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Schedule H  instructions

Wisconsin homestead credit
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Checklist:

• Is your mailing label (if you have one) attached to Schedule H?

• Are questions 1 to 8 on Schedule H all answered?

• Is ALL of your household income reported?

• Did you check the arithmetic?

• Are  ALL  applicable  schedules on the back of Schedule H
completed?

• Did you sign Schedule H?

• Is the envelope addressed to the address shown at the bottom
of Schedule H?

Don't Delay Your Refund

Avoid the following mistakes, which delay refunds (the instruc-
tions for these areas are highlighted with shading):

• Failing to submit a statement when the rent certificate shows
more than 1 occupant (page 7)

• Failing to include the following:

— Copy of federal tax return, wage statements, and
schedules (page 1)

— Property tax bills (page 6)

— Copy of Wisconsin tax return (page 1)

— Rent certificate(s) (page 7)

• Failing to explain other owners' names on tax bill (page 7)

• Submitting an altered rent certificate (page 7)

• Failing to attach a note when no lottery credit is claimed or
lottery credit is not shown on the tax bill (page 6)

Earned Income Credit

The Wisconsin earned income credit provides a direct benefit to
working families with qualifying children.  The amount of benefit
available depends on your income and number of children.

To claim the Wisconsin earned income credit you must file an
income tax return using Wisconsin Form 1 or 1A.  If you need
help to determine if you qualify, contact any department office.

 Before mailing your claim,
 check the following -

Property Tax Deferral Loan Program

This loan program provides loans of up to $2,500 to help individuals
age 65 or older pay their property taxes. Qualified applicants may
participate even if they receive homestead credit.

For more information about the property tax deferral loan program,
or  for loan application forms, you may write to Wisconsin Housing
and Economic Development Authority, P.O. Box 1728, Madison,
WI 53701-1728. Do not use this address  for homestead credit
purposes.

FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT

In compliance with federal law, you are hereby notified that the request for your social
security number on the Wisconsin homestead credit claim is made under the
authority of Section 71.55(7) of the Wisconsin Statutes. The disclosure of this number
on your claim is mandatory. It will be used for identification purposes throughout the
processing, filing, and auditing of your claim, and in the issuance of refund checks.

STOP



HOW TO RECEIVE HOMESTEAD CREDIT

To receive homestead credit you must meet all of the qualifications in Part A on page 1, and you must file a Wisconsin
homestead credit claim (Schedule H).  Meeting all of the qualifications and filing a claim, however, does not guarantee
you will receive a homestead credit.  The computation of a homestead credit is based on both household income and
allowable property taxes or rent.
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General Instructions 1

A. Do You Qualify?

To see if you qualify for homestead credit, answer Yes or No
to all of the questions in Steps 1 and 2 below.

Step 1

a. Were you at least 18 years of age as of December 31,
1996?

b. Were you a legal resident of Wisconsin for all of 1996?

c. Was your household income (see definition E4 on page
2) for 1996 less than $19,154?

d. Were you the owner or renter of the Wisconsin home-
stead you lived in during 1996?

If you answered No to any of these questions, do not
complete Schedule H; you do not  qualify  for homestead
credit. If you answered Yes to all four questions, go on to
Step 2.

Step 2

a. Were you claimed or will you be claimed as a dependent
on someone else’s 1996 federal  income tax return? (If
you were age 62 or over on December 31, 1996, this
limitation does not apply to you, so answer No.)

b. Are you currently living in a nursing home and also
receiving Title XIX medical assistance?

c. During EACH MONTH of the entire 1996 year did you
receive:

(1)AFDC (Aid to Families with Dependent Children) pay-
ments for your child, yourself, or your spouse, of any
amount? (For purposes of answering this question, do not
count either AFDC payments received solely  for the care
of a relative for whom you are not legally responsible
[NLRR AFDC], or foster care payments.)

(2)County relief payments of $400 or more?

Note:  If your answers for (1) and (2) are No but you
received either of these benefits for PART of 1996, see
Schedules 4 and 5 on back of Schedule H.

d. Did you live FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR 1996 in housing
that is exempt from property taxes? (A municipal housing
authority property is not considered tax-exempt for home-
stead credit purposes if that authority makes payments in
place of property taxes to the city or town in which it is
located. If you live in public housing, you may wish to
check with your manager.)

Note:   If you are claiming property taxes on your former
homestead (see paragraph 9 under “Exceptions:

Homeowners and/or Renters,” on page 8), this limitation
does not apply, so answer No.

e. Have you claimed or will you claim a Wisconsin farmland
preservation credit for 1996?

f. Has a 1996 Schedule H been filed by another member
of your household (see definition E3 on page 2)?

g. Is the Schedule H being filed on behalf of a person who
is deceased?

If you answered Yes to any of the questions in Step 2, do not
complete Schedule H; you do not qualify for homestead
credit.

If you answered Yes to all of the questions in Step 1 and No
to all of the questions in Step 2, complete Schedule H to see
if homestead credit is available to you, based on your
household income and your allowable property taxes and/
or rent. Meeting all of the qualifications in Steps 1 and 2 does
not guarantee you will receive a homestead credit.

Note:   A homestead credit claim may not be filed on behalf
of a deceased person. The claimant must be alive at the time
the claim is filed.

B. How, When, and Where to File

1. How   If you file a Wisconsin income tax return, you
should file your homestead credit claim (Schedule H)
with  the tax return (stapled together), and mail both
forms to the address shown on Schedule H. Separate
filing could delay your homestead refund. If you (or you
and your spouse) are not required to file a tax return,
Schedule H may be filed by itself.

The tax return your Schedule H is attached to must be a
Form 1, 1A, or 1NPR; you cannot attach Schedule H to
a Form WI-Z. If your Wisconsin return is a Form 1 or
1NPR, be sure to include a copy of your federal tax return
and supporting schedules.

If you previously filed your Wisconsin income tax return
and now wish to file a claim for homestead credit, write
“Income Tax Return Previously Filed” at the top of
Schedule H. Attach to Schedule H a complete copy of
your Wisconsin income tax return, Form 1, 1A, WI-Z, or
1NPR (including wage statement copies), and write
“Duplicate” at the top. If your Wisconsin return is a Form
1 or 1NPR, be sure to also include a copy of your federal
tax return and supporting schedules.

2. When   For most claimants, the deadline for filing a 1996
Schedule H is April 16, 2001.

Exception:  If you are a taxpayer with a fiscal taxable
year (one ending on a date other than December 31),
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your deadline for filing Schedule H is 4 years, 3 1/2
months after the end of the taxable year to which the
claim relates.

3. Where   Mail your Wisconsin income tax return and
Schedule H together  (or Schedule H by itself, if no
income tax return is required), along with all of the
required attachments, to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 34
Madison, WI 53786-0001

Do NOT mail Schedule H to any of the other addresses
shown on the income tax return. The Quick Refund
Program is not available for homestead credit claims.
Also, homestead credit claims may not be filed electroni-
cally.

Keep a complete copy of your Schedule H and all
attachments for your records.

C.  Questions About Refunds and
      Homestead Assistance

1. Refunds   If you wish to contact the Department of
Revenue about your refund , please wait at least 10
weeks  after filing your Schedule H. You may phone
(608) 266-8100 (Madison) or (414) 227-4907 (Milwau-
kee). When calling, have your social security number
and the dollar amount of your refund available.

If you prefer, you may write to:
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 8903
Madison, WI 53708-8903

Please include your social security number on all
correspondence.

2. Assistance   For general information about homestead
credit or for help in preparing  Schedule H, contact any
Department of Revenue office. The location and tele-
phone number of the office nearest you are usually listed
in your telephone book under Wisconsin, State of; Rev-
enue, Department of. You may also phone (608) 266-
8641 (Madison). Do not use this number for refund
inquiries.

If you prefer, you may write to:
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 8906
Madison, WI 53708-8906

Please include your social security number on all
correspondence.

3. TDD  Hearing-impaired people with telephone device for
the deaf (TDD) equipment may contact the department
by phoning (608) 267-1049 (Madison) or (414) 227-4147
(Milwaukee). These numbers may be used for both
homestead credit assistance and refund inquiries.

D.  Refunds of Divorced Claimants

If you become divorced after June 20, 1996, and your
divorce judgment states that your former spouse must
pay a tax liability owed to the Department of Revenue,
attach a copy of the divorce judgment to your Schedule
H. This will prevent your homestead credit from being
applied against that tax liability.

E. Definitions

1. Homestead   Your homestead is the Wisconsin home
you occupy, whether you own it or rent it, and up to one
acre of land adjoining it (or up to 120 acres of land if the
homestead is part of a farm). For example, it may be a
house, an apartment, a rented room, a mobile home, a
farm, or a nursing home room.

Unless your homestead is part of a farm, it does not
include any part which is rented to others, used for
business purposes, or a separate unit occupied by
others rent free.

2. Farm   Your homestead is part of a farm if the property
was used for agricultural purposes either during 1996 or
prior to 1996 and it has not been used since then for other
purposes (such as recreational or manufacturing).

3. Household   If you are single, you are considered a
household, whether you live alone or with others. If you are
married, you and your spouse are considered a household
if you live together. If you are married but you and your
spouse maintained separate homes on December 31,
1996, you are each considered a separate household.

4. Household Income   Household income is all your
income reportable for Wisconsin income tax purposes
and all items specifically identified on lines 11a through
11h of Schedule H, less a deduction of $250 for each
dependent who occupied your homestead for more than
six months during 1996. If you were married and lived
with your spouse during all of 1996, you must combine
your income and that of your spouse to determine your
total household income. If during 1996, you were sepa-
rated from your spouse for all or part of the year (includ-
ing one spouse living in a nursing home), you became
married or divorced, or your spouse died, see the “Spe-
cial Instructions” on pages 9 and 10 for information on
how to determine household income.

General Instructions



Instructions for Schedule H

Name and Address Area

If the cover of your Schedule H booklet has a removable
mailing label with your name, place it in the name and
address area of the Schedule H you file. Draw a line through
any incorrect information and print the correct information
on the label. If you are married, print your spouse’s name
and social security number on the label if that information is
missing. Fill in your telephone number.

If your booklet does not have a label, fill in all information
requested in the spaces provided on Schedule H. Include
social security numbers of yourself and your spouse, if
applicable, your telephone number, and your tax district.

Lines 1 Through 8 - Questions

Fill in the information requested on these lines. Failure to
answer these questions may delay your refund.

• Question 1   Fill in your age as of December 31, 1996.
Also, if you were married and lived with your spouse
during all of 1996, and your spouse was age 65 or over
on December 31, 1996, check the box above question 1.

• Question 2   If you are a student and you moved to
Wisconsin from another state, you are not a legal Wis-
consin resident if you are here for educational purposes
only and have not abandoned your other state’s resi-
dence. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you are not a legal
Wisconsin resident unless you are a resident alien for
federal tax purposes and  you do not intend to return to
your homeland.

• Questions 4 and 5   It is not necessary to answer
question 4b or 5b unless 4a or 5a is answered “yes.”

• Question 7a   If you became married or divorced during
1996, check “yes,” fill in the date, check the appropriate
box after the word “married” or “divorced,” and see the
“Special Instructions” on page 10.

• Question 7b   It is not necessary to answer question 7b if
you were not married as of December 31, 1996. If one
spouse is in a nursing home as of December 31, 1996, you
are considered to be maintaining separate homes, so
answer “yes” to question 7b.

Lines 9 Through 12 - Household Income

These instructions for lines 9 through 12 apply if during all of
1996 you were single, or married and living with your spouse.
If during 1996 you were separated from your spouse for all or
part of the year, you became married or divorced, or your
spouse died, read the “Special Instructions” on pages 9 and
10 before you complete lines 9 through 12.

■  Line 9 - Income From Tax Return

Fill in line 9 if you or you and your spouse are filing a 1996
Wisconsin income tax return with your Schedule H. How-
ever, first complete your income tax return through line 8 of
Form 1A, line 5 of Form 1, or line 26 of Form 1NPR, and fill
in the amount from that line on line 9 of Schedule H.

Also fill in line 9 if you or you and your spouse have already
filed your 1996 Wisconsin income tax return, and follow the
instructions on page 1, Part B.1, paragraph 3.

If you were married and lived with your spouse all year, but
you file separate Wisconsin income tax returns, fill in the
combined income from your separate returns. If you com-
plete line 9, do NOT fill in any amounts on line 10a or 10b.

■  Lines 10a and 10b - Taxable Income - No
     Tax Return

Fill in these lines only if you or you and your spouse are not
required to file a 1996 Wisconsin income tax return. If you
are married, combine the income of both spouses and fill in
the totals. If you complete lines 10a and 10b, do NOT fill in
any amount on line 9.

• 10a  Fill in the amount of wages, interest, and dividends
in the spaces provided, and fill in the total of these
amounts on line 10a.

• 10b  Fill in all other items of taxable income on line 10b,
such as:  taxable unemployment compensation; pen-
sions and annuities; IRA, Keogh, SEP, and deferred
compensation distributions; capital gains; alimony; and
business, rent, farm, partnership, limited liability com-
pany, and tax-option (S) corporation income. If you fill in
an amount on line 10b, attach a schedule explaining the
sources of income and the amounts from each source.

■  Line 11a - Income Adjustments

Fill in Schedule 1 on back of Schedule H. Fill in the total from
line 10 of Schedule 1 on line 11a. If you are married, combine
the amounts for both spouses.

Schedule 1- Income Adjustments

1 Partners, LLC members, and S corporation share-
holders   Fill in your distributive share of partnership,
limited liability company (LLC), and tax-option (S) corpo-
ration depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion,
amortization, and intangible drilling costs.

          If the partnership, LLC, or S corporation did not
claim any of these expenses, write “None” on line 27 of
Schedule E, near the entity’s name. To determine this
you may have to contact the partnership, LLC, or S
corporation.

3



Instructions for Schedule H

2 Other depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion,
amortization, and intangible drilling costs   Fill in any
depreciation (excluding standard mileage depreciation),
Section 179 expense, depletion, amortization, and in-
tangible drilling costs claimed in computing Wisconsin
taxable income. Do not include amounts already filled in
on line 1 of Schedule 1.

Example:  You filed a 1996 Wisconsin income tax return
and claimed $1,500 of depreciation as a farm expense
on federal Schedule F. Fill in the $1,500 on line 2 of
Schedule 1.

3 Standard mileage depreciation   If you claimed the
standard mileage rate of 31¢ per mile in computing your
income on a business, farm, or rent schedule, a portion
of the expense, 12¢ per mile, is depreciation. Multiply the
number of miles claimed at the 31¢ per mile rate by 12¢,
and include that amount on line 3 of Schedule 1.

Example:  On a business schedule you claimed automo-
bile expenses of $1,550 (5,000 business miles times 31¢
per mile). Include $600 on line 3 of Schedule 1 (5,000
miles x 12¢ = $600).

Exception:   The 12¢ per mile income adjustment is not
required for miles claimed after the adjusted basis of
your car or truck reaches zero. If this applies to you,
attach a note, explaining the situation.

Note:   If you claimed car or truck expenses on federal
Schedule C, C-EZ, E, or F, do one of the following:

a.If you used the standard mileage rate, write the num-
ber of miles next to the deduction on Schedule C, E,
or F.

b.If you claimed actual expenses, write “actual” next to
the deduction on Schedule C, E, or F, or near line 5a
on Schedule C-EZ.

4 Capital gains not taxable   Include the 60% capital gain
exclusion on assets held more than one year, plus any
other nontaxable capital gains.

Example:  You reported net long-term capital gains of
$3,000 on federal Schedule D. In computing Wisconsin
taxable income, you subtracted $1,800 ($3,000 x 60%)
of this gain. Include on line 4 of Schedule 1 the $1,800 of
capital gains not included in taxable income.

Principal residence gain exclusion   Fill in the gain
from the sale or exchange of your principal residence
excluded under the one-time exclusion available to
persons age 55 or older. Attach a copy of federal Form
2119.

5 Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements
(IRAs) and Simplified Employe Pension (SEP), Keogh,
and deferred compensation plans   Fill in contributions
to these plans which you deducted or excluded from
income on your income tax return (do not include rollover
contributions or nondeductible contributions).

Note:   Your IRA deductions are reported on lines 23a and
23b of federal Form 1040, or on lines 15a and 15b of
Form 1040A. SEP and Keogh deductions are reported
on line 27 of Form 1040. Excludable deferred compen-
sation is generally reported in box 13 of your wage and
tax statement, Form W-2, and should be preceded by the
prefix D, E, F, G, or H.

6 Nontaxable interest on United States Government
securities, and state and municipal bonds   Fill in any
nontaxable interest received on securities of the federal
government or its instrumentalities, such as U.S. Sav-
ings Bonds or Treasury Notes, and on nontaxable state
and municipal bonds, such as Higher Education Bonds.

7 Net operating loss carryforward and capital loss
carryforward   Fill in any net operating loss carryforward or
capital loss carryforward (one incurred in a prior year and
not used in that year to offset taxable income) deducted in
computing your 1996 Wisconsin taxable income.

Example:  You have a $2,000 capital loss carryforward
from 1995 to 1996 and a $1,900 capital gain for 1996. On
Schedule WD, you compute a $100 net capital loss
deduction ($2,000 carryforward less $1,900 gain). Fill in
$2,000 on line 7 of Schedule 1 (the $1,900 loss offset
against capital gain, plus the $100 loss applied against
other income).

8 Income of nonresident or part-year resident spouse
Fill in the income of your nonresident or part-year resident
spouse for the time you resided in the same homestead.

Example:  You are a full-year Wisconsin resident. Your
spouse, a nonresident of Wisconsin, earned income of
$5,000 in 1996 which is not taxable by Wisconsin. You
and your spouse resided in the same homestead during
1996. Fill in $5,000 on line 8 of Schedule 1.

Income from sources outside Wisconsin   Fill in the
income you received from sources outside Wisconsin
which was excluded from Wisconsin taxable income.

Example:  While a nonresident of Wisconsin, you sold
property located outside Wisconsin on the installment
basis. In 1996, you are a Wisconsin resident. The gain on
the sale of property located outside Wisconsin, sold
while you were a nonresident, is not taxable to Wiscon-
sin for income tax purposes. However, it must be in-
cluded in household income on line 8 of Schedule 1.

4



Instructions for Schedule H 5

9 Resident manager’s rent reduction, clergy housing
allowance, and nontaxable Native American income
Fill in the amount that a resident manager’s rent is
reduced in return for services, the nontaxable housing
allowance provided to a member of the clergy, and the
total amount of nontaxable income of a Native American.

■   Lines 11b Through 11h - Other Income

Fill in all other income received in 1996 from any of the
sources indicated. If you are married, combine the incomes
of both spouses and fill in the totals for each category. Do not
include amounts already included on line 9 or 10b.

• 11b  Unemployment compensation   Fill in the total
amount of unemployment compensation you received in
1996 which was not included elsewhere. Both taxable
and nontaxable unemployment compensation must be
included in household income.

• 11c  Social security, SSI, and railroad retirement   Fill
in the total amount of social security and railroad retire-
ment benefits received in 1996, including the amounts
deducted for Medicare premiums. The Medicare pre-
mium deductions per person for 1996 were $42.50 per
month or $510.00 for the entire year.

Include supplemental security income (SSI) and any
social security death benefit ($255) received. However,
do NOT include social security payments to your children
or Title XX benefits (payments for services).

If you or your spouse are age 65 or over and received no
social security, SSI, or railroad retirement benefits in
1996, attach a note stating that you did not receive any
income from any of these sources.

• 11d  Scholarships, fellowships, grants, and military
compensation   Fill in the total amount you received in
1996 for NONTAXABLE scholarship and fellowship in-
come (for example, books or tuition), educational grants,
or military benefits (for example, basic quarters and
subsistence allowances, VEAP payments, or G.I. Bill
benefits). Do not include student loans or amounts in-
cluded elsewhere.

• 11e  Pensions and annuities   Fill in the GROSS amount
of ALL pensions and annuities received in 1996. Include
veterans’ pensions, disability payments, any amounts
you contributed to a pension fund, and nontaxable IRA,
Keogh, and SEP distributions. Both taxable and nontax-
able amounts must be included in household income.

Exceptions:   Do not include any amounts which you
have already included on another line, rollovers (amounts
transferred from one plan to another), or Section 1035
exchanges (tax-free exchanges of insurance contracts).

 If all or a part of a pension or annuity distribution
in 1996 includes a rollover amount or a tax-free ex-
change, write “Rollover” or “Tax-Free Exchange” near
line 11e, and attach a copy of your Form 1099-R.

Determine the amount to fill in on line 11e as follows:
1.Total amount received in 1996. _________
2.Total amount reported on line 9 or 10b. _________
3.Rollover or tax-free exchange. _________
4.Line 1 minus lines 2 and 3.
   Fill in on line 11e. _________

Example:  In 1996, you received pension income of
$3,500, $2,700 of which is taxable income and is
included on line 9. No portion of the $3,500 was a
rollover. Fill in $800 ($3,500 - $2,700) on line 11e.

• 11f  Workers’ compensation, income continuation,
and loss of time insurance   Fill in the total amount you
received in 1996 from these sources.

• 11g  Support money and maintenance payments   Fill
in the total amount of any court ordered support pay-
ments you received in 1996, including child support and
family maintenance, but not foster care, voluntary sup-
port, or amounts included elsewhere.

• 11h  AFDC, county relief, and other cash public
assistance   If you received any AFDC payments,
payments for the care of a relative for whom you are not
legally responsible (NLRR AFDC), county relief pay-
ments, or other cash public assistance payments in
1996, fill in the amounts on the applicable line of
Schedule 4 on back of Schedule H, and fill in the total on
line 11h. Do not include the following:  a prior year’s
homestead credit; nontaxable foster care; gifts; food
stamps; nontaxable community options program (COP)
payments; or fuel or energy assistance which is paid to
a fuel supplier or utility, or which is provided under the
federal Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Act.

 If you fill in amounts on Schedule 4, you may also
need to complete Schedule 5. See paragraph 4 under
“Exceptions: Homeowners and/or Renters,” on page 8.

• Repaid amounts   Nontaxable income which you re-
ceived and included in household income in a prior year
and were required to repay in 1996 may be subtracted
from household income on your 1996 Schedule H.
Subtract the amount repaid on the household income
line of Schedule H to which the repayment relates.
Attach an explanation indicating the amount of the
repayment and the year you received and included the
income on a homestead credit claim.

Example:  You filed a 1995 Schedule H and reported
$8,000 of social security benefits received in 1995. In
1996, you received social security benefits of $9,000 but



Instructions for Schedule H6

were required to pay back $2,000 of the benefits you
received in 1995. On line 11c of the 1996 Schedule H, fill
in $7,000, the social security received in 1996 ($9,000)
less the amount repaid ($2,000).

• Note:   If you have very little or no household income to
report on Schedule H, attach a note explaining how you
paid your rent or property taxes. If you received loans
(including student loans) or gifts, indicate the approxi-
mate amount received, but do not include these amounts
in household income.

■  Lines 12a Through 12c - Total Household
     Income

• 12a  Fill in the total of lines 9 through 11h.

• 12b  You may claim a “dependent deduction” by filling in
the number of “qualifying dependents” and multiplying
that number by $250.

A qualifying dependent is a person who: a) qualifies as
your dependent for federal  income tax purposes; and b)
occupied your (the claimant’s) homestead for more than
six months during 1996. A dependent is considered to
have occupied your homestead during temporary ab-
sences for reasons such as school, illness, or vacations.

The six months’ occupancy requirement is considered to
have been met if:  a) the dependent was born or died during
1996 and occupied your homestead during the entire time
he or she lived in 1996; or b) during 1996 the dependent
was adopted by you, was placed with you for adoption, or
became your stepchild, and he or she occupied your
homestead from that date to the end of 1996.

Caution:   The term “dependent” does NOT include you
or your spouse. Do not count yourself or your spouse in
the number you fill in on line 12b.

• 12c  Subtract the amount on line 12b from the amount on
line 12a, and fill in the total on line 12c. This is your total
household income.

Lines 13 Through 15 - Taxes and/or Rent

■  Line 13 - Homeowners

If you or you and your spouse lived in your homestead during
all of 1996 and were the sole owner(s), fill in on line 13 the
allowable property taxes from your 1996 property tax bill(s).
“Allowable property taxes” means the net taxes after state aids,
school tax credits, and the lottery credit (if applicable). Allow-
able property taxes do NOT include any special assessments,
special charges, delinquent interest, or woodland, forest crop-
lands, or managed forest land taxes.

Attach  to your Schedule H a copy of the 1996 property tax
bill(s) (payable in 1997) for your homestead. Attach the
actual tax bill copy. A mortgage statement, canceled check,
county tax receipt, installment tax stub, etc. cannot be
accepted. Your property tax bill must show the name of the
owner(s), valuation of land and improvements, legal descrip-
tion, and taxes before and after state aids and credits.

In certain cases you must reduce your taxes or attach
additional information to your Schedule H. See the excep-
tions described below and under “Exceptions:  Homeowners
and/or Renters,” on page 8.

Exceptions:  Homeowners

1. If during 1996 you were separated from your spouse, you
became married or divorced, or your spouse died, read
the “Special Instructions” on pages 9 and 10 before you
complete line 13.

2. If the property tax bill for your homestead does not show
any lottery credit, do one of the following:

a. If you received or will receive a lottery credit sepa-
rately, subtract the lottery credit from the amount
shown on your property tax bill and include only the
net amount on line 13. Attach a note indicating the
amount of the lottery credit.

b. If you did not and will not receive a lottery credit on
your homestead for 1996, attach a note stating that
you are not receiving a lottery credit for 1996.

3. If you owned and lived in a mobile home in 1996, fill in on
line 13 the allowable property taxes from your 1996
personal property tax bill (payable in 1997). Write “mobile
home” on the tax bill and attach it to Schedule H. If you
owned the land on which your mobile home was located,
fill in on line 13 the 1996 allowable property taxes for the
land and attach a copy of that tax bill. Also fill in on line 13
any 1996 municipal mobile home parking permit fees you
paid to the municipality (or to the owner of the land if you
rented the land).

4. If you owned your homestead with others in 1996, use
only that portion of the property taxes which reflects your
percentage of ownership, unless one of the following
situations applies:  a) the other owner was your spouse
who lived with you during all of 1996; or b) you inherited
a partial ownership interest and are required by the terms
of the decedent’s will to pay all of the property taxes. If
situation a) applies, you may use all of the property taxes.
If situation b) applies, you may use all of the property
taxes from the date of the decedent’s death; submit a
copy of the will to verify that you are required to pay all of
the property taxes.



5. If there are names on the property tax bill other than yours
(or your spouse’s if you were married and lived together
during all of 1996), attach a copy  (not the original) of a
document showing your ownership percentage, such as
a deed, land contract, divorce judgment, final judgment in
an estate, or trust instrument.

6. If you sold your homestead during 1996, use only that
portion of the property taxes prorated for the time you
owned and occupied it. Attach a copy of the closing
agreement from the sale, to verify the date of sale. Also
attach a statement indicating the date you moved.

7. If you owned and lived in two or more homesteads in
1996, prorate the taxes on each for the time you owned
and occupied it. Claim a total of only 12 months of
property taxes.

8. If you submit two or more property tax bills for one
homestead, attach a drawing showing the description,
size, and location of each parcel.

■   Line 14 - Renters

If heat was included in your rent, fill in the amount from line
13a of your rent certificate(s) on line 14a of Schedule H.
Multiply that amount by .20 (20%) and fill in the result on line
14b.

If heat was not included in your rent, fill in the amount from
line 13a of your rent certificate(s) on line 14c of Schedule H.
Multiply that amount by .25 (25%) and fill in the result on line
14d.

Attach  to your Schedule H the rent certificate(s) completed
and signed by your landlord(s). A separate rent certificate
must be attached for each homestead for which you are
claiming 1996 homestead credit. Only rent paid for 1996 may
be used in determining your homestead credit.

DO NOT CHANGE any of the information on the rent
certificate your landlord has prepared for you. The depart-
ment will not accept altered rent certificates. If any informa-
tion has been or needs to be changed, your landlord must
prepare a new rent certificate.

In certain cases you must reduce your rent or attach addi-
tional information to your Schedule H. See the exceptions
described below and under “Exceptions: Homeowners and/
or Renters,” on page 8.

Exceptions:  Renters

1. If during 1996 you were separated from your spouse,  you
became married or divorced, or your spouse died, read
the “Special Instructions” on pages 9 and 10 before you
complete line 14.

2. Only rent paid for a homestead subject to property taxes
may be claimed, unless the property is owned and
operated by a municipal housing authority which makes
payments in place of property taxes to the municipality.

3. If you rented a mobile home in 1996, or if you rented the
land on which your mobile home was located, attach a
completed rent certificate. On line 14a or 14c of Sched-
ule H, fill in the rent from line 10b or 13a of the rent
certificate. As a renter of a mobile home, any mobile
home taxes, mobile home parking permit fees, or mu-
nicipal fees you paid may only be claimed as rent.

4. If the number of occupants on line 11d of the rent
certificate is more than one (your spouse and minor
children should not  be counted), and each occupant did
not pay an equal share of the total rent on line 11c, you
must do the following. Attach a statement showing the
names of the other occupants and the amount of shared
living expenses (rent, food, utilities, supplies, etc.) each
occupant paid. Claim only the portion of the rent which
reflects the percentage of the total shared living ex-
penses that you paid.

       Example:  You and your roommate paid shared
living expenses of $8,000 as follows:

          Total
      Expenses                  You                  Roomate

Rent     $4,800 $4,800      —
Food      2,400   1,200 $1,200
Utilities      600      —      600
Supplies    200      —                      200
TOTAL  $8,000  $6,000 $2,000

Your landlord filled in the entire rent of $4,800 on line 11e
of the rent certificate, because you paid all the rent.
However, since you paid only 75% of the total shared
living expenses ($6,000 ÷ $8,000 = .75), you may use
only 75% of the rent paid for occupancy to determine
your homestead credit.

5. If you claim rent for more than one homestead for 1996,
attach a separate rent certificate for each homestead. If
you paid rent for two homesteads for the same time
period, claim only the rent for the one you actually lived
in. Do not claim more than 12 months of rent.

6. If your landlord refuses to sign your rent certificate,
complete lines 1 through 13b on the rent certificate. If
food or services were provided by your landlord, indi-
cate what items were provided and fill in your estimated
value of these items on line 12. If these items were not
provided, fill in -0- on line 12 . Write “Landlord Refuses
to Sign” at the top of the certificate. Attach it, along with
copies of all of your canceled checks or money order
receipts, to verify your rent.
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■  Exceptions:  Homeowners and/or Renters

1. If you moved during 1996, attach a statement showing
the dates you lived at each dwelling during 1996.

2. If you were both a homeowner and a renter in 1996, you
may claim both property taxes for the time you owned and
lived in the home, and rent for the time you lived in the
rented property. Do not claim more than 12 months of
property taxes and rent.

3. If you claim a total of less than 12 months of property
taxes and/or rent, attach a note explaining where you
lived for the balance of 1996.

4. If you received AFDC of any amount for your child,
yourself, or your spouse in 1996, or if you received county
relief of $400 or more in any month of 1996, fill in
Schedule 5 on back of Schedule H to compute your
reduced property taxes or rent. Do not fill in Schedule 5
if you received only NLRR AFDC.

5. If your home was part of a farm (see definition E2 on page
2), you may claim property taxes or rent on up to 120
acres of land adjoining your home, and all improvements
on those 120 acres. Do not claim property taxes or rent
for more than 120 acres of land or for land which does not
adjoin your home.

6. If your home was on more than one acre of land and was
not part of a farm, you may claim only the property taxes
or rent on your home and one acre of land. Homeowners:
complete Schedule 2 on back of Schedule H. Renters:
attach a statement from your landlord, indicating the
amount of rent for your home and one acre of land.

7. If your home or property was not used solely for personal
purposes and was not part of a farm, you must allocate
property taxes or rent between personal use and:  a)
business or rental use for which a deduction is allowed or
allowable for federal tax purposes; or b) a separate unit
occupied by others rent free. Examples of part business
use include 1) having a store or office on the same
property as your home, 2) using one room of your home
exclusively for storing products you sell, and 3) providing
child care for others in your home. Complete Schedule 3
on back of Schedule H, and claim only the personal
portion of the taxes or rent on line 13 or 14.

Example:  During 1996 you owned a triplex and lived in
one of the three equal-sized units; total property taxes
were $3,000. Claim $1,000 of property taxes (one-third of
$3,000) on line 13, whether the other units were rented
out, available for rent, or used by others rent free.

Example:  In 1996 you used one room of your five-room
house exclusively for business; total property taxes were

$1,500. Since one-fifth of the total taxes are for business
use, claim $1,200 of property taxes (four-fifths of $1,500)
on line 13.

8. If your home or property was not part of a farm but was on
more than one acre of land and was used partly for
purposes other than personal use, as described above,
you must complete both Schedule 2 and Schedule 3 on
back of Schedule H. Fill in the amount from line 9 of
Schedule 2 on line 1 of Schedule 3.

9. If you have moved from a homestead that you owned to
tax-exempt housing and have tried to sell your former
homestead, you may claim the property taxes while you
still own it, for up to 12 months after you moved, provided:
a) the tax-exempt housing you moved to is not a munici-
pal housing authority making payments in place of taxes,
or a correctional or detention facility; and b) you do not
rent or lease your former homestead to another person.
If your claim is based on this provision, attach a complete
explanation.

10.If you file a federal Schedule C, C-EZ, or E, list on each
schedule the address of each business or rental property.

Lines 16 Through 19 - Credit Computation

Refer to the 1996 Homestead Credit Computation Tables on
pages 11 and 12 to determine your homestead credit. If you
want the Department of Revenue to compute your credit, do
not complete these lines. The department will notify you of
the amount of your credit.

Sign and Date Your Claim

Be sure you (and your spouse if residing together) sign and
date your Schedule H, at the bottom. A claim may not be
signed for or filed on behalf of a deceased person. The
claimant must be living at the time the claim is filed.

Attachments Required

You must attach to your Schedule H ALL of the following
items that pertain to your homestead credit claim:

• Copy of your 1996 property tax bill(s)

• Rent certificates(s) completed and signed by your
landlord(s)

• Your 1996 Wisconsin income tax return (see “How, When,
and Where to File” on page 1, Part B.1, paragraph 3, if you
already filed your tax return)

• All of the explanations, notes, schedules, etc., referred to
in the instructions.
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Special Instructions 9

Note:   The following instructions do not apply if you were
single during all of 1996, or if you were married and resided
with your spouse during all of 1996.

The Special Instructions on pages 9 and 10 apply to you
only if during 1996 you were separated from your spouse for
all or part of the year, you became married or divorced, or
your spouse died. It is not necessary to read all 5 Parts of the
Special Instructions; refer only to the Part or Parts which
pertain to your situation.

In these Special Instructions, “your own income” or “your
own marital property income” means income or marital
property income generated by your services and property.
“Your spouse’s income” or “your spouse’s marital property
income” means income or marital property income gener-
ated by your spouse’s services and property.

For more information about Wisconsin’s marital property law
or about other terms used in these Special Instructions, such
as “notification,” “marital property” income, “nonmarital prop-
erty” income, and “individual property,” refer to Publication
109, “Tax Information for Married Persons Filing Separate
Returns and Persons Divorced in 1996,” which is available
at any Department of Revenue office.

Part 1.  Married but Separated ALL of 1996
              (including one spouse in a nursing home)

a) Neither spouse notified the other of income —If you
and your spouse were married but you lived apart during
the entire year, and neither spouse notified the other of
marital property income, report all of your own household
income on Schedule H, and none of your spouse’s
income. Compute property taxes and/or rent as ex-
plained under “Taxes/Rent” in Part 2.

Attachments —Attach a statement indicating that
you and your spouse did not reside together at all in 1996,
and that neither you nor your spouse notified each other
of marital property income.

b) One or both spouses notified other spouse —If you
and your spouse were married but you lived apart during
the entire year, and either you or your spouse (or both)
notified each other of marital property income, see Part 2
instructions.

Part 2.  Married but Separated PART of 1996
              (including one spouse in a nursing home)

Income —If you and your spouse were separated for part of
1996, compute household income as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your spouse
in 1996, include the combined income of you and your
spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 1996,
compute household income under Wisconsin’s marital
property law. Under marital property law, you must report
all of your own nonmarital  property income and none of
your spouse’s nonmarital  property income. The amount
of marital  property income you must report depends on
whether you or your spouse notified each other of the
amount and nature (type) of marital property income
each of you generated during that time, as follows:

1. If you did not notify your spouse, report all of your own
marital property income. If you did notify your spouse,
report one-half of your own marital property income.

2. If your spouse did not notify you, report none of your
spouse’s marital property income. If your spouse did
notify you, report one-half of your spouse’s marital
property income.

Exceptions:   The marital property law does not apply during
any time your spouse was not domiciled in (was not a
resident of) Wisconsin.

A marital property agreement or unilateral statement has no
effect in computing your household income.

If you received a “community spouse income allowance”
under the Spousal Impoverishment Program, that income is
not includable in your household income.

Taxes/Rent —You may claim your combined property taxes
and/or rent for the time you lived together in 1996, plus only
your own property taxes and/or rent for the balance of 1996.

CAUTION:  Your home is presumed to be marital property. If
you contend its classification is something else (such as
individual property), you must provide proof of that classifi-
cation; see Attachment d) instructions.

If your home is marital property, you paid all of the 1996
taxes, and you lived in that home while living apart from your
spouse, one-half of the taxes for that portion of the year must
be treated as rent.

Example:  You lived apart from your spouse for the last 3
months of 1996. Your home is marital property and you paid
all of the 1996 property taxes ($1,200). Include on line 13 the
combined taxes of you and your spouse for the 9 months you
lived together ($900). The taxes you paid for the 3 months
you lived apart ($300) must be treated as though one-half
was rent; include one-half ($150) as property taxes on line 13
and the other one-half ($150) as rent on line 14c.



10 Special Instructions

Attachments —All of the following items must be attached:

a) A statement indicating the dates you were married and
living with your spouse in 1996, and the dates you were
married but living apart from your spouse in 1996.

b) A statement indicating whether you notified your spouse,
and whether your spouse notified you, of the amount
and nature (type) of your respective marital property
income.

c) A schedule listing and identifying income as follows:

1. For the time you were married and living together
during 1996, the combined income of you and your
spouse.

2. For the time you were married but living apart during
1996—

• All of your own income (if you did not notify your
spouse of your marital property income).

• Your own nonmarital property income and one-half
of your own marital property income (if you notified
your spouse of your marital property income).

• One-half of your spouse’s marital property income (if
your spouse notified you of his or her marital property
income).

d) Information to prove the property is not marital property
(if you claim all the property taxes), such as:

1. A copy of the deed or other ownership verification.

2. A statement of how it was acquired (purchase, gift,
etc.), and the date.

3. A listing of the source of funds used to pay for
improvements and mortgage/loan payments since
January 1, 1986.

Part 3.  Marriage Took Place in 1996

Income —Include your own income for all of 1996, plus your
spouse’s income from the date of the marriage to December
31, 1996.

Taxes/Rent —You may claim your own property taxes and/
or rent for the period of 1996 prior to your marriage, plus your
combined property taxes and/or rent from the date of your
marriage to December 31, 1996.

Attachments —All of the following items must be attached:

a) A schedule showing the computation of your household
income.

b) A statement indicating the dates you resided together
during 1996.

c) A schedule showing what share of living expenses (rent,
food, utilities, supplies, and other household expenses)
you each paid prior to your marriage (if you paid rent and
resided together during that time).

Part 4.  Divorce Took Place in 1996

Income —Compute household income as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your spouse
in 1996, include the combined income of you and your
spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 1996,
compute household income under Wisconsin’s marital
property law, as explained in paragraph b) of the “Income”
instructions in Part 2.

c) For the time you were not married in 1996 (after your
divorce), report only your own income.

Taxes/Rent —You may claim your combined property taxes
and/or rent for the time you lived together in 1996, plus only
your own property taxes and/or rent for the balance of 1996.
See the “CAUTION” in the “Taxes/Rent” instructions in Part
2.

Attachments —All of the following items must be attached:

a) All of the items listed in the “Attachments” section in Part
2.

b) A schedule of your own income for the time you were not
married in 1996 (after your divorce).

c) A complete copy of the divorce judgment, including the
final stipulation or marital settlement agreement (if you
claim all the property taxes for the time after the divorce).

Part 5.  Spouse Died in 1996

Income —Include your own income for all of 1996, plus your
spouse’s income up to the date of death.

Taxes/Rent —You may claim your combined property taxes
and/or rent up to the date of death, plus your own property
taxes and/or rent for the balance of 1996.

Attachments —Attach a statement indicating the date of
your spouse’s death.



1996 Homestead Credit Computation Table A

        If line 12c is
But Enter

At less on
 least than line 17

16,000 16,080 1,045
16,080 16,160 1,056
16,160 16,240 1,066
16,240 16,320 1,076
16,320 16,400 1,087

16,400 16,480 1,097
16,480 16,560 1,108
16,560 16,640 1,118
16,640 16,720 1,128
16,720 16,800 1,139

16,800 16,880 1,149
16,880 16,960 1,160
16,960 17,040 1,170
17,040 17,120 1,180
17,120 17,200 1,191

17,200 17,280 1,201
17,280 17,360 1,212
17,360 17,440 1,222
17,440 17,520 1,232
17,520 17,600 1,243

17,600 17,680 1,253
17,680 17,760 1,264

9,840 9,920 244
9,920 10,000 255

               10,000

10,000 10,080 265
10,080 10,160 276
10,160 10,240 286
10,240 10,320 296
10,320 10,400 307

10,400 10,480 317
10,480 10,560 328
10,560 10,640 338
10,640 10,720 348
10,720 10,800 359

10,800 10,880 369
10,880 10,960 380
10,960 11,040 390
11,040 11,120 400
11,120 11,200 411

11,200 11,280 421
11,280 11,360 432
11,360 11,440 442
11,440 11,520 452
11,520 11,600 463

11,600 11,680 473
11,680 11,760 484
11,760 11,840 494
11,840 11,920 504
11,920 12,000 515

17,760 17,840 1,274
17,840 17,920 1,284
17,920 18,000 1,295

               18,000

18,000 18,080 1,305
18,080 18,160 1,316
18,160 18,240 1,326
18,240 18,320 1,336
18,320 18,400 1,347

18,400 18,480 1,357
18,480 18,560 1,368
18,560 18,640 1,378
18,640 18,720 1,388
18,720 18,800 1,399

18,800 18,880 1,409
18,880 18,960 1,420
18,960 19,040 1,430
19,040 19,120 1,440
19,120 19,154 1,448

19,154 or over 1,450

12,000 12,080 525
12,080 12,160 536
12,160 12,240 546
12,240 12,320 556
12,320 12,400 567

12,400 12,480 577
12,480 12,560 588
12,560 12,640 598
12,640 12,720 608
12,720 12,800 619

12,800 12,880 629
12,880 12,960 640
12,960 13,040 650
13,040 13,120 660
13,120 13,200 671

13,200 13,280 681
13,280 13,360 692
13,360 13,440 702
13,440 13,520 712
13,520 13,600 723

13,600 13,680 733
13,680 13,760 744
13,760 13,840 754
13,840 13,920 764
13,920 14,000 775

                14,000

14,000 14,080 785
14,080 14,160 796
14,160 14,240 806
14,240 14,320 816
14,320 14,400 827

14,400 14,480 837
14,480 14,560 848
14,560 14,640 858
14,640 14,720 868
14,720 14,800 879

14,800 14,880 889
14,880 14,960 900
14,960 15,040 910
15,040 15,120 920
15,120 15,200 931

15,200 15,280 941
15,280 15,360 952
15,360 15,440 962
15,440 15,520 972
15,520 15,600 983

15,600 15,680 993
15,680 15,760 1,004
15,760 15,840 1,014
15,840 15,920 1,024
15,920 16,000 1,035

12,000 16,000
– 8,000     0

8,000 8,080     5
8,080 8,160   16
8,160 8,240   26
8,240 8,320   36
8,320 8,400   47

8,400 8,480   57
8,480 8,560   68
8,560 8,640   78
8,640 8,720   88
8,720 8,800   99

8,800 8,880 109
8,880 8,960 120
8,960 9,040 130
9,040 9,120 140
9,120 9,200 151

9,200 9,280 161
9,280 9,360 172
9,360 9,440 182
9,440 9,520 192
9,520 9,600 203

9,600 9,680 213
9,680 9,760 224
9,760 9,840 234

        If line 12c is
But Enter

At less on
 least than line17

        If line 12c is
But Enter

At less on
 least than line17
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1996 Homestead Credit Computation Table B

500 510 404
510 520 412
520 530 420
530 540 428
540 550 436

550 560 444
560 570 452
570 580 460
580 590 468
590 600 476

600 610 484
610 620 492
620 630 500
630 640 508
640 650 516

650 660 524
660 670 532
670 680 540
680 690 548
690 700 556

700 710 564
710 720 572
720 730 580
730 740 588
740 750 596

750 760 604
760 770 612
770 780 620
780 790 628
790 800 636

800 810 644
810 820 652
820 830 660
830 840 668
840 850 676

850 860 684
860 870 692
870 880 700
880 890 708
890 900 716

900 910 724
910 920 732
920 930 740
930 940 748
940 950 756

950 960 764
960 970 772
970 980 780
980 990 788
990 1,000 796

500 1,000
1,000 1,010 804
1,010 1,020 812
1,020 1,030 820
1,030 1,040 828
1,040 1,050 836

1,050 1,060 844
1,060 1,070 852
1,070 1,080 860
1,080 1,090 868
1,090 1,100 876

1,100 1,110 884
1,110 1,120 892
1,120 1,130 900
1,130 1,140 908
1,140 1,150 916

1,150 1,160 924
1,160 1,170 932
1,170 1,180 940
1,180 1,190 948
1,190 1,200 956

1,200 1,210 964
1,210 1,220 972
1,220 1,230 980
1,230 1,240 988
1,240 1,250 996

1,250 1,260 1,004
1,260 1,270 1,012
1,270 1,280 1,020
1,280 1,290 1,028
1,290 1,300 1,036

1,300 1,310 1,044
1,310 1,320 1,052
1,320 1,330 1,060
1,330 1,340 1,068
1,340 1,350 1,076

1,350 1,360 1,084
1,360 1,370 1,092
1,370 1,380 1,100
1,380 1,390 1,108
1,390 1,400 1,116

1,400 1,410 1,124
1,410 1,420 1,132
1,420 1,430 1,140
1,430 1,440 1,148
1,440 1,450 1,156

1,450 or over 1,160

750 1,250

– .01 0
.01 10 10
10 20 12
20 30 20
30 40 28
40 50 36

50 60 44
60 70 52
70 80 60
80 90 68
90 100 76

100 110 84
110 120 92
120 130 100
130 140 108
140 150 116

150 160 124
160 170 132
170 180 140
180 190 148
190 200 156

200 210 164
210 220 172
220 230 180
230 240 188
240 250 196

                   250

250 260 204
260 270 212
270 280 220
280 290 228
290 300 236

300 310 244
310 320 252
320 330 260
330 340 268
340 350 276

350 360 284
360 370 292
370 380 300
380 390 308
390 400 316

400 410 324
410 420 332
420 430 340
430 440 348
440 450 356

450 460 364
460 470 372
470 480 380
480 490 388
490 500 396

        If line 18 is
But  Your

At less Credit
 least than  is

        If line 18 is
But  Your

At less Credit
 least than  is

        If line 18 is
But  Your

At less Credit
 least than  is
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