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Use this publication in preparing your 2016 
tax return. There are no substantive differ-
ences between the 2015 and 2016 versions of 
this publication. 

I. INTRODUCTION 

A Wisconsin resident (person domiciled in Wiscon-
sin) may be subject to the income tax laws of both 
Wisconsin and another state. This may occur, for ex-
ample, when the Wisconsin resident is employed 
outside Wisconsin, rents or sells property located 
outside Wisconsin, operates a business or profession 
outside Wisconsin, or has certain gambling winnings 
outside Wisconsin. 

Two methods exist to prevent the same income from 
being taxed by more than one state. These methods 
are (1) credit for net tax paid to another state, and 
(2) reciprocity. 

This publication provides information on the credit 
for net tax paid to another state. 

For information on reciprocity, see Publication 121, 
Reciprocity. You may obtain this publication from 
any Department of Revenue office or from our Inter-
net website at: revenue.wi.gov. 

CAUTION 

The information in this publication reflects the posi-
tion of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue of laws 
enacted by the Wisconsin Legislature effective De-
cember 1, 2016. Laws effective after that date, 
administrative rules, and court decisions may change 
the interpretations in this publication. 

II. WHO MAY CLAIM THE CREDIT 

A. Types of Taxpayers Who May Qualify 

The credit for net tax paid to another state is 
available to individuals, estates, and trusts. 

Note: If you are a Wisconsin resident shareholder 
of a tax-option (S) corporation, partner of a part-

nership, or member of a limited liability company 
(LLC) treated as a partnership, you may claim the 
credit based on income and franchise taxes paid 
by the corporation, partnership, or LLC to anoth-
er state if the income taxed by the other state is 
considered income for Wisconsin tax purposes. 
(See Part VII on page 9 for information relating 
to tax-option (S) corporations and their share-
holders, partnerships and their partners, and 
LLCs and their members.) 

B. Qualifications 

You qualify to claim the credit for net tax paid to 
another state if the following three requirements 
are met: 

1. You paid a net income tax to another state, 
and 

2. The income which is taxable by the other 
state is also considered income for Wisconsin 
tax purposes for the same taxable year, and 

3. You were a Wisconsin resident at the time the 
income was considered taxable. 

Example 1: You were a Wisconsin resident from 
January 1 through August 31, 2016. During this 
period of time you were employed in Iowa. You 
received wages of $20,000 from your Iowa em-
ployer while you were a Wisconsin resident. The 
$20,000 is taxable by both Iowa and Wisconsin. 
You file an Iowa income tax return and pay a net 
income tax to Iowa based on the $20,000 of wage 
income. 

You qualify to claim a credit for net tax paid to 
Iowa because (1) you paid a net income tax to 
another state, (2) the income which is taxable by 
the other state is also considered income for Wis-
consin tax purposes for the same taxable year, 
and (3) you were a Wisconsin resident at the time 
the income was considered taxable. 

Example 2: You were a Wisconsin resident from 
January 1 through July 31, 2016. During this pe-
riod of time you were employed in Wisconsin. 
You quit your Wisconsin job and became a resi-
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dent of Iowa on August 1, 2016. While a resident 
of Iowa, you received a check from your Wiscon-
sin employer for $1,000 which was payment for 
wages earned while you were a Wisconsin resi-
dent. The $1,000 is taxable by both Iowa and 
Wisconsin. You file an Iowa income tax return 
and pay a net income tax to Iowa for 2016. 

You may not claim the Wisconsin credit for tax 
paid to Iowa. Even though you paid a net income 
tax to another state and the income which is taxa-
ble by the other state is also considered income 
for Wisconsin tax purposes for the same taxable 
year, you were not a Wisconsin resident at the 
time the income was received (i.e., considered 
taxable). 

Example 3: You were a Wisconsin resident for 
the entire year. On a trip during the year, you had 
gambling winnings of $3,000 from a casino lo-
cated in Mississippi. Three per cent ($90) was 
withheld from the winnings as tax. You are not 
required to file a Mississippi income tax return to 
report the winnings nor will you receive a refund 
for any Mississippi tax withheld. You may not 
claim the $90 as a credit for net tax paid to anoth-
er state. The three percent tax is a tax on gross 
income and does not qualify for the credit. Only 
“net income tax” qualifies for the credit. 

C. Tax Must Be an Income Tax 

The tax paid to the other state must have been an 
“income” tax in order to qualify for the credit. 
You may not claim credit for other taxes paid 
which are not income taxes, such as a severance 
tax, personal property tax, sales and use tax, or 
real estate tax. 

D. “State” Defined 

“State” means the 50 states of the United States 
and the District of Columbia. It does not include 
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or the several 
territories organized by Congress. The credit is 
not allowed for income tax paid to a county, city, 
village, or town. It is also not allowed for tax paid 
to a foreign country. 

E. Reciprocal States 

You may not claim a credit for tax paid to anoth-
er state on income which is subject to a 
reciprocity agreement. For 2016, Wisconsin has 
reciprocity agreements with Illinois, Indiana, 
Kentucky and Michigan. 

Under the reciprocity agreements, these four 
states generally will not tax certain personal ser-
vice income (for example, wages, salaries, tips, 
etc.) earned in these states by Wisconsin resi-
dents, and Wisconsin will not tax the personal 
service income earned in Wisconsin by residents 
of those states. Because income that is subject to 
a reciprocity agreement is taxed by only one 
state, the credit is not available. You may claim 
the credit only if the same income is taxed by 
both Wisconsin and another state. 

III. HOW TO COMPUTE THE CREDIT 

A. Complete Return for Other State 

Before computing your Wisconsin credit for tax 
paid to another state, first complete an income tax 
return for the other state to determine the amount 
of your net tax. Net tax paid to another state is the 
gross tax less all credits (both nonrefundable and 
refundable credits). (Caution: The credit for tax 
paid to another state is not based on the tax with-
held for the other state or your estimated tax 
payments to the other state.) 

B. Complete Schedule OS 

Complete Wisconsin Schedule OS to determine 
your credit for tax paid to another state. You must 
attach a copy of Schedule OS and a copy of your 
tax return from the other state to your Wisconsin 
income tax return. 

You may obtain Schedule OS from any Depart-
ment of Revenue office or from our Internet 
website at: revenue.wi.gov. 
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C. If All of the Income Taxed by the Other State 
is Considered Income for Wisconsin 

If all of the income taxed by the other state is 
considered income for Wisconsin tax purposes, 
your credit for tax paid to another state is equal to 
the net tax, as determined on the income tax re-
turn for the other state, which has been paid to 
that other state. This is the gross tax less all non-
refundable and refundable credits. 

However, the credit is limited to the amount of 
net tax shown on your Wisconsin income tax re-
turn without considering the credit for net income 
tax paid to another state (line 28 of 2016 Form 1 
less the amounts on lines 29 and 30 (line 54 of 
Form 1NPR less the amounts on lines 55 and 56) 
for individuals or line 10 of Form 2 less the 
amount on line 11 for estates and trusts. 

Example 1: You were a Wisconsin resident for 
all of 2016. You worked part of the year in Iowa. 
The wages you earned in Iowa are taxable by 
both Iowa and Wisconsin. The amount of Iowa 
tax that was withheld from your wages was $140. 
The net tax computed on your 2016 Iowa income 
tax return is $100. You will receive a $40 refund 
from Iowa. Your Wisconsin credit for tax paid to 
Iowa is $100, assuming your Wisconsin net tax 
(before deducting the credit) is at least $100. 

Example 2: You were a Wisconsin resident for 
all of 2016. You paid $1,850 of net income tax to 
New York state for 2016 on income of $30,000. 
Your 2016 Wisconsin net income is as follows: 

Income taxable by both Wisconsin and 
New York state $30,000 

Income taxable only by Wisconsin 20,000 
Wisconsin net operating loss carryforward (30,000) 
Wisconsin net income $20,000 

Your 2016 Wisconsin net tax (before deducting 
the credit for net income tax paid to another state) 
is $727. Since the $30,000 of income that is taxa-
ble by New York state is considered income for 
Wisconsin, you may claim a credit of $727 for 
net income tax paid to New York state. 

D. If Only Part of the Income Taxed by the Other 
State is Considered Income for Wisconsin 
If only part of the income taxed by the other state 
is considered income for Wisconsin tax purposes 
(for example, 100% of the capital gain from the 
sale of assets held more than one year is taxed by 
various other states, but only 70% (40% for gain 
on farm assets) is taxed by Wisconsin), use the 
following formula to determine the amount of 
credit you may claim. 

Income taxable by 
both Wisconsin and 

other state 
x 

Net 
income 
tax paid 
to other 

state 

= 

Amount 
allowable as a 
credit against 
Wisconsin tax 

Total income 
taxable by other 

state 

Note: The above formula is used when complet-
ing lines 29 and 30, and, in the case of tax paid 
by a tax-option (S) corporation, LLC, or partner-
ship, line 31 of Schedule OS. 

The credit is limited to the amount of net tax (be-
fore deducting the credit for net income tax paid 
to another state) shown on the Wisconsin income 
tax return. 

Example 1: Credit based on long-term capital 
gain. You were a Wisconsin resident for all of 
2016. You sold land in Illinois in 2016 and real-
ized a gain of $20,000 on the sale. The entire gain 
is taxable by Illinois, but only 70% ($14,000) is 
taxable by Wisconsin. You had no other gain or 
loss allocable to Illinois. You completed an Illi-
nois income tax return and paid a net tax to 
Illinois of $1,140. Using the above formula, your 
Wisconsin credit for net tax paid to Illinois is 
$798, computed as follows: 

$14,000 
x $1,140 = $798 

$20,000 

Note: When completing Schedule OS, in this ex-
ample $14,000 would be filled in on line 26 as 
income taxable to both Wisconsin and the other 
state. The $20,000 would be filled in on line 27 
as total income taxed by the other state. 

Example 2: Credit based on long-term capital 
gain and capital loss. You were a Wisconsin res-
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ident for all of 2016. You sold real estate located 
in California and realized a $30,000 long-term 
capital gain. The entire gain is taxable by Cali-
fornia. You had no other income or loss allocable 
to California. The net income tax paid to Califor-
nia for 2016 was $1,950. 

For Wisconsin tax purposes, you have a capital 
loss carryover to 2016 of $13,000. The net capital 
gain taxable by Wisconsin is as follows: 

Long-term capital gain from sale 
of California real estate $30,000 

Less capital loss carryover -13,000 
Net long-term capital gain 17,000 
Less 30% capital gain exclusion  -5,100 
Wisconsin taxable amount $11,900 

In addition to the $11,900, you have other income 
taxable to Wisconsin and compute a Wisconsin 
net tax (before deducting a credit for tax paid to 
California) of $2,350. 

Because Wisconsin did not tax the same amount 
of capital gain as California, the credit for tax 
paid to California must be computed using the 
formula. The amount of capital gain considered 
income for Wisconsin and included in the numer-
ator of the formula as income taxable by both 
Wisconsin and California is $24,900 ($13,000 
which is included in Wisconsin income but offset 
by the capital loss carryover plus $11,900 which 
is taxable after the capital gain exclusion is ap-
plied). The allowable credit for net tax paid to 
California is $1,619, computed as follows: 

$24,900 
X $1,950 = $1,619 

$30,000 

Note: When completing Schedule OS, in this ex-
ample $24,900 would be filled in on line 26 as 
income taxable to both Wisconsin and the other 
state. The $30,000 would be filled in on line 27 
as total income taxed by the other state. 

Example 3: Credit based on more than one 
long-term capital gain and capital loss. You 
were a Wisconsin resident for all of 2016. You 
sold real estate located in California and realized 

a $20,000 long-term capital gain. The entire gain 
is taxable by California. You also had a $10,000 
gain taxable by Wisconsin on the sale of stock 
held more than one year and a $4,000 long-term 
Wisconsin capital loss carryover. 

Because Wisconsin did not tax the same amount 
of capital gain as California, the credit for tax 
paid to California must be computed using the 
formula. When determining the income taxable 
by both Wisconsin and the other state, a portion 
of the capital loss is allocated to each long-term 
capital gain. The gain taxable by both California 
and Wisconsin is determined as follows: 

Long-term capital gain from sale 
of California real estate $20,000 

Portion of capital loss used to 
offset gain 2,667 

$20,000 x $4,000 = $2,667 
$30,000             
Balance  17,333 
Less 30% capital gain exclusion    5,200 
Taxable amount  $12,133 

The amount of capital gain taxable by both Wis-
consin and California is $14,800 ($2,667 which is 
included in Wisconsin income but offset by the 
capital loss carryover, plus $12,133 which is tax-
able after the capital gain exclusion is applied). 

Note: When completing Schedule OS, in this ex-
ample $14,800 would be filled in on line 26 as 
income taxable to both Wisconsin and the other 
state. 

Example 4: Credit based on partnership in-
come and long-term capital gain. You were a 
Wisconsin resident for all of 2016. You were a 
general partner in XYZ Partnership, which had 
nonunitary operations in Wisconsin and Ohio. 
Since the Wisconsin and Ohio operations were 
nonunitary, the partnership determined its 2016 
income or loss from Wisconsin operations and 
Ohio operations by means of separate accounting. 
The partnership had the following income (loss): 

 Wisconsin 
Operations 

Ohio 
Operations 

Total 
Operations 

Ordinary income (loss) $(1,500) $500 $(1,000) 
Capital gain 1,000 5,000 6,000 
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On your 2016 Ohio income tax return, you re-
ported ordinary income of $500 and capital gain 
income of $5,000. You paid net income tax of 
$500 to Ohio. Since you were a full-year Wiscon-
sin resident, you were required to report on your 
Wisconsin income tax return your distributive 
share of XYZ Partnership’s entire income or loss, 
regardless of where it was earned or incurred. On 
your Wisconsin return, you reported an ordinary 
loss of $1,000 and capital gain income of $4,200 
(70% of $6,000). 

You may claim a credit of $364 for tax paid to 
Ohio. This credit is computed as follows: 

$4,000 
x $500 = $364 

$5,500 

The numerator of the formula (income taxable by 
both Wisconsin and Ohio) consists of the $500 of 
partnership ordinary income and $3,500 of capital 
gain income (70% of the $5,000 capital gain in-
come taxed by Ohio is taxable by Wisconsin). 
The $500 of partnership ordinary income is con-
sidered taxable by Wisconsin because the 
ordinary income or loss from both Wisconsin and 
Ohio operations is included in Wisconsin adjust-
ed gross income. 

The denominator of the formula (total income 
taxable by Ohio) consists of the $500 of ordinary 
income and $5,000 of capital gain that was taxa-
ble by Ohio. 

Note: When completing Schedule OS, in this ex-
ample $4,000 would be filled in on line 26 as 
income taxable to both Wisconsin and the other 
state. The $5,500 would be filled in on line 27 as 
total income taxed by the other state. 

Example 5: All income taxable by other state 
not taxable by Wisconsin. You were a Califor-
nia resident until July 1, 2016, when your 
employer transferred you to Wisconsin and you 
became a Wisconsin resident. You decided to 
rent out your California home while waiting for it 
to sell and realized net rental income of $1,500 
between July 1, 2016, and December 31, 2016. 
You received wages of $25,000 and $350 of in-

terest income while a California resident. Your 
taxable income for California is $26,850 and your 
net tax paid to California is $1,600. 

Your rental income is taxable by both Wisconsin 
and California. Because Wisconsin did not tax 
the wage and interest income you received while 
a California resident, you must use the formula 
on page 5 to compute your credit for tax paid to 
California. The allowable credit for tax paid to 
California is $89, computed as follows: 

$1,500 
x $1,600 = $89 $26,850 

Note: When completing Schedule OS, in this ex-
ample $1,500 would be filled in on line 26 as 
income taxable to both Wisconsin and the other 
state. The $26,850 would be filled in on line 27 
as total income taxed by the other state. 

E. Minimum Tax 

You may claim a credit for minimum tax paid to 
another state if (1) the minimum tax is classified 
as an income tax, and (2) the income taxed by the 
other state is also considered income by Wiscon-
sin. 

Note: If you have questions about whether anoth-
er state’s minimum tax is classified as an income 
tax, you may email your questions to: DORIn-
come@wisconsin.gov, write to the Customer 
Service Bureau, Wisconsin Department of Reve-
nue, Mail Stop 5-77, PO Box 8949, Madison WI 
53708-8949 or call (608) 266-2486. 

Example 1: You were a Wisconsin resident for 
all of 2016. You own an apartment building in 
New York. Your 2016 net income from the rental 
of this building was $20,000. You paid $800 of 
New York state income tax on this rental income. 
You also paid $100 of New York minimum in-
come tax based on a tax preference item of 
$7,000 for depreciation. The New York minimum 
income tax is classified as an income tax. 

Your 2016 Wisconsin net tax (before deducting a 
credit for tax paid to New York) is $4,500, which 
includes income tax of $4,000 and alternative 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelpslf.aspx?subject=dorincome
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelpslf.aspx?subject=dorincome
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minimum tax of $500. The New York rental in-
come is included as taxable income in the 
computation of the Wisconsin income tax. The 
tax preference item of $7,000 is included in alter-
native minimum taxable income for the 
computation of the Wisconsin alternative mini-
mum tax. 

Your Wisconsin credit for net tax paid to New 
York state is $900 ($800 of New York income 
tax plus $100 of New York minimum income 
tax). 

Example 2: Assume the same facts as in Exam-
ple 1 except that you do not owe Wisconsin 
alternative minimum tax for 2016 because your 
Wisconsin alternative minimum taxable income 
is below the exemption amount. 

Because you are not liable for Wisconsin alterna-
tive minimum tax, the tax preference item for 
depreciation is not considered income for Wis-
consin tax purposes. Therefore, you may not 
claim a credit for the $100 of minimum income 
tax paid to New York state. You may claim only 
the $800 New York income tax as a credit for net 
tax paid to New York. 

IV. WHEN TO CLAIM THE CREDIT 

A. Credit Allowed for Year Income Taxable 

The credit for tax paid to another state may be 
claimed on the Wisconsin income tax return for 
the year in which the out-of-state income is con-
sidered income for Wisconsin tax purposes. For 
example, if income is taxable on a 2016 Wiscon-
sin income tax return, the credit for tax paid to 
another state on such income may only be 
claimed on the 2016 Wisconsin income tax re-
turn, regardless of when the tax is actually paid to 
the other state. 

Example 1: You were a full-year resident of 
Wisconsin during 2016. You sold real estate lo-
cated in California in 2016. The gain is reported 
on both your 2016 California and Wisconsin in-
come tax returns. You paid the tax to California 
in 2017 at the time you filed your California in-

come tax return. You may claim a credit for tax 
paid to California on your 2016 Wisconsin in-
come tax return even though the tax was paid in 
2017. 

Example 2: You were a full-year resident of 
Wisconsin during 2016. In 2016 you received in-
come of $4,000 from rental property located in 
Iowa. You made estimated tax payments to Iowa 
of $150 in 2016 and $50 in January 2017. The 
Iowa income of $4,000 is reported as income on 
both your 2016 Iowa and Wisconsin returns. The 
2016 Iowa income tax return shows the follow-
ing: 

Iowa rental income  $ 4,000 

Iowa net tax  $ 185 
Estimated tax payments       200 

Refund  $ 15 

You may claim a credit for net tax paid to Iowa 
of $185 on your 2016 Wisconsin income tax re-
turn even though a part of the $185 was paid in 
2017. 

B. No Refund or Carry Forward of Unused 
Credit 

If the credit for net tax paid to another state is not 
entirely offset against Wisconsin tax for the year, 
the balance of the credit may not be refunded to 
you nor carried forward to subsequent years. 

C. Claim Credit Within Four Years 

The credit for tax paid to another state must be 
claimed within four years of the unextended due 
date of the Wisconsin income tax return. For ex-
ample, a credit for a 2016 calendar year return 
(due April 15, 2017) must be claimed by 
April 15, 2021. 

Example: You filed your 2010 Wisconsin in-
come tax return on April 15, 2011. Partnership 
income of $20,000 was included on your 2010 
Wisconsin return. You did not file an income tax 
return with any other state at that time. 
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During 2016 it was determined that you should 
have filed a 2010 Minnesota income tax return as 
the partnership income was also taxable by that 
state. You filed a 2010 Minnesota income tax re-
turn and paid tax of $1,200 to Minnesota during 
2016. 

You may not claim a credit on your 2016 Wis-
consin income tax return for the 2010 tax paid to 
Minnesota in 2016. The credit could have been 
claimed only on your 2010 Wisconsin income tax 
return. Because the credit must be claimed within 
four years of the unextended due date of the 2010 
Wisconsin return, an amended 2010 Wisconsin 
return may not be filed to claim the credit for tax 
paid to Minnesota in 2016. In this example, you 
would have had to claim the credit by April 15, 
2015. 

V. HOW TO CLAIM THE CREDIT 

A. Individuals 

Claim the credit on line 31 of the 2016 Form 1 or 
line 57 of Form 1NPR. The amount of credit 
claimed may not exceed the tax shown on line 28 
of the 2016 Wisconsin Form 1 less the amounts 
on lines 29 and 30 or line 54 of Form 1NPR less 
the amounts on lines 55 and 56. 

B. Estates and Trusts 

Claim the credit on line 12 of Form 2. The 
amount of credit claimed may not exceed the net 
tax shown on line 10 of Form 2 less the amount 
on line 11. 

C. Enclosures With the Return 

Schedule OS and a complete copy of the other 
state’s income tax return and withholding state-
ments (Forms W-2, W-2G, or 1099), if any, must 
be enclosed with the Wisconsin income tax re-
turn. 

Shareholders of tax-option (S) corporations, part-
ners of partnerships, and members of limited 
liability companies treated as partnerships are re-
quired to enclose additional information with 

their Wisconsin returns. See “Enclosures With 
the Wisconsin return” in Section B of Part VII on 
page 11 for further information. 

VI. CHANGES TO OTHER STATE’S 
RETURN 

If you claim a credit for tax paid to another state and 
you later file an amended return with that other state, 
you must also file an amended Wisconsin return if 
the changes to the other state’s return affect the 
amount of your Wisconsin credit for net tax paid to 
another state. The amended Wisconsin return must be 
filed within 90 days of the date the amended return 
was filed with the other state. 

VII. SHAREHOLDERS OF TAX-
OPTION (S) CORPORATIONS, 
PARTNERS OF PARTNERSHIPS, 
AND MEMBERS OF LIMITED 
LIABILITY COMPANIES 
TREATED AS PARTNERSHIPS 

If a tax-option (S) corporation, partnership, or limited 
liability company (LLC) treated as a partnership op-
erates in any state other than Wisconsin and either the 
corporation or its shareholders, the partnership or its 
partners, or the LLC or its members must pay income 
or franchise taxes to that state on or measured by the 
income earned there, Wisconsin resident sharehold-
ers, partners, or members may claim credit for their 
pro rata shares of such taxes paid. The credit is al-
lowable only if the income taxed by the other state is 
considered income for Wisconsin tax purposes. 

A. What Taxes Qualify for the Credit? 

Income and franchise taxes that are measured by 
income and paid to another state by a tax-option 
(S) corporation, partnership, or by an LLC treated 
as a partnership may be claimed as a credit by 
Wisconsin resident shareholders of that corpora-
tion, partners of that partnership, or members of 
that LLC. 

The following examples illustrate various types 
of taxes that do and do not qualify for the credit. 
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While the examples refer to tax-option (S) corpo-
rations and their shareholders, they also apply to 
partnerships and LLCs treated as partnerships and 
their partners and members when the partnership 
or LLC is subject to the same type of tax. 

Example 1: Illinois replacement tax. The Illi-
nois replacement tax is imposed on a tax-option 
(S) corporation’s net income. The net income is 
computed by combining the corporation’s federal 
ordinary income or loss and separately stated 
items of income, loss, and deduction and then 
making various Illinois additions and subtrac-
tions. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may claim a 
credit for his or her pro rata share of the Illinois 
replacement tax paid by a tax-option (S) corpora-
tion, provided the income taxed by Illinois is also 
considered income for Wisconsin. 

Example 2: Michigan business tax. The Michi-
gan business tax is imposed on persons or unitary 
business groups doing business or having business 
activity in the state of Michigan. The tax has two 
components: (1) a 4.95% tax on business income, 
and (2) a 0.8% modified gross receipts tax. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may claim a 
credit for his or her pro rata share of the Michigan 
business tax paid by the tax-option (S) corporation, 
provided the income taxed by Michigan is also con-
sidered income for Wisconsin. The business income 
component and the modified gross receipts tax 
component both qualify for the credit. 

Example 3: Minnesota taxes. Minnesota impos-
es taxes based on the federal taxes for built-in 
gains, capital gains, and excess passive income of 
tax-option (S) corporations. In addition, a mini-
mum fee, based on the sum of the property, 
payroll, and sales attributable to Minnesota, ap-
plies to all tax-option (S) corporations. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may not claim 
a credit for his or her pro rata share of the tax-
option (S) corporation’s built-in gains tax, capital 
gains tax, or excess passive income tax paid to 
Minnesota since these taxes are not imposed on 
the corporation’s net income. In addition, the 

Minnesota minimum fee does not qualify for the 
credit for tax paid to another state. 

Example 4: New York taxes. New York impos-
es a corporate level tax on tax-option (S) 
corporations. The tax is equal to the greater of the 
tax that would be computed on the entire net in-
come base or the fixed dollar minimum tax. The 
entire net income base is calculated by starting 
with the amount of federal taxable income that 
the corporation would have reported if it were a 
regular C corporation and making New York ad-
ditions and subtractions. The fixed dollar 
minimum tax is determined by the corporation’s 
gross payroll. 

Federal S corporations that do not elect New 
York S corporation status are subject to the New 
York corporation franchise tax which is imposed 
on subsidiary capital and whichever of the fol-
lowing bases results in the greatest franchise tax 
liability: (a) allocated net income, (b) allocated 
capital, (c) minimum taxable income, or (d) a flat 
fee minimum tax that varies based on the corpo-
ration’s gross payroll. Corporations paying the 
franchise tax on net income start with federal tax-
able income (before the net operating loss 
deduction and special deductions) and make vari-
ous New York modifications. Minimum taxable 
income is net income modified to reflect certain 
tax preferences and adjustments. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may claim a 
credit for his or her pro rata share of the tax-
option (S) corporation’s tax paid to New York if 
the tax is based on net income and the income is 
also considered income for Wisconsin income tax 
purposes. 

The New York fixed dollar minimum tax paid by 
a tax-option (S) corporation does not qualify for 
the credit for tax paid to another state. 

In addition, the New York tax imposed on subsid-
iary capital as well as the franchise tax based on 
allocated capital does not qualify for the credit. 

Example 5: Pennsylvania taxes. Pennsylvania 
has a corporate net income tax, a capital stock 
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tax, a franchise tax, and a corporate loans tax. 
The corporate net income tax applies to certain 
domestic and foreign corporations, except federal 
S corporations that have qualified and elected to 
be treated as Pennsylvania S corporations. The 
net income tax is measured by net income calcu-
lated by using federal taxable income (before the 
net operating loss deduction and special deduc-
tions) and making Pennsylvania modifications. 

The capital stock tax applies to domestic tax-
option (S) corporations, while foreign corpora-
tions are subject to a franchise tax on the actual 
value of their capital stock. The actual stock val-
ue for both domestic and foreign corporations is 
based on the average net income and net worth. 

The corporation loans tax applies to interest-
bearing obligations issued by domestic and for-
eign subsidiaries doing business in Pennsylvania 
that are held by individual Pennsylvania residents 
and by certain fiduciaries. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may not claim 
a credit for his or her pro rata share of the Penn-
sylvania capital stock tax, franchise tax, or 
corporation loans tax since these taxes are not 
based on net income. 

If a tax-option (S) corporation pays the Pennsyl-
vania net income tax because it is not treated as a 
Pennsylvania S corporation, a Wisconsin resident 
shareholder may claim a credit for his or her pro 
rata share of the tax, provided the income is also 
subject to Wisconsin income taxation. 

Example 6: Washington business and occupa-
tion tax. Washington imposes a business and 
occupation tax for the act or privilege of engag-
ing in business activities within that state. The tax 
is measured by the application of rates against the 
value of various bases, such as the value of prod-
ucts manufactured, gross proceeds of sales, or 
gross income. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may not claim 
credit for the Washington business and occupa-
tion tax since it is not measured by net income. 

Example 7: Texas margin tax. The tax base for 
the margin tax is the taxable entity’s margin. 
“Margin” equals the lesser of three calculations: 
(1) total revenue minus cost of goods sold; 
(2) total revenue minus compensation paid; or 
(3) total revenue times 70 percent. The margin is 
apportioned to Texas using a single sales factor 
apportionment formula. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may claim a 
credit for his or her pro rata share of the Texas 
margin tax paid by a tax-option (S) corporation, 
provided the income taxed by Texas is also con-
sidered income for Wisconsin. 

Example 8: Ohio commercial activity tax 
(CAT) 

The Ohio CAT is an annual tax on the privilege 
of doing business in Ohio. The CAT is measured 
by the taxable gross receipts from most business 
activities. Gross receipts include most business 
receipts from the sale or rental of property or 
from the performance of a service. Examples of 
receipts that are not subject to the CAT include 
interest (other than from installment sales), divi-
dends, capital gains, wages, or gifts. 

A Wisconsin resident shareholder may not claim 
credit for the Ohio CAT since it is not measured 
by net income. 

B. Enclosures With the Wisconsin Return 

A completed Wisconsin Schedule OS must be 
enclosed with the Wisconsin income tax return. 
In addition, shareholders, partners, and members 
must submit verification with their Wisconsin in-
come tax returns of the amount of their credits as 
follows: 

• If the corporation’s S status, partnership sta-
tus, or the LLC status is recognized for 
income tax purposes by the other state and 
the Wisconsin resident shareholder, partner, 
or member files an individual or fiduciary in-
come tax return with that state and pays tax 
on his or her pro rata share of the corpora-
tion’s, partnership’s, or LLC’s income earned 
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there, the shareholder, partner, or LLC mem-
ber must enclose a copy of the other state’s 
individual or fiduciary income tax return. 

• If the corporation, partnership, or LLC is re-
quired to file a Wisconsin return (Form 5S for 
a tax-option (S) corporation or Form 3 for a 
partnership or LLC), the amount of tax paid 
to another state is shown on the Wisconsin 
Schedule 5K-1 (Schedule 3K-1 for a partner-
ship or LLC) which the Wisconsin resident 
shareholder, partner, or member receives 
from the corporation, partnership, or LLC. 
The shareholder, partner, or member must 
enclose a copy of the Schedule 5K-1 or 3K-1, 
as appropriate, with the Wisconsin individual 
or fiduciary income tax return. 

• If the corporation, partnership, or LLC is not 
required to file a Wisconsin return and the 
corporation, partnership, or LLC pays an in-

come or franchise tax to another state on or 
measured by the income earned there, the 
shareholder, partner, or member must enclose 
a letter from the corporation, partnership, or 
LLC which includes a schedule showing the 
shareholder’s, partner’s, or member’s pro rata 
share of the items taxed by that state, the ad-
justed gross income, and the net tax paid. 

VIII. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

If you have additional questions about the Wisconsin 
credit for tax paid to another state, please contact any 
Department of Revenue office or write to or call the 
Customer Service Bureau, Wisconsin Department of 
Revenue, Mail Stop 5-77, P.O. Box 8949, Madison, 
WI 53708-8949, telephone (608) 266-2486. 

You may also email your questions to: DORIn-
come@wisconsin.gov.

 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelpslf.aspx?subject=dorincome
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelpslf.aspx?subject=dorincome
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