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REAL ESTATE TRANSFER FEE 
 
The following is a brief description of the real estate transfer fee. It is intended to give an 

overview of how the fee works, the amount of revenue collected under the fee, and a list of the 

types of transfers that are exempt from the fee.   

Background 

The real estate transfer fee was implemented in 1969, the year the federal stamp tax on real 

estate transfers was repealed. The current fee is $0.30 for each $100 of value or fraction thereof 

of the value of the property being transferred. For transfers that are a gift or for nominal 

consideration, the fee is based on the estimated market value of the property. Value data on 

real estate transfer fee returns are the main source of data Department of Revenue (DOR) uses 

in its annual determination and certification of municipal equalized values.   

All real estate transfer fee returns must be filed electronically. If a return is filed correctly, a 

receipt is generated. This receipt, the property deed, and the proper fee are filed with the 

register of deeds to complete the transfer process. Of the total fee, counties receive 20 percent 

and the state retains the remaining 80 percent.   

Chart 1: Total Real Estate Transfer Fee Collected 
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The total amount of real estate transfer fee collected in Wisconsin showed steady increases 

from $54.0 million in 2000 to $99.9 million in 2005. During the period between 2006 and 2011, 

however, the amount declined sharply from $93.3 to $44.2 million. Since 2012, the fee collected 

has increased each year from $57.8 million to $144.6 million in 2021. Appendix I contains 

additional statistics on real estate transfer fee collections.   

Chart 2: Average Real Estate Value and the Number of Conveyances1 

 

Since 2011, the average real estate value has been showing an upward trend, and the market 

in Wisconsin has been experiencing increasing levels of activity in real estate transfers. During 

the period, the average real estate value has been somewhere between $164,600 and 

$283,800. In general, the number of conveyances, excluding those that were exempt from the 

fee, has continued to increase during the same period from 89,000 in 2011 to over 169,847 in 

2021. Appendix I contains additional statistics on real estate values and conveyances.   

Exemptions from the Fee 

A real estate transfer is taxable unless exempted by law. A transfer could also be exempt if it 

does not meet the definition of a "conveyance" (such as an easement or a lease for less than 99 

years), or because they are not deemed a sale. See Appendix IV for the types of conveyances 

exempt under Section 77.25, with the sub-section under which the exemption is granted.   

Fiscal Effect of the Exemptions 

 
1 The number excludes conveyances that were exempt from the real estate transfer fee.   

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/77/II/25
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The revenue loss of exemptions to the state (orange) and counties (blue) are shown in Chart 3 

below. The estimated revenue loss due to a fee exemption only account for cases where a 

return is required for an exempt property. With that, the estimates maybe understated since 

certain2 exempted conveyances are not required to file a return. The average revenue loss for 

the state between 2011 and 2021 was approximately $41.0 million. Appendix III and IV have 

additional statistics on exemptions.   

Chart 3: Estimated Revenue Loss Due to Exemption (in Thousands $) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
2 Wis. Stats. 77.255 excludes conveyances exempt under s.77.25(1) and 77.25(10m) from filing requirements.  
Appendix IV has additional information on exemptions.  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.255
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APPENDIX 

Appendix I: Real Estate Value Subject to Real Estate Transfer Fee 

 
Year 

Number of 
Conveyances3 

Total Real 
Estate Value 

Average 
Value 

Median  
Value 

Maximum 
Value 

2011  89,031  $14,657,325,611 $164,632 $109,000 $40,800,000 

2012      104,256  $19,232,797,030 $184,477 $115,985 $389,968,175 

2013   117,169  $20,271,333,136 $173,009 $120,000 $51,870,000 

2014    116,872  $21,690,893,617 $185,595 $124,000 $72,163,875 

2015    130,775  $25,615,028,336 $195,871 $130,000 $38,000,000 

2016 138,925 $28,186,117,658 $202,887 $127,000 $186,000,000 

2017 144,245 $30,508,677,645 $211,506 $142,500 $144,974,300 

2018 145,471 $32,119,841,961 $220,798 $150,000 $69,320,000 

2019 141,277 $33,143,162,707 $234,597 $160,000 $101,250,000 

2020 153,232 $37,182,434,362 $242,655 $172,000 $150,827,400 

2021 169,847 $48,205,120,452 $283,815 $187,000 $171,180,000 

 

Appendix II: Real Estate Transfer Fee per Conveyances Subject to Fee 

 
Year 

Total Real Estate 
Transfer Fee 

Average Fee Per 
Conveyance 

Median Fee Per 
Conveyance 

2011 $43,976,385 $494 $327 

2012 $57,709,283 $554 $348 

2013 $60,815,111 $519 $360 

2014 $65,075,549 $557 $372 

2015 $76,846,246 $588 $390 

2016 $84,550,757 $609 $408 

2017 $91,526,106 $635 $428 

2018 $96,360,154 $662 $450 

2019 $99,429,548 $704 $480 

2020 $111,546,620 $728 $516 

2021 $144,616,908 $851 $516 

 

Appendix III: Fiscal Effects of the Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions4 

Year State County Total 

2011  $33,612,671   $8,403,168   $42,015,838  

2012  $51,183,370   $12,795,843   $63,979,213  

2013  $32,894,981   $8,223,745   $41,118,726  

2014  $34,576,288   $8,644,072   $43,220,360  

2015  $32,550,323   $8,137,581   $40,687,904  

2016 $39,660,038 $9,915,009 $49,575,047 

2017 $41,133,910 $10,283,477 $51,417,387 

2018 $43,814,043 $10,953,511 $54,767,554 

2019 $42,650,419 $10,662,605 $53,313,024 

2020 $44,644,787 $11,161,197 $55,805,984 

 
3 The number excludes conveyances that are exempt from the real estate transfer fee.   
4 The figures excludes conveyances that are not required to file the real estate transfer fee returns.   
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Appendix III: Fiscal Effects of the Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions4 

Year State County Total 

2021 $55,101,930 $13,775,482 $68,877,412 
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Appendix IV: Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions for Calendar Year 2021 

Statutory 
Reference 

 
Exemption 

 
County 

 
State 

 
Total 

77.21 (1) Easements. N/A N/A $0  

77.21 (1) Leases for less than 99 years. N/A N/A $0  

77.25 (1)* 

Conveyances made prior to October 
1, 1969, the date the fee went into 
effect, are exempt from the fee and 
from filing a transfer fee return. 

$100  $300  $400  

77.25 (2)* 

Conveyances from the United 
States, the state of Wisconsin, or 
from an instrumentality, agency, or 
subdivision of either, are exempt 
from the fee.  Prior to February 
2016, these conveyances were also 
exempt from filing a transfer fee 
return unless the seller was also a 
lender for the transaction.   

$160,100  $640,500  $800,600  

77.25 (2g) 

Conveyances by gift to the United 
States, the state of Wisconsin, or to 
an instrumentality, agency, or 
subdivision of either, are exempt 
from the fee.   

$9,000  $35,800  $44,800  

77.25 (2r)* 

Conveyances of land by sale or 
dedication under s. 236.29 (1) or (2) 
[recoding of a plat] or s. 236.34 (1m) 
(e) [recording of a certified survey], 
or for the purpose of a road, street 
or highway, to the United States, the 
State of Wisconsin, or any 
instrumentality, agency or 
subdivision of either, is exempt from 
the fee. Prior to February 2016, 
these conveyances were also 
exempt from filing a transfer fee 
return.  

$14,200  $56,600  $70,800  

77.25 (3) 

Conveyances that confirm, correct, 
or reform a previously recorded 
conveyance are exempt from the 
fee if the new conveyance is made 
for no, nominal, or inadequate 
consideration.   

$1,461,900  $5,847,700  $7,309,600  
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Appendix IV: Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions for Calendar Year 2021 

Statutory 
Reference 

 
Exemption 

 
County 

 
State 

 
Total 

77.25 (4)* 

Conveyances on sales for 
delinquent taxes or assessments 
are exempt from the fee.  These 
conveyances are also exempt from 
filing a transfer fee return.  The 
fiscal effect may therefore be 
understated. Prior to February 2016, 
these conveyances were also 
exempt from filing a transfer fee 
return. 

$11,500  $45,800  $57,300  

77.25 (5) 

Conveyances on partition of real 
estate that belongs to several 
persons as co-owners to those 
persons are exempt from the fee. 

$32,400  $129,800  $162,200  

77.25 (6) 
Conveyances pursuant to mergers 
of corporations are exempt from the 
fee.   

$99,300  $397,300  $496,600  

77.25 (6d) 

Conveyances pursuant to 
partnerships reorganizing as limited 
liability partnerships are exempt 
from the fee.   

$2,700  $11,000  $13,700  

77.25 (6m) 

Conveyances pursuant to the 
conversion of a business entity to 
another form of business entity 
under s. 179.76 [domestic limited 
partnership], s. 180.1161 [domestic 
business corporation], s. 181.1161 
[domestic non-stock corporation], or 
s. 183.1207 [domestic limited 
liability company] are exempt from 
the fee if, after the conversion, the 
ownership interests in the new entity 
are identical with the ownership 
interests in the original entity 
immediately preceding the 
conversion.  

$273,500  $1,094,000  $1,367,500  

77.25(6q) 
Pursuant to an interest exchange 
under s. 178.1131 

$16,800  $67,200  $84,000  

77.25(6t) 
Pursuant to a domestication under 
s. 178.1151. 

$700  $2,800  $3,500  
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Appendix IV: Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions for Calendar Year 2021 

Statutory 
Reference 

 
Exemption 

 
County 

 
State 

 
Total 

77.25 (7) 

Conveyances by a subsidiary 
corporation to its parent corporation 
for no consideration, nominal 
consideration, or in sole 
consideration of cancellation, 
surrender or transfer of capital stock 
are exempt from the fee. 

$57,500  $230,000  $287,500  

77.25 (8) 

Conveyances between parent and 
child, step-parent and step-child, 
and parent and son-in-law or 
daughter-in-law for nominal or no 
consideration are exempt from the 
fee. 

$723,500  $2,893,800  $3,617,300  

77.25 (8m) 
Conveyances between a husband 
and wife are exempt from the fee. 

$2,059,700  $8,238,900  $10,298,600  

77.25 (8n) 

Conveyances between an individual 
and his or her domestic partner 
under Chapter 770 (the "Domestic 
Partnership" Law) are exempt from 
the fee.   

$14,000  $56,000  $70,000  

77.25 (9) 

Conveyances between agent and 
principal or from a trustee to a 
beneficiary without actual 
consideration are exempt from the 
fee. 

$939,000  $3,756,000  $4,695,000  

77.25 (10) 

Conveyances to provide security or 
release security for a debt or 
obligation are exempt from the fee.  
However, for original land contracts 
filed before August 1, 1992, a 
transfer fee will be assessed when 
the documents relating to fulfillment 
of the land contract are filed. 

$38,500  $154,100  $192,600  

77.25 (10m) 

Conveyances for sole purpose of 
designating a time of death (TOD) 
beneficiary under s. 705.15 [statute 
that permits non-probate transfers of 
property at time of death] are 
exempt from the fee. 

$115,300  $461,000  $576,300  

77.25 (11)* 

Conveyances by will, descent, or 
survivorship are exempt from the 
fee.  Prior to February 2016, these 
conveyances were also exempt 
from filing a transfer fee return. 

$1,962,000  $7,848,200  $9,810,200  
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Appendix IV: Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions for Calendar Year 2021 

Statutory 
Reference 

 
Exemption 

 
County 

 
State 

 
Total 

77.25 (11m) 

Conveyances by non-probate 
transfer on death under s. 705.15 
[statute that permits non-probate 
transfers of property at death] are 
exempt from the fee. 

$367,300  $1,469,200  $1,836,500  

77.25 (12) 
Conveyances pursuant to or in lieu 
of condemnation are exempt from 
the fee. 

$8,500  $33,900  $42,400  

77.25 (13) 

A provision of  2013 Wisconsin Act 
66 provided that, beginning on 
December 14, 2013, conveyances 
of real estate having a value of 
$1,000 or less are exempt  from the 
fee.  Prior to this date, the 
exemption applied to transfers of 
real estate having a value of $100 or 
less. 

$600  $2,400  $3,000  

77.25 (14) 

Conveyances under a foreclosure or 
a deed in lieu of a foreclosure to a 
person holding a mortgage or to a 
seller under a land contract are 
exempt from the fee. 

$254,500  $1,017,800  $1,272,300  

77.25 (15) 

Conveyances between a 
corporation and its shareholders are 
exempt from the fee if (a) all of the 
stock in the corporation is owned by 
persons who are related to each 
other as spouses, lineal ascendants 
or descendants, siblings (by blood 
or by adoption), or spouses of 
siblings; (b) if the transfer is for no 
consideration except the 
assumption of debt or stock of the 
corporation; and (c) if the 
corporation owned the property for 
at least 3 years. 

$42,300  $169,000  $211,300  
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Appendix IV: Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions for Calendar Year 2021 

Statutory 
Reference 

 
Exemption 

 
County 

 
State 

 
Total 

77.25 (15m) 

Conveyances between a 
partnership and one or more of its 
partners are exempt from the fee if 
(a) all of the partners are related to 
each other as spouses, lineal 
ascendants or descendants, siblings 
(by blood or adoption), or spouses 
of siblings; and (b) if the transfer is 
for no consideration other than the 
assumption of debt or an interest in 
the partnership. 

$55,100  $220,400  $275,500  

77.25 (15s) 

Conveyances between a limited 
liability company and one or more of 
its members are exempt from the 
fee if (a) all of the members are 
related to each other as spouses, 
lineal ascendants or descendants, 
siblings (by blood or adoption), or 
spouses of siblings; and (b) if 
transfer is for no consideration other 
than the assumption of debt or an 
interest in the limited liability 
company. 

$1,357,900  $5,431,600  $6,789,500  

77.25 (16) 

Conveyances to a trust are exempt 
if a transfer from the grantor to the 
beneficiary of the trust would be 
exempt under other provisions of 
the real estate transfer fee law (sec. 
77.25, Wis. Stats.). 

$3,264,900  $13,059,700  $16,324,600  

77.25 (17) 

The recording of deeds in fulfillment 
of a land contract is exempt from the 
real estate transfer fee if the proper 
fee was paid when the land contract 
was recorded.  (The fee on land 
contracts filed before August 1, 
1992, is deferred until the contract is 
fulfilled.  The fee on land contracts 
filed after July 31, 1992, is due 
when the contract is filed.)  The 
intent of this provision is to prevent 
two fees from being imposed on the 
same land contract transaction.  
Therefore, this exemption does not 
reduce state revenues. 

$428,200  $1,712,600  $2,140,800  



11 
 

Appendix IV: Real Estate Transfer Fee Exemptions for Calendar Year 2021 

Statutory 
Reference 

 
Exemption 

 
County 

 
State 

 
Total 

77.25 (18) 

Transfers of property to a local 
exposition district organized under 
Subchapter II of Chapter 229, Wis. 
Stats., are exempt from the fee.   

N/A N/A $0  

77.25 (20) 

Conveyances from a fiduciary which 
held property for the benefit of an 
unincorporated nonprofit association 
to the unincorporated nonprofit 
association in the association's own 
name are exempt from the fee.   

$4,400  $17,500  $21,900  

77.25 (21) 

Conveyances of transmission 
facilities or land rights for 
transmission facilities by a utility 
company to a transmission 
company in exchange for securities 
in the transmission company are 
exempt from the real estate transfer 
fee.   

$200  $800  $1,000  

TOTAL   $13,775,600  $55,101,700  $68,877,300  

 

*Conveyances under these exemptions are not required to file real estate transfer return.  


