

### **Fulfillment House Permits**

Alcohol Beverage Laws Fact Sheet 3120

revenue.wi.gov

This fact sheet provides information about Wisconsin alcohol beverage laws relating to fulfillment house permits. A fulfillment house is any entity, whether located in Wisconsin or elsewhere, that handles logistics, including warehousing, packaging, order fulfillment, or shipping services, on behalf of a direct wine shipper permittee for wine that is legally shipped to individuals in Wisconsin. Each location operating as a fulfillment house must obtain a permit from the Division of Alcohol Beverages (DAB).

### **Allowed Activities**

A fulfillment house permit authorizes the permit holder to provide services for the warehousing, packaging, order fulfillment, and shipment of wine to individuals in Wisconsin. Any such wine must be produced by and belong to a person holding a valid Wisconsin direct wine shipper's permit. For additional information, see sec. 125.23, Wis. Stats.

## **Labeling and Shipping Requirements**

Any wine shipped directly to individuals in Wisconsin must be clearly labeled to indicate that the package may not be delivered to an underage or intoxicated person. In addition, any wine shipped directly to individuals in Wisconsin from a fulfillment house permittee must be labeled with the following information:

- In capital letters and in a conspicuous location: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21 OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY.".
- The name, address, and permit number of the fulfillment house permittee.
- The name, address, and permit number of the direct wine shipper permittee.

A fulfillment house permittee can only ship wine into Wisconsin via a common carrier that holds a common carrier permit under sec. 125.22, Wis. Stats. Prior to shipping wine to an individual in Wisconsin, a fulfillment house permittee is required to verify the validity of the permit of each direct wine shipper and of each common carrier associated with the shipment.

# Reporting Requirements

Fulfillment house permittees must file a monthly report with DAB that is due by the 15<sup>th</sup> day of the following month. The report must include the following information for each shipment of alcohol beverages during the month:

- The name and address of the person that manufactured the alcohol beverages.
- The name and address of the consignor of the shipment, if different from the person that manufactured the alcohol beverages.

- The name and address of the consignee of the shipment.
- The date of the shipment.
- The type and quantity of alcohol beverages shipped to the consignee.
- The parcel tracking number, waybill number, or other identifying number for the shipment.

#### **Penalties for Violations**

The following penalties apply to violations of the law by fulfillment houses:

- A fulfillment house that fails to obtain a permit is subject to a fine of up to \$10,000.
- A fulfillment house permittee that ships alcohol beverages other than wine obtained from a Wisconsin
  direct wine shipper permittee is subject to a forfeiture of up to \$2,000. Additionally, DAB must revoke
  the permit of any fulfillment house that commits this violation in two or more months of a calendar
  year.
- A fulfillment house that fails to submit a monthly report is subject to a forfeiture of up to \$2,000.

### Questions?

If you are unable to find an answer to your question on the division's website, you may email, write, or call the division.

**Website**... revenue.wi.gov/pages/AlcoholBeverage/home.aspx

Write... DORAlcohol@wisconsin.gov
Division of Alcohol Beverages

P.O. Box 8934

Madison, WI 53708-8934

**Phone**. . . (608) 266-2526

Last updated November 7, 2024