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FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT
In compliance with federal law, you are hereby notified that the request for your social security number on the Wisconsin homestead credit claim is made under the authority of Section 71.55(7) of
the Wisconsin Statutes. The disclosure of this number on your claim is mandatory. It will be used for identification purposes throughout the processing, fil ing, and auditing of your claim, and
in the issuance of refund checks.

Checklist:

Before submitting your homestead claim, check
the following items:

All applicable lines of Schedule H or H-EZ
are completed

All math computations are double-checked

Schedule H or H-EZ are signed and dated

Property tax bill(s)/rent certificate(s) are
attached

All other applicable attachments included:

Wisconsin and federal income tax
returns

Notes, schedules, documentation, etc.

Made an extra copy of Schedule H or H-EZ
for your records

STOP

Para assistencia gratuita en Español
ver página 16.

Free Tax Preparation Available
(commonly referred to as VITA or TCE)
Low and moderate income individuals and the
elderly can have their taxes, including their
Homestead Credit, prepared for free. See page 15
for more information.

How to Avoid Losing
Part of Your Refund
In 2003, more than 114,000 Wisconsin taxpayers
paid an estimated $28.5 MILLION in Refund
Anticipation Loans (RAL) and associated fees.
See page 15 for tips on how to avoid this situation.

Simplified
Homestead Form
Applying for the
Homestead Credit is easy!
A majority of Homestead
applicants can use the
simplified, one page,
H-EZ form. Plus, the H-EZ
and the regular
Homestead form can be
e-filed! Look inside for
more information.
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A.  Do You Qualify?

To see if you qualify for homestead credit, answer “Yes” or
“No” to all of the questions in Steps 1 and 2 below.

Step 1

If you answer “No” to any question in Step 1, do not complete
Schedule H or H-EZ; you do not qualify for homestead credit.
If you answer “Yes” to all four questions, go on to Step 2.

a. Were you age 18 or older as of December 31, 2005? (If
you were born on January 1, 1988, you are considered to
be age 18 as of December 31, 2005.)

b. Were you a legal resident of Wisconsin from January 1
through December 31 of 2005?

c. Was your household income (see definition F.4 on page 4)
for 2005 less than $24,500?

d. Were you the owner or renter of the Wisconsin homestead
(see definition F.1 on page 4) you lived in during 2005?

Step 2

If you answer “Yes” to any question in Step 2, do not complete
Schedule H or H-EZ; you do not qualify for homestead credit.

a. Were you claimed or will you be claimed as a dependent
on someone else’s 2005 federal income tax return? (If you
were age 62 or older on December 31, 2005, this limitation
does not apply to you, so answer “No.” If you were born on
January 1, 1944, you are considered to be age 62 on
December 31, 2005.)

b. Are you currently living in a nursing home and also receiving
Title XIX medical assistance?

c. For EACH MONTH of the entire 2005 year, did you receive
either Wisconsin Works (W2) payments (see definition F.5
on page 4) of any amount or county relief payments of $400
or more?

d. Did you live FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR 2005 in housing that
is exempt from property taxes? (A municipal housing
authority property created under sec. 66.1201, Wis. Stats.,
is not considered tax-exempt for homestead credit purposes
if that authority makes payments in lieu of property taxes to
the city or town in which it is located. If you live in public
housing, you may wish to check with your manager.)
Note:  If you are claiming property taxes on your former
homestead (see paragraph 8 under “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/or Renters,” on page 10), this limitation
does not apply, so answer “No.”

e. Have you claimed or will you claim a Wisconsin farmland
preservation credit or veterans and surviving spouses
property tax credit for 2005?

f. Has another member of your household (see definition F.3
on page 4) filed a 2005 Schedule H or H-EZ?

g. Is the Schedule H or H-EZ being filed on behalf of a person
who is deceased?

If you answered “Yes” to all of the questions in Step 1 and “No”
to all of the questions in Step 2, complete Schedule H or H-EZ
(see “Which Schedule to File” on page 3) to see if homestead
credit is available to you. Meeting all of the qualifications in
Steps 1 and 2 does not guarantee you will receive a homestead
credit.
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B.  Which Schedule to File

You may file Schedule H-EZ if:

• You (and your spouse, if married) have taxable and non-
taxable income only from the following sources:

1. wages, salaries, tips, etc. (if any of your wages, salaries,
tips, etc., are not taxable to Wisconsin, you cannot file
on Schedule H-EZ);

2. interest and dividends;

3. unemployment compensation;

4. pensions, annuities, and other retirement plan distribu-
tions;

5. social security benefits (including federal and state SSI,
SSI-E, SSD, and caretaker supplement payments);

6. railroad retirement benefits;

7. alimony, child support, and family maintenance;

8. Wisconsin Works (W2), county relief, kinship care, and
other cash public assistance;

9. gambling winnings (if your gambling winnings are
reported on federal Schedule C or C-EZ, you cannot file
on Schedule H-EZ).

• During 2005 you (and your spouse, if married) did not repay
any amount that was included as nontaxable household
income on a prior year’s homestead credit claim.

• You did not become married or divorced during 2005.

• Your spouse (if you are married) was a legal resident of
Wisconsin from January 1 through December 31, 2005.

• You and your spouse (if you are married) did not maintain
separate homes during any part of 2005 (including one
spouse in a nursing home).

• Your home was used only for personal purposes while you
lived there in 2005 (for example, no rental or business use,
or use of a separate unit by others rent free).

• Your home was located on one acre of land or less.

• You did not sell your home during 2005.

If you cannot file on Schedule H-EZ, you must file on
Schedule H.

C.  How, When, and Where to File

1. How  If you file a Wisconsin income tax return, you should
file your Schedule H or H-EZ with the tax return (stapled
together). Separate filing will delay your homestead
refund. If you (or you and your spouse) are not required to
file a tax return, Schedule H or H-EZ may be filed by itself.

You may file Schedule H with Form 1, 1A, or 1NPR; you
cannot file Schedule H with Form WI-Z. You may file Sched-
ule H-EZ with Form 1 or 1A; you cannot file Schedule H-EZ
with Form 1NPR or WI-Z.

If you previously filed your Wisconsin income tax return,
write “Income Tax Return Separately Filed” at the top of

Schedule H or H-EZ and, if filing Schedule H, check the
box on line 7. ATTACH A COMPLETE COPY of your Wis-
consin income tax return, including any wage statements
and Forms 1099-R. Write “Duplicate” at the top of the return.
If your Wisconsin return is a Form 1 or 1NPR, ALSO
INCLUDE A COPY of your federal income tax return and
supporting schedules. If you filed your Wisconsin income
tax return by telephone, attach copies of your Wisconsin
TeleFile worksheet and wage statements.

The fastest way to get your refund is to file electronically. If
you file electronically, within 48 hours after receiving your
Wisconsin acknowledgement you must mail all of the
required Schedule H or H-EZ attachments along with a
completed Form W-RA, Required Attachments for Electronic
Filing. For additional information, see the department’s web
site at www.dor.state.wi.us or talk to a tax preparer.

Note:  An electronically filed homestead credit claim may
not be filed separately from your Wisconsin income tax
return.

2. When  For most claimants, the deadline for filing a 2005
Schedule H or H-EZ is April 15, 2010. If you are a taxpayer
with a fiscal year (one ending on a date other than Decem-
ber 31), the deadline is 4 years, 3 1/2 months after the end
of the fiscal year to which the claim relates. Do not file your
2005 Schedule H or H-EZ before January 1, 2006.

3. Where  Mail Schedule H or H-EZ with your Wisconsin
income tax return (if required) to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 34
Madison, WI 53786-0001

D.  Additional Help or Questions About Refunds

1. Help  For general information about homestead credit or
for help in preparing Schedule H or H-EZ, contact any
Department of Revenue office. The location and telephone
number of the office nearest you may be listed in your tele-
phone book. You may also e-mail homestd@dor.state.wi.us,
access the department’s web site at www.dor.state.wi.us,
phone (608) 266-8641 (Madison), or write to Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, Mail Stop 5-77, PO Box 8949,
Madison, WI  53708-8949. Please include your social
security number on all correspondence.

2. Refunds  If you need to contact the Department of
Revenue about your refund, please wait at least 10 weeks
after filing your Schedule H or H-EZ. Automated assistance
is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by calling
(608) 266-8100 in Madison, (414) 227-4907 in Milwaukee,
or 1-866-WIS-RFND (1-866-947-7363, toll-free within the
U.S. or Canada). If you need to speak with a person, assis-
tance is available Monday through Friday from 7:45 A.M.
to 4:15 P.M. by calling (608) 266-8641 in Madison or
(414) 227-4000 in Milwaukee (long-distance charges, if
applicable, will apply). If you call, you will need your social
security number and the dollar amount of your refund. You
may also get information on your refund using the
department’s secure Internet web site at www.dor.state.wi.us
or by writing to the address listed above under “Help.”

General Instructions
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3. TTY  Telephone help is available using TTY equipment.
Call (608) 267-1049 (Madison) or (414) 227-4147
(Milwaukee). These TTY numbers may be used for both
assistance and refund inquiries.

E.  Refunds of Divorced Claimants

If you became divorced after June 20, 1996, and your divorce
judgment states that your former spouse must pay a tax liability
owed to the Department of Revenue, attach a copy of the
divorce judgment to your Schedule H or H-EZ. This will prevent
your refund from being applied against that tax liability.

F.  Definitions

1. Homestead  Your homestead is the Wisconsin home you
occupy, whether you own it or rent it, and up to one acre of
land adjoining it (or up to 120 acres of land if the home-
stead is part of a farm). For example, it may be a house, an
apartment, a rented room, a mobile home, a farm, or a
nursing home room.

Unless your homestead is part of a farm, it does not include
any part that is used for business or rental purposes where
a deduction is allowed or allowable for federal tax purposes,
or a separate unit occupied by others rent free.

2. Farm  A farm is property used for agricultural purposes.
Your homestead is part of a farm if the property was used
for agricultural purposes during 2005, or if you used it for
agricultural purposes prior to 2005 and have not used it
since then for other purposes (such as recreational or
manufacturing).

3. Household  A household is a claimant and the claimant’s
spouse living in the claimant’s homestead. If you are single,
you are a household, whether you live alone or with others.
If you are married, you and your spouse are a household if
you live together. If you are married but you and your spouse
maintained separate homes on December 31, 2005, you
are each considered a separate household.

4. Household Income  Household income is all your income
reportable for Wisconsin income tax purposes and all the
items identified on lines 9a through 11i of Schedule H
(lines 6a through 6i of Schedule H-EZ), less a deduction of
$250 for each qualifying dependent.

If you were married and lived with your spouse during all of
2005, you must combine both incomes to determine house-
hold income. If during 2005 you were separated from your
spouse for all or part of the year (including one spouse
living in a nursing home), you became married or divorced,
or your spouse died, see the “Special Instructions” on
pages 11 and 12 for information on how to determine house-
hold income.

5. Wisconsin Works (W2) Payment  A Wisconsin Works or
“W2” payment is a payment received under the Wisconsin
Works assistance program for participating in a community
service job or a transitional placement, or as a caretaker of
a newborn child.

Amounts received under the Wisconsin Works program for
trial jobs are taxable wages and are not included in the
definition of Wisconsin Works (W2) payment for homestead
credit purposes. Amounts received for job access loans,
health care coverage, child care subsidies, and transpor-
tation assistance are also not included in the definition, and
are not includable in household income.

G.  Situations and Solutions

Publication 127, Wisconsin Homestead Credit Situations and
Solutions, provides additional information about various
situations covered in these instructions, as well as some
situations that are not covered. Publication 127 is available at
any Department of Revenue office or through the department’s
web site at www.dor.state.wi.us.

H. Amending Schedule H or H-EZ

If you find that you made an error on your original Schedule H
or H-EZ, fill in another Schedule H or H-EZ. Check the box at
the top of your corrected Schedule H or H-EZ to designate it as
an amended return. Fill in lines 1a through 19 (lines 1a through
14 of Schedule H-EZ) using the corrected amounts of house-
hold income, property taxes, and rent.

Include with your amended Schedule H or H-EZ a copy of the
property tax bill(s) and/or the original rent certificate(s) for any
additional property taxes and/or rent that is claimed.

If you filed only Schedule H or H-EZ

Sign and date your amended Schedule H or H-EZ in the space
provided. If you and your spouse are residing together, your
spouse must also sign.

Include with your amended Schedule H or H-EZ an explanation
of the changes you made and the reasons for those changes.

If your amended Schedule H or H-EZ has increased the amount
of your homestead credit, you will receive a refund for the
additional amount. If your amended Schedule H or H-EZ has
decreased the amount of your homestead credit, you will owe
the difference between the amount shown on the amended
Schedule H or H-EZ and the amount of homestead credit
previously refunded to you. If you owe an additional amount,
include your check or money order, made payable to the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue.

Mail your amended Schedule H or H-EZ to Wisconsin Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 34, Madison, WI 53786-0001.

If you also filed Form 1, 1A, or 1NPR

If you filed Form 1 or 1A, your amended Schedule H or H-EZ
must be attached to a completed Form 1X. If you filed Form
1NPR, your amended Schedule H must be attached to an
amended Form 1NPR. See the instructions for Form 1X or the
Special Instructions for Form 1NPR for information as to how
to complete the filing of your amended Schedule H or H-EZ.

General Instructions
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Schedule H-EZ

Instructions for Schedule H-EZ are on the back of the schedule.

Schedule H

Because of the way homestead credit claims are
processed, please use BLACK INK to complete Schedule H.

Pages 1 and 2 of Schedule H have preprinted zeros in the
“cents” area of the entry lines. Amounts filled in on those lines
should be rounded to the nearest dollar. If completing
Schedule H by hand, do not use commas or dollar signs in
any of the amounts that are filled in.

Name and Address Area

If the cover of your Schedule H booklet has a removable mailing
label with your name, place it in the name and address area of
the Schedule H you file. Also fill in your social security number
(and your spouse’s, if applicable), and your telephone number.
Correct your name or address if the label is wrong. If you are
married and your spouse's name is not on the label, print your
spouse’s name on the label.

If your booklet does not have a label, fill in all information
requested in the spaces provided on Schedule H. Include your
social security number (and your spouse’s, if applicable), your
telephone number, and your tax district. Do not use a return
address label.

Lines 1 Through 6 (Lines 1 Through 3 of
Schedule H-EZ) – Questions

Fill in the information requested on these lines. Failure to
answer these questions may delay your refund.

• Questions 1a and 1b  Fill in your age as of December 31,
2005, on line 1a. If you were married and lived with your
spouse for all of 2005, and your spouse was age 65 or over
on December 31, 2005, check the box on line 1b.

Note: If you were born on January 1, 1988, enter “18” on
line 1a. If you were born on January 1, 1944, enter “62” on
line 1a.

• Question 2  You are not a full-year legal Wisconsin resident
if you moved here from another state after January 1, 2005,
or if you moved here from another state for educational
purposes only and have not abandoned your other state’s
residence. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you are not a legal
Wisconsin resident unless:  you are a resident alien for
federal tax purposes; you are a lawful permanent resident
of the United States, a refugee, or have been granted asylum;
and you intend to remain permanently and indefinitely in
Wisconsin.

• Question 4b  It is not necessary to answer question 4b
unless 4a is answered “Yes.”

• Question 5  If you became married or divorced during 2005,
check “Yes,” fill in the date, check the appropriate box in
front of the word “married” or “divorced,” and see the “Special
Instructions” on page 12.

• Question 6a  It is not necessary to answer question 6a if
you were not married during any part of 2005. If one spouse
was in a nursing home during 2005, you are considered to
be maintaining separate homes, so answer “Yes” to
question 6a.

• If Question 6b applies to you, refer to the “Special
Instructions” on page 11 for additional information.

Lines 7 Through 12 – Household Income

These instructions apply if during all of 2005 you were single
or married and living with your spouse. If during 2005 you were
separated, you became married or divorced, or your spouse
died, read the “Special Instructions” on pages 11 and 12 before
you complete lines 7 through 12.

Line 7 (Line 4 of Schedule H-EZ) – Income from
Tax Return

Fill in line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ) ONLY if you or you and
your spouse are filing or have already filed a 2005 Wisconsin
income tax return. If you were married and lived with your
spouse all year but file separate income tax returns, fill in the
income from both of your tax returns.

If you are filing your tax return with Schedule H or H-EZ, first
complete the income portion of your tax return. Fill in the income
from line 12 of Form 1A, line 13 of Form 1, or line 32 of
Form 1NPR, on line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ).

Exception:  If you are filing Form 1NPR and line 31, Wisconsin
column, is more than line 16, Wisconsin column, subtract
line 31 from line 16. Fill in the result on line 7 as a negative
number.

If you or you and your spouse have ALREADY FILED your
2005 Wisconsin income tax return, see page 3, Part C.1, para-
graph 3.

If you fill in line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ), do NOT fill in
line 8a or 8b (line 5a or 5b of Schedule H-EZ).

Line 8 (Line 5 of Schedule H-EZ) – Income – No
Tax Return

Fill in lines 8a and 8b (lines 5a and 5b of Schedule H-EZ)
ONLY if you or you and your spouse are not filing a 2005
Wisconsin income tax return. If you were married and lived
with your spouse all year, fill in all of the income of both spouses.

• 8a (line 5a of Schedule H-EZ)  Fill in the amount of wages,
interest (including funeral trust interest), and dividends that
are taxable to Wisconsin in the spaces provided. Fill in the
total of these amounts on line 8a (line 5a of Schedule H-EZ).

• 8b (line 5b of Schedule H-EZ)  Fill in all other items of
Wisconsin taxable income on line 8b (line 5b of
Schedule H-EZ), such as:  taxable unemployment compen-
sation; pensions and annuities; IRA, SEP, SIMPLE, and
qualified plan distributions; deferred compensation distri-
butions; gambling winnings; capital gains; alimony; and
business, rent, farm, partnership, and S corporation income.
If filing Schedule H, attach a schedule explaining the sources
of income and the amount from each source.

Line Instructions
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Lines 9a Through 11i – Nontaxable Household
Income

Fill in all nontaxable household income received in 2005
from any of the sources indicated. If you are married,
combine the incomes of both spouses and fill in the totals
for each category. Do not include amounts already included
on line 7, 8a, or 8b.

• 9a (6a of Schedule H-EZ)  Unemployment compensa-
tion  Fill in the total amount of unemployment compensation
received in 2005 that is not already included on line 7 or 8b
(line 4 or 5b of Schedule H-EZ). Both taxable and nontaxable
unemployment compensation must be included in house-
hold income.

• 9b (6b of Schedule H-EZ)  Social security, SSI, SSI-E,
SSD, and caretaker supplement  Fill in the total amount of
social security benefits received in 2005. Include amounts
deducted for Medicare premiums ($78.20 per person per
month, or $938.40 for the entire year), and any social security
death benefit ($255) received. Also fill in federal and state
SSI (supplemental security income), SSI-E (supplemental
security income – exceptional needs), SSD (social security
disability), and caretaker supplement payments.

Do NOT include social security or SSI payments paid directly
to your children, or Title XX benefits (payments for services).

• 9c (6c of Schedule H-EZ)  Railroad retirement  Fill in the
total amount of railroad retirement benefits received in 2005.
Include amounts deducted for Medicare premiums ($78.20
per person per month, or $938.40 for the entire year).

• 9d (6d of Schedule H-EZ)  Pensions and annuities,
including IRA, SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plan
distributions  Fill in the GROSS amount of ALL pensions
and annuities received in 2005 and not included elsewhere.
Include veterans’ pensions, disability payments, any
amounts you contributed to a pension fund, and nontaxable
IRA, SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plan distributions. Both
taxable and nontaxable amounts must be included in house-
hold income.

Exceptions:  Do not include nontaxable rollovers (amounts
transferred from one retirement plan to another) or tax-free
Section 1035 insurance contract exchanges. If all or a part
of a pension or annuity distribution in 2005 includes a rollover
amount or a tax-free exchange, write “Rollover” or “Tax-Free
Exchange” near line 9d (line 6d of Schedule H-EZ). Attach
a copy of federal Form 1099-R.

Example:  In 2005, you received pension income of $3,500,
$2,700 of which is taxable income and is included on line 7
(line 4 of Schedule H-EZ). No portion of the $3,500 was a
rollover. Fill in $800 ($3,500 - $2,700) on line 9d (line 6d of
Schedule H-EZ).

Note:  Taxable rollovers or conversions from one retirement
plan to another, such as from a traditional IRA to a Roth
IRA, should have been included as income on your Wis-
consin return and may not be subtracted in determining
household income.

• 9e (6e of Schedule H-EZ)  Contributions to deferred
compensation plans Fill in contributions to deferred
compensation plans that were excluded from income on
the income tax return (do not include nondeductible
contributions). Excluded deferred compensation is generally
reported in box 12 of the wage and tax statement, Form W-2,
preceded by the prefix D, E, F, G, H, S, or Y.

• 9f (6f of Schedule H-EZ)  Contributions to IRA, self-
employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans  Fill in
contributions to these plans that were deducted from
income on the income tax return (do not include rollover
contributions or nondeductible contributions). These deduc-
tions are reported in the “Adjusted gross income” section of
federal Form 1040 or 1040A.

• 9g (6g of Schedule H-EZ)  Interest on United States
securities and state and municipal bonds  Fill in any non-
taxable interest received on securities of the federal
government or its instrumentalities, such as U.S. Savings
Bonds or Treasury Notes, and on nontaxable state and
municipal bonds, such as Higher Education Bonds.

• 9h  Scholarships, fellowships, grants, and military
compensation  Fill in the total amount received in 2005 for
NONTAXABLE scholarship and fellowship income (for
example, books or tuition), educational grants, or military
compensation (for example: basic quarters and subsistence
allowances; VEAP payments; G.I. Bill benefits; pay from duty
in a combat zone; or pay received by certain members of a
reserve component of the armed forces). Do not include
student loans or amounts included elsewhere.

Note:  If scholarship or fellowship income is included on
line 7 of Schedule H, and any portion of that income was
included on your 2004 homestead credit claim, you may
subtract the amount included in 2004 household income.
Fill in the amount as a negative number on line 9h, and
reduce your 2005 household income by this amount.

• 9i (6h of Schedule H-EZ)  Child support, maintenance
payments, and other support  Fill in the total amount of
any court ordered support payments received in 2005, in-
cluding child support and family maintenance, but not foster
care, voluntary support, or amounts included elsewhere.

• 9j (6i of Schedule H-EZ)  Wisconsin Works (W2), county
relief, kinship care, and other cash public assistance
Fill in the total amount of any Wisconsin Works (W2), county
relief, kinship care, and other cash public assistance
payments (such as adoption assistance) received in 2005.
Do not include the following:  a prior year’s homestead credit;
nontaxable foster care; gifts; food stamps; nontaxable
community options program (COP) payments; or fuel or
energy assistance paid to a fuel supplier or utility, or provided
under the federal Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Act.

Note to Schedule H filers:  If you received Wisconsin Works
(W2) or county relief payments, check the bottom box in the
area above line 13; you may need to fill in Schedule 3 on
page 3 of Schedule H. See paragraph 5 under “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/or Renters,” on page 10.
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• 10 and 11a  Add lines 7 through 9j. Fill in the total on line 10,
at the bottom of page 1 of Schedule H, and on line 11a, at
the top of page 2.

• 11b  Workers’ compensation, income continuation, and
loss of time insurance (e.g., sick pay)  Fill in the total
amount received in 2005 from these sources. Nontaxable
sick pay is generally reported in box 12 of the wage and tax
statement, Form W-2, preceded by the prefix J.

• 11c  Gain from sale of home  Fill in the gain from
the sale or exchange of a principal residence excluded for
federal tax purposes. Attach a schedule showing the
computation of the gain (selling price minus adjusted basis
minus expense of sale).

CAUTION:  Do not include nonrecognized gain from an
involuntary conversion (for example, destruction or
condemnation) of a principal residence.

• 11d  Other capital gains not taxable  Include the 60%
capital gain exclusion on assets held more than one year,
plus any other nontaxable capital gains that are not reported
elsewhere.

Example:  You reported net long-term capital gains of $3,000
on federal Schedule D. In computing Wisconsin taxable
income, you subtracted $1,800 ($3,000 x 60%) of this gain.
Include $1,800 on line 11d.

• 11e  Net operating loss carryforward and capital loss
carryforward  Fill in any net operating loss carryforward or
capital loss carryforward (one incurred in a prior year and
not used in that year to offset taxable income) deducted in
computing 2005 Wisconsin taxable income.

Example:  You have a $2,000 capital loss carryforward from
2004 to 2005, and a $1,900 capital gain for 2005. On
Schedule WD, you compute a $100 net capital loss
deduction ($2,000 carryforward less $1,900 gain). Fill in
$2,000 on line 11e (the $1,900 loss offset against capital
gain, plus the $100 loss applied against other income).

• 11f  Income of nonresident spouse or part-year resident
spouse and nontaxable income from sources outside
Wisconsin  Fill in the income of your nonresident or part-
year resident spouse for the time you resided in the same
homestead. Also fill in the income received from sources
outside Wisconsin that was excluded from Wisconsin
taxable income.

Example:  While a nonresident of Wisconsin, you sold
property located outside Wisconsin on the installment basis.
In 2005 you are a Wisconsin resident. The gain on the sale
of the property sold while you were a nonresident is not
taxable to Wisconsin. However, it must be included on
line 11f.

Resident manager’s rent reduction, clergy housing
allowance, and nontaxable Native American income
Fill in the amount that a resident manager’s rent is reduced
in return for services, the nontaxable housing allowance
provided to a member of the clergy, and nontaxable income
of a Native American.

• 11g  Partners, LLC members, and tax-option (S) corpo-
ration shareholders  Fill in the distributive share of
partnership, limited liability company (LLC), and tax-option
(S) corporation depreciation, Section 179 expense,
depletion, amortization, and intangible drilling costs. This
information will not be on the reporting form (Schedule K-1)
that you receive from the partnership, LLC, or tax-option (S)
corporation. It must be obtained either by contacting the
partnership, LLC, or tax-option (S) corporation, or, if available
to you, from the tax return of the partnership, LLC, or tax-
option (S) corporation.

If the partnership, LLC, or tax-option (S) corporation
did not claim any of these expenses, write “None” in Part II
of federal Schedule E, near the entity’s name.

• 11h  Car or truck depreciation (standard mileage rate)
If car or truck expenses were claimed using the standard
mileage rate on a business, rent, or farm schedule, 17¢ per
mile is considered depreciation. Multiply the number of miles
claimed by 17¢, and include that amount on line 11h. Write
the number of miles next to the deduction on Schedule C,
E, or F.

Example:  On a farm schedule you claimed automobile
expenses, based on the standard mileage rate for 5,000
business miles. Include $850 on line 11h (5,000 miles x
17¢ = $850). Fill in “5,000” on line 12 of federal Schedule F.

Exception:  The 17¢ per mile income adjustment is not
required for miles claimed after the adjusted basis of your
car or truck reaches zero. If this applies to you, attach a
note explaining the situation.

• 11i  Other depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion,
amortization, and intangible drilling costs  Fill in any
depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion, amortization,
and intangible drilling costs claimed in computing Wisconsin
taxable income, except amounts already filled in on line 11g
or 11h. (See note below, regarding actual car/truck expenses.)

Example:  You filed a 2005 Wisconsin income tax return
and claimed $1,500 of depreciation on federal Schedule F.
Fill in $1,500 on line 11i.

Note:  If car or truck expenses were claimed on federal
Schedule C, C-EZ, E, or F using the actual expense method,
depreciation would be claimed on the depreciation line and
would be included on line 11i. In this case, write “actual”
next to the car/truck expense line on Schedule C, E, or F, or
near line 5a on Schedule C-EZ.

• Repaid amounts  Nontaxable income that was included in
household income in a prior year and was required to be
repaid in 2005 may be subtracted from household income
on your 2005 Schedule H. Subtract the amount repaid on
the income line of Schedule H to which the repayment relates
(fill in the amount as a negative number). Attach an
explanation indicating the amount of the repayment and the
year it was included on a homestead credit claim.

Example:  You filed a 2004 Schedule H and reported $8,000
of social security benefits received in 2004. In 2005, you
received social security benefits of $9,000 but were required
to pay back $3,000 of the benefits you received in 2004. On
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line 9b of the 2005 Schedule H, fill in $6,000, the social
security received in 2005 ($9,000) less the amount repaid
($3,000).

Lines 12a Through 12c – Total Household Income

• 12a  Fill in the total of lines 11a through 11i.

• 12b (7b of Schedule H-EZ)  You may claim a “dependent
deduction” by filling in the number of “qualifying dependents”
and multiplying that number by $250.

A qualifying dependent is a person who: a) is or may be
claimed as a dependent on your federal income tax return;
and b) occupied your (the claimant’s) homestead for more
than six months during 2005. A dependent is considered to
have occupied your homestead during temporary absences
for reasons such as school, illness, or vacations.

The six month occupancy requirement is considered to have
been met if: a) the dependent was born or died during 2005
and occupied your homestead during the entire time he or
she lived in 2005; or b) during 2005 the dependent was
adopted by you, was placed with you for adoption, or be-
came your stepchild, and he or she occupied your
homestead from that date to the end of 2005.

Caution:  The term “dependent” does NOT include you or
your spouse. Do not count yourself or your spouse in the
number you fill in on line 12b (line 7b of Schedule H-EZ).

• 12c  Subtract the amount on line 12b from the amount on
line 12a. Fill in the total on line 12c. This is your total house-
hold income.

If you have very little or no household income to report on
Schedule H, attach a note explaining how you paid your rent
or property taxes. If you received loans (including student loans)
or gifts, indicate the approximate amount received, but do not
include these in household income.

If you or your spouse are age 65 or over and received no social
security, SSI, or railroad retirement benefits in 2005, attach a
note stating that you did not receive any income from any of
these sources.

Lines 13 Through 15 – Taxes and/or Rent

If any of the four statements above line 13 apply to you,
check the appropriate box(es) and, if applicable, refer to the
schedule(s) on page 3 of Schedule H.

Line 13 (Line 8 of Schedule H-EZ) – Homeowners

If you or you and your spouse lived in your homestead during
all of 2005 and were the sole owner(s), fill in on line 13 (line 8
of Schedule H-EZ) the net property taxes from your 2005
property tax bill(s) (payable in 2006 – the taxes do not have to
be paid to claim the credit). “Net property taxes” means the net
taxes after state aids, school tax credits, and the lottery and
gaming credit (if applicable). Net property taxes do NOT include
special assessments or charges, delinquent interest, or wood-
land, forest croplands, or managed forest land taxes.

Attach to your Schedule H or H-EZ a legible copy of the 2005
property tax bill(s) (payable in 2006) for your homestead, or
a computer printout obtained either directly from the county

or municipal treasurer or from their web site. If you file
electronically, mail the property tax bill or computer printout,
not the electronically generated form. Also, a mortgage state-
ment, canceled check, installment tax stub, or money order
receipt cannot be accepted.

The property tax bill copy or computer printout must show the
year, name of the owner(s), assessed value of land and
improvements, legal description or property address, and taxes
before and after state aids and credits. It must have lines for
special assessments and the lottery and gaming credit.

In certain cases you must reduce your net property taxes or
attach additional information. Schedule H filers should see the
exceptions below and on pages 9 and 10. Schedule H-EZ filers
should see Exception in the instructions for STEP 4 of Sched-
ule H-EZ.

Exceptions: Homeowners (also see “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/or Renters,” on pages 9 and 10)

1. If there are names on the property tax bill other than yours
(or your spouse’s if you were married and lived together
during all of 2005), attach a copy of a document showing
your ownership percentage or life estate. The document
could be a deed, land contract, divorce judgment, final judg-
ment in an estate, or trust instrument. Also see paragraph 2.

2. If you owned your homestead with others in 2005, use only
that portion of the net property taxes that reflects your
percentage of ownership, unless one of the following
situations applies.

a) If the other owner was your spouse who lived with you
during all of 2005, you may use all of the net property
taxes.

b) If the other owner did not live in the homestead and
you paid or will pay all the property taxes, use the portion
of taxes reflecting your ownership percentage on line 13
(line 8 of Schedule H-EZ), and use the other owner’s
share of taxes on line 14c (line 9c of Schedule H-EZ)
as rent.

c) If you inherited a partial ownership interest and are
required by the terms of the decedent's will to pay all
the property taxes, you may use all the property taxes
from the date of death. Submit a copy of the will to verify
the requirement.

3. If you owned and lived in a mobile home in 2005, fill in on
line 13 (line 8 of Schedule H-EZ) the net property taxes
from your 2005 personal property tax bill (payable in 2006).
Write “mobile home” on the property tax bill. If you owned
the land on which your mobile home was located, fill in the
2005 net property taxes for the land. Also fill in on line 13
(line 8 of Schedule H-EZ) any 2005 municipal mobile home
parking permit fees you paid to the municipality (or to the
owner of the land if you rented the land).

4. If you submit two or more property tax bills for one home-
stead, attach a drawing showing the description, size, and
location of each parcel.
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5. If the property tax bill for your homestead does not show
any lottery and gaming credit, do one of the following:

a) If you received or will receive a lottery and gaming credit
separately, subtract the credit from the amount shown
on your property tax bill. Include only the net amount
on line 13 (line 8 of Schedule H-EZ). Attach a note
indicating the amount of the lottery and gaming credit.

b) If you did not and will not receive a lottery and gaming
credit on your homestead for 2005, attach a note
explaining this.

Line 14 (Line 9 of Schedule H-EZ) – Renters

If heat was included in your rent, fill in the amount from line 13a
of your rent certificate(s) on line 14a of Schedule H (line 9a of
Schedule H-EZ). Fill in 20% (.20) of that amount on line 14b
(line 9b of Schedule H-EZ).

If heat was not included in your rent, fill in the amount from
line 13a of your rent certificate(s) on line 14c of Schedule H
(line 9c of Schedule H-EZ). Fill in 25% (.25) of that amount on
line 14d (line 9d of Schedule H-EZ).

DO NOT CHANGE any of the information on the rent certificate
your landlord has prepared for you. The department will not
accept altered rent certificates. If any information has been or
needs to be changed, your landlord must prepare a new rent
certificate.

Attach to your Schedule H or H-EZ the rent certificate(s)
completed and signed by your landlord(s). A separate rent
certificate must be attached for each homestead for which you
are claiming 2005 homestead credit. Only rent paid for 2005
may be used in determining your homestead credit. If you file
electronically, mail the signed rent certificate(s), not the
electronically generated form.

In certain cases you must reduce your rent or attach additional
information. Schedule H filers should see the exceptions below
and on page 10. Schedule H-EZ filers should see Exception
in the instructions for STEP 4 of Schedule H-EZ.

Exceptions:  Renters (also see “Exceptions: Homeowners
and/or Renters” in the next column).

1. If the number of occupants on line 11d of the rent certificate
is more than one (your spouse and minor children should
not be included), and each occupant did not pay an equal
share of the rent, fill in the Shared Living Expenses
Schedule on the bottom of the rent certificate to compute
your allowable rent paid for occupancy only.

2. If your landlord will not sign your rent certificate, complete
lines 1 through 13 on the rent certificate. If food or services
were provided by your landlord, indicate what items were
provided and fill in your estimated value of these items on
line 12. If these items were not provided, fill in 0 on line 12.
Check the box on line 5 of the rent certificate. Attach it,
along with copies of each canceled check or money order
receipt you have to verify your rent. If you do not have

verification of your rent, contact the Department of Revenue
at (608) 266-8641 for additional instructions.

3. Only rent paid for a homestead subject to property taxes
may be claimed. However, rent may be claimed for property
that is owned and operated by a municipal housing authority
created under sec. 66.1201, Wis. Stats., that makes pay-
ments in lieu of property taxes to the municipality.

4. If in 2005 you rented a mobile home or the land on which it
was located, attach a completed rent certificate. On line 14a
or 14c of Schedule H (line 9a or 9c of Schedule H-EZ), fill
in the rent from line 10b and/or 13a of the rent certificate.
As a renter of a mobile home, any mobile home taxes,
mobile home parking permit fees, or municipal fees you
paid may only be claimed as rent.

Exceptions:  Homeowners and/or Renters

1. If during 2005 you were separated from your spouse, you
became married or divorced, or your spouse died, read
the appropriate section(s) of the “Special Instructions” on
pages 11 and 12 before you complete line 13 or 14.

2. If you moved during 2005, review instructions a) through
g) below and follow each that apply.

a) Attach a schedule listing the address of each dwelling
and the dates you lived there in 2005.

b) Claim the prorated property taxes or rent only for the
time you occupied each dwelling in 2005. If you are
claiming less than 12 months of property taxes and/or
rent, attach a note explaining where you lived for the
balance of 2005.

c) Do not claim more than 12 months of property taxes
and/or rent. If you paid property taxes and/or rent for
two dwellings for the same time period, claim only the
amount for where you actually lived.

d) If you owned your homestead, claim only the portion of
property taxes prorated for the time you both owned
and occupied it.

e) If you sold your homestead in 2005, attach a copy of
the closing statement to verify your ownership of the
sold homestead, the prorated property taxes, and the
date of sale (also see the income instructions for line
11c, on page 7).

f) If you paid rent for more than one homestead for 2005,
attach a separate rent certificate for each homestead.

g) If you moved from a homestead you owned to tax-
exempt housing, see paragraph 8 on page 10.

3. If your home or property was not used solely for personal
purposes while you lived there and was not part of a farm
(see definition F.2 on page 4), you must allocate property
taxes or rent between personal use and:  a) business or
rental use for which a deduction is allowed or allowable for
federal tax purposes; or b) use of a separate unit by others
rent free. Check the third box in the area above line 13,
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and complete Schedule 2 on page 3 of Schedule H; claim
only the personal portion of property taxes or rent.

Examples of part business use include 1) having a store or
office on the same property as your home, 2) using one
room of your home exclusively for storing products you
sell, and 3) providing child care for others in your home.

Example:  During 2005 you owned a triplex and lived in
one of the three equal-sized units; net property taxes were
$3,000. Claim $1,000 of property taxes (one-third of $3,000)
on line 13, whether the other units were rented out,
available for rent, or used by others rent free.

Example:  In 2005 you used one room of your five-room
house exclusively for business; net property taxes were
$1,500. Since one-fifth of the total property taxes are for
business use, claim $1,200 of property taxes (four-fifths of
$1,500) on line 13.

4. If your home was on more than one acre of land and was
not part of a farm, you may claim only the property taxes or
rent on your home and one acre of land. Check the first
box in the area above line 13. Homeowners: Complete
Schedule 1 on page 3 of Schedule H. Renters: Attach a
statement from your landlord, indicating the amount of rent
for your home and one acre of land.

5. If for any month of 2005 you received either: a) a Wisconsin
Works (W2) payment of any amount; or b) county relief of
$400 or more, check the bottom box in the area above
line 13. Fill in Schedule 3 on page 3 of Schedule H to
compute your reduced property taxes or rent.

6. If your home was part of a farm, you may claim property
taxes or rent on up to 120 acres of land adjoining your
home, and all improvements on those 120 acres. Check
the second box in the area above line 13. Do not claim
property taxes or rent for more than 120 acres of land or
for land that does not adjoin.

7. If your home or property was not part of a farm but was on
more than one acre of land, and it was not used solely for
personal purposes (see paragraph 3), check both the first
and the third boxes in the area above line 13 and complete
both Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 on page 3 of Schedule H.
Fill in the amount from line 9 of Schedule 1 on line 1 of
Schedule 2.

8. If you have moved from a homestead that you owned to
tax-exempt housing and have tried to sell your former home-
stead, you may claim the property taxes while you still own
it, for up to 12 months after you moved, provided: a) the
tax-exempt housing you moved to is not a municipal
housing authority making payments in place of taxes, or a
correctional or detention facility; and b) you do not rent or
lease your former homestead to another person.

If your claim is based on this provision, attach a complete
explanation, indicating that you have not rented or leased
the homestead, the date you moved to the tax-exempt
housing, and what attempts were made to sell the home-
stead.

9. If you file a federal business or rental schedule, list on each
schedule the address of each property.

Lines 16 Through 19 – Credit Computation

Refer to the 2005 Homestead Credit Computation Tables A
and B on pages 13 and 14 to determine your homestead credit.
If you want the Department of Revenue to compute your credit,
do not complete these lines. The department will notify you of
the amount of your credit.

Sign and Date Your Claim

Be sure you (and your spouse if residing together) sign and
date your Schedule H at the bottom of page 2.

A homestead credit claim may not be signed for or filed on
behalf of a deceased person. The claimant must be living at
the time the claim is filed.

How to Assemble

Before you assemble your Wisconsin income tax return (if you
are filing one) and homestead credit claim, make a complete
copy. Keep the copy for your records. Staple the tax return and
homestead credit claim together IN THE FOLLOWING
ORDER:

• Wisconsin income tax Form 1, 1A, or 1NPR*.  See "How,
When, and Where to File" on page 3, Part C.1, paragraph 3,
if you already filed your tax return.

• Schedule H or Schedule H-EZ

• Completed 2005 rent certificate(s) and/or copy of 2005
property tax bill(s) (payable in 2006)

• Other homestead credit notes, schedules, etc.

• Other Wisconsin schedules* (e.g., Schedule WD or I)

• Forms 1099-R (whether Wisconsin return is necessary or
not)

• Wage statements*

• Copy of federal income tax return and schedules* (not
necessary if Wisconsin return is a Form 1A)

* Omit if no Wisconsin income tax return is filed.

Checklist

To avoid delays in receiving your refund, see the checklist on
the front cover.

Line Instructions
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Note:  The following instructions do not apply if you were
single during all of 2005, or if you were married and resided
with your spouse during all of 2005.

These instructions apply to you only if during 2005 you
were separated from your spouse for all or part of the
year, you became married or divorced, or your spouse
died. It is not necessary to read all 5 Parts of the Special
Instructions; refer only to the Part or Parts that pertain to
your situation.

In these instructions, “your own income” or “your own
marital property income” means income or marital property
income generated by your services and property. “Your
spouse’s income” or “your spouse’s marital property
income” means income or marital property income
generated by your spouse’s services and property.

For more information about Wisconsin’s marital property
law or about other terms used in these instructions, such
as “notification,” “marital property” income, “nonmarital
property” income, and “individual property,” refer to Pub-
lication 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 2005, which
is available at any Department of Revenue office.

Part 1 Married but Separated ALL of 2005
(including one spouse in a nursing home)

Income –

a) Neither spouse notified the other of income – If you
and your spouse were married but you lived apart
during the entire year, and neither spouse notified the
other of the amount and nature (type) of marital prop-
erty income, report all of your own household income
on Schedule H, and none of your spouse’s income. If
your spouse was in a nursing home and you received
a “community spouse income allowance” under the
Spousal Impoverishment Program, that income is not
includable in your household income.

Answer “No” to question 6b on Schedule H.

b) One or both spouses notified other spouse – If you
and your spouse were married but you lived apart
during the entire year, and either spouse (or both)
notified the other of marital property income, compute
household income as explained in Part 2.b.

Taxes/Rent – Compute property taxes and/or rent as
explained in Part 2.

Part 2 Married but Separated PART of 2005
(including one spouse in a nursing home)

Income – If you and your spouse were separated for part
of 2005, compute household income as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your
spouse in 2005, include all of the income of both you
and your spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 2005,
compute household income under Wisconsin’s marital
property law. Under marital property law, you must
report all of your own nonmarital property income and
none of your spouse’s nonmarital property income.
The amount of marital property income you must report
depends on whether you or your spouse notified each
other of the amount and nature (type) of marital
property income each of you generated during that
time, as follows:

1. If you did not notify your spouse, report all of your
own marital property income. If you did notify your
spouse, report one-half of your own marital property
income.

2. If your spouse did not notify you, do not report any
of your spouse’s marital property income. If your
spouse did notify you, report one-half of your
spouse’s marital property income.

Answer question 6b on Schedule H, relating to
notification.

Exceptions:  The marital property law does not apply
during any time your spouse was not domiciled in (was
not a resident of) Wisconsin.

A marital property agreement or unilateral statement has
no effect in computing your household income.

If your spouse was in a nursing home and you received a
“community spouse income allowance” under the Spousal
Impoverishment Program, that income is not includable
in your household income.

Taxes /Rent – You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent for the time you lived together in 2005,
plus only your own property taxes and/or rent for the
balance of 2005.

CAUTION:  Your home is presumed to be marital property.
If you contend its classification is something else (such
as individual property), you must provide proof of that
classification; see Attachment c) instructions.

If your home is marital property, you paid all of the 2005
property taxes, and you lived in that home while living
apart from your spouse, one-half of the property taxes for
that portion of the year must be treated as rent.
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Example:  You lived apart from your spouse for the last
3 months of 2005. Your home is marital property and you
paid all of the 2005 property taxes ($1,200). Include on
line 13 the combined property taxes of you and your
spouse for the 9 months you lived together ($900). The
property taxes you paid for the 3 months you lived apart
($300) must be treated as though one-half was rent.
Include one-half ($150) as property taxes on line 13 and
the other one-half ($150) as rent on line 14c.

Attachments – Attach all of the following items:

a) A statement indicating the dates in 2005 that 1) you
were married and living with your spouse, and 2) you
were married but living apart from your spouse.

b) A schedule listing and identifying income as follows:

1. For the time you were married and living together
during 2005, all of the income of both you and your
spouse.

2. For the time you were married but living apart during
2005 –

• All of your own income (if you did not notify your
spouse of your marital property income).

• Your own nonmarital property income and one-
half of your own marital property income (if you
notified your spouse of your marital property
income).

• One-half of your spouse’s marital property income
(if your spouse notified you of his or her marital
property income).

c) Information to prove the property is not marital property
(if you claim all the property taxes), such as:

1. A copy of the deed or other ownership verification.

2. A statement of how it was acquired (purchase, gift,
etc.) and the date.

3. A listing of the source of funds used to pay for
improvements and mortgage/loan payments since
January 1, 1986.

Part 3 Marriage Took Place in 2005

Income – Include your own income for all of 2005, plus
your spouse’s income from the date of the marriage to
December 31, 2005.

Taxes/Rent – You may claim your own property taxes
and/or rent for the period of 2005 prior to your marriage,
plus your combined property taxes and/or rent from the
date of your marriage to December 31, 2005. If you resided
together and paid rent prior to your marriage, fill in the
Shared Living Expenses Schedule on the bottom of the
rent certificate.

Attachments – Attach all of the following items:

a) A schedule showing the computation of your house-
hold income.

b) A statement indicating the dates you resided together
during 2005.

Part 4 Divorce Took Place in 2005

Income – Compute household income as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your
spouse in 2005, include all of the income of both you
and your spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 2005,
compute household income under Wisconsin’s marital
property law, as explained in paragraph b) of the
“Income” instructions in Part 2.

c) For the time you were not married in 2005 (after your
divorce), report only your own income.

Taxes/Rent – You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent for the time you lived together in 2005,
plus only your own property taxes and/or rent for the
balance of 2005. See the “CAUTION” in the “Taxes/Rent”
instructions in Part 2.

Attachments – Attach all of the following items:

a) All the items listed in the “Attachments” section in
Part 2.

b) A schedule of your own income for the time you were
not married in 2005 (after your divorce).

c) A complete copy of the divorce judgment, including
the final stipulation or marital settlement agreement
(if you claim all the property taxes for the time after the
divorce).

Part 5 Spouse Died in 2005

Income – Include your own income for all of 2005, plus
your spouse’s income up to the date of death.

Taxes/Rent – You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent up to the date of death, plus your own
property taxes and/or rent for the balance of 2005.

Attachments – Attach a statement indicating the date of
your spouse’s death.

Special Instructions
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- 8,000 0
8,000 8,115 5
8,115 8,230 15
8,230 8,345 25
8,345 8,460 35
8,460 8,575 45

8,575 8,690 56
8,690 8,805 66
8,805 8,920 76
8,920 9,035 86
9,035 9,150 96

9,150 9,265 106
9,265 9,380 116
9,380 9,495 126
9,495 9,610 136
9,610 9,725 147

9,725 9,840 157
9,840 9,955 167
9,955 10,070 177

10,070 10,185 187
10,185 10,300 197

10,300 10,415 207
10,415 10,530 217
10,530 10,645 227
10,645 10,760 237
10,760 10,875 248

10,875 10,990 258
10,990 11,105 268
11,105 11,220 278
11,220 11,335 288
11,335 11,450 298

11,450 11,565 308
11,565 11,680 318
11,680 11,795 328
11,795 11,910 339
11,910 12,025 349

12,025 12,140 359
12,140 12,255 369
12,255 12,370 379
12,370 12,485 389
12,485 12,600 399

12,600 12,715 409
12,715 12,830 419
12,830 12,945 430
12,945 13,060 440
13,060 13,175 450

13,175 13,290 460
13,290 13,405 470
13,405 13,520 480
13,520 13,635 490
13,635 13,750 500

13,750 13,865 510
13,865 13,980 520
13,980 14,095 531
14,095 14,210 541
14,210 14,325 551

14,325 14,440 561
14,440 14,555 571
14,555 14,670 581
14,670 14,785 591
14,785 14,900 601

14,900 15,015 611
15,015 15,130 622
15,130 15,245 632
15,245 15,360 642
15,360 15,475 652

15,475 15,590 662
15,590 15,705 672
15,705 15,820 682
15,820 15,935 692
15,935 16,050 702

16,050 16,165 712
16,165 16,280 723
16,280 16,395 733
16,395 16,510 743
16,510 16,625 753

16,625 16,740 763
16,740 16,855 773
16,855 16,970 783
16,970 17,085 793
17,085 17,200 803

17,200 17,315 814
17,315 17,430 824
17,430 17,545 834
17,545 17,660 844
17,660 17,775 854

17,775 17,890 864
17,890 18,005 874
18,005 18,120 884
18,120 18,235 894
18,235 18,350 905

18,350 18,465 915
18,465 18,580 925
18,580 18,695 935
18,695 18,810 945
18,810 18,925 955

18,925 19,040 965
19,040 19,155 975
19,155 19,270 985
19,270 19,385 995
19,385 19,500 1,006

19,500 19,615 1,016
19,615 19,730 1,026
19,730 19,845 1,036
19,845 19,960 1,046
19,960 20,075 1,056

20,075 20,190 1,066
20,190 20,305 1,076
20,305 20,420 1,086
20,420 20,535 1,097
20,535 20,650 1,107

20,650 20,765 1,117
20,765 20,880 1,127
20,880 20,995 1,137
20,995 21,110 1,147
21,110 21,225 1,157

21,225 21,340 1,167
21,340 21,455 1,177
21,455 21,570 1,187
21,570 21,685 1,198
21,685 21,800 1,208

21,800 21,915 1,218
21,915 22,030 1,228
22,030 22,145 1,238
22,145 22,260 1,248
22,260 22,375 1,258

22,375 22,490 1,268
22,490 22,605 1,278
22,605 22,720 1,289
22,720 22,835 1,299
22,835 22,950 1,309

22,950 23,065 1,319
23,065 23,180 1,329
23,180 23,295 1,339
23,295 23,410 1,349
23,410 23,525 1,359

23,525 23,640 1,369
23,640 23,755 1,379
23,755 23,870 1,390
23,870 23,985 1,400
23,985 24,100 1,410

24,100 24,215 1,420
24,215 24,330 1,430
24,330 24,445 1,440
24,445 24,500 1,448
24,500 or more 1,450

2005 Homestead Credit Computation Table A

14,900

10,300

Enter on line 17
(line 12 of

Schedule H-EZ)
At

least
But less

than

If line 12c (line 7c of
Schedule H-EZ) is

Enter on line 17
(line 12 of

Schedule H-EZ)
At

least
But less

than

If line 12c (line 7c of
Schedule H-EZ) is

Enter on line 17
(line 12 of

Schedule H-EZ)
At

least
But less

than

If line 12c (line 7c of
Schedule H-EZ) is

19,500

21,800

17,200

12,600 24,100
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– .01 0
.01 10 10
10 20 12
20 30 20
30 40 28
40 50 36

50 60 44
60 70 52
70 80 60
80 90 68
90 100 76

100 110 84
110 120 92
120 130 100
130 140 108
140 150 116

150 160 124
160 170 132
170 180 140
180 190 148
190 200 156

200 210 164
210 220 172
220 230 180
230 240 188
240 250 196

250 260 204
260 270 212
270 280 220
280 290 228
290 300 236

300 310 244
310 320 252
320 330 260
330 340 268
340 350 276

350 360 284
360 370 292
370 380 300
380 390 308
390 400 316

400 410 324
410 420 332
420 430 340
430 440 348
440 450 356

450 460 364
460 470 372
470 480 380
480 490 388
490 500 396

500 1,000
1,000 1,010 804
1,010 1,020 812
1,020 1,030 820
1,030 1,040 828
1,040 1,050 836

1,050 1,060 844
1,060 1,070 852
1,070 1,080 860
1,080 1,090 868
1,090 1,100 876

1,100 1,110 884
1,110 1,120 892
1,120 1,130 900
1,130 1,140 908
1,140 1,150 916

1,150 1,160 924
1,160 1,170 932
1,170 1,180 940
1,180 1,190 948
1,190 1,200 956

1,200 1,210 964
1,210 1,220 972
1,220 1,230 980
1,230 1,240 988
1,240 1,250 996

1,250 1,260 1,004
1,260 1,270 1,012
1,270 1,280 1,020
1,280 1,290 1,028
1,290 1,300 1,036

1,300 1,310 1,044
1,310 1,320 1,052
1,320 1,330 1,060
1,330 1,340 1,068
1,340 1,350 1,076

1,350 1,360 1,084
1,360 1,370 1,092
1,370 1,380 1,100
1,380 1,390 1,108
1,390 1,400 1,116

1,400 1,410 1,124
1,410 1,420 1,132
1,420 1,430 1,140
1,430 1,440 1,148
1,440 1,450 1,156

1,450 or more 1,160

250 750 1,250

500 510 404
510 520 412
520 530 420
530 540 428
540 550 436

550 560 444
560 570 452
570 580 460
580 590 468
590 600 476

600 610 484
610 620 492
620 630 500
630 640 508
640 650 516

650 660 524
660 670 532
670 680 540
680 690 548
690 700 556

700 710 564
710 720 572
720 730 580
730 740 588
740 750 596

750 760 604
760 770 612
770 780 620
780 790 628
790 800 636

800 810 644
810 820 652
820 830 660
830 840 668
840 850 676

850 860 684
860 870 692
870 880 700
880 890 708
890 900 716

900 910 724
910 920 732
920 930 740
930 940 748
940 950 756

950 960 764
960 970 772
970 980 780
980 990 788
990 1,000 796

2005 Homestead Credit Computation Table B

Your
Credit is

At
least

But less
than

If line 18 (line 13 of
Schedule H-EZ) is

Your
Credit is

At
least

But less
than

If line 18 (line 13 of
Schedule H-EZ) is

Your
Credit is

At
least

But less
than

If line 18 (line 13 of
Schedule H-EZ) is



In 2003, more than 114,000 Wisconsin taxpayers paid
an estimated $28.5 MILLION in Refund Anticipation
Loans (RAL) and associated fees. A RAL is not a quick

refund. It is actually a short-term
loan with an average annual
percentage rate (APR) of 512%.

Before electronic filing, when it
would take several weeks to
process a paper tax return, a RAL
was an attractive, timely option to
a family in need of money. But
with today’s electronic filing, you
can receive your refund electroni-
cally within 5 days from the state
and 10 days from the IRS. All at
no cost to you. So keep all your
eligible refund and do not become
part of an unfortunate statistic.

Here are some tips on how to avoid a RAL:

• Open a checking or savings account. If you do
not have a checking or savings account, consider
opening one so your refund can be electronically
deposited. Many banks and/or credit unions will
set up a checking or savings account for free.

• E-file and request direct deposit. When you e-file,
request the IRS and the state to electronically
deposit your refund directly into your checking or
savings account. It typically takes 10 business days
for the IRS and within 5 business days for the state
to process and electronically deposit your refund.

• Visit a free tax preparation site. Trained volun-
teers will prepare your tax return for free and many
sites will file your return electronically to speed up
your refund. For more information read the “Free
Tax Preparation Available” article below.

How to Avoid Losing Part of Your Refund

Need help filing your taxes?
Wisconsin residents can have their taxes
prepared for free at any IRS sponsored
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) site
or at any AARP sponsored Tax Counseling for
the Elderly (TCE) site. These two programs
have helped millions of individuals across the
country in preparing their taxes. Trained
volunteers will fill out your tax return and many
sites will even e-file your return. The entire
service is free.

Who can use VITA services?

• Low and moderate income individuals

• Individuals with disabilities

• Elderly

• Individuals who qualify for the Homestead Credit or the
Earned Income Tax Credit

What should you bring?

• W-2 wage and tax statements

• Information on other sources of income and any deductions

• Social Security cards of taxpayer(s) and dependents

• To claim the Homestead Credit, bring a completed rent
certificate (if you are a renter), a copy of your 2005 property
tax bill (if you are a homeowner), and a record of any
Wisconsin Works (W2) payments received in 2005

• Both spouses must be present to file a joint return

VITA and TCE locations:

• In Wisconsin, call or 1-800-829-1040

• On the web, visit www.dor.state.wi.us and type in “VITA sites”
in the Search box

• Call the AARP at 1-888-227-7669
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Free Tax Preparation Available
(commonly referred to as VITA or TCE)



If your total household income was less than $24,500
for 2005, you may be eligible to claim the Homestead
Credit if all the following qualifications are met:
• A legal resident of Wisconsin for all of 2005, from

January 1 through December 31

• Be 18 years of age or older on December 31, 2005

• Not claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2005
federal income tax return (Note: This limitation does
not apply if you were 62 years of age or over on
December 31, 2005)

• Your household income must have been less than
$24,500 for 2005

• You must have been the owner or renter of your
Wisconsin homestead during 2005

Applying for the Homestead
Credit is now easier!
A majority of Homestead
applicants are able to use the
simplified, one page, H-EZ
form. Plus, the H-EZ and the
regular Homestead form can
be e-filed!

To find out more, pick up the
Schedules H and H-EZ
booklet, or call (608)
266-8641.

La Temporada de Impuestos (Taxes) puede ser confusa. Puede ser aun más confusa si nuestro primer idioma no es el
inglés. Pero ahora hay ayuda. Las siguientes organizaciones ofrecen asistencia gratis en español. Por favor llamar para
las horas de servicio.

UMOS, Inc.
910 W. Mitchell St.
Milwaukee, WI 53204
(414) 389-6600

Wisconsin’s Earned Income Tax Credit is
extra money for working families.

To claim the Wisconsin EITC, a taxpayer
must meet the following qualifications:
• Qualify for the federal EITC

• Have at least one qualifying child

• Be a full-year Wisconsin resident

If you have:
• 1 qualifying child, you are eligible to

receive up to $106 in Wisconsin EITC

• 2 qualifying children, you are eligible
to receive up to $616 in Wisconsin EITC

• 3 or more qualifying children, you are eligible
to receive up to $1892 in Wisconsin EITC

Qualifying child criteria:
The child must meet the relationship,
age and residency tests listed in the
federal instructions. You need to have
worked and have federal adjusted
gross income less than:

• $31,030 ($33,030 if married filing
jointly) if there is one qualifying
child

• $35,263 ($37,263 if married filing
jointly) if there is more than one
qualifying child

For more information on the
Wisconsin EITC, refer to Form 1 or
1A & WI-Z tax booklet, or call
(608) 266-2772.
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Servicio en Español

Looking For a Way to Lower Your Rent or Property Taxes?

Make Work Pay!  Apply for Wisconsin’s Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

Algo nuevo este año: algunas preguntas frecuentes han sido traducidas en español. Se pueden encontrar las repuestas
a esas preguntas en un lazo en la columna izquierda de la página principal del Wisconsin Department of Revenue
www.dor.state.wi.us.

SDC (Social Development Commission)
Southside Neighborhood Service Center
931 W. Madison St.
Milwaukee, WI 53204
(414) 643-8444

Centro Hispano
835 W. Badger Road
Madison, WI 53713
(608) 255-3018


