
 

 

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Applicable Laws and Rules 
This document provides statements or interpretations of Wisconsin statutes 
and administrative rules enacted as of August 30, 2024. Laws enacted and 
in effect after this date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may 
change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this 
date that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by 
this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats. 
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In July, The Division of Alcohol Beverages said goodbye to Special Agent Rick Uhlig who is happily starting his 
retirement. Based in the Appleton office, Rick worked in law enforcement for 35 years; five in the State Patrol and thirty 
as a member of the DOR Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Unit. His knowledge of the law, steady hand, and wit will 
be missed by the clerks and business owners in the Fox Valley and the team here at DAB. We are grateful for Rick’s 
many years of service to the people of Wisconsin. 

We are excited to announce that Tyler Quam (you may have heard of him), has been promoted and will serve as the 
Enforcement Bureau Director here in the Division of Alcohol Beverages. Tyler has worked at the Department for over 
20 years. He is an expert on alcohol beverage law and regulation. He has demonstrated his capable, thoughtful 
leadership style through his time as Special Agent in Charge. These skills were on full display as he transitioned the 
team to the new division in the last few months. He is a skilled law enforcement professional and excellent 
communicator with stakeholders and staff alike. His commitment to building relationships, early identification of trends 
and practices, and clear communication about laws and regulations make him the perfect addition to the management 
team at DAB.   

Our top priorities for the Division are to get fully staffed and keep our administrative rules process moving. When a new 
law is passed, agencies propose administrative rules that describe how the agency will implement the details of the 
new law. Expect the opportunity to weigh in and offer your view on administrative rules formally in the next few months. 
We look forward to significant engagement from our stakeholder organizations this fall. 

This edition of DOR on Tap will highlight updated guidance, provide information on upcoming effective dates, and 
more! 
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Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of Wisconsin statutes 
and administrative rules enacted as of December 16, 2024. Laws enacted and 
in effect after this date, new admninistrative rules, and court decisions may 
change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this 
date that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by 
this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.

Introducing… Fall of 2024 brought several additions to the Division of Alcohol Beverages. 

We are excited to announce that Derrick Schleis was promoted by the Division of Alcohol Beverages to be 
an Excise Tax Agent Supervisor. Many of you know Derrick as he has been with DOR in enforcement for 3.5 
years, since June of 2021. Prior to his service in state government, Derrick worked as an officer on the City of 
Whitewater Police Department. 

Our Bureau of Permitting, Legal Services, and Reporting has also grown. Addison Metzger and Stephanie 
Wise joined Bureau Director Zac Dolan in the first week of November. Both Addison and Stephanie are current 
employees of DOR and we are excited about their addition. If you call with a question on permits, it is likely  
Addison or Stephanie will be answering your questions. 

Welcome to our new employees. They are here to serve you!

Derrick Schleis Addison Metzger Stephanie Wise

Contact Us
(608) 264-4573 | DORAlcohol@wisconsin.gov
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On the Road (again)…

October was packed with presentations to stakeholders who have interest in alcohol beverage issues. Our staff, 
including Department of Revenue Secretary David Casey, crisscrossed the state of Wisconsin, giving over a 
dozen presentations to over 1,500 people.  

The passage of 2023 Wisconsin Act 73 which made significant updates to State Statue 125 – Alcohol Beverages, 
gave us a variety of topics to talk about.  As always, our team handled your in-depth questions about how this 
new law will affect your business. 

The Division of Alcohol Beverages is always looking for opportunities to answer your questions. If you ever have 
the need for one of our staff to present to your organization on topics related to alcohol policy, do not hesitate to 
reach out.

Too Little, Too Late

A joint operation between Ozaukee County Sheriff’s Office and Division of Alcohol Beverage (DAB) Special 
Agents led to the denial of a retail alcohol beverage license in the county. The establishment, which has a 
history of calls-for-service by the sheriff’s office, previously held Class B licenses. This year, the business failed 
to submit a renewal application and corresponding paperwork to the municipal clerk’s office. The retail alcohol 
beverage licenses for the business expired at midnight on June 30, 2024.

An original alcohol beverage license application and appropriate paperwork were subsequently submitted on 
July 8, 2024. With statutory timelines and municipal board meeting schedules, the soonest the municipality 
could act on the license was July 23, 2024. However, even without valid retail licenses, the tavern continued to 
operate. 

Sheriff’s deputies observed the tavern open and operating twice at the beginning of July 2024. On one occasion, 
deputies entered the bar and spoke to the owner to remind the business that they needed to be closed until 
the alcohol beverage license application was approved. The sheriff’s office continued to field calls regarding 
drug use and alcohol beverage sales and consumption at the business. That same week, the sheriff’s office 
contacted DAB to assist with enforcement at the business. The mound of evidence that showed the business 
was operating without valid retail alcohol beverage licenses led to the service of a search warrant at the tavern. 
Alcohol beverages, invoices, and sales receipts were confiscated. DAB Special Agents also found evidence 
that most of the alcohol beverages in the bar were purchased from a local retailer, which is illegal to do for 
licensees. 

Due to the violations of the sale of alcohol beverages without appropriate licenses, evidence of alcohol 
beverages purchased from other retailers, and the multiple calls for service that tieup the sheriff’s department 
resources, the municipal governing body denied the license application for the business. 

Wisconsin alcohol beverage laws prohibit anyone from selling alcoholic beverages without the appropriate 
license or permit. Additionally, municipalities reserve the right to approve or deny retail alcohol beverage 
licenses, so long as they use fair and consistent judgement. DAB is focused on investigating and pursuing 
enforcement actions on those that commit these illegal acts and working with local partners to hold violators 
accountable.
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2023 Wisconsin Act 73 – Update 

When a major law, like  Act 73, is passed the agency charged with implementing the law must adopt administrative 
rules to indicate how they plan to implement the new law. On December 6, the first part of this process began 
when Governor Evers signed the emergency rule for Act 73 into effect.   

A copy of this rule can be found here.   

This rule answers many questions and give details about how the department will enforce the provisions of 
Act 73. Topics include, removal of outdated and superseded rules, background check fees, permits and fees, 
responsible beverage server training course standards, operators’ permits, alcohol beverage warehouse 
standards, permissible interests, production agreements, common carrier permits, fulfillment house permits, full-
service retail sales by producers, returns of alcohol beverages, retail premises definition, contract production, 
and transfers of alcohol beverages between production premises and full-service retail.  

Ultimately this rule will need to be approved by the State Legislature’s Joint Committee on the Review of 
Administrative Rules. This process will involve a public hearing and opportunity to submit comments. We expect 
to submit these rules to the legislature when they reconvene in their new session in January 2025.
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Alcohol Beverage Permit Issuance and Renewal Fees
Permit Type												               Biennial Fee
1. Operator’s Permit (s. 125.175, Stats.)...................................................................................................$200
2. Alcohol Beverage Warehouse (s. 125.19, Stats.)................................................................................. $200
3. Common Carrier Permit (s. 125.22, Stats.) .......................................................................................$2,000
4. Fulfillment House Permit (s. 125.23, Stats.)..........................................................................................$200
5. Industrial Fermented Malt Beverages (s. 125.275, Stats.)....................................................................$200
6. Fermented Malt Beverage Wholesaler (s. 125.28, Stats.).................................................................$4,000
7. Brewer (s. 125.29, Stats.) ..................................................................................................................$1,000
8. Brewpub (s. 125.295, Stats.)..............................................................................................................$1,000
9. Out-of-State Shipper of Fermented Malt Beverages (s. 125.30, Stats.)............................................$1,000
10. Class “B” Sports Club (s. 125.27(1), Stats.)........................................................................................$200
10a. Retail “Class B” Sports Club (s. 125.51(5)(a), Stats.)........................................................................$600
11. Retail “Class B” Airport/Public Facility (s. 125.51(5)(b), Stats.)...........................................................$600
12. Class “B” Vessel (s. 125.27(2), Stats.)................................................................................................$200
12a. Retail “Class B” Vessel (s. 125.51(5)(c), Stats.)................................................................................$600
13. Class “B” Racetrack (s. 125.27(5), Stats.)...........................................................................................$100
13a. Retail “Class B” Racetrack (s. 125.51(5)(f), Stats.)...........................................................................$300
14. Limited Manufacturer (s. 125.52(2), Stats.)......................................................................................$1,000
15. Rectifier (s. 125.52, Stats.)...............................................................................................................$1,000
16. Manufacturer (s. 125.52, Stats.).......................................................................................................$1,000
17. Winery (s. 125.53, Stats.)..................................................................................................................$1000
18. Direct Wine Shipper (s. 125.535, Stats.).............................................................................................$200
19. Intoxicating Liquor Wholesaler (s. 125.54, Stats.)............................................................................$1,000
20. Sacramental Wine (s. 125.56, Stats.)......................................................................................................$0
21. Out-of-State Shipper of Intoxicating Liquor (s. 125.58, Stats.)..........................................................$1000
22. Wholesale (Ethyl) Alcohol (s. 125.60, Stats.).......................................................................................$200
23. Medicinal Alcohol (s. 125.61, Stats.)........................................................................................................$0
24. Industrial Alcohol (s. 125.62, Stats.).....................................................................................................$200
25. Industrial Wine (s. 125.63, Stats.)........................................................................................................$200
26. Intoxicating Liquor Salesperson (s. 125.65, Stats.).............................................................................$200

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/emergency_rules/all/emr2419
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/175
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/22
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/23
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/275
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/28
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/29
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/29
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/30
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/27/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/51/5/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/51/5/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/27/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/51/5/c
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/ii/27/5
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/51/5/f
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/52/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/52
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/52
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/53
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/535
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/54
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/56
http://125.58
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/61
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/62
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/63
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/65


New Alcohol Law Alert

Starting January 1, 2025, Wisconsin will enforce a new law impacting businesses involved in alcohol fulfillment: 
any fulfillment house operating within the state, or shipping into the state, must obtain a permit from the Division 
of Alcohol Beverages (DAB). This new requirement, outlined in Wisconsin Statutes sec. 125.23, brings a 
significant change to the alcohol logistics landscape, especially for businesses managing direct-to-consumer 
wine shipments.  This law change was passed as part of 2023 Wisconsin Act 73 and represents Wisconsin’s 
effort to tighten regulation over direct-to-consumer alcohol shipments and ensure accountability in the logistics 
chain.

What is a Fulfillment House?

Under this new law, a “fulfillment house” is any entity that assists direct wine shippers with logistics—such as 
warehousing, packaging, order fulfillment, and shipping services—for wine that is legally shipped to individuals 
of legal drinking age within Wisconsin. This applies to businesses based in Wisconsin or elsewhere. Each 
fulfillment location must have its own permit to operate within the state, ensuring that Wisconsin has oversight 
on alcohol shipments entering its jurisdiction.

Once permitted, a fulfillment house is authorized to provide warehousing, packaging, order fulfillment, and 
shipment services exclusively for wine produced and owned by licensed Wisconsin direct wine shippers.

For more information, including labeling and safety regulations, monthly reporting requirements, and penalties 
for noncompliance please see our Fulfilment House Permit Fact Sheet.   
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Stay Updated with the Latest from DAB!

DAB is committed to keeping you informed with up-to-date resources and information to support your work in 
the industry. We’re excited to announce that the newest and latest materials are now available on our website!

As part of this update, we’ve refreshed and revised all 21 fact sheets about alcohol, ensuring they reflect the 
most current data, regulations, and industry trends.

Some of the updated fact sheets include:

	 • Licenses for Retail Sale of Alcohol Beverages
	 • Alcohol Beverage Permits
	 • Licensed or Permitted Premises Description
	 • Operators’ Licenses and Permits
	 • Alcohol Beverage Carry-Ins
	 • Alcohol Beverage Sampling
	 • Brewpub Permits
	 • Winery Permits
	 • Manufacturers’ and Rectifiers’ Permits

We encourage you to visit our website to explore these updated resources and find the tools you need to  
stay informed. 

Access the Updated Fact Sheets Here

Thank you for your continued partnership with DAB. Together, we’re fostering a more informed and knowledgeable 
industry.

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR Publications/3120FulfillmentHousePermits.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/FactSheets.aspx#alcohol
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3101AlcoholBeverageLicenses.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3102AlcoholBeveragePermits.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3103PremisesDescription.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3104OperatorsLicensesAndPermits.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3105AlcoholBeverageCarry-Ins.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3106Sampling.pdf
mailto:https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%2520Publications/3112BrewpubPermits.pdf?subject=
mailto:https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%2520Publications/3113WineryPermits.pdf?subject=
mailto:https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%2520Publications/3114ManufRectifiersPermits.pdf?subject=
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/FactSheets.aspx#alcohol
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Beginning January 1, 2025, a new law will take effect in Wisconsin introducing a Statewide Operator’s 
Permit, providing a streamlined option for individuals serving alcohol beverages across multiple municipalities.

What is the Statewide Operator’s Permit?

The Statewide Operator’s Permit offers a new alternative to traditional operator’s licenses, often referred to as 
“bartender’s licenses.” Unlike municipal operator’s licenses, which are valid only within the issuing municipality, 
the Statewide Operator’s Permit is valid at a licensed or permitted premises anywhere in Wisconsin.

Qualifications for a Statewide Operator’s Permit

To apply for the permit, individuals must meet the following requirements: 

   • Be at least 18 years old.
	 • Have no felony convictions or habitual law violations,  unless exempt under Wisconsin’s Fair Employment  

   Law.
	 • Successfully complete an approved responsible beverage server training course, unless exempt
    (e.g., renewal applicants or those with recent experience).

Applications will be processed through the Division of Alcohol Beverages (DAB) via an online system, and an 
application fee will apply.

Access information on Operators’ Licenses and Permits

Supervision Requirements Remain Unchanged
 
Businesses must continue to ensure supervision of alcohol service by a permitted or licensed individual during 
operating hours. An unlicensed adult may serve alcohol only if supervised in the same room by a licensed or 
permitted individual.

Questions?

For more details about the Statewide Operator’s Permit or other alcohol beverage laws, visit the Wisconsin 
Division of Alcohol Beverages website at revenue.wi.gov, or via email at DORAlcohol@wisconsin.gov or 
phone at (608) 264-4573.

New Statewide Operator’s Permit Gives Bartenders and Clerks Opportunities

Enhanced Flexibility for Operators

For businesses operating in multiple municipalities, the new permit eliminates  
the need to obtain separate operator’s licenses for each location. This change  
is expected to:

	 • Simplify compliance for operators and employers.
	 • Offer greater flexibility for event staff and service professionals.

mailto:https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3104OperatorsLicensesAndPermits.pdf?subject=
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pages/AlcoholBeverage/home.aspx
mailto:DORAlcohol%40wisconsin.gov?subject=
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Help when you need it 

In September 2024, a Waupaca County municipality reached out to the Division of Alcohol Beverages (DAB) 
regarding an alcohol beverage retailer that was suspected of selling alcohol beverages to underage individuals. 

During an investigation of a hit and run accident by the municipal police department, it was determined that the 
driver of the vehicle was under 21 and intoxicated at the time of the incident. The driver admitted to drinking 
alcohol beverages, along with three other underage passengers in the vehicle. It was further determined that the 
alcohol beverages were purchased by the underage individuals at a particular retailer. Around this same time, 
officers from the police department conducted three other traffic stops of underage persons who all had alcohol 
beverages in their vehicles that were purchased from the same retailer.

Given the multiple occurrences of these violations and the potential impact to public safety, the municipality 
made a call to DAB for assistance. A DAB Special Agent provided guidance on how to address this retailer. 
Under that guidance, two underage compliance checks were immediately conducted at the retailer with minors 
successfully making controlled purchases of alcohol beverages on both occasions, without being asked for 
identification. The employee also offered to throw in some disposable vapor cartridges with the purchase, which 
the minors declined.

After reporting this information to DAB, the Special Agent organized all the facts and violations into a suspension/
revocation complaint template under sec. 125.12, Wis. Stats. In October 2024, the municipality filed the 
complaint with the governing body and scheduled a hearing to consider whether to act against the retailer’s 
alcohol beverage license. However, prior to the hearing, the retailer agreed to accept a suspension of their 
alcohol beverage license for 90 days in lieu of revocation of their license.

This case highlights one of the many ways that DAB cooperates with local municipalities and fellow law 
enforcement agencies. DAB is committed to continuing partnerships with local jurisdictions to ensure that those 
establishments that operate outside the law and present a threat to public safety are held accountable.


