General Instructions

Note: The Wisconsin Legislature has replaced the "temporary recycling surcharge" with a permanent recycling surcharge that applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2000.

Purpose of Form 3S

Partnerships, including limited liability companies (LLCs) treated as partnerships, use Form 3S to compute and pay the recycling surcharge.

The recycling surcharge applies to partnerships doing business in Wisconsin for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2000.

Who Must File?

A partnership (including a limited liability company (LLC) treated as a partnership) that must file a Wisconsin partnership return, Form 3, and does business in Wisconsin must file Form 3S and pay the recycling surcharge if it:

- Has gross receipts (as defined later) of \$4,000,000 or more from nonfarm trade or business activities for federal income tax purposes and is not engaged in farming, or
- Is engaged in farming and has gross receipts (as defined later) from farming of more than \$1,000,000 for federal income tax purposes.

Who Is Not Required to File?

Syndicates, pools, joint ventures, or similar organizations that have elected not to be treated as partnerships under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 761(a) aren't subject to the recycling surcharge and don't need to file Form 3S.

Single-owner LLCs that are disregarded as separate entities are not required to file Form 3S. The owner is required to include the income and expenses of the disregarded entity when computing the owner's surcharge due.

Definitions Applicable to Partnerships

Farming – Farming is the cultivation of land or the raising or harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural commodity including the raising, shearing, feeding, caring for, training, and management of animals. Trees, other than trees bearing fruit or nuts, aren't treated as an agricultural or horticultural commodity. Raising or harvesting Christmas trees isn't considered farming.

Gross Receipts – A partnership uses its "gross receipts" from both nonfarm trade or business activities and from farm activities to determine whether the recycling surcharge applies. Gross receipts of partnerships from nonfarm trade

or business activities are total receipts or sales from all nonfarm trade or business activities reportable by partnerships for federal income tax purposes, before deducting returns and allowances or any other business expenses. Gross receipts from nonfarm trade or business activities include the sum of the following:

- Gross receipts or sales reportable on line 1a of federal Form 1065,
- Gross receipts, other than farm receipts, passed through from other partnerships and fiduciaries includable in computing ordinary income or loss on line 4 of federal Form 1065,
- The gross sales price from the sale or disposition of business assets, other than farm assets, includable in computing net gain or loss from federal Form 4797 as reportable on line 6 of federal Form 1065,
- Gross receipts from the rental of tangible personal property,
- Gross receipts includable in computing other income or loss on line 7 of federal Form 1065.

Gross receipts from farm activities include:

• The total receipts or sales from lines 1, 4, 5a, 6a, 7a, 8a, and 9 of federal Schedule F, and the gross sales price of farm assets producing ordinary income or loss from federal Form 4797.

Note: When determining gross receipts, don't include receipts from investment activities. Receipts from investment activities may include interest and dividends received by partnerships that aren't dealers or traders in securities and real estate rents received by partnerships that aren't dealers or traders in real estate. *However*, if the partnership has \$4,000,000 or more of gross receipts from nonfarm trade or business activities, you must include any income or loss from investment activities in the partnership's net business income when figuring the amount of surcharge owed.

Net Business Income – A partnership is subject to the recycling surcharge based on its "net business income". This is the amount reported in column (d) of line 22 on the partnership's Wisconsin Form 3.

Exception: For partnerships engaged in both farming and nonfarming activities, net farm profit (loss) should be subtracted from the amount reported in column (d) of line 22 when calculating "net business income". The recycling surcharge is then figured separately for each activity.

Additional Information or Forms

For more information about the recycling surcharge, see Publication 400, *Wisconsin's Recycling Surcharge*, which you may obtain from any Department of Revenue office. If you need help in preparing Form 3S, call (608) 266-2772 or write to the Audit Bureau, Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 8906, Madison WI 53708-8906.

If you need additional forms, call (608) 266-1961 or write to the Forms Request Office, Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 8903, Madison, WI 53708-8903.

Internet Address <u>www.dor.state.wi.us</u>. You may obtain additional information, forms or publications from our Internet web site.

Period Covered by Form 3S

Form 3S covers the same period as your 2000 Wisconsin partnership return, Form 3.

Due Date of Form 3S

You must file Form 3S on or before the due date, including extensions, of your 2000 Wisconsin partnership return.

Caution: The due date for **paying** the recycling surcharge is explained below.

Extension of Time to File

Any extension of time allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for filing your partnership return automatically extends the due date of your Form 3S. Enter the extended due date in item G on Form 3S.

Payment of Recycling Surcharge

The recycling surcharge must be paid by the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable period, regardless of the due date of the return.

An extension for filing Form 3S doesn't extend the time to pay the recycling surcharge. Interest will be charged on the surcharge not paid by the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable year. You can avoid the 1% per month interest charges during the extension period by paying the surcharge due by that date. Submit your payment with Wisconsin Form 3S-ES, Partnership Estimated Surcharge Voucher.

Where to File

Mail Form 3S to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 8965, Madison WI 53708-8965. Do not attach Form 3S to Form 3 because they are to be mailed to different addresses.

Internal Revenue Service Adjustments and Amended Returns

If your federal partnership return is adjusted and the adjustments affect your Wisconsin recycling surcharge payable, you must report such adjustments to the Department of Revenue by filing an amended Form 3S, including a copy of the federal audit report, within 90 days after they become final. If you file an amended federal partnership return and the changes affect your Wisconsin recycling surcharge payable, you must file an amended Form 3S with the Department of Revenue within 90 days after filing the amended federal return.

Send your amended Form 3S to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 8991, Madison WI 53708-8991. Don't attach it to the return for the current year.

Penalties for Not Filing or Filing Incorrect Forms

If you don't file a Form 3S that you are required to file, or if you file an incorrect Form 3S due to negligence or fraud, interest, a late filing fee, and penalties may be assessed against you. The interest rate on a delinquent surcharge is 18% per year. The late filing fee is \$30. Civil penalties may be as much as 100% of the amount of surcharge not reported on Form 3S. Criminal penalties for filing a false return include a fine of up to \$10,000 and imprisonment.

Note: If a partnership's or LLC's recycling surcharge is delinquent, its partners or members are jointly and severally liable for it.

Specific Instructions

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars – Cents may be rounded to the nearest whole dollar by eliminating amounts less than 50 cents and increasing amounts from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar.

■ Name and Address – Print or type the partnership's name and address in the spaces provided.

■ **A. Federal Employer Identification Number** – Enter the partnership's federal employer identification number.

■ **B. County** – Enter the name of the Wisconsin county in which the partnership's business is located. If the partnership has business activities in more than one county, enter the location of the principal business operations.

■ C. Amended Return – If this is an amended return, check the box, attach an explanation of the changes made, and see the special instructions for line 8.

D. Partnership Terminated – Check the box if the partnership terminated during the taxable year.

■ E. Limited Liability Company – Check the box if the entity is organized as an LLC.

■ F. Period Covered – File the 2000 Form 3S for calendar year 2000 and fiscal years that begin in 2000. Fill in the taxable year beginning and ending dates in the spaces provided.

■ G. Extension – If you received an extension of time to file your partnership return, fill in the extended due date of your return.

■ H. Contact Person – Enter the name and telephone number of a person that the department may call if questions about your return arise while it is being processed.

■ I. Partnership Engaged Only in Farming – If the partnership is engaged only in farming (as defined earlier), check the "Yes" box and skip to line 6.

■ Line 1. Partnership Gross Receipts – Enter the partnership's gross receipts from nonfarm trade or business activities (as defined earlier) reportable for federal income tax purposes.

Note: If you have less than \$4,000,000 of gross receipts for federal income tax purposes, you aren't subject to a recycling surcharge based on net business income. However, if you are also engaged in farming, skip to line 6.

■ Line 2. Net Business Income – Enter on line 2, the amount from column (d) of line 22 on the partnership's Wisconsin Form 3.

Exception: For partnerships engaged in both farming and nonfarming activities, net farm profit (loss) should be sub-tracted from the amount reported in column (d) of line 22 when calculating "net business income". The recycling surcharge is then figured separately for each activity.

If you had a loss, show the amount in parentheses on line 2, leave lines 3 and 4 blank, and enter \$25 on line 5.

Note: Partnerships operating only in Wisconsin should skip line 3 and enter the amount from line 2 on line 4. Nonunitary, multistate partnerships should also skip line 3.

■ Line 3. Percent to Wisconsin – Unitary, multistate partnerships should complete 2000 Wisconsin Form 4B and enter on line 3 the apportionment percentage from Form 4B, line 28 or 33. See the instructions for Form 4B in the Form 3 instruction booklet.

■ Line 4. Wisconsin Net Business Income – Unitary, multistate partnerships multiply the amount on line 2 by the percentage on line 3.

Nonunitary, multistate partnerships enter the amount of income included on line 2 which is attributable to activities in Wisconsin, as determined under the separate accounting method.

Partnerships operating only in Wisconsin enter the amount from line 2 on line 4.

■ Line 5. Recycling Surcharge – Enter the greater of \$25 or 0.02% (.002) of the amount on line 4, but not more than \$9,800.

■ Line 6. Recycling Surcharge for Farmers – If the partnership is engaged in farming and has gross receipts from farming activities (as defined earlier) of more than \$1,000,000 for federal income tax purposes, enter \$25.

Note: If the partnership is engaged in farming and in some other trade or business activity, you may owe the \$25 farm surcharge in addition to any surcharge based on your nonfarm net business income.

■ Line 7. Total Recycling Surcharge – Add the amounts on lines 5 and 6 and enter the total on line 7.

■ Line 8. Estimated Recycling Surcharge Payments – Enter estimated recycling surcharge payments made using 2000 Wisconsin Form 3S-ES.

Amended Return: If this is an amended return, enter the recycling surcharge previously paid.

■ Line 9. Interest Due – Enter any interest due from Form 3U, line 11.

A partnership that doesn't make estimated recycling surcharge payments when due may be subject to underpayment interest for the period of the underpayment. Generally, a partnership is subject to interest if its recycling surcharge liability is \$200 or more, and it did not timely pay 90% of its surcharge liability for 2000.

Use Form 3U, Underpayment of Estimated Recycling Surcharge by Partnerships, to determine if the partnership is subject to underpayment interest and, if so, to figure the amount owed.

■ Line 10. Amount Due – If the total of lines 7 and 9 is larger than line 8, subtract line 8 from the total of lines 7 and 9. This is the amount you owe. Attach your check to the front of Form 3S.

■ Line 11. Overpayment – If line 8 is larger than the total of lines 7 and 9, subtract the total of lines 7 and 9 from line 8. This is your overpayment.

■ Line 12. 2001 Estimated Recycling Surcharge – Enter the amount of any overpayment on line 11 that is to be credited to the partnership's 2001 estimated recycling surcharge. The balance of any overpayment will be refunded.

■ Signature – A general partner of the partnership must sign Form 3S. If the form is prepared by someone other than an employe of the partnership, the preparer's signature is also required.