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Instructions: Municipal Electric Companies Annual Report (MP-800) 

Filing Information  
Using My Tax Account (MTA), submit the documents for the Municipal Electric Companies Annual Report  
(MP-800). In MTA you can view all your account details – including annual report, letter, assessment notice, 
billing notice, and more.  

Note: All applicable information requested in the annual report is required by sec. 76.04, Wis. Stats. If you 
refuse or neglect to report the information requested above, you will not be able to appeal the determined 
value (sec. 76.05, Wis. Stats.). 

Due Date and Penalties 
• Due date – on or before May 1 of each year (or next business day if May 1 is a Saturday or Sunday) 
• You may request a 30-day extension (through MTA) before the May 1 due date 
• If you do not file by the due date or extended due date, you will be charged a late filing fee of $25 plus 

5% of the total license fees due 
• State law (sec. 76.04, Wis Stats.) requires a $250 non-contestable penalty for any report filed more than 

15 days after the due date, and $250 for each additional month your report is late 
• If you refuse or neglect to report applicable information requested, your company will surrender rights 

to appeal the value under sec. 76.05, Wis. Stats. 

Ad Valorem Taxes 
In lieu of taxes, under state law (secs. 76.01 to 76.26, Wis. Stats.), municipal electric companies must pay an 
amount equal to the ad valorem taxes imposed on all projects owned.  
• Tax amount – product of the average net rate of taxation multiplied by the net book value (NBV) of the 

"project" (sec. 76.126, Wis. Stats.)  
• NBV – original cost less accumulated depreciation (rate of depreciation approved by the Wisconsin 

Public Service Commission (WPSC) or by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue  
• Date of valuation – January 1. The tax is due in the first year there is an accumulation of costs assigned 

to a specific project. 

What to Report 
For project costs included on financial records as of December 31: 
1. Financial statements including project costs for the year ended December 31 
2. Detailed list or breakdown of the project components and costs as of December 31 including a working 

funds computation. If there is more than one project, provide a detailed list and working fund 
calculation for each. If out-of-state construction costs are included, identify these costs. 

3. Detailed list of administrative expenses assigned or allocated to the reported projects (actual 
administrative cost incurred because of the project)  

4. Copy of any published annual report for the year  
5. Applications for exemption of waste treatment facilities  
6. Statement signed by an officer certifying the reported project costs are accurate 

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/_/
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