If your name is on this label,peal off the label and place itin the
address area of the claim you file, If you do not prepare your own
claim, give your label to your preparer. v

Don't Delay Your Refund

Avoid the following mistakes, which delay refunds (the instruc-
tions for these areas are highlighted with shading):

* Failing to submit a statement when the rent certificate shows
more than 1 occupant (page 7)

* Failing to include the following:

~— Copy of federal tax return and schedules (with Form 1 or
1NPR} (page 1)

— Property tax bills {page 6}

— Copy of Wisconsin tax return (page 1)

-— Rent certificate(s) {page 6)
* Failing to explain other owners' names on tax bill {page 7}
* Submitting an altered rent certificate (page 6)

* Failing to attach a note when no lottery credit is claimed (page
6)

New Instructions

Some of the instructions‘in this booklet are new or have been

changed. These instructions are highlighted with 2%l arrow,

FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT

In compliance with federal law, you are hareby notified that the request for your sccial
security number on the Wisconsin homestead credit claim is made under the authority
of Section 71.55(7) of the Wisconsin Statutes. The disclosura of this number on your
claimis mandatory. It will be used lor identification purposes throughout the processing,
filing, and auditing of your claim, and in the issuance of refund checks.
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Before mailing your claim,
check the following -

Checklist: @

+ Is your mailing label (if you have cne) attached to Schedule H?
* Are questions 1 to 8 on Schedule H all answered?

* Is ALL of your household income reported?

* Did you check the arithmetic?

* Are ALL applicable schedules on the back of Schedule H
completed?

» Did you sign Schedule H?

* [s the envelope addressed to the address shown at the bottom
of Schedule H?

Earned Income Credit

The Wisconsin eamed income credit provides a direct benefit to
working families with qualifying children. The amount of benefit
available depends on your income and number of children.

To claim the Wisconsin earned income credit you must file an
income tax return using Wisconsin Form 1 or 1A. If you need
help to determine if you qualify, contact any department office.

Property Tax Deferral Loan Program

Thisloan program provides loans of up to $2,500 to help individuals
age 65 or older pay their property taxes. Qualified applicants may
participate even if they receive homestead credit.

For more information about the property tax deferral loan program,
or for loan application forms, you may write to Wisconsin Housing
and Economic Development Authority, P.Q. Box 1728, Madison,
WI 53701-1728. Do not use this address for homestead credit

purposes.

Recycled paper has been used
for 12 pages of this booklet.



allowable property taxes or rent.

HOW TO RECEIVE HOMESTEAD CREDIT

To receive homestead credit you must meet all of the qualifications in Part D on page 2, and you must file a Wisconsin
homestead credit claim (Schedule H). Meeting all of the qualifications and filing a claim, however, does not guarantee
you will receive a homestead credit. The computation of a homestead credit is based on both household income and

-
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eeess——————  General Instructions

A. How and When to File

If you file a Wisconsin income tax return, you should file your
homestead credit claim (Schedule H) with the tax return
(stapled together), and mail bath forms to the address shown
on Schedule H. Separate filing could delay your homestead
refund. If you (or you and your spouse) are not required to file
a tax return, Schedule H may be filed by itself.

For most claimants, the deadline for filing a 1995 Schedule H
is April 17, 2000. However, if you are a taxpayer with a fiscal
taxable year (one ending on a date other than December 31),
yourdeadline for filing Schedule His 4 years, 3 1/2months after
the end of the taxable year to which the claim relates.

If you previously filed your Wisconsin income tax return and
now wishtofile a claim for homestead credit, write “In T

B. Questions About Refunds and
Homestead Assistance

1. Refunds If you wish to contact the Department of
Revenue about your refund, please wait at least 10
weeks after filing your Schedule H. You may phone (608)
266-8100 (Madison) or (414) 227-4907 (Milwaukee).
When calling, be sure to have your social security
number and the dollar amount of your refund available.

If you prefer, you may write to:
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 8903
Madison, WI 53708-8903

Please include your social security number on all corre-
spondence.

2. Assistance For general information about homestead
credit or for help in preparing Schedule H, contact any
Department of Revenue office. The location and tele-
phone number of the office nearest you are usually listed
in your telephone book under Wisconsin, State of:
Revenue, Department of. You may also phone (608) 266-
8641 (Madison). Do not use this number for refund
inquiries.

3. Household

A |

If you prefer, you may write to:
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 8906
Madison, Wl 53708-8906

Please include your social security number on alf corre-
spondence.

3. TDD Hearing-impaired people with telephone device

for the deaf {TDD) equipment may contact the depart-
ment by phoning (608) 267-1049 (Madison) or (414)
227-4147 (Milwaukee}. These numbers may be used for
both homestead credit assistance and refund inguiries.

C. Important Definitions

1. Homestead Your homestead is the Wisconsin home you
occupy, whether you own it or rent it, and up to one acre of
land adjoining it (or up to 120 acres of land if the homestead
is part of a farm). For example, it may be a house, an
apartment, a rented room, a mahile home, a farm, or a
nursing home room.,

Unless your homestead is part of a farm, it does notinclude
any part which is rented to others, used for business
purposes, or a separate unit occupied by others rent free.

2. Farm Your homestead is part of a farm if the property was

used for agricultural purposes either during 1995 or prior to
1995 and ithas not been used since then for other purposes
(such as recreational or manufacturing).

ifyouaresingle, youare considered ahouse-
hold, whether you live alone or with others. If you are
married, you and your spouse are considered a household
if you live together. If you are married but you and your
spouse maintained separate homes on December 31,
1995, you are each considered a separate household.

4. Household Income Household income is all your in-

come reportable for Wisconsin income tax purposesandall
items specifically identified on lines 11a through 11h of
Schedule H, less a deduction of $250 for each dependent
who occupied your homestead for more than six months
during 1985, Ifyou were married and lived with your spouse
during all of 1895, you must combine your income and that
of your spouse to determine your total househald income.
If during 1995 your spouse died, you became married or
divorced, or you were separated from your. spouse (includ-
ing one spouse living in a nursing home), see the "Special
Instructions” on pages 9 and 10 for informaticn on how to
determine household income.
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D. Do You Qualify?

To see if you qualify for homestead credit, answer Yesor Noto
all of the questions in Steps 1 and 2 below.

Step 1
a. Wereyou atleast 18 yearsofageas of December 31, 19957
b. Were you a legal resident of Wisconsin for all of 19957

¢. Was your household income (see definition C4 on page 1)
for 1995 less than $19,154?

d. Were you the owner or renter of the Wisconsin homestead
you lived in during 19957

If you answered No to any of these questions, you do not
qualify for homestead credit. If you answered Yes to all four
guestions, go on to Step 2,

Step 2

a. Were you claimed or will you be claimed as a dependent
on someone else’s 1295 federal income tax return? {if you
were age 62 or over on December 31, 1995, this limitation
does not apply to you, so answer No.)

b. Areyoucurrently living in a nursing home and alscreceiving
Title XIX medical assistance? -

¢. During EACH MONTH cf the entire 1995 year did you
receive:

(1) AFDC (Aid to Families with Dependent Children) pay-
ments for your child, yourself, or your spouse, of any
amount? (For purposes of answering this question, do
not count either AFDC payments received solely for
the care of a relative for whom you are not legally
responsible [NLRR AFDC], or foster care payments.)

{2) General relief payments of $400 or more?

Note: If your answers for (1) and (2) are No but you
received either of these benefits for PART of 1995, see
Schedules 4 and 5 on back of Schedule H.

d. Did you live FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR 1995 in housing that
is exempt from property taxes? (A municipal housing
authority property is not considered tax-exempt for home-
stead credit purposes if that authority makes payments in
place of property taxes to the city or town in which it is
located. If you live in public housing, youmay wish to check
with your manager.)

Note: If you are claiming property taxes on your former
homestead (see paragraph 1 under “Exceptions:
Homeowners and/for Renters®on page 7), this limitation
does not apply, so answer No.

e. Have you claimed or will you claim a Wisconsin farm-
land preservation credit for 19957

f. Has a 1995 Schedule H been filed by another member
of your household (see definition C3 on page 1)?

g. Is the Schedule H being filed on behalf of a person
who is deceased?

If you answered Yesto any of the questions in Step 2, you do
not qualify for homestead credit.

If you answered Yesto all of the questions in Step 1 and Noto
all of the questions in Step 2, complete Scheduile H to see if
homestead creditis available toyou, based on your household
income and your allowable property taxes and/or rent. Meet-
ingallof the qualifications in Steps 1 and 2 does not guarantee
you will receive a homestead credit.

Note: A homestead credit claim may not be filed on behalf of
adeceased person. The claimant must be alive at the time the
claim is filed.

messsessssssssssms |NStructions for Schedule H eesssss——————

Name and Address Area

If the cover of your Schedule H booklet has a removabie
mailing label with your name, placeit inthe name and address
area of the Schedule H you file. If any information on the label
iswrong, draw aline throughthe incorrectinformation and print
the coarrect information on the fabel. If you are married, print
your spouse’s name and social security number on the label if
that infoermation is missing. Fill in your telephone number.

If your booklet does not have a label, fill in all information
requested in the spaces provided on Schedule H. Include
social security numbers of yourself and your spouse, if appli-
cable. Also fill in your telephone number and tax district.

Lines 1 Through 8 - Questions
Fill in the information requested on these lines. Failure to
answer these questions may delay your refund.

* Question T Fill in your age as of December 31, 1995.
Also, if you were married and lived with your spouse
during all of 1995, and your spouse was age 65 or over
as of December 31, 1995, check the box above question
1.

* Question 2 |f you are a student and you moved to
Wisconsin from ancther state, you are not a legal Wis-
consin resident if you are here for educational purposes
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only and have not abandoned your other state’s resi-
dence. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you are not a legal
Wisconsin resident unless you are a resident alien for
federal tax purposes and you do net intend to return to
your homeland.

¢ Questions 4 and 5 It is not necessary to answer
guestion 4b or 5b unless question 4a or 5a is answered
IyeS."

* Question 7a If you became married or divorced during
1995, check "yes," fill in the date, check the appropriate
box after the word ‘married" or ‘divorced,” and see the
‘Special Instructions' on pages 9 and 10.

* Question 7b Itis not necessary to answer question 7b
if you were not married as of December 31, 1995, Ifone
spouse is in a nursing home, you are considered to be
maintaining separate homes, so answer "yes' to ques-
tion 7b.

Lines 9 Through 12 - Household Income

The following instructions for lines 9 through 12 apply if during
all of 1995 you were single, or married and living with your
spouse. Ifduring 1995 your spouse died, you became married
or divorced, or you were separated from your spouse, read the
“Special Instructions” on pages 9and 10 before you complete
lines 9 through 12.

M Line 9-Income From Tax Return _

Fill in line 9 if you or you and your spouse are filing a 1995
Wisconsin income tax return with your Schedule H. How-
ever, first complete your income tax return through line 8 of
Form 1A, line 5 of Form 1, or line 26 of Form 1 NPR, and fill
in the amount from that line on line 9 of Schedule H.

Alsofillin line 9 if you or you and your spouse have already
filed your 1995 Wisconsin income tax return, and follow the
instructions on page 1, Part A, paragraph 4.

If you were married and lived with your spouse all year, but
you file separate Wisconsin income tax returns, fill in the
combined income from your separate returns. If you com-
plete line 9, do NOT fill in any amounts on line 10a or 10b.

M Lines 10a and 10b - Taxable Income ~

No Tax Return
Fill in these lines only if you or you and your spouse are not
required to file a 1995 Wisconsin income tax return. If you
aremarried, combine the income of both spouses and fill in
the totals. If you complete lines 10a and 10b, do NOT fill in
any amount on line 9.

* 10a Fill in the amount of wages, interest, and dividends
in the spaces provided, and fill in the total of these
amounts on line 10a.

* 10b Fill in all other items of taxable income on line 10b,
such as: taxable unemployment compensation; pen-
sions and annuities; 1RA, Keogh, SEP, and deferred
compensation distributions; capital gains; alimony; and
business, rent, farm, partnership, limited liability com-
pany , and tax-option (S) corporation income. If you fill
in an amount on line 10b, attach a schedule explaining
the sources of income and the amounts from each
source.

H Line 11a - Income Adjustments

Fillin Schedule 1 on back of Schedule H. Fillin the total from
line 10 of Schedule 1 on line 11a. If you are married,
combine the amounts for both spouses.

Schedule 1 - Income Adjustments

1 Partners, LLC members, and S corporation share-
holders Fill in your distributive share of partnership,
timited liability company (LLC), and tax-option (S) corpora-
tion depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion, amorti-
zZation, andintangible drilling costs. Ifthe partnership, LLC,
or tax-option (S) corporation did not claim any of these
expenses, write “None” on line 1 of Schedule 1. To deter-
mine this you may have to contact the partnership, LLC, or
tax-option (S) corporaticon.

2 Other depreciation, Section 179 expense, depletion,
amortization, and intangible drilling costs Fill in any
depreciation {excluding standard mileage depreciation),
Section 179 expense, depletion, amortization, and intan-
gible drilling costs claimed in computing Wisconsin tax-
able income. Do not include amounts already filled in on
line 1 of Schedule 1.

Example: You filed a 1995 Wisconsin income tax return and
claimed $1,500 of depreciation as a farm expense on
federal Schedule F. Fill in $1,500 on line 2 of Schedule 1.

3 Standard mileage depreciation fyouclaimedthestan-
dard mileage rate of 30¢ per mile in computing your income
on a business, farm, or rent schedule, a portion of the
expense, 12¢ permile, is depreciation. Multiply the number
ofmiles claimed atthe 30¢ per mile rate by 12¢, andinclude
that amount on line 3 of Schedule 1.

Example: On a business schedule you claimed automobile
expenses of $1,500 (5,000 business miles times 30¢ per
mile). Include $600 on line 3 (5,000 miles x 12¢ per mile =
$600).

Exception: The 12¢ per mile income adjustment is not
required for miles claimed after the adjusted basis of your
carortruckreaches zero. If this appliestoyou, attach anote,
explaining the situation.
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Note: If you claimed car or truck expenses on federal
Schedule C, C-EZ, E, or F, do one of the following:

a. Ifyouclaimedactualexpenses, write "actual” nexttothe
deduction on Schedule C, E, or F, or near line 5a on
Schedule C-EZ.

b. Ifyouused the standard mileage rate, write the number
of miles next to the deduction on Schedule C, E, or F

c. If no standard mileage depreciation was claimed on
your tax return, write “None” on line 3 of Schedule 1.

Capital gains nottaxable include the 60% capital gain
exclusion on assets held more than one year, plus any other
nontaxable capital gains. ‘

Example: You reported net capital gains on assets held
more than one year of $3,000 on federal Schedule D. In
computing Wisconsin taxable income, you subtracted
$1,800 ($3,000 x 60%) of this gain. Include on line 4 of
Schedule 1 the $1,800 of capital gains not included. in
taxable income.

Principal residence gainexclusion Fillin the gain from
the sale or exchange of your principal residence excluded
under the one-time exclusion available to persons age 55
or older. Attach a copy of federal Form 2119.

Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements
(IRAs)and Simplified Employe Pension (SEP), Keogh,
and deferred compensation plans  Fill in contributions
to these plans which you deducted or excluded from
income on your income tax return (do not include rollover
contributions or nondeductible contributions).

Note: Your IRA deductions are reported on lines 23a
and 23b of federal Form 1040, or on lines 15a and 15b
of Form 1040A. SEP and Keogh deductions are reported

Example: You have a $2,000 capital loss carryforward from
1994 to 1995 and a$ 1,900 capital gain from the sale of stock
in 1995. On Schedule WD, you compute a $100 net capital
loss deduction ($2,000 carryforward less $1,900 gain). Fill
in $2,000 on line 7 of Schedule 1 (the $1,9C0 loss offset
against capital gain, plus the $100 loss applied against
other income).

Income of nonresident or part-year resident
spouse Fillinthe income of your nonresident or part-year
resident spouse for the time you resided in the same
homestead.

Example: You are a fuil-year resident of Wisconsin and
your spouse is a nonresident of Wisconsin. Your spouse
earnedincome of $5,000 in 1995 which is not taxable by
Wisconsin. You and your spouse resided in the same
homestead during 1995: Fill in $5,000 on line 8 of
Schedule 1.

Income from sources outside Wisconsin Fill in the
income you received from sources outside Wisconsin
which was excluded from Wisconsin taxable income.

Example: While a nonresident of Wisconsin, you sold
property located outside Wisconsin on the installment
basis. In 1995, you are aWisconsinresident. The gainon the
saleof property located outside Wisconsin, sold while you
were a nonresident, is not taxable to Wisconsin for income
tax purposes. However, it must be included in household
income on line 8 of Schedule 1.

Resident manager’s rent reduction, clergy housing
allowance, and nontaxable Native American
income Fillinthe amountthat a resident manager's rent
is reduced in return for services, the nontaxable housing
allowance provided to a member of the clergy, and the
total amountof nontaxable income of a Native American.

on line 27 of Form 1040. Exciudable deferred compen-
sation is generally reported in box 13 of your wage and
tax statement, Form W-2, and should be preceded by
the prefix D, E, F, G, or H.

H Lines 11b Through 11h - Other Income

Fillin all other income received in 1995 from any of the sources

indicated. If you are married, combine the incomes of both

spouses and fill in the totals for each category. Do not include

: amounts already included on line 2 or 10b.

6 Nontaxable interest on United States Government
securities, and state and municipal bonds Fill in any.
nontaxable interest received on securities of the federal
government or any of its instrumentalities, such as U.5.
Savings Bond interest, interest on Treasury Notes, etc., and
on nontaxable state and municipal bonds, such as Higher
-Education Bonds.

* 11b Unemploymentcompensation Fillinthetotalamount
of unemploymentcompensation you received in 1995 which
was not included elsewhere.

% Both taxable and nontaxable unemployment com-
pensation must be included in household income.

7 Netoperating loss carryforward and capital loss carry-
forward Fill in any net operating loss carryforward or
capital loss carryforward (net operating loss or capital loss
incurred in a prior year and not used in that year to offset
taxable incorme) deducted incomputing your 1995 Wiscon-
sin taxable income.

* 11¢ Social security, SSI, and railroad retirement Fill
in the total amount of social security and railroad retirement
benefits received in 1995, including the amounts deducted
for Medicare premiums. The Medicare premium deductions
per person for 1995 were $46.10 per month or $553.20 for
the entire year.
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Include supplemental security income (SSI) and any
social security death benefit ($255) received. However,
doNOT include social security payments to your children
ar Title XX benefits (payments for services).

If you or your spouse are age 65 or over and received no
social security, SSI, or railroad retirement bensfits in
1995, attach a note stating that you did not receive any
income from any of these sources.

11d Scholarships, fellowships, grants, and military
compensation Fill in the total amount you received in
1995 for nontaxable scholarship and fellowship income (for
example, books or tuition), educational grants, or nontax-
able military benefits (for example, VEAP payments or G.1.
Bilt benefits). Do not include student loans or amounts
inciuded elsewhere.

11e Pensions and annuities Fill in the GROSS amount
of ALL pensions and annuities received in 1995. Include
veterans' pensions, disability payments, any amounts you
contributed to a pension fund , and nontaxable IRA,

Kéogh. and SEP distributions.

Both taxable and nontaxable amounts must be
included in household income.

Exceptions: Do not include on line 11e any amounts
which you have already included on another line.

Also do not include rollovers {amounts you transferred
from one plan to another) or a Section 1035 exchange (a
tax-free exchange of insurance contracts}.

% If alt or a part of a pension or annuity distribution in
1995 includes a rollover amount or a tax-free exchange,
write “Rollover” or "Tax-Free Exchange" near line 11e,
and attach a copy of your Form 1099-R.

Determine the amount to fill in on line 11e as follows:
1. Total amount received in 1995,
2. Total amount reported on line 9 or 10b.
3. Rollover or tax-free exchange.
4. Line 1 minus lines 2 and 3.
Fillin on line 11e.

Example: In 1995, youreceived pensionincome of $3,500,
$2,700 of whichis taxable income and is included on line
9. No portion of the $3,500 was a rollover. Fill in $800
{$3,500 — $2,700) on line 11e. .

11f Workers’ compensation, income continuation,
and loss of time insurance Fillin the total amount you
received in 1995 from these sources.

* 11g Support money and maintenance payments Fill
in the total amount of any court ordered support payments
you received in 1995, including child support and family
maintenance, but not foster care, voluntary support, or
amounts included elsewhere.

+ 11h AFDC, general relief, and other cash public assis-
tance [fyoureceived any AFDC payments, payments for
the care of arelative for whomyou are not legally responsible
{NLRR AFDC), general relief payments, or other cash public
assistance payments in 1995, fill in the amounts on the
applicable line of Schedule 4 on back of Schedule H, and fill
in the total on line 11h. Do not include the following: a prior
year's homestead credit; nontaxable foster care; gifts; food
stamps; nontaxable community options program (COP)
payments; or fuel or energy assistance whichis paid toa fuel
supplier or utility, or whichis provided under the federal Low-
Income Home Energy Assistance Act.

% Ifyoufillinamounts on Schedule 4, you may alsoneed
to complete Schedule 5. See paragraph 5 on page 8.

» Repaidamounts Nontaxableincomewhichyoureceived

and included in household income in a prior year and were
required torepayin 1995 may be subtracted from household
incorme on your 1935 Schedule H. Subtract the amount
repaid on the household income line of Schedule Hto which
the repayment relates. Attach an explanation indicating the
amount of the repayment and the year you received and
included the income on a homestead credit claim.

Exarmple: You filed a 1994 Schedule H and reported $8,000
of social security benefits received in 1994. In 1995, you
received social security benefits of $9,000 but were required
to pay back $2,000 of the social security benefits you
received in 1994. On line 11c of the 1995 Schedule H, fill in
$7,000, the social security received in 1995 ($9,000) less the
amount repaid {$2,000).

» Note: If you have very little or no household income to
reporton Schedule H, attach a note explaining how you paid
your rent or property taxes. If you received loans (including
student loans) or gifts, indicate the approximate amount
received, but do not include the amounts in household
income.

B Lines 12a Through 12¢ - Total Household

income
» 12a Fillin the total of lines 9 through 11h.

* 12b You may claim a “dependent deduction” by filling in
the number of "qualifying dependents" and multiplying
that number by $250. A qualifying dependentis a person
who: a} qualifies as your dependent for federal income
tax purposes; and b) occupied your (the claimant's)
homestead for more than six months during 1995.
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In determining how long a dependent occupied your
homestead, a dependent is considered to have occu-
pied your homestead during temporary absences for
reasons such as scheal, iliness, or vacations.

A dependent who does not meet the six months’ occu-
pancy requirement is still considered to have occupied
your homestead for more than six months in 1995 if:
a) the dependent was born or died during 1995, and he
or she occupied your homestead during the entire time
he or she lived in 1995; or b} during 1995 the dependent
was adopted by you, was placed with you for adoption,
or became your stepchild, and he or she cccupied your
homestead from that date to the end of 1995,

Caution: The term “dependent” does NOT include you
or your spouse. Do not count yourself or your spouse in
the number you fill in on line 12b.

* 12¢ Subtract the amount on line 12b from the amount on
line 12a, and fiill in the total on line 12¢. This is your total
household incorne. .

Lines 13 and 14 - Property Taxes and Rent
Read the instructions below which apply to you. Alsoread the
“Exceptions,” which explain limitations on allowable property
taxes or rent which may be claimed for homestead credit.

When used below, “allowable property taxes” means the net
taxes after state aids, school tax credits, and the lottery credit
(if applicable). Allowable property taxes do NOT include any
special assessments, special charges, delinguent interest, or
woodland, forest croplands, or managed forest land taxes.

If during 1995 your spouse died, you became married or
divorced, or you were separated from your spouse, read the
"Special Instructions” on pages 9 and 10 before you complete
lines 13 and 14.

Homeowners Your property tax bill must show the name of
the owner(s), valuation of land and improvements, legal de-
scription, and taxes before and after state aids and credits.

If you or you and your spouse lived in your homestead during
all of 1995 and were the sole owner(s), fill in on lin
allowable property taxes from your 1995 tax bill(s). 4
99
{

% Attach the actualtax bill copy. Amortgage statement,
canceled check, county tax receipt, installment tax stub, etc.
cannct be accepted.

In certain cases you must reduce your taxes or aftach addi-
tional information to your Schedule H. See the exceptions
described under "Exceptions: Homeowners Only” and “Ex-
ceptions: Homeowners and/or Renters,” on pages 7 and 8.

Renters Only rent paid for 1995 may be used in

determining your homestead credit.

If heat was included in your rent, fill in the amount from line 13a
of the rent certificate(s) in the space provided on line 14a of
Schedule H. Multiply that amount by .20 (20%) and fill in the
result on line 14a. '

if heat was not included in your rent, fillin the amount from line
13a of the rent certificate(s) in the space provided on line 14b
of Schedule H. Multiply that amount by .25 (25%) and fill in the
result on line 14b.

A separate rent certificate must be completed for each
homestead for which you are claiming 1995 homestead
di

In certain cases you must reduce your rentor attach additional
information toyour Schedule H. See the exceptions described
under “Exceptions: Renters Only"” and “Exceptions:
Hormeowners and/for Renters,” on pages 7 and 8.

Mobile Home Owners and Renters If you OWNED and
lived in 2 mobile home in 1995, fill in on line 13 the allowable
property taxes from your 1995 personal property tax bill
(payable in 1996). Write “mobile home” on the tax bill and
attach it to Schedule H. If you owned the land on which your
mobile home was located, fill in on line 13 the 1995 allowable
property taxes for the land and attach a copy of that tax bill.
Also fillin on line 13 any 1995 municipal mobile home parking
permit fees you paid to the municipality (or to the owner of the
land if you rented the land).

It you RENTED a mobile home in 1995, or if you rented the
land on which your mobile home was located, attach a
completed rent certificate. In the space provided on line 14a
or 14b of Schedule H, fill in the rent from line 10b or 13aof the
rent certificate. As a renter of amebile home, any mobile home
taxes, mobile home parking permit fees, or municipal fees you
paid may only be claimed as rent.

In certain cases you must reduce your taxes and/or rent or
attach additional information to your Schedule H. See the
exceptions described under “Exceptions: Homeowners Only,”
“Exceptions: Renters Only,” and “"Exceptions: Homeowners
andfor Renters,” on pages 7 and B.
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Exceptions: Homeowners Only

1.1f you received or will receive a lottery credit for 1995
separately from your property tax bill, you must subtract
the lottery credit from the amount shown on your property
tax bill. Attach a note indicating the amount of.the Iottery
credit.

2. Ifyou owned your homestead with others in 1995, use only
that portion of the property taxes which reflects your percent-
age of ownership, unless one of the following situations
applies: a) the other owner was your spouse who lived with
you during all of 1995; or b) you inherited a partial ownership
interest and are required by the terms of the decedent's will
to pay all of the property taxes. If situation a) applies, you
may use all of the property taxes. If situation b) applies, you
may use all of the property taxes from the date of the
decedent's death; submit a copy of the will to verify that you
are required to pay all of the property taxes.

4.1f you were married but lived apart from your spouse for
any part of 1995, see the “Special Instructions” on pages
9 and 10.

5.1f you sold your homestead during 1995, use only that
portion of the property taxes prorated for the time you
owned and occupied it. Submit a copy of the closing
agreement from the sale, to verify the date of sale. Also
submit a statement indicating the date you moved.

6.1f you owned and lived in two or more homesteads in 1995,
prorate the taxes on each for the time you owned and
occupiedit. Claim atotal of only 12months of property taxes.

7.1f you submit two or more property tax bills for one home-
stead, attach a drawing showing the description, size, and
location of each parcel.

Exceptions: Renters Only

1. Only rent paid for 1995 for a homestead subject to property
taxes may be claimed, uniess the property is owned and
operated by a municipal housing authority which makes
payments in place of property taxes to the municipality.

2.1f your landlord provided food, medical, or personal ser-
vices, such as laundry, transportation, counseling, groom-
ing, recreational, or therapeutic services, your rent must be
reduced by the reascnable value of these items. Your
landlord will do this when filling out your rent certificate.

% Example: You and your roommate paid shared
living expenses of $8,000 as follows:

Total
Expenses You Roommate
Rent $4,800 $4,800 -
Food 2,400 1,200 $1,200
Utilities 600 --- 600
Supplies 200 —— 200
TOTAL $8,000 $6,000 $2,000

Your landlord filled in the entire rent of $4,800 on line 11e
of the rent certificate, because you paid all the rent.
However, since you paid only 75% of the total shared living
expenses ($6,000 + $8,000 = .75), you may use only 75%
of the rent paid for occupancy to determine your home-
stead credit.

4. If you are claiming rent paid for more than one homestead
for 1995, submit a separate rent certificate for each
homestead. If you paid rent for two homesteads for the
same time pericd, claim only the rent for the one you
actually lived in. Do not ¢laim more than 12 months of rent.

5.1f your landlord refuses to sign your rent certificate, com-
plete lines 1 through 13b onthe rent certificate. Fillin-0- on
lines 12a and 12b of the rent certificate if the items listed
were not provided by your landlord. Write “Landlord Re-
fuses to Sign” at the top of the certificate. Attach it, along
with copies of your canceled checks or money order
receipts.

Exceptions: Homeowners and/or Renters

1.If you have moved from a homestead that you owned to
tax-exempt housing and have tried to sell your former
homestead, you may claim the property taxes on the
former homestead while you still own it, for up to 12
months from the date you moved, provided: a) the tax-
exempt housing you moved to is not a municipal hous-
ing authority making payments in place of taxes, or a
correctional or detention facility; and b) you do not rent
or lease your fermer homestead to ancther person. If
your claimis based on this provision, attach a complete
explanation.
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2.1f you were both a homeowner and a renter in 1995, you
may claim both property taxes for the time you owned and
lived in the home, and rent for the time you lived in the
rented property. Do not claim more than 12 months of
property taxes and rent.

3.1f you claim a total of less than 12 months of property taxes
andyor rent, attach a note to your claim explaining where you
lived for the balance of 1995.

4.1t you moved during 1995, attach a statement showing the
dates you lived at each dwelling during 1995.

5. If you received AFDC for your child, yourself, or your spouse
in 1995, or if you received general relief of $400 or more in any
month of 1995, fill in Schedule 5 on back of Schedule H to
compute your reduced property taxes or rent.

6.1f your home was on more than one acre of land and was

not part of a farm (see definition C2on page 1), complete -

Schedule 2on back of Schedule H. You may claimonly the
property taxes on your home and one acre of land.

7.1f your home was part of a farm (see definition C2 on page
1), you may claim property taxes on up to 120 acres of
land adjoining your home, If the farm included more than
120 acres, use only the property taxes relating to the 120
acres adjoining your home and allimprovements on those
120 acres. If you were a renter, your rent is also limited to
120 acres of adjoining land. Do not claim property taxes
of rent for land which does not adjoin your home,

8. If your home or property was not part of a farm and was
not used solely for perscnal purpeses, you must allocate
your 1995 property taxes or rent between personal use
and the following other uses: a) business or rental use for
which a deduction is aliowed or allowable for federal
income tax purposes; and b) a separate unitoccupied by
others rent free. Examples of part business use include 1)
having a store or office inthe same building or onthe same
property as your home, 2) using one room of your home
exclusively for storing products you sell, and 3) providing
child care for others in your home. Complete Schedule 3
on back of Schedule H, and claim cnly the perscnal
portion of the taxes or rent on line 13 or line 14.

Example: During 1995 you owned a duplex and lived in
one of the two equal-sized units. Total 1995 allowable
property taxes on the duplex were $1,500. Claim $750 of
the property taxes ($1,500 x 50%) on line 13, whether the
other unit is rented out, available for rent, or used by others
rent free.

Example: In 1995 you used one room of your five-rcom
house exclusively for business. Total 1995 allowable prop-
erty taxes were $1,300. One-fifth (20%}) of the total taxes

are for business use. Claim $1,040 of the property taxes
($1,300 x 80% personal use) on line 13.

9. If your home or property was not part of a farm but was on
more than one acre of land and was used partly for
purposes other than personal use, as described above,
you must complete both Schedule 2 and Scheduie 3 on
back of Schedule H. Fill in the amount from line 9 of
Schedule 2 on line 1 of Schedule 3.

10.1f you file a federal Schedule C, C-EZ, or E, be sure to list
on each schedule the address of each business or rental

property. .

Lines 16 Through 19 - Computation of Credit
Refer to the 1995 Homestead Credit Computation Tables on
pages 11 and 12 to determine your homestead credit. If you
want the Department of Revenue to compute your credit, do not
complete these lines. The department will notify you of the
amount of your credit.

Sign and Date Your Claim

Be sure you (and your spouse if residing together) sign and
date your Schedule H, at the bottom. A claim may not be
signed for or filed on behalf of a deceased person. The
claimant must be living at the time the claim is filed.

Attachments Required _
You must attach to your Scheduie H ALL of the following
items that pertain to your homestead credit claim:

* Copy of your 1995 property tax bill(s)

¢ Rent certificates(s) completed and signed by your
landiord(s)

e Your 1995 Wisconsin income tax return (see "How and
When to File” on page 1, Part A, paragraph 4, if you
already filed your tax return)

o All of the explanations, notes, schedules, etc., referred to
in the instructions.

Where to File

Mail your Wisconsin income tax return and Scheduie H
together (cr Schedule H by itself, if no income tax return is
required), along with ali of the required attachments, to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 34
Madison, Wl 53786-0001

Do NOT mail Schedule H to any of the other addresses shown
on the income tax return. The Quick Refund Program is not
available for homestead credit claims. Also, homestead credit
claims may not be filed electronically.

Be sure you keep a complete copy of your Schedule H and all
attachments, for your records.
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Note: The following instructions do not apply if you were
single during all of 1995, or if you were married and resided
with your spouse during all of 1895,

The Special Instructions on pages 9 and 10 apply to you
only if during 1995 your spouse died, you became married
or divorced, or you were separated from your spouse. It is
not necessary to read all 5 Parts of the Special Instructions:;
refer only to the Part or Parts which pertain o your situation.

In these Special Instructions, "your own income” or “your
own marital property income” means income or marital
property income generated by your services and property.
“Your spouse's income” or "your spouse’s marital property
income” means income or marital property income gener-
ated by your spouse’s services and property.

For more information about Wisconsin's marital property law
or about other terms used in these Special Instructions,
such as “notification,” “marital property” income, “nonmarital
property” income, and “individual property,” refer to Publi-
cation 109, “Tax Information for Married Persons Filing
Separate Returns and Persons Divorced in 1895,” which is
available at any Department of Revenue cffice.

1. Spouse Died in 1995

Lines 9 through 12—Inciude your own income for all of
1895, plus your spouse’s income up to the date of death,

Lines 13 and 14—You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent up to the date of death, plus your own
property taxes and/or rent for the balance of 1995.

Attachments-—Attach a statement indicating the date of
your spouse’s death.

2. Marriage Took Place in 1995

Lines 9 through 12—Include your own income for all of
1995, plus your spouse'’s income from the date of the
marriage to December 31, 1995,

Lines 13 and 14—You may claim your own property taxes
andfor rent for the period of 1995 prior to your marriage,
plus your combined property taxes and/or rent from the
date of your marriage to December 31, 1995.

Attachments—All of the following items must be at-
tached:

a) A schedule showing the computation of your house-
hold income.

b) A statement indicating the dates you resided together
during 1995. :

¢) A schedule showing what share of living expenses
(rent, food, utilities, supplies, and other household
expenses) you each paid prior to your marriage (if you
paid rent and resided together during that time).

3. Married but Separated ALL of 1995
(including one spouse in a nursing home)

a) Neither spouse notified the other of income— If you
and your spouse were married but you lived apart during
the entire year, and neither spouse notified the other of
marital property income, report all of your own household
income on Schedule H, and none of your spouse's
income. Compute property taxes andfor rent as ex-
plained in the instructions for Lines 13 and 14, in Part 4.

Attachments—Attach a statement indicating that you
and your spouse did not reside together at afi in 1995,
and that neither you nor your spouse notified each other
of marital property income.

b) One or both spouses notified other spouse—If you
and your spouse were married but you lived apart during
the entire year, and either you or your spouse (or both)
notified each other of marital property income, see Part 4
instructions.

4. Married but Separated PART of 1995
(including one spouse in a nursing home)

Lines 9 through 12—If you and your spouse were
separated for part of 1995, compute household income
as follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your
spouse in 18995, include the combined income of
you and your spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 1995,
compute household income under Wisconsin's marital
property law. Under marital property law, you must
report all of your own nonmarital property income and
none of your spouse's nonmarital property income.
The amount of marital property income you must
report depends on whether you or your spouse notified
each other of the amount and nature (type) of marital
property income each of you generated during that
time, as follows:

1. If you did not notify your spouse, report all of your
own marital property income. If you did notify your
spouse, report one-half of your own marital property
income.
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2. If your spouse did not notify you, report none of your
spouse's marital property income. If your spouse did
notify you, report one-half of your spouse's marital
property income.

Exception: The marital property law does not apply during
any time your spouse was not domiciled in (was not a
resident of) Wisconsin.

Amarital property agreement or unilateral statement has no
effect in computing your household income.

If you received a “community spouse income allowance”
under the Spousal Impoverishment Program, thatincome is
not includable in your household income.

Lines 13 and 14—You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent for the time you lived together in 1995, plus
only your own property taxes andfor rent for the balance of
1995,

CAUTION: Your home is presumed to be marital property. If
you contend its classification is something else (such as
individual property), you must provide proof of that classifi-
cation; see Attachment d) instructions.

if your home is marital property, you paid all of the 1995
taxes, and you lived in that home while living apart from your
spouse, one-half of the taxes for that portion of the year must
be treated as rent,

Example: You lived apart from your spouse for the last 3
months of 1995, Your home is marital property and you paid
allofthe 1995 property taxes ($1,200). Include online 13the
combined taxes of you and your spouse for the 9 months
you lived together ($900). The taxes you paid for the 3
months you lived apart ($300) must be treated as though
one-half was rent; include one-half ($150) as property taxes
on line 13 and the other one-half ($150) as rent in the space
provided on line 14b.

Attachments—All of the following iterns must be attached:

a) A statement indicating the dates you were married and
living with your spouse in 1995, and the dates you were
married but living apart from your spouse in 1995,

b) A staterment indicating whether you notified your spouse,
and whether your spouse notified you, of the amount and
nature (type) of your respective marital property income.

¢) A schedule listing and identifying income as foltows:
1. For the time you were married and living together

during 1995, the combined income of you and your
spouse.

2. For the time you were married but living apart during
1995 —

» Allof your ownincome (if you did not notify your spouse
of your marital property income).

* Your own nonmarital property income and one-half of
your own marital property income {if you notified your
spouse of your marital property income).

* One-half of your spouse’s marital property income (if
your spouse notified you of his or her marital property
income}.

d) Information to prove the property ts not marital property
(if you claim all the property taxes), such as:

1. A copy of the deed or other ownership verification.

2. A statement of how it was acquired (purchase, gift,
etc.), and the date.

3. Alisting of the source of funds used to pay for improve-
ments and mortgage/loan payments since January 1,
1086.

5. Divorce Took Place in 1995

Lines 9 through 12—Compute household income as
follows:

a) For the time you were married and living with your
spouse in 1995, include the combined income of you
and your spouse.

b) For the time you were married but living apart in 1995,
compute household income under Wisconsin's marital
property law, as explained in paragraph b} of the
instructions for Lines 9 through 12, in Part 4.

¢) For the time you were not married in 1995 (after your
divorce), report only your own income.

Lines 13 and 14—You may claim your combined property
taxes and/or rent for the time you lived together in 1995,
pius only your own property taxes andfor rent for the
balance of 1995. See the “CAUTION" in the instructions
for Lines 13 and 14, in Part 4.

Attachments—All of the following items must be at-
tached:

a) All of the items listed in the "Attachments” section in
Part 4.

b) A schedule of your own income for the time you were
not married in 1995 (after your divorce).

c) A complete copy of the divorce judgment, including
the final stipulation or marital settlement agreement {if
you claim all the property taxes for the time after the
divorce).
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ifline 12¢ is If line 12¢c is i line 12cis
But Enter But Enter But Enter
At less on At less on At less on
least than linel?7 least than linel?7 least than linel17
12,000 16,000
- 8,000 0
8,000 8,080 5 12,000 12,080 525 16,000 16,080 1,045
8,080 8,160 16 12,080 12,160 536 16,080 16,160 1,056
8,160 8,240 26 12,160 12,240 546 16,160 16,240 1,066
8,240 8,320 36 12,240 12,320 556 16,240 16,320 1,076
8,320 8,400 47 12,320 12,400 567 16,320 16,400 1,087
8,400 8,480 57 12,400 12,480 577 16,400 16,480 1,097
8,480 8,560 68 12,480 12,560 588 16,480 16,560 1,108
8,560 8,640 78 12,560 12,640 598 16,560 16,640 1,118
8,640 8,720 88 12,640 12,720 608 16,640 16,720 1,128
8,720 8,800 99 12,720 12,800 619 16,720 16,800 1,139
8,800 8,880 109 12,800 12,880 629 16,800 16,880 1,149
8,880 8,960 120 12,880 12,960 640 16,880 16,960 1,160
8,960 9,040 130 12,960 13,040 650 16,960 17,040 1,170
9,040 9,120 140 13,040 13,120 660 17,040 17,120 1,180
9,120 9,200 151 13,120 13,200 671 17,120 17,200 1,191
9,200 9,280 161 13,200 13,280 681 17,200 17,280 1,201
9,280 9,360 172 13,280 13,360 692 17,280 17,360 1,212
9,360 9,440 182 13,360 13,440 702 17,360 17,440 1,222
9,440 9,520 192 13,440 13,520 712 17,440 17,520 1,232
9,520 9,600 203 13,520 13,600 723 17,520 17,600 1,243
9,600 9,680 213 13,600 13,680 733 17,600 17,680 1,253
9,680 9,760 224 13,680 13,760 744 17,680 17,760 1,264
9,760 9,840 234 13,760 13,840 754 17,760 17,840 1,274
9,840 9,920 244 13,840 13,920 764 17,840 17,920 1,284
9,920 10,000 255 13,920 14,000 775 17,920 18,000 1,295
10,000 14,000 18,000
10,000 10,080 265 14,000 14,080 785 18,000 18,080 1,305
10,080 10,160 276 14,080 14,160 796 18,080 18,160 1,316
10,160 10,240 286 14,160 14,240 806 18,160 18,240 1,326
10,240 10,320 296 14,240 14,320 816 18,240 18,320 1,336
10,320 10,400 07 14,320 14,400 827 18,320 18,400 1,347
10,400 10,480 317 14,400 14,480 837 18,400 18,480 1,357
10,480 10,560 32s 14,480 14,560 848 18,480 18,560 1,368
10,560 10,640 338 14,560 14,640 858 18,560 18,640 1,378
10,640 10,720 348 14,640 14,720 868 18,640 18,720 1,388
10,720 10,800 as9 14,720 14,800 879 18,720 18,800 1,299
10,800 10,880 369 14,800 14,880 889 18,800 18,880 1,409
10,880 10,960 380 14,880 14,960 900 18,880 18,960 1,420
10,960 11,040 390 14,960 15,040 910 18,960 19,040 1,430
11,040 11,120 400 15,040 15,120 920 19,040 19,120 1,440
11,120 11,200 411 15,120 15,200 931 19,120 19,154 1,448
11,200 11,280 421 15,200 15,280 941 19,154 or over 1,450
11,280 11,360 432 15,280 15,360 952
11,360 11,440 442 15,360 15,440 962
11,440 11,520 452 15,440 15,520 972
11,520 11,600 463 15,520 15,600 983
11,600 11,680 473 15,600 15,680 993
11,680 11,760 484 15,680 15,760 1,004
11,760 11,840 494 15,760 15,840 1,014
11,840 11,920 504 15,840 15,920 1,024
11,920 12,000 515 15,920 16,000 1,035
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it line18 is If line 1B is it line 18 is
But Your But Your ‘ But Your
At less Credit At iess Credit At less Credit
least than is least than is least than is
_ 01 0 500 1,000
.01 10 10 500 510 404 1,000 1,010 804
10 20 12 510 520 412 1,010 1,020 812
20 30 20 520 530 420 1,020 1,030 820
30 40 28 530 540 428 1,030 1,040 828
40 50 36 540 550 436 1,040 1,050 836
50 60 44 550 560 444 1,050 1,060 844
60 70 52 560 570 452 1,060 1,070 852
70 80 60 8570 580 460 1,070 1,080 860
80 90 68 580 590 468 1,080 1,090 868
90 100 76 590 600 476 1,090 1,100 876
100 110 84 600 610 484 1,100 1,110 884
110 120 92 610 620 492 1,110 1,120 892
120 130 100 620 630 500 1,120 1,130 900
130 140 108 630 640 508 1,130 1,140 208
140 150 116 640 650 516 1,140 1,150 916
150 160 124 650 660 524 1,150 1,160 924
160 170 132 660 670 532 1,160 1,170 932
170 180 140 670 680 540 1,170 1,180 940
180 190 148 680 690 548 1,180 1,190 948
190 200 156 690 700 556 1,190 1,200 956
200 210 164 700 710 564 1,200 1,210 964
210 220 172 710 720 572 1,210 1,220 972
220 230 180 720 730 580 1,220 1,230 980
230 240 188 730 740 588 1,230 1,240 988
240 250 196 740 750 596 1,240 1,250 996
250 750 1,250
250 260 204 750 760 604 1,250 1,260 1,004
260 270 212 760 770 612 1,260 1,270 1,012
270 280 220 770 780 620 1,270 1,280 1,020
280 290 228 ' 780 790 628 1,280 1,290 1,028
290 300 236 790 800 636 1,290 1,300 1,036
' 300 310 244 800 810 644 1,300 1,310 1,044
310 320 252 810 820 652 1,310 1,320 1,052
320 330 260 820 830 660 1,320 1,330 1,060
330 340 268 830 840 668 1,330 1,340 1,068
340 350 276 840 850 676 1,340 1,350 1,076
350 360 284 850 860 684 1,350 1,360 1,084
360 370 292 860 870 692 - 1,360 1,370 1,092
370 380 300 870 880 700 1,370 1,380 1,100
380 390 308 880 890 708 1,380 1,390 1,108
380 400 316 890 900 716 1,390 1,400 1,116
400 410 324 900 910 724 1,400 1,410 1,124
410 420 a2 910 920 732 1,410 1,420 1,132
420 430 340 920 930 740 1,420 1,430 1,140
433 440 348 . 930 940 748 1,430 1,440 1,148
440 450 356 940 950 756 1,440 1,450 1,156
450 460 364 950 960 764 1,450 orover 1,160
460 470 372 960 970 772
470 480 380 970 980 780
480 490 - 388 980 990 788
490 500 396 990 1,000 796




llIllIIIIllllllIIIIIlllllllllIlIIIIlIllllllllllIIIlIlllllllIIIIlllllllllllIIIIlllllllllIIIIlIllllllllllIlIIIlIlIllllllIIIIIlIIlllIIIIIIIIIlIlllllllllllllllllllllll

1995 Rent Certificate

Wisconsin
Department of Revenue

Claimant (Renter): Attach
to your 1995 Schedule H

Claimant: Fill in lines 1-4
1 Claimant {renter) Last name

First name and initial

2 Social security number
3 Address of rental property (property must be in Wisconsin)

4 Time you actually lived here in 1995
From (mo/day) To {mo/day)

Landlord: Fill in lines 5-14; be sure every line has an entry
5 Landlord’s Last name

First name and initial

6 Landiord's telephone number
Landlord's soc. sec. no. or FEIN
8 Landiord's home or business address

|

9 Is the rental property {line 3 ahave) subject to real estate taxes?

{If no, see instructions) [ Jyes [ ] No

10 a. Is this rent certificate for rent of;
A mobile home? [ Jyes [ ] No
A mobile home site? [ Jves [ ] No

b. If you collected mobile home taxes, mabile home
parking permit fees, or municipal fees for 1995
from this renter, fill in the amount $

{Claimant: Fill in the amount frem line 10b on line 13, 14a, or 14b

of Schedule H, as appropriate.)

1-017

11 Answer lines 11a - 11e based on the period of time this unit was
occupied by this claimant {renter) in 1995
a. Total rent collected per month for this unit
{do not include amounts collected directly
from a governmental agency) $
b. Number of months this unit was rented
to this renter in 1995
¢. Total rent collected for this rental unit $
d. Number of occupants in this rental unit -
do not count spouse or children under 18
. This renter’s share of total 1995 rent (do not

include rent paid for other renters) $
12 |tems provided by landlord (this renter’s share)
a. Value of food $
b. Value of services $
¢. Add lines 12aand 12b $
13 a. Rent paid for occupancy only —

Subtract line 12¢ from fine 11e $
b. Was heat included in the rent? [ Jyes [ |No
{Claimant: Fill in the amount from line 13a onfine 14a of Schedule H
if “Yes" is checked, or on line 14b of Scheduie Hif “No” is checked.)
14 | certify that the information shown on this rent certificate for 1995 is
true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Signature {(by hand) of landiord or authorized representative Date

Instructions for Preparing a Rent Certificate

Every claimant (renter} who files a 1995 Wisconsin homestead credit claim,
Schedule H, must attach a completed 1995 rent certificate to the Schedule H, to
verify the rent paid to occupy a Wisconsin “homestead® in 1995. A homestead
could be a room, apartment, mobile hame, house, farm, or nursing home room.

Alerations on the rent certificate (whiteouts, erasures, etc.) are not acceptabla.
A rent certificate with an error should be discarded and a new one completed.

A rent certificate has two parts. The renter is to fill in the first part (lines 1 - 4)
and the landiord is to fill in the second part (lines 5 - 14). The landlord may not
charge a fee for filling in a rent certificate.

Instructions for ¢laimant  Fill in the infarmation requested on lines 1 - 4.
Then give the rent certificate to your landlord to il in lines 5 - 14.

After you receive the completed rent certificate from your landlord, fill in the
allowable amounts from lines 10b and 13a on lines 13, 14a, and 14b of Schedule
H, as appropriate, and attach it to your Schedule H. A separate rent certificate
must be completed for each homestead you rented in 1995 if rent for each is used
in computing your homestead credit. All rent certificates must be attached to one
Schedule H. If you claim less than 12 months of rent and/or property taxes on
Schedule H, attach a note explaining where you lived for the balance of 1995,

Instructions for landlord/authorized representative  Fill in a separate
rentcertificate for each claimant (renter) requesting one for hamestead credit. Fill
in lime 1 if it s not already completed. Fill in lines 5 - 14, then give the completed
rent certificate to the renter.

LINES 5-9 Fillin all the information requesied. On line 7, FEIN means federal
employer identification number. If you checked “No” on line 9, do not complete
the rent cedificate unless you are a municipal housing authority which makes
payments in place of property taxes; if this applies to you, explain at the top of the
certificate or attach a signed explanation to the certificate.

LINES 102 - 10b  Check the appropriate boxes under line 10a. ¥ you collected
mobile home taxes, mabile home parking permit fees, or municipal fees from the
renter for the period of occupancy, fill in the amount you collected on line 10b. I
no amaunt was collected, fill in -0-.

LINE11a Fillin the total rentyou collected per month for this rental unit for the
period of time it was occupied by this reaterin 1995. Do notinclude amaunts you
received directly from a governmental agency through a subsidy, voucher, grant,
etc., for the unit. Rental “unit” refars to the apartment, room, one-half of a duplex,
etc., which this renter occupied. If the monthly rent for this unit changed in 1995,
fill in each monthly rate separately on line 11a. Above each amount, fill in the
number of manths you collected this amount of rent. For example, if you rented
this unit for $300 per month for 7 months and $325 per month far 5 months, fill
in $300/$325. Above the $300, write 7. Above the $325, write 5.

LINE11b  Filtin the number of months you rented the unit to this renterin 1995.

LINE 11c¢  Multiply line 11a by line 11b. This is the total rent collected for this
unit for the peried of time the unit was occupied by this renter in 1995.

LINE11d Fillinthe total number of accupants in this rental unit during the rental
period. Note: Do not count the claimant’s spouse or children who were under age
18 as of December 31, 1995,

LINE11e Fillin this renter's share of the total 1995 rent paid. Do not include rent
paid for renters other than the renter listed on line 1 of this ceificate.

LINES12a-12¢ Fillinthis renter’s share of the value of food, medical, and other
personal services, inciuding laundry, transportation, counseling, grooming,
recreational, and therapeutic services, you provided for this rental unit on lines
12aand 12b, as appropriate, and fill in the total on line 12¢, Donotinclude utilities,
furnishings, or appliances. If you did not provide any of the items on the line, fill
in -0- on that line.

LINE 13a  Subtract line 12c from line 11e. This is the allowable rent paid for
occupancy only.
LINE 13b  If heat was inctuded for this rental unit, check the “Yes” box. If heat

was net included for this rental unit, check the “No” bax.

LINE 14 Review the rent certificate to be sure that line 1 and each of the lines
5 - 13b has an entry. Sign (by hand), date, and return the rent certificate to the
renter. Signature stamps, photocopied signatures, efc., are not acceptable.



Instructions for Preparing a Rent Certificate

Every claimant (renter) who files a 1995 Wisconsin homestead credit claim,
Schedule H, must attach a completed 1995 rent certificate to the Schedule H, to
verify the rent paid to occupy a Wisconsin *homestead" in 1995. A homestead
could be a room, apartment, mabile hame, house, farm, or nursing home room.

Alterations on the rent certificates (whiteouts, erasures, etc.) are not acceptable.
A rent certificate with an error should be discarded and a new one completed.

A rent certificate has two parts. The renter is to fill in the first part (lines 1 - 4)
and the landlord is to fill in the second part {lines 5 - 14). The landlord may not
charge a fee for filling in a rent certificate.

Instructions for claimant  Fill in the information requested on lines 1 - 4.
Then give the rent certificate to your landlord to fill in lines 5 - 14.

After you receive the completed rent certificate from your landford, fill in the
tllowable amounts from lines 10b and 13a on fines 13, 14a, and 14b of Schedule
H, as appropriate, and attach it to your Schedule H. A separate rent certificate
must be completed for each homestead you rented in 1995 if rent for each is used
in computing your homestead credit. All rent certificates must be attached to one
Schedule H. If you claim less than 12 months of rent and/or property taxes on
Schedule H, attach a note explaining where you lived for the balance of 1995.

Instructions for landlord/authorized representative  Fill in a separate
rent certificate for each claimant {renter) requesting one for homestead credit. Fill
in line 1 it it is not already completed. Fill in lines 5 - 14, then give the completed
rent certificate to the renter.

LINES 5 - 9 Fill in all the infermation requested. On line 7, FEIN means federal
employer identification number. If you checked "Ng” on line 9, do not complete
the rent certificate unless you are a municipal housing authority which makes
payments in place of property taxes; if this applies to you, explain at the top of the
certificate or attach a signed explanation to the certificate.

LINES 10a - 10b  Check the appropriate boxes under line 10a. If you collected
maobile home taxes, mobile home parking permit fees, or municipal fees fram the
renter for the period of occupancy, fill in the amount you collected on line 10b. If
no amount was collected, fill in -0-.

LINE11a Fillin the total rent you collected per month for this rental unit for the
period of time it was occupied by this renterin 1995. Do notinclude amounts you
received directly from a governmental agency through a subsidy, voucher, grant,
etc., forthe unit. Rental "unit” refers to the apartment, roam, one-half of a duplex,
etc., which this renter occupied. If the monthly rent for this unit changed in 1995,
fill in each monthly rate separately on line 11a. Above each amount, fill in the
number of months you collected this amount of rent. For example, if you rented
this unit for $300 per month for 7 months and $325 per manth for 5 months, fitt
in $300/$325. Above the $300, write 7. Above the $325, write 5.

LINE 11b  Fill in the number of months you rented the unit to this renter in 1995.

LINE11c Multiply line 11a by line 11b. This is the total rent collected for this
unit for the period of time the unit was occupied by this renter in 1995.

LINE11d Fillin the totaf number of occupants in this rental unit during the rental
period. Note: Do not count the claimant’s spouse or children who were under age
18 as of December 31, 1995.

LINE11e Filtinthis renter’s share of the total 1995 rent paid. Do notinclude rent
paid for renters other than the renter listed on line 1 of this certificate.

LINES 12a-12¢ Fillinthis renter's share of the value of food, medical, and other
personal services, including laundry, transportation, counseling, grooming,
recreational, and therapeutic services, you provided for this rental unit on lines
12aand 12b, as appropriate, and fillin the total on line $2¢. Do notinclude utilities,
furnishings, or appliances. If you did aot pravide any of the items on the line, fill
in -0- on that line.

LINE 13a  Subtract line 12c from line 11e. This is the allowable rent paid for
occupancy only.
LINE13b  If heat was included for this rental unit, check the “Yes” box. If heat

wag not included for this rental unit, check the “No" box.

LINE 14 Review the reni certificate to be sure that line 1 and each of the lines
5 - 13b has an entry. Sign (by hand), date, and return the rent certificate to the
renter. Signature stamps, photocopied signatures, etc., are not acceptable.

1995 Rent Certificate

Wisconsin
Department of Revenue

Claimant (Renter): Attach
to your 1995 Schedule H

Claimant: Fill in lines 14
1 Clalmant (renter) Last name

First name and initial

2 Social security number
3 Address of rental property (property must be in Wisconsin)

4 Time you actually lived here in 1995
From (mo/day) To (mo/day)

l:andlord: Fill in lines 5-14; be sure every line has an entry
5 Landlord’s Last name

First name and initial

6 Landlord’s telephone number
Landlord’s soc. sec. no. or FEIN
8 Landlord’s home or business address

-4

9 s the rental property (line 3 above) subject to real estate taxes?

(If no, see instructions) [ |Yes ] No

10 a. is this rent certificate for rent of:
A mobile home? [ |Yes [ ] No
A mobile home site? [ IYes [ ] No

b. If you coflected mobile home taxes, mobile home
parking permit fees, or municipal fees for 1995
from this renter, fill in the amount $

(Claimant: Fill in the amount from line 10b on line 13, 14a, or 14b

of Schedule H, as appropriate.) '

o017

11 Answer lines 11a - 11e based on the period of time this unit was
occupied by this claimant (renter) in 1995
a. Total rent collected per month for this unit
(do not include amounts collected directly
from a govarnmental agency} $
b. Number of months this unit was rented
to this renter in 1995
c. Total rent collected for this rentat unit $
d. Number of occupants in this rental unit -
do not count spouse or children under 18
e. This renter's share of total 1995 rent (do not

include rent paid for other renters) $
12 Items provided by landlord (this renter's share)
a. Value of food $
b. Value of services $
c. Addlines 12aand 12b $
13 a. Rent paid for occupancy only —
Subtract line 12c from line 11e $
b. Was heat included in the rent? [ ]yes [ _]No

{Claimant; Fill in the amount from line 13a on line 14a of Schedule H
if “Yes” is checked, or on line 14b of Schedule H if “No” is checked.)

14 | certity that the information shown on this rent certificate for 1995 is
true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowtedge.

Signature (by hand) of landlord or authorized representative Date



