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Schedule H & H-EZ instructions 2004

Simplified Homestead form Checklist: @
Applying for the Homestead Credit is
now easier! A majority of Homestead Before submitting your homestead claim, check
applicants will be able to use the the following items:

simplified, one page, H-EZ form. Plus,
the H-EZ and the regular Homestead form can be
e-filed! Look inside for more information.

[] All applicable lines of Schedule H or H-EZ
are completed

All math computations are double-checked

Property tax bill(s)/rent certificate(s) are

How to Receive Your Refund Quickly
attached

p There are many ways to e-file your
A \;';; return, just as there are many
i . ¢ — different ways to receive your

¥, =
’/ . - - -
refund. To find out more see [] wisconsin and federal income tax

[]
[l Schedule H or H-EZ are signed and dated
[l
a []
J page 15. returns

All other applicable attachments included:

|:| Notes, schedules, documentation, etc.

[ ] Made an extra copy of Schedule H or H-EZ

F/ge Tax preparation available for your records

(commonly referred to as VITA or TCE)

Lower and moderate income individuals and the
elderly can have their taxes, including their
Homestead Credit, prepared for free. See page 15
for more information. Para assistencia gratuita en Espafiol
ver pagina 16.

FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT

In compliance with federal law, you are hereby notified that the request for your social security number on the Wisconsin homestead credit claim is made under the authority of Section 71.55(7) of
the Wisconsin Statutes. The disclosure of this number on your claim is mandatory. It will be used for identification purposes throughout the processing, filing, and auditing of your claim, and
in the issuance of refund checks.
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A. Do You Qualify?

b. Are you currently living in a nursing home and also
receiving Title XIX medical assistance?

To see if you qualify for homestead credit, answer “Yes” or

“No” to all of the questions in Steps 1 and 2 below. C.

Step 1

a. Were you age 18 or older as of December 31, 2004?

For EACH MONTH of the entire 2004 year, did you receive

either of the following:

* Wisconsin Works (W2) payments (see definition F.5 on

page 4) of any amount?

» County relief payments of $400 or more?

b. Were you a legal resident of Wisconsin from January 1

through December 31 of 2004?

c. Was your household income (see definition F.4 on page 4)

for 2004 less than $24,5007?

d. Were you the owner or renter of the Wisconsin home-
stead (see definition F.1 on page 4) you lived in during

2004?

If you answered “No” to any question in Step 1, do not complete
Schedule H or H-EZ; you do not qualify for homestead credit.
If you answered “Yes” to all four questions, go on to Step 2.

Step 2

a. Were you claimed or will you be claimed as a dependent

d. Did you live FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR 2004 in housing
that is exempt from property taxes? (A municipal housing

authority property created under sec. 66.1201, Wis. Stats.,

is not considered tax-exempt for homestead credit
purposes if that authority makes payments in lieu of

property taxes to the city or town in which it is located. If
you live in public housing, you may wish to check with
your manager.)

Note: If you are claiming property taxes on your former
homestead (see paragraph 8 under “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/or Renters,” on page 10), this limitation

does not apply, so answer “No.”

e. Have you claimed or will you claim a Wisconsin farmland

on someone else’s 2004 federal income tax return? (If

you were age 62 or older on December 31, 2004, this limi- f.
tation does not apply to you, so answer “No.”)

preservation credit for 20047?

Has another member of your household (see definition
F.3 on page 4) filed a 2004 Schedule H or H-EZ?
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g. Isthe Schedule H or H-EZ being filed on behalf of a person
who is deceased?

If you answered “Yes” to any question in Step 2, do not
complete Schedule H or H-EZ; you do not qualify for home-
stead credit.

If you answered “Yes” to all of the questions in Step 1 and
“No” to all of the questions in Step 2, complete Schedule H or
H-EZ (see “Which Schedule to File” below) to see if home-
stead credit is available to you, based on your household
income and your allowable property taxes and/or rent. Meeting
all of the qualifications in Steps 1 and 2 does not guarantee
you will receive a homestead credit.

B. Which Schedule to File

You may file Schedule H-EZ if:

» You (and your spouse, if married) have taxable and non-
taxable income only from the following sources:

1. wages, salaries, tips, etc. (if any of your wages, salaries,
tips, etc., are not taxable to Wisconsin, you cannot file
on Schedule H-EZ);

2. interest and dividends;
3. unemployment compensation;

4. pensions, annuities, and other retirement plan
distributions;

5. social security benefits (including federal and state SSI,
SSI-E, SSD, and caretaker supplement payments);

6. railroad retirement benefits;
7. alimony, child support, and family maintenance;

8. Wisconsin Works (W2), county relief, kinship care, and
other cash public assistance;

9. gambling winnings (if your gambling winnings are
reported on federal Schedule C or C-EZ, you cannot
file on Schedule H-EZ).

» During 2004 you (and your spouse, if married) did not repay
any amount that was included as nontaxable household
income on a prior year’'s homestead credit claim.

* You did not become married or divorced during 2004.

* Your spouse (if you are married) was a legal resident of
Wisconsin from January 1 through December 31, 2004.

* You and your spouse (if you are married) did not maintain
separate homes during any part of 2004 (including one
spouse in a nursing home).

» Your home was used only for personal purposes while you
lived there in 2004 (for example, no rental or business use,
or use of a separate unit by others rent free).

¢ Your home was located on one acre of land or less.
* You did not sell your home during 2004.

If you cannot file on Schedule H-EZ, you must file on
Schedule H.

C. How, When, and Where to File

1. How If you file a Wisconsin income tax return, you should
file your Schedule H or H-EZ with the tax return (stapled
together). Separate filing will delay your homestead
refund. If you (or you and your spouse) are not required
to file a tax return, Schedule H or H-EZ may be filed by
itself.

If your Wisconsin return is a Form 1 or INPR, ATTACH A
COPY of your federal income tax return and supporting
schedules. The tax return a Schedule H is attached to
must be a Form 1, 1A, or INPR; you cannot attach Sched-
ule H to a Form WI-Z. The tax return a Schedule H-EZ is
attached to must be a Form 1 or 1A; you cannot attach
Schedule H-EZ to a Form 1INPR or WI-Z.

If you previously filed your Wisconsin income tax return,
write “Income Tax Return Separately Filed” at the top of
Schedule H or H-EZ and, if filing Schedule H, check the
box on line 7. ATTACH A COMPLETE COPY of your
Wisconsin income tax return, including any wage state-
ments and Forms 1099-R. Write “Duplicate” at the top of
the return. If your Wisconsin return is a Form 1 or 1NPR,
ALSO INCLUDE A COPY of your federal income tax return
and supporting schedules. If you filed your Wisconsin
income tax return by telephone, attach copies of your
Wisconsin TeleFile worksheet and wage statements.

The fastest way to get your refund is to file your home-
stead credit claim electronically. If you file electronically,
within 48 hours after receiving your Wisconsin
acknowledgement you must mail all of the required
Schedule H or H-EZ attachments, along with a completed
Form W-RA, Required Attachments for Electronic Filing,
to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 34,
Madison, WI 53786-0001. For additional information, see
the department’s web site at www.dor.state.wi.us, or talk
to a tax preparer.

Note: An electronically filed homestead credit claim may
not be filed separately from your Wisconsin income tax
return.

2. When For most claimants, the deadline for filing a 2004
Schedule H or H-EZ is April 15, 2009. Do not file your
2004 Schedule H or H-EZ before January 1, 2005.

Exception: If you are a taxpayer with a fiscal taxable year
(one ending on a date other than December 31), your
deadline for filing Schedule H or H-EZ is 4 years, 3 1/2
months after the end of the fiscal taxable year to which
the claim relates.

3. Where Mail your Wisconsin income tax return and
Schedule H or H-EZ together, assembled in the proper
order (or Schedule H or H-EZ by itself if no tax return is
required, or the supporting documents if you are filing
electronically), to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 34
Madison, WI 53786-0001
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Make a complete copy of your Schedule H or H-EZ and all
attachments. Keep the copy for your records.

D. Additional Help or Questions About Refunds

1. Help For general information about homestead credit or
for help in preparing Schedule H or H-EZ, contact any
Department of Revenue office. The location and telephone
number of the office nearest you may be listed in your
telephone book. You may also e-mail a question to the
department at homestd@dor.state.wi.us, access the
department’'s web site at www.dor.state.wi.us, or phone
(608) 266-8641 (Madison). Do not use this number for
refund inquiries.

If you prefer, you may write to Wisconsin Department of
Revenue, Mail Stop 5-77, PO Box 8949, Madison, WI
53708-8949. Please include your social security
number on all correspondence.

2. Refunds If you wish to contact the Department of
Revenue about your refund, please wait at least 10 weeks
after filing your Schedule H or H-EZ. You may phone
(608) 266-8100 (Madison) or (414) 227-4907 (Milwaukee).
You may also obtain refund information through the
department’s web site at www.dor.state.wi.us. Either way,
have your social security number and the dollar amount
of your refund available.

If you prefer, you may write to Wisconsin Department of
Revenue, Mail Stop 3-258, PO Box 8949, Madison, WI
53708-8949. Please include your social security
number on all correspondence.

3. TTY Telephone helpis available using TTY equipment. Call
(608) 267-1049 (Madison) or (414) 227-4147 (Milwaukee).
These TTY numbers may be used for both assistance and
refund inquiries.

E. Refunds of Divorced Claimants

If you became divorced after June 20, 1996, and your divorce
judgment states that your former spouse must pay a tax
liability owed to the Department of Revenue, attach a copy of
the divorce judgment to your Schedule H or H-EZ. This will
prevent your homestead credit from being applied against
that tax liability.

F. Definitions

1. Homestead Your homestead is the Wisconsin home you
occupy, whether you own it or rent it, and up to one acre of
land adjoining it (or up to 120 acres of land if the home-
stead is part of a farm). For example, it may be a house,
an apartment, a rented room, a mobile home, a farm, or a
nursing home room.

Unless your homestead is part of a farm, it does not include
any part that is used for business or rental purposes where
a deduction is allowed or allowable for federal tax
purposes, or a separate unit occupied by others rent free.

2. Farm A farm is property used for agricultural purposes.
Your homestead is part of a farm if the property was used
for agricultural purposes during 2004, or if you used it for
agricultural purposes prior to 2004 and have not used it
since then for other purposes (such as recreational or
manufacturing).

3. Household Ahousehold is a claimant and the claimant’s
spouse living in the claimant’s homestead. If you are single,
you are a household, whether you live alone or with others.
If you are married, you and your spouse are a household
if you live together. If you are married but you and your
spouse maintained separate homes on December 31,
2004, you are each considered a separate household.

4. Household Income Household income is all your income
reportable for Wisconsin income tax purposes and all the
items identified on lines 9a through 11i of Schedule H
(lines 6a through 6i of Schedule H-EZ), less a deduction
of $250 for each dependent who occupied your home-
stead for more than six months during 2004.

If you were married and lived with your spouse during all
of 2004, you must combine both incomes to determine
household income. If during 2004, you were separated
from your spouse for all or part of the year (including one
spouse living in a nursing home), you became married or
divorced, or your spouse died, see the “Special Instruc-
tions” on pages 11 and 12 for information on how to
determine household income.

5. Wisconsin Works (W2) Payment A Wisconsin Works
or “W2” payment is a payment received under the
Wisconsin Works assistance program for participating in
a community service job or a transitional placement, or a
payment received under the program as a caretaker of a
newborn child.

Amounts received under the Wisconsin Works program
for trial jobs are taxable wages and are not included in
the definition of Wisconsin Works (W2) payment for home-
stead credit purposes. Amounts received under the
program for job access loans, health care coverage, child
care subsidies, and transportation assistance are also not
included in the definition of Wisconsin Works (W2) pay-
ment; these amounts are not includable in household
income.

G. Situations and Solutions

Wisconsin Publication 127, Wisconsin Homestead Credit
Situations and Solutions, provides additional information
about various situations that are discussed in this instruction
booklet. It also provides information about some situations
and solutions that are not covered in this instruction booklet.

Copies of Publication 127 are available at any Department of
Revenue office, or by contacting the department by any of
the methods described under “Help” in Part D.1, on this page.
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Schedule H-EZ

Instructions for Schedule H-EZ are on the back of the
schedule.

Schedule H

Because of the way homestead credit claims are
processed, please use BLACK INK to complete Schedule H.

Pages 1 and 2 of Schedule H have preprinted zeros in
the “cents” area of the entry lines. Amounts filled in on those
lines should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Do not use
commas or dollar signs in any of the amounts that are filled in
on Schedule H.

Name and Address Area

If the cover of your Schedule H booklet has a removable
mailing label with your name, place it in the name and address
area of the Schedule H you file. Also fill in your social security
number (and your spouse’s, if applicable), and your telephone
number. Correct your name or address if the label is wrong. If
you are married and your spouse's name is not on the label,
print your spouse’s name on the label.

If your booklet does not have a label, fill in all information
requested in the spaces provided on Schedule H. Include your
social security number (and your spouse’s, if applicable), your
telephone number, and your tax district. Do not use a return
address label.

Lines 1 Through 6 — Questions

Fill in the information requested on these lines. Failure to
answer these questions may delay your refund.

* Questions laand 1b Fill in your age as of December 31,
2004, on line la. If you were married and lived with your
spouse for all of 2004, and your spouse was age 65 or
over on December 31, 2004, check the box on line 1b.

* Question 2 You are not a full-year legal Wisconsin resident
if you moved here from another state after January 1, 2004,
or if you moved here from another state for educational
purposes only and have not abandoned your other state’s
residence. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you are not a legal
Wisconsin resident unless you are a resident alien for
federal tax purposes and you do not intend to return to
your homeland.

e Question 4b It is not necessary to answer question 4b
unless 4a is answered “Yes.”

* Question 5 If you became married or divorced during 2004,
check “Yes,” fill in the date, check the appropriate box in
front of the word “married” or “divorced,” and see the
“Special Instructions” on page 12.

* Question 6a Itis not necessary to answer question 6a if
you were not married during any part of 2004. If one spouse
was in a nursing home during 2004, you are considered to
be maintaining separate homes, so answer “Yes” to
question 6a.

» If Question 6b applies to you, refer to the “Special
Instructions” on page 11 for additional information.

Lines 7 Through 12 — Household Income

These instructions apply if during all of 2004 you were single,
or married and living with your spouse. If during 2004 you
were separated, you became married or divorced, or your
spouse died, read the “Special Instructions” on pages 11 and
12 before you complete lines 7 through 12.

m Line 7 (Line 4 of Schedule H-EZ) — Income
from Tax Return

Fill in line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ) ONLY if you or you and
your spouse are filing or have already filed a 2004 Wisconsin
income tax return. If you were married and lived with your
spouse all year but file separate income tax returns, fill in the
income from both of your tax returns.

If you are filing your tax return with Schedule H or H-EZ,
first complete the income portion of your tax return. Fill in the
income from line 11 of Form 1A, line 13 of Form 1, or line 31
of Form 1INPR, on line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ).

If you or you and your spouse have ALREADY FILED your
2004 Wisconsin income tax return, see page 3, Part C.1,
paragraph 3.

If you fill in line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ), do NOT fill in
line 8a or 8b (line 5a or 5b of Schedule H-EZ).

m Line 8 (Line 5 of Schedule H-EZ) — Income —
No Tax Return

Fill in lines 8a and 8b (lines 5a and 5b of Schedule H-EZ)
ONLY if you or you and your spouse are not filing a 2004
Wisconsin income tax return. If you were married and lived
with your spouse all year, fill in all of the income of both
spouses.

If you fillin lines 8a and 8b (lines 5a and 5b of Schedule H-EZ),
do NOT fill in line 7 (line 4 of Schedule H-EZ).

* 8a (line 5a of Schedule H-EZ) Fill in the amount of
wages, interest (including funeral trust interest), and
dividends that are taxable to Wisconsin in the spaces
provided, and fill in the total of these amounts on line 8a
(line 5a of Schedule H-EZ).

* 8b (line 5b of Schedule H-EZ) Fill in all other items of
Wisconsin taxable income on line 8b (line 5b of
Schedule H-EZ), such as: taxable unemployment com-
pensation; pensions and annuities; IRA, Keogh, SEP,
SIMPLE, and deferred compensation distributions; gam-
bling winnings; capital gains; alimony; and business, rent,
farm, partnership, and S corporation income. If filing
Schedule H, attach a schedule explaining the sources of
income and the amount from each source.
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m Lines 9a Through 11i — Nontaxable Household

Income

Fill in all nontaxable household income received in 2004
from any of the sources indicated. If you are married,
combine the incomes of both spouses and fill in the totals
for each category. Do not include amounts already included
on line 7, 8a, or 8b.

9a (6a of Schedule H-EZ) Unemployment compensa-
tion Fillin the total amount of unemployment compensation
received in 2004 that is not already included on line 7 or
8b (line 4 or 5b of Schedule H-EZ). Both taxable and non-
taxable unemployment compensation must be included in
household income.

9b (6b of Schedule H-EZ) Social security, SSI, SSI-E,
SSD, and caretaker supplement Fill in the total amount
of social security benefits received in 2004. Include
amounts deducted for Medicare premiums ($66.60 per
person per month, or $799.20 for the entire year), and any
social security death benefit ($255) received. Also fill in
federal and state “SSI” (supplemental security income),
“SSI-E” (supplemental security income-exceptional needs),
“SSD” (social security disability), and “caretaker supple-
ment” payments.

Do NOT include social security or SSI payments paid
directly to your children, or Title XX benefits (payments for
services).

9c (6¢c of Schedule H-EZ) Railroad retirement Fill in the
total amount of railroad retirement benefits received in
2004. Include amounts deducted for Medicare premiums
($66.60 per person per month, or $799.20 for the entire
year).

9d (6d of Schedule H-EZ) Pensions and annuities,
including IRA, Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE distributions
Fill in the GROSS amount of ALL pensions and annuities
received in 2004 and not included elsewhere. Include
veterans’ pensions, disability payments, any amounts you
contributed to a pension fund, and nontaxable IRA, Keogh,
SEP, and SIMPLE distributions. Both taxable and nontax-
able amounts must be included in household income.

Exceptions: Do not include rollovers (amounts
transferred from one plan to another) or tax-free
Section 1035 insurance contract exchanges. If all or a part
of a pension or annuity distribution in 2004 includes a
rollover amount or a tax-free exchange, write “Rollover” or
“Tax-Free Exchange” near line 9d (line 6d of Schedule
H-EZ), and attach a copy of federal Form 1099-R.

Example: In 2004, you received pension income of $3,500,
$2,700 of which is taxable income and is included on line 7
(line 4 of Schedule H-EZ). No portion of the $3,500 was a
rollover. Fill in $800 ($3,500 - $2,700) on line 9d (line 6d of
Schedule H-EZ).

9e (6e of Schedule H-EZ) Contributions to deferred
compensation plans Fill in contributions to deferred
compensation plans that were excluded from income on

the income tax return (do not include nondeductible
contributions). Excluded deferred compensation is gener-
ally reported in box 12 of the wage and tax statement, Form
W-2, preceded by the prefix D, E, F, G, H, or S.

of (6f of Schedule H-EZ) Contributions to IRA, Keogh,
SEP, and SIMPLE plans Fillin contributions to these plans
that were deducted from income on the income tax return
(do not include rollover contributions or nondeductible
contributions). IRA deductions are reported on line 25 of
federal Form 1040, or on line 17 of Form 1040A. Keogh,
SEP, and SIMPLE deductions are reported on line 32 of
Form 1040.

9g (6g of Schedule H-EZ) Interest on United States
securities and state and municipal bonds Fill in any
nontaxable interest received on securities of the federal
government or its instrumentalities, such as U.S. Savings
Bonds or Treasury Notes, and on nontaxable state and
municipal bonds, such as Higher Education Bonds.

9h Scholarships, fellowships, grants, and military
compensation Fill in the total amount received in 2004
for NONTAXABLE scholarship and fellowship income (for
example, books or tuition), educational grants, or military
compensation (for example: basic quarters and subsistence
allowances; VEAP payments; G.I. Bill benefits; pay from
duty in a combat zone; or pay received by members of a
reserve component of the armed forces). Do not include
student loans or amounts included elsewhere.

Note: If scholarship or fellowship income is included on
line 7 of Schedule H, and any portion of that income was
included on your 2003 homestead credit claim, you may
subtract the amount included in 2003 household income.
Fill in the amount as a negative number on line 9h, and
reduce your 2004 household income by this amount.

9i (6h of Schedule H-EZ) Child support, maintenance
payments, and other support Fill in the total amount of
any court ordered support payments received in 2004,
including child support and family maintenance, but not
foster care, voluntary support, or amounts included else-
where.

9j (6i of Schedule H-EZ) Wisconsin Works (W2),
county relief, kinship care, and other cash public
assistance Fillin the total amount of any Wisconsin Works
(W2), county relief, kinship care, and other cash public
assistance payments (such as adoption assistance)
received in 2004. Do not include the following: a prior year’s
homestead credit; nontaxable foster care; gifts; food
stamps; nontaxable community options program (COP)
payments; or fuel or energy assistance paid to a fuel
supplier or utility, or provided under the federal Low-Income
Home Energy Assistance Act.

Note to Schedule H filers: If you received Wisconsin
Works (W2) or county relief payments, check the bottom
box in the area above line 13; you may need to fill in Sched-
ule 3 on page 3 of Schedule H. See paragraph 5 under
“Exceptions: Homeowners and/or Renters,” on page 10.
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10 and 11a Add lines 7 through 9j. Fill in the total on line 10,
at the bottom of page 1 of Schedule H, and on line 11a, at
the top of page 2.

11b Workers’ compensation, income continuation,
and loss of time insurance (e.g., sick pay) Fill in the
total amount received in 2004 from these sources. Non-
taxable sick pay is generally reported in box 12 of the wage
and tax statement, Form W-2, preceded by the prefix J.

e 11c Gain from sale of home Fill in the gain from
the sale or exchange of a principal residence excluded from
taxable income under Section 121 of the Internal Revenue
Code. Attach a schedule showing the computation of the
gain (selling price minus adjusted basis minus expense of
sale).

11d Other capital gains not taxable Include the 60%
capital gain exclusion on assets held more than one year,
plus any other nontaxable capital gains that are not reported
elsewhere.

Example: You reported net long-term capital gains of
$3,000 on federal Schedule D. In computing Wisconsin
taxable income, you subtracted $1,800 ($3,000 x 60%) of
this gain. Include $1,800 on line 11d.

11e Net operating loss carryforward and capital loss
carryforward Fill in any net operating loss carryforward
or capital loss carryforward (one incurred in a prior year
and not used in that year to offset taxable income) deducted
in computing 2004 Wisconsin taxable income.

Example: You have a $2,000 capital loss carryforward from
2003 to 2004, and a $1,900 capital gain for 2004. On Sched-
ule WD, you compute a $100 net capital loss deduction
($2,000 carryforward less $1,900 gain). Fill in $2,000 on
line 11e (the $1,900 loss offset against capital gain, plus
the $100 loss applied against other income).

11f Income of nonresident spouse or part-year
resident spouse and nontaxable income from
sources outside Wisconsin Fill in the income of your
nonresident or part-year resident spouse for the time you
resided in the same homestead. Also fill in the income
received from sources outside Wisconsin that was ex-
cluded from Wisconsin taxable income.

Example: While a nonresident of Wisconsin, you sold
property located outside Wisconsin on the installment
basis. In 2004 you are a Wisconsin resident. The gain on
the sale of the property sold while you were a nonresident
is not taxable to Wisconsin. However, it must be included
on line 11f.

Resident manager’s rent reduction, clergy housing
allowance, and nontaxable Native American income
Fillin the amount that a resident manager’s rent is reduced
in return for services, the nontaxable housing allowance
provided to a member of the clergy, and nontaxable income
of a Native American.

11g Partners, LLC members, and tax-option (S)
corporation shareholders Fill in the distributive share

of partnership, limited liability company (LLC), and tax-
option (S) corporation depreciation, Section 179
expense, depletion, amortization, and intangible drilling
costs. This information will not be on the reporting form
(Schedule K-1) that you receive from the partnership, LLC,
or tax-option (S) corporation. It must be obtained either by
contacting the partnership, LLC, or tax-option (S)
corporation, or, if available to you, from the tax return of
the partnership, LLC, or tax-option (S) corporation.

% If the partnership, LLC, or tax-option (S) corporation

did not claim any of these expenses, write “None” on line
28 of federal Schedule E, near the entity’s name.

11h Car or truck depreciation (standard mileage rate)
If car or truck expenses were claimed using the standard
mileage rate of 37.5¢ per mile on a business, rent, or farm
schedule, 16¢ per mile is considered depreciation. Multi-
ply the number of miles claimed by 16¢, and include that
amount on line 11h. Write the number of miles next to the
deduction on Schedule C, E, or F.

Example: On a farm schedule you claimed automobile
expenses of $1,875, based on the standard mileage rate
for 5,000 business miles. Include $800 on line 11h (5,000
miles x 16¢ = $800). Fill in “5,000” on line 12 of federal
Schedule F.

Exception: The 16¢ per mile income adjustment is not
required for miles claimed after the adjusted basis of your
car or truck reaches zero. If this applies to you, attach a
note explaining the situation.

11i Other depreciation, Section 179 expense,
depletion, amortization, and intangible drilling costs
Fill in any depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion,
amortization, and intangible drilling costs claimed in
computing Wisconsin taxable income, except amounts
already filled in on line 11g or 11h. (See note below,
regarding actual car/truck expenses.)

Example: You filed a 2004 Wisconsin income tax return
and claimed $1,500 of depreciation on federal Schedule F.
Fill in $1,500 on line 11.i.

Note: If car or truck expenses were claimed on federal
Schedule C, C-EZ, E, or F using the actual expense
method, depreciation would be claimed on the depreciation
line and would be included on line 11i. In this case, write
“actual” next to the car/truck expense line on Schedule C,
E, or F, or near line 5a on Schedule C-EZ.

Repaid amounts Nontaxable income that was included
in household income in a prior year and was required to
be repaid in 2004 may be subtracted from household
income on your 2004 Schedule H. Subtract the amount
repaid on the income line of Schedule H to which the
repayment relates (fill in the amount as a negative number).
Attach an explanation indicating the amount of the
repayment and the year it was included on a homestead
credit claim.

Example: You filed a 2003 Schedule H and reported $8,000
of social security benefits received in 2003. In 2004, you
received social security benefits of $9,000 but were required
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to pay back $3,000 of the benefits you received in 2003.
On line 9b of the 2004 Schedule H, fill in $6,000, the social
security received in 2004 ($9,000) less the amount repaid
($3,000).

m Lines 12a Through 12c — Total Household Income

* 12a Fill in the total of lines 11a through 11i.

e 12b (7b of Schedule H-EZ) You may claim a “dependent
deduction” by filling in the number of “qualifying
dependents” and multiplying that number by $250.

A qualifying dependent is a person who: a) is or may be
claimed as a dependent on your federal income tax re-
turn; and b) occupied your (the claimant’s) homestead for
more than six months during 2004. A dependent is consid-
ered to have occupied your homestead during temporary
absences for reasons such as school, iliness, or vacations.

The six months’ occupancy requirement is considered to
have been met if: a) the dependent was born or died dur-
ing 2004 and occupied your homestead during the entire
time he or she lived in 2004; or b) during 2004 the depen-
dent was adopted by you, was placed with you for adoption,
or became your stepchild, and he or she occupied your
homestead from that date to the end of 2004.

Caution: The term “dependent” does NOT include you or
your spouse. Do not count yourself or your spouse in the
number you fill in on line 12b (line 7b of Schedule H-EZ).

e 12c Subtract the amount on line 12b from the amount on
line 12a. Fill in the total on line 12c. This is your total house-
hold income.

If you have very little or no household income to report
on Schedule H, attach a note explaining how you paid your
rent or property taxes. If you received loans (including student
loans) or gifts, indicate the approximate amount received, but
do not include these in household income.

If you or your spouse are age 65 or over and received no
social security, SSI, or railroad retirement benefits in 2004,
attach a note stating that you did not receive any income from
any of these sources.

Lines 13 Through 15 — Taxes and/or Rent

% If any of the four statements above line 13 apply to you,
check the appropriate box(es) and, if applicable, refer to the
schedule(s) on page 3 of Schedule H.

m Line 13 (Line 8 of Schedule H-EZ) — Homeowners

If you or you and your spouse lived in your homestead during
all of 2004 and were the sole owner(s), fill in on line 13 (line 8
of Schedule H-EZ) the net property taxes from your 2004
property tax bill(s) (payable in 2005 — the taxes do not have
to be paid to claim the credit). “Net property taxes” means the
net taxes after state aids, school tax credits, and the lottery
and gaming credit (if applicable). Net property taxes do NOT
include special assessments or charges, delinquent interest,
or woodland, forest croplands, or managed forest land taxes.

Attach to your Schedule H or H-EZ a legible copy of the
2004 property tax bill(s) (payable in 2005) for your homestead,
or a computer printout obtained either directly from the county
or municipal treasurer or from their web site. If you file elec-
tronically, mail the property tax bill or computer printout, not
the electronically generated form. Also, a mortgage statement,
canceled check, installment tax stub, or money order receipt
cannot be accepted.

The property tax bill copy or computer printout must show the
year, name of the owner(s), assessed value of land and
improvements, legal description or property address, and
taxes before and after state aids and credits, and it must have
lines for special assessments and for the lottery and gaming
credit.

Exception In certain cases you must reduce your net property
taxes or attach additional information. Schedule H filers
should see the exceptions below and on pages 9 and 10.
Schedule H-EZ filers should see Exception in the instruc-
tions for STEP 4 of Schedule H-EZ.

Exceptions: Homeowners (also see “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/or Renters,” on pages 9 and 10)

1. Ifthere are names on the property tax bill other than yours
(or your spouse’s if you were married and lived together
during all of 2004), attach a copy (not the original) of a
document showing your ownership percentage or life
estate. The document could be a deed, land contract,
divorce judgment, final judgment in an estate, or trust
instrument. Also see paragraph 2.

2. If you owned your homestead with others in 2004, use
only that portion of the net property taxes that reflects
your percentage of ownership, unless one of the follow-
ing situations applies.

a) If the other owner was your spouse who lived with you
during all of 2004, you may use all of the net property
taxes.

b) If the other owner did not live in the homestead and
you paid or will pay all the property taxes, use the
portion of taxes reflecting your ownership percentage
on line 13 (line 8 of Schedule H-EZ), and use the other
owner’s share of taxes on line 14c (line 9c of Sched-
ule H-EZ) as rent.

c) If you inherited a partial ownership interest and are
required by the terms of the decedent's will to pay all
the property taxes, you may use all the property taxes
from the date of death. Submit a copy of the will to
verify the requirement.

3. Ifyou owned and lived in a mobile home in 2004, fill in on
line 13 (line 8 of Schedule H-EZ) the net property taxes
from your 2004 personal property tax bill (payable in 2005).
Write “mobile home” on the property tax bill. If you owned
the land on which your mobile home was located, fill in
the 2004 net property taxes for the land. Also fill in on
line 13 (line 8 of Schedule H-EZ) any 2004 municipal
mobile home parking permit fees you paid to the munici-
pality (or to the owner of the land if you rented the land).
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4. If you submit two or more property tax bills for one home-
stead, attach a drawing showing the description, size, and
location of each parcel.

5. If the property tax bill for your homestead does not show
any lottery and gaming credit, do one of the following:

a) If you received or will receive a lottery and gaming
credit separately, subtract the credit from the amount
shown on your property tax bill and include only the
net amount on line 13 (line 8 of Schdule H-EZ). Attach
a note indicating the amount of the lottery and gaming
credit.

b) If you did not and will not receive a lottery and gaming
credit on your homestead for 2004, attach a note stat-
ing that you are not receiving a lottery and gaming
credit for 2004.

m Line 14 (Line 9 of Schedule H-EZ) — Renters

If heat was included in your rent, fill in the amount from line 13a
of your rent certificate(s) on line 14a of Schedule H (line 9a
of Schedule H-EZ). Fill in 20% (.20) of that amount on line 14b
(line 9b of Schedule H-EZ).

If heat was not included in your rent, fill in the amount from
line 13a of your rent certificate(s) on line 14c of Schedule H
(line 9c of Schedule H-EZ). Fill in 25% (.25) of that amount on
line 14d (line 9d of Schedule H-EZ).

DO NOT CHANGE any of the information on the rent certificate
your landlord has prepared for you. The department will not
accept altered rent certificates. If any information has been
or needs to be changed, your landlord must prepare a new
rent certificate.

Attach to your Schedule H or H-EZ the rent certificate(s)
completed and signed by your landlord(s). A separate rent
certificate must be attached for each homestead for which
you are claiming 2004 homestead credit. Only rent paid for
2004 may be used in determining your homestead credit. If
you file electronically, mail the signed rent certificate(s), not
the electronically generated form.

Exception In certain cases you must reduce your rent or
attach additional information. Schedule H filers should see
the exceptions below and on page 10. Schedule H-EZ filers
should see Exception in the instructions for STEP 4 of
Schedule H-EZ.

Exceptions: Renters (also see “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/or Renters” on pages 9 and 10)

1. Ifthe number of occupants on line 11d of the rent certificate
is more than one (your spouse and minor children should
not be included), and each occupant did not pay an equal
share of the rent, fill in the Shared Living Expenses
Schedule on the bottom of the rent certificate, to compute
your allowable rent paid for occupancy only.

2. Ifyour landlord will not sign your rent certificate, complete
lines 1 through 13 on the rent certificate. If food or services
were provided by your landlord, indicate what items were

provided and fill in your estimated value of these items
on line 12. If these items were not provided, fill in 0 on
line 12. Check the box on line 5 of the rent certificate.
Attach it, along with copies of each canceled check or
money order receipt you have to verify your rent. If you
do not have rent receipts, contact the Department of
Revenue at (608) 266-8641 for additional instructions.

Only rent paid for a homestead subject to property taxes
may be claimed, unless the property is owned and
operated by a municipal housing authority created under
sec. 66.1201, Wis. Stats., that makes payments in lieu of
property taxes to the municipality.

If in 2004 you rented a mobile home, or the land on which
it was located, attach a completed rent certificate. On
line 14a or 14c of Schedule H (line 9a or 9c of Schedule
H-EZ), fill in the rent from line 10b and/or 13a of the rent
certificate. As a renter of a mobile home, any mobile home
taxes, mobile home parking permit fees, or municipal fees
you paid may only be claimed as rent.

Exceptions: Homeowners and/or Renters

If during 2004 you were separated from your spouse, you
became married or divorced, or your spouse died, read
the appropriate section(s) of the “Special Instructions” on
pages 11 and 12 before you complete line 13 or 14.

If you moved during 2004, review instructions a) through
g) below and follow each that apply.

a) Attach a schedule listing the address of each dwelling
and the dates you lived there in 2004.

b) Claim the prorated property taxes or rent for the time
you occupied each dwelling in 2004. If you are claiming
less than 12 months of property taxes and/or rent,
attach a note explaining where you lived for the balance
of 2004.

c) Do not claim more than 12 months of property taxes
and/or rent. If you paid property taxes and/or rent for
two dwellings for the same time period, claim only the
amount for where you actually lived.

d) If you owned your homestead, claim only the portion
of property taxes prorated for the time you both owned
and occupied it.

e) If you sold your homestead in 2004, attach a copy of
the closing statement to verify your ownership of the
sold homestead, the prorated property taxes, and the
date of sale (also see the income instructions for line
11c, on page 7).

f) If you paid rent for more than one homestead for 2004,
attach a separate rent certificate for each homestead.

g) If you have moved from a homestead you owned to
tax-exempt housing, see paragraph 8 on page 10.

If your home or property was not used solely for personal
purposes while you lived there and was not part of a farm
(see definition F.2 on page 4), you must allocate property
taxes or rent between personal use and: a) business or
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rental use for which a deduction is allowed or allowable
for federal tax purposes; or b) use of a separate unit by
others rent free. Check the third box in the area above
line 13, and complete Schedule 2 on page 3 of
Schedule H; claim only the personal portion of property
taxes or rent.

Examples of part business use include 1) having a store
or office on the same property as your home, 2) using
one room of your home exclusively for storing products
you sell, and 3) providing child care for others in your
home.

Example: During 2004 you owned a triplex and lived in
one of the three equal-sized units; net property taxes were
$3,000. Claim $1,000 of property taxes (one-third of
$3,000) on line 13, whether the other units were rented
out, available for rent, or used by others rent free.

Example: In 2004 you used one room of your five-room
house exclusively for business; net property taxes were
$1,500. Since one-fifth of the total property taxes are for
business use, claim $1,200 of property taxes (four-fifths
of $1,500) on line 13.

4. If your home was on more than one acre of land and was
not part of a farm, you may claim only the property taxes
or rent on your home and one acre of land. Check the
first box in the area above line 13. Homeowners: Complete
Schedule 1 on page 3 of Schedule H. Renters: Attach a
statement from your landlord, indicating the amount of
rent for your home and one acre of land.

5. If for any month of 2004 you received either: a) a Wis-
consin Works (W2) payment of any amount; or b) county
relief of $400 or more, check the bottom box in the area
above line 13, and fill in Schedule 3 on page 3 of
Schedule H to compute your reduced property taxes or
rent.

6. If your home was part of a farm, you may claim property
taxes or rent on up to 120 acres of land adjoining your
home, and all improvements on those 120 acres. Check
the second box in the area above line 13. Do not claim
property taxes or rent for more than 120 acres of land or
for land that does not adjoin.

7. If your home or property was not part of a farm but was on
more than one acre of land, and it was not used solely for
personal purposes (see paragraph 3), check both the first
and the third boxes in the area above line 13 and com-
plete both Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 on page 3 of
Schedule H. Fill in the amount from line 9 of Schedule 1
on line 1 of Schedule 2.

8. If you have moved from a homestead that you owned to
tax-exempt housing and have tried to sell your former
homestead, you may claim the property taxes while you
still own it, for up to 12 months after you moved, provided:
a) the tax-exempt housing you moved to is not a municipal
housing authority making payments in place of taxes, or
a correctional or detention facility; and b) you do not rent
or lease your former homestead to another person.

If your claim is based on this provision, attach a complete
explanation, indicating that you have not rented or leased
the homestead, the date you moved to the tax-exempt
housing, and what attempts were made to sell the home-
stead.

9. If you file a federal business or rental schedule, list on
each schedule the address of each property.

m Lines 16 Through 19 — Credit Computation

Refer to the 2004 Homestead Credit Computation Tables A
and B on pages 13 and 14 to determine your homestead credit.
If you want the Department of Revenue to compute your credit,
do not complete these lines. The department will notify you of
the amount of your credit.

Sign and Date Your Claim

Be sure you (and your spouse if residing together) sign and
date your Schedule H, at the bottom of page 2.

A homestead credit claim may not be signed for or filed on
behalf of a deceased person. The claimant must be living at
the time the claim is filed.

How to Assemble

Before you assemble your Wisconsin income tax return
(if you are filing one) and homestead credit claim, make a
complete copy. Keep the copy for your records. Staple the
tax return and homestead credit claim together IN THE
FOLLOWING ORDER:

» Wisconsin income tax Form 1, 1A, or INPR*. See "How,
When, and Where to File" on page 3, Part C.1, paragraph 3,
if you already filed your tax return.

e Schedule H or Schedule H-EZ

e Completed 2004 rent certificate(s) and/or copy of 2004
property tax bill(s) (payable in 2005)

* Other homestead credit notes, schedules, etc.
» Other Wisconsin schedules* (e.g., Schedule WD or I)

* Forms 1099-R (whether Wisconsin return is necessary
or not)

* Wage statements*

» Copy of federal income tax return and schedules* (not
necessary if Wisconsin return is a Form 1A)

*Omit if no Wisconsin income tax return is filed.

Checklist

To avoid delays in receiving your refund, see the checklist on
the front cover.



Eeessssssssss—————— Special Instructions

Note: The following instructions do not apply if you were
single during all of 2004, or if you were married and
resided with your spouse during all of 2004.

The Special Instructions on pages 11 and 12 apply to
you only if during 2004 you were separated from your
spouse for all or part of the year, you became married or
divorced, or your spouse died. It is not necessary to read
all 5 Parts of the Special Instructions; refer only to the
Part or Parts that pertain to your situation.

In these Special Instructions, “your own income” or “your
own marital property income” means income or marital
property income generated by your services and property.
“Your spouse’s income” or “your spouse’s marital property
income” means income or marital property income
generated by your spouse’s services and property.

For more information about Wisconsin’s marital property
law or about other terms used in these Special Instruc-
tions, such as “notification,” “marital property” income,
“nonmarital property” income, and “individual property,”
refer to Publication 109, Tax Information for Married
Persons Filing Separate Returns and Persons Divorced
in 2004, which is available at any Department of Revenue
office.

Part 1 Married but Separated ALL of 2004
(including one spouse in a nursing home)

Income —

a) Neither spouse notified the other of income — If
you and your spouse were married but you lived apart
during the entire year, and neither spouse notified the
other of the amount and nature (type) of marital
property income, report all of your own household
income on Schedule H, and none of your spouse’s
income. If your spouse was in a nursing home and
you received a “community spouse income allowance”
under the Spousal Impoverishment Program, that
income is not includable in your household income.

Answer “No” to question 6b on Schedule H.

b) One or both spouses notified other spouse — If
you and your spouse were married but you lived apart
during the entire year, and either spouse (or both)
notified the other of marital property income, compute
household income as explained in Part 2.b.

Taxes/Rent — Compute property taxes and/or rent as
explained in Part 2.

I 11

Part 2 Married but Separated PART of 2004
(including one spouse in a nursing home)

Income — If you and your spouse were separated for
part of 2004, compute household income as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your
spouse in 2004, include all of the income of both you
and your spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 2004,
compute household income under Wisconsin’s matrital
property law. Under marital property law, you must
report all of your own nonmarital property income
and none of your spouse’s nonmarital property
income. The amount of marital property income you
must report depends on whether you or your spouse
notified each other of the amount and nature (type)
of marital property income each of you generated
during that time, as follows:

1. If you did not notify your spouse, report all of your
own marital property income. If you did notify your
spouse, report one-half of your own marital
property income.

2. If your spouse did not notify you, report none of
your spouse’s marital property income. If your
spouse did notify you, report one-half of your

% spouse’s marital property income.

Answer question 6b on Schedule H, relating to
notification.

Exceptions: The marital property law does not apply
during any time your spouse was not domiciled in (was
not a resident of) Wisconsin.

A marital property agreement or unilateral statement has
no effect in computing your household income.

If your spouse was in a nursing home and you received
a “community spouse income allowance” under the
Spousal Impoverishment Program, that income is not
includable in your household income.

Taxes/Rent — You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent for the time you lived together in 2004,
plus only your own property taxes and/or rent for the
balance of 2004.

CAUTION: Your home is presumed to be marital
property. If you contend its classification is something
else (such as individual property), you must provide proof
of that classification; see Attachment c) instructions.

If your home is marital property, you paid all of the 2004
property taxes, and you lived in that home while living
apart from your spouse, one-half of the property taxes
for that portion of the year must be treated as rent.
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Example: You lived apart from your spouse for the last
3 months of 2004. Your home is marital property and
you paid all of the 2004 property taxes ($1,200). Include
on line 13 the combined property taxes of you and your
spouse for the 9 months you lived together ($900). The
property taxes you paid for the 3 months you lived apart
($300) must be treated as though one-half was rent;
include one-half ($150) as property taxes on line 13 and
the other one-half ($150) as rent on line 14c.

Attachments — Attach all of the following items:

a) A statement indicating the dates in 2004 that 1) you
were married and living with your spouse, and 2) you
were married but living apart from your spouse.

b) A schedule listing and identifying income as follows:

1. For the time you were married and living together
during 2004, all of the income of both you and your
spouse.

2. For the time you were married but living apart
during 2004 —

 All of your own income (if you did not notify your
spouse of your marital property income).

¢ Your own nonmarital property income and one-
half of your own marital property income (if you
notified your spouse of your marital property
income).

¢ One-half of your spouse’s marital property
income (if your spouse notified you of his or her
marital property income).

¢) Information to prove the property is not marital
property (if you claim all the property taxes), such as:

1. Acopy of the deed or other ownership verification.

2. Astatement of how it was acquired (purchase, gift,
etc.) and the date.

3. Alisting of the source of funds used to pay for
improvements and mortgage/loan payments since
January 1, 1986.

Part 3 Marriage Took Place in 2004

Income — Include your own income for all of 2004, plus
your spouse’s income from the date of the marriage to
December 31, 2004.

Taxes/Rent — You may claim your own property taxes
and/or rent for the period of 2004 prior to your marriage,
plus your combined property taxes and/or rent from the
date of your marriage to December 31, 2004. If you
resided together and paid rent prior to your marriage, fill
in the Shared Living Expenses Schedule on the bottom
of the rent certificate.

Attachments — Attach all of the following items:

a) A schedule showing the computation of your house-
hold income.

b) Astatementindicating the dates you resided together
during 2004.

Part 4 Divorce Took Place in 2004
Income — Compute household income as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your
spouse in 2004, include all of the income of both you
and your spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 2004,
compute household income under Wisconsin’s marital
property law, as explained in paragraph b) of the
“Income” instructions in Part 2.

¢) For the time you were not married in 2004 (after your
divorce), report only your own income.

Taxes/Rent — You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent for the time you lived together in 2004,
plus only your own property taxes and/or rent for the
balance of 2004. See the “CAUTION” in the “Taxes/Rent”
instructions in Part 2.

Attachments — Attach all of the following items:

a) All the items listed in the “Attachments” section in
Part 2.

b) A schedule of your own income for the time you were
not married in 2004 (after your divorce).

c) A complete copy of the divorce judgment, including
the final stipulation or marital settlement agreement
(if you claim all the property taxes for the time after
the divorce).

Part 5 Spouse Died in 2004

Income — Include your own income for all of 2004, plus
your spouse’s income up to the date of death.

Taxes/Rent — You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent up to the date of death, plus your own
property taxes and/or rent for the balance of 2004.

Attachments — Attach a statement indicating the date of
your spouse’s death.
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If line 12c (line 7c of

Schedule H-EZ) is

Enter on line 17

If line 12c (line 7c of

Schedule H-EZ) is

Enter on line 17

If line 12c (line 7c of
Schedule H-EZ) is

Enter on line 17

At But less (line 12 of At But less (line 12 of At Butless  (line 12 of
least than Schedule H-EZ) least than  Schedule H-EZ) least than Schedule H-EZ)
8,000 8,115 5 13,750 13,865 510 19,500 19,615 1,016
8,115 8,230 15 13,865 13,980 520 19,615 19,730 1,026
8,230 8,345 25 13,980 14,095 531 19,730 19,845 1,036
8,345 8,460 35 14,095 14,210 541 19,845 19,960 1,046
8,460 8,575 45 14,210 14,325 551 19,960 20,075 1,056
8,575 8,690 56 14,325 14,440 561 20,075 20,190 1,066
8,690 8,805 66 14,440 14,555 571 20,190 20,305 1,076
8,805 8,920 76 14,555 14,670 581 20,305 20,420 1,086
8,920 9,035 86 14,670 14,785 591 20,420 20,535 1,097
9,035 9,150 96 14,785 14,900 601 20,535 20,650 1,107
9,150 9,265 106 14,900 20,650 20,765 1,117
9,265 9,380 116 14,900 15,015 611 20,765 20,880 1,127
9,380 9,495 126 15,015 15,130 622 20,880 20,995 1,137
9,495 9,610 136 15,130 15,245 632 20,995 21,110 1,147
9,610 9,725 147 15,245 15,360 642 21,110 21,225 1,157
15,360 15,475 652
9,725 9,840 157 21,225 21,340 1,167
9,840 9,955 167 15,475 15,590 662 21,340 21,455 1,177
9,955 10,070 177 15,590 15,705 672 21,455 21,570 1,187
10,070 10,185 187 15,705 15,820 682 21,570 21,685 1,198
10,185 10,300 197 15,820 15,935 692 21,685 21,800 1,208
10,300 15,935 16,050 702 21,800
10,300 10,415 207 16,050 16,165 712 21,800 21,915 1,218
10,415 10,530 217 16,165 16,280 723 21,915 22,030 1,228
10,530 10,645 227 16,280 16,395 733 22,030 22,145 1,238
10,645 10,760 237 16,395 16,510 743 22,145 22,260 1,248
10,760 10,875 248 16,510 16,625 753 22,260 22,375 1,258
10,875 10,990 258 16,625 16,740 763 22,375 22,490 1,268
10,990 11,105 268 16,740 16,855 773 22,490 22,605 1,278
11,105 11,220 278 16,855 16,970 783 22,605 22,720 1,289
11,220 11,335 288 16,970 17,085 793 22,720 22,835 1,299
11,335 11,450 298 17,085 17,200 803 22,835 22,950 1,309
11,450 11,565 308 17,200 22,950 23,065 1,319
11,565 11,680 318 17,200 17,315 814 23,065 23,180 1,329
11,680 11,795 328 17,315 17,430 824 23,180 23,295 1,339
11,795 11,910 339 17,430 17,545 834 23,295 23,410 1,349
11,910 12,025 349 17,545 17,660 844 23,410 23,525 1,359
17,660 17,775 854
12,025 12,140 359 23,525 23,640 1,369
12,140 12,255 369 17,775 17,890 864 23,640 23,755 1,379
12,255 12,370 379 17,890 18,005 874 23,755 23,870 1,390
12,370 12,485 389 18,005 18,120 884 23,870 23,985 1,400
12,485 12,600 399 18,120 18,235 894 23,985 24,100 1,410
12,600 18,235 18,350 905 24,100
12,600 12,715 409 18,350 18,465 915 24,100 24,215 1,420
12,715 12,830 419 18,465 18,580 925 24,215 24,330 1,430
12,830 12,945 430 18,580 18,695 935 24,330 24,445 1,440
12,945 13,060 440 18,695 18,810 945 24,445 24,500 1,448
13,060 13,175 450 18,810 18,925 955 24,500 or more 1,450
13,175 13,290 460 18,925 19,040 965
13,290 13,405 470 19,040 19,155 975
13,405 13,520 480 19,155 19,270 985
13,520 13,635 490 19,270 19,385 995
13,635 13,750 500 19,385 19,500 1,006




14 = 2004 Homestead Credit Computation Table B =——- —

If line 18 (line 13 of If line 18 (line 13 of If line 18 (line 13 of
Schedule H-EZ) is Schedule H-EZ) is Schedule H-EZ) is
At But less Your At But less Your At But less Your
least than Credit is least than Credit is least than Credit is
_ o1 0 500 1,000
.01 10 10 500 510 404 1,000 1,010 804
10 20 12 510 520 412 1,010 1,020 812
20 30 20 520 530 420 1,020 1,030 820
30 40 28 530 540 428 1,030 1,040 828
40 50 36 540 550 436 1,040 1,050 836
50 60 44 550 560 444 1,050 1,060 844
60 70 52 560 570 452 1,060 1,070 852
70 80 60 570 580 460 1,070 1,080 860
80 90 68 580 590 468 1,080 1,090 868
90 100 76 590 600 476 1,090 1,100 876
100 110 84 600 610 484 1,100 1,110 884
110 120 92 610 620 492 1,110 1,120 892
120 130 100 620 630 500 1,120 1,130 900
130 140 108 630 640 508 1,130 1,140 908
140 150 116 640 650 516 1,140 1,150 916
150 160 124 650 660 524 1,150 1,160 924
160 170 132 660 670 532 1,160 1,170 932
170 180 140 670 680 540 1,170 1,180 940
180 190 148 680 690 548 1,180 1,190 948
190 200 156 690 700 556 1,190 1,200 956
200 210 164 700 710 564 1,200 1,210 964
210 220 172 710 720 572 1,210 1,220 972
220 230 180 720 730 580 1,220 1,230 980
230 240 188 730 740 588 1,230 1,240 988
240 250 196 740 750 596 1,240 1,250 996
250 750 1,250
250 260 204 750 760 604 1,250 1,260 1,004
260 270 212 760 770 612 1,260 1,270 1,012
270 280 220 770 780 620 1,270 1,280 1,020
280 290 228 780 790 628 1,280 1,290 1,028
290 300 236 790 800 636 1,290 1,300 1,036
300 310 244 800 810 644 1,300 1,310 1,044
310 320 252 810 820 652 1,310 1,320 1,052
320 330 260 820 830 660 1,320 1,330 1,060
330 340 268 830 840 668 1,330 1,340 1,068
340 350 276 840 850 676 1,340 1,350 1,076
350 360 284 850 860 684 1,350 1,360 1,084
360 370 292 860 870 692 1,360 1,370 1,092
370 380 300 870 880 700 1,370 1,380 1,100
380 390 308 880 890 708 1,380 1,390 1,108
390 400 316 890 900 716 1,390 1,400 1,116
400 410 324 900 910 724 1,400 1,410 1,124
410 420 332 910 920 732 1,410 1,420 1,132
420 430 340 920 930 740 1,420 1,430 1,140
430 440 348 930 940 748 1,430 1,440 1,148
440 450 356 940 950 756 1,440 1,450 1,156
450 460 364 950 960 764 1,450 or more 1,160
460 470 372 960 970 772
470 480 380 970 980 780
480 490 388 980 990 788
490 500 396 990 1,000 796




Free Tax Preparation Available

(commonly referred to as VITA or TCE)

Need help filing your taxes?

Wisconsin residents can have their taxes prepared for
free at any IRS sponsored Volunteer Income Tax
Assistance (VITA) site or at any AARP sponsored Tax
Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) site. These two
programs have helped millions of individuals across the
country in preparing their taxes. Trained volunteers will
fillout your tax return and many sites will even e-file your
return. The entire service is free.

Who can use VITA services?

e Lower and moderate income
individuals

* Individuals with disabilities
» Elderly

* Individuals who qualify for the
Homestead Credit or the Earned
Income Tax Credit

What should you bring?
» W-2 wage and tax statements.

» Information on other sources of income and any
deductions.

» Social Security cards of taxpayer(s) and dependents.

» To claim the Homestead Credit bring a completed
rent certificate (if you are a renter), a copy of your
2004 property tax bill (if you are a homeowner), and
a record of any Wisconsin Works (W2) payments
received in 2004.

» Both spouses must be present to file a joint return.

VITA and TCE locations:
¢ |n Wisconsin, call 2-1-1 or 1-800-829-1040

e On the web, visit www.dor.state.wi.us and
type in “VITA sites” for a listing

» Callthe AARP at 1-888-227-7669

How to Receive Your Refund Quickly

With the speed of electronic filing, the State and the IRS
will electronically deposit your refund within a few days,
and at no charge. But if you are in need of the refund
money earlier, many paid tax preparation companies
offer Refund Anticipation Loans (RALs), commonly
referred to as “Fast Cash Refunds,” “Express Money,” or
“Instant Refund.” Consumers should be aware that a
RAL is not a refund, it is a loan.

Wisconsin tax preparation
companies that offer RALs are
required by Wisconsin law to
explain all the charges and
fees associated with the
loan. It is then your
decision whether you
would prefer to pay for a
RAL or wait a few extra
daysforthe State and IRS

to electronically deposit
your refund at no charge.

Here are some ways to save money at tax time and
still get your refund quickly:

e E-file and request direct deposit. When you e-file,
request the IRS and the State to electronically deposit
your refund directly into your banking account. It
typically takes 10 business days for the IRS and 3-5
business days for the State to process and electronically
deposit your refund.

e Openabanking account. Consideropening abanking
accountso your refund can be electronically deposited
for your immediate use. Many banks and/or credit

unions will set-up a banking account for free. If an

individual chooses to use a check-cashing store, take
note that these stores charge to cash your check.

e Visit a free tax preparation
site. Trained volunteers will
prepare your tax return for free
and many sites will file your
return electronically to speed
up your refund. For more
information read the above
“Free Tax Preparation Available”
article.



Make Work Pay! Apply for Wisconsin’s Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

Wisconsin’s Earned Income Tax Creditis extramoney Qualifying child criteria:
for working families. The child must meet the relationship, age and
residencytestslisted inthe federalinstructions.
To claim the Wisconsin EITC, a taxpayer must meet You need to have worked and have federal
the following qualifications: adjusted gross income less than:
e Qualify for the federal Earned Income Tax Credit. » $30,338 ($31,338 if married filing jointly)
 Have at least one qualifying child if there is one qualifying child
 Be a full-year Wisconsin resident * $34,458 ($35,458 if married
filing jointly) if there is more
If you have: than one qualifying child
» 1qualifying child, you are eligible to receive upto $104 ) )
in Wisconsin EITC For more information on the

< 2 qualifying children, you are eligible to receive up to Wisconsin EITC, refer to
$602 in Wisconsin EITC the Form 1 or 1A & WI-Z
tax booklet, or call

« 3ormore qualifying children, you are eligible toreceive (608) 266-2772.

up to $1849 in Wisconsin EITC

60 Million Taxpayers in the U.S. E-filed Last Year.

What do they know that you don’t?

One out of every four mailed in paper returns have an error Ways to e-file: -

on them causing additional processing work and delayed « Free-File. Click on Fre F] e
refunds. When a person e-files their return, the computer the State’s Free-File s
takes care of the math and even picks the correct tax program located at

tables, significantly reducing the chance of a submitted
error. Plus, if you e-file your State return, you can receive
your refund within 3-5 business days when you choose
direct deposit!

www.Wisconsin.gov or www.dor.state.wi.us

» TeleFile. Use your telephone to TeleFile your return.
Note: only certain individuals who obtain a P.I.N. from
the State qualify for this service.

New e-filing services: * Freetax preparation site. Visitafree tax preparation

« E-file now, pay later! If you owe taxes you can e-file site, commonly referred to as VITA or TCE (see
your return now and designate any date on or before page 15 for more information). Many of the sites have

April 15 for the amount to be automatically withdrawn e-filing capabilities.

from your bank account. There is no service or * Purchase software. Purchase tax preparation

transaction fee. software at your local office supply or electronics
« Extended non-active computer time! The State’s store.

Free-File program has extended it's non-active time » Tax preparer. Pay a tax preparation company to

allotmentto 60 minutes. So ifthe phonerings or the kids prepare and e-file your return.

keep pulling you away from the computer, you know

your entered data will still be there aslong as you return For more information call (608) 264-6886.

within 60 minutes.

Servicio en Espaiiol

La temporada de Impuestos (Taxes) puede ser confusa. Puede ser aun mas confusa si nuestro primer idioma no es el
Inglés. Pero ahora hay ayuda para eso. Las siguientes organizaciones ofrecen asistencia gratuita en Espafiol. Por favor
llamar para los horarios de servicio.

SDC (Social Development Commission)

UMGOS, Inc. Southside Neighborhood Service Center
910 W. Mitchell St. 931 W. Madison St.
Milwaukee, WI 53204 Milwaukee, WI 53204

414-389-6693 414-643-8444
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