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The purpose of this publication is to inform tax-
payers of their appeal rights and refund claim 
procedures when their income, franchise, sales 
and use, excise, or withholding tax return, or 
homestead credit or farmland preservation 
claim, has been adjusted in an office audit by 
the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. 

I. THE OFFICE AUDIT, ASSESSMENT, 
AND REFUND PROCESS 

Following are the usual steps the Wisconsin De-
partment of Revenue (department) follows in 
conducting an office audit and in making an as-
sessment or refund adjustment: 

1. The department examines tax returns and/or 
credit claims to check the correctness of the 
items reported. 

2. The department may request more infor-
mation or receipts to clarify or support some 
items. 

3. The department may then decide that an 
adjustment to the returns is necessary, with 
the result that the taxpayer owes an addi-
tional amount or receives a refund. 

4. The department then sends a notice of 
amount due to the taxpayer explaining the 
amount due or a notice of refund explaining 
the refund to be issued. The notice shows 
the amount of tax, interest, penalty (if any) 
and explains the taxpayer’s appeal rights. 

II. YOUR OPTIONS AFTER RECEIVING A 
NOTICE OF REFUND OR NOTICE OF 
AMOUNT DUE 

A. Notice of Refund 

If you agree with the notice, you need do 
nothing. You will automatically be issued the 
refund. 

If you disagree with the notice, you must file 
an appeal with the department within 
60 days of receiving the notice, as ex-
plained in Part IV.  

If you do not file a timely appeal, the de-
partment’s action is final and conclusive. No 
further refund is available on any subse-
quent claim on the adjusted issue(s). 

Note: For tax types other than excise and 
sales and use, if the net result of a multiple 
year office audit is a notice of refund, and 
there are one or more tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2000 that resulted in 
an assessment included in the notice, a 
claim for refund may be made for the as-
sessment year(s) within four years from the 
date on the notice of refund. See Part VII for 
information on filing a claim for refund of a 
paid assessment. 

B. Notice of Amount Due 

If you agree, you need do nothing except 
pay the indicated amount by the due date. 

If you disagree, you may do one of the fol-
lowing: 

1. Pay the full amount without filing any 
appeal. You can then consider whether 
to file a claim for refund, as explained in 
Part VII. 

2. File an appeal with the department with-
in 60 days of receiving the notice, as 
explained in Part IV. 

If you do not file a timely appeal, the de-
partment’s action is final. Paying the 
notice of amount due and filing a claim 
for refund as explained in Part VII is the 
only option available to contest the as-
sessment. 

III. THE APPEAL PROCESS 

You have five levels of appeal available to you. 
They must be taken in the following order: 

1. Wisconsin Department of Revenue. 

2. Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission. 

3. Circuit Court. 

4. Court of Appeals. 

5. Wisconsin Supreme Court.  

IV. APPEAL TO DEPARTMENT OF 
REVENUE 

Filing the appeal: 

1. The appeal must be in writing (preferably 
typed). It must state facts and reasons for 
disagreeing with the adjustments and in-
clude supporting documents.  

2. The appeal must be mailed, faxed, or sub-
mitted online at tap.revenue.wi.gov/services 
within 60 days after you received the notice 
of amount due, notice of refund, or notice of 
refund claim denial. Do not email your ap-
peal. The address and fax number to which 
an appeal must be submitted are provided in 
the notice. 

Note: An appeal that is mailed is considered 
timely if it is postmarked on or before the due 
date specified above and is received by the de-
partment within five days of the due date. 

3. To stop the accumulation of interest on 
amounts owed, you may either: 

• Deposit the full amount of an additional 
assessment, including interest and 
penalty, if any, with the department 
when filing the appeal or at any time 
while the appeal is pending. 

https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/services


You will be paid interest at 3% per year 
on any portion of the deposit which is 
later refunded to you. 

• Pay any portion of an assessment with 
which you agree. Such payment shall 
be considered an admission of the va-
lidity of that portion of the assessment 
and may not be recovered through the 
appeal or any other action or proceed-
ings. 

Note: With regard to taxpayers who file joint in-
dividual income tax returns which the 
department adjusts, an appeal by one spouse is 
an appeal by both spouses. A spouse may not 
appeal an assessment or a denial of a claim for 
refund issued with respect to a separate return 
filed by the other spouse. Either spouse may 
appeal an action relating to a joint return. 

The department will notify spouses jointly that 
they may deposit with the department the 
amount of an additional assessment being ap-
pealed to stop the further accrual of interest. If 
the spouses have different addresses and if ei-
ther spouse notifies the department in writing of 
those addresses, the department will send a 
duplicate notice regarding the deposit proce-
dure. 

Your appeal may be handled: 

• Through the mail. 

• Through a conference (if you or we request 
it) in Madison, Milwaukee, Eau Claire, or 
Appleton. 

• Through personal representation or through 
assistance from an attorney, accountant, or 
other representative. 

The department’s action on your appeal could 
result in one of the following: 

• no change to the original notice,  

• a decrease in the amount of the original no-
tice, or  

• an increase in the amount of the original 
notice. 

The department will notify you in writing of its 
decision. 

Note: If your appeal concerns a claim for refund 
for a year for which the department may no 
longer issue an assessment, the department has 
the right to reduce the refund for tax that should 
have been reported or assessed, but wasn’t, up 
to the total amount of the refund. If your appeal 
concerns an assessment of tax, you may have 
the right to reduce the assessment by any re-
fund that could have been reported or claimed, 
but wasn’t, up to the total amount of the as-
sessment. In both instances, the same year(s) 
or period(s) must be involved, as well as the 
same type of tax. 

V. APPEAL TO THE WISCONSIN TAX 
APPEALS COMMISSION 

If you disagree with the department’s decision 
on your appeal, you may wish to appeal to the 
Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission (WTAC), 
which is entirely separate from the department. 
Your appeal to the WTAC must be filed within 
60 days of receiving the department’s decision. 

Note: If you chose not to deposit the full amount 
due with the department to stop the accumula-
tion of interest while your case was pending at 
the department, you may when appealing to the 
WTAC do one of the following: 

1. Offer to deposit total taxes and interest 
with the department. The offer to deposit 
may be made at any time while the petition 
is pending before the WTAC or any court. 

2. Pay the portion of the assessment not under 
appeal. 

VI. APPEAL TO THE COURTS: CIRCUIT, 
APPEALS, AND SUPREME 

If you wish to appeal to the Circuit court, you 
must do so within 30 days of receiving the 
WTAC’s decision. 

You or the department may afterward go on to 
the Court of Appeals and to the Wisconsin Su-
preme Court. 

VII. FILING A CLAIM FOR REFUND OF A 
PAID ASSESSMENT 

How: 

A claim for refund must be filed on an amended 
return. The amended return must include your 
name, address, and social security number, ac-
count number, or corporation identification 
number. It must also identify the tax year disput-
ed and state the facts and reasons for 
requesting the refund. 

When: 

For tax types other than excise and sales and 
use, a claim for refund must be filed within four 
years from the notice date on the assessment. 

For excise tax and sales and use tax assess-
ments, a claim for refund must be filed on an 
amended return within two years of the notice 
date on the assessment, regardless of the tax 
year involved. 

Any tax refunded will bear interest at 3% per 
year. 

Note: A claim for refund may be made only if the 
assessment was paid and not protested by the 
filing of an appeal. 

VIII. WHAT YOU CAN DO IF YOUR REFUND 
CLAIM IS DENIED 

File an appeal with the department within 
60 days of receiving the denial notice, as ex-
plained in Part IV. 

IX. NEED HELP? 

For additional information or assistance, contact 
the department at (608) 266-2772 or by email as 
indicated below. 

Sales and 
Use Tax: dorsalesanduse@revenue.wi.gov 
Corporation 
Franchise and  
Income Tax: corp@revenue.wi.gov 
Excise Tax: excise@revenue.wi.gov 
All others: income@revenue.wi.gov 

 

https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/Internet/dorhelp.html?subject=DORSalesandUse
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/Internet/dorhelp.html?subject=corp
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/Internet/dorhelp.html?subject=excise
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/Internet/dorhelp.html?subject=income

