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Wisconsin Corporate and Franchise Income Tax1 

 
Introduction 

Corporations doing business in Wisconsin are subject to either the corporate income tax or the 
corporate franchise tax.  The corporate income tax is a tax on the net income of corporations 
doing business in the state.  The corporate franchise tax is a tax on the privilege of doing 
business in the state.  Corporate net income is used as the measure, or base, for the franchise 
tax.  The distinction between the two taxes is subtle, relating primarily to the restrictions under 
federal law on the types of income that states can tax with an income tax (e.g., interest from 
U.S. obligations).   
 
The vast majority of corporations pay the franchise tax.  The income tax applies to corporations 
whose business in Wisconsin consists entirely of foreign or interstate commerce and to 
corporations that are filing their final return before dissolution.  Because both levies employ the 
same 7.9% rate and the same general rules for determining corporate net income (although 
certain types of income cannot be taxed under the income tax), the two taxes are usually 
considered as one. 

 
Corporate tax collections in state fiscal year (FY) 2023 were $2.75 billion, or 13.3% of total 
general purpose revenue (GPR) taxes of $20.7 billion, a decrease of $211 million (7.15%) from 
FY 2022.   
 
Computation of net income 

Computation of net income is federalized; that is, based primarily on the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC).  The starting point for computing Wisconsin net income is federal gross income, subject 
to certain modifications.  Conformity to the IRC is not automatic in Wisconsin but generally 
requires adoption by statute of each federal law change.  The exceptions are Section 179 
expensing and depletion, in which case any federal changes are automatically in effect for 
Wisconsin for all tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. Wisconsin applies federal 
regulations, rules, and court cases interpreting the IRC, when applicable, in determining the 
proper treatment of an item.  For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2013, for 
purposes of computing amortization and depreciation, Wisconsin follows IRC as of January 1, 
2014.  

 
Certain items that are exempt under federal law are taxable in Wisconsin.  These items of 
income must be added back to federal taxable income to arrive at Wisconsin taxable income.  
These items include: interest income from state and municipal obligations, state taxes accrued 
or paid, expenses related to nontaxable income, and federal depreciation or amortization in 

 
1 The information in this report is current as of October 27, 2023 and through 2023 Wisconsin Act 36.  Laws enacted 
after that date, new administrative rules, and subsequent court decisions may change the interpretations provided in 
this publication. 
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excess of Wisconsin amounts.  In general, the amount of Wisconsin credits computed in the tax 
year is also added back to income to avoid double counting of the credit amount.  Some credits 
based on investment in assets require a basis adjustment instead of an addition to income. 

 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, interest and rental expenses paid by a 
corporation to a related entity as defined under Section 267 of the IRC must be added back to 
income.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, intangible expenses and 
management fees paid to a related entity must also be added back to income.   

 
Wisconsin also subtracts from income some items that are taxable at the federal level but 
exempt under Wisconsin law.  These items include dividends that are taxed federally but qualify 
for the Wisconsin dividends received deduction, certain subpart F income from controlled 
foreign corporations, certain other federally taxable interest, and the amount of the Wisconsin 
depreciation deduction that exceeds federal amounts.  The resulting amount, after all pre-
apportionment additions and subtractions are made, is multiplied by the apportionment factor to 
arrive at apportioned income.  To this is added the Wisconsin portion of non-apportionable 
income. Combined group members may subtract capital losses that are not related to group 
income and pre-2009 losses. Insurance companies must make an adjustment to deduct 
dividends received from the calculation of business losses. Finally, Wisconsin net business loss 
carryforwards are subtracted to arrive at net taxable income.2 

 
TABLE 1 

COMPUTATION OF NET INCOME 
Federal Income under the IRC 
   + Wisconsin pre-apportionment additions 
   -  Wisconsin pre-apportionment subtractions 
    - Non-apportionable income       
 Income Base 
    x apportionment factor 
Wisconsin apportioned Income 
    +Wisconsin non-apportionable income 
    - Capital loss adjustment for combined groups 
    + Loss adjustment for insurance companies 
    -Net business loss carryforwards 
Net Taxable Income 

 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, corporate groups with common ownership 
are required to file a combined tax return.  Income and deduction items, with inter-company 
transactions removed, are summed for all members to arrive at the group's income that is 
apportioned to each member based on the member's sales in Wisconsin.  

 
Apportionment of income 

Corporations that conduct business in more than one state must apportion their net income 
among the states with jurisdiction to tax the income, in other words, determining their 
apportionment factor.  For most types of corporations, the numerator of the factor is comprised 

 
2 Non-apportionable income is income derived from the sale of non-business real or tangible personal 
property or from rentals and royalties from non-business real or tangible personal property.   
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of sales in Wisconsin, while the denominator is total sales without regard to location.  For 
members of corporate groups that are required to file a combined report, each member 
determines its sales both within Wisconsin as well as total sales.  Sales between members of 
the same corporate group are disregarded.  The total sales for each member are summed to 
derive a common denominator for the sales factor for all members.  Total group income is 
apportioned to each member based on the member's Wisconsin sales as a share of total group 
sales everywhere.  Members with no sales in Wisconsin will have no apportionable income that 
is taxable to Wisconsin.3 

 
In calculating the sales factor under the multi-state apportionment formula, taxpayers are 
required to treat certain "throwback" sales as being the equivalent of Wisconsin sales.  
Throwback sales are shipments of tangible personal property originating in Wisconsin to the 
federal government or to customers located in states where the seller is not subject to tax 
because of nexus standards defined by federal law (P.L. 86-272) and further clarified by the 
Wisconsin Administrative Code (Chapter Tax 2.82).4   

 
Under the nexus standards, a corporation must have some type of economic activity in a state 
before its income can be taxed by that state.  A corporation cannot be taxed by a state in which 
it does not have nexus.  The purpose of the throwback rule is to ensure that 100% of a multi-
jurisdictional corporation's income is apportioned to states with jurisdiction to tax it, regardless of 
if the state actually imposes a corporate income or franchise tax.  In the absence of a throwback 
rule, sales to destinations where the seller does not have nexus would not be included in the 
numerator of the sales factor of any state.  This would result in a portion of a company's income 
not being subject to tax in any state. 

 
Like most states, Wisconsin uses special apportionment formulas for certain industries.  The 
following table shows the special industry factors used in the apportionment formula.  Each 
factor measures the share of Wisconsin activity to total activity, e.g., Wisconsin payroll to total 
payroll.  In each case where multiple factors are listed, the apportionment percentage for the 
specific industry is the arithmetic average of the factors listed in Table 2.  For corporations in 
any of the special industry classifications that are members of a combined group, an additional 
calculation is required to convert the special apportionment factor into a modified sales factor so 
that it’s numerator and denominator can be combined with those of the other members of the 
group.     
 
  

 
3 More information on Wisconsin's combined reporting law can be found at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Combrept/home.aspx. 
4 For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, throwbacks sales of computer software, services, 
royalties, and intangibles were repealed. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/Tax%202.82
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Combrept/home.aspx
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TABLE 2 

SPECIAL INDUSTRY APPORTIONMENT FACTORS 
Industry Factors 

Interstate Pipeline Companies 
Three equally-weighted factors – property, payroll, 
and traffic units 

Interstate Financial Institutions Single receipts factor  

Interstate Telecommunications Companies 
Three equally-weighted factors – property, payroll, 
and sales 

Insurance Companies Single premiums factor 

Interstate Air Carriers 
Three equally-weighted factors – revenue tons, 
originating revenues, and arrivals and departures 

Interstate Motor Carriers 
Two equally-weighted factors – gross receipts and 
ton miles of carriage 

Interstate Railroads  
Two equally-weighted factors – gross receipts and 
revenue ton miles 

Interstate Broker-Dealers, Investment Advisers, 
Investment Companies, and Underwriters Single receipts factor 

Air Freight Forwarders 

Three equally-weighted factors – aircraft arrivals 
and departures scheduled by the affiliated direct air 
carrier, revenue tons handled by the affiliated direct 
air carrier, and the air freight forwarder's revenue 

Interstate Broadcasters Single receipts factor 
 
 
Economic development surcharge 

Wisconsin imposes an economic development surcharge on all corporations and insurance 
companies that pay the income and franchise tax with gross receipts exceeding $4 million.  For 
C-corporations and insurance companies. The surcharge is equal to 3% of gross tax liability. 
For S-corporations the surcharge is equal to 0.2% of net Wisconsin income.  The maximum 
surcharge is $9,800 and the minimum is $25.  The surcharge does not apply to entities not 
required to file an income tax return.  Non-refundable income and franchise tax credits cannot 
be applied to reduce the amount of the economic development surcharge. Revenues are 
deposited in a segregated economic development fund and are used to fund the economic 
development programs of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC).  The 
economic development surcharge generated $45.7 million in revenue in FY 2023. 

 
Credits 

 
A credit is an amount subtracted directly from the taxpayer's Wisconsin gross tax liability (i.e., 
the amount determined by applying the Wisconsin tax rate to Wisconsin taxable income) to 
determine Wisconsin net tax liability.  A nonrefundable credit only reduces the amount of tax 
otherwise due.  Claimant may carryforward nonrefundable credit that exceeds their tax liability 
for the year to instead offset tax liabilities in future years, generally up to the next fifteen years.  
In contrast, a refundable credit is used to offset current taxes due, and the amount of credit in 
excess of tax due is refunded to the taxpayer.  The taxpayer may also choose to apply some or 
all of any excess refundable credit amount to the following year's tax liability.  The descriptions 
below note whether the credit is refundable or non-refundable. 
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Credits fit into one of five general categories: industry-specific credits, research credits, zone-
based credits, credits for economic development, and agricultural credits.5 In tax year 2020, 
2,382 taxpayers claimed $1.06 billion in tax credits. Of that $1.06 billion dollars, 1,283 taxpayers 
used $241.8 million to offset their tax liability. 

 
Industry-specific credits 

 
Manufacturing and Agriculture Credit.  For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012, a 
non-refundable manufacturing and agriculture credit is available.6  The credit is equal to a 
specified percentage of the claimant's qualified production activities income that is derived from 
property assessed as manufacturing or agricultural property in Wisconsin, as defined under 
state property tax law. Insurance companies may not claim the credit. 

 
"Qualified production activities income" is the amount of the claimant's gross receipts for the 
taxable year that exceeds the direct and indirect costs that are allocable to such receipts 
multiplied by the gross receipts factor.  “Qualified production activities income” does not include 
any of the following: 

 
a. income from film production; 
b. income from producing, transmitting, or distributing electricity, natural gas, or potable 

water; 
c. income from constructing real property; 
d. income from engineering or architectural services performed with respect to 

constructing real property; 
e. income from the sale of food and beverages prepared by the claimant at a retail 

establishment; or 
f. income from the lease, rental, license, sale, exchange, or other disposition of land. 

 
Under the corporate income and franchise tax, the credit would be the lesser of 7.5% of 
the claimant's: 

 
• eligible qualified production activities income;  
• income apportioned to Wisconsin for state corporate income and franchise tax 

purposes; or  
• taxable income for corporate income and franchise tax purposes.  

 
Claimants who have been approved to be classified as manufacturers but are not eligible to be 
listed on the department's manufacturing roll until January of the following year may claim the 
credit when approved by the Department. 

 
Unused tax credit amounts may be carried forward for up to 15 years to offset future tax 
liabilities. 

 
Manufacturing Investment Credit.  The manufacturer's sales tax credit was repealed for tax 
years beginning after December 31, 2005.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, 
firms that had more than $25,000 of unused manufacturer's sales tax credit as of December 31, 

 
5 More information on Wisconsin’s tax incentives for businesses is available at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Businesses/Incentives.aspxf 
6 More information on the manufacturing and agriculture credit may be found at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/faqs/ise-manufagr.aspx 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORReports/15incent.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/faqs/ise-manufagr.aspx
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2005 may claim a new nonrefundable manufacturing investment credit equal to the total unused 
manufacturers' sales tax credit carryforwards held before the credit was repealed.7  The unused 
credit must be amortized equally over 15 years.  Unused credits can be carried forward for 15 
years.  Companies are allowed to take the credit beginning in 2008 only if they were certified by 
the former Department of Commerce to have met one of the following criteria:  

 
• retention of 100% of the full-time (at least 35 hours per week) jobs employed by the 

company as of December 23, 2003; or 
• average annual investment since January 1, 2003 equal to 2% of total book value of 

the company’s depreciable assets in Wisconsin-based plants/facilities or $5 million.  
 

Credit for Insurance Security Fund Assessments.  Chapter 646, Wisconsin Statutes, provides a 
credit against state taxes, including the corporate income and franchise tax, for certain 
assessments levied on insurance companies by the Wisconsin Insurance Security Fund.  The 
fund is designed to protect policyholders in cases where their insurance company has failed and 
is in the process of liquidation.  Where the available assets and reserves of failed insurers are 
inadequate to meet claims, the fund may assess insurance companies doing business in the 
state, with some exceptions (e.g., fraternal benefit societies).  Such assessments are eligible for 
a 100% tax credit if they cannot be recovered through higher premiums.  This can occur if 
premiums are fixed for a particular line of business.  The tax credit is nonrefundable and must 
be claimed in equal installments over a five-year period, beginning with the year following the 
one in which the assessment is made. 
 
Community Rehabilitation Program Credit.  A community rehabilitation program tax credit that 
equals 5% of the amount the claimant pays in a tax year to a community rehabilitation program 
to perform work for the claimant's business is available for tax years beginning on or after July 
1, 2011.  The maximum tax credit that can be claimed is $25,000 for each community 
rehabilitation program that the claimant enters into a contract with, and unused credit amounts 
can be carried forward up to 15 years to offset future tax liabilities.  In order to claim a credit, the 
claimant is required to submit with the claimant's tax return verification that the claimant has 
entered into a contract with a community rehabilitation program and that the program has 
received payment from the claimant for work provided by the program. 
 
Research credits 

 
To encourage corporations to carry out research and development (R&D) activities in the state, 
three tax credits are available: a credit for R&D-related non-capital expenditures, an engine 
research credit, and an energy efficient products research credit.8     
 
Research Expenditure Credit.  A nonrefundable research expenditure credit for non-capital 
expenditures related to research activities conducted in Wisconsin is available to corporations.  
The credit applies only to research expenditures that are undertaken to discover information that 
is technological in nature and intended to be useful in the development of a new or improved 
business component.  Expenses must be incurred in connection with research conducted in 
Wisconsin in order to qualify for the credit. Qualifying expenditures are defined by reference to 

 
7 Firms that had less than $25,000 in manufacturer's sales tax credit carryforwards as of December 31, 
2005 were allowed to claim 50% of the amount in tax year 2006 and 50% in tax year 2007. 
8 More information on Wisconsin's research credits can be found in Publication 131, "Tax Incentives for 
Conducting Qualified Research in Wisconsin," available at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb131-2020.pdf 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb131-2020.pdf
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the rules established under Section 41 of the IRC with certain exceptions.  Qualified research 
expenses cover in-house expenses for the taxpayer's own research (wages, supplies, and 
computer use charges) and 65% of amounts paid or incurred for qualified research done by a 
person other than an employee of the taxpayer.   
 
The credit is equal to 5.75% of the amount by which the claimant's qualified research expenses 
for the taxable year exceed 50% of the average qualified research expenses for the 3 taxable 
years immediately preceding the taxable year for which the claimant claims the credit. If the 
claimant had no qualified research expenses in any of the 3 taxable years immediately 
preceding the taxable year for which the claimant claims the credit, the claimant may claim an 
amount equal to 2.875% of the qualified research expenses for the taxable year for which the 
credit is claimed.   

 
Expenses under the research expenditure credit are not eligible for the engine research credit or 
the energy efficient products research credit.  Unused amounts of the credit can be carried 
forward for up to 15 years. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the 
research expenditure credit is partially refundable. For tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 2024, the research credit is 25% refundable. The remaining unused tax credit may still be 
carried forward for up to 15 years. 

 
Engine Research Credit.  For tax years starting after December 31, 2014, a credit equal to 
11.5% of qualifying research relating to internal combustion engines including research related 
to designing vehicles powered by such engines is available. If the claimant had no qualified 
research expenses in any of the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year for 
which the claimant claims the credit, the claimant may claim an amount equal to 5.75% of the 
qualified research expenses for the taxable year for which the credit is claimed. 
 
Expenses under the engine research credit are not eligible for the regular research expenditure 
credit. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the research credit is 
partially refundable. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, the research credit is 
25% refundable. Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years.   

 
Energy Efficient Products Research Credit.  For taxable years beginning after December 31, 
2014, the credit for expenses is equal to 11.5% of the amount by which the claimant's qualified 
research expenses for the taxable year exceed 50% of the average qualified research expenses 
for the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year for which the claimant claims the 
credit. If the claimant had no qualified research expenses in any of the 3 taxable years 
immediately preceding the taxable year for which the claimant claims the credit, the claimant 
may claim an amount equal to 5.75% of the qualified research expenses for the taxable year for 
which the credit is claimed. 

 
Expenses under the energy efficient products research credit are not eligible for the regular 
research expenditure credit. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the 
research credit is partially refundable. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, the 
research credit is 25% refundable. Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years.  
 
Zone-based credits 

 
Prior to the passage of 2009 Act 2, Wisconsin had seven zone-based programs to encourage 
economic development in certain areas of the state: the Development Zone, Airport 
Development Zone, Agricultural Development Zone, Enterprise Development Zone, Technology 
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Zone, Development Opportunity Zone, and the Enterprise Zone Jobs credit programs.  Act 2 
repealed the Development Zone, Airport Development Zone, Agricultural Development Zone, 
Technology Zone, and Enterprise Development Zone programs and replaced them with a single 
Economic Development Credit (see the discussion below of the Economic Development Credit), 
but left in place the Development Opportunity Zone and Enterprise Zone Jobs credits.  

 
Enterprise Zone Jobs Tax Credit.  A refundable enterprise zone jobs credit is available for 
certified businesses located in a designated enterprise zone.  The Wisconsin Economic 
Development Corporation (WEDC) may certify a business for tax credits that begins operations 
in an enterprise zone if the business offers compensation and benefits to its employees working 
in the zone for the same type of work that are at least as favorable as those offered to its 
employees working outside the zone.  WEDC may also certify a business that expands 
operations in an enterprise zone, if the business will increase its personnel by at least 10% or 
the business makes a capital investment in property located in the enterprise zone equal to at 
least 10% of the business’ gross revenues in the preceding tax year attributable to business 
activities in Wisconsin.  Finally, WEDC may certify a business that retains existing jobs in an 
enterprise zone if the business makes a significant capital investment in property located in the 
zone, and at least one of the following applies: (1) the business is an original equipment 
manufacturer with a significant supply chain in Wisconsin, as determined by WEDC; or (2) more 
than 500 full- time employees are employed by the business in the enterprise zone. 

 
WEDC is authorized to designate no more than 30 enterprise zones, with three of the zones 
being areas comprising political subdivisions whose population totals less than 5,000 and at 
least two areas comprising political subdivisions whose population is greater than 5,000 but less 
than 30,000.  A designation may be in effect for no more than 12 years.  In determining whether 
to designate an area as an enterprise zone, WEDC must consider indicators of the area’s 
economic need, infrastructure and energy support, the rate of business development, existing 
resources available to the area, and the effect of designation on other initiatives and programs 
to promote economic and community development in the area, such as job training and the 
creation of high-paying jobs.  As of the publication date of this paper, WEDC has designated a 
total of 31 zones. Three have been terminated, and one has been completed.  

 
The credit has five components:  

 
1) A credit based on changes in the claimant's zone payroll over a base year, up to 7% 

of the base change.  Eligible wages are those paid to new employees whose annual 
wages are greater than the amount determined either by multiplying $2,080 by 150% 
of the federal minimum wage in a Tier I county or municipality or if the employee's 
annual wages are greater than $30,000 in a Tier II county or municipality.     

2) An additional credit based on up to 7% of wages paid to existing zone employees.  
Eligible wages are those paid to employees whose annual wages meet the 
parameters described above for new employees. The total number of employees 
must be equal to or greater than the number of employees in the base year.  Credit 
claims are limited to five consecutive years. 

3) A credit based on the amount paid for training to upgrade the job-related skills of full-
time employees who work in the enterprise zone; 

4) A credit of up to 10% of significant capital expenditures in the zone. 
5) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009, a credit equal 1% of the 

amount the claimant paid in the taxable year for goods or services from Wisconsin 
vendors, not including capital expenditures for which the credit is claimed. 
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An additional credit for one financial service corporation is based on whether a claimant has 
retained the minimum number of full-time employees and maintained average zone payroll for 
the taxable year equal to or greater than the base year. The amount of the credit is a 
percentage, as determined by WEDC, of the claimant's zone payroll paid in the 12 months prior 
to the certification date to the claimant's full-time employees in the enterprise zone. No more 
than one financial service technology business may receive this credit.  
 
Electronics and Information Technology Manufacturing Zone Credit. A refundable electronics 
and information technology manufacturing zone credit is available. Calculation of the credit is 
based on 17% of the claimant's payroll. An additional credit may be allowed for up to 15% of the 
claimant's significant capital expenditures in the zone in the taxable year. Eligible payroll 
includes full-time employees who make between $30,000 and $100,000 a year. WEDC may not 
certify more than $1.5 billion in credits related to payroll and no more than $1.35 billion in credits 
related to capital expenditures. 

 
In order to claim these credits, the claimant must be certified by WEDC. The designation of the 
electronics and information technology zone shall remain in effect for no more than 15 years. A 
copy of the certification must be included with the claimant's Wisconsin income tax return. The 
amount of the credit computed must be added to the claimant's income in the year the credit is 
computed. The credit must be claimed within four years of the unextended due date on which 
the tax return was due.  

 
Credits for economic development 

 
Business Development Credit.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, a 
refundable business development tax credit is available. The credit replaces the non-refundable 
Economic Development and refundable Jobs Tax credits. The Business Development Credit is 
equal to all of the following, as determined by WEDC:  

 
1) The amount of wages the claimant paid to an eligible employee in the taxable year, 

not to exceed 10% of such wages. 
2) In addition to any amount claimed for an eligible employee under 1., the amount of 

wages that the claimant paid to the eligible employee in the taxable year, not to 
exceed 5% of such wages, if the eligible employee is employed in an economically 
distressed area. 

3) An amount equal to up to 50% of the claimant's training costs incurred to undertake 
activities to enhance an eligible employee's general knowledge, employability, and 
flexibility in the workplace; to develop skills unique to the claimant's workplace or 
equipment; or to develop skills that will increase the quality of the claimant's product. 

4) The amount of the personal property investment, not to exceed 3% of such 
investment, and the amount of the real property investment, not to exceed 5% of 
such investment, in a capital investment project that involves a total capital 
investment of at least $1,000,000 or, if less than $1,000,000, involves a capital 
investment equal to at least $10,000 per eligible employee employed on the project. 

5)  An amount equal to a percentage of the wages that the claimant paid to an eligible 
employee in the taxable year, provided that the position was created or retained in 
connection with the claimant’s location or retention of the claimant’s corporate 
headquarters in Wisconsin and the job duties performed are headquarters functions 

 
WEDC may certify a person to receive tax benefits if the person is operating or intends to 
operate a business in Wisconsin and the person applies and enters into a contract with WEDC. 
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The certification may remain in effect for no more than 10 cumulative years. A person is eligible 
to receive tax benefits if, in each year for which the person claims tax benefits, the person 
increases net employment in Wisconsin in the person’s business above the net employment in 
Wisconsin in the person’s business during the year before the person was certified, as 
determined by WEDC under its policies and procedures. 

 
Subject to a reallocation of early stage seed investment credits (see below), WEDC may 
allocate up to $17,000,000 in tax benefits in 2016 and up to $22,000,000 per year thereafter.  
The $17 million may be exceeded by an additional $10 million with approval from the Joint 
Committee on Finance.  Any unused allocation may be carried forward. WEDC may require a 
person to repay any tax benefits the person claims for a year in which the person failed to 
employ an eligible employee required by an agreement. 

 
 
Early Stage Seed Investment Credit.  Effective for taxable years beginning after 2004, an early 
stage seed investment credit is available equal to 25% of investments paid to a fund manager 
that invests the funds in qualified new business ventures that are certified by WEDC.  The credit 
may be claimed against the income and franchise tax as well as against the insurance 
premiums tax.  The maximum total amount that can be claimed by all claimants of the Early 
Stage Seed Credit and the Angel Investment Credit (which is not available to corporations) is a 
combined $30 million per calendar year.  If the investment is held for less than three years, any 
previously claimed credits must be repaid to the Department of Revenue, unless during the 
three-year period the investment becomes worthless as determined by WEDC, or if a bona fide 
liquidity event occurs after the investment has been held for 12 months.  In addition, if the 
investor has invested in the business prior to the business being certified as a qualified new 
business venture, investments after certification by this investor are not eligible for credit.  
WEDC may reallocate unused credits in any calendar year, through 2015, to the Jobs Tax 
Credit. For calendar years 2016 and after, WEDC may reallocate unused credits to the 
Business Development Credit, subject to approval of the Joint Committee on Finance.  

 
A claimant may transfer unused credits to another entity.  The transferor will be required to 
obtain prior authorization from the fund manager, and the fund manager would be required to 
notify the Department of Revenue and WEDC. 

 
In order to receive investments that are eligible for the credit, a qualified new business venture, 
at the time of certification, must have its headquarters in the state; have less than 100 
employees, at least 51% of whom are employed in the state; have been in business for not 
more than ten consecutive years; must not have received aggregate private equity investments 
in cash of more than $10 million; and must not receive more than $12 million in investments that 
have qualified for tax credits.  A qualified new business venture must also be engaged in one of 
the following: 

 
• manufacturing;  
• biotechnology;  
• nanotechnology;  
• communications;  
• agriculture;  
• clean energy creation or storage technology;  
• processing or assembling products, including medical devices, pharmaceuticals, 

computer software, computer hardware, semiconductors, any other innovative 
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technology products, or other products that are produced using manufacturing 
methods that are enabled by applying differentiating technology;  

• pre-commercialization activity related to differentiating technology that includes 
conducting research, developing a new product or business process; or  

• developing a service that is principally reliant on applying differentiating technology.   
 

The business may not be primarily engaged in real estate development, insurance, banking, 
lending, lobbying, political consulting, professional services provided by attorneys, accountants, 
business consultants, physicians or health care consultants, wholesale or retail trade, leisure, 
hospitality,  transportation, or construction, except construction of power production plants that 
derive energy from a renewable resource.   

 
Supplement to the Federal Historic Rehabilitation Credit.  A nonrefundable credit is available to 
encourage the rehabilitation of certified historic structures in Wisconsin.9  This supplement to 
the federal historic rehabilitation credit can be claimed only for projects that are eligible for the 
federal historic rehabilitation credit.  The rehabilitation work must meet historic preservation 
standards and the expenditures must exceed the taxpayer's adjusted basis in the building.  
Unused amounts of the credit can be carried forward for up to 15 years.  Beginning in July 1, 
2018, the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation may not certify a person to claim 
more than a total of $3,500,000 in supplement to the federal historic rehabilitation tax credits for 
all projects undertaken on the same parcel. 

 
The credit is equal to 20% of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures if the cost of the 
expenditures is at least $50,000, the property is placed in service after December 31, 2013, and 
the claimant is certified by WEDC.  To be certified by WEDC, the claimant must submit 
evidence to WEDC that the rehabilitation was recommended by US Secretary of the Interior 
before physical work of construction, or destruction in preparation for construction, began and 
the rehabilitation was approved by the state historic preservation officer. 

 
Credits certified for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 may be sold or 
transferred to any other Wisconsin taxpayer if the transferor notifies the Department in writing 
and submits a copy of the transferring documents.  The Department must certify ownership of 
the credit with each transfer.  Non-profit entities may be awarded credits and may transfer those 
credits to other entities with a Wisconsin tax liability. 

 
Low-Income Housing Credit. For tax years beginning after December 31, 2017, a nonrefundable 
low-income housing credit is available.  Claimants may claim a credit for the amount certified by 
the Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority (WHEDA).  A taxpayer is eligible 
for the credit if their tenants' income is less than 60% of the county's median income.  Claimants 
must apply through WHEDA.  The credit must be claimed within four years of the date in which 
the tax return was due.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years. The maximum 
amount of credits WHEDA may certify in a year equals $42,000,000. 

 
Employee College Savings Account Contribution Credit. This credit is a nonrefundable credit for 
employers who contribute to employees' college savings accounts. The maximum amount of the 
credit is 25% of the employer contributions.  This amount may not exceed 25% of the maximum 
amount that an individual contributor may deduct as a contribution into a college savings 
account.  Taxpayers may carry forward unused credits for 15 years. 

 
9 The credit applies to rehabilitation projects begun after December 31, 1988, and for rehabilitated 
property placed in service after June 30, 1989. 
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Agricultural credits 
 
Farmland Preservation Credit, 2010 and Beyond.  Beginning in tax year 2010, a refundable per-
acre farmland preservation credit is available under which a claimant may claim as a credit 
against income taxes an amount calculated by multiplying the claimant's qualifying acres by one 
of the following amounts: 

 
• $10 if the qualifying acres are located in a farmland preservation zoning district and 

are also subject to a farmland preservation agreement that is entered into after July 
1, 2009; 

• $7.50 if the qualifying acres are located in a farmland preservation zoning district but 
are not subject to a farmland preservation agreement that is entered into after July 1, 
2009; or 

• $5 if the qualifying acres are subject to a farmland preservation agreement that is 
entered into after July 1, 2009 but are not located in a farmland preservation zoning 
district. 

 
 

Pass-through entities 
 
Wisconsin provides for differential tax treatment of business income depending on the form of 
organization under which a business operates.  The owners (shareholders, partners, or 
members) of the business report and pay taxes on their individual income tax returns for the 
business income of S-corporations, partnerships, and limited liability companies that choose to 
be treated as partnerships. 

 
Wisconsin law permits the formation of Subchapter S-corporations and limited liability 
companies.  Both of these entities combine the benefits of limited liability offered to 
corporations, with pass-through of income to the individual owners.  Thus, these entities 
generally pay no tax at the entity level, which applies a rate of 7.9%.  Instead, income is passed 
through to the individual shareholders or members, who pay tax on the income at the lower 
individual income tax rates, ranging from 4.0% to 7.65%.  This flow-through aspect of income 
also avoids the double taxation of C-corporation dividends that occurs when profits are first 
taxed at the corporate level and then again at the individual level when profits are distributed as 
dividends to individual shareholders.  

 
Subchapter S-corporations10   

 
Wisconsin has federalized its treatment of Subchapter S-corporations.  Subchapter S, or "tax-
option" corporations, elect to have their income exempted from the corporate income tax.  The 
net profit or loss of these companies, with certain exceptions, is instead attributed to 
stockholders on a prorated basis and taxed under the individual income tax.  Interest income on 
debt issued by federal, state, and municipal governments is taxable at the entity level.  In 
addition, S-corporations with more than $4 million in gross receipts are also subject to the 

 
10 For more information on Wisconsin's tax treatment of S-corporations, see Publication 102, "Wisconsin 
Tax Treatment of Tax-option (S) Corporations and Their Shareholders," available at 
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb102.pdf 

http://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb102.pdf
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economic development surcharge.  Finally, S-corporations are subject to a tax on certain built-in 
gains (gains on sale of assets held at the time of conversion to an S-corporation). 

 
Typically, "tax-option" corporations are small businesses with fairly simple capital structures.  
The IRC restricts the number of shareholders to a maximum of 100.  It also imposes a number 
of other limitations, such as the amount of passive investment income that can be earned and 
the types of stock that can be issued. 

 
Tax liability is determined as of the end of each stockholder's tax year and must be paid 
regardless of whether or not the corporate income has been distributed.  A major impact of 
exempting S-corporation income at the entity level is that capital gains realized by the S-
corporation qualify for the state net capital gain exclusion for individuals when the gains are 
passed through to the shareholders.  Up until tax year 2009, this exclusion was 60% for long 
term gains; 2009 Act 28 reduced the exclusion to 30%.  Long-term capital gains of farm assets 
retain the 60% exclusion.  Farm assets include farm livestock, farm real property, farm 
depreciable property, or farm equipment. 
 
Beginning in tax year 2018, S-corporations may elect to be taxed at the entity level, rather than 
the individual level. If the election is made, shareholders of a tax-option (S) corporation may not 
include in their Wisconsin adjusted gross income their proportionate share of all items of 
income, gain, loss, or deduction of the tax-option (S) corporation. The tax-option (S) corporation 
must pay tax on items that would otherwise be taxed if this election was not made.  
 
The election must be made by shareholders who hold an aggregate of more than 50 percent of 
the shares of a tax-option (S) corporation on the day of the election. The election may be 
revoked if the revocation is made by shareholders who hold an aggregate of more than 50 
percent of the shares of a tax-option (S) corporation on the date of the revocation. 

 
Limited liability companies11 

 
Like S-corporations, owners (called members) of limited liability companies (LLCs) are taxed on 
the flow-through income of the company at lower individual income tax rates rather than at the 
higher corporate rate. 

 
LLCs allow for greater flexibility than S-corporations in the way they can be structured.  For 
example, while S-corporations allow only individuals to be owners, LLC members can include 
corporations, partnerships, foreign entities, trusts, and charitable organizations, as well as 
individuals.  An LLC can have an unlimited number of members as owners, and profits and 
losses can be more freely allocated among the members. 

 
An LLC may be classified for federal income tax purposes as a partnership, a corporation, or as 
an entity disregarded as a separate entity from its owner.  If an LLC is classified as a 
partnership for federal income tax purposes, it is treated as a partnership for Wisconsin 
purposes.  An LLC classified as a corporation for federal income tax purposes is treated as a 
corporation by Wisconsin.  An LLC with a single owner may elect to be disregarded as a 
separate entity for federal income tax purposes and any income or loss from the disregarded 
LLC would be included on the return of the owner.  If the LLC elects to be disregarded for 
federal tax purposes, it is also disregarded as a separate entity for Wisconsin income tax 

 
11 For more information on Wisconsin's tax treatment of LLCs, see Publication 119, "Limited Liability 
Companies (LLCs)," available at https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb119.pdf 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb119.pdf
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purposes.  LLCs with over $4 million in gross receipts that are treated as corporations for tax 
purposes are subject to the economic development surcharge. 

 
Partnerships 

 
A partnership is an association of two or more persons to carry on as co-owners a trade or 
business for profit.  The term “partnership” includes a limited partnership, registered limited 
liability partnership, syndicate, group, pool, joint venture, or other unincorporated organization, 
through or by means of which any business, financial operation, or venture is carried on, and is 
not within the meaning of the Wisconsin income tax law, a corporation, trust, estate, or sole 
proprietorship. 

 
As with S-corporations and LLCs that elect to be treated as partnerships for tax purposes, 
partnership pass through income and losses to the partners, and the partners report on their 
individual returns.  Starting in tax year 2019, partnerships may make an election to pay tax at 
the entity level in a manner similar to S-corporations (see the discussion above). Partnerships 
are exempt from the economic development surcharge. 
 
History of the corporate tax 
 
Wisconsin enacted both the corporate and individual income tax in 1911.  Since enactment, the 
basic features of the corporate tax have remained fairly constant, with a number of noteworthy 
changes, including: a shift from graduated rates to a flat rate in 1981; federalization of the tax 
base in 1987; imposition of a recycling surcharge in 1992 (renamed the economic development 
surcharge for FY 2012 and beyond); changing from three-factor apportionment to a single sales 
factor in 2008; and implementation of combined reporting for corporate groups in 2009. 
 
Imposition of a flat rate 
 
Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, replaced the series of rates and brackets—ranging from 2.3% on 
taxable income of less than $1,000 to 7.9% on income exceeding $6,000—with a single flat rate 
of 7.9%.  This step signaled the end of nearly 70 years of reliance on a graduated corporate rate 
structure (see Table 3).  Graduated rates sought to make the corporate tax progressive in its 
application.  However, the growth in business earnings resulting from the dramatic growth in the 
size and scope of corporations operating in Wisconsin, along with the effects of economic 
growth and inflation, essentially eliminated the degree of progressivity in the rate structure, 
since nearly all corporate profits were taxable at the top 7.9% rate.  The 7.9% flat rate has 
remained constant since 1981, except for 10% surtax during the 1982 and 1983 tax years. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TABLE 3 
HISTORICAL CORPORATE TAX RATES 

 
Taxable Income 

 
1913-1953 

 
1954-1970 

 
1971 

 
1972-80 

1981 Through 
Present 

First $1,000 2.0% 2.0%    2.1% 2.3% Flat Rate of 7.9% 
Second $1,000 2.5     2.5     2.7      2.8   
Third $1,000 3.0     3.0     3.2     3.4   
Fourth $1,000 3.5     4.0     4.3     4.5   
Fifth $1,000 4.0     5.0     5.3     5.6   
Sixth $1,000 5.0     6.0     6.4     6.8   
More than $6,000  6.0     7.0     7.4     7.9   
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Federalization of the tax base 
 
1987 Wisconsin Act 27 federalized the determination of net taxable income for the state 
corporate tax.  Until then, the amount of income subject to the state corporate tax was, for the 
most part, determined independently of federal law.  The previous state statutes paralleled 
federal law in many respects regarding the deductions allowed in determining net taxable 
income.  However, in a number of areas, such as depreciation, there were significant 
differences between state and federal law.  This pattern in the state corporate tax was in 
contrast to the individual income tax, which closely paralleled federal law.  Under the 
federalized state corporate tax in effect since 1987, corporate taxpayers are subject to tax on 
the Wisconsin apportioned share of their federal net taxable income, with a limited number of 
adjustments for the remaining federal/state law differences and the ongoing effects of previous 
law differences. 
 
Economic development surcharge 
 
Beginning in state fiscal year 2012, Wisconsin imposed an economic development surcharge 
on corporations that file an income or franchise tax return with gross receipts exceeding $4 
million. The maximum surcharge is $9,800 and the minimum is $25. The revenues are 
deposited in a segregated economic development fund and are used to fund economic 
development programs of WEDC. The surcharge generated $45.7 million for the economic 
development fund in fiscal year 2023. 
 
Tax-option corporations pay the economic development surcharge at the corporate level, unless 
delinquent, in which case the tax-option corporation's owners assume liability at the individual 
level. 
 
Single sales factor apportionment 
 
For taxable years 2007 and before, the Wisconsin portion of taxable income for businesses that 
operated in multiple states was determined by using a formula that had three factors – sales, 
payroll, and property.  For tax years 2008 and after, a single sales factor formula is used, with 
the numerator being Wisconsin sales (including throwback sales) and the denominator being 
total sales without regard for location.   
 
The change to a single sales factor did not affect equally all corporations with income 
apportionable to Wisconsin.  Individual companies could have had a tax increase or a tax 
decrease depending on the organization of their business compared to prior law.   

 
Combined reporting 12 
 
Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, Wisconsin law requires 
groups of corporations with common ownership that are engaged in a unitary business to file a 
single return (referred to as a combined report) to compute their Wisconsin taxable income.  In 
brief, the corporations required to use combined reporting are those which are both commonly 
controlled (generally speaking, this means 50% common ownership), and engaged in the same 
unitary business.  

 
12 More information on combined reporting can be found on the Department of Revenue website at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Combrept/home.aspx 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Combrept/home.aspx
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Only regular "C" corporations are required to use combined reporting.  Tax-option (S) 
corporations and individuals must file separate returns.  Income earned by a pass-through entity 
such as a partnership, limited liability company, estate, or trust is included in a combined report 
to the extent the income passes through to a member corporation. However, the pass-through 
entities are not considered members of the group. 
 
"Unitary business" is defined as a single economic enterprise made up of one or multiple related 
entities which are sufficiently interdependent, integrated, and interrelated through their activities 
so as to provide a synergy and mutual benefit that produces a sharing or exchange of value 
among them and a significant flow of value to the separate parts. Entities are presumed to be a 
unitary business if they have unity of ownership, operation, and use as indicated by the 
presence of one or more specific factors.  These factors include (but are not limited to): 
 

• centralized management, executive force, purchasing, advertising, or accounting;  
• inter-corporate sales or leases;  
• inter-corporate services, including administrative, employee benefits, human resources, 

legal, financial, or cash management services;  
• inter-corporate debts;  
• inter-corporate use of proprietary materials; and 
• inter-locking directorates or corporate officers.  

 
The income and deductible expenses that are related to the operation of the unitary business 
are summed for all members to arrive at the group's unitary business income.  Intercompany 
transactions between members of a combined group are generally eliminated for the purposes 
of determining the combined group's income.  Each corporation in the group multiplies the 
combined group's unitary business income by an apportionment fraction.  The numerator of the 
fraction is, generally speaking, equal to the member's Wisconsin sales.  The denominator of the 
fraction is the sum of the denominators of all group members' sales everywhere. 

 
Corporate group members that use special multiple-factor formulas use the multiple-factor 
apportionment formula to derive a modified sales factor.13 The denominator of the modified 
sales factor is total company sales, which is determined in the same manner as corporations 
that do not use special apportionment factors.  The numerator is determined by applying the 
multi-factor apportionment percentage as if they were not a member of a combined group to the 
member’s total sales. 

 
For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2008 and before January 1, 2012, business 
loss carryforwards from tax years before combined reporting was implemented could only be 
used to offset the income of the individual group member that generated the losses.  For taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2011, 5% of any business loss carryforward prior to the 
enactment of combined reporting was implemented and not used in a tax year prior to January 
1, 2012, may be shared with other combined group members each year, for up to 20 years (5% 
x 20 years = 100% utilization of trapped losses).  

 
New credit claims and credit carryforwards from previous years may only be used to offset the 
tax liability of the individual group member that generated the credits, with the exception of the 

 
13 The industries required to use special multiple-factor apportionment formulas are interstate pipeline 
companies, interstate telecommunication companies, interstate air carriers, interstate motor carriers, and 
interstate railroads. 
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research expenditure credit, engine research credit, and the energy efficient products research 
credit.  A combined group may use both new and carried forward credits from the excepted 
group above to offset liability of all members of the combined group. A designated agent of each 
group, generally the parent company, is responsible for the filing of tax returns for all members 
of the group. 
 
Corporate tax collections 
 
Corporate tax collections as a percent of total general purpose revenue (GPR) have fluctuated 
over the last 30 fiscal years.  As shown in Table 4, corporate tax revenues represented 8.9% of 
GPR in fiscal year 1988 and reached a low of 5% of GPR in fiscal year 2002. Most recently, the 
percentage of GPR represented by corporate tax revenue was 13.3% in fiscal year 2023. 
 

TABLE 4 
CORPORATE TAX COLLECTIONS 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

Corporate 
Tax 

Collections 
($000s) 

Total GPR 
Collections 

($000s) 

Corp. 
% of 
GPR  

 
Fiscal 
Year 

Corporate 
Tax 

Collections 
($000s) 

Total GPR 
Collections 

($000s) 

Corp. 
% of 
GPR 

1987-88 461,369 5,173,665 8.90%   2005-06 780,300 12,030,100 6.50% 
1988-89 448,367 5,536,443 8.10%   2006-07 890,100 12,617,900 7.10% 
1989-90 436,562 5,649,481 7.70%   2007-08 837,800 13,042,900 6.40% 
1990-91 440,917 6,072,955 7.30%   2008-09 629,500 12,113,200 5.20% 
1991-92 437,689 6,339,599 6.90%   2009-10 834,500 12,131,700 6.90% 
1992-93 492,015 6,871,018 7.20%   2010-11 852,863 12,911,985 6.60% 
1993-94 541,284 7,277,553 7.40%   2011-12 906,600 12,514,600 6.70% 
1994-95 631,750 7,778,422 8.10%   2012-13 925,400 14,085,600 6.60% 
1995-96 636,010 8,209,483 7.70%   2013-14 967,200  13,948,100  6.90% 
1996-97 643,822 8,804,011 7.30%   2014-15 1,004,900  14,541,200  6.90% 
1997-98 627,024 9,528,237 6.60%   2015-16 963,000  15,097,500  6.40% 
1998-99 635,203  9,948,408  6.40%   2016-17 920,900  15,517,600  5.90% 
1999-00 644,625 10,945,898 5.90%   2017-18 893,900 15,943,000 5.60% 
2000-01 537,159 10,063,439 5.30%   2018-19 1,338,100 17,132,000 7.80% 
2001-02 503,008 10,020,183 5.00%   2019-20 1,607,900 17,300,500 9.29% 
2002-03 526,545 10,199,739 5.20%  2020-21 2,560,100 19,357,200 13.2% 
2003-04 650,526 10,739,319 6.10%  2021-22 2,960,000 20,312,500 14.6% 
2004-05 764,053 11,396,650 6.70%  2022-23 2,748,500 20,737,100 13.3% 

 
 
 

Wisconsin C-corporation filers by industry and net income 
 
The following tables show Wisconsin C-corporation tax collections by industry and by size of 
business for tax year 2020, the latest data available.14  Table 5 shows the number of 

 
14 Because corporations can have a fiscal year that differs from the calendar year, and because 
corporations typically are granted extensions on the due date for filing returns, there is a considerable 
delay before complete statistics for a given tax year are available. For example, the extended due date for 
the tax year 2020 return for a corporation with a fiscal year that ran from December 1, 2020 through 
November 30, 2021 would be October 15, 2022. 
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corporations and the amount of net tax liability by two-digit NAICS code.  For combined groups, 
the information is aggregated using group members' individual NAICS code.  This approach 
provides a better picture of the income and tax liability derived from each industry than using the 
single NAICS code entered by the group's designated agent on Form 4, since members of a 
single group may be operating in a diverse range of industries.  Aggregating at the member 
level results in different totals for number of returns and net income in Table 5 compared to 
Table 6. 

 
Table 6 shows the tax collections by size of the corporation, as measured by the amount of net 
income of the corporation.  The data in Tables 5 and 6 do not include S-corporations, because 
very few S-corporations pay tax at the entity level.  Instead, S-corporations pass through income 
to the individual owners of the corporation who also pay related taxes.  

 
As shown in Table 5, the finance and insurance sector accounted for approximately 24% of net 
corporate tax liability reported in tax year 2020, the highest proportion for that tax year. The 
manufacturing sector accounted for approximately 21% of net tax liability. The retail trade sector 
was the third-largest sector by net tax liability, accounting for approximately 12% of total net tax 
liability. These three sectors accounted for more than half of the total net tax liability in tax year 
2020.  
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TABLE 5 

TAX YEAR 2020 WISCONSIN C-CORPORATION INCOME AND FRANCHISE TAX LIABILITY 
BY TWO-DIGIT NAICS CLASS 

      Net Income Total Corporate Tax Liability 
  NAICS # of  # with Net Income % of # with Net Tax % of  

Industry Class Corps. Income ($000's) Total Liability ($000's) Total 
Agriculture 11 1,728 436 67,011 0.35% 350 3,228 0.26% 
Mining 21 728 41 19,790 0.10% 339 365 0.03% 
Utilities 22 628 47 208,642 1.10% 44 16,262 1.30% 
Construction 23 4,536 1,128 344,103 1.81% 1,104 23,428 1.87% 
Manufacturing 31-33 13,875 4,380 5,421,631 28.58% 4,022 269,840 21.49% 
Wholesale Trade 42 7,325 2,325 1,555,923 8.20% 2,282 113,232 9.02% 
Retail Trade 44-45 5,558 1,475 2,085,327 10.99% 1,463 155,377 12.37% 
Transportation and 
Warehousing 48-49 3,571 848 509,006 2.68% 829 40,017 3.19% 
Information 51 7,466 1,145 1,554,460 8.20% 1,128 121,305 9.66% 
Finance and 
Insurance 52 13,200 2,639 4,166,867 21.97% 2,600 301,864 24.04% 
Real Estate and 
Leasing 53 7,113 1,243 315,079 1.66% 1,207 24,638 1.96% 
Professional, 
Scientific, and 
Technical Services 54 15,628 3,146 854,328 4.50% 3,082 58,485 4.66% 
Management of 
Companies 55 14,773 921 1,156,543 6.10% 882 72,170 5.75% 
Administrative, 
Support, and Waste 
Management  56 4,331 721 302,248 1.59% 710 23,758 1.89% 
Educational 
Services 61 572 89 15,560 0.08% 89 1,229 0.10% 
Health Care and 
Social Assistance 62 6,893 504 147,451 0.78% 499 11,479 0.91% 
Arts, Entertainment, 
and Recreation 71 1,388 190 24,006 0.13% 185 1,885 0.15% 
Accommodation 
and Food Services 72 2,587 385 60,243 0.32% 385 4,789 0.38% 
Other Services 
(except Public 
Administration) 81 2,337 593 80,332 0.42% 576 6,324 0.50% 
Other/Unknown 99 1,189 309 78,172 0.41% 292 5,955 0.47% 
         Totals  115,426 22,565 18,966,724 100% 21,768 1,255,599 100.00% 
Source: Aggregate statistics compiled by the Department of Revenue 

 
 

As shown in Table 6, C-corporations reported net taxable income of $18.9 billion for tax year 
2020 and net tax liability of $1.25 billion.  Of the 41,808 corporate returns filed in tax year 2020, 
27,303 (65.3%) showed no taxable income or reported a net loss and thus reported no net tax 
liability.  A small number of combined groups had a total group net income of zero or less but 
had a member or members with a positive net tax liability, which accounts for the difference 
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between the net income amount shown in Table 5 (aggregated at the group-member level) and 
Table 6 (aggregated at the total group level).   
 

TABLE 6 
TAX YEAR 2020 C-CORPORATION NET INCOME AND TAX LIABILITY BY NET INCOME CLASS 

WI Net Income 
Number of 

Returns 
Total WI Income 

(In 000s) 
Number of 

Returns 
Net Tax Liability 

(In 000s) 
Zero or Less 27,303 0 241 117 
$1 to $10,000 4,408 14,569 4,250 1,134 
10,001 to 25,000 1,891 31,349 1,866 2,431 
25,001 to 50,000 1,605 57,483 1,573 4,406 
50,001 to 100,000 1,469 105,909 1,442 8,049 
100,001 to 250,000 1,717 277,558 1,666 20,644 
250,001 to 500,000 958 342,521 928 25,260 
500,001 to 1,000,000 755 527,005 725 37,889 
1,000,001 to 5,000,000 1,064 2,449,127 1,013 171,430 
5,000,001 to 10,000,000 284 2,010,236 267 135,851 
Over 10,000,000 354 13,145,990 330 847,459 
       Totals 41,808 18,961,749 14,301 1,254,672 

Source: Wisconsin Department of Revenue Aggregate Statistics 
  

 
Other states 
 
Table 7 shows the tax rates and standard apportionment formulas for all 50 states for tax year 
2023.  Four states (Nevada, South Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming) have no general 
corporate income tax.  Special industry apportionment formulas, such as those used for 
financial institutions, insurance companies, or utilities, are not included in the table.   

 
Also, in some states the tax rates for special entities, such as S-corporations or financial 
institutions, are different than the rates for other entities.  These special rates are not included in 
the table. 

 
"Double-weight" (or "triple-weight") indicates that the apportionment is based on three factors, 
but the sales factor is double-weighted (or triple-weighted). States have been trending towards 
an apportionment based on a single sales factor for over a decade.
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TABLE 7 

STATES' TAX RATES AND APPORTIONMENT FORMULAS, TAX YEAR 2023 
State Apportionment Tax Rates 

Alabama  Single Sales Factor 
6.5%; taxpayers with $100,000 or less of gross sales 
within the state may pay 0.25% on such sales 

Alaska  Evenly-weighted 3-Factor. 0% on $25k, up to 9.4% over $222k 

Arizona  
3-factor formula with double-weighted sales factor or one-factor 
sales formula  4.90% 

Arkansas  Single Sales Factor 1% on $3k up to 6.2% over $100k 
California  Single Sales Factor 8.84% 
Colorado  Single Sales Factor 4.40% 

Connecticut  Single-Factor gross receipts formula. 

7.5%, minimum tax of $250. 10% surcharge if gross 
income is $100 million or more and tax liability exceeds 
minimum tax 

Delaware  Single Sales Factor  8.70% 
District of 
Columbia  Single Sales Factor 8.25% 

Florida  3-Factor formula with double-weighted sales factor. 
Greater of 5.5% or alternative minimum tax, minus a 
$50,000 exemption 

Georgia  Single Sales Factor 5.75% 

Hawaii  Evenly-weighted 3-Factor 

4.4% on $25k up to 6.4% over $100k; or taxpayers with 
$100,000 or lesser of gross sales within the state may pay 
0.5% on such sales 

Idaho  Single Sales Factor 
5.8% plus $20; or taxpayers with $100,000 or less of 
gross sales within the state may pay 1% on such sales 

Illinois  Single Sales Factor 7% plus 2.5% personal property replacement tax 

Indiana  Single Sales Factor 4.9% 
Iowa  Single Sales Factor 5.5% on $25k up to 8.4% over $100k 
Kansas  Evenly-weighted 3-Factor 4% plus 3% surtax on income over $50k;  
Kentucky  Single factor receipts formula 5% 
Louisiana  Single Sales Factor 3.5% on $50k to 7.5% over $150k 
Maine  Single Sales Factor 3.5% on $350k to 8.93% over $3.5m 

Maryland  

Single Sales Factor phase-in, ending 2022. Three factor formula 
with quintuple-weighted sales factor (2020), sextuple-weighted 
sales factor (2021) 8.25% 
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TABLE 7 
STATES' TAX RATES AND APPORTIONMENT FORMULAS, TAX YEAR 2023 

State Apportionment Tax Rates 

Massachusetts  3-factor formula with double-weighted sales factor 
Greater of 8% on apportioned income, $2.60 per $1,000 
of tangible personal property, or minimum tax of $456 

Michigan  Single Sales Factor 6% 

Minnesota  Single Sales Factor 

9.8%; corporations are subject to an additional minimum 
tax ranging from $0 to $10,810 depending on in-state 
property, payroll, and sales or receipts 

Mississippi  
General apportionment factor is Single Sales; Most industries 
have special factors 

Income between $5k and $10k: 4%. Income greater than 
$10k: 5% 

Missouri  Single Sales Factor 4% 

Montana  Three-factor formula with double-weighted receipts factor. 

6.75%; taxpayers with $100,000 or less of gross sales 
within the state may pay 0.5% on such sales.; 7% for 
water's edge combined groups 

Nebraska  Single Sales Factor 5.58% on $100k to 7.25% plus $5,580 over $100k 
Nevada  Not Applicable Not Applicable 
New Hampshire  Single sales factor 7.5% if gross income over $103,000 

New Jersey  Single Sales Factor 

Greater of: $0-$50,000: 6.5%; $50,001-$100,000: 7.5%; 
$100,001 or more: 9%; or alternative minimum; or fixed 
dollar minimum of $500 up to $2,000 

New Mexico  Evenly-weighted 3-Factor 4.8% up to $500k; 5.9% over $500k 

New York  Single Factor Receipts Formula 

6.5% for income under $5 million, 7.25% for business 
income over $5 million (0% for qualified in-state 
manufacturers and 4.875% for qualified emerging tech 
companies); may be required to use alternative minimum 
calculation or fixed dollar minimum 

North Carolina  Single sales factor 2.5% 

North Dakota  Evenly-weighted 3-Factor, or elective single sales factor 
$0-$25,000: 1.41%; $25,001-$50,000:3.55%; $50,001 or 
more: 4.31%; 3.5% additional for combined groups 

Ohio  No general apportionment formula 
Commercial activity tax on gross receipts: $150k -1 
million: $150; over $1 million: $150 plus 0.26% 

Oklahoma  3-Factor, or Double-weight if meets investment criteria 4% 

Oregon  Single Sales Factor 
Greater of: 6.6% on first $1 million, 7.6% on income over 
$1m; or fixed dollar amount based on Oregon sales. 

Pennsylvania  Single Sales Factor 8.99% 

Rhode Island  Single Sales Factor 
Greater of: net income tax of 7%; or minimum tax of 
$400. 
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TABLE 7 
STATES' TAX RATES AND APPORTIONMENT FORMULAS, TAX YEAR 2023 

State Apportionment Tax Rates 
South Carolina  Single Sales Factor 5% 
South Dakota  Not Applicable Not Applicable 

Tennessee  

Three-factor formula with sales factor weighted five times. 
2024: Three factor, sales weighted 11 times. 
2025: Single sales factor fully phased in. 6.50% 

Texas  Single Gross Receipts Factor 

0.75% for most entities. 0.375% for qualifying wholesalers 
and retailers. 0.331% for entities with $20 million or less in 
annualized total revenue  

Utah  Singles sales factor. Evenly-weighted three factor optional 4.65% 

Vermont  Single Sales Factor 
$0-$10,000: 6%; $10,001-$25,000: 600 plus 7%; $25,001 
and over: $1,650 plus 8.5% 

Virginia  Double-weighted Sales Factor 6% 
Washington  Not Applicable Not Applicable 
West Virginia  Single Sales Factor 6.5% 

Wisconsin  Single Sales Factor 7.90% 
Wyoming  Not Applicable Not Applicable 
Source:  CCH Multi-state Corporate Income Tax Guide 
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As shown in Table 8, there are 28 states that required combined reporting for affiliated groups of 
corporations in tax year 2023 (combined reporting is also required in Washington, D.C.).  An 
additional three states permit combined reporting or require it only in certain cases or for certain 
corporate groups.  Sixteen states have no combined reporting requirement.  As previously 
noted, four states do not have a corporate income tax, and those states are not shown in Table 
8. 
 

TABLE 8 
 TAX YEAR 2023 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS, BY STATE 

State Reporting Requirement State Reporting Requirement 
Alabama Single-entity reporting Mississippi Single-entity reporting 
Alaska Combined reporting Missouri Single-entity reporting 
Arizona Combined reporting Montana Combined reporting 
Arkansas Single-entity reporting Nebraska Combined reporting 
California Combined reporting New Hampshire Combined reporting 
Colorado Combined reporting New Jersey Combined reporting 
Connecticut Combined reporting  New Mexico Combined reporting  
Delaware Single-entity reporting New York Combined reporting 
District of Columbia Combined reporting  North Carolina Single-entity reporting 
Florida Single-entity reporting North Dakota Combined reporting 
Georgia Single-entity reporting Ohio Combined reporting 
Hawaii Combined reporting Oklahoma Single-entity reporting 
Idaho Combined reporting Oregon Single-entity reporting 
Illinois Combined reporting Pennsylvania Single-entity reporting 
Indiana Single-entity reporting Rhode Island Combined reporting 
Iowa Single-entity reporting South Carolina Single-entity reporting 

Kansas Combined reporting Tennessee 
Combined reporting may be 
required 

Kentucky Combined reporting Texas Combined reporting 
Louisiana Single-entity reporting Utah Combined reporting  
Maine Combined reporting Vermont Combined reporting  
Maryland Single-entity reporting Virginia Combined reporting permitted 
Massachusetts Combined reporting West Virginia Combined reporting 
Michigan Combined reporting permitted Wisconsin Combined reporting 
Minnesota Combined reporting  
Source:  CCH Multi-state Corporate Income Tax Guide 
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