Instructions: Private Light, Heat, Power Annual Report (LP-003)

General Information

The following entities must pay an annual license fee to be assessed May 1:

- Light, heat and power companies defined in sec. <u>76.28(1)(e)</u>, Wis. Stats.
- Qualified wholesale electric companies defined in sec. <u>76.28(1)(gm)</u>, Wis. Stats.
- Transmission companies defined in sec. 76.28(1)(j), Wis. Stats.

This license fee is measured by the gross revenues of the preceding **calendar** year regardless of when the books are closed for financial reporting purposes.

Filing Information

- Using <u>My Tax Account</u> (MTA), each company must file Form LP-003 with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR)
- Due date on or before March 1 of each year (or next business day if May 1 is a Saturday or Sunday)
- You may request a 30-day extension (through MTA) before the March 1 due date
- If you do not file by the due date or extended due date, you will be charged a late filing fee of \$25 plus 5% of the total license fees due (secs. <u>76.28(6)(b)</u> and (<u>7</u>), Wis. Stats.)

Note: Do not submit payment with your form. DOR will send you a bill for the assessment on approximately April 10. Once you pay your assessment in full, your license to carry on business for the 12-month period begins January 1.

Calculate Apportionment Factor

Report plant, payroll, and sales data for both total company and Wisconsin-specific locations in their respective fields of entry.

License Fee Assessment Calculation

- "All other revenues" must be classified as either gas or electric based on their relationship to one or the other (ex: wheeling revenues and pole rents are related to electric; forfeited discounts from gas sales are related to gas)
- If revenues cannot be readily attributed to gas (ex: steam revenues), you must report them as "other revenues"
- Except for municipal light, heat and power companies, the actual cost of purchased power as reported to the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (PSCW) may be deducted if **1-4** apply *or* if **5** applies:
 - 1. Wholesale rates were approved by federal or state regulatory agencies
 - 2. Power purchased for resale included in operating revenues represents more than 50% of the power sold
 - 3. Power is not purchased from an affiliated interest as defined in sec. <u>196.52(1)</u>, Wis. Stats.
 - Revenue from that purchased power is included in the seller's gross revenues reported to the PSCW. For Class C and D utilities, the amounts shown should equal operating revenues reported on Page F-1, Line 7, Column C of the PSCW Report
 - 5. Except for municipal light, heat and power companies, 50% of the actual cost of purchased power as reported to the PSCW may be deducted if the utility purchases more than 90% of its power and has less than \$50 million of gross revenues

Transmission Companies

May exclude revenues from service provided to a public utility that is subject to the license fee as defined in state law (sec. $\underline{196.01(5)}$, Wis. Stats.), or to a cooperative association organized under Ch. $\underline{185}$, Wis. Stats., for the purpose of providing electricity to its members only.