
In the May 2022 edition of DOR On Tap, we announced special agents William Gray and Georgeann King retired in 
February 2022. I am excited to announce DOR has filled those vacancies with the hiring of special agents Buck 
Robertson and Ashley Schnering.   
 
Special Agent Robertson comes to us from the Waukesha County Sheriff’s Office, where he served as a patrol 
lieutenant for two years. Before that, Robertson worked as a patrol deputy and sergeant at the Washington County 
Sheriff’s Office for approximately 15 years. Robertson is headquartered out of the Eau Claire office and will be 
assigned to the following counties: Buffalo, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, St. Croix, Taylor, 
Trempealeau, and Wood.   
 
Special Agent Schnering comes to us from the Oak Creek Police Department where she served as a patrol officer and 
training coordinator for the past 14 years. Schnering is headquartered out of the Milwaukee office and will be assigned 
to Milwaukee County. 
 
We are looking forward to successful and enjoyable careers for Ashley and Buck at DOR! 
 
June was an especially busy time for municipal officials and our Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement Unit. As another 
retail licensing renewal period is behind us, I want to give a special thanks to everyone for their work during this busy 
time. 
 
Summer months usually bring festivals, events, and gatherings where alcohol beverages are sold. Consumption of 
alcohol beverages typically increases because of these events. I want to remind everyone to have fun by consuming 
responsibly, avoiding over-consumption, obeying local and state laws, and arranging for a safe ride home. 
 
Last, I'd like to give a special thanks to Lt. Nate Henriksen of the Wisconsin State Patrol for his article on impaired 
driving that you will find within this newsletter. 
 
Cheers, 
 
Tyler Quam 
ATEU | Wisconsin Department of Revenue  

Resources & News 

 

 

  

DOR on Tap 
An Alcohol Industry Update 

August 2022 | AIU 013 

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and 
Consumer Protection 
 
Wisconsin Department of Health Services 
 
Wisconsin Department of Justice 
 
League of Wisconsin Municipalities 

Wisconsin Department of Revenue Website 
 
Wisconsin Department of Revenue Alcohol Beverage 
Landing Page 
 
Operator's (Bartender's) License – Training 
 
Federal TTB (Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade 
Bureau) 
 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Homepage.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Homepage.aspx
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/
https://www.doj.state.wi.us/
http://www.lwm-info.org/983/Intoxicating-Liquors?_sm_au_=iVVLW0ZNtqb7W6tP
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/AlcoholBeverage/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/AlcoholBeverage/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/alcSellerServer.aspx
https://www.ttb.gov/
https://www.ttb.gov/


 

 

 

  

Guest Column: Wisconsin State Patrol 
Impaired Driving in Wisconsin 

 

Sobering statistics: 
Last year in Wisconsin (2021), 6,368 alcohol-related crashes 
killed 166 people. 2,094 crashes involved drugs, including 74 
fatalities. 
 
2020 data shows there were 15,790 Operating While 
Intoxicated (OWI) convictions in Wisconsin (2021 data is still 
being compiled). Impaired driving (drunk or drugged) 
convictions can cost around $10,000, including fines, court 
costs, attorney fees, lost time at work, higher insurance 
rates, car towing and repairs, and more.  
 
Law Enforcement’s Response: 
Wisconsin law enforcement agencies work throughout the 
year to deter impaired driving. There are several multi-
jurisdictional high-visibility OWI task forces around the state 
that team up to combat impaired driving using predictive 
analytical data. Grant funding allows Wisconsin law 
enforcement agencies extra patrols during holiday and high-
peak travel seasons. “Drive Sober” campaigns are aimed not 
just to stop or arrest drivers, but to prevent tragedies by 
getting impaired drivers off the road. 
 

 
Make the choice: 
If you plan to drink, identify a sober designated driver. If 
you’re feeling impaired, you likely are over the 0.08 blood 
alcohol concentration limit and should not drive. Rather than 
risk an arrest, take mass transit, call a taxi, use a rideshare 
service, or ask a sober friend to drive you home. If you have 
a friend who is about to drink and drive, step in. Take the 
keys away and help them get home safely. 
 
The free “Drive Sober” mobile app (iOS or Android) helps 
estimate blood alcohol levels and provides information to find 
a safe ride home. Some bars and restaurants also have 
programs to provide customers with a safe ride home. 
 
Everyone can play a role. Designate a sober driver or 
arrange for a safe ride home. Never allow anyone to drive 
impaired. If you see a driver you suspect is impaired, safely 
gather as much info as you can about the vehicle, driver, and 
location, then call 911. 
 
By Lt. Nate Henriksen 
Wisconsin State Patrol 
 
 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx


 

 

  

Class is in Session 
 
 

New Wisconsin bartenders must pass a responsible beverage server (RBS) training course before receiving their 
operator's license to bartend independently. This course is also required of new retail license holders, among others.  
These courses cover underage restrictions, ID checking guidelines, and the effects of alcohol on the human body and 
many other common alcohol beverage retail laws. Trainees must pass a final exam before receiving their course 
completion certificate. 
 
While the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) does not create RBS courses, we do review and approve new 
courses, in addition to verifying that existing courses continue to meet DOR training standards.  
 
Visit our website to find all approved RBS courses. This list has been recently updated to include a new course and 
remove a course that is no longer approved.   
 
Municipal clerks should only accept RBS completion certificates from approved providers. 
 
Send questions and requests for review of new RBS courses to DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforcement@wisconsin.gov. 
  
 
 
 

Cocktails To-Go Reminder 
 

"Class B" liquor license holders, such as bars and restaurants, may only sell cocktails by the glass for off-premises 
consumption if the container is closed with a tamper-evident seal.  
 
Tamper-evident seals must fully and securely close the container and show evidence of tampering if the container is 
opened. The tamper-evident seal cannot include any perforations.  For example, a lid with a straw or sipping hole would 
not be sufficient.  
 
Any person who violates these laws may be subject to a fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 90 days, license 
revocation, or any combination of these penalties.  
 
For more information on Wisconsin's cocktails to-go laws, see our May 2021 Newsletter or  2021 Wisconsin Act 21.  
 

Do Recycle; Don't Reuse 
 

Wisconsin law prohibits retailers from doing any of the following activities (sec. 125.68(8)(a)., Wis. Stats.): 
 

• Diluting any intoxicating liquor with the purpose of selling as non-diluted intoxicating liquor 

• Refilling any intoxicating liquor container which was originally used for intoxicating liquor containing 21% or more 
of alcohol by volume 

• Possessing diluted intoxicating liquor or refilled original containers on any retail licensed premises 
 
Mere possession of an original container which contains diluted intoxicating liquor or was refilled is sufficient evidence 
of intent to violate the law.  Retailers should be aware that even refilling a bottle with the same brand and flavor is a 
violation of Wisconsin law.  Penalties for violating these laws may include fines of $150 to $500 and/or jail time of 60 
days to 6 months.   
 
All intoxicating liquor served should be dispensed from the original container and properly disposed of when empty.  
Retailers must immediately scratch, deface, or mutilate the label of an intoxicating liquor bottle so that the label cannot 
be reused.  In addition, retailers must break or destroy the bottles so that they cannot be reused, unless they will be 
recycled.  If retained for recycling, bottles must have all labels scratched, defaced, or mutilated; stored in containers 
marked "For recycling only," and be removed from the licensed premises within 10 days (sec. Tax 8.43, Wis. Adm. 
Code). 
 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/alcSellerServer.aspx
mailto:DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforcement@Wisconsin.Gov
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORNews/DORonTapAIU008.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2021/related/acts/21
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/iii/68/8
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/Tax%208.43


 

  

Contact Us 

(608) 264-4573 | DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforcement@wisconsin.gov | Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn 

Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Unit Year in Review 
 

The following charts summarize investigations and permit application background checks for the fiscal year ending 
June 30, 2022, by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue's Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Unit.  
 
For the second year in a row, breweries saw the most actions. Over 95% of brewery actions in fiscal year 2022 were 
related to permit application background checks and requests for approvals of offsite retail outlets. The remaining 
brewery actions were investigations. 
 

New Brew  
 

We recently redesigned our Alcohol Beverage page to be simpler and easier to navigate.  
 
New alcohol beverage fact sheets are available on the DOR website. Each of these fact sheets are based on a 
previous article from DOR on Tap, the alcohol industry update. Sign up for DOR on Tap here.  
 
• Fact Sheet 3111: Brewer's Permits 
• Fact Sheet 3112: Brewpub Permits 
• Fact Sheet 3113: Winery Permits 
• Fact Sheet 3114: Manufacturers' and Rectifiers' Permits 
• Fact Sheet 3115: Bringing Alcohol Beverages into Wisconsin  
• Fact Sheet 3116: Reserve Licenses 
• Fact Sheet 3117: License Transfers 
• Fact Sheet 3118: "Class B" License Quotas 
• Fact Sheet 3119: Alcohol Beverage Regulations for Underage Persons 
 
Publication 309, Retail Alcohol Beverage Licensing Information, is updated. If you have any feedback regarding these 
publications or our website, contact Ann DeGarmo, Excise Tax Specialist, at ann.degarmo@wisconsin.gov.  
 
 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelp.aspx?subject=doralcoholtobaccoenforcement
https://twitter.com/wi_revenue
https://www.linkedin.com/company/wirevenue/mycompany/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/AlcoholBeverage/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/AlcoholBeverage/DOR-on-Tap-Archive.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb309.pdf
mailto:ann.degarmo@wisconsin.gov


 

Applicable Laws and 
Rules 

This document provides statements or 
interpretations of Wisconsin statutes and 
administrative rules enacted as of August 
16, 2022. Laws enacted and in effect after 
this date, new administrative rules, and 
court decisions may change the 
interpretations in this document. 
Guidance issued prior to this date that is 
contrary to the information in this 
document is superseded by this 
document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), 
Wis. Stats. 

What's My Age Again? 
 

As summer wanes and turns into fall, students head back to campus. Those in the alcohol beverage industry have a 
responsibility to ensure only people 21 and over are served alcohol beverages.  
 
The legal drinking age in Wisconsin is 21 years old (sec. 125.02(8m), Wis. Stats.). Potential consequences for selling, 
dispensing, or giving away alcohol beverages to underaged persons in Wisconsin could result in fines, imprisonment, 
and license revocation. Read more in sec. 125.07, Wis. Stats.  
 
Retailers should be vigilant about checking IDs to avoid law violations that may result in fines, imprisonment, or 
lawsuits.  
 
Here are some tips to protect yourself and your employees: 

 

• Demand valid identification from all customers entering your premises. 

• Ask questions about the ID or the information presented on the ID. 

• Check the expiration date. Only unexpired IDs should be accepted. 

• Look for the "under 18" or "under 21" feature on the card 

• Look for "duplicate" stamp on the card. 

• Check for the star in the top right corner for Real ID compliance. 

• Ask for additional documentation verifying the identity of the person presenting the card. 

• Look for laser engraved information unique to Wisconsin ID cards. 

• Use an ID checking guide. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/02/8m
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/i/07

