007 144.4 $192.5 $5.83 

Kansas $1.29 31st 7/1/2015 114.2 $89.5 $5.89 

Kentucky $0.60 43rd 4/1/2009 373.0 $222.8 $4.86 

Louisiana $1.08 34th 4/1/2016 343.0 $117.1 $5.42 

Maine $2.00 13th 9/19/2005 62.3 $124.6 $6.62 

Maryland $2.00 13th 1/1/2008 181.9 $359.0 $6.60 

Massachusetts $3.51 4th 7/31/2013 174.7 $615.2 $9.08 

Michigan $2.00 13th 7/1/2004 440.7 $868.2 $6.44 

Minnesota $3.00 8th 1/1/2016 164.9 $556.7 $8.40 

Mississippi $0.68 39th 5/15/2009 187.3 $121.4 $5.47 

Missouri $0.17 51st 10/1/1993 495.7 $81.7 $4.38 

Montana $1.70 21st 1/1/2005 43.1 $72.6 $6.11 

Nebraska $0.64 41st 10/1/2002 87.7 $55.0 $5.32 

Nevada $1.80 19th 7/1/2015 131.8 $106.0 $6.44 

New Hampshire $1.78 20th 8/1/2013 118.8 $211.5 $5.81 

New Jersey $2.70 9th 7/1/2009 253.3 $682.7 $7.66 

New Mexico $1.66 23rd 7/1/2010 53.9 $89.1 $6.53 

New York $4.35 1st 7/1/2010 288.2 $1,251.3 $10.45 

North Carolina $0.45 47th 9/1/2009 538.2 $240.4 $4.87 

North Dakota $0.44 48th 7/1/1993 56.1 $24.7 $4.82 

Ohio $1.60 24th 7/1/2015 607.3 $745.5 $6.10 

Oklahoma $1.03 35th 1/1/2005 242.6 $250.6 $5.12 

Oregon $1.32 30th 1/1/2016 161.0 $210.2 $5.26 

Pennsylvania $2.60 10th 8/1/2016 620.4 $977.8 $8.27 

Rhode Island $3.75 3rd 8/1/2015 38.8 $132.8 $8.87 

South Carolina $0.57 45th 7/1/2010 271.0 $147.9 $5.05 

South Dakota $1.53 26th 1/1/2007 34.7 $52.6 $6.01 

Tennessee $0.62 42nd 7/1/2007 407.4 $247.5 $5.10 

Texas $1.41 27th 1/1/2007 911.9 $1,238.6 $5.78 

Utah $1.70 21st 7/1/2010 58.7 $95.9 $6.43 

Vermont $3.08 6th 7/1/2015 25.3 $68.0 $8.01 
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ATTACHMENT 1 - Table 2 

Federal Excise Tax Increase - April 1, 2009 

Product 
Tax Rate effective March 

31, 2009 
Tax Rate 

effective 4/1/2009 

Floor Stocks Tax 
Rate  (difference 

between  the rates) 

Small Cigarettes - Class A $19.50 per 1,000 $50.33 per 1,000 $30.83 per 1,000 

(Weigh 3 lbs. or less per 1,000) equivalent to:  equivalent to: equivalent to: 

  $3.90 per carton $10.066 per carton 
$6.166 per 
carton               

  $0.39 per pack $1.0066 per pack $0.6166 per pack 

Large Cigarettes - Class B  
(Weigh more than 3 lbs. per 
1,000) 

$40.95 per 1,000 $105.69 per 1,000 $64.74 per 1,000 

Small Cigars  (Weigh 3 lbs. or 
less per 1,000) 

$1.828 per 1,000 $50.33 per 1,000 $48.502 per 1,000 

Large Cigars (Weigh more than 
3 lbs. per 1,000) 

20.719% of sales price but 
not to exceed $48.75 per 
1,000 

52.75% of sales 
price but not to 
exceed $0.4026 per 
cigar (or $402.60 
per 1,000) 

NOT PART OF FLOOR 
TAX 

Chewing Tobacco $0.195 per pound $0.5033 per pound $0.3083 per pound 

Snuff $0.585 per pound $1.51 per pound $0.925 per pound 

Pipe tobacco $1.0969 per pound $2.8311 per pound $1.7342 per pound 

Roll-your-own tobacco $1.0969 per pound $24.78 per pound $23.6831 per pound 

Cigarette papers $0.0122 per 50 $0.0315 per 50 $0.0193 per 50 

Cigarette tubes $0.0244 per 50 $0.0630 per 50 $0.0386 per 50 

Source: U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau 

 

 

  

 
ATTACHMENT 1 - Table 1 (Cont.) 

State Cigarette Tax Rates & Rank, Date of Last Increase, Annual Pack Sales & Revenues,  and Retail 
Price per Pack 

 
Virginia $0.30 50th 7/1/2005 550.4 $159.6 $4.78 

Washington $3.025 7th 5/1/2010 133.0 $398.8 $8.05 

West Virginia $1.20 32nd 7/1/2016 180.0 $95.2 $5.53 

Wisconsin $2.52 11th 7/1/2009 227.6 $569.5 $7.67 

Wyoming $0.60 43rd 7/1/2003 34.2 $19.4 $5.04 

USA/U.S. Gov’t $1.01 /// 4/1/2009 13.3 billion $13.4 billion $6.01 
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ATTACHMENT 1 - Table 3 

Other State Tax Rates on Distilled Spirits 

(January 1, 2016) 

State 
General 

Sales Tax 
Applies 

Other Taxes 

Alabama Yes      

Alaska n.a.   under 21% - $2.50/gallon 

Arizona Yes      

Arkansas Yes    under 5% - $0.50/gallon, under 21% -$1.00/gallon;   $0.20/case; 3% off- 14% on-
premise retail taxes 

California Yes    over 50% - $6.60/gallon 

Colorado Yes      

Connecticut Yes    under 7% - $2.46/gallon 

Delaware n.a.   25% or less - $2.30/gallon 

Florida Yes    under 17.259% - $2.25/gallon, over 55.780% - $9.53/gallon 

Georgia Yes    $0.83/gallon local tax 

Hawaii Yes      

Idaho Yes      

Illinois Yes under 20% - $1.39/gallon; $2.68/gallon in Chicago, $2.50/gallon in Cook County 

Indiana Yes     under 15% - $0.47/gallon 

Iowa Yes      

Kansas -- 8% off- and 10% on-premise retail tax 

Kentucky Yes   under 6% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case and 11% wholesale tax 

Louisiana Yes      

Maine Yes      

Maryland Yes    9% sales tax 

Massachusetts   under 15% - $1.10/gallon, over 50% alcohol - $4.05/proof   gallon;  

Michigan Yes      

Minnesota --    $0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 9% sales tax 

Mississippi Yes      

Missouri Yes      

Montana n.a.     

Nebraska Yes      

Nevada Yes    5% to 14% - $0.70/gallon, 15% to 22% - $1.30/gallon 

New Hampshire n.a.     

New Jersey Yes      

New Mexico Yes      

New York Yes    Under 24% - $2.54/gal.; additional $1.00/gal. in New York City 

North Carolina Yes (2)    

North Dakota --    7% state sales tax 

Ohio Yes      

Oklahoma Yes    13.5% on-premise 

Oregon n.a.     

Pennsylvania Yes      

Rhode Island (3) Yes      

South Carolina Yes    $5.36/case and 9% surtax; additional 5% on-premise tax 

South Dakota Yes    under 14% - $0.93/gallon; 2% wholesale tax 

Tennessee Yes    15% on-premise; under 7% - $1.10/gallon. 

Texas Yes    6.7% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales 

Utah Yes      

Vermont no    10% on-premise sales tax 

Virginia Yes      

Washington (4) -- $9.24/gal. on-premise; 20.5% retail sales tax, 13.7% sales tax to on-premise 

West Virginia Yes      

Wisconsin Yes    $0.03/gallon administrative fee 

Wyoming Yes      
Source: Compiled by FTA from state sources. 
n.a. = not applicable.  These 5 states do not have a general sales tax. (1) In 17 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled 
spirits.  Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, fees, price mark-ups, and net liquor profits.  (2) General sales tax applies to 
on-premise sales only.(3) Rhode Island tax rate scheduled to decrease to $3.75 on July 1, 2015.4) Washington privatized liquor sales effective 
June 1, 2012.  
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ATTACHMENT 1 - Table 4 

Other State Tax Rates on Wine 

(January 1, 2016) 

State Sales Tax Other Taxes 

Alabama Yes    $0.26/gallon local; over 16.5% - $9.16/gallon 

Alaska n.a.     

Arizona Yes    over 24% - $4.00/gallon 

Arkansas Yes    under 5% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case; 3% off- and 10% on-premise 

California Yes    sparkling wine - $0.30/gallon 

Colorado Yes      

Connecticut Yes    over 21% and sparkling wine - $1.80/gallon 

Delaware n.a.     

Florida Yes    over 17.259% - $3.00/gallon, sparkling wine $3.50/gallon 

Georgia Yes    over 14% - $2.54/gallon; $0.83/gallon local tax 

Hawaii Yes    sparkling wine - $2.12/gallon, wine coolers - $0.85/gallon 

Idaho Yes      

Illinois Yes    
over 20% - $8.55/gallon; ($0.36 - $0.89/gallon in Chicago;  ($0.20 - 
$0.45)/gallon in Cook County 

Indiana Yes    over 21% - $2.68/gallon 

Iowa Yes    under 5% - $0.19/gallon 

Kansas -- over 14% - $0.75/gallon; 8% off- and 11% on-premise 

Kentucky Yes   11% wholesale (2) 

Louisiana Yes    14% to 24% - $0.23/gallon, over 24% and sparkling wine - $1.59/gallon 

Maine Yes    
over 15.5% - sold through state stores, sparkling wine - $1.25/gallon; 7% on-
premise sales tax 

Maryland -- 9% sales tax 

Massachusetts   sparkling wine - $0.70/gallon;  

Michigan Yes    over 16% - $0.76/gallon 

Minnesota --    
14% to 21% - $0.95/gallon, under 24% and sparkling wine - $1.82/gallon; over 
24%-$3.52/gallon; $0.01/bottle and 9% sales tax 

Mississippi Yes    sparkling wine and champagne - $1.00/gallon; 

Missouri Yes      

Montana n.a.   over 16% - sold through state stores 

Nebraska Yes    over 14% - $1.35/gallon 

Nevada Yes    14% to 22% - $1.30/gallon, over 22% - $3.60/gallon 

New Hampshire n.a.     

New Jersey Yes      

New Mexico Yes      

New York Yes      

North Carolina Yes    over 17% - $1.11/gallon 

North Dakota --    over 17% - $0.60/gallon; 7% sales tax 

Ohio Yes    Over 14% to 21% - $1.00/gal., vermouth - $1.10/gal. 

Oklahoma Yes    sparkling wine - $2.08/gallon; 13.5% on-premise 

Oregon n.a.   over 14% - $0.77/gallon 

Pennsylvania Yes      

Rhode Island (3) Yes    sparkling wine - $0.75/gallon 

South Carolina Yes    $0.18/gallon additional tax 

South Dakota Yes    
14% to 20% - $1.45/gallon, over 21% and sparkling wine - $2.07/gallon;   2% 
wholesale tax 

Tennessee Yes    15% on-premise 

Texas Yes    over 14% - $0.408/gallon and sparkling wine - $0.516/gallon;   

Utah Yes      

Vermont Yes    over 16% - sold through state store, 10% on-premise sales tax 

Virginia Yes    under 4% - $0.2565/gallon and over 14% - sold through state stores 

Washington Yes    over 14% - $1.72/gallon 

West Virginia Yes    5% local tax 

Wisconsin Yes    over 14% - $0.45/gallon 

Wyoming Yes      

Source:  Compiled by FTA from state sources; n.a. = not applicable.  These 5 states do not have a general sales tax. 
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ATTACHMENT 1 Table 5 

Other State Tax Rates on Beer 

(January 1, 2016) 

State Sales Tax  Other Taxes 

Alabama Yes    $0.52/gallon local tax statewide 

Alaska n.a.     

Arizona Yes      

Arkansas Yes     3% off- 10% on-premise tax 

California Yes      

Colorado Yes      

Connecticut Yes      

Delaware n.a.     

Florida Yes      

Georgia Yes    $0.53/gallon local tax 

Hawaii Yes    $0.54/gallon draft beer 

Idaho Yes    over 4% - $0.45/gallon 

Illinois Yes    $0.29/gallon in Chicago and $0.09/gallon in Cook County 

Indiana Yes      

Iowa Yes      

Kansas --    over 3.2% - {8% off- and 10% on-premise}, under 3.2% - 4.23% sales tax 

Kentucky Yes    11% wholesale tax (1) 

Louisiana Yes    $0.048/gallon local tax 

Maine Yes    7% on-premise sales tax 

Maryland -- 9% sales tax 

Massachusetts   0.57% on private club sales 

Michigan Yes      

Minnesota --    under 3.2% - $0.077/gallon, 9% sales tax  

Mississippi Yes      

Missouri Yes      

Montana n.a.     

Nebraska Yes      

Nevada Yes      

New Hampshire n.a.     

New Jersey Yes      

New Mexico Yes      

New York Yes    additional $0.12/gallon in New York City 

North Carolina Yes      

North Dakota --    7% state sales tax, bulk beer $0.08/gal. 

Ohio Yes      

Oklahoma Yes    under 3.2% - $0.36/gallon; 13.5% on-premise 

Oregon n.a.     

Pennsylvania Yes      

Rhode Island (2) Yes    $0.04/case wholesale tax 

South Carolina Yes      

South Dakota Yes      

Tennessee Yes    Excise Barrelage Tax and Wholesale Tax 

Texas Yes    14.95% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales 

Utah Yes    over 3.2% - sold through state store 

Vermont Yes    more than 6% alcohol - $0.55; 10% on-premise sales tax 

Virginia Yes      

Washington  Yes      

West Virginia Yes      

Wisconsin Yes      

Wyoming Yes      

Source:  Compiled by FTA from state sources; n.a. = not applicable.  These 5 states do not have a general sales tax. 

 


