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Introduction

INTRODUCTION

Wisconsin's state and local governments rely on tax revenues to fund valuable services to our citizens.
Ensuring that our system of taxation is fair, equitable, and efficient is vital to our economic success and quality
of life. In setting tax policies, we must consider taxpayers’ ability to pay, the impact of those policies on
economic development, and the interaction of tax policies with other policy goals.

Tax exemptions are an important component of Wisconsin tax policies. A tax exemption is “...any tax provision
that exempts, in whole or part, certain persons, income, goods, services or property from the impact of
established taxes.”" Granting a tax exemption can be a powerful tool for providing economic development
incentives or for mitigating the regressive qualities of certain tax types. However, exemptions always come
with a cost. Exemptions reduce revenues otherwise available for programs or for tax relief for taxpayers who
do not benefit from the exemption. Therefore, it is critical that policymakers understand both the costs of
exemptions and their effectiveness at achieving their intended goal.

Recognizing the need for this information, the legislature mandated that a report be presented biennially to the
legislature listing all tax exemption devices and their fiscal effects. First presented in 1975, this is the 19"
report compiled by the Department of Revenue.

Highlights of the Report

The report is organized by tax type. For each, it describes the various exemptions that are currently authorized
and provides estimates of the fiscal effects in fiscal year 2010 (FY10) where data is available. Detailed
explanations of each tax type are available on the Department of Revenue web site at
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/report/index.html.

On a case by case basis, the estimates provide a valuable benchmark for discussion of whether the policy
justifications warrant the loss in revenue or if other tools, such as direct expenditure programs, could be
considered as alternatives. As the examples below demonstrate, determining the degree to which exemptions
meet their policy objectives is challenging, due to the difficulty of quantifying the outcomes and in some cases
the need to make assumptions regarding the underlying goal or goals.

Individual Income Tax Exemptions

The individual income tax is the largest generator of revenues for state government. In FY10, income tax
collections of $6.1 billion represented 50.2% of state General Purpose Revenue (GPR) tax collections.
Exemptions from the income tax include deductions or exclusions from taxable income and tax credits.
e Tax exclusions are types of income that are not taxable and do not need to be reported on the tax
return, such as income from qualifying scholarships.
e Deductions are amounts that are subtracted from total taxable income that is reported, such as a
deduction for capital gains and the standard deduction.
e Credits are a direct reduction in the tax liability that is owed.
Non-refundable credits are credits that cannot exceed total tax liability.
Refundable credits can exceed tax liability and can result in a payment due to the taxpayer

Many income tax exemptions are based on Wisconsin's consistency with federal tax policy. For example,
Wisconsin conforms to the federal exclusion of payments received for sickness or injury benefits, which had an
estimated cost of $1.26 billion for Wisconsin in FY10. While this is clearly a high cost exemption, removing the
exemption would reduce the benefit of other policy programs such as worker’s compensation, proceeds from
insurance policies, and allowance for injuries incurred in military action.

Other income tax exclusions are unique to Wisconsin. For example, Wisconsin allows taxpayers to subtract
from income 30% of the capital gains on assets held more than one year. This exclusion cost $68.8 million in
FY10.

An example of a refundable tax credit is the homestead credit that provides a credit to low income renters and
homeowners to offset a portion of property taxes. The cost of the program in FY10 was $128.0 million.

! From Wisconsin Statutes Section 16.425 (2).
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Sales Tax Exemptions

Wisconsin generated $3.9 billion in FY10 from its 5% sales and use tax, which represented 32.5% of state
GPR taxes. In addition, counties and professional football and baseball stadium districts are authorized to
collect additional sales tax from the same tax base. Goods and services that are exempt from this tax therefore
lower revenues for both the state and local governments.

One of the largest exemptions from the sales tax is the exemption for food purchased for home consumption,
which was estimated to reduce state revenues by $533.8 million in FY10. Since food expenditures generally
demand a larger portion of the incomes of lower and moderate income individuals, removing this exemption
could have implications for dietary choices and the distribution of the sales tax burden.

Another significant exemption is for goods sold to other state and local governments and schools, which
reduced revenues by an estimated $326.7 million in FY10. Removing this exemption would result in a situation
where one taxing authority imposes a tax on another.

In contrast to tangible goods that are taxed unless specifically exempt in statute, services are exempt unless
they are singled out for taxation. Of those services that are exempt, the largest measurable exemptions are in
the areas of professional services and business services. These exempt categories include a variety of
services such as those provided by health professionals (accounting for $581.1 million in foregone revenue in
FY10), and exemptions for computer and legal services (which reduced FY10 revenues by 148.0 million and
$114.5 million, respectively).

Property Tax Exemptions

The local property tax generates more revenue than either the state sales tax or the income tax. Property
taxes collected in 2010 for taxes levied in 2009 totaled $10.1 billion, which represents the combined levy of
school districts, municipalities, counties, technical colleges, and special districts. The state establishes policies
regarding what real and personal property is subject to the local property tax, guided by the uniformity clause of
the state constitution, which prohibits differential treatment of most property including partial exemptions.

Real property that is exempt from taxation includes property owned by religious establishments, educational
and medical facilities, and low-income housing owned by non-profit benevolent associations. In total it is
estimated that the value of exempt real property is $21.6 billion. There are also a number of exemptions to
personal property taxation, including the exemption for machinery and equipment used in manufacturing — the
value of which is estimated at $13.7 billion.

If the exempt property examined in this report were taxable, property tax rates would be reduced by an
estimated 6.9% statewide, ranging from a 10.0% average reduction in cities to a 3.1% average reduction in
towns.

Property tax exemptions have implications for economic development and the state's health, housing, and
education policies. The impact of property tax exemptions should by evaluated with consideration to both the
impact on the owners of remaining taxable property and policy goals.

Other Exemptions

The report also discusses exemptions relating to the corporate income tax, insurance premium taxes, recycling
surcharge, real estate transfer fees, public utility taxes, excise taxes, and forest crop and managed forest laws.

Limitations of the Report

Readers should be aware of several limitations to the report.

The fiscal impacts of tax exemption devices are often difficult to measure, and estimates of the effect of tax
exemptions are subject to limitations and the need to make assumptions. Generally, in calculating each fiscal

effect, it is assumed that only the provision in question is changed and that all other aspects of the tax system
remain the same.
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All of the estimates in this report are presented as the impact of the exemption device in FY10. Changes in
taxpayer behavior or economic activities since that time are not reflected.

Consistent with accepted revenue estimating practices, the estimates also assume that economic variables,
taxpayer behavior and other factors would be unaffected by the repeal of an exemption device. For some tax
exemption devices, these assumptions are open to question. For example, the removal of an income tax
deduction could significantly alter spending or investment behavior.

In addition, the estimates are only as good as the data available. In some cases, the estimates are very
reliable. In other cases, little data is available and estimates must rely on external sources or indirect
information. Therefore, the estimates should generally be viewed as indicative only of the order of magnitude
of tax exemption costs. Discussion on the data sources and methodologies used in constructing the estimates
are contained in the individual chapters of this report.

Due to these data limitations and interactions between various exemptions, it is not necessarily accurate to
sum across the exemptions to arrive at a total fiscal impact. Each estimate is made in isolation. If two or more
items were eliminated, the combined effect may be more or less than the sum of their respective estimates.
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX

Introduction

The individual income tax is Wisconsin’s largest tax source, generating $6,089 million, or 50% of state general
purpose revenue taxes in FY10. Wisconsin first enacted its income tax in 1911 — two years before the federal
income tax was imposed.

Wisconsin imposes the income tax on a base that generally conforms to the base for the federal income tax —
federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) is the starting point for the Wisconsin tax calculation. FAGI is calculated
on the federal return by reporting the various kinds of income — for instance, wages and salaries, interest and
dividends, business earnings, retirement income — and then making adjustments for certain kinds of income or
expenses. Major adjustments include:

e Contributions to individual retirement accounts and to retirement plans of self-employed persons.
e Deductions for health insurance premiums.

e One-half of the self-employment tax paid for social security and Medicare coverage.

e Upto $2,500 in interest on student loans when income does not exceed prescribed limits.

e Alimony paid; to the extent the payments are included in the income of the recipient.

In the Wisconsin tax calculation, modifications, both additions and subtractions, are made to FAGI in the
determination of Wisconsin adjusted gross income (WAGI). Additions are types of income that are exempt from
federal tax but subject to state tax, or deductions allowed for federal but not Wisconsin purposes. The major
addition is state and municipal bond interest, which states, but not the federal government, may tax. Another
addition results from differences in the amount of capital losses that taxpayers may offset against income —
$3,000 under federal law, but $500 under Wisconsin law. Taxpayers who deduct more than $500 in losses for
federal purposes must add back the excess in calculating WAGI.

Subtractions are types of income taxable under federal law but exempted by Wisconsin and certain expenses for
which Wisconsin allows a deduction. Major subtractions include:

e 30% of capital gains on assets held for more than one year. These gains are fully included in federal
taxable income, though long-term gains are taxable at lower rates than ordinary income.

e Interest on U.S. government bonds, which the federal government may, but states may not, tax.

e Pensions received by persons who were members of or retired from Milwaukee City and county retirement
funds, the state teachers’ retirement fund, and the civil service retirement system prior to January 1, 1964.
In addition, veterans’ pensions are exempt from Wisconsin income tax.

e All social security benefits that are taxable for federal purposes. Up to 85% of social security benefits are
subject to federal tax, but Wisconsin does not tax social security benefits. For taxable years beginning in
2008 or after, all federally taxable social security benefits are allowed as a subtraction.

e A portion of unemployment compensation. Under federal law up to $2,400 of unemployment compensation
is excluded from taxable income for tax year 2009. Wisconsin does not follow the federal treatment, but
instead has a separate deduction for unemployment compensation. Unemployment compensation is only
subject to Wisconsin tax when income exceeds $18,000 for married couples and $12,000 for most other
filers.

e Tuition payments to post-secondary institutions in Wisconsin and to schools in Minnesota covered under
Minnesota-Wisconsin tuition reciprocity. For each qualified student, the subtraction is limited to two times
the average amount charged to resident undergraduates by the University of Wisconsin System at four-year
institutions.

¢ Premiums paid for long-term care insurance.
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e The full amount of health insurance premiums paid by the self-employed and premiums paid by employed
persons whose employer does not contribute to their health insurance. Additionally, a subtraction is being
phased-in for individuals with no self-employment income and no employer. In 2011 the full amount of
health insurance premiums paid by these individuals will be allowed as a subtraction. In 2008 a subtraction
began phasing in for employees whose employer contributes to the cost of health insurance, but requires
the employees to pay for a portion of the premiums.

WAGI is reduced by a standard deduction and personal exemptions to yield Wisconsin taxable income.
Wisconsin provides a sliding scale standard deduction, equal to some maximum when income is below a
specified level; this maximum deduction is phased down to $0 as income increases. For instance, in 2009, the
deduction for single persons was $9,440 when WAGI was less than $13,610, and it declined to $0 as income
increased from $13,610 to $92,277. The deduction parameters for each filing status are shown in Table 1; the
maximum deduction and phase-out range are indexed annually for inflation. Unlike federal law, Wisconsin does
not allow itemized deductions; instead it provides an itemized deductions credit, discussed below, equal to 5%
of certain deductions in excess of the standard deduction.

TABLE 1
WISCONSIN STANDARD DEDUCTIONS, 2009

Maximum Phase-out

Filing Status Deduction Phase-Out Range Rate

Single $9,440 $13,610 - $92,277 12%
Head of Household $12,190 $13,610 - $39,763* 22.515%
Married Filing Jointly $17,010 $19,100 - $105,105 19.778%
Married Filing Separately $8,080 $9,070 - $49,923 19.778%

*Income at which head of household deduction equals the deduction for single filers. Above this
income level, the deduction for heads of households is the same as that for single persons.

WAGI is also reduced by a personal exemption equal to $700 for each tax filer, spouse, and dependent. There
is an additional exemption of $250 for each tax filer and spouse age 65 or older.

Wisconsin taxable income, equal to WAGI less the standard deduction and personal exemptions, is the base to
which statutory tax rates are applied to yield gross tax liability. As Table 2 shows, Wisconsin imposes a series
of graduated tax rates, ranging from 4.6% to 7.75%. In 2009, the top rate applies to filers with taxable income
exceeding $225,000 for single persons and $300,000 for married couples filing jointly. Bracket ceilings are
indexed for inflation.

TABLE 2
WISCONSIN TAX RATES AND BRACKETS, 2009
Taxable Income Brackets

Tax Rate Single Married - Joint Married — Separate
4.60% $0 - $10,220 $0 - $13,620 $0 - $6,810
6.15% $10,220 - $20,440 $13,620 - $27,250 $6,810 - $13,620
6.50% $20,440 - $153,280 $27,250 - $204,370 $13,620 - $102,190
6.75% $153,280 - $225,000 $204,370 - $300,000 $102,190 - $150,000
7.75% More than $225,000 More than $300,000 More than $150,000

Finally, gross tax is reduced by credits against the tax liability. Major non-refundable credits, which are limited
to the amount of income tax liability otherwise due, include:

o The itemized deductions credit, equal to 5% of the amount by which certain federal itemized deductions
exceed the standard deduction. Deductions allowed for the credit are those for medical expenses,
mortgage interest on a primary residence located in Wisconsin, investment interest on securities the
income from which is subject to Wisconsin tax, charitable contributions, and certain casualty losses that
are directly related to a presidentially declared disaster.

. The school property tax credit, equal to 12% of the first $2,500 of property taxes, or rent constituting
property taxes, for a maximum credit of $300. Rent constituting property taxes equals 20% of rent if
heat is included in rent, and 25% if heat is not included.
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The married couple credit for couples when both spouses are working, equal to 3% of the earnings of
the lower earning spouses, but not more than $16,000, resulting in a maximum credit of $480.

The credit for military income earned outside the United States, to the extent the income is included in
WAGI, equal to the amount of those earnings, but no more than $300.

Historic rehabilitation credits, including a supplement to the federal historic rehabilitation credit equal to
5% of qualifying expenditures under the federal Internal Revenue Code and a state historic
rehabilitation credit equal to 25% of qualified expenditures to substantially rehabilitate certified historic
buildings.

A credit for income taxes paid to other states on wages or other earnings in those states. No credit is
allowed for states with which Wisconsin has reciprocity, that is, agreements under which each state
agrees not to tax the wages earned within its borders by residents of the other state. In tax year 2009,
Wisconsin had reciprocity agreements with lllinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan and Minnesota.
Because the number of Wisconsin residents working in Illinois and Minnesota is substantially higher
than the number of residents of those states working in Wisconsin, Wisconsin annually makes a
payment to those states to compensate them for the net revenue loss incurred as a result of reciprocity.
The reciprocity agreement with Minnesota was terminated beginning January 1, 2010.

In addition to nonrefundable tax credits, Wisconsin also offers refundable credits, which are paid to claimants in
the form of a tax refund when the amount of the credit exceeds tax otherwise due. These credits are essentially
subsidies provided to particular types of claimants through the tax system. These credits are:

The Homestead credit, which equals up to 80% of property taxes or rent constituting property taxes when
household income does not exceed $8,000. Maximum property taxes allowable under the credit are
$1,450, so the maximum credit is $1,160. The credit is phased out as household income rises from $8,000
to $24,500. Rent constituting property taxes equals 20% of rent when heat is included in rent and 25% of
rent when heat is not included. Beginning in 2010, the maximum allowable property tax, the maximum
household income, and the household income phase-out floor will be indexed for inflation. Furthermore, the
dependent deduction will be increased to $500 for each dependent.

The earned income tax credit (EITC), calculated as a percentage of the federal earned income tax credit
depending on family size: 4% for persons with one child, 14% for persons with two children, and 43% for
persons with three or more children. In 2009, the federal credit for persons with one child was equal to 34%
of earnings up to $8,950, for a maximum credit of $3,043. The credit for single persons was phased out as
the greater of FAGI or earnings rose from $16,420 to $35,463; the phase-out floor and ceiling were $5,000
higher for married couples. For persons with two children, the federal credit was 40% of earnings up to
$12,570, for a maximum credit of $5,028. The credit was phased out for single persons as income or
earnings rose from $16,420 to $40,295; the phase-out floor and ceiling were $5,000 higher for married
couples. For persons with three or more children, the federal credit was 45% of earnings up to $12,570, for
a maximum credit of $5,657. The credit was phased out for single persons as income or earnings rose from
$16,420 to $43,279; the phase-out floor and ceiling were $5,000 higher for married couples. Thus, the
maximum Wisconsin credits were $122 for persons with one child, $704 for persons with two children, and
$2,432 for persons with three or more children.

The farmland preservation credit for owners of farmland that was zoned exclusively for agriculture use or
covered under a farmland preservation agreement with the state. For tax year 2009, the credit is calculated
by determining “excessive property tax” on land and improvements, which is the amount of allowable
property taxes less a portion of household income in excess of $5,000 (ranging from 7% of household
income between $5,000 and $10,000 to 37% of household income in excess of $30,000). “Excessive
property tax” is limited to $6,000 and the potential credit is equal to 90% of the first $2,000 of excessive
property taxes, 70% of the next $2,000 and 50% of the remaining $2,000, for a maximum potential credit of
$4,200. The amount of credit actually received is 70%, 80%, 95% or 100% of the potential amount,
depending on whether the claimant participates in the farmland preservation program through zoning or a
contract and depending on the action taken on a farmland preservation plan or zoning by the county or
municipality in which the farmland is located. The minimum credit is 10% of excessive property tax. Both
the farmland preservation credit and the farmland tax relief credit will be replaced beginning in tax year
2010 with a new, per acre farmland preservation credit.

The farmland tax relief credit equal to a percentage, determined by the Department of Revenue, of property
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taxes on farmland exclusive of improvements; the maximum credit is $1,500. The Department of Revenue
annually determines the credit percentage and amount of property taxes that can be claimed so that total
expenditures on the credit for all claimants is $15 million, adjusted for expenditures in excess of, or less
than, this amount in the prior fiscal year. The credit for tax year 2009 was based on 18% of the first $8,333
of property taxes. Both the farmland preservation credit and the farmland tax relief credit will be replaced
beginning in tax year 2010 with a new, per acre farmland preservation credit.

e The veterans and surviving spouses' property tax credit equal to the amount of property taxes paid on the
claimant's principal dwelling. This credit is available to certain resident disabled veterans and un-remarried
surviving spouses of veterans who died while on active duty, during training, or had a service connected
disability rating of 100% or a 100% disability rating based on individual unemployability at the time of death.
In all cases the veteran must have been a Wisconsin resident at the time of entry into service or a resident
for any consecutive 5-year period after entry into active duty service. In the case of surviving spouses, the
veteran must also have been a resident at the time of death.

In addition to regular income tax, Wisconsin imposes an alternative minimum tax that may limit the benefit of
some tax exemption devices. The alternative minimum tax is equal to 6.5% of alternative minimum taxable
income above the applicable exemption amount ($33,750 if single, $45,000 if married filing a joint return, and
$22,500 if married filing a separate return for tax year 2009).

Estimates of Fiscal Effects

Estimates of individual income tax exemption devices are provided in Table 3. Descriptions of each device
follow the table. The table identifies the exemption devices, indicates the statutory section allowing the
exemption device, and provides an estimate of its fiscal effect in FY10.

Several approaches were used to generate the estimates shown in Table 3. The estimates of exclusions from
gross income, which are not reported on tax returns, were generally based on estimates of the fiscal effect of
federal tax expenditures — i.e., federal tax exemption devices — contained in the annual budget document issued
by the Executive Office of the President. Estimates prepared by the Congressional Budget Office and the staff
of the Joint Committee on Taxation were also considered. Generally, Wisconsin's share of the federal fiscal
effect was determined using the state's share of total federal adjusted gross income on all federal tax returns,
and then adjustments were made to account for the differences in federal and Wisconsin tax rates.

Most of the other estimates were based on Wisconsin-specific data sources, including the 2007 Wisconsin
individual income tax model, aggregate statistics from the 2009 tax processing year, and tax collection statistics
for FY10. The tax model is derived from a scientifically stratified sample of approximately 24,000 tax returns,
weighted to reflect the statewide population of tax filers in 2007. This model was used to simulate the effect of
tax exemption devices for which data is captured in the sample. The aggregate statistics were drawn from tax
returns processed from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010.
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TABLE 3
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY

Exemption Device

Statutory Reference*

FY10 Fiscal Effect

Exclusions from Federal Gross Income

Gain from Sale or Exchange of Residence (Home)
Social Security Benefits

Railroad Retirement Annuities and Pensions
Public Assistance

Sickness and Injury Benefits

Insurance Premiums for Public Safety Officers
Group Term Life Insurance Purchased for Employees
Death Benefits

Meals and Lodging to Employees

Scholarships and Fellowships

Awards and Prizes

Payments to Victims of Nazi Persecution

Rental Value of Parsonages

Reduced Armed Forces Retirement Pay

Combat Pay and Other Armed Forces Exclusions
Life Insurance Dividends

Cancellation of Business Property Indebtedness
Income Realized from Debt Cancellation Through
Bankruptcy

Interest on Certain State and Local Bonds

Gifts and Inheritances

Appreciation of Property Held at the Time of Death
Employer Contributions to Pension Plans and Net
Pension Fund Earnings

Employer Reimbursement of Employee's Educational
Expenses

Employer-Provided Child Care

Employer-Provided Adoption Assistance

Roth Individual Retirement Accounts

Education Individual Retirement Accounts
Transportation and Other Fringe Benefits

Foster Care Payments

Cancellation of Student Loans

Recovery of Tax Benefit Items

Foreign Earned Income

Natural Resource-Related Cost-Sharing Payments
Passive Activity Losses

IRC 121

IRC 86

IRC 86

IRC 61

IRC 104 to 106

IRC 402 P.L. 109-280
IRC 79

IRC 101

IRC 119

IRC 117

IRC 74 (b) and (c)
IRC 61 (P.L. 107-16, s. 803)
IRC 107

IRC 122

IRC 112 and 134

IRC 7702

IRC 108 (a)

IRC 108

ss. 66.1201 (14)a, 66.1333
(5)(@)4.c and 71.05 (1)(c)
IRC 102

IRC 1014

IRC 401 to 404A, 406 to 407
and 409 to 417

IRC 127

IRC 129
IRC 137
IRC 408A
IRC530
IRC 132 (a)
IRC 131
IRC 108 (f)
IRC 111
IRC 911
IRC 126
IRC 469

185,000,000
238,000,000
1,910,000
5,700,000
1,260,000,000
2,260,000
16,500,000
62,500,000
14,100,000
16,700,000
Minimal
Minimal
4,750,000
Not available
133,000,000
32,200,000
1,340,000
Not available

Not available

Not available
118,000,000
719,000,000

5,320,000

8,570,000
884,000
4,300,000
428,000
25,700,000
1,670,000
Minimal
Minimal
43,000,000
Minimal
Not Available

Adjustments to Federal Gross Income

Capital Losses

Losses from the Sale or Exchange of Business Property
Pension, Profit-Sharing, Annuity and Bond Purchase
Plans of Self-Employed Individuals

Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAS)

Student Loan Interest

Self-Employment Tax

Health Insurance of Self-Employed Persons
Educator Expenses

Medical Savings Accounts

Moving Expenses

Alimony

Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings

IRC 1211; s 71.05 (10)(c)
IRC 62 (a)(3)
IRC 62 (a)(6)

IRC 62 (a)(7), 219, 408, 408A,
and 530

IRC 221

IRC 164 (f)

IRC 162 (1)

IRC 62

IRC 220, 223

IRC 217

IRC 62 (a)(10), 71 and 215
IRC 62 (a)(9)

9,710,000
10,600,000
14,700,000

14,400,000

11,500,000
18,700,000
22,600,000
1,110,000
Not available
793,000
14,400,000
167,000
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TABLE 3
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY (continued)

10

Exemption Devices

Statutory Reference*

FY10 Fiscal Effect

Modifications to Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Social Security Benefits: Additional State Deduction s. 71.05 (6)(b)21 235,000,000
Interest on U.S. Obligations s. 71.05 (6)(b)1 10,700,000
Capital Gains Deduction s. 71.05 (6)(b)9 68,800,000
Capital Gains from Qualified Small Business Stock s. 71.05 (6)(b)6 Not available
Gains on Sales of Business Assets to Related Persons s. 71.05 (6)(b)25 910,000
Net Long-Term Capital Losses (Pre-1982) s. 71.05 (14) Minimal
Public Pensions s. 71.05 (1)(a), (am) and (an) 51,500,000
State Legislators' Per Diem Expenses s. 71.05 (1)(b) Minimal
Health Insurance Premiums of the Self-Employed and s. 71.05 (6)(b)19 and 20 34,100,000
Certain Employees: Difference in State and Federal Trtmt

Long-Term Care Insurance Expenses s. 71.05 (6)(b)26 6,080,000
Unemployment Compensation s. 71.05 (6)(b)8 16,000,000
Disability Income s. 71.05 (6)(b)4 26,000
Adoption Expenses s. 71.05 (6)(b)22 273,000
Higher Education Tuition Expenses s. 71.05 (6)(b)28 24,300,000
Prepaid Tuition and College Savings Plans s. 71.05 (6)(b)23 and 31 to 33 8,550,000
Viatical Settlement Contracts s. 71.05 (1)(f) Minimal
Payments to Victims of Nazi Persecution s. 71.05 (6)(b)30 Minimal
Human Organ Donation Expenses s. 71.05 (10)(i) Minimal
Active Duty Military Pay for Reserves or National Guard s. 71.05 (6)(b)34 1,790,000
Low Income Retirement Income Exclusion s. 71.05 (1)(ae) 739,000
Deductions and Exemptions from Wisconsin

Adjusted Gross Income

Sliding Scale Standard Deduction s. 71.05 (22) 727,000,000
Personal Exemption and Additional Elderly Exemption s. 71.05 (23) 187,000,000
Credits

Itemized Deductions Credit s. 71.07 (5) 316,000,000
School Property Tax Credit s. 71.07 (9) 387,000,000
Working Families Credit s. 71.07 (5m) 189,000
Married Couple Credit s. 71.07 (6) 264,000,000
Armed Forces Member Credit s. 71.07 (6m) 1,340,000
Manufacturing Sales Tax Credit s. 71.07 (3s) 184,000
Development Zone Credits s. 71.07 (2dm) and (2dx) 3,218,000
Technology Zone Credit s. 71.07(39) 886,000
Dairy and Livestock Farm Investment Credit s. 71.07(3n) 6,350,000
Angel Investment Credit s. 71.07(5d) 3,620,000
Early Stage Seed Investment Credit s. 71.07(5b) 1,830,000
Veterans' and Surviving Spouses' Property Tax Credit s. 71.07(6e) 9,250,000
Historic Preservation Credits s. 71.07 (9m) and (9r) 1,580,000
Earned Income Credit s.71.07 (9¢) 128,000,000
Homestead Credit ss. 71.07 (4), 71.51 to 71.55 128,000,000
Income Tax Paid to Other States/Income Tax Reciprocity ss. 71.07 (7), 71.10 (7), (7e) 257,000,000
Claim of Right Credit s. 71.07 (1) 232,000
Farmland Tax Relief Credit s. 71.07 (3m) 13,900,000
Farmland Preservation Credit ss. 71.07 (3), 71.57 to 71.61 14,200,000
Dairy Manufacturing Facility Investment Credits s. 71.07(3p) 508,000
Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan Credit s. 71.07(59) Minimal
Film Production Company Investment Credit s. 71.07(5h) Minimal
Manufacturing Investment Credit s. 71.07(3t) 393,000
Ethanol and Biodiesel Fuel Pump Credit s. 71.07(5j) 23,000
Economic Development Credit s. 71.07(2dy) 37,000
Internet Equipment Credit s. 71.07(5e) Minimal
Meat Processing Facility Investment Credit s. 71.07(3r) 30,000
Film Production Services Credit s. 71.07(5f) 286,000

* These are references to sections of the 2007 Wisconsin Statutes, except “IRC” indicates a reference to a section of the federal

Internal Revenue Code authorizing the exemption device.
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EXCLUSIONS FROM FEDERAL GROSS INCOME

An exclusion is a type of income that is not included in federal gross income by provisions of the Internal
Revenue Code or under the U.S. Constitution, or in Wisconsin income by provisions of the Wisconsin statutes.
Excluded income does not have to be reported on the income tax return.

Gain from Sale or Exchange of Residence (Home)

A taxpayer may exclude from income up to $250,000 ($500,000 for married couples filing jointly) of capital gain
realized on the sale or exchange of a residence. The taxpayer generally must have owned and occupied the
home as a principal residence for at least two of the five years prior to the sale. An individual not meeting the
ownership or residence requirements is allowed a pro rata amount of the exclusion if the sale or exchange is
due to a change in employment, health, or other unforeseen circumstances. The exclusion is allowed on only
one sale every two years, and it is not permitted on properties in which depreciation is allowed for rental or
business use.

Social Security Benefits

Old-age and survivors' insurance benefit payments, state old-age assistance payments, and Medicare benefits
are generally excluded from the gross income of the person receiving such benefits. Federal law subjects up to
50% of benefits to tax when income exceeds a base amount and up to 85% of benefits when income exceeds
an adjusted base amount. In this determination, income equals modified adjusted gross income plus one-half of
social security.

The base amounts for determining tax on up to 50% of benefits are $25,000 for single persons, including
married persons filing separately who lived apart from their spouses for the full tax year; $32,000 for married
couples filing a joint return; and $0 for married persons filing separately who lived with their spouses for at least
part of the year. The adjusted base amounts for taxing up to 85% of benefits are $34,000 for single persons,
$44,000 for married couples, and $0 for married persons filing separately and living with their spouses for at
least part of the year.

Wisconsin does not tax any social security benefits. Table 3 provides separate fiscal estimates of the state
revenue loss resulting from the federal exclusion and the loss resulting from the additional state subtraction from
FAGI.

Railroad Retirement Annuities and Pensions

Annuities or pensions paid under the 1935 and 1937 Railroad Retirement Acts are generally excluded from
gross income. Up to 50% of Tier 1 retirement benefits are taxable for federal tax purposes, but the Railroad
Retirement Acts specifically prohibit state taxation of retirement benefits, so Tier 1 benefits are completely
excluded from gross income for state purposes.

Public Assistance

Assistance provided under the Wisconsin Works program, Medicaid, general relief, and other public assistance
to individuals and families is excluded from the gross income of the recipients.

Sickness and Injury Benefits
Compensation for sickness or personal injury excluded from gross income includes the following:

Amounts received under the worker's compensation and social security acts,

Damages received as a result of a court suit or other legal settlement in a personal injury case,

Proceeds received from an accident, health or medical insurance policy paid for by the taxpayer,

A pension, annuity or similar allowance for sickness or injury sustained while active in the armed forces, the
Coast and Geodetic Survey, the Public Health Service or the Foreign Service, and disability income
received by an employee of the United States for injuries incurred in a terrorist attack during the
performance of duties outside the U. S.

o Employer contributions to an accident or health plan designed to benefit the employee, and

e Sick pay or employer-financed disability benefits, other than reimbursement for medical expenses deducted
in the same year or a prior year, which is regarded as taxable income.
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Distributions from Retirement Plans for Premiums for Health and Long-term Care Insurance

Pension distributions from government retirement plans to retired public safety officers used to pay health
insurance are excluded from income up to a maximum of $3,000 annually.

Group Term Life Insurance Purchased for Employees

The cost of group term life insurance provided to an individual under a policy carried by an employer is generally
considered taxable income. However, the cost incurred in purchasing the first $50,000 worth of coverage is
excluded from the gross income of employees.

Death Benefits

Amounts paid under a life insurance contract are excluded whether these sums are paid at one point or over
time.

Meals and Lodging to Employees

Employees may exclude from gross income the value of any meals or lodging provided to them for the
convenience of the employer. Meals must be furnished on the employer's business premises and lodging must
have been accepted by an employee as a condition of employment.

Scholarships and Fellowships

Scholarships and fellowships are excluded from gross income when received by a degree candidate at an
educational institution and when used to pay tuition and course-related fees or to purchase books, equipment,
and supplies. Amounts used for room and board, however, must be included in income. Scholarships and
fellowships do not qualify for the exclusion if they are made either to compensate the recipient for services
provided, or to allow the recipient to pursue studies or research that primarily benefit the person or institution
paying the scholarship and fellowship.

Awards and Prizes

Awards or prizes received in recognition of religious, charitable, scientific, educational, literary or civic
achievement may be excluded from gross income if the amount received is transferred to a government agency
or a charitable organization. Further, the exclusion applies only if the recipient was selected without any action
on his or her part to enter the competition for the award and only if the recipient is not required to render any
substantial future services as a condition of receiving the award.

Employee awards for length of service or achievement are generally excludable from gross income to the extent
of the deduction claimed by the employer. Deductions of such awards are limited.

Rental Value of Parsonages

The allowance paid to a minister for the purpose of renting a home, or the rental value of the home furnished as
part of compensation, is excluded from gross income. In both cases, the associated utility expenses are
considered part of the allowance and, as such, excluded from gross income.

Reduced Armed Forces Retirement Pay

The amount deducted from retirement or retainer pay of members or former members of the United States
Armed Forces under the Retired Serviceman's Family Protection Plan is excluded from gross income. The
reduction in retirement pay is made by contract between the member of the service and the Armed Forces for
the purchase of an annuity. This reduction is between 12.5% and 50% of retirement pay, but in no case less
than $25. If the person should die before the amount of the contract is paid, the survivor receiving the annuity
may exclude from gross income any reductions in annuity payments used to conclude the contract.
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Combat Pay and Other Armed Forces Exclusions

The monthly compensation of members of the United States Armed Forces is excluded from gross income if the
taxpayer served in a combat zone. The exclusion for commissioned officers is limited to the maximum amount
that enlisted personnel may exclude. Currently designated combat zones and hazardous duty areas include:

e Afghanistan, along with Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Jordan;

o the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia/Montenegro), Albania, the Adriatic Sea, and the lonian Sea
north of the 39th parallel;

e Bosnia, Herzegovina, Croatia, and Macedonia;

e the Persian Gulf, the Red Sea, the Gulf of Oman, the part of the Arabian Sea that is north of 10 degrees
north latitude and west of 68 degrees east longitude, the Gulf of Aden, and the total land areas of Iraq,
Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates;

e The Philippines (only troops with orders referencing Operation Enduring Freedom);

e Yemen, Djibouti, and Somalia.

Exclusions applicable to miscellaneous Armed Forces income are:

e All payments of benefits under any law administered by the Veterans' Administration (38 U. S. Code 3101);

e A pension of $100 per month for all persons over the age 65 who are on the Army, Navy, Air Force, or
Coast Guard Medal of Honor roll (38 U. S. Code 562);

e Benefits under World War Adjusted Compensation Act;

e Benefits under World War Veteran's Act;

e Leave compensation payment under Armed Forces Leave Act;

e G.l. Bill educational benefits;

¢ In-kind benefits provided to armed forces personnel;

Life Insurance Dividends

Dividends on matured insurance policies may be excluded from gross income for income tax purposes.
Cancellation of Business Property Indebtedness

A taxpayer need not recognize income when a debt of the taxpayer is fully or partially canceled if the individual
incurred the debt in connection with property used in a trade or business. The taxpayer must agree to reduce
the basis (cost) of the property if an economic benefit was realized as a result of the discharge of a debt for the
purpose of determining future depreciation and capital gains or losses.

Income Realized from Debt Cancellation Through Bankruptcy

When a debt is forgiven in connection with a bankruptcy proceeding, the income realized is not subject to tax
unless the principal purpose of the bankruptcy plan is the evasion of income taxes.

Interest on Certain State and Local Bonds

In general, interest on obligations of state and local governments is subject to the Wisconsin income tax, even
though such income may be exempt from federal taxation. However, interest on the following bonds is exempt:

e bonds issued by city housing authorities, city redevelopment authorities, local exposition districts and local
cultural arts districts;
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e bonds issued by the Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority (WHEDA) before
January 29, 1987 (except business development, economic development, and housing revenue bonds);

e  Wisconsin professional baseball park and football stadium district bonds;

e Wisconsin Housing Finance Authority (WHFA) bonds (that is, bonds issued before 1983, when WHFA
became known as WHEDA);

e bonds issued by the Government of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands or for bonds issued after
October 16, 2004, the Government of American Samoa; and

e Wisconsin higher education bonds.

e Wisconsin Aerospace Authority bonds.

e Certain bonds issued on or after October 27, 2007, by the Wisconsin Health and Education Facilities
Authority.

e Southeastern Regional Transit Authority bonds.

Gifts and Inheritances

The value of property received by gift, inheritance, or bequest is excluded from gross income. This exclusion
does not apply to the income from property received by gift or bequest nor to a gift or bequest consisting of
income from property rather than the property itself.

No records are available on the total value of property transferred by gift or inheritance, so a comprehensive
estimate of the revenue loss has not been calculated. Historically, Wisconsin's estate tax has been tied to a
provision in the federal estate tax that allows a credit for state death taxes. By setting the Wisconsin estate tax
equal to the state death tax credit, Wisconsin was able to collect the state estate tax and taxpayers were able to
offset that amount from their federal estate tax liability. Federal law changes eliminated the state death tax
credit for deaths occurring between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2010. The federal law change sunsets
on December 31, 2010, so, barring any new federal law changes the state death tax credit will be reinstated at
the time.

No Wisconsin estate tax currently exists for property transferred at death, for deaths occurring after December
31, 2007 and before January 1, 2011. Beginning on January 1, 2011, if the federal state death tax credit is
reinstated the Wisconsin estate tax will be reinstated as well. Historically, only about 2% of all estates have
been subject to this tax; however, they account for a substantially larger share of the total value of property
transferred at death, since they are the very largest estates. The estate tax is, in a sense, a substitute for
income tax due if inheritances were included as income for the beneficiaries of these largest estates.

Appreciation of Property Held at the Time of Death

Appreciation (gain) from property held at the time of death is not subject to tax for either the deceased or his or
her heirs. The basis of inherited property generally is its fair market value at the time of the decedent's death,
rather than its cost when the decedent acquired it. As a result, the appreciation of the property while it was held
by the decedent — the difference in fair market value at the time of death and the decedent’s cost of purchasing
the property — is not taxed.

With the repeal of the federal estate tax in 2010, this exclusion will be eliminated in that year. The basis of the
property for the heir will be the decedent’s basis of the property, so the appreciation of the property while it was
owned by the decedent will be taxable income for the heir when he or she sells the property. Under current
federal law, the repeal of the federal estate tax and the change in basis rules for property transferred at death
are scheduled to sunset at the end of 2010—the estate tax and the current basis rules will be reinstated, barring
further changes in federal law.

The estimate of the revenue loss from this exclusion reflects the effect of Wisconsin's 30% exclusion for long-
term capital gains.

Employer Contributions to Pension Plans and Net Pension Fund Earnings

Amounts contributed to qualified pension, profit-sharing, stock bonus, bond purchase, and annuity plans by an
employer on behalf of his or her employees are generally not treated as income taxable to the employees at the
time the contributions are made. Further, employers may generally deduct these contributions from gross
income, and the earnings that accrue on the contributions are excluded from the employee's income, so long as
the assets are retained within a qualified plan.

Tax is imposed when distributions are made from the plan to employees in the form of pensions and annuities.
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At that time the taxable portion of the plan benefits must be included in the gross income of the recipient. The
portion of the benefits representing the employee's contribution to the plan is not taxable upon distribution if the
employee's contributions were already included in income and subject to tax at the time the contributions were
made.

Taxing employer contributions and earnings on pension plan assets at the time of withdrawal, rather than at the
time of contribution, results in a revenue loss if the plan beneficiary pays tax at a lower rate when retired than
when working.

Employer Reimbursement of Employee's Educational Expenses
Up to $5,250 of non-job related employer-provided educational assistance may be excluded from gross income.
Employer-Provided Child Care

The value of child or dependent care services provided by an employer under a nondiscriminatory plan is
excluded from gross income to the extent that the amount excluded does not exceed $5,000 ($2,500 for married
separate filers). Further, the value of services excluded may not exceed the earned income of the employee or
the earned income of an employee's lower-earning spouse.

Employer-Provided Adoption Assistance

Up to $12,150 per child in adoption assistance provided by an employer is excluded from gross income in tax
year 2009. The $12,150 exclusion is allowed for special needs adoption even if that amount exceeds actual
expenses incurred. The exclusion is phased out for persons with modified adjusted gross income between
$182,180 and $222,180. The amount excludable and the phase out ranges are indexed for inflation.

Transportation and Other Fringe Benefits

Employer-provided transportation in a commuter vehicle, transit passes, and parking are excluded from income
of the employee receiving these benefits. In 2009, the exclusion for commuter transportation or transit passes is
limited to $230 per month and the exclusion for parking is limited to $230 per month. These amounts are
indexed for inflation. Wisconsin limits this exclusion to $120 per month.

Other fringe benefits excluded from income include services provided by employers to employees at no
additional cost to the employer, employee discounts, property or services for which an employee would be
allowed a deduction if the employee provided that property or service, property or service of minimal value,
reimbursement of moving expenses, and retirement planning services. Only the transportation benefits have a
measurable fiscal effect.

Foster Care Payments

Foster care payments to care providers by a state or local government or a foster care placement agency are
excluded from income.

Cancellation of Student Loans

The amount of a student loan funded by federal, state or local government programs that has been forgiven is
not included in taxable income when the cancellation is contingent upon the beneficiary working for a specified
period of time in a certain area or for a particular type of employer.

Recovery of Tax Benefit Items

Income from the recovery of an amount for which a tax deduction or other benefit was claimed during the
previous year is not included in income if the deduction did not reduce income tax liability in that previous year.
However, if the deduction led to reduced tax liability in a prior year, then the recovery is taxable. An example of
a recovered tax benefit item is a debt that is written off in one year but received in a later year.
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Foreign Earned Income

Qualified individuals who work abroad and receive earned income from foreign sources may elect to exclude up
to $91,400 of such income in 2009. The exclusion amount is adjusted to take into account employer-provided
housing allowances, or housing expenses where allowances are not provided, and the maximum exclusion is
reduced for taxpayers who work abroad for only part of a year.

Natural Resource-Related Cost-Sharing Payments

Payments received by individuals primarily for the purpose of conserving soil and water resources, protecting or
restoring the environment, improving forests, or providing a habitat for wildlife may be excluded from gross
income.

Passive Activity Losses

In general, when the deductions exceed the income from a business activity, the resulting loss can be offset
against other types of income. However, passive activity losses — those from business activities in whose
management or operation taxpayers do not actively or materially participate — are subject to passive loss
restrictions. Under the restrictions, passive losses can only be offset against other passive income. Passive
losses subject to the restrictions can be carried forward indefinitely until used against other passive income or
until the taxpayer disposes of the ownership interest in the passive business activity in a fully taxable
transaction.

Certain activities are explicitly treated by the tax code as either passive or active. For example, interest,
dividends, annuities, royalties and other portfolio income are not treated as income from a passive activity, so
net losses generated from passive activities cannot be used to offset portfolio income.

A rental activity generally is treated as a passive activity, though a limited exception exists for rental activity
losses incurred by a taxpayer who actively participates in the rental real estate venture and owns at least a 10%
interest in the rental property. Under the exception, up to $25,000 of losses from rental real estate may be used
to offset income from non-passive sources. The $25,000 maximum is reduced (but not below zero) when the
taxpayer's adjusted gross income exceeds $100,000 and is completely phased out when AGI exceeds
$150,000. Special rules apply for married taxpayers who file separate returns and live apart. A taxpayer with a
working interest in oil and gas activities is also exempt from the passive loss rules.

Viatical Settlement Contracts

A viatical settlement is a payment to the holder of a life insurance policy, or to the certificate holder of a group
life insurance certificate, which insures the life of a person who has a catastrophic or life-threatening illness or
condition. The payment is less than the expected death benefit of the policy or certificate to the person making
the payment. Income received under such a viatical settlement contract is exempt from the income tax.

Payments to Victims of Nazi Persecution

Restitution payments received by persons persecuted by Nazi Germany, or countries allied to it, or received by
their heirs or estates are excluded from gross income. In addition, settlements or other payments of claims for
assets stolen, hidden or lost by a person due to persecution by Nazi Germany or any Axis regime from 1933 to
1945 are not included in federal gross income.

ADJUSTMENTS TO FEDERAL GROSS INCOME

An adjustment is an amount subtracted from gross income to arrive at adjusted gross income.

Capital Losses

Losses from the sale or exchange of capital assets may be used to offset gains from capital assets. |If the
amount of capital losses exceeds the amount of capital gains in the current year, the net capital loss may be
used to offset up to $500 of ordinary income for Wisconsin tax purposes (under federal law, the offset is limited

to $3,000). The amount of net capital loss not allowed as a deduction in the current year may be carried forward
to future years to offset capital gains or ordinary income up to the $500 limit, up to 15 years.
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Wisconsin treatment of long-term losses incurred prior to tax year 1982 also differs from the federal treatment.
The Wisconsin modification for these pre-1982 long-term losses is described in the section on "Modifications to
Federal Adjusted Gross Income."

Losses from the Sale or Exchange of Business Property
Losses from the sale or exchange of property used in a business are deductible.
Pension, Profit-Sharing, Annuity, and Bond Purchase Plans of Self-Employed Individuals

A self-employed taxpayer may deduct from gross income contributions made on the taxpayer's behalf to a
pension, profit-sharing, annuity or bond purchase plan. Contributions must be made from earned income.

Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAS)

Taxpayers may receive tax benefits from three different types of individual retirement accounts under federal
law: the traditional IRA, the Roth IRA, and the education IRA.

1. Traditional IRA

Persons contributing to a traditional IRA may claim a deduction for the amount contributed and are not
taxed on the earnings that remain in a traditional IRA. IRA contributions and earnings on them are taxable
when withdrawals are made from the account.

The full deduction for contributions is limited to persons who are not covered by an employer-provided
retirement plan or who are covered by such plans but have adjusted gross income, for tax year 2009, less
than $55,000 for single persons, $89,000 for married persons filing jointly or $0 for married persons filing
separately. The deduction is phased out over the next $10,000 of income ($20,000 for married persons
filing jointly).

For tax year 2009, the deduction is generally limited to $5,000 for each tax filer and spouse, but not more
than the person’s earnings. For married couples, the combined IRA deduction may not exceed combined
earnings; in other words, a spouse with little or no earnings may still claim an IRA deduction if the other
spouse has earnings in excess of his or her own IRA deduction. These maximum contributions are
coordinated among the three types of IRAs; the combined contribution to all IRAs for any one person
cannot exceed $5,000 or the person’s earnings. Further, taxpayers age 50 and older are allowed additional
“catch-up” contributions of $1,000 in 2009.

With limited exceptions, amounts in a traditional IRA cannot be withdrawn without penalty prior to age 59%.
Early withdrawals must be included in gross income and are also subject to an additional 10% federal
penalty tax. The 10% early withdrawal penalty does not apply in cases of death and disability or when the
withdrawals are used for qualified higher education expenses or first-time homeowner expenses (up to
$10,000). Wisconsin imposes a state penalty equal to 33% of the federal penalty. Amounts withdrawn from
an IRA after age 59% must be included in gross income in the year of the withdrawal. Withdrawals
generally must begin after the individual reaches the age of 70%. Insufficient withdrawals after age 70%2 are
subject to a penalty tax; however, the required minimum distributions were waived for tax year 2009.

Persons can make nondeductible contributions to their retirement accounts and the earnings on those
nondeductible contributions can be excluded from income, as long as the assets are retained within the
retirement account.

2. Roth IRA

A Roth IRA is an account for which the contributions are not deductible when made, but qualified
distributions, including earnings on contributions, are not taxable. In tax year 2009, persons whose adjusted
gross income does not exceed $105,000 if single, $166,000 if married filing jointly or $0 if married filing
separately may contribute up to $4,000 per person per year to a Roth IRA. The amount of contribution
permitted is phased out as income rises to $120,000 for single filers, $176,000 for married joint filers, and
$10,000 for married separate filers. Individuals who are married filing separately and did not live with their
spouses at any time during the year are treated as single for the purpose of contribution limits.

The increases in contribution limits and the catch-up contributions for taxpayers age 50 and older that apply
to traditional IRAs also apply to Roth IRAs.
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Distributions from a Roth IRA are not subject to tax if they are made no earlier than five years after the
account is established and if the taxpayer has reached age 59%. Earlier distributions are not subject to tax
if they are made because of the death or disability of the taxpayer or for first-time homebuyer expenses (up
to $10,000). Nonqualified distributions must be included in gross income and are subject to a 10% federal
penalty tax and a state penalty equal to 33% of the federal penalty. Unlike a traditional IRA, distributions
from a Roth IRA are not required upon reaching the age of 70%.

3. Education IRA

An education IRA (also known as a Coverdell Education Savings Account) is similar to a Roth IRA:
contributions are not deductible, but qualified distributions are not subject to tax if they are used to pay the
post-secondary expenditures of the beneficiary.

For tax year 2009, contributions of up to $2,000 per child may be made to an education IRA when income is
less than $95,000 for single persons and $190,000 for married couples filing jointly. The amount that may
be deducted is phased out as income rises to $110,000 for single filers and $220,000 for married joint filers.

Student Loan Interest

Persons who have taken out loans on behalf of themselves, their spouse or their dependents to pay for the cost
of attending an eligible educational institution may deduct the interest they pay on these loans. The maximum
deduction allowed is $2,500. For 2009, the maximum deduction amount is reduced for single and head of
household filers when modified FAGI is more than $60,000 and is eliminated when modified FAGI exceeds
$75,000; for married joint filers the deduction is phased out between $120,000 and $150,000 of modified FAGI.
Married separate filers and those filers claimed as dependents on another's return may not claim the deduction.

Self-Employment Tax

Self-employed persons are allowed to deduct one-half of their self-employment taxes, which are paid for social
security and Medicare coverage. This deduction equalizes treatment between self-employed and employed
persons. For the employed, the social security tax is shared equally by the employer and the employee; the
amount paid by the employer is not considered income to the employee and is deductible for the employer.

Health Insurance of Self-Employed Persons

Under federal law, self-employed persons can deduct up to 100% of premiums paid for health insurance. The
deduction may not exceed the earned income from the trade or business for which the insurance plan was
established. Wisconsin has its own deduction for up to 100% of the premiums paid for health insurance by self-
employed persons, which was put in place when only a partial deduction was allowed under federal law.

Medical Savings Accounts

Through 2004, a federal deduction was allowed for contributions to an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA)
by participants in the MSA program; this was also allowed for Wisconsin tax filers. Participation in the MSA
program was limited to the self-employed or to persons employed by firms with 50 or fewer employees.
Participation also required concurrent enroliment in a high deductible health plan, defined as a health plan with a
higher annual deductible than typical health plans and with a maximum limit on the annual amount of out-of-
pocket medical expenses that the participant must pay for covered expenses.

Under the MSA program, employer's contributions are excluded from gross income and contributions by
individuals are deductible from income. Contributions are limited to 65% of the health insurance deductible for
individual plans and 75% of the deductible for family coverage. Distributions from an MSA are excluded from
income if used to pay qualified medical expenses, including un-reimbursed medical costs of an eligible MSA
participant, and his or her spouse or dependents. MSA distributions may not be used to purchase insurance,
except for COBRA-type continuation coverage or long-term health insurance. Distributions used for
nonqualified expenses are subject to a 15% federal penalty, unless the participant is disabled or is age 65 or
older.

Beginning in 2004, no new MSAs may be established under federal law, although contributions to existing MSAs
are still allowed. Also beginning in 2004, a federal deduction is allowed for Health Savings Accounts (HSA),
although Wisconsin has not adopted the federal HSA provisions.
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Moving Expenses

A deduction from gross income is allowed for moving expenses when the move is related to starting work in a
new location. Deductible moving expenses include the cost of transporting household goods and personal
effects, and the cost of travel to the new residence, including lodging, but not meals.

Alimony

Alimony, separate maintenance or similar periodic payments may be deducted from the gross income of the
spouse or former spouse making the payments; however, they are deductible only to the extent that the
payments are includible in the gross income of the recipient. Such payments must be made pursuant to a
decree of divorce or separation. Child support and property settlements are not considered alimony.

Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings

Penalties paid because of premature withdrawal of funds from time savings accounts or deposits may be
deducted from gross income. The adjustment is allowed for amounts forfeited to a bank, mutual savings bank,
savings and loan association, cooperative bank or homestead association as a penalty for premature withdrawal
of funds from a time savings account, certificate of deposit or similar class of deposit. The deduction is not
allowed when the loss is incurred in a transaction connected with a trade or business.

MODIFICATIONS TO FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME

A modification is an addition to or subtraction from federal adjusted gross income authorized by the Wisconsin
Statutes to compute Wisconsin adjusted gross income (also referred to as Wisconsin total income). In this
report, with the exception of the capital gains add modification discussed in the previous section on
"Adjustments to Gross Income,” only subtraction modifications are described because only they constitute tax
exemption devices.

Social Security Benefits: Difference in State and Federal Treatment

Beginning in tax year 2008, Wisconsin no longer taxes social security benefits, while up to 85% of those benefits
are subject to federal tax. A subtract modification allows taxpayers with federally taxable social security to
exclude those amounts from Wisconsin income. The $235 million revenue loss for FY10 for this modification is
in addition to the $238 million revenue loss from the exclusion discussed in the "Exclusions from Gross Income”
section; the total fiscal effect of the state's tax treatment of social security is $473 million.

Interest on U.S. Obligations

All interest and dividend income, less related expenses, received on obligations of the United States, its
territories and the District of Columbia may be subtracted from federal adjusted gross income in determining
Wisconsin adjusted gross income. The subtraction applies to interest on obligations issued directly by the
federal government and obligations issued by independent agencies, which federal law prohibits states from
taxing. The fiscal effect of this exemption is difficult to estimate because a significant portion of these bonds are
held indirectly by individuals through mutual funds, partnerships, and other investment vehicles. The fiscal year
2010 estimate reflects only U.S. government interest explicitly deducted from Wisconsin income tax returns and
does not reflect any amounts deducted as part of the distributive share of those investment vehicles.

Capital Gains Deduction

Wisconsin allows taxpayers to exclude from income 30% of the capital gains on assets held more than one
year.

Capital Gains from Qualified Small Business Stock

The state excludes from income 100% of the amount of net capital gains from qualified business stock issued
on or after January 1, 1986. To qualify for the exclusion, taxpayers must be issued a certification notice by the
business, have not acquired the stock as a gift, and hold the stock for a period of at least five years. The criteria
for qualified small businesses are listed under Wisconsin Statutes, sec. 71.01 (10). In general, only initial public
offerings of small Wisconsin businesses qualify for the exclusion.
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Gains on Sales of Business Assets to Related Persons

Gains on sales of business assets, including assets used in farming, to persons related to the seller within the
third degree of kinship are not subject to tax. These related persons include parents, children, grandparents,
grandchildren, brothers and sisters, uncles and aunts, nephews and nieces, and great grandchildren.

Net Long-Term Capital Losses (Pre-1982)

Net long-term capital losses from years prior to 1982 that were not allowed as an adjustment to federal gross
income in the year a federal net capital loss deduction was taken may be subtracted from federal adjusted gross
income. The subtraction is limited to $3,000 ($1,500 for married persons filing separately). The unused portion
of pre-1982 net long-term capital losses may be carried forward to future years.

Taxpayers deducting pre-1982 net long-term capital losses are not subject to the $500 state limit on the net
capital loss deduction described in the earlier section on "Adjustments to Gross Income”.

Certain Government Employee Pensions

Payments received from the selected retirement systems by persons who were members of or retired from
these systems prior to 1964 are excluded from Wisconsin income, to the extent the payments were included in
federal income. The Milwaukee Public School Teachers, Milwaukee City Employees, Milwaukee County
Employees, Milwaukee County Sheriff, Milwaukee City Police, Milwaukee Fire Fighters, and Wisconsin Public
School Teachers retirement systems, and the U.S. Civil Service and Military Employee retirement system are
covered by this exemption.

All payments from the U.S. military retirement system and all U.S. government pension payments received by
retirees of the U.S. Coast Guard, the commissioned corps of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration, and the commissioned corps of the public health service are exempt.

Retirement Income

Up to $5,000 in qualified pension and IRA income can be excluded from gross income for taxpayers who are 65
or older and have federal adjusted gross income less than $15,000 for single filers or $30,000 for married joint
filers.

State Legislators' Per Diem Expenses

Amounts received by state legislators as an allowance for expenses incurred while in Madison on legislative
business are excluded from Wisconsin adjusted gross income, provided a deduction for travel expenses is not
claimed.

Health Insurance Premiums of the Self-Employed and Certain Employees: Difference in State and
Federal Treatment

Wisconsin allows the self-employed to deduct health insurance premiums for themselves, their spouses and
dependents. Additionally, employees whose employer does not contribute towards the cost of their health
insurance premiums may deduct the full amount of their premiums for health insurance. A deduction is also
being phased-in for individuals who are not self-employed and have no employer. For tax years 2008 through
2010 individuals can deduct 66.7% of health insurance premiums and in tax year 2011 and thereafter the
deduction increases to 100%. Beginning after December 31, 2007, for individuals whose employer pays a
portion of health insurance premiums, a deduction will be allowed for 10% of the employee share of premiums.
This amount increases to 25% for 2011, 45% for 2012, and 100% for 2013 and thereafter.

The $34.1 million revenue loss is the amount of loss that occurs because the Wisconsin health insurance
premium deductions not limited to self employed individuals and are more generous for self employed
individuals than the federal deduction for the self-employed premiums. The revenue loss to the state from the
federal deduction for the self-employed is $22.6 million, so the total fiscal effect of state health insurance
deductions is $56.7 million.

Long-Term Care Insurance Expenses
A deduction is allowed for premiums paid for long-term care insurance. This insurance provides coverage for

convalescent or custodial care, or care for a chronic condition or terminal iliness that is provided in a person’s
home, an institution or a community-based setting. Qualified expenses include expenses for policies that cover
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a taxpayer and his or her spouse. Qualified expenses subtracted from gross income in the calculation of federal
adjusted gross income cannot be claimed for this deduction. Also, qualified expenses claimed for this deduction
cannot be used to calculate the Wisconsin itemized deduction credit.

Unemployment Compensation

Wisconsin excludes from income a portion of unemployment compensation when income falls below certain
amounts. Taxable unemployment compensation equals the lesser of total unemployment compensation or 50%
of the amount, if any, by which unemployment benefits plus the recipient's adjusted gross income (excluding
unemployment compensation and certain disability benefits) exceed specified base amounts. The base
amounts are: $12,000 for single persons and married persons who file separately and lived apart from their
spouses for the full tax year; $18,000 for married persons filing a joint return; and $0 for married persons who
file separately but lived with their spouses for at least part of the tax year.

Disability Income

A subtraction is allowed for payments to disabled persons that are included in federal income but were excluded
under sec. 105 (d) of the Internal Revenue Code prior to its repeal in 1983. This exclusion is limited to
individuals who are retired on permanent and total disability, are less than 65 years old, and have FAGI of less
than $20,200 ($25,400 if married and both spouses are eligible).

Adoption Expenses

Adoptive parents may deduct adoption fees, court costs or legal fees relating to the legal adoption of a child.
This subtraction from federal adjusted gross income is limited to $5,000 of adoption expenses that occur during
the tax year in which the adoption is finalized and the two prior tax years. Employer-paid adoption expenses
that under federal law are excluded from gross income may not be used for the deduction.

Higher Education Tuition Expenses

The federal tax deduction for qualified tuition and fees does not apply in Wisconsin; however, state law does
allow a tuition deduction. For tax year 2009 a deduction of up to $6,000 per student per year is allowed for
tuition that is paid to any university, college, technical college or a school approved by the Educational Approval
Board that is located in Wisconsin. Tuition paid to a public vocational school or public institution of higher
education in Minnesota under the Minnesota-Wisconsin reciprocity agreement also qualifies for the deduction.
Eligible expenses include tuition for the education of the claimant, the claimant’'s spouse, and his or her
dependent. The maximum deduction amount is phased out in specified ranges of federal adjusted gross
income: between $50,000 and $60,000 for single and head of household filers, $80,000 and $100,000 for
married joint filers, and $40,000 and $50,000 for married separate filers.

Prepaid College Savings and Tuition Plans

A deduction of up to $3,000 per year per beneficiary is allowed for contributions to a college savings plan or to
an existing prepaid tuition plan operated by EdVest. To prevent double-counting of the deduction, no deduction
is allowed for any costs paid out using distributions from such a college savings or prepaid tuition plan. In
particular, taxpayers cannot claim a deduction for tuition financed by a distribution from an EdVest account
when the contribution to that account was previously deducted.

The deduction is allowed when the beneficiary is the claimant, the claimant's child and dependent, the
claimant's grandchild, great-grandchild, niece or nephew.

In addition, any interest earnings on contributions to an EdVest plan may be deducted, to the extent these
earnings are included in federal adjusted gross income and provided that the distributions from the plan are
used for qualified educational purposes. Distributions from these plans are also exempt from federal tax.

The college savings plan allows individuals to purchase tuition units that apply toward tuition or other costs at
any institution of higher education in the United States. The prepaid tuition program is limited to University of
Wisconsin System schools and Minnesota schools included under the Minnesota-Wisconsin tuition reciprocity
agreement.
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Human Organ Donation Expenses

An individual who, while living, donates one or more of his or her human organs to another human being for
human organ transplantation may subtract $10,000 from federal adjusted gross income in the year in which the
transplant occurs. The subtract modification may only be claimed for travel expenses, lodging expenses, and
lost wages that are incurred by the claimant and related to his or her organ donation.

Active Duty Military Income

Members of the reserves or National Guard components of the U.S. armed forces who are called to federal
active duty, may deduct from FAGI the amount of military pay received that relates to the period of time during
which they are on active duty. Military income received while on active duty and serving in a combat zone is
already excluded from federal income and therefore may not be deducted from FAGI. Military pay deducted
from income may not be used in claiming the armed forces member tax credit.

DEDUCTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS FROM ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME

A deduction is an amount subtracted from Wisconsin adjusted gross income (or total income) to yield Wisconsin
taxable income — the amount to which the tax rates are applied. Federal taxpayers may claim either a standard
deduction or an itemized deduction. Wisconsin taxpayers are allowed a standard deduction only, though
taxpayers may be eligible for an itemized deductions credit, explained in the next section. Wisconsin also
provides a personal exemption that is subtracted from Wisconsin adjusted gross income.

Standard Deduction

Wisconsin provides a sliding scale standard deduction that decreases as income increases. For tax year 2009,
the standard deduction for single persons was $9,440 when Wisconsin adjusted gross income (WAGI) was less
than $13,610, and it was phased out as WAGI rose from $13,610 to $92,277. For heads of households, mostly
single parents, the deduction was $12,190 when WAGI was less than $13,610, and it was phased down to the
level of the standard deduction of single filers as WAGI rose from $13,610 to $39,763. When WAGI exceeded
$39,763, heads of households received the same deduction as single filers. For joint filers, the standard
deduction was $17,010 when WAGI was less than $19,100 and was phased out when WAGI was between
$19,100 and $105,105. For married persons filing separately, the standard deduction was $8,080 when WAGI
was less than $9,070 and was phased-out when WAGI was between $9,070 and $49,923. These amounts are
indexed for inflation.

The estimate of revenue loss for the standard deduction does not reflect the amount of the itemized deductions
credit that would be claimed by persons not currently claiming it if the standard deduction was eliminated; the
credit cannot be calculated because the amount of their itemized deductions are not known for all taxpayers.

Personal Exemption and Additional Elderly Exemption

Wisconsin provides an exemption equal to $700 for each tax filer, spouse and dependent, plus an additional
exemption of $250 for each taxpayer and spouse age 65 and older.

CREDITS

A credit is an amount that is subtracted directly from the taxpayer's Wisconsin gross tax liability (i.e., the amount
determined by applying the Wisconsin tax rates to Wisconsin taxable income) to determine the Wisconsin net
tax liability. A credit can be nonrefundable or refundable. A nonrefundable credit is limited to the amount of
income tax otherwise due; it cannot be used to reduce taxes to less than $0. A refundable credit is paid to
claimants in the form of a refund check when the amount of the credit exceeds the tax otherwise due.

Iltemized Deductions Credit

Federal law allows itemized deductions to be subtracted from federal adjusted gross income when these
deductions exceed the federal standard deduction. Wisconsin does not allow itemized deductions, but instead
has a nonrefundable credit for some of the expenses for which federal itemized deductions may be claimed.
This credit is equal to 5% of the eligible itemized deductions in excess of Wisconsin's sliding scale standard
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deduction. The eligible expenses include medical expenses, interest, charitable contributions, and certain
casualty losses related to a federally-declared disaster. No credit is allowed for the federal itemized deductions
for state and local taxes and miscellaneous expenses.

The expenses used in calculating the Wisconsin itemized deductions credit are described below, and their fiscal
effects are estimated. The sum of these estimates for each particular expense exceeds the total fiscal effect for
the itemized deductions credit because of interaction effects.

1. Medical Expenses

Health expenses can be claimed as an itemized deduction to the extent that the total amount of medical
expenses not compensated for by insurance exceeds 7.5% of the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income.
Eligible expenses include: fees for doctors, dentists, health practitioners and hospital services; amounts
spent for prescription medicine and drugs; premiums paid on medical or health insurance policies; costs of
medical equipment (e.g. motorized wheelchairs, hearing aids, dentures, eye glasses); and the cost of
transportation, meals, and lodging for needed medical care. The credit for medical expenses reduced tax
revenues by $22.5 million in FY10.

2. Interest

Mortgage interest on a primary personal residence located in Wisconsin qualifies for the state’s itemized
deductions credit. Wisconsin also allows the credit for interest paid on indebtedness related to investments
to the extent that the investment interest is offset by the taxpayer's net investment income and to the extent
that income is subject to Wisconsin tax. The revenue loss from the credit for interest expense was $225
million in FY10.

3. Charitable Contributions

Contributions to recognized charitable organizations or activities can be claimed as an itemized deduction.
In general, a recognized charity is any governmental body or any public or private corporation, trust or
foundation organized and operated principally for charitable, religious, scientific, literary or educational
purposes. Certain limitations apply on contributions of property or the taxpayer's personal services.
Additional limitations apply on the total amount of charitable contributions that can be deducted within a
single year. The revenue loss from the credit for charitable contributions was $90.1 million in FY10.

4. Casualty Losses

Only casualty losses directly related to a federally-declared disaster can be claimed for purposes of the
itemized deduction credit. The revenue loss from the credit for casualty losses was $1.3 million in FY10.

School Property Tax Credit

The school property tax credit is equal to 12% of the first $2,500 of property taxes or rent constituting property
taxes paid on a person's primary residence and contiguous land, up to a maximum credit of $300. For renters,
“rent constituting property taxes" means 25% of rent if heat is not included or 20% of rent if heat is included in
rent. No credit is allowed for property taxes or rent that is deductible as a trade or business expense. The
credit is nonrefundable.

Working Families Credit

The working families credit equals a taxpayer’s net tax liability, defined as gross tax less the itemized
deductions, school property tax, and historic rehabilitation credits, when income is less than $18,000 for married
couples filing jointly and $9,000 for other tax filers. Essentially, the credit eliminates tax liability when income is
below these ceilings. The credit is phased out over the next $1,000 of income above these ceilings. The credit
is limited to full-year residents and no credit is allowed for persons who are claimed as a dependent on another
filer's tax return. It is nonrefundable.

Married Couple Credit

Wisconsin provides a nonrefundable credit for married couples when both spouses are working to offset the
marriage tax penalty facing two-earner couples. A penalty occurs when a married couple pays more tax than
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what they would if the two spouses were taxed as two single filers. The credit equals 3% of the first $16,000 of
earnings, resulting in a maximum credit of $480.

Armed Forces Member Credit

Wisconsin allows a nonrefundable credit of up to $300 for military pay received for service while stationed
outside the United States, to the extent this pay is included in WAGI. If both spouses of a married couple filing
jointly receive pay for military service outside the country, each may claim the $300 credit. The credit is allowed
for full-year residents of Wisconsin only.

Manufacturing Sales Tax Credit

Until 2006, a nonrefundable credit could be claimed for the amount of Wisconsin sales tax paid on fuel and
electricity consumed in manufacturing tangible personal property in the state. The credit was designed to be the
equivalent of a sales tax exemption. Unused amounts of credit could be carried forward and offset against tax
liability over the next 20 years. Corporations were required to increase their net income by the amount of credit
claimed in lieu of reducing their deduction for the sales tax portion of the expense of fuel and electricity.

Beginning in 2006, fuel and electricity used in manufacturing are exempt from the sales tax and the credit for
sales tax is repealed. Manufacturers that meet certain conditions may continue to use manufacturers' sales tax
credit carried forward from prior years to offset income in the future (see the description for the Manufacturing
Investment Credit). Manufacturers with up to $25,000 of unused credit could take up to 50% in tax years 2006
and 2007. Manufacturers with more than $25,000 of unused credit were allowed to deduct from income 50% of
the amount that was added back to income when the credits were claimed in tax year 2007 and 50% in tax year
2008.

Manufacturing Investment Credit

Beginning in 2008, businesses whose unused credit for sales tax on fuel and electricity used in manufacturing
was greater than $25,000 on January 1, 2006 were able to claim a manufacturing investment credit, provided
they met certain job retention, investment or other tests. The credit is equal to the unused manufacturers' sales
tax credit, amortized over 15 years. Claimants must satisfy one of the following:

e Retention of 100% of the full-time (at least 35 hours per week) jobs employed by the company as of
December 23, 2003.

e Average annual investment since January 1, 2003, equal to 2% of total book value of the company’s
depreciable assets in Wisconsin-based plants and facilities or $5 million.

e  Other criteria specific to individual industries as determined by the Department of Commerce, in consultation
with the Department of Revenue, through administrative rule.

Development Zone Credits

Development zone credits are available to taxpayers who are certified by the Department of Commerce to
participate in the Wisconsin development zone program. Credits awarded to non-corporate entities are
generally passed through to their owners in proportion to their ownership interest in the entity, and may be
claimed on the owner’s individual income tax return. These credits are nonrefundable, so they are limited to tax
liability otherwise due, however unused amounts may be carried forward. This program and the credits are
more fully discussed in the chapter on "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes."

Angel Investment Credit and Early Stage Seed Investment Credit

The angel investment credit is available to individuals for investments in qualified new business ventures
certified by the Department of Commerce. A credit for 25% of the investment may be claimed in the taxable
year the investment was made. Beginning after December 31, 2007 and before January 1, 2011, the total
amount of the credit that may be claimed by all taxpayers is $5.5 million annually. After December 31, 2010, the
total amount of the credit that may be claimed by all taxpayers is $18 million, plus an additional $250,000 for
investments in nanotechnology businesses. The maximum amount of credit is $47.5 million for all tax years.
The maximum amount that can be invested in a single business is $2 million with the requirement that the
investment be held for a minimum of three years. The credit is nonrefundable.
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The early stage seed investment credit is available for businesses and individuals for 25% of qualified
investments. The maximum annual amount that may be claimed by all claimants is $5.5 million for calendar
years beginning before January 1, 2010, and $6.6 million for calendar year 2010. For calendar years beginning
on or after January 1, 2011, the maximum annual amount will increase to $20.0 million for all claimants, plus an
additional $250,000 per year for investments in nanotechnology businesses. A more detailed description of the
credit can be found in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter.

Both credits expire after tax year 2014.

Historic Preservation Credits

Two nonrefundable credits are provided to encourage the rehabilitation of historic buildings in Wisconsin.
1. Supplement to the Federal Historic Rehabilitation Credit

The supplement to the federal historic rehabilitation credit, equal to 5% of qualified rehabilitation
expenditures, may be claimed for projects eligible for the federal credit. Qualified rehabilitation
expenditures, defined under sec. 48 (g) of the Internal Revenue Code, are expenditures to substantially
rehabilitate certified historic buildings for use in a trade or business. The rehabilitation work must meet
historic preservation standards and the expenditures must exceed the taxpayer's adjusted basis in the
building. Unused amounts of the credit may be carried forward for up to 15 years. The credit applies only
to property located in Wisconsin. Taxpayers must reduce their Wisconsin adjusted basis in the building by
the amount of the credit claimed. The reduced basis will result in lower depreciation deductions and will
have the result that taxpayers may have an increased taxable gain from the sale or exchange of the

property.

For rehabilitation projects undertaken by a partnership, tax-option corporation or limited liability company
(LLC), the credit is passed through to the individual partners, shareholders or members in proportion to
their ownership interest in the partnership, corporation or LLC.

2. State Historic Rehabilitation Credit

The state historic rehabilitation credit is equal to 25% of qualified expenditures to substantially rehabilitate
certified historic buildings for noncommercial use. The credit applies to owner-occupied personal
residences, provided that the residence is not used in the course of a trade or business. The credit cannot
be claimed for rehabilitation of a personal residence if the person has already claimed a rehabilitation
credit for another personal residence within the preceding five years. The rehabilitation work must meet
historic preservation standards and the expenditures must exceed $10,000. The maximum credit amount
is $10,000 ($5,000 for married persons filing separately). Unused amounts of credit can be carried forward
for up to 15 years. The credit applies only to property located in Wisconsin.

Taxpayers must reduce their Wisconsin adjusted basis in the building (or entire property, if not a building)
by the amount of the credit claimed. The reduced basis will have the result that taxpayers may have an
increased taxable gain from the sale or exchange of the property.

Dairy and Livestock Farm Investment Credit

For taxable years beginning after 2005 and before 2012, a nonrefundable credit is available for 10% of certain
expenditures to modernize or expand a dairy or livestock farm. The maximum amount of the credit that can be
claimed is $50,000 prior to May 27, 2010 and $75,000 beginning afterwards. This credit is discussed in more
detail in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.

Dairy Manufacturing Facilities Investment Credit

For tax year beginning after December 31, 2006 and before January 1, 2015, a refundable credit is available
based on expenses incurred for modernization or expansion of a dairy manufacturing facility in this state. The
maximum annual amount of credit that may be allocated to all claimants is $700,000. Similarly, for tax years
beginning after December 31, 2008 and before January 1, 2017, a refundable credit is available to dairy
cooperatives based on expenses incurred for modernization or expansion of the cooperative's dairy
manufacturing facilities in this state. The maximum amount of credit that may be allocated to all cooperatives is
$600,000 in FY 2010 and $700,000 in FY 2011 through 2017. The dairy cooperative must apply to the
Department of Commerce for the credit but must pass the credit through to its members. This credit is
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discussed in more detail in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.
Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan Credit

A credit is available for insurers that pay assessments for the Health Insurance Risk Sharing Plan (HIRSP);
these credits may be passed through to individual owners by the insurer. A HIRSP offers health insurance to
Wisconsin residents who either are unable to find adequate health insurance coverage in the private market due
to their medical conditions or who have lost their employer-sponsored group health insurance. This credit is
discussed in more detail in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.

Film Production Company Investment Credit and Film Production Services Credit

Beginning in tax year 2009, two refundable credits related to expenditures for film production in this state are
available. The film production services credit is equal to 25% of the salary, wages, or labor-related contract
payments paid by the claimant in the taxable year to individuals, including actors, who were residents of this
state at the time that they were paid and who worked on an accredited production in this state, not including the
salary, wages, or contract payments paid to any individual who was paid more than $250,000. In addition, the
credit is available for 25% of the production expenditures paid in the taxable year. “Production expenditures”
mean any expenditure that are incurred in the state and directly used to produce an accredited production.

The film production company investment credit is equal to 15% of the purchase price of depreciable, tangible
personal property, if the purchase is sourced to this state. In addition, a claimant may claim 15% of the amount
expended to acquire, construct, rehabilitate, remodel, or repair real property, if the production company
exclusively produces accredited productions. Total film production services and investment credits are limited to
$500,000 in a fiscal year for all claimants. This credit is discussed in more detail in the "Corporate Income and
Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.

Ethanol and Biodiesel Fuel Pump Credit

An ethanol and biodiesel fuel pump tax credit is available for tax years beginning after December 31, 2007 and
before January 1, 2018. The credit is equal to 25% of the amount paid in a tax year to install or retrofit pumps
located in Wisconsin that dispense motor fuel consisting of at least 85% ethanol or at least 20% biodiesel fuel or
pumps that allow the end user to choose the percentage of gasoline replacement renewable fuel or diesel
replacement renewable fuel. The maximum tax credit for a tax year cannot exceed $5,000 for each service
station that claims a credit for an installed

Economic Development Credit

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2008, an economic development tax credit is available. Under the
program, a business may apply to the Department of Commerce for certification to claim tax benefits.
Commerce may certify a business that conducts or intends to conduct at least one eligible activity. The eligible
activities include:

e Creating and maintaining, for a period of time established by Commerce, full-time jobs in addition to any
existing full-time jobs.

e Making a significant investment in new equipment, machinery, real property, or depreciable personal
property.

e Making significant investments in the training or reeducation of employees for the purpose of improving the
productivity or competitiveness of the business.

e Locating or retaining a corporate headquarters in Wisconsin, or retaining employees holding full-time jobs in
Wisconsin.

This credit is discussed in more detail in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.
Internet Equipment Credit

A non-refundable credit is available to Internet service providers for the purchase of “Internet equipment used in
the broadband market”. This equipment is defined to be equipment that is capable of transmitting data packets
or Internet signals at speeds of at least 200 kilobytes per second in either direction. This credit is discussed in

more detail in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.

Meat Processing Facility Investment Credit
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A meat processing facility investment tax credit is available for tax years beginning after December 31, 2008
and before January 1, 2017. The credit is equal to 10% of the amount the claimant paid in the tax year for meat
processing modernization or expansion related to the claimant's meat processing operation. This credit is
discussed in more detail in the "Corporate Income and Franchise Taxes" chapter of this report.

Earned Income Credit

Wisconsin allows low-income workers with dependents to claim a Wisconsin earned income credit equal to a
percentage of the federal earned income tax credit, depending on family size. The credit is refundable; any
amount of the credit in excess of taxes otherwise due is rebated to the taxpayer.

The Wisconsin credit is 4% of the federal credit for persons with one child, 14% for persons with two children,
and 43% for persons with three or more children. For persons with one child, the 2009 federal credit was 34%
of the first $8,950 of earnings; for persons with two children the credit was 40% of the first $12,570 of earnings,
and for persons with three or more children the credit was 45% of the first $12,570 of earnings. These federal
credits were phased out as the greater of earnings or federal adjusted gross income rose from $16,420 to
$35,463 for single persons with one child, from $16,420 to $40,295 for single persons with two children, and
from $16,420 to $43,279 for single persons with three or more children. The phase-out floors and ceilings are
$5,000 higher for married couples who are joint filers. The maximum credit and the range over which the credit
is phased out are indexed to inflation.

Federal law also allows a credit for low-income workers without children; Wisconsin has no similar credit.
Homestead Credit

Low-income homeowners and renters may qualify for a refundable income tax credit based on household
income and property taxes or rent constituting property taxes. To qualify, the person:

1. Must be 18 years of age or older by the last day of the calendar year;

2. Must not be claimed as a dependent on anyone else's federal income tax return (unless the claimant is 62
years of age or older);

3. Must be a legal resident of Wisconsin for the entire calendar year;

4. Must have household income (of the claimant and spouse) of less than $24,500. Household income
includes both taxable and nontaxable sources.

In addition, persons are ineligible for the credit if they:
1. Livein a nursing home and receive medical assistance (Title XIX) at the time of filing the claim;
2. Live the entire year in housing that is exempt from property taxes;

3. Claim the farmland preservation credit or the veterans and surviving spouse property tax credit for their
home; or

4. Receive general relief payments of $400 or more for each month of the year of claim, or public assistance
(Aid to Families with Dependent Children or Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) for the entire year of
claim.

For renters, property taxes are assumed to be 20% of rent if heat is included or 25% of rent if heat is not
included in the rent. In computing household income, a claimant may deduct $250 for each dependent living
with the claimant.

The amount of credit is determined as follows:

1. If household income is $8,000 or less, the credit is 80% of property taxes up to $1,450; thus, the maximum
credit is $1,160.

2. If household income exceeds $8,000 but was no more than $24,500, the credit is 80% of the amount by
which property taxes exceeds 8.778% of household income in excess of $8,000. That is, the credit is 80%
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of property taxes up to a maximum credit of $1,160. The credit is phased out at a rate of 7.0224% (80%
multiplied by 8.778%) when household income exceeds $8,000.

3. If household income exceeds $24,500, no homestead credit is allowed.

Beginning in 2010, the maximum allowable property tax, the maximum household income, and the household
income phase-out floor will be indexed for inflation. Furthermore, the dependent deduction will be increased to
$500 for each dependent.

Income Taxes Paid to Other States/Income Tax Reciprocity

If a person lives in one state and is employed in another, income may be subject to taxation in both states. To
alleviate this double taxation, the state in which the taxpayer resides may allow a credit for income taxes paid to
another state. Alternatively, two states may enter into a reciprocity agreement whereby the taxpayer is only
required to pay state income taxes to the home state. Currently, Wisconsin has reciprocity agreements with
lllinois, Indiana, Kentucky, and Michigan. Through December 31, 2009 Wisconsin also had a reciprocity
agreement with Minnesota.

1. Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States

Wisconsin residents may reduce their Wisconsin income tax by the amount of income taxes paid to other
states (or the District of Columbia). The credit is not allowed if wages are earned in states having
reciprocity agreements with Wisconsin. The revenue loss from this credit was $151 million in FY10. The
credit is nonrefundable. The revenue loss from this credit does not reflect the termination of the Wisconsin-
Minnesota reciprocity agreement. It will rise accordingly beginning in FY11.

2. Income Tax Reciprocity

Since there are more Wisconsin residents employed in lllinois than residents of lllinois working in
Wisconsin, the income tax revenue foregone by lllinois exceeds the taxes foregone by Wisconsin as a result
of reciprocity. Either state could capture these additional revenues by eliminating reciprocity, but that would
require individuals living in one state and working in the other to file income tax returns with both states. To
avoid this and to eliminate the need for credits for taxes paid to the other state, Wisconsin has agreed to
pay lllinois an amount equal to the tax the state foregoes in excess of the amount of tax Wisconsin foregoes
as a result of reciprocity. The FY10 payment amount was $38.6 million.

Through December 31, 2009 Wisconsin also had a reciprocity agreement with Minnesota that required
Wisconsin to make annual payments to Minnesota. The FY10 payment amount was $66.9 million.

Claim of Right Credit

A taxpayer who repays income in the current year that had been subject to tax in a previous year may claim a
refundable credit for the amount of tax paid on that income in the previous year.

Farmland Tax Relief Credit

For tax years before January 1, 2010, a farmland tax relief credit equal to a percentage of property taxes on
farmland, exclusive of improvements, is provided to owners of farmland. The Department of Revenue sets the
credit percentage and amount of eligible property taxes so that the maximum credit is $1,500 and total
expenditure on the credit for all claimants, individual and corporate, is $15 million, adjusted for expenditures in
excess of or less than this amount in the prior fiscal year. For tax year 2009, the credit rate was 18% of the first
$8,333 of property taxes.

No credit is allowed for property taxes on farm buildings or other improvements on the farmland. The credit is
refundable. To be eligible for the credit, the claimant must be domiciled in the state for the entire year and own
the property on which the claim is based. This farmland must be at least 35 acres and be part of a farm that
produces gross profits of at least $6,000 in the year the credit is claimed, or $18,000 in total for the year the
credit is claimed and the two prior years.

The farmland tax relief credit has been repealed beginning after December 31, 2009. Beginning in 2010 a new,
per acre farmland preservation credit has been created to replace the old farmland tax relief and farmland
preservation credits.
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Farmland Preservation Credit

The Farmland Preservation Credit program allows owners of Wisconsin farmland to reduce their state income
tax liability by a percentage of the property taxes paid on the land. The purpose of the credit is to encourage
farmers to keep their land in agricultural use.

For tax years prior to January 1, 2010, the following eligibility conditions must be met:

1.

6.

The claimant must be a resident of the state for the entire year for which the credit is claimed and must own
the land for which the credit is claimed.

The farmland upon which the claim is based must be zoned exclusively for agricultural use or the claimant
must have signed a farmland preservation agreement.

The farmland on which the claim is based must be at least 35 acres and must produce at least $6,000 in
gross farm receipts in the year for which the credit is claimed, or a total of $18,000 in gross farm receipts in
the year for which the credit is claimed and the two preceding years. If at least 35 acres of the farmland is
enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program, the farmland does not have to meet the gross farm
receipts test.

The claimant or his or her spouse may not claim a homestead credit for the same period as that for which
the farmland credit is claimed. In addition, only one member of a household may claim the farmland credit.

The claimant must certify that all taxes owed by the claimant on the farmland for the year before the year for
which the claim is made have been paid.

The claimant must be in compliance with county soil and water conservation standards.

The credit amount is calculated as follows:

1.

2.

3.

Household income is computed.

Excess property tax is calculated as shown in the table below where allowable property tax is the lesser of
the claimant's property tax bill or $6,000.

TABLE 4
EXCESS PROPERTY TAX CALCULATION

If household income is: | The excess property tax is the
amount by which allowable

over- but not over- | Property tax exceeds:

- $5,000 $0
5,000 10,000 7% of household income - $350
10,000 15,000 9% of household income - $550
15,000 20,000 11% of household income - $850
20,000 25,000 17% of household income - $2050
25,000 30,000 27% of household income - $4550
30,000 36,621 37% of household income - $7550
36,621 - $6000

Using the excess property tax, the potential credit is calculated according to the table below. Excess
property tax cannot exceed $6,000.
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TABLES
POTENTIAL CREDIT CALCULATION

If excess property tax is: The potential credit is:

over- but not over-

$0 $2,000 90% of excess property tax
2,000 4,000 70% of excess property tax + $400
4,000 6,000 50% of excess property tax + $1,200

4. The claimant's calculated credit is 70%, 80% or 100% of the potential credit, depending on whether the
claimant has a farmland preservation agreement or participates in the program through zoning and on the
type of action the county and municipality have taken on the agricultural preservation plan or zoning
ordinance. The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection can inform claimants of the
percentage they can expect to receive.

5. Finally, the claimant's Farmland Preservation Credit is equal to the smaller of the calculated credit and a
special minimum credit equal to 10% of the allowable property tax. In addition, the total of a claimant's
farmland preservation credit and farmland tax relief credit cannot exceed 95% of the farmland property
taxes.

The amount of any Farmland Preservation and Farmland Tax Relief Credits received is treated as income for
Wisconsin tax purposes and must be reported as such on the claimant's tax return for the year in which it is
received. The reason for this treatment is that property taxes on farmland are a deductible business expense
that the farmland owner has already claimed as a deduction in calculating federal adjusted gross income. The
credit is added back to reduce the deduction to the amount actually paid by the landowner, that is, the amount of
the tax less the credit.

Under certain circumstances, if a farmland owner removes land from the Farmland Preservation Program, tax
credits received on the land for the preceding ten years, including interest on the credits, must be repaid.

The farmland preservation credit has been repealed beginning after December 31, 2009. Beginning in 2010 a
new, per acre farmland preservation credit has been created to replace the old farmland tax relief and farmland
preservation credits.

Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit

Eligible veterans and surviving spouses may claim this refundable credit in the amount of the property taxes
paid during the year on the claimant's principal dwelling in Wisconsin. To be eligible for the credit, veterans
must be verified by the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs as having served in the U.S. armed forces,
having been a Wisconsin resident at the time of entry into service or for any five-year period after entry into
service, currently being a Wisconsin resident for the purpose of veterans benefits, and having a service-
connected disability rating of 100% or a 100% disability rating based on individual unemployability. An eligible
surviving spouse must be an un-remarried surviving spouse of an individual who was a Wisconsin resident at
the time of entry into service, was a Wisconsin resident at the time of death and died while on active duty or
would be otherwise considered an eligible veteran at the time of death. The cost of this credit for fiscal year
2010 was $9.2 million.

DEDUCTIONS WHICH FURTHER DEFINE NET INCOME

This report estimates the cost to the state of providing exemptions from the income tax for items that would
otherwise be taxable. In earning a trade or business income, certain expenses are necessarily incurred and
individuals are allowed to deduct these expenses in determining the net income from the trade or business
subject to tax. These deductions are described below, but their fiscal effect is not estimated because they are
not truly exemption devices. Rather, they are used to define net income upon which the income tax is imposed.

Trade and Business Expenses

A deduction from gross income is allowed for the ordinary and necessary expenses that are directly attributable
to a trade or business carried on by the taxpayer. Services by the taxpayer as an employee are not considered
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a trade or business. Examples of expenditures normally allowed as deductions include: employee
compensation and benefits, the cost of operations, fuel and electricity, advertising expenses, interest paid,
insurance, legal fees, bad debts, depreciation, amortization, and depletion.

Employee's Trade and Business Expenses

Employees are allowed to deduct from gross income certain trade and business expenses that are incurred in
the performance of job-related services for their employers. For purposes of computing adjusted gross income,
the deduction is limited to:

1. All costs (including entertainment expenses) incurred in connection with one's job for which reimbursement
is received either through an expense allowance or some other means. Amounts constituting
reimbursement for employee expenses must be included in gross income in most instances.

2. Travel expenses whether or not reimbursement is received for them. They include the cost of
transportation, meals, lodging and the use of certain services, e.g. telephone services.

3. All business expenses of an outside salesperson, defined as an individual who solicits business as a full-
time salesperson away from his or her employer's place of business. This deduction would cover items
such as insurance, depreciation on an automobile or other vehicle, food, lodging, telephone charges, and
entertainment.

Federal regulations provide that if an employee receives a reimbursement exactly equal to his expenses and
makes a sufficient accounting to the employer, he need not report the reimbursement as gross income, in which
case none of the expenses may be deducted in determining adjusted gross income.

Expenses Related to Rent and Royalty Income
The expenses related to rent and royalty income are deductible from gross income. These expenses include

taxes, interest, depletion, depreciation, and other expenses such as repairs, employee wages, utilities,
insurance, and losses.
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CORPORATE INCOME AND FRANCHISE TAX

Taxation of corporate income was enacted in Wisconsin in 1911, at the same time the individual income tax was
created. Since its initial enactment, the corporate tax has undergone some noteworthy changes.

1. Flat Rate. In 1981, a series of rates and brackets were replaced with a single flat rate of 7.9%.

Federalization. Under the federalized state corporate tax in effect since 1987, corporate taxpayers are
subject to tax on the Wisconsin apportioned share of their federal net taxable income, with a number of
adjustments for the remaining federal/state law differences and the ongoing effects of previous law
differences. Corporations that conduct business in more than one state must apportion their net income
among the states with jurisdiction to tax the income.

3. Single-Sales Factor Apportionment. Until 2006, Wisconsin apportioned income with a formula based on
three factors — property, payroll, and sales. In the formula, the sales factor was double-weighted (50%)
and the property and payroll factors were single-weighted (25% each). For taxable years beginning in 2006,
an apportionment formula based solely on the sales factor was phased in, with full implementation of the
single sales formula beginning in 2008.

4. Combined Reporting. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, Wisconsin law
requires groups of corporations with common ownership that are engaged in a unitary business to file a
single return (referred to as a combined report) to compute their Wisconsin taxable income. In brief, the
corporations required to use combined reporting are those which are both commonly controlled (generally
speaking, this means 50% common ownership), and engaged in the same unitary business.

Corporations are actually subject to one of two state taxes. The corporate income tax, imposed since 1911, is a
tax on the net income of corporations doing business in the state. The corporate franchise tax, imposed since
1965, is a tax on the privilege of doing business in the state. Corporate net income is used as the measure or
base for the franchise tax. The distinction between the two taxes is a subtle one, relating primarily to the
restrictions under federal law on the types of income that states can tax with an income tax (e.g., interest from
U.S. obligations). The vast majority of corporations pay the franchise tax. The income tax applies to
corporations whose business in Wisconsin consists entirely of foreign or interstate commerce and corporations
that are filing their final return before dissolution. Because both levies employ the same rate and the same
general rules for determining corporate net income (although interest income from U.S. obligations cannot be
taxed under the income tax), the two taxes are usually considered as one.

Wisconsin also imposes a recycling surcharge equal to 3% of the gross tax liability of regular (C) corporations
and 0.2% of the net income of tax-option (S) corporations and other business entities. The surcharge and its
exemptions are treated in a separate chapter.

Wisconsin provides for differential tax treatment of business income depending on the form of organization under
which a business or organization operates. The business income of proprietorships and partnerships is reported
and taxed on the individual income tax returns filed by the owners of the business. Tax-option or
Subchapter S corporations are corporations that have elected under Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) to have their business income taxed to the individual owners of the business in essentially the same
manner as a partnership.

Businesses that are organized as regular, or Subchapter C, corporations pay the corporate income/franchise tax.
In addition, under certain circumstances, the business income of nonprofit organizations and certain types of
trusts can be subject to the state corporate tax.

The 1993 Wisconsin Act 112 authorized the formation of a new form of business organization, the limited liability
company (LLC). LLCs combine the limited liability protection afforded to owners of corporations with the flow-
through tax benefits provided to owners of S corporations and partners in partnerships. Generally, business
income of LLCs is reported and taxed on the individual income tax returns of the owners (called members) of the
business. However, some LLCs choose to be taxed as corporations and their business income is reported on
the corporate return.

Collections

In FY10, corporate tax collections were $834.5 million or 6.9% of total general purpose revenue (GPR) tax
collections of $12.13 billion. Corporate tax collections are the third largest source of general fund revenue for the
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state. Corporate collections are as volatile as corporate profits themselves and highly dependent on economic
conditions, Over the past ten years, corporate income taxes have varied to between 5.0% and 7.1% of general
tax revenue.

Data Sources

Tax exemption devices applicable to the corporate income tax are grouped into five categories: exemptions,
exclusions, special treatments, deductions, and credits. The following data sources were used to estimate the
fiscal effects of these exemption devices:

1. Wisconsin Corporate Income Tax Model. Fiscal estimates were based in part on data and analysis provided
by a computerized corporate income and franchise tax model. The corporate income tax model depends on
statistically selected samples of returns from state taxpayers. The model contains detailed information from
more than 8,000 corporate returns for tax year 2007, weighted to reflect the corporate tax filing population.
The data for the model is compiled from state and federal tax returns. Where possible, data is captured
electronically, either from electronically filed returns or by scanning the returns as they are initially
processed. Data files with federal return data are also obtained from the federal Internal Revenue Service
and matched to state returns. In addition, data that is not available electronically is entered into the
database manually by fulltime department staff and limited term employees. Finally, the Department has
developed proprietary software to facilitate data entry and to model the fiscal effect of changes to federal and
state tax laws. Work on the tax year 2007 corporate sample began in October, 2009, and was substantially
completed in October, 2010.

2. Wisconsin Corporate Tax Collection Statistics. Department of Revenue annual aggregate statistics of
corporate tax collections and data from every corporate return were also used to estimate fiscal effects. The
most current data is for tax year 2007.

3. Federal Tax Expenditure Estimates. The Congressional Budget Act of 1974 requires preparation of a
federal tax expenditure budget annually. These "expenditures” reflect the cost in lost federal revenues of the
wide variety of exemptions and incentives contained in the Internal Revenue Code. Using Congressional
Budget Office, Joint Tax Committee, and U.S. Department of Treasury figures, estimates of the fiscal effect
of comparable provisions contained in state law were generated. The procedure followed was first to
apportion the federal tax expenditure to Wisconsin and then to adjust for the difference in state and federal
tax rates and fiscal years.

4. Statistics of Income, Corporation Income Tax Returns. Published annually by the Internal Revenue Service,
this data source provides aggregate data for income and deduction amounts reported on federal returns. By
apportioning the appropriate figures to, fiscal estimates for some exemptions were obtained.

5. Miscellaneous Sources. Federal and state government agencies which publish data relating to the
corporate sector provided additional information.

Several methodological issues complicate the estimation of the revenue loss associated with corporate tax
exemption devices. The major obstacle is the lack of useful data. When data are available, they often only
approximate the exempt income or deductible expenses for which an estimate is being made. Data may be
several years old, which reduces its usefulness given the potential volatility in economic conditions across the
nation, within the state, or within a particular economic sector. Interest rates, price levels, industrial
reorganizations, and many other factors contribute to this volatility. Further, the corporate tax is imposed on
corporate profits, which can be highly variable. Finally, the estimation process requires assumptions, for
example, on Wisconsin's share of some national aggregate or the profitability of corporations operating in
Wisconsin relative to firms nationwide. Frequently there is limited information on which to base these
assumptions, so they may introduce errors into calculations. Additional programming is required each time the
model is used to estimate a fiscal effect for a specific proposed law change.
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TABLE 1
CORPORATE INCOME AND FRANCHISE TAX EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY

Exemption Devices FY10 Fiscal Effect

Statutory Reference*

Exemptions from Taxation

Governmental Units S. 71.26 (1)(b) and (bm) None
Nonprofit Corporations or Associations s.71.26 (a)
Nonprofit Organizations None
Private Foundations $32,700,000*
Cooperatives s. 71.26 (1)(c) , Chapter 185 None
Credit Unions s. 71.26 (1)(a) 7,320,000
Insurance Companies S. 71.43 (2) and 71.45 (1) Not available
Banks Under Liquidation S. 71.26 (1)(d) Minimal
Assets Distributed to the Menomonee Indian Tribe S. 71.26 (1)(e) Not available
Activities of Out-of-State Publishers and Certain s.71.23 (3) Not available
Foreign Corporations
Veterans Service Organizations s. 71.26 (1)(am) Minimal
Conduit Revenue Bond S. 71.26 (Am)(k) Minimal
Exclusions From Income
Life Insurance Proceeds IRC 101 Minimal
Exchanges of Corporate Property or Stock IRC 1031 to 1033 and 1036 to 1038
Like-Kind Exchanges 2,400,000
Other Exchanges Not available
Recovery of Bad Debts, Prior Taxes and IRC 111 Minimal
Delinquency Amounts
Natural Resource-Related Cost-Sharing Payments IRC 126 Minimal
Interest on certain WHEFA bonds ss. 71.26 (1m) (i) and 71.45 (1t) (i)
Special Treatment
Limit on Tax Liability of Insurers s. 71.46 (3) 3,200,000?
Urban Mass Transportation Companies s.71.39 None
RICs, REITs and REMICs IRC 851 to 860 and 860A to 860G, Minimal

5. 71.26 (2)(b)

Apportionment of Income

s. 71.25 (6)

See Footnote 3

"Throwback" Sales s. 71.25 (9)(b)2m and 3, and (9)(c) 23,900,0007
Tax-Option Corporations IRC 1361 to 1368 and 1374, Not available
ss. 71.32to 71.365
Limited Liability Companies ss. 71.19to 71.21 and ch. 183 Not Available
Unincorporated Cooperative Associations Chapter 193 None
Deductions from Gross Income
Amortization and Other Special Cost Recovery IRC 169, 173 to 175, 178, 180, 190,
Allowances: 193 to 195, 263(c), 291, 611, 612,
Circulation Expenditures 616 and 617 Minimal
R&D Expenditures 5,700,000
Conservation Expenditures Not available
Lease Acquisition Minimal
Reforestation Expenditures 170,000
Start-Up Expenditures Minimal
Mine Exploration Minimal
Charitable Contributions IRC 170 3,700,000

Depreciation—Accelerated and Modified Cost
Recovery System and Expensing Election
Accelerated Recovery
Section 179 Expensing

Dividends
Dividends Received
Patronage Dividends
Depositor's Dividends

Bad Debt Reserves of Financial Institutions

Net Operating Loss Carryforward

IRC 167, 168 and 179
s. 71.26(3)(y)

IRC 591 and 1382; s. 71.26 (3)(j)

IRC 585 and 593
s. 71.26 (4)

Not available
Not available

49,500,000°
Not available
Not available
Minimal
181,900,000°

Credits

Manufacturing Investment Credit ss. 71.28 (3t) and 71.47 (3t) 1,040,000**
Research Expenditures Credit ss. 71.28 (4) and 71.47 (4) 30,700,000**
Research Facilities Credit ss. 71.28 (5) and 71.47 (5) 1,700,000**
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TABLE 1 (Continued)

CORPORATE INCOME AND FRANCHISE TAX EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY
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Engine Research Expense and Facilities Credits ss. 71.28 (4)(ad)2 and 71.47 5,800,000~
(4)(ad)2
Energy Efficient Products Expense and Facilities ss. 71.28 (4)(ad)3 and 71.47 790,000%*
Credits (4)(ad)3
Supplement to Federal Historic Rehabilitation Credit | ss. 71.28 (6) and 71.47 (6) 385,000°*
Super Research Credit ss. 71.28 (4m) and 71.47 (4m) See Footnote 5
Development Opportunity Zone Credit ss. 71.26 (2dx) and 71.47 (2dx) 5,220,000°*
Enterprise Zones Jobs Credit ss. 71.28 (3w) and 71.47 (3w) See Footnote 6
Economic Development Credit ss. 71.28 (1dy) and 71.47 (1dy) 11,250,000
Jobs Tax Credit ss. 71.28 (3qg) and 71.47 (3q) See Footnote 7
Dairy and Livestock Farm Investment Credit ss. 71.28 (3n) and 71.47 (3n) 1,526,000 >
Early Stage Seed Investment Credit ss. 71.28 (5b) and 71.47 (5b) 570,000
Farmland Preservation Credit, 2010 and Beyond s. 71.613 115,000°
Insurance Security Fund Assessments S. 646.51 (7) None
Film Production Credits ss. 71.28 (5f), (5h), and 71.47 (5f), 800,000
(5h)
Broadband Internet Equipment Credit ss. 71.28 (5e) and 71.47 (5e) 1,500,000**
Health Insurance Risk-sharing Pool Assessment ss. 71.28 (5g) and 71.47 (59) 3,895,000°*

Credit
Biodiesel Fuel Production Credit
Dairy Manufacturing Facility Investment Credit
Meat Processing Facility Investment Credit
Electronic Medical Records Credit
Ethanol and Biodiesel Fuel Pump Credit
Community Rehabilitation Program Credit
Water Consumption Credit
Post-secondary Education Credit
Woody Biomass Harvesting and Processing
Equipment Credit
Food Processing Plant and Food Warehouse
Investment Credit
Beginning Farmer and Farm Asset Credit

ss. 71.28 (3h) and 71.47 (3h)
ss. 71.28 (3p) and 71.47 (3p)
ss. 71.28 (3r) and 71.47 (3r)

ss. 71.28 (5i) and 71.47 (5i)

ss. 71.28 (5j) and 71.47 (5j)

ss. 71.28 (5k) and 71.47 (5k)
ss. 71.28 (5m) and 71.47 (5m)
ss. 71.28 (5r) and 71.47 (5r)

ss. 71.28 (3rm) and 71.47 (3rm)

ss. 71.28 (3rn) and 71.47 (3rn)

ss. 71.28 (8r) and 71.47 (8r)

See Footnote 5
700,000
$270,000

See Footnote 5
Minimal

See Footnote 5
75,000

Minimal

See Footnote 8

See Footnote 9

See Footnote 5

*  Note: References to sections of the 2007 Wisconsin Statutes, except “IRC” indicates a reference to a section of the federal

Internal Revenue Code authorizing the exemption device.

1. Datais for Federal Tax Year 2007, the most recent data available.
2. Datais for State Fiscal Year 2007, the most recent data available.
3.
device.
4.  Amount is for credit taken. Additional amounts may have been claimed but carried forward.
5. The provision does not take effect until after FY 2010. Therefore there is no FY10 fiscal effect.
6.

$13.8 million in FY12 and $34.1 million in FY13.

See the discussion of single-sales factor apportionment for additional information on the potential magnitude of this exemption

The credit was available in FY10, but there were no claims received for this credit in FY10. The fiscal effect is estimated to be

7.  The credit was available in FY10, but there were no claims received for this credit in FY10. The credit has an annual cap of $5
million, plus any additional amounts transferred from the Angel Investment and Early Stage Seed Investment credits.
8. The credit was available in FY10, but there were no claims received for this credit in FY10. The credit has an annual cap of

$900,000.

9. The credit was available in FY10, but there were no claims received for this credit in FY10. The credit has an annual cap of

$1.2 million in FY11 and $700,000 in FY12 and after.
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EXEMPTIONS FROM TAXATION

An exemption allows certain types of organizations, or certain activities related to those organizations, to be free
of Wisconsin corporate franchise or income taxes.

Governmental Units

All political units are exempt from income taxation. This includes the federal and state governments, counties,
cities, towns, villages, school districts, technical college districts, and special governmental districts like sewerage
treatment districts and family care districts. Also exempt are quasi-governmental districts formed for some special
public purpose, including local exposition, professional baseball park, professional football stadium, and local
cultural arts districts.

Under the provisions of the United States Constitution, states cannot tax the assets or income-generating
activities of the federal government. The state does not tax the assets or income-generating activities of local
governments. Defining the net income of local government activities would be difficult, since such activities are
generally not trades or businesses. In the case of activities that could be considered trades or businesses, such
as municipal water utilities or public golf courses, the activities rarely result in net income to the local government.

Nonprofit Corporations or Associations

All religious, scientific, educational, benevolent or other corporations or associations not organized or operated for
profit are exempt from taxation on income from activities related to their tax-exempt purpose. Examples include
college alumni groups, scouting organizations, religious and other not-for-profit nursing homes, community-based
fund-raising drives for the needy, public interest research groups, and foundations.

Nonprofit organizations are not subject to tax on income from contributions and business activities related to their
tax-exempt purpose because this income is used to provide the public services for which these organizations
exist. The fiscal effect from this exemption is shown to be zero to the extent that these organizations devote their
earnings and assets directly to the conduct of tax exempt purposes and hence do not generate profit.

Nonprofit organizations with income from business activities that are not related to their tax-exempt purpose are
subject to a corporate-level unrelated business income tax (UBIT) similar to the federal UBIT. Certain types of
income, such as royalties, are not included in UBIT.

Private foundations are treated differently since their activities tend to be more restricted than tax-exempt
nonprofit organizations. Foundations generally do not conduct activities; rather, they provide grants to other
organizations to conduct the activities. Thus, the investment income of foundations greatly exceeds their low
amount of operating costs. The net investment income of these private foundations is exempt from the income
and franchise taxes under Wisconsin law. Since 1969, the federal government has imposed an annual excise tax
on the net investment income of private foundations and a series of penalty levies linked to the failure of
foundations to meet certain specified operating requirements. The state does not impose a similar annual excise
tax on private foundations.

Cooperatives

Cooperatives organized under Chapter 185 of the Wisconsin Statutes are exempt from income taxation, provided
they operate without profit to any shareholder or member and distribute their proceeds according to the
procedures set out in sec. 185.45, Wis. Stats. Cooperatives may be organized for any lawful purpose except
banking or insurance.

Agricultural cooperatives engaged in marketing farm products for producers and cooperative associations or
corporations that process and market farm products exclusively for such cooperatives are exempt from income
taxation. To retain their exempt status, cooperatives must: (1) have at least 25 members, (2) return to producers
the net proceeds resulting from sale of their products, and (3) in the preceding five years have limited payments of
members' dividends to no more than 8% of the value of the stock per year. In order to be tax exempt,
corporations that process and market farm products for agricultural cooperatives are additionally required to deal
solely in farm products and cannot charge more than a sufficient amount to cover the costs of: (1) marketing and
processing, (2) payment of dividends not to exceed 8% of the value of the cooperative's stock per year, and (3) a
maximum of 5% addition to their surplus reserve fund.
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Because cooperatives, by definition, do not operate for profit, they would not have a taxable net income if subject
to tax. Thus, the exemption has no fiscal effect. Distributions made by cooperatives to the cooperative members
may be taxable, depending on the nature of the distribution (see the discussion of patronage dividends under the
section on "Deductions from Gross Income").

Credit Unions

Federally-chartered credit unions are exempt from state taxation under federal law. Wisconsin exempts state-
chartered credit unions from taxation, except for the portion of their net income attributable to public deposits from
the state or local governments. There are approximately 260 credit unions operating in Wisconsin; most of them
are state chartered.

Insurance Companies
The following insurance companies are exempt from income taxation:

e Insurance companies exempted under sec. 501 (c)(15) of the IRC. This section exempts companies other
than life insurance companies whose gross receipts do not exceed $600,000 and more than 50% of gross
receipts are from premiums. In the case of a mutual insurance company, in order to be exempt gross
receipts cannot exceed $150,000 and more than 35% of the gross receipts are from premiums.

e Town mutual companies organized under Chapter 612 of the Wisconsin Statutes.
e Foreign insurance companies, i.e., any insurance company organized outside the state of Wisconsin.
o Domestic life insurance companies engaged exclusively in life insurance.

¢ Domestic insurance companies insuring against losses relating to mortgages.

In general, only domestic insurers pay the corporate franchise tax to the Department of Revenue, based on the
portion of their net income attributable to lines of insurance other than life insurance. Approximately 150
insurance companies filed a corporate income and franchise tax return in tax year 2008. Other insurance
companies pay a premium tax ($121 million in collections in FY10) to the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance, based on the amount of premiums written in Wisconsin. According to the 2009 annual report of the
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, as of December 31, 2009, there were 2,029 insurance companies with
operations in the state, of which 379 were domestic companies. Of the domestic companies, 65 were town
mutual companies. The fiscal effect of this exemption is unknown since it is not clear how income subject to tax
would be defined.

A more complete description of the insurance premiums tax and the related exemption devices are contained in
the Insurance Premiums Tax section of this report.

Banks under Liquidation

Banks placed in the hands of the Division of Banking, Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, for
liquidation under sec. 220.08, Wis. Stats., are exempt from tax if such taxation would diminish the financial assets
needed to make full payment to depositors. There have been relatively few bank liquidations in Wisconsin since
the Depression in the 1930s. Because of the small number of banks undergoing liquidation in fiscal year 2010,
the fiscal effect of this exemption device is not available so as to protect the confidentiality of the banks.

Assets Distributed to the Menominee Indian Tribe

Assets distributed by the U.S. government to members of the Menominee Indian Tribe or any corporations or
organizations created by the tribe are exempt from state taxation. In addition, stocks, bonds, and other securities
issued by tribal corporations or organizations are exempt from state tax.

Under federal law, states generally do not have the authority to tax business activities of Indian tribes provided
that the activities are conducted on reservation property or property held in tribal trust.

Activities of Out-of-State Publishers and Certain Foreign Corporations

Under federal law, the state has jurisdiction to tax the Wisconsin-apportioned share of the net income of an out-of-
state corporation only if the corporation has nexus — that is, a business presence — in Wisconsin. A corporation
generally has nexus in Wisconsin if it has property or employees (i.e., payroll) in the state on a regular basis.
Certain exceptions to the nexus rules exist so that some out-of-state corporations are not be subject to the
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Wisconsin income and franchise tax.
Wisconsin allows the following exemptions from nexus:

e The storage of property with a firm in this state for purposes of fabricating, processing, manufacturing or
printing the property for an out-of-state corporation.

e The storage of property on the premises of a Wisconsin firm when the intent is to distribute the goods outside
the state.

e The printing, storage, and distribution of books, magazines, and other publications for out-of-state publishing
companies that contract with Wisconsin printing firms.

e The storage of property in Wisconsin for no more than 90 days by foreign corporations, provided the property
is stored at a site not owned by the foreign corporation and is transferred and used in the state for fabricating,
processing, manufacturing or printing on the site where the property is stored. Further, the assessed property
value of the site where the property is stored and transferred must be a least $10 million but not more than
$11 million on January 1, 1999.

These out-of-state corporations usually have no payroll or plant and equipment in Wisconsin. Thus, the act of
storing property in the state for processing, printing or other temporary purposes would have been the only factor
establishing nexus, and in turn, a Wisconsin tax liability for the corporations, in the absence of these exemptions.

Veteran's Service Organizations

2007 Act 20 created an exclusion from the corporate income and franchise tax for income of a federally-chartered
veteran's service organization. This provision first applies to tax year 2008. The fiscal effect of this new provision
is minimal, as under prior law most income of veteran's service organizations was already exempt under federal
and state law. Only unrelated business income (i.e., income from activities not substantially related to the activity
for which they were granted the exemption) would have been taxed. This income will now also be exempt.

Interest on Conduit Revenue Bonds

2009 Wisconsin Act 205 authorized two or more political subdivisions to enter into an agreement to create a
commission to issue conduit revenue bonds. Under the Act, a commission is designed to act as a “conduit” for a
developer to obtain bonding. Bonds issued by a commission are not public debt. Unless otherwise expressly
provided in the bond resolution, bonds issued by a commission are payable solely from revenues derived by the
project to be financed or from a contract entered into in connection with the bonds and pledged to the payment of
the bonds. The bonds issued by a commission are not debts of either the state or one of the political subdivisions
creating the commission, and neither would be obligated to levy a tax or make an appropriation for the repayment
of the bonds.

Under the Act, interest on bonds issued by a commission is exempt from state income taxation if any of the
following apply:

e The bonds could have been issued by Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority and are
used to fund multi-family affordable housing or elderly housing projects.

¢ The bonds could have been issued by Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority and are used by
a health facility to fund the acquisition of information technology hardware or software.

e The bonds could have been issued under s. 66.1201, 66.1333, or 66.1335, Stats., relating to housing
authorities, blight and slum clearance, and housing and community development authorities, respectively.

The exemption only applies to the corporate income tax. Interest from conduit bonds would not be exempt from
taxation under the corporate franchise tax.

EXCLUSIONS FROM INCOME

An exclusion is an item that is not included in the definition of gross income. Excluded income normally does not
have to be reported on the tax return.
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Life Insurance Proceeds

Amounts received by a corporation from an insurance company or any other insurer as payment for a death claim
are exempt from income taxation. For example, if a company took out polices on the lives of its board members
and was paid the value of insurance on the life of one of the board members upon his or her death, the insurance
benefit would not be included in the income of the corporation subject to tax. However, the company could not
claim a business expense deduction for the premiums it paid on the policy.

Companies are believed to represent a small proportion of all beneficiaries. Further, because insurance
compensation is usually paid on the deaths of individuals past retirement age, the effect of this provision is
thought to be small.

Exchanges of Corporate Property or Stock

In general, a gain is recognized as a result of an exchange or disposition of property to the extent that any cash
proceeds plus the taxpayer's basis in new property exceed the taxpayer's basis in the old property. However,
gains from the following types of transactions are excluded from gross income:

e Exchange of property held for productive use in a trade or business or held for investment for like-kind (i.e.,
similar) property. Examples of like-kind exchanges are an exchange of a delivery truck for a delivery van, and
an exchange of one real property for another real property. The nonrecognition of gain does not apply to
exchanges involving inventory and intangible investments, such as stocks and bonds, or to any exchanged
property disposed of within two years by either party, with exceptions for death or involuntary conversions.

¢ Exchange of stock in the corporation for property. For example, a shareholder might contribute property to a
corporation for additional shares of stock.

e Involuntary conversions. There is no recognition of gain from involuntary conversions of property provided
that the property is converted into similar property or if it is converted into money used to acquire similar
property.

e Exchange of common or preferred stock in a corporation for similar stock in the same corporation. For
example, a shareholder might be allowed to convert 100 shares of old stock into 200 shares of new stock.

e Certain exchanges of United States obligations. There is generally no recognition of gain if United States
obligations must be surrendered in exchange solely for other United States obligations.

e Certain reacquisitions of real property. There is generally no recognition of gain if the seller of real property
reacquires a real property in exchange for satisfaction of indebtedness secured by the real property.

The fiscal effects of these exemption devices generally are small because they represent a postponement of
income that will eventually be taxed. In general, the taxpayer's basis in the new property is equal to the basis in
the old property or otherwise reduced to take into account the fact that the property was acquired in a tax-free
transaction.

Recovery of Bad Debts, Prior Taxes and Delinquency Amounts

Receipts generated by the recovery of bad debts, prior taxes or delinquency amounts are excluded from gross
income to the extent that they did not reduce income tax liability when deducted in a prior year. The portion of a
recovery amount that gave rise to a tax benefit in prior years is taxable.

Natural Resource-Related Cost-Sharing Payments

Payments received by corporations primarily for the purpose of conserving soil and water resources, protecting or
preserving the environment, improving forests, or providing a habitat for wildlife may be excluded from gross
income. Under the federal Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006, escrow funds established after May 17, 2006
for hazardous waste sites under agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency under the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980 are exempt so long as the
funds are controlled by a government agency.

Interest on Certain Bonds Issued by the Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority

2007 Act 20 provided an exemption from corporate income taxes for interest paid on certain bonds issued by the
Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority (WHEFA), starting with taxable years beginning on or after
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January 1, 2008. This exemption would apply if the proceeds of the bonds or notes are used by a health facility to
fund the acquisition of information technology hardware or software.

SPECIAL TREATMENT

Certain corporate entities are subject to tax provisions that are substantially different from those provided for most
corporations. While these entities pay corporate franchise or income taxes, the method used to compute the tax
liability is different from that afforded other corporate taxpayers.

Limit on Tax Liability of Insurers

The tax liability of insurance companies subject to the state income/franchise tax (see the discussion under the
section on "Exemptions") is limited to 2% of the gross premiums derived from non-life lines of insurance in
Wisconsin. The fiscal effect measures the difference between what the tax liability of the insurance companies
subject to the 2% of gross premiums limitation would have been under the 7.9% tax rate applied to other
corporations and what their tax liability was with the 2% limitation.

Urban Mass Transportation Companies

Any corporation deriving 50% or more of its gross income from urban mass transportation is assessed a special
tax equal to 50% of its taxable income. For the purpose of this special tax, taxable income is net of deductions for
federal taxes and an amount equal to 8% of the amount by which the cost of property exceeds accumulated
depreciation plus interest paid. No revenue has been collected under this special tax levy since 1974.

There are 23 county or municipality-owned urban mass transportation companies in Wisconsin, with the vast
majority of revenues coming from operations in Milwaukee, Madison, Racine, Eau Claire, and Green Bay.
Because each of these companies generally register losses or no net income, this exemption has no fiscal effect.

RICs, REITs and REMICs

Certain types of corporations are substantially or fully exempt from tax at the corporate level provided that they
meet certain percentage requirements for distributions to shareholders. These corporations are generally
organized as investment vehicles and do not carry on a trade or business other than the investment activities.

A regulated investment company (RIC) must derive its income primarily from interest, dividends, and gains from
the disposition of stock and securities. Most mutual funds are organized as RICs. At least 90% of a RIC's income
must be distributed to its shareholders each year. If so, the corporation is allowed a deduction for the distributions
to shareholders. This deduction reduces the corporation's net taxable income to a minimal amount and effectively
eliminates any corporate tax liability. Failure to meet the distribution requirements results in the denial of the
deduction and a substantial corporate tax liability.

A real estate investment trust (REIT) specializes in real estate investments and must derive its income primarily
from rents from real property, other real property income, interest, dividends, and gains from the disposition of
stock and securities. At least 90% of a REIT's income must be distributed to its shareholders each year. The
taxation of REITs is essentially the same as the taxation of RICs in that a deduction for distributions to
shareholders is allowed if the corporation meets the distribution requirement.

A real estate mortgage investment conduit (REMIC) is an entity that holds a fixed pool of mortgages and issues
multiple classes of ownership interests to investors. In general, a REMIC is treated in a manner similar to a
partnership. Thus, the net income of a REMIC is taxable to the holders of the interests in the REMIC.

For these entities, any income not taxed to the corporation is generally taxed to the shareholders. Thus, the fiscal
effect of this exemption device is minimal.

Apportionment of Income

In the past, Wisconsin required multi-jurisdictional corporations to compute the amount of income taxable in this
state through the use of a three-factor apportionment formula. The factors in the formula were based on the ratio
of a company's property, payroll, and sales in Wisconsin to the total property, payroll, and sales in all jurisdictions.
Each factor's ratio was assigned a weight and then combined to yield a single income apportionment percentage.

Starting in 1974, Wisconsin used an apportionment formula that double-weighted the sales factor. As such, the
sales factor had a weight of 50% in the formula and each of the payroll and property factors were weighted at
25%. Double-weighting of the sales factor favored corporations with sales on a regional or national basis that
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have significant property and payroll in state.

Beginning in tax year 2006, single sales factor apportionment was phased in. For taxable year 2006, the
apportionment formula was composed of a sales factor representing 60% of the fraction, and a property and
payroll factor each representing 20% of the fraction. For taxable year 2007, the apportionment formula was
composed of a sales factor representing 80% of the fraction, and a property and payroll factor each representing
10% of the fraction. The single sales factor formula has been fully phased in for taxable years beginning in 2008.
Special multi-factor apportionment formulas will continue to apply to certain industries, including motor carriers, air
carriers, pipeline companies, railroads, and telecommunications companies.

Data are not available to estimate this exemption device. For tax year 2007 (the most recent data available), the
payroll and property factors for combined groups are not available, so the difference between three-factor
apportionment and single-sales factor apportionment cannot be calculated. It is anticipated that the payroll and
property factors for combined groups will be available for tax years 2009 and after. If the payroll and property
factors as reported on tax year 2007 returns are used (the most recent year available), and using single-entity
reporting (rather than combined reporting) as was current law in tax year 2007, the fiscal effect of using a single
sales factor apportionment instead of three-factor apportionment with a double-weighted sales factor, inflated to
fiscal year 2010, is estimated to be $41.7 million.

"Throwback" Sales

A multi-state corporation subject to tax in Wisconsin is required to treat certain "throwback" sales as Wisconsin
sales when calculating its sales factor using the multi-state apportionment formula. Throwback sales are sales
originating in Wisconsin made to the federal government and shipped outside of Wisconsin and sales originating
in Wisconsin to customers located in states where the seller is not subject to tax because of the nexus standards
defined by federal law and interpreted by the Wisconsin Administrative Code.

Under the nexus standards, a corporation must have some type of operations in a state, generally in the form of
property or employees, before its income can be taxed by that state. Without nexus, a state cannot tax a
corporation. The throwback rule ensures that a corporation's entire income is subject to apportionment by the
states with jurisdiction to tax. Without the throwback rule, sales to destination states in which the seller does not
have nexus would not be included in the numerator of the sales factor of any state and a corporation would be
able to avoid paying tax on some of its income.

Previously, the sales factor weighted throwback sales at one-half the weight of in-state sales. For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2009, 100% of the amount of throwback sales must be included in the sales
factor. Additionally, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, throwback sales no longer apply to
sales of services or gross receipts from the use of computer software. The fiscal effect for this exemption device
is the difference in net tax between including 100% of sales from services and gross receipts from the use of
computer software in the numerator of the sales factor and excluding the entire amount from the numerator.

Tax-Option Corporations

A tax-option corporation is a corporation with not more than 100 individual shareholders (family members owning
shares in the same Subchapter S corporation are together counted as a single shareholder) that elects
Subchapter S treatment under sec. 1362 of the Internal Revenue Code. Under Subchapter S, the corporation is
exempt from tax at the corporate level and the net income is taxed to the individual shareholders under the
individual income tax on a pro rata basis. The net income is taxed to the shareholders regardless of whether the
corporation makes any actual distributions to the shareholders. In general, Subchapter S corporations are treated
in a manner similar to partnerships and items of income retain their character as they flow through to the
shareholders.

Most federal Subchapter S corporations are automatically treated as tax-option corporations for state purposes.
However, Subchapter S corporations can elect to be treated as regular corporations for state purposes under
certain conditions. Regular corporations converting to Subchapter S or tax-option treatment are subject to a
special tax on built-in gains for both federal and state purposes.

Limited Liability Companies

Limited liability companies (LLCs) are a type of business entity that may be taxed similar to corporations or
partnerships, depending on how they are structured. If taxable as a partnership, owners of an LLC (called
members) are taxed on the flow-through income of the company at lower individual rates, rather than at the higher
corporate rate. However, if taxable as a corporation, an LLC is taxed at the entity level using the corporate
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income tax rate.
Unincorporated Cooperative Associations (UCA)

2005 Act 441 authorized the creation of a new type of business organization called an unincorporated cooperative
association (UCA). A UCA may be organized to market or process agricultural products; to manufacture
products; to provide products, supplies or services; or for any other lawful purpose. A UCA may be organized by
one or more organizers or it may be organized by converting from another form of business entity. The tax
treatment of a UCA is similar to that of other pass-through entities, in that profits or losses are passed through to
the UCA's members. Income and losses would be included on the owner's tax return and taxed at the owner's
rate.

DEDUCTIONS FROM GROSS INCOME

A deduction is an amount subtracted from Wisconsin gross income (or total income) to establish Wisconsin
taxable income — the amount to which the tax rate is applied.

Deductions Which Further Define Net Income

Sec. 71.23, Wis. Stats., subjects corporations to a tax on or measured by their net income. Net income is defined
as gross income less allowable deductions. Thus, the very nature of the corporate tax requires that income be
reduced by certain current expenses and allocated costs. These expenses include: wages and salaries, taxes,
repairs, rents, interest, and the cost of employee benefits. These expenses are generally legitimate business
outlays and thus are not considered a tax exemption device.

Amortization and Other Special Cost Recovery Allowances

The cost associated with the consumption of an asset can be recovered in several ways. When an asset has a
fixed life, costs are generally recovered through depreciation which is discussed later in this section. For assets
with indeterminate lives, the cost recovery methods include amortization, depletion, and special cost recovery
allowances. In addition, special cost recovery provisions apply for other types of costs that otherwise would not
be recovered until the asset is disposed of, income is received for the product or service for which the cost was
incurred or the corporation is dissolved. The following costs are eligible for recovery techniques that allow
taxpayers to recover costs sooner than would otherwise be allowed.

1. Pollution control facilities. The cost of certain pollution control facilities can be amortized over a period of
five years. To qualify, the pollution control facility must be used in connection with a plant in operation prior
to 1976.

2. Circulation expenditures. Costs (other than costs to acquire land, depreciable property, and part of the
business of other newspapers or periodicals) to establish, maintain or increase the circulation of newspapers
and periodicals can be deducted in the year paid.

3. Research and development expenditures. Costs of noncapital research and experimental activities can be
deducted in the year paid or amortized over a period of five years (see also the discussion of noncapital
expenditures under the Research Expenditures Credit in the section on "Credits").

4. Soil and water conservation expenditures. Taxpayers engaged in farming can deduct, in the year paid, the
costs of soil and water conservation practices that are consistent with a conservation plan approved by the
Soil Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The deduction cannot exceed 25% of
gross income from farming.

5. Lease acquisition. The cost of acquiring a lease, including renewal options, can be deducted in the year
paid if certain requirements are met.

6. Reforestation expenditures. Up to $10,000 of costs to reforest qualified timber property can be amortized
over a period of seven years.

7. Start-up expenditures. Costs of incorporating the taxpayer's business and issuing stock for the business can
be amortized over a period of five years.

8. Mine exploration and development. A portion of the costs of exploring for energy and mineral deposits and
developing such deposits for mining or drilling can be deducted in the year paid. The remaining portion is
amortized over a period of five years. The fiscal effect includes only that which comes from non-fuel mining
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expenses, as there are no fuel-based mines in Wisconsin.

Depletion allowances are provided to allow taxpayers to recover the costs of capital investment in natural
resources. Under the cost depletion method, the acquisition costs are divided by the estimated number of units
that the deposit or resource will produce. Taxpayers are allowed an annual deduction equal to the current year's
production multiplied by the per unit depletion cost. Federal law also allows taxpayers the option of using
percentage depletion, which provides taxpayers with an annual deduction equal to a percentage of the gross
income from the current year's production.

For state purposes, only cost depletion is allowed. Since cost depletion does not allow for rapid cost recovery in
the way that percentage depletion does, cost depletion is not considered an exemption device.

The special expensing provision for depreciable property under sec. 179 of the Internal Revenue Code is
discussed under Depreciation in this section.

Charitable Contributions
Contributions by corporations to the following charities are deductible from gross income:
e The state or any other political subdivision, as long as the gift is for strictly public purposes.

e A corporation, trust or community chest, fund or foundation operating for strictly religious, charitable,
scientific, literary or educational purposes, or for fostering national or international sports competition, or for
the prevention of cruelty to children or animals.

e Veterans' organizations and an auxiliary unit, society, trust or foundation of such organizations.
e Member-owned or nonprofit cemetery corporations chartered solely for burial purposes.

Certain limitations apply to the amount of contributions that can be claimed as a deduction and to the amount that
can be deducted for contributions of property. In general, the deduction for charitable contributions cannot
exceed 10% of a corporation's taxable income. Amounts of contributions not deductible in the current year can be
carried forward for five years and claimed as a deduction.

Depreciation — Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery Systems and Expensing Election

Depreciation deductions are allowed to reflect the reasonable expenses incurred by taxpayers for exhaustion,
wear and tear of property used in a trade or business or held for the production of income. Effective for tax year
1987, the state adopted the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS), enacted as part of the federal
Tax Reform Act of 1986. However, property placed in service prior to that time must continue to be depreciated
according to the state restrictions in effect at the time the property was placed into service.

Under MACRS, eligible property is generally assigned to a depreciation recovery class of 3 years, 5 years,
7 years, 10 years, 15 years or 20 years, 25 years, 27.5 years, 31.5 years or 39 years, depending upon the type of
property. The cost of the property is recovered using statutory recovery methods and conventions.

With some restrictions, sec. 179 rules of the Internal Revenue Code in effect prior to December 31, 2000, allow
taxpayers to expense up to $25,000 in the current year. To qualify as sec. 179 property, the property must be
acquired by purchase for use in the active conduct of a trade or business (sec. 1245 depreciable property). The
total cost of the property expensed under this election cannot exceed the total amount of taxable income derived
from the active conduct of any trade or business during the tax year. However, excess amounts may be carried
forward an unlimited number of years, subject to the ceiling each year. Wisconsin has not adopted the increased
bonus depreciation and expensing provisions enacted after December 31, 2000.

Data are not available to estimate the fiscal effect of the accelerated depreciation exemption device of allowing
more generous depreciation write-offs in comparison to the allowable deductions under the straight-line
depreciation method.
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Dividends
Dividends paid are generally not deductible by the payor corporation except for:

e Amounts paid as dividends or earnings to depositors' accounts by savings and loan associations, mutual loan
corporations or mutual savings banks.

e Amounts distributed to patrons of businesses operating on a cooperative basis in proportion to their
patronage, rather than stock or ownership. This type of dividend amounts to a delayed discount for
purchases made.

Dividends received are deductible in full by the recipient corporation if the payor corporation is a controlled
subsidiary in which the recipient parent corporation owns at least 70% of the voting stock, or at least 50% of the
voting stock if the payor and recipient corporations are members of the same combined group. The payor
corporation is not allowed to subtract the dividends paid in determining its Wisconsin taxable income. The fiscal
effect relates to the revenue impact of disallowing the deduction of dividends received from corporate affiliates.
Data are not available to estimate the fiscal effect for allowing the deduction of patronage or depositor's dividends.

Bad Debt Reserves of Financial Institutions

In general, corporations can deduct bad debts only as the debts become worthless. Savings and loan
associations, mutual savings banks, and other savings institutions may deduct additions to a reserve account for
bad debts in lieu of deducting bad debts as they are experienced. Banks are also allowed to deduct additions to
bad debt reserves, provided that the assets of the bank do not exceed $500 million.

The deduction for additions to bad debt reserves is generally based on the average ratio of bad debts actually
incurred to total loans outstanding for the five preceding taxable years. The tax benefit from this provision is that
financial institutions using the reserve method can deduct bad debts before they actually become worthless.

Net Operating Loss Carryforward

Wisconsin authorizes corporations to carry net operating losses incurred in the current year forward for up to 15
years to offset net income in future years but does not allow losses to be carried back to offset taxable net income
in previous years. In contrast, Federal law allows losses to be carried forward 20 years or carried back two years.
This treatment acts to smooth out fluctuations in corporate profits, which may change dramatically with economic
conditions. Similar to federal law, prior year losses must be applied against income to the maximum extent
possible and in a consecutive fashion during the carryover period. Losses from the earliest years are always
used first. The fiscal effect relates to the difference in tax liability without the carryforward provision relative to
actual liability under current law.

CREDITS

A credit is an amount subtracted directly from the taxpayer's Wisconsin gross tax liability (i.e., the amount
determined by applying the Wisconsin tax rate to Wisconsin taxable income) to determine the Wisconsin net tax
liability. Non-refundable credits reduce a corporation’s tax liability otherwise due. If the amount of credit exceeds
the corporation’s tax liability, the excess credit can be carried forward to offset tax liability in future years. A
refundable credit also reduces a corporation’s tax liability, but if the amount of credit exceeds the corporation’s tax
liability a refund is issued in the amount of the excess credit. The fiscal effect for non-refundable credits results
from a loss of revenue that otherwise would be collected. Refundable credits require an appropriation, and the
fiscal effect for these credits is expressed as an increase in appropriations even though a some or all of the credit
may be used to offset taxes otherwise due.

Manufacturing Investment Credit

Beginning in 2008, businesses whose unused carryforwards of the repealed income and franchise tax credit for
sales tax on fuel and electricity used in manufacturing was greater than $25,000 on January 1, 2006 are able to
claim a manufacturing investment credit, provided they meet certain job retention, investment or other tests. The
credit, which is non-refundable, is equal to the unused manufacturers' sales tax credit, and is to be amortized
over 15 years. Claimants must be certified by the Department of Commerce as eligible to claim the credit. In
order to be certified, the claimant must satisfy one of the following requirements:
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e Retention of 100% of the full-time (at least 35 hours per week) jobs employed by the company as of
December 23, 2003.

e Average annual investment since January 1, 2003, equal to 2% of total book value of the company’'s
depreciable assets in Wisconsin-based plants and facilities or $5 million.

e  Other criteria specific to individual industries as determined by the Department of Commerce, in consultation
with the Department of Revenue, through administrative rule.

Research Expenditures Credit

A nonrefundable research expenditures credit for noncapital expenditures for research-related activities
conducted in Wisconsin is available to corporations. The credit is patterned after the federal research credit and
is equal to 5% of the excess of qualified research expenses for the current year over a base period amount.
Qualifying expenditures are defined by reference to the rules established under sec. 41 of the Internal Revenue
Code. Expenses must be incurred in connection with research conducted in Wisconsin in order to qualify for the
credit. The "base period amount" is calculated in the same manner as that for the federal credit, except that the
gross receipts used in computing the state credit are from sales attributable to Wisconsin, other than throwback
sales, as defined in the corresponding statute. Unused amounts of the credit can be carried forward for up to 15
years.

The credit applies only to research expenditures that are undertaken to discover information that is technological
in nature and intended to be useful in the development of a new or improved business component. Qualified
research expenses cover in-house expenses for the taxpayer's own research (wages, supplies, and computer use
charges) and 65% of amounts paid or incurred for qualified research done by a person other than an employee of
the taxpayer.

Research Facilities Credit

The research facilities credit applies to capital investments to construct and equip new research facilities or to
expand existing facilities located in Wisconsin. The credit is equal to 5% of the amount of qualified investment in
tangible depreciable property that is not replacement property.

The rules relating to the credit are similar to the rules for the research expenditures credit. The credit is
nonrefundable, and unused amounts of credit may be carried forward and offset against tax liability over the next
15 years. Corporations must increase their net income by the amount of credit claimed in lieu of reducing their
deduction for research expenses or reducing their basis in the property.

Engine Research Credits

For tax years beginning after June 30, 2007, credits equal to 10% of qualified research and 10% of qualified
facility expenses related to designing internal combustion engines and related substitutes such as fuel cells and
electric and hybrid drives are available. The credits are also available for research related to designing vehicles
powered by such engines and for research on improving production processes for such engines and vehicles.
Expenses under the engine research credits are not eligible for the regular research expenditure and research
facilities credits. Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years.

Energy Efficient Products Research Credits

For tax years beginning after June 30, 2007, credits equal to 10% of qualified research and 10% of qualified
facility expenses related to the design and manufacturing of energy efficient lighting systems, building automation
and control systems, or automotive batteries for use in hybrid-electric vehicles, that reduce the demand for natural
gas or electricity or improve the efficiency of its use are available. Expenses under the energy efficient products
research credits are not eligible for the regular research expenditure and research facilities credits. Unused
credits may be carried forward for 15 years.

Super Research and Development Credit

A credit is available for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, for corporations that increase their
research expenditures. The credit is equal to the amount of qualified research expenses for research conducted
in Wisconsin in a tax year that exceeds 1.25 times the average annual amount of qualified research expenses in
the corporation's previous three tax years. The credit is non-refundable, and unused credit amounts may be
carried forward up to five years to offset future tax liabilities. "Qualified research expenses" are as defined under
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Section 41 of the IRC, and the research must be done in this state. Expenses for claims under the regular
research expenditure credit also qualify for the super research credit as long as they exceed 1.25 times the
preceding three-year average. Unused credit amounts may be carried forward for five years.

Supplement to Federal Historic Rehabilitation Credit

A nonrefundable credit is available to encourage the rehabilitation of historic buildings in Wisconsin. The state
supplemental credit is equal to 5% of qualified rehabilitation expenditures, as defined under sec. 48 (g) of the
Internal Revenue Code, to substantially rehabilitate certified historic buildings for use in a trade or business. This
program is more fully discussed in the chapter on "Individual Income Tax."

Development Opportunity Zone Credit

Under the Development Opportunity Zone program, businesses conducting economic activities in a zone may
claim nonrefundable development opportunity zone credits allocated to them by the Department of Commerce.
Eight zones with a total of $39.4 million in tax credits have been authorized. Of those, six zones with a total of
$29.4 million in credit have been designated. Of those six zones, only the Gateway zone in Beloit with $6.7
million in authorized tax credit remains open.® The Gateway zone was authorized for a life of nine years
beginning on September 1, 2001. Two news zones in Janesville and Kenosha were authorized in 2009 Act 28
with a total credit available of $5 million each over the life of the zone. The designation for the new zones will be
effective for 60 months from the date of designation.?

Businesses locating or expanding their operations within the development opportunity zones are eligible to claim a
job creation credit based on the number of new, full-time positions created; an environmental remediation credit
that equals up to 50% of eligible environmental remediation costs; and an investment credit equal to 2.5% of the
purchase of depreciable tangible personal property (or 1.75% of the price if the property has been expensed
under section 179 of the IRC). Unused credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

A capital investment credit is also available for certain businesses located in the Beloit Gateway zone and the new
Kenosha and Janesville zones equal to 3% of qualified purchases of depreciable tangible personal property and
amounts expended to acquire, construct, rehabilitate or remodel qualified real property. Unused credit amounts
may be carried forward for 15 years.

Enterprise Zone Jobs Credit

A refundable enterprise zone jobs credit is available for certified businesses located in a designated enterprise
zone. The Department of Commerce may certify for tax benefits a business that begins operations in an
enterprise zone if the business offers compensation and benefits to its employees working in the zone for the
same type of work that are at least as favorable as those offered to its employees working outside the zone.
Commerce may also certify a business that expands operations in an enterprise zone, if the business will increase
its personnel by at least 10% or the business makes a capital investment in property located in the enterprise
zone equal to at least 10% of the business’ gross revenues in the preceding tax year attributable to business
activities in Wisconsin. Finally, Commerce may certify a business that retains existing jobs in an enterprise zone
if the business makes a significant capital investment in property located in the zone, and at least one of the
following applies: (1) the business is an original equipment manufacturer with a significant supply chain in
Wisconsin, as determined by Commerce; or (2) more than 500 full- time employees are employed by the business
in the enterprise zone

Commerce is authorized to designate no more than 12 enterprise zones. A designation may be in effect for no
more than 12 years. In determining whether to designate an area as an enterprise zone, Commerce must
consider indicators of the area’s economic need, infrastructure and energy support, the rate of business
development, existing resources available to the area, and the effect of designation on other initiatives and
programs to promote economic and community development in the area, such as job training and the creation of
high-paying jobs.

The credit has five components:

1. A credit based on changes in the claimant's zone payroll over a base year. Eligible wages are those paid to
new employees whose annual wages are greater than $20,000 but not more than $100,000 in a Tier | county

! Designated zones in West Allis, Milwaukee, Eau Claire, Kenosha and one zone in Beloit have expired.
2 As of this writing, the newly-authorized Kenosha zone created in 2009 Act 28 has not been designated by the
Department of Commerce. The new zone in Janesville was designated in March, 2010.
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or municipality, or greater than $30,000 but not more than $100,000 in a Tier Il county or municipality.®
Credit claims would be limited to 12 consecutive years.

2. An additional credit based on up to 7% of wages paid to existing zone employees. Eligible wages are those
paid to employees whose annual wages are greater than $20,000 but not more than $100,000 in a Tier |
county or municipality, or greater than $30,000 but not more than $100,000 in a Tier Il county or municipality.
The total number of employees must be equal to or greater than the number of employees in the base year.
Credit claims are limited to five consecutive years.

3. A credit based on the amount paid for training to upgrade the job-related skills of full-time employees who
work in the enterprise zone;

4. A credit equal to 10% of significant capital expenditures in the zone.

5. For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009, a credit equal 1% of the amount the claimant paid in
the taxable year for goods or services from Wisconsin vendors, not including capital expenditures for which
the credit is claimed.

Economic Development Credit

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2008, an economic development tax credit is available. The
nonrefundable credit may be claimed against the corporate income and franchise tax or against the insurance
premiums tax. The amount of credit available is limited to $121.3 million, which is the amount of available credit
that had not been allocated by Commerce in the five zone-based programs that this credit replaces.

Under the program, a business may apply to the Department of Commerce for certification to claim tax benefits.
Commerce may certify a business that conducts or intends to conduct at least one eligible activity. The eligible
activities include:

e Creating and maintaining, for a period of time established by Commerce, full-time jobs.

e Making a significant investment in new equipment, machinery, real property, or depreciable personal
property.

¢ Making significant investments in the training or reeducation of employees for the purpose of improving the
productivity or competitiveness of the business.

e Locating or retaining a corporate headquarters in Wisconsin, or retaining employees holding full-time jobs in
Wisconsin.

Commerce may authorize additional tax benefits for certified claimants if the claimant conducts at least one
eligible activity in an area designated by Commerce as economically distressed, or if the claimant creates, retains,
or trains members of certain targeted groups.*

Unused tax credit amounts may be carried forward up tol5 years to offset future tax income and franchise tax
liabilities.

% The provisions of 2009 Act 11 require the Department of Commerce to promulgate rules defining a Tier | and Tier Il
county. As of this writing, the rules have not been issued. Act 11 requires Commerce to consider the following in defining
Tier | and Tier II: unemployment rate, percentage of families with incomes below the poverty line, median family income,
median per capita income, and other significant or irregular indicators of economic distress, such as a natural disaster or
mass layoff.

4 “Member of a targeted group” means a person who resides in an area designated by the federal government as an
economic revitalization area, a person who is employed in an unsubsidized job but meets the eligibility requirements for
a Wisconsin Works employment position, a person who is employed in a trial job, as defined in s. 49.141 (1) (n), orin a
real work, real pay project position under s. 49.147 (3m), a person who is eligible for child care assistance, a person who
is a vocational rehabilitation referral, an economically disadvantaged youth, an economically disadvantaged veteran, a
supplemental security income recipient, a general assistance recipient, an economically disadvantaged ex-convict, a
dislocated worker, as defined in 29 USC 2801 (9), or a food stamp recipient, if the person has been certified in the
manner under 26 USC 51 (d) (13) (A) by a designated local agency, as defined in 26 USC 51 (d) (12).
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Jobs Tax Credit

2009 Act 28 created a refundable jobs tax credit for tax years beginning after December 31, 2009. In order to

claim the credit, a business would have to be certified by the Department of Commerce, which may certify a
business, for up to ten years. The credit would equal up to 10% of the wages paid to an eligible employee and/or
the amount of costs incurred to undertake training activities in a tax year. The Department of Commerce may
award jobs credits of up to 10% of wages of an employee who is paid at least $20,000 but not more than
$100,000 in a Tier | county or municipality, and of at least $30,000 but not more than $100,000 in a Tier Il county
or municipality.®

The Department of Commerce may allocate up to $5 million in jobs tax credits in a calendar year, except that the
maximum total amount that may be awarded in the period from January 1, 2010 through June 30, 2013 is $14.5
million. The $14.5 million limit does not apply to amounts transferred from the angel investment credit or the early
stage seed investment credit (see below). Amounts claimed in taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009
and before January 1, 2012 are to be paid in taxable years beginning after December 31, 2011.

Dairy and Livestock Farm Investment Credit

A nonrefundable credit is available for 10% of expenses to modernize or expand a dairy or livestock farm. Dairy
animals include heifers raised as replacement dairy animals. Livestock includes cattle (not including dairy
animals), swine, poultry including farm raised pheasants but not including other farm raised game birds or ratites,
fish that are raised in aquaculture facilities, sheep, and goats. The aggregate amount of credit that a taxpayer
may claim is $75,000 for expenses to construct, improve, and acquire buildings or facilities and equipment, for
dairy animal housing, confinement, feeding, milk production, and waste management, except that no more than
$50,000 may be based on expenses that are incurred prior to May 27, 2010. The credit may be claimed for dairy
farm modernization or expansion for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2003 and before January 1,
2012, and for livestock farm modernization or expansion for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2005 and
before January 1, 2012. Unused credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

Early Stage Seed Investment Credit

Effective for taxable years beginning after 2004, an early stage seed investment credit is available equal to 25%
of investments paid to a fund manager that invests the funds in qualified new business ventures that are certified
by the Department of Commerce. The credit may be claimed against the income and franchise tax as well as
against the insurance premiums tax. The maximum annual amount that may be claimed by all claimants is $5.5
million for calendar years beginning before January 1, 2010, and $6.6 million for calendar year 2010. For
calendar years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the maximum annual amount will increase to $20.0 million
for all claimants, plus an additional $250,000 per year for investments in nanotechnology businesses. If the
investment is held for less than three years, any previously claimed credits must be repaid to the Department of
Revenue. In addition, if the investor has invested in the business prior to the business being certified as a
qualified new business venture, investments after certification by this investor are not eligible for credit. Unused
credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a claimant may transfer unused credits to another entity.
The transferor is required to obtain prior authorization from the fund manager, and the fund manager is required
to notify the Departments of Revenue and Commerce.

To be qualified to receive investments that are eligible for the credit, a qualified new business venture must have
its headquarters in the state, have less than 100 employees, at least 51% of whom are employed in the state, and
have been in business for not more than seven consecutive years. A qualified new business venture must also
be engaged in one of the following: manufacturing, biotechnology, nanotechnology, communications, agriculture,
or clean energy creation or storage technology, processing or assembling products, including medical devices,
pharmaceuticals, computer software, computer hardware, semiconductors, any other innovative technology
products, or other products that are produced using manufacturing methods that are enabled by applying
proprietary technology, pre-commercialization activity related to proprietary technology that includes conducting
research, developing a new product or business process, or developing a service that is principally reliant on
applying proprietary technology.

® As of this writing, the rules defining a Tier | and Tier Il county have not been promulgated. See the criteria the
Department of Commerce must use in creating the definitions in footnote 7 under the Enterprise Zones Jobs Credit.
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The business may not be primarily engaged in real estate development, insurance, banking, lending, lobbying,
political consulting, professional services provided by attorneys, accountants, business consultants, physicians, or
health care consultants, wholesale or retail trade, leisure, hospitality, transportation, or construction, except
construction of power production plants that derive energy from a renewable resource.

The Department of Commerce may transfer any unallocated Early Stage Seed credits in any calendar year to the
Jobs Tax Credit.

Farmland Preservation Credit, 2010 and Beyond

Beginning in tax year 2010, a refundable per-acre farmland preservation credit is available under which a claimant
may claim as a credit against income and franchise taxes an amount calculated by multiplying the claimant's
qualifying acres by one of the following amounts:

e 310 if the qualifying acres are located in a farmland preservation zoning district and are also subject to a
farmland preservation agreement that is entered into after July 1, 2009;

e $7.50 if the qualifying acres are located in a farmland preservation zoning district but are not subject to a
farmland preservation agreement that is entered into after July 1, 2009; or

e 35 if the qualifying acres are subject to a farmland preservation agreement that is entered into after July 1,
2009 but are not located in a farmland preservation zoning district.

Insurance Security Fund Assessments

Chapter 646, Wisconsin Statutes, provides a credit against state taxes, including the corporate income and
franchise tax, for certain assessments levied on insurance companies by the Wisconsin Insurance Security Fund.
The fund is designed to protect policyholders in cases where their insurance company has failed and is in the
process of liquidation. Where the available assets and reserves of failed insurers are inadequate to meet claims,
the fund may assess insurance companies doing business in the state, with some exceptions (e.g., fraternal
benefit societies). Such assessments are eligible for a 100% tax credit if they cannot be recovered through higher
premiums. This can occur if premiums are fixed for a particular line of business. Credits claimed by foreign
insurance companies and domestic life companies would be offset against the premiums tax. Thus, the only
offsets against the income and franchise tax would be for credits claimed by domestic property and casualty
companies. The tax credit is nonrefundable and must be claimed in equal installments over a five-year period,
beginning with the year following the one in which the assessment is made.

Film Production Credits

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2008, two refundable credits related to expenditures for film
production in this state are available.

The film production services income and franchise tax credit is equal to 25% of the salary, wages, or labor-related
contract payments paid by the claimant in the taxable year to individuals, including actors, who were residents of
this state at the time that they were paid and who worked on an accredited production in this state, not including
the salary, wages, or contract payments paid to any individual who was paid more than $250,000. In addition, a
credit equal to 25% of the production expenditures paid in the taxable year is available. “Production expenditures”
mean any expenditures that are incurred in this state and directly used to produce an accredited production,
including expenditures for set construction and operation, wardrobes, make-up, photography, sound
recording/mixing, lighting, editing, film processing, speciallvisual effects, renting or leasing facilities, equipment or
motor vehicles, food, lodging, and any other similar expenditure as determined by the Department of Commerce.
“Production expenditures” do not include salary, wages, or labor-related contract payments.

The film production company investment credit is equal to 15% of the purchase price of depreciable, tangible
personal property, if the purchase is sourced to this state. In addition, a claimant may claim 15% of the amount
expended to acquire, construct, rehabilitate, remodel, or repair real property, if the production company
exclusively produces accredited productions.

To be certified for either credit, the production company must apply to the Department of Commerce and pay an
application fee equal to 2% of the claimant's budgeted production expenditures or $5,000, whichever is less.
Total film production services and investment credits are limited to $500,000 in a fiscal year for all claimants.
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Broadband Internet Equipment Exemption and Credit

The sales and use tax exemption and income tax credit created by 2005 Act 479 apply to the purchase of
“Internet equipment used in the broadband market.” This equipment is defined to be equipment that is capable of
transmitting data packets or Internet signals at speeds of at least 200 kilobytes per second in either direction. For
a purchaser of Internet equipment used in the broadband market to receive the sales and use tax exemption, the
purchaser must certify to the Department of Commerce, that the purchaser will, by July 1, 2009, make an
investment that is reasonably calculated to increase broadband Internet availability in Wisconsin and the
Department of Commerce must certify the purchaser as eligible for the exemption. The purchases cannot take
place before July 1, 2007, which is when the sales and use tax exemption takes effect.

For a purchaser of Internet equipment used in the broadband market to receive the income tax credit, the
purchaser must have claimed the sales and use tax exemption described above and must be certified by the
Department of Commerce as eligible for the tax credit. The credit may be claimed for two years beginning in the
taxable year after the taxable year in which the claimant claimed the sales and use tax exemption. The total
amount of sales and use tax exemptions and income tax credits may not exceed $7.5 million. Unused credit
amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan Assessments Credit

An income and franchise tax credit and a license fee credit are available to insurers that pay assessments for the
Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan (HIRSP). The credits apply to taxable years beginning after December 31,
2005. HIRSP offers health insurance coverage to individuals with adverse medical histories and to others who
cannot obtain affordable health insurance coverage from the private sector. HIRSP is funded by premiums paid
by participants, assessments paid by insurance companies, and a pro rata reduction in billed charges of health
care providers. The amount of the credit for all insurers cannot exceed $5 million per year. Unused credit
amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

Biodiesel Fuel Production Credit

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2015, a non-refundable credit is
available under the state individual income and corporate income and franchise taxes, equal to 10 cents per
gallon for biodiesel fuel produced, up to a maximum of 10 million gallons per year (maximum credit of $1 million)
for biodiesel fuel producers located in Wisconsin that produce at least 2.5 million gallons of biodiesel fuel per year.
There is no fiscal effect from this credit in fiscal year 2010, as it applies to tax years 2012 through 2014. Unused
credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

Dairy Manufacturing Facility Investment Credit

2007 Act 20 created a refundable Dairy Manufacturing Facility Investment credit that is equal to 10% of the
amount spent by the claimant during the taxable year for modernization or expansion of the claimant's dairy
manufacturing operation. "Dairy manufacturing” means processing milk into dairy products or processing dairy
products for sale commercially. The credit is limited to $200,000 per claimant for C-corporations and $200,000
per processing facility for S-corporations, partnerships, and limited liability companies. The credit is available for
tax years beginning after December 31, 2006, and before January 1, 2015. The maximum amount of credits that
may be claimed is limited to $600,000 for all claimants in fiscal year 2008 and $700,000 in fiscal years 2009
through 2014. The Department of Commerce allocates the credits.

Meat Processing Facility Investment Credit

2009 Act 2 created a refundable meat processing facility investment tax credit equal to 10% of the amount the
claimant paid in the tax year for meat processing modernization or expansion related to the claimant's meat
processing operation. The tax credit can be claimed for tax years beginning after December 31, 2008 and before
January 1, 2017. The maximum aggregate amount of meat processing facility investment tax credits that can be
claimed by a claimant in all years is $200,000. The total amount of tax credits that can be claimed is limited to
$300,000 in fiscal year 2010 and $700,000 in fiscal years 2011 and thereafter.

"Meat processing modernization or expansion" is defined as constructing, improving, or acquiring buildings or
facilities or acquiring equipment for meat processing if acquired and placed in service in this state during taxable
years that begin after December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2017.

The Department of Commerce must certify meat processors as eligible for the credit. The deadline for applying to
Commerce for the credit is March 15 of the year following the close of the tax year in which the investment is
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made. In the event that the total dollar amount of applications for the credit exceeds the annual limit, Commerce
will allocate the credit on a pro-rata basis to the applicants.

Electronic Medical Records Credit

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a non-refundable electronic medical records credit is
available. The credit is equal to 50% of the amount paid by a health care provider in a tax year for information
technology hardware or software that is used to maintain medical records in an electronic form. The maximum
total amount of electronic medical records tax credits that could be claimed in a tax year would be $10 million, and
this amount will be allocated to claimants by the Department of Commerce. The Department of Commerce will
certify claimants as eligible to receive the credit. Unused credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.
Because the credit is not available until tax year 2012, there is no fiscal effect in fiscal year 2010.

Ethanol and Biodiesel Fuel Pump Credit

2007 Act 20 created a non-refundable corporate income and franchise tax credit equal to 25% of the amount that
the claimant paid in the taxable year to install or retrofit pumps located in this state that dispense motor vehicle
fuel consisting of at least 85% ethanol or at least 20% biodiesel fuel or that mix fuels from separate storage tanks
and allow the end user to choose the percentage of gasoline replacement renewable fuel or diesel replacement
renewable fuel in the motor vehicle fuel dispensed. The credit is limited to $5,000 per retail service station that
claims a credit. The credit is available for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2007 and before January
1, 2018. Unused credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

Community Rehabilitation Program Credit

For tax years that begin on or after July 1, 2011, a non-refundable Community Rehabilitation Credit is available.
The credit is equal to 5% of the amount that the claimant pays in a taxable year to a community rehabilitation
program to perform work for the claimant's business. The maximum credit would be $25,000 for each contract
that a claimant enters into with a community rehabilitation program. Unused credits can be carried forward for 15
years to offset future tax liabilities. There is no fiscal effect in fiscal year 2010, as the credit is first available for tax
years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

Water Consumption Credit

A non-refundable credit is available for taxable years that begin after December 31, 2009 and before January 1,
2020 for claimants who are an industrial customer of a municipal water utility that is located in a federal renewal
community zone in this state, and whose average annual water consumption from that utility for a 24-month
period exceeds 100 million cubic feet. The credit is calculated by subtracting the claimant’s water usage costs in
taxable year 2009 from the claimant’s water usage costs in the taxable year and multiplying by 0.5. The
maximum amount that a claimant may claim in a taxable year is $300,000. Unused credit amounts may be
carried forward for 15 years.

Post-Secondary Education Credit

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, a non-refundable credit is available for businesses that
pay tuition for their employees at a qualified post-secondary institution if the individual was eligible for a grant from
the Federal Pell Grant Program and is a resident of this state. A qualified post-secondary institution is defined as
a University of Wisconsin System institution, a technical college system institution, a regionally-accredited four-
year non-profit college or university having its regional headquarters and principal place of business in this state,
or a school approved by the Educational Approval Board if the delivery of education occurs in this state. The
credit is equal 25% of the tuition paid, or 30% if the individual is enrolled in a course of instruction that relates to a
worker shortage in this state as determined by the local Workforce Development Board. The claimant shall claim
the credit in the taxable year in which the individual graduates for costs incurred or paid for all taxable years. A
claimant may not claim the credit for tuition amounts paid or incurred for a family member unless the family
member was employed an average of 20 hours per week at the claimant’s business in the one-year period
commencing participation in the education program, and if the family member is enrolled in a course of instruction
that substantially relates to the claimant’s business. Unused credit amounts may be carried forward for 15 years.

Woody Biomass Harvesting and Processing Equipment Credit

A refundable woody biomass harvesting and processing tax credit equal to 10% of the amount the claimant paid
in the tax year for equipment that is used primarily to harvest or process woody biomass that is used for fuel or as
a component of fuel is available for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009, and before January 1,
2016. “Woody biomass” is defined as trees and woody plants, including limbs, tops, needles, leaves, and other
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woody parts, grown in a forest or woodland or on agricultural land.

Claimants must be certified by the Department of Commerce as eligible to receive the credit, and the Department
of Commerce allocates credits among claimants. The maximum amount of credit that may be allocated in a year
is $900,000, and the maximum aggregate amount of credits that a claimant may claim for all tax years is
$100,000.

Food Processing Plant and Food Warehouse Investment Credit

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009 and before January 1, 2017 a refundable credit is available
for investments in modernization or expansion of food processing plants and food warehouses. “Food processing
plant or food warehouse modernization or expansion” is defined as constructing, improving, or acquiring buildings
or facilities, or acquiring equipment if used exclusively for food processing or food warehousing and if acquired
and placed in service in this state during taxable years that begin after December 31, 2009, and before January 1,
2017.

The maximum aggregate amount of credits that may be claimed by a claimant is $200,000 for all tax years.
Claimants must be certified by the Department of Commerce as eligible for the credit, and the claimant must
include a copy of the certification with the tax return when the credit is claimed. The Department of Commerce
allocates credits among claimants. The maximum amount that may be allocated is $1.0 million in fiscal year
2010, $1.2 million in fiscal year 2011, and $700,000 in fiscal years 2012 through 2017.

Beginning Farmer and Farm Asset Credit

Available for tax years beginning after December 31, 2010, the refundable beginning farmer tax credit would
equal the amount paid by the beginning farmer to enroll in a financial management program in the year to which
the claim related. An individual is a beginning farmer if they have:

(a) a net worth of less than $200,000;

(b) farmed for fewer than ten years out of the preceding 15 years;

(c) entered into a lease for a term of at least three years with an established farmer for the use of the established
farmer’s agricultural assets by the beginning farmer; and

(d) used the leased agricultural assets for farming.

The beginning farmer tax credit may be claimed on one-time basis, and the maximum credit that may be claimed
is $500.

The refundable farm asset owner tax credit is equal to 15% of the lease amount received by an established
farmer in the year to which the claim related. “Lease amount” is defined as the amount of the cash payment paid
by a beginning farmer to an established farmer each year for leasing the established farmer’s agricultural assets.
The credit may only be claimed for the first three years of any lease of the established farmer's assets to a
beginning farmer.
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RECYCLING SURCHARGE

Introduction

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2000, Wisconsin imposes a recycling surcharge on all non-
farm businesses with gross receipts of at least $4 million. The surcharge is imposed at a rate of 3% on gross tax
liability for corporations and 0.2% of net business income for non-corporate business entities. The maximum
surcharge is $9,800 and the minimum is $25. Non-corporate farms are exempt from the surcharge if their gross
receipts from farming are no more than $4 million; they pay a surcharge of $25 if not exempt. The surcharge does
not apply to entities not required to file an income tax return.

Revenues from the recycling surcharge are deposited in the segregated recycling fund and used to fund local
government recycling and solid waste management programs and private business efforts to develop recycled
products or markets related to these products. Collections for FY10 were $20.6 million.

TABLE 1
RECYCLING SURCHARGE EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY

Exemption Devices Statutory Reference* FY10 Fiscal Effect
Exemptions from Taxation
Exempt Corporations s 77.93 (1) Not available
Exempt Individuals, Estates, and Trusts s 77.93 (2) Not available
$4 Million Gross Receipts Exemption s 77.93 (1) and 77.94 (1)(b) $19,000,000"
Members of the Clergy and Certain Religious Groups | s 77.92 (5) Minimal
Special Treatment
$9,800 Surcharge Limit s 77.94 (1) $19,400,000"
Exclusion of Farming Income from Surcharge s 77.92 (4) Minimal
Calculation

* References to sections of the 2007 Wisconsin Statutes.
1. Data is from State Fiscal Year 2008, the most recent data available.

EXEMPTIONS FROM TAXATION
Exempt Corporations

Corporations that are exempt from the corporate income and franchise tax under sec. 71.26 (1), Wis. Stats., and
that have no unrelated business income reportable under sec. 71.24 (1m), Wis. Stats., are exempt from the
surcharge. This exemption includes primarily governmental and not-for-profit entities, and cooperative
associations and cooperative corporations.

Exempt Individuals, Estates, and Trusts

Only persons who file a form indicating a profit or loss from a trade or business for federal income tax purposes are
subject to the recycling surcharge. The surcharge does not apply to natural persons, estates or trusts that are not
required to file a return because their non-business income is less than the filing requirements under Subchapter |
or Il of Chapter 71, Wis. Stats. In addition, persons who are not employees as defined in section 3121 (d)(3) of the
Internal Revenue Code are exempt from the surcharge.

$4 Million Gross Receipts Exemption

Businesses with less than $4 million of gross receipts are exempt from the surcharge. The fiscal effect relates to
the amount of recycling surcharge that would be collected if businesses with less than $4 million in gross receipts
were subject to the surcharge. Of the total $19.0 million fiscal effect of this exemption, $1.2 million is attributable to
filers with only farm receipts who would be required to pay the minimum surcharge absent the gross receipts
threshold.

Members of the Clergy and Certain Religious Groups

Members of the clergy and members of certain recognized religious groups who perform services or duties as
defined by section 1402(c)(4) and (5) of the Internal Revenue Code are exempt from the surcharge.
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SPECIAL TREATMENT
$9,800 Surcharge Limit

The maximum surcharge that any taxpayer is required to pay is $9,800. This is considered an exemption device
because the amount of surcharge that is collected is less than it would be had the surcharge been collected under
the existing rates without the maximum. The fiscal effect relates to the additional amount of recycling surcharge
that would be collected if the limit was removed.

Exclusion of Farming Income from Surcharge Calculation

For all non-corporate taxpayers, net profit or loss from farming is excluded from net business income in computing
the recycling surcharge. However, a natural person, estate, trust, partnership, or limited liability company that is
engaged exclusively in farming and has more than $4 million in gross receipts would still subject to the recycling
surcharge. In these cases, the surcharge would be the minimum $25. In addition, any non-corporate business
engaged in farming as well as one or more other non-farming business with gross receipts from all sources of $4
million or more would also pay the $25 minimum as long as its non-farming net income is $12,500 or less. The
fiscal effect of this provision is minimal because there are few non-corporate farms with gross receipts greater than
$4 million.
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SALES AND USE TAX

Introduction

Wisconsin imposes a 5% tax on the sale or use of most items of tangible personal property and on the sale of
selected services. The state first imposed a 3% selective sales and use tax in 1962 but replaced it with a 4%
general sales and use tax in 1969. The current 5% rate has been in effect since 1982.

The original 3% tax was selective in that goods subject to the tax were specifically identified in the statutes:
household furnishings, motor vehicles, jewelry, tobacco, fermented malt beverages, intoxicating liquors and
food sold in restaurants were taxable. The general tax imposed in 1969, in contrast to the selective tax, falls
on sales of all tangible personal property, except property specifically exempted by law. The sales tax remains
selective in its treatment of services, imposed only on those services the law enumerates as taxable.

Numerous changes to the sales tax base have been made over the years. Exemptions are discussed in detail
in the latter half of this chapter and estimates of fiscal effects are provided. Expansions of the sales and use
tax base include:

o Cigarettes (1975);

e Cable television, including installation (1975);

¢ Interstate telephone and telegraph services, and landscaping and lawn maintenance services (1982);
e Magazines other than those sold by subscription (1983);

e Telephone company central office equipment and coin-operated telephone services (1996);

e Telephone answering and messaging services, and telecommunications services terminating in and billed
to a service address in the state (1997).

» Digital goods, including non-permanent goods regardless of whether the purchaser is required to make
continued payments for usage (2009).

The 5% sales tax is imposed on retailers for the privilege of selling, leasing or renting tangible personal
property that is not specifically exempt from tax. In addition, a 5% use tax is imposed on the storage, use or
other consumption in this state of tangible personal property that is purchased out-of-state and is not
specifically exempt. The use tax complements the sales tax in that, without a use tax, consumers would be
able to avoid sales tax by purchasing goods out-of-state. Thus, the use tax ensures that the sales tax does
not place Wisconsin merchants at a competitive disadvantage compared with those in other states.

Taxable Services

The law imposes a sales tax on selected services. Unlike tangible personal property, sales of which are
taxable unless specifically exempt, services are not subject to the sales tax unless enumerated in the statutes.
The following services are taxable:

e Rooms or lodging for less than one-month by hotelkeepers, motel operators and other persons furnishing
accommodations to the public.

e Admissions to amusement, athletic, entertainment or recreational events or places. Admissions to places
or events that are educational in nature, such as museums or zoos, and admissions to county fairs are
exempt from sales tax.

e Laundry, dry cleaning, pressing and dyeing services, except when performed on raw materials or goods in
process destined for sales, except when performed on cloth diapers by a diaper service, and except when
performed by the customer through the use of coin-operated, self-service machines.

e Cable television services, including installation charges.
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e Internet access, prepaid calling, telecommunications, and ancillary services, if the service takes place in
Wisconsin

e Photographic services, including the processing, printing and enlarging of film, and the services of
photographers for the taking, reproducing and sale of photographs.

e Parking or providing parking space for motor vehicles and aircraft, and docking or providing storage space
for boats.

e The repair, inspection and maintenance of tangible personal property, and the installation of tangible
personal property, except when such installation constitutes a capital improvement to real property.

e The production, printing or imprinting of tangible personal property for consumers who furnish directly or
indirectly the materials used in such processes.

e Landscaping and lawn maintenance services.
e Towing and hauling of motor vehicles.
Local Taxes

The law allows counties and a professional football stadium district to impose a 0.5% local sales and use tax
and a professional baseball park district to impose a 0.1% sales and use tax. These local taxes are imposed
on the same tax base as the state sales and use tax. As of January 1, 2011, 62 counties impose the 0.5%
county sales and use tax.

The Southeast Wisconsin Professional Baseball Park District imposed a 0.1% sales tax in Milwaukee,
Ozaukee, Racine, Washington and Waukesha Counties in 1996. Proceeds from this tax are used to finance
Miller Park, the Milwaukee Brewers' home field. This tax will be discontinued upon retirement of the bonds
issued to finance the ballpark and the funding of a maintenance and capital improvement fund for the ballpark.

The Green Bay-Brown County Professional Football Stadium District imposed a 0.5% sales tax in Brown
County in 2000 to finance the renovation of Lambeau Field. This tax will be discontinued upon retirement of
the bonds issued to finance the stadium and the funding of a maintenance and capital improvement fund for
the stadium.

While current law allows, if certain conditions are met, for several Regional Transit Authorities (RTA) to impose
a 0.5% sales tax within their jurisdictions, no RTA sales taxes has been imposed as of December 2010.
Statutory frameworks have been established for potential Dane County, Chippewa Valley, and Chequamegon
Bay RTA sales taxes.

Table 1 (on the following page) lists the state's 72 counties, the local sales taxes applicable in each county, the
effective date of the county sales tax, and the combined state and local sales tax rate.

Administration and Collections

Sales tax is imposed on the gross receipts from retail sales; use tax is imposed on the amount paid for a
product that is subject to sales tax but for which the seller does not collect sales tax. Each retailer is
responsible for paying sales tax, regardless of whether it is identified on the bill and collected directly from the
customer. Every business that makes taxable sales is required to obtain a seller's permit from the department
and pay a $20 business tax registration fee.

Retailers are permitted to retain a portion of the taxes they collect as compensation for the costs they incur in
collecting the tax. Since 1997 the retailer’s discount has been 0.5% of the amount of tax liability if taxes are
paid timely, with a minimum discount of $10 per filing period. Under 2009 Act 28, the retailer’s discount was
capped at $1,000 per filing period.

In contrast to the sales tax which is paid by the seller, use tax is paid by the purchaser. Corporations may file
a use tax return or report use tax on their corporate income and franchise tax returns. Private individuals
typically report their use tax liability on their individual income tax returns.
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Collections of sales and use taxes have increased as the economy has grown. In addition, since its creation in
1962 at 3%, the state sales tax has been increased twice (to 4% in 1969 and to 5% in 1982) and the tax has
been converted from a selective to a general sales tax. Collections increased from $83 million in FY65 to $3.9
billion in FY10. Sales and use taxes provided 14% of general purpose tax revenues in FY65, but that share
had increased to 33% in FY10.

TABLE 1

LOCAL SALES AND USE TAXES AND COMBINED STATE-LOCAL TAX RATE BY COUNTY
JANUARY 1, 2011

Combined Combined
County Sales Tax | State-Local County Sales Tax State-
County (Effective Date) Tax Rate County (Effective Date) Local
Tax Rate

Adams 1/1/1994 5.50% | Marathon 4/1/1987 5.50%
Ashland 4/1/1988 5.50% | Marinette 10/1/2001 5.50%
Barron 4/1/1986 5.50% | Marquette 4/1/1989 5.50%
Bayfield 4/1/1991 5.50% | Menominee 5.00%
Brown (FB) 5.50% | Milwaukee (BB) 4/1/1991 5.60%
Buffalo 4/1/1987 5.50% | Monroe 4/1/1990 5.50%
Burnett 4/1/1989 5.50% | Oconto 7/1/1994 5.50%
Calumet 5.00% | Oneida 4/1/1987 5.50%
Chippewa 4/1/1991 5.50% | Outagamie 5.00%
Clark 1/1/2009 5.50% | Ozaukee (BB) 4/1/1991 5.60%
Columbia 4/1/1989 5.50% | Pepin 4/1/1991 5.50%
Crawford 4/1/1991 5.50% | Pierce 4/1/1988 5.50%
Dane 4/1/1991 5.50% | Polk 4/1/1988 5.50%
Dodge 4/1/1994 5.50% | Portage 4/1/1989 5.50%
Door 4/1/1988 5.50% | Price 1/1/1993 5.50%
Douglas 4/1/1991 5.50% | Racine (BB) 5.10%
Dunn 4/1/1986 5.50% | Richland 4/1/1989 5.50%
Eau Claire 1/1/1999 5.50% | Rock 4/1/2007 5.50%
Florence 7/1/2006 5.50% | Rusk 4/1/1987 5.50%
Fond du Lac 4/1/2010 5.50% | St. Croix 4/1/1987 5.50%
Forest 4/1/1995 5.50% | Sauk 4/1/1992 5.50%
Grant 4/1/2002 5.50% | Sawyer 4/1/1987 5.50%
Green 1/1/2003 5.50% | Shawano 4/1/1990 5.50%
Green Lake 7/1/1999 5.50% | Sheboygan 5.00%
lowa 4/1/1987 5.50% | Taylor 7/1/1999 5.50%
Iron 4/1/1991 5.50% | Trempealeau 10/1/1995 5.50%
Jackson 4/1/1987 5.50% | Vernon 1/1/1997 5.50%
Jefferson 4/1/1991 5.50% | Vilas 4/1/1988 5.50%
Juneau 4/1/1992 5.50% | Walworth 4/1/1987 5.50%
Kenosha 4/1/1991 5.50% | Washburn 4/1/1991 5.50%
Kewaunee 5.00% | Washington (BB) 1/1/1999 5.60%
La Crosse 4/1/1990 5.50% | Waukesha (BB) 5.10%
Lafayette 4/1/2001 5.50% | Waupaca 4/1/1989 5.50%
Langlade 4/1/1988 5.50% | Waushara 4/1/1990 5.50%
Lincoln 4/1/1987 5.50% | Winnebago 5.00%
Manitowoc 5.00% | Wood 1/1/2004 5.50%

Calculations of Exemptions

FB indicates 0.5% football stadium tax imposed 11/1/00.
BB indicates 0.1% baseball park tax imposed 1/1/96.

This report describes each sales tax exemption and, where feasible, provides an estimate of its fiscal effect in
FY10. Fiscal effects are shown for the state's revenue loss only. The reduction to local sales tax collections is
not included. In general, fiscal effects were estimated by obtaining or estimating the gross receipts from retail
sales for the most recent year available and adjusting those receipts to FY10 levels using income and price
data. When possible, estimates are based on data specific to Wisconsin obtained from state and federal

agencies and trade organizations with statewide membership or information.

For some exemptions, state-
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specific data are not available; and the fiscal effects of these exemptions were estimated from national sales
data using Wisconsin’s percentage of the nation's population, personal income or a similar indicator. For
some exemptions, no data on which to base an estimate are available. For others, no estimate is made
because the state is precluded from taxing the sale; (for example, sales to the federal government are exempt

from state tax under the U.S. Constitution).

The significance of these exemptions may be viewed from the perspective of actual sales and use tax
collections, which were $3.9 billion in FY10. The exemption of “food and food ingredients”, which is estimated
to cost $533.8 million in foregone tax revenues, represents approximately 14% of sales and use tax

collections.

Table 2 below summarizes the estimated revenue foregone by sales tax exemptions for certain goods, as
specified by statute. A description of each exemption follows the table.

TABLE 2

SALES AND USE TAX EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY

Exemption

Statutory Reference*

FY10 Fiscal Effect

Exemptions for Property Sold Primarily to Households

Food and Food Ingredients (not including bottled water) Sec. 77.54 (20n) (a) 533,800,000

Bottled Water Sec. 77.54 (20n) (a) 13,600,000

Meals Furnished by Institutions of Higher Education Sec. 77.54 (20n) (c) 1 5,600,000

Water Sold Through Mains Sec. 77.54 (17) 22,300,000

Fuel and Electricity for Residential Use Sec. 77.54 (30) (a) 1. and 2. 136,700,000

Biomass, as defined in s. 196.378 (1) (ar), that is used for fuel Sec. 77.54 (30) (a) 1m Minimal

sold for residential use.

Manufactured Homes Used as Primary Housing Sec. 77.54 (31) and 77.51 300,000
(22m) (b) 7.

Motor Fuels Sec. 77.54 (11) 434,300,000

Newspapers, Periodicals and Shoppers Guides Sec. 77.54 (15) 18,200,000

Caskets and Burial Vaults Sec. 77.54 (21) 4,300,000

U.S. and State of Wisconsin Flags Sec. 77.54 (46) Minimal

Coin-Operated Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Sec. 77.52 (2) (a) 6. 1,500,000

Diaper Services Sec. 77.52 (2) (a) 6 Minimal

Gun Club Admissions and Membership Fees Sec. 77.52 (2) (a) 2. b. Unavailable

Exemptions Related to Health Care

Prescription Drugs and Medicines (excluding Insulin) Sec. 77.54 (14) 135,600,000

Insulin and Equipment Used in the Treatment and Testing of Sec. 77.54 (14m) and (28) 13,900,000

Diabetes

Medical Devices (inc. Wheelchairs, Home Oxygen Equipment) Sec. 77.54 (22b) 14,800,000

Meals Provided by Nursing Homes, Community-Based Sec. 77.54 (20n)(b) Not Available

Residential Facilities and Hospitals, Licensed Child-Care

Facilities and Food Sold in Retirement Homes

Exemptions Related to Farming

Tractors and Farm Machinery Sec. 77.54 (3) (a) 35,500,000

Personal Property and Supplies Used in Farming Sec. 77.54 (3m) 187,600,000

Electricity Used in Farming Sec. 77.54 (30) (a) 3. 6,900,000

Fuel Used in Farming Sec. 77.54 (30) (a) 5. 22,000,000

Veterinary Services and Medicines for Farm Livestock Sec. 77.52 (2) (a) 10. and 8,000,000
77.54 (33)

Semen for Livestock Breeding Sec. 77.54 (27) 3,400,000

Exemptions Related to General Business

Machinery and Equipment Used in Manufacturing Sec. 77.54 (5) (d) and (6) 190,800,000
(a)

Fuel and Electricity Used in Manufacturing Sec. 77.54 (30) (a) 6. 87,000,000

Tangible Personal Property Consumed in Manufacturing Sec. 77.54 (2) Not Available
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Exemption Statutory Reference* FY10 Fiscal Effect

Exemptions Related to General Business, continued

Component Parts of Shoppers Guides, Newspapers and Sec. 77.54 (2m) Not Available

Periodicals

Catalogs and Catalog Envelopes Sec. 77.52 (2) 11., 77.54 2,400,000
(25) and 77.54(25m)

Fuels Converted to Electric Energy, Gas or Steam by Utilities Sec. 77.54 (6) (c) Not Available

Waste Treatment Facilities and Machinery and Equipment Used | Sec. 77.54 (5) (c), (26) and Not Available

in Recycling (26m)

Logging Equipment Sec. 77.54 (39) 590,000

Equipment Used in the Production of Maple Syrup Sec. 77.54 (29) Minimal

Wood Residue Used as Fuel in a Business Activity Sec. 77.54 (30) (a) 4. 140,000

Building Materials, Equipment and Supplies Used in the Sec. 77.54 (41) Not Available

Construction of Professional Sports Stadiums

Live Game Birds and Clay Pigeons Sec. 77.54 (47) 200,000

Trucks, Tractors, Buses and Other Vehicles Sold to Common or | Sec. 77.54 (5) (b) 26,800,000

Contract Carriers

Rolling Stock Used in Railroad Operations Sec. 77.54 (12) 2,600,000

Commercial Vessels and Barges Sec. 77.54 (13) Minimal

Fuel Used by Chartered Fishing Vessels Sec. 77.54 (30 (a) 7 Minimal

Containers, Labels, Sacks, Cans, Boxes and Other Packaging Sec. 77.54 (6) (b) Not Available

and Shipping Materials

Motion Picture and TV Film and Advertising Materials Sec. 77.54 (23m) 15,000,000

Restaurant Employee Meals Sec. 77.54 (20r) Not Available

Tangible Personal Property Purchased for Resale but Donated Sec. 77.56 (3) Not Available

to a Nonprofit Organization

Prepaid Telephone Cards and Authorization Numbers Sec. 77.54 (46m) Minimal

Biotechnology and Manufacturing Research Sec. 77.54 (57) -0-
Effective 1/1/12

Alternative Energy Producing Products Sec. 77.54 (56) (a) -0-
Effective 7/1/11

Electricity produced by alternative energy sources Sec. 77.54 (56) (b) -0-
Effective 7/1/11

Sales to Affiliated Companies Sec. 77.54 (49) Not Available

Exemptions for Government Agencies and Nonprofit

Organizations

Sales to the Federal Government and Its Agencies Sec. 77.55 (1) Not Available

Sales to State and Local Governments and Schools Sec. 77.54 (9a) (a)-(em), (g) 326,800,000
and (h)

Religious, Charitable, Scientific and Educational Organizations Sec. 77.54 (9a)(f) 142,100,000

Lunches and Other Tangible Personal Property Sold by Sec. 77.54 (4) 10,600,000

Elementary and Secondary Schools

Admissions to Elementary and Secondary School Activities Sec. 77.54 (9) 1,100,000

Admissions to State Parks and Camping Fees Sec. 77.54 (10) 860,000

Admissions to Certain Historical Museums Sec. 77.54 (10) 26,000

Admissions to County Fairs Sec. 77.52 (2) (a) 2. Not Available

Volunteer Fire Department Equipment Sec. 77.54 (16) Minimal

Copies of Public Records Sec. 77.54 (32) Minimal

Sales by American Legion Baseball Teams Sec. 77.54 (35) Not Available

Snowmobile Trail Grooming Equipment Sec. 77.54 (38) Minimal

Police and Fire Protection Fees Sec. 77.54 (55) 2,300,000

Sales of Animal Identification Tags and Samples by the Sec. 77.54 (42) Minimal

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Public Benefits Fees Sec. 77.54 (44) 4,700,000
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Exemption

Statutory Reference*

FY10 Fiscal Effect

Exemptions for Government Agencies and Nonprofit
Organizations, continued

One-time License or Right to Purchase Admissions to Sec. 77.54 (45) Minimal
Professional Football Games

Motor Vehicles Loaned to Driver Education Programs Sec. 77.56 (2) Minimal
Non-profit Cemetery Associations Sec. 77.54 (9a) (i) 150,000
Home Exchange Services Sec. 77.54 (54) Minimal
Exemptions for Nonresidents and for Use in Other States

Interstate Commerce Sec. 77.54 (1) Not available
Property Used in Wisconsin by Nonresidents Sec. 77.53 (17) Not available
Nonresidents' Boats Berthed in Boundary Waters Sec. 77.53 (17m) Not available
Nonresidents' Aircraft Hangared in Wisconsin Sec. 77.53 (17r) Not available
Goods Brought into the State by New Residents Sec. 77.53 (18) Not available
Property Purchased for Use Outside the State Sec. 77.55 (3) Not available
Aircraft, Motor Vehicles and Truck Bodies Sold for Use Outside Sec. 77.54 (5)(a) Not available
the State

Property Sold to Out-of-State Common or Contract Carriers Sec. 77.55 (2) and (2m) Not available
Printed Advertising Material Used Outside the State Sec. 77.54 (25) Not available
Temporary Storage of Printed Materials Sec. 77.54 (43) Not available

Definitional and Miscellaneous Exemptions
Exemptions That Further Define Retail Sales
Labor Input into Construction

Trade-Ins and Lemon Law Refunds
Transportation Charges
Certain Occasional Sales

Auction Sales
Retailer's Discount

See text
Sec. 77.51 (4) (c¢) 4. and
77.52 (2) (a) 10.

Sec. 77.51 (4) (a) 3., (b) 3m.

and (15) (b) 4m.

Sec. 77.51 (4) (b) 5. and
(15)(b) 3.

Sec. 77.54 (7) and (7m)
Sec. 77.51 (9) (e)

Sec. 77.61 (4) (c)

Not available
459,000,000

94,500,000
Not available
Not available

Not available
17,800,000

EXEMPTIONS FOR PROPERTY SOLD PRIMARILY TO HOUSEHOLDS

Food and Food Ingredients

The sales price from the sale of and the storage, use, or other consumption of food and food ingredients, except
candy, soft drinks, dietary supplements, and prepared food are exempt from the sales tax. Sales of food, food
products and beverages from vending machines are treated as exempt sales for home consumption. Food for
direct consumption on the premises, such as meals sold in restaurants, cafes and cafeterias, is taxable.

Bottled Water

Bottled water is included in the definition of food and food ingredients, and consequently, is exempt from the

sales tax.

Meals Furnished by Institutions of Higher Education

Sales of meals, food and beverages furnished by public and private institutions of higher education are exempt
from sales tax if they are furnished to students enrolled in that institution or under an agreement with a

National Football League team.
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Water Sold Through Mains

Sales of water delivered through mains, and sales of water by public and private water utility districts are
exempt from the sales tax.

Fuel and Electricity for Residential Use

All sales for residential use of coal, fuel oil, propane, steam, peat, fuel cubes produced from solid waste and
sales of wood used for fuel for residential use are exempt from sales tax. Sales of electricity and natural gas for
residential use billed from November through April are also exempt from sales tax.

Biomass Used for Residential Fuel

Sales of biomass used for residential fuel are exempt from sales tax. Biomass includes fuel derived from wood
or plant material but does not include industrial, commercial, or household waste.

Manufactured Homes

Thirty-five percent of the total amount for which a new manufactured home is sold, if the manufactured home is
used as a dwelling and is certified by the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development, is exempt
from sales tax.

Motor Fuels

Sales of motor fuels that are subject to the state motor fuel excise tax are exempt from the sales tax. Exempt
fuels include gasoline, commercial and general aviation fuel and diesel fuel.

Newspapers, Periodicals and Shoppers Guides

Sales of newspapers, periodicals sold by subscription, and shoppers’ guides that distribute at least 48 issues in
a 12-month period are exempt from sales tax. The exemption for newspapers and periodicals is generally
limited to those published four or more times per year. Periodicals issued at intervals not exceeding six months
by an educational association or tax-exempt religious, charitable, scientific or educational organization are also
exempt.

Caskets and Burial Vaults

Sales of caskets and burial vaults are exempt from sales tax.

United States of America and State of Wisconsin Flags
Sales of U.S. and Wisconsin flags are exempt from sales tax.
Coin-Operated Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services
Laundry services performed by customers using coin-operated equipment are exempt. Gross receipts from
laundry, dry cleaning, pressing and dyeing services performed on raw materials in process and destined for
sale are also exempt.
Diaper Services
Gross receipts from the sale or rental of cloth diaper services are exempt.
Gun Club Admissions and Memberships
Sales of admissions, including memberships, by a gun club are exempt if the gun club is a nonprofit
organization and if the gun club provides safety classes approved by the Department of Natural Resources to

at least 25 individuals in the calendar year. Gun clubs include trapshooting, skeet-shooting, sporting-clay,
hunting, rod and gun, hunting and fishing, and conservation clubs.
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EXEMPTIONS RELATED TO HEALTH CARE
Prescription Drugs and Medicines

Sales of medicines are exempt from sales and use tax if the medicines are: (1) prescribed for treatment by an
authorized person or dispensed by a registered pharmacist; (2) furnished by a licensed physician, surgeon,
podiatrist or dentist to his own patient; (3) furnished by a hospital for treatment of patients on the orders of a
licensed physician, surgeon, podiatrist or dentist; (4) sold to a licensed physician, surgeon, podiatrist or dentist
for treatment of patients; (5) sold to this state or a political subdivision or any municipal corporation thereof for
use in treatment of human beings or furnished by a medical facility maintained by the state; (6) furnished for
the treatment of a human being by a medical facility or clinic maintained by the state or a political subdivision
or any municipal corporation thereof, or (7) furnished without charge to a physician, surgeon, nurse
anesthetist, advanced practical nurse, osteopath, dentist, podiatrist or optometrist if the medicine may not be
dispensed without a prescription.

Insulin and Equipment Used in the Treatment and Testing of Diabetes

Insulin and apparatus used for the injection of insulin, other equipment used to treat diabetes, and equipment
and supplies used to measure blood sugar levels are exempt from the sales tax.

Medical Devices

Medical devices, including repair parts and accessories, are exempt from sales tax. Exempt devices include
wheelchairs and crutches; artificial limbs, eyes and teeth; prescription eye glasses; hearing aids; equipment
used to administer prescription oxygen for home use; and adaptive equipment to enable a handicapped
person to enter, operate and leave a motor vehicle.

Meals Provided by Nursing Homes, Community-Based Residential Facilities, Licensed Childcare
Facilities and Hospitals, and Food Sold in Retirement Homes

Sales of meals and food and food ingredients, except soft drinks, by and served on the premises of hospitals,
sanatoriums, nursing homes, community-based residential facilities, licensed child care faculties and
retirement homes are exempt from the sales tax. Retirement homes are nonprofit residential facilities where
three or more unrelated adults or their spouses have their principal residence and where support services,
including meals from a common kitchen, are available to residents.

EXEMPTIONS RELATED TO FARMING

Tractors and Farm Machinery

Sales of tractors and farm machinery, including accessories, attachments, and parts, used directly in farming
are exempt from sales tax. The exemption does not apply to motor vehicles for highway use, such as cars
and trucks. In 2007, the exemption was expanded to include sales of tangible personal property that is used
exclusively and directly, or is consumed or loses its identity, in the business of agriculture or silviculture.
Personal Property and Supplies Used in Farming

Sales of seeds; plants; feed; fertilizer; soil conditioners; animal bedding; sprays, pesticides, and fungicides;
breeding and other livestock; farm work stock; baling twine and baling wire; containers; and plastic bags,
sleeves, and sheeting used to store or cover hay or silage are exempt from sales tax.

Electricity Used in Farming

Electricity sold for use in farming is exempt from sales tax.

Fuel Used in Farming

Fuel sold for use in farming is exempt from sales tax.
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Veterinary Services and Medicines for Farm Livestock

Sales of services provided by veterinarians for animal health care, breeding or training of livestock, and sales
of medicines used to treat farm livestock, are exempt from sales tax.

Semen for Livestock Breeding

The sale of semen used for the artificial insemination of livestock is exempt from sales tax.

EXEMPTIONS RELATED TO GENERAL BUSINESS
Machinery and Equipment Used in Manufacturing

The sale and use of machines and specific processing equipment and repair parts used exclusively and
directly by a manufacturer in the manufacturing process are exempt from sales tax. Generally, manufacturing
is defined as the production by machinery from existing materials of a new article of tangible personal property
with a different form, use or name. Mobile mixing and processing units, including the vehicles on which they
are mounted, are also exempt manufacturing machinery and equipment.

Fuel and Electricity Used in Manufacturing
Fuel and electricity used in manufacturing tangible personal property are exempt from sales and use tax.
Tangible Personal Property Consumed in Manufacturing

Tangible personal property, typically raw materials and other inputs, that is consumed, destroyed or loses its
identity in manufacture of finished goods is exempt from sales tax.

Component Parts of Shoppers Guides, Newspapers and Periodicals

Materials and services that become component parts of shoppers' guides, newspapers and periodicals are
exempt from sales tax.

Catalogs and Catalog Envelopes

Catalogs and the envelopes in which catalogs are mailed are exempt from the sales tax if the catalogs are
designed to advertise and promote the sale of merchandise or to advertise the services of individual
businesses.

Fuels Converted to Electric Energy, Gas or Steam by a Utility
Fuels converted to electric energy, gas or steam by a utility are exempt from sales tax.
Waste Treatment Facilities and Machinery and Equipment Used in Recycling

Sales and installation of waste treatment facilities, replacement parts, and chemicals and supplies used in
operating a waste treatment facility are exempt from the sales tax. The exemption applies to expenditures by
governmental units, private industry and their construction contractors for sewage treatment plants, holding
ponds and similar facilities. The sale and use of machinery and equipment and repair parts used exclusively
and directly for waste reduction or recycling activities are exempt. Also exempt are motor vehicles used
exclusively and directly in recycling that are not required to be licensed for highway use. The activities
qualifying for the exemption include those that reduce the amount of solid waste generated, recover energy
from solid waste, and reuse, recycle, or compost solid waste. Some recycling machinery is also exempt as
manufacturing machinery.

Logging Equipment

Off-highway, heavy mechanical equipment used in the harvesting or processing of raw timber products in the
field by loggers is exempt from sales tax.
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Equipment Used in the Production of Maple Syrup
Equipment used in the production of maple syrup is exempt from sales tax.
Wood Residue Used as Fuel in a Business Activity

The sale of residue from the harvesting of timber for use as a fuel in a business activity is exempt from sales
tax.

Building Materials, Equipment and Supplies Used in the Construction of Professional Sports Stadiums
Sales of building materials, equipment and supplies used solely in the construction of a sports stadium built or
used by a professional sports team are exempt from the sales tax. This exemption applies to the Miller Park
constructed by the Southeast Wisconsin Professional Baseball Park District and to Lambeau Field constructed
by the Green Bay-Brown County Professional Football Stadium District.

Live Game Birds and Clay Pigeons

Sales of live game birds and clay pigeons to licensed bird hunting preserves are exempt. Also exempt are
sales of clay pigeons to a shooting facility if the shooting facility pays sales tax on its charges for shooting or
the shooting facility is a nonprofit organization whose charges for shooting are exempt occasional sales or if
the charges pertain to a nonprofit gun club providing safety classes to at least 25 individuals annually.

Trucks, Tractors, Buses and Other Vehicles Sold to Common or Contract Carriers

Sales of trucks, truck tractors, buses, trailers and semi-trailers and accessories, parts and supplies sold to
common or contract carriers are exempt from sales tax. This exemption applies to urban mass transportation,
bus and trucking companies, and other contract carriers.

Rolling Stock Used in Railroad Operations

Sales of locomotives, freight cars, and other rolling stock as well as accessories, attachments and fuel and
lubricants used in railroad operations are exempt from sales tax.

Commercial Vessels and Barges

Sales, storage, use or other consumption of commercial vessels and barges in excess of 50 tons and primarily
engaged in interstate or foreign commerce or commercial fishing are exempt from sales tax. Accessories,
parts and fuel for these vessels are also exempt from sales tax.

Fuel Used by Chartered Commercial fishing Vessels

Fuel sold for use in licensed charter fishing boats is exempt from the sales tax.

Containers, Labels, Sacks, Cans, Boxes and Other Packaging and Shipping Materials

Sales of containers, labels, sacks, cans, boxes and other packing, packaging and shipping materials, if such
materials are used to transfer merchandise to customers, are exempt from sales tax. Packing, packaging and
shipping materials, including meat casings, for use in meat packing, packaging or shipping meat are exempt
from sales tax regardless of whether such materials are used to transfer merchandise to customers.

Motion Picture and TV Film and Advertising Materials

The sale, lease or rental, or storage, use or other consumption of motion picture films and of advertising
material sold, leased or rented to movie theaters or radio or television stations is exempt from sales tax.

Restaurant Employee Meals

Meals that are provided by a restaurant to the restaurant's employee during the employee’'s work hours are
exempt from sales tax.
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Tangible Personal Property Purchased for Resale but Donated to a Nonprofit Organization

Property purchased tax-free for resale or under a valid exemption certificate and later donated to a nonprofit
organization is exempt from use tax.

Prepaid Telephone Cards and Authorization Numbers

Services obtained by the use of a prepaid telephone card or authorization number are exempt from sales tax if
sales tax was paid on the card or authorization number at the time it was purchased.

Biotechnology and Manufacturing Research

Machinery and equipment, tangible personal property, and specific processing equipment sold to persons who
are engaged primarily in manufacturing or biotechnology in Wisconsin and are used exclusively and directly in
qualified research are exempt from sales tax.

Certain Products Using Alternative Energy, Including Methane

Beginning July 1, 2011, certain products whose power source is wind energy, direct radiant energy received
from the sun, or gas generated from anaerobic digestion of animal manure and other agricultural waste are
exempt from the sales tax. Electricity or energy produced by these products is also exempt from the sales tax.

Sales to Affiliated Companies

Sales of taxable services and tangible personal property that is physically transferred to the purchaser are
exempt from the sales tax if the seller and purchaser of such services and property are of the same affiliated
group under the Internal Revenue Code and are eligible to file a consolidated federal income tax return.

EXEMPTIONS FOR GOVERNMENT AGENCIES AND NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS
Sales to the Federal Government and Its Agencies

Sales of goods and services to the federal government or to any of its incorporated or unincorporated
agencies or instrumentalities are exempt from sales tax. Taxing purchases by the federal government would
violate the U.S. Constitution.

Sales to State and Local Governments and Schools

Sales of tangible personal property and taxable services to the state or any of its agencies are exempt. Also
exempt are sales to the University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics Authority, the Wisconsin Aerospace
Authority, the Health Insurance Risk-sharing Plan Authority, and the Fox River Navigational System Authority.
In addition, sales to county, city, village and town governments; school districts; local exposition districts; local
cultural arts districts; joint local water authorities; sewerage commissions; and metropolitan sewerage districts
are exempt from sales tax.

Sales to Religious, Charitable, Scientific and Educational Organizations

The gross receipts from sales to, and the storage, use or other consumption of tangible personal property and
taxable services by any corporation, community chest, foundation or association organized and operated
exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific or educational purposes or for the prevention of cruelty to
children or animals, except specified hospital service corporations, are exempt from sales tax if no part of the
net income of the organization inures to the benefit of any private person.

Lunches and Other Tangible Personal Property Sold by Elementary and Secondary Schools

Sales of tangible personal property by public or private elementary and secondary schools are exempt from
sales tax.
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Admissions to Elementary and Secondary School Activities

Sales of tickets or admissions to public and private elementary and secondary school activities are exempt
from the sales tax, if the net proceeds are used for educational, religious or charitable purposes. The
exemption includes revenue from admission fees to high school sporting events, school plays and other school
activities.

Admissions to State Parks and Camping Fees

Admission fees and camping fees at state park and state forest recreational areas are exempt from sales tax.
Admissions to Certain Historical Museums

Admissions to a museum operated by a nonprofit corporation under a lease agreement with the State
Historical Society are exempt from sales tax. This exemption applies only to the Circus World Museum in
Baraboo.

Admissions to County Fairs

Admissions to county fairs are exempt from sales tax.

Volunteer Fire Department Equipment

Sales of fire trucks and other fire-fighting equipment to volunteer fire departments are exempt from sales tax.
This exemption includes hoses, exhaust fans, generators, ladders and other firefighting equipment.

Copies of Public Records

Charges by a governmental authority for copies of public records, including fees for searches, are exempt from
sales tax.

Sales by American Legion Baseball Teams

Sales of tangible personal property, tickets and admissions by American Legion baseball teams are exempt
from sales tax.

Snowmobile Trail Grooming Equipment

Snowmobile trail groomers and attachments are exempt from sales tax when purchased by snowmobile clubs
for use in maintaining the state system of snowmobile trails. To qualify for the exemption, an organization
must meet at least three times a year and have at least 20 members.

Police and Fire Protection Fees

Police and fire protection fees imposed on communications are exempt from the sales tax.
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Sales of Animal Identification Tags and Samples by the Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection

Sales by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection of animal identification
tags to persons who are required or authorized to use those identification tags, and sales of standard samples
representing product or commodity grades are exempt from sales tax.

Public Benefits Fees

Public benefits fees are exempt from sales tax. These fees are surcharges on residential and commercial
electric bills used to fund low-income energy assistance and energy conservation and efficiency programs.

One-Time License or Right to Purchase Admissions to Professional Football Games

The sale by a municipality, a local professional football stadium district or a professional football team of a
one-time license or similar right to purchase admission to at least three games at a football stadium in a
season is exempt from sales tax. The exemption applies to the sale of admission rights whose proceeds are
used to finance renovation of Lambeau Field in Green Bay.

Motor Vehicles Loaned to Driver Education Programs

The loan by an automobile dealer of a motor vehicle for a driver education program conducted by a school or
school district is exempt from use tax.

Nonprofit Cemetery Associations

Tangible personal property and taxable services used exclusively by a nonprofit cemetery company or
corporation organized under IRC section 501(c)(13) is exempt from sales and use tax.

Home Exchange Services

The sale of tangible personal property and taxable services by a home exchange service that is owned by the
Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA) is exempt from sales and use tax. Home exchange services are the
coffee shops, snack bars, gift shops, and other facilities that serve the resident veterans, families, and guests
at the Wisconsin Veterans Homes at King (Waupaca County) and Union Grove (Racine County).

EXEMPTIONS FOR NONRESIDENTS AND FOR USE IN OTHER STATES

Interstate Commerce

Tangible personal property shipped in interstate commerce is not subject to sales tax. The fiscal effect of this
exemption has not been estimated because taxing such property is prohibited by the U.S. Constitution.

Property Used in the State by Nonresidents

Tangible personal property brought into the state by nonresidents of Wisconsin for their own use, storage, or
other consumption while temporarily in Wisconsin is exempt from use tax. However, if the property is used to
conduct a trade, business or profession, or used in the performance of personal services for wages or fees,
the value of the property is subject to the tax.

Nonresidents' Boats Berthed in Boundary Waters

Generally, a boat that is owned by a resident of another state and berthed in Wisconsin is subject to use tax, if
the owner did not pay sales tax when purchasing the boat. However, the boat is exempt from use tax if: (1)
the boat owner is a resident of a state contiguous to Wisconsin, (2) the boat is berthed in boundary waters
adjacent to the owner's state of residence, and (3) the purchase of the boat was an exempt occasional sale.



Sales and Use Tax 70

Nonresidents' Aircraft Hangared in Wisconsin

Aircraft purchased in another state by a nonresident individual or business and kept in a hangar in Wisconsin
is exempt from use tax.

Goods Brought into the State by New Residents

Household goods purchased outside of Wisconsin but brought into the state by new residents are exempt from
use tax if the goods are purchased 90 or more days prior to the date the person moves to Wisconsin. This
exemption applies to all household goods, including automobiles and other registered vehicles, purchased for
personal use.

Property Purchased for Use Outside the State

Sales of tangible personal property purchased for use outside the state and sales of property delivered and
prepared for export are exempt from sales tax. For example, items such as office supplies and paper products
sold to persons outside the state are exempt from the sales tax.

Aircraft, Motor Vehicles and Truck Bodies Sold for Use Outside the State

Sales of aircraft, motor vehicles and truck bodies to nonresidents who will not use such units in Wisconsin are
exempt from the sales tax. This exemption also applies to aircraft, motor vehicles and truck bodies sold to
foreign governments and to certified carriers of people or property in interstate or foreign commerce.

Property Sold to Out-of-State Common or Contract Carriers

Sales of tangible personal property to common or contract carriers engaged primarily in trucking and sales to
railroad companies are exempt from sales tax, if the property is shipped to a destination outside this state.
Wisconsin, for example, is a major producer of railroad ties, and all shipments of railroad ties out of state are
exempt from sales tax.

Printed Advertising Material Used Outside the State

Sales of printed advertising materials produced in Wisconsin and sold to purchasers for use only outside the
state are exempt from sales tax. For example, advertising leaflets, which are printed and purchased in the
state but distributed only in a neighboring state, are not subject to sales tax.

Temporary Storage of Printed Materials

The temporary storage of raw materials that are incorporated into printed materials to be transported outside
Wisconsin, and thereafter used solely outside Wisconsin, are exempt from sales and use tax. An example of
printed materials qualifying for the exemption would be paper purchased by a company from an out-of-state
vendor and delivered to a Wisconsin printer that prints catalogs for the purchaser, if the catalogs are
distributed only outside Wisconsin.

DEFINITIONAL AND MISCELLANEOUS EXEMPTIONS

Exemptions That Further Define Retail Sales

The purpose of this exemption report is to estimate the cost to the state of providing specific exemptions to the
sales tax for items that would otherwise be taxable. A retail sale is defined as one where the buyer makes a
purchase with no intention of resale. By law, retail sales are subject to the sales tax, unless otherwise
provided by law. However, some sections of the statutes clarify the definition of a retail sale to exclude certain
transactions from tax. For these sections no fiscal estimates have been made because sales of these items
are not retail sales.

The following transactions fall into this category:

e Charges for interest, financing or insurance when such charges are stated separately. [Sec. 77.54 (8)].
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o Transfer of property to a corporation upon its organization solely in consideration for the issuance of its
stock. [Sec. 77.51 (14q) (a)].

e Contributions of property to a newly-formed partnership solely in consideration for a partnership interest.
[Sec. 77.51 (14q9) (b)].

e Contributions of property to a limited liability company upon its organization solely in consideration for a
membership interest. [Sec. 77.51 (149) (bm)].

e Transfer of property to a corporation for the issuance of its stock pursuant to a merger or consolidation.
[Sec. 77.51 (149) (c)].

e Transfer of property to a limited liability company for a membership interest pursuant to a merger. [Sec.
77.51 (149) (cm)].

e Distribution of property by a corporation to its stockholders as a dividend or in liquidation. [Sec. 77.51
(149) (d)].

o Distribution of property by a partnership to its partners in liquidation. [Sec. 77.51 (149) (e)].
e Distribution of property by a limited liability company to its members in liquidation. [Sec. 77.51 (14g)(em)].

o Repossession of property when the only consideration is cancellation of the purchaser's obligation to pay
the balance of the purchase price. [Sec. 77.51 (14g) ()].

e Transfers of property in a reorganization in which no gain or loss is recognized for Wisconsin franchise or
income tax purposes under sections 71.301 to 71.368. [Sec. 77.51 (149) (9)].

e The transfer of electric transmission facilities to a transmission company. [Sec. 77.51 (14g) (fm)].
Labor Input into Construction

Materials used in construction are subject to sales tax; however, the value added by construction contractors
is not taxed. Construction is a volatile sector of the economy and, as a result, the value of this exemption
fluctuates from year to year.

Trade-Ins and Lemon Law Refunds

In transactions in which a product is traded in on the purchase of a product of greater value, sales tax is
applied only to the difference between the values of the two products. The estimate applies only to trade-ins
of automobiles and trucks; it does not include trade-ins of boats, mobile homes, household appliances or other
items. Also, a customer purchasing a replacement vehicle with a lemon law refund may apply the value of the
original trade-in to the purchase of the replacement vehicle.

Transportation Charges

Transportation charges are exempt from sales tax if the charges are stated separately, and if the
transportation occurs after the purchaser takes possession of the property.

Certain Occasional Sales

Occasional sales are sales by persons other than those offering goods for sale in the ordinary course of
business. Taxable occasional sales include sales of automobiles, aircraft, trailers, semi-trailers, snowmobiles,
all-terrain vehicles, and mobile homes not exceeding 45 feet in length, registered in the state, and boats
registered in the state or in the U.S. However, these occasional sales are exempt only if the transfer is to a
spouse, parent or child, or the spouse of a parent or child, and if the item had previously been registered in
Wisconsin, or in the case of boats, registered in the state or in the U.S. Also, the transfer of a motor vehicle
from an individual to a corporation solely owned by that individual is exempt. Occasional sales of tangible
personal property or services by a neighborhood association, church, civic group or similar nonprofit
organization are generally exempt from sales tax if total payments for entertainment or other expenses do not
exceed $500 and the organization’s annual receipts do not exceed $25,000.
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Auction Sales

Gross receipts from auctions of farm personal property or household goods that are not held at regular
intervals are exempt from sales tax.

Retailer's Discount

Retailers may retain 0.5% of their tax liability or a minimum of $10 per filing period as compensation for the
costs of collecting and remitting sales taxes. The retailer’s discount is capped at $1,000 per filing period.

SERVICES NOT SUBJECT TO TAX

Services are exempt from sales tax unless the statutes specifically impose the tax. Data are not available to
estimate of the total cost of not taxing services. However, the following table shows certain services that are
not subject to sales tax and provides an estimate of the potential fiscal effect. The table does not include
services that are specifically exempted from tax by law and discussed in previous sections, such as coin-
operated laundry services, diaper services, veterinary services for farm animals and labor services in
construction. Similar to Table 2 above, Table 3 below only presents estimated state revenue foregone. The
impacts on local sales tax collections are not included in the figures.

TABLE 3
SALES AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS-SERVICES
Exemption FY10 Fiscal Effect
Personal and Recreational Services
Beauty, Barber, Nail and Other Personal Care Services 26,000,000
Funeral Services, excluding Caskets and Vaults 11,500,000
Bank Account Service Charges 12,000,000
Dues and Fees Paid to Business Associations and Fraternal Organizations 13,200,000
Health Clubs 17,100,000
Admissions to Educational Events and Places 5,000,000
Veterinary Services for Pets 20,400,000
Auto and Travel Clubs 2,800,000
Professional Services
Services of Physicians, Dentists and Other Health Professionals 581,100,000
Legal Services 114,500,000
Architectural, Engineering, Testing Laboratory and Surveying Services 98,100,000
Accounting Services 51,300,000
Tax Preparation Services 3,100,000
Business Services
Computer Services (inc. data processing and custom programming) 148,000,000
Management, Scientific, and Technical Consulting Services 84,100,000
Scientific Research and Development Services 35,800,000
Employment Placement Services 10,600,000
Advertising - (excludes Public Relations) 64,600,000
Public Relations 2,500,000
Credit Rating and Collection Services 6,600,000
Investigation and Security Services 15,600,000
Services Related to Real Property
Commissions to Real Estate Brokers 27,900,000
Repair of Real Property 42,900,000
Interior Design 2,800,000
Janitorial Services 24,500,000
Disinfecting and Exterminating 3,000,000
Sewerage Services 29,000,000
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAXES

Introduction

Chapter 76 of the Wisconsin Statutes provides for the taxation of certain insurance companies by the
Commissioner of Insurance on the basis of premiums or net investment income. Insurance business
subject to taxation under Chapter 76, Wis. Stats., is not subject to the corporate income and franchise tax
under Chapter 71, Wis. Stats., and vice versa. Some types of insurance companies are not subject to
taxation under either chapter.

The tax imposed by Chapter 76, Wis. Stats., may apply to all insurance companies, foreign (companies
organized outside Wisconsin) as well as domestic (organized in Wisconsin). The corporate franchise tax
applies to domestic fire and casualty insurers and the nonlife business of domestic life insurers.

Insurance companies subject to the corporate income and franchise tax are subject to the same tax rate
as that imposed on all other corporations subject to the tax, except that the tax is limited to 2% of
premiums. The tax rates for insurance companies subject to taxation under Chapter 76, Wis. Stats., vary
depending on the type of insurance business. In addition, because of the "reciprocal and retaliatory"
statutes, Wisconsin taxation of foreign insurance companies (companies organized outside the state) is
dependent on the taxation of Wisconsin-organized insurance companies in the domicile of such foreign
companies. For example, the Wisconsin taxation of a New York company doing business in Wisconsin is
dependent on the New York taxation of a Wisconsin company doing business in New York.

The Wisconsin "retaliatory" statute (s. 76.66, Wis. Stats.,) provides, in essence, that when the taxes/fees
imposed by another state or country on insurers organized under Wisconsin laws doing business in that
state or country are greater than the taxes or fees imposed by Wisconsin on those foreign insurers doing
business in Wisconsin, then Wisconsin will tax insurers organized under the laws of the other state or
country at the same higher rate.

The Wisconsin "reciprocal” statute (s. 76.67, Wis. Stats.,) provides that insurers organized under the laws
of other states, territories or districts of the United States (but not other countries) shall not pay taxes,
fees or licenses to Wisconsin greater than the taxes, fees or licenses imposed by the other state, territory
or district on similar Wisconsin insurers doing business there. The reciprocal statute does not result in
pure reciprocity because it does not apply to insurance companies organized in other countries, and it
does not permit payment of less than the Wisconsin statutory tax on life insurance, fire dues (2% fire
department dues), and certain fees. In addition, it requires a minimum tax of 0.375% on fire and ocean
marine premiums.

Because some Wisconsin companies do insurance business in all other states, territories or districts of
the United States, the effect of the reciprocity and retaliation statutes is that few U. S. fire or casualty
insurers are taxed at the rates provided in the Wisconsin statutes (except the 0.375% minimum tax on fire
and ocean marine premiums). In general, the "retaliatory" statutes applicable to insurers organized in
other countries cannot be applied because of limitations imposed by international treaties between the
United States and the insurer's domiciliary country or because of practical problems of application or
computation. Thus, non-U.S. insurers are taxed at the Wisconsin statutory rate and applied to premiums
unless otherwise noted. The statutory premium rates are as follows: fire, 2.375%; ocean marine, 0.5%;
casualty, 2%; domestic life (over $750 million in force), 2%; domestic life ($750 million or less in force),
3.5% of gross income;* nondomestic life, 2%; and nondomestic accident and health, 2%.

1 This tax plus a valuation fee is subject to a maximum of 2% of net taxable premiums.
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For the premium tax, the base is gross premiums received for direct insurance less return premiums and
cancellations and less policyholder dividends from savings and gains on direct insurance in Wisconsin.
Direct insurance includes all insurance other than reinsurance. Under reinsurance, an insurer shares the
risk and premiums with other insurers.

General purpose tax collections from the insurance premiums taxes in FY 2010 were $121.2 million. This
excludes $16.2 million of fire department dues which, beginning in FY 1982, were changed from general
purpose to program revenue. Fire department dues are distributed to local units of government, while
other insurance company taxes are part of the state general fund.

In addition to the taxes imposed in Chapter 76, Wis. Stats., insurers are also subject to license fees.

License fees are charged according to the schedule in s. 601.31, Wis. Stats.

TABLE 1

INSURANCE PREMIUM TAXES SUMMARY

Exemption Device Statutory Reference’ FY10 Fiscal Effect
Exemptions from Taxation
Town Mutual Insurance Companies S. 76.61 $1,316,000
Domestic Fire, Marine, and Casualty Companies ss. 76.60 and 76.63 (1) $203,452,000
Fraternal Life Insurance Companies S. 76.65 $5,356,000
Exemptions From Base
Return Premiums and Cancellations on Direct Insurance ss. 76.60, 76.62 and See Footnote 2

76.63 (1)
Exemptions from the Domestic Life Insurance Company Gross S. 76.65 (1) $0
Income Tax Base
Exemptions from the Foreign and Domestic Life Insurance S. 76.65 (2) $1,232,000°
Company Gross Premium Tax Base
Special Treatment
Limit on Gross Income Tax of Domestic Life Insurance
Companies with $750 Million or Less of Insurance in Force S. 76.65 (1) None
"Retaliatory” Statute S. 76.66 Not Available
"Reciprocity" Statute S. 76.67 $61,155,000
Credits
Credit to Domestic Life Insurers for Personal Property Taxes
S. 76.69 $781,000

Credit to Insurers to Recoup Security Fund Assessments S. 646.51 (7) $0°
Credit to Insurers for Certified Capital Investment S. 76.635 (2) $207,000
Health Insurance Risk-sharing Pool Assessment Credit S. 76.665 (2) $1,105,000
Credit for Certain Development Zone Activities S. 76.636 (2) $4,380,000
Early Stage Seed Investment Credit S. 76.638 None
Economic Development Credit S. 76.637 None

1. References to sections of the 2007 Wisconsin Statutes.
2. Included in estimates for exemption for domestic, fire, marine, and casualty companies and for "reciprocity” statute.
3. Fiscal effect for domestic insurers only. Fiscal effect for foreign corporations included in the estimate for "reciprocity” statute.

EXEMPTIONS FROM TAXATION

Insurers exempt from taxation under both Chapters 71 and 76, Wis. Stats., include: town mutual
insurance companies (except that fire dues are payable equal to 2% of the fire premiums); fraternal or
mutual benefit societies; voluntary benefit plans for injury or death of students; self-insurers (except that
fire dues are payable equal to 2% of the premiums that would have been charged by authorized insurers);
the State Property Insurance Fund (except for fire dues on property that is not state-owned); and the
Wisconsin Health Care Liability Plan and Patients Compensation Fund.
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Town Mutual Insurance Companies

Town mutual insurance companies organized under or subject to Chapter 612 of the Wisconsin Statutes
are not subject to taxation or license fees under Chapter 76, Wis. Stats. They are subject, however, to a
fire dues tax of 2% of direct fire premiums. A town mutual insurance corporation may be organized by at
least 100 adults, each of whom has a separate insurable risk within a prescribed territory. The territory
may not exceed eight contiguous counties; however, the Commissioner of Insurance may allow a broader
territory not larger than sixteen contiguous counties. A town mutual may insure members against loss or
damage from any cause to any property in which a member has an interest, including insurance against
loss of use or loss of income from property. The insurance of crops and other property against loss due
to windstorm or hail are restricted and must be reinsured. Town mutual insurers may insure policyholders
from liability, errors and omissions and medical payments and other supplemental coverage when
reinsured.

Domestic Fire, Marine and Casualty Companies

Wisconsin-organized insurance companies insuring fire, marine, and casualty risks are not subject to
Wisconsin premium taxation with the exception of mortgage guaranty insurers. Companies not subject to
the premiums tax are subject to the corporation franchise tax. They are subject to a fire dues tax of 2% of
direct fire premiums written. Casualty risks also include all lines of accident and health insurance written
by life companies, fraternal insurers, health maintenance organizations, limited service health
organizations, and health medical dental indemnity insurers.

Fraternal Life Insurance Companies

All corporations transacting life insurance business in Wisconsin are subject to taxation under Chapter 76,
Wis. Stats., except fraternal insurers organized and operating under Chapter 614 of the Wisconsin
Statutes. A fraternal insurer must have a lodge system and a representative form of government. It must
exist solely for the benefit of its members and their beneficiaries and solely for any lawful social,
intellectual, educational, charitable, benevolent, moral, fraternal, patriotic or religious purposes for the
benefit of its members or the public, carried on through voluntary activity of its members in their local
lodges or through institutional programs of the fraternal insurer or its lodges. It may carry only life and
accident and health lines of insurance.

EXEMPTIONS FROM BASE
Return Premiums and Cancellations on Direct Insurance

For the tax on fire, marine, and casualty insurance premiums, the tax base is defined as gross premiums
as calculated under section 76.62, Wis. Stats. This section provides that all license fees and taxes levied
under any provision of law upon gross premiums other than life insurance premiums shall be based on
gross premiums received for direct insurance, less return premiums and cancellations, and returns from
savings and gains on all insurance, other than reinsurance by the insurer during the preceding year in this
state.

Reinsurance, whereby one insurer shares a portion of the premium in return for a sharing of a portion of
the risk with another insurer, is not subject to taxation unless the original insurer fails to pay the premiums
tax. The fiscal effect of this exemption for domestic companies is included in the exemption from taxation
for domestic fire, marine, and casualty companies; for foreign companies, it is included in the estimate for
the "reciprocity” statute.

Exemptions from the Domestic Life Insurance Company Gross Income Tax Base

The tax base for domestic (Wisconsin organized) life insurance companies (which may affect only those
companies with $750 million or less of insurance in force) is gross income from all sources, except:

1. Interest required to provide and maintain reserves according to the laws of Wisconsin, and

2. Premiums collected on policies of insurance and contracts for annuities.
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The gross income, net of the above deductions, is subject to a factor with the numerator being net
investment income applicable to life insurance and annuities and the denominator being total net
investment income.

Exemptions from the Foreign and Domestic Life Insurance Company Gross Premium Tax Base

The tax base for foreign life insurance companies, which is also generally applicable to domestic life
insurance companies having more than $750 million of insurance in force, is gross premiums on all
policies or contracts of insurance on the lives of residents of Wisconsin less all sums apportioned to
premium-paying policies on the lives of residents of Wisconsin from annual distributions of profits,
savings, earnings or surplus that have been either paid in cash or applied in partial payment of premiums.
Because of long-standing administrative construction, considerations received for annuity contracts are
not considered premiums on policies or contracts of insurance and, thus, are not taxable under
section 76.65 (2), Wis. Stats. The fiscal effect shown is that for domestic insurers; the fiscal effect for
foreign companies is included in the estimate for the "reciprocity” statute.

SPECIAL TREATMENT

Limit on Gross Income Tax of Domestic Life Insurance Companies with $750 Million or Less of
Insurance in Force

For domestic life insurance companies with $750 million or less of insurance in force, the tax based on
3.5% of gross income (less deductions) cannot exceed the annual license fee that would have been
payable had it been operating as a foreign company (in which case the tax would be 2% of gross
premiums, after deducting the considerations received for annuity contracts which are exempt from
taxation). This limit had no fiscal effect in FY10.

"Retaliatory" Statute

The Wisconsin "retaliatory” statute may result in an increase in Wisconsin fees, thus it might not be
considered a tax exemption device. However, to the extent that the statutes of other states provide tax
exemption devices for insurance companies organized in Wisconsin doing business in such states, the
Wisconsin "retaliatory” statute could also allow such tax exemption devices to insurance companies doing
business in Wisconsin. The fiscal effect of these other states' statutes are included in the estimate for the
"reciprocity" statute.

"Reciprocity" Statute

To the extent that insurance companies organized in Wisconsin operating in the United States outside
Wisconsin are subject to taxation to a lesser extent than otherwise provided by Wisconsin law, the
Wisconsin "reciprocity” statute may provide reduced taxation for non-Wisconsin companies organized in
the United States for business transacted in Wisconsin. The limitations of the "reciprocity" statute are
described in the introduction.

CREDITS
Credit to Domestic Life Insurers for Personal Property Taxes

Domestic life insurance companies are allowed a premiums tax credit of 50% of general property taxes
paid on personal property in Wisconsin used in the operation of business and not held primarily for
investment purposes. The credit is limited to 25% of the license fee for domestic life insurers.

Credit to Insurers to Recoup Security Fund Assessments

The Insurance Security Fund Board administers the security fund established by Chapter 646, Wis.
Stats., to provide a mechanism for protecting insureds in the event of liquidation of insurers and to assess
the costs of such protection among insurers. Section 646.51 (7), Wis. Stats., provides for tax credits of
20% of security fund assessments in each of the five calendar years following the year the assessment
was paid when premium rates are fixed so that it is not possible for the insurer to increase its premium
rates to recoup the assessment. Domestic insurers may take tax credits only for the proportion of their
business assessed which is fixed, such that it is impossible to raise premiums. Such policies are referred



Insurance Premium Taxes 77

to as "noncancellable” in the insurance business and represent a small portion of the total insurance
written. Nondomestic insurers may take tax credits subject to the provision of the retaliatory and
reciprocal statutes (sections 76.66 and 76.67, Wis. Stats.)

Credit to Insurers for Certified Capital Investment

Since FY99 certain insurers operating in Wisconsin are allowed to take a premium tax credit for
investment in certified capital companies as defined in s. 560.30 Wis. Stats. The purpose of the credit is
to encourage insurers to make venture capital for companies operating in Wisconsin. Section 76.635 (2)
Wis. Stats. provides for tax credits of up to 10% of the amount of the certified investment each year, until
the entire available credit is used.

Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan Assessments Credit

A license fee credit is available for insurers that pay assessments for the Health Insurance Risk-Sharing
Plan (HIRSP). HIRSP offers health insurance coverage to individuals with adverse medical histories and
to others who cannot obtain affordable health insurance coverage from the private sector. HIRSP is
funded by premiums paid by participants, assessments paid by insurance companies, and a pro rata
reduction in billed charges of health care providers. The amount of the credit for all insurers cannot
exceed $5 million per year.

Credit for Certain Development Zone Activities

Certain insurers operating in Wisconsin are allowed to take a premium tax credit for investment in certain
development zone activities as defined in s. 560.70, 560.795, 560.797, and 560.798 Wis. Stats. The
purpose of the credit is to encourage insurers to make investments in economically disadvantaged areas.
This program is more fully discussed in the chapter on "Corporate Income and Franchise Tax."

Early Stage Seed Investment Credit

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2008, insurers may claim a credit against the premium
tax for investments made with a fund manager that invests in qualified new business ventures. This
program is more fully discussed in the chapter on "Corporate Income and Franchise Tax."

There is no FY2010 fiscal effect, as no insurance companies claimed the credit in FY2010.

Economic Development Credit

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2008, an economic development tax credit is available. The
nonrefundable credit may be claimed against the corporate income and franchise tax or against the

insurance premiums tax. This program is more fully discussed in the chapter on "Corporate Income and
Franchise Tax."

There is no FY2010 fiscal effect, as no insurance companies were certified for the credit.
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PROPERTY TAX

The property tax is the largest source of state and local tax revenues in Wisconsin. Total property taxes levied
by all taxing jurisdictions for the 2009/10 property tax year were $10.106 billion. As displayed in Table 1,
school districts accounted for the largest share of property taxes levied ($4.538 billion, or 44.9% of the total).
Municipalities (at $2.373 billion, or 23.5%) and counties (at $1.915 billion or 18.9%) levied the next largest
shares. Technical college districts, tax incremental financing districts, special districts, and the state forestation
tax accounted for the remaining $1.281 billion, or 12.7%. The 2009/10 property tax year is defined as the
taxes levied in December 2009 that were due for collection in 2010.

TABLE 1
2009/10 PROPERTY TAXES

Government type Gross Levy ($ millions) % of Total
School Districts 4,537.6 44.9%
Municipalities 2,3725 23.5%
County 1,914.6 18.9%
Technical Colleges 742.6 7.3%
Tax Incremental

Financing Districts 355.5 3.5%
Special Districts 95.9 0.9%
State Forestation Tax 86.9 0.9%
Total Property Taxes

Levied 10,105.7 100.0%

In Wisconsin, property tax rates are expressed in terms of dollars per $1,000 of equalized value, which is
referred to as the mill rate. For the 2009/10 property tax year, the statewide average net tax rate, after
consideration of the $747.7 million of property taxes paid by the state through the school levies tax credit, was
18.28 mills. The total taxable value of property upon which the 2009/10 levy was imposed was $521 billion.

Exempt Real Property — Reporting Requirements

State law requires that the owners of certain real property exempt from property taxes report the value of the
property to municipalities, which then summarize and transmit the owner-reported information to the
Department of Revenue (DOR).

By March 31 of each even-numbered year, an owner of real property exempt from property taxation is required
to file with the clerk of the municipality where the property is located a report which contains, among other
things, an estimate of the market value of the property as of January 1 of that year. Owners of certain types of
real property (such as cemeteries and archeological sites), the federal government, the State of Wisconsin,
local governments, and owners of properties on which an in lieu of tax or an equivalent payment is made are
exempt from the reporting requirement.

By July 1 of each even-numbered year, every municipal clerk is required to file with the Department of
Revenue a report that summarizes the data reported to him or her by owners of tax exempt real property. This
report segments exempt real property into thirteen categories and ten value brackets. If a village or city has
territory in two or more counties, a separate report is due for each county-specific piece of the municipality.

A compilation of the totals for those municipalities that filed a report for 2010 is shown at the end of this chapter
in the same format as completed by municipal clerks.

Real Property — Exempt Value Estimates

An estimate of the total value of real property exempt from taxation was determined based upon the real
property exemption summary reports submitted by municipalities. Information on properties for which no
reporting requirement exists is unavailable and is excluded from the estimate. The estimate was calculated in
two major steps.
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First, values for the various types of exempt property were estimated for towns, villages, and cities, by
multiplying the number of parcels in each value bracket by the midpoint value for that value bracket. For
example, the value for the $1 to $10,000 bracket was assumed to be $5,000. For the $10,000 to $100,000
bracket, a value of $55,000 was assumed. For the over $25 million category, a value of $35 million was used.
The results were then summed over each value bracket for each exemption type.

Second, an adjustment was made to the above figures to reflect the amount of exempt property in
municipalities that did not file a taxation district exemption summary report with DOR. Below, Table 2 shows
the number of towns, villages, and cities that should have filed a summary report, the number of municipalities
that actually filed the report (as of October 18, 2010), and the percentage of the state total equalized value
represented by the places that filed a report. The "adjustment factor”, equal to 1 divided by the divided by the
percentage of equalized value in those municipalities that filed a report, was used to multiply the reported
values to arrive at an estimate of total values for all localities in that type of municipality.

TABLE 2
NUMBER OF FILERS, PERCENTAGE OF EQUALIZED VALUE, AND ADJUSTMENT
FACTOR APPLIED FOR 2010 TAXATION DISTRIT EXEMPTION SUMMARY REPORTS

Municipal Number of Number of | Filers' Percent of Adjustment
Type Municipalities Filers | Equalized Value Factor
Towns 1,257 517 48.86% 2.04649
Villages 433 254 68.92% 1.45099
“Cities 218 164 73.63% 1.35822
Total 1,908 935 63.40% fleleioioiole

Estimates of the total value of exempt property for the reported classes are shown in the Table 3. Since
compliance with the reporting requirements — both by owners of exempt property to their municipal clerk and by
the municipal clerk to DOR — is poor, the estimated values in the table should not be deemed definitive.

TABLE 3
ESTIMATED VALUE OF EXEMPT PRIVATE REAL PROPERTY, 2010

Purpose of Property Exempt Value ($ millions) Percent of Total
Religious:

Place of worship $7,464 34.51%

Church — Other 912 4.22%
Total Religious $8,376 38.73%
Educational:

K-12 Education $1,764 8.16%

Colleges and universities 1,097 5.07%

Other education 658 3.04%
Total Educational $3,520 16.27%
Medical Facilities:

Non-profit hospitals $2,408 11.13%

Medical research foundations 72 0.33%

Other medical 380 1.76%
Total Medical $2,860 13.22%
Housing:

Nursing homes $936 4.33%

Retirement home 949 4.39%

Other housing 1,632 7.54%
Total Housing $3,517 16.26%
Other exemptions:

Public benefits $2,249 10.40%

Miscellaneous 1,107 5.12%
Total Other $3,356 15.52%
Total — All exemptions $ 21,629 100.00%




Property Tax 81

Exempt Personal Property — Reporting Requirements

Most personal property, including household furniture and furnishings, machinery and equipment used in
manufacturing, computer equipment, pollution abatement equipment, and inventories are exempt from the
property tax.

Personal property that is subject to taxation falls into the following four categories: (1) Boats and other
watercraft owned by businesses; (2) machinery, tools, and patterns; (3) furniture, fixtures, and equipment,
and (4) other personal property, including items such as buildings on leased land, law libraries, leasehold
improvements on leased land, and logs and other forest products.

Owners of exempt personal property are generally not required to reports on the value of their exempt
property. However, when the exemption for computers, cash registers, and fax machines that are not also
copiers was enacted, a state payment to local governments equal to the property taxes that would have been
levied on this property (the "exempt computer payment") was also enacted. As a result, the owner of such
property must report its value to the appropriate assessor (DOR for manufacturers, otherwise the local
assessor) on the Statement of Personal Property due annually by March 1. For property subject to local
assessment, a report summarizing the value of exempt computers must be filed with DOR by May 1.

Personal Property — Exempt Value Estimates

This section focuses only on the value of certain exempt personal property owned by businesses. The value of
other exempt property, including household furnishings and business inventories, is not addressed.

Machinery and equipment used in manufacturing. The exemption of machinery and equipment used
exclusively and directly in the manufacturing process reduces the property tax burden on manufacturers. For
the 2007/08 tax year, $1.52 billion of manufacturing machinery and equipment was taxable. This taxable
equipment consisted of property that was not exclusively and directly used in the manufacturing process (such
as office equipment and furniture). Based on historic experience, it is estimated that between 7% to 15% of all
manufacturing machinery and equipment is taxable. Using a mid-range figure of 10%, it is estimated that
about $13.7 billion of manufacturing machinery and equipment is currently exempt from taxation.

Waste Treatment Facilities. All land, land improvements, buildings, and machinery used exclusively and
directly to remove, store, or cause a physical or chemical change in industrial waste or air contaminants for the
purpose of reducing or eliminating pollution of the air or waters of the state are exempt from property taxation.
The exemption is available to utilities, commercial businesses, and manufacturers. Information on the amount
of such property owned by utilities and commercial businesses is not available. The last year for which data
are available for manufacturers is 2001 (the last year DOR approval was required in order for the property to
be exempt). In that year, about $2.4 billion was exempt. If this figure is adjusted by the percentage change in
the state total equalized value of manufacturing property (both real and personal) for the period from 2001 to
2009 (an increase of 17.9%), the estimated value of exempt manufacturing waste treatment property is about
$2.8 hillion.

Computer Equipment. Wisconsin provides property tax exemptions for computer equipment except for copiers,
custom software, equipment with embedded computerized components, and telephone systems. Payments
are made to local governments to compensate for the lost tax base. The payments are based upon value of
this exempt property. For the payments related to the 2009/10 property tax year, about $3.4 billion in computer
equipment was exempt, and $76.0 million was paid to local governments.

For these three personal property exemptions for which the Department has information to formulate an
estimate, the total exempt value is $19.9 hillion.

Effect of Exempt Property on Tax Rates

Table 4 examines how property tax rates could have been reduced if the exempt property whose value is
estimated in this report had been subject to taxation for the 2009/10 property tax year. Exempt computer
property is excluded from this calculation, however, since aid to compensate for the loss of this taxable value is
paid by the state. The table shows the actual average 2009/10 net property tax rates for towns, villages, cities,
and the state in aggregate, as well as tax rates calculated under the assumption that the estimated $21.6
billion of exempt private real property and $16.5 billion of exempt personal property (excluding exempt
computer property) had been added to the tax rolls, assuming no change in any state or federal aids and no
change in total property tax levies.
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Table 4 indicates that, if the estimated exempt private real and personal property had been placed on the tax
roll in 2009/10, the statewide average net property tax rate would have declined by 6.93% from $18.28 to
$17.01 per $1,000 of value. Under this scenario, total net tax rates in towns, villages, and cities would have
been lower by 3.08%, 6.69% and 9.98%, respectively. The larger impact in cities and villages reflects that
exempt property is more likely to be located in urban than in rural areas.

TABLE 4
AVERAGE NET TAX RATES FOR 2009/10 (PER $1,000 EQUALIZED VALUE)

For Property In: Actual Effective Rate if Exempt Real and Personal Percentage

Rate Property Were Taxable Change (%)
Towns 14.94 14.48 -3.08%
Villages 18.38 17.15 -6.69%
Cities 21.02 18.92 -9.98%
State Average 18.28 17.01 -6.93%

Evaluation

A number of limitations require that the estimates presented in this chapter be used with applied carefully:

Non-compliance with the reporting requirements by both property owners and local governments
mean that the estimates were prepared using incomplete data.

Using the mid-point value in the value classes may overstate or understate the true value of the
exempt properties.

The value of certain exempt personal property was based on historic relationships.

The value of government owned property is excluded.

The value of land enrolled under the special forest tax laws (see separate chapter in this report) is
excluded.

The value of some exempt property is difficult to estimate due to a limited market.

Owners of exempt property may understate the value of their property.

Owners of exempt property often have incomplete information to accurately value their property.



TAXATION DISTRICT EXEMPTION SUMMARY REPORT FOR 2010 (S. 70.337(2), Wis. Stats.)*

See instructions on bottom of form.

FOR OF '
co MUN T-vV-C NAME OF TAXATION DISTRICT NAME OF COUNTY
INDICATE NUMBER OF PROPERTIES BY PURPOSE
OF PROPERTY WITHIN EACH VALUE CATEGORY
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
$1- $10,001- | $100,001- | $200,001- | $500,001- | $1,000,001- | $3,000,001- | $6,000,001- | $12,000,001- Over Total No. of
PURPOSE OF PROPERTY $10,000 | $100,000 | $200,000 | $500,000 | $1,000,000 | $3,000,000 | $6,000,000 | $12,000,000 | $25,000,000 | $25,000,000 | Properties
WORSHIP 122 480 508 876 713 888 271 69 15 8 3,950
CHURCH-OTH 333 699 363 212 82 66 26 5 0 2 1,788
EDU, K-12 19 86 39 68 77 104 50 33 12 5 493
COLLEGE 18 125 55 26 15 28 19 12 7 10 315
EDU-OTH 33 118 72 77 54 61 11 4 3 2 435
HOSPITAL 21 160 18 9 12 9 9 22 22 30 312
MED RSCH 0 0 1 0 1 1 1 3 1 0 8
MED-OTH 6 89 22 29 25 18 8 6 4 1 208
NURSING 7 11 3 2 9 22 19 20 8 5 106
RETIRE 5 32 67 44 24 37 32 20 9 2 272
HOUSE-OTH 39 572 695 414 170 213 30 7 1 3 2,144
BENEFIT 458 970 479 329 186 175 60 25 5 5 2,692
OTHER 576 771 260 260 96 63 15 2 8 4 2,055
TOTAL NO. OF PROPERTIES 1,637 4,113 2,582 2,346 1,464 1,685 551 228 95 77 14,778

NAME OF CLERK (please print)

(

)

TELEPHONE NUMBER

INSTRUCTIONS

Enter the number of exempt properties in your municipality in each value range by purpose

or use of property. You can gather this information from the PC-220 forms which are filed by
the property owner. A parcel with more than 1 building and more than 1 use should be
recorded for each use. Example: For a parcel with a church valued at $500,000 and a

Complete and mail this form by July 1 in even-numbered years to:

parsonage valued at $150,000 enter 1 property in the 4th value category under WORSHIP
and enter 1 property in the 3rd value category under HOUSE-OTH.

Enter the total number of properties by organization category in the right hand column.

Enter the total number of properties within each value range in the total line at the bottom.

Enter the name and telephone number of the person completing this form.

PC-226 (R. 6-9)

*Figures on this page are for reporting municipalities only.

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Bureau of Property Tax 6-97

Local Government Services Section

P. O. Box 8971
Madison, Wl 53708-8971

Note: You should send form PC-227 to organizations reporting to be subject to taxation
under sections 511 to 515 of the IRC (see s. 70.339, Wis. Stats.).
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FOREST CROP AND MANAGED FOREST LAWS

The Forest Crop and Managed Forest Laws extend special property tax treatment to owners of qualifying forest
land for the purpose of encouraging landowners to use their land to produce harvestable timber crops.

Historical Background

At one time, Wisconsin was a major timber producer. However, by the early 1920s, much of the state's forest
land had been cut-over and/or damaged by fire. Since these lands generated little or no income, owners became
unable or unwilling to pay their property taxes. In addition, since these lands were often unsuitable for other uses,
counties were unable to sell the land at tax sales, obliging them to assume ownership. Increasing amounts of
county-owned, and thus tax exempt, land shifted ever increasing amounts of taxes onto other property owners.
This created a fiscal crisis for many local governments.

While farmers pay their annual taxes from the net proceeds of annual crops, forest land owners pay their annual
taxes even though their crop may only be harvested after many years. It was thought that reducing the annual tax
burden on forest land owners would prevent further land abandonment and, perhaps, encourage reforestation.
Local governments, however, were unwilling to forgo the taxes they collected on forest land.

The solution was an amendment to the uniformity in taxation clause of the state constitution which created an
exception for forest land. The amendment was approved in 1927. Later that year, the Forest Crop Law (FCL)
was enacted, under which land owners paid a flat, annual fee per acre and a severance tax when timber is
harvested. A similar program for owners of small forest plots, the Woodland Tax Law (WTL), was enacted in
1954. The Managed Forest Law (MFL) program was enacted in 1985 to replace the FCL and WTL. However,
landowners with lands under FCL contracts are permitted to remain under the FCL until the contract expires.

Provisions of the Forest Crop Law (FCL)

Under the FCL, an owner of an entire quarter-quarter section (typically 40 acres) in a town or village could petition
the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to enroll that land in the program. If the DNR determined that
forestry was the best use for the land and that a stand of merchantable timber could be produced within a
reasonable period of time, the land was entered under the program under a contract for either 25 or 50 years (as
chosen by the landowner). The landowner was required to practice forestry, to notify the DNR of timber harvests,
and to permit public access to the land for hunting and recreation.

FCL land is exempt from property taxes. To help offset the effect of this exemption on local property taxes, the
DNR makes an annual payment of $0.20 per FCL enrolled acre to the municipality where the land is located. The
municipality retains 80% of this payment and remits 20% to the county. To further offset the effect of the
exemption, landowners are required to pay an annual "acreage share", to pay a severance tax on timber harvests,
and to pay penalties for non-compliance with the contract or on withdrawal from the program. These landowner
payments are described below:

1. Acreage Share. This payment is made by the owner to the municipality where the land is located. The
municipality retains 80% and remits 20% to the county. On land entered prior to 1972 the payment is $0.10
per acre. On "special provision" land (entered from 1949 to 1963 in areas outside DNR fire control
boundaries) the payment is $0.20 per acre. On land entered since 1972 the payment for 2004 to 2013 is
$1.66 per acre. (This rate equals $0.20 times the ratio of the total value of taxable land in the state in 2002
to the total value of taxable land in the state in 1972. This ratio is recalculated every 10 years. The next
recalculation will be made in 2012, and the resultant payment will be in effect from 2014 to 2023.)

2. Severance Tax. Every year, the DNR establishes values for the various types of timber harvested across the
state. These values are used to calculate the value of timber harvested from FCL land. The severance tax is
10% of the value of the timber harvested, except that no severance taxes are assessed on "special provision"
lands. From the proceeds, the DNR keeps an amount equal to the total payments it has made to the
municipality on that parcel. Any excess is paid to the municipality, which keeps 80% of the payment and
shares 20% with the county.
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3. Withdrawal Tax. Land can be withdrawn from the FCL program at the owner's option or, if the owner violates
the contract, by DNR order. Either way, a withdrawal tax must be paid. This tax equals the sum, for the
years the contract was in effect, of the differences between the amount of real estate taxes that would have
been levied on the land and the acreage shares and severance taxes actually paid. Each year's difference is
also subject to simple (not compound) interest at 12% per year (5% for pre-1977 contracts) for each year the
real estate tax has been deferred. From the proceeds, the DNR keeps an amount equal to the total payments
it has made to the municipality on that parcel. Any excess is paid to the municipality, which keeps 80% and
shares 20% with the county.

4. Termination Tax. When a contract expires and the land is not enrolled under the MFL program, a termination
tax of 10% of the value of the standing timber is assessed. From the proceeds, the DNR keeps an amount
equal to the total payments it has made to the municipality on that parcel. Any excess is paid to the
municipality, which keeps 80% of the payment and shares 20% with the county.

Provisions of the Managed Forest Law (MFL)

An owner of ten or more contiguous forest acres may apply for entry into the MFL program. If the DNR finds that
at least 80% of the parcel is producing or capable of producing at least 20 cubic feet of merchantable timber per
acre per year, and that the land is not developed in a manner incompatible with the practice of forestry, the DNR
issues an order entering the land under the program. The agreement is for 25 or 50 years (at the landowner's
option), and can be renewed if the landowner so desires. The landowner agrees to follow a forest management
plan and to permit (with limited exceptions) public access for hunting and recreation.

MFL land is exempt from property taxes. To help offset the effect of this exemption on local property taxes, the
DNR makes an annual payment of $0.20 per MFL enrolled acre to the municipality where the land is located. The
municipality retains 80% of this payment and remits 20% to the county. To further offset the effect of the
exemption, landowners are required to pay an annual "acreage share", to pay closure fees on land closed to
public access, to pay a yield tax on timber harvests, and to pay penalties for non-compliance or early withdrawal
from the program. These landowner payments are described below:

1. Acreage Share. For MFL orders that took effect before April 28, 2004, the payment for 2009 to 2013 is $0.67
per acre, equal to the original payment ($0.74 per acre) multiplied by the ratio of the average statewide tax
per acre on agricultural, agricultural forest, undeveloped, taxable forest land, and other land payable in 2007
divided by the corresponding average for 1986. For MFL orders that took effect on or after April 28, 2004, the
payment for 2009 to 2013 is $1.67 per acre, equal to the average equalized value per acre of taxable forest
land in 2006 ($1,927) times the net statewide tax rate for 2006/07 (17.2998 mills) times 5%. Acreage share
payments are made by the owner to the municipality, which keeps 80% and shares 20% with the county.
These payments are recalculated every 5 years, with the next recalculation due in 2012.

2. Closure Fee. For MFL orders that took effect before April 28, 2004, the payment for 2009 to 2013 is $0.90
per acre, equal to the original payment ($1.00 per acre) multiplied by the same ratio used to adjust the
acreage share payment. For MFL orders that took effect on or after April 28, 2004, the payment for 2009 to
2013 is $6.67 per acre, equal to the average equalized value per acre of taxable forest land in 2006 ($1,927)
times the net statewide tax rate for 2006/07 (17.2998 mills) times 20%. The closure fee is in addition to the
acreage share payment. The fee is collected by municipalities and remitted to the DNR for deposit in the
state Conservation Fund. DNR uses this money in its land acquisition and resource management activities.

3. Yield Tax. The yield (severance) tax equals 5% of the value of the merchantable timber cut. This tax is
assessed and collected by the DNR. Except for FCL conversions, for MFL orders that took effect on or after
April 28, 2004, the yield tax is waived on harvests in the first 5 years. The DNR remits 100% of any yield
taxes to the municipality where the timber was harvested. The municipality keeps 80% of the payment and
shares 20% with the county.

4. Non-compliance Fee. This fee is set at $250. If the DNR determines that an MFL landowner has not
complied with the management plan, the municipality is notified. The fee is collected by the municipality
where the land is located. The municipality keeps 80% of the fee and shares 20% with the county.

5. Withdrawal Fee. The DNR assesses a fee of $300 on all withdrawals from the MFL program that occur
before the expiration of the MFL contract period. DNR retains the entire fee.
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6. Withdrawal Tax. On withdrawal from the MFL program during an initial order, the land owner must pay the
greater of (a) the product of the net assessed value tax rate in the year prior to withdrawal times the assessed
value of the land in the year prior to withdrawal times the number of years the land was under an MFL order
minus the acreage share and yield taxes paid; or (b) 5% of the stumpage value of the merchantable timber on
the land. On withdrawals from the MFL program on renewed MFL orders, the calculation under (a) above is
made from the year of the renewal. DNR remits 100% of any withdrawal taxes to the municipality where the
land is located. The municipality keeps 80% of the payment and shares 20% with the county.

7. Contract Expiration. When a contract expires and is not renewed, the land becomes subject to the property
tax.

Once a landowner petitions the DNR to withdraw his or her land from the program, the decision is not reversible.
Because of the potential that the withdrawal tax could be large in relation to the value of the property, an MFL
landowner can file a request with the Department of Revenue (DOR) for an estimate of the withdrawal tax on his
or her MFL land. The request must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee equal to the greater of $100 or the
number of acres affected times $5.

Measuring the Tax Reduction under Forest Tax Programs

An estimate of landowner tax savings under the FCL and MFL programs is shown in Table 1. The landowner
payments are amounts paid in calendar 2009. Property tax effects are calculated using data for the 2009/10
property tax year. Data on the number of acres enrolled under the FCL and MFL laws (by acreage share class)
were obtained from the Statements of Assessment for 2009 filed by municipalities with the DOR. Data on MFL
withdrawal fees and MFL non-compliance fees are not available, and are excluded from this analysis.

To determine the impact of the tax-exempt FCL and MFL programs, property taxes billed to owners of taxable
forest land were first estimated for each municipality by multiplying the total net property taxes levied (total tax
levy minus the school levies tax credit) by the percentage of the municipality's total assessed value attributable to
forest land. The resultant number was divided by the number of assessed forest acres to determine the property
tax per acre of taxable forest land.

The "initial tax" in Table 1 is an estimate of what the net property taxes on land enrolled under the FCL and MFL
programs would have been had they not been enrolled. This number was calculated by multiplying the average
net tax per acre on taxable forest land in each municipality, as determined above, by the number of acres enrolled
under the forest tax laws in that municipality, and then summing these figures across the state for each forest tax
law. The amount per acre is the state total under each forest tax law divided by state total acreage enrolled under
that program.

The acreage share payments were calculated by multiplying the number of enrolled acres by the appropriate
acreage share rate. For purposes of the estimate, it was assumed that all of these payments are actually made.

Data on severancelyield taxes, termination taxes, and withdrawal taxes are from a report from the DNR regarding
payments made to municipalities in 2009 for land enrolled under the FCL and MFL programs. Since the DNR can
retain certain amounts from some landowner payments, these landowner payments could be understated.

TABLE 1
FINANCIAL ANALYSIS OF FOREST TAX LAWS, 2009/10
Forest Crop Law Managed Forest Law
Item Amount ($) Per Acre Amount Per Acre

Initial Taxes $ 5,929,798 $ 26.360 $ 98,183,532 $ 32.384
Landowner Payments:

Acreage shares 139,893 0.622 2,523,290 0.839

Closure fees 0 0.00 4,110,028 1.356

Severancelyield taxes 312,285 1.388 1,404,772 0.463

Termination taxes 292,363 1.300 0 0.00

Withdrawal taxes 39,968 0.178 2,636,118 0.869
Total Landowner $ 784,509 $3.488 $ 10,694,208 $ 3.527
Payments
Net Tax Reduction $ 5,145,289 $22.872 $ 87.489,325 $ 28.857
Acres enrolled 224,956 3,031,870
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The "Initial Taxes" for 2009/10 were $26.360 per acre under the FCL and $32.384 per acre under the MFL. After
subtracting the landowner payments, the "Net Tax Reductions" for 2009/10 were approximately $5.1 million, or
$22.872 per acre under the FCL, and approximately $87.5 million, or $28.857 per acre under the MFL. The total
net tax reduction under the two programs for 2009/10 is estimated at $92.6 million, or about 89% of the total
“Initial Taxes" of about $104.1 million.

Since their equalized value is zero (due to being tax-exempt), forest tax laws indirectly affect property taxes
across the state. This occurs because of the redistribution in school equalizations aids compared to what the
distribution would be if there were no forest tax laws. These effects are not reflected in Table 1 and are not
analyzed in this report.

Evaluation

The number of privately owned acres enrolled under the various forest tax law programs and the average property
tax on taxable forest land for selected years are shown on Table 2.

TABLE 2
ACRES ENROLLED AND AVERAGE PROPERTY TAX ON FOREST LAND, 1960 - 2009
Acres Enrolled
Average Property Tax
Woodland Forest Managed Total Acres per Acre of Taxable

Year Tax Law Crop Law Forest Law Enrolled Forest Land
1960 60,431 361,211 0 421,642 $0.52
1965 107,431 490,154 0 597,585 0.56
1970 154,185 643,514 0 797,699 0.87
1975 158,302 951,808 0 1,110,110 142
1980 256,349 1,287,833 0 1,544,182 3.31
1985 447,851 1,468,912 0 1,916,763 5.90
1990 472,236 1,452,194 372,102 2,296,532 6.87
1995 302,338 1,406,718 804,269 2,513,325 7.76
2000 55,507 471,727 1,971,474 2,498,708 12.90
2001 0 447,673 2,079,062 2,526,735 15.73
2002 0 428,790 2,231,154 2,659,944 17.96
2003 0 400,716 2,417,023 2,817,739 20.65
2004 0 356,226 2,629,513 2,985,739 23.26
2005 0 334,362 2,784,889 3,119,251 23.53
2006 0 295,417 2,843,447 3,138,864 24.82
2007 0 271,093 2,930,647 3,201,740 27.33
2008 0 243,278 2,983,305 3,226,583 29.04
2009 0 224,956 3,031,870 3,256,826 31.19
Sources:

Acreage: 1960-1985: Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Forestry Tax Unit. 1990-2009: State totals
from Statements of Assessment filed with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue.
Tax per Acre: Calculated by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue for land in the "forest" class.

Although these forest land tax programs have probably increased the amount of timber harvested in the state, the
extent to which such harvests can be attributed to the special tax laws is not known. Regardless, property taxes
remain a major concern for forest land owners. Increasing demand for forest land for recreational and vacation
home uses has led to significant increases in market values for such land. For a forest land owner interested in
pursuing forestry, enrolling the land under the MFL is an increasingly attractive way to ease the tax burden.
Recent MFL law changes which require enrollees to follow management plans and impose penalties for failure to
follow those plans reduces the chances that enrollees will use MFL as a means of reducing taxes while waiting to
sell the land for non-forestry purposes.
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REAL ESTATE TRANSFER FEE

Introduction

The real estate transfer fee was enacted in 1969 after the federal documentary transfer tax (or stamp tax) was
repealed. The state fee applies to transfers of real estate ownership interests located in Wisconsin.

All real estate conveyances (transfers of ownership interest) not excluded or exempted by statute are subject to
the fee. The fee is imposed at a rate of $0.30 for each $100 of value or fraction thereof. Payment of the fee is
the responsibility of the seller (grantor) of the property interest. On conveyances that are gifts or for nominal
consideration, value is the estimated price of the property had it been sold on the open market. On other
conveyances, value is the full consideration paid for the property, including any assumed liens on the property.

Transfer values reported on real estate transfer fee returns are the Department of Revenue's main source of
information for determining changes in the fair market value of real property in the state. This information is used
in the annual process of determining assessment/sales ratios and equalized values for each municipality in
Wisconsin.

Collections

The fee is paid to the county register of deeds when the transfer is recorded, except that the fee on land
contracts is paid when the contract is recorded. Completion of a real estate transfer return and payment of the
appropriate fee is normally required before the county register of deeds records the transaction. Every month,
each register of deeds transfers 80% of the fee collections to the Department of Revenue. The state's share of
the fees during FY10 was $42.4 million. The remaining 20% ($10.6 million) was retained by the counties.

Analysis of Exemptions

Beginning on July 1, 2009, the Department of Revenue (DOR) has required that real estate transfer returns be
filed with the Department electronically. Most of the information from every return (except taxpayer identification
numbers) is kept in a data base that can be accessed on the DOR web site. The effect on state revenues of the
various exemptions from the fee was estimated using data for transfers that were registered from July 1, 2009 to
June 30, 2010 (state fiscal 2010) on which an exemption was claimed. Of the 181,000 transfer fee returns filed
in this period, about 73,000, or 40%, claimed an exemption from the fee.

When an exemption is claimed on a real estate transfer fee return, the number of the sub-section of sec. 77.25
corresponding to the specific exemption is indicated on the return. In comparison to prior years' reports — which
used data from scanned transfer fee returns that were often handwritten — exemption claims as compiled into the
data base are now more accurate. Despite the data collection gains provided by electronic filing, however,
adjustments are necessary to align certain exemption claims with statutory criteria. Based on comparisons of
return information with exemption requirements, some transfer claims have been reclassified to a more
appropriate exemption.

An estimate of the revenue loss for some exemptions may be understated. This occurs because some property
conveyances can be made without filing a transfer fee return, and some can be made without declaring a
property value. The discussion of the exemptions will note when this understatement could occur.

The fiscal effects shown in the table below are for the portion of the real estate transfer fee paid to the state. The
effect on county revenues is one-fourth of the state fiscal effect.
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Exemption Device

Statutory Reference*

FY10 Fiscal Effect

Easements s. 77.21 (1) Not available

Leases for less than 99 Years s. 77.21 (1) Not available

Conveyances Prior to October 1, 1969 s.77.25 (1) $ 1,000

Conveyances by Government Bodies S. 77.25 (2) 459,000

Conveyances by Gift to Governments S. 77.25 (29) 48,000

Conveyances to Government for Land Dedications or | s. 77.25 (2r) 11,000
Highways

Conveyances to Confirm, Correct, or Reform a Prior s. 77.25 (3) 1,612,000
Conveyance

Conveyances on Sales for Delinquent Taxes s. 77.25 (4) 1,000

Conveyances on Partition s. 77.25 (5) 166,000

Conveyances Pursuant to Mergers of Corporations s. 77.25 (6) 450,000

Conveyances Pursuant to Partnerships Registering s. 77.25 (6d) 115,000
as Limited Liability Partnerships

Conveyances Pursuant to Conversion of Ownership s. 77.25 (6m) 165,000
Form with No Change in Ownership Interest

Conveyances by Subsidiary Corporation to Parent S. 77.25 (7) 121,000
Corporation for No or Nominal Consideration

Conveyances Between Parents and their Children s. 77.25 (8) 2,532,000

Conveyances Between Husband and Wife S. 77.25 (8m) 6,201,000

Conveyances Between Registered Domestic Partners | s. 77.25 (8n) 43,000

Conveyances Between Agent and Principal s. 77.25 (9) 1,805,000

Conveyances to Provide or Release Security for a s. 77.25 (10) 193,000
Debt or Obligation

Conveyances to Designated TOD Beneficiaries S. 77.25 (10m) 46,000

Conveyances by Will, Descent, or Survivorship s. 77.25 (11) 393,000

Conveyances by Non-probate Transfer on Death S. 7725 (11m) 154,000

Conveyances Pursuant to Condemnation s. 77.25 (12) 58,000

Conveyances of Real Estate Valued at $100 or Less S. 77.25 (13) 1,000

Conveyances by or in Lieu of Foreclosure s. 77.25 (14) 7,920,000

Conveyances Between a Family-Owned Corporation s. 77.25 (15) 234,000
and its Shareholders

Conveyances Between a Family-Owned Partnership S. 77.25 (15m) 640,000
and its Partners

Conveyances Between a Family-Owned Limited s. 77.25 (15s) 3,142,000
Liability Partnership and its Partners

Conveyances to Certain Trusts S. 77.25 (16) 7,514,000

Conveyances in Fulfillment of Land Contract s. 77.25 (17) 0

Conveyances to a Local Exposition District s. 77.25 (18) 0

Conveyances from a Fiduciary to an Unincorporated s. 77.25 (20) 14,000
Nonprofit Association

Conveyances of Electric Transmission Facilities and s. 77.25 (21) 0
Land Rights

Total $ 34,039,000

*References to sections of the 2009 Wisconsin Statutes.

Easements

Easements are excluded from the definition of conveyances subject to the real estate transfer fee. No real
estate transfer fee return is therefore required for transfers of easements.
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Leases for Less than 99 Years

Leases for less than 99 years are excluded from the definition of conveyances subject to the real estate transfer
fee. No real estate transfer fee return is therefore required for leases of less than 99 years.

Conveyances Prior to October 1, 1969

Conveyances made prior to October 1, 1969 (the date the fee went into effect) are exempt from the fee and from
filing a transfer fee return. The fiscal effect may therefore be understated.

Conveyances by Government Bodies

Conveyances from the United States, the state of Wisconsin, or from an instrumentality, agency, or subdivision
of either, are exempt from the fee. These conveyances are also exempt from filing a transfer fee return unless
the seller is also a lender for the transaction. The fiscal effect may therefore be understated.

Conveyances by Gift to Governments

Conveyances by gift to the United States, the state of Wisconsin, or to an instrumentality, agency, or subdivision
of either, are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances to Governments for Land Dedications or Highways

Conveyances of land by sale or dedication under s. 236.29 (1) or (2) [recoding of a plat] or s. 236.34 (1) (e)
[recording of a certified survey], or for the purpose of a road, street or highway, to the United States, the State of
Wisconsin, or any instrumentality, agency or subdivision of either, is exempt from the fee. These conveyances
are also exempt from filing a transfer fee return. The fiscal effect may therefore be understated.

Conveyances to Confirm, Correct, or Reform a Prior Conveyance

Conveyances that confirm, correct, or reform a previously recorded conveyance are exempt from the fee if the
new conveyance is made for no, nominal, or inadequate consideration.

Conveyances on Sales for Delinquent Taxes

Conveyances on sales for delinquent taxes or assessments are exempt from the fee. These conveyances are
also exempt from filing a transfer fee return. The fiscal effect may therefore be understated.

Conveyances on Partition

Conveyances on partition of real estate that belongs to several persons as co-owners to those persons are
exempt from the fee.

Conveyances Pursuant to Mergers of Corporations

Conveyances pursuant to mergers of corporations are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances Pursuant to Partnerships Registering as Limited Liability Partnerships

Conveyances pursuant to partnerships reorganizing as limited liability partnerships are exempt from the fee.
Conveyances Pursuant to Conversion of Ownership Form with No Change in Ownership Interest
Conveyances pursuant to the conversion of a business entity to another form of business entity under s. 179.76
[domestic limited partnership], s. 180.1161 [domestic business corporation], s. 181.1161 [domestic non-stock
corporation], or s. 183.1207 [domestic limited liability company] are exempt from the fee if, after the conversion,

the ownership interests in the new entity are identical with the ownership interests in the original entity
immediately preceding the conversion.
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Conveyances by Subsidiary Corporation to Parent Corporation for No or Nominal Consideration

Conveyances by a subsidiary corporation to its parent corporation for no consideration, nominal consideration, or
in sole consideration of cancellation, surrender or transfer of capital stock are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances between Parents and their Children

Conveyances between parent and child, step-parent and step-child, and parent and son-in-law or daughter-in-
law for nominal or no consideration are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances between Husband and Wife
Conveyances between a husband and wife are exempt from the fee.
Conveyances between Registered Domestic Partners

Conveyances between an individual and his or her domestic partner under Chapter 770 (the "Domestic
Partnership" Law) are exempt from the fee. This exemption took effect on August 1, 2009.

Conveyances between Agent and Principal

Conveyances between agent and principal or from a trustee to a beneficiary without actual consideration are
exempt from the fee.

Conveyances to Provide or Release Security for a Debt or Obligation

Conveyances to provide security or release security for a debt or obligation are exempt from the fee. However,
for original land contracts filed before August 1, 1992, a transfer fee will be assessed when the documents
relating to fulfillment of the land contract are filed.

Conveyances to Designated TOD Beneficiaries

Conveyances for sole purpose of designating a time of death (TOD) beneficiary under s. 705.15 [statute that
permits non-probate transfers of property at time of death] are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances by Will, Descent, or Survivorship

Conveyances by will, descent, or survivorship are exempt from the fee. These conveyances are also exempt
from filing a real estate transfer fee return. The fiscal effect may therefore be understated.

Conveyances by Non-probate Transfer on Death

Conveyances by non-probate transfer on death under s. 705.15 [statute that permits non-probate transfers of
property at death] are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances on Condemnation

Conveyances pursuant to or in lieu of condemnation are exempt from the fee.
Conveyances of Real Estate Valued at $100 or Less

Conveyances of real estate having a value of $100 or less are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances by or in Lieu of Foreclosure

Conveyances under a foreclosure or a deed in lieu of a foreclosure to a person holding a mortgage or to a seller
under a land contract are exempt from the fee.
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Conveyances between a Family-Owned Corporation and Its Shareholders

Conveyances between a corporation and its shareholders are exempt from the fee if (a) all of the stock in the
corporation is owned by persons who are related to each other as spouses, lineal ascendants or descendants,
siblings (by blood or by adoption), or spouses of siblings; (b) if the transfer is for no consideration except the
assumption of debt or stock of the corporation; and (c) if the corporation owned the property for at least 3 years.

Conveyances between a Family-Owned Partnership and its Partners

Conveyances between a partnership and one or more of its partners are exempt from the fee if (a) all of the
partners are related to each other as spouses, lineal ascendants or descendants, siblings (by blood or adoption),
or spouses of siblings; and (b) if the transfer is for no consideration other than the assumption of debt or an
interest in the partnership.

Conveyances between a Family-Owned Limited Liability Partnership and Its Partners

Conveyances between a limited liability company and one or more of its members are exempt from the fee if (a)
all of the members are related to each other as spouses, lineal ascendants or descendants, siblings (by blood or
adoption), or spouses of siblings; and (b) if transfer is for no consideration other than the assumption of debt or an
interest in the limited liability company.

Conveyances to Certain Trusts

Conveyances to a trust are exempt if a transfer from the grantor to the beneficiary of the trust would be exempt
under other provisions of the real estate transfer fee law (sec. 77.25, Wis. Stats.).

Conveyances in Fulfillment of Land Contract

The recording of deeds in fulfillment of a land contract is exempt from the real estate transfer fee if the proper fee
was paid when the land contract was recorded. (The fee on land contracts filed before August 1, 1992, is
deferred until the contract is fulfilled. The fee on land contracts filed after July 31, 1992, is due when the contract
is filed.) The intent of this provision is to prevent two fees from being imposed on the same land contract
transaction. Therefore, this exemption does not reduce state revenues.

Conveyances to a Local Exposition District

Transfers of property to a local exposition district organized under Subchapter Il of Chapter 229, Wis. Stats., are
exempt from the fee.

Conveyances from a Fiduciary to an Unincorporated Nonprofit Association

Conveyances from a fiduciary which held property for the benefit of an unincorporated nonprofit association to
the unincorporated nonprofit association in the association's own name are exempt from the fee.

Conveyances of Electric Transmission Facilities and Land Rights
Conveyances of transmission facilities or land rights for transmission facilities by a utility company to a

transmission company in exchange for securities in the transmission company are exempt from the real estate
transfer fee.
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TAXATION OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

Background

When utility companies began operating in Wisconsin, they were generally subject to local assessment and local
property taxation. Over time, as these companies grew to serve many municipalities, accurate assessment of
the property in a given municipality proved difficult and misleading. As a result, laws were enacted under which
the state (via the Department of Revenue or its predecessors) assessed and taxed these utility companies on a
unitary basis, with part of the tax proceeds shared with the counties and municipalities where the utility property
was located. Because the property of some utility companies was difficult to assess, a state tax based on gross
revenues was used instead of a tax based on property value.

Current law provides for three types of state utility taxation.

1) Gross Revenues. Electric cooperative associations; private light, heat, and power companies; and
municipal utility companies (for electric and gas service outside the municipality that owns the utility) are
subject to gross revenues taxes of 0.97% on gas revenue, 1.59% on wholesale electric revenue; and
3.19% on all other revenue. Carline company gross revenue is taxed at a rate equal to the state
average net property tax rate.

2) Ad Valorem -- Unit Value Airlines, conservation and regulation companies, municipal electric association
projects, pipelines, and railroads are taxed at the state average net property tax rate (total property tax
levy minus general property tax credits divided by the state total equalized value) on the portion of their
unit value allocated to Wisconsin.

3) Ad Valorem — Tangible Property Value. Telephone companies are taxed at the net property tax rate in
the municipality where the property is located.

A utility company subject to state utility taxes is exempt from local property taxes (except for certain special
assessments). A private utility providing retail service whose property and customers are all in one municipality
is subject to local taxation, not state taxation. A private utility whose primary business is the wholesale sale of
electricity is subject to local taxation if its generating capacity is less than 50 megawatts but taxed under the state
gross revenues tax if its generating capacity is 50 megawatts or more.

Total state utility tax collections in FY10 were $347.9 million. Taxes on railroads and airlines were deposited in
the transportation fund. All other utility tax collections, totaling $319.4 million, were deposited in the state general
fund, and accounted for 2.6% of general fund tax revenues. Table 1 shows utility tax collections in FY10 for
gross revenues and ad valorem taxpayers.

TABLE 1
FY10 UTILITY TAX COLLECTIONS
Utility by Type of Tax Collections
Gross Revenues
Carlines $ 128,183
Electric Cooperative Associations 10,394,871
Municipal Light, Heat, and Power 2,925,384
Private Light, Heat, and Power 208,616,370
Ad Valorem -- Unit Value
Airlines 4,504,640
Conservation and Regulation Companies 82,932
Municipal Electric Association Projects 4,145,929
Pipelines 23,051,415
Railroads 24,055,665
Ad Valorem — Tangible Property Value
Telephone Companies 70,031,314
TOTAL $ 347,936,703

The utility tax laws allow certain deductions and exclusions when their tax liabilities are calculated. The
estimates of the effect of these deductions and exclusions on state revenues for FY10 are shown below in Table
2. These estimates are based on data from the tax returns for 2010 (for gross revenues taxpayers) or annual
reports for 2009 (for ad valorem taxpayers) filed with the Department of Revenue.



Taxation of Public Utilities

TABLE 2
PUBLIC UTILITIES TAX EXEMPTION DEVICES SUMMARY

96

Exemption Device

Statutory Reference *

FY10 Fiscal Effect

Gross Revenues Exemptions

Power Purchased by Private Light, Heat, and Power | s. 76.28 (1) (d) $ 2,536,000
Companies

Power Purchased by Electric Cooperatives S. 76.48 (19) (d) 8,028,000

Public Benefits Charges ss. 76.28 (1) (d) and 76.48 (19g) (d) 20,000

Transmission Company Revenues from Utilities Subject | s. 76.28 (1) (d) 12,484,000
to State Utility Taxation \

Total — Gross Revenues Exemptions $ 23,068,000

Ad Valorem Exemptions

Hub Airlines s. 70.11 (42) 0

Motor Vehicles — Generally S. 76.025 (1) 200.000

Motor Vehicles — Telephone Companies S. 76.81 Not available

Treatment Plant and Pollution Abatement Equipment — S. 76.025 (1) 500,000
Generally

Treatment Plant and Pollution Abatement Equipment — S. 76.81 Not available
Telephone Companies

Computers, Fax Machines, and Cash Registers — s. 76.025 (1) 300,000
Generally

Computers, Fax Machines, and Cash Registers — s. 76.81 Not available

Telephone Companies

Telephone Company Property Used Less Than 50% for | ss. 70.112 (4) (b) and 76.81 Not available
Telephone Purposes
Total — Ad Valorem Exemptions $ 1,000,000

* References are to the 2009 Wisconsin Statutes.

GROSS REVENUES EXEMPTIONS

Power Purchased by Private Light, Heat, and Power Companies

A private light, heat, and power company may deduct from its gross revenues an amount equal to a portion of its
purchased power costs if the power is purchased under federal or state approved wholesale rates. The

deduction is as follows:

e 100% of the purchased power costs if:

- the company purchases more than 50% of the power it sells, and
- the power is not purchased from an "affiliated interest" (i.e., the buyer and seller have no ownership

interests in each other), and

- the revenue from the purchased power is included in the seller's gross revenue (in effect, the seller is

subject to the Wisconsin's gross revenues tax).

e 50% of the purchased power costs if:

- the company purchases more than 90% of its power, and
- the company has less than $50 million of gross revenues.

Power Purchased by Electric Cooperatives

An electric cooperative that purchases more than 50% of the power it sells may deduct from its gross revenues

an amount equal to 100% of its purchased power costs if one of the following conditions is met:

e The seller includes the revenue in its gross revenues (in effect, the seller is subject to Wisconsin's gross

revenues tax), or

e More than 50% of the power sold in 1987 was purchased from a seller located outside Wisconsin.
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Public Benefits Charges

Most electric and gas utilities are required to raise funds through a state-mandated fee on customer's utility bills
for certain "public benefits" such as low-income energy assistance, energy conservation programs, and
renewable energy programs. These fees are forwarded to the state, which in turn allocates the money to private
entities to provide the benefits. These fees are excluded from the definition of gross revenues subject to the
gross revenues tax. Since the fee is, in effect, a state revenue, the exclusion does not reduce state revenues.

Electric cooperatives and municipal light, heat, and power companies are allowed to provide their own public
benefits programs funded through fees on customers' bills. These public benefits charges are excluded from the
revenues subject to the gross revenues tax. The revenue loss shown here is only for those companies that
operate their own public benefits program.

Transmission Company Revenues from Utilities Subject to State Utility Taxation

When determining its gross revenues, an electric transmission company may exclude revenues for services
provided to: (1) electric cooperatives organized under Wisconsin law that provide wholesale service to their
members; (2) municipal light, heat, and power companies based in Wisconsin, and (3) private light, heat, and
power companies which are subject to the state's gross revenues tax.

AD VALOREM EXEMPTIONS
Hub Airlines

A "hub airline" is exempt from the state ad valorem tax on airlines and from local property taxation. An airline is
a "hub airline" if, in the prior year, it (1) operated at least 45 common carrier flights each weekday to at least 15
non-stop destinations from a single airport in Wisconsin; or (2) it was headquartered in Wisconsin and operated
(from one or more Wisconsin airports) at least 20 common carrier flights each weekday. An exempt airline is not
required to file financial reports or file an airline tax return with the Department of Revenue. Thus, if any airline
qualified for the exemption, the data needed to estimate the current effect of this exemption would not be
available. However, at this time, no airline company qualifies for this exemption, and the fiscal effect is therefore
zero.

Motor Vehicles — Generally

Motor vehicles such as automobiles, trucks, and trailers owned by airline, pipeline, railroad, or conservation and
regulation companies are exempt from the ad valorem utility tax but subject to vehicle registration fees in the
same manner as other motor vehicles. The schedules on which this property is reported are unaudited.
Therefore, the actual effect could be higher or lower than the amount shown.

Motor Vehicles — Telephone Companies

Motor vehicles owned by telephone companies are exempt from the telephone property tax but subject to
registration fees in the same manner as other motor vehicles. Since telephone companies do not report the
value, number, or type of motor vehicles, an estimate of the revenue loss under this exemption is not available.

Treatment Plant and Pollution Abatement Equipment — Generally

Property owned by airline, pipeline, railroad, or conservation and regulation companies used as a waste
treatment facility to abate or eliminate the pollution of the water or air of the state is exempt from the ad valorem
utility tax. The schedules on which this property is reported are unaudited. Therefore, the actual effect could be
higher or lower than the amount shown.

Treatment Plant and Pollution Abatement Equipment — Telephone Companies
Property owned by telephone companies used as a waste treatment facility to abate or eliminate the pollution of

the water or air of the state is exempt from the telephone property tax. Telephone companies reported no such
property was owned or leased in the most current year.
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Computers, Fax Machines, and Cash Registers — Generally

Computers, fax machines (excluding machines that are also copiers), and cash registers that are owned by
airline, pipeline, railroad, or conservation and regulation companies are exempt from the ad valorem tax. The
schedules on which this property is reported are unaudited. Therefore, the actual effect could be higher or lower
than the amount shown.

Computers, Fax Machines, and Cash Registers --Telephone Companies

Computers, fax machines (excluding machines that are also copiers), and cash registers that are owned by
telephone companies are exempt from the ad valorem tax. Although the annual report telephone companies file
with the Department of Revenue contains a line for "exempt computers, software, and faxes", the data are not
entered into any data retrieval system. Thus, it is not possible to accurately estimate the amount of such property,
and an estimate of the effect of this exemption is not available.

Telephone Company Property Used Less Than 50% for Telephone Purposes

Property that is used less than 50% in the operation of a telephone company is exempt from the telephone
property tax and subject, instead, to local property taxes. Since telephone company reports filed with the
Department of Revenue do not include information on this type of property, an estimate of the effect of the
exemption is not available. However, based on discussions with assessment staff, the amount of such property is
probably minimal, implying that the exemption has an insignificant effect on state revenues.
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EXCISE TAXES

Introduction

Wisconsin imposes taxes on cigarettes, tobacco products, liquor, wine, and beer. The taxes on cigarettes and
tobacco products are excise taxes imposed on distributors. Taxes on liquor, wine, and beer are occupational taxes
imposed on the seller for the privilege of engaging in a particular business. Under either approach, these taxes are
commonly referred to as excise taxes.

The state collects additional excise taxes that are deposited in segregated funds, notably the motor vehicle fuel and
alternate fuel taxes that are deposited in the transportation fund. Only general fund excise taxes will be discussed in
this chapter.

Excise taxes contributed $757.9 million to state general fund tax collections in FY10 (equal to 6.25% of all general
fund tax collections). The current tax rate and FY10 revenue collections from each general fund excise tax is
summarized in the table below. The cigarette tax dominates excise tax collections — providing $644.3 million, or 85%
of total general fund excise tax collections during FY10.

WISCONSIN GENERAL FUND EXCISE TAXES

FY10 Excise Tax

Tax Type Current Law Tax Rates (1) Revenues
($ millions) %
Cigarettes $2.52 Per 20-Pack 644.3 85.00%
Tobacco Products (2) 71% of manufacturer's established list 10.5 1.38%
price to distributors
Moist Snuff (2) 100% of manufacturer's established list 34.1 4.50%
price to distributors
Cigars (2) Lesser of 71% of manufacturer's 15.3 2.02%

established list price to distributors or
$0.50 per cigar

Beer $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel 9.6 1.27%
($0.65/gallon)

Distilled Spirits $0.8586 per liter ($3.25/gallon) 41.0 5.41%
Wine and Apple Cider 3.2 0.42%
- up to 14% alcohol $0.06605 per liter ($0.25/gallon)

- 14% to 21% alcohol $0.1189 per liter ($0.45/gallon)

- over 21% alcohol $0.8586 per liter ($3.25/gallon)

Total General Fund $757.9 | 100.00%

Excise Tax Revenues

(1) Cigarette and tobacco products tax rates were increased on September 1, 2009.
(2) Tobacco product, moist snuff and cigar tax collection amounts from an internal DOR report.

Over the years the state has enacted certain discounts, exemptions, and refunds of taxes paid on cigarettes, tobacco
products, liquor, wine, and beer. The estimated state revenue foregone or state expenditures in FY10 as a result of
these discounts, exemptions, and refunds are presented in this chapter for those provisions where information is
available to construct a fiscal estimate. For certain provisions, no estimate is provided since the state is precluded by
federal law from imposing a tax; (including interstate commerce, purchases by the federal government, and purchases
by U.S. Armed Forces members on military installations).
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Cigarette Tax

Wisconsin law [sec. 139.30(1), Wis. Stats.] defines cigarettes as any roll of tobacco which is wrapped in paper or any
substance other than tobacco.

The cigarette tax was first imposed in 1939, as an emergency tax, at a rate of $0.02 per pack. The tax was increased
to $0.03 per pack in 1949 and was made permanent that year. Over the years the tax rate was increased periodically.
More recently, the cigarette tax was increased by $1.00 per pack, from $0.77 to $1.77, effective January 1, 2008. On
September 1, 2009, the tax was further increased an additional 75 cents per pack to $2.52 per pack. The cigarette
tax rate in recent years is presented in the table below.

Period Tax Per Single Cigarette Tax Per 20-Pack
October 1, 2001 to December 31, 3.85¢ 77¢
2007
January 1, 2008 to August 31, 2009 8.85¢ $1.77
September 1, 2009 and thereafter 12.6¢ $2.52

In addition, following each tax rate increase, an inventory tax is imposed and must be paid by all permittees and
retailers who possess stamped cigarettes held for resale on which the cigarette tax was already paid before the
increase.

Cigarette tax collections totaled $644.3 million during FY10. This amount was impacted by both a cigarette tax rate
increase during the fiscal year and inventory tax collections that occurred as a result of the tax increase.

Any person in Wisconsin who wants to handle cigarettes at the wholesale level, such as a distributor or subjobber,
must obtain a permit from the Department of Revenue. A retailer selling cigarettes to consumers in Wisconsin must
hold a valid retail license issued by the local municipality where the retail premise is located. Licensed retailers are
required to purchase cigarettes from permitted wholesalers on which the Wisconsin cigarette excise taxes have been
paid.

The cigarette tax is paid by Wisconsin distributors (both in-state and out-of-state) who are required to purchase tax
stamps from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue and affix them to the cigarette packs. Distributors may affix
Wisconsin tax stamps only to cigarettes purchased directly from the department-approved manufacturer which appear
in good standing in on the Attorney General's Directory of Certified Manufacturers and Brands. In addition, the
cigarette use tax (equal to the cigarette tax rate) must also be paid by persons, other than cigarette distributors, who
bring untaxed cigarettes into Wisconsin.

Cigarettes Tax Discounts, Exemptions and Refunds

Distributors, bonded direct marketers, and manufacturers who are authorized to purchase stamps receive a 0.7% tax
discount when purchasing stamps in recognition of the administrative costs they incur when applying the stamps to
packs of cigarettes [sec. 139.32(5), Wis. Stats.].

The Wisconsin cigarette tax is not imposed upon the following:
o Cigarettes shipped via interstate commerce to customers in other states for sale outside Wisconsin.
e Cigarettes sold to the Armed Forces (e.g., Fort McCoy) or state or federally operated veterans' hospitals.
e Cigarettes sold to interstate carriers of passengers for hire to be resold to bona fide passengers being
transported.
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Cigarettes tax exemptions and refunds Statutory FY10
Reference Fiscal Effect
Distributors discount
Discount for distributor costs s.139.32 (5) $4,900,000
Exemptions
Shipped to customers in other states via interstate commerce. s. 139.31(3) Not available
Sold to the Armed Forces (e.g., Fort McCoy) or state or federally s. 139.31(3) Not available
operated veterans' hospitals.
Sold to interstate carriers of passengers for hire to be resold to bona | s. 139.31(3) Not available
fide passengers being transported
Refunds or credits
Cigarette packs unfit for sale and returned to the manufacturer s. 139.36 Not available
Distributors going out of business or selling their business s. 139.36 Not available
Tribal Refunds
A quarterly 30% refund s.139.325 700,000
and Tax 9.08,
Wis. Admin.
Code
A monthly 70% refund s. 139.323, 40,600,000
and Tax 9.08,
Wis. Adm.
Code

Moreover, licensed cigarette distributors may obtain the following refunds [sec. 139.36, Wis. Stats.]
e A cigarette distributor can receive a refund of the tax paid for Wisconsin stamps affixed to packs of unsalable
cigarettes they return to the manufacturer.
e Distributors going out of business or selling their business may receive a refund of the tax paid for Wisconsin
stamps not affixed to packs of cigarettes.

Native American tribal councils who have entered into agreements with the State of Wisconsin are eligible for two
refunds. Jointly, these two refunds essentially return 100% of the cigarette tax paid by tribal members residing on
tribal lands and 70% of the cigarette tax collected on all other sales on tribal lands. Specifically, the refunds are as
follows:
e A quarterly 30% refund of the cigarette tax paid on cigarettes sold on reservations to enrolled members of the
tribe residing on the reservation.
¢ A monthly 70% refund of the cigarette tax paid on cigarettes sold by authorized Native American retailers on
reservation trust land over which a tribe has jurisdiction. The land must have been designated a reservation
or trust land on or before January 1, 1983, or on a later date as determined by an agreement between the
department and the tribal council.

Tobacco Products Tax

Wisconsin law [sec. 139.75(12), Wis. Stats.] defines tobacco products as cigars, cheroots, granulated, plug cuts,
snuff, chewing tobacco, clippings, and other forms of tobacco prepared in such a manner as to be suitable for chewing
or smoking in a pipe or otherwise. The definition includes tobacco that can be used for "roll your own" cigarettes, but it
does not include cigarettes. Moist snuff is defined as any finely cut, ground, or powdered smokeless tobacco that is
intended to be placed or dipped in the mouth.

The excise tax on tobacco products was first imposed on October 1, 1981, at the rate of 20%. On December 1, 1999,
the tobacco products tax was changed from an occupational tax to an excise tax (1999 Wis. Act 9) and on October 1,
2001, the tax rate was raised to 25%.

Effective January 1, 2008, the tobacco products tax on all tobacco, other than moist snuff, was increased from 25% of
the manufacturer's list price to 50% of the list price, and then further increased to 71% of manufacturer's established
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list price beginning on September 1, 2009 (see table below). Beginning January 1, 2008, a cap of 50 cents was also

established as the maximum tax per cigar.

The taxation of moist snuff was converted to a weight based tax effective January 1, 2008 but returned to a price

based tax (at 100% of the manufacturer's established list price) effective September 1, 2009.
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Tax Type Prior to January | January 1, 2008 to September 1, 2009 and
1, 2008 August 31, 2009 thereafter
Tobacco 50% of 71% of manufacturer's
Products manufacturer's established list price to
established list price | distributors
to distributors
Moist Snuff $1.31 per ounce 100% of manufacturer's
established list price to
distributors
Cigars 25% of Lesser of 50% of Lesser of 71% of
manufacturer's manufacturer's manufacturer's established
established list established list price | list price to distributors or
price to to distributors or $0.50 per cigar
distributors $0.50 per cigar

Total tobacco product taxes (including moist snuff and cigars) raised $59.9 million during FY10. Similar to cigarette
collections, this amount was impacted by tax rate changes during the fiscal year.

Any person in Wisconsin who wants to handle tobacco at the wholesale level must obtain a permit from the
Department of Revenue. Any person outside Wisconsin who wants to sell tobacco to retailers in Wisconsin must
obtain a permit from the Department of Revenue. Any person who purchases tobacco products for their own personal
use and upon which the Wisconsin tobacco products tax is due and has not been paid also must file a use tax return
with the department and pay the tax.

Tobacco Products Tax Exemptions and Refunds

Tobacco products tax is not imposed when tobacco products are:
e Shipped to customers in other states via interstate commerce.
e Sold to the Armed Forces (e.g., Fort McCoy) or state or federally operated veterans' hospitals.
e Sold to interstate carriers of passengers for hire to be resold to bona fide passengers being transported.

A licensed tobacco products distributor can receive a refund or credit when tobacco products are:
e Shipped to customers outside Wisconsin.
¢ Returned to the manufacturer and/or short shipments.
e Destroyed due to damage or becoming unfit for sale.

In addition, American Indian tribal councils which have entered into agreements with the State of Wisconsin are
eligible for two refunds. Jointly, these two refunds essentially return 100% of the tobacco products tax paid by tribal
members residing on tribal lands and 50% of the tax collected on all other sales on tribal lands. Specifically, the
refunds are as follows:

e A quarterly 50% refund of the tobacco products tax paid on tobacco products sold on reservations to enrolled
members of the tribe residing on the reservation.

e A monthly 50% refund of the tobacco products tax paid on tobacco products sold by authorized Native
American retailers on reservation trust land over which a tribe has jurisdiction. The land must have been
designated a reservation or trust land on or before January 1, 1983, or on a later date as determined by an
agreement between the department and the tribal council.
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Tobacco products tax exemptions and refunds Statutory FY10
Reference Fiscal Effect
Exemptions
Shipped to customers in other states via interstate commerce. s. 139.76 (2) Not available

Sold to the Armed Forces (e.g., Fort McCoy) or state or federally s.139.76 (2) Not available
operated veterans' hospitals.
Sold to interstate carriers of passengers for hire to be resold to s.139.76 (2) Not available
bona fide passengers being transported

Refunds or credits

Shipped to customers outside Wisconsin. s.139.80 Not available

Returned to the manufacturer and/or short shipments. s.139.80 Not available

Destroyed due to damage or becoming unfit for sale s.139.80 Not available

Tribal Refunds

A quarterly 50% refund ss. 139.803 $34,000
and 139.805

A monthly 50% refund ss. 139.803 1,200,000
and 139.805

Distilled Spirits, Cider, and Wine

Wisconsin defines distilled spirits as any beverage (except beer) made by a distillation process from agricultural
grains, fruits and sugars, containing 0.5% or more of alcohol by volume. Wine is defined [sec. 125.02(22), Wis. Stats.]
as any beverage (except beer) made by a fermentation process from agricultural products, fruits and sugars,
containing 0.5% or more of alcohol by volume. It includes cider containing more than 7% alcohol by volume.

Any beverage obtained from the fermentation of the juice of apples, containing not less than 0.5% alcohol by volume
and not more than 7% alcohol by volume is defined as cider [sec. 139.01(2m), Wis. Stats.]. Cider can be flavored,
sparkling or carbonated. Cider containing more than 7% alcohol by volume is taxed as wine.

Wisconsin imposes an occupational tax on the sale of both distilled spirits and wine. The tax was imposed at the end
of Prohibition and modified several times. The current tax rates have been in place since 1981 (except for the tax
cider that was established in 1998). Current tax rates are: $0.06605 per liter ($0.25 per gallon) for wine containing up
to 14% alcohol, $0.1189 per liter ($0.45 per gallon) for wine containing 14% to 21% alcohol; and $0.8586 per liter
($3.25 per gallon) for distilled spirits and wine containing over 21% alcohol. The rates were converted from per gallon
to per liter amounts in 1985. The tax on cider is $0.0171 per liter ($0.07 per gallon).

Tax Type Per Liter Per Gallon
Distilled Spirits $0.86 $3.25
Wine - Up to 14% $0.07 $0.25
Wine - 14% to 21% $0.12 $0.45
Wine - Over 21 % $0.86 $3.25
Cider (1) $0.02 $0.07

(1) For cider containing 7% or less alcohol by volume. Cider that
contains more than 7% of alcohol by volume is taxed at wine rates

When a liquor tax rate increases, an inventory tax is imposed on all liquor permittees and retailers who are in
possession of any liquor held for resale on which tax has been paid.

Liquor, wine, and cider taxes contributed $44.2 million to the state's general fund during FY10.

Wisconsin relies on a three-tier system for the distribution and sale of alcoholic beverages. The three-tier system
involves the sale of alcoholic beverages from manufacturers, to licensed wholesale distributors, and to retailers.
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In order to manufacture, sell or engage in any other activity relating to alcohol beverages a person needs the
appropriate license, permit or authorization. Any person in Wisconsin who wants to handle liquor at the wholesale
level must obtain a permit from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. Retail licenses to sell alcohol beverages are
issued by Wisconsin municipalities (towns, villages and cities), subject to state law. In addition, the Department of
Revenue issues retail liquor permits to sports club, vessels, and public facilities and airports.

The distilled spirits tax (plus fee); cider and wine taxes are remitted to the department with a monthly return. In
addition to the liquor tax, distributors pay the Department of Revenue an administrative fee of $0.11 per gallon on
liquor containing 0.5% or more alcohol by volume.

Distilled Spirits, Cider, and Wine Exemptions and Refunds

The Wisconsin liquor tax is not imposed upon the following:

¢ Wine or cider made at home for consumption at home without compensation.

e Liquor or wine shipped to other states or foreign countries.

e Sale and use of wine for sacramental purposes.

e Liquor sold to industrial permittees for use in food items.

e Liquor sold to hospitals for medicinal purposes.

Liguor products tax exemptions and refunds Statutory FY10
Reference Fiscal Effect

Exemptions
Wine or cider made at home for consumption at home without s. 139.04 Minimal
compensation.
Wine shipped to other states or foreign countries. s. 139.04 Not Available
Liquor shipped to other states or foreign countries. s.139.04 Not Available
Sale and use of wine for sacramental purposes. s. 139.04 Not available
Liguor sold to industrial permittees for use in food items. s. 139.04 Not available
Liguor sold to hospitals for medicinal purposes. s. 139.04 Not available
Refunds or credits
Liguor which is spoiled or unfit for consumption s. 139.10 Not available
Liguor supplied to hospitals for medicinal purposes or to institutions s.139.10 Minimal
of learning or museums for nonbeverage purposes
Liguor shipped to wholesalers outside Wisconsin S. 139.04 (5) Not available
Wine sold for sacramental purposes s. 139.04 (6) Minimal

Liguor permittees can receive refunds from the Department of Revenue of liquor tax paid on the following:
e Liquor which is spoiled or unfit for consumption.
e Liquor supplied to hospitals for medicinal purposes or to institutions of learning or museums for nonbeverage
purposes.
e Liquor shipped to wholesalers outside Wisconsin; send a letter including invoices.
¢ Wine sold for sacramental purposes.

Beer

In the following discussion, the term "beer" is used in place of "fermented malt beverages," which is the term defined
under Wisconsin law. “Fermented malt beverages" is defined as any beverage made by the alcohol fermentation in
water of barley malt and hops, with or without grains and sugar, containing 0.5% or more of alcohol by volume [sec.
125.02(6), Wis. Stats.].

Wisconsin imposes an occupational tax on the sale of beer at the rate of $2.00 per 31-gallon barrel [sec. 139.02(1),
Wis. Stats.]. The tax was first imposed in 1933 at the rate of $1.00 per barrel. The only increase in the tax occurred
when it was raised to its current rate of $2.00 per barrel beginning on November 1, 1969 (by Chapter 185, Laws of
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1969). There is no inventory tax on beer if the tax rate were to change. Beer tax collections were $9.6 million in
FY10.

In accordance with Wisconsin law, no one may sell, manufacture, rectify, brew, or engage in any other activity relating
to alcohol beverages without holding the appropriate license, permit, or authorization. Retail licenses to sell alcohol
beverages are issued for the most part by Wisconsin municipalities (towns, villages and cities) subject to state law.
Any person who wants to deal in beer at the wholesale level in Wisconsin must obtain a permit from the Wisconsin
Department of Revenue. In addition, the Department of Revenue issues retail liquor permits to sports club and
vessels.

Beer Credits, Exemptions and Refunds
A brewer who produces less than 300,000 barrels of beer per year is eligible for a tax credit of $1.00 per barrel on the

first 50,000 barrels subject to Wisconsin beer tax. In determining a brewer's total production, all brands and labels of
all production facilities regardless where located are combined.

Beer tax credits, exemptions, and refunds Statutory FY10 Fiscal
Reference Effect

Credits
Eligible producer tax credit s.139.02 (2) $277,000
Exemptions
Beer made at home for consumption at home without s.139.04 Minimal
compensation.
Beer furnished by a brewer to employees without charge on s.139.04 Not available
brewery premises.
Beer which contains less than 0.5% alcohol by volume. s.139.04 Not available
Beer shipped to other states or foreign countries s. 139.04 Not available
Beer sold to industrial permittees for use in food items. s. 139.04 Not available
Refunds or credits
Beer sold to the Armed Forces s.139.10 (1) Not available
Beer which is spoiled or unfit for consumption s.139.10 (1) Not available
Beer shipped to wholesalers outside Wisconsin s. 139.04 (5) Not available

No Wisconsin beer tax is due on the following:
o Beer made at home for consumption at home without compensation.
Beer furnished by a brewer to employees without charge on brewery premises.
Beer which contains less than 0.5% alcohol by volume.
Beer shipped to other states or foreign countries.
Beer sold to industrial permittees for use in food items.

Beer permittees can receive refunds from the Department of Revenue of the beer tax paid on the following:
e Beer sold to the Armed Forces (e.g., Fort McCoy)
e Beer which is spoiled or unfit for consumption
e Beer shipped to wholesalers outside Wisconsin.
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