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1. INTRODUCTION 

General 

This publication explains how Wisconsin state sales and use taxes affect funeral homes. It includes examples of 
taxable and nontaxable sales and purchases. 

The information in this publication relates to the state’s 5% sales and use tax. Sales and purchases by funeral 
homes that are subject to the 5% state sales or use tax may also be subject to a: (a) 0.5% county sales or use tax 
and/or (b) 0.1% baseball stadium sales or use tax. Additional information about these taxes is contained in 
Publication 201, Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Information, on the department's website at revenue.wi.gov.  

Note: The 0.5% football stadium sales and use tax ended on September 30, 2015. 

2. NATURE OF SALES AND USE TAX 

 Who Is Subject to Sales Tax? 

Persons making retail sales of taxable products or services in Wisconsin are required to remit Wisconsin sales tax 
on these sales, unless an exemption applies. A seller making taxable sales may collect the tax from the consumer 
or user (i.e., the purchaser). 

Department stores and restaurants are examples of retailers that sell taxable products and services. While funeral 
homes generally provide nontaxable funeral services, funeral homes may also make retail sales of taxable prod-
ucts and services. 

I M P O R T A N T  C H A N G E S  

Several Counties Adopt the County Tax. The 0.5% tax in Sheboygan County became effective on January 1, 
2017, and Kewaunee County tax became effective April 1, 2017.  The 0.5% tax was also adopted by Brown and 
Calumet Counties, effective on January 1, 2018 and April 1, 2018, respectively. 

Increase in Taxable Sales Threshold for the Occasional Sales Exemption.  Beginning with sales made in 2018, 
the threshold for a funeral home's taxable sales that may qualify for the occasional sale exemption will increase 
from $1,000 to $2,000. Part 4. 

Repair or Other Service to Parking Lot Lights in the Parking Lot of a Funeral Home.  Information has been added 
to clarify that parking lot lights in a business (e.g., funeral home parking lot) retain their character as tangible 
personal property for purposes of repair or other services. A funeral home's purchase of such repair or service 
is subject to sales or use tax. Part 5.B(6). 

CAUTION 

The information in this publication reflects the positions of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue of laws 
enacted by the Wisconsin Legislature and in effect as of October 1, 2017. Laws enacted and in effect after this 
date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the interpretations in this publication. Also note 
that lists of taxable or exempt items in this publication are not all-inclusive. They merely set forth common 
examples. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb201.pdf
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 What Is Taxable? 

Sales, licenses, leases, and rentals of tangible personal property, certain coins and stamps, certain leased property 
affixed to realty, certain digital goods, and certain services are subject to the Wisconsin state sales tax.  

Note: Certain sales by a funeral home are exempt from tax. See Part 3 for examples. 

For further information about these taxable products and services, see Publication 201, Wisconsin Sales and Use 
Tax Information. 

 Seller's Permit 

A seller’s permit shows that a person is registered with the Department of Revenue to make taxable sales. A 
retailer making sales of taxable products or services at retail in Wisconsin must register with the department prior 
to making taxable sales. 

A funeral home may apply for a seller's permit by using the Department of Revenue's online Business Tax Regis-
tration System. For additional information about how to obtain a seller's permit, see Part 3 of Publication 201, 
Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Information. 

Information about filing sales and use tax returns is also provided in Part 8 of Publication 201. 

Note: A funeral home does not need a seller’s permit if it does not make any sales of taxable products or services. 
See Part 3 for information about when a funeral home's sales and services are taxable. 

 What Is Use Tax? 

Use tax is imposed upon the storage, use, or other consumption in Wisconsin of taxable products and services for 
which sales tax was not paid (e.g., seller is an out-of-state company), unless an exemption applies. Use tax is also 
imposed upon a purchaser when products are purchased without tax for an exempt purpose and used in Wiscon-
sin by the purchaser in a taxable manner. Therefore, a funeral home may be subject to use tax on its purchases if 
the seller did not charge Wisconsin sales tax. 

The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate and is based on the purchase price of the product. Part 5.A. 
provides examples of purchases by funeral homes that are subject to Wisconsin use tax. 

How does a funeral home pay use tax? 

If the funeral home is registered to collect Wisconsin sales or use taxes (i.e., holds a seller's permit), it should 
report and remit its use tax due using its Wisconsin sales and use tax return.  

If the funeral home does not hold a seller's permit and: 

1. The funeral home regularly makes purchases subject to use tax, it should apply for a Consumer's Use Tax 
Certificate by using the Department of Revenue's online Business Tax Registration System and report use tax 
on its Wisconsin sales and use tax return, or 

2. The funeral home does not make purchases subject to use tax on a regular basis, it should report use tax 
quarterly on Form UT-5, Consumer Use Tax Return. 

For additional information, see Fact Sheet 2104, Wisconsin Use Tax, on the Department of Revenue's website. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb201.pdf
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/services/_/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/services/_/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb201.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb201.pdf
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/services/_/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/forms/sales/su-050f.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/taxpro/fact/usetax.pdf
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3. SALES BY FUNERAL HOMES 

 Funeral Services  

Charges by funeral homes for the sale of funeral services are not subject to Wisconsin sales tax. 

 Sales of Caskets and Burial Vaults Are Exempt 

Sales of caskets and burial vaults for human remains are exempt from Wisconsin sales tax. Examples include (list 
is not all-inclusive): 

• Caskets, even if not used for burial 

• Casket rentals used for viewing when a body is later cremated 

• Burial vaults 

• Cremation caskets that are cremated with the human remains 

• Cremation boxes that are used for burial (i.e., used instead of a casket) 

• Cremation urns 

• Biodegradable scattering urns used for burial (i.e., urn is buried in ground or in water) 

• Cremation urn vaults 

• Outdoor memorials (e.g., sundials, wind chimes, bird baths) used to hold cremated remains 

• Memento chests used to hold cremated remains 

• Casket corner pieces that are sold as a part of the casket (e.g., permanently screwed into the casket) 

• Appliqués or medallions that are sold as a part of the cremation urn (e.g., permanently glued or screwed to 
the urn) 

Note: Charges for engraving services performed on exempt property from the list above, are not subject to Wis-
consin sales tax.  

 Sales of Containers That Are Not Caskets or Burial Vaults Are Taxable 

A funeral home's sale of a container that is not a casket or burial vault is subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Examples 
include (list is not all-inclusive): 

• Cremation containers that are not caskets (Exception: Cremation containers are exempt if used for burial 
(i.e., used instead of a casket)) 

• Casket inserts that are used with rental caskets and later cremated with the body 

• Scattering memorials used for transportation and scattering remains (i.e., scattering memorial is not buried 
in ground or in water) 

• Miniature urns, jewelry, or other keepsake pieces that hold a small amount of cremated remains 

• Urn bases, unless used to hold cremated remains (urn bases that hold a small portion of the cremated re-
mains are taxable) 
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Note: Charges for engraving services performed on taxable property sold to customers from the list above, are 
subject to Wisconsin sales tax. The funeral home may purchase the engraving service without tax by providing its 
vendor with a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A), claiming resale. 

Exception: A funeral home's charge for a container that is not a casket or burial vault, including the charge for 
engraving on the container, is not subject to Wisconsin sales tax if the container is transferred by the funeral home 
incidentally with funeral services (see Part 3.E. for more information). 

 Property and Services Used by Funeral Home in Providing Funeral Services 

Charges by funeral homes for property and services used by the funeral home in providing funeral services are 
not subject to Wisconsin sales tax.  

Exception: Charges by funeral homes for taxable products and services that are separate and optional from the 
sale of the funeral services are taxable. 

Example 1: Funeral Home provides all funeral services and related property and services to Customer. Funeral 
Home offers several funeral service packages but requires Customer to purchase all property through Funeral 
Home. Customer selects the basic package which includes the following items that are used or supplied by Funeral 
Home in providing its services. Although billed separately, they are not optional to Customer:  

• Biers 

• Chemicals for embalming 

• Church trucks (rolls casket from hearse to church) 

• Cosmetics 

• Cots and stretchers  

• Embalming machinery  

• Folding chairs  

• Lowering machinery (lowers casket into grave)  

• Sheets, towels, etc.  

• Surgical instruments and tables  

• Tents or canopies 

Funeral Home itemizes the property furnished in providing the funeral service separately on the invoice to Cus-
tomer. The total of all itemized charges for the basic package is $5,000.  

The $5,000 charge to Customer is not subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Funeral Home is required to pay Wisconsin 
sales or use tax on its purchase of items (e.g., biers, cosmetics, embalming machinery etc.) used in providing the 
funeral services.  

Note: See Part 5.A.(1) for information on a funeral home's purchases of property that it uses in providing funeral 
services. 

Example 2: Same as Example 1 in that Customer selects the basic package for $5,000. Customer has the option to 
use Funeral Home's video projector for an additional charge of $200. Customer elects to use Funeral Home's video 
projector for the funeral service. The $5,000 charge to Customer for the basic funeral package is not taxable. The 
additional $200 charge by Funeral Home to Customer for use of the video projector is subject to Wisconsin sales 
tax.  
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Example 3: Same as Example 1, except that Customer selects the silver package for $6,000 instead of the basic 
package for $5,000. Everything that is included in the basic package is also included in the silver package. However, 
the silver package also includes audio equipment, candlesticks, and a video projector that the Customer can use 
at its option. The $6,000 charge to Customer for the silver funeral package is not taxable. 

 Property Transferred With Funeral Services  

The tax treatment of separately stated charges for items sold by a funeral home depends on whether the item is 
transferred incidentally with the funeral services furnished. 

"Incidental" means depending upon or appertaining to something else as primary; something necessary, apper-
taining to, or depending upon another which is termed the principal; or something incidental to the main purpose 
of the service. Property transferred by a service provider is incidental to the service if the purchaser's main pur-
pose or objective is to obtain the service rather than the property, even though the property may be necessary or 
essential to providing the service.  

• Funeral Home's Charge for Property Transferred Incidentally With Funeral Services is Not Taxable 

Charges by a funeral home for property transferred incidentally with funeral services are not subject to Wis-
consin sales tax. The funeral home must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of property that is provided 
incidentally with funeral services, unless an exemption applies (e.g., casket for human remains). 

If the customer does not have the option to (1) receive the property for a separate and optional fee, or (2) not 
receive the property (or obtain the property from another party) and pay a lesser amount, the funeral home 
is transferring the property incidentally with the service. 

Example: Funeral Home is a full service funeral home that provides all funeral services and related property 
to Customer. Funeral Home requires Customer to purchase all property for the funeral through Funeral Home. 
Customer selects a funeral package which includes the following items which are used or supplied by Funeral 
Home in providing its services. Although billed separately, they are not optional to Customer, and the price 
paid for the funeral package will not decrease if Customer chooses to not use any of the items:  

 Biers 

 Candlesticks 

 Chemicals for embalming 

 Church trucks (rolls casket from hearse to church) 

 Cosmetics 

 Cots and stretchers 

 Cremation box (used solely for cremation of the body)  

 Embalming machinery  

 Folding chairs  

 Lowering machinery (lowers casket into grave)  

 Sheets, towels, etc.  

 Shipping container (used for transporting the body without a casket by common carrier)  

 Shipping tray (used for transporting the body in a casket by common carrier)  

 Surgical instruments and tables  



Funeral Homes   Publication 246 
 

 
 

Back to Table of Contents 
4 

 Temporary containers (for returning remains to the funeral home)  

 Tents or canopies 

In addition, Funeral Home includes in the selected funeral package the following items which will be trans-
ferred to Customer or persons attending the funeral service. These items are also billed separately but are not 
optional to Customer, and the price paid for the funeral package will not decrease if Customer does not choose 
any of the items: 

 Crosses  

 Memorial cards  

 Mourner ribbons 

 Prayer cards  

 Register book  

 Rosaries  

Funeral Home itemizes the property furnished to Customer separately. The total of all itemized charges for 
the funeral package is $7,000.  

The $7,000 charge to Customer for the funeral package is not subject to Wisconsin sales tax. The property 
physically transferred to Customer (e.g., crosses, memorial cards, etc.) is transferred incidentally with the fu-
neral services. Funeral Home is required to pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase of items used in 
providing the funeral services (e.g., biers, candlesticks, etc.) and the property transferred incidentally (e.g., 
crosses, memorial cards, etc.) to Customer with the funeral services.  

Note: See Part 5.A.(1) for information on a funeral home's purchases of property that is used or transferred 
incidentally with funeral services. 

• Funeral Home's Charge for Property That Is Not Transferred Incidentally With Funeral Services Is Taxable 

A funeral home's charge for property that is not transferred incidentally to the purchaser with the sale of 
funeral services is subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Property is not transferred incidentally if the funeral home 
allows the purchaser to choose which property he or she wants for an addition charge and the purchaser has 
the option to purchase the property from the funeral home or from someone else. 

Example: Funeral Home offers a funeral package that includes services of a funeral director and staff, em-
balming and other preparation of human remains, use of facilities and equipment for viewing, use of facilities 
for funeral service, graveside service, local use of hearse and funeral sedan, and casket or vault selection. The 
basic funeral package includes items that Funeral Home uses or transfers to Customer (e.g., candles, crosses, 
memorial cards, register book, etc.), which are not optional to Customer. The price will vary depending on the 
casket or vault chosen, but the casket or vault must be obtained through Funeral Home. Funeral Home charges 
$7,000 for the funeral package.  

Certain merchandise may be purchased for an additional charge from Funeral Home or may be purchased 
from other suppliers at Customer's option. Customer chooses to purchase these items from Funeral Home for 
an additional charge of $3,000.  

 Catered meal 

 Flowers 

 Jewelry 



Funeral Homes   Publication 246 
 
 

  
Back to Table of Contents 

9 

 Thank you cards 

The $7,000 charge to Customer for the funeral service package is not subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Funeral 
Home is required to pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase of items used or transferred incidentally 
to Customer with the funeral services.  

The additional $3,000 charge for the merchandise sold is subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax because the 
items are not transferred incidentally with the funeral service. Funeral Home may purchase the optional mer-
chandise (i.e., property not transferred incidentally) without tax by providing its supplier with a fully 
completed exemption certificate (Appendix A), claiming resale. 

Exception: Separately stated charges for caskets and burial vaults for human remains are not subject to Wis-
consin sales tax, regardless of whether the charge is optional to the customer. The funeral home's purchase 
of the casket and burial vault is exempt from tax. See Part 3.B. for more information. 

Note: See Part 5.B.(4) for information on a funeral home's purchases of property that is not transferred inci-
dentally with funeral services. 

 Sales of Property Without Funeral Services Are Taxable 

Sales by funeral homes of products and supplies without providing funeral services are subject to Wisconsin sales 
tax, unless an exemption applies (e.g., casket for human remains).  

Note: The sale of products and supplies by a person who does not hold and is not required to hold a seller's permit 
may be exempt from Wisconsin sales tax if it qualifies as an occasional sale. See Part 4 for information on occa-
sional sales. 

 Sales of Cremation Diamonds From Human Remains 

Charges by funeral homes for diamonds made from human remains are subject to Wisconsin sales tax.  

Example: Funeral Home provides funeral services and related property to customers. Customer elects to have a 
diamond made from the cremated human remains. Funeral Home contracts with Diamond Company to turn the 
cremation ashes into a diamond. Funeral Home charges Customer $4,000 for funeral services and $6,000 for the 
diamond. The $4,000 charge for the funeral services is not subject to Wisconsin sales tax. The $6,000 charge by 
Funeral Home to Customer for the diamond is subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Funeral Home may purchase the 
diamond from Diamond Company without tax by providing a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A), 
claiming resale.  

Exception: Charges by funeral homes for diamonds made from human remains are not taxable if the diamonds 
are transferred incidentally with funeral services (see Part 3.E. for more information).  

 Sales of Videos and Photographs Are Taxable 

Charges by funeral homes for videos and photographs are subject to Wisconsin sales tax.  

Example: Funeral Home is a full service funeral home that provides funeral services and related property to cus-
tomers. For a separate and optional fee, Customer elects to have the funeral service videotaped. Funeral Home 
contracts with Video Recorder to videotape the service and provide five copies on DVD. Funeral Home charges 
Customer $5,000 for funeral services and $1,000 for the DVDs. The $5,000 charge for the funeral services is not 
subject to Wisconsin sales tax. The $1,000 charge for the DVDs is subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Note: Charges for 
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additional copies of the service on DVD or in electronic format that Customer can download from a website at a 
later date (i.e., digital audiovisual work) are also subject to Wisconsin sales tax. 

Funeral Home may purchase the DVDs from Video Recorder without tax by providing a fully completed exemption 
certificate (Appendix A), claiming resale.  

Exception: Charges by funeral homes for the DVDs are not taxable if the DVDs are transferred incidentally with 
funeral services (see Part 3.E. for more information). 

4. OCCASIONAL SALES 

Sales of taxable products and services may be exempt from Wisconsin sales and use tax as occasional sales if certain 
conditions are met. If a funeral home’s sales qualify for the occasional sale exemption, the funeral home is not re-
quired to remit Wisconsin sales tax on such sales. 

A funeral home is required to pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchases of taxable products and services which 
it resells as exempt occasional sales, unless an exemption applies (e.g., the funeral home is a nonprofit organization 
that holds a Wisconsin Certificate of Exempt Status number). 

Note: Different standards apply for occasional sales made by nonprofit organizations. If the funeral home is a non-
profit organization, see Publication 206, Sales Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations, for information about the 
applicable occasional sale exemption. 

A funeral home qualifies for the occasional sale exemption if: 

• It does not hold and is not required to hold a Wisconsin seller’s permit, and 

• It meets either Condition 1 or Condition 2 below. 

Condition 1 - Its “taxable sales” of products and services are less than $1,000 during the calendar year. “Taxable sales” 
means total taxable receipts from sales of taxable products and services, after subtracting allowable deductions. 

Note:  In 2018, the "taxable sales" threshold in Condition 1 will increase from $1,000 to $2,000 for a calendar year. 

Example: Funeral Home does not hold a Wisconsin seller’s permit. Funeral Home sells crosses and candles during the 
year totaling $1,200 in sales. Fully completed exemption certificates were provided to Funeral Home for $300 of these 
sales. Funeral Home did not sell any other taxable products or services during the year. 

Funeral Home’s sales of the crosses and candles qualify for the occasional sale exemption because Funeral Home’s 
“taxable sales” are less than $1,000 (i.e., $1,200 - $300 = $900). Note: Since Funeral Home’s sales of the crosses and 
candles qualify for the occasional sale exemption, Funeral Home is not required to charge sales tax to the purchaser. 
However, Funeral Home is required to pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase price of the crosses and candles 
it sells. 

Condition 2 - Its “taxable sales” of taxable products and services are $1,000 or more during the calendar year, but 
(a) its sales of such property and services are isolated and sporadic, and (b) the facts and circumstances, including the 
sales price and gross profit, support the inference that the funeral home is not pursuing a business or part-time busi-
ness as a vendor of taxable products or services. 

Note:  In 2018, the "taxable sales" threshold in Condition 2 will increase from $1,000 to $2,000 for a calendar year. 

Example: Funeral Home does not hold a seller’s permit. Funeral Home sells a used embalming machine for $2,500. 
Funeral Home makes no other sales of taxable products or services during the calendar year. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb206.pdf
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Although Funeral Home’s sales of taxable products and services are more than $1,000, its sale of the used embalming 
machine is exempt from Wisconsin sales and use tax because (a) the sale occurs on an isolated and sporadic basis 
(e.g., only one taxable sale in the year), and (b) the facts and circumstances support the inference that Funeral Home 
is not pursuing a business or part-time business as a vendor of taxable products or services (i.e., Funeral Home makes 
no other sales of taxable products or services).  

Note: If a funeral home has a question as to whether its sales qualify for the occasional sale exemption, it should write 
to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Mail Stop 5-77, P.O. Box 8949, Madison, WI 53708-8949 or email the de-
partment at DORSalesandUse@wisconsin.gov. 

Additional information about the occasional sales exemption, including information about how to determine "taxable 
sales," is provided in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #122-30 (October 2000). 

5. PURCHASES BY FUNERAL HOMES 

 Taxable Purchases 

If Wisconsin sales tax is not charged by the supplier of taxable products or services, Wisconsin use tax must be 
reported and paid by the funeral home to the Department of Revenue.  

Taxable purchases by a funeral home include the following (this list is not all-inclusive): 

(1) Property Used or Transferred Incidentally With Funeral Services 

Purchases by funeral homes of property that it uses or transfers incidentally to customers in providing funeral 
services are subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. Examples include (this list is not all-inclusive): 

• Biers 

• Candles 

• Candlesticks 

• Catered meals 

• Chemicals for embalming 

• Church trucks (rolls casket from hearse to church) 

• Cosmetics 

• Cremation boxes (used solely for cremation of a body) 

• Crosses 

• Embalming machinery 

• Flowers 

• Folding chairs 

• Jewelry 

• Lowering machinery (lowers casket into grave) 

• Memorial folders and cards 

• Mourner ribbons 

• Plastic garments 

mailto:DORSalesandUse@wisconsin.gov
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/ise/wtb/122tr.pdf
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• Prayer and holy cards 

• Register books 

• Rosaries 

• Sheets, towels, etc. 

• Shipping containers (used for transporting a body without a casket by common carrier)  

• Shipping trays (used for transporting a body in a casket by common carrier)  

• Surgical instruments and tables 

• Temporary containers (for returning remains to funeral home) 

• Tents and canopies 

• Thank you cards 

• Yarmulkes 

Exception: Purchases of caskets and burial vaults for human remains are not subject to Wisconsin sales or use 
tax. See Part 5.B.(1) for more information.  

(2) Office Equipment and Supplies 

Purchases by funeral homes of office equipment and supplies are taxable. Examples include (this list is not all-
inclusive): 

• Advertising brochures and literature, except: 

 advertising and promotional direct mail, 

 certain catalogs and their mailing envelopes, and 

 certain printed advertising materials transported outside Wisconsin by the printer or the funeral 
home (See Part 6.B. of Publication 235, Advertising Companies, for exemptions for printed materials) 

• Cleaning supplies 

• Communication equipment such as intercoms and telephones 

• Computers and computer supplies 

• Copy machines and supplies 

• Digital music downloads 

• Office furniture 

• Paper, pens, and pencils 

• Prewritten computer software (e.g. accounting and billing software) 

• Televisions 

(3) Services 

The following are examples of services purchased by funeral homes which are subject to Wisconsin sales or 
use tax (this list is not all-inclusive): 

• Background music services, whether on tangible format (CD) or digital format 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb235.pdf
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• Cable and satellite television 

• Inspecting, repairing, and maintaining tangible personal property (e.g., computers, medical equipment, 
furnaces, televisions, water softeners, water heaters) – See Publication 207, Sales and Use Tax Infor-
mation for Contractors, for additional information 

• Internet access services 

• Landscaping services (see Publication 210, Sales and Use Tax Treatment of Landscaping Services, for ad-
ditional information) 

• Parking services 

• Telephone services 

 Nontaxable Purchases 

Nontaxable purchases by a funeral home include the following (this list is not all-inclusive): 

(1) Caskets, Urns, and Burial Vaults  

Purchases by funeral homes of caskets, urns, and burial vaults for human remains are exempt from Wisconsin 
sales or use tax. It does not matter if the casket, urn, or burial vault is sold to the customer separate from the 
funeral services or whether the casket, urn, or burial vault is provided incidentally with the funeral services. 
See Part 3.B. for examples of items that qualify for this exemption. 

When the funeral home purchases an exempt casket or cremation urn and a corner piece, appliqué, or me-
dallion and physically attaches the corner piece, appliqué, or medallion to the casket or urn in a manner so 
that it becomes a part of the casket or urn, the tax treatment of the funeral home's purchase of the corner 
piece, appliqué, or medallion depends on whether the casket or urn is transferred incidentally with the funeral 
service.  

• If the casket or urn is transferred incidentally with funeral services, the funeral home is liable for Wisconsin 
sales or use tax on its purchase of the corner piece, appliqué, or medallion.  

• If the casket or urn is not transferred incidentally to the customer with the sale of funeral services, the 
funeral home may purchase the corner piece, appliqué, or medallion without tax by providing its supplier 
with a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A), claiming resale.  

See Part 3.E. for information on charges for property transferred with funeral services. 

(2) Livery Services 

Charges to a funeral home for a hearse or coach with a driver for transportation of a body when the driver 
does more than maintain, inspect, or set up the hearse are not taxable.  

Note: Charges to a funeral home for renting or leasing a hearse or coach without a driver for transportation 
of a body is subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax.  

(3) Property That Is Resold 

If a funeral home sells property (e.g., candles, crosses,) without providing funeral services, its sales of these 
items are taxable, unless an exemption applies (e.g., sold to a hospital that is a Wisconsin governmental unit). 
A funeral home may purchase such items without tax, for resale. In order to purchase these items without 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb207.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb210.pdf
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tax, a funeral home must provide its supplier with a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A), claim-
ing resale. 

Note: If a funeral home's sale of property qualifies for the occasional sale exemption, as explained in Part 4., 
the funeral home must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of these items. 

(4) Property That Is Not Transferred Incidentally With Funeral Services 

Sales of property that is not transferred incidentally with funeral services are subject to Wisconsin sales tax. 
A funeral home may purchase such items without tax, for resale. In order to purchase these items without 
tax, a funeral home must provide its supplier with a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A), claim-
ing resale. 

Note: If a funeral home's sale of taxable products qualifies for the occasional sale exemption, as explained in 
Part 4, the funeral home must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of these products. 

See Part 3.E. for more information about separately stated charges for products that are not transferred inci-
dentally with funeral services. 

(5) Nonprofit Funeral Home 

All purchases made by a funeral home are exempt from tax if the funeral home is organized and operated 
exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific or educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to chil-
dren or animals. If the nonprofit funeral home is located in Wisconsin, it must obtain exempt status by 
applying for a Certification of Exempt Status (CES) number on Form S-103, Application for Wisconsin Sales and 
Use Tax Certificate of Exempt Status, with the Department of Revenue. If approved, a CES number will be 
issued by the department. The funeral home must provide its CES number to sellers in order to make pur-
chases without tax, and may do so by providing a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A). 

Note: A non-Wisconsin funeral home that meets the exemption criteria listed above is not required to obtain 
a Wisconsin CES number. In order to claim exemption on its purchases, a qualifying non-Wisconsin nonprofit 
organization must provide the seller with a fully completed exemption certificate (Appendix A) indicating that 
it qualifies for this exemption. 

(6) Real Property Improvements 

Purchases of real property and improvements to real property are not subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. 
Services to real property are also not taxable. Examples include (this list is not all-inclusive): 

• Buildings 

• Concrete foundations 

• Elevators 

• Installed doors 

• Installed parking lot lighting (Note: The repair or other service to parking lot lighting in a business is taxable 
– see below) 

• Land 

• Parking lots 

• Partitions and movable walls (affixed to walls, floor or ceiling of building) 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/forms/sales/s-103.pdf
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Note: If the funeral home purchases materials to make real property improvements, the funeral home's pur-
chase of the materials is taxable. See Publication 207, Sales and Use Tax Information for Contractors, for 
additional information. 

Certain property may be a real property improvement when purchased installed, but treated as personal 
property for purposes of repair or other services. The purchase of services to these items is subject to sales or 
use tax. Examples of property that is deemed to be personal property for purposes of repair or other service 
are (this list is not all-inclusive): 

• Furnaces, air conditioners, and dehumidifiers 

• Awnings 

• Lamps and chandeliers 

• Venetian blinds 

• Burglar and fire alarms fixtures 

• Parking lot lighting in a business (e.g., funeral home parking lot) 

• Communications equipment, such as speakers and intercom systems 

6. KEEPING AWARE OF NEW SALES AND USE TAX DEVELOPMENTS 

Funeral homes should be aware of changes in the tax laws, court cases, and other published guidance which may 
affect how to file returns and compute the tax. Check the department's website regularly for tax news and infor-
mation. 

The Department of Revenue also has several electronic mailing lists available to the public. The department will send 
an email to subscribers on information and news specific to the respective list they have signed up for. 

7. DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS OR NEED ASSISTANCE 

If you are unable to find an answer to your question about sales and use taxes on the department's website, you may 
email, write, or call the department. 

Visit our website . . .  revenue.wi.gov 

Email . . .  DORSalesandUse@wisconsin.gov 

Write . . .  Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
P.O. Box 8949, Mail Stop 5-77 
Madison, WI 53708-8949 

Telephone . . . (608) 266-2776 

Fax . . .  (608) 267-1030 

You may also contact any of the Department of Revenue offices. Please see the department’s website for a listing of 
offices and their current hours.  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/pubs/pb207.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/lists.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/home.aspx
mailto:DORSalesandUse@wisconsin.gov
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-address.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-address.aspx


Funeral Homes   Publication 246 
 

 
 

Back to Table of Contents 
4 

 

APPENDIX



Funeral Homes   Publication 246 
 
 

 
 
Back to Table of Contents 17 

APPENDIX 



Funeral Homes   Publication 246 
 

 
 

Back to Table of Contents 
18 

APPENDIX



Funeral Homes   Publication 246 
 
 

 
 
Back to Table of Contents 19 

APPENDIX 


	1. INTRODUCTION
	General

	2. NATURE OF SALES AND USE TAX
	A. Who Is Subject to Sales Tax?
	B. What Is Taxable?
	C. Seller's Permit
	D. What Is Use Tax?

	3. SALES BY FUNERAL HOMES
	A. Funeral Services
	C. Sales of Containers That Are Not Caskets or Burial Vaults Are Taxable
	D. Property and Services Used by Funeral Home in Providing Funeral Services
	E. Property Transferred With Funeral Services
	F. Sales of Property Without Funeral Services Are Taxable
	G. Sales of Cremation Diamonds From Human Remains
	H. Sales of Videos and Photographs Are Taxable

	4. OCCASIONAL SALES
	5. PURCHASES BY FUNERAL HOMES
	A. Taxable Purchases
	(1) Property Used or Transferred Incidentally With Funeral Services
	(2) Office Equipment and Supplies
	(3) Services

	B. Nontaxable Purchases
	(1) Caskets, Urns, and Burial Vaults
	(2) Livery Services
	(3) Property That Is Resold
	(4) Property That Is Not Transferred Incidentally With Funeral Services
	(5) Nonprofit Funeral Home
	(6) Real Property Improvements


	6. KEEPING AWARE OF NEW SALES AND USE TAX DEVELOPMENTS
	7. DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS OR NEED ASSISTANCE
	APPENDIX APPENDIX


