
 

This isn't business as usual, and it's a time of great stress and uncertainty for all in the alcohol beverage industry. 
Many businesses like restaurants, breweries, distilleries, wineries, and taverns are forced to shut their doors. Others 
are trying to weather the storm by offering carry-out services of food and beverages. In either case, I hope that we 
quickly recover from the economic fallout across our communities due to the COVID-19 virus. 

Those of you exploring options like carry-out service have had a lot of questions about what is and is not allowed 
during this time. Generally, the answers are simple: if you could do it before, you can do it now; if you couldn't do it 
before, you can't do it now. Restrictions on the types and forms of carry-out beverages, hours of service, face-to-face 
sales requirements, etc. have not changed. However, DOR has put out guidance related to the many questions we 
have been receiving during this time. I encourage you to review this guidance at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORNews/NEW-AB-COVID-19-Guidance-Document.pdf. 

Also, if you are not signed up for our alcohol beverage news email list, I encourage you to do so at 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx. Just check the box for "Alcohol Beverage News", enter your email 
address at the bottom of the page, and click subscribe. You will then be automatically emailed with the latest alcohol 
beverage news. 

Finally, this newsletter contains several articles addressing frequent questions we have been receiving lately. I hope 
that you find this information helpful. 

Please take care of yourselves and your loved ones during this difficult time period. I hope we can return to some 
sense of "normalcy" soon. 

Cheers, 

Tyler Quam, Special Agent in Charge 
A&TEU | Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
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https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/alcSellerServer.aspx
https://www.ttb.gov/
https://www.ttb.gov/


Clerk's Corner: Alcohol License Renewal Season 

It's that time of year again! Municipal clerks are getting ready to receive alcohol beverage license renewal 
applications. During this already busy time of year, the COVID-19 pandemic is making things even more challenging. 
We have received several questions from clerks about how they can efficiently process license renewals, while still 
adhering to social distancing guidelines. Below are some options that might help you during this time. 

Alcohol beverage applications (originals and renewals) do not need to be notarized. 
Alcohol beverage forms for retail licenses that are prepared by our department, such as original applications and 
renewals, do not need to be notarized, pursuant to sec. 125.04(3)(bm), Wis. Stats. 

Applications can be emailed. 
There is no Wisconsin law that prohibits an alcohol beverage application from being emailed to the municipal clerk. 
Electronic signatures on applications are also permissible. 

You may accept license fees up until June 15. 
Wisconsin law provides that a city or village cannot require an applicant to pay a license fee more than 15 days before 
the date the license is issued. No town may require payment of the license fee more than 30 days before the date the 
license is issued, pursuant to sec. 125.04(8), Wis. Stats. For example, licensees could submit payment for their 
license on June 15 and have their license issued on June 30. 

Fee amounts can be changed. 
Without legislation, our department cannot waive the fees for alcohol beverage licenses. However, municipalities have 
discretion to set different fee amounts, by ordinance, as long as the fees fall within the parameters set by statute. 

 Class "A" license fees do not have a set minimum or maximum.  The fee for this license is set by the
municipality; Sec. 125.25(4), Wis. Stats.

 Class "B" license fees can range from $0 to $100; sec. 125.26(4), Wis. Stats.

 "Class C" license fees can range from $0 to $100; sec. 125.51(3m)e), Wis. Stats.

 "Class A" license fees can range from $50 to $500; sec. 125.51(2)(d)(1), Wis. Stats.

 Regular "Class B" license fees can range from $50 to $500;  sec. 125.51(3)(e)(1), Wis. Stats.

 Reserve "Class B" liquor licenses are a minimum of $10,000, and have no set maximum; sec. 125.51(3)(e)(2),
Wis. Stats.

***Additional fee ranges apply to certain unique "Class B" licenses (e.g. Premier Economic Development District 
licenses and above-quota licenses). 

Expiration dates of retail alcohol beverage licenses have not changed. 2019 Wisconsin Act 185 was enacted on April 
15, 2019. That law provides that any state agency of local governmental unit may delay any deadline that occurs 
within the emergency period. The emergency period means the period covered by Executive Order #72, plus 30 days. 
Although state law does not provide a deadline for retail alcohol beverage licenses to be filed, some municipalities 
may have ordinances that establish these deadlines. If a municipality has established such a deadline that falls within 
the emergency period, they may choose to delay this deadline. 

Can I request an extension of time to file my excise tax returns, pay my excise taxes, or pay my permit 
renewal fees during to the COVID-19 pandemic? 
Excise tax returns and payments that are due from March 12, 2020 through May 11, 2020 may be extended to May 
11, 2020. Extensions will be granted on a case-by-case basis. No late filing fees, penalties, or interest will be 
assessed if the return is filed and the tax is paid by May 11, 2020. 

There is no extension of time to pay permit renewal fees. In order to keep your permit active, the renewal fee must be 
paid when due. 

How do I request the COVID-19 relief described above? 
Request an extension before the due date of the return through My Tax Account by completing the request form 
found here: COVID-19 Relief. Information required includes Federal ID number, business name, your email address, 
the tax period(s) fo r which the extension is requested, and the reason for the extension request. All extension 
requests will be responded to within 48 hours. 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.04(3)(bm)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.04(8)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.25(4)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/125/II/26/4
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.51(3m)(e)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.51(2)(d)1.
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.51(3)(e)1.
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.51(3)(e)2.
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.51(3)(e)2.


 

 

 

  

Shipping Wine Directly to Wisconsin Consumers 

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue issues Direct Wine Shippers' permits (sec. 125.535, Wis. Stats.) which 
authorize the permittee to ship wine directly to individual consumers. 
 
To be eligible for a Direct Wine Shippers' permit, the applicant must manufacture and bottle wine on a premises 
covered by any one of the following: 

1. A Wisconsin liquor manufacturer's or rectifier's permit 
2. A Wisconsin winery permit 
3. A winery license, permit, or other authorization issued to the winery by any state from which the winery will ship 

wine into Wisconsin 
4. A federal basic winery permit 

The individual to whom the wine is shipped must: 

 Be of legal drinking age 

 Acknowledge receipt of the shipped wine 

 Not be intoxicated at the time of delivery 

The statute allows manufacturing wineries within the United States to ship their wines directly to individual consumers. 
Direct shipping by retailers is not allowed. 
 
In June 2019, the U.S. Supreme Court issued its decision in Tennessee Wine and Spirits Retailer Association v. 
Thomas. The decision ruled on the constitutionality of state residency requirements in alcohol beverage regulation. 
The decision did not overturn Wisconsin's statute allowing for the issuance of direct wine shippers' permits to 
manufacturing wineries but not retailers. 
 
Direct Wine Shippers must remit the Wisconsin sales tax on all wine shipments to Wisconsin consumers. Pursuant to 
sec. 139.035(3), Wis. Stats., "No wine may be shipped directly to an individual in this state by a person holding a 
direct wine shipper's permit under s.125.535 unless the tax imposed under s. 77.52 or 77.53 is paid on the sale of 
such wine." 

Alcohol Beverage Stock Transfers 

Wisconsin alcohol beverage regulations allow retail licensees to transfer alcohol beverages to another retail licensee 
in Wisconsin, in certain circumstances. If you sell, close, or otherwise liquidate our business, you may transfer your 
entire sealed liquor, wine, and beer stock to another retail licensee in this state in one liquidating transaction. You may 
NOT transfer open containers of intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer. In place of an invoice, transferred alcohol 
beverages must be documented using Form AT-900, Alcohol Beverage Stock Transfer, available at 
www.revenue.wi.gov. This form reports the inventory of the stock transferred. Make two copies. One copy should be 
retained by the buyer and one copy should be retained by the seller. The buyer must keep a copy on the licensed 
premises for two years. The completed form does not need to be sent to the Department. 

Production of Hand Sanitizer to Address COVID-19 Pandemic 

Manufacturers in Wisconsin may produce alcohol to make hand sanitizer if they obtain an industrial alcohol permit 
from the department using Form AB-123. There is no charge for this permit and the application process will be 
expedited. In addition, the alcohol is not subject to intoxicating liquor excise taxes. The Alcohol Tobacco Tax & Trade 
Bureau (TTB) is temporarily waiving certain formula approvals for the manufacture of hand sanitizer and also 
expediting certain permit requirements. Additional public guidance from the TTB about the production of hand sanitizer 
can be found here. 

https://www.winespectator.com/articles/supreme-court-strikes-down-tennessee-residency-law?_sm_au_=iVVVqr0ZQ10FJsnH63QVLKHW31G22
https://www.winespectator.com/articles/supreme-court-strikes-down-tennessee-residency-law?_sm_au_=iVVVqr0ZQ10FJsnH63QVLKHW31G22
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/at-900.pdf
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/ab-123f.pdf
https://www.ttb.gov/public-guidance/ttb-pg-2020-1a


 

 

  

Contact Us 

Phone: (715) 842-2343 | Email: DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforcement@wisconsin.gov | Follow us on Twitter 
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Applicable Laws and Rules 

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following provisions of Wisconsin Statutes enacted as of 
May 1, 2020: Sections 125.04, 125.25, 125.26, 125.51, 125.52, 125.535, 125.62, 137.25, 139.035, and 323.265, Wis. 
Stats., and secs. Tax 7.01 and Tax 8.81, Wis. Adm. Code. 
 

Laws enacted and in effect after May 1, 2020, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the 
interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to May 1, 2020, that is contrary to the information in this 
document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats. 

Certification Statement 

As the Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR), I have reviewed this guidance document or proposed 
guidance document and I certify that it complies with secs. 227.10 and 227.11, Wis. Stats. I further certify that the 
guidance document or proposed guidance document contains no standard, requirement, or threshold that is not 
explicitly required or explicitly permitted by a statute or rule that has been lawfully promulgated. I further certify that 
the guidance document or proposed guidance document contains no standard, requirement, or threshold that is more 
restrictive than a standard, requirement, or threshold contained in the Wisconsin Statutes. 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

 

______________________  

Peter Barca 

Secretary of Revenue 


